A



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Aa Ab Ac Ad Ae Af Ag Ai Aj Ak Al Am An Ap Ar As At Au Av Aw Ax Ay


Special symbols and Numeric keywords appear at the beginning of this Section


2KDRef A2
The call sign for the radio station which was run from Wainhouse Tower by W. E. Denison [1909]

5 Days' Work, LightcliffeRef A934
The field on which Lightcliffe National School was built. It was given by Evan Charles Sutherland-Walker

10 days' work bottomRef A144
Area of Brighouse recorded during the 19th century.

There were several places – typically fields or meadows – in the district with names such as 2 days' work, 4 days' work, 7 days' work, and 9 days' work.

See Common days work and Day-work

100 trades, Town ofRef A439

600 Machine Tool GroupRef A712
See Machine Tool Makers, Churchill Machine Tools, Denham Engineering Company Limited and F. Pratt & Company Limited

1855 BuildingRef A201
The 1885 Building is the name given to the former Halifax Railway Station building which is now a part of Eureka! The museum for children. It is used as office accommodation


Aaron...Ref A4
The entries for people & families with the surname Aaron are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Aaron's: Ben Aaron & SonRef A615
Maker of Quality Footwear established by Henry Aaron in 1810, and taken over by his son, Ben.

Many members of the family were involved in the boot and shoe trade and many joined the family business.

David Benjamin Aaron joined the business in 1958 and moved from selling and repairing footwear to selling work and industrial clothing and safety wear.

Philip W. B. Aaron joined the business in 1984 and began the importation and sale of German military and industrial footwear under the name Aaron Distribution.

The business has been at several addresses in Halifax: 24 Gaol Lane [1850], Sovereign Street, 4 Northgate, 39 Woolshops [1936], and 105 Northgate [1940].

The business remained at 105 Northgate, Halifax until it finally closed on 25th March 2016

Abattoir, BrighouseRef A145
An abattoir for the Bridge End Branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited opened in September 1872.

In 1888, this was superseded by a new facility at The Lees, Brighouse.

See Abattoir, Clifton

Abattoir, CliftonRef A771
Opened in 1868.

At the end of the 19th century, there was a slaughter house on Wakefield Road / Armytage Road.

See Abattoir, Brighouse

Abattoir, HalifaxRef A5
Between 1908 and 1910 it was proposed to build a slaughterhouse at the Shay, but the plan was abandoned.

The abattoir at Woolshops was originally built around 1920 on the site of the Assembly Rooms behind the Talbot Inn, this was against the Piece Hall, near the north gate, and near the site of the present shopping precinct.

The corner stones for a new building were laid on 25th November 1926.

It opened in October 1929 at a cost of about £69,000, and was designed to handle 400 cattle, 250 pigs, 770 sheep and calves. Animals arrived at front and were held in pens before hydraulic lifts took them to the upper level. It had seven cubicles for killing cattle, four pig-sticking pens and 28 cratches for killing sheep. The building deteriorated and needed considerable refurbishment; it became redundant and closed in March 1976. It was demolished in 1979 to make way for the new Woolshops development.

See Harold Victor Leslie Westwood

Abattoir, SalterhebbleRef A261
The Halifax Industrial Society abattoir at Salterhebble opened in 1???. It was demolished around 1899, and the Salterhebble Sewage Works built on the site

Abbey Park LibraryRef A529
Recorded in 1929 as Abbey Park Branch Library.

See Frank Cyril Pritchard

Abbey, StottRef A4410
[1837-19??] Born in Elland.

He was a retired co-operative society worker [1911].

In [Q4] 1864, he married Elizabeth Meredith [1829-1893] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1867]

The family lived at 85 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911]

Abbot, Mrs MaryRef A870
[18??-18??] Umbrella and parasol maker, and hair dresser, at Cow Green [1850]

Abbot, MrRef A460
[16??-16??] Vicar of Elland [1652]

Abbotroyd, BarkislandRef A345
Aka Abbots Royd, Abbot Royd.

It was formerly known as Avelt Royds.

In 1800, David Dyson bought a piece of land called Abbots Royd.

Between 1820-1829, his children, Samuel and Barbara, built the house.

Later owners included

See Cut Hedge Farm, Barkisland

Abbotsford, LightcliffeRef A1041
Wakefield Road. The house was originally a part of Lightcliffe Vicarage

Abbott & EllertonRef A799
Carpet manufacturers established by Robert Abbott, his son, John, and Francis Ellerton.

They were at Union Street, Halifax [1816] and Albion Street, Halifax [1821]

Abbott, CharlesRef A185
[1820-1900] Landlord of the Brown Horse, Coley [1861]

Abbott, Crossley & CompanyRef A628
Carpet manufacturing partnership formed by Robert Abbott, John Crossley, and Francis Ellerton. Crossley left the partnership and set up business with his brother Thomas Crossley and James Travis. In 1830, Crossley bought the business

Abbott, EdgarRef A250
[1896-1916] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He died 23rd July 1916.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France, and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Abbott, George EdwardRef A1120
[1848-1928] Born in Leeds.

He was an estate agent [1891, 1901].

In [Q4] 1868, he married Mary Elizabeth Rhodes [1848-1924] in Kirkstall, Leeds.


Mary Elizabeth was born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Gertrude Mary [1869-1941]
  2. Robert Knox [1871-1943]
  3. John
  4. Ethel Ruth [b 1875] who never married
  5. George Hawkshaw [b 1881]
  6. Nora [b 1883]

The 4 oldest children were born in Leeds; the 2 youngest were born in Greetland.

The family lived at Crawstone Hall, Greetland [1881, 1901].

Mary Elizabeth died at Cronk Beg Derby Haven, Isle of Man [19th December 1924].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £92 2/8d.

Administration was granted to her husband George Edward.

George Edward died at Cronk Beg Derby Haven, Isle of Man [9th October 1928].

Probate records show that he left effects of Nil.

The will was proved by his daughter Ethel Ruth

Abbott, JamesRef A111
[1864-1899] Born in Stowmarket, Suffolk.

He was a maltster [1891].

In 1884, he married Elizabeth Stockings [1862-1???].


Elizabeth was born in Onehouse, Suffolk
 

Children:

  1. James Edward
  2. Florence [b 1889] who was a half-time worsted spinner [1901]
  3. Lily [b 1891]
  4. Edith [b 1896]

The family lived at

  • 100 Huddersfield Road, Elland [1891]
  • 149 Railway Terrace, Copley [1901]

James died in Halifax in 1899 (aged 35).

James was buried at St Stephen's Church, Copley

Abbott, James EdwardRef A371
[1886-1917] Son of James Abbott.

Born in Elland.

He was a member of the Choir & Sunday School teacher at St Stephen's Church, Copley / a worsted maker-up [1901] / a warehouse man of Copley [1910] / a worsted yarn maker-up [1911] / employed by Akroyd's at Copley Mills [for 19½ years].

In [Q4] 1910, he married Elizabeth Harris [1885-19??] at St Stephen's Church, Copley.


Elizabeth, of Copley, was the daughter of William Henry Harris
 

Children:

  1. Reginald [b 1912]
  2. Lily [b 1914]

The family lived at 29 Calder Terrace, Copley [1917].

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion Essex Regiment.

He was killed in action at Gaza whilst serving with the Egyptian Expeditionary Force [2nd November 1917] (aged 31).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [17th November 1917].

He was buried at Gaza War Cemetery, Palestine [Grave Ref X F 12].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Copley War Memorial, and on the Copley Roll of Honour

Abbott, JohnRef A264
[1796-1870] JP.

Son of Robert Abbott.

He made his money as a woolstapler.

See Cold Edge Dam Company, William Emmet, Halifax, Bradford & Keighley Insurance Company and West Yorkshire Railway Company

Abbott, JohnRef A186
[1874-1959] Son of George Edward Abbott.

Born in Leeds.

He was an apprentice tool maker [1891, 1901]

In [Q3] 1896, he married Lydia Normanton [1874-1902] in Halifax.

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland [Grave Ref: 98] with Hannah Abbott [1874-1902] & John Granville Abbott [1898-1898]

Abbott's Ladies' Home, Skircoat GreenRef A350
Skircoat Green Road. Almshouses built with money left in the will of John Abbott

See Horace Edward Foster Elizabeth Ann Gregory, Emma Gregory, Edward Wallace Norris and John Whitley

Abbott, RobertRef A570
[17??-1827] A woolstapler at Woolshops [1809].

In 1817, he bought Spring Mill, Warley from Samuel Schorfield

He ran a carpet-manufacturing business with his son, John, and Francis Ellerton. The partnership was dissolved in 1821.

In 1830, John Crossley bought the business.

On 29th January 1792, he married Jane Nicholl at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. John

See Abbott, Crossley & Company and Robert Abbott & Company

Abbott's: Robert Abbott & CompanyRef A884
Carpet manufacturer at Union Street, Halifax [1809].

See Robert Abbott

Abbott ScholarshipsRef A517
John Abbott left £10,000 to establish the Abbott Scholarships at Oxford and/or Cambridge.

In 1884, it was recorded that

the scholarship this year will be awarded for proficiency in classics. The value of the scholarship will be about £60 a year, and it will be tenable for 3 years. Candidates must be the sons of clergymen of the Church of England, who stand in need of assistance to enable them to obtain the benefit of a university education. Candidates from the West Riding of Yorkshire are to be preferred

AbbreviationsRef A969

ABC Cinema, HalifaxRef A311

Abel Cote Farm, Hebden BridgeRef A220

Abel Cross, Crimsworth DeanRef A20
A pair of stone crosses which are possibly guide posts or marking a trackway. Each cross is a plain stone about 44 inches high, stands on a base about 31 inches high, and there is a simple Latin cross inscribed on each. It appears that the crosses once stood side by side.

A legend says that the stones mark the graves of two rival suitors who fought and died for the love of Katie, a farmer's daughter from Cross End's Farm. Katie later committed suicide by jumping into the waterfall from the bridge at Lumb Bridge. She was buried between the 2 crosses. Her ghost is said to haunt Stone Booth, Cross Ends and Grain

Abel, John EyreRef A221
[1918-1941] Son of Lily & Edward Henry Abel of 94 Gibraltar Road, Halifax.

During World War II, he was a member of the Municipal Borough Home Guard in Crewe.

On 29th December 1940, he was injured when a German Junkers 88 dropped 2 bombs on the Rolls-Royce Works at Crewe. 60 people were injured, and 16 people were killed outright.

John died at the Memorial Hospital [3rd January 1941] (aged 23).

Abel, Rev John RogerRef A892
[1863-1925] Born in Manchester [Q2/1863].

He was Chairman for the United Methodists in Halifax [1913].

In [Q3] 1896, he married Cassandra May Jewell [1871-1946] in St Asaph District, North Wales.


Cassandra was born in Sheffield [3rd May 1871]
 

They had no children.

They lived at 6 Milton Place, Halifax [1911, 1913]

John died in St Asaph [Q2 1925] (aged 62).

In 1939, Cassandra was living at Hillside, Greymount, Prestatyn, with her brother Frank Jewell [b 14th July 1868] (estate agent, auctioneer), his wife Edith Jewell [b 6th May 1876], and their daughter Florence M Jewell [b 12th July 1881] (teacher of music).

Cassandra died in St Asaph [Q4 1946]

Abel, MaryRef A193
[1829-185?] Born near Kinton, Aberdeenshire, Scotland.

She married Frederick Smith.

The couple had met while Frederick was travelling in Scotland for Royston's. Mary died before her husband went into business on his own.

Mary's Scottish ancestry is remembered in the name – Caledonia Wire Mills – and the thistle emblem of his company Frederick Smith & Company

Abell, Rev BrianRef A105
[1937-19??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1963]. In 1966, he moved to become priest-in-charge of the Church of the Holy Nativity, Mixenden. In 1968, he was a Lecturer at Lincoln College of Technology [1968-1969], Chaplain of Trent College, Derby [1970-1974], and Vicar of Thorner, Leeds [from 1974]

Abercrombie, CharlesRef A945
[1843-1???] Son of David Abercrombie.

Born in Bradford [Q3 1843].

He was an apprentice stuff merchant [by 1861]. He was a manufacturer in Lightcliffe.

On 12th December 1866, he married Elizabeth Ann Webster.


Elizabeth Ann was the daughter of Samuel Webster
 

Children:

  1. Edith [1868-1957] who married her cousin John Abercrombie Holdsworth
  2. Ernest Murray [1870-1929]
  3. Harold Alvan [1875-1877]
  4. Jessie Hilda [1878-1882]
  5. Marjorie [1880-1972]
  6. Mildred [1883-1967]

Elizabeth and the children were living with her brother Isaac at Buckley Gate Hall, Ovenden [1871]

The family lived at 23 The Avenue, Acton, Middlesex [1881]

Abercrombie, DavidRef A1046
[1802-1869] Born in Perth, Scotland.

He was a stuff merchant [1851, 1861] / a Poor Law Guardian for Bradford [1861] / a member of the Provisional Committee of The Bradford District Bank [1862].

He was in partnership with Thomas Arton as D. Abercrombie & Company and Abercrombie & Ayrton. This was dissolved in May 1862.

He married Elizabeth [1803-1???] from Perth, Scotland.

Children:

  1. Nicol / Nicholas [b 1834]
  2. John [1836-1837]
  3. William
  4. David [b 1839]
  5. James [b 1840]
  6. Elizabeth [b 1842] who married John Holdsworth
  7. Charles
  8. George Wilson

All the children's births were registered in Bradford.

The sons went on to become apprentice stuff merchants [by 1861]

The family lived at Springfield Place, Bradford [1851].

In 1860, he built Perth House, Lightcliffe and came to live in Lightcliffe. The family were at Perth House, Lightcliffe [1861, 1862] and Perth Villas, Lightcliffe [1871]

He died on 27th June 1869.

He was buried at Undercliffe Cemetery.

Mrs Abercrombie was still living at Perth House [1874].

See Halifax & Ovenden Junction Railway Company

Abercrombie, George WilsonRef A122
[1845-1881] Son of David Abercrombie.

A merchant [1876, 1878].

In [Q3] 1874, he married Mary Ellen Whitteron in Wetherby. Children:

  1. George Whitteron (Abercrombie) [1875-1876] who died in infancy
  2. Mary [bapt 13th December 1876]
  3. Catherine [bapt 16th October 1878]

The family lived at The Crescent, Hipperholme [1876].

George died in Halifax [Q2 1881] (aged 36) 

Abercrombie, LascellesRef A408
[1881-1938] Son of William Abercrombie.

Born at Ashton upon Mersey [9th January 1881].

He was a poet and literary critic.

He married Catherine Dwatkin [1881-1968] in Ulverston, Lancashire [1909].

Children:

  • David [1909-1992]
  • Michael [1912-1979]
  • Ralph [1914-1968]
  • Elizabeth [1922-1999]

He suffered from diabetes and died in hospital at St John's Wood, London [27th October 1938]

Abercrombie, Leslie PatrickRef A432
[1879-1957] Known as Patrick.

Son of William Abercrombie.

Born at Ashton upon Mersey [6th June 1879].

He was an architect / articled to Manchester architect Charles Henry Heathcote / professor of Civic Design at Liverpool / knighted for his work as a town planner [1945].

He married Emily Maud Gordon [1886-1942] in Wirral, Cheshire [1908].

Sir Patrick died at Didcot [23rd March 1957]

Abercrombie, WilliamRef A361
[1838-1908] Son of David Abercrombie.

Born in Bradford [Q2 1838].

He was an apprentice stuff merchant [by 1861] / a Manchester stockbroker.

On 10th February 1863, he married Sarah Ann Heron [1842-1916] in Huddersfield.


Sarah Ann came from Dewsbury
 

Children:

  1. Helen [1864-1946]
  2. David [1865-1926]
  3. Zoe Graham [1869-1869]
  4. Beatrice [1871-1951]
  5. Rodolf George [1872-1961]
  6. Charles Murray [1874-1933]
  7. William Heron [1875-1878]
  8. Ursula [1877-1962]
  9. Leslie Patrick
  10. Lascelles
  11. Ralph [b 1883]

The Abergele DisasterRef A1099
On 20th August 1868, the Irish Mail train crashed at Abergele, North Wales.

Joseph Priestley Edwards and his son, Priestley August Edwards were travelling on the train, returning from a shooting party, they and 31 other victims were buried near the scene of the accident.

Joseph Priestley Edwards was so badly injured that he could only be identified from a bunch of keys

Abraham Ormerod Clinic, TodmordenRef A55
Named for Abraham Ormerod. The Clinic was built in 1938 on the site of Ridgefoot Mill and presented to the town. It was opened on the 23rd July 1938 by the Princess Royal.

It closed in 19??.

The building has been left to fall into disrepair by the ever-reliable value-for-money Calderdale Council.

In November 2007, a proposal was announced to demolish the building and build sheltered accommodation for the elderly on the site.

See Patmos Congregational Church War Memorial, Harold Shipman and Todmorden Health Centre

Abrahams, JohnnyRef A514
[1???-19??] A Halifax character of the 1930s/1940s. He was also known as
The Good Night and God Bless Man

on account of his way of addressing people he met on his way home from the pub

Abrams, Alfred GeorgeRef A802
[1849-1901] Born in Bungay, Suffolk.

He was a colour sergeant in the Infantry [1891] / landlord of the Golden Plough, Elland [1899-1900] / publican at the Black Bull, Brighouse or the Anchor, Brighouse [1901].

He married Catherine [1863-19??] from Aldershot.

Children:

  1. Peter E. [b 1881] who was born in Lucknow, India
  2. May C. [b 1883] who was born in Lucknow, India
  3. Gertrude Mary A. [1887-19??] who was born in Brighouse
  4. Winifred Blanche [b 1889]
  5. Phyllis Alma M. [b 1898]

The family lived at

  • William Street, Rastrick [1891]
  • 62 Briggate, Brighouse – (it is not clear whether this is the Black Bull or the Anchor) [1901]

Living with them [in 1901] was M. Dobson [aged 27] (singer)  born in Kent

Abson, ThomasRef A143
[1856-1933]

On 10th November 1893, he married Rachel at Halifax Parish Church.


Rachel was the widow of
Benjamin Berry.

She had taken over from Benjamin as beerhouse keeper of the Railway Hotel, Ripponden [1888-1906]

 

Rachel died in 1928

Acacia House, Hebden BridgeRef A212
Fallingroyd

AccidentsRef A3

Ackerley, AlvinRef A1049
[1927-1973] Born at Dearham, Cumberland [18th November 1927].

Player with Halifax RLFC [1952]. He won caps for England while at Halifax. He played 396 times for Halifax, 6 times for England and twice for Great Britain.

He married Hannah Bell Tweedale [1926-1995].

He died in Halifax [18th November 1973]

Ackerley, WilliamRef A46
[1871-1920] Born in Malpas, Cheshire.

He married Ellen Dugdale in West Derby.

They lived at 8 Providence Place, Luddenden.

During World War I, he served as a Pioneer with the Royal Engineers and transferred to the Labour Corps.

He died 15th July 1920 (aged 48).

He was buried at Luddenden Cemetery [A C 418].

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial

Ackerley, William NoelRef A563
[1900-1918] Son of Ellen & William Ackerley of 9 Providence Place, Luddenden.

Born in Liverpool.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He died 26th October 1918 (aged 18).

He was buried at St. Souplet British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I B 27].

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden

Ackrigg, RobertRef A430
[18??-19??] Originally from the Lake District, he came to live in Todmorden.

In December 1894, he called at the Coach & Horses, Blackstone Edge. He shot the landlord, Peter McIntyre, and his wife, and threatened their servant, Eliza. They escaped to fetch help and Ackrigg was arrested. Ackrigg had a criminal record and had escaped from Walton Gaol only a few days earlier. On 2nd February 1895, he was tried at Manchester Assizes and sentenced to 12 years' penal servitude

Ackroyd...Ref A17
The entries for people & families with the surname Ackroyd are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ackroyd & AmblerRef A858
Woolcombers at Halifax. Recorded in 1896.

Partners included Tom Ambler

Ackroyd & PlattRef A700
Engineers' tool makers and iron founders at Albert Iron Works, Sowerby Bridge [1874]

Ackroyd BrothersRef A598
Of Bankfield.

On 11th March 1891, they began a horse omnibus service between Hebden Bridge and Todmorden. They ran 4 buses per day. Like other local carriers, they had a waggonette trade taking visitors to and from Hardcastle Crags

Ackroyd's: J. & W. AckroydRef A683
Maltsters and corn dealers in Halifax & Brackenbed, Ovenden.

Partners included John Ackroyd, William Ackroyd, and Henry John Ackroyd.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent [March 1850]

Ackroyd's: John Ackroyd & SonsRef A698
Recorded in 1911, when they were at Square Mill, Mytholmroyd

Ackroyd's: John Ackroyd & SonsRef A868
Wine merchants and corn dealers at Silver Street, Halifax [1850].

Established by John Ackroyd

Ackroyd's: Maria Ackroyd's Bread & Coals Christmas FundRef A534
See Maria Ackroyd Charity

Ackroyd's: Maria Ackroyd CharityRef A226
Charity established by Maria Ackroyd. In her will [1896], she left £400 which was to be invested and the interest used to provide bread and coals for poor people in Halifax at Christmas time. The charity is also known as Maria Ackroyd's Poor Children's Treat Fund and the Maria Ackroyd's Bread & Coals Christmas Fund

Ackroyd's: Maria Ackroyd's Poor Children's Treat FundRef A533
See Maria Ackroyd Charity

Ackroyd's: Matthew Ackroyd & SonRef A708
Cotton manufacturers at Walterclough [1861]

Ackroyde, Alfred NormanRef A280
[1888-1959] Born in Greetland [7th July 1888].

He was a colourer [1909] / landlord of the Fleece, Greetland [1923-1937] / landlord of the Golden Lion, Halifax [1937-1947].

On 20th February 1909, he married Mary Stott [1888-1979] at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.


Mary was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. James Edward [1909-1932]

Alfred Normand died in Halifax [30th August 1959].

Mary died in Halifax in 1979

Ackroyde, JoshuaRef A807
[1798-18??] Born in Warley.

He was a corn miller [1851].

Around 1831, he married Harriet [1802-18??].


Harriet was born in Huddersfield
 

Children:

  1. Henry [b 1831] who was a cotton twister [1851]
  2. Ann [b 1834] who was a scholar [1851]
  3. Joshua [b 1827] who was a piecer (woollen) [1851]

The family lived at Norland Hall [1851].

Living with them [in 1851] was grandson William Ackroyde [b  1849]

Ackroyde, ThomasRef A190
[1844-1885] Used the name Ackroyde.

Son of James Ackroyd.

Born in Greetland.

He was a book keeper [1871] / innkeeper at the Druids' Arms, Greetland [1881].

On 31st March 1865, he married Charlotte Ann Crowther [1848-1???] in Halifax.


Charlotte Ann was born in Ripponden
 

Children:

  1. John James [1866-1889] who was a cotton piecer [1881], & was buried with his parents
  2. Joseph Henry [1868-1889] who was a cotton piecer [1881], & was buried with his parents
  3. Martha Annie [1871-7th November 1877] who was buried with her Ackroyd grandparents
  4. Ernest [1873-1887] who was buried with his parents
  5. Mary Jane [1876-1890] who was buried with her parents
  6. Norman [b Greetland 15th September 1878, d Brighouse 10th May 1903] who was a dyer's labourer, never married, & was buried with his parents
  7. Martha [b 1884]
  8. Irvine [1891-1911] who was buried with his parents

The family lived at

  • Brandy Hole, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]
  • Brandy Hole / Druids' Arms [1881]

Living with them [in 1871, 1881] was Arthur Shaw [b 1866]


Arthur was the illegitimate son of Thomas's sister Mary Ann Ackroyd
 

Tom died at the Druids Arms [15th June 1885].

He was buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland.

On 24th February 1892, Charlotte married (2) Alfred Earnshaw.

She died in Stainland [27th December 1924], and was buried at Greetland with her first husband Thomas and son Norman

Acland, Henry RelfRef A223
[1885-1918] Aka Harry.

Son of Thomas Henry Relf Acland.

Born in Halifax.

He was employed at Ryburndale Paper Mill, Soyland.

In [Q3] 1908, he married Ada Sykes in Halifax.

They lived at 7 Lower Swift Place, Ripponden [1918].

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by an enemy sniper [20th July 1918] (aged 33).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [24th August 1918].

He was buried at Marfaux British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I E 6].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Ripponden War Memorial, and (possibly) on the Roll of Honour at Rishworth Particular Baptist Church Memorial.

His brother Relf also died in the War

Acland, RelfRef A689
[1884-1918] Son of Thomas Henry Relf Acland.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.

In [Q1] 1918, he married Ada Davidson in North Shields.

They lived at 13 Spring Street, Ripponden.

During World War II, he enlisted [1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded 3 times.

He was killed in action near Hancourt [1st September 1918] (aged 34).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [28th September & 5th October 1918].

He was buried at Vis-En-Artois British Cemetery, Haucourt, France [Grave Ref II B 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother Harry also died in the War

Acland, Thomas Henry RelfRef A687
[1850-1916] Born in St Pancras, London.

He was a clothier's porter [1891] / a fish hawker [1911].

He married Emily Green [1852-1919].


Emily was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. (possibly) Thomas (Relf Acland) [1880] who died in infancy at Wellesley Park Barracks, Halifax
  2. (possibly) Charles (Relf Acland) [1881] who died in infancy at Wellesley Park Barracks, Halifax
  3. Elizabeth R. [b 1883]
  4. Relf
  5. Harry / Henry Relf
  6. Samuel J. [b 1889]

The family lived at

  • 44 Copley Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 8A Chapel Fold, Halifax [1911]
  • 13 Spring Street, Ripponden [1918]

Son Thomas & Charles were buried at St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount.

Sons Relf & Harry died in World War I

Acre Farm, LuddendenfootRef A541
Owners and tenants have included

Acre Farm, MidgleyRef A352
Thorney Lane. Early 19th century laithe-house

Acre Mead, HalifaxRef A268
Home of Harold Vincent Mackintosh until his marriage in 1916 and Eric Donald Mackintosh [1935]

Acre Nook Clough, TodmordenRef A1075

Acre Nook Farm, TodmordenRef A1036
Clough Foot

Acrid, EdwinRef A652
[1887-1916] Son of James Acrid.

Around 1891, the family changed their name to Ackroyd. It also appears as Akroyd.

Born in Barrow-in-Furness, Lancashire.

He was a woollen carder [1901] / a mill hand (woollen mill) [1911] / a blanket finisher in woollen mill [1911] / a card room hand at Watson Mill, Sowerby Bridge.

He lived at 17 Halifax Lane, Luddenden.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Rifleman with the 18th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 15th September 1916.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 13A & 13B], on Luddenden Working Men's Club Roll of Honour, on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint James's United Methodist Free Church, Luddenden.

His brother Matthew also died in the War

Acrid, JamesRef A569
[1854-1919] Born in Wentworth / Ely, Cambridgeshire.

Around 1891, the family changed their name to Ackroyd. It also appears as Akroyd.

He was a steelworks labourer [1891] / a bobbin sider (worsted mill) [1901] / an insurance agent boarding in Leeds [1911].

In [Q3] 1874, he married Mary Berry [1855-1933] in Ulverston.


Mary was born in Dudley, Staffordshire
 

Children:

  1. Maria [b 1875]
  2. Elizabeth [1876-1952] who was a worsted twister [1901]
  3. Mary / Mary Ellen [1879-1963] who was a worsted twister [1901], a woollen weaver [1911]
  4. William [1882-1942]
  5. James /Michael James [1884-1922] who was a woollen carder [1901]
  6. Edwin
  7. Catherine [1888-1921] who was a worsted spinner [1901], a woollen weaver [1911]
  8. John Francis [1890-1912] who was a clog sole maker in saw mill [1911]
  9. Matthew
  10. Amy [1894-1933] who was a worsted spinner [1911]

The family lived at

  • Barrow in Furness [1882]
  • 15 Lyon Street, Barrow in Furness [1891, 1892]
  • Halifax [1895]
  • 23 Apple House Terrace, Luddenden [1901]
  • 9A Chapel Street, Luddenden [1911]

Sons Edwin & Matthew died in World War I.

James died in Preston in 1919.

Mary died in Hebden Bridge in 1933

Acrid, MatthewRef A568
[1892-1917] Son of James Acrid.

Around 1891, the family changed their name to Ackroyd. It also appears as Akroyd.

Born in Barrow in Furness.

He was a member of St James's United Methodist Free Church, Luddenden / a labourer in saw mill [1911] / employed by James Maud & Sons.

He lived at 17 Halifax Lane, Luddenden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 27th (Tyneside Irish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [9th April 1917] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2 & 3], on Luddenden Working Men's Club Roll of Honour, on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint James's United Methodist Free Church, Luddenden.

His brother Edwin also died in the War

Action HalifaxRef A609
An organisation established in 2001 by Calderdale Council, local business and other groups to revitalise Halifax town centre by utilising the existing buildings and refurbishing derelict and under-used properties

Acton, James BenjaminRef A746
[1915-1942] He was employed at the Economic Stores, Halifax.

He lived at 7 Highroad Well Court, Halifax.

He enlisted in 1935.

During World War II, he served as a Bombardier with the 9th Coast Regiment Royal Artillery.

He was killed in action [19th February 1942] (aged 27).

He is remembered on the Singapore Memorial [Grave Ref 7], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

ActorsRef A74

Ada (Halifax) LimitedRef A1029
Manufacturers of the Ada washing machine. They were at West Mount Works, Halifax [1952]

Ada washing machineRef A117
Developed around 1944 by Ada (Halifax) Limited / Ajax Domestic Appliances.

It used features which George Carter copied from a Hotpoint washing machine

Adam & EmmetRef A959
Halifax attorneys.

Partners included Thomas Adam.

See Finn Gledhill & Company

Adam, Emmet & EmmetRef A874
Halifax attorneys. Partners included Thomas Adam. Recorded in July 1868

Adam, Rev Henry ThompsonRef A397
[1853-1928] BA.

Son of Thomas Adam

Adam Royd, TodmordenRef A100
Owners and tenants have included

Adam son of Peter de BirkinRef A738
[11??-1185]

(Modern: Adam Birkin)

First son and heir of Peter son of Essolf de Birkin.

He held lands in Birkin, Shitlington, Flockton, Stainborough, Upper Hoyland, Havercroft, Fairburn, & Brayton.

He married [1] Matilda.

He married [2] Matilda de Crauz

Children:

  1. Robert [died 1173-75]
  2. John who became heir
  3. Roger
  4. Peter
  5. Isabel
  6. daughter


One of Adam's daughters married Robert le Vavasour
 

In a grant [undated 1175-1185], Adam gave a buck or doe yearly from his park of Birkin to the monks of Pontefract. This was witnessed by Robert le Vavasour.

In a grant [undated 1175-1185], Adam gave to Thomas his brother his land in Leeds with a mill, and his land in Sheepscar, to hold for the service of half a knight

Adam, ThomasRef A7
[1800-1873] Son of William Adam.

Born in Halifax.

From 1816 to 1821, he was articled to James Thompson of Wigglesworth & Thompson. He practised as an attorney [1823 to 1868].

Between 1826 and 1856, he was in partnership with Robert Parker as Parker & Adam.

He was one of Anne Lister's legal advisers

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

On 8th September 1946, he married Sarah Anne Mellor [1811-1890] in Manchester

Children:

  1. Sybil [1848-1923] who never married
  2. Thomas William
  3. Henry Thomson

The family lived at Horton House, Halifax.

He died in Marylebone [4th June 1873]

Adam, Rev Thomas WilliamRef A396
[1849-1905] MA.

Son of Thomas Adam.

He was Rector of Brasenose College Oxford.

On 30th July 1879, he married Fanny Borrow from Stoke Newington

Adam, WilliamRef A395
[17??-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was an ironmonger and hardwareman at Hall End, Halifax.

On 2nd April 1799, he married Alice Lister at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Thomas


His wife died 16th March 1812, in the prime of life, after a lingering illness, which she bore with truly christian fortitude, sincerely and universally respected
 

Adamroyd, TodmordenRef A983
An earlier name for Hollins Farm, Todmorden.

See Adamroyd Mill, Todmorden

Adams, Charles KitsonRef A253
[1???-19??]

In [Q1] 1924, he married Edna Pretoria Greemwood [1900-19??] in Todmorden.

Children:

  1. George

The family lived at 17 Manor Drive, Halifax

Adams, DavidRef A530
[1859-1904] Son of John Adams, currier.

Born in Halesowen, Worcestershire.

He was a tin plate worker of Causeway Head, Warley [1884] / a tin plate worker [1891, 1901].

In 1884, he married Jane Ellen Riley [1864-1923] at Halifax Parish Church.


Jane Ellen, of Causeway head, Warley, was born in Soyland, the daughter of Joseph Riley, labourer.

She was widowed and a grocer & general dealer [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Alice [b 1886] who was a cotton piecer [1901], a twiner piecer [1911] & lived at 9 Crampton Street, Hanson Lane, Halifax [1917]
  2. Irving

The family lived at

  • 6 Causeway Head, Warley [1891]
  • 15 Causeway Head, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 8 Causeway Head, Burnley Road, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

David died in 1904 (aged 45) 

Adams, GeorgeRef A293
[1873-1917] Born in St Pancras, London.

In 1911, he married Elizabeth Ann Eastwood [1864-19??] in Todmorden.

During World War I, he enlisted in Rochdale, and served as a Corporal with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [20th October 1917] (aged 44).

He was buried at Coxyde Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IV H 4].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

In 1919, Elizabeth Ann married George Sykes.

They lived at 5 Mills Place, Todmorden [1917].

Adams, GeorgeRef A119
[19??-19??] He served in World War II.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Wadsworth War Memorial

Adams, GeorgeRef A249
[1925-1944] Son of Charles Kitson Adams.

He was educated at Holy Trinity School & Halifax Technical College / an apprentice engineer with Halifax Gas Works.

During World War II, he served as a Pilot Officer with 419 (RCAF) Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was shot down in a Lancaster Bomber [14th October 1944] (aged 19).

He was buried at Reichswald Forest War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 29 A 2].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park

Adams, IrvingRef A224
[1891-1917] Son of David Adams.

Born in Warley.

He was a twiner piecer [1911] / employed in the garage of Councillor Edgar Smith, Northgate, Halifax.

He was engaged to Mary.

During World War I, he enlisted [25th April 1916], and served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [23rd April 1917] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2 & 3]

Adams, Dr John AndrewRef A565
[1867-19??] Son of Robert Adams [1830-19??] of Omagh, Ireland.

Born in Tyrone, Omagh.

He was House surgeon at the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1895] / Physician and surgeon at Sowerby Bridge [1905].

He was one of the medical men who attended those injured in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster.

On 24th September 1902, he married Anne Beatrice, daughter of Benjamin Clay, at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Sowerby Bridge

Children:

  1. John Donald [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 19 Ryburn Buildings, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • Bank Royd, Hollins Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Adams, John ErnestRef A56
[1917-1942] Son of May & George Adams of Hull.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

He died 1st January 1942 (aged 25).

He was buried at Heptonstall Slack Baptist Cemetery [284]

Adams, MrsRef A720
[18??-19??] She ran a lodging house at Dawson City and was one of the Queens of Dawson City

Adams, ThomasRef A740
[1887-1918] Son of Annie & William Adams of King Street, Hebden Bridge.

Born in Cragg Vale.

He was a boot maker/dealer [1910].

On 4th June 1910, he married Mary Hannah Fielden in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was born in Cragg Vale.

She was a sewing machinist [1910]

 

They had no children.

They lived at 9 Woodbine Place, Hebden Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted in Hebden Bridge [June 1916], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 7th Battalion North Staffordshire Regiment (Prince of Wales).

During his service, he was appointed Regimental Shoe Maker and received extra pay for his duties.

He was admitted to the field hospital at Kamadan, Persia [28th September 1918], dangerously ill with enterica.

He died 3rd October 1918 (aged 31).

He was buried at Tehran War Cemetery, Iran [Grave Ref IV B 12]

Adams, WilfredRef A747
[1923-1943] Son of Edith & Albert Adams of Wibsey.

He was employed in the family firm – The Pram Shop – at 223 King Cross Road, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was killed in a flying accident [29th January 1943] (aged 20).

He was on a navigational exercise, and took off from Stratford-on-Avon; after climbing through scattered cloud, he collided with a bomber from the same unit. Both aircraft disintegrated near Honington airfield in Suffolk.

He was buried at Scholemoor Cemetery, Bradford.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Adams, Rev WilliamRef A505
[18??-1???] An Irishman.

He was Minister of Union Croft Chapel, Ambler Thorn [1870] / Minister of Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [August 1871].

In December 1873, he moved to Bristol

Adams, WilliamRef A129
[1870-1944] Of Thorn Lea, Stump Cross.

He married Emma [1875-1929].

The couple were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Adamski, Zygmunt JanRef A120
[1923-1980] Polish-born miner whose body was found on a coal tip near the busy railway line in Todmorden in June 1980

Adcock's: F. K. Adcock & CompanyRef A754
Worsted spinners at Clough Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1892] and West Vale Works, Greetland [1936]

Addersgate Farm, NorthowramRef A418
Fall Lane / Addersgate Lane. Dated 1700 I B H.

Owners and tenants have included

Addersgate Farm, Sowerby BridgeRef A537
Fall Lane. Dated 1700 I B H

Addison, ArthurRef A31
[1894-1918] Son of Frederick Addison of 3 Wilton Street, Brookfoot, Brighouse.

Born in Saham Toney, Norfolk.

During World War I, he served as a Driver with the 122nd Battery 24th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 2nd November 1918.

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [E U 443]`.

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Addison, Basil WilliamRef A113
[1890-1968] MC.

Son of George Thomas Addison.

Born in Fulford, York.

He was a clerk in the University Office, and living in a boarding house in Wavertree, Liverpool [1911].

He lived with his parents at 15 Clare Road, Halifax [1917].

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was awarded the Military Cross [1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [10th November 1917]. His brother Reginald died in World War I.

He survived the War.

In [Q3] 1921, he married Alice Hirst in Halifax.

He died in Halifax [Q2 1968] (aged 78) 

Addison, DanielRef A3310
[17??-1783] Curate at Sowerby [1773, 1783]

Addison, GeorgeRef A547
[17??-1???] A plasterer in Halifax.

Recorded in 1743, when local Catholics (about 10 in number) held monthly meetings at his house. Mr Brown from Lancashire was their priest

Addison, GeorgeRef A6180
[17??-1???] Curate at Sowerby [1790]

Addison, George ThomasRef A7410
[1855-1928] Born in Easingwold.

He was attendant on the insane at an asylum in York [1891] / steward at Halifax Liberal Club [1901] / hall keeper at the Victoria Hall, Halifax [1911].

In [Q4] 1879, he married Sarah Elizabeth France [1855-19??] in York.


Sarah Elizabeth was born in Boultham, York, daughter of Joseph France
 

Children:

  1. Percy T [b 1883]
  2. Reginald France
  3. Guy France [b 1886] who was a machine tool draughtsman [1901]
  4. Edith Mary [b 1888]
  5. Basil William

The children were born in Fulford, York.

The family lived at

  • 5 Belle Vue Terrace, Fulford, York [1891]
  • Liberal Club House, 47 Queens Road, Halifax [1901]
  • 15 Clare Road, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1911] was widowed father-in-law Joseph France [b 1833], and boarder Bertha Read [b 1889] (school mistress) 

Addison, HoldinsRef A871
[18??-18??] In 1850, he had a school in Halifax.

He lived at Green Hill, Halifax [1850]

Addison, L. F.Ref A209
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1916-1917]

Addison, Reginald FranceRef A516
[1884-1916] Son of George Thomas Addison.

Born in Fulford, York.

He was a member of St Paul's Church & School, King Cross / Secretary of St Paul's School, King Cross / Secretary of the Young Men's Society at St Paul's / a clerk for a confectionery manufacturer [1901] / warehouseman's clerk & under manager for toffee manufacturer [1911].

He lived at 15 Clare Road, Halifax.

He was a member of St Paul's Church, King Cross, and worked for Mackintosh's as a clerk (confectioner manufacturer) [1901], a warehouseman's clerk [1911], and under manager for toffee manufacturer [1911] and he was in Germany on business for the firm.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died after being lost in an attack on Les Boeufs [12th October 1916] (aged 33).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at John Mackintosh & Sons Limited, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

Addy, HerbertRef A233
[1893-1916] Son of Jane & John Addy of 88 Pye Nest Gate, Halifax.

Born in Oldham

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with Q Battery 164th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 2nd July 1916 (aged 23).

He was buried at Bouzincourt Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref II D 3]

Addy, Sam DearndleyRef A285
[1853-1???] Son of Caroline [1824-1???] & Sam Dearndley Addy, railway guard, of Thurgoland, Sheffield.

Born in Thurgoland.

He was a coalminer [1881] / a bearer [1889] / a stone delver (quarry) [1901].

In [Q1] 1876, he married (1) Emma Hollings [1853-1886] in Wortley.


Emma was born in Stainborough, Barnsley.

She had a daughter: Bertha H. Hollings [b 1874]

 

Children:

  1. Fred [b 1885] who was a roving piler (worsted) [1901]
  2. Allen [b 1877] who was a labourer stone quarry [1901]
  3. Louisa [b 1879]

Emma died in Barnsley [Q3 1886] (aged 33).

On 12th October 1889, he married (2) Frances Drake at St Anne's Church, Southowram.


Frances (née Clayton), of Park Gate, Southowram, was the widow of
Cockroft Drake
 

The family lived at

  • 23 Rat Row, Stainborough [1881]
  • New Street, Southorwam [1901]

Frances died in Halifax [Q4 1909] (aged 67).

Sam died in Halifax [Q1 1932] (aged 79) 

Addyman, Rev T.Ref A324
[18??-18??] Minister of Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1863]

The Adega, HalifaxRef A648
8 Bull Green. Premises of Scratcherd & Company. Became the Adega pub.

See Crown & Anchor, Halifax and Hop Pole, Halifax

Adelaide Street Glee SocietyRef A157
Recorded in 1914 at Adelaide Street, Halifax

The Adelaide, West ValeRef A325
A popular name for an area of Saddleworth Road. Named for the wife of William IV

Adeodu, Rev ShadrachRef A964
[19??-????] From Nigeria.

He was Curate at St George's Church, Lee Mount [19??].

He served for about 2 years before returning to Nigeria

Adey, Rev J.Ref A235
[19??-] Vicar of Clifton [1978].

He was the last vicar to live at Clifton Vicarage

Adgel Farm, SouthowramRef A554
Cain Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Adgil Crescent, Southowram and Adgil Grove House, Southowram

Adgil Grove Farm, SouthowramRef A960
Cain Lane. Aka Adgil Grove House.

Owners and tenants have included

See Adgel Farm, Southowram

Adkins, Sir W. Ryland D.Ref A298
[1862-1925] Liberal MP for Middleton Division [1906-1918]

AdvertisementsRef A1009

AelandeRef A14
An early spelling of Elland

ÆlredRef A15
Originally from Whitby, Ælred became the priest at the chapel of St John the Baptist in what is now Halifax, and carried on a hermit-like existence there.

At one time, he became father confessor to a young girl from a nearby religious home for females, and performed due flagellations for his thoughts of her and her blonde hair. One day, the girl confessed that she had met a godly man for whom her passions raged, and Ælred – assuming that she referred to him – was overtaken by a rage, and crying

Satan, I know thee, and I defy thee

he struck her and severed her head from her body. Her head was later found fixed to a yew tree – into which the fair hair had taken root. Ælred's body was found at the foot of a precipice. The tree was revered and became a centre of pilgrimage for some time, and Watson suggests that this was near the Well of St John. This is yet another explanation of the name HalifaxHoly hair.

Camden says that before this incident, the town was called Horton.

See The Halifax Coat of Arms, The Halifax Seal and Seal of the Waterhouse Charity

Aerated Water Company, EllandRef A786
Mineral water manufacturers at Elland

Aerated Water Company, HalifaxRef A688
Around 1870, Walter Spencer sold his aerated water business – Walter Spencer & Sons – to the Company.

Recorded in 1874, when they were at Bedford Terrace, Halifax when James Bolt was Manager.


Question: Is this the same as the Halifax & District Mineral Water Manufacturers Association Limited?

 

See Robert Armstrong Dobson

Aeroplane Field, CliftonRef A379
Area of Highmoor Lane which was used by amateur airmen around 1919

Afferetti, MrRef A3660
[17??-1804] He taught French at Rev Hudson's Academy at Hipperholme for many years [until his death in October 1804]

AfricaRef A644

Agbrigg & MorleyRef A723
One of the wapentakes of the West Riding. In the mid-19th century, it split into 2 wapentakes: Agbrigg and Morley

Aged Folks' Tea Party Society, TodmordenRef A3850
Abraham Stansfield was Chairman of the Society

Agricultural societiesRef A640
There have been several such societies in the district, including Calder Vale Agricultural Society, Halifax Agricultural Society, Hebden Bridge & Calder Valley Agricultural Society, and Todmorden Vale Agricultural Society

Aiggin stoneRef A225
Blackstone Edge Moor. A 7 ft high, irregular stone pillar on the county boundary between Sowerby Bridge and Littleborough, above Ryburn reservoir. It is inscribed with a Latin cross and the initials IT. It was probably a way-marker.

The name is pronounced as Edgin' and may be derived from the French aigulle, a needle, or aigle, an eagle, or from the Latin aggerere, an earthwork

Aiglin, WilliamRef A248
See William Diglin

Ainley...Ref A135
The entries for people & families with the surname Ainley are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ainley & PeckettRef A24
Common brewers at Outlane, Stainland.

Partners included John Ainley, David Ainley and John Peckett.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1857

Ainley's: B. Ainley & SonsRef A171
Recorded in 1914, when they owned the Swan, Stainland

See J. & B. Ainley

Ainley Brothers (Elland) LimitedRef A616
Textile manufacturers at Mount Works, Elland [1904-1978]

Ainley House, EllandRef A106
Aka Aneley House, Ainley Hall. Home of Edward Savile, son of Nicholas Savile of New Hall. Recorded in 1898. Demolished in 1???

Ainley House, OvendenRef A457
/ Illingworth.

Owners and tenants have included

Ainley's: J. & B. AinleyRef A695
Brewers at Wapping Spring Brewery, Wapping Nick, Holywell Green [1874].

They produced ales and stouts – in casks and bottles – under the brand name Wappy.

In 1899, John Ainley & Sons Limited was registered.

See B. Ainley & Sons

Ainley's: John Ainley & CompanyRef A1106
Halifax brewers. Partners included (possibly) John Ainley.

Recorded in September 1857, when the partnership was dissolved

Ainley's: John Ainley & Sons LimitedRef A594
Brewing company registered in 1899.

See J. & B. Ainley and Wapping Spring Brewery, Outlane

Ainley's: John Ainley & Sons (Oil Merchants) LimitedRef A600
Indigo & pattern dyer & finisher and oil extractor established around 1870 by John Ainley at Lilley's Dye Works, Elland and Bridge Works, Elland.

See John Heaton Ainley

Ainley TopRef A18
Hill-top, village and M62 motorway junction 24 between Elland and Huddersfield.

Coal mining is recorded here in the 12th century.

The turnpike road from Huddersfield to Elland and Halifax was built by Blind Jack of Knaresborough.

Locally, the area is known as Ainleys or The Ainleys, and is variously spelled Alnaldley, Aneley, Avenley, and Awnley in old documents.

The hotel was built here in 1970.

See Grimescar

The AinleysRef A19
Local name for Ainley Top

Ainsworth, AlbertRef A124
[18??-1???] A teacher living at The School House, Lightcliffe [1894].

In [Q3] 1889, he married Clara Hill in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Dorothy Hill Eugenie [b 26/9/1894]

Ainsworth, HenryRef A450
[1???-1657]

He was buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.

Watson observed that

his is the oldest gravestone in the churchyard

Ainsworth, Rev WilliamRef A104
[15??-1671] He was Curate at Ripponden [1630] / Curate at Southowram [1635] / lecturer at St Peter's, Chester / Curate at Lightcliffe [1647-1650] / vicar of South Kirby [1648] / Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1651] / Lecturer at Halifax Parish Church [16??].

Heywood includes him in his list of the great number of wretched drunken preachers at Lightcliffe.

He may have been related to Nathaniel Waterhouse. In 1650, Thomas Broad of York published his book of 3 Waterhouse sermons entitled Triplex Memoriale:

  1. The memory of the just
  2. A pattern for pious uses
  3. The fifth beatitude, or the merciful man's blessing

He owned Crow Nest Mansion, Lightcliffe [1632-1649].

He married Grace.

Children: several.

In 1661, he moved to Hull. He became vicar of Sculcoates.

He died and was buried at Sculcoates

Air CircusRef A158
Sir Alan Cobham and his Cobham's Flying Circus gave flying displays at Clifton on 2nd June 1934

Air Raid PrecautionsRef A240
An organisation whose purpose was to protect civilians during the air raids of World War II.

See Air Raid Posts in Halifax

Aird, Benjamin LambertRef A283
[1799-1887] Born in Ayrshire, Scotland.

He was a publican.

He married Louisa [1809-1???].


Louisa was born in Marylebone, Middlesex
 

Children:

  1. Janet Fanny

The family lived at 136 Hollydale Road, Camberwell, London [1881]

Living with them [in 1881] was grandson Ernest James Clarke [b  1873].

Benjamin died In Camberwell [Q3 1887] (aged 88) 

Aird, Janet FannyRef A281
[1849-1???] Or Jannett.

Daughter of Benjamin Lambert Aird.

She was born at sea.

Baptised in Lambeth [11th November 1849],

In 1869, she married (1) Alfred William Clarke.

They had five children.

Alfred William died in Lambeth in 1876 (aged 32).

In 1881, Janet Fanny was a publican, at St Martin in the Fields, London.

In 1882, she married (2) Frederick William Martin.

Aire & Calder Navigation CompanyRef A883
Established to construct the Aire & Calder Navigation.

In 1809, Thomas Walpole was the agent at Sowerby Bridge

Aire, CliffordRef A247
[1919-1940] Son of Annie Maria & Harold Airey of Walsden.

During World War II, he served as a Guardsman with the 1st Battalion Coldstream Guards.

He died 17th May 1940 (aged 21).

He was buried at Heverlee War Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II D 6].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Aire Street Co-operative Store, BrighouseRef A775
The store on the corner or Aire Street / Huddersfield Road near the railway station opened on 29th November 1886. The upper storey of the building has been removed. It is now the Co-op Undertakers

Aire Terrace Co-Op, RastrickRef A531
The store opened on 29th November 1886 at Aire Terrace.

It was at the junction with Huddersfield Road, Rastrick.

It became the Co-Op Funeral Services

Airey & GreenwoodRef A742
Silk spinners at Brighouse.

On 21st April 1856 an 11-year-old girl, employed washing silk at the mill, lost all the fingers off her right hand when she became entangled in the machinery

Airey, AnthonyRef A148
[1818-1???] Born in Dolphinholme, Lancashire.

He was an overlooker (silk) [1861] / an overlooker [1871].

In [Q4] 1849, he married Margaret Slinger [1820-1???] in Bradford.


Margaret was born in Kendal, Westmoreland
 

Children:

  1. (possibly) Richard [b 1845] who was a silk dresser [1861]
  2. Elizabeth [b 1851] who was a worsted spinner [1861], a silk spreader [1871], a silk warper [1881]
  3. Mary Ann [b 1852] who was a silk rover [1871]
  4. Thomas

The family lived at

  • Mill Lane, Brighouse [1861, 1871]
  • 3 Baines Row, Brighouse [1881]

Airey, Bartholomew ArkwrightRef A1087
[1855-1928] Son of Edmund Airey.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a scholar at Wellhouse Academy, Mirfield [1871] / a silk noil merchant [1881] / a silk salesman [1891] / a silk yarn and noil salesman [1901] / manager silk noils and wool [1911] / a partner in E., G. & B. A. Airey

The business was declared bankrupt in March 1885. In August 1885, he, his brother George Airey, and father Edmund Airey, were charged with having, by false representations, obtained property on credit, not having paid for same, within 4 months next before the presentation of their bankruptcy petition. He was sentenced to 6 months' imprisonment with hard labour

In 1880, he married Elizabeth Mary Greenall [1855-1???] at Spalding.


Elizabeth Mary was born in Spalding, Lincolnshire.

She was a milliner [1881] and a furniture dealer [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Frederick [b 1881] who was a stuff merchant's clerk [1901]
  2. Arkwright [b 1882] who was a woolcomber's clerk [1901]
  3. Charlotte Constance [b 1883]
  4. Elizabeth Winifred [b 1885]
  5. Percy [b 1887] who was a china wool salesman [1911]
  6. Dorothy Emmeline [b 1891] who was a clerk in wool merchant's office [1911]

The family lived at

  • 5 King Street, Hipperholme-with-Brighouse [1881]
  • Marion Street, Brighouse [1891]
  • 115 Tennyson Place, Bradford [1901]
  • 2 Fagley Villas, Fagley, Idle, North Bierley, Bradford [1911]

Living with them [in 1881] was sister-in-law Kate Greenall [aged 18] (milliner).

Bartholomew Arkwright died at 43 Cecil Avenue, Bradford [18th October 1928]

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £1,020. Probate was granted to his widow Elizabeth Mary

Airey's: E., G. & B. A. AireyRef A11
Silk spinners at Brighouse. Partners included Edmund Airey, George Airey, and Bartholomew Arkwright Airey.

In 1883, the were indebted to the bank to the extent of between £30,000 and £40,000.

In March 1885, the partnership was declared bankrupt.

In August 1885, the partners were charged with fraud, having, by false representations, obtained property on credit, not having paid for same, within 4 months next before the presentation of their bankruptcy petition. They were each imprisoned

Airey, EdmundRef A1085
[1822-1???] Born in Ellel, Lancashire.

He was a silk spinner in Brighouse / senior partner in E., G. & B. A. Airey with his sons

The business was declared bankrupt in March 1885. In August 1885, he and his sons were charged with having, by false representations, obtained property on credit, not having paid for same, within 4 months next before the presentation of their bankruptcy petition. He was sentenced to 3 months' imprisonment. As he was suffering from

an extremely painful disease

the Court said the sentence would probably be served in the Gaol Infirmary

In 1849, he married Ann Bleasdall [1825-1???] from Wyersdale, Lancashire, in Preston.

Children:

  1. Henry [b 1853]
  2. George
  3. Bartholomew Arkwright
  4. John William [b 1860]

The family lived at Mill Lane, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1861]

Airey, GeorgeRef A1086
[1853-1???] Son of Edmund Airey.

Partner in E., G. & B. A. Airey.

The business was declared bankrupt in March 1885. In August 1885, he, his brother Bartholomew Arkwright Airey, and father Edmund Airey, were charged with having, by false representations, obtained property on credit, not having paid for same, within 4 months next before the presentation of their bankruptcy petition. He was sentenced to 6 months' imprisonment with hard labour

Airey, StephenRef A899
[1818-1874] Beerseller at the Queen Inn, Sowerby Bridge [1841].

In 1839, he married Ellen Rimmer in Blackburn.

Children:

  1. Margaret who married John Turner

Airey, ThomasRef A83
[1854-1927] Son of Anthony Airey.

He was a mill hand [1871] / a silk overlooker [1881] / a fish fryer [1881].

He married Margaret [1856-1927].


Margaret was born in Preston
 

Children:

  1. Harry [23rd July 1884-3rd May 1893]
  2. Willie [24th March 1889-25th April 1896]

The family lived at 139 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1901].

Thomas died 5th January 1927 (aged 72).

Margaret died 29th April 1927 (aged 71).

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

AirportRef A645
In 1934, Halifax Town Council put forward a proposal to construct an aerodrome at Cousin Lane, Ovenden. The plan was finally rejected, after opposition, and caveats from the Air Ministry – one being that the weather would only allow flying for 9 months of the year.

The Mayor of Brighouse, A. Reeve, produced an alternative plan for an airport at Clifton, but this was also rejected – see Clifton Air Circus

In 1955, Brighouse Town Planning Committee rejected a proposal for the construction of a helicopter station at the junction of Mill Lane and Huddersfield Road – near the present Sainsbury's supermarket.

The nearest modern airport is Leeds Bradford International Airport

Airton, RichardRef A1109
[17??-18??] He had interests in Lumb Mill, Wainstalls and other property in the area.

He loaned money to William Calvert to mortgage the Water Mill / Old Mill in order to repay the major creditors of his late brother Jonathan Calvert [1826]. William needed £1,500 but Airton increased this to £3,000 to repay all the creditors; it was agreed that £1,500 should be repaid in August 1828

Aitken-Davies, EdwardRef A229
[1873-19??] Born in Plymouth.

He was a journalist & author [1901] / divisional education officer [1953].

In [Q2] 1898, he married Annie Tout [1875-1953] in Plymouth.


Annie was born in Plymouth
 

Children:

  1. Edward
  2. Gweneth Lilian [b 1893] who married [Tiverton, Devon Q2/1945] Richard Davis

The family lived at

  • 11 Crescent Avenue, Plymouth [1901]
  • 170 Union Street, Plymouth [with Annie's married sister Frances Kate [b 1876] (sub-postmistress) & her husband John Charles Williams [b 1875] (accountant marine engineering) 1911]
  • 18 St Paul's Road, Paignton, Devon [1953]

Annie died 6th January 1953 Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,251 7/11d.

Probate was granted to her husband & her daughter Gweneth

Aitken-Davies, Dr EdwardRef A359
[1899-1981] Son of Edward Aitken-Davies.

Born in Plymouth, Devon [2nd May 1899].

On 2nd January 1948, he married Gisela Hildegard Edith Zeiner [1926-2012] in Hanover, Germany.


Gisela was born 14th November 1926
 

Children:

  1. Richard
  2. Edward [b 1948]
  3. Philip [b 1951]
  4. Gisela [b 1956] who married [Todmorden Q3/1975] John Slater
  5. Christopher [b 1958] who married [Wandsworth, London Q2/1994] Ann E Haran
  6. Nicola [b 1963] who married [Tunbridge Wells, Kent Q4/1988] Paul R Pentecost

The family lived at

  • 1 Lower Laith Avenue, Sowerby [1950, 1958]
  • 2 Wellington Road, Sowerby [1959, 1962]
  • 2 Wellington Road, Todmorden [1981]

Edward died 10th December 1981 (aged 82).

Gisela died in Todmorden [19th March 2012] (aged 86) 

Aitken-Davies, RichardRef A360
[1946-19??] Eldest son of Dr Edward Aitken-Davies.

Born in Hamburg, Germany.

In [Q4] 1972, he married Sally Elizabeth Letham in Chard, Somerset.


Sally Elizabeth came from Ilminster
 

Aitken, EdwardRef A303
[1861-1912] Son of Sarah & John Aitken.

Born in Bacup [28th May 1861].

He was Manager of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited, Todmorden [1894-1912].

In 1886, he married Bertha Apedaile [1861-1934] at Knaresborough.


Bertha was born in Walsden, the daughter of George Apedaile [1829-1868] & Hannah Fielden [1826-1872]
 

Children:

  1. Eric 1887-1972
  2. John Kenneth 1890-1921

The family lived at Brocklyn House, Todmorden.

Edward died at Brocklyn House [16th March 1912].

Bertha died in the Isle of Man [18th July 1934].

The sons died in the Isle of Man

AjaxRef A140
On 13th December 1939, HMS Ajax was one of 3 Royal Navy cruisers HMS Ajax, HMS Exeter, and HMS Achilles which were in action at the Battle of the River Plate and the sinking of the German pocket battleship Graf Spee.

The cruiser HMS Ajax and the HMS St Pancras were adopted by Halifax during World War II. During Warships Week, in February 1942, Halifax raised a total of £2,077,565.

See Ajax Machine Tool Company

Ajax Domestic Appliance CompanyRef A617
Lightcliffe. A subsidiary of Ajax Machine Tool Company and manufacturer of the Ada washing machine.


Question: Does anyone know the link between Ada (Halifax) Limited and Ajax Domestic Appliances?

 

In 1950, the company was bought out by the Aurochs Investment Company of London.

In 1952, they were at West Mount Works, Halifax.

In 1960, it was taken over by Philips and became Philips UK Limited, Hipperholme

Ajax Machine Tool Company LimitedRef A622
Machine tool makers and manufacturers of drilling machines, Formed in 1939 by George Carter and Donald Walker. Named after the Ajax cruiser which was adopted by Halifax during World War II.

The company produced the Ada washing machine which Carter copied from a Hotpoint washing machine In 1952, they were at West Mount Works, Halifax, Fairfield Works, Holmfield, and Miall Street, Halifax.

The company later became Ajax Domestic Appliances

Akam, John W.Ref A651
[18??-19??] Woolstapler and noil & waste merchant at 51 Church Street, Halifax [1905]

Aked...Ref A207
The entries for people & families with the surname Aked are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Aked & HeyRef A595
Wholesale and retail hosiers, glovers and short makers established in 1888 at 35 Silver Street, Halifax.

They were listed as hatters at Old Arcade, Halifax [1896], hosier at 3 Old Market, Halifax [1903], and children's outfitters at 2 Arcade, Halifax [1936]

Aked's: Henry Aked & CompanyRef A682
Cotton warp makers established by Henry Aked at Hebble Mill, Wheatley [1845]

Aked's: James Aked & SonsRef A620
Woollen manufacturers established by James Aked at Pellon Lane, The Square, Halifax and Luddendenfoot.

In 1850, they were listed as manufacturers of fancy gamboons and lasting.

At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products

Aked's Road Steam LaundryRef A631
Recorded in 1905, when the proprietors were H. & J. Bennett

Aked's Road Turkish Baths, HalifaxRef A579
11 Aked's Road. Owned by Thomas Tuley – see Tuley's Turkish, Russian and Hydropathic Baths – from around 1912. The baths remained open until at least 1945

Akeroyd, AbelRef A639
[17??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1735]

Akeroyd, Arthur CharlesRef A476
[1883-1956] Son of Annie Mary (née Hewson) [1849-1937] & Richard Akeroyd [1835-1914], a quarry owner.

Born in Leeds [16th July 1883].

He qualified in April 1905.

He was a solicitor with Hirst, Whitley & Akeroyd [1934].

On 1st October 1914, he married Emily Milnes in Lindley.

They lived at Rylstone, Lightcliffe [1952].

He died in Lightcliffe [28th January 1956].

See Edward Wallace Norris

Akers, EdwardRef A9000
[1827-1858] Son of Charlotte Bagnold and Robert Akers.

He was an assistant surgeon in HM Army.

He died at MacCarthy Island, Gambia, Africa [21st August 1858].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £600. Probate was granted to his sisters Harriet Frances Moore and Caroline Smith

Akers, RobertRef A192
[17??-18??] Of Manchester.

On 12th June 1821, he married Charlotte Bagnold at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Harriet Frances [1822-1895] who married [1852] William Moore [1825-1907]
  2. William
  3. Caroline [1825-1897] who married [1850] John Stores Smith [1829-1892]
  4. Edward
  5. Robert Henry [1829-1839]
  6. Sidney John [b 1831]

The children were all baptised at Halifax Parish Church.

The family lived at Barum House, Halifax

Akers, William BagnoldRef A357
[1823-1861] Son of Charlotte Bagnold and Robert Akers.

He was Chief Clerk at Halifax Post Office [1837, 1845].

He never married.

He lived at Hipperholme.

He died at Huddersfield [18th March 1861].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £800. Probate was granted to his sisters Harriet Frances Moore and Caroline Smith

Akley Hardening Company, HalifaxRef A1030
Recorded in 1952, when they were at Chatham Street, Halifax

Akrigg, RobertRef A284
[1911-1965] Reservoir keeper in the Upper calder Valley.

In [Q3] 1947, he married Isabella Dickson in Garstang, Lancashire.

Children:

  1. Donald [b 1950]

On 29th November 1965, Robert and his son Donald set out the check rain gauges in the catchment area. It was blizzard conditions when Robert left Donald between Reaps Water and Dicken Dyke, and went towards Raistrick Greave. Robert failed to arrive back at the agreed rendezvous after checking the gauges.

His body was found on 6th February 1966 after the snow had melted.

Calder Valley Search & Rescue Team was set up following the incident

Akroyd...Ref A36
The entries for people & families with the surname Akroyd are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Akroyd & AshworthRef A660
Commission woolcombers & stubbing combers. They were at Haley Hill Shed, Halifax [1905] and Garden Street Mill, Halifax [1952]

Akroyd Branch LibraryRef A709
Opened at Bankfield, Halifax on 19th December 1888 by Mayor James Booth – assisted by James Stansfeld, Thomas Shaw, Joseph Woodhead, Thomas Wayman, Edward Crossley, Professor Ransome of Leeds, A. Bruce Joy and the Chairman of the Public Library Committee, James William Davis.

Librarians here have included

See Akroydon Library

Akroyd's Brass BandRef A822
A band formed by the workers at the mills of James Akroyd & Son

Akroyd Farm, WadsworthRef A197
The house stands about half-way between Old Town and Pecket Well. A settlement is recorded here in 1270, one of the earliest in the Calder Valley. The present house is hall-and-cross-wing, hearth-passage design and was built in the late 17th century to replace an earlier single-storey hall.

Owners and tenants have included

The akroyd name is derived from oak and royd, and means an oak clearing.

The surname Ackroyd and its many variants probably originated here

Akroyd, Garlick & CompanyRef A636
Recorded in 1818 at Old Lane Mill, Halifax

Akroyd House, Hebden BridgeRef A6

Owners and tenants have included

  • Ernest Hartley [1956]

Akroyd's: J. S. Akroyd & Webb LimitedRef A1032
Heating engineers and dealers in greases and lubricating oils. They were at Stannary Mills, Halifax [1952]

Akroyd's: James Akroyd & SonsRef A605
The worsted and wool textile manufacturing firm founded by James Akroyd in the middle of the 18th century.

By the mid-19th century, it was the largest such company in Britain, and employed about 2,000 combers, spinners and weavers.

See Akroyd's Brass Band, Benjamin Firth, Thomas Hebblethwaite, John Ingham, John Milner, Plug Riots and Sarah Smith

Akroyd's: M. Akroyd & SonsRef A588
Cotton spinners and doublers at Pendleton Mills, Elland [1905]

Akroyd Memorial CrossRef A813
A cross in memory of Edward Akroyd was erected in the central park at Akroydon. The memorial was designed by W. S. Barber and is based on the Queen Eleanor Cross.

See Akroyd Statue and A Day Out

Akroyd Museum & Art GalleryRef A519
Properly, The Akroyd Museum of Archæology, Antiquities, Art, and Industry. This was a branch of the Halifax Museum.

The 19th century name for what became Bankfield Museum

In 1896, the collections of the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society were presented to the town and held in the Akroyd Museum.

See Halifax Museum

Akroyd Park, HalifaxRef A92
Boothtown Road. In November 1886, Halifax Town Council resolved to buy Edward Akroyd's Bankfield Estate for £6,000. It was to become a public park and would be called Akroyd Park. The estate – comprising the mansion and the 8-acre park – was opened to the public after Akroyd's death in 1887.

The ornamental fountain has been filled in.

See Woodside Baths

Akroyd Place School BathsRef A581
Halifax. Designed by J. F. Walsh in 1897. Opened at Akroyd Place School in 1898

Akroyd StatueRef A131
In 1874, Edward Akroyd retired as MP for Halifax.

On 29th July 1876, a 9 ft bronze statue of him was unveiled at the south-west corner of North Bridge before a crowd of 10,000 people.

The statue was modelled by John Birnie Philip and completed by Fucigna after Philip's death. The bronze was cast by a Chelsea foundry. The figure is holding a map of his model village at Akroydon. It stands on a 10½ ft high marble pedestal The cost was £2,000.

Bronze panels on the pedestal depict scenes from Akroyd's life.

On Tuesday, 10th April 1877, a seaman was sentenced to 10 days' imprisonment for removing his shirt and placing on the statue; he then went on to challenge the statue to a fight. In his defence, he said that he had merely hung his shirt to dry.

On 28th October 1901, the statue was moved to All Souls' Church to make way for the trams.

See Akroyd Memorial Cross

Akroyd-Stuart, HerbertRef A487

Akroyd's: T. E. Akroyd & CompanyRef A150
Auctioneers, valuers and estate agents.

Established by Thomas Edward Akroyd in 1892.

They were at 23 Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1914]

Akroyd's: William Akroyd's BequestRef A561
In his will of 1518, William Akroyd, Rector of Marston and priest in the Cathedral Church of York, left certain lands to 2 of his nephews, first to maintain them at Oxford or Cambridge, and thereafter to them with others as trustees
to keep one scholar at Oxford or Cambridge to the end of the world

Edward Akroyd is recorded as having used the foundation to help 3 of his nephews – John Edward Champney, D. Champney, and C. E. Champney - to university. He was than appointed a trustee to establish a college in the West Riding

Akroydon Co-OpRef A13
Branch number 3 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in July 1860

Akroydon, HalifaxRef A29
Model housing scheme at Boothtown, Halifax, designed in Gothic style by Scott in 1859 for the workers at Edward Akroyd's mills

See Akroyd Memorial Cross

Akroydon LibraryRef A365
Bankfield, Halifax.

See Akroyd Branch Library

Akroydon Ward, HalifaxRef A911
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax.

See Charles Henry Lucas, John Oddy and William Regan

Alangate, HalifaxRef A394

Albany ArcadeRef A30
The name given to the entrance to what was originally the fish market at the south-west corner of the Halifax Borough Market.

The fish market was moved outside the market building to Albion Street around 1905

Albany Chambers, HalifaxRef A947
Office accommodation at 15 Commercial Street, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

See Albany Music Rooms, Halifax

Albany Club, HalifaxRef A592
On 8th October 1909, the club opened at Hope Hall, Halifax.

In 1917, Thomas Clark was secretary

Albany House, HalifaxRef A213
Winding Road.

Owners and tenants have included

See Albany Works, Halifax

Albany Music Rooms, HalifaxRef A262
Commercial Street. Robinson's Directory of 1905, lists Albany Music Rooms at 22 Market Street.

James H. Sykes had his business selling pianos, organs and other musical instruments here. He ran concerts here [around 1887].

Owners and tenants of the Rooms have included

See Albany Chambers, Halifax

Albert Hall Company LimitedRef A932
Established the Albert Theatre & Opera House, Brighouse.

See Sam Blackburn

Albert Park, SkircoatRef A91
Aka Sparrow Park. Small public park at the junction of Heath Road and Skircoat Road, Halifax.

Originally known as Heath Park.

It was renamed in 1902 when the statue of Prince Albert was moved to the park from the junction of Horton Street and Ward's End to make way for the trams.

See Heath Hall

Albert Place Working Men's Reading RoomRef A399
Established around 1860 in Albert Place, Brighouse to provide education for the working men.

See Albert Place Academy

Albert Portrait Rooms, HalifaxRef A482
Ward's End. Edwin Graham was here [August 1868]

Albert Promenade, HalifaxRef A34

Albert Reservoir, HalifaxRef A417
Stretchgate Lane / Reservoir Road, Pellon. Proposed in September 1859.
It will be a storage reservoir of spring waters now running to waste in the Ogden valley; and to provide for the increased quantity which will flow from the conduit in the Luddenden Valley, when that branch of the work is complete. It is computed that on average some 250,000 gallons per day of pure spring water is lost for want of storage. The contractor, Mr Dan Skelton of Moor End, undertakes to complete the work for £10,500

Built 1862-1864 by J. F. Bateman. It had a capacity of 27,341,000 gallons.

On 23rd May 1928, a trout weighing 5 lb 4 oz was caught in the Reservoir.

See Long Lover Reservoir, Halifax

Albert Theatre & Opera House, BrighouseRef A37
The Albert Hall, Huddersfield Road, Brighouse was designed by Sharp & Waller for the Albert Hall Company Limited and opened on 12th October 1898

Albert TownRef A316
One of the suggestions for a new name for Queenshead in 1863 – in memory of the recently-deceased Albert Prince Consort – but the name Queensbury was chosen instead

Albert Wood Lock, Sowerby BridgeRef A75
Lock #2 on the Rochdale Canal. Named for Albert Wood. Opened in May 1988

Albion Bowling Club, BrighouseRef A101
Established at Lane Head around 1900

Albion Rams Club, HalifaxRef A179
Recorded around 1940, when Albert Midgley was a member


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the Club?

 

Albion Restaurant, HalifaxRef A952
This was in Halifax Borough Market and Albion Street, Halifax [1937]

Albon, EliasRef A275
[1853-1933] Born in Arlesey, Bedfordshire. Around 1875, the family moved to Halifax.

He was a general labourer [1881, 1891].

Around 1874, he married Sarah [1854-1932].


Sarah was born in Arlesey, Bedfordshire
 

Children:

  1. George W.
  2. Thomas J. [b 1876] who was an oiler in worsted mill [1891]
  3. Walter [b 1878] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  4. Elizabeth [b 1881] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  5. Joseph H. [b 1884]
  6. Clara [b 1889]
  7. James [b 1889]
  8. Albert [b 1890]

The family lived at

  • Rhodes Buildings, Skircoat Green, Halifax [1881]
  • 61 Lower Skircoat Green, Halifax [1891]

Sarah died in Halifax [Q4 1932] (aged 78).

Elias died in Halifax [Q1 1933] (aged 80) 

Albon, EricRef A254
[1923-1944] Son of Lily & Albert Albon of Halifax.

In [Q4] 1943, he married Audrey Green in Halifax.

They lived at Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Flying Officer with the 78th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was killed in action [13th June 1944] (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 204], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Albon, George WilliamRef A271
[1874-1954] Son of Elias Albon.

Born in Arlesey, Bedfordshire.

He was a worsted bobbin weigher [1891] / a railway signalman [1901] / a tram car conductor [1911].

In [Q3] 1901, he married (1) Frances Burrows [1872-1943] in Halifax.


Frances was born in Stonebroom, Derbyshire
 

Children:

  1. Dorothy [b 1902]
  2. Naomi [b 1904]

Frances died Q1 1943 (aged 71).

In [Q2] 1946, he married (2) Emily in Calder District.


Emily – née Mallinson – was the widow of Proctor Ingham
 

The family lived at

  • 22 Clough Building, Luddendenfoot [1901]
  • 3 Copley Terrace, Halifax [1911]

Emily died 10th September 1950 (aged 74).

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B16] with her first husband.

George died in Halifax [Q2 1954] (aged 80).

His burial place is not known

Alcock, RobertRef A99
[1765-1809] Of Bingley. he became a Halifax attorney. Lived and practised at Mayroyd from 1784 to 1801

AlcomdenRef A219
District below Widdop and served by Blake Dean Baptist Church. A part of the township of Wadsworth.

Ogden suggests that the name comes from various Celtic roots and means a high valley

Alcomden StreamRef A218
Stream which joins Graining Water at the Meeting of the Waters.

See Holme Ends Bridge

Aldam'sRef A774
Book and stationery stores at 19 Union Street and 78-79 New Market, Halifax [1906].

In 1919, they were at Union Street and their advertisements described the business as

The Home of Literature

Aldam's Café, HalifaxRef A898
Aka Southgate Café. Recorded in 1936 over Jessop's at 18 Southgate when James Frederick Aldam and his wife Kate were the proprietors

Aldam, GeorgeRef A162
[1840-1???] Born in Epworth, Lincolnshire.

He was a farmer [1891].

In [Q4] 1866, he married Clara Rusling [1845-1???] in Thorne.

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1868]
  2. Herbert
  3. Ada M. [b 1872]
  4. George A. [b 1876] who was a farmer's boy [1891]
  5. Lena [b 1880]
  6. Ernest [b 1881]
  7. James Frederick

The family lived at

  • Epworth, Lincolnshire [1870, 1882]
  • Carr Side, Epworth, Lincolnshire [1891]

Aldam, HerbertRef A169
[1870-19??] Son of George Aldam.

Born in Epworth, Lincolnshire.

He was a foreman house painter [1901].

In [Q2] 1894, he married Ellen Brandwood [1869-19??] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Queensbury
 

Children:

  1. Gertrude [b 1895]
  2. Edith Mary [b 1896]

The family lived at 27 Gibraltar Road, Halifax [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] was brother James Frederick Aldam

Aldam, James FrederickRef A84
[1882-1958] Son of George Aldam, gentleman.

Born in Epworth, Lincolnshire.

He was a grocer's assistant [1901] / a retail grocer [1911] / a grocer's manager [1912] / proprietor of Aldam's Café, Halifax with his wife Kate [1936].

In [Q4] 1904, he married (1) Bertha Holland [1881-1911] in Halifax.


Bertha was a British Subject born in Paterson, New Jersey, USA
 

Bertha died Q3 1911.

On 28th December 1912, he married (2) Eudora Marshall at St Anne's Church, Southowram.


Eudora was the daughter of Samuel Marshall
 

Eudora died 18th September 1914.

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-G1A] [21st September 1914] with her parents.

In [Q2] 1915, he married (3) Kate B. Laycock in Halifax.

The family lived at 14 Glen View, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was boarder (sister-in-law?) Edith Holland [b 1884] (elementary school teacher).

James Frederick died in Calder District [Q3 1958] (aged 75).

He was buried at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [15th August 1958]

Alderman, Dr G. WalkleyRef A721
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon.

He lived at Free School Lane [1937]

Alderman, Dr H. C.Ref A667
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon.

He lived at 3 Manor Drive, Halifax [1905] and Free School Lane [1937]

Alderson...Ref A265
The entries for people & families with the surname Alderson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Alderson's: A. Alderson & CompanyRef A649
House furnishers and sanitary wood workers at Carlton House, 1 Carlton Place, Halifax and Criterion Works, Halifax [1905]

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Manufacturers of Architectural, Office, Bank, School Board and Household Furniture, Wood Bedsteads and Bed Drapery

Works: Croft Mills
Showrooms: 25 & 27 Northgate, Halifax
Telephone: 372

Alderson's: B. Alderson & SonsRef A596
House furnishers, cabinet makers, upholsterers, mattress, bedstead, safe and bicycle merchants.

The company was established in 1874 when the businesses of John Alderson and Benjamin Alderson merged.

Partners included

They were at

Alderson's: James Alderson & Company LimitedRef A599
Brewers and ale and porter bottlers established by James Alderson.

He originally operated from Lower Brear Brewery.

As production increased, the business expanded to new premises behind the Windmill Tavern, Northowram, becoming the Windmill Hill Brewery, Northowram [1905].

They had a town office at 4 Winding Road, Halifax.

On 27th May 1898, he bought the Who could a' thowt it, Southowram, and it became one of his first tied houses.

In 1908, they acquired the Warley Springs Brewery.

In 1910, John Naylor sold his brewery business to James Alderson & Company Limited.

An advertisement for the business in October 1914 announced


JAMES ALDERSON & Co. Ltd
Alderson's Empire Stout
For the Empire's Stout Defenders
WARLEY SPRINGS BREWERY
Tel. 432

After World War I, the company got into financial difficulties and sold the business to Thomas Ramsden & Son Limited [1919].

The Brewery is discussed in the book Halifax Pubs.

See Reed, Sowerby Bridge and Talbot, Halifax

Alderson's: John Alderson & SonsRef A610
Cotton and worsted spinner in business at Warley. In the 1830s, they established a factory school at their mill

AldorthRef A149
An earlier form of the name Holdsworth

Aldred & DrakeRef A755
Printers, publishers and advertising agents at 1 Ward's End, Halifax [1936]

Aldridge, JamesRef A314
[1843-19??] He was convicted for the murder of Hannah Blagborough and sentenced to be executed on 6th April 1897, but this was commuted to life imprisonment.

In March 1906 and without any explanation, the Secretary of State recommended his immediate release from Parkhurst Prison

Alegar Well, BrighouseRef A337
Wakefield Road.

This well was popular into the late 19th century, and liquorice water would be drunk by the crowds which gathered here on Palm Sunday mornings.

The name may be a corruption of Elliker meaning Holy carr or hilly carr. It is unlikely to be associated with the word Alegar.

A petrol station now stands on the site.

See Alegar Street, Brighouse

Alexander...Ref A227
The entries for people & families with the surname Alexander are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Alexander & CockcroftRef A734
Surgeons at Halifax. Partners included G. Alexander and J. Cockcroft.

The partnership was dissolved in 1818


Question: Can anyone identify the partners? Was this Mr Alexander one of Dr Gervase Alexander or Dr Gervase Alexander?

 

Alexander & HammertonRef A872
Aka Alexanders' & Hammerton. Attorneys at Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1850].

They were solicitors to the Guardians of Waterhouse Charities and solicitors to the Guardians of Heath School

Partners included Edward Nelson Alexander and Alexander Lewis

Alexander Bridge, TriangleRef A887
Footbridge across the Ryburn

Alexandra Bridge, KebroydRef A321
A footbridge crossing the Ryburn at Kebroyd / Triangle. The bridge replaced the earlier stepping-stones across the river here.

See Littlehaven Tea Gardens, Triangle

Alexandra Café, HalifaxRef A607
This was situated on the ground floor of the Alexandra Hall and incorporated the older Café Royal. The licence was the Café on 2nd March 1931

Alexandra Hall & Café CompanyRef A123
Built the Alexandra Hall, Halifax [1931].

Officers of the Company have included George Normanton

Alexandra Hall, HalifaxRef A41
Aka Alexandra Theatre.

Public Hall – owned by the Alexandra Hall & Café Company – between Alexandra Street and King Edward Street, Halifax. It was designed by the Halifax-based Clement Williams & Sons, and built by Benjamin Whitehead Jackson and opened on 11th March 1931, with the Alexandra Café and restaurant.

The 650-seat hall was owned by the Halifax Building Society – and built on land owned by the society next to the former York Buildings – although it was operated by an independent company for many years, and was popularly known as The Alex.

When opened, it had the only domed cyclorama in Britain.

The theatre was well-equipped and the lighting was advanced for its time with a sophisticated colour system. The first production was the Halifax Thespians' Adam, the Creator by the Brothers Capek.

There were 3 lockup shops outside the building. The basement is carved out of solid rock and was used as a strongroom to store the building society's title deeds and documents.

The hall was used for meetings, social gatherings and exhibitions, and was closed to the public in 1969, and is now a part of The Halifax complex

Alexandra House, HalifaxRef A958
Market Street / Woolshops.

Owners and tenants have included

Alexandra Reservoir, Sowerby BridgeRef A204
Constructed for Sowerby Bridge Waterworks at Cote Hill. The name given to the reservoir in honour of the Princess of Wales.

The first sod for the reservoir was cut on 4th January 1864 by Henry Alexander Norris. It was opened on 17th August 1864 by William Elliot.

The reservoir was 107 ft 6 ins long by 43 ft wide and 10 ft 6 ins deep. It had a capacity of about 300,000 gallons. The cost of construction was £707 11s 5d.

At the time of opening the works, about 400 houses were connected with the water supply

Alexandra Shed, MytholmroydRef A1097

Alfieri, PaulRef A27
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was an ironmonger at Union Street, Halifax

Alford, Rev E.Ref A893
[18??-1???] In 1891, he was circuit minister for Bottoms Primitive Methodist Chapel, Walsden, Castle Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Todmorden, Mytholmroyd Primitive Methodist Chapel, Salem Primitive Methodist Chapel, Knowlwood and Summit Primitive Methodist Chapel

Alhambra Cinema, HalifaxRef A597
St James's Road. In 1917, the Trades Club at the former Oddfellows' Hall became a cinema with a capacity of 737.

It closed in June 1959.

It was demolished in 1963.

See Blake's Alhambra, Hebden Bridge and Rowland Wadsworth Ward

Ali, FermanRef A112
[19??-] Mayor of Calderdale [2017]

Alice Longstaff Gallery CollectionRef A356
Alice Longstaff left a collection of more than 10,000 photographs recording the people, life and times in the Upper Calder Valley. The collection includes her own photographs and many from her own studio and that of Crossley Westerman. The earliest photographs were taken in the 1890s. Many of the portraits are hand-coloured.

Alice bequeathed the collection to Frank Woolrych, who, with Issy Shannon, produces the magazine Milltown Memories which uses many photographs from the collection. Some photographs from the collection can be seen on the Todmorden & Walsden website.

It is hoped to be able to mount a permanent exhibition for the collection – see Ted Hughes Poetry Centre.

The Pennine Horizons charity is in the process of digitising the collection.

See Donald B. Crossley

Alklum Storage Batteries LimitedRef A756
Accumulator manufacturers at Waterside, Halifax [1936]

All Saints' Parish Hall, Skircoat GreenRef A962
The parish hall for All Saints' Church, Salterhebble

All Souls' Amateur Operatic SocietyRef A71
The Society was founded in 1960 by a group of members of All Souls' Church who were interested in singing and musical theatre. The group was supported by Rev John Walker who took part in many productions. Performances began with a concert production of The Mikado [May 1961], followed by a concert version of The Gondoliers [January 1962]. In May 1962, a fully-staged performance of The Mikado was produced in All Souls' Church Hall in Haley Hill, Halifax.

The Society is still performing [2011]

All Souls' Church Institute, HalifaxRef A126
On 4th February 1869, Colonel Akroyd presided at the inaugural meeting of the Institute was held, although the Institute had been operating for some time

All Souls Lodge, HalifaxRef A1016
A lodge for the sexton and the verger of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill was built across Boothtown Road [1859].

In the 1880s, it was acquired by Halifax Council.

Around 1892, it was bought, taken apart and rebuilt lower down Boothtown Road as accommodation for Rev Thomas Lewthwaite and his family when he arrived at the Church

All Souls' Road Park, HalifaxRef A750
Recorded in 1936

Allan Fold House, HalifaxRef A917
King Cross. The house was dated 1654 and IMAW.

It was demolished in 1???.

The Allan Fold pub stands on the site and a retaining wall uses material from the house – including the listed datestone

Allan Gate, Sowerby BridgeRef A1005
Property mentioned in the wills of John Wainhouse [1725] and Edward Wainhouse [1746].

See Allengate, Halifax

Allan House, Sowerby BridgeRef A114
Fall Lane, Norland.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1922, Stansfeld sold the property and the grounds were opened as a public park: Allan Park.

The house was used by the local Council.

It is now [2014] a Health Centre

Allan, James RobertRef A2300
[1834-1868] BA.

From the Isle of Skye.

For many years, he was a schoolmaster in Halifax.

He died 16th November 1868 (aged 34).

He was buried at Christ Church, Pellon [Grave Ref: 1 I 17]

Allan Park, Sowerby BridgeRef A236
The grounds of Allan House were opened as a public park in 1922

Allan, Dr WilliamRef A230
[1902-1972] MB, ChB, BS.

Son of Benjamin Allan, iron founder.

Born 25th December 1902. He qualified at University of Glasgow [1926].

He was house surgeon at Royal Portsmouth Infirmary / a medical practitioner [1932] / a physician & surgeon [1939].

On 21st January 1932, he married Doris Wormald [1897-1990] at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge.


Doris, of 31 Hill Crest, Sowerby Bridge, was born 16th October 1897, the daughter of Edward Wormald, tax collector
 

They lived at

William died in Calder District [Q4 1972] (aged 70).

Doris died in Halifax [Q4 1990] (aged 93) 

Allan Wood, Sowerby BridgeRef A832

Allandale, HalifaxRef A1810
Swires Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Allatt, PeterRef A411
[1809-1890] A woolstapler in Halifax.

In [Q2] 1876, he married Sarah Grace in Halifax.


Sarah Grace [née Helm] was the widow of
Samuel Thornton
 

Peter died at The Crescent, Hipperholme [25th August 1890] (aged 81) 

Allatt, Rev RobertRef A512
[17??-1834] He trained at Rotherham College before becoming Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1817]. In 1819, he moved to Manchester. He died at Walsall

Allchurch, Rev Harold GoodwinRef A562
[18??-19??] Minister at United Methodist Free Church, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

He lived at Beech Villas, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Allden, Thomas CuthbertRef A141
[1908-1989] Born in Ashton-under-Lyne.

In 1938, he married Helen Margaret Ormerod in Bucklow.


Helen Margaret was the daughter of
George Frederick Ormerod
 

Children:

  1. Judy [b 1939]
  2. John [1939] who died aged 3 days
  3. Bridget [b 1942]

The couple died in Cheltenham: Thomas Cuthbert [1989]; Helen Margaret [1991]

Allen...Ref A76
The entries for people & families with the surname Allen are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Allen & Son (Halifax) LimitedRef A673
Glazed brick manufacturers established by Henry Victor Allen when he took over the Halifax Glazed Brick Works in the Walterclough valley. He converted the works to manufacture refractory bricks. Their Selfrac refractory bricks were world famous.

The bricks were carried by narrow-gauge railway up the valley to the sidings at Hipperholme station.

In 19??, they were taken over by G. R. Stein.

See Michael Allen and Henry Clifford Smith

Allen's: Peter Allen (London-Paris) LimitedRef A757
Ladies' outfitters at 1 Bull Green, Halifax [1936]

Allengate, HalifaxRef A479
House at Pye Nest / Rochdale Road, Halifax.

Aka Alangate / Alan Gate

It has

an Italianate tower

and was built by Bernard Hartley [about 1810]

About 1845 and 1870 it was extended for Thomas Shaw.

Between 1870 and 1873, Shaw commissioned Christopher Dresser to remodel and redecorate the interior.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

During World War I, it was divided into 5 separate dwellings.

The remaining lodge, the boundary walls, gate piers, the raised terrace and steps are listed.

See Allan Gate, Sowerby Bridge

Allenson, AnthonyRef A1003
[1681-1718] Son of Robert Allenson.

Clothier in Hipperholme.

He was buried in Halifax Parish Church

Allenson, ElizabethRef A176
[17??-1773] Daughter of Robert Allenson. Of Priestley Green.

She married husband #1.

She married husband #2.

In 1730, she married (3) Dr William Alexander

Allenson, FrancisRef A1004
[1682-1720] Son of Robert Allenson.

He was a haberdasher in Halifax.

He was buried in Halifax Parish Church

Allenson, RobertRef A54
[1???-17??] Of The Royd, Soyland. He rebuilt The Royd.

Around 1755, he was Lord of the Manor of Southowram.

With his nephew James Hoyle, he was in business manufacturing woollen cloth at Ripponden Mill.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth

Allenson, RobertRef A1002
[16??-1691] Of Ovenden.

He married Judith Stead [16??-1685].

Children:

  1. William [d 1688]
  2. John [1669-1711]
  3. Anthony
  4. Francis

Members of the family were buried in Halifax Parish Church

AllescholesRef A44
Area of Walsden.

A milestone here gives the mileage of the packhorse routes to Halifax, Rochdale, Todmorden, and Burnley.

See Higher Allescholes, Walsden and Lower Allescholes, Walsden

Allescholes Farm, WalsdenRef A452

Allied Colloids Limited, Low MoorRef A623
Chemical manufacturers. There was a serious fire at the site on 21st July 1992

Allied Newspapers LimitedRef A760
Publishers at 18 Horton Street, Halifax [1936]

Allin, Rev ThomasRef A1000
[17??-18??] First Minister at Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade [1815].

He was authorised

to make the best job he could of [establishing a church] in Hipperholme

but this proved to be a hopeless case, and the cause didn't flourish

Allingham, MrRef A9200
[18??-19??] Photographer.

Recorded around 1900, when 46 King Cross Street, Halifax

Allinson, Rev JamesRef A766
[19??-] Vicar of Mytholmroyd [2009]

Allinson, James HenryRef A132
[1861-1925] Born in Ripon.

He was a brass fettler [1884] and a Company Sergeant Major.

On 1st November 1884, he married Isabella Kershaw [1866-1912] in Keighley


Isabella was born in Keighley
 

Children:

  1. Harriet [b 1886]
  2. Robert [1887-1912]
  3. Phyllis [b 1890]
  4. Fred [b 1893]
  5. Albert [1893-1966]
  6. James William [1895-1926]
  7. Ada [b 1896]
  8. Harold [1898-1953]
  9. Dick
  10. Harry [1902-1978]
  11. Lily [b 1906]

The family lived at 24 Colbeck Street, Halifax [1911]

Allinson, RennieRef A159
[1893-1916] Son of Tom Allinson.

Born in Queensbury [27th September 1893].

Baptised at All Souls' Church, Halifax [4th July 1901].

He was an apprentice planer in a tool works [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [14th July 1916] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [14th October 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10B, 11B & 12B], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Allinson, RichardRef A130
[1899-1918] Aka Dick.

Son of James Henry Allinson.

He was a member of Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax / employed in the print shed at Dean Clough Mills.

During World War I, he enlisted under age, but was claimed back by his mother.

When he was aged 18, he was called-up for service and joined the Durham Light Infantry, and transferred to Leicestershire Regiment.

He served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Essex Regiment.

Three of his brothers were also serving.

Dick was killed instantly by a bullet in the head during fighting near Epehy [18th September 1918] (aged 18).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [5th October 1918].

He was buried at Epehy Wood Farm Cemetery, Epehy, France [Grave Ref II C 6], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Allinson, TomRef A173
[1869-1954] Born in Barmby on the Marsh, East Riding of Yorkshire.

He was a stone quarry labourer [1889, 1911].

On 25th December 1889, he married Mary Ann Walker [1871-1941] in Bradford.


Mary Ann was born in Buckland Hollow, Derby
 

Children:

  1. Nora [b 1891]
  2. Rennie
  3. Eliza [b 1898] who was a spinner worsted mill [1911]
  4. Nelly [b 1902]

The children were born in Queensbury/Boothtown.

The family lived at

  • 8 Ploughcroft Lane [1901]
  • 208 Boothtown Road [1911]
  • 3 Woodside Road, Halifax [1917]

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Allinson, Rev W. S.Ref A339
[18??-19??] He was Curate at St James's Church, Halifax [1892]

Allison, AeneasRef A287
[1828-1???] Born in Greetland.

He was a woollen spinner [1871] / an engineer [1881].

Around 1860, he married Ellen [1833-1???].


Ellen was born in Greetland
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1860] who was a woollen weaver [1881]
  2. Henry
  3. Martha [b 1867] who was a woollen weaver [1881]

The family lived at

  • Hey Wood Bottom, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]
  • Longwood Terrace, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881]

Allison, DavidRef A195
[1818-1869] Son of Joseph Allison, spinner.

Born in Elland.

He was a spinner of Greetland [1844, 1851] / a woollen spinner [1851] / a woollen slubber [1861].

In 1844, he married Sarah Smith [1822-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah was born in Norland, the daughter of Job Smith, manufacturer
 

Children:

  1. George
  2. Charles [b 1851] who was a woollen slubber [1871]
  3. Matilda [b 1854] who was a cotton reeler [1871]
  4. Benjamin [b 1857] who was a woollen piecer [1871]

The family lived at

  • 60 Lindwell, Greetland [1851]
  • Lindwell, Greetland [1861, 1871]

David died in Halifax in 1869 (aged 51) 

Allison, GeorgeRef A189
[1848-19??] Son of David Allison.

Born in Greetland [2nd October 1847].

Baptised at Elland [1851].

He was a woollen piecer [1861] / a woollen slubber [1871] / a woollen spinner [1881] / a woollen carder [1891, 1901] / a woollen fettler [1911].

In September 1878, he married Mary Hannah Dyson [1850-19??] in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was the daughter of John Dyson
 

Children:

  1. Arthur [b 1880] who was an assistant worsted overlooker [1901], an iron shearer [1911]

The family lived at

  • Oatland Field Terrace, Greetland [1881]
  • Gledhill's Buildings, Greetland [1891, 1901]
  • 7 Lower Wellgate, Greetland [1911]

After the death of Emma, wife of his brother Joe Allison, in 1901, their son John lived with George and family

Allison, HenryRef A1119
[18??-18??] His marriage to Ann Allen on 3rd October 1837, was the first to be conducted at Northgate End Chapel

Allison, HenryRef A286
[1862-1935] Son of Aeneas Allison.

Born in Greetland.

He was a cordwainer [1881] / a boot & shoe maker [1891] / a boot maker [1901] / a boot repairer [1911].

In [Q2] 1889, he married Ellen Walker [1868-1914] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Stainland
 

They had no children.

They lived at

  • Saddleworth Road, Elland-cum-Greetland [1891, 1901]
  • 66 Saddleworth Road, Greetland [1911]

Henry died 18th March 1935 (aged 73).

Ellen died 18th May 1914 (aged 46).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Allison, Herbert WilliamRef A377
[1899-1918] He lived at 56 Huddersfield Road, Brighouse.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1917], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion North Staffordshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [10th November 1918] (aged 19).

He was buried at Cross Roads Cemetery, Fontaine-au-Bois, France [Grave Ref III C 2].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Rastrick War Memorial

Allison, Rev James TimothyRef A753
[19??-] Born in Shipley.

He has served as Mayor of Hebden Royd [2004-2005] / Vicar of Mytholmroyd & Cragg Vale / Rural Dean of Calder Valley / chairman of The Elmet Trust / chairman of Upper Calder Valley Renaissance / a governor of Scout Road School

Allison, JoeRef A368
[1853-1933] Son of Joseph Allison.

Born in Greetland.

He was a turner piecener [1871] / a woollen weaver [1881] / an engine tenter [1889] / a woollen weaver [1891, 1901] / an engine tenter [1911].

In [Q3] 1889, he married Emma Dyson [1854-1901] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax, the daughter of John Dyson
 

Children:

  1. John Dyson

Emma died Q1 1901 (aged 47).

After her death, Joe lived alone, and son John lived with his uncle George Allison.

The family lived at

  • Dean End, Greetland [1891]
  • 4 Dean End, Greetland [1901]
  • 7 Lower Wellgate, Greetland [1911]
  • 10 Dean End, Lindwell, Greetland [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was a relative Joseph Smith [b  1833] (rag grinder) 

Allison, John DysonRef A367
[1890-1916] Son of Joe Allison.

Born in Greetland 1890.

After his mother's death [1901], he went to live with his uncle George Allison.

He was a member of Greetland Wesleyan Chapel & School / a woollen piecer [1911] / employed by James Casson Limited.

On 27th December 1915, he married Nellie Agnes Whalley [1893-19??] at Elland Parish Church.


Nellie Agnes was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Phyllis M. [b 1917]

The family lived at Langdale Street, Elland.

He joined the Territorials in 1912.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Hallamshire T.F Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He was killed in action [7th September 1916].

He was buried at Lonsdale Cemetery Authuille, France [Grave Ref X H 6]

He is remembered on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland

Allison, JosephRef A202
[1807-18??] Son of Thomas Allison.

Born in Greetland.

He was a clothier of Greetland [1829] / a weaver [1830, 1841] / a woollen weaver by hand [1851] / a woollen handloom weaver [1861] / a parr weaver [1871] / a woollen weaver [1881]

In 1829, he married (1) Sarah Broadbent at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Sarah Ann [1830-1847] who was a woollen winder [1841]
  2. James [b 1833] who was a winder (woollen) [1851], a woollen weaver handloom [1861], a woolcomb tenter [1871], a woollen weaver [1881]

Joseph was a widower by 1838.

In 1838, he married (2) Alice Smith [1812-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Alice, of Greetland, was born in Luddenden, the daughter of Isaac Smith, paper maker
 

Children:

  1. Smith [b 1842] who was a woollen mule spinner [1861]
  2. Hannah [b 1846] who was a worsted spinner [1861]
  3. Emma [b 1851] who was a worsted spinner [1861], a cardroom hand [1871]
  4. Joe

The family lived at

  • Lind Well, Greetland [1841]
  • 28 Lindwell, Greetland [1851]
  • Lindwell, Greetland [1861, 1871]
  • Dean End, Greetland [1881]

Living with them [in 1851, 1861] was Joseph's widowed father Thomas Allison.

Living with them [in 1871, 1881] was Alice's unmarried brother Joseph Smith [b 1833] (woolcomb tenter 1871), (rag grinder 1881) 

Allison, ThomasRef A206
[1780-18??] Born in Greetland.

He was a woollen manufacturer [1829] / a clothier [1838] / a former clothier; receiving Parish relief [1851] / late woollen manufacturer [1861]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Joe

Thomas was a widower by 1851 and living with his son Joseph & family

Allison, ThomasRef A228
[1817-1887] Born in Greetland.

He was a woollen weaver [1871, 1881].

In [Q1] 1842, he married (1) Hannah Holroyd [1822-1849] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Christiana [1846-25th March 1934] who never married, was a factory hand (worsted) [1871], & was buried with her mother
  2. Emma [1848-30th April 1878] who was a woollen weaver [1871], & was buried with her mother

Hannah died 3rd April 1849 (aged 27).

She was buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: N3].

In [Q2] 1858, he married (2) Elizabeth Shaw [1828-1900] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Greetland
 

Children:

  1. Walter [b 1859] who was a cotton twiner [1881], a cloth finisher [1891]
  2. Alfred [b 1861] who was a cotton twiner [1881]
  3. John Thomas [b 1863] who was a cotton spinner [1881], a dyer's labourer [1891]
  4. Bathsheba [b Q3/1865] who was a cotton reeler [1881, 1891]
  5. Benjamin [b 1869] who was a clerk [1891]
  6. Rufus [1870-12th March 1872] who died aged 1 year & 7 months, & was buried with his family

The family lived at

  • Copy Nook, Greetland [1849]
  • White Hall, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]
  • Scar Top, Greetland [1872]
  • White House, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881]
  • White Hall, Rochdale Road, Elland-Cum-Greetland [1891]

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: N3].

Thomas died Q1 1887 (aged 70).

Elizabeth died Q1 1900 (aged 72).

Their burials have not yet been found

Allison, WilliamRef A292
[1831-1890] Born in Ovenden.

He was a weaving and worsted overlooker.

On 15th January 1855, he married Mary Ann Pollard [1832-1???] at St Peter's Church, Bradford (Bradford Cathedral).


Mary Ann was born in Northowram, the daughter of William Pollard
 

Children:

  1. Ellen [b Saltaire 1858] who married Mr Brailey
  2. Frederic [b Saltaire 1860] who married Jean (who was born in England) 
  3. Emma [b Saltaire 1862] who married Elijah Pullan
  4. Clara [b Saltaire 1865]
  5. Lavinia [b Buttershaw 1869]
  6. Herbert [b Halifax 1873]
On 9th October 1882, the family arrived at New York, aboard the Alaska. Daughter Emma & her husband Elijah were travelling with them.

They settled in Jamestown, NY, where William became a well-known citizen.


It is possible that the Allison's had moved to the USA earlier, and returned to England to bring the newly-wed Emma & Elijah to America
 

The family lived at

  • 110 Barrows Street, Jamestown [1890]
  • Chautauqua, New York [1900]

William died at home [5th July 1890] (aged 59 years, 8 months & 19 days) 

Allister, BradshawRef A164
[18??-19??] DCM.

Born in Kirkham, near Blackpool, Lancashire.

He was a cotton cloth worker [1911].

On 10th November 1888, he married Betsy Brownbridge [1867-19??] at Christ Church, Todmorden.


Betsy was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Willie [1890-1969] who was an iron moulder [1911]
  2. Walter Leslie [1892-1969] who was an iron moulder [1911]
  3. Jessie [1894-1981] who was a cotton weaver [1911]
  4. Edith Ellen [b 1897] who was a cotton weaver [1911]
  5. Harry
  6. Kate [1902-1990] who was a clerk in a brass company (USA) [1940]
  7. Vera [1904-1995] who was a clerk in a retail hardware company (USA) [1940]

The children were born in Todmorden.

The family lived at

  • 10 Queen Street, Todmorden [1911]
  • 19 Queen Street, Todmorden [1918]

During World War I, he served as a Company Sergeant Major with the 6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal


for leading his platoon in the Dardanelles [4th June 1915]
 

He survived the War.

All the family (except Willie) emigrated to the USA [11th April 1925].

The family lived in Bridgeport, Connecticut [1940].

All the children (except Willie) died in the USA

Allister, HarryRef A165
[1899-1918] MM.

Son of Bradshaw Allister.

He worked for the Todmorden Industrial & Co-operative Society.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 18th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was killed [3rd October 1918].

He was buried at Perth Cemetery (China Wall), Belgium [Grave Ref V A 7].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Todmorden Co-operative Society, on the Memorial at Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden, and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Todmorden

He was awarded the Military Medal

Allister, MrRef A320
[18??-19??] He married Jane.

Children:

  1. William

The family lived at 1 Halling Place, Todmorden [1918]

Allister, William CliffordRef A251
[1895-1918] Son of Mr Allister.

Born in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th July 1918 (aged 21).

He was buried at Courmas British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II C 5].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden, and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Todmorden

Allott BrothersRef A811
Established in 1869. Ginger beer brewers and mineral water manufacturers at Steps Lane, Sowerby Bridge.

Circumstantial evidence suggests that brothers Joseph Allott and Jonathan Allott were the founders of the business.

Other partners included George Allott.

Joseph died in 1883.

In June 1897, when George retired, the partnership was dissolved and Jonathan carried on the business.

The motif of a flight of steps appears on their bottles

Allott, GeorgeRef A5170
[1860-19??] Son of Joseph Allott.

Born in Highburton.

He was a blacksmith [1881] / an engine tenter [1883] / a mineral water manufacturer (employer) [1891] / partner in Allott Brothers

The partnership was dissolved in June 1897 when George retired and Jonathan Allott carried on the business

In 1883, he married Mary Sykes [1861-1???] at All Hallows', Huddersfield.


Mary was the daughter of weaver Joseph Sykes
 

Children:

  1. Joseph Arthur [b 1885]
  2. Lily [b 1890]

The family lived at 28 Burnley Road, Sowerby Bridge [1891]

Allott, Joan DickensRef A782
[1913-2003] Of Halifax.

She was a pianoforte teacher at 7 Savile Park Road.

She married Ernest Reginald Gutsell

Allott, JonathanRef A910
[1855-1931] Son of farm labourer Tommy Allott.

Born in Farnley Tyas.

He was a mechanic [1878] / a mineral water manufacturer [1881, 1891] / a mineral water manufacturer at 185 Gibbet Street, Halifax / a manager mineral water works [1901] / a mineral water maker [1911] / a partner in Allott Brothers.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1897 when George Allott retired and Jonathan carried on the business.

In 1878, he married Ada Turton, at Christ Church, Mold Green, Huddersfield.


Ada was the daughter of designer William Turton
 

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy

The family lived at

  • Ravensknowl Road, Dalton, Huddersfield [boarders with Ada's family 1881]
  • 19 Causeway Head, Warley [1891]
  • 1 Glen View, Warley [1901]
  • 185 Spring Hall Lane, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was boarder Lizzie Allott [aged 23] (mistress infants).

In 1901, his wife Ada was staying with her family in Dalton, Huddersfield.

He died at Penistone Road, Waterloo, Huddersfield [6th January 1931].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £218. Probate was granted to Willie Turton Roebuck (commercial traveller) and Lilian Margaret Turton (spinster) 

Allott, JosephRef A2460
[1832-1883] Son of Thomas Allott.

Born in Sheepridge, Huddersfield.

He was a power loom weaver woollen [1851] / an agricultural labourer [1861] / a brewer's labourer [1871] / a soda water manufacturer [1881]. Circumstantial evidence suggests that he and Jonathan are the founders of Allott Brothers.

He married Emma [1833-1???] born in Highburton. Joseph was a widower by 1881.

Children:

  1. George
  2. Elizabeth Ann [b 1866] who was a woollen weaver [1891]

The family lived at

Allott, ThomasRef A3410
[1806-1???] Or Hallet.

Born in Burchworth / Wigbirchworth, Yorkshire.

He was an ag lab [1851] / a carter [1861] / a farm labourer [1878].

He married Bathsheba [1806-1???], born in Shepley.

Children:

  1. Joseph
  2. John [b 1835] who was a factory boy [1851], a wheelwright [1861]
  3. Benjamin [b 1837] who was a factory boy [1851]
  4. William [b 1839] who was a labourer [1861]
  5. Ann [b 1841]
  6. Ann [b 1841] who was a woollen weaver [1861]
  7. George [b 1843]
  8. George [b 1843] who was a farmer [1861]
  9. James [b 1845]
  10. Elizabeth [b 1848]
  11. Thomas [b 1850]
  12. Jonathan

The family lived at

  • Farnley Tyas [1851]
  • Woodsome Lees, Farnley Tyas [1861]

Allsop, Rev FrederickRef A524
[18??-1???] He trained at Rawdon College before becoming Minister at Brearley Baptist Church [July 1883]. In May 1896, he moved to Northallerton

Allsopp's: Samuel Allsopp & Sons LimitedRef A671
Brewers and bottlers at 44 South Parade, Halifax [1905]

Allswell Farm, Pecket WellRef A12

Alma Cottage, ClaremountRef A967
Alma Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Alma Road Canal Bridge, WalsdenRef A981
Alma Road. Bridge #33 over the Rochdale Canal

See Alma Road River Bridge, Walsden

Alma Road (river) Bridge, WalsdenRef A81
Alma Road. Single-span bridge over the Walsden Water. Built 1816.

See Alma Road Canal Bridge, Walsden

AlmanacksRef A638

Almond, AlfredRef A769
[1884-1916] Son of Mary A. & John Almond of Altrincham.

Born in Manchester.

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 19th Battalion King's (Liverpool Regiment).

He died of wounds [22nd December 1916] (aged 32).

He was buried at Étaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref XX J 9].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Almond, George WalterRef A804
[1878-19??] Son of Walter Almond.

Born in Halifax [Q4 1878].

He was an upholsterer [1901, 1911].

A 1900 advertisement for his business announced

Wood Carver & Antique Dealer, Lessons in Wood Carving

Ladies on Thursday
Gentlemen on Wednesday & Friday

18, Hall Street, Halifax

In [Q2] 1908, he married Edith Butler [1887-19??] in Halifax.


Edith was born in Halifax
 

They lived at 7 Holly Grove, Halifax [1911] / Bedford Street, Halifax [1914] / Gibbet Street, Halifax (wholesale chair manufacturer) [1918]

Almond, WalterRef A161
[1853-19??] Born in Bledlow, Buckinghamshire.

He was a chair maker (cabinet) [1881] / a chair maker & upholsterer [1901] / a chair manufacturer (employer) [1911].

He married Lucy [1854-19??].


Lucy was born in Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. George Walter
  2. Horace Percy [b 1822] who was a chair maker [1911]

The family lived at

  • 35 South Darley Street, Halifax [1881]
  • 1 Milton Terrace, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Living with them [in 1881] were Walter's brothers Charles Almond [b 1851] (wood carver) & George Almond [b 1847] (chair maker).

Living with them [in 1901] were Walter's brother George Almond [b 1847] (wood carver & antique furniture dealer) 

AlmshouseRef A25
Aka bede house, spital house. An independent institution established by a benefactor for use as a hostel or a hospital.

See the Foldout on Almshouses

The Alpha Manufacturing CompanyRef A657
Halifax manufacturers of ladies' wearing apparel at 44 Corporation Street, Halifax [1905]

Alta Via, HalifaxRef A147
This name is mentioned in 1428. It is now believed to be the correct form of the name Magna Via, the part of Wakefield Gate as it enters from Dark Lane into Halifax and out to the west

Altenbach LimitedRef A7490
Engineering company at Helvetia Works, Rastrick [from 1906].

On 18th October 1907, 18-year-old William Christopher Donahue was injured whilst using a grinding wheel, and died 7 hours later

Alternative Technology Centre, Hebden BridgeRef A496
See Power in the Landscape

Altham, AbrahamRef A471
[1841-1885] Born in Burnley. Around 1864, he started his own business as a wholesale grocer in Burnley.

In 1872, he opened a wholesale then a retail tea shop. In 1874, this was followed by branches at Halifax, Elland, York, Leeds and Bradford.

When he died, there were 64 retail tea establishments in Lancashire and Yorkshire.

He established the travel side of the business, by offering cut-price trips to the seaside for his customers. This developed into Altham's Travel Service

Altham's: Abraham Altham LimitedRef A619
19th century tea dealers established by Abraham Altham.

They had several premises in the district:

They also sold crockery and cutlery.

They later became travel agents

Althorpe, HalifaxRef A118
Rothwell Road

Owners and tenants have included

Alty, RobertRef A535
[1858-1900] Editor of the Halifax Guardian

Amateur Astronomy Centre, TodmordenRef A45
Bacup Road. Aka Planet Earth Centre. Planetarium and 30 ft diameter observatory.

Built by Peter Drew and a group of enthusiasts on the site of a former pipe works on Todmorden Moor.

See Hebden Bridge Literary & Scientific Society

AmbassadorRef A57
See Halifax Ambassador

Ambassador Radio & TelevisionRef A433
Radio and TV manufacturers at Brighouse.

They also traded as R. N. Fitton at their Radio Works, Hutchinson Lane, Brighouse.

They were at 6 Cow Green, Halifax [1936].

In 1954, the business was acquired by Hartley Baird Limited

Ambient, MarkRef A242
Stage name and pen-name of Harold Harley

Ambler...Ref A23
The entries for people & families with the surname Ambler are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ambler BrothersRef A142
Halifax woolstaplers [1864].

Partners included (possibly) Henry Ambler and John Ambler

Ambler House, Ambler ThornRef A724
The home of the Ambler family of Queensbury

Owners and tenants have included

Ambler's: John Ambler & Sons LimitedRef A613
Halifax worsted spinners.

Recorded 1828-1901.

They were at Peel House Mill when the Plug Rioters attacked it [1842].

Partners included John Ambler and sons William & James

Ambler Thorn Liberal ClubRef A711
Opened on 30th October 1915.

Recorded in 1917, when Frederick Longbottom was secretary

Ambler Thorn ManseRef A718
The minister's house for Ambler Thorn United Methodist Chapel was built in 1869.

It stood next to the Chapel.

The Manse – and the Chapel – were demolished in 1974, and the site became a car park for the Royal Oak Inn

Ambler Thorn Toll HouseRef A881
Toll house on the road between Halifax and Queensbury

Ambler Thorn Tram Accident [1917]Ref A369
On Sunday, 15th July 1917, Mrs Caleb Easton of Luddendenfoot was killed and 37 others injured when the Queensbury-Halifax Tram Number 99 overturned at Ambler Thorn on its way into Halifax.

The tram was carrying 40 passenger when it went out of control, rushed 150 yards to the bottom of the hill, jumped the rails and ran 25 yards over the setts in the road before overturning. The vehicle – driven by Roland Hodgson – was new and the cause of the accident was unknown.

Mrs Easton received head and leg injuries and died in Halifax Royal Infirmary 2 days later.

During the incident, £5 2/- disappeared from the conductor's bag

Ambler Thorn WellRef A425

AmbulancesRef A1115

AmericaRef A646

America JimRef A154
[18??-19??] A well-known character who walked around Brighouse advertising Stone's Ginger Ale. He was tall and dressed immaculately in morning coat, cravat, top hat and spats

The American Crown Tooth Company LimitedRef A655
Artificial teeth specialists at York Buildings, Halifax [1905]

American Skating Rink, HalifaxRef A97
Huddersfield Road. Roller-skating rink opened on a site near Clare Hall on 27th April 1909.

The manager, Mr Dearden, went on to become the first manager of the Electric Theatre

American SocietyRef A635
Formed by a group of workers who wanted to emigrate to the United States of America to escape the economic conditions of the 1840s. James Mann was the only member to emigrate to America

Amisfield House, HipperholmeRef A890
Amisfield Road / Leeds Road.

Stands just north-west of Ashwell House, Hipperholme

Owners and tenants have included

Amisol LimitedRef A773
Polish manufacturers at Leeds Road, Hipperholme [1922]

Ammonia Avenue, HalifaxRef A269
Due to the insanitary conditions in the place, this was a popular name given to the passage which connected the Theatre Royal and Shakespeare Tavern

Amos, WilliamRef A259
[1882-1917] Son of Elizabeth & Jonas Amos of Bradford.

He was employed by Joshua Smithson of India Buildings, Halifax.

In [Q3] 1905, he married Ethel Schofield in Bradford.

Children:

  1. William S. [b 1917]

They lived at 20 Launceston Street, Hanson Lane, Halifax.

He joined the regular army.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1916], and served as a Rifleman / Corporal with the 5th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was killed in an air raid on Chatham, and was due to go on leave the following day [5th June 1917] (aged 35).

He was buried at Sheerness Cemetery, Isle of Sheppey, Kent [Grave Ref PP 80].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Anchor Bridge, BrighouseRef A348
Built in 1821 for the newly-constructed Calder & Hebble canal.

See Anchor pub and Ship, Brighouse

Anchor Pit, BrighouseRef A78
The point east of Brighouse at the end of Birds Royd Lane where the Calder & Hebble canal joins the Calder. This is the furthest west to which the river is navigable.

See Anchor Pit, Clifton, Anchor Pit Flood Lock, Brighouse, Anchor Pit Junction, Brighouse and Anchor Pit pub, Rastrick

Anchor Pit Flood Gates, BrighouseRef A134
A lock on the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the North Cut at Anchor Pit

Anchor Pit Junction, BrighouseRef A866
Railway junction at Anchor Pit, Brighouse.

On 7th December 1904, 65-year-old Isaiah Dewis of Low Moor, a guard in charge of a goods train, was killed in a railway accident at the Junction.

See Pickle Bridge Line

AnchormenRef A42
The band originated in the 1930s as the Anchorman Boys' Brigade band of Elland Wesley Chapel. For a time they joined forces with the bands from Siddal and Copley companies.

On 10th June 1967, they appeared on the TV programme Opportunity Knocks as The Elland Boys' Brigade Anchormen. The following year, they appeared on Junior Showtime.

The big band – the Anchormen Ensemble – was established in 1999.

They rehearse at the Harold Savage Hall, Elland

Ancient Order of DruidsRef A497
Formed in 1833. They held their meeting at the Greyhound Inn, Todmorden. Disbanded in 1885

Ancient Order of ForestersRef A632
A benevolent society.

See Simeon Kaye, Cragg Vale Lodge of Free Foresters and Royal Foresters

Anderson, Arthur WillieRef A422
[1872-1937] Born in Halifax

He was a yarn drying machine tenter [1896].

On 1st August 1896, he married Clara Jane Waterhouse [1870-1915] in Halifax.


Clara Jane was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. George Henry
  2. Walter [b 1901]
  3. Alfred [b 1906]

The family lived at 8 Moore Street, Siddal [1911]

Anderson BrothersRef A167
Wool merchants in Halifax.

Partners included William Bain Anderson, David Charles Anderson, and John Bain Anderson.

The business was declared bankrupt [1869].

The brothers must have recovered because, a couple of years later, their fleeces were winning prizes at the Halifax Agricultural Show.

After the death of his wife [1876], William migrated to New Zealand where he and his brothers (Charles and John) set themselves up in Dunedin's burgeoning textile industry. They traded as Anderson Brothers, Ravensbourne

Anderson, David RobertRef A297
[1???-19??] He was a player with Preston North End football club / landlord of the Pine Apple, Halifax [1924, 1936] / landlord of the Crown & Anchor, Halifax [1936]

Anderson, George HenryRef A421
[1896-1916] Son of Arthur Willie Anderson.

Born in Halifax [23rd October 1896].

He was a bobbin carrier in a worsted mill [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [26th April 1916].

He was buried at Cité Bonjean Military Cemetery, France. [Grave Ref IX G 19].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Anderson, HenryRef A748
[1880-1918] Son of John Anderson.

Born in Rastrick.

By 1901, his father had vanished from the records, his mother had married John Dearden, and Henry was staying with his cousins Edgar Clewley [b 1879] (clay miner) & Thomas Clewley [b 1875] (clay miner), at 30 Bell Street, Halifax.

He was a clay miner [1901] / a miner of 2 Upper Horley Green, Halifax [1909] / a clay miner (living with his mother & stepfather John Dearden) [1911] / employed by E. Luty & Sons.

In 1909, he married Mary Ann Holdsworth at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Mary Ann, of 13 Abbey Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Aquilla Holdsworth.

She & Lydia were not recorded in the 1911 census

 

Children:

  1. Lydia [b 1910]

They lived at 10 Abbey Street, Range Bank.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915], and served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [December 1915].

He was gassed in 1917.

He returned to France and was killed in action – 3 weeks later – in Iwuy Ridge [11th October 1918] (aged 38).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [9th November 1918].

He was buried at St. Aubert British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref V E 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Clifton War Memorial.

Mary Ann married Mr Wood.

They lived at 23 Lane Side, Queensbury

Anderson, HenryRef A727
[1897-1917] Or Harry.

Son of Annie Elizabeth & John Anderson of 10 Albert Street, Clifton.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion North Staffordshire Regiment.

He died 4th October 1917 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 124-125 & 162-162A], on Brighouse War Memorial, on Clifton War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint John's Church, Clifton, and in the book Clifton War Memorial

Anderson, Rev J. S. M.Ref A761
[18??-18??] MA.

Rector of Todmorden [1857]. He was appointed Chaplain in Ordinary to the Queen [June 1859]. Vicar of Todmorden Parish Church [1857]

Anderson, Rev James RichardRef A205
[1881-1955] Born in New Zealand.

Curate at Holy Trinity Church [1910-1912].

He retired to New Zealand where he died

Anderson, JohnRef A168
[1856-1???] Born in Thornton.

He was a corn miller [1881].

In 1876, he married Lydia Berry in Halifax.


Lydia was born in Rastrick, the daughter of
Henry Berry .

She was a silk gasser [1891]

 

Children:

  1. Henry
  2. Willie [b 1890]

The family lived at

  • New North Road, Rastrick [1881]
  • Common, Rastrick [1891]

Living with them [in 1881] was Lydia's sister Annie Berry [b 1866] (silk spinner).

John is not recorded after 1881.

In 1899, Lydia married (2) John Dearden in Halifax

Anderson, John SellarsRef A263
[1814-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a plasterer [1841, 1851].

He married Harriet [1816-18??].


Harriet was born in Rochdale
 

Children:

  1. Walter
  2. Susan [b 1843]
  3. John Henry [b 1845]
  4. Sarah Emma [b 1848]
  5. William Foster [b 1849]

The family lived at

  • 2 Blackledge, Halifax [1851]

Anderson, John WilsonRef A276
[1792-18??] Born in Halifax.

Painter of animals and landscapes. He was an acquaintance of Branwell Brontë and of Joseph Leyland.

He had an unsuccessful career as an artist in Bradford,

He returned to Halifax and was innkeeper of the Bath Hotel, (Public Baths), Waterside and Keeper of the Baths at Lilly Lane [1845, 1850].

Leyland paid his debts at the Commercial Inn, Halifax

Anderson, MrRef A743
[18??-18??] He was a teacher at Haley Hill Working Man's College. In 1858, he was appointed headmaster of the Government Training School in Madras

Anderson, WalterRef A252
[1840-1888] Son of John Anderson.

Born in Halifax.

He was a plasterer & whitewasher [1871] / an ag.lab [1881].

In [Q2] 1867, he married Sarah Butler [1844-1916] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Halifax.

She had a daughter: Elizabeth A. Butler [b 1866] who was a worsted hand paster [1881]

 

Children:

  1. Tom [b 1871]
  2. Sarah E. [b 1873]
  3. Anne [b 1876]
  4. John W. [b 1878] who was a scavenger [1901]
  5. Emily [b 1881] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  6. Lewis [b 1886] who was a silk doffer [1901]

The family lived at

  • 7 Queens Court, Halifax [1871]
  • 15 Battinson Street, Bank Top [1881]
  • 2 Blaithroyd Farm, Southowram [1901]

Walter died Q3 1888 (aged 48).

Sarah died Q1 1916 (aged 72) 

Anderson, William BainRef A166
[1834-1902] He was born in Dundee, Scotland around 1834.

He was a bank clerk in his father's bank at 105 Murraygate, Dundee / a wool stapler/merchant in Liverpool [1858] / a woolstapler [1867] / a wool merchant / a partner in Anderson Brothers.

He later said that he traded in cotton in Liverpool, pig iron in Glasgow, wool (wherever he lived), and also grain, wheat, flax, and rabbit skins in New Zealand.

On 22nd August 1867, he married (1) Emily Annie Sykes at St Paul's Church, King Cross.


Emily Annie was the daughter of Miles Sykes
 

Children:

  1. William Wallace [b 1868]
  2. Marion Tillotson [b 1869]

The children were born in Halifax.

Emily Annie died in Halifax [11th May 1876] (aged 30).

Around 1877, he emigrated to New Zealand with 2 of his brothers: David Charles Anderson and John Bain Anderson.

William was a wool merchant in Dunedin.

On 3rd March 1883, he married (2) Emily Rhoda Inman [1854-1890] in Dunedin.


Emily Rhoda was licensed as a teacher/civil servant [1882].

She appears in an 1880 list of passengers on the barque Rialto from London to Otago

 

In 1889, William paid £33 for his wife to travel to England on the cargo ship Marlborough. After leaving Lyttelton on 11th January 1890, the Marlborough vanished. Emily Rhoda was lost at sea in 1890.

William began a stock station in Gore, Southland, New Zealand. He was the Gore agent for the South British (Fire & Marine Insurance Company of New Zealand) [1894].

In 1896, he married (3) Eleanor Florence (Nellie) Crofts [1864-1945].

His life and times in New Zealand are summarised in the Foldout.

William died suddenly and unexpectedly in his sleep [10th June 1902]

Anderton, J.Ref A576
[18??-19??] Greengrocer at Halifax.

In May 1876, he was declared bankrupt

Anderton, James WilliamRef A443
[1885-1917] Son of Thomas Anderton.

Born in Shelf.

He was a weft man in a worsted mill [1911].

In [Q1] 1917, he married Emily Dyson in Halifax.

They lived at

  • Stone Chair, Shelf [1911]
  • 28 Town Gate, Northowram [1917]

During World War I, he served as a Private / Lewis gunner with the 2nd/6th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in an attack at Ribecourt in the Battle of Cambrai [20th November 1917] (aged 32).

He was buried at Sains-Les-Marquion British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II D 17].

He is remembered on Coley War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram, and on the Memorial at Saint John the Baptist, Coley

Anderton, JohnRef A338
[1823-1883] He was a tea dealer at Northgate, Halifax [1850] / a grocer's assistant [1851] / a pharmaceutical chemist (making carbolic acid) / a pharmaceutical chemist and surgeon's assistant / a homœopathic chemist and herbalist. He established the Halifax Homœopathic Pharmacy & Dispensary.

He married Mary J. Greenwood [1828-1910] of Halifax [1853].

Children:

  1. Kate / Katie [b 1854] who married Samuel Henry Steele
  2. Annie Jane [b 1856]
  3. Josiah Edward [b 1858]
  4. Thomas Henry
  5. Ernest William [b 1864]
  6. Fred Wainwright [b 1868] who became a veterinary surgeon practising in Halifax

The family lived at 25 Corporation Street, Halifax [1874].

Anderton, John WainwrightRef A560
[1889-1914] Or Jack.

Son of Thomas Henry Anderton.

Born in Halifax [31st March 1889],

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

He lived at 10 Leicester Terrace, Manor Drive.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal / Gunnery Instructor with the Royal Marine Light Infantry aboard the cruiser HMS Good Hope.

He was killed in action [1st November 1914] when his ship sank with all hands off the coast of Chile at the Battle of Coronel.

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial, England [Grave Ref 6], on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park

Anderton, JosephRef A49
[17??-17??] A yeoman clothier who lived at Clay House in 17??

Anderton, MrRef A1026
[17??-1???] Landlord of the Boar's Head, Halifax [1783].

During the Corn Riots of 1783, the mob suspected that he was storing large quantities of corn in his warehouse and demanded that he sell it cheaply to the poor. He refused, saying that the corn was not his. The mob then attacked other corn merchants

Anderton, SamuelRef A85
[1???-18??] He ran a private school at Ambler Thorn [around 1838]

Anderton, ThomasRef A438
[1834-1890] Born in Halifax.

He was a coal miner [1866].

On 22nd September 1866, he married Betty Hardy [1839-1904] in Halifax.


Betty was born in Low Moor
 

Children:

  1. James William

Anderton, Thomas HenryRef A557
[1862-1896] Son of John Anderton.

Born in Halifax.

He was a herbalist [1888].

In 1888, he married Annie Lewthwaite [1863-1939] in Halifax.


Annie was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. John Wainwright

Anderton, W.Ref A35
[1???-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park

Anderton, WilliamRef A152
[16??-16??] Of Southowram. He was master at Damhead School, Shibden

Andrew, MarkRef A970
[1929-2013] Born in Hessle.

He was an architect / an assistant architect in Dublin, Nairobi & Kampala / resident architect for Baghdad International Airport / an architect for the Kariba Dam in Zambia/Zimbabwe.

Back in the UK, he was a County Councillor for Sowerby Bridge Ward [1978-1982] / a founder member of Yorkshire in Bloom / founder of Shire Cruisers Limited / founder of Calderdale Leisure Services Limited / a Paul Harris Rotary Fellow by Sowerby Bridge Rotary Club [2010].

He was made a Freeman of the Borough of Calderdale in 2011.

He married Roma whom he had met whilst they were working in Uganda.

They had a son William who died in a road accident in 1983. The headquarters of the 12 Halifax Sea Scouts was named after William.

In 1972, he and his wife Roma took the lease on Sowerby Bridge Canal Basin from British Waterways, and were advised to demolish the Salt Warehouse as it was unsafe. They saved it by forming The Salt Warehouse Trust of which Mark was chairman.

Roma was a Former District Commissioner of Sowerby Girl Guides; Vice President of West Yorkshire West County Guides Association; Former President of Halifax National Council of Women.

See Contributions by Mark Andrew and Stones House, Ripponden

Andrew, Thomas WilsonRef A272
[1902-1945] Son of Mary Hannah & George Andrew of Halifax.

In [Q4] 1927, he married Phyllis Dean in Halifax.

They lived in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with the Royal Army Service Corps.

He died 1st February 1945 (aged 43).

He is remembered with a CWGC headstone at Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel [18 1014]

Andrews, Archibald HaroldRef A273
[1891-1917] Son of Alice Ann & Henson Andrews of 13 Mill Lane, Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 26th Battalion Royal Fusiliers.

He died 1st August 1917 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 6 & 8], and on Brighouse War Memorial

Andrews, HarveyRef A415
[18??-191?] He was a member of York Street Wesleyan Methodist Church & Sunday School.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at York Street Wesleyan Methodist Church

Andrews, Dr Magnus Francis LynchRef A7890
[18??-1860] MD.

He graduated in medicine at Edinburgh University. In 1838, he published a work On the Sedative effects of Alum.

He worked in Brighouse [1854].

In 1850, he married (1) Margarette Elizabeth Ann Algar [1818-1854] in Erpingham, Norfolk.


Margarette Elizabeth Ann died 14th April 1854 [aged 36].

She was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

 

In 1856, he married (2) Elizabeth Flinn at Edmonton, North London.

He died at Bath Row, Birmingham [19th December 1860]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £300. The will was proved by his widow Elizabeth of 12 Wilton Terrace, Islington

Andrews, Captain Maynard PercyRef A98
[1870-1915] MA.

Born in Whitchurch, Shropshire.

He was appointed headmaster of Hipperholme Grammar School [1911].

He was killed in action at the second battle of Ypres [15th August 1915] (aged 44).

He is remembered on the School's war memorial and on Coley War Memorial

Andrews, MrRef A511
[17??-17??] Minister of Sowerby Congregational Church [1750?]

Andrews, RichardRef A333
[15??-15??] See Kirklees Priory, Brighouse

Andrews, WardRef A270
[1860-1907] Bradford textile merchant.

He built Craig Royston, Hipperholme

He was buried at Scholemoor Cemetery, Bradford

Angel Barn, HalifaxRef A931
Recorded in 1715 in the Corn Market / Petticoat Lane area of Halifax

Angeldale, Hebden BridgeRef A354
Guest house which was originally Ashley House, Hebden Bridge

Anglo-American Oil Company LimitedRef A758
Petroleum distributors at Queens Road, Halifax [1936]

Angus, JosephRef A82
[1860-1936]

He married Elizabeth Ann [1864-1956].

Joseph died 11th January 1936 (aged 76).

Elizabeth Ann died 21st June 1956 (aged 92).

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NR-B8A]

Anker, HarryRef A323
[18??-19??] Of Todmorden.

He married Mary [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. Richard

Anker, RichardRef A256
[1886-1917] Son of Mary & Harry Anker.

Born in Rochdale.

In [Q3] 1914, he married Florence Stott in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 20th (Tyneside Scottish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 5th June 1917 (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2 & 3], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

In 1921, Florence married John M. Ford in Todmorden, and was living in Bolton

Anley, RobertRef A332
[14??-15??] Minister of Hartshead [1504]

Ann Holt's Trust FundRef A216
Recorded in 1820.

In 1936, it was listed as Halifax Council of Social Welfare.

See Ann Holt

Annabut Lee, Cragg ValeRef A792
/ Mytholmroyd. Farm.

Recorded in 1775.

Owners and tenants have included

Anne Lister's graveRef A1300

Anne Lister's HorsesRef A790

Anne Lister's journalsRef A48

Annesley House, EllandRef A222
Exley Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Annet Hole Beck, ShelfRef A919
Aka Wood Fall Beck, Annet Hole Well. Flows over Kester Hole. It joins Coley Beck

AnnotsfieldRef A330
The fictitious name which Phyllis Bentley uses for Huddersfield in her Inheritance trilogy

Ansdale, RobertRef A572
[1861-1920] Born in Liverpool.

He was a labourer [1898].

On 19th December 1898, he married Annie Gott [1874-1925] in Halifax.


Annie was born in Harrogate
 

Children:

  1. Percy
  2. Ada [b 1901]

The family lived at 19 Beacon Parade, Halifax [1911]

Ansdell, PercyRef A763
[1892-1917] Son of Robert Ansdale.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Thomas's Church, Claremount & Boys' Brigade / a labourer employed by Edward Foster & Son Limited [1911].

On 6th June 1914, he married Christiana Beaumont [1893-1983] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Florence [b 1914]
  2. Bridget [1915] who died in infancy

The family lived at 49 Southowram Bank.

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed instantly when a shell hit his shelter [20th November 1917] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [22nd December 1917].

He was buried at Perth Cemetery (China Wall), Belgium [Grave Ref V J 12].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ansell, HenryRef A328
[18??-19??] He married Sarah [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. William

The family lived at 8 Merrybents Street, Todmorden

Ansell, William HenryRef A274
[1891-1916] Of Todmorden.

Son of Henry Ansell.

(Possibly) born in Haslingden [Q3 1891].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed on the first day of the Battle of the Somme [1st July 1916] (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3A & 3D], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Ansley, Rev A. J.Ref A342
[19??-19??] Minister of Park Congregational Church, Halifax [1966]

Anthony, Albert EdwardRef A336
[18??-19??]

In [Q4] 1886, he married Leah Snowden [1864-19??] in Todmorden.

Children:

  1. Harold

The family lived at Walsden

Anthony, HaroldRef A257
[1894-1917] Of Todmorden.

Son of Albert Edward Anthony.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 24th (Tyneside Irish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 6th April 1917 (aged 23).

He was buried at Mont Huon Military Cemetery, France.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Anti-Corn Law LeagueRef A427
The Halifax Branch was established in February 1839, this was one of a number of nationwide groups formed to protest against the Corn Laws. George Beaumont was president.

The Halifax Operatives Anti-Corn Law League Association was formed around the same time.

See Richard Cobden, Halifax Anti Corn Laws Association and Union Building Society

AntiquarianRef A355
Pen-name of Robert Suthers who wrote for the Hebden Bridge Chronicle

AntiquariusRef A435
Pen-name of A. T. Longbotham

Antwerp Cottage, MankinholesRef A982
Mankinholes Cottage and Antwerp Cottage.

Appia, Paul Jean Jacques AugusteRef A291
[1780-1857] From La Tour, in the valley of Luzerne in Piedmont.

He came to live in Halifax [1800].

He died 31st December 1857 (aged 77).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 117]

Apple House, LuddendenRef A200
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Apple Tree, BlackshawheadRef A440
The home of John Gill. Methodist services were held here until 1815 when Blackshawhead Wesleyan Methodist Chapel opened

Appleby, John WilliamRef A650
[1879-1918] Son of Thomas Appleby.

He was a knocker-up / a stripper grinder in a cotton mill [1911] / employed at Crossley's.

In [Q3] 1897, he married Emily Hirst [1878-1???] in Halifax.


Emily came from Shipley
 

Children:

  1. Herbert Edward [b 1899]
  2. Gilbert [b 1902]
  3. Minnie [b 1904]
  4. Doris [b 1910]
  5. Arnold [b 1913]

The family lived at 12 or 20 Portland Road, Range Bank [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [29/8/1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [10th April 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [27th April 1918].

He was buried at Douchy-Les-Ayette British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II G 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets.

Appleby, ThomasRef A641
[1842-1909] Born in Leeds.

He was a shoe maker [1868].

On 4th July 1868, he married Elizabeth Pickles [1840-1899] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Herbert [1875-1891]
  2. John William

Appleton, FredRef A258
[1867-1940] Born in Thirsk.

He was a blacksmith [1901] / a farrier, fireman (shoeing smith) [1911].

He married Emily Jane [1866-1938].


Emily Jane was born in Steeple Langford, Wiltshire
 

Children:

  1. Stephen Bristow [b 1896] who was a grocer's assistant [1911]
  2. Dorothy Jane [1903-15th April 1939] who married Harold Marshall, & was buried with her parents
  3. Evelyn [b 1905]

The 1911 census shows that they had had 4 children of whom 3 were still alive at that time.

The family lived at

  • 42 Penn Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 444 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1911]

Emily Jane died 4th November 1938 (aged 72).

Fred died 20th August 1940 (aged 73).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-G10]

Appleton, GeoffreyRef A770
[1922-1942]

During World War II, he served as a Flight Lieutenant / Flight Sergeant with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 26th July 1942 (aged 20).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Appleton, J.Ref A580
[18??-18??] Contractor at Halifax.

In September 1864, he was declared bankrupt

Appleton, JamesRef A680
[1919-1942] Son of Ann Appleton of Luddendenfoot.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 11th October 1942 (aged 23).

He was buried at Rangoon War Cemetery, Burma [Grave Ref 6 F 7].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial

Appleton's: R. J. Appleton & CompanyRef A654
Opticians, photographic materials and phonograph dealers. Established in the 1890s.

They were at 7 Commercial Street, Halifax [1905] and 53 New Crown Street, Halifax [1915].

R. B. Walker attended personally in 1936.

In 1936, they were advertising movie projectors

Appleyard...Ref A401
The entries for people & families with the surname Appleyard are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Appleyard'sRef A603
Toffee-manufacturing company established by Norman Appleyard.

They had offices and works in Woolshops, and

The Chocolate Shop

at 7 George Street [1920s] and 285 Queens Road [1936].

Their product-lines included


Toffee Le-Roy
Roast Nut Toffee
Treacle Toffee
Cream Caramel Toffee
Mint Toffee
Brazil Nut Toffee
The business closed in the 1940s, after Appleyard's death

Appleyard & CrossleyRef A998
Patent agents at 41 Commercial Street, Halifax [1936]

Appleyard CharityRef A428
Mixenden

Appleyard's Farm, EllandRef A772
Lower Edge.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Thomas Aspinall [1847]

Appleyard's: George Appleyard & CompanyRef A701
Worsted spinners established by George Appleyard. They were at Warley [1874]

Appleyard, Lees & CompanyRef A627
Patent agents of Clare Road, Halifax. The firm evolved from the chartered engineering business established by William Tasker around 1852.

Partners included Gerbacio Protacio Appleyard and Clifford Lees.

Lees became proprietor of the company in 1971. He retired in 1995.

The business is still going as Appleyard Lees [2011] with offices in Halifax, Leeds and Manchester

Appleyard's: S. Appleyard & CompanyRef A611
Machine tool engineers at Grantham Road Iron Works, Boothtown Recorded in 1898, 1905

Appleyard sistersRef A326
2 sisters who lived at Sisters' House, Priestley Green around 1658. It is said that they had no suitors and agreed to establish Coley Chapel and Eastfield Chapel – the sisters' chapels. However, the chapels were built in 1529, over a century before the house

Appleyard's: W. Appleyard & SonsRef A608
Worsted spinner in business at Warley / Wainstalls.

See Josiah Aked

In the 1830s, they established a factory school at their mill

Appleyard's: William Appleyard & SonRef A73
Worsted spinners, stuff merchants, woolstaplers, and manufacturers. Established by William Appleyard and son Joshua, when he bought Upper Mill, Wainstalls from Jonas Tillotson in 1821.

They had business at Upper Mill, Wainstalls [1820s], New Mill, Wainstalls [1841, 1845], Hebble Mill, Wheatley [1845, 1874], 5 King Cross Street, Halifax [1837], and King Cross Street, Halifax (warehouse) [1850, 1874]

Arab printing machineRef A172
Printing machinery invented by brothers Josiah and Edwin Wade of Josiah Wade Limited.

It was patented in 1872.

Around 40,000 machines were produced in Halifax until 1959 when the interests of the firm were sold to Wellsman & Parry of Liverpool, then to Excelsior of London who were trading until 1986

ArcadeRef A810
There are several arcades in the district including Albany Arcade, Arcade Royale, Halifax, Market Arcade, Halifax, Old Arcade, Halifax, Prince's Arcade, Halifax, Russell Street Arcade, Halifax and Wellington Arcade

Arcade Buildings, HalifaxRef A133
Block of shops and offices on Commercial Street at the bottom (east) of George Square

Owners and tenants have included

Arcade Chambers, HalifaxRef A32
Cheapside. Recorded in 1894.

Owners and tenants have included

Arcade Royale, HalifaxRef A59
Covered shopping arcade running parallel to King Edward Street between Commercial Street and Southgate.

It opened on 5th October 1912.

See Post Office Chambers, Halifax

Arcadian Orchestra SocietyRef A53
Recorded around 1900 in Brighouse

The ArcadiansRef A110
Book by Harold Harley which was turned into a popular musical in 1909

Arch, ThomasRef A139
[18??-1915] From King Cross.

He lived at 66 Tyldesley Road, Blackpool.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 29th June 1915.

Arch View, TodmordenRef A50
Lydgate. A school for the children of the workers at Robinwood Mill was held here.

A group of Baptists also held their meeting here before moving to Lydgate Baptist Church in 1865.

See Arch View Picker Works, Todmorden

Arch View Working Men's Club, LydgateRef A389
Todmorden. Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 29.

See Lydgate Working Men's Club, Todmorden

Archbell, Ann ArmitageRef A470
[1793-1838] Eldest daughter of Thomas Archbell.

She inherited money from her uncle John Armitage

Archbell, ThomasRef A469
[1745-1810] Of Healaugh, North Yorkshire.

Son of Thomas Archbell and Mary Dickinson.

On 6th May 1790, he married Mary, daughter of William Armitage, at Halifax.

Children:

  1. William Armitage [1791-1838]
  2. Ann Armitage
  3. Emma Eliza [1795-1820]
  4. John [1797-1844]
  5. Mary [1800-1823]
None of the children married.

Thomas was buried in a large tomb at Healaugh. Mary and all the children were buried at Rastrick

Archdeacon, William HenryRef A436
[1831-1911] Born 3rd July 1831.

In [Q1] 1853, he married (1) Deliah Mitchell [1824-1868] in Halifax.

Deliah died 28th October 1868.

In [Q4] 1871, he married (2) Caroline Simcox [1835-1905] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William Henry
  2. Teresa Caroline Mary [1875-1881]
  3. Martha Maria [b 1877] who married [Q4 1916] George F. Kershaw

The family lived at

  • Claremount
  • Bull Green, Halifax

William died 23rd January 1911.

Caroline died 26th March 1905.

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Archdeacon, William HenryRef A178
[1873-1914] Son of William Henry Archdeacon.

He was a cabinet maker [1914].

He lived with his sister Martha at 14 Lord Street, Halifax [1914].

On 7th August 1914, he was found suffocated by gas, in the attic of his home.

At the Inquest, his sister Martha said he had been to enlist at the Drill Hall, but they told him he was not fit. On returning home, he was agitated and wrote his will

Archer & TempestRef A656
They are recorded as

Archer, ArthurRef A160
[1883-1969] Born in Halifax.

On 18th May 1907, he married Mabel Annis Sykes at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Mabel Annis was the daughter of Joshua Sykes
 

They emigrated to the USA [1909].

They became naturalised American citizens at Rhode Island [4th October 1917]

During World War I, Arthur fought with American forces.

Arthur died in Massachusetts [7th November 1969].

Mabel Annis died in Maine, USA [13th January 1970].

The couple were buried at Pine Ridge Cemetery, Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

Archer, CliffordRef A663
[1891-1917] Son of Thomas Archer.

Born at 27 Lower Hope Street Halifax.

He was a member of St Augustine's Church, Pellon & Sunday School / a member of Square Church Pleasant Sunday Afternoon Society / a weaver of carriage cloth [1911] / employed by Clayton's, Karrier Company, Huddersfield.

He lived at 19 Thomas Street South, Halifax [with his widowed mother & stepfather 1911].

He had a sweetheart, Miss Holland.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 29th Division Signal Company Army Service Corps, attached to the 29th Div. Signal Company, Royal Engineers.

He was killed in action in France [30th November 1917].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Archer, Edwin B.Ref A1081
[1???-19??] Stationer with a shop and showrooms at 26 Commercial Street, Halifax

Archer, Rev GeorgeRef A191
[1847-1928] MA.

Born in Camberwell.

He was Vicar of St James's Church, Halifax [1887-1892].

On 27th September 1886, he married Mary Beatrice Pitt Butts [1867-1941] at St Nicholas's Church, Thames Ditton, Surrey.


Mary was born in Chatham, the daughter of Captain William Pitt Butts of the Buffs (East Kent) Regiment
 

Children:

  1. Mary Faith Butts Archer [1888-1981] who married [Peterborough 1924] John Westray Wilson Glyn [1897-1977]
  2. John William Butts Archer

In May 1892, he announced that he was going south on account of the health of his family.

Mary and George died in the parsonage at Talkin near Brampton, Cumberland

Archer, Rev J. K.Ref A662
[18??-19??] Pastor at Mount Zion Baptist Church, Heptonstall Slack [1895-1903]

Archer, JamesRef A214
[1850-1867] Of Foundry Street, Halifax.

On 17th July 1867, he was killed in an accident which occurred at Scout Hall, Shibden when a shooting-stick gun exploded as he and 2 others – James Clay of Park Street, Halifax and William Burrow of Scout Hall – were shooting birds in Shibden Vale. The gun was being loaded when the accident occurred and the ram-rod and shot were blown into Archer's neck. All 3 men worked at Wood Brothers

Archer, John William ButtsRef A567
[1890-1915] Son of Rev George Archer.

Born in Halifax [14th March 1890].

He was a career soldier, educated at Stubbington, in France, and at the Royal Military Academy, Woolwich. He was appointed 2nd Lieutenant [5th October 1910], and Lieutenant [9th March 1912]. He served in Singapore [1910-1912] and India [1912-1914].

On the outbreak of World War I, he was recalled home and spent a few days with his parents at the parsonage at Stilton before leaving for France [16th January 1915].

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant with the 2nd Battalion The Buffs (East Kent Regiment).

He died at Ypres [16th February 1915].

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 12]

Archer, PercyRef A779
[1892-1915] Son of John Archer of Shelf.

Born in Bradford.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 18th Battalion 18th (Queen Mary's Own) Hussars.

He died 24th May 1915 (aged 23).

He was buried at Vlamertinghe New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III A 3].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Archer, ThomasRef A861
[18??-19??] Plasterer and slater with business at Bedford Street, Halifax [1905].

He lived at 75 North Parade, Halifax [1905].

See Robert Henry Smith

Archer, ThomasRef A661
[1858-1899] Son of Charles Archer, drayman.

Born in Market Harborough, Leicestershire.

He was a drayman of Commercial Road, Halifax [1881] / a bonding warehouseman [1891].

On 14th April 1881, he married Mary Houseman [1862-1944] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary, of Lilly Lane, Halifax, was born in Aslackby, Lincolnshire, the daughter of John Houseman, drayman
 

Children:

  1. Ann Elizabeth [b 1882] who was a carpet weaver [1901]
  2. Clifford
  3. Emily [b 1895] who was a wool winder [1911]

The family lived at

  • 27 Lower Hope Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 84 Hartley Street, Halifax [1901]

Thomas died in Halifax in 1899 (aged 41).

In 1909, Mary married William John Bray in Halifax.

Their combined families lived at 19 Thomas Street South, Halifax [1911] & 9 Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1917]

ArchitectsRef A60

Archiving your materialRef A211

Ardell, BobRef A419
[17??-1???] Aka Ordel. Coiner of Halifax

Arden House, HalifaxRef A386
Moor Lane. Built for Francis Edwin Macaulay in 1846. He had sold the house before his death [1862].

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Arden Lodge, HalifaxRef A108
Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Arden Road Barracks, HalifaxRef A566
The barracks for the 2nd West Riding Yorkshire Volunteer Artillery [1905].

The barracks were gutted by fire on 6th December 1910.

See Arden Road Drill Hall and Territorial Army

Arden Road Social Club, HalifaxRef A784

Ardeth Engineering LimitedRef A606
Founded in 1965 by brothers Bernard and Kenneth Wright. The name of the company uses elements of their names: Bernard and Kenneth. Originally, they were blacksmiths producing wrought iron work. They moved into a foundry at Elland Bridge.

In 1972, Allan Jagger joined the company, and he bought the business in 1974.

In 1979, they rebuilt the Elland Bridge foundry. They began to produce pressure vessels. They went on to produce equipment for the chemical, oil, pharmaceutical, food and mining industries.

In 1985, they expanded and leased accommodation at the Rosemount Iron Works of Oxley-Dempster, but, on account of noise pollution, the site closed in 1986.

In 1986, James Lumb Engineering went into receivership and Ardeth bought the land and assets and moved to Perseverance Engine Works, Elland.

They expanded to Mount Works [1990], part of Marshfield Mill [1996] and other sites in and around Elland.

They are still in production [2008]

Ardsley, MrRef A451
[16??-16??] Curate at Lightcliffe [16??].

Heywood includes him in his list of the great number of wretched drunken preachers at Lightcliffe, and adds


Afterwards, as formerly, vicar of Batley, whom I have seen but once, and he was drunk, and they say he was asleep in the pulpit at Lightcliffe
 

Ardwick, MrRef A484
[18??-1???] He took over the omnibus and cab business of C. Ramsden which later became John Marsh & Company

Argenta Meat Company LimitedRef A591
Todmorden butchers. Recorded in 1905

Argyle, Jesse JamesRef A282
[1894-1917] Son of Mrs Elizabeth Argyle of 11 Cote Hill, Halifax

During World War I, he enlisted in the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), but served as a Sergeant with the 2nd Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 2nd October 1917 (aged 23).

He was buried at Zuydcoote Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I G 21].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, Warley

Argyle Musical SocietyRef A51
Halifax. Recorded in 1907

The Argyle Press LimitedRef A658
Printers, bookbinders and stationers at 40 Crown Street, Halifax [1905].

George Baildon was Managing Director [1911]

Armistead, HenryRef A707
[18??-18??] Managing Partner of the Grove Mill Company, Ovenden [1861].

He lived at Ovenden House

Armistead, W.Ref A590
[17??-18??] Worsted spinner at Soyland.

In March 1820, he was declared bankrupt

Armitage...Ref A28
The entries for people & families with the surname Armitage are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Armitage & GreenwoodRef A762
Stuff manufacturers at Northowram. Partners included Joseph Armitage of Queenshead and James Greenwood of Swamp, Northowram.

In March 1832, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Armitage & NortonRef A483
Accountants with business in Halifax, Huddersfield & Dewsbury, Bradford & Leeds

Recorded in 1902, when George Pepler Norton was a member of the firm.

Gilbert Paul Norton was head of the firm

Armitage BrothersRef A593
Brighouse plumbers, glaziers, sanitary engineers, gas, steam and water fitters established by W. H. Armitage and J. F. Armitage at Bridge End, Brighouse.

In the 1890s, they acquired the business of J. H. Goodyear

Armitage's: George Armitage & SonsRef A109
Dyers at Walnut Street, Halifax [1914] and at West End Dye Works, Halifax [1914, 1918].

Later known as George Armitage Limited (BDA)

Armitage's: J. W. Armitage & Sons LimitedRef A621
Brighouse silk spinner.

In 1892, the partnership of Baldwin, Armitage & Company was dissolved and Armitage established J. W. Armitage & Sons at Brooksmouth Mills, Brighouse.

Partners included Herbert Armitage and Ernest Armitage.

They operated 1400 spindles [1895].

They later occupied Spring Bank Silk Spinning Mills, Brighouse

Armitage's: Joshua Armitage & SonsRef A955
Card makers at Lightcliffe [1840]

Armitage: Phineas Armitage LodgeRef A1056
of the Independent Order of Good Templars. Opened on 14th May 1873 at the British Workman House, Brighouse
in connection with the Sunday School of the Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Brighouse in Bethel Street ... it was named in honour of one of the late leaders of that congregation

Recorded in June 1874, when a Third Degree meeting was held in the Bethel School Room, Brighouse

Armitstead, ThomasRef A310
[1894-1940] MBE.

Son of Eliza & William Edward Armitstead of Halifax.

In [Q3] 1916, he married Marjorie Dickinson in Halifax.

The family lived at Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Pilot Officer with the Royal Air Force.

He died 30th June 1940 (aged 46).

He is remembered at Pontypridd Crematorium

Armley Brewery LimitedRef A787
Brewers at 73 Commercial Street, Halifax [1936]

Armstrong, Albert ElliottRef A288
[1879-1965] MM.

Son of Thomas Armstrong.

He was a fustian cutter [1891] / a dyer's labourer [1901] / a fustian dresser [1911].

He married Mary Ann [1885-1963].

During World War I, he servedwith the King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was awarded the Military Medal.

Mary Ann died 7th April 1963 (aged 78).

Albert died 27th June 1965 (aged 86).

The couple are buried in the family grave at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [Grave Ref: C594]

Armstrong, AlexanderRef A431
[1847-1926] Born in Scotland.

He was a Police Constable.

He married Helen Taylor [1849-1888].


Helen was born in Scotland
 

Children:

  1. Wilson

Armstrong & CompanyRef A633
Fustian cutters at Valley Road, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Armstrong, E.Ref A735
[18??-18??] Theatre manager at Halifax.

In March 1862, he was declared bankrupt

Armstrong, JamesRef A780
[1887-1916] He was a member of St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax / a tenter / employed by J. Sagar & Company Limited.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child

The family lived at 3 Terrace Street, New Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 2nd March 1916 (aged 29).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Armstrong, LouisRef A442
[1889-1916] Known as Lewis [1891, 1901].

Son of Thomas Armstrong.

Born in Hebden Bridge [22nd September 1889].

He was educated at Board Schools in Hebden Bridge / a work booker fustian clothing [1911] / employed by E. Greenwood & Company / a player with Hebden Bridge A. F. C / a player with Hebden Bridge Rugby Club.

He worked at the Wholesale Clothing Works at Hebden Bridge, where he saved the life of a girl worker.

During World War I, he enlisted [2nd May 1915] and served as a Private with the 19th (Public Schools Battalion)  Royal Fusiliers.

Three of his brothers were also serving.

He went to France [14th November 1915].

He was returning from the trenches with his battalion after they had suffered heavily from a German bombardment, and whilst attending an officer who had been taken ill, he was hit by the explosion of a shell which fell at their feet [2nd January 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [15th January 1916].

He was buried at Bethune Town Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV G 80].

He is remembered at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [Grave Ref: C594] and on the Memorial at Hebden Bridge Association Football Club

Armstrong, MrRef A495
[1???-1???] In 1888, he became a partner in Foster & Armstrong

Armstrong, PCRef A1061
[18??-1???] West Vale constable [1886].

See William Winterbottom

Armstrong, RobertRef A685
[1892-1915] Son of Annie (née Walsh) & Robert Armstrong of 7 Hemingway Road, New Bank, Halifax [1911].

Born in Halifax.

He lived at Pollard Street North, New Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Cameronian (Scottish Rifles).

He was killed at Neuve Chapelle [10th March 1915].

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 15 & 16], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Armstrong, ThomasRef A441
[1855-1910] Born in Manchester.

He was a cotton fustian cutter [1881] / a foreman cutter fustian [1891] / a fustian cutter [1901].

In 1874, he married Esther Schofield [1854-1926] in Manchester.


Esther, born in Almondbury, was the daughter of Jonathan Schofield. She was a tailoress [1881]
 

Children:

  1. Mary Adelaide [b 1876] who was a fustian ender & mender [1891], a fustian mender [1901]
  2. Carrie [b 1877] who was a fustian tailoress [1891]
  3. Albert Elliott
  4. Lilian [b 1881] who was a tailoress fustian [1901]
  5. Elizabeth Ann [b 1883] who was a tailoress fustian [1901]
  6. Clarissa Jane [b 1886] who was a tailoress fustian [1901], a sewing machinist fustian clothing [1911]
  7. John Schofield [b 1888] who was a warehouse boy (fustian) [1901]
  8. Lewis / Louis
  9. Edward [b 1892] who was a lining cutter fustian clothing [1911] and served with the 1st Derby Group [World War I]
  10. Robert Bruce who died 15th August 1897 (aged 1 year & 9 months) 

The 4 sons served in World War I.

The family lived at

  • Commercial Street, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge [1881]
  • Hebden Terrace, Wadsworth, Midgehole [1891, 1901]
  • 46 Windsor Road, Hebden Bridge [1911]

The couple & other members of the family () were buried at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [Grave Ref: C594]

Armstrong's: Thomas G. Armstrong & Company LimitedRef A208
Owned Gosport Old Mills, Stainland when it was damaged by fire in 1928. They went into liquidation later that year

Armstrong, Rev William T.Ref A696
[18??-18??] Wesleyan Minister at Mytholmroyd [1874]

Armstrong, WilsonRef A423
[1886-1916] Son of Alexander Armstrong.

Born in Greetland [4th February 1886].

On 7th March 1901 (aged 15), he was admitted to the Calder Farm Reformatory School in Mirfield.

In 1911, he was serving in India with the 12th Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Horse Artillery & Royal Field Artillery.

He was killed in action [18th August 1916].

He was buried at Peronne Road Cemetery, Maricourt, France [Grave Ref II B 8]

The Army & Navy StoresRef A759
Recorded in 1936 at 105 Northgate, Halifax when Mrs R. E. Brooks was proprietor

Armytage...Ref A16
The entries for people & families with the surname Armytage are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Armytage doleRef A400
Dole which was distributed by the Armytage family on St Thomas's Day [21st December] to the elderly poor of Clifton. Each recipient had to bring 2 newly-laid eggs and, in return, received a peck of wheat and a shilling [or a sovereign?].

See Clifton Dole Fund

Armytage's: George & Joseph ArmytageRef A94
Cotton and wool card makers at Lightcliffe [1809]

Armytage's: Joseph Armytage & SonsRef A679
Card makers at Victoria Mill, Brighouse [1845].

Partners included Joseph Armitage, Edward Armytage, and Henry Armitage

Armytage Road Industrial Estate, BrighouseRef A498
The industrial estate on Armytage Road, Brighouse began in 1951.

The first buildings came into use in November 1953.

The estate accommodates several national and local companies and organisations.

See Sir Titus Salt

Arndale Centre, HalifaxRef A121
In 1979-1980, there were plans to build a large Arndale shopping Centre in Halifax, but several large business withdrew their interest – including Woolworths, Boots, Littlewoods – and this never came to pass. The proposed Centre would have required the loss of Woolshops and some of the listed buildings around the Piece Hall. The Woolshops complex which was finally built – and which did require demolition of the Prince's Arcade – was opened in 1983

Arnell, HaroldRef A65
[1886-1967] Born in Halifax [22nd November 1886].

In 1911, he married Nellie May Furness in Halifax.


Nellie May was the daughter of
John Furness
 

There is no record of any children

Arnett, AlbertRef A728
[1892-1919]

In [Q3] 1915, he married Olive Wood in Halifax.

They lived at 52 Wakefield Road, Clifton.

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the 112th Construction Company Royal Engineers.

He died 14th February 1919 (aged 27).

He was buried at St.Andre Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I B 21].

He is remembered on Clifton War Memorial, in the book Clifton War Memorial, and on Brighouse War Memorial

Arnison, Dr Thomas WrightRef A232
[1872-1965] MB.

Son of Charles Nathan Arnison [1841-1???], solicitor.

Born in Penrith.

He was a general practitioner [1911].

In [Q3] 1905, he married Alice Barber in Halifax


Alice was born 1st March 1873, the daughter of
Charlton Barber
 

Children:

  1. Nancy Charlton (Arnison) [b 1907]

They lived at the Poplars Rastrick [1911].

Alice died 3rd May 1932.

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-R26] with her parents.

Thomas died in 1965 (aged 93).

His burial place is not known

Arnold, AbrahamRef A812
[1801-18??] Born in Wakefield.

He was a wire drawer [1851] / a beerseller at an unidentified beerhouse at 1 Upper Kirkgate, Halifax [1851].


Question: Does anyone know which beerhouse this may have been?

The Ring O' Bells, Halifax?

 

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1832] who was a servant [1851]
  2. Joseph [b 1840]
  3. Abraham [b 1843]
  4. Emma [b 1845]

Abraham was a widower by 1851

Arnold, Sir AlfredRef A266
[1835-1908] JP, MP.

Born in Cheltenham [18th November 1935].

He was the youngest son Rev Frederick Arnold [1800-1873].

He was educated at Cheltenham Grammar School & at Sidney Sussex College Cambridge / a merchant [1855].

He worked in the financial organisation W. A. Britton & Company in Natchez, Missouri, USA.

In 1863, he left the USA to become private secretary for a London capitalist.

In 1869, he came to work for James Royston, Son & Company.

In 1871, he and his son Charles took control of the company.

In 1881, Alfred was a bank director & sole partner in Royston's.

He was Conservative MP for Halifax [1895-1900].

On 30th July 1855, he married (1) Catherine Comber [1830-1891] at St Pancras.


Catherine, from Hadlow, Kent, was the daughter of Robert Comber
 

Children:

  1. Charles
  2. Alfreda [b 1865] who never married

The family lived at

In 1901, he married (2) Mary.


Mary (née Wood) was the widow of Mr Collins
 

Alfred died 31st October 1908.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £4,558 11/11d.

Probate was granted to daughter Alfreda.

See Pellon Ward Conservative Club

Arnold, Alfred HuntrissRef A63
[1892-1916] Son of Charles Comber Arnold.

Born 14th August 1892.

He was educated at Uppingham [from 1906] / at the Royal Military College at Sandhurst [1911] / with the West Yorkshire Regiment [1912] / in Malta.

He lived at Hadlow, Albert Promenade, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was with the international force at Scutari, Albania, and in France [1914].

In March 1915, he was severely wounded in the shoulder and spine in the Battle of Neuve Chappelle, and evacuated to Lady Wimborne's Auxiliary Hospital at Templeton House, Roehampton.

He died of wounds [30th December 1916].

He was buried at Barnes (East Sheen) Cemetery [F 221].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

Arnold, Charles ComberRef A267
[1856-1913] MA, JP.

Son of Sir Alfred Arnold.

Born in Cambridgeshire.

He was a boarder at Blackheath Park, Charlton, London [1871] / a barrister at law (not practising) [1881] / he and his father took control of James Royston, Son & Company [1871] / a wire manufacturer [1888] / barrister at law [1888].

On 25th October 1888, he married Isabel Huntriss at Halifax Parish Church.


Isabel, of West Field, Halifax, was the daughter of William Huntriss
 

Children:

  1. Ruth [b 1891]
  2. Alfred Huntriss
  3. Catherine [b 1896]

The family lived at

He died at Grange-over-Sands [11th April 1913].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £9,130 0/10d.

Probate was granted to Harold Huntriss (gentleman), John Fawcett Hirst, & Edward Mitchell Huntriss (gentleman) 

Arnott, F. R.Ref A374
[19??-19??] Curate at Elland [1934]

Arrandale, EdgarRef A407
[1894-1917] Son of James Arrandale.

Born in Halifax.

He was a boot repairer [1911] / a conductor on the Pellon / Skircoat routes of Halifax Corporation Tramways.

He lived at 126 Ashfield Terrace, Queen's Road.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st Battalion Gordon Highlanders.

He went to the Front [February 1916].

He died 14th June 1917.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th August 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 8 & 9], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Akroydon Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Arrandale, JamesRef A410
[1852-1929] Born in Saddleworth.

He was a stone delver / a stone dresser [1881, 1891, 1901] / a quarryman [1911].

In 1874, he married (1) Sarah Riley [1849-1887]


Sarah was born in Ovenden
 

Children:

  1. Ada Ann [b 1875] who was a worsted weaver [1891]
  2. Sam [b 1877] who was a general labourer [1891], a stone mason [1901]
  3. Emily [b 1879] who was a cotton spinner [1891], a carpet weaver [1901]
  4. Mary Elizabeth [b 1881] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a woollen machine minder [1901], a head worsted weaver [1911]
  5. Fred [b 1885] who was a wood working machine fitter [1901], a mechanic fitter [1911]
  6. Walter [b 1887] who was a woollen doffer [1901], a grocery warehouseman [1911]

Sarah died (possibly in childbirth) in 1887 (aged 38).

In 1890, he married (2) Elizabeth Fearn [1854-1897]


Elizabeth was born in Magdalene, Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Jane [b 1891] who was a worsted weaver [1911]
  2. Arthur [b 1893] who was a blacksmith [1911]
  3. Edgar
  4. Edith [b 1896] who was a winder in brace factory [1911]

Elizabeth died in Halifax in 1897 (aged 42)  The family lived at

  • 1 Spring Cottage, Halifax [1881]
  • 6 Derby Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 160 Boothtown Road, Halifax [when son Sam was head of the household 1901]
  • 19 Booth Bank, Halifax [where James was living on his own at 1901]
  • 73 Boothtown Road, Halifax [when daughter Mary Elizabeth was head of the household 1911]

In 1911, James (aged 57) quarryman – recorded as a lunatic since the age of 50 – was an inmate at The West Riding Lunatic Asylum, Stanley Road, Wakefield.

James & Elizabeth were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Arrandale, RonaldRef A334
[1915-1944] Son of Ethel & James Willie Arrandale.

In [Q1] 1941, he married Mary Crossley in Halifax.

They lived at King Cross, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with 463 Water Tank Company Royal Army Service Corps.

He died 2nd March 1944 (aged 29).

He is remembered on the Brookwood Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 15 3], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Pellon

Arrowsmith, GeorgeRef A865
[17??-18??] Brush maker at Halifax. Recorded in 1828, when he was at 16 Bull Green, Halifax

Arrowsmith, Walter HartleyRef A403
[1884-1914] Illegitimate son of Sarah Arrowsmith [1846-1914].

Born in Halifax.

He joined the army in 1901 and saw service in South Africa.

In 1902, he was awarded the Queens Africa Star with clasps.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [28th November 1914].

He was buried at Kandahar Farm Cemetery, Heuvelland, Belgium [Grave Ref I C 4]

Art & artistsRef A66

Art GalleriesRef A637

Art Gallery TrustRef A366
In 1938, R. E. Nicholson and the widow of H. R. Oddy – both men were founders of the Halifax Art Society – gave money to Halifax Corporation as the Art Gallery Trust to build or renovate a building to be a permanent Halifax Art Gallery. There was to be a room called the H. R. Oddy Memorial Room with a number of paintings from his own collections. Nicholson announced he would make a gift to the Corporation of pictures from his own collection including work by David Cocks, Rowlandson and a Hogarth. The combined gift was to start an art gallery trust. A trust known as the H. R. Oddy Memorial Fund was established.

The location of the building was to be subject to trustee approval. Bankfield Museum was rejected as being too far from the town centre.

The paintings – including some of Nicholson's works donated by his son, John – were accepted by the Corporation in 1941 and they are probably in the cellars of Bankfield.

No building was ever built or bought which met with the approval of the trustees. In 1960, John Nicholson again contacted Halifax Corporation who decided there was nothing they could do about it, and ended the trust. The funds – minus legal costs – were returned to the original estates

Arthur, Rev Edgar Kenneth ThorntonRef A340
[1916-19??] He was Curate of St Paul Arbourthorne, Sheffield [1950-1953], Curate of Bramley, Hellaby and Sunnyside Conventual District [1953-1956], Chaplain of HMP Wandsworth [1956-1957] and Holloway Prison [1957-1959], and Vicar of Fishlake, Doncaster [1959-1962] before becoming Vicar of St Hilda's Church, Halifax [1962-1976]. He subseqently served at Shobrooke, Diocese of Exeter, and was Rural Dean of Cadbury

Arthur, George StuartRef A215
[1884-1916] Son of Samuel Arthur.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School / employed in the family's drapery business in Huddersfield.

During World War I, he and 7 friends enlisted with the Cheshire Regiment [17th September 1914]:

who were killed,

who were wounded, and Major Horace Fox, who survived unscathed.

George Stuart served as a 2nd Lieutenant with A Company 1/5th (Pioneer) Battalion Cheshire Regiment.

He was leading a bombing party on first day of Battle of the Somme.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died on the first day of the Battle of the Somme [1st July 1916] (aged 32).

He was buried at Gommecourt British Cemetery No.2, Heburterne, France [Grave Ref III C 15] [Spec. Memorial D].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School, and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Arthur, JohnRef A241
[1865-19??] Son of William Arthur, brush maker.

Born in Kendal, Westmorland.

He was a warehouseman of Battinson Road, Halifax [1899] / landlord of the Cherry Tree, Halifax [1901, 1905] / a mill hand [1911].

In 1899, he married Hannah at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah was the daughter of John Jagger, inn keeper, and widow of John Lumb
 

They lived at

  • 96 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1911]
  • 113 New Bank, Halifax [1918]

Arthur's: S. Arthur & SonsRef A798
Ladies' and gentlemen's outfitters and drapers in Halifax. Established by William Stanley Arthur.

They occupied the building which had been George H. Gledhill's Halifax Millinery & Mourning Establishment at 2 Broad Street / 41-43 Northgate, Halifax [1936]

Arthur, SamuelRef A217
[1855-1922] Born in Bayford.

He was a draper with a business in Huddersfield.

In 1879, he married Louisa Pook [1852-1923] in Wimborne

Children:

  1. George Stuart

The family lived at 24 Heath Crescent, Halifax [1916]

Arthur, William StanleyRef A429
[18??-19??] A draper. He established S. Arthur & Sons.

In [Q4] 1916, he married (1) Norah Spender [1896-1926] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Pamela M. [b 1917]
  2. Monica Beryl [1918-19??] who married Peter Armitage Lighting
  3. Douglas S. R. [b 1920]
  4. Noreen [b Q4 1926]

Nora died in childbirth [Q4 1926] (aged 30) 

In [Q2] 1929, he married (2) Kathleen Hartley in Halifax.


Kathleen was the daughter of John Edward Hartley
 

Children:

  1. Christopher O. H. [b 1934]

The family lived at 11 Heath Mount, Halifax [1940]

Artillery SquareRef A245
Brighouse. In 1914, Holroyd's Buildings were demolished to make way for the triangular square. Local militia used the area as a drill ground. It was later renamed Thornton Square

ArtisanRef A634
Fireplace manufacturers at Phoenix Mill, Brighouse [2005].

See Brighouse Art Circle

Arts Resource CentreRef A146
Located in Halifax Piece Hall.

More information: Telephone: 01422-358087 / Fax: 01422-349310


Question: Is there a website with more up-to-date information?

 

Arundel, InspectorRef A5340
[18??-19??] Police Officer in Sowerby Bridge.

Recorded in December 1904, when he was witness in the trial of Edward Spink

Arvon Foundation, ColdenRef A198
In 1970, Ted Hughes bought a house at Lumb Bank, Heptonstall, and this became a part of the Arvon Foundation, providing residential writing and poetry courses.

In 1997, the Foundation received a grant from the National Lottery.

In 2004, the centre was renamed The Ted Hughes Arvon Centre

Asa Farrar Stone, RastrickRef A891
An inscribed stone which remembers the suicide attempts of Asa Farrar

Ash Grove Brick, Tile & Fireclay CompanyRef A589
Fire brick and sanitary ware manufacturers at Elland Road, Brighouse [1905]. In 1906, they took over the workings of Binns Bottom Mine.

This later became W. T. Knowles & Sons

Ash Grove, CliftonRef A409
Owners and tenants have included

Ash Grove House, BrighouseRef A933
Elland Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Ash Grove, SouthowramRef A61
Owners and tenants have included

See Ash Grove School, Southowram

Ash, Rev JohnRef A4000
[1821-1880] He married Grace [1825-1874].

They lived at Calder Grange, Mytholmroyd [1874].

Grace died 19th December 1874 (aged 49); John died 21st February 1880 (aged 59).

They were buried at Mytholmroyd Wesleyan Methodist Church

Ash Lea, EllandRef A953
House.

Owners and tenants have included

This and the neighbouring Burn Lea were demolished for the construction of the A629 road at Elland.

The gate posts remain on the section of Halifax Road between Elland Bridge and the A629

Ash, MissesRef A946
Misses Elizabeth and Mary Ash ran the Calder Grange Ladies' Seminary, Mytholmroyd in the 1860s

Ash Tree, ShelfRef A716
An old farmstead.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Joseph Sawood [1881]

Ashburn, ChristopherRef A68
[17??-1573] Aka Ashbourne. He was the first Protestant Vicar of Halifax. He held the office from 21st February 1559 until he resigned in 1573 in favour of his son, Francis Ashburn.

During the second rising of the north in favour of the Roman church, he offered to raise 3 or 4,000 men from his own parish in defence of the Queen

Ashburn, FrancisRef A69
[15??-1585] MA.

Aka Ashbourne. He was the son of Christopher Ashburn. Vicar of Halifax from 3rd June 1573. He died 8th July 1585

Ashby, John GroverRef A375
[1924-1944] Son of Dorothy (née Good) & Lionel Finch Ashby of 2 Heath Avenue, Halifax, who married [Q2 1906] in Wandsworth.

He was educated at Shrewsbury School and Cambridge / a member of the OTC.

During World War II, he enlisted [1942], and served as a Lieutenant with the Royal Artillery 383 Battery 142 (The Royal North Devon Yeomanry) Field Regiment.

He served in Sicily & Italy.

He died of enteric fever [24th January 1944] (aged 20).

He was buried at Caserta War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref V C 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park

AshdayRef A9
Area of the ancient Southowram township around Ashday Hall. John Rawson owned property here

Ashday Cottage, SouthowramRef A677
Owners and tenants have included

Ashday Fireclays LimitedRef A199
They were at Ashday Park Stone Quarries, Southowram [1939-1945]

Ashday Hall, SouthowramRef A70
Ashday Lane. Aka Ashdale, Astey.

Recorded in 1275, when John of Ashday was here, and in 1379, John of Ashday held 20 acres in the Manor of Cromwell Bottom

There have been many earlier dwellings in the area connected with the Ashday, Astey, Astley, Hastey, de Astay, and de Astey family.

In the 14th century, John de Haldeworth and the Holdsworth family of Ashday Hall, are recorded here.

In the 15th century, John Holdsworth lived here, and his son, Robert, was born here. The family rebuilt the house around 1515.

The present building was built by William Holdsworth [1713] and extended by Rev Thomas Holdsworth [1738]. Many of the 1738 features remain.

In 1792, it passed to Phoebe and William Drake, then to their son, Thomas Drake.

After the death of Sir Gillery Piggott in 1875, financial problems led to the house being sold in 1898. Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

See Ashday Park Stone Quarries, Southowram and Boggart House, Cromwellbottom

Ashday RutwayRef A177
Or Wagonway.

A system built for the transportation of Elland flags, roofing slates & tiles from Ashday Park Stone Quarries down to the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

It was built to replace a footpath which served the earlier mines & quarries in the area.

It was used between 1770 & 1820.

The gauge was about 1.35 m with plain unflanged cartwheels – known as hunds – using a groove cut into stone blocks.

It is not known who built the wagonway.

There are remains of the brake drum building, with sycamore trees now growing out of the ruins.

Evidence suggests that an early electric telegraph was used to alert the brakeman, as both ends could not see each other. The cables for this are known to exist

See Nab Hill Waggonway

Ashenhurst, StansfieldRef A732
Recorded as Th'Assenhirste in 1590.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

See Top o' th' Ashenhurst, Stansfield

Ashes, Cross StoneRef A829
See Higher Ashes, Cross Stone and Lower Ashes, Cross Stone

Asheton, PeterRef A462
[1643-1698] MA.

Vicar of Elland [1667, 1671].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas [1671-1684]
  2. John [1673-1674]
  3. Peter [1674-1675]
  4. a daughter who married Richard Petty who succeeded him at Elland
  5. Peter

He & several of his children were buried at Elland Parish Church

Asheton, PeterRef A449
[1676-1718] Son of Peter Asheton.

He was Curate at Milnrow, Lancashire from around 1700 until his death. He may have had a day school near Sparth, Rochdale

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Ashfield Co-OpRef A21
Branch number 27 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in March 1885

Ashford, JohnRef A571
[17??-18??] Or Ashworth.

Of Elland.

Around 1790, he and John Ramsden built one of the Swamp Mills, Sowerby

Ashgrove House, EllandRef A278
/ Brighouse.

House at 500 Elland Road, Brighouse.

In 1994, the – then run-down – property was acquired by Paul Cockroft.

Now evolved into a housing development known as The Courtyard and Ashgrove Country Park

Ashgrove, WarleyRef A703
Owners and tenants have included

  • Edward Foster Esq [1874]

Ashleigh, HalifaxRef A862
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

AshleyRef A532
On Ogilvy's map of 1675, Exley is shown as Ashley

Ashley, Rev Archibald JohnRef A62
[1885-1943] He was vicar at Farnley Tyas. before becoming Vicar of St John The Divine, Rastrick [1934].

In [Q3] 1909, he married Annie Catherine Furst at Ormskirk.

Children:

  1. Phyllis
  2. Noël Ruth who married [1941?] Maurice Bernard Sancroft Godfrey from Peterborough
  3. other daughters
In 194?, he was appointed vicar of Holy Trinity Church, Eltham. He died – and was buried – at Eltham

Ashley, Eleanor Phyllis CatharineRef A67
[1912-19??] Eldest daughter of Rev A. J. Ashley.

On 24th August 1939, she married Rev Peter Ralph Monie from Edinburgh at St John the Divine, Rastrick

Ashley House, Hebden BridgeRef A456
Hangingroyd Lane. Built about 1867 by Thomas Barker.

In 1890, the house passed to his brother-in-law Joseph Thomas.

The house stayed in the family until 1956.

During World War II, soldiers were billeted in the mills and the Ministry of Works leased the house. It was used as a social club.

The WRVS used the house to care for the Royal Engineers.

After the war the house was used as the local National Insurance and Dole Office.

It was subsequently acquired by Yorkshire Electricity for use as offices.

In 1971, it was used as a rest home – Linden House. This closed in 1999.

In 2000, it was renamed Angeldale and became a guest house

Ashley House, SouthowramRef A347
Formerly Southowram Sunday School

Ashley, WilliamRef A506
[16??-16??] Local preacher. In 1662, he was ejected

Ashling, R. C.Ref A380
[19??-19??] Curate at St Augustine's Church, Pellon [1960]

Ashman, WilliamRef A64
[1874-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a glass beveller [1894].

On 17th September 1894, he married Alice Ramsden in Halifax.


Alice was the daughter of
William Ramsden
 

Children:

  1. Edith [b 1895]
  2. Edgar [b 1897]
  3. Ivy [b 1899]
  4. Clara [b 1902]
  5. Alice [b 1909]

By 1911, the family had emigrated to Rhode island, USA

Ashmore, Rev Ernest A.Ref A329
[19??-19??] Vicar of Clifton [1950-1954]

Ashmore, SidneyRef A384
[1895-1918] Son of Ruth & William Ashmore of Worsborough Bridge, Barnsley.

He married Rose.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died 2nd September 1918 (aged 23).

He was buried at Bancourt British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II G 20]

The Ashton FamilyRef A1018
Of Croston.

The local links with the Ashton family appear to stem from the marriage of Geoffrey Stansfeld to Katherine Ashton.

In 1614, James Stansfield leased land in Hartshead to William Ashton. There are several deeds in 1617/18 from James and Elizabeth Stansfeld to Theophilus Ashton of Grayes Inn, of certain closes and messuages in Stansfeld for 8 years at a rent of a grain of pepper.

See Ashton Stansfield

Ashton, Albert SimsRef A515
[1899-1918] Son of Harry Ashton.

Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a butcher.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/8th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was posted missing [28th May 1918]. He must have been found by German soldiers and taken to Rastatt (Baden) Germany, where he died of his wounds 5 days later [2nd June 1918].

He was buried at Niederzwehren Cemetery, Germany. [Grave Ref II J 15].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Hope Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge.

His brother Harry Ashton also died in the War

Ashton, AlfredRef A313
[1897-1916] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 3rd/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He suffered haemorrhage of the lungs & was sent to Wakefield Sanatorium.

He died at home [4th December 1916] (aged 19).

He had a military funeral at Harley Wood.

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Ashton, ArnoldRef A691
[1913-1944] Or Arnold Graham Ashton.

Son of John Ashton.

Born in Rastrick [17th November 1913].

He was a player with Rugby League teams in Brighouse, Rastrick & Bradford / a player with Rastrick Cricket Club / employed by Crowther & Nicholson, Huddersfield.

During World War II, he enlisted [1940], and served as a Guardsman with the 5th Battalion Coldstream Guards.

He was killed in action in Normandy whilst going for stretcher-bearers [21st July 1944] (aged 30).

He was buried at Banneville-la-Campagne War Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IX C 7].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial

Ashton BrothersRef A1015
Cotton spinners at Fairlea Mills, Luddendenfoot [1965].

In 1968, they were taken over by Courtaulds Limited

Ashton, HarryRef A521
[18??-19??]

In [Q3] 1898, he married Mary Sims [18??-19??] in Newark.

Children:

  1. Harry
  2. Albert

The family lived at 11 Neale Street, Hebden Bridge [1892, 1920].

Sons Harry & Albert died in World War I

Ashton, HarryRef A404
[1884-1916] Son of Harry Ashton.

He was educated at Burnley Road School & Hebden Bridge Central School / a member of Hope Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge / an apprentice engineer in Blackburn.

During the South African Wars, he served with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He emigrated to Australia, and worked for Singer Sewing Machines.

He moved to New Zealand.

He married Grace.

They lived at Petone, Wellington, New Zealand.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd/3rd Battalion New Zealand Rifle Brigade.

He was wounded on the Somme.

He died 5 days later [27th September 1916] (aged 32).

He was buried at Dernancourt Communal Cemetery, France.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Hope Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge.

His brother Albert Sims Ashton also died in the War

Ashton, HenryRef A694
[18??-18??] Brewer at 48 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1874]

Ashton, Mr Jo.Ref A327
[16??-1687] Vicar of Hartshead [1630-1684]

See Greene family

Ashton, JohnRef A151
[1830-1893] He was a labourer.

He lived at Brick Buildings, Southowram Bank.

He died February 1893 (aged 63).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [F 319 C]

Ashton, JohnRef A86
[1891-1954]

In [Q3] 1913, he married Florence Armitage [1893-1950] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. A. Ashton

The family lived at 8 Dewsbury Road, Elland [1950, 1954]

Ashton-Jones, F.Ref A194
[19??-19??] In May 1952, he was recorded as being Bandmaster with the Territorial Army in Halifax.

In 1957, Ashton-Jones Orchestras are listed at 13 Prince's Arcade, Halifax, the same address as stamp dealer W. A. Ashton-Jones.


Question: Can anyone add any details of the link between W. A. Ashton-Jones and F. Ashton-Jones? Father and son? Brothers?

 

Ashton-Jones, William A.Ref A717
[1896-1967] Or William A. Ashton Jones.


A William Aubrey Ashton Jones, son of Susan Emily & William Ashton Jones, was born in South Norwood, Surrey.

He and his family were recorded in Eastbourne, Sussex [1911].

The hyphen may be a later affectation

 

Stamp dealer at 13 Prince's Arcade, Halifax.

In [Q1] 1916, he married Dorothy Tyler in Holborn, London.

William died in Halifax [Q3 1967] (aged 71).

See F. Ashton-Jones

Ashton, Rev JosephRef A510
[17??-1864] He trained at Manchester College, and served at Dukinfield [1814], Knutsford [1820] before becoming Minister at Northgate End Chapel [1827-1828]. In 1829, he moved to Whitby and then to Preston [1830-1856]

Ashton, JosephRef A125
[1833-1899] Born in Birch, Lancashire.

He was a dyer [1861] / a cotton yarn dyer [1871] / a cotton dyer employing 18 men & 4 women [1881] / a cotton yarn dyer [1891].

Around 1860, he married Mary [1836-1898].


Mary was born in Heywood, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Ellen [b 1860]
  2. Thomas [b 1862]
  3. George [b 1864]
  4. Albert [1867-1915]
  5. Elizabeth [b 1868]
  6. Daniel [b 1870]
  7. Alice [b 1872]
  8. Mary Ann [b 1875]
  9. Joseph C. [b 1877]
  10. Charles James [b 1881]

The family lived at

  • Mytholmroyd [1861]
  • Wadsworth [1881]
  • Redacre, Wadsworth [1891]

Members of the family were buried at St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd

Ashton, Joseph ClarksonRef A362
[1???-1969] Yarn agent and merchant of Mytholmroyd.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £55,925

Ashton, ThomasRef A739
[18??-19??] JP.

He was a Mytholmroyd Councillor / Chairman of Mytholmroyd District Council [1917] / the military representative for Todmorden [1917] / a supporter of Heptonstall Slack Baptist Cemetery.

He lived at Stocks Hall, Mytholmroyd.

James Lister live with him at the Hall.

See William Algernon Simpson-Hinchliffe

Ashtree, NorthowramRef A5600
Owners and tenants have included

Ashwell House, HipperholmeRef A390
Denholme Gate Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Ashwood, JohnRef A781
[1923-1943] Son of Sarah & William Ashwood.

Born in Halifax.

His family migrated to Toronto, Canada.

He was employed by Paton & Baldwin Limited in Toronto.

During World War II, he served as a Warrant Officer Class II with the Royal Canadian Air Force.

He died 7th November 1943 (aged 20).

He was buried at City Road Cemetery, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire [Grave Ref: C 1 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ashworth...Ref A255
The entries for people & families with the surname Ashworth are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

AshworthRef A331
The name which Phyllis Bentley uses for Bradford – plus a bit of Halifax – in her Inheritance trilogy

Ashworth & BirkheadRef A647
Printers at Booth Fold, Halifax [1905]

Ashworth BrothersRef A602
Fustian manufacturers at Foster Mill, Hebden Bridge.

Partners included William Ashworth.

On 13th April 1869, Abraham Webster, a weaver at the works, died after his clothing was caught by a shaft.

In 1906, theirs was the first mill to be affected when the fustian weavers' strike began. A group of their employees unsuccessfully tried to sue the firm for breach of contract at Todmorden County Court

Ashworth's: D. & J. Ashworth & CompanyRef A8700
Recorded in 1855 at Callis Mill, Charlestown in an obituary of foreman Joseph Speak

Ashworth House Farm, Priestley GreenRef A1074
Syke Lane

Ashworth's: J. Ashworth & SonRef A370
Dyers and steam cleaners at 16 St James's Road, Halifax [1916].

They also advertised their


Steam Dye Works
TOP OF LEWIS STREET
Halifax

Ashworth's: John Ashworth & CompanyRef A885
Kersey printers at Shaw Syke, Halifax [1809]

Ashworth's: Joseph Ashworth & SonsRef A1045
Joseph Ashworth was trading as Joseph Ashworth & Sons Lithographers at Back Street, Bull Green, Halifax [1893, 1894].

They were at Lister Lane [1915].

The business was still operating in 1967

Ashworth, Normington & SonsRef A745
Printers at 30 Lister Lane, Halifax [1927]

Aske, Charles ParkerRef A765
[1884-1919] Son of William Aske.

Born in Halifax.

Born and baptised as Charles Aske, but later known as Charles P. Aske – he may have adopted his mother's maiden name, becoming Charles Parker Aske.

He was a draper's assistant [1901] / a soft furnishing assistant [1911].

In 1901, he was living with his brother William Aske.

On 16th November 1907, he married Irene (Rene) Bertha Holstead [1889-1965] at Halifax Register Office.


Irene was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Brian Hope [1910-2003]
  2. Dorothy M. [b 1913]
  3. Margery [b 1916]

The family lived at

  • Sandbeds, Pellon [1911]
  • Lane Ends, Shibden [1914]

During World War I, he served as a Gunner /signaller with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died 5th March 1919 in Shelf Sanatorium from pneumonia and fever following wounds suffered in the War.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 961].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

Irene Bertha died in Taunton [Q1 1965] (aged 76) 

Aske, RichardRef A72
[15??-1???] Stonemason of Hope, Derbyshire. He rebuilt Elland Bridge in stone [1579]

Aske, WilliamRef A851
[1843-1896] Born in Wakefield.

He was a master watch maker [1871] / a shopman silversmith [1881] / a jeweller's assistant [1891] / a jeweller [1896].

On 15th June 1869, he married Lily Parker at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Lily was born in Halifax, the daughter of
Thomas Parker
 

Children:

  1. Ernest Parker (Aske) [1870-10th March 1885]
  2. Margaret Lydia [1872-1940]
  3. William
  4. Harry Rowland [1876-1940]
  5. Thomas Parker [1878-1933]
  6. Dorothy Jane [1881-1955]
  7. Charles

The children were baptised at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.

The family lived at

  • Wakefield [1871]
  • 34 Cromwell Street, Halifax [1881]
  • 8 Hampden Place, Halifax [1891]
  • 1 Elm Place, Halifax [1896]

William died 7th October 1896.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £142 3/6d.

Probate was granted to his widow Lily, and Charles Parker (manufacturer).

Lily died in 1899.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 91]

Aske, WilliamRef A9201
[1874-1939] Son of William Aske.

He was an oil & paint merchant [1911].

He established William Aske & Company Limited.

In [Q3] 1900, he married (1) Edith Eastburn [1874-1932] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Dorothy [1907-2003]
  2. William

Edith died 14th July 1932 (aged 58).

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 91].

In July 1936, William married (2) Mabel Wilkinson [1889-1961] in Halifax.


Mabel was born in Bradford
 

The family lived at

  • 93 Beechwood Road, Illingworth [1901]
  • 16 St Bevans Road, Skircoat [1911]
  • Wibsey [1939]

Living with them [in 1901] was brother Charles P. Aske.

William died at the Duke of York's Nursing Home, Bradford [30th December 1939] (aged 65).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £245 7/2d.

Administration was granted to his widow Mabel

Aske's: William Aske & Company LimitedRef A669
Business established by William Aske.

Grease, oil, tallow, paint and varnish manufacturers and importers at Victoria Oil Works, Halifax [1905].

They also had a foundry supply business at Waterside, Halifax.

Their trademark was Baltiseed and their products included Askol motor oil.

They also established the Thylene Company

Aske, William EastburnRef A181
[1908-1980] Son of William Aske

He was an oil merchant [1940].

In [Q3] 1932, he married Edith Wilkinson [1908-1940] in Leeds.

They lived at Fengarth, 97 Dudwell Lane, Halifax [1940].

Edith died in the Royal Halifax Infirmary [26th January 1940] (aged 32).

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 91]. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £618 7/3d.

Probate was granted to her husband

Askew, TimothyRef A833
[1700-17??] Son of Martha and John Askew [1654-1???] of Batley.

In 1727, he married Mary Ingham at Northowram.

Children:

  1. James

Askew, Vincent CharlesRef A697
[1909-1941] Son of Emily & Samuel George Askew of Elland.

In [Q4] 1940, he married Gladys Gwendoline Aldridge in Portsmouth.

During World War II, he served as a Petty Officer with the Royal Navy aboard HM Submarine P33.

He was lost at sea [20th August 1941] (aged 32)  when P33 was sunk by enemy action in the Mediterranean Sea with the loss of all 32 crew.

He is remembered on the Chatham Naval Memorial, Kent [Grave Ref 41 2], and on Elland War Memorial

AskolfRef A729

Asling, EdgarRef A463
[1885-1915] Son of Edward Asling.

Born in Halifax.

He was a doffer [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [7th May 1915] (aged 19).

He was buried at Bailleul Communal Cemetery Extension, Nord, France [Grave Ref I C 152]

Asling, EdwardRef A467
[1869-1919] He was a mason's labourer [1892].

In 1892, he married Clara Riley [1871-1955] in Saddleworth.

Children:

  1. Edgar
  2. Willie [1899-1914]

The family lived at Bradford

Aspenden, WilliamRef A184
[1???-14??] Chaplain at Heptonstall [1437]

Aspenden, Sir WilliamRef A183
[1???-15??] Priest at Heptonstall [1532-1548]

Aspin, Canon AlbertRef A127
[1879-1961] Born in Blackburn.

He was the Mayor's Chaplain at Heywood, Lancashire for 2 years before becoming Vicar of Todmorden [1916].

He was a keen cricketer.

In 1907 he married Edith Mary [1878-19??] from Manchester.

Children:

  1. Kathleen Mary [b 1908]
  2. Noel Aspin [1913-1977] also became a vicar and died whilst he was vicar of All Saints, Blackpool

He left to become vicar of St Anne's Parish Church, St Anne's on Sea, Lancashire until his retirement in 1950.

He was buried in the churchyard there.

Son Noel Aspin also became a vicar and died whilst he was vicar of All Saints, Blackpool

Aspin, Alfred UrielRef A103
[1870-1941] Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted spinning overlooker [1895].

On 4th May 1895, he married Mary Eliza Bailey [1872-1924] in Halifax.


Mary Eliza was born in Greetland
 

Children:

  1. James Albert
  2. Joseph Whiteley
  3. Louis [1899-1985]
  4. Doris Wildman [1910-1938] who never married

The family lived at 6 Claremont Street, Sowerby Bridge [1915, 1919].

Sons James Albert & Joseph Whiteley died in World War I

Aspin, JamesRef A231
[1875-1943] Born in Darwen, Lancashire [7th November 1875].

He was landlord of the Hinchliffe Arms, Cragg Vale [1939].

In 1908, he married Lily Shaw [1881-1966] in Blackburn.


Lily was born in Darwen [24th March 1881]
 

James died at the Hinchliffe Arms [11th June 1943].

Lily died at the Vale Mill Houses [11th June 1966].

The couple were buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale

Aspin, James AlbertRef A95
[1895-1918] Son of Alfred Uriel Aspin.

Born in Elland.

He was employed by Alfred Siddall, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted [10th August 1914], and served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [17th March 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [30th March 1918].

He was buried at Buttes New British Cemetery, Polygon Wood, Belgium [Grave Ref II B 9].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge.

His brother Joseph Whiteley also died in the War

Aspin, Joseph WhiteleyRef A88
[1897-1917] Son of Alfred Uriel Aspin.

He was employed by Clay & Horsfall.

He lived with his parents at 6 Claremont Street, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was hit in the forehead as he was leading his section through a village, and died instantly [21st November 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [15th December 1917].

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 6 & 7], and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge.

His brother James Albert also died in the War

Aspinall...Ref A47
The entries for people & families with the surname Aspinall are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Aspinall & WomersleyRef A614
Stone merchants of Southowram [1773-1892]. Partners included John Womersley [1861].

See Aspinall family of Brighouse

Aspinall's: Job Aspinall & CompanyRef A886
Cotton and wool card makers at Horton Street, Halifax [1809]

Aspinall's: John Aspinall & SonsRef A612
Brewers. They were at Spring Head Brewery, Mount Tabor [1881] and the Crown Hotel, Halifax with their bottling stores at the back of the pub.

In June 1863, they opened new office and stores at Corn Market, Halifax.

In February 1884, the company was sued by H. Thompson, a manufacturer of Norton Towers, for injuries sustained by his daughter who was thrown from a phæton when one of Aspinall's carts ran into the vehicle. A Miss Hellewell who was also in the phæton subsequently died. The Jury returned a verdict for £400.

Partners included William Aspinall and James Aspinall. when bankruptcy receiving orders were published in February 1884.

See W. & J. Aspinall

Aspinall's: Levi Aspinall & SonRef A587
Nurserymen, seedsmen and florists at Elland [1905]

Aspinall's: W. & J. AspinallRef A702
Brewers and stone merchants at Warley [1874] and at Mount Tabor when they were declared bankrupt [1884].

They were stone merchants trading as John Aspinall & Sons at Bradley, near Skipton when they were declared bankrupt [1884], and also W. Butterworth, innkeeper, and bottled ale and porter dealer, trading as John Aspinall & Sons at Halifax when he was declared bankrupt [1884]

See John Aspinall

Aspinwall, Arthur D.Ref A783
[1892-1918] He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

In [Q4] 1913, he married Charlotte Derby in West Derby, Lancashire.

They lived in Liverpool.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion South Lancashire Regiment.

He died 12th April 1918 (aged 26).

He was buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref XXVI HH 7A].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Asps Farm, PellonRef A376
A farm called Asps or Esps is recorded at Pellon-lane in 1797.

The name may be derived from an aspenpoplar – tree growing there.

Owners and tenants have included

Asquith...Ref A40
The entries for people & families with the surname Asquith are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Asquith Bottom House, Sowerby BridgeRef A175
Syke Lane. Aka The Old House, Old School House. Timber-framed house which stood between Syke Lane and Jerry Lane, Sowerby Bridge.

It was probably the oldest house in Sowerby Bridge, and is mentioned in 1556, when it belonged to the Waterhouse family of Lower Hollins, Warley. A datestone inscribed 1171 was probably reused from an older building.

In 1765, it was bought by John Priestley of White Windows.

Around 1845, John Wilde lived here and ran a popular school at the house.

In the 1930s, the house was divided into six dwellings, but Sowerby Council did not consider it fit for habitation and wanted to make it subject to a clearance order. An inquiry was held in October 1936, and the council's clearance order was dismissed, although it was agreed that the building was no longer fit for habitation, and the occupants were moved out and Asquith Bottom was to be used for other purposes.

It was demolished in 1956.

This is discussed in the book Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Asquith ButlerRef A584
Machine tool manufacturers formed when Asquith's and Butler's merged in 1992.

In 1993, the company was bought out by Marbaix (Holdings)  Limited of Basingstoke.

The company operated from the Butler's Mile Thorn Works.

They have been at Brookfoot since 2003

Asquith's Mourning Warehouse, HalifaxRef A957
Ladies' outfitters and draper's business established by Joseph Asquith.

He had a shop in Old Market, Halifax [before 1890]. This was demolished when the block with the New Arcade, Halifax was built.

He had his Mourning Warehouse at Alexandra House, Halifax [1890, 1903]

Asquith's: William Asquith LimitedRef A585
Halifax engineers and machine tool manufacturers.

Founded in 1865 by William Asquith at premises in Raglan Street.

In 1871, the business moved to Highroad Well.

They were involved with many international engineering projects.

In 1905, they were at Bob Lane / Gibbet Street.

In 1914, they rebuilt the premises at Bob Lane.

During World War I, the company produced munitions.

On 5th January 1918, a YMCA canteen opened at their works.

In 1920, the company was registered as William Asquith (1920)  Limited. The name was changed on 28th February 1928.

The company also manufactured specialist drilling machines, and in 1924 they supplied 40 drilling machines used in the construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Associated companies included Drummond-Asquith (Sales) Limited and Smit-Asquith Diamond Cutting Factories Limited.

In the 1930s, British Rema Manufacturing Company Limited was set up as a part of the company.

In 1955, they took over Swift-Summerskill.

In 1992, they became Asquith Butler.

See Robert Willis Asquith, William Stancliffe Asquith, Horace Highley, Kitchen & Wade, Lewis Rhodes, Rotadop Limited and Warner Swasey Asquith

AsquithbothomRef A344
Aka Old House

Assembly RoomsRef A676

Assembly Rooms, BrighouseRef A107
Briggate.

Stands between what was formerly Queen Anne's Square and the Anchor Pub.

Designed by Edward C. Brooke. Opened on 17th July 1906.

It was built to house the local Freemasons' Brighouse No 1301 and Rastrick No 4885 Lodges and the Brighouse Borough Club, and their insignia can be seen on the entrances to the building.

The Anchor was rebuilt at the same time and incorporated into the building.

It is used by various small organisations, and by the local Brighouse, Clifton and Rastrick lodges of the Freemasons.

In 2005, the building was refurbished

Assembly Rooms, HalifaxRef A180
Woolshops. Aka the New Theatre at the Talbot. This popular venue opened in the 1750s behind the Talbot Inn.

On 1st March 1814, the property was damaged by fire.

From 1818, meetings and rehearsals of the Halifax Quarterly Choral Society were held here and at other local Inns.

The Catholics – with Rev Thomas F. Keily – worshipped here between 1830 and 1837. Services were conducted here, in association with St Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Halifax [1880s]. Father Michael Bradley was involved with a mission chapel here in the 1920s.

In 1848, the first Halifax Town Council was held here.

People who performed here included Napoleon Feliks Zaba.

The building was demolished in 1929 and Abattoir was built on the site.

See Michael Boai, Thomas Hartley and New Assembly Rooms, Harrison Road

Assembly Rooms, HalifaxRef A58
Harrison Lane. The New Rooms, Harrison Lane were listed with this name in 1845

Assenhirste, StansfieldRef A731
See Ashenhurst, Stansfield

Asserati, MrRef A518
[17??-18??] Of Hipperholme Grammar School


Question: In his History of Brighouse, Rastrick, & Hipperholme, Horsfall Turner included his name in a list of local worthies. Does anyone know anything about him?

 

Assheton, MaryRef A174
[17??-18??] Or Ashton.

She married John Armytage at Downham, Lancashire

Assize of ClothRef A473
An assize or assessment to ensure that cloth meets the statutary requirements.

See Ullnage

Astay, Matilda deRef A43
[13??-13??] A member of the de Astay family of Ashday Hall, Southowram. In 1372, she was fined 2d for being
a scold and a brawler

The Astey family of SouthowramRef A79
See Ashday Hall

Astin...Ref A163
The entries for people & families with the surname Astin are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Astin & BarkerRef A586
Millwrights and engineers at Salford, Todmorden.

They occupied the Victoria Iron Foundry [1861, 1905].

Partners included James Astin, John Astin, John Barker, and James Barker.

John Travis worked here

Astin BrothersRef A601
20th century fustian manufacturer of Hebden Bridge. They had 4 factories in the town, including Hangingroyd Royd Lane and Valley Road. They also had a factory at the Wolf Inn, Luddenden

Astin's: John Astin & SonsRef A922
Clothing manufacturers, tailors and outfitters at the Central Clothing Factory, Sowerby Bridge.

Partners included John Astin, and sons Arthur, Fred, and Harry.

On 18th December 1897, they were charged with having – on 23rd October 1897 – employed 2 women in their factory in unauthorised hours. The company was fined 10/- plus costs in each case.

The partnership was dissolved on 31st December 1901 by mutual consent. The business was then carried on by John Astin, Fred Astin, and Harry Astin at Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge

Astley, Charles James D.Ref A880
[18??-1???] Of Halifax.

In 1882, he married Louisa Amy, daughter of George Burgess Hadwen.

Children:

  1. George D. [b 1886]
  2. Dorothy B. [b 1890]

Astley, Rev GilbertRef A80
[15??-1???] Curate at Todmorden [1590]. With his Puritanical beliefs, in 1590, he was summoned before the Bishop of Chester and accused of failing to observe the church holy days.

He was also curate at Turton [1590].

See Richard Midgley

Astley, Rev RichardRef A509
[17??-18??] He served at Rochdale before becoming Minister at Northgate End Chapel [1812-1826].

On 11th February 1812, he married Anna Heywood at Gainsborough.


Anna was the daughter of Samuel Heywood
 

In 1826, he moved to Gloucester.

There was a memorial brass to him and his wife in Northgate End Chapel

Aston, Rev Oswald FieldingRef A52
[18??-19??] MA.

He was curate of St Chrysostom's, Peckham before becoming first Vicar of St Michael & All Angels' Church, Cornholme [1902, 1905], Vicar of St George's Church, Sowerby [1914, 1917], Vicar of Ripponden [1920-1923], and Vicar of Southowram [1923-1933].

On 14th April 1909, he married Mary Maunders from Waterlooville, Portsmouth.

He lived at Cosmo Villas, Cornholme.

In 1933, he was appointed Vicar of Newbottle, Northamptonshire

Astoria Ballroom, BrighouseRef A96
Briggate. The ballroom opened in 1945 It was on the first floor of the building, with G. E. Young's Universal Radio & Cycle Company, the Grand Clothing Hall and Thomas Joy on the ground floor. There was also a billiard hall on the first floor.

It closed in 1956. The licensing authorities revoked its licence because of late night disturbances by those at the hall.

In 19??, Gerald Tiplady bought the property.

It was demolished in 1970s to make way for a car park for what became Hillard's Supermarket

Astoria Ballroom, TodmordenRef A382
Dale Street. Was a part of the Todmorden Co-operative Society's Carlton Buildings which opened in 1889. The ballroom closed in 1961

Astra, HalifaxRef A583
In 1973, the former Picture House, Halifax opened as the two-screen Astra.

This closed in 1982

Astwood, BairstowRef A414
[1856-1922] Born in Bradshaw.

He was an oven & boiler letter (?) mason [1911]

On 8th January 1876, he married Ellen Goddard [1857-1911] at Halifax Parish Church.


Ellen was born in Hadfield, Derbyshire
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. child
  4. Arnold [b 1892] who was an apprentice to mechanic (tool maker) [1917]
  5. Bertha [b 1894] who was a worsted warper [1911]
  6. Morris

The family lived at 19 Ladyship Terrace, Old Lane, Halifax [1911]

Astwood, HaroldRef A210
[1891-1935] Son of Walter Astwood.

Born in Halifax.

He was who was a brass moulder's labourer [1911] / a labourer [1914].

During World War I, he enlisted [2nd September 1914] with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was discharged after serving for 56 days [27 October 1914]


not being likely to become an efficient soldier
 

He lived with his parents at 33 Portland Road, Halifax.

On 12th August 1916, he married Rose Ann James [1895-1969] at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Rose Ann was (possibly) born in Halifax [25th March 1895], and lived at 31 Portland Road, Halifax
 

Harold died Q3 1935 (aged 43).

In [Q4] 1939, Rose Ann married Arthur Howarth in Halifax

A Rose Ann Howarth died Q4 1969

Astwood, MorrisRef A38
[1899-1974] Son of Bairstow Astwood.

Born in Halifax.

He was a part-time worsted doffer [1911]

During World War I, he enlisted [21st October 1916] and mobilized [23rd February 1917] into the Lincolnshire Regiment.

He was discharged [1st December 1918].

He started work as a postman in Halifax [1919].

He survived the War, and is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Astwood, W.Ref A39
[1???-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the West Yorkshire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Astwood, WalterRef A196
[1867-1926] Born in Queensbury.

He was a boiler fitter [1901] / a cash till fitter [1916].

On 23rd August 1891, he married Emily Ann Knowles [1859-1915] at Christ Church, Pellon.


Emily was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Harold
  2. Arnold [b 1892]
  3. Ethel May [b 1892]
  4. Violet [b 1894] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  5. Clifford [1900-19th November 1907] who was buried with his parents

The family lived at

  • 6 Stanley Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 33 Portland Road, Range Bank, Halifax [1911]

Emily Ann died 26th May 1915 (aged 55).

Walter died 2nd June 1926 (aged 58).

Members of the family were buried at St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount [Grave Ref: XII 21]

Atack, EricRef A525
[1891-1917] Son of George Atack.

Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a member of St James's Parish Church, Hebden Bridge & Sunday School / a house painter's apprentice [1911] / a painter of Edgewood, Hebden Bridge [1915] / employed by Fred Sutcliffe of Bridge Lanes.

On 12th January 1915, he married May Selina Britton [1892-1964] at Hebden Bridge Parish Church.


May Selina was born in Shropshire, the daughter of Thomas Edward Britton, gas worker.

She was a housemaid at The Vicarage, Hebden Bridge [1915]

 

Children:

  1. Thomas Edward [1916-1994]

The family lived at 10 Oak Villas, Blackshaw, Hebden Bridge.

During World War I, he joined the Yorkshire Regiment, then he served as a Private Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He was killed in action [4th May 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th May 1917]. News of his death came to the family through his brother-in-law Private Britton of the Shropshire Regiment.

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10], on the Memorial at Hebden Bridge United District Secondary School, and on the Memorial at Saint James Church, Hebden Bridge

Atack, FrankRef A699
[1887-1916] Born in Keighley.

He worked for Firth's Carpets in Bailiff Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 3rd September 1916 (aged 29).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France, on Firth's War Memorial, on Bailiff Bridge War Memorial, and on Brighouse War Memorial

Atack, GeorgeRef A528
[1852-1937] Son of James Atack, farmer.

Born in Crofton, Yorkshire.

He was a fustian cutter of Hebden Bridge [1873] / a fustian cutter [1881, 1891] / a fustian manufacturer's clerk [1901] / a book keeper (fustian clothing manufacturer) [1911] / a secretary [1915].

On 1st January 1873, he married Mary Ellen Cheetham at Hebden Bridge.


Mary Ellen was the daughter of
James Cheetham
 

Children:

  1. James William [b 1876] who was a gas rent collector [1901], a land valuation officer [1911]
  2. Helen [b 1879]
  3. Harold [b 1881] who was a clothier's cutter fustian [1901]
  4. George Herbert
  5. John Bentley [b 1886] who was a solicitor's clerk [1901], a law clerk [1911]
  6. Edward [b 1888]
  7. Eric

The family lived at

  • Glen View, Hebden Bridge [1881, 1891]
  • Edgewood, Hebden Bridge [1901, 1911]

Atack, George HerbertRef A797
[1882-1958] Son of George Atack.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a clothier's warehouseman (fustian) [1901] / a clerk living in Hebden Bridge [1907].

On 6th August 1907, he married Ethel Annie Saltonstall at St Peter's Church, Sowerby.


Ethel Annie from Sowerby, was the daughter of John Saltonstall
 

George Albert died in Todmorden [Q4 1958]

Athenæum, TodmordenRef A526
Formed when the Todmorden Literary & Scientific Society was discontinue

Atherton, JohnRef A22
[1793-1845] He was Commissioner of Peace for the County Palatine of Lancaster / Commissioner of Peace for the West Riding of the County of York / Captain in the 6th the Royal First, Warwickshire Regiment of Foot.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Margaret Armitage who died 25th August 1844 (aged 7 months) 
  2. John Armitage

The family lived at Woodhouse, Rastrick.

John died 3rd October 1845 (aged 52).

He was interred in the family vault (at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick[?]) 

There is a memorial to him in St Matthew's Church, Rastrick

Atherton, John ArmitageRef A767
[1845-1906] Son of John Atherton.

On 17th August 1871, he married Emily Jessop Barber at St Anne's Church, Southowram

Atherton, Rev Percy FrancisRef A693
[1922-1???] MA.

He was at Seabury-Western Theological Seminary Illinois [1952], and served in American Churches [1952-1957] before becoming Assistant Chaplain and House Master at Rishworth School [1957-1961]. He left to become Senior Lecturer and Chaplain at Bretton Hall College [1962-1966].

He was Head Master at Macon International School at Arequipa, Peru [1975-1976]. He returned to England, and was Rector of Bow with Colebrook in the Diocese of Exeter [from 1978]

Atherton, WilliamRef A550
[18??-19??] Mill furnisher at Phoenix Works, Todmorden [1905]

Atkin, ArnoldRef A793
[1890-1918] He lived at 36 Whitegate Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing in the Battle of Lys, Nieppe.

He died as a POW, the following day [10th April 1918] (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

He is remembered at Stoney Royd Cemetery

Atkins, ArthurRef A155
[18??-19??]

He married Sarah Ann.

Children:

  1. John Thomas [1906-1908]
  2. Reginald Walter [1905-1908]

The family lived at 4 West Field, Southowram [1906].

Members of the family were buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery

Atkins, GeorgeRef A277
[1807-18??] Born in Campden, Gloucestershire.

He was a commercial traveller & book keeper [1861].

Around 1842, he married Alice [1817-18??].


Alice was born in Worsley, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Martha P. [b 1842] who was a milliner [1861]
  2. Elizabeth [b 1846] who was a dress maker [1861]
  3. John [b 1848]
  4. Alfred [b 1852]
  5. Alice [b 1856]

The family lived at 23 Milton Place, Halifax [1859, 1861].

Recorded in February 1859, when his pocket-book, containing £388, was returned to him by Joseph Stubbs, a carriage cleaner, after Atkins had fallen asleep on a train. The honest railway servant was rewarded by Atkins with


I am much obliged to you
 

Atkins, HarryRef A239
[1870-1946] Born in Halifax.

He was a yarn scourer [1911].

In [Q3] 1909, he married (1) Margaret Jane Westwood in Halifax.


Margaret Jane was born in Inverness [14th March 1859], (possibly) the daughter of
William Westwood
 

They had no children.

They lived at 105 Hyde Park Road, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was boarder Elizabeth Mowbray [b  1885] (factory hand).

Margaret Jane died 11th March 1913.

In [Q2] 1916, Harry married (2) Margaret Chadwick in Halifax.

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-E25]. Harry's burial place is not known

Atkins, WilliamRef A398
[1894-1917] Son of Elizabeth Jane & John Atkins.

He was a silk dresser at the Prince of Wales Mill, Brighouse.

He lived at Mill Lane, Brighouse.

In 1912, he emigrated to Canada.

During World War I, he enlisted [1916], and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Canadian Infantry (Manitoba Regt).

He was killed at Lens [15th August 1917] (aged 23).

He is (possibly) remembered on the Vimy Memorial, France, and on Brighouse War Memorial

Atkinson...Ref A26
The entries for people & families with the surname Atkinson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Atkinson's: John Atkinson & Sons LimitedRef A618
Woollen manufacturing business founded by John Atkinson around 1840.

They produced blankets, and textiles for clothing, and for uniforms of the British army.

The business was originally at Turvin Mill, Cragg Vale.

They later became one of the leading woollen manufacturers in Sowerby Bridge and produced blankets at Old House Mill, Watson Mill, Willow Hall Mills where they carried out carding and spinning [1920], West End Mills [1933], and Spring Bank Mills.

In 1890, partners were J. H. Atkinson and W. A. Sutcliffe.

In 1897, James Riley Atkinson and William Arthur Sutcliffe filed a patent for

improvements applicable to the rough drying machines employed after carbonisation in the process of cloth finishing

In 1959, the company was granted its own coat-of-arms.

In 1968, the company merged with Wormald & Walker and moved to Dewsbury.

See James Riley Atkinson, Joseph William Atkinson and William Hanson & Company Limited

Atkinson's: W. & J. AtkinsonRef A630
Hay and straw dealer and carting agents at Argyle Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included William Atkinson John Atkinson

Atkinson's: W. Atkinson & Sons LimitedRef A604
Were at St Peg Mills, Bradford Road, Brighouse

Atkinson's: W. H. Atkinson & CompanyRef A664
Wholesale and retail wine and spirit merchant at 3 Horton Street / Ward's End, Halifax [1905, 1936]

Atkinson's: Wm Atkinson & SonRef A954
Coopers. Recorded in 1936, when they were at 22A Gaol Lane and W. L. Atkinson was proprietor

Atlas Mill Caravan Park, BrighouseRef A733
The site of the former Empire Theatre, Brighouse is occupied by residential mobile homes

See Brook House, Brighouse

Atlas Mill rinkRef A392

Atlas Mill Waste DisposalRef A93
Opened at Atlas Mill Road, Brighouse in August 1926.

It is now probably the most inaccessible and user-hostile waste disposal and recycling sites in Britain

  • You cannot walk there – pedestrians bearing rubbish are turned away
  • It is at the end of a long cul-de-sac, and it is very difficult to drive there as the only access road – Atlas Mill Road – is narrow and single-file, and parking seems to be acceptable on the yellow lines
  • In attempts to discourage disposal of trade waste, a height barrier has been installed and tall cars must make special arrangements for access

Attey, RogerRef A459
[1???-16??] Curate at Rastrick [1630]

Attorneys, Lawyers & SolicitorsRef A1098

Atwell, Rev HughRef A358
[15??-16??] Clergyman of St Tewe, Cornwall. In 1605, he gave £1 13/4d for the poor of Halifax. The money was to be loaned to a poor man for a year

Audus, Appleton BenisonRef A77
[1850-1884] Son of Francis Audus.

Born in Pateley Bridge.

He was a corn miller [1872].

In 1872, he married Alice Barstow [1848-1920] in Halifax.


Alice was born in Greetland
 

Children:

  1. Francis [b 1873]
  2. Appleton Benison
  3. Christiana [b 1877]
  4. George [b 1879]
  5. Arthur [b 1883]

Appleton (snr) died in Halifax [15th August 1884].

He was buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel with his parents.

Alice died in Storthes Hall [26th June 1920].

Alice & son Appleton were buried at St Stephen's Church, Copley [98]

Audus, Appleton BenisonRef A372
[1874-1917] Son of Appleton Benison Audus.

Born in Heywood, Lancashire [7th October 1874].

During World War I, he served as a Pioneer with the Royal Engineers.

He was discharged from the Royal Engineers [10th January 1917].

He died of gas & shell shock at Copley [3rd October 1917] (aged 43).

He was buried at St Stephen's Church, Copley with a military headstone.

He is remembered on Copley War Memorial, on the Copley Roll of Honour, and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Audus, FrancisRef A102
[1810-1893]

He married Christiana [1813-1878].

Children:

  1. Appleton Benison

Members of the family were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Aufhole, SoylandRef A808
Aka Half Hole, Halfhole.

Owners and tenants have included

August's LimitedRef A582
Metal founders established by Gustav August at Sowerby Bridge in 191?. Recorded in 1913 & 1920, when they advertised s August's Muffle Furnaces Limited.

The business moved to Thorn Tree Works, Halifax. They had a heat treatment, annealing nd hardening business at New Bank, Halifax.

In 1926, the business moved to High Level Works, Exmoor Street, Halifax.

In 1932, the name was changed to August's Limited.

They produced

August's Muffle Furnaces
Simpson Sand Mixer
The firm closed in 19??

August, R. GustavRef A116
[18??-19??] Came to Britain some years before World War I. Established the engineering business August's Limited

Aulay House, LuddendenfootRef A363
Owners and tenants have included

Auld Lang SyneRef A692
See Leeming & Leeming

Ault, Joseph WilliamRef A128
[1874-1915] Born in Litchurch, Derbyshire [11th May 1874].

He was a collier.

On 10th December 1901, he married Caroline (CarrieMay [1853-1928] in Chesterfield.


Carrie was born in Otley
 

Children:

  1. daughter who married and lived at Norland

They lived at

  • 4 St Anne's Square, Sowerby Bridge
  • Berry Moor Bottom, Norland [1914]
He enlisted [1895], and served with the 45th Battalion Notts & Derby (Sherwood Foresters) Regiment, throughout the
South African War, and on the Punjab frontier. He received several medals for his service

Around 1902, he returned to England, and worked in the mines at Ilkeston, Nottingham.

During World War I, he enlisted with his old regiment on the outbreak of War, and was transferred, serving as a Private with the Chatham Battalion RN Div. Royal Marine Light Infantry.

He died of wounds in the Dardanelles [2nd June 1915] (aged 49).

He was buried at Lancashire Landing Cemetery, Turkey [Grave Ref B 28]

He is remembered on Awsworth War Memorial at St Peter's Church, Nottinghamshire.

Carrie died in Sowerby Bridge [1928]

Aulte, WilliamRef A508
[1???-16??] Assistant to Henry Ramsden [1631]

Aumbeler, JohnRef A137
[13??-14??] Owned Dove House, Shibden around 1408

Aumbler, JohnRef A995
[14??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1470-1]

Austin, FredRef A478
[1896-1918] Son of Henry Austin.

Born in Bolton / Manchester.

He was a member of the St Mark's Church, Siddal & Church Lads' Brigade / educated at Siddal School / a worsted doffer [1911] / employed by Bower Brothers.

He lived at 7 Shay Syke, Halifax.

He was engaged to Miss Scott of 31 Cleveland Avenue, Siddal.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [October 1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded [14th April 1917] and sent back to England. He returned to France [7th July 1917].

He died of wounds at a Canadian Clearing Station [13th March 1918] (aged 21).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [9th April 1918].

He was buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref XXVII EE 12].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Roll of Honour at Saint Mark's Church, Siddal, on the Roll of Honour for St Mark's Church Lads Brigade, and on the Roll of Honour at Siddal Council Board School. Two of his brothers were serving in France

Austin, HenryRef A684
[1850-1921] Born in Cowden, Kent.

He was a bricklayer [1901, 1911].

In 1881, he married Sarah Wells [1857-1938] in West Derby.


Sarah was born in Terrington, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Harry [b 1882] who was a bricklayers labourer [1901, 1911]
  2. Sarah [b 1884]
  3. George [b 1886]
  4. Robert / John [b 1895] who was a roving filler (worsted) [1911]
  5. Fred a worsted doffer [1911]
  6. Annie [b 1899]

The family lived at

  • 6 New Lane, Southowram [1901]
  • 4 Daisy Bank, Whitegate, Siddal / New Lane, Southowram [1911]
  • 5 Shaw Hill Lane, Halifax

Living with them [in 1911] was granddaughter Minnie Day [b  1906]

Austin, J.Ref A448
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1922, when he was a hosier at 54 King Cross Road, Halifax

Austin, Rev JohnRef A182
[18??-1???] Minister of Brunswick United Methodist Free Chapel, Halifax. He preached his first sermon on 18th August 1889

Austin, Ralph W. J.Ref A659
[19??-] Educated at Heath Grammar School. He became an Arabic scholar at Durham University and wrote and translated many books on Arabic and Islamic topics

Austin, WillRef A243
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

AustraliaRef A643

Authors' CircleRef A136

Authors, Writers & PoetsRef A706

Autobiographies & DiariesRef A788

Automatic Cash DisplayerRef A90
Device invented by George H. Gledhill to display coins of the last 3 transactions under a glass cover, enabling any disputes concerning cash and coins to be settled

Automatic Cash TillRef A89
Cash register invented in 1886 by George H. Gledhill to record shop transactions on a continuous paper roll

Automatic Identification & Data CaptureRef A156
See Elsie Whiteley Innovation Centre

Automatic Standard Screw Company LimitedRef A624
Berwick Street, Halifax.

Manufacturers of screws, nuts, washers and bolts founded in 1896. It was a subsidiary of the American Hartford Machine Tool Screw Company.

In 1897, the premises were extended when the Barracks Tavern in Charles Street was demolished.

They were at 17 Charles Street, Halifax [1905, 1937].

The business was bought by Simon Crawshaw. His son, Leonard, was manager of the factory at Square Road, Halifax.

H. Ling Roth was company secretary.

The business closed for a few weeks in 1983 before being restarted under new management.

It finally closed in 1993

Automobiles (Geographical) LimitedRef A803
Manufacturers of bakelite model cars – with the brand name Ranlite.

Recorded in the 1930s, when they were at Thorn Tree Street, Halifax, and Harry Frow Coggon was Managing Director.

The firm signed a deal with the Austin motor company to produce model cars bearing the Austin name


Question: Does anyone know anything about the Company or its business?

 

Automobilia Transport MuseumRef A33
A museum for vintage cars, cycles and motor-bikes which was established in the former canteen of Acre Mill, Old Town, Hebden Bridge. The museum closed in 1996

Auty, JamesRef A468
[18??-18??] A coal miner in Clifton.

He was one of the original trustees of the United Methodist Free Church, Clifton

Auty, JamesRef A901
[1843-1887] Of Clifton. He was killed by a roof fall at a coal mine in Clifton in August 1887

Auty, JonathanRef A900
[1833-1???] He was one of those injured in a fire-damp explosion at the Black Flat Pit, Clifton on 14th January 1873

Auty, JoshuaRef A466
[1796-1873] Known as Old Joss. Son of Sarah & Edward Auty.

Born in Woodkirk, Yorkshire.

He moved to Clifton in 1830.

He was a carpenter [1841] / a wheelwright and carpenter [1861] / Clerk in the office of Benjamin Walker's colliery / a teacher at Highmoor Lane School, Clifton and Clifton Methodist Sunday School / a member of Clifton Methodist Church

On 13th July 1823, he married Nancy Speight in Woodkirk.

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [b 1825]
  2. Sarah [b 1830]
  3. Benjamin [b 1831]
  4. Jane [b 1836]
  5. Elizabeth [b 1838]
  6. Eliza Ann [b 1841]
  7. Nancy [b 1844]
  8. Harriet [b 1846] who married John Haigh Beever
  9. James [b 1848] who became a tailor

The family lived at

  • Clifton [1841]
  • Green Clifton [1861]

Auty, JoshuaRef A906
[18??-1???] In [Q3] 1876, he married Lucy, daughter of William Aaron in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William Aaron [b 1877]
  2. Nathalie [b 1879]
  3. Martha Evelyn [b 1880] who married Ernest Milton Parrington

In 1881, Lucy and the children were living with her parents at Bramley Lane, Hipperholme.

He was dead by 1891

Avena Carpets LimitedRef A626
Formed by 7 ex-workers when the Wilton department of Crossley's Carpets closed in 1976. Directors included Rayner Tighe, Francis Tighe, and Nick Crossley, a member of the Crossley family.

The company was originally at Denholme.

In 1983, they moved to Bankfield Mills, Haley Hill, Halifax.

The company has made carpets for Elton John and Oprah Winfrey, for the Throne Room at Windsor Castle, and for the Guest Room at the White House in Washington.

In March 2009, it was announced that the company was to close. It was the last carpet factory in Halifax, and one of only 3 factories in Britain producing narrow-loom woven Wilton carpets.

In April 2009, Nick Crossley bought the business from the creditors and set up John Crossley Carpets Limited at the Avena site

Averiss, Arthur JamesRef A681
[1884-19??] Son of William Averiss, teamer.

Born in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire.

He was a teamer of Bank House Lane, Salterhebble [1905] / a carter of coke for a contractor [1911].

In [Q3] 1905, he married Mary Alice at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Alice, of Pineberry Hill Court, Southowram, was born in Coal Street, Caddy Field, the daughter of
Arthur Hirst
 

Children:

  1. Doris [b 1911]

The family lived at 11 Exley Bank, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911], Mary Alice's sister Amy Hirst [b 1900]

Avery, Rev A. J.Ref A341
[19??-19??] Minister of Pellon Baptist Church [1966]

Avery, MargaretRef A8
[1932-2015] Daughter of William Bayliss Avery.

She played Ginger, the juvenile lead in the film A boy, a girl, and a bike which was filmed in the Upper Calder Valley and elsewhere in 1948.

She was working in a Halifax bank when she was discovered.

In 1955, she married actor Jimmy Hanley [1918-1970] and took the stage name Maggie Hanley.


Hanley divorced his first wife – actress Dinah Sheridan – in 1953
 

Children:

  1. Jane
  2. Sarah
  3. Katy

Maggie died 23rd February 2015

Avery's: W. & T. Avery LimitedRef A670
Weigh-bridge and scale makers, and shop front builders at 12 Rawson Street, Halifax [1905] and 17-19 King Cross Street [1936, 1937]

Avery, William BaylissRef A187
[1901-19??] Born in Knaresborough.

He was a dental mechanic [1936].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Margaret

The family lived at 34 Savile Drive, Halifax [1932, 1936]

Aves, Charles ThomasRef A2420
[1869-1941] Son of James Joseph Aves.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated in Berlin / professor at the Manchester School of Music / a concert pianist and gave performance in Canada and Ireland / appointed organist and choirmaster of St Nicholas, Cork [1905] / appointed organist of St John the Evangelist, Warley [1907].

He died in Devon

Aves, HarryRef A794
[1881-1919]

He married Ellen.

They lived at 71 Burnley Road, King Cross, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 913th Mechanical Transport Company Royal Army Service Corps.

He died in Bermondsey Military Hospital [2nd May 1919] (aged 38).

He was buried at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel [Grave Ref: D 199] (7th May 1919) 

Aves, James JosephRef A1064
[1840-1929] Son of Fanny & James Aves of London.

Born in Albany, Westminster, London.

He was National schoolmaster at Northowram [1871] / National schoolmaster at Skircoat [1881] / headmaster at St Luke's School, Norland [1895] / elementary schoolmaster [1901] / a retired schoolmaster on government pension [1911].

In 1867, he married Mary Greenhalgh [1845-1910] in Bolton.


Mary was born in Bury, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. James Albert [b 1867]
  2. Charles Thomas
  3. Frances Mary [b 1872]
  4. Alice Jane [b 1876] who was a pupil-teacher [1891]
  5. Fanny Wilgress? [b 1879]
  6. Arthur Agar [b 1882] who was a cabinet maker's apprentice [1901]
  7. Harriet Elsie [b 1884] who was a milliner's apprentice [1901]
  8. John Wilfred [b 1887] who was an errand boy for shop [1901]

Wife Mary and daughter Alice also taught at the school at Norland. Mary was an elementary school mistress [1901]

The family lived at

  • 9 Beverley Terrace, Northowram [1871]
  • 37 & 38 Calder Terrace, Skircoat [1881]
  • Calder Terrace, Copley, Skircoat [1891]
  • 8 Harper Royd Lane, Norland, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • Ashby-De-Lane-Launde, Digby, Lincoln [1911]

Living with them [in 1871] were boarders William Smith [aged 21] (National schoolmaster) and Joseph Ingham [aged 10?] (National schoolmaster).

He left the School in 1905, and on Saturday, 25th November 1905, there was a surprise presentation at which he was given an ornamental lamp, a smoking cabinet, and a gold-mounted ebony walking stick.

Mary died in Sleaford [1910].

Living with him [in 1911] were his widowed sister Ellen Eliza Wilfress Alder [aged 60] (house keeper) and his daughter Alice Jane Aves (elementary school teacher) 

James Joseph died at Leyburn

Avinou, James GreigRef A279
[1920-1994] Landlord of the Druids' Arms, Greetland [1957]

Avison, CharlesRef A831
[1833-1908] Son of Matthias Avison.

He was a coal miner at Clifton [1851].

He married Eve [1835-1???].


Eve was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. Polly [b 1867] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  2. George [b 1869] who was a coal hurrier [1881]
  3. Lily [b 1873]
  4. Emily [b 1875]

The family lived at Common Top, Clifton [1881].

Living with them [in 1881] was his father Matthias

Avison, JamesRef A289
[1799-1866] He was a weaver.

He married Lydia [1806-1858].

Lydia died 9th June 1858 (aged 52).

James died 1st December 1866 (aged 67).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3773]

Avison, JeremiahRef A6610
[1???-1850] Of Brighouse.

He committed suicide by hanging himself at his own house.

The state of his mind at the time was not clearly shown at the Inquest

Avison, JohnRef A87
[1791-1843] He was landlord of the Mitre, Halifax [1829, 1834] / inn keeper in Crown Street, Halifax – (possibly) the White Swan [1841].

On 3rd February 1814, he married Sarah Pearson [1795-1848] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Wignall
  2. Mary [1817-1877]
  3. Elizabeth [1819-1854]
  4. Martha [1821-1899]

The children were all born in Brighouse and baptised at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.


Question: An S. Avison is recorded at the White Swan in 1845. Could this be Sarah?

 

Sarah died at the White Swan in 1848.

Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £1,500.

Son Wignall was the executor.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse: John [24th September 1843]; Sarah [7th July 1848]; Elizabeth [6th April 1854]; Wignall [7th June 1865]

Avison, JohnRef A290
[1795-1872]

John died 5th November 1872 (aged 77) 

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3773] with his brother James Avison

Avison, JohnRef A889
[1845-1908] Born in Clifton.

He was a coal miner [1871] / a stone worker [1881] / a stone miner [1891, 1901].

In 1864, he married (1) Harriet Womersley [1842-1871] from Clifton, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ann Elizabeth [b 1864]
  2. Sarah [b 1866]
  3. William [b 1870]

In 1872, he married (2) Mary Ann Tillotson [1847-1902] from Shipley, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. George [b 1873]
  2. Joseph [b 1874] who was a currier [1891]
  3. Matthias [b 1876] who was a coal miner [1891]
  4. Edmond [b 1880]
  5. Mary [b 1881]
  6. Ann [b 1884]
  7. Rowland [b 1889]
  8. Horatio [b 1889]
  9. Thomas [b 1893]

The family lived at

  • Clifton Common, Hartshead-cum-Clifton [1871]
  • Moorside, Cleckheaton [1881, 1891]
  • Dewsbury Road, Hartshead Moor Top [1901]

Avison, JosephRef A238
[1789-18??] He was a retired butcher [1851].

He lived in Brighouse [1851]

Avison, MatthiasRef A894
[1777-1???] Born in Kirby Misperton

Avison, MatthiasRef A848
[1811-1887] Son of Samuel Avison.

Born in Thornhill.

He was a farm labourer at Clifton / an ag.lab [1841] / a farm labourer [1851] / an ag.lab [1861, 1871] / a general labourer [1881].

In 1833, he married Mary Parker [1813-1878] in Dewsbury.


Mary was born in Heckmondwike
 

Children:

  1. Charles
  2. Samuel
  3. William [b 1837] who was a coal miner [1851]
  4. Hannah / Henrietta [b 1838] who was a cotton frame tender [1861], a silk mill hand [1871]
  5. Ann [b 1841] who was a cotton frame tender [1861]
  6. John [b 1845] who was a coal miner [1861]
  7. (possibly) Jeremiah [b 1845]
  8. Edward [b 1847] who was a hurrier in a coal pit [1861]
  9. Harriet [b 1860]

The children were born in Brighouse and Hartshead.

The family lived at

  • Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse [1841]
  • Clifton [1851]
  • Thornhills, Clifton [1861]
  • Clifton [1871]

Living with them [in 1841] was Ann Avison [aged 10] who was listed as daughter.

Living with them [in 1861] , 1871 was granddaughter Harriette [b 1860] who was a silk mill hand [1871]

In 1881, he was living at Common Top, Cleckheaton with his son Charles

Avison, SamuelRef A830
[17??-18??] Farmer at Thornhills, Clifton.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Oratia [b c1811]
  2. Matthias

Avison, SamuelRef A170
[1799-18??] Born in Brighouse.

He was a butcher [1851].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1842]
  2. James [b 1845]
  3. William [b 1847]

The family lived at Bridge Street, Brighouse [1851].

He was a widower by 1851.

See Thomas Avison

Avison, SamuelRef A4300
[1804-1863] Of Brighouse.

In [Q1] 1842, he married Mary Halliwell [1820-1848] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Sarah [1842-1872]
  2. James [1844-1861]
  3. William [1847-1877]

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.

Son William is remembered on the family grave at Brighouse Cemetery

Avison, SamuelRef A4431
[1836-1???] Son of Matthias Avison.

Born in Clifton.

He was a coal miner [1851] / a retired stone miner [1891]

He married Unknown.

He was a widower by 1861.

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1864] who married [1888] Charles Ardron
  2. Clara [b 1866] who was a laundress [1891]
  3. Thomas [b 1870] who was a painter [1891]
  4. Sarah [b 1872]
  5. Harriet [b 1875] who was a dress maker [1891]
  6. Edith [b 1878] who was a silk spinner [1891]

The family lived at Laverock Lane, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1891]

Avison, ThomasRef A138
[1806-18??] Born in Clifton.

He was a butcher [1851].

On 5th September 1842, he married Hannah Blackburn at St Mark's Church, Woodhouse, Leeds.


Hannah was born in Leeds, the daughter of
William Blackburn
 

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1847] who married Rebecca
  2. Isabella [b 1850]

The family lived at

  • Bridge Street, Brighouse [1851]
  • 20 Police Street, Brighouse [1871]
  • 85 Commercial Street, Brighouse [1881]

Living with them [in 1881] were their son Thomas and family.

Hannah died at her son's home in Lindley [6th August 1892] (aged 79).

She & John (who had predeceased her) were buried at St John the Evangelist, Clifton

See Samuel Avison

Avison, WignallRef A115
[1815-1865] Son of John Avison.

Born in Brighouse.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.

He was innkeeper at the White Swan Inn & Posting House, Halifax (employing 16 men) [1850, 1851].

Living with him [in 1851] were his sisters Martha & Elizabeth .

On 4th March 1860, he married Sarah Anne Coates [1835-1892] at St Andrew's Church, Liverpool

He went on to live & work in Liverpool, and the Swan Hotel, Birmingham.

Wignall died in Liverpool [4th June 1865].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £14,000.

Administration was granted to his widow Sarah Anne.

He was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse [7th June 1865]

Avison, WilliamRef A188
[1794-18??] Born in Brighouse.

He was a butcher & farmer [1851].

Around 1819, he married Charlotte [1792-18??].


Charlotte was born in Huddersfield
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [b 1819]
  2. William [b 1821] who was a butcher [1851]
  3. Emily [b 1829]
  4. Samuel [b 1831] who was a butcher [1851]
  5. Ann [b 1836]

The family lived at Brighouse [1851]

Avison, WilliamRef A3770
[1794-1854] Of Brighouse.

He married Charlotte [1791-1855].

Children:

  1. Henry [1827-1848]
  2. Sarah [1833-1837]
  3. Ann [1834-1877]

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Daughter Ann was buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Awmbler, WilliamRef A474
[15??-15??] He was an early member of the Ambler Family of Queensbury.

Around 1546, he lived at Ambler House in the area known later as Ambler Thorn

Axe, JohannaRef A920
[1893-1969] Born Johanna Adelhaid Meta Christiane Göpfert in Gotha/Siebleben, Germany. In 1896, when her mother, Bertha Göpfert, married engineer Johann Emil Dietz, Johanna became Johanna Dietz.

She was a servant with Sir Enoch Hill at Willow Hall. She stayed with the family until Lady Bertha Hill died in 1951.

She lived at The Grove, Halifax [1960-1969]

Axon, William Edward ArmytageRef A1023
[1846-1913] MA.

Illegitimate son of Edward Armytage and 15½-year-old servant Lydia Whitehead. William Edward was born in Manchester [January 1846].

He was fostered out and neglected, then rescued and adopted by the Axon family in Manchester.

He adopted the surname of Axon.

He kept in touch with his birth mother and spent holidays with her on the family farm.

He was a sickly child and was educated at home by his adoptive sisters.

He became a librarian at the Manchester Free Library, becoming sub-librarian in 1867.

In the 1870s, he joined the staff of the Manchester Guardian. He stayed there until he retired in 1905.

He wrote several works – articles, poems and stories – on local history, language and dialect.

In 1866, he married (1) Jane Woods [18??-1889] in Manchester.

Children:

  1. Sophie
  2. Katherine
  3. Ernest who became a librarian and antiquary

In 1892, he married (2) Elizabeth LÜFt [18??-1910] in Chorlton.

Children:

  1. Dorothy Setta [b 1894]

On 27th October 1913, he was awarded an honorary MA by Manchester University. On account of his failing health, the officials travelled to his home for the ceremony.

He died 2 months later

Aydon & ElwellRef A625
18th century ironmaster, iron founders and bridge builders at Shelf foundry. Partners were Samuel Aydon and William Elwell.

In September 1821, the partnership was dissolved by mutual consent. Aydon carried on the business of making cast iron goods on his own account. Elwell carried on the business of making pig iron on his own account.

See Upper Brackenbeds, Shelf

Aydon, SamuelRef A1039
[17??-18??] Partner in Aydon & Elwell at Shelf foundry.

In September 1821, the partnership was dissolved by mutual consent. Aydon carried on the business of making cast iron goods on his own account.

Aydon Way, Shelf is named for him

Aykroyd, Major Sir Alfred HammondRef A504
[1894-1965] Bart.

Eldest son of Sir William Henry Aykroyd.

Born in Manningham, Bradford.

On his father's death, he succeeded to the baronetcy as 2nd Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe.

On 12th November 1919, he married Sylvia Walker.


Sylvia was the daughter of Frank Walker
 

Children:

  1. William Miles

Aykroyd, Colonel George H.Ref A346
[1???-19??] He lived at Toothill Hall, Rastrick and Smith House, Brighouse. He filled in the ha-ha at Toothill Hall to build a landing strip.

He married Nina Marguerite Hulse.

Children:

  1. son [b 1934]

Aykroyd, George HammondRef A776
[1900-1972] BA, TD.

Son of Sir William Henry Aykroyd.

Born in Lightcliffe.

He was educated at Rugby School [1911] and Trinity College Cambridge.

He served in the Territorial Army, Royal Artillery, attaining the rank of Colonel and was awarded the Territorial Decoration.

In 1924, he married his first cousin Margaret Roberts Aykroyd [1903-1981] at Knaresborough.


Margaret Roberts, born in Wharfedale, was the daughter of Sir Frederick Alfred Aykroyd, First Baronet Aykroyd of Birstwith Hall
 

Children:

  1. Michael David

He lived at Toothill Hall, Rastrick [1924]

Aykroyd, George JackRef A5000
[1977-] Son of Sir Henry Robert George Aykroyd.

Heir apparent to succeed his father as 6th Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe.

He married Jodie Askew.

Children:

  1. Fynn [b 1999]
  2. Jasper [b 2004]

Aykroyd, Harold HammondRef A777
[1896-1974] MC.

Son of William Henry Aykroyd.

He was educated at Rugby School [1911] / High Sheriff of Yorkshire [1957].

He succeeded his brother, who then retired, as Chairman of T. F. Firth & Sons Limited [1962]

He was known as Colonel Harold to his employees, and was Chairman in 1968, when the Aykroyd family lost control of the business following a hostile bid from the Guthrie Corporation, which forced them to look for a more friendly takeover partner, Readicut International.

During World War I, he served with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

In 1916, Second-Lieutenant Aykroyd was awarded the Military Cross.

On 14th December 1926, he married (1) Nina Margaret Hulse.

Children:

  1. Susan [b 1931]
  2. Sally Mary [b 1934]

In 1938, he and Nina Margaret divorced.

On 29th December 1941, he married (2) Kathleen Ellen Tyrrell-Gray.

Children:

  1. Harriet Louisa [b 1951]

Aykroyd, Sir Henry Robert GeorgeRef A1068
[1954-] Son of Sir Michael David Aykroyd.

On his father's death [21st March 2010], he succeeded to the baronetcy as 5th Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe.

In 1954, he married Lucy Merlin Brown.


Lucy Merlin was the daughter of Colonel Jack Houghton Brown
 

Children:

  1. George Jack

Aykroyd, Mary HammondRef A778
[1902-1???] OBE.

Daughter of Sir William Henry Aykroyd.

In 1945, she was awarded the OBE, having been the Regional Administration for Leeds Women's Voluntary Services during World War II

Aykroyd, Sir Michael DavidRef A752
[1928-2010] Bart.

Eldest son of George Hammond Aykroyd

On the death of his cousin Sir William Miles Aykroyd, he succeeded to the baronetcy as 4th Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe.

In 1952, he married Oenone Gillian Diana Cowling.


Oenone Gillian Diana was the daughter of Donald George Cowling MBE of Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Henry Robert George
  2. daughter
  3. daughter

He died 21st March 2010

Aykroyd, RichardRef A234
[14??-15??] Around 1486, he took the lease on The Bache, Warley from John Mawde and Richard Waterhouse

Aykroyd, Sir William HenryRef A10
[1865-1947] JP, Bart, OStJ.

Son of Alfred Aykroyd [1841-1???], a cotton dyer and bleacher.

Born in Manningham, Bradford [8th May 1865].

The family lived at Oakwood Villas, Toller Lane, Bradford

He was a woollen and carpet manufacturer / Managing Director of the Bradford Dyers' Association [1901] / chairman of Hammonds Bradford Brewery / a subscriber to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire [1913].

In 1890, he married Emma Louisa Hammond.

Children:

  1. Alfred
  2. Harold
  3. George
  4. Mary

In 1880, after the death of Jonas Foster, he leased Cliffe Hill Mansion, Lightcliffe from Foster's widow.

The family lived at Cliffe Hill, Lightcliffe [1901].

In 1909, a car owned (and driven?) by Aykroyd was involved in an accident at Filey, in which one boy – Harry Saville [aged 11] – was killed, and his brother – Arthur Conyers Saville [aged 5] – was injured.

He was created the 1st Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe [Order of St John] in the 1920 Birthday Honours List.

He entered his uncle's business T. F. Firth & Company. He took over from Sir Algernon Firth in 1921 and was director of T. F. Firth & Company.

In 1921, Sir William and Lady Aykroyd gave Bailiff Bridge War Memorial, and the land on which it stands, to the community.

He died 3rd April 1947.

See Bailiff Bridge Club, Mrs Kathleen Blakeborough, Lightcliffe Cricket Club and John Wright

Aykroyd, Sir William MilesRef A751
[1923-2007] MC, Bart.

Son of Sir Alfred Hammond Aykroyd.

Born [24 August 1923].

He was educated at Charterhouse.

During World War II, he was a Lieutenant in the 5th Royal Inniskillin Dragoon Guards. In 1944, he was awarded the Military Medal (MC). He was a Director of Hardy Amies Limited [1950-1969]. He was not involved with the Firth's Carpets business.

He lived at Buckland Newton Place, Dorchester [2003].

On his father's death [1965], he succeeded to the baronetcy as 3rd Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe.

On his death [18 July 2007], his cousin Michael David succeeded to the baronetcy as 4rd Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe

Aykroyde, WilliamRef A244
[1???-1???] Of Akroyd, Wadsworth

He married Marianne, daughter of Richard Waterhouse

Ayliffe, A.Ref A203
[18??-18??] Manchester architect who worked with Henry John Paull as Paull & Ayliffe

Aylmer, AndrewRef A929
[1???-18??] Methodist preacher at Halifax [1833]

Ayre, John William CarrRef A500
[1853-1902] BA.

Born in Colne, Lancashire [12th June 1853].

He was educated at Caius College Cambridge / a solicitor [1895].

On 20th October 1897, he married Robina Hester Ingham at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.


Robina was the daughter
Richard Ingham
 

He inherited Brigg Royd, Soyland from Richard Ridehalgh [1895].

John William died at Cheadle, Cheshire [29th June 1902].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £104,803 10/1d. Probate was granted to George Carr (gentleman) and George Herbert Bates (solicitor).

Robina lived at Brigg Royd until her death [27th February 1951].

The couple were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

Ayres, Alfred ErnestRef A391
[1896-1916] Adopted son of Mrs Walter Percy Sharp of Hospital Lodge, Stoney Royd, Halifax.

Born in Buckinghamshire.

He was a member of Halifax Parish Church & St Michael & All Angels' Church, Southowram Bank.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at Le Transloy, Somme [12th October 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Michael & All Angels' Church, Southowram Bank, on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial, and on the family grave at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-G16]

The Ayrton family of OvendenRef A237

Ayrton & CornwellRef A714
Brighouse law firm.

Partners included John Ayrton and Charles Cornwell.

Originally, they were at Springfield House.

In the 1970s, they moved to Bradford Road, Brighouse.

The business closed in October 2008.

The building was said to be haunted by a fragrant woman known as Charlotte, and by the ghost of Ernest Green

Ayrton, DavidRef A480
[1786-1846] He was a farmer [1841].

In 1835, he was on the List of Electors for the Ovenden Township of the Halifax Polling District in the election for the MP for the West Riding.

On 23rd February 1813, he married Hannah Burley / Burleigh [1791-1847] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Ruth [1814-1883] who married James Garforth
  2. Martha [1816-1887] who married (1) Henry Hirst, (2) Michael Wainhouse
  3. Matthew
  4. Ann [b 1821]
  5. John
  6. Elizabeth [1826-1900] who married Samuel Wright
  7. Judith [1829-1868]
  8. Jonathan

The family lived at Holdsworth [1841].

David died 22nd March 1846.

Hannah died 22nd July 1847.

The couple were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: Hs01

Ayrton, EdwinRef A153
[1875-1948] Son of John Ayrton.

He was a solicitor in Sheffield [1898].

In 24th December 1898, he married (1) Agnes Ann Hirst [1876-1928] at Halifax Parish Church.


Agnes Ann was the daughter of John Hirst
 

Children:

  1. John Brook [1899-1901] who died aged 1 year & 7 months

The couple died in Sheffield.

Son John Brook was buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Ayrton, JohnRef A8110
[1824-1876] Son of David Ayrton.

He was a wool comber [1851] / a farmer [1853] / innkeeper at the White Swan, Holmfield [1853, 1864, 1871].

On 18th July 1847, he married Sarah Ann Helliwell [1831-1896] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. David [1847-1908]
  2. Jonathan [1849-1891]
  3. Hannah [1852-1860]
  4. Thomas [1854-1891]
  5. Judith Ann [1856-1860]
  6. Elizabeth [1859-1875]
  7. Sarah Hannah [1861-1893] who married her cousin Ayrton Wadsworth
  8. Ann [1862-1864]
  9. Martha [1865-1939]
  10. Ruth Ann [1872-1948]

John died at the White Swan [22nd October 1876] (aged 52).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £450. Probate was granted to his widow.

After his death, Sarah Ann took over at the White Swan [1876, 1881].

Her nephew Ayrton Wadsworth took over at the White Swan [1887, 1894, 1896].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: Hs04

Ayrton, JohnRef A246
[1841-1920] Born in Bradford.

He was a solicitor [1911].

On 2nd June 1860, he married (1) Ann Brook [1837-1881] at St Peter's Bradford. Children:

  1. Sarah Hannah [1860-1937] who never married
  2. Alfred [1863-1939] who was a wool stapler's apprentice [1881], a retired wool merchant [1937]
  3. John
  4. Ellen [1873-1935]
  5. Edwin
  6. Bertha Ann [1878-1939] who never married

On 5th September 1900, he married (2) Sarah Thorp [1836-1923] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah came from Weston-Super-Mare.

She was a widow and had a daughter Mary Elizabeth Thorp [b  1873].

Mary Elizabeth was living with the family [former pupil-teacher 1881], [assistant teacher 1911]

 

They had no children.

The family lived at

John died 3rd May 1920.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £17,729 17/9d.

Probate was granted to sons John and Edwin

Sarah Hannah died at Springfield House, Brighouse [25th January 1937].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £3,130 8/1d. Probate was granted to brother Alfred and William Henry Ayrton (retired surveyor) 

Bertha Ann died at Springfield House, Brighouse [17th January 1939].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £4,032 14/-. Probate was granted to brother Edwin and William Henry Ayrton (surveyor) 

Ayrton, JohnRef A715
[1868-1942] Son of John Ayrton.

Born in Brighouse.

Around 1900, he founded the Brighouse law firm which became Ayrton & Cornwell.

In [Q3] 1892, he married Mary Ann Wright [1869-19??] from Hartshead, in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1893]
  2. child who died young

The family lived at 55 Lightcliffe Road, Brighouse [1911]

Ayrton, Rev JonathanRef A477
[1832-1893] Son of David Ayrton.

He was a dissenting minister at Horbury, Wakefield [1860] / Primitive Methodist Minister of Horbury Chapel [1861] / Primitive Methodist Minister at Silsden [1871] / Primitive Methodist Preacher at West Lane Chapel, Keighley [1881] / Primitive Methodist Minister at Sandal Magna [1891].

In July 1858, he married Hannah Farnsworth [1837-1867] at York.

Children:

  1. Judith [1870-1913]
  2. Elizabeth [1871-1935] who married Joseph Whitaker
  3. Joshua [b 1862]

Jonathan died in Leeds [6th August 1893]

Ayrton, MatthewRef A1
[1818-1860] Of Holdsworth Farm.

Son of David Ayrton.

He was a farmer of 39 acres employing 4 labourers [1851].

He was a distant relative of Elizabeth Wadsworth who left him her estate with the proviso that – at the age of 21 – he take the name Henry Wadsworth and be called Matthew Henry Wadsworth.

He left the Holdsworth estate to his son

On 21st August 1842, he married Mary Firth at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Ovenden, was the daughter of John Firth
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1847-1937] who married John Edward Sunderland [1851-1924] (they both died in Swanson, Saskatchewan, Canada) 
  2. John Henry
  3. Ayrton

He died at Holdsworth House [18th October 1860].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £1,500. Probate was granted to Samuel Wright of Halifax (cattle dealer) and his brother, the Rev Jonathan Ayrton.

He was buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: Hs02

See Joseph Wilkinson

Ayrton, Thomas FrancisRef A260
[1896-1917] Son of Elizabeth Ann (née Lumb) [1873-1946] & Daniel Ayrton [1873-1953] of 11 Pickhall Terrace, Todmorden [1911].

Born in Burnley.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 28th April 1917 (aged 20).

He was buried at St. Sever Cemetery Extension, Rouen, France [Grave Ref P II N 12A].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Ayscough, Wilfred A.Ref A796
[1918-19??] Son of William A. Ayscough.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 5th Field Regiment Royal Artillery.

He was a Japanese POW.

His brother William Edward was killed in an artillery duel in Singapore [12th February 1942], and Wilfred helped to bury him.

Wilfred was reported missing [1942].

He was said to have been liberated [1945].

It is not known what happened to him

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ayscough, William A.Ref A795
[18??-1???]

In [Q1] 1917, he married Mary O'Rourke [18??-1???] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Wilfred A.
  2. William Edward
  3. Margaret M. [b 1920]
  4. Mabel [b 1925]

The family lived at

  • 2 Penn Lane, Pellon Lane, Halifax

Ayscough, William EdwardRef A503
[1919-1942] Son of William A. Ayscough.

He was educated at St Mary's Catholic School.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 5th Field Regiment Royal Artillery.

He was killed in an artillery duel on Bukit Timbra Road, Singapore. [12th February 1942] (aged 23).

His brother Wilfred helped to bury him.

He is remembered on the Singapore Memorial [Grave Ref 12], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Aysgarth, Skircoat GreenRef A7330
Greenroyd Avenue.

Owners and tenants have included


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


© Malcolm Bull 2019
Revised 18:42 /14th October 2019 / a / 601957

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind

web counter