C



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Ca Ce Ch Ci Cl Cn Co Cp Cr Cu Cw Cy


Cabbage Lane FieldRef C735
Now Great Albion Street. William Kershaw owned land here around 1820.

The Halifax British School was moved here around 1820

See Cabbage Lane

Cable carRef C12
In 2005, there was a suggestion that a cable car might be constructed to take visitors from Halifax up to the top of Beacon Hill

Caddy Field Branch LibraryRef C1977
Recorded in 1929. At that time, it was only open on Tuesday evenings

Caddy Field, HalifaxRef C2
District of Halifax, north of Siddal and at the foot of Trooper Lane.

Named after Joseph Caddy.

In March 1836, Anne Lister's journals mention an incident about the poisoning of the disputed Water Lane well here.

Slums here were mentioned in the Ranger report [1850].

In 1898, John Lister wrote in a local newspaper


Does Caddy Field take its name from Joseph Caddy who, in 1677, paid tax for two closes i' th bank.

In 1745, when Prince Charlie was travelling to England, the Caddy Closes as they were then called were the property of G. Laycock.

In the Manorial Records of 1814, it is sometimes called Caddow Field and was then owned by William Lawrance and paid 3/- to the Lord of the Manor

 

Caddy Field LibraryRef C1819
Recorded in 1936

Caddy, JosephRef C3
[16??-16??] See Caddy Field

Caden, PatrickRef C839
[1865-1901] Born in Ireland.

He was a gas fitter [1893].

In [Q4] 1893, he married Mary Burke [1869-1949] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax.

She was a filler at carpet works [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Robert
  2. John [1898-1976] who was a part time worsted doffer [1911]
  3. Francis [1901-1942]

The family lived at

  • Foster's Yard, Halifax [1901]
  • 38 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1911]

Caden, RobertRef C840
[1894-1918] Son of Patrick Caden.

He was a member of St Marie's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street / educated at St Mary's Catholic School / a sample dyer at dyeworks [1911] / a French polisher for Siddall & Hilton Limited.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France [January 1917].

He died of wounds [12th April 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [1st June 1918].

He was buried at Le Grand Beaumart British Cemetery, Steenwerck, France.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Cading's Croft, HalifaxRef C2276
St John's Lane.


Question: Has this been confused with Cadney Croft, Halifax?

 

Cadman, John HeatonRef C1365
[1839-1906] Son of Edwin Cadman.

Born in Sheffield [24th July 1839].

He was educated at Sheffield, Versailles and Worcester College Oxford / a barrister in practice [1871, 1881] / recorder in Pontefract [1877] / judge of county courts [1901] / Halifax county court judge [1905]

In [Q2] 1866, he married Mary Grayson Simpson [1841-1916] in Wakefield.


Mary was born in Sandal Walton, Yorkshire, the daughter of Mr Simpson, who was a partner in Hodgson & Simpson's Soapworks
 

They lived at

  • Sandal, Wakefield [1871]
  • Rhyddings House, Ackworth, Hemsworth, Yorkshire [1881]
  • Eversfield Hotel, Hastings [boarders in 1901]

Living with them [in 1871] were cousin Sarah Dodson [aged 33], and nieces Frances A Crossley [aged 10] and Mary A B Crossley [aged 9].

Living with them [in 1881] was visitor Helen E Pearson [aged 37].

In February 1906, John complained of the cold when he was sitting at the Halifax and Dewsbury County Courts, and developed a chill.

He died from pneumonia [aged 66] at Rhyddings House, Ackworth, Pontefract [22nd February 1907].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £19,906. Probate was granted to his widow Mary and Cecil Harold Simpson (soap manufacturer).

Cadney Croft, HalifaxRef C234
House at Trinity Road.

Owners and tenants have included

See Cading's Croft, Halifax, Halifax Cading's Croft and Cadney Croft, Halifax

Cadney, Henry OrmerodRef C2009
[1813-1863] Son of John William Cadney.

He was Halifax attorney / a bookkeeper [1841] / an estate agent [1861].

He and his father were listed at Fountain Street, Halifax [1845].

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

On 30th October 1834, he married Hannah Greenwood at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah was the daughter of John Greenwood
 

Children:

  1. Alice Ormerod [1836-1900] who married [1856] William Brown Pepler
  2. Emily [1841-1905]
  3. Louisa [1849-1871]

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1871] were nephew Clarence William Greenwood [aged 19], and niece Alice M Greenwood [aged 17].

Henry Ormerod died 10th April 1863.

He was buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross [16th April 1863]

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £5,000. Probate was granted to his widow.

Daughter Louisa died at Castle Hall, Cragg Vale [26th May 1871].

She was buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale [1st June 1871].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at under £2,000. Probate was granted to her mother Hannah.

Hannah died at West Kensington Park, Middlesex [12th November 1876].

She was buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale [18th November 1876] with daughter Louisa.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,000. Probate was granted to daughter Alice Ormerod Pepler

Cadney, John WilliamRef C233
[1788-1852] Of Louth, Lincolnshire.

He was a Halifax attorney [1822] / landlord of the William Broad, Halifax [1837] / articled to James Wigglesworth / an attorney at law [1841].

He and son Henry were listed at Fountain Street, Halifax [1845].

On 3rd January 1811, he married Alice Ormerod [17??-1814] at Halifax Parish Church.


A notice of the wedding said that Alice was the only daughter of the late Tille [?] Ormerod of Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Henry Ormerod

The family lived at

The couple were buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax: Alice [29th August 1814]; John William [20th August 1852]

Cadney, M.Ref C210
[17??-18??] Attorney at Ward's End, Halifax [1816]

Cady, GaryRef C180
[1960-] Brighouse-born actor who has appeared in many TV and film rôles. He attended Hipperholme Grammar School

Café & restaurantsRef C2049

Café Royal, BrighouseRef C1516
Commercial Street. Was once above Joah Pearson's confectioner's shop

Café Royal, HalifaxRef C1449
King Edward Street. Opened on 15th February 1908.

In 1931, the property was acquired by the Halifax Building Society and incorporated into the Alexandra Hall, becoming the Alexandra Café.

The name is sometime written Café Royale.

See The Forum, Halifax

Café Royal, West ValeRef C2444
Recorded in 1905, when J. Mitchell was the Proprietor

Caffari, DeeRef C1781
[1973-] PE teacher at North Halifax Grammar School [1995].

In February 2009, she became the first woman to sail solo and non-stop both ways around the world

Caffé Amanté, BrighouseRef C1945
Occupies premises at the corner of King Street / Bradford road.

The building was formerly a branch of the Union Bank

Caffrey, Patrick FrancisRef C1393
[1875-1943] Born in Shipley.

He was a master builder.

In [Q2] 1909, he married Julia Ann Mason [1873-1973] in Halifax.


Julia was born in Greetland.

She was a gas winder (silk) [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Patrick Francis

Julia died in 1973 (aged 99).

Patrick died in West Vale in 1943

Caffrey, Patrick FrancisRef C2084
[1913-1941] Son of Patrick Francis Caffrey.

Born in West Vale [2nd January 1913].

He was educated at Elland Grammar School / an altar boy at St Patrick's Catholic Church, Elland / a member of Elland Cricket Club / a master draper / a partner in T. Forrest, Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Trooper with the 8th Battalion Royal Tank Regiment, RAC.

He was killed in the Libyan desert [29th November 1941] (aged 28).

He was buried at Knightsbridge War Cemetery, Acroma, Libya [Grave Ref 2 H 6].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Brooksbank School, Elland

Cage, HeptonstallRef C2478
Recorded in 1753, when it was part of the estate left by Richard Wadsworth

Cahill, Rev MichaelRef C1307
[18??-19??] Priest at St Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, Todmorden [1905].

He lived at 33 Wellington Road, Todmorden

Cain, CharlesRef C2104
[18??-18??] Card maker at Square Road, Halifax [1850].

See Charles Cain, Son & Greenwood

Cain's: Charles Cain, Son & GreenwoodRef C1728
Card clothing and card makers.

They were at

See Charles Cain, Richard Crowther and George Henry Hirst

Cain, Henry CharlesRef C1475
[18??-19??] Watchmaker at Princess Street, Halifax.

In May 1861, he was sworn in as a member of the grand jury of the West Riding Intermediate Sessions.

In October 1878, he was declared bankrupt

Cain, JohnRef C2481
[18??-1???] Labourer from Charlestown, Halifax.

In July 1875, he was quarrelling with another man in the Commercial, Halifax. The landlord threw them out. After much cursing and swearing, Cain struck and kicked the landlord. He was fined 47/6d or 2 months' imprisonment

Cairns, Rev EdwardRef C1610
[18??-19??] Circuit Minister for St Thomas's Street Primitive Methodist Chapel. He lived at 21 Ripon Terrace, Akroydon [1905]

Cairns, Dr Peter RussellRef C1349
[1864-1941] LRCP, LRCS, LFPS.

Born in Galashiels, Scotland.

He qualified at Edinburgh & Glasgow [1893], and became a physician and surgeon / at Main Street, Heptonstall Surgery [1898-1908].

In [Q2] 1901, he married Marie Graham Cochrane [1865-1941] in Marylebone, London.


Marie was born in New York, USA
 

On 3 April 1907, the couple arrived back in London from New York on the Minnehaha.

They had no children.

They lived at

  • Hebden Bridge [1898, 1900]
  • 36 Commercial Street, Hebden Bridge [1901]
  • Westroyd, Hebden Bridge [1905]
  • Southport [from 1910]
  • 5 Preston Road, Southport [1941]

The couple (and their 2 maids) died on the same day [16th April 1941], presumably as a result of enemy action, (possibly) in an air raid

CalRef C956
The origin/meaning of this word was debated in the mid 18th century, and it was suggested that it was the name of the river which flowed from the hills above Walsden, to Todmorden where it joined to river Der to form the Calder.

See Walsden Water

Calcroft, JohnRef C798
[1846-1???] Son of John Calcroft, contractor.

He was a contractor on Halifax.

On 6th October 1867, he married Sarah Ann at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah Ann [nee Molineaux] was the widow of
Robert Fry
 

Sarah Ann Calcroft died in 1907 (aged 72).

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3529]

Caldene, Bard ofRef C555
Synonym of William Dearden

Caldene Bridge, MytholmroydRef C881
Built in 1909 by William Sutcliffe. It was one of the first bridges to be built of reinforced concrete. It was 36 ft wide and had a span of 48 ft. It was replaced in 1989

Caldene Clothing CompanyRef C1439
Manufacturer of hard-wearing clothing for farming and agricultural workers. Established at Hebden Bridge by George Uttley and his brothers-in-law – Jack and Walter Lord – in 1922. They expanded to Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd in 1936. The company now produces riding wear, jodhpurs, hats, jackets and gloves, and thermal clothing.

The company was put up for sale in January 2003

Caldene Hockey ClubRef C1019
Recorded around 1914, when Claude Stansfield Redman was a member

CalderRef C777
The river which rises at Heald Moor north-west of Todmorden, and flows for a distance of around 56 miles through Todmorden – where it forms part of the Yorkshire-Lancashire borderHebden Bridge, Mytholmroyd, Luddendenfoot, Sowerby Bridge, Copley, Elland, Brighouse, Cooper Bridge where it joins the River Colne, and on to Wakefield, joining the River Aire at Castleford. From there, it flows on into the Humber and the North Sea. Salterhebble is the closest that the Calder gets to the town of Halifax, a distance of about 1½ miles.

See Calder Future, Cal, Der and Royd

Calder & Hebble NavigationRef C642
Aka Calder & Hebble Canal. The concept of the Calder & Hebble Navigation was first discussed around 1758 when its commissioners met at the Talbot Inn in Halifax.

The Calder & Hebble Navigation links with the river Calder at several points

Calder & Hebble Navigation CompanyRef C1525
Established under an Act of 1769 and responsible for the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

Their Navigation Office is recorded at Southgate [1845], and at 52 Southgate [1936].

From 1858, the company's head office was in Southgate, Halifax.

In the 1940s, it moved to Bailey Hall and 1948 when the canals were nationalised and operated by the British Transport Commission.

See William Gravatt, Thomas Theodore Ormerod, Frederick Philip Selwyn Rawson, John Selwyn Rawson, Sir George Savile, Charles Selborne Walker and Edmund Minson Wavell

Calder Bank House, TodmordenRef C203
Owners and tenants have included

It subsequently became a guest house and a residential nursing home

Calder Bridge, BrighouseRef C1344
The double arch stone bridge over the Calder on the Bradford to Huddersfield turnpike was opened in 1825.

Tolls were abolished in 1875.

The bridge was widened in 1905

Calder Bridge, North DeanRef C437
Turnpike bridge over the Calder. Greetland Station was nearby.

See North Dean Railway Bridge

Calder Bus ServiceRef C1409
Started by brothers Percy and James Firth at Bailiff Bridge in the 1920s. Their uncle, Sir Algernon Firth, gave some financial support to the venture.

In the 1930s, the business was bought by Bradford Corporation

Calder Camera ClubRef C1454
Established in 1960, this was originally the Photographic Section of the Hebden Bridge Literary & Scientific Society. It later became the Hebden Bridge Camera Club

Calder Carbonising Company, Sowerby BridgeRef C2370
Victoria Street [1958]

Calder Civic TrustRef C8
Founded in 1965. A society of interested people who are actively concerned about their surroundings in the Calder Valley and the Calderdale district. The headquarters are at Stag Cottage, Heptonstall

Calder Cotton CompanyRef C1335
Gamaliel Sutcliffe was a Director

Calder Dale Brewing CompanyRef C1457
Sowerby Bridge

Calder EngineeringRef C1523
Originally Brighouse Motor Agency

Calder FutureRef C823
A partnership of organisations, communities and individuals who wish to participate in improving the Calder, its tributaries and its banks.

Calder Grange House, MytholmroydRef C888
Victorian house. Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in the 1960s.

See Mytholmroyd War Memorial

Calder Holmes Park, Hebden BridgeRef C655
New Road.

Recorded in 1900, when the Hebden Bridge Agricultural Show was held here.

In November 2007, the Park received £68,000 from the Big Lottery Fund's regional People's Millions fund after winning a TV vote. This money, together with £30,000 from Calderdale Council, will be spent on the CalderPLAY play area in the Park.

See William Crossley

Calder House, RastrickRef C2550
Owners and tenants have included

Calder House, Sowerby BridgeRef C723
Bolton Brow.

Formerly known as Wharf House.

House and offices built in 1779 as a home for Thomas Walpole, a manager of the Rochdale Canal Company.

The flight of stairs can be clearly seen from the Sowerby Bridge Basin.

Owners and tenants have included

Calder House, TodmordenRef C205
Owners and tenants have included

Calder LakeRef C824

Calder Navigation SocietyRef C1547
Established in 1969 to fight proposals to abandon parts of the Calder & Hebble Navigation. Their campaigns resulted in the reopening and re-connection of the Huddersfield Narrow Canal and the Rochdale Canal

Calder Registration DistrictRef C2283
The Calder Registration District was a part of the West Riding.

It was created on 1st April 1938.

It included

It was abolished in 1974 when the area was incorporated into Calderdale and Bradford

Calder ValeRef C9
See Calder Vale Urban District Council and Calderdale

Calder Vale Agricultural SocietyRef C1540
Established in 1836. The first meeting was held at the White Lion, Hebden Bridge on 24th May 1839. First show was held at The Holme, Hebden Bridge, in September 1839.

Later meetings and prize-givings took place at Hebden Bridge Mechanics' Institute. The shows moved to Halifax Piece Hall in the 1840s. Christopher Rawson was the President in the 1840s

The Calder Vale GazetteRef C354
Newspaper which appeared on 6th July 1881. It was published by John Firth Ashworth. It was a 12-page publication. The first 52 editions cost ½d, then the price went up to 1d. It was described as being
replete with matters of local interest, poetical, historical and topical

It became the Hebden Bridge Times & Calder Vale Gazette

Calder Vale HandicapRef C599
See Halifax Race Course

Calder Vale LineRef C694
Recorded in 1841

Calder Vale Machine Tool Company LimitedRef C1520
Brighouse company established by G. H. Taylor and E. Jones in 18??. The partnership was dissolved in 1898.

See Machine Tool Makers

Calder Vale Steam LaundryRef C1561
Recorded in 1905 at Bankfoot, Hebden Bridge

Calder Vale Subscription BandRef C2663

Calder Vale Urban District CouncilRef C554
In 1937, there were proposals to amalgamate Hebden Bridge, Luddendenfoot, Midgley, Mytholmroyd, and Todmorden into a new Calder Vale Urban District Council

Calder ValleyRef C665
Informal term for Calderdale. Usually implies the Upper Calder Valley.

See Lower Calder Valley and MPs for Calder Valley

Calder Valley Aero ClubRef C1426
Formed at the White Horse Hotel, Hebden Bridge, in May 1931. Founder members included James Allan Parker, Cecil Dean, J. L. S. Gill, Fred Greenwood, and Alec Parker. They bought their own aircraft – a 100 hp Avro biplane – and had an airfield at Stake Farm, Blackstone Moor

Calder Valley ClubRef C1515
Mytholmroyd club for the handicapped. When the building occupied by St Peter & St Paul's Catholic Church, Mytholmroyd became unsafe, it was sold to the club. With a grant of £150,000, they were able to refurbish the building into its present form

Calder Valley Concrete Company LimitedRef C1456
They had business at Marsh Quarry, Sowerby Bridge [1969]

Calder Valley ConstituencyRef C630
Administrative district comprising the Upper Calder Valley, Sowerby Bridge, Elland, and Brighouse.

See MPs for the Calder Valley

Calder Valley Cricket Club LeagueRef C2126
Comprised Sunday Schools and other institutions. Established in 1890. In 1891, J. E. Craven was President.

It was disbanded on 13th November 1913

Calder Valley Festival of Arts SocietyRef C1554

Calder Valley Motor ClubRef C1589
Recorded in 1927

Calder Valley Poets SocietyRef C402
A group of local poets.

The Society was disbanded in the 1980s

Calder Valley Rifle ClubRef C1323
Established on 25th October 1900

Calder Valley Sand & Gravel Company LimitedRef C1825
Recorded in 1936 Hangingroyd, Hebden Bridge

Calder Valley Search & Rescue TeamRef C1177
Established in 1965/6, following the death of Robert Akrigg.

Calder Valley Ward, HalifaxRef C1931
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax

Calder Valley Youth TheatreRef C274

Calder ViaductRef C981
Aka Kirkless Viaduct. A stretch of the M62 motorway between Junction 24 at Ainley Top and Junction 25 at Brighouse. The viaduct is 1,000 ft long. It stands 60 ft above the river, road, canal and railway facilities. When constructed, it was one of the longest viaducts in Europe

Calderbank Nurseries, WalsdenRef C1821
See Gordon Rigg (Nurseries) Limited

CalderdaleRef C10
The Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale is an administrative body formed on 1st April 1974 by the amalgamation of the County Borough of Halifax, the Borough of Brighouse, the Borough of Todmorden, the Elland Urban District, the Hebden Royd Urban District, the Ripponden Urban District, the Sowerby Bridge Urban District and part of the Queensbury and Shelf Urban District.

The name Calderdale had been used to denote the Calder Valley earlier, and was formally adopted in 1973. The boundaries of the Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale coincide almost exactly with those of the original parish of Halifax.

See Population, What's in Calderdale, Calder Registration District, Calderdale Council and Electoral wards

Calderdale Family History ResearchRef C2562
Family History Research facility established by Roger Beasley

The Calderdale Family History SocietyRef C1549
The CFHS Research Room at Brighouse Library is open for a few hours each week – currently Tuesday afternoons and Thursday mornings. The research facilities include:

  • Computer and Internet
  • Microfiche
  • Literature, including books, Parish Registers, census returns, and monumental inscriptions

See

Calderdale Art CollectionRef C2593
Halifax Corporation and Calderdale Council own a large collection of works of art. These were originally owned by Todmorden, Brighouse, Elland and other parts of the district. Some of the works are listed in the Foldout

Calderdale, Bard ofRef C46
Synonym of William Dearden

Calderdale CallRef C347
A free newspaper published 3 times a year by Calderdale Council

Calderdale Christian Web SiteRef C262
A collection of pages with events, churches, news, Christian organisations, chat room, guestbook, and much more about Christianity in Calderdale.

Calderdale Clog Sundries Manufacturing SocietyRef C2178
Recorded at Todmorden on 21st June 1913 when a coming-of-age celebration was reported in connection with the Society

Calderdale Clog Sundries, WalsdenRef C1452
Aka Calderdale Co-operative Clog Sundries Manufacturing Company Limited. A manufacturing co-operative recorded in 1905 at Alma Street, Todmorden

Calderdale CollegeRef C628

Calderdale College, RippondenRef C191
19th century college

Calderdale Colleges CorporationRef C155
Comprises Calderdale College, Halifax New College, and Halifax School of Integrated Arts

Calderdale Community ChurchRef C157

Calderdale Companion: CitationsRef C169
If you ever need to publish the URL for entries on the Calderdale Companion, you will find it easier to use


www.calderdalecompanion.co.uk
 

than the URL which is displayed as the online address


http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~calderdalecompanion
 

Calderdale CompanyRef C2015
Cotton spinners and fustian dyers at Hebden Bridge [1874]

Calderdale CouncilRef C620
Since the formation of the Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale in 1974, the political nature of the council has been as shown in the Foldout.

See the Foldout showing the Mayors of Calderdale.

See Northgate House, Halifax

Calderdale German CircleRef C407

Calderdale Heritage WalksRef C271
An organisation established when Calderdale Tourist Guides Association ended in 2003.

The organisation offers a programme of around 60 guided walks around various parts of Calderdale

These are normally about 2 hours in duration and aim to tell the story of particular parts of the District as they've evolved down the centuries

The Group's aim is to generate and foster a higher level of interest in the fascinating story and history of this area over many centuries past

Calderdale Industrial MuseumRef C614
Square Road, Halifax.

The red brick building was formerly the Square Works of the Stirk Machine Tools engineering company.

The building houses a permanent exhibition of Calderdale's industrial heritage – and the blade from the Gibbet.

It closed in 2000 on account of rising costs and falling numbers of visitors.

The exhibits seem to be still in situ.

After the efforts of the Calderdale Industrial Museum Association the Museum opened for organised visits on 9th June 2012.

As part of the redeveloped complex comprising the refurbished Piece Hall, the Square Chapel, the new Central Library & Archives, and the Orangebox. The Museum is set to re-open in 2017.

See Calderdale Industrial Museum CD

Calderdale Industrial Museum AssociationRef C2495
Established in 2011 to revive the Calderdale Industrial Museum.

On 9th June 2012, the Museum reopened to the public for organised visits

Calderdale Inheritance ProjectRef C405
Recorded in 1882

Calderdale Joint Omnibus CommitteeRef C174

Calderdale Lapidary SocietyRef C1548

Calderdale Local Orchard GroupRef C2240
A Hebden Bridge initiative to grow and promote apples

Calderdale Magistrates' CourtRef C632
The Magistrates' Court is situated in what was the old Police Station on Harrison Road.

See Magistrates

Calderdale, Map ofRef C605

Calderdale, Mayors ofRef C170

Calderdale, Metropolitan Borough ofRef C604

Calderdale MuseumsRef C2468
The department of Calderdale Council which is responsible for museums and art galleries, including

Calderdale NewsRef C335
A free weekly newspaper published by Halifax Courier.

See Gordon Sampson

Calderdale Nicaraguan Link GroupRef C196

Calderdale NightingaleRef C11
Popular name for Mrs Susan Sunderland

Calderdale PartnershipRef C159

Calderdale Police StationRef C1536
See Police Station and Halifax Police Station

Calderdale Royal HospitalRef C283
Opened in April 2001 next to the old Halifax General Hospital. It was formerly opened by Princess Anne, the Princess Royal on 15th March 2004.

The hospital is owned by Catalyst Healthcare and leased to the NHS.

For a new building, it is remarkably badly-designed. There's no air-conditioning in the wards. The ward-numbering [those that are still open] and the general layout are not obvious and the signage leaves lots to be desired. The car-parking is laughable.

See Roger Burnett

Calderdale Rubber CompanyRef C1522
Established in 1948 at Glen Works, Todmorden. The business closed in 2000

Calderdale School of Physical EducationRef C195

Calderdale Talking Newspaper AssociationRef C1551
Produce audio cassettes for elderly and disabled

Calderdale Tourist Guides AssociationRef C1550
A group known as the Calderdale Tourist Guides was established in the 1980s. Later, some of their members led a Town Walks programme organised and funded by the Calderdale Tourism Unit which closed in 2003.

It was succeeded by Calderdale Heritage Walks.

See Tourist Information

Calderdale TVRef C611
A video production company established in 1996 to produces films, videos and TV programmes

Calderdale Walking FestivalRef C613
A programme of around 70 guided walks in and around the district which are organised during September. The festival was established in 1997 and is supported by courses, lectures and exhibitions. Details from the Tourist Information Offices

Calderdale WayRef C275
A 50-mile long circular walking route around the district. It was started in 1973, published in 1977 and inaugurated on 21st October 1978 by Lord Winstanley, chairman of the Countryside Commission.

It was Britain's first recreation footpath.

The idea was developed by local civic trusts. A group of enthusiasts – who formed the Calderdale Way Association – devised the route and produced the Calderdale Way Guide.

Starting at Clay House, Greetland, it passes through Halifax, Southowram, Brighouse, Norwood Green, Shibden, Holdsworth, Bradshaw, Saltonstall, Luddenden, Midgley, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge, Todmorden, Langfield Common, Cragg Vale, Mill Bank, Ripponden, Norland, and back to North Dean.

It links with the Pennine Way, and the Todmorden Centenary Way, and there are many points at which the walker can change to public transport.

Walker and countryside campaigner, Miss Margaret Rooker of Greetland, was the first to walk the whole 50 miles. She set out on 27th December 1976, and completed the trek in a week, walking through ice and snow.

See Around Calderdale

Calderdale WayRef C443
Aka Elland bypass.

This is part of the main road from Halifax to Huddersfield, which comprises Ward's End, Commercial Street, Portland Place, Prescott Street, Skircoat Road, Spring Hall,, Huddersfield Road, Salterhebble Hill, Huddersfield Road, Elland Wood Bottom, Halifax Road and Calderdale Way.

The stretch of road – a part of the A629 – between the M62 at Ainley Top and Salterhebble, bypassing Elland. It was one of the most expensive roads in the country, and cost around £4 million per mile. 6 new bridges had to be constructed over roads, railway, canal and the Calder. 700,000 tons of rock had to be removed at Elland Wood Bottom to widen the existing Halifax to Huddersfield road to a four-lane dual carriageway.

Several buildings had to be demolished, including 90 homes, Riverside Mills, and Old Elland Hall.

Suggestions for a name for the new road included Calder Cross, Calder Way, Elafield Road, Eland's Way, Elland Link, Gateway, Longfield Lane, Progress Way, and Woodrow Highway.

The name Calderdale Way was suggested by councillors David Shutt and David Fox.

It opened on 13th December 1978

Calderdale Wesley Band of HopeRef C436
Recorded in 1878.

See Band of Hope

Calderside Company LimitedRef C1510
Hebden Bridge. The company was registered in May 1873

Calderside Dyeing CompanyRef C1488
Dressers, bleachers and dyers with business at Calderside Dye Works, Hebden Bridge Originally Taylor, Hulme & Williamson. Around 1889, when Mr Williamson became sole proprietor, the company name was changed to Calderside Dyeing Company

Calderside House, Hebden BridgeRef C2316
Number 3 Oakville Road, Charlestown. Built around 1840. It is now 2 dwellings: Rock Dene and Calderside House

Caldervale Railway LineRef C1308
The modern railway route runs from Blackpool and Manchester, through Calderdale and on to Leeds, York and Scarborough. Coast to coast

Caldwell, JamesRef C1779
[1898-1918] Son of Jonathan Caldwell.

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant with the 2nd Squadron Royal Air Force.

He died 28th August 1918 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Arras Flying Service Memorial, France, and on Brighouse War Memorial

Caldwell, JonathanRef C4090
[1863-1910] He worked for The Brighouse & Rastrick Gazette.

He went on to be the first editor of the Brighouse Echo [1887], owner of The Brighouse News [1891], and a Councillor for Brighouse [1900-1905]

He sold The Brighouse News to John Hartley.

He wrote a history of Brighouse and the co-operative society [1899]

In [Q2] 1889, he married Edith Anne Whitelock [1865-19??] in York.


Edith Anne came from Hackney, London
 

Children:

  1. child
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. child who died young [before 1911]
  4. child who died young [before 1911]
  5. child who died young [before 1911]
  6. child who died young [before 1911]
  7. child who died young [before 1911]
  8. Sarah Jane [b 1890] who was a student [1911]
  9. Eleanor [b 1894]
  10. James

The family lived at 119 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911, 1916].

Jonathan died in 1910.

The widowed Edith Anne was a sleeping partner in a newspaper & printing business [1911].

In [Q2] 1912, she married Dennis Hardaker in Halifax

Caleb, SamuelRef C1101
[1850-1???] A blacksmith.

He was charged with stealing a mare from Luke Dewhirst of Soyland, on 14th July 1877.

At the Leeds Summer Assizes [31st July 1877], Caleb was found guilty, and since he was only recently out of gaol on a ticket-of-leave, having in 1868 been sentenced to 10 years' penal servitude, he was sentenced to 20 years' penal servitude

Calendar of local eventsRef C813

Caley's: A. J. Caley & Son LimitedRef C1440
Norwich-based chocolate manufacturer. established by Albert Jarman Caley.

The business was acquired by Mackintosh's on 9th July 1932.

When the Norwich factories were bombed in 1942, production was transferred to Halifax.

The Caley brand name was used until early 1960s.

In 1994, after Mackintosh's had become Rowntree Mackintosh and Nestlé, the company announced the closure of the Norwich factory.

In 1996, 3 former executives acquired the Caley's brand plus production equipment from Nestlé and formed Caley's of Norwich Limited.

See Eric Donald Mackintosh

Caley, Albert JarmanRef C631
[1829-1895] He had a chemist's shop. in London Street, Norwich [1857].

In 1863, he started producing mineral waters in the cellar of the premises.

In 1883, he began producing drinking chocolate.

In 1886, he began to manufacture eating chocolate.

He established A. J. Caley & Son Limited.

During World War I, the Company produced Marcho, Caley's Marching Chocolate which was issued to British troops.

He died in Norwich [Q2 1895] (aged 66) 

Caley, WilliamRef C6700
[18??-1???] In [Q3] 1877, he married Martha Annie Sunderland in Halifax

Calf Garth, BarkislandRef C2424

See Krumlin Wesleyan Chapel, Barkisland

Calf Hey Farm, BarkislandRef C815
Bottomley Lane. House dated 1700.

Reuben Haigh was a tenant here [1700s]

Calf Holes Farm, Steanor BottomRef C1032

Calf Lee Cote, WalsdenRef C4002
aka Calflee Cote. A small tenement farm within the lands of Calflee Farm.

See James Rigby Dawson

Calf Lee Farm, WalsdenRef C60
Warland. Late 18th century laithe-house.

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Scholfield family of Walsden
  • James Scholfield was the owner-occupier of the property, having inherited the freehold from his grandfather. He was sole owner from 1790 to 1800. His brother John is recorded as having been a joint owner from 1801, which is when he would have been aged 16 years. He and brother John farmed the land, and his aunt Sarah was also a joint tenant

See Calflee Cote, Walsden

Calico Hall, HalifaxRef C15
In 1493, Sir John Savile of Thornhill sold the property – then known as Shaw Hill, Shay Hill, Hunger Hill – to Edmund Furness.

It remained in the Furness family until 1623 when it was sold to the Clough family, who were mercers, probably calico merchants.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The house remained with the Prescott family until 1776, when William Prescott got into financial difficulties.

Robert Parker was persuaded by his wife and her relatives to buy the property in order to keep it in the family. Parker spent over £3,000 putting a new Georgean front on the building, together with other additions. He bought land to the north of the house from Sir Watts Horton and created a park. Abraham Towne was the gardener.

The estate included the land bounded by Clare Road, St John's Lane, and Oxford Road, together with other plots around Hope Hall and New Road.

After Parker's death in 1796, his widow, Mary, bequeathed the Hall to her half-sister, Ann, and her husband Rev Edward Prescott, passing the estate back into the Prescott family. The couple went to live at the Hall.

Around 1810, Mrs Prescott renamed the house Clare Hall.

See Upper Calico Hall, Halifax

CaliforniaRef C1898
Area of the western part of Halifax.

In 1859, the address of the West Hill Tavern, Halifax at 64 Hanson Lane was given as California. The district was then said to be

becoming large and populous, with 312 houses and over 1,500 inhabitants, and several new buildings in the course of construction

In April 1865, the Leeds Intelligencer announced that

Steps have been taken for the erection of a new church in the new and populous district of California in the West End of Halifax

This may have been St Augustine's Church, Pellon.

See California, Halifax and California Post Office

CaliforniaRef C529
Area above Todmorden.

See California Works, Walsden

California Post OfficeRef C1594
Recorded in 1905 at 38 Hanson Lane, Halifax,

Recorded in 1946, when Myrtle & Norman Dent were there

Calladine, Rev W.Ref C2125
[18??-1???] Superintendent of the Hebden Bridge Methodist Circuit [1891]. In 1891, he and Rev W. Calladine were Ministers at Salem Wesleyan Chapel, Hebden Bridge and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd

Callaghan, GeorgeRef C988
[1869-1925] Born in Birmingham.

He was a maker of bedstead castors [1901, 1911].

On 19th February 1898, he married Lucy Astell [1871-1961] at Balsall Heath, Birmingham.


Lucy was born in Tetbury, Gloucestershire
 

Children:

  1. William George
  2. Alberta Victoria May [1902-1991] who married [Halifax Q1/1925] Robert Ward

The family lived at

  • Kings Norton, Worcestershire [1901]
  • 5 Upper Fountain Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911, 1916]

The couple died in Halifax

Callaghan, Rev GeorgeRef C1659
[1907-19??] He served at Kirkheaton and at St Catherine Sandal before becoming Vicar of Barkisland with Scammonden 1970-1974. He retired to live in Halifax

Callaghan, MrRef C65
[18??-18??]

He married Catherine [1834-1???].


Catherine was born in Cork, Ireland
 

Children:

  1. Ellen [b 1861] who was a worsted drawer [1891], a wool comb machine minder [1901] and never married
  2. Catherine [b 1863] who was a worsted yarn reeler [1891] who married George Smith
  3. Mary [b 1868] who was a worsted weaver [1891], a mohair weaver [1901] and never married

The family lived at

  • 16 Sladden Row, Northowram [1891]
  • 16 Beggarington Lane, Queensbury, Halifax [1901]

He was dead by 1891.

Living with them [in 1901] was granddaughter Annie Smith [b  1892]

Callaghan, William GeorgeRef C992
[1899-1916] Son of George Callaghan.

Born in Birmingham.

He was an apprentice gas meter inspector with Sowerby Bridge Council / a member of Christ Church & Sunday School, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted in early April 1915, and served as an Able Seaman with the Royal Navy. He was trained for a sighter in a big gun team before being transferred to HMS Indefatigable which was cruising around the North Sea.

He died 31st May 1916 (aged 17), when HMS Indefatigable was sunk in the Battle of Jutland.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [10th June 1916].

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial, England [Grave Ref 14], and on the Roll of Honour at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Callan, A. J.Ref C1999
[19??-] Halifax artist

Callan, Rev John RobertRef C1129
[1???-19??] Priest at St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street [1935]

Callighan, TomRef C1752
[18??-1???] He was a weaver [1899].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. daughter
  5. daughter
  6. daughter
  7. Julia who married Arthur Smith

The family lived at Nether Ends, Sowerby.

CallisRef C16
Area of Hebden Bridge

Callis Bridge, CharlestownRef C1151
Hebden Bridge.

In the 19th century, the name is written Calais.

Callis Canal Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef C540
Bridge #21 over the Rochdale Canal

Callis Lock, Hebden BridgeRef C485
Lock #13 on the Rochdale Canal. Built 1798 by William Jessop and William Crossley

Callis Wood, Hebden BridgeRef C2371

Callon, John WilliamRef C684
[1884-1915] Son of Charlotte & John Callon of 21 Mills Street, Cobden, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with D Company 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 1st June 1915 (aged 30).

He was buried at Alexandria (Chatby) Military & War Memorial Cemetery, Egypt. [Grave Ref F 179].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Callow, ArthurRef C1679
[1874-19??] Born in Birmingham.

He was a jeweller [1901].

In 1894, he married Sarah Jane Cockroft [1876-19??] from Halifax, of Halifax.

Children:

  1. William [b 1895]
  2. Edith [b 1897]
  3. Harry [b 1900]

The family lived at Brackenbed House, Ovenden [1901].

In 1901, Hannah Cordingley [1851-19??], his widowed mother-in-law was living with them

Callow, WilliamRef C861
[1891-1919]

During World War I, he served as a Private / Gunner with the Royal Marine Light Infantry (R.M.R./B.1498) aboard the cruiser HMS Leviathan.

He died on board his ship [20th January 1919] (aged 28).

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax [C 641].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cally Hall, TodmordenRef C2313
Whirlaw Common. Early 19th century laithe-house

Calverley, Mrs AliceRef C707
[17??-17??] Daughter of Abraham Kershaw.

In 1741, she heard John Nelson preach at Birstall and her father, Abraham Kershaw, invited him to Skircoat Green.

Thomas Calverley Riley is a descendant of the family

Calverley, ConstanceRef C2342
[18??-19??] Daughter of Emma [née Mitchell] and James Calverley.

She and her cousin Abraham Gibson (5) inherited the Mitchell family estate – including the Boston Hill estate – in Wadsworth.

She outlived her brothers.

She lived at Boston Hill

Calverley, JamesRef C2341
[18??-1???] In 1875, he married Emma, daughter of Henry Mitchell.

Children:

  1. Constance
  2. William
  3. James Henry Mitchell [b 1883]

Calverley, JosephRef C1286
[1???-1848] He was landlord of the Swan, Stainland [1845].

He married Mary [1803-18??]


Mary was born in Longwood
 

Children:

  1. Eliza [b 1836]

Joseph died Q3 1848.

Mary took over at the Swan [1851]

Calvert...Ref C55
The entries for people & families with the surname Calvert are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Calvert & AspinallRef C1496
Engineers and tool makers established by Reuben Calvert and Mr Aspinall at Green Mount Iron Works, Halifax [1870].

The business was continued with Reuben Calvert as sole proprietor [1876]

Calvert BrothersRef C1824
Woollen spinners at Sun Works, Winding Road, Halifax [1876], Ladyship Mill, Old Lane, Halifax [1880], and Boothtown Mill, Halifax [1885].

Partners included John Calvert, William Frederick Calvert, Henry Calvert, and Frank Calvert.

In October 1888, the partnership was declared bankrupt. The losses were quoted as £230,000.

John Calvert went missing after the failure, and he was apprehended at Leyburn [November 1888].

In March 1889, in Leeds, he was sentenced to 15 months' hard labour; his brothers were discharged.

Tom Farrar, a wool top merchant, was found guilty of aiding and abetting in the frauds, and was sentenced to 18 months' hard labour

Calvert's: I. & I. CalvertRef C1451
Formerly J. & J. Calvert.

Around 1887, Jonathan Calvert changed the name and the business became known as I. & I. Calvert.

See Child workers at I. & I. Calvert's mills, Calvert's Factory School, Calvert Orphans' Home, William Henry Murgatroyd and Wainstalls Mills

Calvert's (Illingworth) LimitedRef C1729
Worsted spinners established by William Calvert and 2 sons in 1866. They were at Illingworth Mills, Ovenden [1937]. The business closed on 2nd April 1970.

Partners at the closure included cousins Philip Calvert and Martin Calvert, greatgrandsons of William Calvert.

The firm built the houses in Calvert's Row and Field View, Illingworth

Calvert's: J. & J. CalvertRef C2639
Established by John and Jonathan Calvert, the sons of William Calvert, at Old Mill [1826].

Until 1885, the business was spinning white worsted yarn, but at Walter Garnett's suggestion, they began to produce coloured yarns.

They built a new mill

The partnership ended when John died in 1850. Jonathan carried on the business with John's sons William and Jonathan.

They leased Spring Mill, Wainstalls from John Abbott at an annual rent of £80 [1861].

William left the partnership in 1866.

Around 1870, the business was handed over to the younger Jonathan.

They bought Spring Mill after John Abbott's death [1871].

They were also at Abbott's Square Mill, Wainstalls which they bought from John Ambler Wilson. This strained the company's finances and in June 1873, they mortgaged both properties with Hebden Bridge solicitors: James Pearson Sutcliffe, and John Sutcliffe.

In 1871, he leased Lumb Mill, Wainstalls from Hollingrake & Clegg at an annual rent of £60. In March 1889, they bought the Mill.

Around 1877, Jonathan changed the name and the business became known as I. & I. Calvert

Calvert's: M. & M. Calvert LimitedRef C1524
Worsted spinners.

They were at Brookhouse Mill, Ogden [1897]; Forest Mills, Holmfield [1905, 1937], and; Bowling Dyke Mills, Halifax [1937].

Partners included Midgley Calvert and Miles Calvert

Calvert's: Mary & Ann CalvertRef C2222
Miss Calvert was listed as milliner at The House at the Maypole [1805].

Mary Calvert was listed as milliner and mercer at Corn Market, Halifax [1822].

Mary and Ann Calvert were listed as straw hat makers, milliners and dress makers at 2 Corn Market, Halifax [1829]

Calvert Orphans' HomeRef C559
John Rushworth was orphan manager, and his wife Jane was matron in charge of the orphans who worked at I. & I. Calvert and were housed at Holly Hall, Lower Slack, Warley [1891]

Calvert's: William Calvert & SonsRef C475
Worsted spinners at Illingworth Mills, Ovenden. Established by William Calvert around 1871.

Partners included Clifford Calvert [1905], William Edward Calvert [1905], and John William Calvert.

See Calvert's (Illingworth) Limited

CambodunumRef C19
Aka Campodunum. A Roman settlement between Manchester and Tadcaster and mentioned by Antoninus and Bede. Paulinus is said to have established a church here.

Camden identified this with Castle Hill, Huddersfield, but Watson and others have suggested that Greetland or Stainland are more likely, and use the landscape and the Roman altar from Thick Hollins as a part of the evidence.

It has been suggested that the name Scammonden may be derived from S'Cambodunum.

Others have placed the site at Doncaster

Camden, WilliamRef C21
[1551-1623] One of Britain's first antiquarians who travelled widely to describe the monuments of Britain in Elizabethan times.

He visited the Saviles at Bradley Hall around 1590, when collecting material for his book Britannia, a guide to Britain and its monuments.

Of Halifax, he wrote that ...

the number of men in the parish – 12,000 – was greater than the total of cows, horses, sheep and other animals because – unlike the rest of the country – the people of Halifax lived by cloth-making and not by farming

See Horton

The Camm familyRef C1273
Alfred Camm had a cotton mill at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse and Brookfoot. Their estate included the land occupied by Woodvale Silk Mills, and what is now Wellholme Park, Brighouse. The original house was divided into 3 smaller dwellings. They owned Woodvale Cotton Mills, and were involved with several other local companies.

A 6-month strike at the mills ended with the firm going out of business.

The family were involved with St James's Church which was built on a part of the Wellholme estate bought from Mrs Camm.

See Brookfoot Mill [3], Camm Brothers, William & Alfred Camm and Ramsden, Camm & Company

Camm, Rev Abraham BirtlesRef C2117
[1840-1891] Born in Chesterfield.

Minister at Todmorden Unitarian Church [he resigned on 16th March 1888].

In 1872, he married Jennie Stockwell [1851-1888] at Kensington, London. Jennie died on 12th June 1888, whilst visiting her sister at Hampstead Heath, London.

He died at Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire when he fell from a railway train as it was passing through the Peak Forest Tunnel. The inquest returned a verdict of accidental death.

On 12th November 1891, a memorial stone – of carved white Sicilian marble – was erected in Upper End churchyard in the Peak District in his memory

Camm, AlfredRef C325
[1802-1843] Of Wellholme, Brighouse.

He was a card manufacturer [1838, 1842].

He owned a cotton mill at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse.

On 12th August 1835, he married Anna Maria Brooke at Halifax Parish Church.


Anna Maria was the eldest daughter of John Brooke
 

Children:

  1. William [b 1836]
  2. Alfred [b 1838] who was recorded at Wellholme in 1861
  3. John Brooke Maher [b 1840]
  4. Nicholas Cunliffe [b 1842]

Alfred died 5th October 1843 (aged 41).

There is a memorial to him in St Martin's Church, Brighouse near the vault where he was buried [10th October 1843].

See Camm family

Camm BrothersRef C1325
Quarrying business of the Camm family. They were at

Solomon Marshall began working here and progressed to become manager. In 1???, Marshall took over the business.

See William & Alfred Camm

Camm, John D.Ref C2168
[18??-19??] Registrar of marriages at Todmorden [until June 1909]

Camm, Mrs LydiaRef C90
[18??-18??]

She sold a part of the Wellholme estate for the construction of St James's Church, Brighouse.

See Camm family

Camm Park EstateRef C351
See Wellholme Park

Camm, SamRef C1263
[18??-19??] Todmorden solicitor [1905]

Camm, SamuelRef C1625
[18??-18??] Of Clifton.

Partner in Samuel Camm & Company.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary Elizabeth [1804-1852] who married Henry Byrne

He lived at Wellholme, Brighouse [1845]

Camm, SamuelRef C1372
[1878-1918] Son of Susannah & William Camm of Halifax.

He worked as a weaver at Shaw Lodge Mills.

He married Emily.

They lived at 6 Shaw Hill, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1916], and served as a Private with the 13th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He was wounded in the arm.

He died of shock after amputation [22nd January 1918] (aged 40).

He was buried at Etretat Churchyard Extension, France [Grave Ref II A 15].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Camm's: Samuel Camm & CompanyRef C1626
Cotton, wool, tow and silk card manufacturers, curriers, leather dressers and strap makers at Clifton Bridge Mill, Brighouse [1845].

Partners included Samuel Camm

Camm, WilliamRef C706
[1847-1914] Organist at St James's Church. He was involved in training the choir. He was so tall that a specially designed seat was installed from which only he was able to play. He was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893

Camm, WilliamRef C2613
[1848-1???] He was a cotton twiner [1891].

He married (1) Unknown.

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1873] who was a silk gas winder [1891]
  2. Lucy [b 1876] who was a silk spinner [1891]

After 1882, he (possibly) married (2) Nancy.


Nancy was the widow of
Alfred Gledhill
 

The family lived at 65 New Bank, Northowram [1891].

Living with them [in 1891] were William's daughters and Nancy's children Hannah, Charles H, Willie Arthur, Mary A, Oswald, and Empsall

Camm's: William & Alfred CammRef C1658
Cotton spinners and doublers at Woodvale Mill, Brighouse and at Brookfoot Mill, Brighouse [1867, 1874].

In August 1867, they were charged on 21 counts under the Factory Act, of working their hands after 6:00 pm, namely, until 10 minutes past. They were fined a total of £63.

They held a Christmas Party in the warehouse for their employees [January 1868].

In September 1882, about 400 of their spinners went on strike rather than have a 10% reduction in their wages.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1883. W. Camm and N. C. Camm were retiring.

See Camm Brothers and George Henry James Heal The Camm family

Camotta, RichardRef C1768
[1???-1841] Or Rocco.

Optician, carver and gilder in Halifax.

He is recorded as being a second generation Italian.

He married (1) Amelia.

Children:

  1. Margaretta [bapt 1831]

On 16th June 1834, he married (2) Ann Brier [1807-1896] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Sarah Swaine [1835-1839]
  2. Josephine [bapt 1837] who was a milliner [1861]
  3. Mary Ann [bapt 1840] who was a gilder [1872] and married [1872] Edwin Riley (a cashier) in Blackpool, and had a son Rocco Camotta Riley [1872-1879]

He and his wife Ann made barometers. Between 1825 and 1861, they were at Bull Close Lane, 14 Bull Green, Halifax [1829], 9 Bull Green, Halifax [Ann 1851], and 12 Bull Green, Halifax [Ann 1861]

Richard died in 1841.

Ann (carver & gilder) filed for bankruptcy on 31st January 1847.

Living with them [in 1861] was nephew Isaac Bull [b 1853] (from Gravesend, Kent).

In 1881 and 1891, Ann and daughter Josephine were living in Blackpool. Ann was a lodging house keeper.

In 1892, Mrs Camotta was advertising

Select private apartments, with home comforts and sea view at 27 Queen's Square, Blackpool

Ann died in the Fylde district [Q4 1896] (aged 89) 

Camp End Farm, Norton TowerRef C2446
Recorded on early OS maps. The name may have been inspired by the story of a Roman Camp at nearby Sentry Edge.

The farm was demolished when Norton Tower was developed.

An early house in the Norton Drive development was built on the site of the farm and is named Camp End

Campbell, AlexanderRef C1623
[1805-1886] Born 25th December 1805.

He was Keeper of the Halifax Museum [for 42 years].

He married Elizabeth [1804-1875].

Children:

  1. Jane Emily [bapt 25th August 1828]
  2. Alexander [1836-17th May 1857]
  3. Isabella [bapt 7th June 1868]
  4. Samuel [1868-21st March 1874]


Question: Can anyone confirm that Elizabeth was giving birth when she was over 60 years old?

 

Elizabeth died in 1875 (aged 71).

Alexander died 23rd November 1886.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3460]

Campbell, BernardRef C1982
[1922-1944] Son of Sarah Ann & Patrick Campbell of Winding Road, Terrace, Halifax.

He was educated at St Joseph's Catholic School, Claremount / a steeplejack.

During World War II, he enlisted [1941], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire Regiment.

He died at Rastrick [13th August 1944] (aged 22).

He was buried at Caserta War Cemetery, Italy [II C 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Campbell, CliffordRef C1759
[1899-1918] Son of Sarah Jane and Charles Campbell of 7 Solomon Hill, Luddenden.

Born in Battyeford [3rd September 1899].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 31st July 1918 (aged 18).

He was buried at Chambrecy British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV B 10].

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden

Campbell, Rev DrRef C1183
[18??-1???] Of Bradford.

He lived at Lightcliffe around 1860

Campbell, Fielding & CompanyRef C1501
Worsted manufacturers established in 1885. They had a factory at Carlton Place, Halifax [1890]

Campbell, Dr Florence GertrudeRef C18
[1867-1952] Née Longbottom.

MB, LM.

Daughter of John William Longbottom.

She qualified in 1891.

She was a medical practitioner in Halifax [1895] / demonstrator of anatomy at London School of Medicine for Women.

In [Q3] 1891, she married Thomas Vincent Campbell in Halifax.

The couple practised medicine in Southern India, and returned to live in Edinburgh, where Florence Gertrude died

Campbell Gas Engine Company LimitedRef C1421
Gas & oil engine makers of Halifax.

Founded by Hugh Campbell at Stone Dam Mills in the late 19th century.

It was later owned by Lewis John Akroyd with premises on Gibraltar Road.

On 20th December 1918, the Company entertained 3,000 employees to mark the completion of the manufacture of munitions for World War I, between 1914 and 1918.

In 1919, there was an industrial dispute at the company after Campbell's had taken on and trained unskilled ex-servicemen after World War I. A strike began on 13th July 1919. The dispute was again reported on 15th May 1920.

Financial problems followed and the bank took over the administration of the company. Campbell disliked this and attempted to establish a new business at his home, Newstead, Halifax.

The firm closed in 1926.

On 11th August 1928, the company's assets were bought by a London company.

They are recorded at premises situated between Hopwood Lane, Gibraltar Road and Parkinson Lane

On 1st November 1933, their premises at Gibraltar Road, West End, Halifax, were sold. The buildings were to be demolished and site used for housing.

After being unoccupied for 5 years, the property was sold to Cohen of Leeds, and then to Lewis J. Ackroyd Limited. Ackroyd demolished the buildings and Gibraltar Avenue stands on the site.

See Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited&58; Roll of Honour, Henry Campbell & Company, Grove Brewery, Brearley, John Edward Hyde, Mungo Pape, J. Pollard & Company, Cyril Rothery and Harry Wadsworth

Campbell's: Henry Campbell & CompanyRef C1590
Gas & oil engine makers at Siddal Wharf [1905].

See Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited

Campbell, HughRef C568
[1860-1950] Born in Glasgow.

He designed a cold starting crude oil engine and a stationary engine driven by coal gas for use in generating electricity. His design for the gas engine was accepted by a Leeds firm and he moved to Yorkshire.

In 1880, his father was appointed chief carpet designer for J. W. & C. Ward, and the family moved to Halifax. Robert Dempster offered to build the engines for him. He set up business at Stone Dam Works, Halifax.

He founded the Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited. He built new premises for the company at Gibraltar Road, Halifax.

Locally, his engines were installed at the Halifax Guardian office [1892], and the Halifax Theatre Royal.

He was a founder member of West End Golf Club. He presented a silver cup to the club.

He lived at Newstead, Halifax.

He had a large collection of rare books, some of which raised £8000 at auction in 1927 after the business had closed.

In 1930, he became manager of an iron works in Blackburn

Campbell, James B.Ref C1385
[18??-19??] He lived at Springfield House, Halifax [1905]

Campbell, Martin F.Ref C1045
[1967-2007] He served as a Corporal with the 1st Battalion Royal Irish Regiment.

He died 16th December 2007 (aged 40).

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Campbell, Dr MichaelRef C932
[1???-19??] Son of a Halifax headmaster.

In 1936, he wrote a study of slum life in London entitled Duke Street [publ Methuen]

Campbell, Rev P.Ref C1709
[18??-18??] Recorded [1853] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery

Campbell, Roy DouglasRef C2163
[1918-1944] Son of Jessie & James Campbell.

In [Q2] 1944, he married Clarice Woodyott in Calder District.

They lived at Triangle.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders.

He died 6th July 1944 (aged 26).

He was buried at Kingston Cemetery, Portsmouth [Grave Ref: 38A 2 9]

Campbell, Dr Ruth MillicentRef C1163
[19??-19??] MRCS, LRCP.

She qualified at London [1934], and was Assistant Medical Officer of Health for Maternity & Child Welfare, Halifax [1942].

She lived at The Vicarage, Holmfirth, Huddersfield [1935, 1940].

a Ruth Millicent Campbell [11th April 1907-1974] died in Paddington, London [Q1 1974] (aged 66) 

Campbell, Thomas VincentRef C2617
[1864-19??] Born in Ireland.

He was a medical missionary [1901].

In [Q3] 1891, he married Florence Gertrude Longbottom in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Arthur [b 1896]
  2. Agnes G [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • Heath Bank, Halifax [1895]
  • 1 Gransmere Place, Halifax [1901]
  • Jammalamadugu, Cuddapah, Madras [1900-1910]
  • Chikbalapur, by Bangalore, India [1920]
  • 30 Conniston Drive, Edinburgh [1925-1942]

The couple practised medicine in Southern India, before returning to live in Edinburgh.

Thomas died before 1952.

Florence Gertrude died in Edinburgh [4th August 1952]

Campbell, WalterRef C994
[1851-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a piece examiner in dyehouse [1901, 1911].

In 1896, he married Lucy Tordoff [1852-19??].


Lucy was born in Wibsey, the daughter of
John Tordoff
 

Children:

  1. Willie

The family lived at

  • the Stump Cross Inn (with Lucy's family) [1901]
  • Melbourne Street, Lee Mount (with Lucy's family) [1911]

Campbell, WilliamRef C143
[1818-1892] He was a chimney sweep [1848] / (possibly) landlord of the Hop Pole, Halifax [1864] / landlord of the King Cross Inn [1871].

On 12th August 1848, he married Ellen Lister at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.


Ellen was the daughter of Joshua Lister
 

Children:

  1. Eliza [1856-1898]
  2. Fred [b 1857] who died 25th May 1859 (aged 1 year & 6 months), & was buried with his Lister grandparents at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3442]
  3. Sarah Jane [1860-1888]
  4. Agnes [b 1864]
  5. Annie [b 1867]
  6. Alice Mary [b 1870]

Ellen died in 1877.

After her death, he moved to Starbeck, near Harrogate, and ran the Harrogate Hotel there.

William died at Starbeck in 1892.

The couple were buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross

Campbell, WillieRef C1776
[1897-1918] Son of Walter Campbell.

Born in Halifax.

He was an office boy for solicitor [1911]

During World War I, he enlisted [1916], was commissioned [June 1918], and served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 2nd/4th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He died 4th November 1918 (aged 21).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [23rd November 1918].

He was buried at Ruesnes Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I B 8].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Lee Mount Baptist Church, Ovenden

Campe, Donald CharlesRef C989
[1914-1993] Landlord of the Sportsman, Midgley [1955-1956]

Campenott, JohnRef C733
[17??-1???] One of the trustees of Sir William Staines's School

Campola Tea CompanyRef C1574
Tea dealers in Halifax Borough Market [1905]

Can Bottoms, WalsdenRef C886
Aka Bottoms

Can you help?Ref C440
The Foldout lists some topics on which I should welcome your help and assistance

CanadaRef C1566

Canal basinRef C634
See Brighouse canal basin, Elland canal basin, Hebden Bridge Marina, Salterhebble canal basin and Sowerby Bridge canal basin

Canal interpretation centreRef C639
Royd Works, New Road, Hebden Bridge. Opened in 2003.

See Hebden Bridge Tourist Information Centre

Canal Lock House, SalterhebbleRef C1935
Wakefield Road. The lock-keeper's cottage for the Salterhebble stretch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation. Built around 1820.

See Salterhebble Bottom Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock and Salterhebble Top Lock

Canal Road Bridge, Sowerby BridgeRef C1922
Bridge which carries Canal Road over the Calder & Hebble Navigation to join Fall Lane and Mearclough Road

Canal Yard Livery Stables, TodmordenRef C2148
Recorded in 1990, when Todmorden & District Carriage Company Limited were here

CanalsRef C23

Candelatt, CharlesRef C900
[18??-19??] Engineer and plumber.

He lived at Croft Cottage, Brighouse

Canham, Henry Robert FieldRef C1773
[18??-18??] BA.

Educated at St John's College Cambridge. He was Assistant Master at Heath Grammar School [1876]

Canker Dyke, EllandRef C841
Ainley Top. Stream of which the waters were said to have healing powers.

See Bath Tavern, Elland

Cann, Rev G.Ref C297
[18??-19??] Recorded [1922] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery

Cannan, PRef C1157
[18??-1???] He is recorded [1872] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery

Cannane, GeraldRef C1248
[1811-1862] Son of Michael Cannane, labourer.

Born in Limerick, Ireland.

He was a private soldier [1844] / a superannuated 61st Regiment of Foot [1851] / a mason's labourer [1861] / a mason [1876].

On 4th May 1842, he married Nancy Marsden [1822-1871] at Halifax Parish Church.


Nancy was born in Rastrick, the daughter of Jesse Marsden, joiner
 

Children:

  1. Michael [b 1845]
  2. Mary [1847-1851]
  3. Sarah Ann [b 1849]
  4. Catherine [b 1852] who married Charles Richard Payne
  5. Jane [b 1856]
  6. Annie C. [b 1857]
  7. Harriet [b 1858]

The family lived at

  • Bridge Street, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1851]
  • Daisy Croft, Brighouse [1861]

Gerald died 18th September 1862.

Nancy died Q2 1871 (aged 49) 

Canning, CharlesRef C835
[1854-1921] Born in Halifax.

He was a cab driver [1881] / a carter [1891] / a mechanic's labourer [1901] / a scrap iron dealer / an iron broker's manager [1911].

He married (1) Sarah Ann Canning [1856-1899].


Sarah Ann was born in Halifax.

She was a mill hand [1881]

 

Children:

  1. Thomas William [1874-1909] who was a carter [1891]
  2. Maria [1878-1881]
  3. Mary A [b 1884] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  4. Ellen [b 1886]
  5. Catherine [b 1888] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  6. Charles
  7. Walter
  8. Joseph

Sarah Ann died in 1899.

In 1906, he married (2) Alice Bottomley [1861-19??] in Halifax.


Alice was a widow and had 2 children:

  1. Willie Bottomley [b 1895] who was a labourer worsted mill [1911]
  2. Mary Ann Bottomley [b 1897] who was a cotton spinner [1911]
 

The family lived at

  • 13 Senior Fold, Halifax [1881]
  • Senior Fold, Halifax [1891]
  • 32 Foundry Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 54 Alma Street, Pellon [1911, 1912]

Canning, CharlesRef C837
[1890-1958] Son of Charles Canning.

He was a brick maker's labourer [1911] / a brick maker [1914].

During World War I, he enlisted [2nd August 1914] with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)

There is no record of his seeing active service

Canning's Ideal BakeriesRef C1936
Recorded in 1936 & 1939, when they had stores at

  • 105 Commercial Road, Halifax
  • 27 Boothtown Road, Halifax
  • Kingsley House, Parkinson Lane, Halifax
  • 350 Ovenden Road, Halifax
  • Savile Park Street, Bell Hall

Canning, John WilliamRef C2093
[1911-1945] Son of Christiana & George Edward Canning.

In [Q3] 1931, he married Agnes Haigh in Halifax.

They lived at Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 144th (8th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment)  Royal Armoured Corps.

He was killed in action [7th January 1945] (aged 34).

He was buried at Hotton War Cemetery, Luxembourg [II D 8].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland, and on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Elland

Canning, JosephRef C838
[1894-1970] Son of Charles Canning.

Born 24th April 1894.

He was a cotton piecer [1911].

During World War I, he served with the Northumberland Fusiliers, and enlisted in Halifax [16th November 1915] with the Durham Light Infantry.

He was sent to France [1916] and demobilised [1919]

Canning, WalterRef C836
[1892-1915] Son of Charles Canning.

He was an apprentice iron moulder [1911] / an assistant iron dealer.

He joined the Territorial Army in Halifax [October 1912].

He transferred to the regular army [8th October 1915] and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [19th December 1915].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [1st January 1916].

He was buried at Talana Farm Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III F 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Canning, Walter LawrenceRef C1010
[1898-1980] Landlord of the Brown Cow, Sowerby Bridge [1954-1956]

Cannon Cinema, HalifaxRef C286

Cannon Hall, CliftonRef C728
A row of cottages. Demolished in 1???

Cannon, ThomasRef C1878
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 4 Smithy Yard, Haley Hill [May 1904]

Cant Clough, HeptonstallRef C845
A Neolithic or Bronze Age prehistoric implement – made of chert and limestone – was found here

Canteen, TodmordenRef C99
A densely-populated industrial area of Todmorden in the early 19th century.

Recorded in 1861.

The name comes from the Old Canteen Inn which stood there.

See Canteen Mill, Todmorden

The Canterbury, HalifaxRef C471
Small theatre adjoining the Talbot, Halifax.

It was described as a

a long, narrow room, reached by old wooden steps. It had a small, narrow stage. The seating accommodation consisted of plain wooden seats with backs, on to which were fixed ledges to hold the pint pots

By the 1920s, the premises were used as St Patrick's Catholic Church

Cantrill, E. W.Ref C1600
[18??-18??] Pastor at Wellington Road Baptist Church, Todmorden [1871-1875]

Cape Insulation LimitedRef C1444
The asbestos processing company moved into Acre Mill, Old Town, Hebden Bridge in 1939 in order to meet the demands for producing filters for gas masks during World War II.

At its height, the company employed 580 people at the mill.

In 1970, the company moved to Westmorland.

In the 1970s, deaths of many people who had worked at the factory began to cast doubts on the company's safety record, and the Department of Health conducted a public enquiry into the matter.

In October 2003, the Evening Courier called for an enquiry and revealed that an estimated 750 people died after working at the Acre Mill asbestos plant. Others – such as wives of employees – may have developed asbestos-related conditions.

At the time, it was not known that asbestos could lead to cancers, such as mesothelioma and asbestosis.

The company dumped asbestos waste at Heptonstall, Carr Head, Pecket Well, and Mount Skip.

Since 1975, Hebden Bridge Asbestosis Action Group has been campaigning for the Scout Road tip to be made safe.

In 1978, Hebden Royd Town Council proposed that the tip should be converted into a picnic site.

In June 2005, it was announced that Cape is to create a £40 million fund to pay for future asbestos-related compensation claims from British workers who are expected to file claims for at least the next 46 years. The Cape chairman said its proposal to set up the fund, review it every 3 years, and top it up with future injections of money should enable all claims to be settled

Cape, WilliamRef C145
[1898-1978] Born in Leeds [16th October 1898].

In 1922, he married Sarah Ellen Fossey in Halifax.


Sarah Ellen was the daughter of
Ernest George Fossey
 

Children:

  1. Kenneth [b 1923]
  2. Betty [b 1928]
  3. Terence W [b 1931]

The children were all born in Halifax

Capel-Hanbury, Isabel AdaRef C502
[1865-1887] In 1882, she married Harry Stanhope Rawson

Capener, JohnRef C33
[1849-19??] Born in Gloucester.

He was a brewer [1881] / a baker [1891, 1901, 1911].

Around 1873, he married Julia [1852-19??].


Julia was born in Blakeney, Gloucestershire
 

Children:

  1. Julia [b 1876] who was a cigar maker [1891]
  2. Annie [b 1880] who was a cigar box maker [1901], a box maker for cigar manufacturer [1911]
  3. Alice [b 1883] who was a silver cutter [1901], a silver chaser for manufacturer jeweller [1911]
  4. Elizabeth / Bessie [b 1885] who was a cigar maker [1901, 1911]
  5. Jane [b 1887] who was a pinafore maker [1901], an underclothing machinist [1911]
  6. James [b 1887] who was a metal spinner [1901, 1911]
  7. William Henry

The family lived at

  • 27 Vauxhall Road, Gloucester [1881]
  • 13 Arnold Street, Halifax [1891, 1901]
  • 26 Conway Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 26 Conway Street, Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1917]

Capener, William HenryRef C1676
[1890-1917] Son of John Capener.

Born in Gloucester. His family were in Halifax by 1891.

He was a French polisher [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 21st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He went to France [17th June 1916].

He was killed whilst on duty in the Langemarck area of Yser Canal [30th September 1917] (aged 27).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [13th October 1917].

He was buried at Bard Cottage Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref IV I 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Park Congregational Church, and on the Memorial at Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel

Capron, ThomasRef C1876
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 60 Copley Street [15 lodgers in 1903]

Capronnier, Jean BaptisteRef C260
[1814-1891] A Belgian from Brussels who produced much stained glass work in Britain, mainly in the north of England – local examples include the Unitarian Church, Todmorden. He is recognised by his use of vibrant colours

Capstack, JosephRef C1635
[18??-18??] Botanist.

He lived at Hemingway's Row, New Bank, Halifax [1874]

Carcroft, WilliamRef C1863
[1783-18??] He served with the 2nd Battalion 84th Foot York & Lancaster Regiment in the Peninsular War

Card Clothing & Belting LimitedRef C1521
Of West Grove Mills, Halifax. The company was registered on 8th March 1924 and was formed to acquire the undertakings of A. Duckworth & Sons Limited, Critchley, Sharp & Tetlow Limited, Fleming, Birkby & Goodall Limited, James Taylor & Sons Limited, Joshua Lister & Sons Limited, Tom Briggs, W. H. Webster (Wirecards) Limited, and W. V. Middleton Limited. They owned factories at Shipley, Brighouse, Cleckheaton, Fleetwood, Halifax, Mirfield, Northallerton, Pendleton, Rochdale and Yarm.

In 1949, officers of the company included Clement Vernon Wright [Chairman], W. C. Womersley FCIS, ASAA [Managing Director], E. C. Clegg [Director], A. F. Firth [Director], Lord Ffrench [Director], H. D. Leather FCA [Director], J. A. Wright [Director], and George Lister MBE [Secretary]

Carding SpecialistsRef C1688
An early name for Crosrol Limited

Cardus, JohnRef C2171
[1848-1914] Son of Thomas Cardus [1814-18??].

Born in Skipton. He moved to Halifax about 1885.

He was a member of Providence Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Queens Road / a hosier & draper at King Cross / a hosier & draper at the corner of Lord Street [for 24 years] / a hosier, retailer of wool and woollen clothing at 57 Commercial Street, Halifax [1915, 1922] / sole local agent for Dr Jaeger's sanitary woollen items.

In [Q4] 1869, he married Sarah Hannah Kidd [1848-19??] in Bradford.


Annie was born in Addingham, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Annie Eliza [1872-1883]
  2. Harry [b 1875]
  3. Marion [b 1880]
  4. Wilfred [b 1883]
  5. Tom A. [b 1884]
  6. Norman [b 1892]

The family lived at

  • King Cross Road, Halifax [1881]
  • Victoria Terrace, Halifax [1891]
  • Eversley Mount, Halifax [1901]

About 1908, he went to live in Southport on account of his health, and still commuted to supervise his business in Halifax.

He died at Southport [13th March 1914] (aged 66).

He was buried at at Southport [17th March 1914]

Cardwell, ErnestRef C24
[1888-1917] Son of John Cardwell.

He was employed by Oates & Green Limited.

He was a reservist and served for 7 years with the Army in India. He had been home for 15 months when World War I broke out.

During World War I, he was called-up [1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was awarded the Pip, Squeak & Wilfred.

He was engaged in transport work, and was feeding his horses when he was hit. He died of his wounds at No.21 Casualty Clearing Station in France [1st December 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [2nd February 1918].

He was buried at Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery, Manancourt, France [Grave Ref VI E 3]

Cardwell, Francis MooreRef C1200
[1863-1936] The surname is often recorded as Moore-Cardwell

Son of Samuel Cardwell

Born in Brighouse [27th November 1863].

He was a chemist's assistant [1881]

He carried on his father's chemistry business at 98 Commercial Street, Brighouse.

He married (1) Elizabeth [1865-1904].


Elizabeth was born 4th May 1865
 

Children:

  1. Samuel Kenneth Moore Cardwell [b Brighouse 25th July 1889]

Elizabeth died 29th January 1904.

In [Q1] 1919, he married (2) Maria Exley Greenwood [1872-1928] in Halifax.


Maria was born 16th April 1872
 

Maria died 3rd July 1928.

Francis died 3rd December 1936.

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Cardwell, JamesRef C160
[1824-1876] Born in Clifton.

He was a coal miner [1851, 1861] / landlord of the White Horse, Rastrick [1871].

In [Q4] 1849, he married (1) Jane Walton [1824-1864] in Halifax.


Jane was born in Clifton
 

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1850] who was a silk twister [1871]
  2. John
  3. William [b 1854] who was a silk dresser [1871]
  4. Sarah [b 1856] who was a silk twister [1871]
  5. Rachel [b 1860]
  6. Sam [b 1859] who was a tailor [1881]
  7. Agnes [b 1861]
  8. Jane [b 1863]

Jane died in 1864.

In [Q4] 1864, he married (2) Sarah [1833-1895] in Halifax.


Sarah, née Crossley, was born in Ardsley, and was the widow of of David Beard
 

Children:

  1. Charles [b 1866] who was an apprentice plumber [1881]
  2. Annie [b 1868] who was a woollen piecer [1881]
  3. Lilley [b 1871] who was a silk mill hand [1891]
  4. George Arthur [b 1874] who was a wire drawer [1891]
  5. Harry [b 1876] who was an errand boy [1891]

The family lived at

  • Thomas Fold, Hartshead-cum-Clifton [1851]
  • Thornhill, Clifton [1861]
  • Carlton House, Rastrick Common [1891]

James died in 1876.

After James's death, Sarah took over at the White Horse [1881]

Cardwell, JohnRef C2632
[1852-1911] (Possibly) son of James Cardwell.

He was a labourer [1871] / a gas stoker and worked at Halifax Gas Works [for 30 years].

In [Q1] 1878, he married (1) Ellen Bulman [1851-1897] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Susannah [1879-1920]
  2. Emma [1881-1951]
  3. Ernest
  4. Ivy [1891-1923]

Ellen died Q2 1897 (aged 46).

In [Q2] 1903, he married (2) Jane Wilcock in Halifax.


Jane [née Briggs] was the widow of William Wilcock
 

The family lived at 3 Brooklyn Place, New Road, Halifax [1918].

John died after an accident at Halifax Gas Works [1911]

Cardwell, SamuelRef C1035
[1821-1910] Born in Thornhill [17th June 1821].

He was a chemist & druggist [1851, 1881].

He established a chemistry business at Commercial Buildings, Brighouse.

He lived at

  • Commercial Street, Brighouse, with his sister Matilda (b 1828) [1851]
  • Commercial Street, Brighouse, with his sister Matilda (b 1828) [1851], and Charles Roebuck (b 1843) (apprentice chemist & druggist) [1861]
  • 36 Commercial Street, Brighouse, with his nephew Henry Cardwell (b 1850) (b 1843) (apprentice chemist & druggist) [1871]

In [Q3] 1872, Samuel married Ellen Moore [1832-1887] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Brighouse [28th June 1832]
 

Children:

  1. Francis Moore who carried on his father's business

The family lived at

  • 35 Commercial Street, Brighouse [1881]
  • Woodbank, Brighouse [1891]

Ellen (possibly) died 28th August 1887.

Samuel died 28th December 1910 (aged 89).

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Caretaker's House, Blackley ChapelRef C235
Built in 1789. This was the original Blackley Particular Baptist Church.

When the new chapel was built in 1878, the old Church became redundant, and, after standing unused and neglected, this became the caretaker's house.

It is now 2 separate dwellings

Carew, JohnRef C928
[18??-18??] Postmaster for Halifax [1863-1867]

The Carey family of EllandRef C1284
They operated several boats on the canals locally

Carey, AnitaRef C2427
[1948-] Born in Halifax.

In the late 1960s, she worked in the Sales Department at Kosset Carpets.

She became an actress and appeared in many TV rôles including

  • I didn't know you cared [1975] where she played Pat
  • Coronation Street [1996] where she played Joyce Smedley
  • Still Crazy [1998] where she played a Tax Woman
  • Doctors [2009] where she played Vivien March

Carey, ErnestRef C245
[1873-1900] He lived at Fountain Street, Hebden Bridge.

He worked for Uttley & Company at Stubbing Dye Works.

He was a regular soldier [1891-1898]. He served in the Chitral Expedition [1895], Gibraltar, Burma, & Ireland.

During the South African Wars, he was called-up as a reservist, and served as a Corporal with the East Lancashire Regiment.

He was killed in action in a night attack at Karee Siding, north of Bloemfontein [29th March 1900] (aged 27).

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, on West View Park War Memorial, and on Hebden Bridge War Memorial

Carey, Peter Denzil O'DowdRef C2156
[1923-1943] Son of Major Rupert O'Donoghue Carey.

Born 24th May 1924.

He was educated at Sherbourne School & Halifax Tech.

During World War II, he enlisted [1942], and served as a Pilot Officer with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He trained in Canada.

He died 28th January 1943.

He is remembered on the family grave at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden, on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 131], on Ripponden War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

Carey, Rev Ronald Clive AdrianRef C985
[1921-19??] He served at Birmingham, at Chichester, and at Keighley before becoming Vicar of Illingworth [1955-1959]. He left to work at the Religious Broadcasting Department of the BBC [1959-1968], then served at Claygate, at Emley and at Guildford

Carey, Rupert O'DonoghueRef C390
[1892-1961] He was a major in the Duke of Wellington Regiment.

He married Dorothy Evelyn Cave-Thomas [1892-1964].

Children:

  1. Stephen S.
  2. Peter Denzil O'Dowd

The family lived at Green Shutters, Ripponden.

Members of the family were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

Carey, Stephen S.Ref C410
[1921-2011] Son of Rupert O'Donoghue Carey.

In [Q3] 1952, he married Anne M. Hickman in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Julia [1953-2012] who married Mr Hall

Members of the family were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

Cargill, Rev J. R.Ref C1025
[19??-19??] Minister at West Vale Baptist Church. In 1956, he moved to South Shields

Carholes Clough, TodmordenRef C882
Lydgate. There was a brickworks here in the 18th century

Carle, PeterRef C818
[1856-1929] Born in Halifax.

He was a carpet finisher [1879].

On 14th October 1879, he married Mary Elizabeth Smith [1856-1929] in Halifax.


Mary Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Henry
  2. Edmund [1884-1955]
  3. Charles [1889-1901]

The family lived at 35 Range Lane, Haley Hill [1881, 1911, 1917]

Carle, Thomas HenryRef C833
[1882-1917] Son of Peter Carle.

He was a wire labourer [1911].

In [Q1] 1905, he married Louisa Drake in Halifax.

They lived at 2 Walker's Court, Cross Hills, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [5th December 1917].

He was buried at Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery, Manancourt, France [Grave Ref V D 19].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

In [Q3] 1919, Louisa married Harold S. Swift in Halifax

Carless, Rev FrankRef C913
[1922-19??] He served at Normanton and at Rashcliffe before becoming Vicar of Warley [1964-1978]

Carleton, Rev Edward BarringtonRef C976
[18??-19??] BA.

Curate-in-Charge at St Chad's Church, Hove Edge [1914]. In 1915, he was appointed vicar of Brownhill, Batley

Carley, Eric WilliamRef C266
[1915-1944] He lived at 26 Emscote Avenue, Halifax.

He worked for Jowett & Sowry.

During World War II, he enlisted [1941], and served as a Corporal with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment.

He died at sea [4th March 1944] (aged 29).

He is remembered on the Brookwood Memorial, Surrey, and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Carlile, Rev WilsonRef C320
[1847-1942] Church of England curate who founded the Church Army in 1882

Carline, George ReginaldRef C2345
[1885-1932] Son of Anne (née Smith) [1862-1945] & George Francis Carline [1855-1820].

He was on the staff of the Oxford English Dictionary / an assistant curator at the Wellcome Historical Medical Museum / at the Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford [1919-1926] / the first president of the Oxford University Archæological Society [1919]. before becoming Keeper at Bankfield Museum [1926-1932], succeeding Henry Ling Roth. He contributed to the Museum's collections on looms and weaving.

He was living at Warley in 1928, when his brother-in-law Stanley Spencer, who was married to George's sister Hilda Carline, painted his A gate, walls & fields, Halifax.

He died at Hampstead on 24th December 1932

Carling, ArthurRef C933
[1874-1946] Son of Robert Carling.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a fustian dyer [1901].

In 25th July 1896, he married Mary Elizabeth Jackson [1875-1950] at Heptonstall Church.

Children:

  1. Frank
  2. Norah [b 1900]
  3. Arthur

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1901] were sister-in-law Susannah Jackson [b 1872] (single, cotton spinner) and her son James (aged 1 month).

During World War I, Arthur was wounded at Ypres.

Sons Frank & Arthur died in World War I.

His nephew Clifford Adshead Carling also died in the War

Carling, ArthurRef C705
[1915-1943] Son of Arthur Carling.

He was a member of Eastwood Congregational Church / employed by James Mitchell, coal merchant.

In [Q4] 1933, he married Florrie Stokes in Todmorden.

Children:

  1. Ronald [b 1934]
  2. Marian [b 1936]

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 85th Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died as a POW [8th June 1943] (aged 30).

He was buried at Chungkai War Cemetery, Thailand.

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial.

His brother Frank also died in the War.

Their cousin Clifford Adshead Carling also died in the War

Carling, Clifford AdsheadRef C458
[1898-1918] Son of Maud Carling; only his mother was named on his baptism record.

Born in Todmorden [7th January 1898].

Baptised at Christ Church, Todmorden [20th October 1898].

In 1901, he was living with his grandmother Eliza Carling.

In 1911, he was living with his aunt Susan and uncle Joseph Youell.

He was a warehouseman [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 15th Battalion Royal Scots Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [30th November 1918].

He was buried at Berlin South-Western Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref VIII E 9].

He is remembered on Blackshawhead War Memorial, and on Todmorden War Memorial.

His cousins Frank & Arthur also died in the War

Carling, FrankRef C678
[1898-1917] Son of Arthur Carling.

Baptised [2nd July 1898].

He was a presser for James Cheetham & Sons.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Lancashire Fusiliers, then he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion King's (Liverpool Regiment).

He served in Gallipoli.

He died 27th September 1917 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 31-34, 162, 162A & 163A], on Blackshawhead War Memorial, and on Todmorden War Memorial.

His brother Arthur also died in the War.

Their cousin Clifford Adshead Carling also died in the War

Carling, MaudRef C937
[1872-1965] Daughter of Robert Carling.

She had a son Clifford Adshead Carling, father unknown.

She went into service in Manchester [1901], and in Somerset [1911]

She died in Cornwall

Carling, RobertRef C936
[1839-1???] Or Carlin.

Born in Beverley.

In [Q2] 1861, he married Eliza Bromby [1839-1909] in Beverley.


Eliza was born in Cottingham.

She was a dress maker [1881]

 

Children:

  1. Ada [b 1862] who was a cotton carder [1881]
  2. Susan [16th January 1863-6th January 1951] who was a cotton carder [1881] & married Joseph Youell
  3. Emma a [b 1867] who was a cotton carder [1881]
  4. Alfred [b 1871] who was a throstle hand (cotton) [1881]
  5. Robert [b 1865] who was a cotton spinner [1881]
  6. Maud
  7. Arthur
  8. Laura [b 1878]

The family lived at

  • Lacy Laith, Stansfield [1871]
  • 52 Cockden Hill, Stansfield [1881]
  • Wellfield Terrace, Todmorden [1901]

Living with the widowed Eliza [in 1901] was Clifford, the illegitimate son of daughter Maud

Carlisle, ThomasRef C738
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Army Service Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carlton, A. E.Ref C2362
[1???-19??] Established the Carlton Café and a confectionery business at 17-19 The Arcade

Carlton, Benjamin Harold AckroydRef C273
[1879-1947] Son of Samuel John Carlton.

Born in Halifax.

He moved to Bradford with his parents when a child.

He was a police sergeant [1911] / a retired chief constable [1925].

He married Emma Maud Dunn [1878-1925] at St Mary's, Laisterdyke [7th January 1903].

Children:

  1. Jack [1907-1979]

The family lived at 139 Thornbury Avenue, Bradford [1911].

Mary died in Kent [22nd February 1925].

Benjamin Harold died in St Luke's Hospital, Bradford [Q2 1947].

His home address was in Folkestone, Kent

Carlton Café, HalifaxRef C1909
In the premises of confectioner A. E. Carlton at 17-19 The Arcade.

Recorded in 1936, when A. Wilkinson was the proprietor

Carlton Chambers, HalifaxRef C2348
Office accommodation at Bull Green / King Cross Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Carlton, CharlesRef C747
[1829-19??] Local authority on antiquarian relics

Carlton, Rev E. B.Ref C579
[18??-19??] Curate at Elland [1905] and Curate at Brighouse [1920-1924]

Carlton, HaroldRef C2028
[1907-1946] Son of Lottie (née Booth) & Charles Carlton of Halifax.

He was a clerk in Halifax Corporation Health Department.

In [Q4] 1938, he married Suzanne Mary Moraghan in Halifax.

They lived in 12 Crestfield Drive, Pye Nest, Halifax.

During World War II, he enlisted [October 1942], and served as a Driver with the Royal Corps of Signals in North Africa.

He died in Malta General Hospital [16th January 1946] (aged 39).

He was buried at Imtarfa Military Cemetery, Malta [1 7 14.]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Carlton, HarryRef C2001
[1877-1907]

In [Q2] 1901, he married Annie Eliza Mallinson.


Annie Eliza was the daughter of
John Mallinson
 

Children:

  1. Leslie Greville [b 1903]
  2. Neville Graham [b 1905]

Harry (possibly) died in Hallifax in 1907 (aged 30).

In 1911, Annie Eliza was a baker/confectioner and refreshment house keeper living at 24, Clare Street, Halifax. Her widowed mother Maria was housekeeper & head of the household

Carlton House, HalifaxRef C1973
Number 2, Carlton House Terrace, Halifax. / Bull Close Lane

Built by Thomas Nicholl.

Owners and tenants have included

See Carlton House School, Halifax

Carlton, Samuel JohnRef C264
[1850-1902] Born in Teesdale.

On 16th June 1869, he married Annis Elizabeth Akroyd at Halifax Parish Church.


Annis Elizabeth was the daughter of
Jonathan Akroyd
 

Children:

  1. Lewis John who died 1st April 1870, aged 4 months, & was buried with his Akroyd grandparents
  2. Ada [b 1871]
  3. Benjamin Harold Ackroyd
  4. Louisa Baxendale [1882-1943]

Samuel John died in Wharfedale

Carlton Street Register Office, HalifaxRef C1937
Originally a house built in the 1830s.

In 1878, the Halifax Register Office moved into the building. They left in 2009. The building was put up for sale

Carlton, W. S.Ref C638
[1896-1918] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 6th Battalion The Buffs (East Kent Regiment).

He died 26th September 1918 (aged 22).

He was buried at St. Sever Cemetery Extension, Rouen, France [Grave Ref R II N 21].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carlyle, JohnRef C1873
[1843-1903] Born in Scotland.

He was a policeman.

In 1874, he married Elizabeth Mawer [1854-1927] in Skipton.


Elizabeth was born in Grassington
 

Children:

  1. Wallace

The family lived at 45 Gordon Street, Elland [1911]

Carlyle, WallaceRef C689
[1880-1916] Son of John Carlyle.

Born in Guiseley.

He was a fettler in a woollen mill.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 8th December 1916 (aged 36).

He was buried at Holywell Green Congregational Church [58].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial

Carmichael, AlexanderRef C147
[1852-1903] He was a member of Brighouse Borough Fire Brigade [from 1878] / a member of the Brighouse Company of the 1st Volunteer Battalion Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment.

He lived at Back Bonegate, Brighouse.

He was killed when he was fell from the fire engine as it sped to a fire at Alexandra Mills, Brighouse on 26th October 1903

Carmichael, J. B. H.Ref C1748
[18??-1880] He served as a Lieutenant with the 33rd Duke of Wellington's Own Regiment.

He and Lieutenant R. S. P. Robinson died in a landslip at Naina Tal India on 18th September 1880.

There is a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church

Carmichael, W.Ref C929
[18??-19??] Postmaster for Halifax [1913-1919]

Carmont, William Henry Brown DouglasRef C1279
[1895-1977] He was an assistant toffee boiler [1933].

On 14th January 1933, he married Nellie Tasker at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Nellie was the daughter of
Tom Tasker
 

Children:

  1. Colin [b 1933]

Carnation showRef C850
On 17th August 1829, a Carnation Show was held at the home of George Beswick, landlord of the Triangle Inn. The prize for the best bloomed carnation was a copper tea kettle.

See Halifax Floral Society

Carnegie, AndrewRef C28
[1835-1919] Scottish-American industrialist, businessman and philanthropist.

In 1901, he retired and devoted his time to philanthropic ventures.

In 1903, it was reported that

he has given, chiefly within the last two years, 730 library buildings

In 1904, he established the Carnegie Hero Fund to recognise acts of bravery in civilian life in the USA and Canada.

In 1908, he established the British Carnegie Hero Fund Trust in his native Dunfermline.

He had several links with the district: Foster Lane Methodist Church, Hebden Bridge, Halifax Technical School, Hebden Bridge Library, Skibo Castle, Dornoch, Sowerby Bridge Library, Evan Charles Sutherland-Walker and West End Congregational Church

Carnegie, Rev JohnRef C2668
[18??-1???] Methodist minister at Luddendenfoot [1893]

Carnegy, Canon P. C. A.Ref C578
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1918-1921]

Carnelley, Albert RichardRef C1037
[1870-1918] Son of Joseph Carnelley, coal merchant.

Born in Darton, Yorkshire.

He was a coal merchant of Horton Lane, Bradford [1893] / a coal merchant's manager [1901] / a coal merchant [1911] / a partner in Carnelley, Hoyle & Company, oil & colour merchants / a Councillor for Halifax East Ward [1916] / vice-chairman of the Gasworks Committee [1918] / vice-president of the Halifax Football Club / a member of Halifax Borough Club / a Freemason.

In 1893, he married Emily Briggs [1872-1923] at Halifax Parish Church.


Emily, of Causeway, Halifax, was the daughter of James Briggs, joiner & undertaker
 

Children:

  1. Joseph Arthur
  2. Kathleen Rosa [b 1902] who married George Willson

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1901] was widowed mother-in-law Selina Briggs [b 1837].

Albert Richard died at The Marsh [2nd November 1918] (aged 48).

Emily died 29th January 1923 (aged 50).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B35]

Carnelley, JosephRef C1938
[18??-19??] Coal merchant at Church Street, Halifax [1910, 1936]

Carnelley, Joseph ArthurRef C919
[1895-1916] Son of Albert Richard Carnelley.

Born in Southowram.

When he was 13, he was voted to the 3rd place in England to go to camp with Baden-Powell when the Boy Scout movement was beginning.

He was educated at Halifax New School / a member of the Halifax Hockey Club / a member of the King Cross Cricket Club.

After matriculating, he obtained a place with a mining engineer at Glass Houghton, Castleford.

During World War I, he enlisted in the 12th (Miners') Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry, where he obtained a commission. He went to France [4th March 1915]. He was promoted to Lieutenant and transferred to the 173rd Tunnelling Company Royal Engineers.

He died 16th June 1916 (aged 21).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [24th June 1916].

He was buried at Bailleul Communal Cemetery Extension, Nord, France [Grave Ref II E 203].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Southowram War Memorial, on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram, on the Memorial at Halifax Bowling Club, and on his parents' grave at St Anne's Church, Southowram. There is a memorial to him inside St Anne's Church

Carney, DanielRef C1143
[1899-1918] DCM.

Son of Mrs Julia Hardiman of 12 Pollard Street North, Charlestown Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Gloucestershire Regiment.

He died 21st March 1918 (aged 19).

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal.

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial, France [Grave Ref 40 & 41], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Carney, ThomasRef C1687
[1844-1895] Born in Ireland.

He was a labourer [1891].

In [Q2] 1872, he married Emma Sutcliffe [1846-1921] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1873] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a cotton cop reeler [1911]
  2. Rose E. [b 1874] who was a woollen piecer [1891]
  3. Thomas E. [b 1876] who was a cotton piecer [1891]
  4. Joseph [b 1877] who was a cotton piecer [1891], a cotton mule spinner [1911]
  5. Fred [1878-6th July 1925] who was a cotton piecer [1891], a house painter [1911]
  6. Emily [1880-1916] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  7. Willie

The family lived at

  • New Street, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1891]
  • South Parade, Stainland [1911, 1918]

Thomas died Q1 1895 (aged 51).

Emma died Q2 1921 (aged 75).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Carney, ThomasRef C1158
[1897-1916] Son of Mrs Julia Hardiman of 12 Pollard Street North, Charlestown Road, Halifax.

Born in Liverpool.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He was killed on the first day of the Battle of the Somme [1st July 1916] (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 1C], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Carney, Thomas EdwardRef C267
[1875-1900] Born in Halifax.

He lived at New Street, Stainland.

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at the Battle of Paardeburg Drift [18th February 1900].

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Carney, WillieRef C1840
[1884-1918] Son of Thomas Carney.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 4th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He died 8th October 1918.

He was buried at Guizancourt Farm Cemetery, Gouy, France [Grave Ref B 13].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Carpenter, HarryRef C1193
[1886-1916]

In [Q2] 1909, he married Betsy Wilson in Halifax.

They lived at 21 Market Street, Shade.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He was killed on the first day of the Battle of the Somme [1st July 1916] (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 1C]

Carpenter, HarryRef C680
[1886-1916] Of Todmorden.

In [Q2] 1909, he married Betsy Wilson in Halifax.

They lived at 21 Market Street, Shade, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 1st October 1917 (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 1C], in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden

Carpenter, John ArthurRef C2094
[1925-1944] Born in Stainland.

He was a hairdresser with Crowther of Elland (this was possibly Henry Denton Crowther).

In [Q2] 1944, he married Eleanor Warner in Calder District.

They lived at 29 Springfield Road, Elland.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 1st Battalion Rifle Brigade.

He was killed in action [4th September 1944] (aged 19).

He was buried at London Cemetery & Extension, Longueval, France [13 C 21].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial.

In [Q2] 1946, Eleanor married (2) Leslie Hubbard in Calder District

Carpenter, Rev Russell LantRef C1174
[18??-18??] BA.

He was Minister at Northgate End Chapel [1856-1864], Director of the Halifax Mechanics' Institute, and a Temperance worker and established Northgate End Band of Hope.

He is recorded [1857] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery.

He left Northgate End at Christmas 1864.

He was preacher there when the new Chapel opened on 2nd October 1872.

See Stoney Royd Cemetery

Carpenter, William C. A.Ref C452
[1926-2014] Aka Bill.

Born in Hackney.

He was a councillor for Rastrick [1980-1984] / a councillor for Northowram & Shelf [1984-2004] / Mayor of Calderdale [1992-1993 /] Deputy Mayor of Calderdale [1995-1996] / He was made a Freeman of the Borough in 2000

In [Q4] 1947, he married Margaret Masterson in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Paul
  2. Linda
  3. Amanda
  4. Philippa

Carpenter, William HenryRef C601
[1863-1937],

In [Q4] 1883, he married Clara Fitter [1866-1940] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William Henry

The family lived at 1 Back Salford, Todmorden [1911]

Carpenter, William HenryRef C547
[1893-1915] Son of William Henry Carpenter.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a weft packer.

He lived at 1 Back Salford, Todmorden.

During World War I, he enlisted in Todmorden, and served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in Turkey [15th July 1915].

He was buried at Redoubt Cemetery, Gallipolli [Special Memorial A 26].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden

Carpet industryRef C29

Carpet mosaicsRef C309
Also known as Crossley mosaics, these small carpet samplers were produced by a technique designed by Mr Schubert and exhibited by Crossley's Carpets at the Great Exhibition in 1851.

They were an extension of the firm's tapestry carpets. They were produced by arranging a sheaf of coloured wools – several feet in length – so that the end cross-section produced a picture or other design. A piece of hessian was then glued to the end of the sheaf and a thin section sliced off, leaving the picture or design fixed to the backing. They were often framed.

When People's Park opened in 1857, employees received a souvenir mosaic in the form of a lapel badge. These measured 6 in by 3½ in and depicted 2 roses within a double oval with the words

Dean Clough Mills 14th August 1857

and Francis Crossley's initials between the words

People's Park

Carpet mosaics were produced until around 1869 when Mr Schubert emigrated to America

Carpets International LimitedRef C1503
Of Kidderminster. A conglomerate of several carpet companies including The Carpet Manufacturing Company Limited, Croslee Yarns Limited, John Crossley & Sons Limited, Debron Carpets Limited, Gilt Edge Carpets Limited, E. Illingworth & Company (Bradford) Limited, and Kosset Carpets Limited

Carpmael, JohnRef C849
[1750-1815] Son of Thomas Carpmael of Staffordshire.

He was the Deputy Constable of Halifax [1805] and innkeeper of the Upper George Inn, Halifax.

See Forestall

Carpmael, SarahRef C1912
[1779-1831] Daughter of John Carpmael.

Born in Pudsey.

She married William Tongue.

She was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Carpmael, WilliamRef C1130
[1784-18??] Son of John Carpmael. He was innkeeper of the Upper George Inn, Halifax.

In December 1819, he was declared bankrupt

Carr...Ref C1265
The entries for people & families with the surname Carr are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Carr & Craggs MoorRef C4740
A part of Todmorden Moor at an elevation of 1400 ft

Carr Barn, WalsdenRef C4820
Owners and tenants have included

Carr Cliffe, WarleyRef C2072
Built by Sam Sutcliffe. He started building the house on 9th July 1906 and moved in on 30th November 1906.

It stands opposite the Warley Institute.

It was refurbished in 2010

Carr Cliffian ClubRef C1491
Founded 13th April 1909

Carr Green Nursing Home, RastrickRef C1340
This was formerly the Carr Green Lane School, Rastrick

Carr Green Workhouse, LangfieldRef C43
This is now private dwellings.

Carr Hall Castle, Holywell.GreenRef C1981

Carr Hall Falls, StainlandRef C1975


Question: Is this water source associated with Outram's Mill and/or Outram's Dam?

 

Carr Hall Farm, Holywell GreenRef C1634
See Walter Helliwell

Carr Hall Valley, StainlandRef C1980

Carr Hall Well, Holywell GreenRef C826
A well. There is a walled-off section.

See Holy Well, Holywell Green and St Helen's Well, Holywell Green

Carr HouseRef C182
Area of Todmorden

Carr House Estate, TodmordenRef C13
Housing estate at Carr House

Carr House Farm, MytholmroydRef C2418

Carr House Farm, ShelfRef C695
Carr House Road. Early 17th century house. It stands between Shelf Parish Church and Bethel Chapel.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 2 dwellings

Carr House Farm, TodmordenRef C1778
Carr House Lane. Aka Carr House Fold. Hall and cross wings house dated 1618.

Owners and tenants have included

Carr House, MidgleyRef C2327
Owners and tenants have included

Carr Laithe, TodmordenRef C660
House which stood on the path known as Lovers' Walk. The house was demolished in 19??

Carr of YorkRef C31
Popular name of York architect John Carr

Carr, SowerbyRef C1289
Around 1750, Luke Farrar allowed the newly-formed Methodist group to holding meetings in his cottage here.

When this became too small, a new Chapel was erected [1787] (at a cost of £420) 

Carr's Wallpaper StoresRef C1818
High-class painters and decorators.

They were at 55 Crown Street and 56 Southgate, Halifax [1836, 1952].

In 1936, the proprietor was Mrs Elizabeth Carr

Carr Well, LuddendenRef C722
New Road. 2 early 19th century cottages. Now a single dwelling

Carr Wood House, ShelfRef C982
Built by Samuel Peel who also had a grocer's shop there.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Carr Wood, ShelfRef C971
A large forested area is recorded in the 19th century

Carre, ArthurRef C269
[1922-1943] Son of Laura & John Carre of St Peter Port, Guernsey, Channel Islands.

He worked for Balmoral Greenhouses, Guernsey.

He was a refugee from Guernsey and lived at 79 Siddal Lane.

He married Unknown.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Hampshire Regiment.

He was killed in action at Salerno [9th September 1943] (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Cassino Memorial, Italy [Grave Ref 7], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Carrington BinnsRef C1697
Formed around 1982 when the Carrington Wire Division of SG Industries – who had factories at Barnsley and Birmingham – joined J. & A. Binns Limited.

They specialised in the manufacture of plating and drawing wires, and fine, high carbon wires.

In 1996, they moved from West Mount Mills, Halifax to Lowfields, Elland.

In April 2006, the business was sold to a Russian company Severstal-Metiz.

In January 2010, the Company – then known as Carrington Wire – announced that it would close

Carrington, Charles WilliamRef C420
[1866-1934] Born in Halifax.

He was landlord of the White Swan, Holmfield [1917] / (possibly) landlord of the Station Hotel, Holmfield [1934].

He died at the Station Hotel [3rd January 1934].

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Carrington, ThomasRef C1111
[1837-1899] Born in Ovenden.

He was landlord of the Crown Tavern, Halifax [1881, 1899].

In 1864, he married Sarah Ann Ingham [1837-1889] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Queensbury
 

Children:

  1. Charles Edward [1865-1931]
  2. Emily Ann [b 1873]
  3. Amy [b 1878]
  4. Robinson [b 1880]

Sarah died 3rd November 1889.

Thomas died at the Crown Tavern [3rd July 1899].

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Carrodus, John TipladyRef C743
[1836-1895] Born in Keighley, he became a nationally-famous violinist and teacher

Carroll, Coote AlexanderRef C2606
[1812-1886] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Horton [24th November 1812].

Baptised [22nd December 1812] at Bradford Cathedral.

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham.

He also had property in Ashford, County Wicklow, Ireland, where he was High Sheriff and a JP.

On 13th November 1843, he married Elizabeth Tayler in Dublin.

He died [6th January 1886] at Boston Spa.

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £41,151 17/1d

Carroll, Francis RawdonRef C2605
[1821-1868] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Guiseley.

He never married

He died [6th January 1868] at Boston Spa

Carroll, GeorgeRef C2604
[17??-18??] In 1806, he married Frances Hodsden, great-granddaughter of Richard Sterne.

Children:

  1. Coote Alexander
  2. Richard Sterne
  3. George Frederick
  4. Francis Rawdon

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham.

Carroll, GeorgeRef C350
[1882-1915] He worked as a plasterer's labourer for Rishworth & Firth, New Bank, Halifax.

In [Q1] 1909, he (possibly) married Catherine Agnes Cretsey in Halifax.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child

The family lived at 8 Swan Court, Cross Hills, Halifax. He was a reservist and fought in the South African Wars.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by a sniper whilst bringing in the wounded [22nd December 1915] (aged 33).

Carroll

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Carroll, George FrederickRef C1919
[1817-1889] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Hawksworth.

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham.

He never married.

He died at Boston Spa [17th April 1889].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £36,732 17/1d

Carroll, JamesRef C715
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carroll, JamesRef C1972
[1860-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was an overlooker (carpet works) [1891] / a carpet printing overlooker [1901].

In 1883, he married Jane Broomhall [1861-19??] in Halifax.


Jane was born in Liverpool.

She was a charwoman [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Clement [b 1885] who was a worker in carpet printing [1901]
  2. Alice [b 1888] who was a worsted spinner factory hand [1901], a filler [1911]
  3. Ethel [b 1889]
  4. James
  5. Thomas [b 1896] who was a labourer [1911]

The family lived at

  • 11 Milk Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 13 King Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 12 Beacon Parade, Halifax [1911]

Sons James, Clement and Thomas served in World War I. James died in the War

Carroll, JamesRef C1968
[1893-1916] Son of James Carroll.

Born in Halifax.

In 1911, he was a Private with the West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own), at the Sobraon Barracks, Circular Road, Colchester, Essex.

In [Q1] 1915, he married Johanna C. Meehan in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Bernard [b 1915]

The family lived at 5 Crossley Court, Fleet Street, Halifax [1916].

He was in Malta when World War I broke out.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was in one of the first drafts to be sent to France.

He died 25th October 1916.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [18th November 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2A, 2C & 2D], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

His brothers Clement and Thomas also served in the War

Carroll, JohnRef C364
[18??-191?] He was (possibly) employed by the Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited

Carroll, JohnRef C185
[1883-1917] Son of Michael Carroll.

He was a cotton mule piecer [1901] / a cotton piecer [1911] / employed by Clay Brothers at Willow Hall Mills [1916].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed in an accident [9th February 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [24th February 1917].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2C], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Luddendenfoot War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited.

His brother Michael also died in the War

Carroll, Leslie JosephRef C1993
[1921-1943] Son of Annie & Bernard Carroll of 16 Lake View, Woodside, Halifax.

He was an apprentice moulder with Hirst & Sons at Pellon and a Territorial.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion the Parachute Regiment, A.A.C.

He died of wounds [10th March 1943] (aged 22).

He was buried at Tabarka Ras Rajel War Cemetery, Tunisia [3 C 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Carroll, MichaelRef C1038
[1848-1904] Born in Ireland.

He was a general labourer [1881] / a mason's labourer [1891] / a stonemason's labourer [1901]

In 1879, he married either Mary Cahill or Mary Ward [1857-19??] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Rathdowney, Ireland
 

Children:

  1. Maria [b 1881] who was a mill hand [1891], a worsted winder [1901]
  2. John
  3. Kate [b 1884] who was a worsted frame rover [1901], a cotton doubler [1911]
  4. Thomas Edward [1886-1896]
  5. Annie E [b 1888] who was a worsted frame spinner [1901], a worsted twister [1911]
  6. Michael
  7. Patrick [b 1891] who was a carter [1911]
  8. James [b 1893] who was a labourer [1911]

The family lived at

  • Causeway Head, Warley [1881]
  • 22 Spring Gardens, Friendly, Warley [1891]
  • 20 Spring Gardens, Luddendenfoot, Warley [1901, 1911]

Living with them [in 1881] were widowed mother Mary Carroll [b  1824] and a widowed relative Mrs Lynam [b 1831].

Sons John & Michael died in World War I

Carroll, MichaelRef C1039
[1889-1916] Son of Michael Carroll.

He was a member of St Walburga's Catholic Church, Luddendenfoot / a cotton mule piecer [1901] / a cotton piecer [1911] / employed by W. & R. K. Lee Limited at Lock Hill Mills, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted in early 1915, and served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [27th June 1916] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [22nd July 1916].

He was buried at Citadel New Military Cemetery, Fricourt, France [Grave Ref II E 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Luddendenfoot War Memorial, and on the W. & R. K. Lee Limited Roll of Honour.

His brother John also died in the War

Carroll, P.Ref C855
[1888-1915] Son of Mary Anne & Patrick Carroll, of Ardee, County Louth, Ireland

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd Battalion Royal Irish Rifles.

He died 1st May 1915 (aged 27).

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden [East Part]

Carroll, Richard SterneRef C2607
[1814-1879] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Horton.

Baptised at Bradford Cathedral [18th August 1814].

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham.

On 3rd December 1861, he married Louisa Rickaby née Boynton in Bridlington. At that time he was living at Tolston Lodge, Tadcaster.

He died in Scarborough [6th May 1879]

Carroll, RobertRef C984
[1873-1954] Born in Bradford.

He was a clay miner [1901, 1911].

In [Q3] 1894, he married Margaret Walsh [1873-1922] in Halifax.


Margaret was born in Glasgow.

She had a daughter Mary Elizabeth Walsh [b 1891]

 

Children:

  1. Robert Henry
  2. Catherine [b 1900]
  3. Margaret [1901-1905]
  4. Ann [b 1904]
  5. Agnes [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 22 Victoria Street North, Halifax [1901]
  • 3 Albert Street North, Haley Hill, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] was widowed mother-in-law Catherine Walsh [b 1841] (born in Ireland) 

Carroll, Robert HenryRef C983
[1894-1915] Son of Robert Carroll.

He was a doffer spinner [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He died 25th September 1915.

His family received notification of his death in March 1916.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th March 1916].

He was buried at Dud Corner Cemetery, Loos, France [Grave Ref VI J 12].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

The Carrs, MixendenRef C1260

Carruthers, Norman Roy WaughRef C367
[1898-1918] Son of Mrs Anne Carruthers of 17 Sydenham Road, Bradford.

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Coldstream Guards.

He died 27th August 1918 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3], and on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Carruthers, William GeorgeRef C383
[1895-1916] He lived at 14 Upper Cross Street, Wade Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1915], and he served as a Private with the 17th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 17th July 1916 (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2A, 2C 7 2D], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

CarsRef C1357

Carstairs, JamesRef C1673
[18??-18??] CE.

He lived at Elland Hall [1861]

Carter...Ref C557
The entries for people & families with the surname Carter are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Carter's: A. & M. CarterRef C1499
In 1886, Misses A. and M. Carter established a baby linen, underclothing and fancy repository at 9 Silver Street, Halifax

Carter & CompanyRef C1812
Manufacturers of worsted coatings at Grove Mills, Ovenden [1881]. The suffered around £14,000 when the Mills were destroyed by fire on 11th October 1881

Carter & Wright (Engineers & Machine Tools) LimitedRef C1428
Engineers, machine tool makers and nut and bolt manufacturers.

Partners included George Carter and Mr Wright.

They were at Hexagon Iron Works, Haley Hill [1905] and Hexagon Iron Works, Pellon Lane [1937]

Carter BrothersRef C1461
Commission worsted spinners at Kiln End Mills, Elland [1905]. Partners included Mann Carter

Carter's: Butter MerchantsRef C759
In 1805, John Carter set up business as a wholesale butter merchant and provisions dealer in Woolshops, Halifax [1805].

In 1826, the business moved to property in Cheapside which was owned by John Abbott.

Much of the building was used as a warehouse, with a shop facing the street.

His son Thomas Carter took over the business.

On John Abbott's death [1870], his property was sold, and Thomas bought the premises.

In 1883, Thomas bought adjacent property in Cheapside.

The retail department, facing into Cheapside, was one of the last shops in Halifax to retain Georgian bow windows divided into small panes. This was later swept away, and the front propped up on cast-iron stilts, and cased in with plate glass.

The business was still operating in 1906, but had closed by the end of 1910.

The premises remained in the ownership of Thomas Carter's trustees. Thomas's son George died in Blackpool [1943]. Following his death, the Carter family trustees finally sold the Cheapside premises

Carter's: John Carter LimitedRef C587

Recorded in 1940, when they were at Adelaide Street, Halifax

Carter's: W. L. Carter & CompanyRef C1506
Soap manufacturers at Dredger Soap Works, Halifax [1906]

Carter's: William Carter & Sons (Halifax) LimitedRef C1730
Worsted spinners at Spring Mills, Halifax [1937]

The Cartledge familyRef C1238
Around 1700, they bought land in Elland from the Langdale family at a low price. The land was rich in minerals. They mined the clay and coal.

Around 1720, they started Woodman House Pottery.

In 1802, Jonathan Cartledge built Woodman House, Elland

Cartledge, CharlesRef C3500
[1786-1827] Son of Dr Joseph Cartledge.

Born 28th May 1786.

He died 12th August 1827.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cartledge, DrRef C2669
[17??-18??] He succeeded Dr John Thompson as the Halifax physician.

He was a member of Northgate End Chapel

Cartledge, JamesRef C764
[1721-1793] Colliery owner.

He was a Deacon at Salendine Nook Baptist Church.

At one point, he was upset at being expelled from the church membership on account of [unspecified] family troubles in which the authorities accused him of not having proper control over his family. He vowed that he

would not sit down in that chapel again

He continued to attend the services, but stood throughout.

He further vowed that if God allowed him to prosper, he would build Him a house.

He acquired coal mines in Blackley and left Salendine Nook.

In 1789, he built Blackley Particular Baptist Church. He was largely encouraged by the miners to build the Church.

He preached at the Church for a short time, until 1792 when he persuaded Rev John Hindle to move from Elland.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. (possibly) Joseph
  2. (possibly) John

He died 18th June 1793.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard (in the old part).

See Elland Particular Baptist Church

Cartledge, JamesRef C1542
[1781-1828] Son of Dr Joseph Cartledge.

Born 3rd May 1781.

In 1813, he was a member of a Committee supporting those affected by the Luddites.

He died 6th February 1828.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cartledge's: James Cartledge & SonsRef C98
Earthenware manufacturers at Blackley.

Partners included James Cartledge, Joseph Cartledge, and John Cartledge.

In 1787, the business was dissolved by mutual consent, and it was carried on solely by John Cartledge


Question: Does anyone know if these gentlemen are members of the family of James Cartledge?

 

Cartledge, JohnRef C697
[1751-1809] Son of James Cartledge.

Born 2nd November 1751.

He was an active Baptist. With his father, he was instrumental in the founding of Blackley Baptist Church.

He married Betty, daughter of John Woodhead at Elland Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Mary [1782-1798]
  2. Hannah [1786-1860] who married Jonathan Taylor of Leeds

The family lived at Woodman House, Elland.

He died 15th July 1809.

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard.

See Captain Abraham Woodhead

Cartledge, JonathanRef C696
[17??-18??] In 1802, he built Woodman House, Elland. He worked Woodman House Pottery

Cartledge, JosephRef C1378
[17??-18??] In 1792, Joseph Cartledge and James Cartledge bought the Thornhill Briggs Estate at Brighouse which had passed from Mary Bedford and the Bedford family of Brighouse, to her relative George Newstead.

Cotton spinner at Thornhill Briggs Mill, Brighouse which he built around 1797.


Question: Does anyone know whether he was connected to the Cartledge family of Blackley?

 

He established Joseph Cartledge & Sons.

In 1825, he was declared bankrupt

Cartledge, Dr JosephRef C82
[1747-1815] MD.

(Possibly) son of James Cartledge.

Born 4th August 1747.

Physician.

He married Mary Woodhead at Elland Parish Church.


Mary was born at West Car in Dean Head [4th June 1756], the daughter of John Woodhead
 

Children:

  1. James
  2. Charlotte [1784-1861] who married Dr John Thomson [1782-1818]
  3. Charles

The family lived at

  • Brow Bridge, Greetland [1803]
  • Blackley [1815]

Mary died 25th February 1803 (aged 47).

Joseph died 3rd June 1815 (aged 68).

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard.

See Captain Abraham Woodhead

Cartledge's: Joseph Cartledge & SonsRef C1527
Cotton spinners established by Joseph Cartledge at Thornhill Briggs Mill, Brighouse [1790s]. Recorded in 1809

Cartledge Yard, BlackleyRef C4001

Cartlidge, HaroldRef C385
[1908-1943] Born in Leeds.

He was Classics master at Thorne Grammar School.

In [Q3] 1935, he (possibly) married Barbara Morton in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Anne V. [b 1939]

The family lived at 8 St Bevan's Road, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Flying Officer with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died of malaria in the Middle East [19th October 1943] (aged 35).

He was buried at Fayid War Cemetery, Egypt [Grave Ref 1 G 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cartlidge, James AlfredRef C467
[1895-1916] Son of Thomas Cartlidge.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a cotton twiner piecer [1911] / employed at Old House Mill.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [April 1915].

He had 3 brothers on active service.

He was killed on the Somme [5th August 1916] (aged 20).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th August 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and on the Memorial at Saint George's Church, Sowerby

Cartlidge, ThomasRef C466
[1847-1911] Born in Congleton, Cheshire.

He was a plate layer railway [1891], a railway platelayer [1901], and a flag man on railway [1911]

On 15th March 1868, he married (1) Ann Manley [1848-1883] in Congleton. Children:

  1. John Thomas [b 1869]
  2. Harriet [b 1872] who was a cotton reeler [1891]
  3. Edwin [1874-1892]
  4. Elizabeth [1874-1892] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a worsted winder [1901]
  5. George [b 1878]
  6. William [b 1882]

The children were born in Brereton / Brearton, Cheshire.

Ann died in 1883.

On 30th August 1888, he married (2) Sarah Jane Harrap [1804-1949] in Congleton.


Sarah Jane was born in Everton, Liverpool
 

Children:

  1. Robert [b 1888]
  2. Ann [1889-1892]
  3. Joe [b 1894] who was a cotton twiner piecer [1911]
  4. James Alfred
  5. Robert [1899-1971]
  6. William
  7. Ernest [1903-1975]

The family lived at

  • 30 Walker Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1891]
  • 28 Back Terrace Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 11 Terrace Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Thomas died in Sowerby Bridge [Q4 1911] (aged 64)  During World War I, 4 of the sons were on active service, including James Alfred who was killed in the conflict

Cartlidge, WilliamRef C167
[1901-1975] Son of Thomas Cartlidge.

On 21st January 1928, he married Nellie Frankland [1905-1980] at St George's Church, Sowerby.


Nellie was the daughter of Hanson Frankland.

She already had a daughter: Nora Frankland [1923-1997] who married George Habergham

 

Children:

  1. Dennis [1928-1929]
  2. Leslie [1930-1955]

Cartman, DavidRef C123
[1862-1???] Born in Thirsk, Yorkshire.

He was a warehouseman at flour mill [1891] / a grain warehouseman [1901] / a warehouseman at flour mill [1911].

Around 1884, he married Annie [1860-1???].


Annie was born in Whitby
 

Children:

  1. Ernest [b 1887] who was a worsted bobbin doffer [1901], a warehouseman at flour mill [1911]
  2. Henry
  3. William [b 1892] who was a chapel caretaker [1911]

The family lived at

  • 46 Prospect Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 3 Upper Brunswick Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 38 Greenwood Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 2 Bracken Hill, Pellon / 12 Green Lane, Halifax [1917]

Cartman, HenryRef C1662
[1890-1917] Son of David Cartman.

He was a grocer's shop assistant [1911] / employed by the L & Y Railway at Normanton.

During World War I, he enlisted [1915], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was slightly wounded, and later he was involved in a gas attack which killed many local soldiers [1915].

He was gassed [21st July 1917].

He died in the Second Canadian Hospital, France [1st August 1917] (aged 27).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th August 1917].

He was buried at Mont Huon Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV L 12A].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

One of his brothers was wounded but recovered

Cartwheel Centre, EllandRef C1974
A youth and community centre established in the former Temperance Methodist Chapel

Cartwright & NobleRef C603
Silversmiths at Halifax. Partners included Thomas Cartwright and Luke Noble.

In February 1840, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Cartwright, AnnieRef C1783
[1913-1951] Daughter of Edward Cartwright.

She was a secretary with R. Southern & Company.

She lived at The Brow, Halifax Road, Brighouse.

She was killed [24th September 1951] (aged 38).

In 1951, she & Mrs Mary Illingworth were travelling for a holiday in Switzerland.

Annie was driving along the main Paris-Dijon road when a tyre burst. The car hit a tree, and Annie was killed.

Mary was injured and was hospitalised in Troyes Hospital was a broken leg

Annie was buried at Brighouse Cemetery with her mother & sister

Cartwright, BenjaminRef C1720
[1870-1930] Son of George Cartwright.

Born in Holmfirth.

He was landlord of the Roundhill, Rastrick [1899-1906] / landlord of the Spring Gardens, Elland [1906-1930].

On 28th December 1889, he married Mary Elizabeth Hadfield [1869-1961] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Elizabeth was born in Rastrick
 

Children:

  1. Esther Annie [1890-1962] who was a woollen weaver [1911] & married Sam Barker
  2. Amy [1899-1979]

The children were born in Rastrick.

Benjamin died 21st May 1930.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £191 3/3d.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary Elizabeth.

After his death, Mary Elizabeth took over at the Spring Gardens [1930-1935].

After Mary Elizabeth left, son-in-law Sam Barker took over at the Spring Gardens [1935-1952].

Mary Elizabeth & daughter Amy died in Kent

Cartwright, EdwardRef C1740
[1868-19??] Born in Pickhill / Tickhill.

He was a farmer [1911].

In [Q4] 1903, he married Rebecca Skelton [1881-1967] in Thirsk.


Rebecca was born in Kilvington
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [1905-21st November 1987]
  2. Helen [b 1907]
  3. Percy [b 1910]
  4. Annie

The family lived at Clifton [1911].

Rebecca died 11th December 1967 (aged 86).

She & daughter Sarah were buried at Brighouse Cemetery with daughter Annie

Cartwright, GeorgeRef C1742
[1850-1939]

On 28th May 1870, he married Esther Mellor [1850-1880] at Holy Trinity Church, Holmfirth.

Children:

  1. Benjamin
  2. Mendelssohn
  3. Firth [1880-1963]

Cartwright, GeorgeRef C907
[1899-1918] Born in Rotherham.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Princess Charlotte of Wales's Royal Berkshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [23rd August 1918].

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 7], and on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Cartwright, JackRef C720
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Engineers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cartwright, JohnRef C2183
[1747-1794] Son of Mary (née Finkler) & William Cartwright.

He was a mercer and woollen draper in Halifax.

The family originated in Catterick and moved to Halifax in the mid-1700s.

On 15th December 1773, he married Mary, daughter of Thomas Milne at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. William
  2. John

John & Mary were buried at Halifax Parish Church

Cartwright, JohnRef C2184
[1777-1854] JP.

Son of John Cartwright.

He wrote A Memoir of the Milne family [1849] in which he describes his brother William's experiences at Rawfolds Mill and Grace Holroyd

He was a merchant in Warley.

On 4th October 1800, he married Elizabeth Tinkler at Kirkheaton.


Elizabeth was the daughter of Mary (née Atkinson) & James Tinkler
 

Children:

  1. John [1802-1804]
  2. John [1804-1879] who never married and became a Canon in Durham Cathedral
  3. James [1805-1815]

Soon after his marriage, he purchased The Hollins, Warley. Around 1814, the family moved to Norton, County Durham where he became a magistrate.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Cartwright, MajorRef C1775
[17??-1???] He attended Heath Grammar School [1750s]. He was an early advocate of Parliamentary Reform

Cartwright, MendelssohnRef C1269
[1877-1929] Son of George Cartwright.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was a dyer's labourer [1911] / landlord of the Wheat Sheaf, Elland [1923, 1929]

On 28th February 1903, he married Lena Marshall [1876-1948] at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.


Lena was born in Rastrick
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. Annie [b 1904]
  3. Nelly [b 1908]

Mendelssohn died at the Wheat Sheaf [22nd December 1929].

After his death, Lena took over at the Wheat Sheaf [1930]

Cartwright, ThomasRef C2063
[17??-18??] Watchmaker, clockmaker and jeweller at Crown Street, Halifax [1837]

Cartwright, WilliamRef C2182
[1774-1839] Son of John Cartwright.

Born and baptised in Halifax in 1774.

He was a captain in the Halifax Militia / a cloth dresser/finisher and dyer.

In 1812, he moved from Halifax to occupy the Mill at Rawfolds, near Liversedge. The area, was populated with small cropping shops.

He introduced the use of shearing frames at Rawfolds and his establishment was the only one of its kind.

In February 1812, a delivery of shearing frames destined for the mill had been attacked and destroyed by Luddites as it crossed Hartshead Moor; Cartwright and other mill-owners had been expecting trouble as weapons had been stolen from various parts of the parish.

On the evening of 11th April 1812, the mill was attacked by a Luddite mob of about 150 men led by George Mellor.

The Luddites also threatened Cartwright's pregnant wife and his children.

On another occasion, Cartwright was shot in Bradley Wood.

His brother John wrote A Memoir of the Milne family [1849] in which he describes William's experiences at Rawfolds Mill. The memoir makes no mention of the shooting in Bradley Wood.

On 12 May 1800 or 23rd October 1800, he married Sarah Atkinson.


Sarah was the daughter of Joseph Atkinson of Bradley Mill at Kirkheaton
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann (1801- 1821)
  2. a stillborn infant [buried 31st December 1804]
  3. William [1803-1806]
  4. Agnes [1806-1812]
  5. William Joseph (1808-1838)
  6. Sarah [1810-1825] who was buried at Halifax Parish Church
  7. Amelia [1812] who died in infancy

He was buried at Liversedge.

He was the model for Robert Moore in Charlotte Brontë's novel Shirley

Carveley, RichardRef C472
[18??-1915] Born in Leeds.

He lived at 73 Rhodes Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 7th December 1915.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [6A & 6B], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

The Carver familyRef C1233

Carver Clough, RishworthRef C2290
Named for Mr Carver and the Carver family

Carver, GeorgeRef C1836
[17??-18??] Dealer and chapman at Hipperholme.

In May 1807, he was declared bankrupt

Carver, MrRef C2289
[1???-18??] Landlord of the King's Arms, Rishworth [1827]. He also had a business as a carrier.

See Carver Clough, Rishworth

Carver, SamRef C218
[1829-1874] Born in Hipperholme.

He was an engine smith's mechanic [1829-1861] / a mechanic lodging at the Turk's Head, Sowerby Bridge [1871].

In [Q3] 1856, he married Hannah Shepherd [1829-1861] in Halifax.


Hannah was born in Halifax, the daughter of Joseph Shepherd
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [1857-30th January 1896] who was a worsted winder living with her uncle John Hirst Fawthrop [1881]
  2. Abigail who died 3rd November 1861 (aged 1 year) 

The family lived at Beech Terrace, Warley [1861].

Sam died 17th June 1874 (aged 45).

Hannah died 8th June 1861 (aged 32).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 709]

Carver, WilliamRef C2485
[1826-1???] Son of Mary [1796-18??] & Joah Carver [1796-18??], mechanic of Cleckheaton.

Born in Hightown.

He was mechanic and inn keeper at the Bee-hive, Halifax [1851].

Living with him [in 1851] were parents Mary and Joah Carver (machine maker), and brother Tom [aged 14] (apprentice solicitor) 

Cary, EdwardRef C1943
[15??-16??] In 1580, he was granted the
mines of slate stones within the wastes of Northowram, and the mines of sea coal upon the waste within the manor of Bradford

Casa ArredamentiRef C244
Halifax furniture store which occupied the former Albert Works, Halifax at Ward's End

Cascade, Walshaw DeanRef C2534
Farmhouse [dated 1830] and outbuilding [dated 1800] at Back Shaw, Walshaw Dean. The doorways are initialled TS.

The triangular feature in the gable end may have been a dovecote in an internal room with a stone floor.

The property stands on the left-hand side of Lower Walshaw Dean reservoir as you head up towards the Lodge. The buildings were used when the reservoirs were under construction

Casey, ThomasRef C482
[1893-19??] Son of William Casey

He was a member of St Patrick's RC Church, West Vale & Choir / a cloth finisher [1911] / a cloth miller with John Shaw & Sons, Brookroyd Mills, Stainland.

During World War I, he enlisted [22nd August 1916], and served as a Private with the West Yorkshire Regiment.

After training at Clipstone, he went to France [23rd November 1917]. He was reported missing [3rd May 1917] and later found to be a POW at Lemburg, Germany.

His photograph appears with a report of his story in the Halifax Courier [23rd June 1917].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Patrick's Catholic Church, West Vale

Casey, WilliamRef C483
[1866-1???] Born in Stainland.

He was a mill hand [1891] / a dyer's labourer [1901] / a cloth fuller [1911].

In 1886, he married either Mary Ann Brennan or Mary Anne Stanley [1863-1???] in Halifax.


Mary A was born in Gainsborough / Louth, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1889] who was a cotton spinner [1901]
  2. a woollen mule spinner [1911]
  3. Rose Ann [b 1891] who was a woollen scribbler feeder [1911]
  4. Thomas
  5. Mary Elizabeth [b 1897] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  6. Winifred [b 1901]
  7. Agnes [b 1906]

The family lived at New Street, Stainland [1891, 1901, 1911]

Cash Clothing Company, TodmordenRef C1485
Recorded in 1905 at White Hart Fold

Cash, Desmond TerenceRef C493
[1923-1944] He was educated at St Mary's Catholic School & Halifax Modern School / employed at Dean Clough Mills.

He lived at 16 Glenholme Heath, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [1942], and served as a Sergeant / Flight Engineer with the 78th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was killed in a bombing road [24th March 1944] (aged 21).

He was buried at Berlin 1939-1945 War Cemetery, Germany [9 B 25].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cash, Eric LawrenceRef C523
[19??-1941]

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant / Observer with the 82nd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 20th August 1941.

He was buried at Chevington Cemetery, Northumberland.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Halifax Building Society

The Cash Fish Stores, BrighouseRef C1216

Recorded in 1901, when they were at 18 Briggate, Brighouse, and Joseph Henry Lancaster was proprietor

Cash recordersRef C921
There were several local companies producing cash recording equipment for use in accounting cash sales and storing cash in retail situations. Some local links include Automatic Cash Displayer, Automatic Cash Till, British Machine Company Limited, Cash Register, Gledhill-Brook Time Recorders Limited, Jubilee Works, Halifax, Simplex Time Recorder Company, Stockall-Brook Time Recorders Limited and Union Cash & Time Recorders Limited

Cash RegisterRef C212
Invented in 1886 by George H. Gledhill to record shop transactions on a continuous paper roll

Cash Supply Stores LimitedRef C1494
Established in 1881 by W. Clayton. In 1889, it became a limited company.

They had premises at

where the various shops sold

  • General groceries, teas, coffees, spices, canned meats and fruits, and Italian warehouse sundries
  • Ports, brandies and whiskies
  • Butter and general dairy produce
  • Drugs, chemicals and patent medicines

and they carried out tea blending, coffee roasting and grinding.

They had an Oriental Café which was decorated with oriental, Arabic and Moorish works of art.

They were famous for their celebrated

Beef wine

They also had premises at Huddersfield and Batley

Cash, WilliamRef C553
[1843-1914] FGS.

Born in Leeds [April 1843]. He moved to Halifax when he was a young boy.

He was a banker's clerk [1861] / a bank accountant [1871, 1881] / an employee of the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company Limited / an auditor for Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872] / a bank manager [1891] / an accountant, employer [1901].

In 1879, he and Thomas Hick wrote a paper entitled

On Fossil Fungi from the Lower Coal Measures of Halifax

On 11th March 1911, a life annuity was granted to him

for valuable services rendered to the cause of science

In 1866, he married Sarah Ann, daughter of James Patchett, at Halifax.

Children:

  1. Mary [1867-1951]
  2. Annie [1867-1881]

The family lived at

  • Delph Street, Halifax [with his uncle William Oddy 1861]
  • 1 Clarence Street, Halifax [1871]
  • 38 Elmfield Terrace, Skircoat [1881, 1891]
  • 26 Mayfield Terrace South, Halifax [1901]

He died in Halifax

Cashmore, Rev Thomas HerbertRef C801
[1892-1984] Born in Barbados.

He trained as an architect before being ordained. He served in Antigua and in India [1917-1933] but had to return to England because of ill-health. He was Vicar of Brighouse [June 1942-1946]. He went on to become the Canon Missioner and Suffragan Bishop of Dunwich

Casimir, Rev MotherRef C1257
[18??-19??] She was Lady Superior at the Convent of the Sisters of the Most Holy Cross & Passion, Halifax [1905, 1912]

The CasinoRef C510
Aka Northgate Hall

Cassidy, WilliamRef C527
[1???-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Canadian Infantry.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

The Casson familyRef C1199
They lived at Barkisland Hall. In the 1920s, they renovated the interior, destroying much of the original detail.

See George Casson

Casson, A. BenjaminRef C533
[1881-1915] Son of Betsy & Walter Casson.

He lived at 21 Savile Park, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died at Fleurbaix Casualty Clearing Station [11th May 1915] (aged 34).

He was buried at Merville Communal Cemetery, France [II T 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Casson, ElizabethRef C6220
[17??-18??] Matron of Halifax Workhouse [1830]

Casson, GeorgeRef C1410
[17??-18??] In 1800, he was the Halifax Agent for the British Fire Office of London

Casson, GeorgeRef C138
[18??-1???] He married Ellen Todd [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. Emma who married Ernest George Fossey

Casson, GeorgeRef C1225
[1801-1861] Born in Halifax.

He was a joiner [1841] / a master joiner employing 1 man [1851].

He married Mary Ann [1806-1850].

Children:

  1. George Frederick [b 1832] who was a joiner's apprentice [1851]
  2. William Norris [b 1834] who was a machine maker's apprentice [1851]
  3. Alfred [b 1837] who was a joiner's apprentice [1851]
  4. Hannah [b 1839]
  5. (possibly) Henrietta [b 1840]
  6. Wallace [b 1842]
  7. Sidney

The family lived at

  • Square Road, Halifax [1841]
  • 5 Square Road, Halifax [1851]

Mary Ann died Q3 1850.

George (possibly) died Q2 1861

Casson, GeorgeRef C178
[1836-1880] Born George Beaumont.

Son of Eliza Beaumont; father unknown.


In 1842, Eliza married
Thomas Casson
 

Born in Elland.

He was a woollen weaver [1851] / a woollen manufacturer [1859] / a woollen manufacturer employing 7 men, 6 boys, 17 girls [1871].

On 16th December 1860, he married Susannah Sykes [1837-1???].


Susannah was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. Miriam [1862-1929]
  2. Thomas
  3. John Edward [b 1868]
  4. Sarah [b 1870]
  5. Louisa [b 1872]
  6. Hetty [1873-1958]
  7. George Lewis [1876-1935]
  8. Laura [1877-1940]

The family lived at Savile Road, Elland [1871]

Casson, GeorgeRef C968
[1890-1948] Son of Thomas Casson.

He was a woollen manufacturer with business at Bar Mill, Elland / head of Thomas Casson & Brother / chairman of Century Dyeworks, Elland.

In [Q3] 1916, he married Delia Constance (Connie) Lumb in Conway, Wales.


Delia was born in Elland, the daughter of Samuel Lumb
 

Children:

  1. Tom

They lived at Barkisland Hall and Llandudno.

George died [30th June 1948] after suffering a heart attack and then falling down stairs at Barkisland Hall and breaking his neck. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £140,463 19/8d.

Probate was granted to his widow Delia Constance, son Tom, Samuel Sutcliffe (chartered accountant), and Harry Riley (chartered accountant).

Delia Constance died in Halifax General Hospital [7th May 1957].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £11,279 10/2d.

Probate was granted to son Tom.

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Casson, George FrederickRef C2430
[1880-1944] Son of James Casson.

Born in Elland.

He was a woollen manufacturer (employer) [1911].

On 8th May 1905, he married Beatrice Lumb at Elland Parish Church.


Beatrice was the daughter of Luke Lumb
 

Children:

  1. Audrey Bowes [1909-1988] who married Norman Dawson
  2. Katherine Mary [1912-1983] who married Francis Dalton Drake

The family lived at

George Frederick died at Norton Lodge, West Parade, Llandudno [22nd April 1944] (aged 53).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £44,715 15/9d.

Probate was granted to his widow Beatrice, daughters Audrey Bowes Dawson & Katherine Mary Drake.

Beatrice died 5th December 1973 (aged 90).

The couple were buried at Elland Cemetery

Casson, HarryRef C1782
[1896-1918] Illegitimate son of Annie Casson.

He was a member of St Hilda's Church, Halifax & Sunday School / an ironmonger's errand boy [1911] / an apprentice with Nicholson & West Limited.

He served with with the Yorkshire Dragoons.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He was killed at Bailleul, France [11th April 1918] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th May 1918].

He was buried at Le Grand Beaumart British Cemetery, Steenwerck, France [Grave Ref II C 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax

Casson, JamesRef C1327
[1848-1900] Son of Thomas Casson.

Born in Elland.

He was a woollen manufacturer employing 17 men, 30 women & 9 boys [1881].

In 1861, he established James Casson Limited woollen manufacturers.

On 27th May 1879, he married Ann Tate at Elland Parish Church.


Ann was the twin daughter of Christopher Tate
 

Children:

  1. George Frederick
  2. Ernest Tate [1882-1946]
  3. Sophia [b 1885]

The family lived at Norton House, Elland [1891, 1900].

James died 10th January 1900.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £15,178 2/4d.

Probate was granted to William Smithies (cotton waste dealer), and John Crawshaw (shoddy manufacturer) 

Casson's: James Casson LimitedRef C64
Manufacturers of worsted and cotton warp serges, and coloured wool blankets.

Established by James Casson in 1861.

The business was at Norton Mills, Elland [1905, 1916, 1951]

Casson, JoelRef C363
[17??-18??] Of Ovenden.

He married Mary Sharp.


Mary was the daughter of
William Sharp
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [1817-1840] who married William Hall

Mary died 6th October 1838 (aged 41).

Hannah died 15th September 1840 (aged 23).

Mary & Hannah were buried at Steep Lane Baptist Chapel, Sowerby

Casson, JohnRef C1367
[1???-18??] Halifax architect. He was at Bath Parade, Halifax [1822]

Casson, JohnnieRef C57
[1944-] Comedian and presenter.

Born in Halifax.

He began his career as a drummer with a group called the Cresters. He has made many appearances on TV and on the stage.

In [Q1] 1969, he married Jean Williams in Calder District.

Children:

  1. Linda Maria
  2. Lucy
  3. Aimee Louise

The family lived at Brighouse.

Casson, Lucy ElizabethRef C893
[1974-] Brighouse-born singer and dancer. Daughter of Johnnie Casson.

She appeared as a ballet tart in the film version of The Phantom of the Opera [2004] and in the Harry Potter film The Goblet of Fire [2005]

Casson, SidneyRef C1223
[1845-1918] Son of George Casson.

Born in Halifax.

He was a picker maker [1871, 1881] / a picker maker for weaving [1891] / a picker maker [1901] / a leather picker maker [1911].

In [Q4] 1868, he married Mary Jane Jagger [1848-19??] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax.

She was a silk mill hand [1871]

 

Children:

  1. Henrietta [b 1868] who was a worsted spinner [1881], a silk rover [1891]
  2. Rose Ann [b 1870] who was a silk dresser [1891], a silk twister [1901], a worsted coating weaver [1911]
  3. Annie [b 1873] who was a worsted twister [1891], & had a son Harry (father unknown) 
  4. Alice [b 1878] who was worsted spinner [1891], a worsted twister [1901], a worsted coating weaver [1911]

The family lived at

  • 1 Fisher's Buildings, Horley Green [1871]
  • 1 Freedom Court, Northowram [1881]
  • 10 Alexandra Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 24 New Bank, Halifax [1901]
  • 5 Franklin Street, Gibbet Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1881] was nephew Sidney Jagger [b 1866] (railway servant).

Living with them [in 1881] was niece Lena Jagger [b 1881] (worsted winder).

Living with them [in 1901] was niece Selina Jagger [b 1881] (worsted coating weaver) 

Casson, ThomasRef C2494
[1???-18??] He built the George & Dragon, Elland on land known as Sheep Croft.

He was landlord there [1845].


Question: Does anyone know whether he had any link to Casson Place, Elland?

 

Casson, ThomasRef C353
[1809-1859] Born in Halifax.

He was a woollen manufacturer employing 3 hands [1851].

On 23rd January 1842, he married Eliza Beaumont [1814-1876] in Huddersfield.


Eliza had 2 children (fathers unknown): Children:

  1. George Beaumont Casson
  2. Sarah Ann Beaumont [1840-1869]
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1842] who was a bobbin weaver [1851]
  2. John [b 1844]
  3. James
  4. Mary [b 1850]
  5. Jennings [1854-1928]
  6. Hannah [b 1856]
  7. Ellen [1848-1929]

The family lived at New Street, Elland-cum-Greetland [1851].

Thomas died 30th September 1859.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £600.

The will was proved by his widow Eliza, and stepson George Beaumont

Casson, ThomasRef C1221
[1847-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a saddler [1891].

In 1873, he married Martha Ann Crowther from Wymondham, Norfolk, in Halifax.

The family lived at 12 Northgate, Elland [1891]

Casson, ThomasRef C1957
[1864-1933] Son of George Casson.

He was a woollen cloth manufacturer [1891] / a woollen manufacturer [1901, 1911] / a partner in Thomas Casson & Brother.

In 1889, he married (1) Emily Marchant in Halifax.


Emily was the daughter of Edwin Marchant
 

Children:

  1. George

Emily died at Springfield, Victoria Road, Elland [Q2 1920] (aged 50).

On 9th November 1925, he married (2) Constance Mary Whitty at Christ Church, Barkisland.


Constance was born in Worcester [13th July 1899]
 

The family lived at

Thomas died at Springfield, Victoria Road, Elland in 1933

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £72,779

Constance died in Norton Tower [7th March 1950].

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Casson, ThomasRef C966
[1918-1992] Son of George Casson of Barkisland Hall.

He was a woollen manufacturer [1948, 1957].

In July 1940, he was imprisoned for 18 months for manslaughter and banned from driving for 10 years after he knocked down and killed a 17-year-old mill-girl who was cycling at Boothtown. He said he was dozing at the time and did not know that he had hit anyone.

He was Lieutenant Casson at the time.

In 1947, he married Audrey Hesketh in Conway, North Wales. Children:

  1. George [1952-1977] who died in Colwyn Bay, Wales
  2. Jane [1953-1956]

Jane was buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Casson's: Thomas Casson & BrotherRef C1465
Woollen manufacturers established by Thomas Casson.

They were at Marshfield Mills, Elland, Commercial Mills, Elland [1905], and 38-40 North Frederick Street, Glasgow [1901]

Casson, WilliamRef C2096
[18??-18??] Halifax architect. Recorded in 1850 at Ferguson Street, Halifax

Casterton, M. J.Ref C596
[19??-] Curate at Brighouse [1967-1973]

CastleRef C192
Area of Todmorden

Castle Carr BarrowsRef C1923
In 1842, there were records of a group of Neolithic or Bronze Age barrows at Castle Carr, but these may have been lost in the construction of a reservoir. Joseph Savile Stott wrote about the barrows

Castle Carr footpath trialRef C1219
Roads and paths across the Castle Carr estate had long been used by the local people for access to the moor for peat gathering and for travelling through to Oxenhope.

In 1868, roads across estate were closed off and some compensation was paid by Joseph Priestley Edwards. The closures gave rise to a rumbling dispute amongst the local people.

Events leading to the trial began with an incident on Saturday 24th October 1896 when a local man, Sam Murgatroyd, met John Murgatroyd and some gamekeepers on a disputed footpath on the Castle Carr estate. Sam took the case to the High Court.

The trial began at Chancery in London on 24th February 1898. Sam Murgatroyd lost his claim in the High Court and had to pay costs of £1001 6/3d to John Murgatroyd.

There was considerable sympathy with his plight. The verdict caused great surprise locally and was seen as a knock from London

Castle Carr fountains, Luddenden DeanRef C910
There are many ornamental fountains in the water garden at Castle Carr.

Halifax Corporation built the lakes and fountains in return for permission to built reservoirs further up the valley.

See Luddenden Valley waterworks

Castle Carr, Luddenden DeanRef C293
Mock-mediæval house built around 1860 by Captain Joseph Priestley Edwards.

Demolition started in 1962, with only a few sections remaining today.

The house and water gardens were a popular attraction and are currently open to the public once a year.

See John Greenwood

Castle Carr ReservoirRef C1127
It covers 1 acre and has a capacity of 3 million gallons

Castle Carr TunnelRef C1059
Dimmin Dale. On 13th October 1869, the Mayor J. D. Hutchinson, cut the first sod of the tunnel, a part of the Hebden Extension of the Halifax Waterworks scheme.

The commemorative silver spade used for the event is now in Bankfield Museum, and is mistakenly engraved Castle Caw.

The tunnel is 2,550 yards long and at an elevation of about 1,400 feet above sea-level and carries water from Widdop Reservoir between Pecket Well and the Luddenden valley.

There are 3 ventilation shafts for the tunnel

  • Shaft #1 above Pecket Well is 392 ft deep
  • Shaft #2 is 476 ft deep
  • Shaft #3 is 381 ft deep

Castle Farm, Holywell GreenRef C1094
Carr Hall Lane. Aka Carr Hall Castle.

Victorian folly in the form of a mock Gothic castle with turret, towers and battlements, similar to the towers in Shaw Park.

Built in the mid-19th century by the Shaw family.

Mr Redman, the bailiff to the Shaw Estate who bred the shire horses for Brookroyd Mills, lived here. The farm was known as Redman's.

It was voted Britain's Best Home.

It was restored by Terry George and Michael Rothwell.

It is hired for private parties and weddings.

In 2011, it was announced that a water-wheels to be restored and used to generate electricity.

Castle Fields, RastrickRef C2043

Castle, Dr FrederickRef C1702
[1857-1891] LRCP, LRCS, LFPS.

Medical practitioner at Cornholme. He was assistant to Dr Charles William Thorp.

On 13th October 1891, Dr Thorp found him insensible in a chair in his surgery

Castle Grove Hall, TodmordenRef C2167
Halifax Road.

Recorded in 1909, when Todmorden Skating Rink Company opened a roller-skating rink here

The Castle, HalifaxRef C414
The Castle – or Scarborough Castle – stood at the bottom of Crown Street, Halifax. The name comes from the distinctive lantern and square castellated tower on the 3-storey building. The clock here came from Halifax Parish Church.

In 1774, the property was owned by William Bolland who established a reading room and a news room.

In 1779, the ground floor was occupied by bankers Swaine Brothers & Company.

In 1809, a private newspaper room was established here by B. Milnes.

In 1832, the Halifax Guardian was first published at the offices of Whitley & Booth here.

It was demolished when Crown Street was widened in 1888. It stood next-door to the east of Number 11 which is currently occupied by Millet's.

This is discussed in the book the collection of Prints by J. R. Smith.

See William Cockcroft

Castle Hall, MytholmroydRef C957
/ Cragg Vale.

Owners and tenants have included

Castle Hill Co-Op, RastrickRef C6871
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society at Castle Hill [opened 1876].

Malcolm Terry writes

the branch had butchers, confectionery, greengrocery. These closed before 1963 and part of the building was demolished

The store closed in 1981.

The building is still standing. A doorway has a mosaic for the Drapery department.

See Church Street Co-Op, Rastrick

Castle Hill Farm, SowerbyRef C139
52/54 Towngate. House dated INEN 1662.

It is named for the nearby Castle.

John Rawson bought the property in 1874.

It is now 2 dwellings.

In Graptolite's historical notes on the Church at Sowerby, he writes

The site of an old fort or castle at the head of the village has been thought to be Roman, though it is not known when it was built or destroyed. On its site Castle Farm is yet standing.

See John Rawson and Trinity Cottage, Sowerby

Castle Hill House, RastrickRef C677
Castle Hill / Thornhill Road.

The Fryer family lived in an earlier house on the site. The present house was built around 1830.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions.

It is now 5 houses. The estate is now a small golf course.

See Castle Hill, Rastrick, South Lodge, Rastrick and Sparrow Park

Castle Hill, RastrickRef C775
In 1669, Dr Johnson of Pontefract describes an earthwork at Castle Hill, Rastrick
It was trenched about and hollow in the middle, as if many stones had been got out of it. The circumference of it measured 188 yards within the trench, and 117 yards on the top

The earthworks were said to have been destroyed to get to the stone within it.

The feature was possibly Iron Age.

Watson describes the earthwork.

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

Over the years, cremation urns have been found here.

In 1820, Stephen Rushworth was digging in his garden at Castle Hill, Rastrick when he discovered a ceramic urn containing bones. The urn stood on his window ledge, until it was removed and subsequently lost

Castle Hill Social Club, MankinholesRef C1816

Castle Hill, SowerbyRef C612
60 Towngate. 16th century house. Cased in stone in the 17th century

Castle Hill Tunnel, TodmordenRef C2162
Tunnel for the Manchester & Leeds Railway. 192 yards in length

Castle Hill Wood, RastrickRef C2042

Castle, Kenneth H.Ref C1983
[1917-1946] Son of Lucy (née Thorpe) & Lewis Castle of Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Sergeant with the 3rd Survey Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 24th May 1946 (aged 29).

He was buried at Udine War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref I D 8]

Castle Lodge, TodmordenRef C668
Castle Hill. Owners and tenants have included

Castle, RoyRef C448
[1932-1994] Dancer, musician, singer, and television presenter. He was born at Scholes, near Holmfirth. He lived for a time in Elland and attended Mildred Crossley's dancing school.

Although he was a lifelong non-smoker, he was diagnosed with lung cancer and was believed to be a victim of passive smoking during his time working in smoky clubs. The Roy Castle Clean Air award is now given to pubs, restaurants and other public areas which do not allow smoking on their premises

The Castle, SowerbyRef C2431
Prehistoric site. It can be seen in a field behind Castle Hill Farm

In Graptolite's historical notes on the Church at Sowerby, he writes

The site of an old fort or castle at the head of the village has been thought to be Roman, though it is not known when it was built or destroyed. On its site Castle Farm is yet standing

Castle Street Working Men's ClubRef C1530
Established for his workers by John Arthur Ingham at the family's Cinderhills Mill, Todmorden

Castle, Thomas (Tom)Ref C39
[1888-1918] Son of William Castle.

Born in Brighouse.

He was familiar as a fat boy who became the mascot of Thomas Sugden & Son in the early 1900s

his good health the results of eating products made from Sugden's flour!

He appeared in advertisements with captions such as:


Sugden's Flour makes the Big Loaf
The Big Loaf makes the Big Boy

and


I am fifteen years old,
I weight fifteen stones,
and I eat bread made from Sugden's flour

and featured on a series of advertising postcards published by Sugden's.

In the 1911 census, he was described as a waggoner at a flour mill.

He lived at

  • 10 Daisy Street, Brighouse [with his parents and siblings 1891, 1911]
  • 15 Bracken Road East, Brighouse [where he died]

He died [aged 30] on 7th December 1918 during the influenza epidemic, following World War I. The illness was possibly aggravated by his obesity

Castle, William JohnRef C2224
[1837-1907] Born in Hertford, Hertfordshire.

He was a cart driver [1891].

In 1867, he married Sarah Crouch [1853-1911] from Merton, Norfolk, in Hertford.

Children:

  1. William John [b 1865] who was born in Brighouse
  2. Henry [b 1873]
  3. Mary Maria [b 1876]
  4. Arthur [b 1878]
  5. Sarah [b 1881]
  6. Walter [b 1883]
  7. Thomas
  8. Clement [b 1891]
  9. Alfred [b 1893]
  10. Harry [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • 2 Daisy Street, Brighouse [1891]
  • 10 Daisy Street, Brighouse [1911]

Castlefields, RastrickRef C59
Owners and tenants have included

Castlemaine House, SouthowramRef C1384
9 Blaithroyd Lane / Southowram Bank.

The Blaithroyd Working Men's Club was recorded here [1905, 1934].

The buildings were demolished in the 1970s

Cat Moss, RishworthRef C442

Cat Rocks, WainstallsRef C2647
A rocky outcrop behind the Cat i' th' Well pub, Wainstalls. There is a legend relating to the white rock – Cat Rocks – behind the pub which says that ...
the licensee must paint the rock white on a certain day of the year
If he fails to do this, the pub will fail.

The story says that ...

Robin Hood started this custom after he befriended the landlord of the pub on his travels between Nottingham and Carlisle. The landlord had hidden Robin Hood in the pub – some say it was a priest's hole – when the authorities were following him. The landlord's reward was a share in some of Robin's ill-gotten gains. The money was hidden near to the rock, and the only way the landlord could find the money was to paint it yearly so that Robin Hood on his travels could see that the hoard was being looked after, because the stone was newly-painted.
One year, as a joke, the landlord painted the stone pink not believing the legend. There was an uproar in Halifax and the pub went out of business later that year

Cat Steps, BrighouseRef C2357
Path at Cromwellbottom.

Leads from Brier Lane to Fort Montague

Cat Steps, NorthowramRef C2356
Footpath between Back Clough and The Hough

Cat Stones, RishworthRef C444

Cates, HenryRef C730
[1866-1911] Born in Southowram

He was a quarryman [1911].

He never married.

He lived at 3 Smith Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were Elizabethdeserted wife of Charles G. Stead – and her son Austen Thomas

Catherall, JohnRef C1997
[1765-1859] Eldest son of Jonathan Catherall.

He was a potter [1817] / a brick maker [1851], and set up business with James Robinson at Bradshaw Pottery.

In 1814, he bought property from the estate of an A. Lister.

In 1788, he married Mary (Mally) Grey [1765-18??] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. John
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child
  6. child
  7. child
  8. child
  9. child
  10. child
  11. child
  12. child

They lived at

  • Upper Fold, just off Bradshaw Lane, adjacent to Small Clews Pottery [1837, 1841, 1848]
  • Soil Hill [1851]

John died in 1859.

Mrs John Catherall was listed as an earthenware manufacturer at Soil Hill End [1861]

Catherall, JohnRef C2256
[1793-1859] Of Swill Hill End Pottery, Ovenden.

Son of John Catherall.

In 1817, he married Rachel Greenwood [1799-1869] at Halifax Parish Church.

They had no children.

They were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: Fm17

Catherall, JonathanRef C40
[1740-1807] Born in Anglesey.

He came to work as a navvy at Salterhebble.

He stayed with Mr France.

He married Elizabeth France [1744-1799].

Children:

  1. Stephen
  2. John
  3. Tom
  4. Samuel
  5. Rachael

He established Jonathan Catherall & Company, Small Clews Pottery, Soil Hill Pottery, and a pottery at Keelham, near Thornton.

The family built Whistle Hall, Ogden.

Elizabeth & Jonathan were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: Hs36

Catherall's: Jonathan Catherall & CompanyRef C1408
Potteries and coal-mining business established by Jonathan Catherall.

In 1893, Nicholas Taylor bought their Denholme Pottery

Catherall, RachaelRef C1996
[1775-1???] Youngest daughter of Jonathan Catherall.

It has been recorded that she married James Robinson, but this is unconfirmed, throwing doubt upon Rachael's existence.

After James's death, Rachael carried on as partner in Robinson & Wade

Catherall, RileyRef C450
[1838-1897] Son of Stephen Catherall.

He was a tailor.

He moved to London.

In 1874, he married Eliza Connolly in London.

They had no children.

They moved to Bournemouth

Catherall, SamuelRef C676
[1???-18??] Grandson of Jonathan Catherall.

Around 1830, he established Bradshaw Head Pottery

Catherall, SamuelRef C682
[17??-1???] Son of Jonathan Catherall.

In 1785, he established a pottery at Denholme

Catherall, StephenRef C415
[1762-1841] Son of Jonathan Catherall.

After his father's death [1807], he took over the tenure of Soil Hill Pottery.

On 28th October 1805, he married Mary Riley [1762-1812] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Betty [b 13th February 1807]
  2. Stephen

Soon after their son's birth, Mary committed suicide by hanging.

Stephen was admitted to the Manchester Asylum [1816-1818], and to the West Riding Pauper Lunatic Asylum, Wakefield. [10th December 1822].

On 18th October 1841, he was attacked with Apoplexy about 12 o'clock, and died within two hours.

After a Post Mortem at the Asylum, Stephen was taken by the family, and buried at Illingworth Church [22nd October 1841]

Catherall, StephenRef C424
[1812-1872] Son of Stephen Catherall.

Born 3rd May 1812.

He was a tailor and woollen draper in Paradise Street [1841] / at 1-2 High Street, Halifax.

On 15th September 1833, he married (1) Susey Hearfield [1814-1851] in Huddersfield.

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1834] who died in infancy, & was buried with her mother
  2. John [b 1837] who died in infancy, & was buried with his mother
  3. Riley
  4. Sarah Ann [1841-30th March 1901] who was a dressmaker at High Street, Halifax, never married, & was buried with her father
  5. Emma [1844-1913] who was a dressmaker at High Street, Halifax, and never married
  6. Mary [b 1847] who married Luther Hanson
  7. Samuel [1851-1852] who died in infancy, & was buried with his mother

Susey died in childbirth [9th May 1851] (aged 36).

She was buried at Hanover Methodist Chapel, Halifax.

In 1851, Stephen married (2) Jane [1803-1891] in Halifax.


Jane was the daughter of William Skirrow of Northowram, and widow of Henry Watson, pattern maker
 

Jane died 13th January 1881 (aged 77).

Stephen died in Halifax [15th August 1872] (aged 60).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1758]

Catherine HouseRef C2021
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Catherine House Bridge, Luddenden DeanRef C438
Originally a wooden bridge over the stream. It was later replaced by a stone bridge

Catherine House Farm, Cragg ValeRef C1331
Clattering Stones Road. Early 19th century.

A tall chimney was built here for the incineration of carcasses at the farm

Catherine House Farm, Luddenden DeanRef C44
Methodists held their meeting at Head House, Luddenden Dean before moving here. They subsequently moved to Luddenden Dean Wesleyan Chapel

Catherine House, MidgleyRef C2020
Owners and tenants have included

  • George Ainley [1861]

Catherine House, NorthowramRef C358
The name of Upper Shibden Hall when it was rebuilt by Michael Stocks about 1800, so named because it was near Catherine Slack

Catherine Slack Cottage, Hove EdgeRef C2135

Catherine Slack Courthouse, QueensburyRef C511
18th century building

Catherine Slack, QueensburyRef C41
Township and area of Calderdale between Boothtown and Queensbury.

Some houses here dated CJS 1779 are listed.

On 3rd December 1920, several people were injured when 2 trams were blown over in high winds.

See Catherine, Catherine Slack Junior School, Catherine Slack, Brighouse and Slack

Catherine Slack RangersRef C732
Rugby League team. Established in 18?? The team headed the league table in March 1911

Catholes Dam, TodmordenRef C1067
See Ann Clegg

Catholes Mining CompanyRef C1517
Established on 1st July 1869. Voluntarily wound-up on 24th February 1877

Catholes Stone, TodmordenRef C226
A stone inscribed


Iesu Deus Dominus Montium

Jesus, Lord God of the Mountains

was used at the same time, and may have been made by masons working on the
Robinwood viaduct.

It lies near a man-made baptismal pool in Hudson's Clough which was used during the 18th and 19th centuries

Catholes, TodmordenRef C2165
Group of houses including Jumps Farm

Catholic Memorial Club, HalifaxRef C2302

CatholicismRef C2573

Catlow, RobertRef C2548
[1849-1909] He was a dyer's clerk [1881] / a head clerk [1891]

In 1839, he married Maria Ann Clegg in Leeds.

Children:

  1. Frances [b 1843] who married John Edward Eckersley
  2. Joseph [1843-1844]
  3. Robert [b 1846] who married Mary [b 1849] daughter of iron moulder George Wilcock of Sowerby Bridge

The family lived at

  • 18 Clarence Street Halifax Yorkshire [1881]
  • 9 Lord Street, Halifax [1891]

Living with them [in 1881] was niece Mary Lilly Wilcock [aged 6]. In 1895, Mary Lilly Wilcock married William Barrett from Castleford, in Halifax.

In 1901, the widowed Robert was living at Lumb Lane, Bradford with his widowed daughter Frances Eckersley [aged 57] and her son William B Eckersley [aged 26]

CatseyeRef C42
Reflecting roadstud, road safety device invented and manufactured by Percy Shaw. An important feature of the catseye is the rubber mount which cleans the glass as traffic runs over the pad. During World War II, when Malaysian rubber was difficult to obtain, the company experimented unsuccessfully with synthetic rubber

Cattle FairsRef C2123
See Halifax Winter Cattle Fair, Heptonstall Cattle Fair and Todmorden Monthly Cattle Fair

Catty Well Brook, LuddendenRef C783
Aka Caty Well Beck.

Stream which joins Luddenden Brook near Jerusalem Farm.

The name is a corruption of Catherine's Well.

There are several bridges over the brook at Wainstalls, 2 of which are in a parlous state.

See Nibble & Clink dam

Caty Well Bridges, WainstallsRef C2646
There are 2 bridges across Caty Well Brook, Wainstalls

Caty Well Brook, WainstallsRef C35
Flows down from Cold Edge Dams, Warley Moor.

See T' Cat i' th' Well, Luddenden Dean and Caty Well Bridge, Wainstalls

Caulfield, Bernard JosephRef C541
[1919-1943]

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 46th Div. Sigs. Royal Corps of Signals.

He died 9th September 1943 (aged 24).

He was buried at Salerno War Cemetery, Italy [I E 15].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Halifax Building Society

Causeway East Farm, TodmordenRef C2308
Lee Bottom Road. Recorded in 1690 (deeds). Rebuilt in the early 19th century. Many original features remain

Causeway Farm, LumbuttsRef C2310
Lumbutts Road. Early 18th century house and barn. The barn in inscribed IMK 1711

Causeway Farm, WarleyRef C384
17th century house

Causeway FootRef C45
Moorland village to the north of Halifax.

Also the area on the Keighley Road near Ogden Water

Causeway Foot Post OfficeRef C1580
Recorded in 1905 at 6 Causeway Foot, Holmfield

Causeway Head, HalifaxRef C222
Owners and tenants have included

Causeway Lodging House, HalifaxRef C2622
4 Causeway. Licensed lodging house recorded in 1861, when James Savage was the proprietor and there were 8 lodgers.

His son William Savage and family were living here [1871]

Causey Hall, HalifaxRef C1103

Causey Head, HalifaxRef C280
A raised causey which ran from Halifax Parish Church to Woolshops.

See Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary

Causey Wood, TodmordenRef C220

CautleyRef C374
See Cautley Holmes Bottomley, Nathaniel Bottomley and Samuel Bottomley

Cavaghan, CharlesRef C734
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Border Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cavaghan, John MichaelRef C737
[1922-1943] He was a warehouseman for Shadrach & Abraham Barker at Blind Lane.

He lived at 10 Mark Lane, Todmorden. During World War II, he served as a Private with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was accidentally killed in North Africa [6th September 1943] (aged 21).

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cavalier Country ClubRef C1716
A name for Holdsworth House, Holmfield in the 1960s

Cavalry Field, HalifaxRef C717
Name for an area which lay west of Rhodes Street between Gibbet Street and Hanson Lane.

Recorded in 1841.

Tenters are recorded here [1854]

Cavanagh, JamesRef C1785
[1890-1917] He worked for Robert Whitworth & Company at Luddendenfoot.

In [Q3] 1912, he married Annie Kelly in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Frances [b 1917]

They lived at

  • 27 Duke Street, Luddenden
  • Providence Place, Midgley

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 14th June 1917 (aged 27).

He was buried at Cabin Hill Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref A 20].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Luddendenfoot Working Men's Club

Cavanagh, WilliamRef C1061
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial

Cave, Eric WilliamRef C780
[1900-1942] Son of Fanny & Herbert Cave.

In [Q2] 1933, he married Mary Colleen Gorman in Bromley, Kent.

They lived at Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 23rd West Riding (Halifax) Battalion Home Guard.

He died 10th December 1942 (aged 42).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [J 249]

Cave, JoeRef C551
[1890-1917] Son of Eliza & Joe Ellis Cave of High Cliffe, Batley.

He worked for the Halifax Building Society in Bradford & Halifax [from 1911].

During World War I, he enlisted in the Artists' Regiment [December 1916], then served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 11th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 21st September 1917 (aged 26).

He was buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, Belgium [XXIII B 6].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Halifax Building Society

Cavendish, FrederickRef C48
[1836-1882] Liberal MP for Brighouse.

In 1882, he became the Chief Secretary to Ireland.

On 6th May 1882, he was murdered in Ireland by an Irish extremist group. The murder sparked of the Irish Riots in Brighouse

Cavendish, WilliamRef C1725
[1592-1676] He was a Royalist commander during the Civil War and later was made 1st Duke of Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Caveney, JohnRef C1352
[18??-19??]

In [Q1] 1918, he married (1) Hannah Southwell [1891-1943] in Todmorden.

Children:

  1. Nora

The family lived at 4 Co-Operative Street, Walsden [1942].

Daughter Nora was killed in World War 2 [17th April 1942].

Hannah died in Todmorden [Q3 1943] (aged 52).

In [Q3] 1945, John married (2) Eunice Johnes in Todmorden

Caveney, NoraRef C977
[1923-1942] Son of John Caveney.

Born in Todmorden [Q2 1923].

She was educated at Walsden School / a member of Inchfield Bottom United Methodist Chapel / employed at Breda Visada Silk Mill, Littleborough.

During World War II, she enlisted [December 1941], and served as a Private / Predictor-operator with the first Auxiliary Territorial Service (ATS) in AA Command. The Predictor computers monitored enemy planes approaching Britain, in order to alert anti-aircraft posts.

She was killed by an enemy bomb splinter whilst she was on duty on a site near Southampton during a raid [17th April 1942] (aged 18).

She was buried at Netley Military Cemetery, Hampshire with a military funeral [20th April 1942]

Caw, JohnRef C1217
[1802-1894] Son of Grizell (née Mccoll) & John Caw.

Born in Perth, Scotland.

He was the first Manager of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company [1829] / a bank agent [1837] / a banker [1841] / a bank manager [1851] / an accountant & share broker [1861] / an accountant [1871] / an arbitrator of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872] / an accountant & auditor [1881, 1891] / an Auditor for the West Riding [until the WRCC was formed in 1888] / retired [1854]. He is still recorded as accountant and West Riding auditor [1874].

He was (possibly) one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

On 13th October 1835, he married Frances (Fanny) Wormald [1816-1???] at Bilton with Harrogate.

Children:

  1. Eleanor Wormald [b 1837] who married John Banter Caw
  2. Fanny Grizelda [1839-1903] married [1860] Rev John Carter Hyatt, vicar of Queenshead
  3. John
  4. Croft Wormald [1842-1928] married Charlotte Norris Coleman
  5. Isobel Mary [1844-1914]
  6. George Frederick [1845-1864]
  7. Arthur Morgan [1847-1917] married Maria Jane Tuckfield
  8. Herbert Kenyon [b 1850]
  9. Edward Arnold [1853-1921]

The family lived at

See Crossley & Leeming

Caw, JohnRef C2012
[1840-1923] John Caw Junior.

Son of John Caw.

He was a commercial clerk, wire manufactory [1861] / a stock & share broker and accountant at 2 George Street, Halifax. [1871] / a stock broker [1881, 1891] / a Major in the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers [1881] / a retired stock broker [1901].

On 23rd April 1873, he married (1) Harriet Aked [1817-1883] in Halifax.


Harriet was the daughter of Josiah Aked
 

Children:

  1. John [1874-1954]
  2. Alice Gertrude [1875-1954] who married Arthur Herbert Dilworth

On 23rd December 1884, he married (2) Ellen Huntriss in Halifax.


Ellen was the daughter of William Huntriss
 

Children:

  1. Douglas Huntriss [b 1886] who married Elsie Jeffries
  2. Ellen Huntriss [1887-1912]
  3. Winifred Margaret [b 1889] who married George P Jones

The family lived at

See Halifax Ragged School

Cawdry, Mrs Kathleen M.Ref C451
[19??-19??] She was Mayor of Calderdale [1975-1976]

Cawood House, ShelfRef C964
Property in Brow Lane owned by Joseph Lister in the 18th century

Cawood, JoeRef C1686
[1859-19??] Son of Thomas Cawood.

Born in Stainland.

He was a woollen teazer [1891] / a woollen duler [1901] / a newsagent & stationer [1911].

In [Q2] 1890, he married Clara Garside in Halifax.


Clara was born in Huddersfield, the daughter of Joseph Garside.

She was a fancy woollen weaver [1891]

 

Children:

  1. Elsie [1894-1897] who was buried with her Garside grandparents
  2. Ernest Edwin [1895] who died in infancy, & was buried with his Garside grandparents
  3. Granville [b 1902]

The family lived at

  • Clay Pit Lane, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1891]
  • Beech Street, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1901]
  • 16 Southgate, Elland [1911]

Joe died 4th August 1934 (aged 75).

Clara died 1st July 1943 (aged 77).

The couple were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Cawood, Joe BeetonRef C1267
[1883-1915] Born in Halifax [4th November 1883].

He had a child [born 13th September 1912] with Emeline Marshall [1888-1978].

On 8th October 1912, Emeline got a magistrates' order against Joe for 3/- per week for the child until the age of 16. Sometime after he enlisted, a sum of 4d per day was deducted from his wages to pay to Emeline for the upkeep of the child.

On 3rd May 1913, he married Bertha Taylor [1892-1965] at Halifax Parish Church.


Bertha already had a child: Frank Hopkinson Taylor [3rd January 1912-1971]
 

They lived at 13 Temple Street, New Road, Halifax.

During World War I, Joe enlisted [11th August 1914] under the assumed name of John Taylor (his wife's maiden name), and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 23rd November 1915 (aged 31).

He was buried at Talana Farm Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III E 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

In Joe's service records Bertha says Joe was the father; on 27th March 1916 her allowance was stopped because she was living with a man called Robinson, but the payment for her son was continued.

On 22nd April 1916, Bertha married (2) Norman Sanderson [1891-1933] at Halifax Parish Church.

In [Q4] 1942, Bertha married (3) John Whelan [1886-1966] in Halifax

Cawood, JosephRef C1107
[1843-1882] A banksman at a colliery.

On 20th January 1882, Samuel Atkinson was charged with the manslaughter of Cawood.

Cawood was kicked or struck by Atkinson on 25th December 1881.

His left leg was badly broken, and he died from blood poisoning in the Infirmary on 15th January 1882.

A few days before his death, Cawood said that Atkinson had kicked him. Atkinson admitted to PC Herby that he pushed Cawood, but denied kicking him

Cawood, ThomasRef C1710
[1834-1???] Born in Goldstone, Yorkshire.

He was a stone miner [1861].

In [Q4] 1853, he married Mary Ann Halstead [1831-1???] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Joe

The family lived at Hyde Street, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1861]

Cawsey House, Sowerby BridgeRef C2507
16th century house which stood on the Old Causeway, Sowerby Bridge.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in 1922

Cawthera, JonathanRef C2374
[1847-1904] Son of collier William Cawthrey.

Born in Bradshaw/Ovenden.

He was a coal miner of Ovenden [1870, 1871] / a collier mining for water well sinker [1881] / a clay miner [1891] / beerseller at the Brighton Hotel, Halifax [1901, 1904].

In 1870, he married Sarah Town [1848-1911] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Ovenden, was the daughter of labourer Thomas Town.

She was a machine minder in a worsted factory [1871]

 

Children:

  1. Jane [1871] who died in infancy
  2. Bairstow [b 1874] who was a brick labourer [1891]
  3. Thomas [b 1875] who was a labourer (tramway) [1891, 1901]
  4. William [1878-1890]
  5. Emma [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891] and married Herbert Wilkinson
  6. James [b 1881]

The family lived at

  • Bradshaw Lane, Ovenden [1871]
  • Bradshaw Row, Ovenden [1881]
  • 9 Leopold Street, Northowram [1891]

He died on 17th October 1904.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £156.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904

After Jonathan's death, Sarah took over at the Brighton Hotel.

Living with the widowed Sarah (lodging house keeper) at the Brighton Hotel in 1911 were son Thomas (assisting in the business), daughter Emma and family and 8 lodgers.

In 1911, the licence was refused

Cawthorn, HaroldRef C378
[1893-1918] Son of Sam Kay Cawthorn.

Born in Goole.

He was a member of St Thomas's Church, Claremount & Boys' Brigade / a bricklayer's labourer [1911] / employed by Davis, Gordon & Company at Old Lane Dye Works, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [18th March 1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was drafted to France [9th January 1917].

In [Q1] 1918, he married Ethel Gledhill [1894-19??] at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Ethel, a weaver of 2 Alexander Street, Halifax, was the daughter of John Gledhill, railway worker
 

He died of wounds at No.3 Casualty Clearing Station [8th November 1918] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [23rd November 1918].

He was buried at Caudry British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV H 40].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Cawthorn, Sam KayRef C997
[1872-19??] Born in Goole, Yorkshire.

He was a mariner [1901] / a bricklayer's labourer [1911].

In 1892, he married Sarah Ann Cain [1873-19??] in Goole.


Sarah Ann was born in Swinefleet, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Harold
  2. Annie [b 1896] who was a drawer in silk mill [1911]
  3. Ethel [b 1899]
  4. Miriam [b 1902]
  5. Lily [b 1904]
  6. Irene [b 1905]
  7. Vera [b 1907]
  8. Esther [b 1909]
  9. Sam K. [b 1911]

The family lived at

  • Blackwall Square, Hook, Goole [1901]
  • 16 Green Street, off Belmont Street, Claremount, Halifax [1911]

Cawthorne, DavidRef C137
[17??-1???] Landlord of the Golden Lion, Todmorden. He and John Crossley were amongst those who supported the Manchester-Halifax coach service of which the pub was a staging post.

A Henry Cawthorne was landlord of the Golden Lion [1809]

Cawthra BrothersRef C1442
One of the few remaining textile firms in Halifax

Cawthra, DanielRef C2257
[18??-18??] On 3rd May 1864, at Halifax Town Hall, he was charged with tendering two bad half-crowns at Halifax. He was sent for trial at the sessions

Cawthra, DavidRef C2110
[19??-] CBE.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School [1944-1951].

He became a civil engineer. He was Chief Executive of Balfour Beatty [1988-1991]

Cawthra, JamesRef C427
[1858-1???] Born in Bradshaw / Ovenden.

He was a clay miner [1891, 1901] / a clay miner (brick works) [1911].

He married Alice A Hitchen [1864-1???].


Alice was born in Manchester.

She was a worsted weaver [1891]

 

Children:

  1. John W [b 1884] who was a clay miner labourer [1901], a clay miner (brick works) [1911]
  2. Samuel [b 1885] who served with the 2nd/4th West Riding Regiment [WW1]
  3. James Edward
  4. Ivy [1901] who died in infancy

The family lived at

  • 27 Brickfield, Ovenden [1891]
  • 30 Victoria Street North, Halifax [1901]
  • 7 Crib Lane, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was sister-in-law Sarah E Hitchen [b 1878] (worsted mill hand) 

Cawthra, James EdwardRef C441
[1889-1915] Son of James Cawthra.

He was a brick yard labourer [1911] / employed by Oates & Green.

In 1911, he married Lizzie Sykes [1890-19??] at St James's Church, Halifax.


Lizzie, a millhand of Cribb Lane, was the daughter of Holdsworth Sykes
 

They lived at 2 Back Cross Hills, Halifax [1915].

During World War I, he enlisted in May 1915 and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died from wounds in the Dardanelles [3rd November 1915] (aged 26).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [13th November 1915].

He was buried at Hill 10 Cemetery, Turkey [Grave Ref III E 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

Lizzie died at High Stones Farm, Cragg Vale [14th April 1946] (aged 56) 

Cawthra, JimRef C428
[18??-19??] A delver of Brighouse.

He was a well-known Brighouse characterJim Crow – who would go into a local pub and pick up a table with his teeth. Ike Danger also indulged in this obviously popular pastime.

He was one of the instigators of the Irish Riots of 1882, when he cleared out all the Irish labourers from Zingo Nick

He was fined £2 for an assault on Mrs Lawlor, wife of William Lawlor, landlord of the Sun Dial Inn. He had 11 previous convictions

Cawthra, JohnRef C115
[18??-18??] Owner of Four Lane End Colliery.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. son
  2. Thomas [b 1844]
  3. Alfred [b 1855]

On 12th May 1870, his sons – Thomas and Alfred – died after falling to the bottom of the shaft at the Colliery when a rope broke. Mrs Cawthra, the boys' mother had a dream which foretold the accident and asked them not to go to the pit that morning, but the sons ignored the warning

Cawthra, JohnRef C498
[1899-1918] Son of John Henry Cawthra.

He was a part-timer / bobbin doffer [1911].

He lived with his parents at 4 Small Page Fold, Queensbury.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 18th Battalion with the Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He was killed in action [27th August 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [5th October 1918].

He was buried at Quarry Cemetery, Montauban, France [Grave Ref IV B 15].

Cawthra, John HenryRef C1705
[1865-1945] Son of James Cawthra, stone mason's labourer.

Born in Batley.

He was a carrier of Clayton Heights, Bradford [1889] / a mason's labourer [1891] / a waggon driver [1901] / a general labourer [1911].

In 1889, he married Emma Jane Pritchard [1866-1925] at St Peter's Church, Bradford (Bradford Cathedral).


Emma Jane, a wool drawer of Clayton Heights, was born in Queensbury, the daughter of John Pritchard, stone quarrier.

She was a worsted drawer [1891]

 

Children:

  1. Sarah Ann [b 1890] who was a silk warp dresser [1911]
  2. Clara Elizabeth [b 1892] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  3. Annie [b 1897] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  4. John
  5. Alfred [b 1901]
  6. Agnes [b 1904]
  7. Norman [b 1906]

The family lived at

  • 24 Scarlet Height, Queensbury [1891]
  • 4 Small Page Fold, Queensbury [1901, 1911]

Emma Jane (possibly) died in Halifax [Q2 1925] (aged 57).

John Henry (possibly) died in Calder district [Q2 1945] (aged 79) 

Cawthra, JoyceRef C2268
[19??-] Conservative Councillor for Brighouse [2004].

In December 2010, she announced that she would stand as an Independent candidate in the 2011 election

Cawthra, ThomasRef C3040
[1799-1847] Of Halifax.

He married Ruth [1801-1843].

Children:

  1. Ann [1834-1856]
  2. Arthur [1841-1844]

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cawthrey, JohnRef C829
[17??-1???] He was a witness at the trial of the coiners

Cawthron, HenryRef C1794
[18??-18??] Druggist at Halifax.

In 1855, he was declared bankrupt

Caxton House, HalifaxRef C1817
New Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Caygill, JaneRef C1247
[1745-1816] Aka Jenny.

Daughter of John Caygill.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [24th October 1745].

She inherited the Shay estate.

She owned Brookroyds, Halifax [1809]

When she married Sir James Ibbetson in 1768, the estate was sold.

She died at her mother's family home, Down Hall, near Harlow, Essex, in her 71st year

Caygill, JohnRef C1747
[1675-1757] From Swaledale.

He came to Halifax [around 1700].

He became a merchant.

He married (1) Ann [16??-1704].

Children:

  1. Ann [d 1703]
  2. John [d 1704]

On 4th December 1705, he married Martha Stead at Halifax Parish Church.


Martha was the daughter of
Samuel Stead
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Samuel [d 1710]
  3. Elizabeth [d 1711]
  4. Ann / Harriet [bapt 1712 buried 1725]
  5. Elizabeth [bapt 1714] who married William Walker
  6. Matthew [1716-1747]
  7. Jane [d 1718]
  8. Jane [d 1720]
  9. Samuel [d 1721]
  10. Hannah [d 1725]

The couple inherited Stead's property at Upper Shaw and Lower Shaw Syke, Halifax.

The family lived at The Shay, Halifax.

In 1714, he bought the land known as The Hartshorn or Sunderland Fold from the Sunderland family of Ackton, and created The Square here.

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church

Caygill, JohnRef C49
[1708-1787] Son of John Caygill.

Born in Halifax.

Wealthy merchant who owned much property in Halifax.

He built and lived at Shay House.

On 25th October 1744, he married Jane Selwin at St Augustine's, Watling Street, London.

Children:

  1. Jane / Jenny
  2. John [1747-1748]

In 1748, he was churchwarden at Halifax Parish Church.

Brick houses at The Square were designed for him by John Carr around 1750.

In 1779, he and his wife gave the land at Talbot Close and a sum of 800 guineas for the construction of the Piece Hall. The ornate northern wall of the Piece Hall which faces on to Caygill's Square, as compared to the plainer exterior of the other walls, may have been a result of Caygill's contribution.

In November 1769, he attended the enquiry which had been called by the Marquis of Rockingham to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

He died 22nd May 1787.

The epitaph on their memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

See Brookroyds, Halifax and Caygills Terrace, Halifax

Caygill's Walk, HalifaxRef C2037

Cearney, JosephRef C1822
[18??-1???] Aka Professor Joseph of Leeds.

In December 1879, he was committed for trial on 3 charges of obtaining money by false pretences. He had issued leaflets containing testimonials said to be from people who had been cured by his medicines, which he sold at 7/6d per ounce. The medicines were found to consist of aloes and chalk

Cecil, Rev Edward G.Ref C1027
[1823-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was an Independent minister. He trained at Highbury College before becoming Minister at Bramley Lane Congregational Church.

In 1851, he was staying with Sir Henry William Ripley at Holme House, Lightcliffe.

He resigned in 1854 and moved to London and then to Kent

Celeste LimitedRef C1731
Modiste at 5 King Cross Street, Halifax [1937]

CellofoamRef C2559
Part of Lord Kagan's textile empire at Croft House, Rastrick

Celtic CalderdaleRef C2004
A number of Celtic stone heads were excavated at Walsden in the 1960s.

See Prehistoric Calderdale

Cemeteries, Graveyards & Burial GroundsRef C1386

Cemetery Lodge, WarleyRef C75
The Lodge for Warley Town Cemetery.

Owners and tenants have included

Cemetery Tunnel, Sowerby BridgeRef C2050

Cengar Universal Tool Company LimitedRef C2675
An engineering division of Jack Sutcliffe's Central Garage (Halifax) Limited. Established in 1945. The company specialises in the production of air saws

The CenotaphRef C52

Centenary Place, HalifaxRef C2086
A terrace of houses 28-40 Savile Park Road, Halifax. Dated 1891 and JW & S for John Whiteley & Sons. The building was erected to mark Whiteley's centenary.

In the 1950s, the property was owned by the English Card Clothing Company

Central & Palladium MonthlyRef C1998
A pocket guide of interest to cinema patrons published in the 1930s by the Central Picture House, Elland and the Palladium Cinema, Elland

Central Bazaar, EllandRef C2134
General store in Southgate. Recorded in 1957

Central Cocoa House, HalifaxRef C1395
In 1873, the new County Court was built in Prescott Street and the former West Riding Magistrates' Office, which stood next to the market in Union Street, became a cocoa house. It was a branch of the Halifax Cocoa House Company

Central Corn Mill CompanyRef C1951
Millers and merchants at 62 Northgate, Halifax [1900]

Central Dyeing Company LimitedRef C1418
In the 1930s, they had business at Hebble End Dye Works, Heptonstall. They were associated with Greenwood Stell & Sons Limited. They acquired Pecket Well Shed

Central Garage (Halifax) LimitedRef C2450
Motor dealers.

Owned by Jack Sutcliffe.

They had premises at Horton Street, Halifax (workshops, next to the Shakespeare Pub), George Square, Halifax (showrooms), and at the junction on King Cross Street, Halifax and West Parade, Halifax (petrol station).

See Cengar Universal Tool Company

Central Hall, EllandRef C825
The current name for the former Wesleyan Reform Church, Elland

Central Hall, HalifaxRef C552

Central Hall, RippondenRef C1336

Central Library, HalifaxRef C380

Central Picture House, EllandRef C1446
Coronation Street.

This is one of the oldest purpose-built, and structurally unchanged cinemas in the country. It opened on 16th December 1912.

Admission was 3d, 4d, and 6d.

Harry Taylor was the first Manager and he played

atmospheric and appropriate music on the piano

to accompany the films.

In 1917, James Montgomery was Manager.

In 1931, the cinema showed its first talkie: Whoopee! starring Eddie Cantor.

It closed in January 1959.

The cinema was bought by Walker Cinemas of Huddersfield who refurbished the building – installing Cinemascope – and reopened it as the Rex in November 1959.

In 1964, it was converted into a Bingo Hall.

Charles Morris and Peter Berry renovated the building and reopened the cinema in October 1988.

See Central & Palladium Monthly

Central Pictures (Elland) LimitedRef C1424
A group of local businessmen who bought the Rex Cinema and the Palladium cinema in Elland in 1912. Both cinemas were managed by James Montgomery

Central Portrait Rooms, HalifaxRef C1253
12 Waterhouse Street.

Edward Gregson had his studios here [1865, 1874].

See H. Murrell

Central Premises, Hebden BridgeRef C803
Crown Street premises of the Hebden Bridge Industrial Co-operative Society opened in 1889. When the Society closed in 1967 – see Frederick C. Chatburn – the building was sold. The Carlton Hotel later occupied the 2nd and 3rd floors of the building. The building is now private apartments and shops

Central Stores of the Halifax Industrial SocietyRef C1928
The Central Stores of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in Northgate in 1861. It fronted on to Northgate with North Parade to the North. The stores were built at a cost of £23,400.

There was a wholesale department and retail grocery, flour, drapery, tailoring, boots, shoes, clogs, butcher's, coal and other departments. There was a Café. There was a library of 3,000 volumes, a news room. Science classes were held.

On 1st August 1914, an extension to the premises was opened.

The building was demolished in 19??

Central Stores: Ripponden Co-operative Society LimitedRef C2422
When the Society's store next to the Waggon & Horses, Ripponden proved too small, the new Central Stores were built next door [1860].

The old store then became the Rose & Crown.

In 1932, a separate building for the Butchery Department and the Drapery Department was built across the road

Central Ward, HalifaxRef C1932
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. In 1862, the area was represented by St James's Ward. Around 1866, St James's Ward was divided.

See Thomas Farnell, John Thomas Fawthrop, Henry Akroyd Ridgeway, Henry Rushworth, Thomas Selby Walsh and Joseph Whitaker

Central Ward, TodmordenRef C1933
One of the Electoral Wards of Todmorden. Recorded in 1905

Central Working Men's Club, TodmordenRef C2179
Temple Buildings. Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 70

Centre Rock, TodmordenRef C307
A house or group of houses which stood on the present Bacup Road – then called Dulesgate – between Cloughfoot and Sharneyford on the right hand side heading towards Bacup, near the present day observatory. It was in a desolate spot amongst the Dulesgate drift mines. The house/houses are now gone but you can just see where they were built into the rock.

Recorded in the 18th century, when he married

Centre Vale Military Hospital, TodmordenRef C2109
At the outbreak of World War I, Centre Vale was commissioned for use as a military hospital.

The first patients were admitted 17th January 1914.

The hospital closed on 28th February 1919.

See Mrs John Sutcliffe Lord

Centre Vale Park Museum, TodmordenRef C246
A museum was established at Centre Vale, Todmorden. It opened on 24th May 1924.

Some of William Hardaker's work was displayed here

Centre Vale Park, TodmordenRef C662
Burnley Road. In 1910, 75 acres of the Centre Vale estate were bought from John Ashton Fielden by Edward Lord. A further 13 acres were donated by a Mrs Greenwood.

The park was opened to the public by Mayor Robert Jackson on 30th March 1912.

On 8th June 1915, the bowling greens opened.

In 192?, a paddling pool was created.

In 1931, the children's playground was opened.

In 1935, the boating pool was created.

In 1938, a 9-hole miniature golf course was opened.

In 1939, the statue of John Fielden was moved here from Fielden Square

The bandstand was destroyed by fire in the late 1990s. It has since been rebuilt to its original design.

The Fielden School of Art – later the Fielden Centre were here. New leisure and sports facilities were established here in the 1990s.

In 2012, this and Wellholme Park, Brighouse were awarded Queen Elizabeth II Fields status, which protects the land forever.

See Garden of Remembrance, Lucky Dog of Todmorden and Todmorden Co-operative Society War Memorial

Centre Vale, TodmordenRef C389
The house was built in 1826 by Thomas Ramsbottom.

In 1842, the Fielden family moved here from Dawson Weir.

In 1849, Samuel Fielden, inherited the mansion and estate after his father's death.

The Fielden School of Art was built here in 1872

In 1910, Todmorden Corporation bought the 75-acre estate from John Ashton Fielden for £10,000, and the grounds became Centre Vale Park.

During World War I, it was used as a military hospital.

It housed the town's museum.

It closed in 1947 because of dry rot.

The building was demolished in 1953.

Garden of Remembrance was created from what was originally the kitchen garden of the House.

See Buckley Wood

Ceylon Billiard HallRef C263
Occupied the Todmorden Post Office building.

See Billiards

Chadburn, WilliamRef C955
[1824-1???] Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was licensed victualler at the Spring Gardens, Elland [1871].

He married Hannah [1832-1???]


Hannah was born in Greetland
 

Chadwick...Ref C1190
The entries for people & families with the surname Chadwick are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Chadwick's: J. & W. ChadwickRef C1616
Printers and stationers at 5 Wade Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included W. Chadwick

Chafer, George WilliamRef C372
[1894-1966] VC.

He was born in Bradford, brought up in Rotherham and, in 1899, he came to work in Sowerby Bridge.

In June 1915, he joined C Company, 1st Battalion of the East Yorkshire [Duke of York's Own] Regiment.

He was awarded the Victoria Cross for conspicuous bravery in France on 3rd/4th June 1916.

Known as Willie, he was a small man and was known as the smallest and youngest VC

Chaffer BrothersRef C1467
Wheelwrights and blacksmiths at Salford, Todmorden [1905].

The firm installed the first gas engine in Todmorden

Partners included brothers Richard Chaffer and Young Chaffer

Chaffer, Dr HaroldRef C2217
[1870-19??] Son of Young Chaffer.

On 10th November 1907, he married Miss M. Clem. Edmond, in New Zealand.


His wife was the daughter of John Edmond of Dunedin, New Zealand
 

On their return to England, the young couple went to live in South Norwood, where he continued his medical practice

Chaffer, JohnRef C2151
[18??-1???] A manufacturer of plaster of Paris, and dealer in earthenware, rags, bones, salt, etc. at Gaol Lane, Halifax.

Recorded on 18th December 1860, when a fire at his premises caused damage estimated at £200

Chaffer, JohnRef C2428
[1809-1???] Born in Todmorden.

He was a wheelwright [1841] / a master wheelwright [1851, 1861]

He married Betty [1811-1???] from Stansfield.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1835]
  2. Mary J. [b 1836]
  3. Young
  4. Richard
  5. Sarah [b 1843]

The family lived at Salford, Todmorden [1841, 1851, 1861].

Living with them [in 1851] was Thomas Lucas [aged 16] a wheelwright's apprentice from Rochdale

Chaffer, RichardRef C1311
[1840-1929] Of Salford, Todmorden.

Son of John Chaffer.

He and his brother Young were partners in Chaffer Brothers [1905].

In 1864, he married Susan Bamford [1839-1924] at Todmorden.

Children:

  1. Annie [1872-19??] who married [1900] Charles Samuel Stansfield
  2. daughter

Chaffer, YoungRef C1312
[1838-1921] Son of John Chaffer.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a wheelwright [1861, 1871] / a master wheelwright employing 2 men [1881] / a wheelwright [1891, 1901]

He and his brother Richard were partners in Chaffer Brothers [1905].

In 1867, he married (1) Mary Greenwood [1840-1883] at Todmorden.

Children:

  1. John William [b 1868] who was a wheelwright [1891, 1901]
  2. Harold
  3. Ethel [b 1877]
  4. Albert [b 1880]

In 1891, he married (2) Jessie Cockroft [1862-1926] at Todmorden.

The family lived at

  • 1 Ridge Street, Todmorden [1871]
  • 4 Salford, Todmorden & Walsden, Lancashire [1881]
  • 8 Salford, Todmorden & Walsden, Yorkshire [1891]
  • Salford, Todmorden, Yorkshire [1901]
  • 8 Salford, Todmorden, Yorkshire [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] was a boarder Kate Buckley [aged 29] (a cotton weaver from Halifax) 

Chain Bridge, Sowerby BridgeRef C2000
Bridge which carries Gas Works Road over the Calder & Hebble Navigation to Gas Works Road Bridge

Chain Telephone CampaignRef C331
On 16th November 1960, a campaign was launched to publicise the dangers of poliomyelitis by encouraging people to telephone 3 friends and remind them that polio was a killer – and that the NHS offered free vaccinations to anyone under 40 – and finally, to ask each person to ring 3 friends

Chair, Dudley Raikes deRef C496
[18??-18??] Of Dover and Woolwich.

Son of Rev Frederick Blackett de Chair of East Langdon, Kent.

In 1863, he married Frances Emily, eldest daughter of Christopher Rawson.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. daughter

Chalcraft, William HenryRef C1014
[1901-1958] Born in Bradford.

He was landlord of the Stump Cross Inn [1953-1958].

On 2nd June 1923, he married Lilly Green at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


Lilly was the daughter of Frederick Charles Green
 

William Henry was buried at Christ Church, Pellon [Grave Ref: 3A 77] with Lilly's parents.

Lilly took over at the Stump Cross Inn [1958-1963]

Challenger, Rev Samuel ChristopherRef C1041
[1854-1930] Son of Mary Ann & Richard Challenger.

Born in Doncaster.

He was Minister of Brunswick United Methodist Free Chapel, Halifax. He left in 1889.

In [Q3] 1880, he married Eleanor Kingston [1856-1???] in Leicester.


Eleanor was born in Potterspury, Northumberland
 

Children:

  1. Frederick [b 1888]
  2. Ernest [b 1892]

The family lived at

  • Coxlode, Northumberland [1881]
  • Knaresborough [1891]
  • Mansfield [1901]

He died in Newcastle upon Tyne [Q4 1930] (aged 76) 

Challice, S.Ref C1732
[18??-19??] Psychic herbalist at 25 York Crescent, King Cross, Halifax [1937]

Challoner, ThomasRef C497
[18??-19??] Cashier and bookkeeper for Banks, Thornton & Garside who were constructing the railway line from North Dean to Stainland.

On 13th April 1872, he was charged with embezzling 3 sums of £1 6/8d, £1 6/6d and £19/10½d which he recorded as having been paid to men who had never worked on the project. He was committed for trial at the sessions.

In June 1872, he was declared bankrupt

Chalmers, Dr J. E.Ref C1254
[18??-18??] He was Medical Officer for Hipperholme [1865]

Chamberlain's CharityRef C791
William Chamberlain bequeathed 20/- per annum to be paid to the person that reads prayers twice a day in Halifax. He also bequeathed
to the poor children dwelling in the almshouses the sum of 20/- per annum for ever, to be paid at the discretion of Mr Nathaniel Waterhouse feoffees, for the said children to learn to write

and

the sum of 6/- for ever for a dinner yearly on Christmas Day for 12 poor aged persons in the almshouses

The Northowram Register records that he

has left an Estate of £17,000 (as it's said) 

See Mary Chamberlain

Chamberlain, D.Ref C590
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1954-1957]

Chamberlain, FrancesRef C1744
[1717-1786] Daughter of William Chamberlain.

Her father left lands to her and her sister, Mary, which were to support his charity.

She married John Martin.

She died 7th November 1786.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Chamberlain, FrederickRef C282
[1???-1980] Born in Bedford.

He lived at Norland.

He became a local character and campaigner for pensioners' rights. He joined the Army at the age of 40, he served with the Royal Artillery in India during World War II, and with the Territorial Army, before moving to Calderdale in 1954. He was also an artist, a fashion-designer, a poet, and a song-writer.

In 1960, he proposed the idea of a shopping precinct in Halifax so that people could shop in comfort. When Southgate was pedestrianised in the 1970s, he claimed that it should be named the Chamberlain Precinct.

He died on 2nd November 2 1980, and left his body to the medical school at Leeds University

Chamberlain's GiftRef C790
In his will of 1721, Thomas Chamberlain bequeathed 20/- per year to be distributed to 4 poor widows of Elland on the 6th of June each year.

The money came from rent on property owned by William Chamberlain

Chamberlain, JohnRef C808
[1847-1913] Born in Brindle.

He was a quarryman [1873].

In [Q4] 1873, he married Emma Cordingley [1851-1923] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Alice [b 1874]
  2. Joe [1875-1902] who worked in a worsted mill and never married
  3. Emily [b 1878]
  4. Sidney

The family lived at

  • Boothtown
  • Lindley

Chamberlain, MaryRef C1745
[1708-1791] Daughter of William Chamberlain.

She married James Whetherherd.

Their father left lands to Mary and her sister, Frances, which were to support his charity.

James was buried 7th July 1777. Mary died 6th April 1791.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Chamberlain, NevilleRef C2122
[1869-1940] MP.

On 25th October 1925, Neville Chamberlain – then Housing Minister – opened Halifax Workshops for the Blind

Chamberlain, SidneyRef C817
[1888-1916] Son of John Chamberlain.

Born in Halifax.

He was employed by Crossley's.

On 15th June 1911, he married Ethel Nobel [1885-19??] in Halifax.


Ethel was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Joe [1911-1991]

The family lived at 11 St Peter's Street, Boothtown [1914].

During World War I, he joined the army reserve in Halifax [1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [11th July 1916].

He was killed in a failed attack on Schwaben Redoubt [3rd September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Chamberlain, ThomasRef C789
[16??-1721] Of Skipton. He established Chamberlain's Gift

Chamberlain, WilliamRef C561
[1683-1729] Son of Thomas Chamberlain of Skipton.

He became a Halifax salter.

He married Elizabeth [1678-1747].

Children:

  1. Frances
  2. Mary
  3. child who died in infancy
  4. child who died in infancy
  5. child who died in infancy
  6. child who died in infancy
  7. child who died in infancy
  8. child who died in infancy

He established Chamberlain's Charity. In 1727, he owned property in Elland from which the rents supported Chamberlain's Gift.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £17,000.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Chamberlaine's: Thomas Chamberlaine's CharityRef C852
Elland-cum-Greetland. Recorded in 1720

Chambers...Ref C944
The entries for people & families with the surname Chambers are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Chambers & ChambersRef C2263
Brighouse solicitors. Recorded in 1914 (Possibly) later became Chambers, Tregonning & Robertshaw.

See Law Farm, Southowram

Chambers & EastwoodRef C773
Worsted spinners at Craven Edge Mills, Halifax.

Partners included James Chambers and Albert Eastwood.

The business later became

Chambers & HammondRef C1891
Chemical engineers at Leeds Road, Hipperholme [1922]

Chambers BrothersRef C1631
Printers, booksellers and stamp distributors at Cheapside, Todmorden [1845]

Chambers's: James Chambers ExecutorsRef C416
Worsted spinners and genappe manufacturers.

They were at Craven Edge Mills, Halifax.

Partners included William McClellan Chambers, and his wife Hannah, and James Bancroft Eastwood.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent [December 1883]

Chambers of CommerceRef C1569
See Brighouse Chamber of Commerce and Halifax Chamber of Commerce

Chambers's: Thomas ChambersRef C426
Halifax timber merchants.

Partners included Thomas Chambers and William McClellan Chambers.

The partnership was dissolved [1st July 1883], following the death of Thomas.

The business was carried on by William under the same name

Chambers, Tregonning & RobertshawRef C2264
Brighouse solicitors.

See Chambers & Chambers

Champion, William Needham LongdenRef C4960
[1851-1939] Born in Macclesfield, Cheshire.

He was a stuff manufacturer employing 250 labourers [1881].

In 1875, he married Constance Sarah Bentley [1856-1918], born in Rotherham, in York.

Children:

  1. Dorothy Margaret [b 1876]

The family lived at Upper Shibden Hall (+5 servants) [1881].

Constance died in Thetford, Norfolk [1918], and William died at Wayland, Norfolk [1939]

Champney, Charles ErnestRef C248
[1853-1???] Son of Thomas Frederick Champney. He was a nephew of Elizabeth, Edward Akroyd's wife. He and his brothers were brought into the Akroyd family business.

He lived at Bankfield.

See William Akroyd's Bequest

Champney, D'ArcyRef C238
[18??-1???] Son of Thomas Frederick Champney. He was a nephew of Elizabeth, Edward Akroyd's wife. He and his brothers were brought into the Akroyd family business.

He was a Major in the 4th West Yorkshire Rifle Volunteers.

He lived at Bankfield.

On the death of Edward Akroyd, he moved to Beverley. He is said to have taken Edward's library and pictures.

See William Akroyd's Bequest

Champney, Mrs JaneRef C1334
[1821-1894] Née Jane Fearby, sister of Elizabeth Fearby.

She married Thomas Frederick Champney.

After the death of her husband, Jane and her sons moved to Halifax. They lived at 34 Clare Road.

When Edward Akroyd retired from public life in 1880, he and his wife went to live with Mrs Champney at Esplanade, Scarborough.

Jane died at Scarborough.

Jane & her husband were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Champney, John EdwardRef C211
[1846-1929] JP.

Son of Thomas Frederick Champney. He was a nephew of Elizabeth, Edward Akroyd's wife. He and his brothers were brought into the Akroyd family business. From 1865, he managed Copley Factory School.

From 1871, he was a director of the Akroyd's company. He later took over the entire business.

After the firm wound down, he moved away to Horton, Buckinghamshire.

On 15th November 1872, while walking down Haley Hill, he was shot in the back and slightly wounded by James Whitehead, who had been discharged from Akroyd's for incapacity. Champney was only saved by his thick overcoat. This is discussed in the book Halifax Murders

In 1874, he married Margaret Stuart [1841-1923] in Belper, Derbyshire.


Margaret from Belper, was the daughter of Marcus Huish
 

They had no children.

They lived at Woodlands.

Through Margaret's family – notably Marcus Bourne HuishJohn became closely involved with the Fine Art Society, and was introduced to noted contemporary British artists. He invested a substantial portion of his money in an art collection. Perhaps inspired by his uncle Akroyd's benevolence, John endowed the town of Beverley with money to build a Public Library which opened in 1910. Later, he left many paintings to Beverley Art Gallery in his will.

He died at his home in Hans Place, London [1929]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £192,252. He left several works of art to Halifax Corporation, a generous bequest to the Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Institution, and a considerable sum to Wakefield Diocese.

See William Akroyd's Bequest

Champney, Thomas FrederickRef C1358
[1820-1871] Of York.

In 1844, he married Jane, sister of Elizabeth Fearby.

Children:

  1. John Edward
  2. Charles Ernest
  3. D'Arcy

After his death, his widow and sons moved to Halifax and lived at Clare Road.

Thomas & Jane were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Champvent, William deRef C56
[1???-12??] Aka Chauvent.

Born in Switzerland, he spoke no English. He was Rector of Halifax [1250-1273]. He left to become Bishop of Lausanne

Change, SouthowramRef C537
Flat-top hill overlooking Wood Nook and Park Nook and Exley

Changeline Bridge, TodmordenRef C506
Rochdale Road. Bridge #30 over the Rochdale Canal.

See Library Lock, Todmorden

Channel IslandsRef C1571
Following the German invasion of the Channel Islands in June 1940, a number of refugees – notably from Guernsey – were evacuated to the district.

Those who arrived in Halifax were put into temporary accommodation at the Halifax Union Workhouse.

See Brighouse Channel Islands Society

Chantree, Robert MarkRef C387
[1863-1943] Born in Sleaford.

On 29th Aug 1888, he married Emily Jane Hollas in Ripponden.


Emily Jane was the daughter of
Peter Hollas
 

Children:

  1. Charlotte Frances [b 1889]
  2. Leonard Maurice [b 1890]
  3. Catherine Eliza [b 1898]
  4. Annie [b 1903]

The children were all born in Sleaford.

The couple died in Sleaford

Chantrell, Robert DennisRef C455
[1793-1872] London-born architect. He was a pupil of Sir John Sloane. He moved to Halifax. He designed many Gothic churches in Yorkshire between 1823-1846, notably those built under the Million pound Act. Some local examples of his work include repairs at Halifax Parish Church [1819], St Paul's Church, King Cross, Sion Congregational Church, Wade Street, and Rudding Park, Harrogate

Chantry House, HeptonstallRef C711
This house was the former charnel house for the graveyard.

The building is dated 1779.

It is said that fragments of bones and gravestones have been found in the fabric of the building.

The house contains panelling from Learings, Heptonstall, a frieze dated 1629 from High Hurst, Hebden Royd, and a fireplace dated 1635 from Stocks Springs, Cragg Vale.

It was completely refurbished by Jack Smith [1965]. It is said to be haunted and a ghost was reported during the refurbishment

Chapel Croft, RastrickRef C902
Area of Rastrick around St Matthew's Church. The church is built upon part of the land

Chapel Farm, MixendenRef C1921
or Pellon. Stands next to Moor End Congregational Church

Chapel Farm, RippondenRef C202
Owners and tenants have included

Named for a Chapel which preceded St Bartholomew's Church. This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country

Chapel Farmhouse, RippondenRef C827
See Ripponden Old Bank, Ripponden

Chapel Field Mill CompanyRef C1419
Built Chapel Field Mill, Ripponden.

Partners included Robert Holt.

See Hirstwood's Charities and Platt's Charities

Chapel House, ColeyRef C640
Aka Coley Chapel Farm. 16th / 17th century farm which stood next to Coley Church.

A stone dated 1647, which was discovered when the inn sign was taken down for repainting on 24th January 1902, indicates that the house paid a rent to the Knights of St John of Jerusalem. There was a bowling green between the house and the church. It is said that Cromwell stayed at the house during the Civil War.

In 1649, Captain Langdale Sunderland leased the farm to John Rishworth.

It became the Chapel House – later the Malt Shovel – public house.

It was later converted into 4 separate dwellings. It was demolished about 1970 and replaced by a large bungalow.

The House is discussed in the book Halifax Pubs Volume Two

Chapel House Cottages, TodmordenRef C2306
Numbers 1, 2, 3 & 4 Grey Stone Lane. Late 17th / early 18th century house.

The first recorded Quarterly Meeting of the Methodists was held here in October 1748.

Now 4 separate cottages

Chapel House Farm, TodmordenRef C2307
Grey Stone Lane. Early 18th century laithe-house.

Chapel House, HalifaxRef C2262
Chapeltown.

Owners and tenants have included

Chapel House, SouthowramRef C2265
Appears to be associated with Southowram Wesleyan Chapel.

Owners and tenants have included

Chapel House, StansfieldRef C217
Originally Bent Head Chapel.

Built around 1719 by the Congregationalists who had grown in number and left Great House, Stansfield. It accommodated 200-300 people.

Around 1750, the chapel went into decline and the size of the congregation fell due to the

exceptional mortality in the district

Around 1807, the congregation moved to Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood

The property is recorded as having 6 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

Chapel House, WainstallsRef C701
The house was formerly Mount Pleasant Wesleyan Reform Chapel, Wainstalls

The Chapel in the GroveRef C336
An early name for Halifax

Chapelle, Rev J. K.Ref C1207
[18??-1???] Minister at Shore General Baptist Church, Todmorden [1876]

Chapeltown, HalifaxRef C334

Chaplin, CharlieRef C770
[1889-1977] The comedian appeared at the Palace Theatre, Halifax in 1906 as a part of Casey's Court Nibbs

Chapman...Ref C1627
The entries for people & families with the surname Chapman are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Chapman & WilkinsonRef C1420
Fireplace specialists of Greetland. Recorded in 1946

Chappell, FrankRef C948
[1895-1915] Son of John Chappell.

He was a cotton piecer [1911] / a stoker at Century Dye Works, Elland [1913] / a member of the Elland Territorial Company.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

His 2 brothers – Private Herbert Chappell and Driver George Chappell also served in the War.

Frank died following a German gas attack [19th December 1915] (aged 20).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [15th January 1916].

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20], on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland

Chappell, HerbertRef C949
[1892-19??] Son of John Chappell.

He was a labourer (dye works) - (possibly) Century Dye Works, Elland [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

His 2 brothers – Sergeant Frank Chappell and Driver George Chappell also served in the War.

In the Halifax Courier [15th January 1916] – which reported the death of his brother FrankHerbert was reported to be in hospital suffering from gunshot wounds

Chappell, JohnRef C950
[1801-1847] He was a comber of Stainland [1835] / a comber [1841] / a wool sorter [1862].

In 1820, he married Elizabeth Taylor [1801-18??] at Elland Parish Church.


Betty was born in Spotland, Rochdale, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Frances [b 1826]
  2. William [b 1830] who was a wool comber [1851]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1832] who was a woollen factory worker [1851], a woollen feeder [1861]
  4. Samuel
  5. George [b 1838] who was a woollen factory worker [1851], a woollen spinner [1861]

The family lived at

  • Holywell Green, Stainland with Old Lindley [1841]
  • 373 Holywellgreen, Stainland with Old Lindley [1851]
  • 116 Holy Well Green, Stainland with Old Lindley [1861]

Chappell, JohnRef C947
[1866-19??] Son of Samuel Chappell, cab proprietor.

Born in Elland.

He was a stable boy (dom) [1881] / a cabman of Elland [1890] / a cabman [1891] / a teamer (horse) [1901] / a teamer [1911]

In 1890, he married Mary Hannah Binns [1871-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Hannah, of Elland, was born in Norland, the daughter of Nathan Binns, carder
 

Children:

  1. Herbert
  2. Annie [b 1894] who was a worsted twister [1911]
  3. Frank
  4. George [b 1897] who was a cotton piecer [1911] and served as a Driver in World War I
  5. John William [b 1898] who was a worsted doffer [1911]
  6. Eleanor [b 1899] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  7. Albert [b 1902]
  8. Lucy [b 1904]
  9. Ernest [b 1905]
  10. Mary [b 1906]
  11. Samuel [b 1907]
  12. Harry [b 1908]
  13. Agnes [b 1910]
  14. Sarah Ann [b 1911]

The family lived at

  • Northgate, Elland [1891]
  • 19 Bank Bottom, Elland [1901]
  • Calde... Cottage, Millgate, Elland [1911]

Chappell, JosephRef C1282
[1794-18??] Born in Ovenden.

He was a linen draper [1851]

He married Mary [1800-1???].


Mary was born in Illingworth
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1829]
  2. Ann [b 1830]
  3. Mary [b 1832]
  4. Ruth [b 1838]
  5. Elizabeth [b 1840]

The family lived at 32 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1851].

Living with them [in 1851] were widowed mother Susan Isles [b  1768] (former Landlady) & niece Sarah A. Walton [b 1823] (governess) 

Chappell, LindleyRef C463
[1878-1945] Born in Shepley, Huddersfield.

On 26th May 1900, he married Frances Clara White in Shepley.

Children:

  1. Kenneth [1900-1971]
  2. Hilda [1904-1950]

Between 1904 and 1910, Lindley he served several prison sentences:

  • 20th December 1904: sentenced to 7 days' hard labour for being drunk
  • 7th March 1905: sentenced to 7 days' hard labour for arrears of poor rates
  • 2nd December 1909: sentenced to one month's hard labour for neglect of family
  • 4th April 1910: sentenced to 14 days' hard labour for being drunk

In 1911, Lindley, a teamster for a contractor, was a boarder living with Foster Moore & family at 2 Burhouse Street, Honley.

In 1911, Frances Clara & Hilda were living with George Maynard.


Question: Does anyone know anything about Lindley after 1911?

 

He died in Huddersfield [Q3 1945] (aged 67) 

Chappell, SamuelRef C1227
[1835-1904] Son of John Chappell.

Born in Stainland.

Baptised at Elland Parish Church.

He was a woollen factory worker [1851] / a woollen spinner [1861] / a spinner [1862] / a grocer [1871] / a grocer & undertaker [1881] / a cab proprietor and greengrocer in Elland [1891] / a hawker of peas [1901].

In 1862, he married Mary Maude [1837-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Mary was born in Greetland, was the daughter of Gideon Maude, labourer
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1863] who was a worsted rover [1881]
  2. Mary Jane [b 1864] a woollen reeler [1881], a cotton operative [1891]
  3. John
  4. Annie [b 1868] who was a cook domestic [1901]
  5. Alice [b 1877] who was a worsted operator [1891]

The family lived at

  • Briggate, Elland [1871, 1881]
  • Northgate, Elland [1891]
  • 3 Huddersfield Road, Elland [1901]
  • 6 Lindwell, Greetland [1911]

Chappell, Stanley MaynardRef C864
[1919-1945] Son of Frances Clara White & George Maynard.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the Norfolk Regiment.

He was accidentally killed 9th November 1945 (aged 26).

He was buried at St Andrew's Church, Stainland with his parents [322 New]

CharactersRef C713

CharitiesRef C594

Charles, DanielRef C1317
[1833-1???]

In April 1860, he married Ann [1839-1910].

Children:

  1. Elizabeth Ann Stuart [1859-1941] who married William Prosser

Charlestown Brick & Tile Company LimitedRef C1406
Stone quarrying company. Recorded in 1872 & 1874 when George Buckley was Managing Director.

It later became the Halifax Brick Company.

See Alfred Ernest Dalzell

Charlestown Co-operative SocietyRef C1405
Opened in 1867

Charlestown Curve, Hebden BridgeRef C2216
A notorious bend on the railway line at between Charlestown, Hebden Bridge and Todmorden.

There have been several railways accidents here, notably on

See Charlestown Station

Charlestown, HalifaxRef C63
Area of Halifax to the north of North Bridge. This was once the site of a large garden which extended to North Bridge – see Garden Street North

With the coming of the railways, industrial development transformed the area and eventually the Charlestown area became known as one of the roughest parts of Halifax, until large scale slum clearances before World War II.

In the late 1930s, Halifax Corporation decided to build municipal homes on reclaimed town centre industrial land, and in 1939, the distinctive homes – self-contained ground floor dwellings with two-storey maisonettes above, to suit the contours of the land – were built and handed over to tenants in 1940.

See Charlestown Road, Halifax, Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax and Diocesan Church Army Van

Charlestown, Hebden BridgeRef C62
District of Calderdale lying south of the Calder and west of Hebden Bridge.

See Charlestown Curve and Charlestown Station

Charlestown History GroupRef C1544
Hebden Bridge. Established in March 1998

Charlestown Railway StationRef C1318
In 1939, Todmorden RDC applied for a station at Charlestown. This was rejected.

See Charlestown Curve, Hebden Bridge

Charlestown Tea & Dining Rooms, Hebden BridgeRef C1979
Recorded in the 1880s, when Mrs W. W. Moss was the proprietress

Charlestown Viaduct, HalifaxRef C111
Aka Berry Lane Viaduct & Clark Bridge Viaduct.

Railway viaduct built 1872-1874 for the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company.

It had 36 arches and was 480 yards long.

It ran parallel to Charlestown Road for much of its length, and passed over Berry Lane, Bank Bottom, the Hebble Brook and the access road off Mulcture Hall Road to the lower yard of the Halifax Corporation Gas Works.

It carried the Halifax-Ovenden line of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway and the Bradford-Queensbury-Halifax and Keighley-Queensbury-Halifax lines of the Great Northern Railway, between Halifax Station and North Bridge Station's goods yard.

Rail traffic over the viaduct diminished following the closure of the coal-fired Power Station (around 1970), and the closure of North Bridge Station's goods yard (1973), and with the switch from coal-gas production to North Sea gas distribution at the Gas Works (1976), the line became redundant.

The Viaduct was demolished in 1981.

See Beacon Hill Viaduct, Halifax, Berry Lane Grain Warehouse, Halifax, Halifax Coal Drops and Queensbury Railway Lines

Charlestown Viaduct, Hebden BridgeRef C227

Charlestown Working Men's Club & Institute, Hebden BridgeRef C1693
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 81.

Recorded in 1917, when Ernest Rogers was secretary

Charlesworth, BenjaminRef C489
[1818-1887] Born in Cleckheaton.

He was an innkeeper at the Rose & Crown, Greetland [1845, 1851, 1861, 1864] / a butcher [1851, 1861, 1871] / a farmer of 6 acres [1881].

He married (1) Harriet Marshall [1824-1864].


Harriet was born in Ossett
 

Children:

  1. Marshall
  2. John Marshall who died 18th March 1847 (aged 17 months) 
  3. Fred [b 1851]
  4. Ann died 11th November 1853 (aged 9 months) 
  5. Joe who died 23rd May 1855 (aged 6 months) 
  6. John who died 26th September 1859 (aged 3 years & 6 months) 

Harriet died 5th May 1864 (aged 40).

In [Q2] 1869, he married (2) Sarah [1821-1???] in Halifax.


Sarah [née Kilner] was born in Greetland, the widow of Joseph Clegg [married Halifax Q3/1856].

She had 2 children by her first marriage

  1. John Kilner Clegg [b 1861] who was a railway booking clerk [1881], & married [Halifax Q1/1888] Alice Ann Thwaite
  2. Lily Clegg [b 1866]
 

The family lived at

  • Well Head, Elland-cum-Greetland [1861]
  • Cross Lane Ends, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]
  • Scar Green Terrace, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881]

Benjamin died 14th January 1887 (aged 69).

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: R4]

Charlesworth, F.Ref C1868
[18??-19??] Butcher at Greetland.

In March 1900, he was declared bankrupt

Charlesworth, IsaacRef C1030
[1803-1825] He violently assaulted and robbed Joshua Cropper of £1 14/- on the highway in the parish of Sheffield.

On 13th August 1825, he was executed at the Tyburn, York

Charlesworth, JamesRef C671
[18??-1???] Son of John Charlesworth.

He was a mill worker [1861] / licensee of the Junction, Rastrick [1881]

Charlesworth, JohnRef C670
[1???-1864] Beerseller at the Junction, Rastrick [1861]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. James

He died in 1864.

His son James took over at the Junction [1881]

Charlesworth, Rev JosephRef C1597
[1842-1899] Born in Sheffield.

He was a Wesleyan minister.

He married Emily Grace [1840-1907].


Emily Grace was born in Wakefield
 

Children:

  1. Ellen May [b 1870]
  2. Edith Talbot [b 1873]
  3. Emily Margaret [1874-1951] who married Dr Astley Brodie Crowther
  4. Frederick William [b 1879]
  5. Percy Grace [b 1882]

The family lived at Bingley [1891].

Joseph died in Pateley Bridge in 1899.

Emily Grace died in Wetherby in 1907

Charlesworth, MarshallRef C702
[18??-19??] Butcher and saddler at West Vale.

In February 1879, he went into liquidation when there was a depression in the leather trade which led to many business failures.

He went into liquidation by arrangement in August 1882

Charlesworth, MarshallRef C647
[1844-1891] Son of Benjamin Charlesworth.

Born in Greetland.

In [Q4] 1875, he married Eliza Jane Andrews in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Minnie [8th November 1876-2nd June 1877]

Minnie was buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: R4] with her Charlesworth grandparents.

Marshall died in Halifax [Q4 1891] (aged 47) 

Charlesworth, Rev RobertRef C1110
[1717-1786] MA.

Son of Robert Charlesworth, gent.

Born in Castleton, Derbyshire.

Lecturer at Halifax [1760].

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1782]

On 13th July 1761, he married Ann Caygill [17??-1785] at Halifax Parish Church

Charlesworth, Robert SpinkRef C1954
[1908-1945]

He married Ethel.

They lived in Hebden Bridge.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 48th Battery 21 Lt. A.A. Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 18th February 1945 (aged 37).

He is remembered on the Singapore Memorial [Grave Ref 15]

Charlesworth, TomRef C1959
[1923-1944] Son of Nellie & Frank Charlesworth of Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Flight Sergeant with the 192nd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 5th July 1944 (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 216]

The Charlton family of HalifaxRef C1159

Charlton, Rev AlecRef C753
[1870-1975] Born in Heaton Norris, Cheshire. The family originally came from Chorlton (hence Charlton). His family moved to Manchester. Formerly Church of England, they joined the Moss Side Baptist Church.

He trained at Rawdon College before becoming the first Pastor at Pellon Baptist Church [1904-1917].

During World War I, he was chaplain to the Nonconformist servicemen at Wellesley Barracks.

In 1917, he moved to Hallfield Baptist Church in Bradford, and in 1943, to West Lane Baptist Church at Haworth.

See Charlton Court, Pellon

Charlton, JosephRef C1681
[1812-1884] Merchant living at Heath Villas, Halifax [1861]

He married Sarah [1831-1883]

Sarah died at Heath Villas, Halifax [24th August 1883] (aged 52) 

Joseph (possibly) died in Halifax [Q4 1884] (aged 72) 

Charlton, SamuelRef C1886
[1815-18??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was imprisoned for 2 months for stealing a barrel of porter, at Southowram, the property of Rebecca Myers.

See Dyer & Miller, Halifax

Charlton, ThomasRef C317
[1810-1890] Of Clare House, Halifax.

He died 30th June 1890

Charmer, HerbertRef C739
[1901-1941] Son of Alice & Herbert Charmer.

In [Q3] 1933, he married Kathleen M. Healey in Todmorden.

They lived in Walsden.

During World War II, he served as a Warrant Officer with the Royal Air Force.

He died 12th January 1941 (aged 40).

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Walsden [253].

He is remembered with a CWGC headstone at St Peter's Church, Walsden and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Charnley, FrankRef C873
[1883-1918] In [Q2] 1910, he married Unknown in Todmorden.

They lived at Royal Cottage, Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died 10th August 1918 (aged 35).

He was buried at Magnaboschi British Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref 1 D 5].

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Charnley, SethRef C9180
[1865-1???] Son of William Charnley, mason.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a carder in Mytholmroyd [1883] / a beer retailer at Hawksclough [1893].


Question: Does anyone know which beerhouse this may have been?

 

On 3rd November 1883, he married Catherine Trewartha [1863-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Catherine, of Mytholmroyd, was the daughter of John Trewartha, copper miner
 

Charnock...Ref C27
The entries for people & families with the surname Charnock are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Charnock & BoothRef C1005
Halifax stone masons.

Partners included Mr Charnock – could this be Jonathan Charnock and Mr Booth.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1866

Charnock's: Herbert Charnock & SonsRef C1526
Wheelwrights and van and waggon builders at Bedford Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included Herbert Charnock, E. Charnock and Herbert Charnock Jnr

Charnock's: I. & R. Charnock & SonsRef C1826
Worsted spinners at Lower Jack Royd Mill [1936]

Charnock's: J. Charnock & SonsRef C1498
Aka Jonathan Charnock & Sons, Jonathan Charnock, Son & Company.

Contractors and timber merchants established at Pellon Lane Saw Mills, Halifax [1849].

Partners included

They worked on many projects including Grand Theatre, Halifax, Halifax Railway Station, Holmfield Railway Station, North Bridge Railway Station and Ovenden Railway Station.

The partnership Jonathan Charnock, Son & Company was dissolved in December 1876. The business was carried on by Edgar Charnock & George Charnock.

The partnership was dissolved about 1882.

In 1890, George was sole proprietor of J. Charnock & Sons. The partnership was dissolved about 1882.

In 1890, George was sole proprietor.

On 14th September 1900, there was a fire at their woodyard.

The business ran into difficulties in April 1906, and the Saw Mill closed on 1st December 1906.

See Freemasons' Hall, Halifax and Ovenden Railway Station

See J. H. Charnock

Charnock's: John Charnock & SonsRef C1910
Stone merchant.

They were at Charlestown Mine, Halifax [1896].

In 1905, they had an office at North Bridge Station

Charnock's: Jonathan Charnock & SonRef C2346
Stone merchants and quarry owners at Southowram established by Jonathan Charnock.

Edgar Charnock was head of the firm for several years

Charteris, Dr WilliamRef C1300
[1839-1917] LRCP, LM, LRCS.

Born in Annandale, Dumfriesshire [9th February 1839].

Around 1889, he moved to Hipperholme.

He was a medical practitioner / Medical Officer for Hipperholme, Coley and Norwood Green Parishes [1905] / surgeon at Amisfield House, Hipperholme [1905].

He served with the Local Government Medical Service [1895].

In 1877, he gave evidence into the murder of Elizabeth Kershaw.

In [Q3] 1865, he married Eliza Corrie in Bradford.

Children:

  1. George Bell [1867-1885]
  2. Helen Corrie [b 1868] who married [Halifax Q3 1893] Richard Davidson
  3. Jessie McLaurin [1870] who died in infancy
  4. Annie [b 1871] who married Samuel Lord Watkinson
  5. William [b 1874]
  6. Francis Robert [b 1877]
  7. Ethel Wemyss [b 1879] who never married

He died 26th September 1917.

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery.

See Dr Haining

Charters, MrRef C2530
[18??-1???] Woollen manufacturer at Rastrick.

He married Annie Amelia.

In September 1883, Mrs Charters was fined £1 for stealing a tin of tongue from George Sykes's grocer's shop in West Vale. Several similar items had gone missing from the shop and a watch was being kept when Mrs Charters was caught

The Chartists' Hall, RippondenRef C2419
A popular name for the Foresters' Hall, Ripponden when the Chartists met here

Chartres & SkeltonRef C1843
Grocers at Sowerby Bridge and Todmorden.

Partners included Andrew Chartres and Henry Skelton.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1856

Chartres's: T. Chartres & SonsRef C1665
Fancy woollen manufacturers at Rastrick [1874]

Chaser, J. H.Ref C272
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1922, when he was a hosier at 10 Northgate, Halifax

Chatburn BrothersRef C1388
20th century clothing manufacturers of Machpelah, Hebden Bridge

Chatburn, Frederick C.Ref C560
[1907-1989] He was a lay preacher and an amateur actor.

He married Mary A. Marshall [1912-1991].


Mary was a teacher and came from Scotland
 

They had no children.

The family lived at Charlestown, Hebden Bridge.

In 1929, he started working for Hebden Bridge Co-operative Society.

By 1967, he had become managing-secretary, when he was accused of forgery and falsification of accounts after auditors discovered that £25,203 had disappeared from the society's accounts over a period of 8 years. The problems came to light when members began to question the balance in their share accounts.

It appeared that he would draw money from an account which he knew was little used. If the balance was questioned, he would explain that there had been a mistake and correct the situation by withdrawing money from another account.

In May 1967, Chatburn appeared at Leeds Assizes and was jailed for four years. He pleaded guilty to 4 charges of forgery, 5 charges of falsifying accounts, and asked for 125 other cases to be taken into consideration.

There were bankruptcy proceedings [1969] at which Chatburn's wife was the other chief creditor, claiming £4,000. She had been charging Chatburn for living at the home they shared but which she owned.

All those Co-Op customers who had been affected by the fraud received all their money back.

On 30th October 1967, an extraordinary general meeting decided that, because of lack of confidence in the Co-operative Bank, the society should be wound up.

All shops and premises sold at auction [1968]. After he was released from jail, he moved to Scotland.

Frederick died 4th January 1989 (aged 82) 

Mary died 19th December 1991 (aged 79)  The couple were buried in Ford Road Cemetery, Crieff, Scotland

Chatburn, SamuelRef C1375
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner, dealer and chapman at Stubbing Mill, Erringden.

In 1806, he was declared bankrupt

Chatburn, SamuelRef C1800
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Hebden Bridge.

In July 1804, he was declared bankrupt

Chatburn, SamuelRef C1226
[1853-1883] Of South Hollingsworth, Walsden.

Born 13th March 1853.

He died 27th May 1883.

He was buried at Heptonstall Church

Chatburn, WilliamRef C592
[1899-1918] Or Willie.

Son of Margaret Agnes & John Edward Chatburn of Miles Platting, Manchester.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died of wounds [5th October 1918] (aged 19).

He was buried at Glageon Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref II E 5].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Heath Congregational Church, Halifax

Chatham, TodmordenRef C134
Joiner's house named by Mr Clegg

Chattaway, ProfessorRef C869
[18??-18??] Ran Ramsden's Writing Institution in Halifax

Chatterton, Rev H.Ref C654
[18??-18??] Incumbent at Park Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Brighouse [1914].

He left [1914] to serve in Sheffield.

In January 1914, it was reported that he was in Torquay and


threatened with nervous breakdown
 

Chaytor, DavidRef C1902
[19??-] Calderdale Councillor. He became MP for Bury North.

He lives in Todmorden.

In 2009, he was involved in the MPs' expenses furore, after allegedly claiming for a mortgage which had already been paid off. He announced that he would step down at the next election.

In February 2010, he was one of a number of MPs charged with dishonestly claiming expenses. In December 2010, he was charged with false accounting totalling just over £20,000. He pleaded guilty and was imprisoned for 18 months

Cheadle, PeterRef C1002
[18??-1864]

In [Q3] 1852, he married Hx in Calder District.


Eliza was the daughter of
Joseph Wood
 

Cheap ConcertsRef C291
In the 19th century, Mr Stansfield ran a series of inexpensive daily concerts – known as Cheap Concerts – at the Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax where
a man may bring his wife and enjoy a pleasant evening's amusement at a most reasonable charge

Cheapside, GreetlandRef C1085
Recorded in 1907

Cheapside, TodmordenRef C268
Area of Todmorden around the Lord Nelson Inn

Cheesebits, TommyRef C704
[18??-19??] A well-known character who wheeled a handcart selling 2d bundles of firewood in and around Halifax.

It is said that Mrs Copley employed Tommy as a messenger to deliver the cash takings from Copley's, Halifax business to the bank

Cheetham...Ref C66
The entries for people & families with the surname Cheetham are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Cheetham's: Betty Cheetham & SonRef C2018
Fustian finishers at Hebden Bridge [1861] carried on by Betty, widow of James Cheetham

Cheetham Estate, RastrickRef C2295
Land in the Field Lane area. It was owned by John Cheetham. The fields here were a popular recreation area

Cheetham's (Hebden Bridge) LimitedRef C1389
Formerly James Cheetham & Sons. Fustian and clothing manufacturer at Crown Street, Hebden Bridge [1917].

See Thomas Cheetham

Cheetham's: James Cheetham & SonsRef C1556
Fustian and clothing manufacturer at Crown Street, Hebden Bridge [1905].

Partners included James Cheetham and Thomas Cheetham.

The company became Cheetham's (Hebden Bridge) Limited

Cheetham's: John Cheetham & SonRef C1438
Brighouse silk spinners established by John Cheetham around 1870 from the earlier Monk & Burrows company and Richard Kershaw & Company.

They had business at Calder Bank Mills and Snake Hill Mills

Partners in the firm included John Albert Cheetham.

In May 1885, there was a lock-out at the mill after a number of men were dismissed for misconduct. Other workers threatened that they too would leave work, so the owners closed the mill altogether and the works were idle for a time.

In September 1890, they bought Albert Mills, Rastrick for £400.

In January 1909, they installed a water system at their Calder Bank Mills for use in the event of fire.

On 29th January 1909, the mill was destroyed by fire which started in the drying room. Cheetham's bought the vacant Belle Vue Mills and resumed production.

See Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham

Chelsea House, HipperholmeRef C481
See Belvedere, Hipperholme

Chelsea Valley, HipperholmeRef C431
Jum Hole Beck flows through the valley

ChemistryRef C633

Chemists & DruggistsRef C2560

ChepedeneRef C1780
Spelling of Shibden recorded in 1308

Cherry, BroderickRef C528
[1829-1897] Son of Thomas Cherry.

He was a miner [1851] / a general labourer boarding with Mary Winter and family at Westgate, Newcastle upon Tyne [1881, 1891].

He died in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1897 (aged 69) 

Cherry, JamesRef C1624
[1820-1???] Son of Thomas Cherry.

Born in

He was a weaver of Heptonstall [1841] / a worsted weaver/labourer [1851] / a cotton weaver [1861, 1881].

On 26th December 1841, he married Mary Sutcliffe [1821-1???].


Mary, of Heptonstall, was the daughter of Thomas Sutcliffe, weaver
 

Children:

  1. Betty [b 1843]
  2. Thomas [b 1846]
  3. Broderick [b 1848]
  4. Jane [b 1853]
  5. Ellen [b 1857]
  6. John/Jeremiah [b 1859]
  7. James [b 1863]
  8. Simon [b 1866]

The family lived at

  • Heptonstall [1851]
  • Freeholds Bottom, Spotland, Rochdale [1861]
  • Throughgate, Spotland, Rochdale [1871]
  • Rochdale Old Road, Spotland, Rochdale [1881]

Cherry, JeremiahRef C1290
[1832-1872] Son of Thomas Cherry.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was an apprentice stone mason (staying with Benjamin Whitham & family at Hawksclough, Wadsworth) [1851] / a stone mason [1853, 1861, 1871].

On 27th November 1853, he married Sarah Hollingrake [1832-1???].


Sarah, a factory operative of Heptonstall, was the daughter of William Hollingrake, tailor
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Sally [b 23rd June 1857]
  3. Betty [b 23rd April 1860]
  4. Ann [b 9th August 1862]
  5. Zilpha [20th October 1864-1883] who was buried at Heptonstall [3rd February 1883]
  6. Thomas
  7. Sarah Alice [b 25th May 1872]

The family lived at

  • West Laith, Heptonstall [1861]
  • Smith Well Lane, Heptonstall [1871]
  • Main Street, Heptonstall [1881]

Jeremiah died August 1872.

He was buried at Heptonstall Church [10th August 1872].

In 1882, Sarah married (2) Robert Fielding


Sarah (née Hollinrake), of Heptonstall, was the widow of Jeremiah Cherry
 

Cherry, JeremiahRef C1368
[1885-19??] Son of John Cherry.

Born 4th October 1885.

He was a weaver of Northfields, Heptonstall [1910].

On 7th September 1910, he married Minnie Ellen Ashworth [1886-19??].


Minnie, of Eaves Bottom, Hebden Bridge, was the daughter of Richard Ashworth, farmer
 

A Jeremiah Cherry died in Todmorden [Q4 1960] (aged 74) 

Cherry, JohnRef C1237
[1818-1???] Son of Thomas Cherry.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a lead ore dresser [1851].

He married Ann [1821-1???].


Ann was born in Heptonstall
 

Children:

  1. Cornelius [b 1839-1850] who died at Reeth
  2. Jane [b 1843]
  3. Thomas [b 1844]
  4. Simon [b 1847]
  5. Sarah A. [b 1850] who was born at Wolsingham, Durham

The family lived at

  • Low Row, Melbecks, Yorkshire [1851]
  • Underbank, Newchurch, Bacup, Lancashire [1861]

Cherry, JohnRef C1303
[1855-1893] Son of Jeremiah Cherry.

Born 5th May 1855.

He was a weaver of Heptonstall [1874] / a cotton weaver [1881, 1891].

In 1874, he married Martha Ann Holt [1854-1???].


Martha, of Heptonstall, was the daughter of James Holt, carter
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Alice [b 2nd January 1875] who married Richard Uttley
  2. Sally [b 4th October 1877]
  3. Seba/Leba [b 8th December 1879]
  4. Betty [b 4th November 1881]
  5. Zilpha [b 21st November 1883]
  6. Jeremiah
  7. Cecelia [b 21st December 1887]
  8. Ada [b 24th October 1889]
  9. William [b 7th March 1892]

The family lived at

  • Under Arch, Heptonstall [1881]
  • 1 Arch Way, Heptonstall [1891]

John died 2nd March 1893 (aged 38).

Cherry, SimonRef C692
[1816-1869] Son of Thomas Cherry. miner [1841]

Born 19th February 1816.

He was a miner of Heptonstall [1841] / a tapper & miner [1841] / a miner [1851] / a coal miner [1861].

On 22nd April 1841, he married Grace Uttley [1822-1???].


Grace, of Heptonstall, was the daughter of James Uttley, weaver
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1845]
  2. Sarah [b 1847]
  3. Jeremiah [b 1850; bur Heptonstall 3rd March 1852]
  4. John [b 1852]
  5. Simon [b 1856]

The family lived at

  • West Laith, Heptonstall [1841]
  • Heptonstall [1851]
  • Ormerod Buildings, Habergham Eaves, Lancashire [1861]

A Simon Cherry died in Burnley in 1869 (aged 53) 

Cherry, T.Ref C1204
[17??-18??] From Wellington, Somerset.

He was Minister at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church [1789].

A discontented section of the church caused him to resign in 1790.

The situation continued until 1792

Cherry, ThomasRef C454
[1787-1840] Son of Ginny (née Broderick) [1765-18??] & John Cherry [1761-18??].

He was a miner.

On 26th November 1815, he married Betty Nowell [1792-1866].

Children:

  1. Simon
  2. John
  3. James
  4. Thomas
  5. Jane [b 1824]
  6. Broderick
  7. Cornelius [b 16th September 1829; bur 25th July 1833]
  8. Jeremiah
  9. Sarah [b 1837]

The family lived at

  • North Side, Heptonstall [1841]
  • Towngate, Heptonstall [1851]

Thomas died in 1840 (aged 52).

Betty was a pauper [1841].

She died in 1866 (aged 73).

The couple were buried at Heptonstall Church: Thomas [11th June 1840]; Betty [24th May 1866]

Cherry, ThomasRef C1288
[1822-1883] Son of Thomas Cherry.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a miner [1851] / a pit sinker/miner [1861, 1871] / a well sinker [1881] / a coal miner [1883].

On 25th December 1842, he married Susey Dewhurst [1821-1???].


Susey was born in Trawden, the daughter of John Spencer
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1844]
  2. Sarah J. [b 1849]
  3. Jane [b 1850]
  4. Spencer [b 1853]
  5. Alice [b 1855]
  6. Mary [b 1859]

The family lived at

  • Towngate, Heptonstall [1851]
  • Holme St John, Burnley, Lancashire [1861]
  • Burnley [1871]
  • 40 Ashworth Street, Burnley [1881]

Thomas died at Burnley [3rd May 1883].

Probate records show that he left personal effects valued at £145.

Administration was granted to Ann Cherry (widow) 

Cherry, ThomasRef C1591
[1867-1923] Son of Jeremiah Cherry.

Born 30th January 1867.

He was a weaver of Heptonstall [1887] / a cotton weaver [1891] / a cotton loom tackler [1901] / a loom tackler [1911].

On 16th May 1887, he married Emma Pickles [1867-1???].


Emma, of Wadsworth, was the daughter of Rufus Pickles, coachman
 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 12th December 1890]
  2. Eva [b 23rd November 1896] who married [1920] Harry Fielding
  3. Jane [15th April 1888-1942] who married Louis Sanderson
  4. Clara [b 1st August 1894] who married [1921] Greenwood Lister
  5. Hilda [b 7th March 1899] who married [1922] Henry Butterworth
  6. Rufus [b 1909] who married [1936] Edith Gaukroger

The family lived at

  • 15 Church Street, Heptonstall [1891]
  • Lee Mills Lane, Wadsworth [1901]
  • 12 Victoria Road, Hebden Bridge [1911]

Thomas died in 1923 (aged 56) 

Cherry Tree Farm, Stone ChairRef C1751
Hope Street.

The Cherry Tree Inn was located at the farm

Cherry Trees, LightcliffeRef C2363
Knowle Top Road

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Denham family


Question: Does anyone know which members of the family lived here?

 

Cherry Well, CopleyRef C1373

Cheshire HomeRef C140
One of many nursing homes founded by Group Captain Leonard Cheshire.

See White Windows

Chesshire, Rev Howard StanleyRef C939
[1889-1962] Born in Le Havre, France [19th April 1889].

He was Vicar of All Saints' Church, Harley Wood. He left in 1931.

In 1942, he sailed from Southampton to become Chaplain of Devoto and Hurlingham, Argentina.

He was buried at County Durham

Chesswas Jewellers, EllandRef C778
Catherine Street. Jewellery and horologist business established in 1918 in the building previously occupied by Mitchell's Cash Stores.

It was run by the founding family until 1970

Chester, JohnRef C2508
[1???-1???] Factory operative of Lindwell.

On Friday, 6th August 1869, he was drinking in The Shears, West Vale. Benjamin Whiteley, a labourer from West Vale had been sitting near him when Chester got change for a sovereign. After midnight, Chester and George Heywood, a scutcher from West Vale, left and walked towards Brow Bridge. Whiteley and another man assaulted Chester, threw him down on the ground and searched his pockets. They found 2 half-sovereigns and 10/- loose in Chester's pockets and then ran away. The men were later arrested by Police-sergeant Brighouse and committed to the sessions. John Ramsden, a cotton spinner of West Vale was charged as an accomplice, but the charge was withdrawn and he became a witness in the case

Chester, Reginald HodgsonRef C622
[1912-1941] Born in Leeds.

He was educated at Roundhay School, Leeds / employed by Lloyds Bank [in Halifax & other WR towns].

In [Q1] 1940, he married Frances Margherita Thorpe in Leeds.

They lived at Roundhay.

They lived at Park View Avenue, Stump Cross, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Signalman with the Royal Corps of Signals.

He died in hospital [24th February 1941] (aged 29).

He was buried at St John's Church, Roundhay.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Chester, Rev SamuelRef C1881
[1823-1897] Minister at Trinity United Methodist Free Church, Walsden [1890], St James's United Methodist Free Church, Luddenden [1896], and Luddendenfoot United Methodist Free Church [1896]

He moved to Nottingham. He died in Nottingham

Chesters, Rev AlanRef C1757
[1937-] CBE.

He was educated at Elland Grammar School, and the universities of Durham and Oxford. He was ordained in 1962 and served as Curate at Wandsworth, Honorary canon at Durham Cathedral, Archdeacon of Halifax [1985-1989], and Bishop of Blackburn

Chevalier, AlbertRef C858
[1861-1923] English music hall entertainer.

He made several local appearances:

Chevinedge, ExleyRef C276
Mansion built in 1876 by James William Davis.

The area was the site of the Halifax Zoo & Amusement Park.

The house was demolished in 1933.

In 193?, Chevinedge Crescent was built on the site

Chew, MrRef C2377
[17??-1814] On 22nd January 1814,
an unfortunate man by the name of Chew, put a period to his existence in Halifax Gaol, by hanging himself

Chew, WilliamRef C1865
[1781-18??] He served with the 2nd Battalion 84th Foot York & Lancaster Regiment in the Peninsular War

Chilcott, JohnRef C1595
[1880-1918] Son of William Chilcott.

Born in Halifax [Q3 1880].

He was a member of St Augustine's Sunday School, Pellon / a machine toolmaker apprentice [1891] / an iron turner [1911] / a commission agent [1916].

During World War I, he enlisted [November 1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion South Staffordshire Regiment.

He was wounded at Arras.

He died of wounds [16th January 1918] (aged 37).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [2nd February 1918].

He was buried at Etretat Churchyard Extension, France [Grave Ref II A 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Chilcott, WilliamRef C308
[1840-1???] Son of John Chilcott.

Born in Exeter / Tiverton, Devon.

He was Sergeant instructor [1881] / a time keeper (ex colour sergeant) [1891] / an army pensioner (ex colour sergeant) [1901] / a colour sergeant pensioner [1911].

In 1879, he married (1) Elizabeth O'Hara [1856-1884] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Scotland
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. John [b 1881] who was a machine toolmaker apprentice [1901]
  3. Charles E. C. [b 1882] who was a cotton spinning overlooker apprentice [1891], a cotton spinning overlooker apprentice [1901]
  4. George L. [b 1884] who was a machine toolmaker apprentice [1891, 1901]

Elizabeth died (possibly) in childbirth in 1884 (aged 29).

In 1888, he married (2) Sarah Jane Collinson [1862-1???] at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.


Sarah Jane was born in Huntington, York
 

Children:

  1. Eric Hubert [1890-1893]
  2. Herbert William [b 1898] who was a worsted doffer [1911]

The family lived at

  • Soldiers Barracks, 9th Brigade Depot, Spring Hall Lane, Pellon [1881]
  • 19 Alfred Street, Queens Road, Halifax [1891, 1901, 1911, 1918]

Living with them [in 1891] was widowed mother-in-law Ann Collinson [b Holbeck 1840]

Child, Anne KitchenmanRef C229
[1811-1846] Daughter of Kitchenman Child.

Baptised 27th February 1811.

She was the second wife of John Crossley.

She died shortly after giving birth to their daughter Anne

Child, Rev B.Ref C1251
[18??-18??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1865]

Child, CharlesRef C456
[1???-1862] Architect of Eastwood and Halifax who worked in the Calder Valley between 1840-1860.

He was articled to Benjamin Whitehead Jackson.

He was at King Cross Street, Halifax [1850].

His work included St Andrew's Church, Stainland, St John in the Wilderness, Cragg Vale, St John's Church, Bradshaw / St John's Church, Ovenden, St Peter's Church, Walsden, the Oddfellows' Hall, and the Waterhouse School & Almshouses He also worked on the tower at Castle Hill, Huddersfield.

He married (1) Unknown.

After his wife's death, he married (2) Eliza Pickup [1808-18??] in Pontefract.

Children:

  1. William Hall

See Benjamin Whitehead Jackson

Child, CharlesRef C2100
[18??-18??] Churchwarden at Halifax Parish Church [1850]

Child, GeorgeRef C1232
[17??-18??] Of Threap Croft, Illingworth.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. daughter who married who married [1801] Jonathan Priestly from Ovenden

Child, Dr HerbertRef C2531
[18??-1???] MRCS, LSA.

Of West Vale.

On 28th April 1885, he married Amy Brown at Nottingham


Amy was the only daughter of James Woodfall Brown of Nottingham
 

Child, Isabel EdithRef C970
[1860-1927] Of Copley Wood. Elder daughter of John Wright Child.

She married William Frederick Holroyde.

She died at her home in Bromley, Kent

Child, Rev JohnRef C895
[1832-1909] The first Vicar of Clifton [1887-1908]. He left to serve at Gainsborough where he died.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. daughter
  2. Mary

The family lived at

He was buried at Gainsborough.

See Edith Beatrice Armytage and The Parish Register of Hartshead

Child, John AtkinsonRef C240
[1809-1???] Born in Idle.

He was innkeeper at the Griffin, Halifax [1845, 1851].

He married Susan [1815-1???].


Susan was born in Haworth
 

Children:

  1. James [b 1836]

Child, John W.Ref C476
[18??-1915] DCM.

Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in the Dardanelles [4th August 1915].

He was buried at Lancashire Landing Cemetery, Turkey [E 83]. He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal

Child, John WrightRef C969
[1813-1896] Son of Kitchenman Child.

Born in Halifax [9th October 1813].

Baptised [25th December 1813].

He was a civil engineer [1851] / a mechanical engineer [1861] / Manager of Akroyd's Copley Mill [1866] / retired land owner – worsted manufacturer [1871] / a director of Akroyd's [1871].

On 7th July 1859, he married Isabel Robins [1835-1916] at St Mark's Church, Regents Park, London


Isabel was born 3rd June 1835
 

Children:

  1. Isabel Edith
  2. Harold Edward Akroyd [1862-1917]
  3. Amy Marion [1864-1934] who married [7th June 1899] Sören Troldahl, a Dane
  4. Edmund Herbert [1866-1939]

The family lived at

John died 7th February 1896.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £78,776 7/11d.

Probate was granted to son Harold Edward Akroyd Child, Louis Henry Child, and Edward Huntriss

Isabel died 26th October 1916.

The couple were buried at St Stephen's Church, Copley

Child, Joseph CoulsonRef C121
[1858-1926] Born in Horsforth, Yorkshire.

He was a furnace stoker (wire works) [1901] / an iron worker [1911].

In 1887, he married Grace Ellen Lupton [1861-1948] in Knaresborough.


Grace was born in Spofforth, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Joseph [b 1885] who was an oiler in worsted spinning mill [1901]
  2. Walter
  3. Alfred [b 1891] who was a machine tool fitter [1911]

The family lived at

  • 2 John Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 32 Prospect Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] was Joseph's brother Edwin Child [b 1875] (biscuit van driver).

Joseph died in Halifax in 1926 (aged 68).

Grace died in Halifax [Q2 1926] (aged 87) 

Child, KitchenmanRef C38
[1772-1838] Of Ovenden.

Son of Susan Child.

Baptised at St Mary the Virgin, Illingworth [26th May 1772].

On 22nd April 1820, he married (1) Betty Wright at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Anne
  2. John Wright
  3. Sarah Elizabeth [b 1815; bapt 9th October 1815; d 1882]

Details of Betty's death & burial place are not yet known.

On 17th April 1823, he married (2) Mary Illingworth [1788-1833] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William who died 22nd September 1824 (aged 4 months) 
  2. Anna Maria [1825-3rd July 1909]
  3. Edward Illingworth [1826-1901]
  4. Louis Henry [1831-7th November 1916]

The family lived at Blackmires, Ovenden [1833].

Mary died 29th January 1833 (aged 45) 

Kitchenman died 26th February 1838 (aged 65).

The couple & other members of the family () were buried at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax [Grave Ref: 76]

Child labourRef C1570

Child, SusannaRef C401
[1709-1???] Daughter of William Child and Mary Booth.

Born in Hartshead [1st May 1709].

She married Joseph Gledhill

Child, WalterRef C135
[1888-19??] MM.

Son of Joseph Coulson Child.

Born in Halifax.

He was a bobbin sider in worsted spinning mill [1901] / a butcher boarding in Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire [1911].

In 1915, he married Rebecca Morris in Grimsby, Lincolnshire.

They lived at

  • 122 Columbia Road, Grimsby
  • 32 Prospect Street, New Bank [1917]

During World War I, he enlisted [November 1916] with the 3rd Battalion Lincolnshire Regiment.

He transferred and served as a Private with 108 Company Machine Gun Corps [January 1917].

He was sent to France [June 1917], sustained gunshot wounds to the back [August 1917], and was sent back to England for treatment.

He was awarded the Military Medal [1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [22nd December 1917].

He was appointed Acting Lance Corporal [February 1918].

Lance Corporal Walter Child (signaller) was demobbed in [January 1919], and received a pension of 8/3d because of 30% disability due to a gunshot wound to the back

Child, William HallRef C2421
[1844-1869] Son of Charles Child.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Making Place Academy [1861]. He became an architect.

In 1867, he married Jane Seward Highley in Halifax.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £12,000

Childwife moorRef C812
Crabtree says that this was a part of the township of Ovenden and enclosed around 1814

Chilton, John ThomasRef C1350
[1861-19??] Born in Balderton, Nottinghamshire.

He was a club steward [1891] / a domestic butler [1901] / oil boiler for lubricating oil manufacturer [1911].

In 1890, he married Ann [1868-19??].


Ann was born in Colmonell, Ayrshire
 

Children:

  1. John William [b 1891] who was a groom [1911]
  2. Mary McMillan [b 1893] who was a silk spinner [1911]
  3. Tom
  4. Ronald [b 1903]
  5. Hugh [b 1908]

The family lived at

  • Assembly Street, Dumfries, Scotland [1891]
  • Church Lane, Mirfield, Dewsbury [1901]
  • 56 Brooke Street, Rastrick [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was sister Emma J Chilton [b 1875] (domestic housemaid) 

Chilton, TomRef C1392
[1895-19??] MM.

Son of John Thomas Chilton.

Born in Mirfield.

He was a silk dresser [1911] / a patent glazier with Helliwell's of Brighouse [1914].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Sergeant with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was awarded the Military Medal [1918]

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [10th August 1918]

ChimneysRef C2270

ChinaRef C1565

Chinery, DonaldRef C1762
[1902-19??] Son of Orlando Walter Chinery.

In 1921, he married Hilda Mary Shaw. Family history tells that his wife was a member of the Catseyes Shaw family

Chinery, Orlando WalterRef C1761
[1872-19??] Son of Herbert Chinery, a miller.

Born in Bishop Auckland.

His family came from Essex and were in Knaresborough [1881].

He served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Coldstream Guards at Chelsea Barracks [1891].

In 1899, he married Elizabeth Hannah Stott [1869-19??] at Halifax.

Children:

  1. Walter [b 1900]
  2. Donald

The family lived at 10 Hermon Grove, Halifax [1901].

He was Police Sergeant at Moorlands Place, Halifax [1905]

Chinn, Rev JohnRef C1607
[18??-19??] United Methodist Minister at Todmorden [1917]

Chipchase, JackRef C2041
[1917-1945] Son of Alice & William Barley Chipchase of Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Guardsman with the 1st Battalion King's Company Grenadier Guards.

He died 7th January 1945 (aged 28).

He was buried at Hasselt (Kruisveld) Communal Cemetery, Belgium [A 14]

Chippendale, MissesRef C113
Around 1838, Margaret [b 1766] and Mary Chippendale [b 1770], (possibly) sisters of Robinson Chippendale, ran a private school in Halifax with Agnes, and Ann, the daughters of Robinson Chippendale,

Chippendale, PeterRef C2038
[1849-1924] Son of Alice (née Dugdale) & John Chippendale of Waddington, near Clitheroe.

In 1874, he married Elizabeth, daughter of James Steel.

Children:

  1. Tom

He was landlord of the Museum, Stump Cross [1905]

Chippendale, RobinsonRef C2047
[1770-1???] Son of Phyllis and William Chippendale.

Baptised in Skipton.

On 17th July 1794, he married Mary / Margaret Baxter at Kendal.

Children:

  1. Agnes Braithwaite [b 1796]
  2. Ann [b 1802]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1803]

Members of his family ran a private school in Halifax [1841]

Chippendale, TomRef C2039
[1884-19??] Son of Peter Chippendale.

He was the black sheep of the family.

In [Q3] 1905, he married Florence Webb in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Florence [b Halifax]
  2. Blanch [b Hull 1909]
  3. daughter [b Leeds]

Contributor Valerie Hobson has passed on a family story which relates that

around 1909, he and William Steel were in a group of men who had been out drinking. As they returned home across Godley Bridge, the worse for drink, a policeman spoke to them. The gang threw him over the bridge. The policeman landed on a grass verge and survived.

Tom – who was known as a bully in drink – fled from Halifax and is recorded in Leeds [1911], Hull and Manchester, where he died

ChiserleyRef C103
District of Wadsworth, north-east of Hebden Bridge.

The name was formerly Chisley

Chiserley Hall, WadsworthRef C710
Early 17th century house dated 1617

There is a room over the front porch

Owners and tenants have included

Chisholm, Rev J. W.Ref C999
[18??-19??] Congregational Minister at Halifax. He resigned in 1891

ChisleyRef C68
Area north-west of Hebden Bridge.

First mentioned in 1296, the name may mean cheese wood [?] clearing.

Around 1980, the name became Chiserley

Chisley Hall, Old TownRef C1297
Owners and tenants have included

Choirs & Choral SocietiesRef C1564

Chown, AlfredRef C1851
[18??-1???] Tea dealer & partner in Chown & Fielding.

He lived at Church Street, Brighouse [1882]

Chown & FieldingRef C884
Tea dealer, grocer & provision merchant at Commercial Street, Brighouse.

Partners included Alfred Chown and Sutcliffe Fielding.

The business went into liquidation [October 1882]

Christ Church Friday Evening Bible ClassRef C926
A group established at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge by Rev Canon Charles Llewelyn Ivens around 1890

Christian, DouglasRef C659
[1920-1943] Son of Irene Brears (née Atkinson) & Roland Christian of Scarborough.

He was educated at Carlton School, ^bfd^ / a church organist (possibly) at St Paul's Church, King Cross / employed by Martin's Bank, Hipperholme.

During World War II, he enlisted [July 1940], and served as a Flight Sergeant / Navigator Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

No. 4 A. D. U.

He was killed in the Middle East [9th August 1943] (aged 23).

He was buried at Malta (Capuccini) Naval Cemetery, Malta [Grave Ref F 26].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross

Christian Endeavour Society, Sowerby BridgeRef C1133
Recorded around 1914

Christian VII, KingRef C257
[1749-1808] In the 18th century, 19-year-old King Christian VII of Denmark was travelling around Europe under the name Prince George. On the tour, he visited Halifax and spent a night at Royds' House on 1st September 1768. It has been said that George Street and George Square were named in his honour after this visit

Christie, Ernest JohnRef C1746
[1861-1928] Son of John Christie.

Born in Kidderminster, Worcestershire.

He became a carpet designer in Halifax.

In 1881, he married Mary Hannah Halliday [1862-1944].


Mary Hannah was the daughter of David Halliday
 

They were said to have been stern and unloving parents.

Children:

  1. Percy
  2. Florence [b 1884]
  3. Effie [1886-1919] who married [Halifax Q3 1912] Henry Wright
  4. Elsie [b 1890]
  5. Winifred [b 1896]
  6. Reginald
  7. Phyllis [b 1900]

The family lived at

Ernest died 12th February 1928.

He & other members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax [F D19]

MARY HANNAH,

He died 13th November 1944 (aged 82) 

Christie, JohnRef C1086
[1836-1917] A designer of carpets and rugs from Scotland.

He married Eliza [1832-1894].

Children:

  1. (possibly) Agnes Lizzie [1859-1887] who never married and was buried with her parents
  2. Ernest John

The family moved from Scotland to Kidderminster, Worcestershire.

Eliza died 24th December 1894 (aged 62).

She was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax [F E15].

John died 28th December 1917 (aged 82)  in Kidderminster.

His body was brought to Halifax and buried with Eliza at All Souls' Church

Christie, John Reginald HallidayRef C106
[1899-1953] Halifax man and infamous mass-murderer of 10 Rillington Place, Notting Hill, London.

In 1950, Christie's lodger, Timothy Evans, was wrongly accused and hanged for the murder of his wife and baby daughter.

Christie was subsequently convicted for these and other murders and hanged

Christie, Percy HallidayRef C403
[1882-1970] Son of Ernest John Christie.

Born in Halifax [18th July 1882].

He was a bank clerk [1901].

On 17th October 1911, he married Ethel Hall [1887-1959] in Leeds.


Ethel was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Pauline M [b 1918]
  2. Margaret [b 1920]

Percy died in Leeds in 1970

Christopher Brook's Farm, CliftonRef C343

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

Chronnell, FatherRef C2136
[18??-1???] Priest at St Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, Todmorden [1891]

Chubb, Rev WilliamRef C1079
[1808-1874] Born in Devon.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1848]

Church & King Society, EllandRef C1552
Established on 6th June 1808 for the purpose of supporting members in sickness, blindness, old age and infirmity, and for granting sums of money to widows and heirs. They met at the Rose & Crown, Elland. Their annual meeting was held on Whit Sunday and members were required to attend and be soberly dressed in black coat and waistcoat, on penalty of 1/- fine. The society gave the minister of St Mary's Church a guinea for his Whit Sunday sermon. If he returned the money, the minister was deemed to be a free member of the society

Church, Ernest HaroldRef C1149
[1900-1950]

In [Q4] 1928, he married Clarice C Ackroyd [1890-1971] in Halifax.

Ernest Harold died 10th April 1950 (aged 50).

Clarice died 22nd November 1972 (aged 81).

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NL-A32]

Church Extension Society for the Deanery of HalifaxRef C1553
Established in April 1900 to provide churches in parts of the district which did not have adequate church accommodation

Church Farm, CliftonRef C339

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

Church Hill, LuddendenRef C8002
In the centre of Luddenden.

In the early 1900s, 2 La Tène (Iron Age) beads were found here

Church House, LuddendenRef C2060
78 High Street.

When the Murgatroyd's Arms, Luddenden closed in 1939, the building was bought by Luddenden Church and used for storage, and became known as Church House

Church Lane Surgery, BrighouseRef C2267
Stands on what was the drive to Well Close House, Brighouse

Church Missionary Society College, EllandRef C1541
Mentioned in the 19th century

Church Stile, SowerbyRef C2499
A flight of steps which gave access to St Peter's Church.

Gave its name to the Church Stile Inn, Sowerby

Church Street Co-Op, RastrickRef C2392
A store opened in March 1857. Wright Robinson was manager.

The store closed after 4 months.

In 19??, a branch of the Brighouse Co-operative Society opened on the corner of Church Street / Thornhill Road.

See Castle Hill Co-Op, Rastrick

Churches & chapelsRef C109
Some of the churches and chapels in the district are listed in the Foldout

See Chapel, Chapel of ease, Chapelry, Church of England, Diocese of Wakefield, Parish and Parish Church

The Churchill familyRef C1210
The Dukes of Marlborough, the Churchill family and Winston Churchill had connections to John Edwards and the Edwards family of Halifax, and the Dyson family of Halifax. through Thomas Fournis Dyson, by the following family line:

  * Thomas Fournis Dyson married Anne Baldwin Sealy
  * Elizabeth Baldwin Dyson married Joseph Hornby
  * Charles Edward Hornby married Harriet Catherine Turton
  * Charles Harry St John Hornby married Cicely Rachel Emily Barclay
  * Michael Charles St John Hornby married Nicollete Joan Ward
  * Susan Mary Hornby married John George Vanderbilt Henry Spencer-Churchill, 11th Duke Of Marlborough

Churchill, CharlesRef C1699
[18??-19??] One of a group of people who bought C. Redman & Sons Limited in the 1920s

Churchill DenhamRef C1700
See Denham Engineering Company Limited

Churchill Machine ToolsRef C1401
Merged with Denham Engineering Company Limited. The business was then absorbed into the Tube Investments conglomerate, finally becoming a part of the 600 Machine Tool Group.

See Machine Tool Makers

Churchill-Redman LimitedRef C1445
Parkinson Lane, Halifax. Engineering company manufacturing lathes and wood-working machinery, like their successor, Cornelius Redman & Sons Limited.

During World War II, they manufactured bomb cases.

In 1972, production was moved to Tyne & Wear, and the closure of the company was raised in Parliament.

Several workers from the company left to establish their own businesses, including Greening & Crowther Engineering Group and Saville Machine Tool Company

Churchill, WinstonRef C1916
[1874-1965] British politician. He was Prime Minister during World War II [1940-1945] and [1951-1955].

He visited the Halifax district on 21st December 1903, 6th December 1904 and in June 1945.

See Memories of Calderdale and Churchill family

Churchman, AlfredRef C8260
[1851-1890] Son of Isaac Churchman, labourer.

Born in Norfolk.

He was an ag.lab for Samuel Sunderland at Cromwell House, Southowram [1881] / a labourer [1887].

In [Q1] 1872, he married (1) Martha Ann Palmer [1855-1884] in Swaffham, Norfolk.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth Ann [b 1877]
  2. Harriet Ann [b 1880]
  3. Walter Henry

Martha Ann died in 1884.

On 23rd March 1885, he married (2) Mary Jane Brocksopp [1861-1940] at Elland Parish Church.


Mary was born in Whittington and came from a farming family in Derbyshire, and was in the workhouse before becoming a servant at Cromwell House.

Circumstantial evidence suggests that she might have had an illegitimate daughter – Louisa [b 1881 or 1884] – by Samuel Sunderland

 

Children:

  1. Agnes Mary [b 1887]
  2. Clarice [b 1889]

At the baptisms of Agnes Mary and Louisa [St Anne's Church, Southowram 5th September 1888], Alfred and Mary gave their address as The Birks.

Alfred died in 1890.

In 1891, Mary and her daughters Louisa (scholar)  and Clarice were living at Delph Hill, Southowram.

In 1901, Mary and her daughters Louisa (silk spinner)  and Clarice were still living at Delph Hill

Churchman, Walter HenryRef C1603
[1884-1918] Son of Alfred Churchman.

He was employed by Thomas Helm & Sons at Spout Mills, Rastrick.

He lived at 123 Highbury, Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the West Riding Regiment.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 15th April 1918.

He is remembered on Rastrick War Memorial

Churchyard, Hannah FrancesRef C2449
[1862-1923] Daughter of Henry Churchyard.

She was a pupil at Walterclough Hall School, Southowram [1871].

She was a friend of Ada Thomas and mentioned Ada in her will.

She lived with her uncle John.

She died at Southport [13th January 1923]

Churchyard, HenryRef C2448
[1839-1880] Son of Henry Cuper Churchyard.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [8th October 1839].

He married Sarah Clarkson [5th June 1861].

Children:

  1. Hannah Frances

He died in Victoria, Australia

Churchyard, Henry CuperRef C1955
[1798-1844] Born in Fressingfield, Suffolk. Son of Lydia (née Cuper) & Leman Churchyard [1798-1844].

He married Ann Holt in Halifax [1838].


Ann was the daughter of
John Holt
 

Children:

  1. Henry
  2. John
  3. twins William [1840] who died in infancy
  4. Robert [1840] who died in infancy

He died in Halifax

Churchyard, JohnRef C1636
[1843-1903] Son of Henry Cuper Churchyard.

Baptised in Halifax [10th December 1843].

He married Julia Sarah Webb from London, in Hull [24th April 1871].

The family lived at

  • Holt's Terrace, Southowram
  • Siddal Hall [1874]
  • Southport [1891]

John and Julia died in Southport.

See Hannah Frances Churchyard

The ChurnRef C663
A feast which was a tradition of the Halliday family. The feast was served – when the hay had been gathered in – to everyone who had helped with hay-making

Churn Milk JoanRef C230
Crow Hill, Midgley Moor. Aka Churn Milk Peg and Nelmires Stoop. It is recorded as Churn Milk Joan in 1834.

A 6 ft 9 in high, plain, stone pillar – probably a boundary marker. The four vertical faces are each about 16 in wide at the base and 10 in wide at the top.

It is said to be named after a milk-maid who lived at the Mount Skip Inn and died in a snow-storm whilst crossing the moor to fetch milk.

The stone is said to spin round three times when it hears the bells of Mytholmroyd church on New Year's Eve.

It has been said to resemble a plague stone, and it is said that a penny placed in a small depression on the top will bring good luck.

See Savile's Lowe

Churn Pot, Ovenden WoodRef C1083
Preston Lane. Farm. Recorded in 1907

Cinder Hill, ColeyRef C413
Aka Cinder Hills, Cinder Hills Farm.

Late 15th century timber-framed single aisled house built by William Otes around 1513.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The arms of the Whitley family dated T M W 1633 were taken from here to Shibden Head by the Stocks family.

Royal Arms decorated the house.

The building is currently used as a store for a garden centre

Cinderhill Spinning Company, TodmordenRef C1123
Recorded in the 1930s, when they were at Cinderhill Mill, Todmorden

CinderhillsRef C71
Aka Cinder Hills. Area of Siddal.

There were surface deposits of iron here. Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here

Jeremiah Rawson had a copperas production business here.

See Ironworking

CindrilsRef C2187
The name of a refractory brick made by Joseph Morton Limited. These were produced for use in kilns for the steel industry

Cinema de Luxe, HalifaxRef C1240
This was originally the Casino of the Northgate Hotel.

It could accommodate 550 people.

In March 1912, it became the Cinema de Luxe.

Around 1914, the name was changed to Theatre de Luxe

Cinema Royal, HalifaxRef C250

CinemasRef C330

The CirculatorRef C856
Newsletter of the Haley Hill Literary & Scientific Society. Some of John Hartley's early poetry was published in the magazine. It began in 1866 and ceased publication after 2 years. It was published by Roberts Leyland. It sold at 2/- a copy

Citizen Guild of Help, HalifaxRef C1696
Recorded in 1917 at 18 Rawson Street when Henry L. Genner was secretary

The City, Cote HillRef C1717
An area of densely packed housing at Burnley Road. Much of the property was demolished in the 1950s.

See Rose & Crown, Cote Hill

City Fold, WheatleyRef C221
Aka The City, The Fold. City Lane.

The house was mentioned in the 16th century when the Whitley family lived here.

A house was built in the 17th century and considerably extended

The City, HalifaxRef C771
This was a densely populated area at Cross Fields with an estimated 780 people living in a maze of back-to-back houses, courtyards, dimly-lit shops, and narrow streets.

The City, WheatleyRef C352
House aka City Fold, Wheatley

Civic Book of RemembranceRef C2633
See Halifax Civic Book of Remembrance

Civic Centre, LuddendenfootRef C2387
The building is the former Luddendenfoot Mechanics' Institute.

When Denholme United Methodist Chapel and School closed in 1965, the war memorial was moved to the Civic Centre

Civic Hall, BrighouseRef C114

Civic Hall, Hebden BridgeRef C1330
Crown Street.

The Civic Hall was officially opened on 3rd January 1956, by Ernest Hartley of Akroyd House, Hebden Bridge.

In the 1950s, Hebden Bridge Liberal Club became Hebden Bridge Civic Hall

Clap Lane Toll House, Sowerby BridgeRef C1949

Clapham, AlfredRef C4730
[1861-1917?] Born in Camberwell, London.

He was a master tailor / army pensioner [1911].

Around 1881, he married Annie [1862-19??] from Sheffield.

Children:

  1. child
  2. Lionel [b 1895] who was a tailor's assistant [1911]
  3. Alfred Victor [b 1898] who was a tailor's assistant [1911]
  4. Harold Charles [b 1902]
  5. Kate Lilian [b 1896] who was a milliner [1911]
  6. Doris [b 1899]
  7. child who died young
  8. child who died young
  9. child who died young
  10. child who died young

They lived at 19 Clare Road, Halifax [1911]

Clapham, CaptainRef C1727
[16??-16??] A Royalist command captured at the Battle of Sowerby Bridge

Clapham, D.Ref C2146
[18??-1???] Photographer at Ferney Lee Studio, Burnley Road, Todmorden [1897]

Clapham, HaroldRef C726
[1920-1943] During World War II, he served as a Craftman with the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers.

He died 4th July 1943 (aged 23).

He was buried at Kanchanaburi War Cemetery, Thailand [Grave Ref 10 F 2 - 10 I 4].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, and on Patmos War Memorial

Clapham, Rev PaulRef C1805
[19??-] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [2009] and Greetland & Lindwell Methodist Church [2009]

Clapham, RichardRef C514
[1???-17??] Built Northgate House, Halifax between 1735-1742.

On 5th December 1717, he married (1) Judith Nicols [16??-1718] from Elland.

On 6th May 1724, he married (2) Mrs Elizabeth Foster [16??-1739] from Ossett, sister-in-law to Thomas Dickenson, at Thornhill.

Children:

  1. Sarah [d 1725]
  2. Richard [d 1733]
  3. Hannah [d 1739]
  4. Elizabeth [d 1742]

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Clapman, CharlesRef C2220
[18??-18??] A farmer at Soap House, Hartshead.

On 25th December 1868, he was robbed by Benjamin Beevers as he walked from Clifton to Hartshead

Clapton, EricRef C1098
[1945-] English guitarist, singer, songwriter.

He was a visitor to the home of Champion Jack Dupree in Ovenden

Clapton Lodge, HalifaxRef C346
King Cross Road / Parkinson Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was recorded in 1905 & 1910.

It was demolished before World War I, and the properties east of Leamington Avenue, including Clapton Avenue, were built on the site.

See Mary Craven

Clare, GeorgeRef C1377
[1898-1918] Son of Thomas Clare.

He worked for Booth's joiners of Hipperholme.

During World War I, he enlisted [April 1915], and served as a Stoker 1st Class with the Royal Navy aboard HMS Magic.

He was killed [10th April 1918] (aged 20)  when his ship was torpedoed (or mined).

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 28], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother William also died in the War

Clare Hall Baths, HalifaxRef C1301
Huddersfield Road, Halifax.

Halifax Central Baths were planned on this site in May 1933. At first, the Cross Field site was considered. In 1936, the site at Clare Hall was purchased and the house was demolished. In 1937, the go-ahead was given for a pool development, but this was discontinued on account of the Second World War.

In 1959, new plans were drawn up. The T-shaped pool – with 7 lanes – was to be 100 ft by 42 ft, with room for 350 bathers, a diving area, 570 spectator seats, slipper baths, Turkish baths, cafe and parking for 45 cars. Building work began in 1964.

The modern swimming pool – Halifax Pool – opened by Halifax Corporation on 4th April 1966 by sports minister Dennis Howell. The tiled murals behind the diving board were the work of Kenneth Barden, who set out to depict British pond life, insects, fish, plants and people of Halifax.

The baths are still in use

Clare Hall, HalifaxRef C116
Around 1810, Mrs Ann Prescott changed the name of Calico Hall to Clare Hall.

In 1847, the Hall was leased to Robert Parker, and he bought it in 1853.

After his death in 1856, he passed the Hall and other property to Thomas Edmundson Parker.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

From 1919, it was the headquarters of the Halifax branch of the YMCA.

In 1936, it was purchased by Halifax Corporation who intended to build swimming baths on the site. In 1946, it was demolished. In April 1966, Clare Hall baths were opened on the site.

See Clare Hall School, Halifax, Miss Denton's School and Miss Oakley's School

Clare House, HalifaxRef C1581
5 Clare Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Clare Road Liberal Club, HalifaxRef C2303

Clare Road Maternity HomeRef C566
Opened by the Halifax & District Nursing Association in 1917 to tackle the problem of infant mortality. This was the first of its kind in the district

Clare Road Tuberculosis Clinic, HalifaxRef C1976
8 Clare Road. Recorded in 1929, when Wilfrid Smith was Clinical Tuberculosis Officer

Clare, ThomasRef C1708
[18??-1???]

He married Elizabeth [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. William
  2. George

The family lived at 19 Brook Street, Pellon Lane, Halifax [1917].

Sons William & George died in World War I

Clare, WilliamRef C1706
[1883-1917] Son of Thomas Clare.

Born in Bilston.

He was a conductor for Halifax Corporation Tramways.

He married Bessie.

They lived at

  • 4 Abbey Crescent, Fountain Road, Hull
  • 52 Lower Oak Street, Halifax

During World War I, he enlisted in the Northumberland Fusiliers [June 1916], then served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in the Ypres Salient [26th July 1917] (aged 34).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 21], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother George also died in the War

Claremont House, Sowerby BridgeRef C3470
Claremont Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Claremont Villas, BrighouseRef C5900
50 Bradford Road, Brighouse.

Owners and tenants have included

ClaremountRef C117
District of Calderdale to the north of Halifax.

It was formerly known as Blackcar and Beaumont Town.

At a meeting – chaired by Thomas Parker – in October 1864, it was decided to change the name Beaumont Town to Claremont, and that a large board should be put up at the top of New Bank with the word Claremont on it.

The name is now spelled and pronounce Claremount

Claremount Co-OpRef C1929
Branch number 16 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1865.

In 1936, a grocery department is recorded at 55 Prospect Street

Claremount Liberal ClubRef C1404
Recorded in 1887 at Alma Road / Primrose Street, when A. Booth was Secretary.

The Club Buildings on Dale Street North were designed by J. F. Walsh [1896]

Claremount Park & Recreation GroundRef C1366
Horley Green Road. 5-acre park recorded in 1905

Claremount Ward Conservative ClubRef C1690
Recorded in 1917 at 170 New Bank, Halifax, when Henry Simpson was secretary

Clarence House, HalifaxRef C91
2 Clarence Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Clareville, HalifaxRef C213
52 Prescott Street, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Clarion Cycling Club, HalifaxRef C406

Clarion Vocal UnionRef C754
Halifax. Recorded in 1907

Clark...Ref C417
The entries for people & families with the surname Clark are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Clark BeckRef C802
The name for the Hebble as it flows beneath Clark Bridge, Halifax

Clark Bridge, HalifaxRef C87
Aka Clarke Bridge or Smithy Bridge.

The bridge crosses the Hebble brook just east of Halifax Parish Church at Bank Bottom.

It was named for the clergy who used the bridge on their way to the Parish Church.

The bridge was the boundary between Halifax – the forest of Hardwick – and Northowram, as specified in the Gibbet Law – which provided that, if a victim of the Gibbet was able to withdraw his head as the blade fell and escape across Hebble Brook at this point, he could be freed – see Running Man.

The original bridge was stone. An iron bridge was built in 1868. This was re-built and opened on 16th November 1917.

The bridge was damaged when a train derailed on 27th December 1908.

The bridge was re-built in 2000.

The manorial corn mill was nearby – see Mulcture Hall.

The ancient pathway of Wakefield Gate runs over Beacon Hill, down Old Bank, over Clark Bridge and into Halifax.

The Paton & Baldwin factory used to be near here.

Beerhouses & Pubs in Clark Bridge, Halifax

See Clark Bridge Viaduct, Halifax and Ducking Stool, Halifax

Clark Bridge Viaduct, HalifaxRef C2298

Clark's Cottage, IllingworthRef C2215
Built in 1753

Clark's: J. Clark & CompanyRef C1558
Fustian manufacturers at Hebden Bridge. Recorded in 1905.

See James Clark

Clark's: J. Walker ClarkRef C1147
Drapers at Crown Street, Halifax [1891, 1911]

Established by James Walker Clark

The Clark's Office, IllingworthRef C885
Building dated 1753 which stood near Illingworth Church.


Question: Does anyone know anything about the building or its purpose? Had it anything to do with the Church?

 

Demolished after 1968

Clarke...Ref C228
The entries for people & families with the surname Clarke are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Clarke & LukeRef C2304
In 1881, they were recorded making wrapping paper and bundle back at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth.

In March 1886, they conveyed the business to Joseph Law and Job Morton

Clarkin, FredRef C788
[1883-1915] Son of James Clarkin

Born in Halifax.

He worked for Oates & Green Limited.

He married Margaret.

They lived at 27 Back Foundry Street, Halifax.

He was a regular soldier.

During World War I, he re-enlisted [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)

He was killed at Glimpse Cottage Sector, Ypres [16th October 1915] (aged 31).

He was buried at Bard Cottage Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref I F 18].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Clarkin, JamesRef C787
[1849-1???] Born in Ireland.

He was a domestic coachman [1874].

In [Q4] 1874, he married Mary Ann Tansey [1856-1???] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1876]
  2. (possibly) Thomas [1877] who died in infancy
  3. Dennis [1879-1954]
  4. Fred
  5. Harry [b 1885]
  6. Annie [b 1888]
  7. Willie [b 1890]
  8. Agnes [b 1893]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 27 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1915]

Clarkin, JohnRef C1383
[1910-1942] Son of Esther Ellen & Denis Clarkin of Halifax.

He was educated at St Joseph's Catholic School, Claremount / a porter at Halifax Town Hall.

In [Q4] 1937, he married Nellie Soothill in Halifax.

They lived at 13 Westcliffe Drive, Highroad Well, Halifax,

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 5/3 Maritime Regiment Royal Artillery.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died at sea [16th January 1942] (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Chatham Naval Memorial, Kent [Grave Ref 67 1], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Clarkson, Rev AbrahamRef C1170
[17??-1850] A native of Earlsheaton. He trained at Idle Academy and served at Bingley before becoming Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1815-1817]. He moved to Batley

Clarkson, AlbertRef C1875
[1897-1918] Son of Samuel Clarkson.

Born in Elland [Q3 1897].

His mother died in 1898, and he was raised by his grandparents, Mary Jane & Robert William Coker Goshawk.

He was an apprentice shoe maker [1911] / employed by Mr John Bailey, Southgate, Elland.

During World War I, he enlisted [15th July 1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [10th April 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [4th May 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland

Clarkson & BuckleyRef C1587
Legal firm at 13 Crossley Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included James Clarkson and George Dyson Buckley

Clarkson & SonsRef C779
Halifax solicitors.

Partners included James Clarkson and Charles Clarkson

Clarkson, ArthurRef C2473
[1???-19??] Member of King Cross Cricket Club

Clarkson, C. T.Ref C1637
[18??-18??] Chief Constable for Halifax [1874].

He lived at 36 Hampden Place [1874]

Clarkson, CharlesRef C1115
[17??-1???] Excise Officer in Brighouse.

He married Sarah.

Children:

  1. Eliza [1813-1838] who married William Wedgewood

Clarkson, CharlesRef C1718
[1880-1917] Son of James Clarkson.

He was a player & captain with King Cross Cricket Club / a solicitor's articled clerk [1901] / a solicitor [1904] / partner in Clarkson & Sons.

After jumping into the canal near Elland Bridge to rescue a woman who had fallen from a boat [15th March 1904], he was awarded a Royal Humane Society certificate, and the people of Elland subscribed a memento timepiece.

He lived at Wilton Lodge, Halifax [1909].

On 1st April 1909, he married Emma Hirst at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.


Emma, a teacher of High Street, Brighouse, was the daughter of James Hirst
 

They lived at

  • 5 Savile Terrace, Halifax [1911]
  • Savile Terrace, Bell Hall, Halifax
  • Redmire, Knebworth, Hertfordshire [possibly with Charles's brother Percy 1918]

During World War I, he enlisted early in the conflict, and served as a Captain with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was a supervisor of Derby recruits.

He died from blood poisoning (septicæmia) following frostbite, in a French hospital [12th February 1917] (aged 37).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [17th February 1917].

He was buried at Gezaincourt Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref II F 18].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross, on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School, and (possibly) on the Memorial at Hipperholme Grammar School

Clarkson, Harry AshtonRef C1176
[1878-1947] Landlord of the Prince of Orange, Shelf [1932-1940]

Clarkson, JamesRef C1622
[18??-18??] Partner in Hall & Clarkson.

He lived at Savile Cottage, Halifax [1845]

Clarkson, JamesRef C1588
[1852-1921] Born in Middleham, Yorkshire.

He was

In 1877, he married Sarah Margaret Pearson [?] in Leicester [?].


Sarah Margaret came from Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Charles
  2. Percy [b 1883] who was an engineering student [1901]
  3. Sydney [b 1885] who was an auctioneer's articled clerk [1901]
  4. Arthur [b 1888]
  5. Lydia Cavallier [b 1889] who married [1915] Mervyn Lister
  6. Louie Irene [b 1891]

The family lived at

  • 35 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1881]
  • 20 Highfield Terrace, Halifax [1891, 1901, 1905]
  • 28 Parkinson Lane, Halifax [1911]

Clarkson, John ThomasRef C1270
[1872-1920] Born in Carlton, Yorkshire.

He was a teamer [1911] / landlord of the Spring Rock, Greetland.

On 24th September 1898, he married Mary Hannah Peel [1877-1951] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Hannah was born in West Vale.

She was a twister (worsted spinning) [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Joseph [1899-1963]

The family lived at 72 Green Lane, Greetland [1911].

John Thomas died at Salterhebble Hill [5th May 1920].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £244 12/10d.

Administration was granted to his widow Mary Hannah. Mary Hannah took over at the Spring Rock, Greetland

In 1930, She married Ben Sykes

Clarkson, JosephRef C2088
[1???-18??] Tea dealer and mustard manufacturer at 9 Southgate, Halifax [1837]

Clarkson, MissesRef C2097
They ran a school in Halifax [around 1850]

Clarkson, RichardRef C107
[16??-16??] Chaplain at Illingworth [1650-1652]

Clarkson, SamuelRef C1188
[1871-1941] His father was not recorded on the marriage record.

He was a delver of Beech Street, Elland [1897]

In [Q1] 1897, he married Emily Alice Goshawk [1875-1898] at Halifax Parish Church.


Emily Alice, of Dewhirsts Buildings, Elland, was born in Middlesborough, the daughter of
Robert William Coker Goshawk
 

Children:

  1. Albert

The family lived at

Emily Alice died in Halifax [Q3 1898] (aged 23) 

Clarkson, Thomas & CollinsonRef C1502
Legal firm at 25 Harrison Road, Halifax, and at Rochdale [1934].

See Harry Collinson and Richard V. Thomas

Clattering StonesRef C9000
Cragg Vale.

During World War II, there was a dummy airstrip here to deceive enemy bombers.

See Clattering Stones Road, Cragg Vale and Starfish sites

Claxton, ThomasRef C1319
[18??-19??] Canal boat owner and carrier [by water] at Elland.

He lived at 11 Dewhirst's Buildings, Elland [1905]

Claxton, WilliamRef C588
[1885-1918] Son of Mary Ann & John Claxton.

In [Q1] 1906, he married Ann Jane Williams in Todmorden.

They lived at 13 Carr Green, Lumbutts, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 8th September 1918 (aged 33).

He was buried at Terlincthun British Cemetery, Wimille, France [Grave Ref III D 12].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clay...Ref C199
The entries for people & families with the surname Clay are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Clay & EarnshawRef C1417
Worsted and woollen manufacturers.

Partners were John Clay, William Earnshaw, and J. T. Clay & Sons Limited.

Recorded between 1799-1951.

In 1805, Clay and Earnshaw bought Brookfoot Corn Mill

Clay & HorsfallRef C1398
Worsted spinners at Wharf Mill, Sowerby Bridge and Regulator Mill, Sowerby Bridge.

Founded at Luddendenfoot by brothers-in-law, James Clay and John Horsfall in 1863. They were at Luddendenfoot Mill [1872].

The partnership superseded that of Clay & Priestley which was dissolved in 1863.

Partners included James Clay Horsfall, Frank Clay, James Reginald Clay, Stanley Clay, and Frank Barber Clay.

The company evolved into John Horsfall & Sons Limited

Clay & MarsdensRef C6810
Silk spinners and manufacturers which evolved from Marsden Brothers, Holden & Company

Clay & PriestleyRef C2191
Woollen manufacturers.

Partners included brothers-in-law, James Clay and Solomon Priestley.

The partnership was dissolved in 1863 and Clay went on to establish Clay & Horsfall

Clay & SykesRef C1723
Painters & decorators in Brighouse.

Partners included Christopher Clay and Mr Sykes

Clay, Barker & CockcroftRef C1675
Cotton manufacturers at Hangingroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge [1861]. Partners included Thomas Barker

Clay's: Daniel Clay & SonsRef C1364
Woollen manufacturers established by Daniel Clay at Hollins Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Clay's: H. & S. ClayRef C556

Recorded around 1914, when they were at Raglan Street, Halifax


Question: Does anyone know what their business was?

 

Clay Hall, RastrickRef C2571
Owners and tenants have included

Clay House Farm, BarkislandRef C870

Clay House: Gabled BarnRef C2482
The 17th century aisled barn at Clay House, West Vale is listed.

It has been converted into 2 dwellings.

Clay House, NorthowramRef C74
Built in 1604 by John Clay, and his descendant lived there:

The property which is now Number 31 Towngate, Northowram was originally a part of Clay House.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Now a private house

Clay House, SoylandRef C716
Lighthazels Road.

Aka Clayhouse.

The house was owned by the Clay family.

There are datestones SC 1690 over the entrance arch, and S1662C over the main door.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

See Lighthazels Chapel, Soyland

Clay House, West ValeRef C231
Rochdale Road, Greetland

See Clay House, Greetland

Clay's: J. S. Clay & SonsRef C2523
Woollen and worsted manufacturers at Rastrick In 10/1892, the business was converted into a limited liability company

Clay's: J. T. Clay & Sons LimitedRef C1407
Worsted spinner and woollen manufacturer of Crowtrees Mill, Rastrick. Established by Joseph Travis Clay. The business was carried on by other members of the family including Arthur Travis Clay, Hugh Travis Clay, and John William Clay.

At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products in the Woollen and Worsted section

woollen trouserings, blue and white angolas, pure indigo dye, manufactured from fine Saxony wool, Australian wool and sundry varieties; waistcoatings in woollen and silk and of fine worsted yarn, cotton and silk; union cloth, woollen and cotton; fancy dresses and shawls

See Clay & Earnshaw

Clay's: James Clay & Company LimitedRef C1490
Woollen spinners and manufacturers established by James Clay.

They had business at Boy Mill, Luddendenfoot, Danny Lane Mill, Delph Mills, Luddendenfoot, Denholme Mills, Luddendenfoot, Hayes Mill, Mixenden, Luddendenfoot Mills, Turvin Mill, Cragg Vale, and (possibly) Willow Hall Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1915].

They produced cloths and serges for the War Office, the Post Office, the Admiralty and many other government departments.

At Luddendenfoot Mills, they employed 55 hands [1861], and 130 hands [1871]

In 1895, they employed around 1100 workers at their mills.

On 22nd November 1909, there was a women's strike at his Luddendenfoot mills.

Charles Clay continued his father's business


Question: Can anyone clarify the link – if any – between this company and James Clay & Sons Limited?

 

Clay's: James Clay & Sons LimitedRef C1399
Woollen manufacturers at Holme Mill, Sowerby Bridge and Hollins Mills, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1895, they employed around 120 workers.

Successive partners included James Clay, Charley Clay, and Bernard William Clay.

The business went into voluntary liquidation in 1920.

Harold Foster Clay was Managing Director [1950s].

See John Foster Clay and Richard Gibson

Clay's: John Clay & CompanyRef C2010
Tea dealers and coffee roasters at 24 Crown Street, Halifax [1845]

Clay's: John Clay's FoundationRef C727
A charity established by the will of John Clay. He left £1,000.

Clay's: Joseph Clay & Company LimitedRef C1412
See Crowtrees Mill, Rastrick and Clay family

Clay's: Joseph Travis Clay Memorial FundRef C731
Charity established by Joseph Travis Clay

Clay Pits Farm, HalifaxRef C1058
Recorded in 1867, when Joseph Baldwin died here

Clay Pits House, PellonRef C1218
Or Clay Pitts.

Owners and tenants have included

Clayden, GeorgeRef C446
[1872-1924] Born in Hempstead?, Essex.

On 29th October 1903, he married Naomi Wrigglesworth at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.


Naomi was born in Blackburn, the daughter of
John Wrigglesworth.

Naomi had an illegitimate son: Percy John Wrigglesworth [b 1896]

 

After the death of his father-in-law William Singleton, George took over at the York Tavern, Todmorden [1906-1920]

Claye House, GreetlandRef C457
See Clay House, Greetland

Clayhouse Farm, BarkislandRef C809
A later name for the Royal Oak pub

Clayton...Ref C1256
The entries for people & families with the surname Clayton are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Clayton & BellRef C582
London artists who produced some of the stained glass at All Souls' Church, Haley Hill.

The clerestory windows depict the apostles and evangelists

Clayton & CompanyRef C1519
Grocers, corn and flour merchants of Bailiff Bridge. They used Bailiff Bridge Mill as a warehouse [1904]

Clayton & LockwoodRef C1809
Silk manufacturers at Rastrick [1856]. Partners included James Clayton and Benjamin Lockwood.

On 24th June 1856, and a girl lost her arm in an accident at their mill.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1859

Clayton BrothersRef C943
Iron workers in Halifax.

Recorded in 1915, when they were at Bowling Green Foundry, Halifax

Clayton's Central Mart, BrighouseRef C349
Opened by Thomas Clayton at Hutchinson Lane / Commercial Street

Clayton, Marsden & Company LimitedRef C370
Silk spinners in Halifax.

Recorded in 1889.

They were at Wade Street, Halifax [1915].

Partners included Lemuel Clayton and Mr Marsden

Clayton, Metcalfe & Company LimitedRef C2486
At one time, this was described as
The only silk spinning Company in Halifax

producing every type of spun silk yarn, used for hosiery, outwear embroidery, knitting, sewing, weaving and blending with other fibres.

They were at Wade Street [1936]

Clayton, Murgatroyd & Company LimitedRef C1489
Silk spinners at Wellington Mills, Halifax.

The business was originally Clayton, Marsdens & Company Limited.

Lemuel Clayton bought out the Marsdens and was joined by his nephews, John Henry Murgatroyd and Louis Philbrick B. Murgatroyd.

In 1895, they employed around 800 workers.

In 1902, they employed around 550 workers

Clayton SchofieldRef C1016
Halifax wool merchants [1928]

Clayworth, Margaret deRef C774
[12??-1307] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1306-1307]

Cleamark, LukeRef C1066
[1828-1???] Born in Pudsey.

He was innkeeper at the Griffin, Halifax, employing 1 man & 2 women [1861].

He married Caroline [1839-1???]


Caroline was born in Pudsey
 

Cleare, Rev HenryRef C1849
[18??-18??] Or Clear, Clere. Perpetual curate at Walsden [1854]

Cleary, JohnRef C781
[18??-19??]

During World War I, he served with the Durham Light Infantry.

He married Mary Ann [18??-19??].

Children:

  1. John

The family lived at 13 Musgrave Street, Claremount, Halifax

Cleary, JohnRef C341
[1870-19??] Born in Kilkenny, Ireland.

He was a barer in stone quarry [1901] / a labourer in stone quarry [1911].

In 1906, he married Mary Ann Walsh [1869-19??] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was born in Leeds.

She had an illegitimate son Edward Walsh; father unknown.

John & Mary Ann had several children before they married:

  1. Mary Elizabeth Walsh [b 1891]
  2. John Cleary Walsh [b 1896]
  3. Agnes Cleary Walsh [b 1899]
  4. Dora Cleary Walsh [b 1902]
  5. Bernard Cleary Walsh [b 1904]
 

The family lived at

  • 6 Beacon Terrace, Akroydon, Halifax [1901]
  • 1 Hobson's Court, Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1911]

Cleary, JohnRef C1175
[1897-1916] Son of John Cleary.

He lived at 18 Senior Buildings, Range Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 7th July 1916 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Cleary's: W. Cleary & SonsRef C1049
Printers at 13 Causeway, Halifax [1927]

Cleaver, Rev Charles William EasebyRef C360
[18??-19??] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1886, 1892].

His brother, Rev William Wilfrid Mackworth Cleaver, was Curate at Hebden Bridge at the same time

Cleaver, Rev William Wilfrid MackworthRef C361
[18??-1932] BA.

He was educated at Oxford before becoming Curate at Hebden Bridge [1892-1894].

He was known as Mr Wilfred to distinguish him from his brother, Rev Charles William Easeby Cleaver, who was working in the Parish at the same time.

He left Hebden Bridge to assist his father as Curate at Pulham St Mary, Norfolk. He was Domestic Chaplain to Earl of Strathmore [1896-1900]

Cleavin's: T. Cleavin & Sons LimitedRef C1892
Tanners at Hipperholme [1922]

The Cleckheaton & Spenborough GuardianRef C1704
Weekly newspaper covering the Cleckheaton & Spenborough areas

ClecklewykeRef C819
A fictitious West Riding town which is the setting for J. B. Priestley's play When We Are Married

Clee, ArthurRef C784
[1883-1915]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child

The family lived at 26 Milk Street, Cross Fields, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded at Glimpse Cott Sector, Ypres.

He died the next day [17th October 1915] (aged 32).

He was buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I B 21].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Clee, DerekRef C1698
[19??-] Former employee of Philips and founding partner of Crosslee PLC, Hipperholme

Clee, Herbert HoraceRef C2266
[1893-1954] Grandson of James Henry Brooksbank.

The Halifax branch of the Clee family were carpet weavers descended from 3 brothers who arrived from Kidderminster in the 1860s.

He was General Secretary of the Northern Carpet Trades Union / Vice-President of the National Joint Committee / unsuccessful Labour candidate for Pellon in 2 elections [19??, 1954] / a lay preacher at Highroad Well Congregational Church.

In 1922, he married Doris Scott from Pellon, who worked at Crossley's Carpets

Clee, JosephRef C1382
[1919-1941] Son of Edith Ann & Arthur Clee of Halifax.

He was a member of St Hilda's Rover Scouts / educated at Battinson Road, School / an apprentice at Asquith's.

He lived at 4 Lower Clay Pitt, Pellon, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as an Engine Room Artificer 4th Class with the Royal Navy aboard the destroyer HMS Kandahar.

He died 20th December 1941 (aged 22)  when his ship struck a mine off Sirte, North Africa [19th December 1941] and was scuttled next day by HMS Jaguar with the loss of 73 of her crew.

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 51 1], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

The Clef ClubRef C2323
A chamber music society established in Todmorden in September 1920. The Club wound up in December 1924

Clegg...Ref C26
The entries for people & families with the surname Clegg are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Clegg & StottRef C1848
Woollen manufacturers at Stainland.

Partners included John Clegg of Barkisland, Samuel Stott and James Ball.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1853.

See Clegg Stott & Ball

Clegg BrothersRef C1413
Canal carriers established at Sowerby Bridge in the 1930s by former workers of Hollidays

Clegg CliffRef C127

Clegg Foot, Heptonstall MoorRef C1765

Clegg's: G. H. Clegg & SonsRef C1495
Transport company of Walker Lane, Sowerby Bridge. Recorded in 1924, when an application to ply for hire in the Halifax Borough was declined, and in 1925 when an application for a Hackney carriage licence to convey passengers between Elland and Sowerby Bridge was declined

Clegg's: Martha, Sarah & John CleggRef C1837
Ropemakers at Sandhome Rope Walk, Todmorden.

Partners included Martha Clegg, Sarah Clegg, John Clegg, and Jonas Clegg.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1856

Clegg NookRef C608
Area of Mytholmroyd. Many houses here were cleared in 19??

Clegg's Nursery, HalifaxRef C1013
They were at 12-18 Rookery Lane, Halifax, on the site later occupied by E. & E. Shaw & Sons

Clegg's: Rev Richard Clegg's CharityRef C851
Todmorden. Charity endowed by Rev Richard Clegg

Clegg, Stott & BallRef C1131
Woollen manufacturers at Stainland.

Partners included John Clegg of Barkisland, Samuel Stott and James Ball.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1853.

See Clegg & Stott

Clemence, Walter ArthurRef C419
[1895-1977] Son of Susan (née Jermy) [1865-19??] & George William Clemence [1866-1???] of Norfolk.

Born in Loddon, Norfolk [10th May 1895].

Baptised at Banningham, Norfolk [23rd June 1895].


He was uncle of the Liverpool and England goalkeeper
Ray Clemence
 

Walter Arthur was the last landlord of the Waggoners' Rest, Mount Tabor [when he retired in 1958].

In [Q1] 1921, he married Gladys Lord [1895-1976] in Halifax.


Gladys was born in Pellon [26th June 1895]

She was a member of Wall Nook Primitive Methodist Chapel, Greetland and worked at the Luddenden Spinning Company for 22 years

 

Children:

  1. Audrey [1923] who died in infancy
  2. Margaret [b 1925]
  3. Rita [b 1927]
  4. Barbara [b 1929]
  5. Walter Arthur [1931-1933] who died aged 18 months

They lived at

  • Barkisland [1971]
  • 1 Rutland House, Elland [1976]

Gladys died in Halifax [Q2 1976].

Walter Arthur died [Q2 1977]

Clement, DouglasRef C721
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clements, Rev Roy AdrianRef C484
[1944-] He served at Royston before becoming Vicar of Clifton [1973-1977] and Vicar of Rastrick [1977-1983]. He left to become Vicar of Horbury Junction

Clemmett, DonaldRef C315
[19??-1???] He married Lynn Murgatroyd.


Lynn was the daughter of
Edward Murgatroyd
 

Donald worked on the farm for Murgatroyd

Cleverley, Rev Michael FrankRef C591
[19??-] He was Curate at St Augustine's Church, Halifax [1963] / curate at St John the Evangelist, Huddersfield [1963-1966] / Curate at Brighouse [1966-1969].

In 1969, he left to serve at Gomersal

Clewer, FrancisRef C1264
[18??-19??] Watch maker with W. H. Clewer & Sons [1905]

Clewer, GeorgeRef C853
[1895-1915] Son of Amy & Albert Clewer of 5 Ellercoft Road, Bradford.

The family lived in Halifax before moving to Bradford.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 33rd Field Ambulance Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died of dysentery in Malta on his way home from the Dardanelles [15th November 1915] (aged 20).

He was buried at Pieta Military Cemetery, Malta [Grave Ref D VI 4].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross, and on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School

Clewer, W. H.Ref C2115
[1???-1???] Watch maker and jeweller. He was at Strand, Todmorden [1876].

He established W. H. Clewer & Sons

Clewer's: W. H. Clewer & SonsRef C1483
Todmorden watch makers and jewellers. Established around 1846. W. H. Clewer was at Strand, Todmorden [1876].

See Francis Clewer

Clickable map of CalderdaleRef C874

Cliff Hill estateRef C573
18th century development at Warley

Cliff Hill, WarleyRef C703
Cliff Hill Lane. 18th century / early 19th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

See Warley Free School for Girls

Cliff, JohnRef C1638
[18??-18??] Sauce manufacturer, tea, cigar and tobacco merchant at Old Cock Yard and 49 Hanson Lane, Halifax [1874]

Cliff, JohnRef C2656
[18??-19??] Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was advertising


CLIFF'S
Pure, Celebrated and Original
YORKSHIRE SAUCE

in Halifax

Cliff, Richard delRef C916
[12??-12??] A member of the local Cliffe family. In 1272, he was fined for taking thorns from Hipperholme Wood

The Cliffe familyRef C1258
Family associated with Lightcliffe and Cliffe Hill.

See Cliffe Hill, Lightcliffe, Richard Cliffe, and Richard del Cliff

Cliffe Cottage, RippondenRef C2324
Halifax Road.

It is now called Rycliffe.

Owners and tenants have included

Cliffe End Toilet Rooms, RastrickRef C1215

Cliffe Field House, RastrickRef C1097

Owners and tenants have included

Cliffe, GeorgeRef C2141
[1827-1???] He was landlord of the Woodman, Brighouse [1871].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child

Cliffe Hall Club, RastrickRef C1915
Cliffe Road. Formerly Cliffe House

Cliffe Hill Mansion, LightcliffeRef C128
Built on the site of an earlier house dated 1350.

Owners and tenants have included

Around 1760, the house was bought by the Walker family – who already owned Crow Nest Mansion.

It was rebuilt in 1775, when William Walker brought timber from the Baltic coast of Russia, then to Hull and finally by canal to Brighouse.

Ann Walker lived here.

It passed to Evan Charles Sutherland-Walker. When he lived at Crow Nest, Sutherland-Walker had his own gas works which supplied Crow Nest and Cliffe Hill.

In 1862, John Foster was a tenant. Also listed at the house are

The crest of John Foster is displayed over the entrance


JUSTUM PERFICITO NIHIL TIMETO

Act justly and fear nothing
In 1867, Sutherland-Walker sold the house to Major Johnston Jonas Foster. It was later leased to Sir William Aykroyd.

David Hepworth bought the house.

In 1947, it was divided into apartments.

See Cliffe Hill School and Lower Crow Nest, Lightcliffe

Cliffe Hill, MidgleyRef C81
Towngate. Aka Cliff Hill. House dated INMN 1601. It is said to be the oldest house in the village.

Around 1700, there were alterations and an archway was added. There are 2 taking-in doors on the first floor.

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

Cliffe House, Hebden BridgeRef C1036
Nutclough

Cliffe House, RastrickRef C1760
8 Cliffe Road.

Built by Thomas Richard Sutcliffe.

Owners and tenants have included

On 5th October 1912, it opened as the town's new Conservative Club.

It is now Cliff Hall Club

Cliffe, IsaacRef C4680
[1795-1857] Of Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Charles [1829-1858]

Isaac & Charles were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cliffe, IsaacRef C356
[18??-19??] Stone quarrier at Lane Head Quarry, Brighouse [1896]

Cliffe, JohnRef C1100
[1837-1895]

He married Emma [1842-1906].

They lived at Garden House, Brighouse [1895].

John died 27th June 1895 (aged 58).

Emma died 14th December 1906 (aged 64).

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Cliffe, John CooksonRef C2068
[1926-1946] Born in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Cook with the Royal Navy aboard HMS Victory II.

He died 18th December 1946.

He was buried at Rastrick Cemetery [b 22 40]

Cliffe, JosephRef C393
[1846-1871] Organist at (possibly) Park Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Brighouse

Between 5:00 & 6:00 am on 3rd January 1871, after an evening out with a party of mummers, he was taken ill, and died shortly afterwards

Cliffe, MrRef C1617
[18??-18??]

He married Elizabeth [1827-19??].


Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Margaret [b 1862] who was a worsted reeler [1881, 1891]
  2. Herbert [b 1865] who was an iron turner [1881]
  3. Eliza [b 1869] who was a worsted box tenter [1891], & married John Kenyon
  4. George [b 1872] who was a worsted spinner [1881], a carter [1891]

The family lived at

  • Thomas Street West, Skircoat [1881]
  • 2 Thomas Street West, Skircoat [1891]
  • 3 Thomas Street West, Skircoat [1901]

Elizabeth was widowed by 1881.

Living with Elizabeth [in 1901] was daughter Eliza & grandson Horace.

An Elizabeth Cliffe died in Halifax [Q1 1910] (aged 80).

In 1911, Eliza (char woman) & Horace were still living at 3 Thomas Street West, Skircoat

Cliffe's: O. & S. CliffeRef C1712
Quarry owners and stone merchants at Lane Head Quarry, Brighouse.

On 13th January 1881, 6 men were injured and 2 died they were being raised to the surface and the chain broke.

It was found that a link in the chain had not been welded properly.

The following month, Cliffe's were fined £5 for using a single-link chain – which was prohibited by law.

See John & Samuel Greenwood

Cliffe, RichardRef C915
[14??-15??] He was one of the people who supported Eastfield Chapel, Lightcliffe in 1529 A member of the local Cliffe family

Cliffe, SamRef C201
[1860-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was a beer retailer at the Reindeer Hotel, Halifax [1905, 1911].

In [Q4] 1893, he married Annie Lonsdale Fewster [1863-19??] from Bradford.

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. child who died young [before 1911]
  4. Maggie Lonsdale [b 1895] who was assisting in business [1911]
  5. Sarah Annie [b 1898]
  6. Fred [b 1901]
  7. Ida [b 1905]

The family lived at 7 John Street, Halifax [1911]

Cliffe's: Samuel Cliffe & SonRef C1425
Elland Road, Brighouse. Stone quarrier with quarries at Bramston Street, Rastrick [1896] and Rayner Road, Brighouse

Cliffe, SquireRef C2013
[1833-1885] Born in Halifax.

He was a carpet weaver [1851] / a naturalist, picture framer & general dealer at 59 St James's Road, Halifax (advertising in The Tradesmen's Advertiser) [1874] / a naturalist [1891].

He married Emma [1840-1898].


Emma was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Elizabeth [b 1854] who was a worsted print winder (carpet) [1871]
  2. Ann [b 1856] who was a worsted spinner [1871]
  3. Henry [b 1866]
  4. Minnie [b 1868]
  5. Alice [b 1870]
  6. Squire who died 1st November 1872 (aged 13 months), & was buried with his parents

The family lived at

  • Green Lane, Halifax [1871]
  • 59 St James's Road, Halifax [1874, 1891]

Squire died 5th October 1885 (aged 52).

Emma died 14th August 1898 (aged 58).

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2925] with William Henry, son of George & Minnie Blanchard, who died 2nd February 1901, aged 12 years. & Jane Cliffe, who died 30th March 1863, aged 30 years.

Cliffe, TomRef C508
[1???-18??] Local poet and Radical politician.

With J. B. Leyland, and Branwell Brontë, he was a member of a club which met at the Union Cross Inn

The Cliffe, WarleyRef C1669
Owners and tenants have included

Clifford, Glyn T.Ref C854
[18??-1916]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died 14th July 1916.

He was buried at Bailleul Communal Cemetery Extension, Nord, France [Grave Ref II E 24].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Clifford, JamesRef C1847
[1864-1913] Born in Wakefield.

He was a coal miner [1885].

In 1885, he married Emma Proctor [1863-1???] in Leeds.


Emma was born in Bedfordshire
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Henry

James died in 1913.

In [Q3] 1918, Emily married James Holroyd in Halifax.

They lived at Grove Street, Clifton

Clifford, KeithRef C76
[19??-] Stage name of Keith Bowles, the Halifax-born actor. He has appeared with the Thespians and Bristol Old Vic. He has appeared in many TV, radio, and stage rôles

Clifford, Percy WilliamRef C666
[1897-1917] Son of William Clifford.

Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 179th Company Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 27th December 1917 (aged 20).

He was buried at Jerusalem War Cemetery, Gaza) (including Palestine & Israel [Grave Ref U 48].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clifford, Thomas HenryRef C1632
[1894-1917] Son of James Clifford.

Born in Beeston, Leeds.

During World War I, he served as a Driver with B Battery 155th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 5th June 1917 (aged 22).

He was buried at Bailleul Communal Cemetery Extension, Nord, France [Grave Ref III B 230].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Clifford, Rev WilliamRef C572
[16??-1733] Curate at Lightcliffe [1678, 1700]. He was later curate at Haworth.

He died at Northowram.

In 1679, Heywood writes that


[Clifford] told one that he would rather dye in the pope's bosom then in the presbyterian faith – the like I have heard that several clergymen have asserted, it maybe god will put them to it
 

The Northowram Register records that he


was very old, having not preached of many years
 

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Clifford, WilliamRef C544
[18??-19??]

He married Sarah Ann [18??-19??].

Children:

  1. Percy William

The family lived at 2 Quarry Cottages, Warland

CliffsRef C129
The cliffs which can be seen to the right on the approach to Brighouse from Elland are the remains of the quarrying activities of the Brighouse Brick, Tile, and Stone Company Limited.

See Miln Cliff, Rastrick

CliftonRef C131
District of Calderdale to the east of Brighouse.

See Population

The Clifton familyRef C1212
See De Clifton family

Clifton airportRef C461
In the 1930s, Arthur Reeve proposed an airport at Clifton.

He wrote

My suggestion is that Halifax, Huddersfield, Bradford, Dewsbury and Brighouse should share the expense of an expert survey of the Heavy Woollen District with the object of establishing an aerodrome in this large industrial area.

If a suitable site were agreed – and I am convinced that Clifton would be an admirable place – we could name the aerodrome the Heavy Woollen Aerodrome

See Brighouse Flying Club and Cousin Lane Aerodrome

Clifton AlmshousesRef C2186
In 1735, the will of Sir George Armytage, a codicil left money to build housing for use by the poor of Clifton. It is not known whether these were built.

A row of 5 cottages at Commonside were rented out [1839] by the Overseer of the Poor at a rent of 1/- per year.

These were demolished in 1960. A bungalow has been built on the site

Clifton & Hartshead CharitiesRef C316

Clifton & Lightcliffe BandRef C311
In 1932, the name of the Clifton Subscription Band was changed to Clifton & Lightcliffe Band.

Newton Brooke of Joseph Brooke Limited was President and supported the band financially on condition that the name Lightcliffe be added to the band's name. The headquarters were then moved to Lightcliffe.

Now based in Bailiff Bridge, the band has a 160 year history, and is one of the oldest bands in the country. There is a thriving Clifton & Lightcliffe Youth Band

Clifton BeckRef C820
Aka Clifton Brook.

Stream which runs from Shelf, then flows south through Bailiff Bridge – as Bailiff Bridge Beck – and Brighouse to join Hoyle House Beck and on through Wellholme Park to join the Calder.

This was a part of the boundary of the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse.

This was the only sewer in the town until town drainage was introduced in the mid-19th century

From time to time, sewers at Bailiff Bridge discharge into the brook.

The stream is a frequent cause of flooding in and around Bailiff Bridge and Brighouse.

See Aubrey Barron

Clifton Board of GuardiansRef C894
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Clifton township have included

Clifton Bowling ClubRef C691
Established around 1875 when Clifton Bowling Green was made a private green. The annual subscription was 1 guinea

Clifton Bowling GreenRef C752
A public bowling green set up by Charles Ramsden in 1868 behind the Armytage Arms. In 1875, it became a private bowling green. It was said to be one of the finest greens in the county

Clifton Brass BandRef C313
See Clifton Prize Band

Clifton Bridge, BrighouseRef C89
Single-arch stone bridge over the Clifton Beck at the junction of Clifton Common and Wakefield Road. The bridge was mentioned in 1445, and again in 1502 when
The town of Clyfton and Hammelet of Brighous to repair the highway at Clifton Brig on paid of 12d

See Malt Shovel and Phoenix Bridge

Clifton Britannia ClubRef C724
Sports club established in the mid-19th century.

Recorded in August 1910, when the Cricket Team became first division champions

Clifton Britannia Cricket ClubRef C2529
Recorded in February 1874, when they held their annual tea party at Clifton

Clifton, CharlesRef C866
[1899-1918] Son of James Clifton. 152 Hebble Lane, Wheatley.

Born in Halifax.

He was an overlooker at Stott & Ingham at Battinson Road Mills, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 19th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was killed in action somewhere in France [28th September 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [30th November 1918].

He was buried at Perth Cemetery (China Wall), Belgium [Grave Ref I K 21].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Clifton: Coal MiningRef C2208
There was considerable coal mining in Clifton in the mid-1850s

Clifton colliery railwayRef C312
A 3 ft gauge railway built in 1834-1835 by brothers Benjamin and Edmund Walker to transport coal from the mines at Clifton.

The line brought coal from the Clifton Colliery and Clifton New Colliery mines and ran down the hill, running parallel to Clifton Common, and passed beneath the road and on to the Brighouse canal basin.

In 1886, after Clifton Colliery had been taken over by the Low Moor Iron Company, the railway was connected to their tramway system and also took coal northwards to their works.

The wagons were hauled by ropes, driven by a winding house at Birkby Lane. A small tunnel carried the tramway beneath Birkby Lane (the A649).

Later, there were branch lines to Pheasant Pit, Hartshead, Whitaker Pits, Clifton, and Three Nuns Pit, Hartshead [1905].

The tracks were 3 ft gauge on the line to Brighouse, and 3 ft 10½ ins on the line to Low Moor. The line to Brighouse was subsequently fitted with 3 rails to accommodate wagons of both sizes.

It was later extended to Brighouse Gas Works.

The line closed in 1928

Clifton CommonRef C477
The 1-in-9 hill which climbs from Brighouse up to Clifton. The common land was originally to the east of the road.

In the past, several wills have left money for

the repairing of the lane betwixt Clifton and Brighouse

There was a fatal motor bus accident here on 16th October 1915.

See Clifton Common Tram Accident and Crispin Rayner

Clifton Common Toll BarRef C78
A toll bar on the Leeds-Elland Turnpike at the top of Clifton Common near the Armytage Arms, Clifton. It was discontinued in October 1878

Clifton Common Tram AccidentRef C860
On 16th October 1915, there was an accident at Clifton Common when a solid-tyred Daimler motor bus – the 9:40 pm from Morley, via Cleckheaton, to Brighouse – careered down the hill, killing 3 people and injuring many others

Clifton Common ViaductRef C1084
Carried the railway line for Brighouse Clifton Road Station. It stood next to the wooden shop at the bottom of Clifton Common. It was demolished in March 1974

Clifton Conservative ClubRef C2181
Established in 1925 at Holly Bank, Clifton and opened by Sir George A. Armytage

Clifton constablesRef C1808
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Clifton

Clifton Co-operative StoreRef C1546
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society was opened at Horsley Fold, Towngate, Clifton in 1874.

The gable of the building bears the beehive emblem and the date AD 1882.

When the Brighouse District Industrial Society moved out, the building was used as the village shop and Post Office.

It has been converted into 3 dwellings

Clifton Cricket ClubRef C583
Recorded in 1917 in an obituary for James Squire

Clifton Dole FundRef C357
Aka Riley's Charities.

See Armytage dole and Dole

Clifton, DonaldRef C1244
[1894-1947] He was chauffeur to Frank Lee of Well Head House, Halifax [1920-1947].

In [Q2] 1921, he married Ellen Drinkwater in Staines, Middlesex. Children:

  1. Dorothy [b 1922]
  2. Keith [b 1928]

The family lived at 1 Love Lane, Halifax.

Donald died in 1947.

In the 1960s/1970s, Ellen retired to the Waterhouse Homes

Clifton DragonRef C2133
A terrible dragon is said to have terrorised the Blakelaw part of Hartshead and Clifton.

Rev Harold Norman Pobjoy suggested that name Blakelaw comes from Dracanhlawe – the mound of the dragon

Clifton flourRef C298
Millers in Clifton gave 14 lbs of flour to a stone, whereas Halifax millers gave 12 lbs to a stone. For this reason, Clifton was popular as a source of cheap flour

Clifton Football ClubRef C675
Established in the late 19th century

Clifton HallRef C340
Kirkgate / Well Lane. It was the home of the De Clifton family and the seat of the Lords of the Manor of Clifton.

In 1632,

Elizabeth and Jane, sisters of Sir Henry Savile, held Clifton-upon-Calder, viz:- Clifton Hall, 2 barns, 60 acres of land, 30 acres of meadow, 100 of pasture, 40 of wood, and 100 acres of common and moor

The Armytage family bought the Hall.

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

Clifton Handbell RingersRef C478
Common Side / New Street Clifton. Formed by a group (of male members) from St John's Church, Clifton. James Fearnley was the leader.

See Holly Bank, Clifton

Clifton, HarryRef C742
[18??-18??] Halifax comic-singer in the 19th century. He gave popular concerts locally.

His 2 daughters were also popular local singers

Clifton HospitalRef C342
Clifton's first hospital was built in 1??? at Kettlewig, Clifton. It was later known as The Poor House

Clifton House, Bailiff BridgeRef C5790
Originally Clifton Mill, a part of the Firth's mill complex which has survived

Clifton House, BrighouseRef C1343
81 Bradford Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Clifton House, HalifaxRef C1220
Bull Close Lane / High Street / Blackwall / West Parade.

Owners and tenants have included

Clifton Isolation HospitalRef C355
Thornhills. An Isolation Hospital built to accommodate those who fell ill during the smallpox outbreak of 1892. It opened on 20th June 1892.

The building is now private dwellings

See Dr Frederick Fielding Bond

Clifton, JamesRef C1136
[1875-1939] Son of Charles Clifton, coal miner.

Born in Wrenthorpe, Wakefield.

He was a time keeper of Wrenthorpe [1897] / a bricklayer [1901, 1911].

In 1897, he married Edith Rose [1871-1930] at St Anne's, Wrenthorpe.


Edith Rose was born in Loughton, Buckinghamshire, the daughter of Giles Thomas Davis Pratt, machinist, and widow of Mr Hepworth.

She had a daughter by her first marriage: Phyllis Hepworth [b  1894] (worsted rover 1911) 

 

Children:

  1. Charles
  2. Norman [b 1902]
  3. Edith [b 1906]
  4. Dorothy Winifred [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 26 Woodside Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • 6 Friendly Street, Friendly Fold Road, Ovenden [1911]
  • 152 Hebble Lane, Wheatley [1918]

Edith Rose died in Halifax [Q2 1930] (aged 59) 

A James Clifton died in Halifax [Q1 1939] (aged 63) 

Clifton, JohnRef C887
[13??-14??] In 1411, he was the last Lord of the Manor of Clifton. He demised the property to Roger Banaster

Clifton, JohnRef C1862
[1890-1919] Son of Agnes & William Henry Clifton of 7 Hanson Lane, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 82nd Division Ammunition Col. Royal Field Artillery.

He died in the Lord Derby War Hospital, Warrington [23rd May 1919] (aged 29).

He was buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Clifton Lawn Tennis ClubRef C679
Established in the late 19th century

Clifton Local BoardRef C2031
Established in 1881.

See Local Board

Clifton, Manor ofRef C323
Escelf was Lord of the Manor of Clifton at the time of Domesday Book – when it was waste. The Manor then passed to Ilbert.

Subsequent Lords of the Manor included

See Clifton Hall

Clifton Mechanics' InstituteRef C1403
A Mechanics' Institute established in 185?. Recorded in 1859.

In 1876, the Institute took over the premises of the former Clifton National School.

Those who held the office of President included Saville Goldthorp [1859]

Clifton mosaicRef C58
In 1921, the Daily Mail offered a prize of £50 for the best village sign. The winning sign was called Kirklees and showed a mosaic of Robin Hood. Since there was no village with that name, Halifax Rural Council acquired the sign and, in 1922, erected the sign at the junction of Mill Hill and Blakelaw at Clifton.

The sign was removed during World War II as it may have been of assistance to German parachutists. The M62 was built over the site

Clifton Police StationRef C1535


Question: Does anyone know if there was a Police Station here? Can anyone tell me anything about it?

 

See Brighouse Police Station

Clifton Post OfficeRef C1537
Recorded in 1861, 1871 & 1881, when Ann Hirst was postmistress.

The village Post Office was located in the building which was formerly the Clifton Co-operative Society.

It closed in 2004, leaving the village without a shop or Post Office

Clifton Prize BandRef C447
Aka Clifton Brass Band. Formed in 1838.

It is said to be the second oldest band in England.

Sir George Armytage was their president in the 1860s.

It was discontinued around 1887 and reformed in 1893 and the name changed to the Clifton Subscription Band.

See Fred Berry

Clifton Road Railway StationRef C1316

Clifton Spitfire AccidentRef C2293
During World War II, 2 Spitfire fighter aircraft flew too close to each other as they were passing over Brighouse. One sliced the tail off the other with its propeller. The damaged plane crashed into a field near Clifton

Clifton StationRef C366

Clifton stoneRef C296
Millers in Clifton gave 14 lbs of flour to a stone, whereas Halifax millers gave 12 lbs to a stone. For this reason, Clifton was popular as a source of cheap flour

Clifton Subscription BandRef C375
In 1893, the name of the Clifton Prize Band was changed to Clifton Subscription Band.

The first conductor was Fairburn Rayner.

In 1932, it became the Clifton & Lightcliffe Band.

In the early 20th century, members formed the original Faff and Fuffun Band

Clifton Surveyor of the HighwaysRef C5650
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Clifton included:

Clifton Water Supply CompanyRef C1562
Established in 1874

Clifton WellRef C846
Stood opposite Clifton School. It was sunk on land given by Sir George Armytage. A memorial stone is inscribed


Edward Wright
Crispin Wilkinson
... Brearley
Joshua Goldthorpe
John Brearley

Clifton WoodheadRef C369
An area of Clifton at the head of Kirklees Wood.

The surname de Wodehede appears in Norman records.

See Black Horse, Clifton, Clifton Woodhead Hall and Woodhead

Clifton WoodheadRef C96
17th century house at Clifton Woodhead.

Members of the Armytage family lived here.

Owners and tenants have included

It may have been the dower house for the Kirklees Estate.

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

See Woodhead Well

ClimateRef C119

Climter MoorRef C473
Moorland near Bride Stones, above Todmorden

ClinicsRef C1400

Clipster Hall, SiddalRef C77
This and Lower Clipster Hall were 2 rows of terraced houses which stood at the top of Phoebe Lane, opposite Joseph Morton's Brick Works. They were demolished in the 1950s.

The spelling Clipstone is found in some records.

Owners and tenants have included

See Siddal Halls

Clitheroe, JimmyRef C2185
[1921-1973] Lancashire comedian. He performed on stage and radio.

It is said that he performed in the Rydings Hall, Brighouse. Unexplained phenomena at the Hall have been attributed to his spirit

Cliviger Coal & Coke CompanyRef C1482
They had business at Bankwell Colliery, Cornholme [1905]

ClockRef C1572
See Clockmakers, Brighouse Floral Clock, Ellis Jubilee Clock Tower, Luddenden Clocks and Millennium Clock, Hebden Bridge

Clock AlmanackRef C333

Clock House, EllandRef C8640
Southgate.

Built in the 1840s, as a clog maker's shop for Mr Radcliffe who made the clock.

The clock originally had two faces – one on the outside of the wall for the people of Elland to note the time and one on the inside for Radcliffe's own use. It subsequently lost one of its faces.

After Radcliffe's death, the business passed to his son, and then to his grandson who did not carry on the clog making business.

Around the 1950s, D. Watson bought the house and converted it into a showroom for his furniture business. The clock was renovated and put into working order.

The building was demolished in the 1960s/1970s when the centre of Elland was redeveloped

ClockmakersRef C2002

Close, Dennis BrianRef C1756
[1931-] Brian Close was born in Rawdon, Leeds. He played cricket for Todmorden [1970s]

Close: Poet CloseRef C314
[1816-1891] A poet who was
somewhat eccentric, a great lover of nature [who] never tired of extolling the beauties of the Lake District

On 18th February 1867, he appeared before an audience at the Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden when

a great dissatisfaction was felt by everyone present, his powers as a lecturer or entertainment being represented by the word nil

So strong was this feeling that the gentleman who had engaged the poet felt honour bound to cancel planned engagements in Hebden Bridge and elsewhere

Close, ThomasRef C2282
[1816-1???] Born in Todmorden. He was a veterinary surgeon in Brighouse [1851].

He married Hannah [1811-1???] from Sowerby.

The family lived at Bridge Street, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1851]

Cloth Hall FarmRef C1252
Soil Hill, Holmfield.

Recorded in 1917, when Wright Sutcliffe lived here

Cloth Hall, HeptonstallRef C821
43/45 Towngate. A cloth hall built between 1545-1548 by the Waterhouse family of Shibden Hall. It was originally called Blackwell Hall.

The original single-storey building was increased to 2 storeys in the mid 18th century.

Local handloom weavers brought their cloth here for sale to dealers.

In 1766, Michael Kay sold the hall to John Uttley for 5/-. Uttley added a second storey to the building.

The hall remained in use until it was superseded by Halifax Piece Hall in 1779. The inscription

THE CLOTH HALL

on one doorway is not original.

It was converted to cottages.

It now a private house

Cloth HallsRef C1567

ClothierRef C2300

Cloudesley, HubertRef C871
Pseudonym of poet John Wrigglesworth

The Clough familyRef C1259
See Calico Hall, Halifax

Clough, A.Ref C909
[1???-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Gordon Highlanders.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Clough, AlbertRef C379
[1895-1915] Son of Mrs Ada Clough of 15 Old Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Yorkshire Regiment.

He died 15th June 1915 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 12], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Clough Bank Beck, MixendenRef C1087
Runs down Grindlestone Bank

Clough, CharlesRef C1089
[1832-1883] Landlord of the Black Horse, Clifton.

On 24th March 1883, he was found in bed and with him was a bottle which had contained laudanum. His life could not be saved.

The Inquest heard that he had been in financial difficulties, and had tried to borrow money

to stay an execution

and when this had failed, he bought laudanum and took it after his wife had left him in bed.

A verdict of Suicide whilst of unsound mind was returned

The Clough, CliftonRef C2203
House

Clough Cottage, Luddenden DeanRef C1939

Clough, DanielRef C322
[16??-1???] A member of the Clough family of Calico Hall, Halifax.

He married Margaret, daughter of Edward Hanson

Clough Farm, SoylandRef C1722

Clough Farm, StansfieldRef C396
17th century house

Clough Farm, WalsdenRef C163
Owned by John Fielden. In 1785, he built Clough Mill on the land

Clough Foot Minewater Treatment Scheme, TodmordenRef C2275
Bacup Road. Water treatment along the Midgelden Beck

Clough Foot, TodmordenRef C2555
Aka Cloughfoot.

See Blue Ball, Cloughfoot, Clough Foot Council School, Todmorden, Clough Foot Evening School, Todmorden, Clough Foot Minewater Treatment Scheme, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Board School, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Coal Mine, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Cricket Club, Cloughfoot Independent Congregational Chapel Graveyard, Cloughfoot Independent Congregational Chapel, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Liberal Club, Cloughfoot Mill, Todmorden, Mellins Farm, Cloughfoot, Speke Edge Farm, Clough Foot and Union Sunday School, Cloughfoot

Clough, FrancisRef C32
[1815-1874] Born in Knaresborough.

He was a wool sorter [1841] / a quarryman [1851] / a quarry master employing 2 men [1861] / a retired stone merchant [1871].

In [Q4] 1838, he married Ann Smith [1812-1871] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Halifax.

She was a dress maker [1861]

 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [1839-1861]
  2. William Smith (Clough) [b 1842] who was a cabinet maker [1861]
  3. Jonathan Benjamin [1850-1856]
  4. Walter George [b 1853] who was an iron monger [1871], married [Q3 1874] Mary Jane Wharton, & had a daughter Sarah Ann [1875-8th February 1877]; (Sarah Ann was buried with her Clough grandparents) 

The family lived at

  • Healy Hill, Southowram [1851]
  • 40/41 Cobden Street, Halifax [1861]
  • 1 Cobden Street, Halifax [1871]

Living with them [in 1851, 1861] was widowed sister-in-law Sarah Dunning [b 1795]. (cape maker 1851).

Living with them [in 1871] were widowed sister-in-law Sarah Dunning [b 1795] & grandson John Francis Thackray [b 1861].

Ann died 2nd August 1871 (aged 59).

Francis died 16th June 1874 (aged 59).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 851] with sister-in-law Sarah Dunning [1795-18th May 1873] & granddaughter Sarah Ann !P AGE.DEATH`Sarah Ann 2 8/2/1877

Clough Head Cottage, SouthowramRef C1753
Sunny Bank Lane in the Walterclough Valley.

In the 1850s, this was a private dwelling.

In the 1860s, it became the Who could a' thowt it pub

Clough Head Hill, HeptonstallRef C877
There are several circular Neolithic or Bronze Age remains in the area: one stone circle is about 48 ft in diameter, others about 13 ft in diameter, and several smaller ones

Clough, Herbert GeorgeRef C382
[1875-19??] Born in Horton.

He was a compositor [1902].

In 1902, he married Ann Ellen Thornton in Halifax.


Ann Ellen was the daughter of
William Henry Thornton
 

Children:

  1. Mabel [b 1903]
  2. Cyril Arthur [b 1906]
  3. Edgar Thornton [b 1908]

After the birth of their first child the family moved to Oldham

Clough House Farm, RippondenRef C2229
Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, HartsheadRef C657
Clough Lane. Rev Patrick Brontë moved from his lodgings at Thornbush Farm to live here – in the Hightown area of Hartshead – after his marriage to Maria Branwell in December 1812.

Their daughter Maria was born here [1814].

The house was later known as Brontë House

Clough House, HeptonstallRef C522

Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, Ovenden WoodRef C2250
Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, RastrickRef C917
Owners and tenants have included

See Clough House Inn, Rastrick and White Lion, Rastrick

Clough House, Sowerby BridgeRef C2546
Bolton Brow. Wharf House was next door.

Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, SoylandRef C709
Late 16th century house.

Altered in 1743.

There is a lintel dated 1748.

Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, WalsdenRef C494
Owners and tenants have included

See Thistle Hall, Walsden

Clough, JamesRef C2426
[18??-19??] Partner in Brook, Clough & Company.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent on 1st August 1906, and Clough carried on business on his own account at Baildon Green Mills and 27 Charles Street, Bradford as J. Clough & Son

Clough, JohnRef C166
[1632-1700]

He died April 1700 (aged 68).

Heywood records


Mr John Clough of Halifax, had been rich come down. Kept oth town, deputy constable, bur there April 14 1700, age 68 – his wife dyed the day after he was buried had 10 sh a month
 

Clough Mill Company LimitedRef C1940
The Company was registered in April 1873.

See Clough Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Clough Moor Bridge, NorlandRef C72
Single-span stone bridge from Norland to Greetland which crosses Maple Dean Clough. On 30th July 1867, the foundation stone was laid for the new bridge to replace an earlier bridge. A bottle containing newspapers and coins was buried in the foundations

Clough, SamuelRef C1813
[1861-1923] Born in Cottingley.

He was landlord of the Clough House, Rastrick [1909, 1911, 1917] / a farmer [1911] / landlord of the Nag's Head, Ainley Top [1920, 1923].

On 7th January 1897, he married Sarah Denmar [1873-1960] at St John the Evangelist, Denby.


Sarah was born in Billingley
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. Thomas [b 1899]
  3. Ellen [b 1900]
  4. Edith [b 1902]
  5. William [b 1905]
  6. John [b 1908]

Samuel died in 1923.

Sarah took over at the Nag's Head [1923-1960]

Clough, SamuelRef C1205
[1884-1916] Son of Fred & Mathilda Clough.

In [Q3] 1910, he married Hannah H. Wren in Bradford.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 29th December 1916 (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B]

In [Q3] 1918, Hannah married Walter F. Bell in Bradford.

They lived at 43 Carr House Road, Shelf

Clough, SamuellRef C295
[1???-1???] He married Ann Barraclough


Ann was the daughter of
Richard Barraclough
 

Children:

  1. Grace

Clough Side House, WalsdenRef C2209
Nursing home [1988]

Clough under Warley TownRef C1787
Owners and tenants have included

Clough, W. S.Ref C2082
[18??-18??] Joiner and cabinet maker in Halifax. The business was taken over by Sutcliffe & Woodhead

Clough, WilliamRef C1866
[1786-18??] He served with the 2nd Battalion 84th Foot York & Lancaster Regiment in the Peninsular War

Clough, WilliamRef C911
[1887-1915] Born in Bowling, Bradford.

He lived at 15 Old Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 8th Battalion Cameronian (Scottish Rifles).

He was killed in the Dardanelles [28th June 1915] (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Gallipoli [Grave Ref 92-97], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

CloughfootRef C183
Aka Clough Foot. Area of Todmorden

Cloughfoot Cricket ClubRef C2176
Recorded on 1st March 1913, when a presentation was made to C. E. Lord by the members in recognition of 20 years' service

Cloughfoot Liberal ClubRef C2119
Recorded on 7th July 1888, when it opened in a 2-roomed cottage near Cloughfoot Board School

Clover HillRef C243
Area of Halifax to the west of the Royal Halifax Infirmary.

The name is (possibly) a corruption of Laver Hill, which uses the Anglo Saxon element læfer [meaning a bulrush or a reed]. F. A. Leyland recorded that

we remember to have seen dwarf bulrushes growing in the once swampy ground at the bottom of this hill

See Clover Hill Farm, Clover Hill Nursery and Edward Richardson

Clover Hill Farm, SkircoatRef C1944
Stood near the site of what is now Glen View Terrace.

Owners and tenants have included

Clover Hill Nursery, HalifaxRef C1582
Clover Hill.

Owners and tenants of the nursery have included

Clover House, HalifaxRef C2085
House on Savile Road, Halifax

Clover, JamesRef C332
[1807-1881] Of Halifax.

He married Janet [1814-1881].

Children:

  1. Margaret [1846-20/1/1862]

James died 24th September 1881 (aged 74).

Janet died 6th January 1881 (aged 67).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1737]

Club HousesRef C7
In the 19th century, small groups of people in a club or friendly society – typically 5 or 6 in number – combined their resources to build a small row of houses – known as club houses – which they then occupied. Local examples include Club Houses, Old Town, Club Houses, Heptonstall, Club Houses, Ovenden and Wadsworth Club Houses

Club Houses, HeptonstallRef C1628
Recorded in 1845

Club Houses, OvendenRef C259
6 cottages built by the Ovenden Brotherly Society. The cost of land and construction was £600. The rent was initially 1/6d per week, and this was later raised to 2/-

Clubbers, WiddopRef C609
Aka Cludders, Cludders Slack, and Cluthers. A natural rocky outcrop at Clough Foot, Widdop near the valve house at Widdop Reservoir.

Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here

CluddersRef C4

Cludders SlackRef C1328

Clunter Bottom, WalsdenRef C6570

Clunter's Cottages, Cragg ValeRef C607
Houses. Victoria Mills stood nearby

Clunters, Stansfield MoorRef C2315
Area of Stansfield Moor. North towards Noah Dale.

See Cross Clough, Noah Dale

CluthersRef C549

Clyff, WilliamRef C1834
[1???-15??] Constable of Skircoat [1537]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1540] who married Edmund Murgatroyd

CNSRef C1538

Co-Op Funeral Services, RastrickRef C1353
Opened in 19?? in what had been the Aire Terrace Co-Op

Coach House, GreetlandRef C1337
Scar Bottom Lane

CoachesRef C1633

Coaching innsRef C636

Coad, RichardRef C373
[1825-1900] Architect who did some work on St Augustine's Church, Pellon

Coady, PatrickRef C1877
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at Smithy Street, Halifax [24 lodgers in 1903]. In May 1904, he was keeper at 7 Charles Street

Coal Clough Wind Farm, TodmordenRef C2339
Wind farm near Cornholme

Coal Dike, MidgleyRef C1960
Small ravine above Midgley. So-called because a small quantity of coal was found there

Coal Drops, HalifaxRef C699
Berry Lane. Railway coaldrops built for the Ovenden & Halifax Junction Railway Company near Halifax station in 1874 on the site of the Halifax Parish Church Vicarage.

There are 15 wooden bunkers built into the sloping hillside. The bunkers were loaded from above. Each bunker has 2 metal doors which were raised on an iron ratchet geared pulley system to dispense the coal.

In 2004, there was a proposal to convert them into houses.

See Berry Lane Viaduct, Halifax and Halifax Berry Lane Viaduct

Coal Drops, Sowerby BridgeRef C1091
Station Road. Railway bridge and 15 coaldrops built for the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company near Sowerby Bridge station about 1875

The Coal ExchangeRef C2079
Recorded in 1905 at 2 Waterhouse Street, Halifax when Thomas Collinson had business here

Coal miningRef C141

Coal Pit Farm, SouthowramRef C2554
An alternative name for Pit House Farm, Southowram [1841, 1901]

Coat Hill, WarleyRef C2245
See Cote Hill

Coat of ArmsRef C142

Coates, Major Edward FeethamRef C618
[18??-19??] Born in London of a York family.

He was educated at Marlborough.

In 1881, he accepted a commission in the 3rd, Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment.

He served in South Africa.

He stood as Conservative/Unionist candidate in the Elland Parliamentary election of 1900. He gained 4512 votes, but was defeated by Sir Charles Philips Trevelyan with 6154 votes

Coates, EnochRef C1897
[18??-1???] He married Sarah Breaks [1825-1???].


Sarah was the daughter of Jonathan Breaks of Shibden
 

Children:

  1. (possibly) Ann
  2. Dan [b 1859]

The family lived at Norwood Green [1859].

On 9th March 1859, Sarah was charged with the wilful murder of her son Dan on 17th February. The court heard that she had been in low spirits for some time previously.

A witness Mrs Ann Jagger, said that Sarah had called upon her on the day of the murder asking the way to Coley Mill dam. Later, her father met her coming from the dam and she called out

Father, I've been in the dam, but cannot die

and added that she had lost her child in the dam.

The child's body was later found in the dam.

At the Assizes, she pleaded guilty, but the Judge directed a verdict of not guilty

Coates, EricRef C959
[1898-1968] Government adviser.

Educated at Heath Grammar School [1909-1916].

He was involved in the liquidation of the failed groundnuts scheme in Tanganyika

Coates, HarryRef C1109
[1866-1???] Son of John Coates, wire drawer.

He was a mechanic of Lister Lane, Halifax [1866-1???].

In 1887, he married Sarah Hannah Parkinson [1866-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah Hannah, of The Bank, Southowram, was the daughter of James Parkinson, carter
 

Children:

  1. Evelyn [b 1897] who was a doffer worsted [1911]
  2. Wilfred
  3. Doris [b 1903]

Harry was dead by 1911.

In 1911, Sarah Hannah married (2) John Henry Heys at Halifax Parish Church

Coates, HerbertRef C1649
[1891-1917] Son of Mary & Ralph Coates of Mark Street, Boothtown, Halifax.

He was a carpet weaver at Crossley's.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 16th April 1917 (aged 26).

He was buried at Achiet-le-Grand Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I C 3]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Akroydon Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Coates, JamesRef C2145
[1811-1869] He was Verger at Halifax Parish Church [1869].

He lived at 13 Nelson Street, Halifax [1869].

He died at home [5th July 1869] (aged 58).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: B 140 A]

Coates, LaurenceRef C2382
[1???-19??] Organist at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top.

He lived at Southcliffe, Southowram [1950s]

Coates, ListerRef C6610
[1847-1919] Architect & surveyor.

Born in Halifax.

In 1879, he married Judith Ann Lister [1846-1???] in Halifax.


Judith Ann was born in Halifax, the daughter of Sarah [1819-1???] & James Lister [1817-1???], a stover & dyer
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Ellen [b 1871]
  2. Emily Jane [b 1874]
  3. Dora [b 1878]
  4. George Lister [b 1880]

The family lived at 22 Elm Field Terrace, Skircoat [1881].

In 1881, Sarah Ellen's parents were living with the family

Coates, SamRef C564
[1813-1???] Illegitimate son of Rachel Child & Edward Coates, weaver of Wyke.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [7th March 1813]

Coates, Rev ScottRef C1180
[18??-19??] Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Elland [1892, 1905]

Coates: Turner & HornerRef C1869
Fullers at Wheatley.

Partners included I. Coates, E. Turner, A. Turner and G. Horner.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1872

Coates, W.Ref C912
[18??-1???]

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's Regiment Memorial

Coates, WalterRef C1994
[1914-1944] Son of Alice & Samuel Coates.

In [Q2] 1938, he married Ivy Allan in Halifax.

They lived in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 77th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 23rd June 1944 (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [227]

Coates, WilfredRef C1112
[1898-1916] Son of Harry Coates.

He was a jute creeler [1911] / employed in the stereotyping department of the Halifax Courier.

He lived at 21 Upper Brunswick Street, Hopwood Lane, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in a failed attack on Schwaben Redoubt [3rd September 1916] (aged 18).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [23rd September 1916].

He was buried at Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval, France. [Grave Ref I F 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and (possibly) on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

At his death, he was the only one of 20 Courier employees to have died in the War.

The announcement of his death reported that

his father is also in the Army

Coates, WilliamRef C3901
[1815-1874] Born in Ireland.

He was a Conservative / an Ensign in HM 69th Regiment of Foot / a Captain in HM 98th Regiment of Foot / Quartermaster to the 6th West York Militia / Adjutant of the 4th West York Rifle Volunteer [1860] / Churchwarden of St James's Church, Halifax.

He served in India and China.

He joined the Turkish Contingent at the outbreak of the Russian War, and rose to he rank of Major. He received decorations from the Sultan: the Turkish medal, and the 5th Class Medize.

In 1843, he married Elizabeth Spencer [1814-1898] in Dublin


Elizabeth was born in Ireland
 

Children:

  1. George [1844-1921]
  2. William Charles [b 1850]
  3. Harriet Grace [1853-1937]
  4. Jane Elizabeth [1853-1933] who married Charles Ingram Armitage
  5. Henry [1855-1867]
  6. Richard [b 1855]

The family lived at

  • 20 Milton Place, Halifax [1861]
  • 99 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1874]
  • High Royd, Honley, Huddersfield [where she had gone to live with daughter Jane Elizabeth 1898]

William died 9th January 1874 at home. He had left for the orderly Room in Prescott Street; he felt unwell and turned back. He was stricken by a fit of apoplexy and never spoke again; he died the next morning. Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £600.

Administration was granted to his widow Elizabeth.

Elizabeth died at High Royd, Huddersfield [16th April 1898].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,192 11/11d.

Probate was granted to Charles Ingram Armitage (esquire).

Members of the family were buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross: Henry [1st November 1867]; William (with military honours) [14th January 1874]; Elizabeth [20th April 1898]; Harriet Grace [23rd March 1937]

Coates, WilliamRef C258
[1819-1856] He was coachman for Edward Akroyd at Bankfield [for 11 years].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Joseph [1851-1874]

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Coates, WillieRef C1719
[1885-1918]

In [Q3] 1912, he married Agnes Stocks in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Cyril [b 1916]

The family lived at 26 Back Rhodes Street, Hanson Lane, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), then served as a Private with the 15th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was killed in action [7th November 1918] (aged 33).

He was buried at Dourlers Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref II A 21].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and (possibly) on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

Coats PatonRef C616
The name of Paton & Baldwin was changed to Coats Patons Limited on 26th July 1967

Cob CloughRef C865
Stream running beneath the site on which St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden stands. The stream caused much damage to early churches which stood here

Cobb, Frederick ArthurRef C288
[1901-1950] the son of a farmer.

Born in Winchester.

During World War I, he joined the Merchant Navy as a radio operator. Later, he was a maintenance engineer with the 2LO radio station which later became the BBC. In 1926, he was chief engineer of the Indian Broadcasting Company in Calcutta. In 1929, he returned to England where he became general manager of a company producing radio and television equipment in High Wycombe.

He was Labour MP for Elland [1945]. When that seat was abolished, he became MP for Brighouse & Spenborough [1950]. He died just over a month later

Cobb, G. M.Ref C645
[18??-19??] A chemist at Northgate.

See Frank Jagger

Cobb, John ArthurRef C958
[1891-1915] Son of Mary Ann & John Cobb of Apperley Bridge, Bradford, and later of Coningsby Hall, Lincolnshire.

He was a member of West End Tennis Club / employed by Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited.

He lived at 6 Spring Green, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1914], and served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 6th December 1915 (aged 24).

He was buried at Etaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VI A 22A].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited

Cobbe, LillianRef C924
[1879-19??] Of Industrial Street, Hebden Bridge. She was active in the suffragette movement.

During the fustian weavers' strike of 1906, she, Lavena Saltonstall, Lizzie Berkly, Dinah Connelly, Louisa Saltonstall, Lily Draper and Laura Annie Wilson, were amongst 57 suffragettes and others who were arrested and imprisoned following an attack on the House of Commons in March 1907. All were given the option of 20/- fine plus costs or imprisonment. They all opted for 14 days' imprisonment in Holloway Gaol.

Cobbett Environmental Enterprise Centre, Norwood GreenRef C1883
Established in 2001 in the former Norwood Green Congregational Church. The head office of Urban Mines Limited is here

Cobbett, WilliamRef C256
[1763-1835] Born in Farnham, Surrey. Radical politician and journalist.

His crusading essays on the conditions of the rural poor were collected as Rural Rides written in 1830.

During his rural ride, he visited the district and lectured at the Halifax Theatre.

See William Richardson

Cobble Bank Farm, MixendenRef C265
Mixenden Lane. Early 18th century

Cobden Club, TodmordenRef C1469
Recorded in 1905 at 7 Ridge Street. Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 68

Cobden House, HipperholmeRef C1299
Owners and tenants have included

Cobden, RichardRef C144
[1804-1865] Lancashire manufacturer. He was born in Sussex into a poor farming family, and saw that the Corn Laws, profited the rich landowner and made the poor go hungry. He founded the Anti-Corn Law League and campaigned to have the laws repealed

Some local streets are named for him – such as Cobden Street, Halifax

Cobden, RichardRef C1721
[1804-1865] Radical-Liberal. He was MP for the West Riding [1847-1857]

CobdenholmeRef C625
Area of Todmorden

Cobham, Sir AlanRef C729
[1894-1973] Born in London.

He became a pilot in World War I.

In 1926, he flew a round-trip to Australia.

In 1932, he started air display which became known as Cobham's Flying Circus.

He brought his Circus to Clifton on 2nd June 1934, though he was not present himself. The Circus returned in June 1935 and Sir Alan was present, though the accidental death of one of the team a few days earlier meant that all parachute jumps were cancelled, and rain on Sunday 2nd June made the flying display impossible

Cobham, BaronRef C1021
In 1912, following a petition, it was decided that Dr Reginald Gervase Alexander was a coheir to the baronies of Burgh, Cobham and Strabolgi, the titles having fallen into abeyance. He died before the final decision was taken and his elder son, Gervase Disney, was summoned to the House of Lords on 8th September 1916 as Gervase Disney Alexander de Cobham, Chevalier, 12th Baron Cobham

Coble, HarryRef C2114
[1897-1918] Son of John Henry Coble.

Born in Sowerby.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 1st Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was accidentally killed [25th August 1918].

He was buried at Douchy-Les-Ayette British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II J 6].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Coble, John HenryRef C1063
[1863-1944] Born in Low Moor.

He was a railway engine driver [1896].

On 17th August 1896, he married Annie Shaw [1867-1948] at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge.


Annie was born in Sowerby
 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1885]
  2. Harry
  3. George [1898-1983]
  4. Dora [1899-1901]
  5. William [1904-1992]

The family lived at

  • Oxford Street, Sowerby [1901, 1911]
  • 35 Nelson Street, Sowerby [1918]

Coburn, HaroldRef C2574
[19??-] Landlord of the Ram's Head, Sowerby Bridge [1999].

The pub closed in 2010 and he continued to live at the premises

Cock-FightingRef C6
Along with bear-baiting, bull-baiting, hare-coursing and rabbit-coursing, cock-fighting was popular at markets, fairs and feasts until the early 20th century.

An individual cock-fight is called a main.

In July 1759, the Union Journal recorded that

The inhabitants of the town were for three days amused with a grand cook match between Robert Stansfield and Robert Hawksworth, Esqrs, and W. Southern and Mr Harvey, Esqrs; when 22 battles were won by the former, and 13 by the latter

See Devil's Rock, Eastwood and Union Cross Inn, Halifax

Cock Hill Farm, Cragg ValeRef C1332

Cock Hill, Midgley MoorRef C575
Mesolithic evidence has been found here.

There is a Bronze Age stone and rubble circle 132 ft in diameter. This was excavated in the 1980s

Cock Hill, MixendenRef C1088
There was an outbreak of the plague here in 1631

Cock o' the NorthRef C20
Brewery and mark of Whitaker's Brewery.

See Halifax Steam Brewing Company, Hipperholme

Cock Walk Farm, CliftonRef C2046
Recorded in 1902

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

Cockburn, FrancisRef C1767
[1869-1947] Son of Stephen Cockburn.

He was a talented artist. He was Assistant Art Master at Halifax Technical School [1900] In Ossett, he drew a series of local scenes which was published as Cockburns Ossett.

He lived at 11 Second Avenue, Halifax.

He emigrated to New Zealand [1905].

In New Zealand, he became director of the Nelson Technical School

Cockburn, StephenRef C1766
[1829-1900] Born in Ramsgate, Kent.

He bought the Ossett Observer [1873]. He moved to Ossett [1874]

He moved to Siddal after the death of his wife [1891]. He was a Sunday School teacher and lay reader.

He married Marianne Pettman [1829-1893] of Ash, Kent.

Children:

  1. Stephen [1856-1903] who took over the newspaper when his father moved to Siddal
  2. William [1860-1896] who emigrated to Australia [1885]
  3. Henry [1861-1924] who emigrated to Canada [1904]
  4. Francis

The family lived at 87 Cambridge Place, Siddal [where he died 1st May 1900]

CockcroftRef C1001
Area of Rishworth. The name is derived from the element croft and means an enclosure for birds or cockerels.

Upper Cockcroft Hall and Lower Cockcroft Hall here were homes of the Holroyd family

Cockcroft...Ref C251
The entries for people & families with the surname Cockcroft are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Cockcroft & MurgatroydRef C674
Corn millers at Halifax and Rochdale.

Partners included G. Cockcroft and J. Murgatroyd.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1830

Cockcroft & RamsdenRef C1835
Woolstaplers at Halifax.

Partners included Thomas Cockcroft and Thomas Ramsden.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1839

Cockcroft & ScholfieldRef C1480
Manufacturer of Grandrille shirtings and Bedford cords at Cinder Hill Mills, Todmorden [1905].

Partners included W. Cockcroft & Herbert R. Scholfield

Cockcroft & WhitakerRef C1802
Stone merchants, dealers and chapmen at Southowram. Partnership of William Cockcroft and John Whitaker.

In 1837, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Cockcroft: Barker & CrabtreeRef C1448
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden.

Around 1867, Luke Barker went into partnership with his brother, William, and Richard Crabtree and Thomas Cockcroft as Cockcroft, Barker & Crabtree.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1867 when Cockcroft left the partnership, and the business continued as Barkers & Crabtree

Cockcroft's: Caleb Cockcroft's CharityRef C848
In his will of 1643, Caleb Cockcroft bequeathed £10 for Wadsworth and £10 for Heptonstall and Erringden. The money was to be lent to 20 poor men to buy them bread corn. The money was to buy
corn at best hand and cheapest

Cockcroft / CockroftRef C327
The names Cockcroft and Cockroft are easily confused

Cockcroft's: J. H. CockcroftRef C1455
Occupied Exchange Mill, Elland

Cockcroft's: John Cockcroft & SonsRef C1459
Cotton and linen manufacturers established by John Arthur Cockcroft.

They had premises at Croft Mill, Todmorden and Birks Mill, Walsden.

After John Arthur Cockcroft's death, the business passed to his sons Eric William, Keith, and Lionel Fielden.

They occupied Birks Mill, Walsden until the end of the 19th century.

In 1936, they bought the business of Caleb Hoyle [1923] Limited

Cockcroft's: John Cockcroft's CharityRef C597
In 1815, John Cockcroft granted money from the rent of a farm in the Withens Clough valley for a master to teach a Sunday School at Heptonstall to teach poor children to read and write [£3], £1 to the Minister at Heptonstall at Whitsuntide, £1 to the Minister at a church or chapel at Marshaw Bridge – provided that it be Church of England – at Whitsuntide.

When Withens Clough Reservoir was built, the farm was lost and Morley Corporation paid the rent

Cockcroft, Riley & SutcliffeRef C1668
Stone masons at Rishworth [1874]

CockdenRef C641
Industrial area of Eastwood

Cockden Railway StationRef C1320
Opened in 18??. Served the mills between Callis and Woodhouse.

Closed in 19??

Cocke, WilliamRef C381
[18??-18??] A newsagent in Bull Green, Halifax.

One of the founders of the Halifax Courier [1852]

Cocker, Abraham HenryRef C1168
[1844-1919] Son of James Cocker.

Born in Southowram [30th March 1844].

He was a machinist of carpet machines [1861] / a mechanic fitter [1871] / a mechanic (carpet mill) [1881] / a mechanic [1891].

In [Q4] 1880, he married Martha Heginbottom [1842-1913] in Halifax.


Martha was born in Wheatley [8th October 1842]
 

Children:

  1. Arthur William

The family lived at

  • 2 Pleasant Place, Southowram [1881]
  • Little Marsh, Southowram [1891, 1901]
  • 26 Marsh Lane, Southowram [1911]

Martha died 11th March 1913.

Abraham died 27th July 1919 (aged 75).

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B10] with his sister Esther

Cocker & Company (1929) LimitedRef C2388
In 1947, they had business at Jumble Hole Mill, Todmorden bleaching, dyeing and finishing of blacks and coours, rayons, crepes, cashmeres, brocades and muslins.

The business closed in the 1950s

Cocker, Arthur WilliamRef C93
[1882-1957] Son of Abraham Henry Cocker.

Born in Halifax.

He was a bank clerk [1901, 1911].

In [Q2] 1913, he married Annie Oates [1880-1943] in Halifax.

Arthur William died in Folkestone [27th August 1957] (aged 75).

Annie died 1st July 1943 (aged 63).

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NL-A16]

Cocker, FrankRef C7850
[1890-1970] MC.

Son of Fred Cocker.

Born in Brighouse [28th February 1890]

He worked for A. H. Leach & Company.

He enlisted in 1914.

He was originally with the Duke of Wellington's regiment, and, after being commissioned in early 1917, he joined the KOYLI, as an officer.

In World War I, a 2/Lt F. Cocker was an officer with the 2/4th KOYLI and was wounded during an attack on the village of Bourlon in the (Battle of Cambrai) [27th November 1917].

He was again wounded on the 20th July 1918 whilst attacking the village of Courmas in the Champagne region of France.

He was awarded the MC. His Citation in the supplement to the London Gazette of July 5th 1918 records

For conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty. He reorganised his company when all other officers had become casualties during an attack and captured the objective. He also brought in wounded under fire. Though badly wounded, he remained on duty till ordered to withdraw

On 3rd July 1917, he married Evelyn, daughter of John Aspinall Kershaw.

Children:

  1. Eileen Margaret [b 1918]
  2. Doris Muriel (Molly) [1920-2003]
  3. twins Elizabeth (Betty) [b 1924]
  4. Henry Gordon [1924-1998]
  5. Anne Cecilia [1931-2011] who married [1958] David Ramsden

He died in Brighouse [31st March 1970]

Cocker, FredRef C223
[18??-19??]

He married Mary Ellen [18??-19??].

Children:

  1. John Frederick

The family lived at

  • 33 Grosvenor Terrace, Brighouse
  • 10 Halifax Road, Brighouse

Cocker, FredRef C8001
[1853-1???] Born in Soyland.

He was Master at St Mary's School, Mill Bank [1891].

In 1877, he married Mary Ellen Dobson [1852-1???] from Bradford, in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Minnie [b 1878]
  2. Arthur [b 1880]
  3. Edward [b 1883]
  4. Eleanor [b 1889]
  5. Frank

Cocker's: H. Cocker & Sons LimitedRef C1734
Reed heald works, Trooper Lane [1937]

Cocker, HaroldRef C1126
[1???-19??] He was a member of the Brighouse Music Society, along with his cousin Eric Alexander Leach. He was a talented violinist and owned a Stradivarius

Cocker, HaroldRef C2108
[1918-1942] Son of Ann & Sam Cocker of Elland

Born in Elland.

He was a member of the Boys' Brigade / a member of Elland Swimming Club.

In [Q3] 1940, he married Joan Wilkinson in Calder District.

They lived at Lyndale, Elland Lane, Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Sapper with the 256th Field Company Royal Engineers.

He was accidentally killed by gunshot in North Africa [8th December 1942] (aged 24).

He was buried at Tabarka Ras Rajel War Cemetery, Tunisia [2 B 15].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Elland Boys' Brigade

Cocker, HarryRef C1171
[1879-1951] Son of John Cocker.

Born in Halifax.

He was a reed maker [1901] / a steel heald wire maker (employer) [1911].

In [Q4] 1905, he married Ruth Jagger [1882-1966] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. John [b 1907]
  2. Harry [b 1910]

The family lived at 63 Southowram Bank, Halifax [1911].

Harry died 8th January 1951.

Ruth died 23rd June 1966.

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-D5] with Harry's parents

Cocker, JamesRef C1166
[1816-1899] Born in Carnforth, Lancashire.

He was a farm labourer [1851] / a labourer & coal dealer [1871] / a labourer for masons [1861] / a reed maker [1881].

He married Sarah Iredale [1810-1887].


Sarah was born in Lightcliffe
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Abraham Henry
  3. Sarah Jane [1851-17th April 1933] who married Walter Appleyard
  4. Esther [1835-8th October 1892] who married Mr Heginbottom, & was buried with her brother Abraham Henry
The family lived at

  • Premises [1851]
  • 4 Premises Fold, Southowram [1861]
  • 1 Premises, Southowram [1871]
  • 1 Pleasant Place, Southowram [1881]
  • Pineberry Hill, Southowram [1887]

Living with them [in 1851] were unmarried aunt Ann Ramsden [b  1786] (pauper).

Sarah died 24th November 1887 (aged 77).

James died 23rd November 1899 (aged 83).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B11]

Cocker, JohnRef C1164
[1847-1925] Son of James Cocker.

Born in Southowram [29th May 1847].

He was a slay maker [1861] / a reed maker [1871, 1881, 1891, 1901] / a retired reed maker [1911].

He married Henrietta [1848-1899].


Henrietta was born in Bolton [6th January 1848]
 

Children:

  1. Herbert C. [1878-27th October 1935] who was a carpet designer [1901], & died in the USA
  2. Harry

The family lived at

  • Southowram Bank, Halifax [1848]
  • 1 Pleasant Place, Southowram [1881]
  • 68 Stotts Place, Southowram [1891]
  • 17 Pit Hill, Trooper Lane, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Henrietta died 24th September 1899.

John died 16th March 1925.

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-D5]

Cocker, John FrederickRef C1354
[1896-1915] Son of Fred Cocker.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 25th August 1915 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20], and on Brighouse War Memorial

Cocker, John UlamRef C1967
[1791-1874] Of Making Place, Soyland.

He married Hannah [1795-1834].

Children:

  1. Grace [1822-1845] who married Allen Sutcliffe and died in childbirth
  2. Ann [1829-1835]

There are memorials to members of the family at Rishworth Roadside Baptist Church

Cocker, JosephRef C693
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Lower Swift Place Mill, Soyland [early 19th century]

Cocker, JosephRef C421
[1816-1892] Born in Soyland [6th August 1816].

He was a woollen manufacturer employing 4 men, boys & girls [1871].

Around 1846, he married Rebecca [1817-1884].


Rebecca was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Frances [1846-1920] who never married
  2. Matilda [b 1847] who was a dress maker [1871]
  3. Louisa [1852-1930] who was a woollen warper [1871]
  4. Priscilla [b 1855] who was a woollen warper [1871]
  5. John [b 1859]

The family lived at Briggate House, Elland [1871, 1884].

Rebecca died 13th May 1884.

Joseph died 29th October 1892.

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cocker, SamuelRef C5000
[1872-19??] Son of Mary Ann (née Iredale) & John William Cocker, and a brother of Harry Cocker [1885-1942].

Born in Elland [10th August 1872].

He was a weaver [1891] / a woollen warper [1901, 1911] / a Deacon at Blackley Baptist Chapel [1911] / Secretary of the National Union of Textile Workers [1924].

On 11th March 1893, he married Elizabeth Alderson [1871-1955] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Hilda Bailey (Cocker) [1896-1974]

Sam died in Ferriby, Yorkshire [7th April 1930] (aged 57).

Elizabeth died in Burniston, Scarborough [30th November 1955] (aged 84) 

The couple were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cocker, WalterRef C1153
[18??-18??] Around 1875, he acquired the tobacconist, cigar and tobacco business of William Locke

Cockerham, EdwardRef C1281
[1812-1???] Born in Leeds.

He was innkeeper at the Upper George Hotel & Posting House, Halifax [1851].

He married Harriet [1812-18??].


Harriet was born in Pontefract
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Jane [b 1833]
  2. Lucy [b 1835]
  3. John Edward [b 1837]
  4. Fanny [b 1841]
  5. Ellen [b 1843]
  6. Alice [b 1845]
  7. Margaret [b 1849]

Cockerill, NewsamRef C4700
[1874-1???] Son of George Cockerill.

He was a railway drayman of 36 Calder Avenue, Pye Nest, Halifax [1904].

On 19th April 1904, he married Charlotte Ann daughter of Job Smith at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Cockett, RichardRef C423
[1616-1686] Dyer of Darcey Hey House.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [16??-1688] who married John Wainhouse
  2. a daughter who married George Towne

Gave his name to Cockett Stream.

The Will of RICHARD COCKETT of Darciehey in Scircote (Skircote)  Yorkshire, yeoman, of 21st October 1684 records

  • To my sons-in-law, John Wainhouse of Pynest and George Towne of Darciehay, all my messuage called Pynest in Scircote, and also one other messuage called Lydgate in Midgeley and all my other messuages, lands and dwelling houses in Saville Green in Halifax upon trust for payment to the following legacies:
  • To my daughter Elizabeth Wainhouse, wife of the said John Wainhouse an annuity of £10
  • To my six grandchildren Martha, Mary, Susan, Sarah, John and Abigail Wainhouse, children of the said John Wainhouse £50 apiece
  • To Elizabeth, Margaret and Hanna Towne, my grandchildren £200 apiece
  • To Richard Milner, Anne Grice, Elizabeth Milner and Susan Taylor, my grandchildren £10 apiece
  • To Richard Wainhouse my messuage called Pynest
  • To Nathaniel Wainhouse, my grandson, my messuage called Highroad, with the land belonging
  • To Joshua Wainhouse, my grandson, my messuage called Lydgate
  • To George Towne, my grandson, my messuage called Bullclose
  • To Richard Towne, my grandson, my messuage called Darciehey
  • To Robert Towne, my grandson, all my copyhold closes and land late the inheritance of Michael Colbeck
  • To Margaret Towne, my grandchild, all my house and land at Cawsey Head
  • To the said Elizabeth Towne, my grandchild, the little house wherein I dwell at Darciehay
  • To Richard Hindle, my nephew, 20/-
  • To Abraham Hodgson 40/-
  • The residue of my personal estate I give to the children of the said George Towne, my son-in-law

Executors: The said John Wainhouse and George Towne.

Witnesses: Nathaniel Holden, Samuel Waterhouse, John Richardson.

Proved 12 November 1686 by George Towne, one of the executors

There are inscriptions in Halifax Parish Church

[RICHARD COCKETT of Skircoat owneth] this stone, who in tendeth vnder itt to lye when he doth dye

and

Here lyeth body of RICHARD COCKETT of Skircoate, who departed this life 18 Sept 1686 aged 70 years

Cockett Stream, Pye NestRef C782
Stream at Darcey Hey Lane. Named for Richard Cockett.

See Edwards-Wainhouse Feud

Cockhill, AbelRef C1064
[1854-1914] Born in Denby Dale, Yorkshire.

He was a pork butcher [1881] / a butcher [1891] / a pork butcher's assistant [1901] / a tripe dresser [1911].

In 1876, he married Mary Nicholl [1854-19??] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. James A. [b 1878] who was a pianoforte apprentice [1891]
  2. Joseph Henry [b 1881] who was a baker's assistant [1901]
  3. Herbert
  4. Edith Mary [b 1887] who was a toffee packer [1901, 1911]
  5. Eudora [b 1889] who was a toffee packer [1901, 1911]
  6. Arthur [b 1892] who was a draper's assistant [1911]

In 1881, Abel was living alone in Camroyd Street, Dewsbury). In 1881, Mary and her children James A. & Joseph H were living with her brother-in-law Henry Nicholl.

The family were back together and lived at

  • 2 & 4 Handel Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 23 Conway Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 1 Kingston Street, Halifax [1911]

Abel died in Halifax in 1914 (aged 60) 

Cockhill Farm, BradshawRef C903
Owners and tenants have included

See William Brear

Cockhill, HerbertRef C962
[1885-1917] Son of Abel Cockhill.

He was a barber's apprentice [1901] / a hairdresser [1911].

He lived with his parents at 1 Kingston Street, Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th November 1917 (aged 32).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [15th December 1917].

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 6 & 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cockhill Moor, Hebden BridgeRef C1073
Moorland between Hebden Bridge and Haworth.

On 25th October 1931, the body of a Halifax man, who had been missing for two years, was found on the Moor


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the man's identity?

 

CockillRef C1711
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Cockill, EdwardRef C1189
[18??-18??] Plumber of Bridge End, Rastrick. In 1854, he published a poem on the old Bridge End Chapel which was being demolished

Cockin, Rev JosephRef C661
[1755-1828] Born in Honley.

He was Minister at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax [1791-1828].

He often preached at Bridge End Chapel, Rastrick.

In 1778, he married Hannah Hall [1756-1826] in Huddersfield.

Children:

  1. Priscilla [1778-24th December 1796]
  2. John who became a minister at Holmfirth
  3. Hannah [1780-1860] who married Ely Bates
  4. Elizabeth [1785-3rd April 1801]
  5. Mary
  6. Martha [1792-1857] who married James Hoatson
  7. child who died in infancy
  8. child who died in infancy
  9. child who died in infancy
  10. child who died in infancy

The family lived at Square, Halifax [1822].

Hannah died in 1826 (aged 70).

Joseph died 23rd May 1828 (aged 73).

The couple & other members of the family () were buried at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax [Grave Ref: 177]. Four infant children were interred at Kippin.

His memoirs – which were finished by his son, John, and published in 1829 – include a history of the Sion Chapel.

See Rev James Henderson and Rev Samuel Lowell

Cockin, MaryRef C1172
[1786-1862] Daughter Rev Joseph Cockin,

She was a member of Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street

Mary died in Halifax [2nd July 1862] (aged 76).

She was buried at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax

Cocking, J. G.Ref C1833
[18??-1900] Of Halifax. He was an experienced mountaineer. On 25th July 1900, he and R. Corry and R. E. Brand both of London, went missing as they climbed Weißhorn in the Alps. They lost their way and for 2 nights and 1 day, they stayed in a spot where they could neither go on or go back. Cocking went to find the route but lost his footing and was killed. Corry and Brand were later found stranded on the edge of a glacier and were taken to safety

Cockman, ElizabethRef C2025
[16??-1679] Of Southowram. Recorded in 1679

Cockman, FrancisRef C799
[15??-16??] Headmaster of Heath Grammar School [1629-164?]. He was recommended to the post by Henry Hoile.

On 24th August 1630, he married Grace Ward from Skircoat.

Children:

  1. Esther [bapt 1631]
  2. Anna
  3. Mary
  4. John
  5. Grace
  6. Thomas [bapt 1643]

Cockman, FrancisRef C1770
[16??-16??] Of Southowram. Recorded in 1645

Cockman, RichardRef C1771
[1???-16??] Of Warley. His widow was buried in 1669

Cockrell, John EdwardRef C954
[18??-1???] He married Louisa Rayner.


Louisa was the daughter of
John Rayner
 

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child
  6. child

Cockrem, Rev A. E.Ref C965
[1???-19??] He was at Huddersfield before becoming Minister at Ripponden Congregational Church [1934]

Cockroft...Ref C124
The entries for people & families with the surname Cockroft are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Cockroft & ChambersRef C2128
Worsted spinners at Bottoms Mill, Ogden [1871]. Partners included Joseph Chambers, Dan Cockroft, and William Cockroft.

In 1875, the partners filed for bankruptcy.

In 1886, the property and effects at Bottoms Mill was put up for sale for an expected price of £400

Cockroft & CompanyRef C1807
Builders at Rishworth.

See St Thomas's Church, Greetland

Cockroft & SpencerRef C1895
Recorded in November 1857. They were silk waste dressers at Mytholme Mill, Hipperholme [1861].

Partners included W. Spencer and Joseph Cockroft

Cockroft Farm, RishworthRef C324
House dated LEH 1649 and BSH 1709.

Owners and tenants have included

See Lower Cockroft Farm, Rishworth and Upper Cockroft Farm, Rishworth

Cockroft's: James Cockroft & CompanyRef C1643
Established [about the mid-1860s] by James Cockroft.

Other partners included John Marsden, Thomas Marsden, Charles Marsden, and George Holden.

Silk spinning mill in Birds Royd, Rastrick [1866]. It was one of the earliest silk spinning mills in the Halifax area.

In October 1869, Cockroft left the partnership. The business was continued as Marsden Brothers & Holden

Cockroft's: Joseph Cockroft & CompanyRef C2014
Silk spinners established by Joseph Cockroft.

They were at Wellington Mills, Halifax [1874] which they acquired from Samuel Cunliffe-Lister after the serious fire of 1873

Cockroft-MannRef C2429
Halifax bakers. The business evolved from that established by Wallace Mann.

Recorded in the 1970s in the same King Cross Street shop which had earlier been occupied by John Mackintosh

Cocksedge, GeorgeRef C1211
[1887-1916]

In [Q3] 1907, he married Laura Wade in Halifax.

They lived at 4 Carr Street, Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a 2nd Corporal with the 1st Army Troops Company Canadian Engineers.

He died 5th July 1916 (aged 29).

He was buried at Dickebusch New Military Cemetery Extension, Belgium [Grave Ref K 26].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Zion Methodist Free Chapel, Hove Edge

Cockshott, HenryRef C2090
[1???-1???] Son of William Cockshott.

He lived at Clipster Hall, Siddal [1851]

Cockshott, JohnRef C1664
[18??-18??] Woolstapler at Lumb Brook Mills, Northowram [1874]

Cockshott, JohnRef C3730
[1816-1901] Of Lumbrook Cottage, Northowram.

He died January 1901.

He was buried at Coley Church

Cockshott, W. M.Ref C2211
[18??-19??] Ran West Grove Bottling Company, Halifax

Cockshott, WilliamRef C2091
[18??-18??] Of Cononley, Keighley.

He married Isabella.

Children:

  1. Henry
  2. son

See Joseph Sagar

Cocoa housesRef C2003

Cody, William FrederickRef C270

Coe, John FrederickRef C1620
[18??-19??] JP.

He lived at White Birch, Ovenden [1905]

Coffee DealersRef C2087

Coffee's Engineering, BrighouseRef C1298
The business occupied property near to the Prince of Wales pub on Bethel Street, and extended through to West Park Street


Question: Does anyone know if this is the correct name for the Company or anything else about the business?

 

Cogan, JohnRef C1754
[1875-1916]

During World War I, he served as a Private with C Company 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 2nd March 1916 (aged 41).

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Rastrick War Memorial

Coggan, FrankRef C1165
[18??-19??] Of 71 Parkinson Lane, Halifax. On 19th April 1926, he was granted a licence to ply for hire with a 6-seater Ford van between Stump Cross and Merry Boys Inn, Shibden for a period ending 30th November 1926.

In September 1926, he was granted a licence to ply for hire – with a 14-seater Omnibus Registered Number CP 2662 – between Stump Cross and the Borough Boundary at Green Lane in connection with his Stump Cross-Queensbury service

Coggan, George EllisRef C1156
[1873-1945] Landlord of the Raggalds, Queensbury [1911-1918]

Coggan, JohnRef C580
[1???-17??]

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby.

On 2nd January 1746, a group of people, including the sexton, stole his body from the grave, and made it into a skeleton

Coggins, Ernest HenryRef C3200
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Bridge.

In 1897, he filed a patent for

an improved inflating valve, applicable also as an automatic vent for barrels

Coggon, Harry FrowRef C1285
[1906-19??] MD of Automobiles (Geographical) Limited [1930s].

In [Q2] 1931, he married Evelyn Schofield in Halifax.

They lived at 49 Savile Park Road, Halifax [1936]

Coghlan, Rev J. R.Ref C1198
[18??-18??] Curate at Elland [18??]

Coghlan, Rev John A.Ref C1639
[18??-18??] Vicar of St James's Church, Halifax [1874].

He lived at 41 North Parade, Halifax [1874]

Coghlin, Thomas WilliamRef C963
[1906-1943] Son of Frances Alma & James Edwin Coghlin of Rawcliffe Road, Goole.

From Halifax.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School / a scholar at Balliol College Oxford with Honours in History / editor of Cherwell / employed by G. H. Gledhill & Sons Limited in Cape Town / publicity officer for the British Commercial Gas Association / a Territorial [1938].

In [Q3] 1942, he married Eileen Marguerite Murphy in Westminster.

They lived at Earl's Court, London.

During World War II, he served as a Lieutenant with the 1st Battalion London Regiment (London Irish Rifles).

He was killed in Sicily [18th July 1943] (aged 37).

He was buried at Catania War Cemetery, Sicily, Italy [Grave Ref III E 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Heath Grammar School Memorial Gates

Cogswell, JobRef C2105
[17??-18??] He was listed as a
regular trade

between Halifax, Sowerby Bridge and Liverpool [1809]

COH IIII BRERef C1017
A Latin abbreviation meaning
4th Cohort of the Breuci

The Brueci were a Celtic tribe attached to the 9th Roman Legion around the time of the Roman Invasion of 43 AD. Tiles with this inscription have been found locally.

It is also the logo of the Greater Elland Historical Society

Cohen & MorristRef C1621
Pawnbrokers at 31 King Street, Halifax [1845]

Cohen's: M. Cohen & CompanyRef C1671
Opticians at 4 Southgate, Halifax [1906]

Coiners & coiningRef C146

Colbeck, A.Ref C1560
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1908 when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery

Colbeck, SamuelRef C253
[16??-16??] Of Shaw Booth, Warley / Lower Shaw Booth, Warley.

Recorded in 1650, when Abraham Wilkinson, his brother John, and Anthony Mitchell were found guilty of stealing and attempting to sell 2 horses from John Cusforth of Sandal, near Wakefield, on 17th April 1650, and a further charge of stealing 16 yards of russet-coloured kersey – valued at 1/- per yard – from the tenters of Samuel Colbeck of Lower Shaw Booth, Warley on 19th April 1650. The total value of the goods was £5 8s.

On 1st October 1658, Timothy Wadsworth and Sibbell, his wife, surrendered Shaw Booth to John son of Samuel Colbecke of Warley.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

Colbeck, WilliamRef C2309
[16??-16??] A kersey manufacturer at Grange House, Warley [1667]

Colburn Farm, SouthowramRef C1814
Bank Top.

House at the top of Southowram Bank, at the junction of Green Lane and Beacon Hill Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Now [2013] known as Colburn Hall

Colburn, SouthowramRef C1081
Area of Bank Top

Colcres House, BrighouseRef C7000
Huddersfield Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Colcroft, JamesRef C2102
[18??-18??] Blacking manufacturer at Cross Hills, Halifax [1850]

Cold Acre Reservoir, StainlandRef C922
In October 1890, the tender of S. Jowett was accepted for constructing the reservoir.

John Quarmby cut the first sod. On 18th July 1891, the Norland Brass Band led the two-mile procession from the Stainland Mechanics' Institute for the ceremony of cutting the first sod at the Reservoir. The Band later supplied music for dancing in a field behind the Institute.

The reservoir was built by Jowett's of Brighouse.

It covers 3 acres and has a capacity of 7 million gallons [1936]

Cold EdgeRef C1749
Area of Wainstalls / Warley Moor

See Cold Edge Dams, Warley Moor, Cold Edge Road, Withens, Kell Brook and Lower Hazelhurst, Luddenden

Cold Edge Dam CompanyRef C1416
Many local streams were used to power the mills of the district. The water supply was heavily dependant upon the weather and was severely threatened – and hence, productivity, labour, livelihood and profit – in times of drought.

In 1806, the owners of Lumb Mill, Square Mill, and Wainstalls Mill formed the Cold Edge Dam Company to provide a water supply to their mills.

Spring Dam, Wainstalls was the first to be completed and was controlled – but not owned – by the company.

In the 1830s, the company constructed Haigh Cote Dam [1830/1] and Leadbeater Dam [1835/6].

The company's engineers were Mr Stansfield and Mr Leadbeater.

Later, owners of other mills joined the company, including

They also sold water to other mill owners. Rents were based on the head of water available at their waterwheels

Cold Edge Dams, Warley MoorRef C923
The Haigh Cote Dam and Leadbeater Dam were built at Cold Edge by a group of mill-owners who formed the Cold Edge Dam Company about 1806.

See Blackfield Dam, Caty Well Brook, Wainstalls and Warley Moor Reservoir

Cold Harbour, Pule HillRef C1750
Homestead near the top of Pule Hill.

Owners and tenants have included

See Cold Arbour Coal Pit, Boothtown

Coldacre Reservoir, StainlandRef C1132
Capacity 7 million gallons

Coldeley, John deRef C83
[1???-1???] See Coley Hall

ColdenRef C149
Colden is a district of Calderdale west of Heptonstall.

Colden Clough flows through the Colden Valley

Colden Company LimitedRef C1509
Aka Colden Cotton & Commercial Company Limited. Cotton spinners at Jack Bridge Mill, Heptonstall. Recorded in 1861 & 1862, when shareholders included William Hargreaves of Strines, Heptonstall and Thomas Gill of Moss Hall, Hebden Bridge.

The company was registered in February 1885

Colden Cotton & Commercial Company LimitedRef C2099

Colden Manufacturing Company LimitedRef C1507
Cotton manufacturers at Jack Bridge Mill, Heptonstall. The company was registered in May 1899. Recorded in 1905

Colden Mechanics' InstituteRef C1434
A Mechanics' Institute established in 1863

Colden restaurantRef C806
Mid-20th century establishment. Popularly known as Lady Willy's.

It closed in the 1970s. It is now private housing

Colden WaterRef C148
Aka Colden Clough, Colden Beck. Stream and valley to the west of Heptonstall which joins the Calder at Mytholm.

From 1840, when the hand-textile industry began to decline, there were 13 mills along the 5-mile stretch of Colden Water, involved in spinning and weaving silk, wool and cotton.

From 1850, the water power had been augmented by coal power from the open-cast mines on Stiperden Moor.

Colden Clough nature reserve was established in 19??.

In 2006, there was a proposal to build 30 earth-covered holiday homes – with 30 parking spaces, a shop and a Café – on the hillside opposite Colden School.

See Hebble Hole Bridge, Jack Bridge and Rodmer Clough, Colden

Coldwell, Edward PearsonRef C2034
[1821-19??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was imprisoned for 6 months for stealing worsted fents and 3 waistcoat pieces at Halifax, the property of William Dewhirst and another

Coldwell, GeorgeRef C1670
[1849-1888] His father is not recorded on the marriage documents.

Born in Holmfirth.

He was a weaver of Batley Carr [1870] / a woollen weaver [1871] / a brewer's labourer [1881].

In 1870, he married Maria Sales [1846-1???].

at All Saints' Church, Batley.


Maria, of Batley Carr, was the daughter of William Sales, gardener.

Her birthplace was recorded as Smeaton, Yorkshire [in the census of 1871, 1901] / Kirk Smeaton, Yorkshire [1881] / Womersley, Yorkshire [1891] / Doncaster [1911].

She was a confectioner [1891]

 

Children:

  1. William Henry [b 1876] who was a cotton piecer [1891], a boiler works labourer [1901]
  2. Arthur [b 1879] who was a cotton piecer [1891], a mechanic's labourer [1901]
  3. Herbert
  4. George Arthur [b 1886] a cotton twiner [1901], a cotton doubling piecer [1911]
  5. Beecroft [b 1889]

The family lived at

  • Warwick Estate, Batley, Dewsbury [1871]
  • Brewery Road, Soothill, Dewsbury [1881]
  • Longwood, Huddersfield [1891]

George died in Huddersfield in 1888 (aged 39).

In 1895, Maria married John Berry in Halifax

Coldwell, HerbertRef C1685
[1881-1952] MM.

Son of George Coldwell.

Born in Soothill, Yorkshire.

He was a member of Stainland Wesleyan Chapel / a cotton spinner [1901] / a tram conductor for Borough Council [for 10 years until late 1916] / employed by Rouse & Company.

On 5th January 1908, he married Alice Brooke [1888-19??] at Elland Parish Church.


Alice was born in Mixenden
 

Children:

  1. George Harold [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 19 Gibson Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 14 Livingstone Street, Lee Mount [1918]

During World War I, he enlisted [3rd August 1917], and served as a Gunner with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He went to France on 29th March 1918.

He was awarded the Military Medal [1918] for


for gallantry on the field
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [31st August 1918]

He survived the War.

He died in Halifax [Q3 1952] (aged 71) 

Coldwell Hill Farm, SouthowramRef C249
/ Cold Well Hill.

The farm (17 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925. Owners and tenants have included

Coldwell Hill, SouthowramRef C624
House.

A doorway is dated I R S 1692 Sarah and John Ramsden

Coldwell-ingRef C399
Area of Halifax around Lilly Lane in the mediæval era.

There were several springs in the area including Greece Fields

Cole, CecilRef C967
[1923-1945] He was educated at Moorside School & Halifax Tech / a server at Illingworth Church / employed by W. H. Eadon, Halifax stockbroker / a member of the ARP.

He lived at 21 Rugby Avenue, Ovenden.

During World War II, he served as a Flight Sergeant / Navigator with the 153rd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 11th March 1945 (aged 22).

He was buried at Reichswald Forest War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 1 B 7],

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cole, GeorgeRef C980
[1912-1943] He worked for Joseph Morton & Sons brickworks at Hipperholme.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. son

The family lived at Bank Top, Halifax.

He was a Territorial for 11 years. He took part in the Dunkirk evacuation.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Bombardier with the Royal Artillery.

He was killed in North Africa [26th March 1943] (aged 31).

He was buried at Tabarka Ras Rajel War Cemetery, Tunisia [Grave Ref 3 D 24].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cole's: J. & J. ColeRef C2274
They had business at the former malt kiln in Elland [1975]

Cole's: Jabez Cole (Coal) LimitedRef C1827
Coal merchant at Church Street, Halifax [1936]

Cole, JohnRef C975
[1875-1917] He was a cabinet maker for Harrison's, Portland Street, Halifax / a member of Claremount Conservative Club.

He married Unknown.

They lived at 34 Albert Street, Halifax.

He was a regular soldier and fought in the South African Wars.

During World War I, he re-enlisted [August 1915], and served as a Private with the 13th Battalion Hussars.

He died in Mesopotamia [14th March 1917] (aged 42).

He was buried at Amara War Cemetery, Iraq [Grave Ref IV C 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Cole, StephenRef C1113
[1786-1861] of Halifax.

He married Mary Ann [1787-1869].

Children:

  1. Ann [1812-1901]

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 527]

Coleby, John JosephRef C2218
[1827-1900] Son of Elizabeth & John Coleby.

Born in Wandsworth, Surrey.

He was brick merchant [1861] / brick agent [1871] / brick manufacturer [1881, 1891].

In 1860, he married Elizabeth Aked, daughter of Samuel Smith, at Bradford.

Children:

  1. Mary [1861-1861]
  2. Ellen [1862-1911]
  3. Ada Josephine [1863-1926]
  4. Ernest John [1865-1911]
  5. Elizabeth Aked [1867-1924] who married Charles Barton Casebourne
  6. Isabelle [1868-1952] who married Hamilton Grace
  7. Margaret Alice [1871-1909] who married Maurice Frederick Squire
  8. Francis James [b 1873] who married Alfreda Anne Scruby

The family lived at

  • 24 Durham Terrace, Paddington [1861]
  • Parkhurst House, Ealing [1871]
  • Castlebar Lodge, Ealing [1881]
  • 14 Sandringham Gardens, Ealing [1891]

He died in Bradford

Coleman, FatherRef C1657
[18??-19??] Priest at St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1930s]

Coleman House, Sowerby BridgeRef C998
Owners and tenants have included

Colen, JohnRef C2321
[15??-159?] Of Norwood Green.

In his will of 1590, there is a clause relating to coal mining in the Norwood Green area

and if Lawrence my son happens to get anie coles within my grounde, my son Edward shall share half

Coleridge, HartleyRef C531
[1796-1849] Eldest son of Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

He was named after David Hartley, the Illingworth Philosopher.

He was brought up by Robert Southey. He was a schoolmaster, journalist, and poet. In 1819, he went to Oriel College, Oxford, but was dismissed for intemperance. He was a friend of Branwell. Branwell visited him at Ambleside. Charlotte wrote to him as C.T. for his opinions of her story, Ashworth. Like the Brontës, he had a fantasy world, which he called Ejuxria

Coles, Rev GeoffreyRef C961
[1939-2011] Son of Rev J. W. Coles.

Born in Cumbria.

He was educated at Calder High School, Mytholmroyd, and Crossley & Porter School, Halifax.

He was head of crafts at Holy Trinity School, Halifax, and head of year at Eastfield Secondary School, now Hipperholme & Lightcliffe High School.

From 1977 to 1980 he took the Northern Ordination Course and was ordained while still teaching at Eastfield.

He was assistant curate at St Michael's, Shelf [1980-1985] and became a full-time vicar [1985].

He was before becoming Vicar of St Mary the Virgin, Luddendenfoot [1949-1952]. and Vicar of St George's Church, Ovenden [1952-1965].

In 1961, he married Pam.

Children:

  1. Philip
  2. Jeremy
  3. Timothy

He worked in Manningham, Bradford, and St Mary's, Wyke, and St Mary's, Riddlesden, Keighley.

He retired in 2004 and moved to Clayton, Bradford. He was assisted by his wife, who was ordained in 2006

Coles, Rev J. W.Ref C2305
[1???-19??] He served in Cumbria before becoming Vicar of St Mary the Virgin, Luddenden [1940s].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Peter
  2. Geoffrey

Coles, Peter SephtonRef C453
[1936-2011] Son of Rev J. W. Coles.

Born in Cumbria.

He was educated at Sowerby Bridge Grammar School and Leeds University / a Liberal Democrat Councillor for Luddendenfoot / a member of Blackshaw Parish Council / Mayor of Hebden Royd [1993-1994 /] Mayor of Calderdale [2000-2001 /] a Freeman of the Borough of Calderdale in 2011

He married Enid. Enid was Mayoress of Hebden Royd [1994]

Children:

  1. Mark
  2. Richard
  3. Belinda

The family lived at Charlestown, Hebden Bridge.

He died a month after his brother, Rev Geoffrey Coles

Coletta, A.Ref C302
[1???-1970] Opened one of the country's first milk bars in Halifax in 1935. His name was familiar to many thirsty shoppers

ColeyRef C152
District of Calderdale between Hipperholme and Shelf

Coley BeckRef C805
Aka Bottom Hall Beck. The stream is fed by Syke Well, Priestley Green.

There are the ruins of a former watermill off Shutts Lane, Norwood Green.

See Annet Hole Beck, Shelf and Bottom Hall Viaduct, Norwood Green

Coley Church Cricket TeamRef C2447
Players were members of Coley Church. The team played in the Halifax League

Coley Garden CentreRef C337
See Cinder Hill, Coley

Coley HallRef C151
Coley Hall Lane.

Property at Coley was mentioned in 1277, and a John de Coldeley is mentioned in 1286.

See Coley House, Coley, Coley Walks Farm and St John's Well, Coley

Coley, Henry ofRef C558
[13??-13??] His sister, Christine, married Robert de Rishworth.

See Wynteredge Hall, Hipperholme

Coley House, Priestley GreenRef C1105
Northedge Lane. In 1891 and 1901, the census showed Joseph Samuel Sunderland living at Coley House, and in 1911 at Coley Hall, suggesting that the Hall might be known by both names.

Owners and tenants have included

Coley, John AlanRef C289
[193?-19??] Meteorologist from Sowerby who, in 1955, received the Polar Medal for working in the Antarctic with the Falkland Island Dependencies Survey. In 1952, he had sailed with the John Biscoe survey ship and was fired on by Argentine troops

Coley Mill HouseRef C1192
Owners and tenants have included

Coley stocksRef C388
The remains of the stocks and whipping post for the township of Shelf originally stood near Stone Chair and have now been moved to Coley

Coley Toll BarRef C430
In the 19th century, there was a toll bar near the Brown Horse, Coley along the Denholme Gate turnpike road

Coley Walks FarmRef C2301
A pair of early 19th century cottages near Coley Hall

Coll, DanielRef C5
[1962-] Brighouse-born actor who started acting with the Halifax Thespians. He is the brother of Stuart Wade. He and his wife, Sinead, run the TheatrePlay Drama Academy in Brighouse. He has appeared in many TV and film rôles.

In 2006, he stood as the Labour candidate for Brighouse in the local elections

Collett, HoraceRef C1004
[18??-1918]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Royal Engineers Base Signal Depot.

He died in German East Africa [22nd February 1918].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

He was buried at Dar Es Salaam War Cemetery, Tanzania [Grave Ref 4 A 15].

Colley, Rev E.Ref C1339
[18??-19??] Of Brighouse.

Recorded in May 1905, when he preached a sermon at Soyland Sunday School

Colley, MrRef C9860
[17??-1810] Stonemason of Halifax.

He died in January 1810.

Newspaper accounts say

His death was occasioned by falling into a cellar in the Old Shambles in Halifax

Collier, AlfredRef C1784
[1886-1918] Son of Annie E. & James Collier.

Born in Thornton.

He married Emily.

They lived at 8 Back Queen Street, Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with A Battery 162nd Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 3rd September 1918 (aged 32).

He was buried at Thornton Cemetery, Bradford [K C 562]

Collier, GeorgeRef C153
[1815-1862] Son of Alice [1776-18??] & Mr Collier.

Born in Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire.

He was a cotton rover [1841] / a mechanic [1851] / a manufacturer of carriage wheels [1861] / a patentee employing 5 men [1861].

He worked for Thomas Taylor & Sons in Barnsley where he adapted the power loom and took out patents for the manufacture of linen and velvet.

Their success encouraged Francis Crossley to consider the same technique in the Crossley family business.

Collier visited Halifax in 1850 to advise Crossley. With his help, Crossley's bought the designs of Erasmus Bigelow and – after some difficulties which Collier addressed with his wire motion feature – they mechanised the weaving of carpets, using it to produce tapestry and Brussels carpets.

His assistants at Crossley's included John Marsden and Charles Barraclough.

In September 1856, Collier, John Crossley of Halifax, and James William Crossley of Brighouse took out a patent for

improvements in finishing and stretching woven fabrics

He married Ann [1813-1879] from Saddleworth.

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1836] who was a dressmaker [1851]
  2. John
  3. Mary [b 1840] who married John Crossley
  4. Annie [b 1846]
  5. George

The family lived at

He died November 1862.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £20,000.

George & Ann were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 535]

Collier, GeorgeRef C4270
[1851-19??] Son of George Collier.

Born in Barnsley.

Baptised in Barnsley [10th December 1851].

He was a worsted spinner & manufacturer [1881] / a carpet manufacturer (employer) [1896, 1901]

He married Margaret Potter? [1853-1???] from Manchester.

Children:

  1. Winifred Mary [b 1880]
  2. George Emmerson [b 1889] who was a manager of worsted spinning in a carpet factory [1911]

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1901] was brother-in-law Emmerson Potter [aged 53] (woollen manufacturer).

See Thomas Henry Croisdale Scratcherd

Collier, JohnRef C714
[1708-1786] Aka Tim Bobbin, Timmy Bob.

The third of 9 children.

Born in Urmston, Lancashire [16th December 1708].

He was apprenticed to a weaver / an itinerant teacher in Lancashire / assistant schoolmaster to Robert Pearson, curate of Milnrow, Rochdale / schoolmaster after Pearson's death [1740].

In 1746, he published

A View of the Lancashire Dialect, or Tummus & Mary

In 1815, Thomas Walker published his The Lancashire Dialect.

A Lancashire poet who travelled in Calderdale and wrote about some of the local people, including Mrs Elizabeth Ramsden, whom he called Queen at the Booth.

He is said to have carved epitaphs in the churchyard at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

with taste and neatness

Around 1750, he worked for a short time as a Head Clerk for Richard Hill of Kebroyd, before returning to teach in Lancashire.

After his lampooning of Mrs Ramsden, he hurriedly left the area saying that

twelve teams of devils shall not bring me hither again

He married Mary Clay [1726-1786].


Mary was brought up in London, and was a midwife in Huddersfield
 

Children:

  1. child who died young
  2. child who died young
  3. Charles who became a portrait painter
  4. Thomas who became a radical
  5. John who became an artist and went insane
  6. child
  7. child
  8. child
  9. child

Mary died June 1786.

John died 14th July 1786.

The couple were buried at Rochdale.

See Manhold and Black Lion, Ripponden

Collier, JohnRef C67
[1837-1891] Son of George Collier.

Born in West Clayton [16th December 1837].

He was a manufacturer of carriage wheels [1861] / a carpet manufacturer & machine maker [1871] / a boiler maker employing 140 men & 70 boys [1881] / a boiler manufacturer [1891]

On 21st January 1864, he married Fanny Wood [1843-1915] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Harry [b 1864] who was a boiler maker [1891]
  2. John E [b 1866]

Both children educated at Christ Church College, Finchley.

The family lived at

He died at Hazelwood [25th November 1891].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £16,907 1/5d. to his widow Fanny and son Harry

Collier, VincentRef C1346
[18??-1917] He was educated at educated at Hipperholme Grammar School.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 5th/6th Battalion Cameronian (Scottish Rifles).

He died 27th May 1917.

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], on Coley War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Hipperholme Grammar School

Collinge, BenRef C1563
[1889-1917] Son of Frank Collinge.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a fustian cutter-out [1911] / employed by Holt & Sutcliffe.

In [Q4] 1910, he married Lily Uttley [1885-19??] in Todmorden.


Lily was a sewing machinist fustian [1911]
 

They lived at Northfield, Heptonstall [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed (shot through the throat) [21st September 1917] (aged 28).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [6th October 1917].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 52-54 & 162A], on the War Memorial at Heptonstall Octagonal Methodist Chapel, and on the Memorial at Hope Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge.

In [Q3] 1920, Lily married John W. Rogan in Todmorden.

They lived at 3 Eton Street, Hebden Bridge

Collinge, Mrs BetsyRef C814
[1911-] From Mytholmroyd.

She was a member of Blackshaw Parish Council [1973], Chairman [3 times], active in Hebden Royd political life, a member of Hebden Royd Parish Council [for 7 years], Deputy Mayor of Hebden Royd [1987], and Mayor of Hebden Royd [1988-1989].

She celebrated her 100th birthday in January 2011

Collinge, ElijahRef C1122
[1845-1891] Born in Bacup, Lancashire.

He was a cotton spinner [1871, 1881] / a draper [1891].

In [Q4] 1864, he married Mary Carter [1847-1919] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Sowerby.

She was a milliner [1871, 1881, 1891]

 

They lived at

  • Saddleworth Road, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]
  • Melrose Terrace, Saddleworth Road, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881, 1891]

Living with them [in 1891] was widowed mother-in-law Betty Carter [b 1821].

Elijah died 23rd April 1891 (aged 46).

Mary died 22nd February 1919 (aged 72).

The couple were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: A16]

Collinge, FrankRef C1095
[1866-19??] Son of Richard Collinge.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a weaver of High Gate, Heptonstall [1887] / a cotton weaver [1891, 1901, 1911].

In [Q1] 1887, he married Mary Elizabeth Bottomley [1863-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Elizabeth, of Charlestown, was born in Stansfield, the daughter of Thomas Bottomley, labourer
 

Children:

  1. Norris [b 1888] who was a warehouse boy in cotton shed [1901], a cotton weaver [1911]
  2. Ben Collinge
  3. Fred [b 1892] who was a fitter-up in sewing works [1911]
  4. Florrie [b 1894] who was a sewing machinist [1911]
  5. Janie [b 1898]
  6. Edith [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • Silver Street, Heptonstall [1901]
  • Smith Well Lane, Heptonstall [1911]
  • Bridge Lanes, Hebden Bridge [1917]

Collinge, FredRef C1146
[1865-1???] Son of Jonathan Collinge.

He was a joiner [1891].

On 11th November 1891, he married Mary Hannah Holt [1869-1???].


Mary Hannah, of Northfield Terrace, Heptonstall, was the daughter of Richard Holt, wholesale greengrocer
 

Collinge, JamesRef C2595
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1738]

Collinge, JamesRef C1261
[1847-1907] Cotton spinner at Portsmouth Mill, Todmorden [1905]

Collinge, JohnRef C1134
[17??-18??] He was an outdoor labourer [1813].

He married Ellen Shackleton.


Ellen was the daughter of John Shackleton
 

Children:

  1. Grace [b Woe Side, Heptonstall 14th October 1813]
  2. Sarah [b Broadstone, Heptonstall 13th November 1815]
  3. Ellen [b Colden Water, Heptonstall 12th February 1818]
  4. John [b Colden Water, Heptonstall 26th October 1820]
  5. Ellen [b Field Head, Stansfield 29th November 1822]

Collinge, JohnRef C1186
[18??-1???] Cotton spinner at Portsmouth Mill, Todmorden [1877]

Collinge, JonathanRef C1141
[1823-1873] Son of William Collinge.

Born at High Gate, Heptonstall [17th July 1823]

He was a weaver of Long Hey, Heptonstall [1851] / a farmer & beer seller [1861] / innkeeper of the New Delight, Colden [1873].

On 31st October 1851, he married Jane Greenwood [1827-1???].


Jane, a weaver of Edge Hey Green, Heptonstall, was the daughter of William Greenwood, weaver
 

Children:

  1. William [b 1850] who was a farmer [1873]
  2. Thomas [b 1855]
  3. Fred

The family lived at

  • Long Hey, Heptonstall [1861]
  • New Delight, Jack Bridge, Stansfield [1871]
  • New Delight, Stansfield [1873]

Living with them [in 1861] were sister Grace Sunderland [b  1827] and Ann Sunderland [b 1855], & Elizabeth Sunderland [b 1856].

Jonathan died 12th September 1873 (aged 49).

He was buried at Heptonstall Church [17th September 1873]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £450.

Probate was granted to his widow Jane & son William

Collinge, LeonardRef C495
[1897-1???] Son of Thomas Collinge.

On 25th October 1919, he married Annie Redman.


Annie was the daughter of Jackson Redman
 

Collinge, LeonardRef C1363
[1897-1918] Son of Lavinia & Frederick Morley Collinge of 8 Denham Place, Church Lane, Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion South Wales Borderers.

He died 13th September 1918 (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Doiran Memorial, Greece

Collinge, LewisRef C797
[1921-1947] Son of Mary & Lewis Collinge of King Cross, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 89 anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 10th February 1947 (aged 26).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [K 713C]

Collinge, Ralph HolmesRef C1050
[1865-1945] Born in Halifax

He was a cotton carder [1894].

On 12th May 1894, he married Sarah Ann Foster [1873-1939] in Bradford.


Sarah Ann was born in Middlesborough
 

Children:

  1. Gladys [b 1896]
  2. Willie Foster
  3. Norman [b 1903]
  4. Frank [b 1905]

The family lived at

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Collinge, RichardRef C1102
[18??-1???] He was a tailor.

In [Q2] 1867, he married Jane Broadbent [1833-1???] in Rochdale.


Jane was born in Heptonstall
 

Children:

  1. Susannah [b 1869]
  2. Frank

The family lived at High Gate, Heptonstall [1891].

Living with them [in 1891] were son Frank's wife and children

Collinge, ThomasRef C469
[1855-19??] Son of Jane & Jonathan Collinge.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a farmer [1901] / landlord of the Sportsman, Hebden Bridge [1891, 1896, 1917, 1919].

He married Sarah A. [1854-19??].


Sarah A. was born in Castleford
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Jane [b 1878] who was an assistant school mistress (board school) [1901]
  2. Jonathan [b 1887] who was an apprentice bespoke tailor [1901]
  3. George [b 1888] who was a grocer's assistant [1901]
  4. Elsie [b 1890]
  5. Leonard

The family lived at

  • Lower Pilling, Heptonstall [1901]

Collinge, W. A.Ref C2073
[18??-19??] Around 1900, he had a cab business at Hangram Street/Dale Street, Brighouse

Collinge, WilliamRef C1135
[18??-18??] He was a weaver / a hand loom weaver/farmer of 12 acres [1851].

He married Mary Greenwood.


Mary was the daughter of Thomas Greenwood
 

Children:

  1. twins Mary [b Highgate, Heptonstall 19th April 1831]
  2. Joseph [b Highgate, Heptonstall 19th April 1831]
  3. Thomas [b Hot Stones, Heptonstall 9th March 1833]
  4. Jonathan
  5. John [b 1828]

The family lived at Hot Stones, Heptonstall [1851].

Living with them [in 1851] was grandson William Collinge (aged 6 months) 

Collinge, Willie FosterRef C1047
[1900-1918] Son of Ralph Holmes Collinge.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Hilda's Church, Halifax / learning farming at Foggathorpe, near Selby, with a view to joining relatives in Canada [1917].

During World War I, he enlisted [1st March 1918], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He went to France [17th August 1918].

He sustained severe shrapnel wounds to his back and died the same day in No.5 Casualty Clearing Station in France [2nd October 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th October 1918].

He was buried at Brie British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref V B 1].

He is remembered on Coley War Memorial

Collings, JohnRef C391
[1778-1831]

He married Betty [1778-1847].

Children:

  1. (possibly) Benjamin
  2. Sarah [26th April 1807-30th November 1845] who married Zeno Nutton, & was buried with her parents

The family lived at Jagger Green [1831].

John died 27th November 1831 (aged 53).

Betty died 10th February 1847 (aged 69).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Collington, John WheelerRef C6860
[1758-1806] He served for 30 years. in his Majesty's 33rd Regiment of Infantry. He was promoted from Ensign to Lieutenant [1777]. He was promoted to Captain [17??]. He was in America for almost the whole of the American War of Independence and was wounded twice in America.

He died at Ovenden [14th June 1806]

Collingwood'sRef C318
Halifax jeweller with a shop at the bottom of George Square. Opened in 1???.

Closed in 19??. The building is now occupied by an estate agent

The Collingwood familyRef C1245
Masons of Union Street, Halifax & Southowram. Recorded in 1806

Collingwood, ArthurRef C305
[18??-19??] Organist at Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel. He taught Sir George Dyson

Collingwood, ArthurRef C1274
[1856-1926] Son of George Collingwood.

Born in Southowram.

He was a worsted mill hand [1871] / overlooker of worsted spinner [1881] / worsted spinning overlooker [1891, 1911].

In [Q3] 1892, he married Margaret Smith [1856-1926] in Halifax.


Margaret was born in Northowram
 

They had no children.

They lived at 3 St Luke Street, Akroydon [1901, 1911].

Arthur died 18th May 1926 (aged 70).

Margaret died 4th January 1935 (aged 78).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-A1B]

Collingwood BrothersRef C1640
Brush manufacturers at Old Cock Yard, Halifax [1874]. Partners included John Collingwood

Collingwood, GeorgeRef C1276
[1812-1871] Born in Southowram.

He was a wool comber [1851] / a wallstone dresser [1871]

In [Q2] 1845, he married Ann Bottomley [1818-1???] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Southowram.

She was a wool comber [1851]

 

Children:

  1. Mary J. [b 1848]
  2. Arthur
  3. Joseph

The family lived at

  • New Row, Southowram [1851]
  • New Street, Southowram [1871]
  • 13 Stoney Royd Terrace, Southowram [1881]
  • 13 Stoney Royd Terrace, Southowram [when married Joseph was head of the household 1901]

George died Q2 1871 (aged 60) 

Collingwood, JohnRef C1641
[18??-18??] Partner in Collingwood Brothers.

He lived at 33 Orange Street, Halifax [1874]

Collingwood, JohnRef C168
[18??-18??] Organist at St James's Church, Halifax [1850]

Collingwood, JosephRef C1283
[1858-1???] Son of George Collingwood.

Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted doffer [1871] / a mechanic [1881] / an engine master [1891].

He married Mary Agnes Connolly in Halifax.


Mary Agnes was born in Halifax.

She was a cotton tenter [1891]

 

They lived at 13 Stoney Royd Terrace, Southowram [1891].

Living with them [in 1891] were Joseph's siblings: Mary & Arthur

Collins...Ref C30
The entries for people & families with the surname Collins are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Collins BrothersRef C1481
Manufacturers of cords, moles and velveteen at Cinder Hill Mills, Todmorden [1905]

Collins's: T. & B. CollinsRef C1477
Tarpaulin manufacturers at Longfield Works, Holywell Green [1905]

Collins's: T. Collins & SonsRef C1437
Stone quarrier of Hove Edge with Kirbroyd Quarry, Hipperholme [1896]

The Collinson family of HalifaxRef C2491
The family have been Quakers ever since the time of George Fox.

Members of the family were involved in the local tea, coffee, grocery, and coal business.

See T. Collinson & Sons Limited, Thomas Collinson and Thomas Collinson

Collinson, AllanRef C1236
[18??-1???] In 1871, he established business as a fruit, potato and fish merchant and herring curer in the Halifax markets. By 1895, he occupied 9 shops there

Collinson, ArthurRef C2496
[1871-1???] OBE.

Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was awarded the OBE for special services during World War I / Assistant Superintendent of North-Eastern Railway, York

Collinson, B. J.Ref C1654
[18??-19??] He was a Director of the family firm T. Collinson & Sons Limited [1935, 1949]. He lived at Hilsea, New Lane, Skircoat [1935]

Collinson's Café Conversation CircleRef C433
A social gathering held at Collinson's Café in the early 20th century.

It became the Four C's

Collinson, EdwardRef C2492
[1849-1926] Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was a tea & coffee merchant [1881] / a tea merchant [1891, 1901]

On 20th October 1880, he married Helen Louisa Leah [1858-1929] at the Church of the Holy Trinity, Oswestry.


Helen Louisa was the eldest daughter of the late John Leah Assistant Master of Oswestry Grammar School
 

Children:

  1. Edith Mary [1881-1967]
  2. Francis Edward
  3. Thomas Seymour [1884-1913]

The family lived at

He died [4th September 1926] at Ynysfechan Arthogh near Dolgelly, Merionethshire, Wales

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £35,119 8/-

Probate was granted to his widow & daughter.

Helen Louisa also died at Ynysfechan Arthogh [27th March 1929] Probate records show that she left effects valued at £5,395 3/- and probate was granted to her daughter

Collinson, Edward WhiteleyRef C287
[1879-1949] Son of Joseph Collinson.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Halifax New School. In 1891, he and Harold were pupils at District Friends School, Ackworth. Later, he studied at Bootham School, York and at Halifax Technical School.

He started in the family business – T. Collinson & Sons Limited – in the warehouse. After a year, he was placed for 2 years with Appleton, Machin & Smiles Limited to study the blending of tea & coffee. On returning to Halifax, he became company secretary / a Director [1900] / tea merchant & grocer [1901] / Governing Director of T. Collinson & Sons Limited / director and joint general manager of Collinson's (IOM) Limited / founder and managing director of Beech's Chocolates Limited in Preston / chairman of the Caterers' Association of Great Britain.

He was a good cricketer, a fisherman, and loved motoring. He won a medal for wrestling. He was a three-quarter back with Mytholmroyd Rugby Union club and was in the team when they won the Yorkshire Challenge Cup [1900]. He also played for the Yorkshire R.U. side with his brother.

He had a collection of rare birds eggs.

In 1917, he married Bessie Mabel Taylor [1880-1947] of Norwich, in Norwich.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1923-2010]

The family lived at Savile Field, Balmoral Place, Halifax [1935, 1949].

On Monday 28th August 1949, he left his holiday address in Scarborough saying that he was going to search for fossils. A search began when he did not return. Bloodhounds from the Lancashire Constabulary were called in. On Wednesday 31st August, the Coastguards found his body at the bottom of the 200 ft high Burniston Cliffs

Collinson, Francis EdwardRef C2545
[1883-19??] Son of Edward Collinson.

In 1907, he married Emily Kendal at Darlington.

He emigrated to Canada [1912] and settled in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

He was still living there in 1931

Collinson, GeorgeRef C2493
[1859-1898] Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was one of 100 pupils at District Friends School, Ackworth [1871] / a tea dealer [1881] / manager of a wholesale tea & coffee warehouse [1891].

In 1890, he married Ada Mary Bean [1863-1???] at Ripon.

Children:

  1. Mabel Mary [b 1896] who was baptised at St Jude's Church, Savile Park [28th February 1897]

They lived at 17 Heath Mount, Halifax [1891, 1897, 1898].

He died on 6th August 1898.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Collinson, HaroldRef C2490
[1876-1???] Son of John William Collinson.

In 1891, he and Edward Whiteley Collinson were pupils at District Friends School, Ackworth

Collinson, HarryRef C1137
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor with Clarkson, Thomas & Collinson [1934].

He qualified in April 1908.

See George Herbert Normanton

Collinson, JamesRef C8080
[17??-18??] He married Mary [17??-18??].

Children:

  1. Thomas

Collinson, John HaroldRef C2160
[1896-1918] Son of Elizabeth & Arthur Collinson of Idle, Bradford.

Born in Eccleshill [1895].

During World War I, he served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 18th Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He was killed in action [21st March 1918] (aged 22).

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial, France [Grave Ref 90-93], and on Ripponden War Memorial


Question: Does anyone know his connections with Ripponden?

 

Collinson, John WilliamRef C2489
[1852-1916] Son of Thomas Collinson.

Born in Halifax [8th November 1851].

He was educated at Ackworth School, Pontefract / Chairman of Hipperholme UDC / President of Lightcliffe Literary Society / governor of Hipperholme Grammar School / an assistant wool stapler [1871] / a wool stapler [1881] / a wool merchant at Nelson Street, Bradford [1891, 1901].

On 20th October 1875, he married Frances Whiteley at Wesley Chapel, Broad Street, Halifax.


Frances was the youngest daughter of Robert Whiteley
 

Children:

  1. Harold
  2. Thomas Whiteley [1880-1881]
  3. Clifford Whiteley [b 1881] who married [1905] Mary Grace Robertshaw

The family lived at

Frances died 10th September 1902.

John William died 25th June 1916 (aged 64).

The couple were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Collinson, JosephRef C1152
[1845-1911] Son of Thomas Collinson.

Born in Halifax.

He was an Alderman / a tea dealer [1861, 1871] / a tea merchant employing 13 men [1881] / a wholesale & retail tea & coffee merchant [1891] / director, tea & coffee merchant [1901].

On 24th January 1872, he married Emma Jane, daughter of Robert Whiteley.

Children:

  1. Ethel Mary [b 1873] who married [1900] Frederick Leonard Sessions at North Bierley
  2. Robert Whiteley [b 1875] who was an analytical chemist at City Road, Norwich [1901]
  3. Edward Whiteley

The family lived at

He died 16th September 1911.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

Emma Jane died at Savile Field, Balmoral Place, Halifax [23rd January 1916] shortly after returning from a visit to her son Robert Whiteley in Norwich

Collinson, OctaviaRef C474
[18??-18??] Of Boldon.

She married Charles Stansfield Rawson

Collinson, Richard Jeffreys HamptonRef C960
[1924-1983] His Honour Judge Collinson. Circuit Judge. Educated at Heath Grammar School and Wadham College Oxford

Collinson's: T. Collinson & Sons LimitedRef C1447
Halifax caterers, tea blenders and coffee roasters.

Founded by Thomas Collinson in 1835.

Their advertising said

Blenders of fine teas since 1835

Their products included


Orient freshly roasted coffee
Cafe blend tea: 9½d per quarter pound

They were at 7 Corn Market, Halifax [1881].

They had a shop and the Orient Café at 13 Crown Street. This opened in 1899. It closed in March 1962.

Their Hall End Chocolate Store, Waterhouse Street, was advertised in 1915.

They also had premises at 5 & 7 Briggate in Brighouse, and others at Bradford, Bolton, Huddersfield, Leeds, South Shore Blackpool and the Isle of Man.

In 1949, they had a branch in Buxton, Derbyshire.

During World War II, their Café in Port Erin, Isle of Man, played a rôle in the Enemy Alien Camp scheme on the island. The female and child detainees were fed from there. This is now a private house.

The Café in Bradford had a three-piece orchestra which used to play at certain times.

They had a warehouse and offices in St John's Place, Halifax, on the south side of the old Freemasons' Hall, Halifax. The site is now occupied by The Collinson Building of the Lloyds Banking Group complex in Trinity Road.

The tea and coffee production ended in 1970.

See A. B. Brook, Collinson's Café Conversation Circle, Shirley Crabtree, Memories of Collinson's and Leonard Tattershall

Collinson, ThomasRef C319
[1811-1887] In 1835, he established T. Collinson & Sons Limited, tea blenders and coffee roasters

Collinson, ThomasRef C54
[1843-1927] JP.

Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was said to be a lover of dumb animals / educated at Ackworth School / a tea dealer in the family business – T. Collinson & Sons Limited [1857] / a coal agent with a business established by his uncle Joseph Simpson [1864] – see Robert J. Maude.

In November 1864, a local newspaper advertisement announced

Thomas Collinson, Junior. Coal Merchant (late Joseph Simpson's) 4, Corn Market, Halifax.

He was a coal agent / coal merchant [1871] / a coal merchant [1891] / Appointed Justice of the Peace [15th December 1892] / at The Coal Exchange, Halifax [1905, 1919]

He retired in June 1923, just before his 80th birthday.

On 8th June 1870, he married Emily Worsdell at Friends Meeting House, Yealand Conyers.

Children:

  1. Arthur
  2. James Alfred [1873-1890] who died very suddenly [30th November 1890]
  3. Wilfred Worsdell [b 1880]
  4. Eric [b 1883] who visited Canada with his father in 1910 and stayed on to live in Vancouver

The family lived at

  • 12 Trinity Place, Halifax [1871]
  • 20 Elm View, Halifax [1881, 1891]
  • 17 Heath Mount, Halifax [1901]

He was buried at the Society of Friends Cemetery, Kendal.

Collis, Rev S.Ref C995
[19??-19??] He was a Kirkby Stephen before becoming Minister at Birchcliffe Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1942]

Collon Bob Farm, SowerbyRef C708
See Collon bobs

Collon bobsRef C412
Dead or burned heather used as a fuel.

See James Bottomley

Colly Cottage, HipperholmeRef C2083
Owners and tenants have included

  • William Hanson [1872]

ColneRef C2260
The river rises at Marsden and flows through the Colne Valley, past Huddersfield where it joins the river Holme, and on to Cooper Bridge where it joins the river Calder

The Colosseum, HalifaxRef C1846
In 1858, this name was used for the casino at Northgate Hall

Colsterdale House, HalifaxRef C1246
Pye Nest.

Recorded in 1940.

Formerly known as Kerr Cottage, Pye Nest

Comb, Rev G. B.Ref C986
[18??-19??] Baptist Minister at Elland [1909]

The CombineRef C1431
Popular name for the English Fustian Manufacturing Company

Comer, Rev ErnestRef C1080
[19??-19??] Vicar of St Hilda's Church, Halifax [1937]. In 1945, he was appointed rector of Althorpe, Lincolnshire

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary Enid [1???-1970] who married Philip Barber Clay

Comfield, Dr ThomasRef C1660
[18??-18??] Physician and surgeon at Elland [1874]

Comfort, ArthurRef C365
[1864-1935] Artist and wood engraver.

Born in London, he moved north and taught art at Heath Grammar School and other local secondary schools.

He published a large number of black and white sketches – showing buildings and scenes around Halifax:

Comfort, Reginald ArthurRef C4010
[1893-1972] Son of Arthur Comfort.

Born in Lambeth, London.

He was an accountant [1930].

In 1918, he married Lilian Eugenie, daughter of Nathan Whiteley, in Halifax

Commercial Bank Chambers, HalifaxRef C2254
Office accommodation at Crown Street.

Owners and tenants have included

See Commercial Chambers, Halifax

The Commercial Bank of EnglandRef C2423
On 26th September 1835, a newspaper report announced that
The Commercial Bank of England, established a few months ago in Waterhouse Street, Halifax, has suspended its operations for want of public support

The bank was established to compete with the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company Limited which became so successful that it was paying an annual profit of 12½%

Commercial Chambers, HalifaxRef C14
Office accommodation at Commercial Street

See Commercial Bank Chambers, Halifax

Commercial ChronicleRef C156

The Commercial College MagazineRef C1214
Halifax publication which appeared in 1861. It was printed by Walker's of George Street

Commercial Mill CompanyRef C1432
They owned cotton mills in the Ryburn valley.


Question: Is this the same as the Ripponden Commercial Company Limited?

 

See Commercial Mills, Ripponden

The Commercial MonthlyRef C232
A monthly magazine produced by Making Place Academy

Commercial Street Bar, Hebden BridgeRef C1370
A toll bar on the Halifax to Hebden Bridge Turnpike at Commercial Street

Commercial Street Restaurant, HalifaxRef C2170
Luncheon room described as a branch of the catering business of John Marsh [1900]

Commercial Travellers' Temperance AssociationRef C1000
A Temperance organisation.

Recorded around 1915, when Thomas Herbert Walmsley was a member

See United Commercial Travellers' Association

Common, Arthur WelshRef C392
[1851-19??] Son of Walter Common.

Born in Halifax.

He was an accountant's clerk [1911].

In [Q1] 1891, he married Alice Maude McClellan [1870-19??].


Alice Maude was born in Barnsley
 

Children:

  1. Walter Edward [b 1892] who was a sharebroker's clerk [1911]
  2. Arthur Ratcliffe [b 1895] who was a tailor's assistant [1911]
  3. Muriel [b 1896] who was a blouse collar maker [1911], & married Lawrence Wolfenden
  4. Madeline [b 1901]

The 1911 census shows that they had had 6 children of whom 4 were still alive at that time

The family lived at 83 Cambridge Place, Siddal, Halifax [1911]

Common End Farm, CliftonRef C1345
Woolrow Lane

Common Lodging HousesRef C17
The Foldout lists some registered keepers of Common Lodging Houses in Halifax:

See Model Lodging House

Common, WalterRef C409
[1817-1897] Born at Crossdykes, Dumfriesshire, Scotland [21st April 1817].

He was an accountant / Registrar of Marriages / one of the founders of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society / the first Secretary of the Society [1871-1897].

In 1843, he married Mary Ann Ratcliffe [1815-1900] at Huddersfield.


Mary Ann came from Scotland,
 

Children:

  1. Isabella [b 1846]
  2. Elizabeth Chartress [b 1848]
  3. James [b 1850]
  4. Arthur Welsh
  5. (possibly) William [1853-1858]

The family lived at

Walter died in Halifax [6th May 1897].

Mary Ann died 9th August 1900 (aged 85).

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1681]

Common Wood Head Bar, HipperholmeRef C1884
A toll bar on the Brighouse-Denholme Gate Turnpike. Recorded in 1825

Commons, RichardRef C158
[15??-1597] Irish goldsmith and
a common drunkard and blasphemer of God's holy word

He and his family were tenants at Broadstones, Halifax.

He was a widower when committed suicide.

Favour wrote that

hee sett fyre to strawe in the fower corners of his house and hanged him selfe in the middest, thus desperatly hee died but by God's mercyfull providence, the strawe take not fyre and so both house and the towne were preserved which he purposed to burne

The fire was intended to make the death look accidental so that his family would receive support from the parish.

His remains are said to have been buried at Goldsmith's Grave

Commonwealth BazaarRef C1655
Held 6th to 9th November 1907. J. Norman Lister and Charles A. Trigg were Honorary Secretaries

Condima (England) LimitedRef C1735
Marzipan manufacturers at Condima Works, Halifax [1937]

Condivex LimitedRef C1736
Manufacturers of anti-dazzle lenses at 15 Horton Street, Halifax [1937]

Condon, MichaelRef C2506
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1952-1953]. He won caps for England while at Halifax

Cone, Charles EdwardRef C1150
[1848-19??] Born in Beccles, Suffolk.

He was a bookkeeper [1871] / a carpet designer [1881] / a designer [1891] / a carpet designer [1901].

In 1869, he married Fanny Robinson [1849-19??] in Halifax.


Fanny was born in Hipperholme
 

Children:

  1. Ernest Edward [b 1870] who was a half-timer at carpet works [1881]
  2. Mary Frances [b 1875] who was a lithographic printer [1891], a litho machine minder [1901]
  3. Charles [1877-1809]
  4. Arthur [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  5. Percy [b 1882] who was a machine tool maker [1901]
  6. Clement
  7. Emma Gertrude [b 1887] who was a wool winder [1901]
  8. Ethel Beatrice [b 1890]

The family lived at

  • 1 St Thomas Street, Claremount [1871]
  • 163 New Bank, St Thomas Street, Claremount [1881]
  • 1 Yard, St Thomas Street, Claremount [1891]
  • 159 New Bank, Halifax [1901]

Living with them [in 1881] was Charles Edward's brother John Cone [b Somerleyton, Suffolk 1859] (carpet designer) 

Cone, ClementRef C1142
[1884-1918] Son of Charles Edward Cone.

Born in Halifax.

He was a cotton spinner at Crossley's [1901, 1911].

In 1905, he married Kate McDermott [1884-19??] in Halifax.


Kate was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Hilda [b 1908]
  2. Clement [b 1909]
  3. Mary Alice [b 1911]
  4. Wilfred [b 1911]

They lived at 6 Senior's Buildings, Range Bank [1911]

Living with them [in 1911] was widowed mother-in-law Mary McDermott [b Boyle, Rosscommon, Ireland 1846].

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1918], and served as a Rifleman with the 8th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died of wounds after being in France for 5 weeks [26th October 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [30th November 1918].

He was buried at Delsaux Farm Cemetery, Beugny, France [Grave Ref II E 15].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Conery, HalifaxRef C171
Area of Beacon Hill just above Shibden Hall.

In 1832, Christopher Rawson wanted to buy a piece of land here, but Anne Lister drove such a hard bargain – because she feared that they would steal her coal and put her own mines in danger of flooding – that there was no agreement.

See Cunnery Lane, Shibden and Cunnery Wood, Shibden

ConeygarthRef C86
The hill overlooking Ripponden. Watson suggests that the name means king's mountain, although rabbit hill – from coney – seems more likely and less grand

Confectioners & ConfectioneryRef C445

Congregational Historical SocietyRef C1555
Thomas William Hanson was a member

Coning, GeoffreyRef C292
[1913-1984] BEM.

Born in Stockton [25th October 1913].

Writer and artist, well-known for his illustrated maps of the Lake District, Brontë country & the Halifax district.

He had a shop in Westgate, Halifax.

A later shop – Studio Seven at Market Street, Hebden Bridge – was run by his stepson, Peter Harvey.

In [Q2] 1937, he married (1) Marian Willett in Hammersmith, London.

In [Q1] 1965, he married (2) Margaret Harvey in Todmorden.

They lived at

He died in Todmorden [Q1 1984]

Conlan, J.Ref C1167
[18??-1900]

He married Unknown.

They lived at 7 School Street, Siddal.

He was a reservist.

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to South Africa.

He died of enteric fever [8th April 1900].

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, on West View Park War Memorial,

Connell, James EdwardRef C1022
[1892-1915] Son of Patrick Connell.

Born in Halifax.

He was a horse driver [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action – shot by sniper at Ypres [30th December 1915] (aged 23).

He was buried at Potijze Burial Ground Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref O 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

His brother Patrick also died in the War

Connell, PatrickRef C1020
[1865-19??] Born in Ireland.

He was a labourer [1900].

In [Q4] 1891, he married Ellen Rowan in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Halifax, the daughter of
Mr Rowan.

She was a woollen weaver [1911]

 

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy [before 1900]
  2. James Edward
  3. Patrick
  4. Alice [b 1899] who was a woollen spinner [1911]
  5. Norah Teresa [b 1902]

The family travelled to America and back.

  • 1881: Patrick went to the US (according to the US census 1900) 
  • 25th April 1894: Ellen and son James [aged 11 months] sailed from Liverpool to New York aboard RMS Tectonic

James was born in Halifax [1893]; Patrick, Alice & Norah were born in the USA [1897-1902].

The family lived at

  • New York City [1900]
  • 7 Leopold Street, Claremount [1911]
  • 17 Saunderson Street, Claremount Road, Halifax [1915, 1916]

Ellen was a widow by 1911.

Sons James & Patrick died in World War I

Connell, Patrick JosephRef C1029
[1897-1916] Son of Patrick Connell.

Born in New York, USA.

He was a woollen washer [1911] / an employee of E. Lumby & Son & Wood Limited / a conductor with Halifax Tramways / a driver with Halifax Tramways.

During World War I, he served as a Bombardier with the 6th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He went to France in January 1916.

He was killed in action [11th June 1916] (aged 19).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [17th June 1916].

He was buried at Albert Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I A 31].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

His brother James also died in the War

Connelly, CharlesRef C85
[1876-1957] Born in Southowram 28/4/1876.

He was a stone mason [1901, 1911, 1939].

In [Q3] 1900, he married Dinah Binns in Halifax.

Family stories say


Charles & Dinah met after a meeting of socialists when he interrupted some men who were accosting her after a socialist meeting. This was possibly connected to the attacks on Laura Annie Wilson or another of Dinah's suffragette friends during the Fustian weavers' strike.

Dinah was jailed more than once, and her son Frank told stories about being in prison as an infant.

Dinah and Charles were both leaders in the Labour Party for years

 

Children:

  1. George [1901-1969]
  2. Frank [1908-1981]
  3. Albert [1910-1991]
  4. Laura Annie

The family lived at

  • 25 Wainhouse Road, Halifax [1901]
  • 22 Howard Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 33 Penn Street, Halifax [1939]

Charles died in 1957 (aged 81) 

Connelly, Laura AnnieRef C2113
[1912-1996] Daughter of Dinah & Charles Connelly.

In 1936, she married (1) Clifford Mawson in Halifax.

Clifford died in 1959.

In 1963, she married (2) Walter Mitchell.

As Mrs Laura Annie Mitchell, she was Mayor of Halifax [1967-1968] and Mrs Dora Irene Greenwood was Mayoress.

See Laura Mitchell Clinic

Connolly, J.Ref C1206
[18??-19??]

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with the 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died around 1900.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's Regiment Memorial

Connolly, JamesRef C619
[1897-1917] Son of Rose A. Connolly.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Marie's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street / a doffer in worsted mill [1911] / a mechanic hand / employed at the Milleraine Company, Gaol Lane.

He lived with his aunt Mrs Sarah Barry and her family [1901, 1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [1917], and served as a Private / Rifleman with the 2nd/7th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He went out to France [November 1917].

He died of wounds at the Battle of Cambrai [2nd December 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [22nd December 1917].

He was buried at Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery, Manancourt, France [Grave Ref VI E 28].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Roll of Honour at Saint Mary's RC Church, Halifax

Connolly, NicholasRef C1222
[1887-1918] Son of Patrick Connolly.

Born in Halifax.

He was employed at Halifax GPO / a post office messenger [1901] / a postman [1911].

In 1910, he married Clarice Chapman [1888-19??] in Halifax.


Clarice was born in Halifax
 

They lived at

  • 5 Holden Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 10 Bedford Street, Halifax

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by a sniper at the Battle of Lys [10th April 1918] (aged 30).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [27th April 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Halifax Post Office

Connolly, PatrickRef C1154
[1848-1900] Born in Ireland.

He was a mason's labourer [1881] / a stone mason [1891].

He married Bridget [1848-1???].


Bridget was born in Ireland
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [b 1870] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  2. James [b 1872] who was a dyers labourer [1891]
  3. Margaret [b 1874] who was a worsted twister [1891], a carpet weaver [1901]
  4. Elizabeth [1876-1885]
  5. John P [b 1880] who was a worsted doffer [1891], a stone mason [1901]
  6. William H [b 1883] who was a tapper at nut & bolt works [1901]
  7. Francis [b 1885] who was a borer at nut & bolt works [1901]
  8. Nicholas
  9. Elizabeth [b 1890]
  10. Edward [b 1892]

The family lived at

  • 12 Old Lee Bank, Ovenden [1881, 1891]
  • 3 Wilsons Court, Old Lee Bank, Ovenden [1901]

Patrick (possibly) died in 1900

Connonley, ThomasRef C2563
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1793]

Conrad, CliveRef C290
A character who appears in several novels by Dr Frank King.

Assisted by his wife, Alice and partner, Reginald Fortescue Watt, Conrad runs the Conrad Detective Agency from premises in Rupert Street, Piccadilly, London. Conrad is described

Tall and well-built, with a deceptively sleepy appearance which, together with his habit of yawning at unexpected moments, had originated his nickname. He was often referred to in the underworld as the Dormouse

Conroy, BernardRef C830
[1919-1942] Born in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 58 Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died in Surrey [5th June 1942].

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [H 381]

Conroy, John PatrickRef C1614
[1898-1916] Son of Patrick Conroy.

He was a member of St Marie's Catholic Day School where he was taught by James Joseph Noone / a doffer in silk mill [1911] / employed by J. E. Bentley & Company at Dunkirk Mills, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914] when he was just 16 years-old, and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died in a failed attack on Schwaben Redoubt [3rd September 1916] (aged 18½).

He was buried at Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval, France. [Grave Ref I E 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

His good friend and companion James Joseph Noone was killed earlier in the War

Conroy, PatrickRef C2515
[1821-1838] On 11th September 1838, he was killed at Garnett Taylor's factory. The carders at the factory had loosed the straps on their machines, as they did on Saturdays, and Conroy was playing with one of these. Shortly afterwards, he was caught up by the strap and killed on the spot.

His body was shockingly mutilated

Conroy, PatrickRef C1612
[1860-1924] Born in Halifax.

He was a silk dresser [1878] / a silk boiler [1891] / a dyer's labourer [1911]

In 1886, he married Mary Ann Brennan [1867-19??] in Halifax.


Mary Ann, born in Rochdale, was living at 17 Swan Street, Halifax [1881]

She was a charwoman [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1890] who was a silk reeler [1911]
  2. Ernest James [b 1892] who was a warehouseman [1911]
  3. John Patrick

The family lived at

  • 4 Swan Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 15 Swan Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 22 Mary Street, King Cross, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] were niece Elizabeth A Conroy [b  1878] (silk spinner) & nephew Lewis Conroy [b 1887].

In 1878, he enlisted for 6 years in the Army with the 9th Brigade West Riding Regiment, then [1884] he transferred for 6 years in the Reserves.

In 1890, he was discharged from the West Riding Regiment on termination of engagement.

In 1900, he enlisted, and served as a Private with the 1st Royal Northern Reserve Regiment, and was at Inkerman Barracks, Knaphill, Woking, Surrey.

In 1907, he discharged from the army at the end of his term of service. His record describes him as

Character: Very good. Efficient and active

During World War I, he was engaged on home defence work

Conservative Association for the Brighouse Polling DistrictRef C1402
Formed in 1864.

See Brighouse Polling District Liberal Association

Conservative News RoomRef C2011
17 George Street, Halifax. Officials included

  • John Ely was Superintendent [1845]
  • Mr Baines was Secretary [1849]

The rooms were open 6 days a week, from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm. They were available to Conservatives only and at an annual subscription of 10/6d

Conservative Reading Room, EllandRef C1661
Recorded in 1874, when J. W. Brook was Secretary

ConservativesRef C2032

See Labour and Liberals

Constable, William AbbottRef C449
[1889-19??] Son of Arthur Constable, bank manager, who retired to live on the west coast of th