F



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Fa Fe Ff Fi Fl Fo Fr Fu


Faber, George StanleyRef F901
[1773-1854] Born in Calverley. Son of Anne (née Travis) & Rev Thomas Faber, vicar of Calverley.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School and University College Oxford. He became a clergyman and writer of theological works

Faburn, MrRef F1224
[16??-1681] Vicar at Rodwell.

Heywood recorded


Mr Faburn vicar of Rodwell was found dead in his bed Saturday morning Dec. 24. 1681, he had been a dreadful drunkard, had broken his leg, fought with Mr Nettleton, was crusht, wanted conveniences, shut up lockt in his house, dyed in debt – there was great riding for it, [the living]
 

Factories, Mills & WorksRef F18

Factory KingRef F4
Nickname given to Richard Oastler for his campaigning on behalf of industrial workers

Facula [No 4825] Masonic LodgeRef F1178
A Masonic Lodge.

Recorded at the Masonic Hall, St James's Road, Halifax [1937]. They met on the second Tuesday of the month [1937].

Masters and members of the Lodge have included

Faff & Fuffen BandRef F47
Aka Faff'n Fuffun Band and Waff'n Fuffen Band. Formed in the early 20th century by members of the Clifton Prize Band. Some of the band played regular instruments, whilst others played comb-and-paper, papier maché instruments and other comic instruments.

There were subsequently many ensembles who adopted the name, such as McCarty's Prize Band

Fag-Ash LilRef F301
[18??-19??] A well-known character who sold copies of the Sunday newspaper The Empire News on Saturday nights in Halifax

Fairbairn, ProfRef F688
[18??-19??] Herbalist.

In 1905, he ran the John Bull Herbal Remedy Company from his home at 6 Beacon Hill Road, Bank Top, Southowram, and a School of Physical Culture next to the Theatre Royal at Ward's End, Halifax

The Fairbank family of HalifaxRef F998
See Fairbank and Fairbanks family of Lightcliffe

Fairbank, ChristopherRef F636
[1868-1949] Born in Upper Greetland.

He was a dyer's crabber [1911].

In [Q3] 1893, he married Catherine Male Holdsworth [1870-1954] in Halifax.


Catherine was born in Upper Greetland
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. John
  4. William
  5. Emma [b 1898] who was a twiner piecer [1911]
  6. Mary Evelyn [b 1905]
  7. Charlotte Ada [b 1908]
  8. Sarah Ann [1913-1925]

The family lived at Wall Nook, Barkisland [1911].

Sons John & William died in World War I.

Christopher died 12th February 1949 (aged 81).

Catherine died 7th April 1954 (aged 84).

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Fairbank, Francis OliverRef F287
[1879-1946] Born in Barkisland [25th February 1879].

He was a quarryman [1901] / landlord of the Hawk, Barkisland [1930-1937].

On 8th April 1901, he married Ada Brooke [1876-1954] at Christ Church, Barkisland.


Ada was born in Barkisland [29th December 1876]
 

Children:

  1. Edith Ann [b 1902]
  2. Frank
  3. John [b 1913]

Francis Oliver died 3rd June 1946.

Ada died 15th February 1954.

They both died at the Top o 'th' Town farm, Barkisland.

They were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Fairbank, FrankRef F286
[1909-1968] Son of Francis Oliver Fairbank.

Landlord of the New Rock, Barkisland [1939-1947]

Fairbank, FredRef F72
[1867-1???] Son of James Fairbank, weaver.

Born in Barkisland.

He was a cotton spinner of Scarr Top, Greetland [1890] / a cotton spinner [1891, 1901] / a cotton operative [1911].

In [Q1] 1890, he married Mary Hannah Sykes [1868-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Hannah, of Outlane, Stainland, was the daughter of Edmund Sykes, woollen spinner
 

Children:

  1. George
  2. John [b 1893] who was a cotton yarn piecer [1911]
  3. Charlotte Ann [b 1900]
  4. Emily [b 1903]
  5. Nora [b 1907]
  6. Fred [b 1909]

The family lived at

  • Grove Terrace, Greetland [1891]
  • Broad Royd, Stainland [1901]
  • Greengate Head, Sowood, Stainland [1911, 1918]

Fairbank, FredRef F637
[1882-1917] Son of Sam Fairbank.

Born in Elland.

He was a member of Holywell Green Congregational Church / a drying machine tenter [1901] / a drying machine tenter (dye works) [1911] / employed at Greetland Dye Works.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [17th March 1917] (aged 34), just 2 days short of his having been in the Army for a year, during which time he gained the reputation of being an effective bomb thrower.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [14th April 1917].

He was buried at Adanac Military Cemetery, Miraumont, France [Grave Ref IV C 40].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Greetland Liberal Club, on the Memorial at Holywell Green Congregational Church, and on the Memorial at Saint Andrew's Church, Stainland

Fairbank, GeorgeRef F648
[1891-1918] Son of Fred Fairbank.

Born in Greetland.

He was a woollen cloth weaver [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [4th January 1915], and served as a Driver with 19th Div. Ammunition Col. Royal Field Artillery.

He served in France for almost 3 years.

He was killed in action [19th April 1918] (aged 27).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th May & 1st June 1918].

He was buried at Reninghelst New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V C 6]

Fairbank, JohnRef F561
[1547-1???] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

On 28th January 1565/6, he married Jane Bannester in Halifax.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Thomas

The family lived at Snaith

Fairbank, JohnRef F204
[1807-1878] Born in Barkisland.

He was a weaver [1851] / a fancy woollen weaver [1861].

He married Hannah [1815-1878].


Hannah was born in Barkisland.

She was a weaver [1851] / a fancy woollen weaver [1861]

 

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1834] who was a weaver [1851]
  2. John [b 1837] who was a weaver [1851]
  3. Elizabeth [1839-1909] who was a winder [1851], & married Benjamin Wadsworth
  4. Joseph
  5. James [b 1842] who was a cotton twister [1861]
  6. Hannah [b 1845] who was a cotton creeler [1861]
  7. Sophia [b 1848]
  8. Dan [b 1854] who was a cotton twiner [1871]

The family lived at

  • Lane End, Barkisland [1851]
  • 2 Lane End, Barkisland [1807-1878]

Hannah died 24th February 1878 (aged 63).

John died 4th April 1878 (aged 71).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Fairbank, JohnRef F705
[1893-1914] Son of Christopher Fairbank

Born in Greetland [22nd November 1893]

He was a cotton spinner [1901].

During World War I, he served as a Stoker 2nd Class with the Royal Navy aboard HMS Monmouth.

He was killed in action [1st November 1914] (aged 21)  when his ship sank with all hands off the coast of Chile at the Battle of Coronel.

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 3], on the Memorial at Krumlin Wesleyan Sunday School, Barkisland on Barkisland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Christ Church, Barkisland, and on the Memorial at Wall Nook Primitive Methodist Chapel

His brother William also died in the War

Fairbank, JonathanRef F480
[16??-16??] Curate at Luddenden [1652-1662]

Fairbank, JosephRef F32
[1842-1919] Son of John Fairbank.

Born in Barkisland

He was an errand boy [1851] / a cotton twister [1871, 1881, 1891].

In [Q2] 1863, he married (1) Matilda Briggs [1839-1879] in Halifax.


Matilda was born in Barkisland
 

Children:

  1. Mary H. [b 1865] who was a cotton piecer [1881, 1891]
  2. Emma [b 1867] who was a cotton piecer [1881, 1891]
  3. Briggs [b 1870] who was a cotton piecer [1881, 1891]

Matilda died 28th January 1879 (aged 40).

In [Q1] 1879, he married (2) Ellen Balmforth [1840-1896] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Ben [b 1875] who was a cotton piecer [1891]
  2. Freddy [b 1880]

Ellen died 25th January 1896 (aged 56)  The family lived at

  • Barkisland Hall [1871]
  • Elizabeth Street, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881]
  • 7 Upper Back Langdale Street, Elland-cum-Greetland [1891]

Living with them [in 1871] was niece Mary H. Fairbank [b 1860] (nurse).

Joseph died 24th February 1919 (aged 77).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Fairbank, SamRef F223
[1855-1???] Son of James Fairbank, weaver.

Born in Barkisland.

He was a platelayer of Scarr Top, Greetland [1880] / a plate layer [1881] / a labourer [1891] / a general labourer [1901] / a road labourer (Urban District Council) [1911].

In 1880, he married Hannah Shepherd [1853-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah, of Holywell Green, Greetland, was born in Goldsborough, near Knaresborough, the daughter of Francis Shepherd, farmer
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. Fred
  4. Frank [1884-1909] who was a cotton operative [1901]

The family lived at

  • Elland Lane, Elland [1881]
  • Station Road, Stainland with Old Lindley, Elland [1891, 1901, 1911]

Fairbank, WilliamRef F560
[1539-158?] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

On 28th June 1562, he married Isabella Horton in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Henry
  2. Jenet
  3. Edward
  4. Margaret

The family lived at Snaith.

He died after 12th January 1579

Fairbank, WilliamRef F635
[1895-1917] Son of Christopher Fairbank.

Born in Greetland.

He was a cotton spinner [1901].

During World War I, he enlisted in Elland, and served as a Private with the 15th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action in the Western European Theatre [18th May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 4], on the Memorial at Krumlin Wesleyan Sunday School, Barkisland, on Barkisland War Memorial, on Barkisland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Wall Nook Primitive Methodist Chapel

His brother John also died in the War

Fairbanke, GeorgeRef F996
[15??-1623] Alias Scoggin.

On 23rd December 1623, he and his illegitimate daughter Anna were executed on the Gibbet.

Watson's extract from the Register Books at Halifax records the execution as

George Fairbanke, perditissimus nebulo, vulgo vocatus Skoggin, ob nequitiam. Anna, ejusdem Georgii Filia spuria, ambo meritissime ob furtum manifestum decollati

George Fairbanke, most depraved scoundrel, commonly called Skoggin, on account of his villainy. Anna, illegitimate daughter of this George, both most deservedly beheaded on account of crimes of which they were clearly guilty

The Fairbanks family of LightcliffeRef F596
Their ancestral home was Lydgate House, Lightcliffe.

See Brockwell, Sowerby Bridge, Fairbanks surname and Fairbank family of Halifax

Fairbanks, EdmundRef F220
[1???-15??] He lived at Lydgate House, Lightcliffe [1529]. In 1529, he gave money for the endowment of Eastfield Chapel

Fairbanks, EdwardRef F534
[1556-1???] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

On 5th November 1582, he married Mary Mitchell [bapt 1556] at Halifax

Fairbanks, GeorgeRef F537
[1528-1610] Of Halifax.

Son of Gilbert Fairbanks by his first marriage.

On 10th May 1551, he married (1) Sybil Wade.

Children:

  1. Jenet [b 1552]
  2. John
  3. Jane [b 1556] who married Matthew Broadley
  4. Mary
  5. Dorothy [1560-1562]
  6. George
  7. Robert [bapt 1566]
  8. Susan
  9. another child [b 1573] who died when one day old

On 15th February 1574, he married (2) Jenet Mawde.

Children:

  1. Abram who was baptised in January 1576 and died April 1576

George was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Fairbanks, GeorgeRef F404
[1562-1???] Of Halifax.

Son of George Fairbanks.

In 1592, he married Mary, daughter of Richard Farrer, at Heptonstall.

Children:

  1. Jonathan
  2. Mary [bapt 1600]
  3. Esther [bapt 1603]

Fairbanks, GilbertRef F451
[1504-1578] Of Sowerby.

Son of John Fairbanks.

In 1569, he would not pay the stipend of the minister or curate at the chapel in Sowerby.

In 1527, he married (1) Janet [1507-1536] or Jennet [1515-1582].

Children:

  1. George

In 1538, he married (2) Jenet [1518-1579] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William
  2. Hugh [1542-1550]
  3. Joanna [bapt 1545]
  4. John
  5. Michael [1549-1549]
  6. Hugh Fairbanks
  7. Dorothy [1553-1554]
  8. Agnes [b 1554] who married George Harrison
  9. Edward Fairbanks
  10. Elizabeth [bapt 1558] who married [1577] Mr Braithwaite

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Fairbanks, HughRef F532
[1550-1???] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

Baptised 1550.

On 28th March 1578, he married Jane Mitchell [b 1557] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Robert

The family lived at Snaith

Fairbanks, JohnRef F535
[1480-1551] Of Halifax.

Son of William Fairebanke.

In 1503, he married either Margaret or Isabel [1482-1547].

Children:

  1. Gilbert

Fairbanks, JohnRef F133
[15??-16??] He lived at the Great House, Cheapside [1609]

Fairbanks, JohnRef F539
[1554-1625] Son of George Fairbanks.

On 2nd April 1578, he married (1) Margaret Symmes [1560-1592].

On 6th August 1593, he married (2) Isabel Stancliffe [1558-1597].

On 28th August 1598, he married (2) Ellen Parker [1572-1643] from Colne

He died in Thornton-in-Craven

Fairbanks, JonathanRef F440
[1594-1668] Or Fairbank.

Son of George Fairbanks

On 20th May 1617, he married Grace Smith in Halifax.

Around 1635, they emigrated to America. In 1636, they were living in Dedham, Massachusetts.

The family were possibly forebears of US president George W. Bush

Fairbanks, MaryRef F541
[1558-1???] Or Maria. Daughter of George Fairbanks.

Born 18th May 1558 in Halifax.

She married Richard Saltonstall

Fairbanks, SusanRef F441
[1569-1???] Daughter of George Fairbanks.

She was the second wife of William Wade

Fairbridge, John ArmstrongRef F796
[1868-19??] Born in Sunderland, Durham.

He was a printer – linotype operator at newspaper office [1911].

Around 1893, he married Margaret [1871-19??]

Children:

  1. John Bertram
  2. Dorothy [b 1895] who was an apprentice machinist – household [1911]
  3. Amy [b 1898]
  4. Harry [b 1902]
  5. Paul [b 1905]

The children were born in Sunderland, Durham.

The family lived at

  • Sunderland, Durham [1901]
  • 10 Westbourne Grove, Halifax [1911]
  • 2 West Grove Terrace, Halifax [1916]

Fairbridge, John BertramRef F527
[1894-1916] Son of John Armstrong Fairbridge.

He was a clerk – bookseller and newsagent [1911] / a clerk at the Equitable Bank, Silver Street.

During World War I, he enlisted in London [November 1915], joining the Army Cyclists, then he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was officially posted as missing after a charge at Fricourt, Somme and assumed to have died [7th July 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Mary's Church, Halifax, and on the Memorial at Halifax Building Society

Fairburn, AbrahamRef F680
[17??-18??] In 1770, he established Abraham Fairburn & Sons.

He married Unknown.

Children: sons including

  1. Charles
  2. son

When he died, his sons took over the business

Fairburn's: Abraham Fairburn & SonsRef F741
Card makers established in 1770 at Cooper Bridge, Brighouse by Abraham Fairburn.

On Abraham's death, his sons took over the business.

In 1824, the partnership was dissolved and Charles Fairburn became sole proprietor. On Charles's death [1827], the business was carried on by his widow and children, notably Edward.

In 1850, they operated Kirklees Mill.

In 1878, they occupied part of Victoria Works, Rastrick.

In 1890, they expanded into the adjoining Calder Vale Mill, Rastrick. In 1894, they bought the whole mill and combined Victoria Works, Rastrick and Calder Vale Mill, Rastrick.

The business eventually became Edward Fairburn & Sons

Fairburn, CharlesRef F682
[17??-1827] Son of Abraham Fairburn.

On his father's death, he and his brother took over the family business – Abraham Fairburn & Sons. In 1824, he became sole proprietor.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Edward

Fairburn, EdwardRef F458
[1819-1900] Son of Charles Fairburn.

At the age of 13, he took an interest in the family business – Abraham Fairburn & Sons. He later became proprietor.

He was head of Edward Fairburn & Sons.

He patented many inventions for the woollen industry including

A device for carding wool &c
The single stripper
The traversed groove condenser doffer
The divided plate condenser doffer

He lived at Obelisk Grove, Clifton.

He was active in local affairs in Clifton. He was Highway Overseer for Clifton.

He was Regimental Sergeant-Major of the 2nd West Yorkshire Yeomanry.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Edward
  2. John

Fairburn's: Edward Fairburn & SonsRef F764
Successor to Abraham Fairburn & Sons. Card makers, raw hide and leather belt makers established by Edward Fairburn at Calder Vale Mills, Rastrick

Fairburn, Frederick WilliamRef F95
[1843-1845] Around 1845, the Halifax Guardian & Huddersfield & Bradford Advertiser reported


Inquest before George Dyson, Esq.

Yesterday, at the York Tavern, Langfield, Todmorden – on the body of FREDERICK WILLIAM FAIRBURN, age two years, who was accidentally scalded to death by falling into a tub of boiling liquor in the yard of one James Suthers of Todmorden.

Verdict – Accidental scalding

 

Fairburn, GeorgeRef F570
[1858-19??] Born in Fewston, Yorkshire.

He was a corn miller & dairyman [1901] / a corn miller [1911].

In [Q3] 1884, he married Mary Jane Williams [1864-19??] in Sculcoates.


Mary Jane was born in Cherry Burton, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Ann E. [b 1886]
  2. Arthur [b 1888]
  3. Ethel [b 1890]
  4. Joseph [b 1892]
  5. Emma [b 1893] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  6. Herbert [b 1895]
  7. Amy [b 1896] who was a cotton piecer [1911]
  8. Fred [b 1899]
  9. Maggie [b 1900]
  10. Ada [b 1902]
  11. George [b 1906]

The family lived at

  • Fernbeck Dairy, Thornthwaite, Pateley Bridge [1901]
  • 79 Old Lee Bank, Halifax [1911]
  • 45 Fairview Terrace, Lee Mount, [1916]

Fairburn, JohnRef F673
[18??-19??] Son of Edward Fairburn.

He worked as a card maker in the family business – Edward Fairburn & Sons. He was a representative for the firm in the Manchester, Rochdale, Bradford, Leeds and Huddersfield markets.

He was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893. He lived at 12 Church Street, Brighouse

Fairburn, JohnRef F4900
[1857-19??] Born in Clifton.

He was a card maker [1911].

In [Q2] 1889, he married Ada Parker? [1864-19??] from Halifax.

Children:

  1. Margery [b 1897]

The family lived at 7 Wellholme, Brighouse [1911]

Fairburn, JosephRef F639
[1???-1853] Wire drawer of Bridge End, Rastrick

Fairburn, JosephRef F571
[1892-1916] Son of George Fairburn.

Born in Darley, Yorkshire.

He was a horseman on a farm in Pool, Leeds [1911] / a farm worker at Clay Pits [1915].

He lived at 79 Old Lee Bank, Halifax [with his parents 1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1915], and served as a Gunner with A Battery 133rd Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He served in Gallipoli, and was in the Suvla Bay evacuation. He served in Egypt and in France.

He was killed in action [7th August 1916] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [2nd September 1916].

He was buried at Faubourg D'Amiens Cemetery, Arras, France [Grave Ref I F 3].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fairburn, MarthaRef F857
[1745-1826] Cook to Sir George Armytage. She was looking after her 3 grandchildren when the clothes of William, aged 3, caught fire. She tried to extinguish the flames but Martha and William both died

Fairclough, Rev Joseph WrightRef F428
[17??-1840] One of the first Catholic priests in Halifax. He laid the foundation stone for the new St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street.

He lived at 13 Aked Road, Halifax [1837]

Fairclough, SamuelRef F1069
[17??-18??] Watch and clockmaker at New Market Place, Halifax [1822, 1829] and 79 Market Place, Halifax [1829, 1834]

Faircroft, Norwood GreenRef F278
Early 19th century house

Fairebanke, WilliamRef F536
[1445-1518] Of Halifax.

In 1492,

he took land of the soil and waste of the lord, in Sowerby, to hold according to the custom of the manor

He married Unknown [1455-15??].

Children:

  1. John

He died after 22nd April 1514

Fairfax, FerdinandoRef F865
[1584-1648] 2nd Lord Fairfax of Cameron.

Son of Thomas Fairfax and father of Thomas Fairfax. He was a Parliamentary general during the Civil War.

See Siege of Pontefract

Fairfax, Sir ThomasRef F866
[1560-1640] 1st Lord Fairfax of Cameron. Father of Ferdinando Fairfax

Fairfax, ThomasRef F867
[1612-1671] 3rd Lord Fairfax of Cameron. Aka Black Tom.

Son of Ferdinando Fairfax.

He was a Parliamentary commander-in-chief during the Civil War.

See Battle of Marston Moor, Old Bank, Samuel Priestley and Rev Jonathan Schofield

Fairfield House, HalifaxRef F842
Hopwood Lane / Queens Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Fairlea Mill Company LimitedRef F778
Waste spinners, cotton spinners & manufacturers established by Sam Dugdale and Edwin Meadowcroft around 1911 at Fairlea Mills, Luddendenfoot.

The company closed in the 1980s

Fairless, MichaelRef F140
Pen-name of Margaret Barber

FairsRef F61

Fairview, BarkislandRef F1250
Ripponden Bank. Block of 19th century houses opposite the Fleece, Barkisland.

They are now a single dwelling

Fakes, ThomasRef F1085
[1860-19??] Born in Bury-St-Edmunds, Suffolk.

He became a chauffeur [domestic] at Halifax.

In 1887, he married Mary Ann Hanson [1854-19??] from Greetland, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. George [b 1890] who was a brass finisher [1911]

The family lived at 19 Savile Road, Halifax [1911]

Falcon, JohnRef F1331
[1774-1842] Son of Rev Thomas Falcon.

He married Hannah [1772-1837].

Children:

  1. Margaret [1819-1881] who married Joseph Whiteley

The family lived at White Lee, Scammonden.

The couple were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Dean Head: John [27th September 1842].

Probate records show that John left effects valued at £300.

There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 111] in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Falcon Laundry Company LimitedRef F784
Salterhebble Hill, Halifax. Established in the 19th century.

Managers of the company have included Wilfred D. Taylor [1900] and A. E. Thorp [1906].

A 1900 advertisement announced


Carpet Cleaning & Bed Cleaning by Machinery
 

The business closed in the 1950s.

See Falcon, Salterhebble and Ramsden's Baths, Rastrick

Falcon, Rev ThomasRef F1165
[17??-1791] Came from Bothel, Cumberland.

He was Curate of Leeds / Vicar of St Bartholomew's, Dean Head.

He lived in Halifax and was a subscriber to the publication of Watson's History.

He married Elizabeth, daughter of John Barron,

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. John

The family lived at White Lee, Scammonden [1841].

Thomas & Elizabeth were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Dean Head. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 112] in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Falcon, Rev ThomasRef F1330
[1770-1843] MA.

Son of Rev Thomas Falcon.

Born at Barkisland.

He was educated at Sidney College Cambridge [1789] / Vicar of St Bartholomew's, Dean Head / retired Vicar [1841].

He died at Scammonden.

He was buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Dean Head [6th March 1843]. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 112] in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Falkingham, HarryRef F844
[1913-1944] Son of Sarah Ann & George William Falkingham of Halifax.

He was a member of Square Congregational Church, Halifax / educated at Holy Trinity School / a player with Brighouse Rangers & Halifax Vandals / a moquette weaver with Holdsworth's.

In [Q4] 1936, he married Florence Harrison in Halifax.

Children:

  1. son

The family lived at

  • 10 Moore Street, Siddal
  • Thurnscoe East

During World War II, he enlisted [September 1939], and served as a Lance Bombardier with the 68th Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He served for 2 years in Ireland.

He was killed in action in Normandy [17th July 1944] (aged 31).

He was buried at Fontenay-Le-Pesnel War Cemetery, Tessel, France [Grave Ref V C 3].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fall Lane Railway Bridge, Sowerby BridgeRef F590
Railway bridge built about 1840 by Robert Stephenson for the Manchester & Leeds Railway Company

Fall Lane well, HartsheadRef F452
This stood opposite Fall Lane Methodist Chapel. A flight of 13 steps led down to the well

Fall Spring Woods, StainlandRef F7
Wood was taken from here for use as fuel during the General Strike of 1926.

There are remains of Iron Age boundary walls in the woods.

See Fall Spring Wood Quarry, Stainland

Faller, Dr Bernard AnthonyRef F155
[1???-19??] Dentist of Moor End Road, Halifax. He qualified at Leeds Dental School in 1951.

His son, Bernard Anthony Faller, was also a dentist

Faller, Dr Bernard AnthonyRef F599
[19??-19??] Son of Bernard Anthony Faller.

Like his father, he was a dentist. He qualified at Leeds Dental School in October 1958.

He lived and practised at 1 Aked's Road, Halifax from the 1950s until the building was demolished in 1969 when he moved to Number 21-23 Aked's Road

Falling RoydRef F8

Falling Royd Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef F402
Bridge #14 over the Rochdale Canal

Falling Royd, Hebden BridgeRef F99

Fallingroyd Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef F100
Burnley Road. Bridge over the Rochdale Canal

Fallingroyd, Hebden BridgeRef F1198
Aka Falling Royd. An area of Hebden Bridge.

The name is recorded as Falgerode [1250], Fallougherode [1387], Fallandrode [1403], Falgynroyd [1491], Fallonroid [1644], and Fallingroide [1657]. The name may mean land broken up for cultivation

Fallingroyd House, Hebden BridgeRef F723
Aka Falling Royd House.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in 19??

Fallingroyd Lodge, Hebden BridgeRef F1251
The former lodge for Fallingroyd House, Hebden Bridge

Fallingroyd Old Hall, Hebden BridgeRef F2300

See Fallingroyd House, Hebden Bridge, Fallingroyd Lodge, Hebden Bridge and Fallingroyd, Hebden Bridge

Fallingworth Hall, NorlandRef F171
Early 17th century house at Norland. A datestone over the porch is inscribed AIW 1644, and the Tudor arched two-storeyed doorway is dated 16 AD 42.

There were alterations in the 18th and 19th centuries.

A reused lintel dated I/MB/M 1616/H for Isabel and Michael Barrow comes from Fields Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

The hall is now 2 separate dwellings

Fallon, AliceRef F80
[18??-19??] Of Cross Street, Winding Road, Halifax.

She was injured – a crushed leg – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Fallon, MichaelRef F105
[1883-1915] Born in County Mayo, Ireland.

He worked for Halifax Corporation Health Department.

In [Q2] 1906, he married Jane Higgins in Halifax.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child

The family lived at 12 Berry Street, Charlestown Road, Halifax.

He was a reservist with 12 years' service.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 5th (Royal Irish)  Lancers.

He died 2nd May 1915 (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 5], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

His brother-in-law James Higgins also died in the War

FamiliesRef F9

Family History BooksRef F1338

Famous local peopleRef F182

Fanny Hill, WalsdenRef F1286
Named for Frances Rogers landlady at the nearby Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland

Fanque, PabloRef F188
[1810-1871] Born William Darby.

He was an equestrian performer & circus owner from Norfolk.

On 25th July 1867, his travelling circus paid a visit to Elland, and erected their marquee in the field belonging to the Wheat Sheaf

Far Barsey Farm, GreetlandRef F1029

Far Beestonhirst, RippondenRef F284
Baitings, Rochdale Road Demolished when Baitings Reservoir was built.

See Beestonhirst

Far Bent Head Farm, Pecket WellRef F369
Keighley Road. Early 19th century laithe-house. It was 3 cottages. It is now a single dwelling.

See Bent Head, Heptonstall and Near Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well

Far Broad Fold, LuddendenRef F1238
Owners and tenants have included

In the 1911 census, the property is listed with Broadfold House, Luddenden. It was then occupied by John Uttley (a stone quarry man)  [1882-19??] and his wife, Sarah [1887-19??]

Far East, HalifaxRef F136
46-48 Northgate Building, Halifax – where the bus station now stands – was the first Chinese restaurant in Halifax when it opened in 1959.

The premises had previously been occupied by Jay's Furnishing Store

Far from the DanceRef F163
Brighouse-based band formerly known as Serotonin

Far Littlemoor Cottage, WarleyRef F1074
Stands in what was the garden of Far Littlemoor House, Warley

Far Littlemoor House, WarleyRef F1073
Owners and tenants have included

See Butts Green Barn, Warley, Far Littlemoor Cottage, Warley and Littlemoor, Warley

Far Mires, SouthowramRef F1233
See Pot Ovens, Southowram

Far Nook, WadsworthRef F281
Dyke Lane. Timber-framed house which was cased in stone in the early 17th century

Far Onecliffe, West ValeRef F489
Green Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Onecliffe House, Greetland and Onecliffe Mill, West Vale

Far Siddal HallRef F114
Phoebe Lane.

Built in the 1970s by Barry Bairstow.

See Siddal Halls

Far Small Lees, SoylandRef F2200
Owners and tenants have included

See Small Lees, Soyland

Far Turbury, GreetlandRef F1231
Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

Far View House, IllingworthRef F289
Stands on Hal Lane

Faragher, James ParrRef F650
[1898-1951] Born in Earlstown, Lancashire.

He was landlord of the Navigation, Sowerby Bridge [1940] / a master fish fryer [1951].

During World War I, he was gassed and this resulted in his poor health later in life.

In April 1927, he married Mary Alice Bentley.

They had no children.

He died at 48 Prospect Street, Halifax [7th October 1951]

Farfield, HalifaxRef F1096
193 Huddersfield Road.

House built by W. S. Barber as his own home.

The house stands opposite the former Stafford Arms.

Owners and tenants have included

It has been converted into apartments

Farlane, Walker & CompanyRef F149
Ventilation engineers at Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1914].

See P. M. Walker & Company

Farman & OatesRef F1102
Halifax transport company. Partners included William Oates.

The business was taken over by O. & C. Holdsworth

Farmers' AssociationsRef F1282
See Farmers' Co-operative Association, Halifax & District Farmers' Association, Halifax Farmers' Trading Association Limited, Hebden Bridge & District Farmers' Association Limited and Todmorden Farmers' Alliance

Farmers' Co-operative AssociationRef F1281

Farmery, AlbertRef F77
[1892-19??] MM.

Son of Henry Farmery.

He was a clerk for a timber merchant [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the Royal Field Artillery.

He was slightly wounded.

He was awarded the Military Medal [1917]


At Ypres, on May 23rd 1917, a battery position being heavily shelled, the detachment had been temporarily withdrawn. An order came through to stand by for an SOS.

As the detachment returned to the position, a direct hit caused the gun pit, of which Sgt Farmery was No.1, to collapse. This NCO went straight to his gun pit and reported that he could get her into action again.

Within three-quarters of an hour, being all the time under heavy shell fire, he dug his gun out and commenced firing in the SOS order, which was then in progress. Sgt Farmery throughout displayed gallantry of the highest order

 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [23rd June 1917].

His brother John William was also awarded the MM.

On 29th December 1918, Albert married Dorothy Aspinall at Sion Congregational Church.


Dorothy was the daughter of Edward Aspinall
 

Farmery, CliveRef F876
[1885-1918] Son of Annie & Robert Farmery of Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 11th March 1918 (aged 33).

He was buried at Menin Road South Cemetery, Ypres, Belgium [Grave Ref III F 8].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Farmery, HenryRef F41
[1864-19??] Son of William Farmery, coachman.

Born in Ripon.

He was a carrier of Elland [1889] / a carter [1891] / a mineral water salesman [1901] / beerhouse keeper at the Foresters' Arms, Halifax [1905, 1911] / landlord of the Furnace Inn, Buttershaw [1917].

In 1889, he married Emma Jackson [1869-19??] at Heysham Parish Church.


Emma, of Heysham, was born in Doncaster, the daughter of George Jackson, engine driver,
 

Children:

  1. Albert
  2. John William

The family lived at

  • 3 Langdale Street, Elland [1891]
  • 7 Brook Street, Elland [1901]

Both sons were awarded the MM in World War I

Farmery, John WilliamRef F322
[1894-1965] MM.

Son of Henry Farmery.

He was a clerk for accountant [1911] / employed in the Land Valuation Department, Commercial Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Signaller with the Gordon Highlanders.

He was awarded the Military Medal for gallantry [October 1917]. His brother Albert was also awarded the MM.

John William is remembered on the Roll of Honour at Sion Congregational Church, Halifax.

He survived the War.

He (possibly) died in Halifax in 1965 (aged 71) 

FarmingRef F10
Because of the climate and the topography of the district, many areas of Calderdale are unsuitable for arable farming. With domestic textile production, pastoral farming and arable farming formed the dual economy of the district.

See Arable farming, Cattle farming, High farming, Lime, Pastoral farming and Sheep farming

Farnell...Ref F71
The entries for people & families with the surname Farnell are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Farnell & TownsendRef F914
Worsted spinners at Croft Mills, Halifax [1891]. Partners included A. Farnell and J. Townsend.

In May 1891, he was declared bankrupt

Farnell's: E. Farnell & SonsRef F751
Manufacturer of wheels for carriages, carts, coaches and wagons, established by E. Farnell in 1838.

Around 1870, the firm moved to Victoria Wheel Works, Halifax.

They were still there in 1905.

Farnell's sons, John and Elijah, took over the business when their father retired.

Asa Farnell is recorded with the firm in 1905

Farquhar, J. W.Ref F414
[18??-1898] Of Aberdeen. Master of Warley Grammar School [1853]. He wrote a book entitled The Gospel of Divine Humanity. His wife wrote a pamphlet on Sunday observance entitled The Pearl of Days with which she won a prize offered by Queen Victoria. He is said to have become a bookseller in London after leaving Warley. He died in Aberdeen

Farr, JamesRef F617
[1828-1898] Born at Sandbach, Cheshire.

He was a chemist and druggist at 10 Crown Street, Halifax [1881]

In 1857, he married Emma Holt in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1859]
  2. Edward [b 1860]
  3. Florence [b 1865]

The family lived at

He died at Ashleigh on 7th December 1898 [aged 70].

An advertisement for the business in January 1874 announced


DOCTOR COFFIN'S INDIAN PILLS
the best family medicine offered to the public
   
Agents for Halifax – Mr. Farr, Druggist,
24, Crown Street, Halifax.

Farr's NervineRef F883
A patent medicine which
cures tic and all nervous pains

Recorded in the 1920s

Farrar...Ref F44
The entries for people & families with the surname Farrar are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Farrar & BrogdenRef F767
Recorded in 1873 at Salterlee Mills, Halifax

Farrar & WhiteleyRef F755
Wine, spirit and cigar merchants. They were at 12a King Cross Street [1905] and Hopwood House, Halifax.

The original business was established in the 18th century by Mr Dickson.

In 1781, it was acquired by Samuel Farrar who established Samuel Farrar & Son with his son Thomas.

When Samuel retired, the company became Thomas R. Farrar.

In 1872, the company became Farrar & Whiteley with William J. Whiteley who subsequently became the sole principal

Farrar BrothersRef F769
Worsted spinners. They had business at Globe Mills, Halifax. Recorded in 1780-1936

Farrar, Calverley & MayorsRef F593
Card makers at Elland.

Partners included Joseph Farrar, Thomas Calverley and William Mayors.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1838

Farrar's: George Farrar Quarries LimitedRef F740
Quarrier and stone workers established by George Farrar. They had business at Granny Hall Quarry, Brighouse and Pond Quarry, Brighouse. They had stone polishing works at Mill Lane, Brighouse. The quarried were opened in 1874. In 1886, the business became a limited company.

In 1891, tests on their stone produced a crushing stress of 16,371 lbs per square inch – the highest in Yorkshire.

They employed about 150 workers and had an annual output of around 33,000 tons [1895].

See William Crowther

Farrar's: H. Farrar & SonRef F422
Whitesmiths at Halifax.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1848

Farrar's: Henry Farrar & CompanyRef F747
Worsted manufacturers at Miall Street Mills, Halifax. It was the weaving department of Hollingrake & Clegg Limited, Established around 1878

Farrar's: Henry Farrar & Sons LimitedRef F762
Cotton doublers. In 1929, they had business at Britannia Mills, Brighouse

Henry Farrar was Managing Director

Farrar's: J. & J. FarrarRef F361
Card manufacturers at Farrar's Mill, Elland [1876]

Farrar's: J. & J. FarrarRef F776
Stone quarriers at Law Quarry, Southowram, and Victoria Quarry, Elland.

See Farrar family of southowram

Farrar's: J. B. FarrarRef F1014
Makers of
Patent Positive Stop-Motion Twisting Frames

They were at Globe Works, Halifax [1884] and Wade Street, Halifax [1915].

See Eric Knight

Farrar's: J. Farrar Engineering Company LimitedRef F780
Aka J. B. Farrar & Sons.

Manufacturers of machinery for the textile and dyeing industry founded by Joseph Farrar.

The business started in 1805 in Old Lane, Halifax.

They moved to Globe Works, then to Albion Works [1937].

The business closed in 1985

Farrar's: James Farrar (Brushes) LimitedRef F771
Halifax. Recorded in 1937.

See Fred Ellis

Farrar's: John Farrar & Sons LimitedRef F752
Stone quarriers & stone merchants established by John Farrar.

He leased the quarrying resources from Laura Forbes-Robertson of Slead Hall.

They had business at Law Quarry, Southowram [1874, 1896, 1905], Moor End Quarry, Mount Tabor [1896], Black Dike, Bradford, and Egypt, Bradford

They also had offices at North Bridge Station [1905] and Carlton Chambers, Halifax [1936]

Farrar's: Jonathan Farrar & SonsRef F749
House furnishers established in 1850 by Jonathan Farrar.

He was joined by his sons, Jonathan and Thomas.

Around 1878, they moved to premises at 26 Broad Street, Halifax.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced


Jonathan Farrar & Sons
Complete House Furnishers

Our Show-rooms are one of the sights of Halifax

Top of Broad Street, Halifax

 

They were still at 26 Broad Street [1936].

See Charles F. Spring Limited

Farrar's: Mary Farrar's Benevolent Trust FundRef F413
In her will, Mary Farrar bequeathed £32,000 to be invested, and the interest given to women of limited financial means, who are not less than 55 years of age, and who are natives of Halifax, or have lived in the ancient parish of Halifax for at least 5 consecutive years,

Officers of the Trust have included

The Fund is still active [2015]

Farrar-MaysRef F1242
Ladies outfitters at Bull Green House, Halifax.

Partners included Arthur Farrar and Thomas William Mays.

After World War II, Thomas William's son, James V. A. Mays, moved from St Albans to join his father in running the family business in Halifax

Farrar Mill Lane Aqueduct, SiddalRef F161
The aqueduct which carried the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation over the Hebble Brook at Farrar Mill Lane, Siddal was built in 1828 by Thomas Bradley. It is now disused

Farrar's Natural StoneRef F920
Stone making company established by George Farrar

Farrar's: Samuel Farrar & SonRef F754
Wine, spirit and cigar merchants.

Partnership of Samuel Farrar and his son, Thomas Richard Farrar. Samuel retired and the company became Thomas R. Farrar. The company eventually became Farrar & Whiteley

Farrar's: Samuel Farrar & SonRef F813
Upholsterers at 1 Fleet Street, Halifax [1905]

Farre Close, YeRef F198
House built in 18?? which stood in Garden Road, Brighouse. It was the home of the Richard Sugden, and then the Ramsden family.

The house was demolished in the 1930s.

The name is still retained in a cul-de-sac of the same name off Blackburn Road

Farrel, CatherineRef F558
[1763-1868] Widow of Patrick Farrel, basket-maker and fisherman.

She died at the Halifax Workhouse at the age of 105 years.

See Longevity

Farrell, CrossleyRef F159
[1884-1944] He was landlord of the Siddal Tavern [1937-1939] / landlord of the Siddal Place, Siddal [1939-1944].

In [Q1] 1906, he married Amy Walker [1886-1968].

Crossley died in Halifax [Q3 1944] (aged 60).

After his death, Amy took over at the Siddal Place, Siddal [1944-1963].

Amy died Q1 1968 (aged 82) 

Farrell, JohnRef F830
[1890-1917] Son of Catherine (née Moffatt) [1861-1894] & Michael Farrell [1855-1915].

Born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd/7th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action at Cambrai [20th November 1917] (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 5], and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Farren, ArthurRef F119
[18??-191?]

During World War I, he served with the West Yorkshire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Farren, PercyRef F123
[1888-1918] His sister lived at 29 The Hough, Stump Cross.

He married a French woman from Desmes.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the Royal Army Medical Corps attached to the 4th Reserve Park Army Service Corps.

He was killed – hit whilst tending the wounded [12th April 1918] (aged 30).

He was buried at Longuenesse (St. Omer) Souvenir Cemetery, France [Grave Ref V A 19].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Farrer...Ref F226
The entries for people & families with the surname Farrer are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Farrimond, Rev W.Ref F475
[18??-1936] MA, MC.

Vicar of St James's Church, Halifax [1936]

Farrington, AnnieRef F449
[18??-19??] She was landlord of the Ship Inn, Brighouse [from 5th August 1927] until the pub closed on 31st July 1936

Farror's Bounder, WadsworthRef F196
Stone which marks the boundary of Wadsworth township

Farrour, HenryRef F186
[1???-1548] aka Henry of the Wood.

Son of Robert Farrour.

He married Agnes Barcroft.

Children:

  1. William

Farrour, RobertRef F179
[1???-1526] Of Midgley. He was one of the first of the Farrars of Ewood.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Henry

Farrow's Bank LimitedRef F1182
Established in 1907 by Thomas Farrow & William Walter Crotch, they had over 70 branches across Britain.

A branch opened at 18 Silver Street, Halifax, on Monday 12th October 1914.

Officers of the Bank have included

In 1920, the business failed. It is said that Farrow & Crotch had been doing some f creative accounting; they were put on trial for conspiracy to defraud. Many working class & middle class customers lost everything

Farrow, RobertRef F564
[1860-1955] Born in Scarborough.

He was a salesman [1885] / a mineral water drayman [1891] / a carter for an iron foundry [1901] / a mineral water salesman [1911].

In 1885, he married Mary Hannah Ogden [1859-1931] in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Edith [1885-1964] who never married
  2. Fred [b 1887] who was a cutter in a carpet mill [1901]
  3. Sam

The family lived at

  • 29 Burnley Road, Sowerby Bridge [1891]
  • 6 Binns Terrace, Ovenden [1901]
  • 26 Mitchell Street, Beech, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Farrow, SamuelRef F563
[1892-1917] Son of Robert Farrow.

Born 17th August 1892.

He was an apprentice tailor [1911] / a clothier [1915].

On 29th April 1915, he married Ethel Mary Wimsey [1895-19??] in Halifax.


Ethel Mary was born in Hull
 

They had no children.

They lived at 46 Wakefield Road, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, served as a Bombardier with the Royal Horse Artillery and Royal Field Artillery.

He died 11th November 1917.

He was buried at Vlamertinghe New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IX B 1]

The Farsley familyRef F431
See Shelf Hall

Farsley, Geoffrey deRef F446
[12??-13??] His family owned the Manor of Shelf Hall, Because of Geoffrey's treachery, the Manor was forfeited to the Crown

Farsley, TomRef F437
[18??-19??] Of Halifax. On 6th March 1901, he undertook a wager to eat 14 pigeons in 14 days. He won and ate 2 on the final day

Fascione, FrancisRef F882
[19??-19??] Demolition contractor at Halifax [1950s]

Fast EndsRef F13
See Bride Stones

Fat DanRef F651
[18??-1834] On 3rd January 1835, The Leeds Mercury reported


On Christmas Day, in a Caravan at Colne, the Yorkshire youth better known in this neighbourhood as Fat Dan – he was a native of Queens Head in the parish of Halifax, his weight was 31 stone
 

Fat rascalRef F102
A rich fruity scone – like a rock bun – made with candied peel, almonds and cherries

Faucon, Rochette & CompanyRef F843
Patent soap manufacturers at Bonegate / Bradford Road, Brighouse.

The business was established [1847] by M. Faucon and André Prosper Rochette

In 1874, the business was taken over by J. A. Heaton.

In the 1890s, the business was known as the Brighouse Soap Company Limited

Faulkes, John FrancisRef F124
[1882-1918]

In [Q2] 1910, he married Ellen Gray in Halifax.

Children:

  1. child
  2. Hilda
  3. Leslie
  4. Jessie

The family lived at 18 Garden Street, New Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 28th March 1918 (aged 36).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Faulkes, Ronald SmithRef F127
[1916-1944] Son of Mr B. Faulkes.

He worked as a weaver at Holdsworth's.

He married Unknown.

He lived at Siddal, then 53 Burnley Terrace, Burnley Road, Halifax.

During World War II, he enlisted [April 1940], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He died as a POW [23rd February 1944] (aged 28).

He was buried at Padua War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref I D 12].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Faulkner, CyrilRef F128
[1923-1945]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died 10th April 1945 (aged 22).

He was buried at Becklingen War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 7 G 8].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Faulkner, Rev Henry Jackson HardcastleRef F470
[18??-19??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1890] and Headmaster of Hipperholme Grammar School [1890].

In 1892, he was appointed Perpetual Curate at Milburn

Fausit, SamRef F1353
[1???-17??] Or Fawcett.

Of Townend, Soyland or Soyland Gate [1740s].

He was allowed to fetch water from the pumphouse which Sam Hill had built for Sarah and Joshua Radcliffe at Raynor Land, and he could also scour cloth there

Favour, Dr JohnRef F14
[1556-1623] LLD.

Lawyer and physician born in Southampton. He was Vicar of Halifax. He founded Heath Grammar School.

Favour, JohnRef F887
[1598-16??] Elder son of Dr John Favour.

He became Prebendary of Southwell and of Ripon, and rector of Sutton-on-Derwent and Rainton

Fawcett...Ref F435
The entries for people & families with the surname Fawcett are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fawcett & CompanyRef F1237
Stone merchants & quarrymen at Southowram.

Partners included Joe Fawcett, Thomas Holdsworth, and John Carter Naylor.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1907

Fawcett Greenwood & CompanyRef F870
Printers at Central Hall, Halifax [1936, 1937] and Winding Road, Halifax [1950s].

The Winding Road premises were taken over by the Timeform printing business of Phil Bull

Fawcett tomb, WainsgateRef F1070
A table tomb for Dr John Fawcett stands over his vault at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge

Fawkes, EllenRef F352
[1841-1890] Daughter of Rev Ayscough Fawkes of Farnley Hall.

Born at Farnley Hall, Farnley, Yorkshire [28th March 1841].

She married Sir George John Armytage at Paddington.

In 1890, she died at Elvaston Place, Kensington, London, and was buried at Hartshead

Fawkes, WalterRef F861
Walter Ramsden Hawksworth changed his name to Fawkes

Fawley, EdwinRef F68
[1837-1???] Born in Glossop, Derbyshire.

He was a joiner [1871, 1881, 1891].

In 1865, he married Eliza Emma Best [1845-1???] in Halifax.


Eliza Emma was born in Halifax daughter of
Joseph Best
 

Children:

  1. Harry [b 1866] who was a factory operative (textiles) [1881] a grocer's assistant [1891]
  2. Clara [b 1869] who was a factory operative woollen [1881]
  3. Minnie [1871-1872]
  4. Edgar [b 1874] who was a worsted factory hand [1891], a street paviour [1901]
  5. Amy [b 1876] who was a worsted factory hand [1891]
  6. Newman

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 8 Thomas Street West, Skircoat, Halifax [1871]
  • 178 Hanson Lane, Halifax [with Eliza Emma's widowed mother 1881]
  • 19 Ramsgate Street, Halifax [1891]

Edwin died in 1894 (aged 58).

In 1899, Eliza Emma married Henry Sunderland in Halifax

Fawley's: G. Fawley & SonRef F1006
Sanitary engineers at Savile Park, Halifax [1900]

Fawley, NewmanRef F702
[1879-1917] Son of Edwin Fawley.

He was a street paviour [1901, 1911] / employed at the goods warehouse of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company.

In 1906, he married Elizabeth Balmforth in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Vera [b 1907]
  2. Edgar [b 1908]
  3. Dorothy [1912-1914]
  4. Harry [b 1914]

The family lived at

  • 2 Jacob Lane, New Pellon, Halifax [1911]
  • Green Syke, Hebden Bridge
  • 25 Mackrell Street, New Pellon

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He died of natural causes [28th February 1917] (aged 38).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [24th March 1917].

He was buried at Bouquemaison Churchyard, France [North-East Angle of Church].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fawthrop...Ref F297
The entries for people & families with the surname Fawthrop are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fax, Mr Hal E.Ref F353
A character involved in the promotion of the Shopping Festival and Exhibition which was presented by the Halifax Chamber of Commerce in 1934.

He was described as

walking round the streets, inspecting the shops, talking to people, laughing, chatting merrily, with money in his pocket to give to the first person who can recognise him. All you have to do is to go up to him and say:
You are Mr Hal E. Fax. I claim the shopping festival prize

Anyone who recognised and challenged him correctly received a £2 reward

Faxall ProductsRef F112
Halifax.

Closed in 1980

Fearby, ElizabethRef F717
[18??-1884] Daughter of John Fearby [17??-18??] of Poppleton Lodge, York.

Her father was dead by the time she married Edward Akroyd [10th October 1838].

Her sister Jane married Thomas Frederick Champney.

There is a lifesize marble bust of her husband Edward – (possibly) by Niccolò Bazzanti – in Bankfield Museum, Halifax. Alongside are busts of William Wordsworth, and a veiled lady said to be of Elizabeth by Bazzanti.

See Century Works, Halifax

Fearn, GeorgeRef F836
[18??-18??] Monumental sculptor at 1 King Cross Street, Halifax [1874]

Fearnley...Ref F187
The entries for people & families with the surname Fearnley are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fearnley BrothersRef F763
Brighouse builders. St Paul's Wesleyan Methodist Sunday School, Brighouse was built on the site of their yard in King Street/Police Street

Fearnley CharityRef F1360
For the benefit of old and deserving poor persons connected with Northgate End Unitarian Chapel, Halifax, with preference for spinsters and widows without issue

Fearnley's: Joshua & Joseph FearnleyRef F927
Silk dressers at Brighouse. Partners included Joshua Fearnley and Joseph Fearnley.

In January 1858, the partnership was declared bankrupt

FearNot Friendly SocietyRef F797
Sowerby Bridge friendly society.

Recorded in 1907, when Arthur Thomas was a member.

In September 1914, there is a record of Sowerby Bridge UDC repaying £150 to the Society on account of a loan – or mortgage – which the Society had made on the Gasworks Account

Fearnought Cash & Automatic Checking TillRef F676
Invented and patented by Benjamin Swallow. The device won several gold medals in the 19th century

Fearnside, Rev JoshuaRef F1031
[1773-183?] Son of Nathan Fearnside.

Born in Rastrick.

Methodist minister at Todmorden.

On 12th August 1814, he married (1) Anne Flesher [1785-182?] from Kildwick, at Kildwick.

Children:

  1. Margaret Anne [1815-1885]
  2. Henry [b 1819]

On 25th August 1825, he married (2) Jane, daughter of Rev Matthew Lumb, from Barnard Castle, at Bury.

Children:

  1. Jane [b 1826]
  2. Matthew [b 1827]
  3. Eliza [b 1831]

On 28th July 1823, he, Rev John Heap, Rev Jagger, Rev John James, Rev Edward B. Lloyd, Rev Zachariah Yewdall, Rev Matthew Lumb and Stephen Wilson of Holmfirth, were amongst the passengers travelling by The Fleece coach from Halifax to Sheffield which overturned near Shepley. Rev Sergeant of Scarborough died of his injuries. Edward Smith, the driver of the coach was accused of

wanton behaviour and shameful perversity, on account of the peril to which his furious driving subjected his passengers.

Rev Fearnside was slightly bruised

Fearnside, NathanRef F1030
[174?-1???] Of Rastrick.

Around 1760, he married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Grace [b 1761]
  2. Thomas [b 1764]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1767]
  4. John [b 1769]
  5. William [b 1772]
  6. Joshua

Fearnside, ThomasRef F640
[1767-1853] Corn miller.

He was at Cheapside [1809] / a corn dealer [1811] / a partner in Fearnside's [1828] / milling alone at Mearclough Bottom Mills [1853].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Joseph who married [1811] Mary Howorth Rushton of Skircoat

Fearnside's: Thomas Fearnside & SonRef F1210
They were at Mearclough Bottom Mills [1820s]

See Thomas, Joseph & Samuel Fearnside and Gas Works Road Bridge, Sowerby Bridge

Fearnside's: Thomas, Joseph & Samuel FearnsideRef F643
Corn millers at Mearclough Bottom Mills and Watson Mills, Norland.

Partners included Thomas Fearnside, Joseph Fearnside and Samuel Fearnside.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1828

See Thomas Fearnside & Son

Fearnside, Rev WilliamRef F22
[18??-1???] He served at St John's Church, Bradford before becoming Vicar of All Saints' Church, Harley Wood [1865]

FeastRef F19
See Feast and Shelf Feast

Feast of Saint BartholomewRef F1051
St Bartholomew's Cloth Fair was held on the eve [23rd August], St Bartholomew's day [24th August] and the day after [25th August]

Feast of Saint John the BaptistRef F58
Aka Midsummer Day. This is celebrated on 24th June. Because Halifax Parish Church is dedicated to St John, this day was important in the district and fairs were held at that time.

In Halifax, the fair was originally held on land just north of the parish church, but it moved further away from the town centre.

See Fairs, Cadney Croft, Gilbert Hanson, Harwood House, Illingworth Moor, Naylor's Gift, William Riding, St John's Tide Fair and Thump Sunday

Feast of Saint MartinRef F671
This is celebrated on 11th November.

In Halifax, an annual fair was held on this day. Recorded in the 17th century.

See Fairs

Feather...Ref F134
The entries for people & families with the surname Feather are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Feather Brothers LimitedRef F829
Worsted spinners at Sun Works, Halifax [1905].

Partners & Officers of the company included John Feather, Peter Ratcliffe Feather and Richard Edwin Feather

Feather's Crown CaféRef F810
Recorded in 1905 at 51 Crown Street, Halifax

Feather's: J. Feather & SonRef F738
Established by James Feather. Mineral water manufacturers at Borough Mineral & Aerated Works, Todmorden [1897], Anchor Mill, Todmorden [1905], and Halifax Road, Todmorden [1907].

An advertisement for the business in 1907 publicised their


Silver Neck dry Ginger Ale, Lemonade, Soda Water, Potash Water, &c
in syphons, corked and patent bottles
 

Feather's: James, James & T. FeatherRef F950
Soda water manufacturers at Stack Hills, Todmorden.

Partners included James Feather, James Feather and T. Feather.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1875

Feavers: George Feavers & Sons LimitedRef F1203
Tobacconists at 23 Silver Street, Halifax [1936], on the site of what had been the Black Swan

Feber, Rev Gerald BrydenRef F126
[18??-19??] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1919]. He left in 1920 and took up scholastic work, In 1922, he became Curate at Fleetwood

Feber, JamesRef F277
[1794-18??] Born in Stansfield.

He was a farmer [1841] / a farmer of 29 acres [1851].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1826] who was a cotton power loom weaver [1841]
  2. Sarah [b 1826] who was working in cotton mill [1841]
  3. Susan [b 1828]
  4. Ann [b 1830]
  5. Elizabeth [b 1831]
  6. Betty [b 1835]
  7. John [b 1835]

The family lived at Gorpley, Todmorden [1841, 1851].

James was widowed by 1841

Feber, JamesRef F907
[18??-1???] Son of Mr Feber.

After his father's death, he carried on the business at Canteen, Todmorden.

In August 1868, Alice Marshall [aged 30] sued Feber for breach of promise. She won the case and received £20 damages

Feber, JohnRef F459
[1887-1918] Born in Todmorden.

He was a stoker (stationary engine) [1891].

On 26th September 1878, he married Harriet Ann Miles [1857-1946] at Halifax Parish Church.


Harriet Ann was born in Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Children:

  1. George [b 1879]
  2. Bertha [b 1881] who was a weaver in cotton [1911]
  3. William
  4. Robert Henry
  5. Martha Hannah [b 1889] who was a weaver in cotton [1911]
  6. Fred [1891-1927] who was a twister in cotton [1911]
  7. James [1892-1911] who was a labourer in cotton [1911]
  8. Edith [b 1898] who was a weaver in cotton [1911]

The family lived at

  • 9 Pitt Street, Stansfield [1891]
  • 10 Broad Street, Todmorden [1911]
  • 35 Eagle Street, Todmorden

Members of the family were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone: John [1st April 1916]; Fred [27th June 1927]; Harriet Ann [27th December 1946]

Feber, MrRef F908
[1???-1865] Cotton manufacturer at Canteen, Todmorden.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. James
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child

Feber, Robert HenryRef F94
[1887-1918] Son of John Feber.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a cloth tucker in cotton [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 26th August 1918.

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother William was also killed in the War

Feber, WilliamRef F417
[1884-1917] Son of John Feber.

He was a weaver in cotton [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 26th October 1917 (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 38-40], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

His brother Robert Henry was also killed in the War

Fee's: J. & J. FeeRef F150
Builders & contractors. Established by Joseph Fee.

The company built the 1950s houses on Blaithroyd Lane, Southowram.

See Bolton Quarries, Southowram and Slaten Quarry, Southowram

Fee, MichaelRef F234
[1871-19??] Born in Leeds.

He was a bricksetter [1901] / a bricklayer's labourer [1911].

In 1894, he married Margaret Fitzpatrick [1873-19??] in Halifax.


Margaret was born in Fermoy, Cork, Ireland
 

Children:

  1. William
  2. Catherine [b 1897] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  3. John [b 1899] who was a part-time worsted spinning frame doffer [1911]
  4. Michael [b 1902]
  5. Margaret Ann [b 1904]

The family lived at

  • 3 Hoyle's Building, Halifax [1901]
  • 29 Gaol Lane, Halifax [1911]

Fee, WilliamRef F238
[1894-1917] Son of Michael Fee.

He was a member of St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax / a carrier-off on brick moulding machine [1911] / employed at Morton's brickyard.

In 1916, he married Mary E. Drury in Halifax.

They lived at Winding Road, Terrace, Halifax [1917].

During World War I, he enlisted with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [1915], then served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd/7th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed by a shell on the Hindenberg support line, near Hermies, France [2nd December 1917] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [22nd December 1917].

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 5], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Feeley, JamesRef F575
[1898-1919] Son of Catherine & James Feeley of 34 St Thomas Street, Claremount.

Born in Keighley.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1918], and he served as a Sergeant 50th Training Depot Sqdn (Eastbourne)  Royal Air Force.

He died of peritonitis (or abdominal strain) in Eastbourne Military Hospital [2nd January 1919] (aged 20).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K C 668].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Fekri, NaderRef F862
[1960-] JP.

Born in Kermanshah, western Iran.

He is a university lecturer in politics and history.

He has been Liberal Democrat Councillor with Calderdale MBC / Mayor of Hebden Royd [2007-2008] / Deputy Mayor of Calderdale [2009] / Mayor of Calderdale [2011-2012].

In 2009, he announced that he was to stand as MP for Keighley

The Feld familyRef F410
The – Feld or Del Feld – family arrived at the time of the Norman Conquest and settled in Sowerby. By 1600, the name had been anglicised to Field.

See Roger Del Feld and Field family

Feld, Roger DelRef F285
[12??-1???] A member of the Feld family.

Born at Field House, Sowerby

Fell, Rev BenjaminRef F557
[1845-1918] Born in Howden.

He was a Primitive Methodist Minister.

In 1872, he married Mary Ann Cooper [1842-1923] in Halifax.

Fell, HiramRef F92
[1809-1882] Born in Halifax.

He was a grocer & bacon factor.

He may have been a co-investor in South Grove, as his name appears on the deeds.

He and his brother-in-law Thomas Binns were executors of John Foster's will [1862].

In 1834, Hiram married Judith Binns.


Judith was born in Halifax, the daughter of Mr Binns
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [b 1839]
  2. Sarah [b 1846]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1849] who was a saleswoman in shop [1871]
  4. Judith [b 1852] who was a dress maker [1871]
  5. Benjamin Dyson (Fell) [b 1854] who was a book keeper [1871]
  6. Walter Edward [b 1856]
  7. child
  8. child
  9. child

The family lived at 38 Swine Market, Halifax

Fell, Jack ClarkeRef F62
[1923-1944] Illegitimate son of Lily Fell [1897-1983].

Born in Halifax.


In 1940, Lily married John Robert Wharvell [1897-1961] in Halifax.

They lived at 30 Industrial Road, Sowerby Bridge when they married

 

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant / Flight Engineer with the 78th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 27th April 1944 (aged 21).

He was buried at **IGNORE**, France [Grave Ref 16 8 4]

Fell, JosephRef F227
[1803-1869] Son of Mary & William Fell.

Born in Northowram [3rd May 1803].

Baptised in Halifax [22nd May 1803].

He was a shoemaker [1841, 1851] / a shoemaker of Siddal [1869] / a cordwainer.

On 21st November 1834, he married Sarah Appleyard [1800-1877].


Sarah was born in Wakefield
 

Children:

  1. Herbert [1836-12th June 1872] who was a grocer's errand boy [1851], a painter [1872]
  2. William

The family lived at

  • West Gate, Elland [1841]
  • 8 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1851]
  • Siddal [1869]

Joseph committed suicide [4th March 1869] (aged 65).

The Bradford Observer [Friday March 5th 1869] reported


Yesterday forenoon, Mr Joseph Fell, shoemaker, of Siddal, near Halifax committed suicide by cutting his throat with a razor. He died at a quarter to eleven o'clock, in the presence of his wife.

He had been in a low state of mind for several months.

Mr Strickland, surgeon, who was in the neighbourhood at the time, was called in, but his services were to no avail.

The deceased was sixty five years of age

 

Sarah died 30th March 1877 (aged 77).

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4435] with Joseph Dean

Fell, WilliamRef F300
[1842-1863] Son of Joseph Fell.

He was an ironmonger's errand boy [1851]

In [Q3] 1862, he married Sabina Morris.


Sabina was the William Morris
 

William died 26th January 1863 (aged 21).

Sabina died 9th September 1869 (aged 30) 

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 344] with Sabina's parents

Fels NapthaRef F1048
A popular brand of soap used in laundry work. It was advertised on the side of local trams [early 1900s]

Fels, Samuel SimeonRef F1148
[1860-1950] American millionaire and philanthropist. Partner in the family soap manufacturing business.

In 1910, he visited the Friendly & Trades Club, Halifax

Feltham, GreenwoodRef F607
[1842-1863] On 10th November 1863, he and 6 companions were walking along the canal bank from Gauxholme to Todmorden. As they reached Dobroyd Lock, Feltham stood still and the others walked on. They had gone about 15 yards when they looked back to see Feltham throw his jacket into the air and jump into water shouting Good Night! They found a piece of wood and got within a few yards, but he made no attempt to save himself and drowned

Feltham, JackRef F576
[1919-1942] Son of Annie & Fred Feltham of Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 5th Battalion Highland Light Infantry (City of Glasgow Regiment).

He died 14th April 1942 (aged 23).

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [F Nonconformist 406]

Felvus, Rev J.Ref F1106
[18??-19??] Of Hebden Bridge.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Florence [b 1867] who married [1897] Rev John Ernest Clegg at Salem Chapel, Hebden Bridge

They lived at The Manse, Hebden Bridge [1897]

Felvus, RichardRef F1322
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1855, when he was a Methodist minister in Halifax

Female Sisterly SocietyRef F794
19th century friendly society which met at the Neptune, Hebden Bridge

Female Sociable SocietyRef F793
Aka Society of Goodfellowship. 19th century friendly society which met at Midgley

Fennell, Rev JohnRef F298
[1762-1841] Methodist preacher who became a Church of England clergyman.

In 1812, he was the first headmaster at Woodhouse Grove Wesleyan School. He was dismissed from his post for spending too much time arranging picnics for his niece Maria Branwell and her husband-to-be, the Rev Patrick Brontë.

He gave both brides away when Rev Brontë married Maria and when William Morgan married Jane Fennell at St Oswald's Parish Church, Guiseley in December 1812.

He was the incumbent of Cross Stone [for 22 years].

His curate was Rev Sutcliffe Sowden.

In 1790, he married (1) Jane Branwell.

Children:

  1. Jane Branwell (Fennell) [1791-1827]

Jane died in 1829.

In 1830, he married (2) Elizabeth Lister in Halifax.


Elizabeth was the daughter of a Leeds merchant
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1831]
  2. Hannah Julia [b 1834]
  3. Charles John [b 1836]
  4. Ellen Jane [b 1838]
  5. Thomas Edward [b 1840]

The family lived at Stoodley House.

John died 13th October 1841.

He was buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone with his wife Jane

Fenny Cottage, HipperholmeRef F2440
Lan End Green.

Owners and tenants have included

Fenny Farm, HipperholmeRef F1201
An advertisement of September 1886 announced

NOTICE TO COAL PROPRIETORS and COLLIERY OWNERS
To be Let on Lease, upwards of 16 acres of COAL within Fenny Farm in Hipperholme consisting of two seams known as Halifax Hard & Soft Coal.

The estate is intersected by the West Riding Union Railway (Lancashire & Yorkshire) and a Winning may be effected at small cost, and a Siding connecting the works with the rail will bring it within a little more than a mile of Halifax where a large vend may be expected.

Apply: George Crowther, Surveyor & Mineral Agents, Huddersfield or Baxter & Company, Solicitors, Halifax

Fenny, John WrefordRef F240
[1915-1943] Son of Keturah (née Wreford) & John Henry Fenny, who married in Stockton [Q1 1910].

He was educated at Henry Smith Grammar School, Hartlepool & Exeter College, Hartlepool / a member of Hartlepool RUFC / PE teacher at Ovenden Senior School / a Territorial.

He married Elizabeth Margaret.

They lived in St Albans, Hertfordshire.

During World War II, he served as a Major with the 58th Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 18th September 1943 (aged 28).

He was buried at Salerno War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref IV F 46].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and (possibly) on the Memorial at Halifax Teachers'

Fenny Royd House, HipperholmeRef F169
Aka Fennyroyd Hall, Fenny House, Fenny Royd Hall. Owners and tenants have included

A Lodge is also recorded

Owners and tenants have included

Fent Stores, HalifaxRef F167
Woolshops.

Recorded in 1914, when Samuel Hartley was the proprietor.

See Fent

Fenton, CharlesRef F403
[1854-1915] Of Boothtown.

He was a machine borer.

He married Elizabeth Baugham [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. Alice who married Arthur Ambler

Fenton, DavidRef F966
[18??-18??] Of Ripponden.

He had been a soldier and served during the storming of Sebastopol.

On 24th December 1858, he was charged for a savage and unprovoked attack on PC Haigh at the toll gate at Ripponden, when he had thrown stones and bricks at the constable, causing bruising and a fractured rib. The West Riding Magistrates heard that there was bad blood between the parties. Fenton was fined £5 or 2 months' imprisonment, but he could not pay and was sent to Wakefield House of Correction

Fenton, DavidRef F396
[1822-1???] He was a shoemaker & retired pensioner [1871].

He married Mary [1832-1???].


Mary was born in Ireland
 

Children:

  1. James [b 1854] who was a cotton card room hand [1871]

The family lived at Sowerby Croft [1871].

Fenton, EileenRef F110
[1928-] Teacher at Princess Mary High School.

On 22nd August 1950, she became the smallest person to swim the English Channel. She was 5 ft tall and weighed 8 stone. She was one of 24 entrants in a race to commemorate the 75th anniversary of Matthew Webb's first Channel swim

Fenton Estate, HalifaxRef F429
Queens Road. Edward Richardson had proposals to build 90 superior houses here around 1885. 10 houses were built

Fenton, JimRef F1101
[17??-18??] A boatman on the Calder & Hebble Navigation at Elland.

He and his family lived at Elland Castle.

It is said that, during a cold winter, then canal froze and Jim was unable to work or provide for his family and his horse, Boxer. As he was going to beg for food, he encountered a boggart who accidentally dropped a sack of meal. Jim took the sack feed his family – and Boxer – and however much they ate, the sack never emptied

Fenton, NathanielRef F962
[1797-18??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was imprisoned for 12 months for uttering counterfeit coin at Norland, knowing it to be counterfeit

Fentona Cotton Supply Company LimitedRef F871
Recorded in 1937 at Fenton Works, Halifax. They were members of the Bradford Dyers' Association

Fenwick, Rev A. C.Ref F500
[18??-19??] He served in Nova Scotia and Canada before becoming (possibly) Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1921]

Fenwick, CollingwoodRef F293
[1817-1860] Born 4th April 1817.

He served with the 76 Regiment.

He was Lieutenant-Colonel during the Irish Rebellion of 1798 against British Rule in Ireland.

He died at the Pigeon House Fort [4th July 1860].

A memorial tablet was erected in Halifax Parish Church by his brother officers

Fereday, Rev RodRef F129
[19??-1???] Vicar at St Mark's Parish Church, Siddal [1992-1997]

Ferenczi, ZoltanRef F1211
[1?38-??09] There is a plaque fixed to stone on the moorland above the Horsfall Tunnel inscribed


IN LOVING MEMORY
OF
ZOLTAN (FRANCIS) FERENCZI
THE HUNGARIAN YORKSHIREMAN
   
22.7.38 – 31.12.09
   
THE YEARS MAY PASS US BY
BUT IN OUR HEARTS YOU'LL NEVER DIE


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the man?

 

Ferguson, EdwardRef F395
[1688-1736] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

The Northowram Register records that he was


A Scotchman buried in New Chapel in Halifax 25th March 1736. The first that was buried there
 

He was interred under the floor of the Chapel.

There was a memorial brass to him and members of the family in Northgate End Chapel

Ferguson, J.Ref F849
[18??-19??] Optician at 68 Lister Lane and at 8 Borough Market, Halifax [1906]

Ferguson, JohnRef F1359
[1730-1775] Son of Edward Ferguson.

In 1761, he married Ann Threlkeld.


Ann was the daughter of Rev Samuel Threlkeld
 

Children:

  1. Martha [1763-1837]
  2. Edward [1764-1843]
  3. Ann [1766-1846]
  4. Samuel

There was a memorial brass to members of the family in Northgate End Chapel

Ferguson, K.Ref F242
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ferguson, MissRef F1151
[1???-19??] Of Lightcliffe. She was a missionary [1924]

Ferguson's: R. J. Ferguson & CompanyRef F782
Silk manufacturers and brokers at Phoenix Silk Mill, Brighouse founded around 1886 by Richard John Ferguson

Ferguson, RichardRef F715
[1885-1918] Of 8 Milton Street, Halifax.

Son of H. Ferguson of 4 Shibden Fold, Stump Cross, Halifax.

Born in Doncaster.

He was an optician in Halifax Borough Market.

During World War I, he enlisted [1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded north of Menin Road [5th July 1918].

He died in No.25 General Hospital, Calais [22nd July 1918] (aged 33).

He was buried at Les Baraques Military Cemetery, Sangatte, France [Grave Ref IV D 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ferguson, Richard JohnRef F379
[18??-1???] Brighouse councillor [1896-1899].

Around 1886, he established R. J. Ferguson & Company, a silk mill at Phoenix Mill, Brighouse

Ferguson, SamuelRef F339
[1769-1816] Son of John Ferguson.

Born in Halifax.

He went to work for his cousin Robert Griffith, a Liverpool merchant [1787], and travelled extensively.

In 1800, he went into partnership with an English merchant, John Day; Samuel handling business in England, and John handling business in New York.

He emigrated to America, where he became a prosperous merchant, establishing family & business relationships with other prominent New York families, including the Day, Morewood, Ogden & Walton families.

On 9th June 1802, he married Elizabeth Day [1778-1823] in New York.


Elizabeth was the sister of Samuel's business partner, John Day
 

Children:

  1. John [1803-1874] who became a merchant & lawyer in New York, & married Helen Grace Morewood [1807-1863], the daughter of Sarah (née Walton) & Edmund Morewood [1770-1861]
  2. Edward [1805-1889]
  3. Sarah [1807-1887]
  4. Samuel Threlkeld [1814-1877]
  5. child
  6. child

Samuel died in New York [2nd August 1816].

Elizabeth died in 1823.

After their deaths. John Day, Elizabeth's brother and Samuel's business partner, took the younger children to England and raised them there.

The family were buried / remembered at St Mark's Church-in-the-Bowery, New York City.

The Ferguson family papers [1727-1943] are housed at the New York Public Library

Ferguson Street Livery Stables, HalifaxRef F812
Recorded in 1905, when John Knight was here

Ferguson, WilliamRef F1271
[16??-17??] His family owned property in Silver Street, including the White Lion Hotel & Posting House

Fern Bank, HalifaxRef F1077
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Fern Cottage, HalifaxRef F612
Skircoat Green Road, Halifax

Fern Dene, HalifaxRef F1078
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Fern Field House, BoothtownRef F729
Beecher Street.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Sam Hinchcliffe [1905]

Fern Hill, WarleyRef F583
House aka The Hill, Warley. Built in the 1600s.

Owners and tenants have included

Fern House, RastrickRef F672
Owners and tenants have included

Fern House, TodmordenRef F318
Bacup Road.

Fern House and Fern Cottage were 2 back-to-back houses. An attached factory was built in the early 18th century. The building is 2½ storeys, and the factory rises slightly higher than the houses. The factory has taking-in door to the first floor.

From the 19th century until around 1928, the factory was used for the production of artificial flowers

Fern, James CongreveRef F716
[1899-1918] Son of James Arthur Fern of 192 Pellon Lane, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action [31st July 1918] (aged 19).

He was buried at Abeele Aerodrome Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II C 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fern Lee, RippondenRef F366
See Ripponden Old Bank, Ripponden

Fern Royd, HalifaxRef F209
House on Stafford Avenue, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Fern Side, HalifaxRef F225
House on Stafford Avenue, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Ferne, NehemiahRef F514
[16??-16??] Curate at Southowram [1676]

Ferneside, JohnRef F893
[1???-1546] Of Ovenden.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William
  2. John
  3. Agnes

His will is recorded in Volume 2 [1545-1559] of E. W. Crossley's book Halifax Wills

Ferney Hill Rocks, WalsdenRef F957
Natural outcrop near Warland

Ferney Lee Club, TodmordenRef F1120
Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 32

Ferney Lee Park, TodmordenRef F90
Opened in 1902 with flower beds, pathways and benches, and a children's playground.

In 1912, it was superseded by Centre Vale Park.

In 1920, the Park closed and it became the site of an open air school

Fernside, HipperholmeRef F1230
On the 1891, 1911 census, it appears next to Perth House.

Owners and tenants have included

Fernside House, HalifaxRef F709
Huddersfield Road.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now a residential home

Ferny Hill Rocks, WarlandRef F1348
Rocky outcrop

Ferny Lee, Midgley MoorRef F309
A Mesolithic site

Fernyhough, GeorgeRef F584
[18??-19??]

In [Q4] 1924, he married Susannah Marsden in Halifax.


Susannah was the daughter of
Alec Marsden
 

They lived at Raw End Cottage, Luddendenfoot

Ferrand, Sarah Harriette LillaRef F1309
[1832-1908] Daughter of William Ferrand.

She left home as a minor and went to live first with her uncle Walker and then with her uncle Johnson. She was disinherited by her father.

On 6th June 1855, she married Edward Hailstone [1817-1890] in Keighley. The couple were separated by 1883.

Children:

  1. Etheldreda Lilla [b 1858]
  2. daughter who was stillborn [1861]
  3. Wilfred Edward [1864-1881]

Ferrand, ThomasRef F495
[16??-17??] Curate at Cross Stone [1702-1706]

Ferrand, WilliamRef F1052
See William Busfeild

Ferrar, Bishop RobertRef F25
[1502-1555] Protestant reformer and martyr.

He was (possibly) born at Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd.

As a young man, he became a canon regular of the order of St Augustine.

He was the last Abbot at the Priory of St Oswald at Nostell Priory, and surrendered the Priory at the Dissolution on 20th November 1540.

He became chaplain to Thomas Cranmer. He was appointed Bishop of St David's, Wales from 1548 until he was deprived of his bishopric in 1554. He then retired to Hawksworth Hall, near Otley.

He married Elizabeth Hawksworth [15??-1613].

In 1546, he leased a house at Revey from William Rookes, who subsequently built Revey Hall for Ferrar.

In return, Ferrar had to serve 2 days at harvest time to his landlord, and had to provide 2 capons every Christmas to Royds Hall.

On 30th March 1555 – in the reign of Mary Tudor – he was burned at the stake in the market place at Carmarthen for his

heresies, schisms and errors

in refusing to acknowledge the Pope.

A memorial to him by J. B. Leyland was erected in Halifax Parish Church in 1847. The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions and records his words on being chained to the stake

If I stir through the pains of my burning, believe not the doctrine I have preached

Ferret, JosephRef F504
[16??-16??] Curate at Heptonstall [1662]

Ferrett, JoshuaRef F638
[16??-16??] Local preacher. In 1662, he was ejected

Ferrett, MabelRef F224
[19??-2011] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle. Her published works include

  • The Angry Men [1965] – an historical novel
  • The Brontës in the Spen Valley [1978]
  • The Taylors of Red House [1987]
  • Kingfisher Days [1988] – a book of poetry written under the name of Mary Sheepshanks
  • Scathed Earth [1996] – a book of poems

She was buried at Saint Peter's, Hartshead

Ferris, Rev Godfrey RichardRef F1155
[18??-18??] Of Halifax.

In 1852, he married Emily Ann, daughter of Dr Mason Stanhope Kenny

Ferry Bridge Court ClubRef F777
A group which met at the Black Swan, Silver Street, Halifax [around 1830].

A custom of the club was that, if a member of the club disobeyed a rule, he was turned upside-down, and any coins which fell from his pockets were spent on drink

FesleiRef F26
... Werla
feslei ...
are almost certainly a single name
Werlafeslei, referring to the township of Warley. It is interesting to note that feslei is written without a capital letter, rather than Feslei, supporting the idea that the word is a continuation and not the name of a separate township.

Crabtree suggests that the name refers to Fixby

FeudsRef F103
See Edwards-Wainhouse Feud, Elland Feud, The 1599 dispute between Foxcroft & Farrer, Roebucks Feud, Savile-Pilkington-Stansfield Feuds and Wakefield-Pontefract Feud

Feugill, ArthurRef F178
[18??-19??]

He married (1) Alice Hindle [1886-1914].

Alice died at her mother's house in Sutcliffe Street, Pellon [4th March 1914] (aged 28).

Alice was buried at Christ Church, Pellon

In [Q4] 1917, he (possibly) married (2) Edith Dobney in Halifax

Feynman, RichardRef F49
[1918-1988] American theoretical physicist.

His third wife was Gweneth Howarth [1934-1989] from Ripponden.

Children:

  1. Carl [b 1962]
  2. Michelle

ffarebanke, EdmundRef F888
[14??-153?] In his will of 10th December 1533, he required


The said Edmund (his son, who was parish clerk of Heptonstall)  to pay yerely to new chapell in the
estfeld of Hiperom (Lightcliffe chapel), towards fyndyng of a prest ther for ever
 

fflemyng, ReynerRef F320

ffrench, Rev W. D.Ref F492
[18??-19??] Minister at Lightcliffe Congregational Church [1908].

In May 1915, he went to serve in Sunderland.

See ff

ffryear, JosephRef F231
[1670-1751] Of Quarmby.

He was an early member of the Fryer family of Rastrick.

He was a Quaker and a Passive Resister.

In 1701, he married (1) Esther Preston.


Esther was the daughter of Jonas Preston
 

Children:

  1. Mary [1702-1742]
  2. Sarah [b 1704] who married [1727] John Broadhead [b 1691]
  3. Joseph
  4. Hannah
  5. child
  6. child
  7. child

The family came to live in Rastrick. This was beginning of the Fryer family's presence in the district.

After the death of his wife in 1712, he became a passive resister, and from 1715 he served many spells in prison for non-payment of tithes.

Around 1715, he married (2) Mary Boothman.

Children:

  1. John [1716-1716]
  2. a daughter [b 1718] who married John Sutcliffe from Stansfield
  3. Esther [1721-1797] who [may have] emigrated to Pennsylvania around 1750

See ff

Fickling, FrederickRef F623
[1872-1916] Son of Emma & Frederick Fickling of 4 Club Lane, Mixenden, Halifax.

He married Catherine.

They lived at 58 Jacquelin Street, London, Ontario, Canada.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 142nd Battalion Canadian Infantry.

He died 8th February 1916 (aged 44).

He was buried at London (Mount Pleasant) Cemetery, Canada [Grave Ref BA G79]

Fiddle Wood Cottage, Mill BankRef F1209
Lower Mill Bank Road. Early 19th century cottage

Fiddle Woods, Mill BankRef F115
Aka Kebroyd Wood. Lumb Clough flows through the woods to Kebroyd Mills

The FiddlerRef F305
[18??-19??] A well-known character who frequented the Ring O' Bells, Rastrick, playing a violin and clog-dancing on the tables.

He lived at Brick Lane Kilns, Gooder Lane

Fiddlers' Bridge, TodmordenRef F360
Lydgate

Fiddling, KennethRef F239
[1???-] Todmorden-born county cricketer for Northamptonshire. He was a member of Todmorden Cricket Club

Fidler, John HenryRef F364
[1827-1872] He married Mary Jane Firth [1829-1898].

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Samuel Richard
  3. Mary Hannah [1852-1890] who married Thomas Hanson Pearson
  4. Elizabeth [1854-1934] who married Alfred Lee
  5. Ellen [1858-17th February 1905] who married Luke Goodyear
  6. James Henry [1859-1873]
  7. Annie [b 1868] who married Abraham Edward Hanson

Fidler, Samuel RichardRef F377
[1850-1898] Son of John Henry Fidler.

Born 11th February 1850.

He was a shoe & boot salesman [1874].

In [Q2] 1874, he married Mary Ann Smith [1850-1???] in Boston.


Mary Ann was born in Brough
 

Children:

  1. John Henry [1883-1900]

Samuel Richard died in Leeds [26th February 1898]

Fidler, ThomasRef F401
[1848-1922] Son of John Henry Fidler.

Born in Halifax.

He was a solicitor's clerk [1872].

On 10th September 1872, he married Alice Hawkyard in Halifax.


Alice was born in Elland, the daughter of Thomas Hawkyard
 

Children:

  1. Lilian [1873-1959] who married Charles Harold Firth
  2. Beatrice Malita [1877-1961] who never married
  3. Alice May [1879-1977] who never married
  4. James [1882-1947] who never married

The children were born in Huddersfield.

The couple died in Huddersfield: Thomas [1922]; Alice [1940]

Field...Ref F38
The entries for people & families with the surname Field are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Field Bottom Farm, Lower ShelfRef F1195

See Lower Field Bottom Farm, Shelf

Field Head Farm, BlackshawheadRef F323
New Road. Late 17th century house. It was altered around 1760

Field Head, IllingworthRef F597
/ Ovenden.

Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, LightcliffeRef F496
Lightcliffe Road.

In 1896, the property was for sale at auction


with stables, coach house, gardens &c, the whole comprising 4.816 yards
 

Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, Norwood GreenRef F393
Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, StansfieldRef F157
Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, WainstallsRef F707
Farm. It is now derelict

Field House, BrighouseRef F375
Upper Bonegate. Built in 1852.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1930s, it was converted into 3 separate units

Field House, EllandRef F448
Southgate. The house was used by doctors including George W. Holton and Dr Foster.

The building was converted into shops in 19??

Field House Farm, SouthowramRef F7920
Bank Top.

The Farm (10 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Bottomley Boothman [1817]
  • Thomas Lobley (aged 45) a farmer [1841]
  • Thomas Mallinson with his wife Maria & family [1851, 1861]
  • Henry Earnshaw a farmer & stone delver [1871]
  • William Beeton (aged 48) farmer of 15 acres with his wife Margaret (aged 44) [1881]
  • Thomas Henry Barber [1867]
  • A. James [1925]

Field House, HalifaxRef F74
Haugh Shaw Lane. Built by John Nicholl in the 1830s.

Subsequent owners and tenants of the house have included

In 2009, in attempt to save the building, Halifax Civic Trust tried to get the house listed but this failed and the house was demolished

Field House, IllingworthRef F910
School Lane

Field House, LightcliffeRef F679
Owners and tenants have included

Field House, MytholmroydRef F283
Owners and tenants have included

Field House, ShibdenRef F206
Staups Lane. Aka The Field, Horner House, Horner

The house is recorded in 1319 when it was owned by Richard the Horner.

In the 16th century it was owned by Robert Northende, John Northende, and John Hall.

The original house was demolished.

A datestone records 1713 and W / IM when the house was rebuilt.

The site was once occupied by the Knights Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

It is now a guest house.

See Manor of Batley

Field House, SowerbyRef F31
Upper Field House Lane / Dean Lane.

The present Palladian-style house was built for George Stansfeld in 1749.

See Field House, Surrey, Nether Field House, Sowerby, Sowerby Chapel, Timothy Stansfeld and The Breck, Triangle

Field House, WarleyRef F1153
Owners and tenants have included

Field Lane Co-Op, RastrickRef F6160
In the 1940s, a branch opened at Field Lane / Highfield Road.

This is still in operation

Field Lane housing estate, RastrickRef F591
Housing estate which opened in March 1969. This is one of the largest estates in Calderdale

The Field of Hope, RippondenRef F1186
Ripponden Old Bank. Grassy area formerly the site of Foresters' Hall.

In October 2008, the children of Ripponden Junior & Infants' School, in conjunction with Ripponden in Bloom and the Calderdale Marie Curie cancer nurses, planted the area with daffodils

Field PlaceRef F261
Sowerby.

See Field House

Fielden...Ref F29
The entries for people & families with the surname Fielden are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fielden & GreenwoodRef F654
Cotton spinners at Todmorden.

Partners included J. Fielden, S. Fielden and J. Greenwood.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1860

Fielden & GreenwoodRef F801
Cotton spinners at Todmorden. Partners included S. Fielden and J. Greenwood.

In 1864, he was declared bankrupt

Fielden & TravisRef F739
Partnership formed by John Fielden and John Travis when Fielden had built Clough Mill, Walsden in 1785. The partners' sons – Samuel Fielden and Joseph Travis – joined the firm.

In 1818, when Joseph Travis died, the Travis family left the partnership and the firm continued as Fielden's, with Samuel, John and William Fielden

Fielden BrothersRef F733
The Todmorden business established at Waterside by members of the Fielden family including Edward B. Fielden, John Fielden, Joshua Fielden and Samuel Fielden.

In 1959, they announced the closure of 2 cotton mills. Their plastics section was to be retained.

See James Cheetham, Abraham Fielden, Edward B. Fielden, Friths Mill, Walsden, John Helliwell, John Lord, Mankinholes Riots, Niagara and George Slater

Fielden BrothersRef F837
Engineers at Phoenix Works, Halifax [1874]

Fielden Centre, TodmordenRef F12
Ewood Lane. Originally the Fielden School of Art built by John Gibson. It is now a community and arts centre.

Fielden Children's Hospital, TodmordenRef F237
Opened in 18??.

Closed in 1986. The site was redeveloped in 1990

Fielden's: Edward Fielden & CompanyRef F806
Joiners, builders and undertakers at Carpet Street, Halifax [1905]

Fielden Engineers LimitedRef F757
A subsidiary of Marshall's (Halifax) Limited

Fielden's: Lord Fielden & Son LimitedRef F736
Cotton manufacturers established by Lord Fielden. They were at Salford Mill, Todmorden [1905]. His sons, Robert and Edward ran the business

Fielden's: G. Fielden & SonRef F809
Tailors and outfitters at 2 Corporation Street, Halifax [1905]

Fielden House, TodmordenRef F1217
Lee Bottom Road. Lee Bottom Cottage is attached

Fielden's: James Fielden & BrothersRef F744
Cotton manufacturers at Carr Mill, Todmorden [1877]

Fielden Joint Hospital, TodmordenRef F1356
A hospital for infectious diseases established by the Fielden family and other benefactors in Todmorden.

The buildings were erected in 1892 and 1905.

It has been converted into housing and is now known as Stoodley Grange

Fielden Memorial CommitteeRef F578
Built the statue of John Fielden in Todmorden.

On 16th April 1875, they held a concert in the Town Hall to defray the expense incurred in connection with the unveiling of the Statue. Over £60 was raised

Fielden's: Robert Fielden & SonsRef F735
Picker makers established by Robert Fielden at Inchfield Picker Works, Todmorden.

In 1877, they had business at Hole Bottom Mill, Todmorden and Birks Mill, Walsden.

The company continued into the 20th century and claimed to be the oldest picker-making firm in the world.

See Josiah Fielden, Robert Fielden and Thomas Fielden

Fielden's: S. & A. FieldenRef F734
Blacksmiths and wheelwrights at Todmorden [1905]

Fielden SocietyRef F798
A number of such societies were set up by John Fielden's brother and sons to defend the Ten Hours Act

Fielden Square, TodmordenRef F270
The area outside the Golden Lion was cleared for the erection of the statue of John Fielden which stood here from 1890 until 1939.

The Fielden Temperance Hotel & Coffee Tavern was here.

The Square is now a car park

Fielden StatueRef F88
The propriety of raising a monument to John Fielden was considered at a meeting at the White Hart on 30th June 1859 and again at Oddfellows' Hall on 1st August 1859.

A statue was commissioned in 1861 with the proceeds of a public subscription throughout Lancashire organised by the Fielden Memorial Committee.

Amongst those who subscribed were Henry Edwards [5 guineas], John Crossley & Sons [5 guineas], Edward Akroyd [5 guineas], and subscribers in Todmorden [£300].

The bronze statue – in recognition of his work for the Ten Hours Act – was designed by J. H. Foley RA in 1863, cast by Elkington & Company, and delivered in 1869.

The statue was unveiled by Lord John Manners.

It shows him standing with his left leg slightly forward, his right hand in the arm-hole of his waistcoat, and his left hand resting on a copy of the Ten Hours Bill which lies on a pedestal.

The statue stands on a granite plinth which is inscribed with the date of his birth

17th January 1784

on one face, and that of his death

29th May 1849

on another.

Initially, the statue was placed in storage until a suitable site could be found.

On 3rd April 1875, it was formally unveiled by the Duke of Rutland, Lord John Manners, at the opening of Todmorden Town Hall and stood outside the Hall.

In 1890, the statue was moved to what became Fielden Square.

In 1939, it was moved to Centre Vale Park

Fielden Terrace, TodmordenRef F213
Mid 19th-century vernacular revival houses

Fielden Wharf, TodmordenRef F1079
Aka Todmorden Service Station. The derelict wharf on the Rochdale Canal has been converted into a tourist attraction by volunteer group Todmorden Pride.

A restaurant next to the Golden Lion was demolished

The Fieldens, TodmordenRef F1001
The former Unitarian Day School, Todmorden has been converted into housing

Fielder, DawnRef F144
[1965-1969] On Thursday, 13th February 1969, the 3-year-old went missing from her home in Russell Street, Todmorden. In freezing weather, the search was called off at dusk. On 5th March, police frogmen discovered her body in the Rochdale Canal, 200 yards from her home. Foul play was not suspected

Fielder, FredRef F246
[18??-1915] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 7th June 1915.

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Gallipoli [Grave Ref 58-72 & 218-219], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Fielder, JohnRef F659
[1828-1???] Born in Snodland, Kent.

He was a labourer [1871].

He married Catherine [1823-1???].


Catherine was born in Westminster, London
 

They lived at 20 New Road, Halifax [1871].

Living with them [in 1871] were Emma Hoye & her illegitimate son Alfred. Emma later married Thomas Cookson Bent

Fieldhouse BrothersRef F273
Frank, Harry and Tom, sons of Eli Fieldhouse, were nursery men, trading as Fieldhouse Brothers, in Halifax and Liversedge.

In January 1892, the local newspapers reported that


Frank Fieldhouse of Seaford House, Stafford Road, Halifax, Harry Fieldhouse of Garden House, Liversedge, & Tom Fieldhouse of the Turkish Baths, Gibbet Street, Halifax, nurserymen trading as Fieldhouse Brothers, Seaford House & New Market, Halifax, and Garden House, Liversedge, had filed for bankruptcy
 

Fieldhouse, EliRef F272
[1838-1913] Son of John Fieldhouse, gardener.

Born in Bradford.

He was a gardener [1871] / a gardener (domestic) [1881, 1891].

Monica Higgins, his gt-gt-gt-granddaughter, writes:


Eli was a gardener, possibly working for
Giulio Marchetti, as well as others.

He appears in many local newspapers as gardener at Manor Heath, gardener to John Hall, Moor Royd, & gardener, Broomfield, and won awards for his plants, vegetables & fruits, and is listed as a judge in gardening/agricultural shows.

His father was also a gardener, and Eli subsequently had a line of sons, grandsons and great-grandsons skilled at gardening.

Three of his sons, Frank, Harry and Tom, were at one time nursery men, and were trading as Fieldhouse Bros in Halifax and Liversedge.

Harry went onto work as a technical gardening trainer and bandmaster at the Standon Farm Technical School in Stafford [later called Standon Farm Approved School], and his son William Joseph took up the position after he retired. William's son, 21 year-old William Peter Fieldhouse, known as Peter, was working as his father's assistant at the school in 1947. A group of students hatched a plot to shoot the rather authoritarian headmaster, but Peter, came into the room as the boys were preparing the guns. They panicked, and shot Peter in the leg and then abdomen. He died of his wounds 30 minutes later

 

On 3rd September 1858, he married Hannah Boocock [1838-1???] at St Peter's Church, Bradford (Bradford Cathedral).


Hannah was born in Shelf
 

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1860]
  2. Frank [b 1862] who was a gardener (domestic) [1881]
  3. Mary Jane [1865-1935]
  4. (possibly) Elizabeth [b 1865]
  5. Harry [b 1866] who was a pupil-teacher [1911]
  6. Thomas / Tom [b 1869]
  7. Herbert [1871] who died in infancy
  8. Edgar [b 1872]
  9. Florence [b 1875]
  10. Annie [b 1878]
  11. John William [b 1880]
  12. Amy [b 1883]

The family lived at

  • Moor Royd Lodge, Skircoat [1871]
  • 1 Broomfield Avenue, Skircoat [1881]
  • 18 Moorlands View, Skircoat [1891]

Fieldhouse, WilfredRef F83
[1887-1915] Of 6 Pollard Street, Rastrick.

He was a labourer at the Prince of Wales Mills of Thomas Ormerod & Company.

On 22nd September 1915, he and Ernest Preston Webster were dropping bales of silk from the second storey of the mill, through a trapdoor, to the basement. Having dropped 2 bales, Fieldhouse went downstairs to check that they were being loaded on to the waggon. Webster called out before dropping another bale, and getting no reply, assumed that all was clear. On going downstairs, Webster found Fieldhouse lying on one of the bales, having been knocked down by the third bale. He was taken to the Infirmary, his spine being severely injured.

He died 26th September 1915 (aged 28).

At the Inquest, the Jury returned a verdict of Accidental Death, adding that the firm should have had someone in the basement as the bales were being dropped

Fielding...Ref F294
The entries for people & families with the surname Fielding are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fielding & BottomleyRef F786
Joiners, coach and motor body builders at South Parade, Halifax.

Established in 1879 by John Fielding and John Heap Bottomley.

Recorded in 1911, when they were still at South Parade Joinery Works.

In 19??, they took over the Hipperholme business established by Thomas J. Constantine

An advertisement for the business in July 1923 announced


THE MODERN GIRL thinks she's a live-wire – well, we'll agree that some are shocking
If you do want really live-wires in your business you can't do better than have Fielding & Bottomley provide your fixtures & fittings. They can equip your shop with the most efficient, modern, time saving fittings and at the same time making the most of your floor space.
You can save money by consulting us

FIELDING & BOTTOMLEY
The Modern Shopfitters,
SOUTH PARADE, HALIFAX.
Phone 1634

 

An advertisement for the business in August 1923 announced


A man is sometimes judged by the cigars he gives and likewise by the chair you sit on to smoke it and the general layout of the office, shop or showroom, each item of which is subconsciously appraised as you sit there smoking. WELL, if Fielding & Bottomley have modified and fitted up your place you go up 100 per cent every time you give a cigar away.
Anyhow, if you've a moment to spare let's have a chat about your job.

FIELDING & BOTTOMLEY,
The Modern Shopfitters,
SOUTH PARADE, HALIFAX.
Phone 1634

 

Fielding, Ball & CompanyRef F756
Dyewood grinders, drysalters and manufacturing chemists at Mearclough Mills, Sowerby Bridge. The business was established by James Fielding around 1840.

See Percy Fielding Ball

Fielding's: Benjamin Fielding & SonsRef F737
Woollen manufacturers and silk spinners established by Benjamin Fielding at Woodfield Mill, Greetland

Fielding's: Daniel Fielding & SonsRef F785
Halifax brewery established by Daniel Fielding at White Castle Brewery, Bradshaw Lane, Halifax. Opened in 1???.

They had around 20 pubs in the area, including

The business was bought out by Samuel Webster in 1961.

Closed in 19??

Fielding's: Eli Fielding & Company LimitedRef F800
Cotton spinners and doublers at Salem Mills, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Fielding, Jackson & CompanyRef F772
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Clough Mill, Walsden established by Samuel Fielding and Samuel Jackson. The partnership was dissolved in May 1872

Fields Farm, NorlandRef F91
Built in 1616. Demolished in 1???

A lintel from the house – dated I/MB/M 1616/H for Isabel and Michael Barrow – was reused at Fallingworth Hall, Norland

Fields, SydneyRef F832
[1924-1944] Son of Annie & William Robert Fields of Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 27th July 1944 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Rangoon Memorial, Burma [Grave Ref 7]

Fiennes, CeliaRef F131
[1662-1741] Sister of Viscount Saye & Sele. She was a traveller and diarist who travelled widely between 1680 and 1712, and wrote
Through England on a Side Saddle in the time of William and Mary

in 1695. She wrote that she was discouraged from visiting Halifax because the local roads were:

difficult and stony

and she described the road over Blackstone Edge as:

noted all over England as a dismal high precipice, steep in the ascent and descent on either end; its very moorish ground all about and even just at the top, though so high that you travel on a Causey which is very troublesome as its a moist ground so as it usual on these high hills; they stagnate the air and hold mist and rains almost perpetually

She noted that

it took 11 hours to travel 25 miles

Fifty Shilling TailorsRef F916
Aka Prices Tailors Limited. A chain of menswear shops established by Sir Henry Price [1877-1963]. The business began in Leeds in 1907. In its heyday, there were 399 Fifty Shilling Tailors stores.

Recorded in 1936 at 2-4 Commercial Street, Halifax.

They became a part of United Drapery [1953], John Collier [1958] and were a part of the Burton Group [1985]

Fillingham, JosephRef F98
[1828-1903] Born in Brighouse.

He established a butcher's business in Brighouse [1848]. The business was originally at Lane Head; he later moved to premises in Bethel Street.

In 1851, he married Ann Henthorn [1832-1893] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. James William [1857-1858] who died aged 14 months
  2. Clara [1870-1873]
  3. Emma who married Samuel Bottomley
  4. Sam

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

On his death, his son, Sam, carried on the business

Fillingham, Joseph HaroldRef F827
[1897-1918] Son of Sam Fillingham.

Born in Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 2nd September 1918.

He was buried at Vaulx Hill Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II C 6].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Brighouse Parish Church

Fillingham, SamRef F823
[1862-1919] Son of Joseph Fillingham.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a butcher.

After his father's death [1903], Sam carried on the family butchery business.

In 1894, he married Annie Inman [1869-1952] in Halifax.


Annie was born in Brighouse
 

Children:

  1. Joseph Harold

The family lived at 26 Bethel Street, Brighouse [1911]

FilmsRef F109

Finch, ElizabethRef F329
[16??-16??] Daughter of Joseph Finch, a merchant from Kent,

She married Thomas Ramsden or Joseph Ramsden

Finch, ThomasRef F317
[1???-18??] Son of William Finch.

In 1824, he carried on the family clockmaking business at a shop in Northgate

Finch, ThomasRef F6590
[17??-18??] He was an attorney and a commissioner for special bail at Northgate, Halifax [1822]

Finch, ThomasRef F8480
[17??-18??] He was a chemist & druggist at Northgate, Halifax [1822]

Finch, WilliamRef F236
[1720-1781] Halifax watchmaker and clockmaker. He lived in Southgate.

He married (1) Mary [1703-1762].

Children:

  1. Mary [1744-1777]
  2. child
  3. child

He married (2) Grace [1720-1804].

The business was carried on by his son, Thomas.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

See Sod House Green

Fingland, JohnRef F1308
[18??-1???] He was Manager of Todmorden Gas Works [1869].

In 1869, he moved to Sowerby Bridge Gas Works.

The following extracts from the minutes of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board show his chequered record there

  • 6th October 1869: Chairman of Gas Works Committee had been in communication with Mr Fingland, the present manager of the Todmorden Gas Works
  • 1st December 1869: Agreed by the Committee that Mr Fingland be engaged for 3 years subject to 3 months notice at a salary of £300 subject to him giving money security to the amount of £600
  • 29th December 1869: Confirmation of appointment of Mr Fingland
  • 26th January 1870: Mr Fingland has lodged the sum of £600 with the Treasurer on which he is to receive 5% interest
  • 21st August 1870: Mr Fingland in dispute about re-engaging a former Works manager to discover leakages
  • 21st September 1870: Mr Fingland's services to cease. He refused to give up his keys etc. Committee has determined to put fresh locks on the office doors
  • 2nd November 1870: Mr John Husband now appointed as Gas Works Manager

Fink Hill, BrighouseRef F348
A 19th century name for the area around Finkil Street, Brighouse

Finkhill, BrighouseRef F2
Area of Hove Edge around the junction of Halifax Road and Finkil Street.

See Brighouse Rangers and Nab End, Hove Edge

Finkle Street Reservoir, LuddendenfootRef F938
In 1865, the Whitworths built the dam to supply water to the Wood Bottom Dye Works.

The dam was owned by the railway company and – together with Brampton Dam and another near Boulderclough – supplied the water troughs on the adjacent railway line

Finlayson, Dr DuncanRef F822
[1872-19??] MD, CH.

Born in Scotland.

He was educated at Aberdeen / surgeon to the Anchor Line / physician and surgeon in Halifax [1901, 1911].

Around 1896, he married Gwenllian Thomas [1877-19??].


Gwenllian was born in Glamorgan
 

Children:

  1. Ronald Edward McLennan
  2. Roderick M. D. [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • 53 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 49 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905]
  • 13 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] was sister-in-law Rhoda Thomas [b 1879]

Finlayson, RonaldRef F572
[18??-191?] The Baldwin & Walker Roll of Honour records the name & regiment of this man


He was employed by Baldwin & Walker Limited.

During World War I, he served with the West Riding Regiment.

He (possibly) died in the conflict

 

but no evidence can be found for his military career.

There are records for a Private R. Finlayson (Service No. 2313) who served with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [1915], but no records for a death on the CWGC list

Finlayson, Ronald Edward MclennanRef F359
[1897-1941] Son of Dr Duncan Finlayson.

Born in Halifax [21st October 1897].

Baptised 21st November 1897.

During World War I, he was called up as a Lieutenant [30th August 1918] in the New Armies (38th Dogras) and was a Captain in the Indian Army [1921].

The WW1 Medal Rolls show him as Captain in the 38th Dogras

In [Q3] 1930, he married Winifred Lilly in Hampstead, London.


Winifred Lilly [née Tee] was born in Barnet [30th January 1897], & was the widow of Jack A. Pringle whom she had married in Barnet [Q1 1917]
 

After the marriage, he appears to leave the Army and was living in London.

He subsequently rejoined the RIASC : Royal Indian Army Service Corps as a Major, and Winifred moved to the south coast.

They lived at

  • 506 White House, Albany Street, St Pancras, Camden [1936]
  • Summerlee, Alexandra Road, Lancing, Sussex [1939]

Ronald died in India [15th October 1941].

He was buried at Karachi War Cemetery, Pakistan [Grave Ref 3 A 6]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,711 13/-.

Probate was granted to his widow Winifred Lily.

Winifred Lily died in the Madeira Nursing Home, Worthing [3rd February 1978] (aged 81). Probate records show that she left effects valued at £11,067

Finlinson, Ernest ArthurRef F347
[1869-1957] Son of Joseph Henry Scott Finlinson.

He became a banker with Lloyds Bank and the Halifax Branch of the West Yorkshire Bank.

He married Maud.

See Samuel Watkinson

Finlinson, Joseph Henry ScottRef F249
[1845-1918] He was born in Leeds [23rd October 1845].

On 16th November 1868, he married (1) Emma Bradley in Huddersfield.

Children:

  1. Ernest Arthur
  2. Mabel Constance [1872-19??] who married [1894] Henry Collins from St Bees

His wife, Emma, died in 1893.

On 27th September 1894, he married (2) Florence Sutcliffe at Harrogate.

Children:

  1. Harold [b 1895]
  2. Leslie Baldwin [b 1899]

He was General Manager of the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company from 1884 until his resignation on 30th June 1897. It is said that he was in financial difficulties due to his wife's wild extravagances.

When the bank left Royds' House in 1898, he bought the building and renamed it Somerset House because he had business interests in Somerset.

The family lived at

He lived in Somerset from around 1899 until 1902.

Shortly afterwards, he and his wife parted company, and he went to live with his daughter, Mabel Constance, at Marylebone, London, where he died on 7th September 1918.

See Lloyds Bank, Halifax

Finn Gledhill & CompanyRef F1183
Halifax solicitors.

They absorbed the business of many local solicitors and firms, including

In 1965, the firm bought Number 2 Harrison Road.

When Number 2 became too small in the late 1960s, the firm bought Number 1 Harrison Road from Pickles the Architect.

They acquired Number 3 Harrison Road when they amalgamated with Horsley, Bairstow & Helliwell.

They acquired Number 4 Harrison Road the early 1980s.

The name changed to Finn Gledhill in 1996

Finn, Hugh Wilfrid WalterRef F1185
[1930-1???] Born in Preston.

He was a solicitor in Halifax, a partner in Finn Gledhill & Company, and a solicitor & notary public [1963].

In [Q1] 1954, he married Marie Hardman in Amounderness, Lancashire.

See Robert Wills Asquith

Finn, Rev J.Ref F818
[18??-18??] Pastor at Wellington Road Baptist Church, Todmorden [May 1861-1869].

He lived at Willow Bank.

See Nowell Memorial

Finney BrothersRef F774
Milne Holme Farm. Poultry producers of Eastwood. Established in 1920.

Closed down in 1970, following widespread foul pest in the district.

See Jack Lund Finney

Finney Farm, Hipperholme-cum-BrighouseRef F963
Or Finny Farm. Adjoining Sutcliffe Wood.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Joseph Wormald [1847, 1866]

Finney, Geoffrey LundRef F567
[1925-1???] Son of Jack Lund Finney.

Born in Todmorden [7th April 1925].

During World War II, he served with the Merchant Navy.

He died in Rugby in 1992

Finney, Jack LundRef F566
[1898-1986] He was a poultry breeder – see Finney Brothers.

On 17th November 1921, he married Doris Clegg [1900-1948] at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.


Doris was born in Milnrow
 

Children:

  1. Jack Vernon
  2. Geoffrey Lund

The family lived at 2 Horsfall Villas, Halifax Road, Todmorden [1948]

Finney, Jack VernonRef F421
[1922-1944] Son of Jack Lund Finney.

Born in Todmorden.

In [Q2] 1944, he married Joyce Mary Barlow [1922-2002].


Joyce Mary was born in Todmorden
 

They had no children.

They lived at 58 Castle Lane, Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant (wireless operator)  with the 102nd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was killed in action in Germany [13th August 1944].

He was buried at Rheinberg War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 8 E 7-11].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

Jack left £398 5/9d to Joyce in his will

Finnigan, JohnRef F493
[18??-1918] Born in Selby.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died 29th March 1918.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Luddendenfoot Working Men's Club.

His brother Thomas Finnigan also died in the War

Finnigan, ThomasRef F485
[1890-1918] Born in Selby.

He was a member of St Walburga's Catholic Church, Luddendenfoot / employed at Fairlea Mills, Luddendenfoot.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child

They lived at 42 Milner Royd, Luddendenfoot.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was mentioned in Dispatches.

He died 28th March 1918 (aged 28).

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Luddendenfoot Working Men's Club.

His brother John Finnigan also died in the War

Finnigan, WilliamRef F726
[1885-1914] Son of Margaret & James Finnigan of Liverpool.

In [Q2] 1907, he married Emily McDonald in Halifax.

Children:

  1. unknown

They lived at 11 Milner Royd, Luddendenfoot.

He had 12 years' active service and 5 years in the reserve.

During World War I, he was called-up to Devonport [August 1914], and served as an Able Seaman (Rfr/Ch/B/5192)  with the Royal Navy aboard the cruiser HMS Hogue

He died 22nd September 1914 (aged 29)  when his ship was torpedoed by German Submarine U-9, and sank with the loss of 48 men.

He is remembered on the Chatham Naval Memorial, Kent [Grave Ref 2], on Luddendenfoot War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Luddendenfoot Working Men's Club

Finucane, Brendan Eamon Fergus (Paddy)Ref F257
[1920-1942] Successful RAF pilot in World War II. On 3rd May 1941, he was flying with an Australian 452 Squadron, commanded by Roy Dutton. As they flew in formation over Brighouse, Finucane in his Spitfire got too close to Dutton's aircraft and his propellor chopped off Dutton's tail unit. Dutton's plane came down at 180 mph in open country near Halifax and smashed through a brick wall. Finucane and the rest of squadron circled the wreckage but saw no sign of life, and led the squadron back to Kirton-in-Lindsay, Lincolnshire. Dutton survived and was taken to the Royal Halifax Infirmary, where he was treated for his injuries: cracked ribs, a back injury and an eyebrow that had to be stitched back on

Fir Grove, GreetlandRef F878
Aka Krumlin Hall Estate, Greetland

Fire StationsRef F877
Fire stations in the district include Badger Hill Mills, Rastrick, Boothtown Fire Station, Brighouse Fire Station, Dean Clough fire station, Elland Fire Station, Greetland Fire Station, Halifax Fire Station, Hebden Bridge Fire Station, Illingworth Fire Station, Mytholmroyd Fire Station, Rastrick Fire Station, Rosemary Mills Fire Brigade, Sowerby Bridge Fire Station, Todmorden Fire Station and Victoria Mills Fire Brigade

Fireclays (Elland) LimitedRef F189
They were at Ashday Park Stone Quarries, Southowram [1945-1956]

FiresRef F40

Firth...Ref F48
The entries for people & families with the surname Firth are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Firth & BarrittRef F696
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden.

Partners included J. Firth and J. Barritt.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1864

Firth & BowlesRef F559
Clog manufacturers at Todmorden.

Partners included W. Firth and L. Bowles.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1867

Firth & CheethamRef F928
Cotton spinners at Soyland Mill.

Partners included John Firth and Harry Cheetham.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1810

Firth & HowarthRef F760
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Causeway Mill and Oldroyd Mill, Langfield [1840s]. From 1837, Joseph Firth and William Howarth of Firth, Howarth & Firth traded as Firth & Howarth.

About 1841, the partners built 2 villas at North View, Todmorden and houses in Lower George Street, Todmorden.

Recorded in 1861 at Albion Place, North Street, Todmorden

Firth & MarsdenRef F787
Wheelwrights and waggon builders at New Delight, Boothtown [1905]

Firth & ParkinsonRef F789
Cotton spinners at Bankfoot Upper Mill, Hebden Bridge [18??]

Firth & RileyRef F936
Worsted manufacturers at Ovenden.

Partners included Isaac Firth and Joseph Riley.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1839

Firth & SonsRef F101
Halifax builders.

Their work included

Firth Brothers LimitedRef F758
Brewers with business at Albert Brewery, Halifax [1893-1896].

In 1905, they are recorded as wine and spirit merchants at 4 Burnley Road, Halifax

Firth's Carpets, Bailiff BridgeRef F447

Firth's Carpets mill damRef F316
The mill dam for the Victoria Mill of Firth's Carpets was situated at the end of Victoria Road, Bailiff Bridge. An annual swimming gala was held here. The company's fishing club also used the dam

Firth fountain, Bailiff BridgeRef F274
On 31st July 1911, Lady Janet, wife of Sir Algernon Firth, gave a drinking fountain to the community. It was about 15ft tall and surmounted by a lantern.

She also left £100 to Hipperholme Council for the future maintenance of the fountain. It stood immediately in front of the Punch Bowl at Bailiff Bridge. In 1962, it was removed, because it was a hazard to traffic, and dumped on the council depot at Norwood Green

Firth House, BarkislandRef F542
Owners and tenants have included

See Howroyd Hall, Barkisland

Firth House, RastrickRef F315
Firth House Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Firth, Howarth & FirthRef F761
Partnership formed in 1826 by John Firth, William Howarth and Joseph Firth. All 3 men originally worked in the Fieldens' mills.

In 1813, they moved to a small mill which they rebuilt in 1826 as Causeywood Mill. In 1833, they occupied Folly Mill, Langfield and employed 54 workers. In 1835, they built Albion Mill, Todmorden.

From 1837, Joseph Firth and William Howarth traded as Firth & Howarth

Firth's: Isaac, John & Samuel FirthRef F768
Isaac, John, and Samuel Firth. The family lived at Little Moor, Ovenden.

They had a small factory near their home before moving to Lilly Lane Mill, Halifax.

In 1849, the partnership was dissolved. Isaac took over the old mill, John took over the new mill, and Samuel took over the centre mill which was built over the engine and boiler house. Samuel supplied power to the other 2 mills on an agreed basis.

On 29th November 1850, many of their employees were killed or injured when a boiler exploded – see Explosion at Lilly Lane Mill.

On 20th March 1868, Samuel and his son John, were charged with fraudulently using in their mill 50,000 cubic feet of gas, the property of Halifax Corporation.

At the trial, evidence showed that for 10 or 11 years, 3 meters and 80 lights in the mill and the workshops obtained the supply through a pipe which had been soldered to the gas main many years ago.

The Firths claimed that they had simply carried on using a system which they found in operation when they entered into possession of the mill.

The case against Samuel was withdrawn, but John was ordered to pay the penalty of £5 plus £2 per day since the information was laid, the total penalty being £345.

At the West Riding Sessions on 6th April 1869, John was sentenced to 6 months' imprisonment with hard labour for the offence.

Firth's: J. Firth & BrothersRef F1293
Cotton spinners at Holywell Brook, Stainland.

Recorded on 10th December 1860 when fire broke out at their mill

Firth's: Samuel Firth & SonsRef F838
Brass founders and finishers at Perseverance Works, Halifax [1874]

Firth's: T. F. Firth & CompanyRef F766
Carpet manufacturer of Bailiff Bridge. Originally Firth Willans's, the company took the name T. F. Firth & Company in October 1875.

In 1889, it became a limited company, T. F. Firth & Sons Limited.

See Birkby Moor, Brighouse War Memorial, Firth's War Memorial, Firth's Carpets mill dam, May Hartley, Lightcliffe House, William Lochhead, Charles Henry Payne and Joseph Waddington

Firth, Willans & Company LimitedRef F773
Carpet manufacturer with partners T. F. Firth and John Wrigley Willans. They were originally in Heckmondwike.

In 1867, they bought a mill in Bailiff Bridge at auction.

The company became T. F. Firth & Company after 1875 when Wrigley Willans left the partnership

Fischer (F.A.G.) Bearings CompanyRef F873
Makers of ball bearings at 3 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1937]

Fisden, MrRef F523
[16??-16??] Vicar of Coley after Oliver Heywood had been ejected [1664]

Fish Market, HalifaxRef F45
It was originally in the Albany Arcade area of Halifax Borough Market. This had 16 lockup shops inside the market, and 6 outside. It was moved outside to Albion Street around 1905.

Owners and tenants included

  • 5 Arnold Haigh & Son [1936]
  • 7 Percy Crabtree [1936]
  • 9 George W. Abbott [1936]
  • 11 Albert Whiteley [1936]
  • 13 Whiteley & Cockroft [1936]
  • 15 Arthur Worsman [1936]
  • 17 J. H. Jagger [1936]

More recently, some of the shops have been taken over by other businesses

Fish, MrRef F885
[17??-1???] He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1757]

Fisher...Ref F16
The entries for people & families with the surname Fisher are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

The Fisher-Robertson familyRef F460
They lived at Slead Hall, Brighouse. They began stone-quarrying on the estate. This continued until 1908

Fisher-Smith, Emerson LymanRef F995
[1894-1973] Son of George Henry Smith.

He was educated at Tonbridge School.

In 1923, he married (1) Ruth Ambler at Baildon.

Children:

  1. John [b 1926]
  2. Pat [b 1929] who moved to the USA in 1938 & married Louis Welsh, the grandson of architect Frank Lloyd-Wright

The family lived at Halifax, where the children were born.

In the crash of 1929, they lost their house in Halifax. Around 1930, they moved to Hoyle Court, Baildon.

Later, they moved to Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, where he built a house, Chess Cottage.

He was in business with a film studio. Successful films included Tiger Bay with Anna May Wong [1934], Men of Steel, and Ali Baba & the 40 Thieves, and there were 4 failures.

His business partners absconded to France with the company's funds. Ruth divorced him & married a photographer.

He moved to the USA.

In 1940, he married (2) Margo Maggie Gould. The couple lived in California, then in England, and travelled.

He played minor – often uncredited – rôles in several films, including the part of a policeman in Mrs Miniver [1942].

The couple returned to England, and then travelled.

He died in Malta. Maggie returned to California where she died

Fisher-Smith, Sir George HenryRef F327

Fisherman's Hut Falls, Hebden BridgeRef F1184
Waterfall on the Hebden Water at Hardcastle Crags.

See Fisherman's Hut, Hebden Bridge

Fisherman's Hut, Hebden BridgeRef F210
On the Hebden Water at Hardcastle Crags.

See Fisherman's Hut Falls, Hebden Bridge

Fishers' Drapery Establishment, HalifaxRef F381
Draper's.

Recorded around 1914, when they were in Southgate, Halifax.


Question: Does anyone know whether this was anything to do with Robert Edward Fisher?

 

Fishwick, ArthurRef F73
[1870-1935] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was manager of Co-operative Society stores in Triangle [1890-1904] / West Vale [1904-1907] / Sowerby Bridge [1907].

In [Q3] 1891, he married Sarah Hannah Higginbottom [1869-19??] from Mossley, Lancashire, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. John Fearnley [b 1899]
  2. Maurice Brinton [b 1902]
  3. Dorothy Kathleen [b 1905]
  4. George Alma [b 1907]

The family lived at 16 Myrtle Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Fishwick, CouncillorRef F75
[18??-1???] Member of Sowerby Bridge UDC

Fitton & BroadbentRef F1147
Botanical brewers at New Pellon, Halifax

Fitton, EdwardRef F9050
[18??-19??] Stationmaster at Brighouse Railway Station [1911]

Fitton's: R. N. FittonRef F8620
Radio & TV manufacturers at their Radio Works, Hutchinson Lane, Brighouse.

See Ambassador Radio & Television

Fitton, RobertRef F52
[1860-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a machine maker [1881] / a mechanic (turner) [1891] / a machine tool maker turner [1901] / an iron turner for machine tool maker [1911].

In [Q1] 1881, he married Mary Eliza Asquith [1860-19??] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax, the daughter of
Thomas Asquith
 

Children:

  1. Albert [b 1884] who was a cotton piecer [1901], a marine storer & dealer [marine store] (own account) [1911]
  2. Ethel [b 1886] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  3. James William [b 1888] who was a baker's errand boy [1901]
  4. Lily Jane [b 1890] who was a cotton weaver [1911]
  5. Blanche [b 1891] who was a worsted twister [1911]
  6. Clarence [b 1894] who was an assistant pawnbroker & jeweller's apprentice [1911]
  7. Tom Harry

The family lived at

  • 10 Dale Street, Halifax (with Mary Eliza's family) [1881]
  • 28 Miall Street, Halifax [1891, 1901]
  • 16 Oak Terrace, Halifax [1911]

Fitton, Thomas HenryRef F380
[1851-1879] Born in Pontefract.

In [Q4] 1875, he married Sarah Birkhead in Halifax.


Sarah was the daughter of
John Birkhead
 

Children:

  1. Annie Elizabeth [b 1877] who was a milliner's assistant [1891]
  2. Henrietta [b Q4 1879]

Thomas Henry died Q3 1879 (aged 27).

In 1881 & 1891, Sarah & her daughters were living with her parents

Fitton, Tom HarryRef F248
[1896-1918] Son of Robert Fitton.

Born in Halifax.

He was a grocer's assistant [1911] / employed by Gibbet Street Economic Stores.

He lived with his parents at 16 Oak Terrace, Hanson Lane, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1915], and served as a Private with the 11th Battalion with the Welsh Regiment.

He was drafted to Salonika [June 1916].

He was killed in action in Salonika [18th September 1918] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [2nd November & 9th November 1918].

He was buried at Doiran Military Cemetery, Greece [Grave Ref III F 24].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fitton, Whiteley EliRef F488
[1851-1924] Born in Soyland.

He was a wool warehouseman [1871].

In 1871, he married Lavinia Hollas.


Lavinia was the daughter of
James Hollas
 

Children:

  1. John William [b 1872]
  2. Ruth Hannah [1876-1959] who married Sam Hanson
  3. Lillian [1888-1955] who never married

Fitz-Eustace, JohnRef F531
[11??-1190] Son of Albreda de Lizours and Richard Fitz-Eustace.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Roger

He became Constable of Chester.

This branch of the family moved to other parts of the country

Fitz-Patrick, Rev FennellRef F655
[18??-19??] MA.

From Barbados.

He matriculated as a Non-Collegiate student at Oxford in 1895. He gained 3rd class honours in Classical Moderations in 1897, by which time he had become a member of Hertford College, and 4th class honours in Theology in 1899. The degree of BA was conferred on him in 1899, and that of MA, which required no further study or residence, in 1902.

He served as curate at King's Lynn [1900], curate-in-charge of Gislingham [1902-1905], and Eye, Suffolk [1905-1906], rector of Southwood [1906-1910], temporary chaplain to the Forces [1915-1919], vicar of Great Finborough [1910-1928], vicar at St Margaret's, Burnley [1928-1936], and Buckland Newton, Dorset [1936-1958], and in Surrey [1931-1958].

On 10th August 1918, he married Elsie Mabel, daughter of Samuel Marshall, at St Anne's in the Grove, Southowram.

In 1965, he was living in Penarth

Fitzpatrick, JohnRef F251
[1885-1915] He was a labourer with William Horsfall & Company / a reservist.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child

The family lived at 17 Duke Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died following a German gas attack at Hill 60 [5th May 1915] (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Fitzpatrick, MichaelRef F252
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fitzsimmons, JohnRef F253
[1875-1915] His sister Mrs C. Sutcliffe lived at 32 Ann Street, Winding Road, Halifax.

He was a blacksmith for Mitton's of Ann Street, Halifax / a reservist.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.

He was killed in action [15th January 1915] (aged 40).

He was buried at Lancashire Cottage Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I D 8].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Fitzwilliam, CharlesRef F338
[18??-19??] Son of Earl Fitzwilliam of Wentworth Woodhouse.

In 1882, he married Constance Brocklehurst

Five Lane Ends, BrighouseRef F1135
Popular name for the junction of Bethel Street, Bradford Road, Huddersfield Road, Police Street / Lawson Road, and Mill Lane.

See Royal, Brighouse

FixbyRef F511

Fixby Board of GuardiansRef F506
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Fixby township have included

Fixby CrematoriumRef F1050
Opened on 14th April 1958. Serves Huddersfield and the Kirklees district.

See Park Wood Crematorium

Fixby Golf ClubRef F992

Fixby HallRef F93
Built in the 16th century, this was the home of the Thornhill family. Owners and tenants have included

It is said that a special road was built so that those living at the hall could worship at Elland Church.

The hall is now a part of a golf club.

See George Crowther, Fixby, Manor of Fixby, Northend Nicholl Hamerton, Richard Oastler and Shepherd House, Fixby

Fixby Hall, Fixby ParkRef F265
New Hey Road.

The late 18th century park gates and a pair of lodges are listed.

Owners and tenants have included

Fixby, Manor ofRef F482
After the Norman Conquest, the Manor of Fixby was granted to the Earls of Warren. In turn, they granted a part to Sampson of Wriglesford and his heirs. It subsequently passed to William de Bellomonte [or Beaumont], the Toothill family, and the Thornhill family

Fixby ReservoirRef F712
Recorded in 1940.

It was filled in in 19??

Fixby Surveyor of the HighwaysRef F6080
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Fixby included:

Flack, Rt Rev John RobertRef F1
[1942-] He was vicar of Chapelthorpe [1972-1981] before becoming Vicar of St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1981-1985], Vicar of Brighouse [1984], Rural Dean of Elland, and Archdeacon of Pontefract.

He later became Bishop of Huntingdon and the Church of England's envoy to the Vatican

FlagsRef F117
Stone slabs used for paving. They were also used for flooring in stables and in domestic settings such as cellars and kitchens.

After quarrying, the stone was finished and the final product was known by names such as

  • Best riven
  • Knotted faced
  • Punched faced
  • Rubbed faced
  • Sawn faced
  • Self faced
  • Tooled faced

See Crackin' t'flags, Elland flags, Flag Facer, Halifax Tool Company Limited, Perfecta, Sandstone, Stone Dresser and Vaccary walls

Flaherty, JohnRef F254
[1881-1915] He lived at 6 Tidswell Terrace, Commercial Road, Halifax.

He was a regular soldier with 16 years' service.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.

He died 12th March 1915 (aged 34).

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 18], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother James was a POW

Flaherty, JohnRef F247
[1890-1917]

In [Q4] 1911, he married Ellen Wilcock in Burnley.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 28th February 1917 (aged 27).

He is (possibly) remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France, and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Flaight HillRef F258
Hebden Bridge. In the 1990s, there was a successful campaign against the construction of a wind farm. A £20 million plan to erect 44 turbines, up to 203ft tall, at Flaight Hill overlooking Hebden Bridge resulted in a two-year battle, with opponents which included Cliff Richard, Alan Ayckbourn, Melvyn Bragg, Tom Stoppard, Emma Thompson and Sir Bernard Ingham. In 1996, National Wind Power dropped the proposal

Flailcroft, TodmordenRef F168
Parkin Lane. Mid-17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

Flanagan, JamesRef F598
[1833-1???] A glazier.

He was charged with uttering, on 22nd May 1865, two counterfeit crown pieces; one at the Three Pigeons, Halifax and one at a house kept by Mrs Halliwell. He tended a 5/- piece at each, in payment for a glass of beer. The pieces were afterwards found to be counterfeit.

At the Assizes in August 1865, Flanagan claimed that it was John Ainley who had passed the bad coin Mrs Helliwell – a man convicted earlier of passing counterfeit coins.

The Judge said that the Jury might believe his story, but that did not affect the tendering of counterfeit coins at the Three Pigeons. A verdict of Guilty was returned, and Flanagan – who had been convicted 11 times previously, once of passing bad coin, and ten times for minor offences – was sentenced to 5 years' penal servitude

Flanagan, ThomasRef F106
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1901, when he ran a lodging house at Chapel Fold, Halifax

Flannigan, JamesRef F1300
[18??-18??] A hawker from Huddersfield.

On 22nd May 1865, he called at the Pressers' Arms, Halifax and paid with a bad 5/- piece. He was told that the coin was spurious and would not be returned to him. He left and called at the Three Pigeons, Halifax where he paid the landlady Mrs Haigh with another bad 5/- piece. She gave him 4/10d change but suspected that the money was not right. She met with PC Baldwin and Flannigan was taken into custody

Flannigan, JohnRef F959
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 3 Chapel Fold [33 lodgers in 1903]

Flannigan, ThomasRef F960
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 55 Woolshops [53 lodgers in 1903]

Flat Field, ShibdenRef F994
A coal pit is mentioned here in 1755 when it was described as being
on the top of a hill opposite Shibden Hall

It gained the coal from the Upper Bed.

A sum of 8/6d was paid for a

pump for the coal pit

See Sough

Flat Head, SoylandRef F147
The house is mentioned in the 16th century when it was owned by a member of the Crossley family.

Plaques on the house may refer to

  • TP = Thomas Priestley [around 1608]
  • RW 1627 = Richard Wilson
  • JMG 1669 = John & Mary Gaukroger

In the 1930s, the Yorkshire Archæological Society successfully defeated a demolition order for the house.

See Flat Head Quarry, Soyland

Flather...Ref F308
The entries for people & families with the surname Flather are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

FlavellaRef F683
A breakfast cereal produced by Thomas Sugden & Son Limited

Fleay, Rev Frederick GardRef F313
[1831-1909] Born in London. He was a master at Leeds, Skipton and Hipperholme Grammar School [1869, 1909]. He was a well-known Shakespearian scholar and was interested in English spelling reform. He published several works, including A Shakespeare Manual [1876] and Chronicle History of the Life and Works of William Shakespeare [1886]

Fleeming, JohnRef F1334
[1810-1849] Of Sterne Mills, Copley.

He married Eliza [1813-1846].

Eliza died 3rd February 1846 [aged 33].

John died 18th September 1849 [aged 39].

The couple were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Fleetham, WilliamRef F8810
[1870-1928] Born in Boroughbridge, Yorkshire.

He was landlord of the Talbot, Illingworth [1910-1912].

He married Clara Newson [1859-19??] from Windsor, Berkshire, in Bedale.

William (possibly) died in Leeds [Q1 1928]

Fleming...Ref F521
The entries for people & families with the surname Fleming are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fleming'sRef F82
Boiler makers at Pioneer Works, Boothtown [1915]

Fleming, Birkby & Goodall LimitedRef F765
Mill furnishers. They had business at West Grove Mills, Halifax [1900, 1912], Clifton Bridge Mills, Brighouse [1901], Salford Card Works, Brighouse [1922], and at Liversedge and Manchester [1896].

Officers of the Company have included Walter Evelyn Wright – Managing Director.

In 1896, J. E. Lawler of Lime Street EC was their London representative.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced


Fleming's "TEON" Belting, Flemings Leather, Hair, Cotton and other Belting

West Grove Mill, Halifax
National Telephone No. 48

 

See Card Clothing & Belting Limited

Fleming BrothersRef F518
Brushmakers.

Recorded in 1936, when they were at Raven Street, Halifax.

See Thomas Fleming and Thomas Fleming

Fleming's: F. G. Fleming & SonsRef F759
Corn and grain merchants at Northgate, Halifax.

Partners included Frederick Green Fleming and Frederick William Fleming.

The firm employed 5 men and 1 boy [1881].

A notice in the London Gazette of 11th May 1897 announced


The partnership between Frederick Green Fleming and Frederick William Fleming, trading as F. G. Fleming & Son, corn merchants of Northgate, Halifax, was dissolved. Business to be carried on by Frederick William Fleming
 

Fleming's Improved Turkish BathsRef F731

Fleming's: J. Fleming & SonRef F805
Clog makers & leather merchants at Broad Street, Halifax [1905]

Fleming, Mallinson & CompanyRef F750
They had business at Globe Works, Halifax

Fleming's: Thomas Fleming, Son & CompanyRef F746
Tanners, curriers, leather belting manufacturers and mill furnishers in Halifax. Established 1797.

They were at West Grove Mills, Halifax [1881] and at Stone Dam Mill, Halifax [1884].

They also had premises at Savile Road, Halifax, and a tannery at Pudsey.

They won many prizes at international exhibitions with their products which included

Helvetia laces
Fleming's Standard Oak-Tanned belts
Atlas combination belt
Eagle pickers
Excelsior compound preservative for leather belts
Their overseas customers included the Italian government, the Russian government and the South-East India Railway Company

Fleming's: W. Fleming & CompanyRef F821
Noil merchants at 6 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax [1905]

Fleming's: William Fleming & SonRef F1076
Tanners & curriers in Halifax.

The business was established by William Fleming.

They were at Cow Green, Halifax and 12 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1881]. They had a tanning yard at Stump Cross Tannery

Flemons, Rev D. G.Ref F54
[18??-19??] He was Minister at Downham Market, Norfolk, before becoming Minister at Roomfield Baptist Church, Todmorden [1926]

Flemyng, Reyner leRef F51
[11??-11??] Son of William le Flemyng.

He was Lord of the Manor of Wath-on-Dearne and of Clifton.

About 1135, he gave land at Hartshead for Kirklees Priory.

See Brighouse Corn Mill and Hartshead Hall

Flemyng, William leRef F276
[10??-11??] Installed as Lord of the Manor of Clifton by William, the first earl of Warren.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Reyner

Flesh Chamber: Shibden HallRef F1273
A room on the first floor above The Housebody at Shibden Hall. It was used for storing and preserving bacon and meats. It was lost when Anne Lister removed the ceiling of the Housebody in the 1830s. The doorway to the Flesh Chamber and another room which used to be above the Housebody can still be seen in The Red Room

Fletcher...Ref F233
The entries for people & families with the surname Fletcher are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fletcher & ShawRef F799
Leather merchants and belting manufacturers at Ryburn Leather Works, Sowerby Bridge [1905]. Partners included Mr Fletcher and J. W. Shaw

Fletcher BrothersRef F748
Halifax dyers established in 1876.

Partners (possibly) included Eli Fletcher, Bould Luke Fletcher, and Joseph Fletcher.

They had business at Raglan Street Dye Works, Halifax [1890, 1915], Fletcher's Mill, Bowling Duke [1944], and offices in Bradford.

See H. Fletcher & Company Limited

Fletcher Dyke, MankinholesRef F632
A small stream across the moor which forms the boundary with Sowerby

Fletcher's: H. Fletcher & Company LimitedRef F802
Yarn and slubbing dyers at (possibly) Fletcher's Mill, Dean Clough [1905]

In the 1960s, they were

slubbing dyers & mélange printers


Question: Does anyone know whether they were at Fletcher's Mill, Dean Clough, and/or whether they were connected the earlier Fletcher Brothers?

 

Flight House, SoylandRef F1258
Owners and tenants have included

Flight, William EdwardRef F3700
[1857-1906] Born in Stroud, Gloucestershire.

He was manager for Brian Booth Cowgill in Sowerby Bridge.

In 1901, he was a boarder with Ellen Cowgill, sister of Brian Booth Cowgill in Sowerby Bridge.

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery together with Ellen Cowgill

Flint, HerbertRef F505
[1891-1916] Illegitimate son of Walter Adamson Flint.

Born Herbert Flint Harris in Halifax [12th November 1891].

He was a cotton piecer [1911] / employed by Lumby's Limited.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds on the Somme [3rd July 1916].

He was buried at Doullens Communal Cemetery Extension No.1, France [Grave Ref IV B 21].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Flint, Walter AdamsonRef F508
[1863-1913] Born in Mansfield.

He was a cotton spinner [1892].

On 11th September 1892, he married Truly Constant Harris [1874-1945] in Halifax.


Truly Constant was born in Halifax
 

They had an illegitimate son Herbert [born 12th November 1891] 10 months before their marriage.

On 3rd August 1900, Truly was imprisoned in Wakefield Gaol for

Neglect of three children & keeping a disorderly house

In 1911, Joshua and son Herbert were living apart from Truly at 2 Waddington's Yard, Brighouse.

He was a POW [1916]

Flint, William ClaphamRef F1197
[18??-1892] He was a glass and china merchant [1888] / a licensed hawker [1891].

In 1888, he married Sarah, daughter of Samuel Binns.

Children:

  1. Ada [b 1892]

The family lived at 39 Church Street, Liversedge [1891].

He was buried at Saint Peter's, Hartshead

Flintiff, JohnRef F1303
[17??-1851] An item about his insolvency in September 1842, says that he was at the Eastbrook Hotel, Bradford and the Hope & Anchor Inn, Bradford before becoming landlord of the George, Brighouse and the Railway Hotel, Rastrick [1840]

FlintsRef F197
Area between Mill Bank and Cragg Vale.

The name comes from Neolithic tools found here

Flints Reservoir, SowerbyRef F386
Now disused

Flitcroft, AlbertRef F686
[1913-1941] Son of Samuel Flitcroft.

He was educated at Halifax Parish Church School / a reservist.

During World War II, he served as an Assistant Cook (S)  with the Royal Navy aboard HMS Victorious.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 10th December 1941 (aged 28)  when HMS Repulse was sunk by the Japanese off Malaya, with the loss of 327 of her crew of 1,521.

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 55 3], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Flitcroft, SamuelRef F120
[1891-1959] MM, DCM.

Born in Manchester.

He was a member of St John the Evangelist, West Vale / a cotton twiner in Halifax [1911] / a motor-steerer employed by Fred Ambler of West Vale.

In [Q3] 1910, he married Ivy Hinchcliffe [1888-1926] in Halifax.


Ivy was born in Holbeck, Yorkshire. She was a worsted spinner [1911]
 

Children:

  1. Ada [b 1912]
  2. Albert
  3. Ethel [b 1915]
  4. Herbert [b 1920]
  5. Elizabeth D. [b 1923]
  6. Jack [b 1926]

The family lived at 7 Bell's Court, Halifax [1911, 1917]

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was awarded the Military Medal [1917] for


conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty during an enemy attack. When a withdrawal was ordered, he took command of a Lewis gun team and covered the withdrawal, being the last man to retire and inflicting severe casualties on the enemy. His team covered the withdrawal of other units of the division to which his brigade was attached
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [10th November 1917].

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal [1918] for


bravery in holding up, together with a handful of comrades, several hundred Germans
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [6th July 1918].

He survived the War.

Ivy died in Halifax [Q4 1926] (aged 38).

Son Albert died in World War II.

Samuel died in Halifax [Q4 1959] (aged 68) 

Flone Nook, SowerbyRef F445
Mentioned by Crabtree who says that the element fla means an arrow, suggesting that archery was practised here in former times

Flood, JamesRef F826
[1844-1912] Born in Bacup.

He was a cotton weaver [1881, 1891].

In [Q4] 1866, he married (1) Hannah Riley [1847-1886] in Todmorden.


Hannah, of Stansfield, was born in Preston
 

Children:

  1. William Henry [1867-1906] who was a bobbin turner [1881, 1891]
  2. Herbert [1870-1940] who was a bobbin turner [1891]
  3. Martha Maud Mary [1873-1939] who was a cotton weaver [1891]
  4. Thomas James

In [Q4] 1886, he married (2) Hannah Shepherd [1850-1903] in Todmorden.


Hannah came from Preston
 

Children:

  1. Samuel
  2. Edward [1889-1922]

Sons Thomas James & Samuel died in World War I

Flood, SamRef F36
[1888-1918] Son of James Flood.

Born in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 3rd Battalion Worcestershire Regiment.

He died 26th April 1918.

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 75-77], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother Thomas James died in the War

Flood, Thomas JamesRef F35
[1876-1918] Son of James Flood.

Born in Stansfield.

He was a grocer's apprentice [1891].

During World War I, he was called up [1916] to the Cheshire Regiment and was then transferred into the Royal Welsh Fusiliers.

He was discharged [4th August 1917] being permanently unfit for war service.

He died February 1918.

He was buried at Mount Zion United Free Methodist Church, Cornholme.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother Samuel died in the War

FloodsRef F39
The low-lying valleys of the district have always been subject to flooding as rainwater from the hills swells the local rivers, notably the Calder and the Ryburn

See Floods of December 2015

Flower, Rev George Augustus VivianRef F490
[18??-19??] MA.

Curate at Halifax [1908], Vicar of Greetland [1910], and Vicar of Christ Church, Pellon [1916-1921].

During his incumbency, St Thomas's Sunday School was built.

In 1921, he was appointed vicar of Aberford, Leeds

Flower House, EllandRef F710
John Street. Built in 1880. Named for the floral decoration on the exterior walls. The plasterwork was redone in 1956

Flower Scar Farm, CornholmeRef F1227
Derelict.

See Flower Scar Road, Todmorden

Floyde, Rev JohnRef F645
[17??-1799] He was a travelling Wesleyan preacher before becoming the first Minister at Stainland Chapel [1759]. He lived in Halifax

Fly Flatts ReservoirRef F173
Aka Fly Flatt Reservoir, Warley Moor Reservoir.

Traces of Mesolithic occupation have been found here.

See Reservoir, Fly Flatts

Flying clubsRef F43
There are several entries relating to flying and aeronautics in the district.

See Aeroplane Field, Clifton, Air Circus, Airport, Brighouse Flying Club, Calder Valley Aero Club, Clifton airport, Cousin Lane Aerodrome, Gun Club Field, Lightcliffe and Halifax Gliding Club

Flying DutchmanRef F142
Bicycle produced by Priestley Alderson.

In 1898, the 33rd Duke of Wellington's Own Regiment were supplied with the Military Model of the cycle

Flying Dutchman Stables, BoothtownRef F807
The stables of the Flying Dutchman pub.

Owners and tenants have included

See Bankfield Stables, Boothtown

Flyn, Rev LeoRef F601
[1???-19??] Priest at St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1935]

Flynn, ChristopherRef F1095
[1857-1???] Son of John Flynn.

Born in Sheffield.

In 1873, he went to America

Flynn, EllenRef F1065
[1848-1900] Daughter of John Flynn.

Born in Ireland.

In 1864, she had twin daughters – Mary Ann and Julia – who were born in Halifax Union Workhouse, Gibbet Street, father unknown.

In 1871, she went to America, leaving her daughters with her mother, Julia.

In 1873, her mother, Julia, and the twins, brother Christopher, and nephew Dennis, emigrated to America.

In 1873, Ellen married Frank Riley at Fall River, Massachusetts

Flynn, JohnRef F1064
[1800-1869] Born in Ireland.

He married Julia Dalton [1813-1885] in Ireland.

Around 1854, the couple moved to England.

He worked as a mason's labourer.

Children:

  1. Michael
  2. Marcella [b 1847] who married [1869] Thomas McKenney
  3. Ellen
  4. John
  5. Julia [1852-1871] who was blind
  6. Christopher

The family lived at 26 Milk Street, Halifax.

In 1873, Julia, Christopher and nephew Dennis, emigrated to America.

John and Julia were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2681]. They were in an unmarked grave until Tom Flynn, their great-great-grandson, erected a stone in 2005

Flynn, JohnRef F1094
[1850-1924] Son of John Flynn.

In 1872, he went to America.

The rest of he family followed him

Flynn, JohnRef F259
[1891-1918] Son of Mary & Patrick Flynn of Clooncunra, Castlerea, County Roscommon, Ireland.

Born in County Roscommon, Ireland.

He lived at 3 Cross Street, Halifax.

He was a regular soldier and was serving in India when World War I broke out.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Lancashire Fusiliers, then served as a Lance Corporal with the 32nd Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He was twice wounded, and twice gassed.

He was killed in action [1st October 1918] (aged 27).

He was buried at Joncourt East British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref C 14].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Flynn, Rev John F.Ref F600
[1???-19??] Priest at Our Lady of Lourdes & St Malachy, Ovenden [1935]

Flynn, MichaelRef F1093
[1844-1???] Son of John Flynn.

Born in Ireland.

In November 1865, he married Elizabeth Ann Dooley at St Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Gibbet Street.

In 1882, the family emigrated to Providence, Rhode Island, USA

Flynn, Rev Thomas HenryRef F321
[18??-18??] He was Curate at Brighouse [1844, 1861] to Rev Joseph Birch and a candidate to succeed him, but Rev Charles Musgrave offered the living to Rev William Booker.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Herbert William [1860-1862]
  2. Herbert Henry [1864-1872]

He went on to become Vicar of Holy Trinity, Low Moor.

His sons were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Foden, Alfred ArthurRef F296
[1905-1948] Landlord of the Royal Oak, Stainland [1938-1941]

Fogg, HoraceRef F517
[1890-1918] Son of John William Fogg.

Born in Halifax.

He was a core maker in a brass foundry [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Yorkshire Hussars (Alexandra, Princess of Wales's Own).

He had been in India for a year when he volunteered as a hospital orderly during a serious influenza epidemic. He did exceedingly good work in alleviating the suffering of others, before he died of influenza in the Station Hospital at Cherat, Peshawar, India [3rd November 1918] (aged 28).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [23rd November & 14th December 1918]. He was buried at the Cherat New Cemetery [C 54].

He is remembered on the Delhi Memorial (India Gate), India [Grave Ref 1], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross

Fogg, John WilliamRef F519
[1864-1937] Born in Ovenden.

He was a warehouseman [1884].

On 12th July 1884, he married Amanda Rothera [1864-1940] in Halifax.


Amanda was born in Northowram
 

Children:

  1. Walter [1885-1976]
  2. Horace
  3. Clifford [1891-1971]
  4. Herbert [1893-1963]
  5. Willie [1895-1967]
  6. Eveline [1898-1937]
  7. Ada [1901-1986]
  8. Leonard [1905-1968]

The family lived at

  • 27 Helm Street, Halifax [1891, 1901]
  • 42 Conway Street, Hopwood Lane [1911, 1918]

Fogg, Lillian (Lily)Ref F280
[19??-19??] A well-known character & lady of the night, who was familiar to the patrons of many hostelries in and around Halifax.

In 2006, the Halifax Steam Brewing Company, Hipperholme brewed a beer which they named after Lily

Fogg, WilliamRef F28
[1829-1882]

He married Sally Hartley [1831-1876].

Children:

  1. Priscilla [1865-1946] who married John Henry Turner

Foggo, DrRef F81
[18??-19??] Doctor in Sowerby Bridge.

Recorded in 1907, when he was one of the medical men who attended the casualties in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster

Fold End Estate, Hove EdgeRef F1347
Recorded in August 1881, when it was owned by W. Crossley who was in dispute with Whitaker's Brewery, owners of the Joiners' Arms, who sought to recover damages for obstruction of light. The property was bought by Crossley.

See Fold End Farm

Fold End Farm, HipperholmeRef F964
Owners and tenants have included

See Fold End Estate

Fold Farm, IllingworthRef F153
Once known as Mixenden Hall.

See Rev Thomas Evans

The Fold, ShelfRef F1075
Aka Lower Fold Farm, Shelf

Fold, TodmordenRef F1215
Eastwood Lane. Early 17th century house, cottage and barn

Fold, WarleyRef F160
Laithe-house built 1831

The Fold, WheatleyRef F1206
House aka City Fold, Wheatley

Folds Farm, WainstallsRef F137
Castle Carr.

Owners and tenants have included

Folds, WilliamRef F368
[17??-17??] In the various documents, the name is also spelled Fowles. He was a coiner of Erringden. Cousin of Matthew Normanton. He was an accessory to the murder of William Deighton. On 4th August 1770, he was prosecuted at York Assizes along with Robert Thomas and Matthew Normanton

Foley, J. C.Ref F260
[18??-191?]

During the South African Wars, he served as a Trooper with the 10th Battalion Hussars.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Foley, Dr RobertRef F610
[17??-18??]

Recorded in 1813, when he was a member of a Committee supporting those affected by the Luddites

Folk Museum, ShibdenRef F232
Aka The Folk Museum of West Yorkshire.

The Folk Museum to the rear of Shibden Hall was opened in 1953, and the courtyard has been arranged as a 17th-18th century village around the aisled barn.

In 1960, a fire at the Museum destroyed a 15th century cruck barn and several farm vehicles and implements.

There are several coaches and carriages at the Museum

Look out for

See Frank Atkinson and Verney Horsfall

FolliesRef F1028

Follis, JohnRef F896
[1833-1910] Police officer with the West Riding Constabulary at Halifax. He was listed as a Superannuated Policeman [1881].

In 1866, he and Allen Midwood were witnesses in the case of John Richard Jeffery who was charged with the murder of Arthur Jeffery, his son, at St Giles's in London. On 8th September 1865, Jeffery turned himself in at Follis's home in Halifax, and suggested that Follis might claim the £100 reward which was offered for his apprehension. Jeffery was taken back to London where he was tried, found guilty of murder and sentenced to death.

In 1856, he married Bridget Murray [1838-1???] from Ireland, in Wakefield.

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1859] who was a tailor [1881]
  2. Ann [b 1863]
  3. William [b 1865]
  4. Sarah Ellen [b 1873]
The children were all born in Sowerby.

The family lived at Batley [1881].

Living with them [in 1881] was widowed sister-in-law Ann Murray [aged 63] from Ireland

See Trial of William Hellowell

Folly, BarkislandRef F391
House aka Upper Holmhouse. Samuel Haigh lived here in the 18th century. It was owned by the trustees of the Wheelwright's Charity.

The building is now in ruins.

See Lower Holmhouse, Barkisland and The Holmhouse, Barkisland

Folly Dam, TodmordenRef F385
This is a popular fishing venue

Folly HallRef F180
Area of Halifax around Godley

Folly Hall Farm, Ambler ThornRef F520
Windy Bank Lane.

Parts of the property are 17th century. Dated 1614.

Martha Turner was born here.

Owners and tenants have included

It was badly restored and the original mullion windows replaced by plastic ones

Folly Hall, GodleyRef F170
House aka The Haynes.

Owners and tenants have included

The building was demolished.

Parts are still visible. The carriage-way entrance, off Old Bank, can still be seen.

Maps of 1852 show footpaths from here to Whiskam Dandy, and to the bottom of Southowram Bank

Folly StepsRef F378
Area of Old Bank, Halifax.

The Holy Well was here

Fookes, Albert CracroftRef F1362
[1839-1916] Son of Maria Susanna [1809-1867] & Rev Thomas Broadley Fookes [1808-1874].

Born in Kent.

On 25 May 1867, he married Harriet, daughter of Thomas Hirst, in New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand.

Children:

  1. Harry Egmont [1868-1947]
  2. Thomas Cracroft [1869-1943]
  3. Albert Graham [1876-1946]
  4. May Bracken [1871-1948]
  5. Ethel Homewood [1872-1951]
  6. Ernest Faber
  7. twins Margaret Mary [1877-1960]
  8. Frederica Grace [1877-1955]
  9. George Talbot [1879-1946]
  10. Wilfred Herbert [1880-1935]
  11. Dora Frances [1882-1883]
  12. Emily Valentine [1884-1963]

The couple died and were buried in New Plymouth

Fookes, Dr Ernest FaberRef F1161
[1874-1948] Rugby Union player.

Son of Albert Cracroft Fookes.

Born in Taranaki, New Zealand.

He came to England when he was about 15 years old to be educated for a medical career. In 1891, he was a clerk at paper mills and living at The Dean, Goit Side, Midgley with his greataunt Elizabeth Bracken.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School – where he played in rugby – and Owens College Manchester.

During the 1892-93 season, he played several times with Halifax, and was very successful as a wing three-quarter.

When Halifax joined the Northern Union, he moved to play for Sowerby Bridge.

On 15th January 1897, the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle, reported

Fookes of the Sowerby Bridge rugby football team missed a match with them as he was playing for England against Wales

He played for Halifax, Sowerby Bridge, and Yorkshire colts. He played for England [1896]

He was said to be one of the best three-quarter backs in the English football world.

He returned to New Zealand. During World War I, he was in the second reserves in the New Zealand Army and a medical practitioner of 41 Courtney Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand.

Foord, ThomasRef F183
[1805-1858] Born in Hull.

He was a linen draper (employing 3 men) at 66 Top of Woolshops, Halifax [1851].

Living with him [in 1851] were journeymen tailors: Jonathan Blatt [b Northamptonshire 1829] & George Knowles [b Pateley Bridge 1834].

Thomas died 22nd October 1858 (aged 53).

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 525] with Arthur Bairstow

Footman, Rev Horace SpenceRef F433
[1875-1948] MA.

Born in Ipswich, Suffolk [1875].

He was Curate at St Paul's Church, King Cross, St Hilda's Mission, Halifax [1905], and Vicar at St Hilda's Church, Halifax [1912].

He lived at St Hilda's Parsonage, Eversley Mount [1905].

In later life, he moved to the Isle of Wight.

He died at Holloway Sanatorium, Virginia Water, Surrey [1st July 1948].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £5,208 3/5d. Probate was granted to Ella Sutton (widow), and Harry Kenneth Staddon (solicitor) 

Forbes, DrRef F7400
[18??-1???] Medical practitioner at Vale Manse, Todmorden [1895]

Forbes, JamesRef F139
[1857-1???] Illegitimate son of Agnes Forbes of Horley Green, Halifax.

Baptised at St John the Baptist, Coley [30th August 1857]

Forbes, P. G.Ref F487
[19??-19??] He lived at Old House Farm, Barkisland.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Hamish who married [1969?] Mari Clark from Michigan

Forbes-Robertson, Mrs FarquharRef F411

Forbes-Robertson, FarquharRef F21
[1838-1912] In 1872, he married Laura Ann Macaulay.

Children:

  1. Elspeth [bapt 1873]
  2. Helen [bapt 1876]
  3. Ann [bapt 1877]
  4. Innes [bapt 1879]
  5. Mary [bapt 1880]
  6. Hannah [bapt 1882]
  7. Kenneth
  8. James

The family lived at

He died in Cheltenham [23 November 1912].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £1,317 16/9d

Forbes-Robertson, JamesRef F1027
[1884-1955] VC, DSO, MC.

Son of Farquhar Forbes-Robertson.

Educated at Cheltenham College.

He served as a Lieutenant-Colonel with the Border Regiment in France during World War I.

He was awarded the Victoria Cross and many other medals

Forbes-Robertson, KennethRef F1026
[1882-1914] Son of Farquhar Forbes-Robertson.

Born at Slead Hall [17th April 1882]

He was educated at Cheltenham College and Sandhurst.

He served with the 1st Seaforth Highlanders. Eventually becoming Captain.

He served in East Africa [1904], where he took part in operations in Somaliland, and at Jidballi. He served on the North-West Frontier in India [1908], where he took part in operations in the Zakha Khel country, in the Mohmand country, and in the engagement of Matta.

He was decorated for his service.

He served with the Expeditionary Force in France and Flanders [from 5th October 1914], until he was killed whilst leading a reconnoitring party at Ploegsteert Wood, Belgium [7th November 1914].

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 9], and on Brighouse War Memorial

Forbes, RoderickRef F3000
[1821-18??] Born in Storrington, Sussex.

He was a gardener [1871] / a domestic gardener [1881] / a gardener & steward [1891].

He married Margaret.


Margaret was born in Scotland
 

Children:

  1. Mary A. [b 1845] who was a dressmaker [1881]
  2. Eliza Jane [1855-1856] who was buried at Mount Zion Chapel, Lightcliffe
  3. Margaret [b 1859] who was a dressmaker [1881]
  4. Julia Agnes [b 1861] who was a dressmaker's apprentice [1881]

The family lived at

  • Northowram Hall [1871]
  • #1 Northowram Hall (St Cass stables) [1881]
  • St Case, Bunney Green, Northowram [1891]

Living with them [in 1891] was granddaughter Grace Ellen Forbes [b Altrincham 1879]

Forbes, Rev StuartRef F185
[19??-] BD.

Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1977-1989]. Arriving from Stainforth, near Doncaster, he saw the church through the years of increasing inflation, and the move to the new vicarage in Greenroyd Avenue. He left to become Vicar of St Michael's in the Hamlet, Toxteth, Liverpool

Forbes, Mrs SylviaRef F175
[18??-1???] Née Pickles. Music teacher of Todmorden

Forbes, Thomas AlbertRef F678
[1891-1917] Son of William Forbes.

He was a spinner piecer (cotton mill) [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died of wounds as a POW in the Prisoners' Hospital, Bulgaria [19th March 1917] (aged 26).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [16th June 1917].

He is remembered on the Doiran Memorial, Greece, and on Ripponden War Memorial

Forbes, WilliamRef F42
[1864-1???] Son of William Forbes, labourer.

Born in Aberdeen, Scotland.

He was a labourer of Lane Head, Soyland [1889] / a paper mill hand [1891] / a labourer (cotton mill) [1901] / an under carder (cotton mill) [1911].

In [Q3] 1889, he married Mary Fielding [1865-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was born in Swift Place, Soyland, the daughter of Thomas Fielding, carter
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Albert
  2. Annie [1894-1911]
  3. Harry [b 1898] who was a cop pointer cotton mill [1911]
  4. Reynard [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • Stansfield Hey, Soyland [1891]
  • 104 Rochdale Road, Soyland [1901]
  • 82 Hulme Terrace, Ripponden [1911, 1917]

Living with them [in 1901] was niece Frances E Forbes [b 1882] (cotton reeler) [1901]

FordRef F57
Where economics and/or the landscape did not allow a bridge to be constructed over a river or stream, a simple road through a shallow part of the water was constructed.

There are/were local examples such as the fords across the Calder at Snake Hill Ford, Brighouse, across Clifton Brook at Thornhill Briggs, and across Lumb Brook where Denton Bridge, Kebroyd now stands

Ford, David JamesRef F831
[1913-1944] Son of Margaret & David Ford.

In [Q2] 1940, he married Minnie Elliott in Newcastle.

They lived in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died 4th May 1944 (aged 31).

He was buried at Kohima War Cemetery, India [Grave Ref 12 A 1]

Ford, Rev E. C.Ref F158
[19??-19??] Vicar of St Michael & All Angels' Church, Cornholme. In 1978, he moved to Wragby

Ford, FrankRef F430
[1876-1953] Born in Halifax.

He was a Conservative councillor for Akroydon Ward / founder of Frank Ford Limited [1914] / a director of Halifax Metal Spinners Limited [1953].

On 24th December 1903, he married Blanche Wilkinson [1878-1977] at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Blanche was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Reginald
  2. Lena [1910-1993]
  3. Vera [1911-2004]
  4. Jessie [1913-2012] who became a well-known cattle farmer & married Harold Fearnley [1905-1982]
  5. Irvin

The family lived at

  • 286 Huddersfield Road, Halifax
  • 132 Claremount Road, Halifax [1911]
  • Iona House, Iona Street, Halifax [1936, 1953]
  • 9 The Avenue, Hipperholme [1977]

Frank died 7th September 1953.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £17,087 6/7d.

Probate was granted to son Reginald and Andrew Garvie (medical practitioner).

Blanche died 16th March 1977.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £52,429

Ford's: Frank Ford LimitedRef F783
Halifax engineering company at Sovereign Works, Lister Lane, Halifax.

Restaurant engineers established in 1914 by Frank Ford. In 1928, they began manufacturing their famous fish and chip frying equipment.

At one time, most of the fish and chips in the country seemed to have been fried in Ford's ranges.

John Ford, grandson of the founder sold the business in 2001.

The firm became Halifax Fisheries.

They also operated Frank Ford Aircraft Components at Haley Hill. The site is now occupied by a Lidl Supermarket

Ford, IrvinRef F104
[1915-1975] Son of Frank Ford.

He lived at Southdale, Greenroyd Avenue, Halifax [1975].

He died 23rd February 1975.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £164,379

Ford, JamesRef F262
[18??-1914] Born in Bradford.

He lived in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 13th September 1914.

He was buried at Grangegorman Military Cemetery, Ireland [Grave Ref RC 431].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ford, Rev JohnRef F644
[1???-17??] Minister at Warley Congregational Church [1741] for about a year

Ford, MichaelRef F889
[1885-1916] Son of William Ford.

He was a carpet factory worker [1901] / a print washer of Beacon Parade, Southowram [1907] / a print washer for carpet manufacturer [1911] / a dyer's labourer with J. & J. Baldwin Limited.

In 1907, he married Ada Nuttall [1885-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Ada, of Clark Bridge, Southowram, was the daughter of Pliny Nuttall, wool washer.

She was a maker-up (cloth proofer) [1911]

 

Children:

  1. William [b 1908]
  2. Ellen I [b 1914]

They lived at 53 Southowram Bank, Halifax [1911, 1916].

Living with them [in 1911] was sister Mary Ann Ford

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died from shrapnel wounds to the right thigh & knee [27th December 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [6th January 1917].

He was buried at Grove Town Cemetery, Meaulte, France [Grave Ref II J 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Ford, OwenRef F602
[1857-1???] A smith's striker of Halifax.

On the evening Sunday 1st June 1873. he was one of a group of 5 youths who attacked 50 year-old Jeremiah Swift after their insolence had caused him to remonstrate with them. Swift died as a consequence of the attack.

At the Inquest, a verdict of manslaughter was returned.

At the Assizes, the gang was acquitted, there being no evidence to show that they contemplated a violent attack, to prove who delivered the blow or blows which caused his death

Ford, OwenRef F624
[1890-1916] Son of Owen Ford of 27 Beacon Parade, Southowram Bank, Halifax.

Born in Bradford.

He worked at Fletcher Brothers / in an hotel in Keighley.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Seaforth Highlanders, then served as a Private with the 115th Company Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 11th July 1916 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 5C & 12C], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ford, ReginaldRef F86
[1904-1976] Son of Frank Ford.

He was a restaurant engineer with the family business Frank Ford Limited [1953].

In [Q3] 1944, he married Phyliss Eileen Brearley in Halifax.


Phyliss Eileen was the daughter of Ernest Clement Brearley
 

They lived at Aysgarth, Skircoat Green [1976, 1991].

Reginald died 15th July 1976.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £148,064.

Phyllis Eileen died 14th February 1991.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £253,364

Ford, WilliamRef F890
[1853-19??] Born in Ireland.

He was a publican [1891] / a road labourer [1891] / a gas works labourer [1901] / a pavior.


Question: Does anyone know which [1891] hostelry this may have been?

 

In 1884, he married Agnes Geraghty [1865-1???] in Halifax.


Agnes was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Michael
  2. Francis [b 1887] who was a beer bottle washer [1901]
  3. Mary Ann [b 1890] who was a worsted spinning rover [1911]

The family lived at

  • 16 Charlestown Road, Northowram [1891]
  • 1 Briggs Yard, Halifax [1901]

William was dead by 1907

Living with them [in 1901] was mother-in-law Bridget Geraghty [b Ireland 1831]

Fordham, Charles WilliamRef F603
[1872-1941] Born in St Ives, Huntingdonshire [Q4 1872].

He was a detective sergeant.

In [Q3] 1893, he married Martha Elizabeth White [18??-1???] in Peterborough.

Children:

  1. Harold

The family lived at 4 Kliffen Place, Coronation Road, Halifax

Fordham, HaroldRef F412
[1896-1916] Son of Charles William Fordham.

Born in Todmorden.

He worked for Whitley's Model Bakery.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915] with the 3rd Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry, then served as a Private with X Company 9th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He served in Egypt.

He was killed in action on the Somme [26th September 1916] (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3C & 3D], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, and on Todmorden War Memorial

Fordham, Rev J. S.Ref F1103
[18??-1???] In 1891, he and Rev J. F. Holdsworth were Ministers at Cragg Vale Wesleyan Chapel, Crimsworth Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Highgate Wesleyan Methodist Church, Heptonstall and Old Town Methodist Chapel, Wadsworth

Fordyce, Rev ThomasRef F647
[17??-18??] Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1789]. In 1791, he moved to Stand, Lancashire

Foreman, JosephRef F863
[18??-1888] One of the founders of the Halifax Co-operative Trading Society [1849] and Storekeeper of the Halifax Working Men's Co-operative & Provident Society [1850]. He defused the incident of 1855 in which 60 members stormed the Society and demanded their investment back after the treasurer misappropriated £81.

He was a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1880].

In 1890, his friend, Sir James Stansfeld, placed windows in his memory at Northgate End Chapel

Foreman, RichardRef F728
[1860-1918] Son of Hannah & Richard Foreman.

He married Emma.

They lived at 94 Gibbet Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the Canadian Engineers.

He died 28th January 1918 (aged 58).

He was buried at Summerland (St. Stephen's) Anglican Cemetery, British Columbia [R3 B2 L3]

Forest Cottage, OvendenRef F418
Around 1840, John Wilson built the house and a warehouse

Forest House, IllingworthRef F351
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Owners and tenants have included

Forest Mill Company LimitedRef F808
Tapestry and damask manufacturers at Forest Mill, Ovenden [1905]

See J. M. Todd

Forest of SowerbyshireRef F512

Forest Villa, OvendenRef F708
Ovenden Road. House built in 18??

Owners and tenants have included

Foresters' Hall, RippondenRef F1018
Ripponden Old Bank / Silver Street.

A multi-storey tenement-type building.

There was a meeting room on the top floor. The Chartists met here and it was known as the Chartists' Hall.

It was demolished in 19??.

The site has been grassed over and is now known as The Field of Hope

Forge House, SowerbyRef F97
Owned by John Royds

Forness, DianaRef F397
[16??-1709] Daughter of John Forness of Batley.

She married Samuel Riddlesden.

She died of a fever during pregnancy [30th January 1709]

Forrest, GeorgeRef F17
[1812-1887]

He married Margaret Robinson [1836-1911].

Children:

  1. John Forrest
  2. Thomas

Margaret died in Halifax in 1911

Forrest, JackRef F113
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Forrest, JohnRef F11
[1858-1936] Son of George Forrest.

Born in Preston, Lancashire.

He was a general draper (dealer) [1901, 1911] with a drapery business at Manchester House, Elland.

In [Q3] 1887, he married (1) Charlotte Hodgson [1859-1903] in Preston.


Charlotte came from Preston
 

Children:

  1. Florence May [b 1888] who was assisting in (her father's) business [1911]
  2. John Francis [1897-1971] who was a general draper [1936]

In 1912, he married (2) Mary Ann Foley [1876-1958] in Halifax The family lived at

  • 10 Russell Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 126 South Bank, Lister Lane, Halifax [1936]

Living with them [in 1911] was his widowed mother Margaret Forrest.

John died 24th January 1936, within 5 days of his brother Thomas. Probate records show that John left effects valued at £10,583 18/-.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary Ann & son John Francis

Forrest, John Edward DeetRef F628
[1897-1916] Son of Elizabeth Ellen (née Worth) [1868-1945] & Henry Forrest [1862-1933] of Todmorden.

Born in Rochdale.

He was a member of the School & Boys Scouts at St Aidan's School / a telegram boy with the GPO / a warehouseman for Barker's of Wadsworth.

He lived at 1 Watty Terrace, Bacup Road, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers attached to the Royal Warwickshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [2nd July 1916] (aged 19).

He was buried at Rue-Du-Bacquerot No.1 Military Cemetery, Laventie, France [Grave Ref I J 9]

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Aidan's Church, and on the Memorial at Shade Council School

Forrest, Phillip O. O.Ref F697
[1880-1917] Son of Mary Cooper & Marmaduke Forrest of Bradley Hall Golf Club, Holywell Green.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/6th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died 14th April 1917 (aged 37).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 8]

Forrest's: T. Forrest, EllandRef F509
Drapers.

Recorded in 1901 & the 1940s, when they were at Manchester House, Elland, The Cross, Elland [1940s], 10 Russell Street, Halifax, and 13, Arcade, Halifax

See Patrick Francis Caffrey

Forrest, ThomasRef F34
[1862-1936] Son of George Forrest.

Born in Preston.

He was a draper's assistant and then manager at Manchester House, Elland [1901].

In [Q1] 1900, he married Ada Garner [1877-1957] in Halifax.


Ada was born in Manchester
 

Children:

  1. Dorothy Winifred [1900-1995]

The family lived at 10 Waverley Road, Elland [1911].

Thomas died 29th January 1936, within 5 days of his brother John Forrest. Probate records show that Thomas left effects valued at £1,805 18/8d.

Probate was granted to his widow Ada & daughter Dorothy Winifred

Forrest, WilliamRef F1012
[18??-19??] Of Dewsbury.

He married Julia Annie, daughter of Thomas Hutchinson.

On the death of Thomas Hutchinson, he took over as landlord of the King's Head, Halifax [1891]

Forse, Geoffrey JackRef F263
[1909-1944] Son of Gwendoline & Thomas Forse of Plymouth.

He married Sybil Mary.

They lived at Milehouse, Plymouth.

During World War II, he served as a Signalman with the Royal Corps of Signals.

He died 27th January 1944 (aged 35).

He was buried at Brookwood Military Cemetery, Surrey [Grave Ref 30A B 2].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Halifax Building Society

Forshaw, Rev D. O.Ref F132
[19??-19??] He was chaplain in Singapore before becoming Vicar of Heptonstall [1959]. In 1966, he left to move to Whitehaven

Forshaw, Rev E. H.Ref F146
[19??-19??] Vicar of Heptonstall [1961]. In 1962, he left to be vicar of Stanley

Forster, Irene L.Ref F513
[1902-1968] Pioneer in the education of musically-talented children. A cellist, she was one of the earliest students at the Royal College of Music. She was Assistant Mistress at Princess Mary High School, Haberdashers' Aske's School, Acton, Wellington Girls' High School, and Dame Alice Harpur School, Bedford. In 1962, she was a founder and Principal of the Central Tutorial School for Young Musicians

Fort, JohnRef F481
[1849-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was a general labourer [1894, 1901].

In [Q2] 1870, he married Hannah Robertshaw [1852-19??] in Bradford.


Hannah was born in Durham
 

Children:

  1. Joseph William
  2. Mary E. [b 1889] who was a spinner doffer [1901]
  3. Arthur [b 1893]

The family lived at 42 Listerhills Road, Bradford [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] were son Joseph William and family, and nieces Elizabeth Crabtree [b 1883] (worsted twister), and Edith Crabtree [b 1885] (worsted spinner) 

Fort, Joseph WilliamRef F479
[1871-1915] Son of John Fort.

Born in Bradford.

He was employed by the Bradford Dyers' Association / a dyer of Binbrook Street, Manningham [1894] / a dyer's labourer [1901, 1911].

In 1894, he married Clara Benjamin [1875-19??] at Bradford Cathedral.


Clara, of Binbrook Street, Manningham, was the daughter of John Benjamin, dyer
 

Children:

  1. John William [b 1895] who was a bobbin sorter [1911]
  2. Richard [b 1896] who was a bobbin sorter [1911]
  3. Violet [b 1904]
  4. Albert Edward [b 1908]

In 1901, the family were living at 42 Listerhills Road, Bradford with John William's parents.

The family lived at 3 Ernest Street, Queen's Road, Halifax [1911, 1915].

He served 3 years in the militia and 5 years with the Bradford Rifles.

During World War I, he enlisted [15th December 1914], and served as a Private with D Company 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed at Hill 60 [18th April 1915] (aged 43).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20],

and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

His son John William was also in the Army, and son Richard was waiting to be called up under the Derby Scheme

Fort Montague, BrighouseRef F711
Elland Road. Farm which looks on to the Cromwellbottom Lakes.

See Brighouse Cat Steps

Fort William, SouthowramRef F63
Appears in the [1881] census between Cross Platts & Barker Royd.

Owners and tenants have included

Forth, Miss MaryRef F840
[18??-18??] In 1874, she ran a school in Halifax

Fortune & RushworthRef F194
Machine tool makers.

Recorded in 1914, when they were at Shay Lane, Ovenden

Fortune, Eric ArthurRef F264
[1904-1943] Son of Eliza Ann & Albert Fortune.

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

He married Mary Bell.

They lived at Riddlesden.

During World War II, he served as a Leading Coder with the Royal Navy aboard the destroyer HMS Eclipse.

He was lost at sea [23rd October 1943] (aged 39).

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 81/2], and on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Fortune, MordecaiRef F1098
[1859-1891] Born at Dobroyd, Todmorden.

He was a familiar sight selling pies in the district. He entertained the clients with comic recitations and tales of his travels.

He lived at George Street, Todmorden [1891]

Forty Shilling Mantle Company, HalifaxRef F915
Costumier. Recorded in 1936 at 39 Northgate when C. Atkinson was proprietor

Forty Steps, EllandRef F1278
The popular name for the third-storey of the Northgate premises of Joseph Dobson & Sons Limited in Elland. This extension was built for the Savile [No 1231] Masonic Lodge who moved there in 1885, and remained there until the 1920s

The Forum, HalifaxRef F1116
An advertisement for the business in 1915 announced the

Smartest display of up-to-date toys, fancy goods & presents

on their premises at Café Royale Buildings, King Edward Street

See Café Royale, Halifax

Fosbrook, FredRef F416
[1899-1917] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 1st/6th Battalion The King's (Liverpool Regiment).

He died 31st July 1917.

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 4 & 6], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Foskett, Rev C.Ref F302
[18??-191?]

During the South African Wars, with the Royal Army Chaplains' Division.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Foskew, Rev D.Ref F467
[19??-19??] Priest at St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street [1966]

Fossard, A. W.Ref F1118
[18??-19??] Joiner and undertaker. He had works
behind Commercial Bank, King Cross, Halifax [1916]

He lived at 104 Haugh Shaw Road, Halifax [1916]

Fossard, AlfredRef F835
[1877-1917] Born in Halifax.

He was a painter & paper hanger [1899].

On 9th December 1899, he married Matilda Halstead [1880-1916] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ivy [b 1901]
  2. Ronald [b 1902]
  3. Leonard [b 1904]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 8 York Street North, Halifax [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Battalion Worcestershire Regiment.

He died 26th August 1917.

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 75-77]

Fossard, AlfredRef F850
[1877-1917] Born in Halifax.

He was a painter & paperhanger [1911].

He enlisted with the West Riding Regiment [13th March 1900] and served in South Africa. He was discharged [24th May 1901].

On 9th December 1899, he married Matilda Halstead [1879-1916] in Halifax.


Matilda was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Ivy [1900-1979]
  2. Ronald [1902-1958]
  3. Leonard [1904-1963]

The family lived at 8 York Street North, Halifax [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Battalion Worcestershire Regiment.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 26th August 1917.

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial.

Matilda was found drowned in the canal near Bank House Bridge at Salterhebble on 27th March 1916.

At the Coroner's Inquest, her daughter Ivy, and her sister Janet Thompson (of Haley Hill) gave evidence of their shopping trip to Halifax and Matilda's last hours. The Inquest gave a verdict


Found drowned, without sufficient evidence to show how she got into the water
 

She was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax [30th March 1916]

Fossard, EdwardRef F256
[1???-18??]

On 25th August 1823, he married Elizabeth (Betty) Ashton in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Margt [bapt Halifax 29th March 1825]
  2. Harriet [1826] who died aged 5 months, and was buried at Northgate End Chapel [5th December 1826]
  3. William [bapt Leeds 10th March 1828]

The family lived in Halifax [1825]

Fossard, HarryRef F811
[1893-1918] Son of Miranda & Charles Edward Fossard of 36 Burnley Road, King Cross, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 24th March 1918 (aged 25).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross

Fossard, HenryRef F1358
[18??-1???] He was Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1873-1874]

Fossey, Ernest CliffordRef F304
[1908-1986] Son of Ernest George Fossey.

Born in Halifax [17th Sep 1908].

He was a brick setter [1935].

On 31st August 1935, he married Emma Helliwell in Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax, the daughter of Thomas Tasker Helliwell
 

They had no children.

During World War II, he served in the Military Police and was one of the British contingent to liberate the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in 1945

Fossey, Ernest GeorgeRef F303
[1876-1917] Son of Joseph Fossey.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of West Ward WMC / a dyer's labourer in Sowerby Bridge / employed by Helliwell & Ingham / Ingham & Company.

On 4th April 1896, he married Emma Casson [1877-1930] at St Thomas's Church, Claremount


Emma was born in Halifax, the daughter of George Casson
 

Children:

  1. Phyllis [b 1897] who married Harold Ralph
  2. Sarah Ellen [1899-1989] who married William Cape
  3. Hilda Pretoria [1901-1968] who married Fred Tasker Helliwell
  4. Amy [1906-1945] who married Charles William Whitley
  5. Ernest Clifford
  6. Blanche Marjorie [1910-1986] who married Jack Wallace
  7. Stanley
  8. Douglas [1916-1998]

The children were all born in Halifax.

The family lived at 23 Crossley Terrace, Halifax.

He was a regular soldier and served in the South African Wars.

During World War I, he re-enlisted [5th August 1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds in Flanders [10th August 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th August 1917].

He was buried at Adinkerke Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref C 8.]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Fossey, GeorgeRef F290
[1845-1921] Born in Loughton, Buckinghamshire.

He was a grave digger [1893].

On 2nd March 1872, he married Harriet Bull in Halifax.


Harriet was the daughter of
Richard Bull
 

Children:

  1. Susannah [1872-1918] who married Thomas Edwin Wilson
  2. Annie [1874-1935] who married Ernest Oddy
  3. George William
  4. Mary [1878-1952] who married William Parker
  5. Elizabeth [1879-1962] who was a worsted spinner [1901], & married Herbert Cockroft
  6. Clara [1883-1962] who was a worsted spinner [1901], & married Walter Swaine

Fossey, George WilliamRef F292
[1875-1944] Son of George Fossey.

Born in Copley [28th October 1875].

He was a machine tool maker [1900].

In 1900, he married Mary Priestley [1877-1924] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Edna [1906-1990] who married Ben Barnett
  2. Irene [b 1908]

The children were born in Halifax

Fossey, JosephRef F295
[1853-1917] Born in Ampthill, Bedfordshire [31st December 1853].

He was a labourer [1874].

In 1874, he married Sarah Billington [1855-1923] in Halifax.


Sarah was also born in Ampthill
 

Children:

  1. Ernest George

Joseph died in the Union Workhouse, Halifax [16th July 1917].

Sarah died in St Luke's Hospital, Halifax [10th January 1923]

Fossey, StanleyRef F307
[1912-1944] Son of Ernest George Fossey.

He worked for Thomas & Company at Square Road, Halifax.

In 1935, he married Lily Pickles [1912-1976] in Halifax.


Lily was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Barbara [b 1939]

The family lived at 28 Lorne Street, Halifax.

During World War II, served as a Lance Sergeant with the 122nd Field Regiment Royal Artillery.

He saw service in Singapore and was taken prisoner by the Japanese.

He was lost on 12th September 1944 when the Japanese Hell Ships Rakuyo Maru and Kachidoki Maru, carrying British & Australian POWs, were mistaken for cargo ships and torpedoed by US submarines USS Pampanito and USS Sealion.

Fostal CloughRef F195
Aka Foster Clough

Fostard, RichardRef F879
[1804-1???] Born in Stainland. He was a bookseller [1841].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. James
  2. Richard who died at the age of 17
  3. Nanny [baptised as Fosterd around 1834]
  4. Margaret [baptised as Foster]

Fostard, Richard deRef F881
[15??-1590]

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Foster...Ref F56
The entries for people & families with the surname Foster are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Foster & ArmstrongRef F753
Drapers, milliners, dress and mantle makers at Crown Street, Halifax [1890]. The business evolved from that of James Milne and – passing John Rayner and J. W. Foster – became a partnership with H. Foster and Mr Armstrong. In 1860, the Crown Street premises were rebuilt

Foster & ClayRef F743
Worsted spinners of hosiery yarn and other yarn. They had business at Hollins Mill, Sowerby Bridge. In 1895, they employed over 200 workers. Partners included Benjamin Clay and John Foster Clay.

In 1905, they were described as a branch of J. & J. Baldwin & Partners

Foster & SugdenRef F788
Cotton spinners at New Bridge Mill, Hebden Bridge [17??-1819]. Partners included John Foster

Foster & WinterRef F1191
Halifax solicitors. They were at Bank Chambers, Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1894].

Partners included Louis Pohlmann Foster and Duncan Clerk Winter.

The business was dissolved on 9th June 1894 by mutual agreement

Foster's CharityRef F1091
Recorded on 5th November 1875, when it was distributed
as is usual on this date

to 120 recipients at the White Lion Hotel, Hebden Bridge

Foster Clough Bridge, MytholmroydRef F319
Clapper bridge across Foster Clough

Foster Clough House, MytholmroydRef F24
Originally 2 cottages. Built about 1800. Now a single dwelling

Foster Clough, MytholmroydRef F135
Aka Fostal Clough. On its way down to Mytholmroyd and the Calder, the stream forms a part of the boundary between Midgley and Wadsworth.

See Foster Clough Bridge, Mytholmroyd

Foster's: Edward Foster & Son LimitedRef F779
Halifax brassfounders and engineering company founded in 1798. They produced many types of valves and fittings for the plumbing trade.

The business was established by Edward Foster and his son Edward.

Many members of the Foster family joined the firm.

The company produced valves at their Central Brass Works, Halifax.

Their models included

Invincible wheel valve with Jenkins disc
Standhard wheel valve with renewable seat and valve
Neerfall patent reducing valve
It became one of the largest brass-founders in Halifax.

The firm exhibited at the Brussels International Exhibition [May 1897].

A branch was established in Bradford Edward Foster & Son (Bradford), Limited, plumbers' merchants.

The business closed in 1933 and Leslie Foster moved to the Bradford branch.

Foster, England & FosterRef F1189
Solicitors at Crown Street, Halifax [1880]

Partners included Adam Crossfield Foster, Thomas England, and Louis Pohlmann Foster

Foster's: John Foster & Son LimitedRef F745
Alpaca and mohair spinners, and manufacturer of woollen and worsted products at their Black Dike Mills at Queensbury founded by John Foster in 1819.

In its heyday, the mills employed more than 1,500 people, and increased the population of Queensbury. When they were unable to recruit the necessary workers locally, they had to attract them from far and wide and constructed a 230-bed hostel to accommodate them. It included its own electrically-powered laundry.

At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products, and won several awards, including first prize for alpaca.

The Foster family owned the mills into the 20th century.

The company provided gas lighting for Queensbury. On 3rd January 1920 an increase in pressure caused meters to explode and damage to property.

Business began to decline in the 1980s. The company went into liquidation in November 2001, but was the subject of a management buy-out in December of the same year. The mills were sold for redevelopment in 2001.

See Albert Memorial, Queensbury, John Foster

Foster's: Joseph Foster & CompanyRef F53
Recorded just before World War I, when they were at Bank Bottom Mill, Elland

Foster Mill Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef F230
Slater Bank Lane.

Aka Foster Lane Bridge.

A 17th century packhorse bridge over Hebden Water built to give the fulling mill at Foster Mill access to Heptonstall

Foster's Stone, Hebden BridgeRef F706
A natural rock outcrop above Callis Wood

Foster's: W. & H. FosterRef F839
Manufacturers of heavy worsted goods.

Established by brothers William & Henry Foster at Duck Hill, Wadsworth.

Around 1830, they moved to Denholme, and – because of the shortage of local weavers – they distributed the work to former employees at Wadsworth & Crimsworth, travelling across the moors to collect the pieces twice a week.

In 1831, Benjamin Foster, a junior member of the firm, was making one of these collections – accompanied by his dog – when he perished in snow on the moors. His dog became Fosters' trademark.

In 1838, they built a new mill at Denholme.

They no longer collected the pieces from out-workers, but their former employees brought their pieces across the moors to Denholme. One such weaver, Grace Southwell, who for years conveyed pieces for hire across this moor on her back, got the nickname of pack horse on account of the excessive weights she was in the habit of carrying.

The Fosters' mill at Denholme was destroyed by fire in 1857, putting 900 people out of work. It was rebuilt on a much larger scale and in the 1870s, they employed 1,500 workers.

All operations on the site ceased in 2005 and the buildings have since been demolished

FostervilleRef F245
A suggestion of a new name for Queenshead in 1863 – in memory honour of Foster's Black Dike Mills – but Queensbury was chosen instead

Fothergill, AlexanderRef F6150
[17??-18??] Of Brighouse. He was a leading Quaker.

He married (1) Unknown.

He married (2) Jane, daughter of Richard Robinson.

Children:

  1. unknown

They emigrated with some of their family to America.

Jane died in America [1874]

Fothergill, JohnRef F151
[1849-1898] Born in Scotland.

He was a railway platelayer [1881, 1891].

In 1877, he married Ellen Chapman [1851-1???] in Sedbergh.


Ellen was born in Dent.

She had a daughter:

  • Edith Hannah Chapman [b Dent 1875] who was a domestic servant in Sedbergh [1891], a confectioner's shop assistant [1901]
 

Children:

  1. Jessie [b 1878] who was a worsted box winder [1901]
  2. Wallace [1881] who died in infancy
  3. Susannah [b 1883] who was a worsted box winder [1901]
  4. Mary [b Q3 1885] who was a thimble maker [1901], a laundress [1911]
  5. Margaret [b 1890] who was a machinist [1911]
  6. John William

The children were born in Dent, Yorkshire.

The family lived at

  • Scow, Dent, Sedbergh, Yorkshire [1881, 1891]
  • 15 Pleasant Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 4 Lincoln Street, Halifax [1911, 1918]

John died in Sedbergh in 1898 (aged 49) 

Fothergill, John WilliamRef F814
[1892-1918] Known as Jack.

Son of John Fothergill.

Born in Dent.

He was a local footballer with Belle Vue and with Mixenden / a tailor [1911] / employed by Lee & Company.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at La Bassée [7th May 1918] (aged 26).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [15th June & 13th July 1918].

He was buried at Le Vertannoy British Cemetery, Hinges, France [Grave Ref B 3].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Roll of Honour at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church

Fotheringham, Rev J. G.Ref F30
[18??-19??] Minister at Ripponden Congregational Church [1907, 1914]

Fotheringham, Rev RichardRef F642
[18??-19??] MA.

He was educated at Edinburgh and at Airedale College before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [1887]. He moved to Haverhill [1891] and to Blackheath [1895]

Foul PeterRef F65
An alias of the coiner Peter Barker

Foul Scout Wood, Hebden BridgeRef F820
Lies below Shackleton

Foulds, AlbertRef F176
[1865-1914] Son of John Foulds.

He was principal choir boy at St George's Church, Lee Mount / an accomplished bass singer / a musician [1901] / a member of the Corporation Band, Lee Mount, the Halifax Yeomanry Band & the Yorkshire Huzzars Band / a tenor horn player / a drummer at the Grand Theatre, Halifax [1911] / landlord of the Fountain Head, Pellon [1910-1914].

On 30th April 1887, he married Florabelle Aked [1866-1909] in Halifax.


Florabelle was the daughter of William Aked
 

They lived at

  • Old Lee Bank, Halifax [1901]
  • North Castle Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 42 Lee Mount Road, Halifax [1909]

Living with them [in 1901, 1911], was niece Mary Hannah Kelly [b 1891].

Florabelle died Q1 1909 (aged 43).

Albert died 23rd March 1914 (aged 49).

They were buried at St George's Church, Lee Mount [Grave Refs: 311 & 328]

Foulds & Ridings LimitedRef F775
Silk manufacturers at Prince of Wales Mill, Brighouse

Foulds, ArthurRef F345
[1897-1979] Born in Sowerby [13th April 1897].

He was a painter [1921].

In 19th March 1921, he married Lilian Pickles in Halifax.


Lilian was the daughter of
James Pickles
 

Children:

  1. Lena [b 1921]
  2. Raymond [b 1922]
  3. Eric [b 1925]
  4. Rita [b 1928]

The children were born in Halifax

Foulds, CharlesRef F363
[1863-19??] Born in Walsden.

He was a baker in Walsden [1915].

The bakery business was at 2 Stones Terrace, Walsden.

He married Mary Hannah [1865-19??].


Mary Hannah was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Young
  2. Annie [b 1894]
  3. Nellie [b 1897]

The family lived at

  • 304 Rochdale Road, Todmorden [1901]

Foulds, H. JonRef F594
[19??-] He was Chairman of the Halifax Building Society [1990-1999]

Foulds, JamesRef F164
[1831-1890] He married Sarah Akroyd.


Sarah was the daughter of
Jonathan Akroyd
 

Children:

  1. Annis [1867-1868] who died aged 1 year and 11 months
  2. William Edgar [1868-1869] who died aged 1 year and 5 months

The family lived at 20 Haley Hill, Halifax [1875].

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Foulds, JamesRef F310
[1897-1918] Son of William Foulds.

He was a greengrocer's errand boy [1911] / employed at the Union Jack Stores, Sowerby Bridge.

He lived at 13 Swinton Terrace, Dunkirk, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Northumberland Fusiliers [May 1916], then served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Battalion Notts & Derby (Sherwood Foresters) Regiment.

He went to France [February 1917].

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 21st March 1918 (aged 21).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [4th May, 30th November & 7th December 1918].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 7], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother Willie also served in the War

Foulds, JohnRef F177
[1839-1916] Born in Warley.

He was a print dyer [1871] / a woollen singer [1901].

Around 1864, he married Susan [1840-1904].


Susan was born in Sowerby
 

Children:

  1. Alice [b 1864]
  2. Albert
  3. Mitchell [b 1867]
  4. Annie [b 1869]
  5. (possibly) Margaret [b 1877]
  6. (possibly) Lena [b 1884]

The family lived at

  • Spring Hall Lane, Halifax [1901]
  • 110 Springhall Lane, Halifax [1904]
  • 6 Plymouth Grove, Halifax [1916]

Members of the family were buried at St George's Church, Lee Mount [Grave Refs: 311 & 328]

Foulds, JohnRef F244
[1841-1916] Landlord of the Black Lion, Luddendenfoot [1891-1898]

Foulds, JohnRef F526
[1852-19??] He was greengrocer [1911].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John [b 1884] who was a fitter machine tool maker [1911]
  2. Laura [1887-19??] who married Ernest Willie Haigh

The family lived at 85 Fern Street, Halifax [1907, 1911].

John was a widower by 1911.

Living with the widowed John [in 1911] were daughter Laura & family

Foulds, RichardRef F344
[1842-1902] Born in Warley.

He was a road contractor.

He married Eunice Ann Gledhill [1841-1900].


Eunice Ann was born in Ovenden
 

Children:

  1. Edna Wilkinson (Foulds) [1869-1941] who married John Barrett

Richard died 23rd July 1902

Foulds, SamRef F312
[18??-1918] Born in Sheffield.

He lived in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th July 1918.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Foulds, ThomasRef F1225
[1856-1???] Born in Bradford.

He was a cotton and woollen piece inspector [1891].

He married Eliza J. [1857-1???].

The family lived at 41 Briggate, Brighouse [1891]

Foulds, WilliamRef F267
[1872-19??] Son of Joseph Foulds, innkeeper.

Born in Halifax.

He was a plasterer of Knight Street, Halifax [1893] / a plasterer [1901, 1911].

In 1893, he married Mary Annie Pickles [1871-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Annie, of Threadneedle Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Robert Pickles, carter
 

Children:

  1. Mabel [b 1895] who was a reeler [1911]
  2. Willie
  3. James
  4. Ivy [b 1900]
  5. Ellen [b 1901]
  6. Connie [b 1903]
  7. Lenard [b 1906]
  8. Arthur [b 1909]
  9. Herbert [b 1911]

The family lived at

  • 35 Cromer Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 36 Timber Street, King Cross, Halifax [1911]

Foulds, WillieRef F266
[1896-19??] DCM, MM.

Son of William Foulds

He was a butcher's errand boy [1911].

He lived at 13 Swinton Terrace, Dunkirk.

During World War I, he enlisted at the outbreak of War, and served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal [1918] for


conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty.

He took command of his platoon when the officer and sergeant had been wounded and led the men forward under heavy machine gun fire to attack a farm from which the enemy were holding up our advance. He captured the strong point in spite of casualties, and enabled the line to advance. He displayed qualities of a high order of ability and leadership, and his example of courage and coolness under fire inspired the men he was leading

 

and the Military Medal for gallantry (as a stretcher bearer).

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [5th January 1918].

His younger brother James died in the War

Foulds, YoungRef F362
[1891-1948] Son of Charles Foulds.

He was a wholesale baker in Walsden (with his father).

During World War I, he enlisted [4th December 1915] and served with the Grenadier Guards.

He was discharged on 27th November 1918.

He survived the War though a skin infection, which he attributed to medication administered to war wounds, meant that his bakery work was affected and he had to wear gloves

Fountain Head Farm, PellonRef F1280
Owners and tenants have included

The Webster family had a beerhouse here.

It became the Fountain Head Inn

Fountain Head Village, Ovenden WoodRef F993
Community developed around the former Webster's Fountain Head Brewery and Long Can. It emerged around 2007

Four C'sRef F229
Later name for the Collinson's Café Conversation Circle

Four Gates End, StansfieldRef F1221
Area of Stansfield Moor

Fournes, IchabodRef F543
[16??-16??] Or Furness.

Vicar of Coley [1672]

Fourness's CharityRef F439
In an indenture of 1701, Phoebe Fourness bequeathed 10/- per annum from the rents of lands and property in Ovenden. The money was to be given to
some ecclesiastical person

to read divine service and preach in Illingworth Chapel every Sunday. The remainder of the rents was to be distributed to the poor of Ovenden who attend these services and sermons on Midsummer Day and Christmas Day.

Fourness, ElizabethRef F214
[1???-1???] Daughter of William Fourness.

She married (1) Richard Hogge. On her father's death, the couple inherited Shelf Old Hall.

After Richard death, she married (2) Thomas Hoile

Fourness, ElizabethRef F384
[1???-18??] Of Bradley Mills, Halifax.

On Sunday, 17th March 1833, she married James Hamer of Bury, Lancashire

Fourness, JohnRef F853
[17??-18??] He had the first iron foundry in Sowerby Bridge

Fourness, JosephRef F66
[1603-1676] Of Ovenden.

Son of William Fourness.

He was apprenticed to the cloth selling trade, working for John Mitchell of Boothtown. He worked as a manufacturer's agent at Blackwell Hall, London and became very wealthy.

He built Ovenden Hall, and had other properties including Upper Shibden Hall, Calico Hall.

He took the Parliamentary side in the Civil War, and was appointed to take the accounts of their officers by the Commonwealth. He was an army contractor during the war.

He was a governor of Nathaniel Waterhouse's Charity, Heath Grammar School, and a member of the Pious Uses Commission in 1651.

In 1654, he was Chief Constable of Agbrigg & Morley.

In 1637, he married (1) Effam Mitchell – his late master's widow – at Halifax Parish Church.

On Effam's death, he married (2) Phoebe, widow of James Oates.

Children:

  1. Samuel
  2. John
  3. Mary who married William Livesay
  4. Hannah [1666-1680]

He was one of the electorate of 59 people when Jeremy Bentley was elected first MP for Halifax in 1654.

He died 3rd March 1676.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Fourness, JosephRef F845
[18??-18??] Basket and skep maker and dealer in French, German and fancy baskets at Commercial Street, Brighouse [1874]

Fourness, MissRef F1087
[17??-18??] Confectioner at Crown Street, Halifax [1809]

Fourness, PhineasRef F367
[17??-1???] Of Bradley Mill, Stainland.

He married Betty [1760-1800].

Children:

  1. Rebecca [1762-11th October 1821]
  2. Elizabeth [1794-20th March 1795] who died (aged 8 months) 

Betty died 24th September 1800 (aged 40).

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: D4]

Fourness, PhoebeRef F438
[16??-17??] She established Fourness's Charity

Fourness, RichardRef F1169
[14??-1???] Yeoman.

In 1488, Richard Pek conveyed the Manor of Shelf Hall to Richard Fourness.

He was succeeded by Thomas Fourness

Fourness, SamuelRef F5
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was an ironmonger in Halifax

Fourness, ThomasRef F211
[14??-1559] Aka Fournes. He owned Batehayne, Northowram, Ryecroft, Illingworth and The Boothes

In 1530, he succeeded Richard Fourness to the Manor of Shelf Hall.

The Manorial Lord of Wakefield granted him and others an acre of land for a chapel at Coley.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William

Fourness, WilliamRef F212
[150?-1575] Son of Thomas Fourness.

He succeeded his father to the Manor of Shelf Hall.

He had disagreements with Edward Savile, lord of the Manor of Shelf, claiming that the Saviles were exercising rights which belonged to him.

In 1561, he accused the Saviles of trespass and removing coals from his lands without permission, and filed a suit in the Court of the Duchy of Lancaster.

He also accused the Saviles of enclosing Shelf Common.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth
  2. Jennet
  3. Agnes

After his death, the estate passed to his daughters

Fourness, WilliamRef F874
[15??-16??] A clothier.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Joseph

Fowkes, Rev E.Ref F501
[19??-19??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge. In 1957, he was appointed vicar at Pontefract

Fowler, Albert MorrisonRef F330
[1887-1948] Son of John Albert Akroyd Fowler.

Born in Halifax [Q4 1887]. 6th September 1887

After his mother died [1894], he and his sisters went to live with their aunt Jane & uncle Walter Hall.

He was a member of Range Bank Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax / a member of Halifax Swimming Club / a member of Claremount Liberal Club / a carpet weaver [1911, 1939] / employed at Crossley's.

In 1916, he married Mary E. Roper [1889-19??] in Halifax.


Mary E. was born 4th October 1889
 

Children:

  1. Edward [born 17th September 1919] who was a railway clerk [1939]
  2. Kenneth [b 1925]

They lived at

  • 22 Louise Street, Gibbet Street
  • 9 Ellen Royd Street, Halifax [1939]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the West Yorkshire Regiment.

He was reported missing [24th April 1918], and found to be a POW [June 1918].

His photograph appears with reports of his story in the Halifax Courier [1st June, 8th June & 15th June 1918].

He survived the War, and is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets.

An Albert Fowler died Q3 1948 (aged 60) 

Fowler, Albert Percival PeggRef F630
[1897-1916] Son of Elizabeth & Arthur Fowler of School House, West Vale.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 3rd September 1916 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland, on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale, and on the Memorial at West Vale Baptist Chapel

Fowler, Charles HodgsonRef F166
[1840-1910] MA, FSA, FRIBA.

Durham/Newcastle-based architect.

He did much work in the district:

Fowler, GeorgeRef F8940
[1858-19??] He was a dancing master [1911].

In [Q3] 1879, he married Kate Helen Staveley [1858-19??] in Halifax.


Kate was born in Hull. In 1901, she was listed as a confectioner, working on her own account
 

Children:

  1. Maude [b 1881] who was a clerk in a cabinet works [1901]
  2. Percy [b 1882] who was an apprentice in a textile? works [1901], a dental assistant [1911]
  3. Cyril [b 1888] who was a dentist [1911]
  4. Kathleen [b 1903]


The sons carried out their dental business at home [1911]
 

The family lived at

Fowler, J.Ref F816
[18??-19??] Florist and seedsman at Ovenden House Nursery [1905]

Fowler, John Albert AkroydRef F111
[1865-1???] Son of James Morrison Fowler, plumber.

Born in Northowram.

He was a bootmaker of 77 Haley Hill, Halifax [1885] / a shoemaker [1891].

In 1885, he married Annie Stuart Boyd at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Annie Stuart, of 35 Haley Hill, Halifax, was the daughter of
George Fergus Boyd
 

Children:

  1. Mary Emma [b 1886]
  2. Albert Morrison
  3. Louisa [1891-1893]
  4. Ethel [b 1893]

The family lived at 10 Victoria Street, Northowram [1891].

Annie died (possibly in childbirth) [Q1 1894] (aged 25).

In 1901, John (boot & shoe maker), was a boarder with the Hoyle family at 2 Bridge Street East, Halifax; the children were living with their aunt Jane & uncle Walter Hall

Fowler, John BerryRef F243
[1877-1939] Landlord of the Cunning Corner, Rishworth [1925-1931]

Fowler's: Kenneth Fowler & CompanyRef F1254
Pet shop. They were at Commercial Street, Brighouse [1947]

Fowles, JamesRef F1011
[17??-1???] A cloth merchant – sharing rooms with John Murgatroyd – at Halifax Piece Hall [1787].

He lived at Oats Royd, Warley [1787]

Fowlie, John CharlesRef F141
[1852-1930] Born in Strichen, Aberdeenshire.

He was a boot & shoe retailer at 100 Kirkgate, Wakefield [1878] / a commercial traveller & boot shop manager [1881] / a boot dealer [1891] / a retired boot dealer [1911].

On 26th December 1878, he married Martha Hannah in Wakefield.


Martha Hannah was the daughter of
William Marsland
 

Children:

  1. John William [1880-1953] who was a bookseller [1911]
  2. Jane Esther Mary [b 1882] who was an assistant school mistress [1911]
  3. Edwin Arthur [b 1885] who became auctioneer and valuer in Wakefield
  4. Frank [1887-1888]

The family lived at

  • Kirkgate, Wakefield [1891]
  • Boyndlie, Sandal, Wakefield [1911]

John Charles died in Bridlington [Q4 1930] (aged 77).

Martha Hannah died in Buckrose, East Riding [Q4 1940] (aged 87) 

Fox...Ref F59
The entries for people & families with the surname Fox are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fox's AlmanacRef F346
An almanac first published by A. B. Bayes in 1874.

See Local Newspapers

Fox & FawthropRef F335
Woollen manufacturers at Old Mill, Greetland.

Partners included John Fox and James Fawthrop.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1867

Fox BrothersRef F742
Clothiers, outfitters, mercers and tailors at Old Market and The Arcade, Halifax [1895]

Fox Croft, RastrickRef F398
Area around St Matthew's Church

Fox's: George Fox & Sons LimitedRef F791
Cotton spinners and doublers.

They were at Valley Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905] and West End Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Fox's: W. Fox & SonsRef F241
Plumbers and glaziers at Sowerby Bridge.

Established by William Fox and his sons Thomas and John.

By 1881, the brothers were running the business.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1881

Fox's: William Fox & SonsRef F792
Joiners, builders and undertakers at Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

Established by William Fox.

Partners included Abraham Fielding Fox

The Foxcroft familyRef F608
Recorded around Soyland and Sowerby in the 15th century. Members of the family lived at Kebroyd and Toothill Hall, Rastrick

Foxcroft, AnthonyRef F222
[1???-16??] He owned Wood Hall, Skircoat.

He married (1) Unknown.

In 1638, he married (2) Jane, widow of John Power, thus becoming stepfather of Dr Henry Power.

Children:

  1. Margery who married Dr Henry Power
  2. Anthony

The family moved to New Hall, Elland which Foxcroft was leasing from his father-in-law, Rev Charles Greenwood. He owned property at Exley in 1650.

He was an army contractor supplying the Royalists during the Civil War. He had to pay decimation.

See House at the Maypole

Foxcroft, AnthonyRef F859
[15??-1???] He is recorded at The Swan Inn, Halifax in 1585

Foxcroft, DanielRef F886
[1???-16??] 1635 as is recorded
Gent, late of Elland Hall

Foxcroft Estate, RastrickRef F23
Stands on the site of Rastrick House

Foxcroft, GeorgeRef F1336
[15??-16??] Around 1629, he bequeathed £10 to the poor of the chapelry of Sowerby.

See St Peter's Church, Sowerby Benefactions

Foxcroft, GraceRef F373
[1618-1692] Daughter of Thomas Foxcroft.

She married John Drake.

She was buried at Ripon Cathedral

Foxcroft, IsaacRef F554
[15??-16??] Son of Thomas Foxcroft.

He sold New Grange, Headingley to Anthony Wade [1604]

Foxcroft, JamesRef F858
[16??-16??] Halifax Constable [1643]. He is recorded at The Swan Inn, Halifax

Foxcroft, JohnRef F174
[1???-16??] See New Hall, Elland

Foxcroft, JohnRef F192
[15??-16??] Of Kebroyd. In 1608, he owned Brig Royd, Ripponden

Foxcroft, MichaelRef F250
[1574-1652] He had manorial rights in Soyland and lived at Kebroyd Hall, Soyland and Lane Head, Soyland He had to pay composition of 13/6d.

His family had a fulling mill at Luddendenfoot [1588].

A Foldout describes the 1593 feud between Foxcroft and Samuel Wade over water rights at the mill

A Foldout describes the 1599 dispute between Foxcroft and Henry Farrer

Foxcroft, ThomasRef F555
[1???-1???] Of New Grange, Headingley.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Judith who married Anthony Wade
  2. Isaac

Foxcroft, ThomasRef F199
[14??-15??] He lived at Toothill Hall, Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Gracia [15??-1626] who married John Brighouse

Foxcroft, ThomasRef F374
[15??-16??] Of Upper Shibden Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Grace

Foxen Lane Bridge, Mill BankRef F1176
Aka Bank Bridge. Bridge which carries Foxen Lane over Lumb Brook

The Foxhill familyRef F145
Recorded in the 17th/18th century, when they were at Kebroyd House

Foxton, RichardRef F1170
[1784-1872] Son of William Foxton of Low Moor.

Born in Scackleton, Yorkshire.

He was a gardener [1841, 1851, 1861] / a retired gardener [1871].

He owned the White Horse, Luddendenfoot [1847] and other property in Spring Gardens which were auctioned on 20th April 1842.

He married Sophia [1787-1859] from Holgate, Yorkshire, daughter of Thomas Burton.

Children:

  1. William [1820-1849] who married Eleanor Coates from Osmotherley, Yorkshire
  2. Hannah [1819-1895] who is mentioned in the List of Local Wills 1895
  3. Richard [1821-1867] who married Mary Briggs from Halifax
  4. Elizabeth [1823-1881] who married James Baldwin
  5. Thomas Burton [b 1825]
  6. John [1827-1829]
  7. Christopher [1828-1829]
  8. George [1829-1834]
  9. Mary [1831-1895] who married David Rennison from Poppleton, York

The family lived at

Foy, TomRef F405
[1879-1917] Born in Manchester of Irish parents. The music hall comedian, entertainer and clown lived in the Halifax and Sowerby Bridge district. He was also popular in London with sketches such as
Tom Foy and his Donkey
A Yorkshire Lad in London
His repertoire included songs such as
My farewell to Sarby Brig
He died on stage at the Argyle Theatre in Birkenhead

Foyster, Rev L. A.Ref F118
[18??-19??] Curate at Heptonstall [1904]

France, EdwardRef F337
[1897-1917] Son of Catherine & James France of Great Gosby, Liverpool.

He was employed by Crossley's.

During World War I, he served as a Private with B Company 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 3rd May 1917 (aged 20).

He was buried at Aubigny Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref II F 41].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

France, FredRef F884
[1844-1???] He was landlord of the Prince of Wales, Brighouse [1881].

In [Q1] 1873, he (possibly) married Elizabeth Harpin in Huddersfield

France, George ArthurRef F354
[1895-1915] Son of Willie France.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of Square Sunday School & Boys' Brigade / a brickyard labourer [1911] / a brick setter at Drake's Limited, Ovenden.

He was engaged to Miss May Skelly of Haley Hill.

During World War I, he served as a Private / Drummer with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He became a Grenadier.

In November 1915, he had been working on a parapet, under the cover of fog. The fog suddenly lifted, and he continued to work, remarking that he would probably be fired at.

His next remark was "They've done it" as a bullet entered his side.

He died that evening [7th November 1915] (aged 20)  when he had nearly reached the base hospital.

He was buried at Sailly-sur-la-Lys Canadian Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II F 135].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

France, John WilliamRef F181
[1852-1918] Son of James France, millwright.

Born in Halifax.

He was an overlooker of Halifax [1874] / a worsted combing overlooker [1881] / a wool combing overlooker [1891] / a combing overlooker [1901] / a wool combing overlooker [1911].

In 1874, he married Martha Ann Fearnley at Halifax Parish Church.


Martha Ann, of Ovenden, was born in Halifax, the daughter of
James Fearnley.

She was a baker's shopkeeper [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Amelia [b 1877] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  2. James [b 1882] who was a boot & shoe maker [1901]
  3. Rowland [b 1888] who was a worsted doffer [1901], a baker [1911]
  4. Leonard

The family lived at

  • Shroggs Road, Ovenden [with Martha's parents 1881]
  • 1 Hare Street, Halifax [1891, 1901, 1911]

John William died Q1 1918 (aged 65)  All 3 sons served in World War I; Leonard was killed [29th July 1918]

France, LeonardRef F704
[1891-1918] Son of John William France.

He was a member of Hanover Methodist Chapel, Halifax / a hairdresser's apprentice [1911] / a hairdresser at 10 Mile Cross, Halifax (own account).

He lived with his parents at Hare Street, Halifax.

He had a sweetheart, Miss Jagger.

During World War I, he enlisted [1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He served in France & Italy.

He was killed in action somewhere in France [29th July 1918] (aged 27).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [17th August 1918].

He was buried at Tannay British Cemetery, Thiennes, France [Grave Ref 5 A 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Hanover Methodist Chapel, Halifax

France, MrRef F420
[17??-17??] A pottery manufacturer.

Jonathan Catherall lodged with Mr France, & married his daughter Elizabeth.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1744-1799] who married Jonathan Catherall

France, WillieRef F349
[1877-1???] Son of Arthur William France, joiner.

Born in Northowram.

He was a bricklayer of 6 Ackville Street [1894] / a bricklayer [1911].

In 1894, he married Emma Jane Naylor [1875-1???] at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Emma Jane, of 6 Portland Road, was born in Northowram, the daughter of George Naylor, warp dresser
 

Children:

  1. George Arthur
  2. Elsie [b 1896] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  3. Lewis [1900-1904]

The family lived at

  • 8 Gas House Lane, Halifax [1901]
  • 12 Horsfall Yard, Range Bank, Halifax [1911]

Francis Crossley's Almshouses, Margaret StreetRef F343

Francis, EdwardRef F473
[1833-19??] He was Chief Clerk at Halifax Post Office [1859].

He left Halifax but returned to become Postmaster for Halifax [1867-1893].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Catherine Anne [1860-1913] who married Richard Watson Evans

The family lived at Heath Hall, Halifax.

He moved to Preston and then to St Anne's on Sea

Frank, AbrahamRef F394
[16??-1713] He lived at Lower Willow Hall, Sowerby Bridge [1710].

The Northowram Register records that


[he was] at Rochdale on 26th October 1713, and came home about 8 o'clock at night. He died about 3 o'clock next morning 27th October. It's supposed that he poyson'd himself, having his maid servant with child
 

Frank, J. B.Ref F497
[18??-18??] He lived at Shibden Grange.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. a daughter
  2. Laura Anna Sophia Leontine who married [1854] Dr Harry Maude from Bradford

Frank, RevRef F399
[17??-1???] Curate at Halifax [1792]

Frankland, Albert AinleyRef F718
[1869-1936] Son of George Frankland.

Born in Norland.

He was a joiner [1891] / a piano and music dealer and music teacher / a piano & sewing machine dealer [1901] / a pianoforte dealer [1911]. He had showrooms at 2 Boggart Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

On 15th August 1891, he married Mary Greenwood Heyworth at Elland Parish Church.


Mary was born in Bradford, the daughter of Uttley Greenwood Heyworth
 

Children:

  1. Dora Winifred [1891-1950]
  2. Ida [1896-1986] who married Alec Pickles [1894-1964]

The family lived at Newton Terrace, 1 Boggart Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1901, 1905, 1911].

All the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Frankland, AlonzoRef F202
[1890-1918] Son of John Frankland.

Born in Halifax [24th October 1890].

He was a member of Square Church Brotherhood, Halifax / a cabinet maker's machinist [1911] / a motor driver with Alfred Goodall & Company Limited at Salterhebble.

He was engaged to Miss Holt of 9 Coal Street, Caddy Field.

During World War I, he enlisted with the 4th (Territorial) Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [18th June 1917], and served as a Private with the British Expeditionary Force in France and Flanders [from 5th December 1917].

He was killed in action at Marfaux, France [20th July 1918] (aged 27).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [14th September 1918].

He was buried at Marfaux British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I E B].

He is remembered at Heywood's Chapel and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Frankland, FredRef F340
[18??-1918] He was a driver with Halifax Corporation Highways Department.

He lived at 6 Lincoln Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [1916], and served as a Private with the 22nd (Tyneside Irish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was reported to be a POW.

He died 28th April 1918.

He was buried at Lille Southern Cemetery, France [Grave Ref III B 29].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Frankland, GeorgeRef F7900
[1838-1919] Son of Isaac Frankland.

Born in Sowerby.

He was a worsted worker [1851] / a joiner [1891].

On 14th December 1862, he married Emma Ainley [1840-1912] at Elland Parish Church.


Emma came from Norland
 

Children:

  1. Caroline [1864] who died aged 7 months
  2. Newton [1866-1867] who died aged 1 year & 9 months
  3. Ainley

The family lived at 4 Bankhouse, Scar Road, Norland [1891].

He died at Bankhouse, Norland.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,248. Probate was granted to his son Ainley and John Lockwood Thompson (coal merchant).

All the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Frankland, GeorgeRef F494
[1887-1961] Son of Arthur Frankland, stoker.

He was a cotton spinner of Sowerby Bridge [1914].

On 18th August 1914, he married Ellen Foster [1895-1974] at All Saints' Church, Castleford.


Ellen, of Elland Street, Castleford, was the daughter of Richard Foster, brick layer
 

Children:

  1. Ronald

Frankland, HansonRef F269
[1869-1945] Son of Joseph Frankland.

Born in Sowerby Bridge [29th October 1869].

He was a cotton grinder (card room) [1911].

On 18th May 1891, he married Emma Jane Nicholl [1873-1952] (possibly) at St George's Church, Sowerby.


Emma Jane was born in Sowerby Bridge [1st March 1873]
 

Children:

  1. Wilfred [1891-1969] who was a cotton mule piecer [1911]
  2. Lewis [1893-1971] who was a cotton mule piecer [1911]
  3. Melinda [1898-1972] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  4. Nellie [1905-1980] who married William Cartlidge
  5. child
  6. child

The family lived at 17 Vale Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Hanson died in Sowerby Bridge [8th December 1945] (aged 76).

Emma Jane died in Sowerby Bridge [29th April 1952]

Frankland, IsaacRef F324
[1807-1889] Son of William Frankland.

Born in Halifax, he lived at Stirk Bridge, Norland for most of his life.

He was a carpenter [1841] / a millwright [1851].

On 24th June 1827, he married (1) Amelia Holmes [1805-1832] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Job [b 1827]
  2. Thomas [1827-1877]
  3. William [b 1828]

Amelia died in 1832.

On 26th September 1834, he married (2) Ann Wadsworth [1809-1883] at Elland Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Eliza [1834-1886] who was a worsted worker [1851]
  2. Sarah Ann [b 1836] who was a worsted worker [1851]
  3. George
  4. Josiah [1841-1892] who was a worsted worker [1851]
  5. Alfred [1843-1915]
  6. Joseph

Isaac & Ann were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Frankland, JohnRef F200
[1841-1914] Son of Robert Frankland, wood turner.

Born in Ribchester, Preston, Lancashire.

He was a wood turner of Northowram [1876] / a bobbin turner (wood) [1881] / a bobbin turner [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1876 he married Mary Hodgson at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was the daughter of
Benjamin Hodgson
 

Children:

  1. Robert [b 1877] who was a shop assistant [1891], a tram conductor [1901]
  2. Herbert [b 1879] who was a bobbin gatherer [1891], a butcher shopkeeper [1901]
  3. Edgar [b 1883] who was a mechanical engineer [1901]
  4. Percy [b 1886] who was a warehouse boy grocery [1901]
  5. Alonzo

The family lived at

  • 29 Godley Road, Northowram [with Mary's parents 1881]
  • 29 Godley Road, Halifax [1891]
  • 37 Godley Road, Halifax [1901]
  • 29 Godley Road, Halifax [1911]

Frankland, JosephRef F356
[1847-1889] Son of Isaac Frankland.

Born in Norland.

He was an overlooker [1881].

On 5th January 1867, he married Hannah Howarth [1848-1926] at Elland Parish Church.


Hannah was born in Copley
 

Children:

  1. Hanson
  2. Harry [b 1871]
  3. Eliza Ann [b 1873]
  4. Isaac [b 1876]

Frankland, JudgeRef F477
[18??-19??] Appointed Halifax County Court Judge [October 1936]

Frankland, RonaldRef F3320
[1922-1942] Son of George Frankland.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

In [Q2] 1941, he married Dorothy Evans in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in West Hartlepool [7th June 1942] (aged 19).

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [F C 248]

Frankland, WilliamRef F355
[1765-18??]

On 8th July 1798, he married Mary Pollard [1777-18??] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Isaac

Frankland, William NormantonRef F358
[1895-1966] Born in Halifax.

In [Q2] 1922, he married Nellie in Wharfedale.


Nellie [née Pease] was the widow of
James Henry Vowles
 

They lived at 10 Leamington Road, Ilkley.

William died in Wharfedale

Franklin & HumphreysRef F770
Halifax attorneys. Partners: James Franklin and George Beauchamp Humphreys

Franklin, Harry JamesRef F1193
[1844-18??] Son of James Franklin.

Born in Peckham, Surrey.

He was a partner in J. & H. J. Franklin [1868] / a solicitor [1871]. In 1876, he married Elizabeth Whittell [1852-1???] from Dee-on-Horsbridge, Shropshire, at Newton Abbot.

Children:

  1. James Whittell [b 1879]
  2. Harry [b 1880]

He was lodging at 16 Lord Street, Halifax [1871].

The family lived at 7 Trinity Place, Halifax [1881]

Franklin's: J. & H. J. FranklinRef F1192
Halifax solicitors. Recorded in May 1868. Partners included James Franklin and H. J. Franklin

Franklin, JamesRef F357
[1818-1875] Born in Heytesbury, Wiltshire.

In 1845, he came to Halifax to work for Stocks & Macaulay. He was articled to Michael Stocks. In 1852, he joined the firm.

He was Lieutenant of the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers, and promoted to Captain [10th May 1861].

He was a partner in J. & H. J. Franklin [1868] and Franklin & Humphreys

He married Sophia Eliza [1818-1???].

Children:

  1. Sophia [b 1840]
  2. Emily [b 1842]
  3. Harry James
  4. Frances Jane [b 1846]

The family lived at 12 Trinity Row / Trinity Place, Halifax [1850]

Frankling, WalterRef F825
[1882-1918] Son of Frank Frankling of 31 New Road, Colne, Wiltshire.

He married Ellen.

They lived at Slater Ing Hall, Hebden Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 26th Battalion Royal Welsh Fusiliers.

He died 4th October 1918 (aged 36).

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 5]

Franks, Rev J.Ref F466
[19??-19??] Minister of Highroad Well Congregational Church [1966]

Franks, Rev J. E.Ref F484
[18??-19??] He was at Bakewell before moving to Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [1927]. He resigned in 1928

Franks, JamesRef F1212
[17??-1???] Perpetual Curate at Southowram [1793-1802]

Franks, Rev JamesRef F190
[1760-1829] MA.

Son of James Franks of Loughborough.

He was Curate of Haddenham, Cambridgeshire [1787] and Minister of the English Chapel at Glasgow before becoming Curate at Halifax [1799, 1802-1829], Vicar at Old Brigg Chapel, Sowerby Bridge [1802], and Vicar of Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge when the new Church was built

He married Sarah [1763-1828].

Children:

  1. James Clarke

In 1802, he wrote the book


SACRED LITERATURE
or
REMARKS
upon the
BOOK OF GENESIS
collected and arranged
to promote the knowledge and evince the Excellence
of the
HOLY SCRIPTURES

which was printed by Holden & Dowson.

In 1803, he started efforts to build a new Church.

In 1808, he established the Beech School. He contributed towards the cost of the new Sowerby Bridge National School.

He died in Chelsea.

Sarah & James were buried at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

See William Huntriss

Franks, Rev James ClarkeRef F989
[1793-1867] MA.

Son of Rev James Franks.

He was Vicar of Huddersfield. He had the church there demolished and rebuilt in 1836.

He was a friend of Rev Patrick Brontë.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

In 1824, he married Elizabeth Firth.

Children:

  1. John [b 1826]
  2. James Coulthurst [b 1828] who died aged 1 month
  3. Henry James [1830-1854]
  4. Elizabeth [b 1831]
  5. William Walker [1833-1864]

On their honeymoon, the couple visited the Brontë girls at Cowan Bridge, but they did not recognise the symptoms of abuse which the children suffered

Fraser, Rev Alexander CharlesRef F661
[1816-1882] Born in Calcutta.

He claimed that, as a baby, he had been held in the arms of Napoleon I

He was Curate at Elland [1847, 187?]. He left to become chaplain to Lord Clarence Paget of his vessel, L'Aigle, and whilst cruising in the Mediterranean, preached in modern Greek.

It was said that he could speak 7 languages.

He married Caroline, daughter of Rev Christopher Atkinson.

He died in Wimbledon

Fraser, JohnRef F70
[1819-1881] Leeds engineer who designed North Bridge and many other railway bridges and viaducts in the area

Frayn, Rev GeorgeRef F476
[1849-1936] Minister at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel [1902-1905]. He returned in 1917.

He was the oldest Methodist minister in Halifax

Frazer, ConstableRef F903
[1???-18??] Constable at Halifax [1837].

See Ellis Nicholl

Frazer, Helen (Letitia)Ref F982
[1918-2008] Daughter of Ellen Mary and William Henry Frazer.

Born in Portugal.

She and her partner, Huldine V. Beamish, farmed in Portugal.

She died in Portugal

Fred Bentley BathRef F732

Free Church Girls' Club, HalifaxRef F855
Recorded in 1917 at Guild House, 9 Regent Street, when Mrs E. Rushworth was secretary

Free Gift Institution Friendly SocietyRef F1017
Sowerby Friendly Society [Number 623] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Free School Lane Surgery, HalifaxRef F1166
In the 1990s, Heath School House was used as a surgery.

Heath House Surgery closed on 12th August 2011 and moved to Savile Hall as the new Boulevard Health Centre

Freeborn, Rev JackRef F1167
[19??-1???] Headmaster of Holy Trinity Junior Boys' & Girls' School at Savile Hall, Halifax.

In 1985, a sports hall was built at the school following fund-raising by Rev Freeborn

Freehold Land SocietyRef F1180
Recorded in January 1852, when they held their annual meeting at Mr Horsfall's Temperance Hotel, Halifax. The meeting heard that they had 150 shareholders. 60 of these had been located on allotments on the Hanson Lane estate. The Society had recently bought West Hill Park for £3000, and – when they had gained permission – planned to allot the land to shareholders

Freeman...Ref F27
The entries for people & families with the surname Freeman are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Freeman's Bridge, BrighouseRef F156
Bridge over the Calder & Hebble Navigation between Elland and Brighouse

Freeman's CutRef F116
The section of the Calder & Hebble Navigation from Brookfoot lock was built around 1808 by Freeman's

Freeman's Estate, BrighouseRef F1283
Property at Brookfoot including Freeman's Mills, Brookfoot, Freeman's Bridge, Brighouse, Freeman's Cut, Freeman's Wood, Brighouse, Grove, Brighouse and Neptune, Brighouse

Freeman, Hardy & WillisRef F1202
Boot & shoe makers, and retailers. They were at

Freeman's Lodging House, BrighouseRef F350
Bradford Road.

Recorded in July 1886, when an unknown man died suddenly from exhaustion, caused by want of food

Freeman's Wood, BrighouseRef F291
Brookfoot.

See Dry Bridge

FreemasonsRef F96
A closed benevolent society. Originally the members were freeman masons.

The first Grand Lodge of England was inaugurated in London in 1717.

A Brighouse lodge opened in October 1870.

A Lightcliffe lodge opened in 1???.

It appears that an east-west alignment in their premises was significant in the choice of accommodation.

See Masonic Lodges, Lewis, Oddfellows, Lodge of Probity, Seditious Societies Act [1799] and Tyler

Freemasons' Hall, HalifaxRef F78
St John's Place, Trinity Road.

This

handsome and commodious Masonic hall

was designed by Edwin Oates and built in 1868/1870 by J. Charnock & Sons for two Halifax LodgesProbity [No 61] Lodge and St James [No 448] Lodge. The corner-stone was laid by Sir Henry Edwards in May 1868.

The Hall was 64 ft by 55 ft and the frontage was to St John's House, Halifax. There was a club room, a banquetting hall, &c, and accommodation for the Hall keeper.

The Hall was first used on Monday evening, 16th August 1869. It was consecrated in November 1869.

The building housed a library, meeting rooms, committee rooms, dressing rooms, banqueting hall, and games rooms.

Other lodges which met here included Beacon No 4066, Halez Fax No 4135, and Pennine No 4177.

It was used as a tea warehouse by Collinson's.

In 1987, the Freemasons sold the premises and moved to Southwood House, Birdcage Lane.

It was demolished in 1988, and in 1990, the front was incorporated in the offices of the Halifax Building Society. Halifax Civic Trust urged the Department of the Environment to block the demolition of the hall, a listed building.

The front is listed.

See Masonic Hall, Halifax

Freemasons' Hall, Sowerby BridgeRef F472
Built by the Ryburn No 1283 Lodge

Freemen of the BoroughRef F465

Freer, HarryRef F419
[1912-1944] Son of Mary Elizabeth & William Freer.

In [Q4] 1941, he married Mary Greenwood in Todmorden.

They lived at Cornholme.

During World War II, he served as an Able Seaman Royal Navy aboard HMS Rajah.

He died 14th October 1944 (aged 32).

He was buried at Colombo (Liveramentu) Cemetery, Ceylon [Grave Ref 2 E 14].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Freeth, WilliamRef F152
[1915-1942] Son of Edith & Samuel Freeth.

In [Q3] 1940, he married Nellie Shepherd in Calder District.

They lived at Stone Chair.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Artillery.

He died 11th August 1942 (aged 27).

He was buried at Bethel Methodist Chapel, Shelf [I 55].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Shelf Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

French, EdwardRef F2270
[1857-1905] Son of John French.

Born in Halifax.

He was a doffer at worsted factory [1871] / a spindle maker [1881, 1882] / a spindle & fly maker [1891] / a mill mechanic in worsted mill [1901] / a mill mechanic at Clay & Horsfall's mill [1905].

In 1882, he married Mary Speak [1863-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary, of King Cross, was born in Earby/Easby, Yorkshire, the daughter of William? Speak, a mason
 

Children:

  1. Tom Trevor [b 1883] who was a machine maker fitter [1891, 1901]
  2. James Edward [b 1885] who was a glass beveller [1891, 1901]
  3. Gertrude [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1891, 1901], & married Emsley Pickles
  4. Joe Harry [b 1898] who was a worsted frame doffer [1911]

The family lived at

  • 2 Farrar Street, Skircoat, Halifax [1891]
  • 42 Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 12 Thompsons Terrace, Halifax [1911]

He had suffered from a hernia for several months. In 1905, he came home from his work at Clay & Horsfall's Wharf Mill, Sowerby Bridge feeling ill. An operation was performed but he died shortly afterwards

French, ElizabethRef F336
[16??-16??] Daughter of Robina (née Cromwell) & Peter French Robina's father was Oliver Cromwell.

She married John Tillotson

French, HaroldRef F341
[1924-1944] Son of Mary Ann & Cecil French of 29 Godley Gardens, Stump Cross, Halifax.

He was educated at Akroyd Place School / a member of St Matthew's Church, Northowram & Scouts / a joiner's apprentice.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders.

He was killed in north-west Europe [23rd October 1944] (aged 20).

He was buried at Uden War Cemetery, Netherlands [Grave Ref 1 B 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

French, JohnRef F646
[18??-18??] In April 1853, he was imprisoned for 14 days for stealing a silk umbrella, the property of Robert Youd of Halifax

French, JohnRef F9900
[1821-1???] Born in Market Harborough, Leicestershire.

He was a crabber at stuff piece dyehouse [1861] / a hawker of drapery [1871] / a pedlar & draper [1881] / a dyer [1882].

In 1838, he married Mary Ann Spriggs [1817-1???].


Mary Ann was born in Bilston, Leicestershire
 

Around 1853, the family moved to Halifax.

Children:

  1. William A. [b 1842] who was a yarn dyer [1861]
  2. John G. [b 1844]
  3. Sarah Ann [b 1850] who was a worsted spinner [1861], married Mr Tetley, and was a reeler at worsted factory [1871]
  4. Emma [b 1854] who was a twister at worsted factory [1871]
  5. Edward

The family lived at

  • 17 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1861]
  • 5 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1871]
  • 22 Alma Street, Halifax [1881]

Living with them [in 1871] was granddaughter Elizabeth A Tetley [aged 6 months]

Fresh Air FundRef F1270
A charity of the 1930s/1940s which took children from the town to the countryside where they played in the fields and were given a bun


Question: Does anyone know anything about this? Who gave the money for the venture? When was it active? Who organised the events?

 

Fretwell, JohnRef F205
[1829-1907] Born in Bredon, Yorkshire.

He was a cotton dyer [1861] / a dyer's manager [1891].

In [Q3] 1854, he married Mary Ann Sutcliffe [1833-1907] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was born in Halifax, the daughter of
Mr Sutcliffe
 

Children:

  1. Sarah H. [b 1855]
  2. Mary A. [b 1857] who was a woollen weaver [1891]
  3. Alfred [b 1858]
  4. Isabella [b 1860]
  5. Alice [b 1863]
  6. Lily [b 1866]
  7. Robert [1869-1913] who was a broker's assistant [1891]

The family lived at

  • Skircoat Green Village [1861]
  • Heywood Place, Halifax [1871]
  • Freedom Street, Halifax [1891]

John died 26th May 1907 (aged 78).

Mary Ann died 25? 1907 (aged 73) 

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 946] with Mary Ann's brother James Sutcliffe

Freudenberg Nonwovens LimitedRef F275
Hollyns Mill, Greetland.

Formerly Bondina.

Manufacturer of synthetic and non-woven fabrics. Vilene Interlinings is a division of the company.

The Company was later taken over by the Swiss company Sia Fibral.

See Greetland Dyeing Company Limited

Frieldhurst Farm, CornholmeRef F288
Frieldhurst Road. Early 18th century house dated 1721.

The early 18th century barn – inscribed IMH 1721 – is listed

Frieldhurst, TodmordenRef F937
An area of Todmorden.

See Mr Holgate

The Friend of the PeopleRef F906
A national weekly Chartist journal first published in 1851 and edited by Julian Harney and Ernest Jones. Local people who were willing to promote the circulation of the paper included

  • Halifax: Uriah Hinchcliffe; T. Wood; C. Shackleton
  • Hebden Bridge: James Mann
  • Todmorden: Thomas Fielden

FriendlyRef F79
Area west of Halifax and on the road to Luddendenfoot and above Sowerby Bridge

Friendly Amicable SocietyRef F76
Friendly Society. Recorded in 1907, when it was disbanded on account of falling numbers

Friendly & Trades Club, HalifaxRef F828
The club was at 9 Weymouth Street [1905] and St James's Road, Halifax [1915].

On 8th October 1910, the American millionaire, Samuel Simeon Fels visited Halifax and addressed trade unionists at the Club.

This and Halifax Friendly & Trade Societies Club may be the same place

Friendly BandRef F64
Sowerby Bridge. The Band was founded in 1868 by a group of local enthusiasts from the choir of Friendly Wesleyan Chapel as they were on a walk from Friendly to Huddersfield.

The Band was once known as the Friendly Subscription Prize Band.

The original members each bought their own instruments and practised in a small room at the junction of Burnley Road and Water Hill Lane, near the White Horse Inn, Friendly.

They moved their quarters when one of the members wanted to live with his new bride in the Water Hill premises.

They are now back at the Burnley Road / Water Hill Lane building.

See Aquilla Milnes and Arthur Thomas

Friendly Band RoomRef F1248
Rehearsal room for the Friendly Band at the junction of Burnley Road and Water Hill Lane, near the White Horse Inn, Friendly

Friendly BarRef F1246
Toll bar on the Todmorden Turnpike at Friendly

Friendly Fold, OvendenRef F279
4 & 6 Friendly Fold Road. House dated 1709. It stands behind the Friendly Inn, Ovenden.

Owners and tenants have included

Friendly Inn Farm, CottonstonesRef F1228
Until 1936, this was the Friendly Inn

Friendly Operative Carpenters' & Joiners' SocietyRef F909
Recorded in 1866, when there was a lodge in Elland

Friendly, OvendenRef F207
Area of Ovenden.

See Sundial House, Friendly

Friendly Society of WorkmenRef F795
Langfield friendly society established in 1763

Friendly Toll House&44; Burnley RoadRef F255
Stood next to the Friendly Inn, Warley.

It became a private house.

Friendly Working Men's Club, Sowerby BridgeRef F824
Recorded in 1900 & the 1940s.

See Savings Clubs

Friends of All Souls' ChurchRef F342
See All Souls' Church

Friends of Halifax Choral SocietyRef F69
The Unofficial Supporters' Magazine of the Halifax Choral Society.

Friends of Halifax Parish ChurchRef F387
See Bishop George Horsfall Frodsham and Halifax Parish Church

Friends of Hebden Bridge Picture HouseRef F389
Established in September 1996 to save and promote Hebden Bridge Picture House

Friends of Judy WoodsRef F388
A group for the support and preservation of Judy Woods

Friends of Lister Lane CemeteryRef F333
Formed in 1999 to preserve and maintain Halifax General Cemetery as an historic site and a nature reserve.

See Stories From the Graves

Friends of Nutclough WoodsRef F912
See Nutclough Woods, Hebden Bridge

Friends of Ogden WaterRef F331
See Ogden Water and Ogden Water Visitor & Interpretation Centre

Friends of Saint Matthew's Churchyard, LightcliffeRef F89
Established in 2012 to restore, conserve & maintain the old churchyard of St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.

They have done an excellent job of clearing the overgrown ground, and of recording the graves at Lightcliffe Church

Friends of the RydingsRef F390
Set up in 2001 – amidst the Council's plans to close the art gallery at The Rydings, Brighouse – to protect this part of the town's heritage including The Rydings, The Art Gallery, Brighouse, and Brighouse War Memorial

Frith's Farm, TodmordenRef F1214
Bacup Road. Late 18th century laithe-house.

A nearby early 17th century house is also listed

Frith's: L. Frith & SonRef F1335
They were at Square Road Mill, Halifax [1863]

Frith, PeterRef F365
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Friths Estate, WalsdenRef F577
Owners and tenants have included

Friths Farm, WalsdenRef F4220
Owners and tenants have included

The Frobisher family of HalifaxRef F228
And Canada

Frobisher, AmosRef F383
[1855-1???] Born in Whitwood, Castleford, Yorkshire.

He was a prisoner at Sessions House Yard, Pontefract [1891] / a pianist [1891, 1901] / a musician (pianist) [1911] / landlord of the Yew Tree Inn, Northowram [1915].

In 1876, he married Carrie Gertrude.


Carrie Gertrude was born in Wombwell, the daughter of George Foy [?], collier.

She was listed as Amos's wife [1901]. Their marriage has not been found, though, in 1911, she says they married around 1893

 

Children:

  1. Amos / Charles Amos a pit pony driver [1911]
  2. Nellie [b 1897]
  3. George [1901-1902]
  4. Lenard [b 1908]

The family lived at

  • 18 Hoyland Street, Wombwell, Barnsley [1901]
  • 31 Hoyland Street, Wombwell, Barnsley [1911]

In 1915, Carrie married (2) Henry Tasker


On the marriage record, Carrie is shown as widow, but no death has been found for Amos
 

Frobisher, BenjaminRef F370
[1740-1787] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised in Halifax [18th February 1740].

He the eldest of the Frobisher brothers, Canadian fur traders / emigrated to Québec [about 1763] / traded in furs in Lake Superior region [1764-1768] / reached the Saskatchewan river [1773] / formed a company with his brothers [1779] / when his brothers joined him, he managed the business affairs / in Montréal and England whilst they traded in the field / was one of the 17 founding members of the Beaver Club [1785].

The family was an original shareholder in the North-West Company

He never married.

He died in Montréal [14th April 1787] after a short illness.

He was buried there [16th April 1787].

His estate was left in some confusion, with the debts exceeding the assets.

Frobisher brothersRef F235
The three brothers – Benjamin, Thomas and Joseph Frobisher – were born in Halifax. They emigrated to Canada and became fur traders – known as the pedlars of Québec – and explored Canada around 1775.

The brothers first traded as Frobisher & Company. In 1783, with Simon McTavish, they formed McTavish, Frobisher & Company, and the North-West Company

Two other brothers, William and Nathaniel, did not go to Canada

Frobisher, Charles AmosRef F382
[1895-1917] Son of Amos Frobisher.

He was a pit pony driver [1911] / a pitman in Barnsley [1914].

During World War I, he enlisted [1914], and served as a Private with the 13th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He was killed in action and died instantly [16th September 1917] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [22nd September 1917].

He was buried at Roclincourt Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref III D 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Frobisher, GeorgeRef F219
[1808-18??] Son of William Frobisher.

Born 2nd March 1808.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [31st May 1808].

He was (possibly) the apothecary of 21 St Peter's Square, Leeds, who was bankrupt [1846].

On 18th July 1833, he married Betsy Bird [1817-1857] in Leeds.


Betsy was born in Lancaster [3rd May 1817], the daughter of Hannah & John Bird, bone setter, of Harper Lane, Leeds
 

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. daughter
  5. daughter
  6. daughter
  7. daughter

Betsy died of consumption at 7 Heather Street, Leeds [26th March 1857] (aged 39), and was buried at St Mark's Church, Leeds.

George was dead by 1857

Frobisher, Dr JamesRef F193
[1807-1897] LRCP, LSA.

Son of William Frobisher.

Born 7th January 1807.

Baptised in Halifax [31st May 1808].

On 30th December 1847, he married Eliza Hebblethwaite [1823-1891] in Leeds.


Eliza was the daughter of Sarah née Walker & Thomas Hebblethwaite, cloth merchant of Leeds
 

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. daughter

Eliza died January 1891 (aged 68).

She buried at St Mark's Church, Woodhouse [24th January 1891].

James died at home [22nd February 1897] (aged 90).

He was buried at St Mark's Church, Woodhouse [27th February 1897] Probate records show that he left effects valued at £5,000

Frobisher, JohnRef F7502
[1809-1868] Son of Mr Frobisher.

On 17th March 1856, he married Esther Eastwood.

In 1861, they were at Number 5 Cow Green, [the Craven Heifer, Halifax] or the Prince of Wales Feathers, Halifax, where he was innkeeper

He died at Stead Street, Halifax [22nd March 1868].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £300. Probate was granted to his widow Esther, Joseph Henry Frobisher of Wards End, Professor of Music, and James Foster of Wards End (model maker).

In 1880, Esther married (2) David Brooksbank

Frobisher, JohnRef F215
[1813-1869] Organist at Halifax Parish Church.

He was a friend of Branwell Brontë.

Mary Tankard was a singing pupil

Frobisher, JosephRef F218
[1710-1763] (Possibly) son of Benjamin Frobisher of Thornes, near Wakefield.

Baptised in Halifax [3rd July 1710].

He was a banker / a rope-maker.

On 18th March 1740, he married Rachel Hargreaves [1718-1790] at Halifax Parish Church.


Rachel may be the daughter [born 7th April 1718] of Susanna [née Greenwood] & James Hargreaves, or the daughter [bapt 30th December 1722] of Thomas Hargreaves, collier
 

Children:

  1. Benjamin
  2. Thomas
  3. Joseph
  4. William
  5. Nathaniel

He died in Halifax [7th September 1763].

He was buried in the north aisle at Halifax Parish Church

Rachel died in Halifax [26th April 1790].

She was buried in Halifax Parish Church [30th April 1790]

Frobisher, JosephRef F371
[1740-1810] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised in Halifax [18th April 1748].

Second of the Frobisher brothers, Canadian fur traders. He followed his brother Benjamin to Canada, and engaged in the fur trade in western Canada [from 1770].

He was the first to penetrate the Canadian North-west as far as the Churchill River.

Until 1774, the Indians carried their furs to Hudson's Bay, but Frobisher invited them to trade with him.

He nearly died of starvation when he spent the winter of 1774-75 on the Athabaska river, in an attempt to cut off the fur-trade from Fort Churchill downriver to the Hudson's Bay Company.

In 1776, he settled in Montréal and became a wealthy fur merchant.

After 1787, his fortunes improved.

He was an original shareholder in the North-West Company, which went through a difficult period after his brother Benjamin's death;

He founded McTavish, Frobisher, & Company.

He was a magistrate [1788] / Secretary of the Beaver Club, Montréal / Churchwarden of Christ Church, Montréal / a subscriber to building the Scots Presbyterian church [1792] / MP for Montréal East [1792-1796] / founder shareholder of the Montréal water works [1801] / Commissioner for removing the old walls of Montréal [1802] / Captain in the British militia of Montréal [1800] and Major [by 1806] / a member of the committee for building a new Christ Church [after the fire of 1803].

On 1816, he married Charlotte.


Charlotte, was born in Montréal [20th June 1761], the daughter of Jean-Baptiste Jobert or Joubert, surgeon
 

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child
  6. child
  7. child
  8. child
  9. child
  10. child
  11. child
  12. child

He bought the Beaver Hall estate in Montréal [around 1792] and built an imposing residence where he entertained on a lavish scale.

In 1798, he retired from business and lived at Beaver Hall.

He died in Montréal [12th September 1810] (aged 62)  following a fall from a horse.

He was buried at Christ Church, Montréal [15th September 1810].

His estate was settled in June 1819.

Charlotte died in Montréal [23rd June 1816].

Frobisher, Dr JosephRef F184
[1793-1875] Son of William Frobisher.

Baptised in Halifax [11th July 1793].

On 1st February 1831, he married (1) Amelia Normington [1805-1859] in Bradford.


Amelia was born in London, the daughter of Elizabeth née Gomersall and John Normington of Québec
 

Children:

  1. son

Amelia died in Knaresborough in 1859.

On 19th August 1863, Joseph married (2) Anne Leighton [1815-1885] at St Mary, Boston Spa, Lincolnshire.


Anne was (possibly) the daughter of Ann née Oxtoby & Robert Leighton of Goodmanton, Yorkshire
 

The family lived at

  • Ashfield House, Bramham, Tadcaster [1851]
  • Bilton, Harrogate [1861]

Joseph died in Harrogate [16th February 1875].

After his death, Anne lived at 2 Clarendon Road, Notting Hill, London.

Anne died in Salisbury, Wiltshire [19th September 1885]

Frobisher, Joseph HenryRef F299
[1813-1869] Son of Mr Frobisher.

Born in Southowram.

He was the Leader of the Halifax Quarterly Choral Society before he was 20, and he was also the leader of the Halifax Orchestral Society. He played with the Hallé Orchestra.

Around 1835, he ran a music school in Halifax.

In 1851, William H. Whitaker was with him at Rhodes Street, Halifax.

He was apprenticed to Henry Pohlmann for 6 years.

Each year, he went to London for 3 months to take violin lessons from Nicholas Mori and organ lessons from Thomas Adam.

He was organist at Halifax Parish Church [1838-1862].

On 3rd January 1839, he organised a programme of Sacred Music in which Mrs Sunderland performed.

He organised Liszt's concert in Halifax in January 1841.

He was a friend of Branwell Brontë.

In 1845, he conducted the orchestra at the opening of Todmorden National School. In 1845, he declined a suggestion by Rev Patrick Brontë of setting to music some English words on the Afghan Expedition.

On 3rd February 1864, when he had retired as organist at Halifax Parish Church, a number of friends and colleagues presented him with a clock and a silver inkstand in appreciation of his services in the promotion of music in Halifax.

In 1868, he was described as

Professor of Music at Wards End

In 1838, he married Maria Hepworth [1818-1900] in Aston, Warwickshire.


Maria was born in Birmingham
 

Children:

  1. Ellen [b 1840]
  2. Frederick [b 1846]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1847]
  4. Mary [b 1849] who married Thomas Miles Morton
  5. Catharine [b 1851]
  6. Fanny [b 1854]
  7. John [b 1857]
  8. William [b 1859]

The family lived at

Frobisher, Joseph HenryRef F625
[1886-1916] Son of Kate Frances & John Frobisher of Heath Park Avenue, Halifax.

Born in Halifax.

He emigrated to Australia [August 1912].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 28th Battalion Australian Infantry (Australian Imperial Forces).

He was killed at Pozières [29th July 1916] (aged 30).

He is remembered at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, on the Villers-Bretonneux Memorial, France, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park

Frobisher, MrRef F1019
[17??-18??]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Joseph Henry

Frobisher, NathanielRef F191
[1752-1799] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax [2nd December 1752].

Unlike his brothers, he stayed in Halifax where he became a bookseller & bookbinder.

He had a business in York and printed some editions of History of the town & parish of Halifax

On 11th May 1780, he married Mary Spooner at St Crux, York.


Mary, was the daughter of Thomas Spooner, mercer / banker, of Doncaster
 

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. daughter
  5. daughter

Nathaniel died in York [13th December 1799].

There is a memorial in the floor of the church of All Saints upon the Pavement, York.

Mary married William Blanchard, printer.


William is presumed to be the widower of her sister-in-law Elizabeth
 

Mary (possibly) died 12th February 1835, and was buried at St Martin & St Gregory, York [17th February 1835]

Frobisher, ThomasRef F372
[1744-1788] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised in Halifax [6th June 1744].

Youngest of the Frobisher brothers, Canadian fur traders.

He travelled to Québec [1769], and joined his brothers in the fur trade.

He travelled to the most distant trading posts.

He founded the first trading post at La Crosse, a stepping stone to the Athabasca Lake country [1776].

It is said that he married a native American Swampy Cree woman in Winnipeg and they had children.

Thomas died in Montréal [12th September 1788] (aged 44).

When Thomas failed to return from one of his expeditions, his wife's tribe assumed that he had abandoned her

Frobisher, WilliamRef F217
[1749-1830] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax [19th November 1749].

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [26th December 1749].

Unlike his brothers, he did not go to Canada, but stayed in Halifax.

He was a hemp merchant & rope-maker in Halifax / a private banker.

He made one of the first untethered balloon ascents at Beacon Hill on [11th August 1785].

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1792].

On 9th January 1791, he married Mary Nelson at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was the daughter of the Rev Richard Nelson, vicar of Garsdale, near Sedbergh
 

Children:

  1. William [1792-1847]
  2. Joseph
  3. Richard Nelson [1797-1800]
  4. Robert Nelson [1806] who died in infancy
  5. James
  6. George

When his mother died [1790], the family moved to Aberford, Garforth, Leeds.

William died at Aberford [19th July 1830] (aged 80).

Mary died at the home of their son James [26th December 1848] (aged 72)  and was buried at Aberford

Frodsham, Bishop George HorsfallRef F107
[1863-1937] MA.

Son of Jane (née Horsfall) & James Frodsham, a Manchester architect.

Born at Sale Moor, Cheshire [14th September 1863].

Educated at Birkenhead, University College Durham, and St Aidan's Theological College.

He trained as a ship insurance broker & underwriter.

He was ordained as a Deacon [1888] / curate of St Thomas's, Leeds / curate of St Margaret's, Ilkley [1896].

He went to Australia [1896].

He was rector of St Thomas's, Toowong, Brisbane [1896-1902] / chaplain to the Australian Military Force and to the Territorial Army [1899-1923] / chaplain to the Bishop of Brisbane [1900-1902] / bishop of North Queensland [1902-1913]

He returned to England and was appointed Vicar of Halifax [1920-1937].

He was involved with the Friends of Halifax Parish Church.

On 8th April 1896, he married Fannie Swinburne [1870-1954] at St Peter's, Harrogate.


Fannie, of West View, Ripon Road, Harrogate, was the daughter of John Fawcett Swinburne (deceased) 
 

Children:

  1. son
  2. daughter
  3. daughter
  4. daughter
  5. daughter

He died at Halifax Vicarage [6th March 1937]. He was cremated and his ashes were buried under a plaque in front of the altar rail at Halifax Parish Church.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,116 6/7d. Probate was granted to his widow Fannie

Froggett, JohnRef F148
[1718-1750] Of Staveley, Chesterfield. He became a Halifax attorney

Frost, FrederickRef F425
[1896-1917] Aka Freddie.

Son of Jonathan Frost.

He was a worsted doffer [1911].

He lived at

  • 10 Mary Street, Halifax [with his Frost grandparents 1901]
  • 3 Violet Street, Pellon Lane, Halifax [with his parents 1914]

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 13th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 4th October 1917 (aged 21).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [3rd November 1917].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 115-119, 162A & 163A], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Pellon.

Frost, Frederick W.Ref F85
[1839-19??] Born in Great Livermere, Suffolk.

He was a carter [1905].

In [Q2] 1873, he married Sarah Ann Richardson [1844-19??] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Lincoln
 

Children:

  1. Jonathan
  2. Emily [b 1877] who was a woollen weaver [1901] & married Lewis Midgley [b 1876] (fettler in iron foundry) 

The family lived at 10 Mary Street, Halifax [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] were daughter Emily & her husband, and grandson Frederick Frost

Frost Hall, ErringdenRef F852
See John Worsick

Frost Hole, ErringdenRef F165
Early 17th century house

Frost, JohnRef F926
[1784-1877] Born in Newport, Monmouthshire. A prominent Chartist.

He was involved in the Newport Rising of 1839 when several thousand supporters marched on Newport to free a number of Chartists who had been imprisoned in the Westgate Hotel. 21 people were found guilty of high treason and Frost and 2 others were sentenced to be hanged, drawn and quartered, the last men to be so sentenced. Public pressure resulted in the sentences being commuted to transportation.

In 1856, he returned to Britain.

See Hey Head Green, Todmorden

Frost, JonathanRef F55
[1875-19??] Son of Frederick W. Frost.

Born in Halifax.

He was a mechanic of Haugh Shaw Road, Skircoat [1895] / a machine tool maker [1901] / an engineer fitter for machine tool maker [1911].

In 1895, he married Emma Nicholl [1875-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Emma, of Haugh Shaw Road, Skircoat, was born in Leeds, the daughter of Frederick Nicholl, boilermaker
 

Children:

  1. Frederick
  2. Alice Emily [b 1897] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  3. Willie [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 9 Mary Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 3 Violet Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 9 Frederick Street, Wakefield Road, Bradford [1917]

Frostholme Institute, CornholmeRef F690
Burnley Road. Recorded in 1905.

In March 1909, it was opened by Abraham Crossley as

a Public Institution, non-political and non-denominational

Frostholme Institute, TodmordenRef F856
Recorded in 1917 at Cornholme when Harold Ormerod was secretary

Fruhe, James HenryRef F306
[1848-1900] Of Clevelands, London.

On 7th May 1888, he married Adeline Eliza, daughter of Rev Thomas Sutcliffe, at Tunbridge Wells.

Children:

  1. Reginald Sutcliffe

The family lived at Royd House, Heptonstall.

His wife left an estate of £52,655

Fruhe-Sutcliffe, ReginaldRef F334
[1890-1924] MA.

Only son of J. H. Fruhe.

He was born Reginald Sutcliffe Fruhe. He changed his name to Fruhe-Sutcliffe – possibly on account of anti-German feeling during World War I.

Born in Islington.

During World War I, served as a 2nd Lieutenant in the 1st East Lancashire Field Company.

On 26th September 1923, he married Maud Armitstead from London.

Reginald died in a London nursing home a year later.

In 1933, Maud married Robert Albert Cuthbert Radcliffe.

In 1955, her husband died after falling off a roof

Frusher, JosephRef F841
[1831-1915] Born in Wisbech / Emsworth, Norfolk.

He was a groom [1861] / a cab proprietor [1874, 1881] / a riding master [1901].

He married Sarah Ann [1841-1893].


Sarah Ann was born in Thornhill / Whitley, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. George W. [b 1862]
  2. Tom [b 1864] who was a wool dyer [1881]
  3. Mary [1866-7th April 1948] who married James Henry Sykes, & was buried with her parents
  4. Joe [1867-9th March 1870] who was buried with his parents
  5. Harry [1869-28th May 1870] who was buried with his parents

The family lived at

  • 24 Leafland Street, Halifax [1861]
  • 23 South Darley Street, Halifax [1871]
  • 13 Fountain Street, Halifax [1874, 1881]

Sarah Ann died 15th July 1893 (aged 52).

Joseph died 16th April 1915 (aged 84).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2768]

Fry, HaroldRef F700
[1889-1917] Son of Harry Fry.

He was a member of Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church / a Captain in the Salvation Army [from 1909] / a trombone player in the SA Band / a woollen doffer [1901] / a cabinet maker [1911] apprenticed to Thomas Simpson & Sons Limited.

He emigrated to Canada [1912].

He married Fanny Bentley in Canada.


Fanny came from Halifax and lived at 9 Green Square, Pellon
 

Children:

  1. child
  2. child whom Harold never saw

The family lived at Waterton, Cape Breton Island, Canada.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 18th Battalion Canadian Infantry Ontario Regiment.

He died of appendicitis in hospital in France [2nd March 1917] (aged 27).

His parents had been informed that he was in hospital, and were making preparations to visit him in France, when they received news of his death.

He was buried at Étaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref XXI L 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brothers – Norman and Arthur also served in World War I

Fry, HarryRef F60
[1861-19??] Son of Robert Fry.

Born in Halifax [Q3 1861].

Baptised at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.

He was a cabinet maker of Sanderson Street, Claremount [1885] / a cabinet maker [1891] / a cabinet maker (journeyman) [1901] / a cabinet maker [1911].

In 1885, he married Fanny Berry [1864-19??] at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


Fanny, of Gladstone Road, Halifax, was born in Manchester, the daughter of Thomas James Berry, railway guard
 

Children:

  1. Alice [b 1887] who was a clothier's machinist [1901], a carpet setter [1911]
  2. Harold
  3. Lily [b 1891] who was a coating weaver [1911]
  4. Norman [b 1893] who was a compositor printer [1911]
  5. Harry [b 1896] who was a colour making chemist (carpets) [1911]
  6. Arthur [b 1898] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  7. James [b 1900]
  8. Louis [b 1906]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 20 Haigh Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 15 Saltburn Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 10 Ashley Street, Queens Road, Halifax [1911]
  • 8 Horne Street, Hanson Lane, Halifax

Living with them [in 1901] was nephew William Fry [b 1889].

Sons Norman (in Hong Kong), Arthur (in Salonika), and Harold served in World War I. Harold was killed

Fry, JohnRef F949
[18??-19??] Tailor at Halifax.

In July 1883, he was declared bankrupt

Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a practical tailor and draper at 86 Gibbet Street, Halifax

Fry, John WilliamRef F67
[1857-1892] Son of Robert Fry.

In [Q3] 1879, he married Lucy Ann Taylor [1860-1899] in Halifax.

John William died 20th June 1892 (aged 34).

Lucy Ann died 25th April 1899 (aged 39).

They were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3529]

Fry, Dr Percy VictorRef F720
[1870-1940] Born in Otley.

Physician and surgeon at Sowerby Bridge.

He was one of the medical men who attended those injured in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster.

On 25th April 1900, he married Isabella Smith [1870-1937] in Cleckheaton.


Isabella was born in Bradford
 

Children:

  1. Percy Harold [1901-1955]
  2. George Beresford [1909-1991]

The family lived at Ryburn House, 2 Tuel Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

After 1909, the family moved to the south of England.

Isabella died in Thames Ditton in 1937.

Percy Victor died in East Molesey [9th July 1940]

Fry, Reginald George BiernerRef F208
[1896-1976] Landlord of the Lord Nelson, Luddenden [1945-1948]

Fry, RobertRef F20
[1803-1884] Born in Culmstock, Devon.

He was a tailor, a weaver [1841], a carpet weaver [1851], and a carpet piece dresser [1861].

He came to Halifax [before 1851]

because of Dean Clough Mills

and had a tailor's shop in Pellon Lane, and the family lived above the shop.

He married Ann [1796-1866].

Children:

  1. (possibly) Angelique
  2. (possibly) Friday
  3. Mary [b 1828]
  4. Asseneth [b 1830]
  5. Robert
  6. James [b 1834] who was a tailor [1851]
  7. Ann [1837-1889] who was a worsted mill hand [1851] and married Thomas Rew
  8. Sarah [1839-1907] who was a carpet setter [1861] and married Henry Oldfield
  9. Thomas [b 1841] who was a short timer at mill [1851], a colour maker in carpet mill [1861]

The children were born in Devon.

The family lived at

  • Strands, Culmstock, Devon [1841]
  • 95 Stannary Lane, Halifax [1851]
  • 21 Stannary Lane, Halifax [1861]

Living with them [in 1851] was visitor John Trickey [b 1830] (worsted factory operative) 

Living with them [in 1861] was granddaughter Mary J. Hutchinson [b 1851].

Ann died 2nd November 1866 (aged 70).

Robert died 14th March 1884 (aged 81).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3528]

Fry, RobertRef F641
[1833-1866] Son of Robert Fry.

Born in Culmstock, Devon.

He was a carpet weaver [1851] / a colour mixer [1861].

In 1853, he married Sarah Ann Molineaux [1835-1907] in Halifax.


Sarah Ann was born in Halifax, the daughter of Edward Molineaux, watchman
 

Children:

  1. James E. [b 1855]
  2. John William
  3. Lily [b 1859]
  4. Harry

The family lived at 26 & 27 Back Lane, Halifax [1861].

Robert died 16th April 1866 (aged 34).

On 6th October 1867, Sarah Ann married John Calcroft.

Sarah Ann Calcroft died in 1907 (aged 72).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3529]

Fryer...Ref F604
The entries for people & families with the surname Fryer are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Fryer's: J. & J. FryerRef F5490
Stone merchants of Rastrick.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1835

Fryer's: Joseph Fryer & CompanyRef F781
Woollen manufacturers and merchants of Rastrick and New Bridge Street, London. Partnership established by Dr Joseph Fryer and Thomas Fryer.

Both brothers died in 1816.

In 1821, brothers Joseph Fryer and William Fryer became sole partners in the company.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1836

Fryth, JohnRef F1276
[15??-1???] (Possibly) son of Edmund Firth.

Recorded in 1591, when he was at Overgotehouse, Upper Goat House, Rishworth

Fucigna, Ceccardo EgidioRef F221
[1836-1884] Italian sculptor who completed the bronze statue of Edward Akroyd which was modelled by John Birnie Philip and erected at North Bridge in 1876

Fulcher, P.Ref F872
[18??-19??] He lived at Rossett Holt, Trimmingham [1937]

Fulcher, Samuel M.Ref F917
[1???-19??] Dairyman at 19 Thomas Street South, Halifax [1936]

FulcheriteRef F37
Reinforced concrete patented and manufactured by Fulcherite Limited of Portland Street, Halifax.

Publicity statements claimed

There is health and comfort in Fulcherite Flooring

It is dustless, damp-proof, fire-proof, and vermin-proof

Fulcherite LimitedRef F935
Reinforced concrete and flooring specialists. Makers of Fulcherite. They were at 8 Portland Street, Halifax [1934, 1936]

Fullaway, William HiggsRef F1352
[1857-1914] In 1881, he married Frances Elizabeth Oliver [1859-1930] in Mile End, London.

Children:

  1. Charles Thomas [1889-1939] who married Elsie Louise [1898-1983]
  2. Albert Edward [1897-1971]

Members of the family were buried at Mount Pleasant Methodist Church, Wainstalls

Fuller, CharlesRef F6170
[18??-18??] Recorded on 10th May 1861, when he was promoted from Lieutenant to Captain of the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers

Fuller, George WilliamRef F434
[18??-1900] He lived at 4 Lintenfield Grove, Lee Mount, Halifax.

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with the 1st Volunteer Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of enteric fever in Bloemfontein [7th October 1900].

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Fuller, JohnRef F3
[1???-18??] Of Shaw Hill, Halifax.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

Fuller's: John Fuller & SonsRef F1294
Halifax wool merchants [1863].

Partners included John Haigh Fuller

Fuller, John HaighRef F1107
[18??-18??] He was a partner in John Fuller & Sons [1863] / a promoter of the Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway.

In 1871, he and John Hodgson Wright, who were the executors of John Haigh, leased Savile Hall, Halifax to John Lewis

Fuller, Rev LatimerRef F860
[18??-19??] Curate at Elland [1897-1901]

Fuller, Roger theRef F46
[12??-12??] A Rastrick man mentioned in court rolls of October 1274.

The name implies that fulling was practised in the area at that time.

See Thomas the Webster

Fullmer, Rev Christopher WilkinsonRef F463
[1863-19??] Born in London.

Educated at Wolverhampton Grammar School and St Edmund Hall Oxford. He was Curate of West Felton, Shropshire [1887] before becoming Vicar at Barkisland [1892].

In 1900, he left to become vicar of Whitley Lower, Mirfield

The Funeral Home, HalifaxRef F1126
122 Gibbet Street. J. Lawrence & Son were here in 1960

Fur Street, NorthowramRef F154
Aisled house. Home of the Bothes family

Furbisher, JohnRef F201
[19??-] Editor of the Halifax Courier [from 2003]. At the end of 2009, he moved to the Sheffield daily paper The Star. In 2001, he left to become head of media for the UK Conservative group in the European Parliament

Furcé anglicéRef F172
A name used for the Gibbet in 1613

Furley House, HeptonstallRef F268
Late 17th / early 18th century house at 35 Towngate.

Formerly the Dog & Partridge Inn.

Owners and tenants have included

Furman, MrRef F524
[16??-16??] Curate at Coley for about 1 year [1671]

Furness...Ref F282
The entries for people & families with the surname Furness are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Furness CharityRef F203
Aka Fourness Charity. On 19th October 1615, John Furness gave 2 cottages Well Head in Sowerby for use by 3 poor men of the town for ever.

He also gave land and property in Sowerby

to the use of such persons as shall be Masters of Arts, and a preacher at the chapel of Sowerby, for and during their times, and for the want of a Masters of Arts being a preacher there, then to the use and behoof of Richard Briggs and his heirs

In 1836, Crabtree records that

The 2 cottages are let to 2 poor families at £2 and £2 2/- a year, respectively, being moderate rents. The rents have usually been paid to the overseers of the poor, and applied with the poor's rate; the expense of repairing the cottages, defrayed by the overseers. It seems to us, that the rents, after deducting the expenses of the repairs, should be separately distributed among poor persons

The Charity is commemorated in plaques at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Furniss & DoneRef F803
Joiners, shop fitters and undertakers at Brewery Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners were G. F. Furniss and D. Done

Furniss & HollingworthRef F847
Basket makers at Elland [1874]

Furniss Farm, WalsdenRef F444
The property was lost when Ramsden Clough Reservoir was constructed and Ramsden Clough was dammed.

Could the name be connected to the fact that evidence of mediæval iron-working have been found in Ramsden Clough?

Furniss, G. F.Ref F804
[18??-19??] Partner in Furniss & Done.

He lived at Bath Place, Halifax [1905]

Furniss's: George Furniss, Roberts & CompanyRef F84
Solicitors in Brighouse [1898].

See Roberts, Son & Hinchliffe

Furniture City, HalifaxRef F1346
In 1979, Colin Jeffreys bought the India Buildings and opened the Furniture City superstore [1981]

FurtexRef F954

The Fusco familyRef F875
Like many other Italian families who came to the district, they were involved in making and selling ice cream

See Michele Pandozi

FustianRef F864

Fustian Co-opRef F87

Fustian SocietyRef F790

Fustian weavers' strikeRef F33

FustianopolisRef F216
A name given to Hebden Bridge on account of the fustian which was manufactured there.

The name is modelled on Copperopolis (the name given to Swansea in the 18th century)  and Cottonopolis (Manchester in the 19th century).

See Trouser Town


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


© Malcolm Bull 2019
Revised 17:33 /25th August 2019 / f / 635318

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind

web counter