In 1879, the Bankfield home of Edward Akroyd opened as a museum and library, with 12,000 books.
It was known as the Akroyd Museum & Art Gallery.
In 1887, it was bought for £6,500 by Halifax Corporation for use as a library, museum, art gallery, news room and public park.
It was formally opened on 19th December 1888. The opening ceremony drew the guests' attention to
Curators at the Museum have included
The museum now presents an internationally important exhibition of costume, fabrics, textiles, and toys from around the world.
The Bread, Salt and Our Hearts gallery houses a unique display of textiles from Eastern Europe which were collected by Edith Durham.
Since 1960, it has housed the Museum of the Duke of Wellington's Regimental Association
See George Reginald Carline, Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society, Halifax Teachers: War Memorial, Edwin Hardcastle, Middle Dean Street Chapel: Roll of Honour, Kennedy Collection and William Rothwell Verity
Revised 16:05 /16th February 2020 / mmb501 / 5818
|site search by freefind|