O



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Oa Ob Oc Od Of Og Oh Ok Ol On Op Or Os Ot Ou Ov Ow Ox


O. & C. Estates LimitedRef O324
Company formed by brothers Oliver and Charles Holdsworth.

It is now a part of The Holdsworth Group of companies

Oade, ShadrachRef O57
[1872-1928] Son of James Oade.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a carter [1891] / an iron fitter (hydraulics industry) [1911].

On 27th April 1895, he married Emily Marshall [1876-1948] at Elland Parish Church.


Emily was born in Rastrick
 

Children:

  1. James William
  2. Herbert [1897-1952] who was an apprentice (wire industry) [1911]
  3. Nellie [1905-1984]

The family lived at

  • 17 Albion Street, Brighouse [1911]
  • 29 Piggott Street, Lane Head, Brighouse [1918]

Oade, AliceRef O452
[1870-1927] Daughter of James Oade.

Around 1:00 am on a day in August 1888, she was travelling in the train which was carrying people home on the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited annual excursion to Scarborough. As the train was passing through Lightcliffe, Alice, leaned against the door of the crowded train and fell out.

When they reached Lightcliffe station, parties with lanterns went in search, but no trace was found.

She was later found at home in Simpson Street, Brighouse, having gathered herself together and made her own way home.

In 1891, she married Cross Morton.

They moved away from Brighouse.

They both died in Warrington

Oade, JamesRef O75
[1844-1888] Son of John Oade.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a waterman/boatman.

On 25th February 1866, he married Emma Womersley [1847-1921] at Halifax Parish Church.


Emma was born in Brighouse
 

Children:

  1. Fanny [1866-1942] who was a mill hand [1881]
  2. John [1868-1911] who was a silk dresser [1891]
  3. Alice
  4. Shadrach
  5. William [1874-1885]
  6. Sarah Ann [1877-1953] who was a cotton twister [1891]

The family lived at 3 Simpson's Yard, Mill Street, Brighouse [1891]

Oade, James WilliamRef O18
[1895-1918] Son of Shadrach Oade.

Born in Brighouse [23rd September 1895].

He was a silk dresser (waste) [1911].

On 8th June 1918, he married Hettie Heathcote at Halifax Parish Church.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 10th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 19th September 1918 (aged 22).

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [4], and on Brighouse War Memorial

Oade, JohnRef O121
[1811-1866] Son of William Oade.

He was a waterman [1841-1866].

On 9th August 1832, he married (1) Alice Green [1812-1839] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Joseph [1836-1851]

On 5th August 1839, he married (2) Frances (Fanny) Green [1812-1869] at Halifax Parish Church.


It is possible that his wives were related; they were both Greens and both born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. William [1840-1896]
  2. James

The family lived at Brighouse Wood [1841-1866].

John died [17th March 1866].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £100.

The will was proved by his widow Fanny,

John & Fanny were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Oade, WilliamRef O561
[1782-1855] Born in Hipperholme.

On 18th May 1807, he married Sarah Harrison [1793-1846] in Shelf.


Sarah was the daughter of Joseph Harrison of Shelf
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1807]
  2. Grace [b 1809]
  3. John
  4. Alice [b 1812]
  5. Mary Ann [b 1815]
  6. Elizabeth [b 1818]

Died in Rastrick

Oade, WilliamRef O246
[1840-1???] Born in Brighouse.

In 1862, he married Elizabeth Green.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
William Green
 

Oak End Farm, SouthowramRef O4820
See Bankfield Farm, Southowram

Oak Hill Clough, TodmordenRef O27

Oak Hill, TodmordenRef O194
The house was built in 1920 on the site of Hole Bottom Mill, Todmorden.

Owners and tenants have included

Oak House, HipperholmeRef O524
Owners and tenants have included

Oak Lea, BarkislandRef O465
Owners and tenants have included

The Oak Room, Old Cock InnRef O547
The Oak Room at The Old Cock, Halifax is on the first floor. It is oak-panelled and has a stained-glass window with 20 lights – some of the glass is original – as discussed in the Foldout.

The overmantel of fireplace is dated 1581.

The plasterwork depicts the Savile arms and was added in the 1630s.

It was at a meeting of the Loyal Georgean Society in The Oak Room, that the decision was made to establish what became the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building & Investment Society.

In 1879, the room was restored by craftsmen who stayed at the Inn whilst they carried out restoration work on Halifax Parish Church.

This is discussed in the book Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax

Oak Villa, EllandRef O575
Victoria Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Oakendale, WilliamRef O148
Pseudonym of William Dearden

Oakes, AlfredRef O283
[1849-1912] Son of Thomas Oakes.

He was a worsted manufacturer and joined the family business John Oakes & Company

In [Q2] 1877, he married Annie Louisa Wilson [1855-1943] in Halifax.

Alfred died 27th January 1912 (aged 62).

Annie Louisa died 16th January 1943 (aged 88).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1249]

Oakes Farmhouse, CharlestownRef O181
Hebden Bridge. House dated 1701

Oakes, FredRef O108
[1885-1918]

He married Unknown.

They lived at 19 Lime Street, Lee Mount.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action in the battle of Valenciennes [1st November 1918] (aged 33).

He was buried at Auberchicourt British Cemetery, France [III B 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Oakes, GeorgeRef O318
[1875-1914] He lived in lodgings at 29 Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge.

He was a carter for William Haigh Limited, draper in Sowerby Bridge.

In March 1914, his landlady became concerned at his absence, and a search ensued. His sister, Sarah Oates of 23 Beech Street, Elland, knew that he had keys for the Christadelphian Meeting Room, Sowerby Bridge, and the building was searched.

At 2:00 am on 18th March 1914, George's body was found in a store room beneath the Meeting Room, a rubber pipe connected to the gas jet near his head.

The Inquest returned a verdict of poisoned himself with gas whilst of unsound mind

Oakes House, Holywell GreenRef O228
Owners and tenants have included

Oakes, JohnRef O282
[1836-1917] JP.

Son of Thomas Oakes.

He was a member of Halifax Town Council / a governor of Heath Grammar School / a damask worsted manufacturer / a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes.

In 1870, he established John Oakes & Company. In 1881, he employed 175 men.

In 1874, he married Rosalina Mellor in Halifax.


Rosalina was the daughter of Rev Enoch Mellor
 

Children:

  1. Rosa Gwendolene [1876-1940]
  2. (possibly) Florence [1878-1884]
  3. Margaret Melicent [1878-1963] who married Stephen Leslie Norris [1859-1937]
  4. (possibly) John Raymond [1880] who died aged 3 weeks

The family lived at

Rosalina died 25th December 1910.

John died 17th July 1917 (aged 81).

Margaret Melicent died 13th September 1963.

They were buried at Hampstead Cemetery, London

Oakes's: John Oakes & CompanyRef O328
Manufacturers of worsted coatings, suitings, serges, stuff, damask, rep and other materials. Established in 1870 by John Oakes at Regent Works, Halifax. In 1895, they employed over 200 workers

Oakes, John WilliamRef O55
[1860-1901] Son of Charles Oakes, cotton spinner.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a cotton spinner of Mear Clough, Skircoat [1885] / a cotton spinner [1891, 1901].

In 1885, he married Rachel [1866-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Rachel, of Mear Clough, Skircoat, was born in Norland, the daughter of Samuel Briggs, joiner.

She was a woollen weaver [1891]

 

Children:

  1. Florence [b 1887] who was a cotton twiner [1901]
  2. Alice [b 1892] who was a cotton winder [1911]
  3. Selwyn
  4. Willie [b 1902]

The family lived at

  • 3 Summerlent? Terrace, Wakefield Road, Sowerby Bridge [1891]
  • 7 Canal Road, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 8 Canal Road, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

John William died in 1901 (aged 41) 

Oakes, SelwynRef O50
[1895-1917] Son of John William Oakes.

He was educated at the Blue Coat School, Halifax / a woollen piece raiser [1911] / employed by Edwards & Rawson [for 5 years] / a Territorial.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Private with D Company 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Bullecourt [3rd May 1917] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial, and on the Blue Coat School Memorial.

Oakes, ThomasRef O408
[1766-1789]

Thomas died 28th March 1789 (aged 23).

He was buried at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax

Oakes, ThomasRef O450
[1809-1877] He was a general and Baptist Minister.

On 13th April 1835, he married Sarah Wilson [1811-1860] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Sarah Jane [1847-14th June 1870] who was buried with her parents
  3. Alfred

The family lived at

  • Haley Hill, Halifax [1841]
  • 7 Bradford Road, Northowram [1851]
  • 29 Gerrard Street, Halifax [1871]

Sarah died 28th March 1860 (aged 49).

Thomas died 9th August 1877 (aged 68).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4327] with John Raymond Oakes [1880] who died aged 3 weeks & Florence Oakes [1878-1884] who may be the children of their son John

Oakes, Rev William FrederickRef O171
[18??-1???] He was rector of Tibberton, Shropshire.

In [Q1] 1863, he married Ellen Elizabeth Rawson in York


Ellen Elizabeth was the daughter of
John Rawson
 

Ellen Elizabeth died in Lowestoft, Suffolk [20th July 1890] (aged 72) 

Oakfield, HalifaxRef O516
Savile Road

Owners and tenants have included

Oakfield, LightcliffeRef O5960
Cecil Avenue.

Owners and tenants have included

Oakhill Clough, TodmordenRef O104
Hole Bottom Road. Originally 4 late 18th century cottages

Oaklands, BrighouseRef O241
Owners and tenants have included

Oaklands House, GreetlandRef O539
Carriage Drive. Formerly known as Oatland and Oatland House, Greetland

Oakleigh, LightcliffeRef O8330
Denholme Gate Road/Waverley Terrace, Hipperholme.

Owners and tenants have included

Oakleigh, SkircoatRef O257
House at the junction of Dry Clough Lane and Skircoat Green Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Oakley, Edith AnnieRef O418
[1904-1963] Daughter of Rev George Robert Oakley. She was Mayoress to Mary Pickles [1959], President of the Halifax Soroptimist Club [1948], Yorkshire Divisional President of the Federation of Soroptimist Clubs, and First secretary of the Halifax Standing Conference of Women's Organisations.

In the 1930s, she had a school at Clare Hall. When Halifax Corporation acquired Clare Hall, the school moved to premises on the eastern side of Clare Road.

She later established the Bermondsey House School in Halifax.

She later moved to The Gleddings School

Oakley, EileenRef O422
[1903-1965] Daughter of Rev George Robert Oakley.

She married Rev J. Butterworth.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child

Oakley, Frederick JosephRef O373
[1875-1954] He was landlord of the Lord Nelson, Luddenden [1929-1932] / landlord of the New Inn, Mount Tabor [1932-1940]

Oakley, George CecilRef O428
[1912-1981] MA, BD.

Son of Rev George Robert Oakley.

He worked at Ramsden's Brewery before he was ordained. He became a missionary in South Africa and Sarawak.

In 1948, he married Dorothy Joan Campbell from Castleford.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
In 1954, he became incumbent of St Mary's, Willesden, Rural Dean of Brent and Prebendary of St Pauls Cathedral

Oakley, Dr George GardnerRef O567
[1871-19??] Son of Dr John Oakley.

Born in Halifax [10th May 1871].

He was educated at Shrewsbury School / St Bartholomew's Hospital London / a medical student [1891] / honorary assistant surgeon to the Eye, Ear, Throat & Nose Department at the Royal Halifax Infirmary / surgeon captain to the 1st Volunteer Battalion Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment / temporary captain of the Royal Army Medical Corps, serving in South Africa [1900]

Oakley, Rev George RobertRef O254
[1864-1932] MA, BD.

Born in Dublin. His family moved to Yorkshire when he was 1 year old.

He was educated at Sheffield Royal Grammar School and St Aidan's Theological College, Birkenhead and served in Lancashire before becoming Vicar of Illingworth [1923].

On 16th June 1897, he married Lizzie Matthew [1873-1920].


Lizzie was the daughter of John Matthew of Middleton, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Arthur Gaskin [1898-1901]
  2. Inez Mary Margaret
  3. Norah Gwendolyn
  4. Eileen
  5. Edith Annie
  6. Hilda Gertrude
  7. William John Terence
  8. Pauline Doris
  9. George Cecil

He wrote several books, including Shall I believe [1910], In Olden Days: Lancashire Legends [1911], The Children's Heritage [1912], Our Father's House, and The Story of St Mary's Illingworth [1923]

Oakley, Hilda GertrudeRef O425
[1906-1999] Daughter of Rev George Robert Oakley.

In 1939, she married Harry Hunter from Nursery Lane, Ovenden.

Children:

  1. John
  2. child

Oakley, Inez Mary MargaretRef O420
[1900-1992] Daughter of Rev George Robert Oakley. She was Matron at Rugby School. Later, she assisted her sister, Edith, at their Bermondsey House School in Halifax. She handled the domestic side of the business, and worked as chef. She never married

Oakley, Dr JohnRef O105
[1842-19??] MRCS, LSA (Lond), JP.

Born in Shrewsbury [27th March 1842].

He was educated at Shrewsbury, Kings College London, Paris and New York / surgeon to the Royal Canadian & African Mail Steamship Company [1865-1866] / JP [1894] / a physician and surgeon [1895] / honorary senior surgeon to the Halifax Ear, Eye & Throat Hospital / an ophthalmic surgeon [1911] / medical officer to the Halifax Blind Institute / President of the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society.

In 1886, he established the Halifax Ear, Eye and Throat Hospital in one wing of his home, Holly House, Halifax.

In [Q4] 1868, he married Emilie Marie Fox [1844-1907] in Shrewsbury. Children:

  1. George Gardner [b 1872] who was a medical student [1891], a physician & surgeon [1911], & assisted his father at the Halifax Ear, Eye & Throat Hospital
  2. Mary Elizabeth [b 1873] who was a physician & surgeon [1911], & married Edward Lawrence Baddeley
  3. Frank N [b 1878]
  4. Arthur P [b 1881]
  5. Philip Douglas

The family lived at Holly House, Halifax / 6 Wards End, Halifax [1874 ... 1911].

Living with them [in 1891] was son-in-law Edward Lawrence Baddeley.

Oakley, Norah GwendolynRef O421
[1903-1996] BA, BD.

Daughter of Rev George Robert Oakley.

She taught classics at Crossley & Porter School. In 1948, she left to become lecturer in Divinity at Matlock Teacher Training College. She remained at Matlock until her retirement. She became a Part-time Lecturer in Divinity at Nottingham University. She never married

Oakley, Pauline DorisRef O427
[1910-1999] Daughter of Rev George Robert Oakley.

She worked as knitting and craft demonstrator for Paton & Baldwin's.

She married Arthur Woodcock from Southowram. They had no children.

During World War II, she worked in the Post Office at Hipperholme. She later became the secretary of Peartree Lane School, Derby and taught art, embroidery and needlework for many years in Derby

Oakley, Dr Philip DouglasRef O364
[1883-1958] MRCS, LRCP (Lond 1909), CBE.

Son of Dr John Oakley.

Born in Halifax [Q4/1883].

He qualified at Leeds [1909]

He was Junior House Surgeon at Leeds Public Dispensary [1910] / a surgeon at Holly House, Halifax [1915] / Medical Officer at Accra, Gold Coast [1920, 1925, 1930] / in the Medical Department, Freetown, Sierra Leone [1935].

On 23rd June 1915, he married Beatrice Hilda Josephine Kirk [1888-19??] at All Saints' Church, Battersea, London.

Children:

  1. John Philip Holroyde [b Chelsea Q4/1917] who was a commander in the royal navy [1958]

The family lived at

  • Holly House, Halifax [1915]
  • West Africa [1920 ... 1935]
  • Clovelly Cottage, Rydens Avenue, Walton-on-Thames, Surrey [1942]
  • Coasters Cottage, Pulborough, Sussex [1958]

He was awarded the CBE in 1936. The London Gazette [23rd June 1936] reported


CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St James's Palace, S.W.1.

23rd June, 1936.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire: - To be Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order –

Philip Douglas Oakley, Esq, MRCS, LRCP, Colonial Medical Service, Director of Medical and Sanitary Services, Sierra Leone

 

Philip Douglas died in Mount Vernon Hospital, Northwood, Middlesex [16th August 1958].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £21,293 6/1d.

Probate was granted to his widow & his son

Oakley, William John TerenceRef O426
[1908-1984] MC.

Son of Rev George Robert Oakley.

He was curate at Drighlinghouses. He went to live in Australia. He was a Captain and Padre in the Australian Army. He was a prisoner of war in Crete [1942]. In 1946, he returned to England. In the 1960s, he was incumbent at several churches, including Tansor with Cotterstock and Fotheringhay, Northants.

He married Peggy Denton from Huddersfield.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son

Oakroyd, BrearleyRef O6
See Grove, Luddendenfoot

Oaks Farm, CharlestownRef O512
Hebden Bridge. On the Pennine Way.

House dated inscribed RB TH 1701.

The mid 19th century barn is also listed

Oaks Green Co-Op, RastrickRef O7781
On 20th February 1861, a branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society opened at Oaks Green, Rastrick in premises owned by tailor John Sykes

Oaks Green, RastrickRef O146
Area of Rastrick on New Hey Road.

Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865].

When the congregation at Bridge End chapel declined during the ministry of Rev William Northend, some of the members met here.

See Oaks Green Co-Op, Rastrick

Oaks House, HalifaxRef O7000
Lister Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

The Oaks, RastrickRef O19
Owners and tenants have included

Oaksroyd, CopleyRef O70
18th century house. Demolished in 19??

Oakwood, HalifaxRef O60
Albert Promenade.

House at The Rocks.

Owners and tenants have included

Oastler, RichardRef O3
[1789-1861] Social reformer who advocated the abolition of slavery, opposed child labour and the Poor Law, and was largely responsible for securing the Factory Act and the Ten Hours Act. He was given the nickname of the Factory King.

See Jonathan Schofield

Oates...Ref O69
The entries for people & families with the surname Oates are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Oates & CompanyRef O4670
Leather business established by brother Henry Oates and James Holroyd Oates at 12 Lister Lane, Halifax.

In 1869, James Holroyd Oates left the partnership.

Later generations of the family joined the business

Oates & Green LimitedRef O337
Manufacturers of brick, tile, earthenware, sanitary and ceramics products.

Partners included William Oates and Donald Oates.

In 1880, they had a stone quarry at Horley Green. They also had business interests in Wrexham.

In 1907, the business was acquired by the Leeds Fireclay Company Limited.

They were at Beacon Brick Works [1905], Ellen Royd Works, Halifax [1905], North Bridge Station [1905], Horley Green Fire Clay & Sanitary Tube Works [1915], and their brickyard at Range Bank, Halifax [1915].

Their urinals were world-famous – examples can still be seen at the

Brand names for these included Luddenden and Mytholm.

It is said that the firm supplied all the ceramic tiles which originally lined the Blackwall Tunnel in London.

In December 1894, a hurricane demolished one of their chimneys.

In 1908, the business was bought by the Leeds Fireclay Company

In 1958, 7-year-old Carl Bairstow accidentally drowned when he was playing on a home-made raft in the dam at the works. The dam was drained and filled in

Oates & SmithRef O391
Stone merchants at Southowram.

Partners included Henry Oates and John Smith.

On 18th August 1874, the partnership was dissolved. Oates carried on the business in his own name and on his own account

Oates & TaylorRef O393
Stone merchants at Southowram [1874].

Partners included Thomas Henry Taylor and Joe Oates / Charles Oates

Oates's: Brian Oates's CharityRef O206
In his will of 1529, Brian Oates bequeathed money from land and property in Halifax with 6/8d per annum to maintain the highway between Halifax and Shibden Brook, 6/8d for a mass to be sung in Halifax Parish Church, and the remainder to be paid to the priest there.

Oates BrothersRef O329
Worsted spinners established by Edwin James Oates and Arthur Donald Oates with business at Ryburne Mill, Halifax.

See Rayner Ramsden

Oates fountainRef O245
A drinking fountain dated 1871 set into the south-west turret of North Bridge, Halifax.

This is a memorial to James Oates who worked on the construction of the bridge

Oates's: Joe Oates & SonsRef O327
Established by Joe Oates.

Farmers and quarry owners at Royd Farm and quarries, Brookfoot Lane, Southowram [1905]

Oates's: Matthew Oates & SonRef O460
Halifax architects. Recorded in 1849 at Ward's End, Halifax. Partners included Matthew Oates and John Edwin Oates.

In 1861, they were recorded at Halifax and York.

Their work included Highroad Well Independent School [1861]

Oates, Pickersgill & OatesRef O238
Architectural partnership established by John, Thomas Pickersgill and Matthew Oates.

They were at 7 Union Street, Halifax and in Huddersfield.

The partnership became Pickersgill & Oates and moved to York.

Work by the partnership included St James's Church, Hebden Bridge and St Paul's Church, Cross Stone

Oates Trust FundRef O481
In 1911, Arthur Donald Oates and his sister gave a sum of money in memory of their late brother, Edwin James Oates, of which £4,000 was set aside to start a convalescent home and form part of the Oates Trust Fund.

Oatland House, GreetlandRef O260
Carriage Drive, Lindwell.

The house was built in 18?? for the Minister at Lindwell Primitive Methodist Church.

It was formerly known as Oatlands.

Owners and tenants have included

Mary, wife of James Holdsworth Titterington, died here [1st February 1911].

It is now 2 houses – Oakland and Highfield – known as Oaklands House

See Oatland Field Terrace, Greetland

Oats Royd, MidgleyRef O7
House built in 1635 by James Murgatroyd for his son Henry.

A Royalist head and the slogan

Vive le Roy

over the doorway is similar to one at East Riddlesden Hall, Keighley.

The datestone HM 1645 for Henry Murgatroyd has been altered to JW 1645 for James Wynstanley, who owned the house in the mid-19th century. A carved stone head can be seen below the datestone and over a doorway.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was extended in 1846. An extra range of rooms was added to the front of the house, and an Italianate front was added.

The house gave its name to the family's Oats Royd Mill which stands nearby

Oats Royd Mills Brass BandRef O207
Aka the Luddenden Old Band.

Luddenden Oats Royd Mills Band, Luddenden Old Band, Oatsroyd, Oats Royd Mill Band.

In 1864, it changed its name when it became associated with J. Murgatroyd & Son's Oats Royd Mills, Luddenden. They had a band room at the Travellers' Rest, Luddenden.

In 1871, the band played at the ceremony when the first sod was cut at Widdop Reservoir.

Disbanded in 1???

Oban House, BrighouseRef O145
Lightcliffe Road / Laverock Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Obelisks, Landmarks & StatuesRef O357

Oberton, Rev ThomasRef O381
[18??-18??] Recorded in 1874 at South Parade, Halifax

Obery, Rev John MeesonRef O201
[1813-1858] AM.

Son of Rhoda & John Obery

Born in Walsall [12th May 1813].

Baptised at Walsall [16th May 1813].

He was educated at Highbury College [1833] & Glasgow University [1835] / the first Minister at Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street [1838-1849].

In [Q2] 1842, he (possibly) married (1) Martha Harrison [1815-1842] in Belper.

Martha died in Belper [Q3 1842].

In [Q3] 1844, he married (2) Augusta Matilda Cowell [1816-1899] in Birmingham.


Augusta was born in Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Children:

  1. Agnes Elizabeth [b 1847]
  2. Alfred Cowell who died 18th December 1846 [or 1845] (aged 3 months), & was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery Plot 379

The family lived at

  • 2 Regent Street, Halifax [1845]
  • Woodford, Essex

John died in Kensington in 1858, and was buried at Brompton.

Augusta Matilda died in Pancras District [Q2 1899] (aged 85) 

O'Boyle, NeilRef O222
[1809-1866] Lodging house keeper at Waterhouse Arms Yard, Halifax [1866].

He died 15th November 1866 (aged 57).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 767 D]

O'Boyle, ThomasRef O14
[18??-18??] Militiaman of Southowram.

On 14th May 1867, he was imprisoned for 6 months for threatening David Holdsworth

O'Brien, Christopher PatrickRef O518
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1985-1986]

O'Brien, Ernest E.Ref O299
[18??-19??] Editor of the Halifax Guardian.

He lived at Avondale Place, Halifax [1905]

O'Brien, HarryRef O202
[1899-1918] Or Henry.

Son of Mary Elizabeth & Thomas O'Brien of 32 Woodside Place, Halifax.

Born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [23rd August 1918] (aged 19).

He was buried at Railway Cutting Cemetery, Courcelles-Le-Comte, France [B 20].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

O'Brien, JohnRef O117
[18??-1917] Born in Cork.

During World War I, he enlisted with the West Yorkshire Regiment, then served as a Private with the 6th Battalion South Lancashire Regiment.

He was killed in action [24th April 1917].

He was buried at Baghdad (North Gate) War Cemetery, Iraq [XIX J 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

O'Brien, John BarrieRef O111
[1919-1940] Son of Gertrude & John O'Brien of 14 Clare Road, Halifax.

He was educated at Holy Trinity School & Halifax Modern School / a choirboy at Northowram.

He enlisted [1936].

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 51st Squadron Royal Air Force.

He died 15th August 1940 (aged 21).

He was buried at Brookwood Military Cemetery, Surrey [20 A 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

O'Brien, John WilliamRef O125
[1893-1917] Or Willie.

Son of Michael O'Brien.

Of 17 Morpeth Street, Charlestown, Halifax.

He was a member of St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax / a dyehouse labourer [1911] / employed by H. Fletcher & Company Limited.

During World War I, he enlisted with the West Yorkshire Regiment [1915], then served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at Cambrai [20th November 1917] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [15th December 1917].

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 6 & 7], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church.

2 of his brothers also served in the War

O'Brien, JosephRef O92
[1873-1916] Son of Catherine & Henry O'Brien of Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 11th September 1916 (aged 43).

He was buried at Vermelles British Cemetery, France [II C 21].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

O'Brien, MichaelRef O359
[1868-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a basket, skip & hamper maker [1891] / a basket maker [1901] / a journeyman basket & skep maker [1911].

In [Q1] 1891, he married Margaret Guilfoyle [1867-19??] in Halifax.


Margaret was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. John William
  2. Daniel [b 1896] who was a millhand [1911], served in World War I, and was wounded in Salonika
  3. Michael [b 1900] who served in World War I
  4. Catherine [b 1902]
  5. James [b 1907]

The family lived at

  • 6 Lower Court, Northowram [1891]
  • 10 York Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 21 York Street North, Halifax [1911]
  • 17 Morpeth Street, Charlestown [1917]

The 3 oldest sons served in World War I. John William was killed in the War

OccupationsRef O176

Ockwell, Joseph StevenRef O232
[1922-1944] Son of Lydia Harding & Robert W. Ockwell of Small Dole, Sussex.

Born in Swindon, Wiltshire.

During World War II, he served as a Sapper with the Royal Engineers.

He died in Halifax [28th August 1944].

He is remembered with a CWGC headstone at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: J 83]

O'Connor, Bernard JohnRef O384
[1884-1955] Son of William O'Connor.

Born in Halifax.

He was a cotton spinner [1901] / a railway engine stoker [1911].

In 1910, he married (1) Ethel Cross Tennant [1888-1923] in Halifax.


Ethel was born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Vincent
  2. Harold John
  3. Mary [1916-1980]
  4. Norah [1919-2003]

The children were born in Sowerby Bridge.

Ethel died in Halifax [Q2 1923] (aged 34).

She was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [Grave Ref: F C 147]

In 1948, he married (2) Sarah Jane Roebuck [1895-1974] in Halifax.


Sarah Jane was born in Rotherham
 

The family lived at 13 Park Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

Sons Vincent & Harold John died in World War II

O'Connor, ChrisRef O140
[19??-] Conservative Councillor for Hipperholme & Lightcliffe. He was Mayor of Calderdale [2001-2002]

He became an Independent councillor after his year of office

O'Connor, DesRef O168
[1932-] In February 1985, the entertainer apologised for a comment that
Halifax was a cemetery with lights

which had been wrongly attributed to him by The Sun newspaper

O'Connor, FeargusRef O1
[1794-1855] Chartist leader from Dublin.

He travelled through the north and midlands of England advocating radicalism.

His paper, the Northern Star, became the official organ of Chartism.

In 1840, he was imprisoned at York for seditious libel. He advocated peasant proprietorship. In 1839, he addressed the Chartist meeting at Peep Green, Hartshead. In 1845, he founded the National Land Company to buy estates for Chartists and lease them by ballot. He was MP for Nottingham in 1847.

In 1852, he was pronounced insane and died in Dr Tuke's Asylum at Turnham Green in Chiswick.

See W. Haigh and Robert Wilkinson

O'Connor, Harold JohnRef O392
[1913-1942] Son of Bernard John O'Connor.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 28th August 1942 (aged 29).

He is remembered on the family grave at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [Grave Ref: F C 147], and at Gauhati War Cemetery, India [Grave Ref 3 A 5].

His brother Vincent also died in the War

O'Connor, JackRef O211
[19??-19??] Todmorden-born footballer. He played for Stockport County in the 1950s. Connor's Bar at the club's Edgeley Park ground is named in his memory

O'Connor, JamesRef O223
[1827-1879] He was a marine store dealer at 13 Gaol Lane, Halifax.

He died in Halifax Workhouse [9th March 1879] (aged 52).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 900 D]

O'Connor, MrRef O278
[18??-18??]

He married Mary A. [1835-1???].


Mary was born in Wexford, Ireland.

She was a house keeper (domestic) [1881]

 

Children:

  1. William O'Connor
  2. John [b 1861] who was a boot finisher [1881]
  3. Margaret [b 1864] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  4. Mary A [b 1869] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  5. Kate [b 1872]

The family lived at 11 Oates Street, Halifax [1881]

Mary was widowed by 1881.

Living with the widowed Mary [in 1881] were son William & his family

O'Connor, VincentRef O4
[1888-1917] Son of William O'Connor.

Born in Halifax.

He lived at 13 Freedom Street, Mount Pleasant, Halifax [1906].

He was a leather dresser [1906] / a postman on the Heptonstall-Blackshaw round / a regular soldier.

He joined the West Yorkshire Regiment at Halifax [June 1906]. He transferred to the West Ridings [September 1906]. He was in Ambala, India [1911]

In 1915, he married Martha Annie Weir at St Patrick's Catholic Church, West Vale.


Martha Annie came from Sowerby Bridge
 

Children:

  1. Eveline [b 1916]

The family lived at 20 Sowerby Street, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

His brother Willie was a signaller with the West Riding Regiment [1917].

He fought at Mons and was cut off behind enemy lines. He travelled back to the UK through Holland, disguised as a workman.

He was wounded twice.

He was admitted to No.32 Casualty Clearing Station

dangerously wounded in the body, and very collapsed. He only lived a few hours and passed away peacefully

He died of wounds in France / Flanders [12th August 1917] (aged 28).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th August 1917].

He was buried at Brandhoek New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref VI F 2].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint George's Church, Sowerby

O'Connor, VincentRef O396
[1911-1943] Son of Bernard John O'Connor.

He married Marjorie McGregor.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with the 1st Battalion Black Watch (Royal Highlanders).

He died 1st August 1943 (aged 31).

He was buried at Catania War Cemetery, Sicily, Italy [Grave Ref IV G 28].

His brother Harold John also died in the War

O'Connor, WilliamRef O277
[1859-1904] Son of Mr O'Connor.

Born in Liverpool.

He was a boot maker [1881, 1891] / a shoe maker [1901].

In 1877, he married Emily Ann Mann [1859-19??] in Halifax.


Emily Ann was born in Halifax.

She was a brush maker [1881]

 

Children:

  1. Mary Ellen [1878-1912] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  2. Emily A. [b 1880]
  3. Annie Elizabeth [1883-1838] who married Edwin English
  4. Bernard John
  5. Margaret [1886-1976] who was a cotton spinner [1901]
  6. Vincent
  7. Agnes Minnie [1892-1964]
  8. Joseph William / Willie [1897-1961] who was a signaller with the West Riding Regiment [WW1] and hospitalised in Stoke-on-Trent with wounds in the right leg & arm [1917]

The family lived at

  • 11 Oates Street, Halifax (with William's widowed mother) [1881]
  • 36 Oates Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 27 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1901]

William was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K C 343]

Octagon TowerRef O8
The name is used for Wainhouse Tower [1905]

Octave Club, EllandRef O326
Casson Place / Huddersfield Road. Social club recorded in 1905.

In 1917, James Hawkyard was secretary

Around 1916, Shaw Mackrell was caretaker at the Club

OddfellowsRef O174
A benevolent society

See Humility Lodge, Lily of the Valley Lodge, Odd Lads, Prudence of the Vale Lodge, J. A. Riley and Rose of the Valley Lodge

The Oddfellows, HalifaxRef O517
The building stands at the corner of Prescott Street and Coleridge Street

Oddfellows' Hall, BrighouseRef O263
Built in 1850.

The 4-storey building stood behind the George Hotel on Bradford Road. There were one large room, 2 smaller, and a kitchen on the 2 upper floors, with shops and houses on the lower 2 floors.

It was the town's first concert hall.

In 1881, the Salvation Army had to abandon its first meeting here because of public opposition.

During World War II, the building was used by the military.

The Brighouse & Rastrick Band bought the whole building in April 1946, and converted the upper rooms for use as rehearsal facilities.

The building was demolished in 1972 to make way for the Lüdenscheid Link bypass.

Keepers:

  • 1874: J. Broomhead

See Henry Briggs, Brighouse Flour & Industrial Society and Marsden's Homoeopathic Stores, Brighouse

Oddfellows' Hall, HalifaxRef O172
Magnificent building with a classical Corinthian-pillared front which stood on St James's Road. Opened in 1840.

It became the Alhambra Cinema in 19??.

The building was demolished in 1963.

See Chartism, Royal Hotel & Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax and Stansfield's Variety Theatre, Halifax

Oddfellows' Hall, LuddendenfootRef O406
The Oddfellows was recorded here in 1884

Oddfellows' Hall, TodmordenRef O161
Bridge Street.

Opened October 1842 for the Todmorden Oddfellows.

The Hall is said to be haunted by a builder who died whilst the building as being constructed.

The County Court held meetings here.

In October 1851, Jane and William Macarthy set up a theatre in the Hall.

In 1861, a Wesleyan Association Chapel was here

At the end of the 19th century, it was the headquarters of the Todmorden Liberal Club.

On 1st April 1876, it opened as a social club.

In December 1896, it was acquired by Todmorden Liberal Club.

A new hall was built on Oxford Street in 19??.

See Robert Allen, Fielden Statue, Todmorden Oddfellows' Hall War Memorial, Temperance Hotel, Todmorden and Todmorden Mechanics' Institute

Oddie Hall, HeptonstallRef O102
Hawden Hole was referred to as Oddie Hall

Oddie, JohnRef O16
[18??-1???] A timber merchant at India Buildings, Halifax [1883].

See Thomas Chambers

Oddie, Rev SamuelRef O273
[1???-1879] Born at Wyke. He trained at Idle Academy before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Elland [1838]. He moved to Ossett [1844-1869]. He died at Pateley Bridge

OddjobsRef O332
Hardware business at Briggate, Brighouse. Formerly known as John Francis Brown's. The business closed in 2018.

Oddy, AbnerRef O126
[18??-1900] Of Brow Lane, Shibden.

He emigrated [1894].

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with Thorneycroft's Mounted Infantry.

He was killed at Rooi Kop, Transvaal [6th September 1900].

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Oddy, AlfredRef O164
[1863-1942] Born in Halifax.

He was a carpet weaver [1885].

On 31st October 1885, he married Emma Gledhill [1864-1940] at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Edith [b 1886]
  2. Emma Lena [1888-1975] who married Percy Naylor [1889-1922]
  3. Edgar
  4. Annie [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • Liversedge [1895]
  • 8 Milton Square, Heckmondwyke [1911]

Oddy, ArthurRef O226
[18??-18??] He was Master of Heywood's School when the scholars and staff moved to the Northowram Mechanics' Institute

Oddy, EdgarRef O129
[1886-1917] Son of Edward Oddy.

Born in Northowram.

He was a compositor with Ibberson's, printers.

He lived at Edge Top Lane, Northowram.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Bullecourt [3rd May 1917] (aged 31).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [6], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Oddy, EdgarRef O160
[1894-1917] Son of Alfred Oddy.

Born in Halifax.

He was a wire drawer.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 27th (Tyneside Irish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 28th April 1917.

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [2 & 3]

Oddy, EdwardRef O157
[1856-1939] Born in Halifax.

He was a brickworks engine driver & firer [1875].

In 1875, he married Henrietta Kay [1857-1926] in Halifax.


Henrietta was born in Otley
 

Children:

  1. Sophia [18??-1950] who was a worsted coating weaver, & married [Halifax 1922] James Riley
  2. Edgar

The family lived at

  • 10 Hedge Top Lane, Northowram [1901, 1911]
  • 17 Lydgate, Northowram [1917]

Edward, Henrietta and Sophia died at 17 Lydgate, Northowram

Oddy, ErnestRef O53
[1874-1942] Son of Alfred Oddy, railway servant.

Born in Halifax.

He was a groom of Water Side, Halifax [1893] / a carter [1901] / a cart driver [1911].

On 8th July 1893, he married Annie Fossey at Halifax Parish Church.


Annie, of Siddal, was the daughter of
George Fossey
 

Children:

  1. Harriet [b 1894]
  2. Harry
  3. Edgar [b 1899] who was a mill worker [1911]
  4. Ernest [b 1904]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 1 Denton's Buildings, Oxford Lane, Halifax [1901]
  • 6 Lower Shaw Hill, Halifax [1911, 1916]

Living with them in 1901 were Annie's sisters Elizabeth & Clara

Oddy, EzraRef O152
[1862-1938] Born in Halifax.

He was a cabinet maker [1894].

In 1894, he married Hannah Gibson [1868-1933] in Halifax.


Hannah was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Nellie [1895-1966] who married [1924] Ernest Briggs [1900-1972]
  2. Joseph
  3. Arthur [1899-1952]
  4. Edith [b 1907]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 1 Blake Hill, Shibden, Halifax [1911]

Oddy, FlorenceRef O451
[1903-1983] Daughter of John Oddy.

She married Clifford Sutcliffe.

In 1942, she was Mayoress when her father was Mayor of Halifax

Oddy, HarryRef O78
[1897-1916] Son of Ernest Oddy.

He was a member of Sion Boys' Brigade / a mill worker [1911] / employed by J. Sagar & Company Limited.

During World War I, he joined the Territorials [23rd May 1915], and served as a Private with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France [May/June 1916].

He had an incident in which his pocket-watch broke after being struck by flying shrapnel.

He suffered multiple gun-shot wounds in the right arm and shoulder, and a scalp wound [3rd August 1916].

He died of wounds in hospital in Rouen [8th September 1916] (aged 19).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [16th September 1916].

He was buried at St. Sever Cemetery, France [Grave Ref B 23 29].

He is remembered on the Memorial at United Reformed Church, Carlton Street

Oddy, Henry RaphaelRef O170
[1850-1907] Son of Mr Oddy.

Born in Wyke.

He was a tapestry carpet designer / a landscape painter [1891] / a water colour artist [1901]. He was brother-in-law of Richard E. Nicholson with whom he founded the Halifax Art Society.

He produced landscapes, topographical and architectural pictures in watercolour, pastel and pencil. He took up professional painting in 1890. Some of his drawings can be found in the Yorkshire Coiners by Henry Ling Roth

In 1883, he married Jane Elizabeth, widow of John James Watson.

They lived at

  • 11 Milton Street, Halifax [1881]
  • 8 Wards End, Halifax [1891]
  • 51 Savile Mount, Halifax [1901, 1905, 1907, 1922]

He suffered long periods of paralysis of the limbs. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,748 5/-.

See Art Gallery Trust and Northgate End Chapel Bicentenary Memorial

Oddy, Henry RichardsonRef O133
[1885-1917] Son of Eleanor & Christopher Oddy of 32 Carr Street, Bradford Road, Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th September 1917 (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [LVIII C 15], and on Brighouse War Memorial

Oddy, JamesRef O305
[1828-1???] Born in Southowram.

He was a flag facer [1851] / a flag quarrier [1861].

Around 1850, he married Sarah [1827-1???].


Sarah was born in Kidderminster
 

Children:

  1. Mary A. [b 1848] who was a worsted twister [1861]
  2. Elizabeth [b 1850] who was a worsted spinner [1861]
  3. Matilda [b 1851] who was a worsted spinner [1861]
  4. Mary J. [b 1854] who was a worsted spinner [1861]
  5. Miles [b 1856]
  6. Eliza [b 1859]

The family lived at

  • Marsh Delves, Southowram [1851]
  • Brow Lane, Northowram [1861]

Oddy, JohnRef O106
[1877-1956] Born at Northowram.

He was brought up as a Methodist.

He was a sanitary pipe-fitter [1899] / an insurance agent for the Refuge Insurance Company [1907, 1956], where he was known as Honest John for his integrity and straight-dealing / a local Preacher [1893] / a member of St Thomas Street Methodist Church / a Labour Councillor for Akroydon Ward [1924] / an Alderman / Chairman of Halifax Markets and Parks Committee / Mayor of Halifax [1942-1943].

On 23rd December 1899, he married (1) Ada Holdsworth [1877-1928].

Children:

  1. (possibly) Gilbert [1899-1903]
  2. Charles / Charlie [1901-1981]
  3. Arthur [b 1905] who went missing in 1932
  4. Florence
  5. Harold [b 1907]
  6. Thomas [b 1910]
  7. Nellie [1912-198?] who married John Bickles
  8. Herbert [1912-1915]

On 23rd September 1944, he married (2) Emily [1882-1965].


Emily was the widow of Herbert Naylor
 

The family lived at

  • 2 Godley Road [1899]
  • 7 Lily Street [1901]
  • 19 Primrose Street [1905]
  • 10 Webb Terrace [1910]
  • 69 Chester Road [1925, 1928]
  • 41 Bath Place, Halifax [1956]

It was his ambition to have a crematorium for Halifax. He laid the foundation stone for Park Wood Crematorium [1956] but he died 2 weeks before the crematorium opened

Oddy, JosephRef O143
[1896-1918] Known as Joe.

Son of Ezra Oddy.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School / a clerk at Halifax County Court [from around 1912].

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1917], and served as a Lance Bombardier with the 278th Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He was killed in action by shellfire [21st July 1918].

He was buried at Hedauville Communal Cemetery Extension, France [E 12].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram, and on the Memorial at Hipperholme Grammar School

Oddy, LukeRef O93
[1832-1???] He was a mason & bricklayer [1881] / a contractor [1888].

He married Ellen [1832-1???].


Ellen was born in Luddenden
 

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1857]
  2. Martha Jane [b 1862] who married Ronald Smith Roper

The family lived at 9 Stansfield Street, Halifax [1881].

Ellen was widowed by 1901

Oddy, MicahRef O289
[1864-1923] Born in Northowram.

He was a dyer [1884].

On 26th July 1884, he married Martha Ann Tattersall [1861-1920] at Coley Church.


Martha Ann was born in Shelf
 

Children:

  1. Rena [1885-1952] who married [27th October 1906] Ernest Wilby in Halifax
  2. Willie Oddy

The children were born in Northowram.

The family lived at High Bentley, Shelf [1911]. It appears that the marriage broke down as Micah and Martha Ann were living apart [1901, 1911]

Oddy, MrRef O530
[1???-18??] (Possibly) William.

He married Hannah [1821-1???].

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1848]
  2. Henry Raphael
  3. Ruth Hannah [b 1864]

The family lived at (possibly) Delph Street, Halifax [1861].

See William Cash

Oddy, MrRef O306
[1825-18??]

He married Mary [1830-1???].


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1850] who was a worsted rover [1881]
  2. Samuel [b 1861] who was a coal miner [1881]
  3. Aquilla [b 1863] who was a coal miner [1881]
  4. Ernest [b 1865] who was a labourer at brick works [1881]
  5. William H. [b 1870]
  6. Mary A. [b 1873]
  7. Bates [b 1876]
  8. Alice [b 1879]

The family lived at 36 Prospect Street, Claremount [1881].

Mary was widowed by 1881

Oddy, WilliamRef O304
[1825-18??] He was a flag facer [1851].

Around 1850, he married Mary [1829-1???].


Mary was born in Kidderminster
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1850]

The family lived at Marsh Delves, Southowram [1851]

Oddy, WillieRef O340
[1897-1918] Son of Micah Oddy.

Born in Northowram [9th February 1897].

He was a mill worker [1911] / a brush maker [1916].

He lived at 18 Wade House Road, Shelf [1916].

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [13th July 1916]. He was originally enrolled with the West Riding Regiment but at some stage was transferred and served as a Private with the 1st/9th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was killed in action [28th March 1918].

He was buried at Gommecourt British Cemetery No.2, Heburterne, France [Grave Ref V D 24].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Shelf Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, and on the Memorial at Bethel Independent Methodist Chapel, Shelf

Odell, GeorgeRef O288
[1866-1903] Born in Burbage.

He was a cloth finisher.

On 3rd February 1894, he married Mary Hannah Fielding [1873] in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was born in Ripponden
 

Children:

  1. Albert [1892-1909]
  2. Percy
  3. Beatrice [1898-1961] who married [1928] William H. Cheetham

The family lived at

  • 1 Stocks Lane, Luddenden [1901]
  • 2 Halifax Lane, Luddenden [1911]

Odell, PercyRef O286
[1896-1916] Son of George Odell.

Born in Luddenden.

He was a woollen feeder [1911] / a mill hand [1915].

He lived at 2 Halifax Lane, Luddenden.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [20th October 1915], and he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He arrived in France [4th May 1916].

He died of wounds [2nd July 1916].

He was buried at Bertrancourt Military Cemetery, France.

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial, and on Ebenezer United Methodist Memorial, Luddenden Dean

Odeon Cinema, HalifaxRef O54
Cross Fields. The cinema was built after the clearance of The City, and was opened by Mayor Frank Watkinson on 27th June 1938. It cost £59,727 to build. Capacity 2,058, of which 714 were in the circle.

The first film to be shown was The Perfect Specimen starring Errol Flynn and Joan Blondell. The Brighouse & Rastrick Band played during the interval.

The Odeon closed as a cinema on 18th October 1975.

The disused building was damaged by fire on 16th February 1976.

In 1977, it became a Top Rank Bingo Club, and is now a Mecca, and Halifax's only bingo club.

In May 2009, it was one of a number of local Art Deco buildings which were considered for listing

Odling, Egbert FraserRef O440
[1???-19??] MA.

Vicar of Coley [1926]

O'Donnell, WilliamRef O209
[1891-1918] Son of John & Annie O'Donnell of 4 Bank Buildings, Luddendenfoot.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 12th October 1918 (aged 27).

He was buried at Montay-Neuvilly Road Cemetery, Montay, France [I E 18].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial

O'Donoghue, Rev Edward GeoffreyRef O236
[1854-1935] Son of Rev Francis Talbot O'Donoghue.

Born at Walsden Vicarage.

He was educated at Manchester Grammar School and Exeter College Oxford. He was curate in several London parishes. He was headmaster at Kensington Grammar School [1886-1890].

He married (1) Mary Louisa Birley and had 1 son and 3 daughters.

He married (2) Emily Laud

O'Donoghue, Rev Francis TalbotRef O237
[18??-18??] Vicar of St Peter's Church, Walsden [1854]

Offspring of Virtue Friendly Society, HalifaxRef O352
A friendly society recorded in 1894

O'Fusses, AilsaRef O20
[1???-18??] A female packhorse jagger who led teams of Galloways on the Limer's Gate from Bacup into the Calder Valley

Ogden...Ref O124
The entries for people & families with the surname Ogden are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

OgdenRef O13
District to the north of Halifax. The name has been written Oakden.

See Ogden surname and Poems in Peace & War

Ogden & CompanyRef O480
Ale and porter merchants at 40 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1908]

Ogden & LumbRef O390
Worsted spinners and manufacturers.

They were at Brearley Mills, Luddendenfoot [1859] and Westfield Mills, Mytholmroyd [1874]

Ogden & MaudRef O563
Brewers at Pellon. Partners included Edwin Ogden and John Maude.

The partnership was declared bankrupt [March 1874].

See J. & E. Ogden

Ogden BrookRef O258
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length

Ogden Brothers & CompanyRef O331
Worsted spinners and manufacturers at Stoney Royd Mills, Halifax, and woolstaplers at Church Street, Halifax. In October 1878, the company was declared bankrupt. Thomas Ogden was senior partner

Ogden CloughRef O297
Stream from Ovenden Moor which feeds Ogden Reservoir.

See Borders Bridge, Ogden Clough

Ogden Farm, TriangleRef O186
Otter Lee Lane. Mid-19th century laithe-house. Dated 1856. Above the barn door, there is a Venetian window initialled RS

Ogden Golf ClubRef O210

Ogden's: J. & E. OgdenRef O76
Ale and porter brewers at Halifax. Partners included (possibly) Edwin Ogden.

Recorded in December 1873, when the partnership was dissolved

See Ogden & Maud

Ogden's: James Ogden & SonsRef O339
Spindle and flyer manufacturer of Northgate, Halifax. Established in 17??.

In 1905, they are recorded at Holme House Bridge Mill, Booth.

In 1948, three men – including the proprietor William Edward Ogden – were killed and several injured when oxyacetylene equipment exploded at their Halifax works. The equipment proved to be defective. There was a public fund for the affected families

Ogden's: Joseph Ogden & SonRef O382
Brewers established by Joseph Ogden at New Pellon [1874]

Ogden KirkRef O531

See Ogden Kirk Quarries, Ogden Kirk Reservoir and Poems in Peace & War

Ogden Kirk ReservoirRef O281
Built in 1894-1895. It has a capacity of 500,000 gallons. The small stepped weir is a feature

Ogden Lane Pleasure GroundsRef O369
Recorded in 1905 at Ogden Lane, Holmfield when the proprietor was Edward Hawkridge

Ogden moorRef O217
Crabtree says that this was a part of the township of Ovenden and enclosed around 1814

Ogden Moor Roman RoadRef O442
In 1963, the archæology group from Ovenden Secondary School discovered a section of Roman road on Ogden Moor

Ogden PlantationRef O276
Established around 1900.

See Herbert Tate

Ogden potteryRef O10
A type of fineware pottery known as Nicholas Ware which was produced by Nicholas Taylor at his pottery at Ogden in the early 1900s

Ogden ReservoirRef O287
This was the first reservoir for Halifax, built 1854 and 1858.

See Friends of Ogden Water, Green Holme Farm, Ogden, Halifax Golf Club, Ogden Clough, Ogden Water Visitor & Interpretation Centre and Skirden Clough

Ogden spindlesRef O336
In the late 18th century, the Ogden family established an engineering business in Luddenden, producing spindles for the new textile mills

Ogden WaterRef O31
In 1988, Ogden Reservoir was renamed Ogden Water

Ogden Water Visitor & Interpretation CentreRef O91
Waterside and woodland walks, based around Ogden Water, the former Ogden Reservoir.

The site is also known as Ogden Water LNR.

See Boggart's Grave, Ogden, Friends of Ogden Water and Giant's Tooth, Ovenden Moor

Ogilvy, AlfredRef O405
[18??-19??] MA.

Curate at Illingworth [1900-1904]. He left to become Vicar of St Mildred's, Lee

Ogilvy, DrRef O407
[18??-19??] Of Luddendenfoot. He was a ship's surgeon before practising at Luddendenfoot. It was said that
he was prepared to deliver a baby, pull out a tooth, or amputate your leg

O'Hara, PatrickRef O131
[18??-1917] Born in Dungannon, County Tyrone.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd Battalion Royal Irish Rifles.

He was killed in action [28th January 1917].

He was buried at Berks Cemetery Extension, Belgium [I N 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Ohm, D. McKayRef O372
[18??-19??] Headmaster at Grace Ramsden's Endowed School [1917]

O'Katty's, SammyRef O2
Alias of Samuel Sutcliffe

The Okes familyRef O311
Owned Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd for a time

Okes Farm, RishworthRef O488
Aka Over Okes.

Property near to Upper Goat House.

Okes is mentioned during the 17th century. By the end of the 17th century, the names Over Okes and Goathouse are used synonymously.

See Lower Okes Farm, Rishworth

Okey, JohnRef O154
[18??-1918] Of Southowram.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 14th (Fife & Forfar Yeomanry) Battalion Black Watch (Royal Highlanders).

He died 10th September 1918.

He was buried at Templeux-Le-Guerard British Cemetery, France [I B 31].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Southowram War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram

Old Arcade, HalifaxRef O68
Aka The Arcade.

Victorian block with an arcade of 8 shops – which continues that of Russell Arcade – and runs between Old Market and Russell Street. There are several shops on the outside of the arcade. It was designed by John & Joseph Leeming and opened in 1896.

Owners and tenants have included

In February 2007, it was one of several properties which Calderdale Council put up for sale, and sold at auction for £1.4 million.

See Palatine Chambers, Halifax and Petticoat Lane

Old BankRef O17
Originally Halifax Bank, this was a section of the ancient Wakefield Gate pathway over Beacon Hill into Halifax. Aka Wakefield Bank.

In July 1643, during the Civil War, there were skirmishes here between the Royalists under Sir Francis Mackworth and the departing Parliamentarians under Sir Thomas Fairfax.

In 1837, it was superseded by New Bank.

There were a number of terraced houses lining the bank. These were demolished and the road was closed to traffic in 196?.

See Folly Steps, Hardcastle Buildings, Halifax, Hardcastle's Yard, Halifax and Holy Well

Old Bank Well, HalifaxRef O489
See Holy Well, Old Bank

Old Barton, TriangleRef O296
The house was rebuilt in 1902.

See New Barton, Triangle

The Old Bow WindowRef O413

Old Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef O113
Aka Old Pack Horse Bridge.

The packhorse bridge over Hebden Water is dated 1510. This replaced the original timber bridge – which stood upstream of the present bridge – and which gave its name to the town, Hebden Bridge.

It leads to The Buttress.

It was constructed with contributions and bequests from local benefactors.

Inscriptions on the bridge record repairs and renovations in 1600, 1602, 1657, 1845 and 1890

Repaired by help of John : Greenwood sessions 1600

Repaired by help of Richard Naler Sessions 1602

Repayred by the Rydinge by Order of Session August 4 1657 by H N R G:R G

The bridge is 7 ft 6 ins wide and triangular alcoves in the parapet serve as passing places.

The people of Heptonstall successfully overturned proposals to demolish the bridge when the new turnpike was built in the 1770s.

It was placed on the list of Scheduled Monuments in 1925 or 27th May 1932.

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

See West End Bridge and White Swan, Hebden Bridge

Old Bridge Inn Pork Pie Appreciation SocietyRef O351
OBIPPAS. Meets every Saturday at the Old Bridge Inn, Ripponden to discuss, review and sample pork pies

Old Bridge, RippondenRef O192
See Old Bridge pub and Ripponden Old Bridge

Old BrodleiansRef O199
Rugby Union club formed in 1930 by a group of old boys from Hipperholme Grammar School.

The name comes from Matthew Brodley who was involved in setting up the school.

Old CalderdaleRef O491

Old Castle, WadsworthRef O63
A site near Wadsworth Banks, Mytholmroyd. It is said that there was a castle here built with the permission of Stephen, Count of Blois, nephew of Henry I

Old Chamber, ErringdenRef O219
A group of buildings on Spencer Lane, Erringden

Crabtree says that a house here was burned when Mr Pilkington lived here in the 14th century.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Old Close Farm, SouthowramRef O543
This farm was situated on the north side of Higgin Lane, about 70 yards from the junction with Bank Top.

Owners and tenants have included

The farm was a ruin for many years before being demolished when the houses in Higgin Lane and Merrion Crescent were built

Old Cock Friendly SocietyRef O6770
Friendly society recorded in 1798.


Question: Does anyone know anything about the Society or its links with the Old Cock, Halifax?

 

Old Cock Inn, HalifaxRef O115

Old Cock Library, HalifaxRef O376
Old Cock Yard. The idea for the library began at a meeting of local Dissenters. In 1823, a News Room and library was founded by Thomas Gledhill. The annual subscription was 1 guinea.

The Library was open on Wednesday and Saturday afternoons. Gledhill was Librarian.

See Halifax Circulating Library

Old Cock Yard, HalifaxRef O21
Street alongside the Old Cock Inn.

A theatre in the Old Cock Yard is mentioned around 1760.

It was a busy terminus for coaches travelling to Colne & Rochdale [1894], and from and within the district.

In 1768, the Halifax Circulation Library was founded here.

In 1823, a News Room and Library was founded here by Thomas Gledhill. The annual subscription was 1 guinea.

See Well Head

Old Cottage, RippondenRef O473
Known locally as Bottom o' t' Bank and Th' Old Cottage.

This was one of the oldest properties in Ripponden.

It was formerly a pub.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Edward Denton [1850]
  • Herbert Ainley of America [1914]
  • It was in a parlous state [1914]

Old Cragg Hall, Cragg ValeRef O84
Aka Cragg Old Hall. Swine Market Lane. F-plan house built in 1617. In the 1830s, it had fallen into disrepair and was bought by Christopher Rawson who rebuilt it. Rawson sold it to Hinchliffe Hinchliffe and it became the home of the Hinchliffe family. It passed to W. A. Simpson-Hinchliffe who lived at Lower Cragg Hall, Cragg Vale.

The hall was owned by the Sunderland family.

The Hall is said to be haunted by the ghost of a servant girl who was murdered in the room over the porch by the son of the Sunderland family.

This is discussed in the book Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Old Crossleians RUFCRef O42
The Rugby Union club for old boys of Crossley & Porter School

Old Dene, SowerbyRef O506
Dean Lane. Mid 17th century house.

It stands near Dene House Farm

The Old Dungeon, WarleyRef O231
Next to the Maypole pub, Warley Town.

Local felons were held here, pending their trials in Halifax.

In the 1770s, Warley Gaol was owned by Joseph Farrar. W. Birch was gaoler

The building later became Warley Co-operative Store

Old Earth Farm, EllandRef O180
Elland Lane.

House dated TB 1700.

Parts were rebuilt in the 20th century.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now private dwellings.

The outshut at the rear of the house is now garages.

See Leatherty Coit

Old Edge, HeptonstallRef O295
Edge Lane. Aka Edge House. There are traces of the early 16th century timber-framed open hall building which was cased in stone in the early 17th century. A lintel is inscribed
PEACE BE WITHIN THY GATE S T G 16 76

Old Eli Clough, SowerbyRef O248
Stream at Cottonstones which joins Shaw's Clough

Old Farm Cottage, MankinholesRef O508
Old Farm Cottage and Old Farmhouse

Old Farmhouse, MankinholesRef O509
Old Farmhouse and Old Farm Cottage

Old Friendly SocietyRef O346
Elland friendly society established in 1760

Old Gits' LeagueRef O574
Popular name for the Brighouse Games League

Old HalifaxRef O513

Old HalifaxRef O77
A popular name for Joseph Rideal Smith

Old Hall, EastwoodRef O97
Aka Eastwood Old Hall, Great Clough House, Eastwood.

Mid 18th century house.

This was the Manor House and family seat of the Eastwood family

The keystone in the barn is inscribed TME 1767 for Thomas Eastwood.

A window is inscribed DAIRY

Old Hall, EllandRef O80
Exley Lane.

Built for Leising de Eland on the site of a house of Gamel.

The house was a 13th century cruck structure cased in stone and was situated at the Exley, on the north bank of the Calder, overlooking what is now Elland Bridge.

It was the family home of the Elland – or Eland family during the 14th century.

Sir John Elland lived here at the time of the Elland Feud. The house was owned by the Savile family of Elland after the Elland Feud.

There were several legends connected to the Hall. A 1778 datestone in the kitchen was said to move. There were stories of secret passages – going beneath the Calder – to Elland Parish Church, Elland New Hall and Clay House, Greetland.

The Hall was demolished in 1976 to make way for the Elland bypass. The stones and the original timber frames were put into storage for the planned construction of a replica house on the Leeds-Harrogate road – possibly at Lotherton Hall at Aberford near Leeds.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire

See Exley sandstone quarry

Old Hall Farm, TodmordenRef O479

Old Hall Farm, WarleyRef O510
Originally called Warley Town Farm.

Built in the 16th century. A mullion is inscribed 1504.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

The property was demolished in 1961. The car park for the Vandals rugby club now occupies the site

Old Hall, SaltonstallRef O5000
Tudor house built around 1540 by Richard Saltonstall.

Later, it was known as Th' Old Church and was used as a meeting place for Catholics, and then by the Methodists.

It later became a combing shed. In 1760, it was owned by Daniel Greenwood and was known as Warley Hall

Old Hall, SowerbyRef O505
Dean Lane.

A later name for Lower Field House.

Early 17th century house adjoining Field House.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 2 dwellings. Number 2 is interconnected to Field House

Old Hall, TriangleRef O242

Old Hall, Washer LaneRef O504

Old Haugh End, SowerbyRef O112
House known as The Platts.

In 1526, it was owned by John Gaukroger, alias Platts.

The timber-framed building was encased in stone in the 16th century.

The house was owned and extended by the Tillotson family. Archbishop John Tillotson was born here – see Breck, Triangle. A fireplace is dated JT and 1630 to commemorate his birth.

Owners and tenants have included

The Old was added to the name in 1760 when John Lea built Haugh End House, Sowerby next door.

This is discussed in the books Ancient Halls in & about Halifax and Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions.


Pronunciation: The name is pronounced Old haw end
 

Old High Laithe, WiddopRef O303

Old Hold Edge, WadsworthRef O448
There are remains of 2 Neolithic or Bronze Age cairns about 4 ft in diameter

Old Hold, Old TownRef O101
A farmstead at Wadsworth

Old House Farm, BarkislandRef O234
Owners and tenants have included

Old House, SowerbyRef O58
Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Old House, Sowerby

Old Lane Chain Bar Toll GateRef O184
Toll gate

Old Lane Dye Works Company LimitedRef O368
Dyers and finishers at Old Lane Dye Works, Halifax [1905]

Old Lane Tunnel, HalifaxRef O274
Aka Woodside Tunnel.

The 403 yard tunnel, adjacent to Old Lane, carried the rail service from North Bridge Station, Halifax to Ovenden.

See Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax and North Bridge Tunnel

Old Lane Working Men's ClubRef O370
Recorded in 1905 next to the Old Lane Inn, Halifax

Old Laughton, OvendenRef O526
Joseph Wood of Old Laughton was mentioned in documents dated 25th December 1640

Old LindleyRef O218
A part of the township of Stainland. It was called Old Lindley to distinguish it from New Lindley which is a part of Huddersfield.

Old Lindley is also known as Over Lindley. The word is also found as Linley.

See Manor of Lindley and Stainland-With-Old Lindley

Old Lindley, StainlandRef O82
Aisled house

Old Lindley Surveyor of the HighwaysRef O4410
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Old Lindley included:

Old Lock House, BrighouseRef O429
Stands on the south side of Brighouse canal basin.

It fell into disrepair, but it has recently been restored

The Old Lodge, OvendenRef O431
Keighley Road. 19th century house

Old Mad SalRef O494
A carved stone head inside the Parish Church of St Thomas à Becket, Heptonstall.

It is possibly the head of a cat

Old Manor Court HouseRef O175
Halifax.

See Moot Hall, Halifax

Old Mansion House, BrighouseRef O61
Thornton Square. The house had a garden which extended to Briggate and Thornton Square.

The property was occupied by several generations of the Bottomley family. The last occupant was John Bottomley.

The building was demolished in 1875, and Halifax Commercial Bank – who owned the property – built their first branch on the site.

This was the first bank in Brighouse.

The building has since been occupied by Martins Bank and Barclays Bank.

The Malt Kiln stood next door

Old Market GaolRef O220
A cellar in Old Market, Halifax one of the first places to be used as a gaol.

It was succeeded by the Debtor's Gaol in Gaol Lane, Halifax

Old Market, HalifaxRef O22

Old Mechanical SocietyRef O345
Heptonstall friendly society established in 1776

Old Men's Parliament, HalifaxRef O23
Aka Parliament House. A small shelter with seats which stood in People's Park. It was popular with senior citizens. It was demolished in the 1960s.

See Park Parliament, Brighouse

Old Men's Parliament, Shroggs OakRef O483
On 30th November 1933, S. Wilkinson, President, announced that he would provide 23 fellow members with a new suit for Christmas

Old Model Lodging House, HalifaxRef O366
Cripplegate / King Street.

People mentioned here include

Old Lady of LumbuttsRef O41
Popular name for the 3-ton organ which was installed United Methodist Free Church, Lumbutts. It was renovated in 1989

Old Pack Horse Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef O453

Old Poor House, BarkislandRef O227
The Barkisland Board of Health met here.

See Barkisland Pinfold

Old Reservoir, WainstallsRef O565
Another name for Black Field Dam, Wainstalls

Old Riding, WarleyRef O87
Stock Lane / Old Riding Lane.

A house – Oldrydynge – is mentioned in 1561.

A 17th century house was built on the site.

The name comes from Ridding.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Gilbert Brookesbanke
  • James and Gilbert Haldworth
  • The Dean family
  • The Shaw family
  • The Titterington family
  • The Norton family [1950s/1960s]

Old Rishworthians' Rugby Union Football ClubRef O411
The rugby club of Rishworth School.

Their grounds are at Copley

Old Royd Lock, TodmordenRef O179
Lock #17 on the Rochdale Canal. The lock and its overflow channel are listed

Old Royd, TodmordenRef O394
Area of Langfield

Old Shibden HallRef O253
Aka Upper Shibden Hall

Old Shop Meadow, TodmordenRef O247
The land was owned by Quakers.

In 1827, York Street Wesleyan Methodist Church was built on a part of the land. In 1829, Bridge Street School, Todmorden was built on another part

Old Siddal HallRef O64
The building stands on the west side of Siddal Lane, between Phoebe Lane and Longbottom Terrace,

It was built in 1???.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Thomas Jennings [1836]

    Thomas and his wife Sarah both died in a fire at Old Siddal Hall [1836]

After the fire of 1836, the Hall was rebuilt by Joseph Holt [1844].

It was converted to private housing in 19??.

See Siddal Halls

Old Smithy, LuddendenRef O474
High Street. Stood between the Lord Nelson Inn and the church.

It was demolished in 1???.

Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial now stands on the site

Old Station House, OvendenRef O298
See High Level Railway

Old TownRef O110
Hilltop village area above Hebden Bridge and part of the township of Wadsworth

Old Town Bowling ClubRef O398
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 40.

Recorded in 1917 at Green End, when George Robinson was secretary

Old Town Cricket ClubRef O216
Formed in 1894.

In 1954, part of the grounds of Boston Hill House, Wadsworth were bought from the rural district council as a new ground for the Club.

Their present cricket ground is on the former Boston Hill Estate

See Ethelbert Redman

Old Town Hall Farm, Old TownRef O215
The farm may have given its name to the village of Old Town. The early timber-framed building was replaced by the present building around 1610. A document of 1610 suggests that a secret passage behind a fireplace leads to Pecket Wood.

It is now several private houses

Old Town Hall, HalifaxRef O404

Old Town Hall, WadsworthRef O367
Mill Lane. The Hall at Old Town stands on a site which has been inhabited since the 14th century.

A timber structure was recorded here in the early 16th century.

There is an early 17th century house – built on the site of an earlier house – and 18th century cottages. A doorway is dated 1600. A row of 20 windows and the 12 chimneys are a feature of the building.

It is said that a secret underground passage behind a fireplace led into Pecket Wood. This was used in the 16th century by those attending illegal Catholic worship.

Owners and tenants have included

The house is now private dwellings.

This is discussed in the book Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Old Town Lawn Tennis ClubRef O399
Recorded in 1917 at Green End, Hebden Bridge, when George Robinson was secretary

Old Town Reservoir, WadsworthRef O434
Built between 1850 and 1894.

It has been suggested that the reservoir was built to supply local drinking water and/or for the fountain which was in the grounds of Boston Hill House owned by John Cousin Mitchell

Old Town Slack Farm, Pecket WellRef O116

Old TristramRef O24
A life-size collection box in the form of an old man, which stands in Halifax Parish Church. It was carved by John Aked and dated to 1701.

It is said that the original Old Tristram was John Tristram.

See Halifax Parochial Chapelry

Old Well HeadRef O52
House at Well Head built in 170?.

Property called Lower Old Well Head adjoined.

Owners and tenants have included

Well Head was built later.

It was demolished in 1961.

See Joyce Dewhurst, Harriet Mary Edwards and Emma Sophia Rawson

Old White Lion SocietyRef O344
A friendly society established in 1781 which met at the White Lion Hotel, Hebden Bridge

Old Woman, TodmordenRef O136
A rock formation overlooking Burnley Road at Portsmouth

Oldacres, Rev GeorgeRef O197
[1843-1913] MA.

He was educated at St John's College Cambridge before becoming Assistant Curate at Brighouse [1868-1879] and Vicar of Illingworth [1879-1913].

He died suddenly of pneumonia

Oldfield...Ref O275
The entries for people & families with the surname Oldfield are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Oldfield & Schofield Company LimitedRef O322
Central Iron Works, Boothtown.

Halifax engineering firm founded in 1898 by Tom Oldfield and Joseph Schofield.

The firm was well-known for manufacturing lathes, especially those used in the production of railway wheels and ammunition shells for World War I.

They later extended the range of products to include planes, shapers and presses.

Arthur White joined the firm as a designer.

Tom retired in 1934. The firm's financial situation was saved by orders for machines to produce arms for World War II.

Joseph retired in 1950 and his sons took over the business.

In 1957, the firm was taken over by the Kerry Machine Tool Group.

They became known as Broadbent & Schofield

Oldfield House, WarleyRef O95
House dated 1683.

The surname Oldfield may have originated in this area

Oldfields, WarleyRef O188
Stock Lane. 17th century farm

Oldham, CharlesRef O225
[1812-1868] A travelling musician.

He died at Bold's Mill Dam, Halifax [10th June 1868] (aged 56).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: C 90 D]

Oldham, E.Ref O138
[18??-19??]

During the South African Wars, he served as a Driver with the 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in 1900.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's Regiment Memorial

Oldham, RichardRef O551
[17??-1792] Hatter in Halifax

OldroydRef O98
Area of Todmorden

Oldroyd Farm, TodmordenRef O511
Early 17th century house.

The barn – dated 1720 ISE – is listed.

See Oldroyd, Todmorden

Oldroyd, GeraldRef O120
[1894-1917] Son of Gertrude & Joe Oldroyd of 18 Charlesworth Terrace. Pellon.

He was a member of Christ Church, Pellon & the Church Lads' Brigade.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He was withdrawn from military service on account of ill-health. He worked on munitions at United Brassfounders.

He died of heart disease in St Luke's Hospital, Halifax [15th June 1917] (aged 23).

He was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel [A 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Pellon

Oldroyd, HerbertRef O132
[1894-1917] Son of William Oldroyd & stepson of Joseph Widdop.

He was a member of St Edward's Mission Church, Boothtown / a member of Boothtown Liberal Club / a worsted spinner's doffer at Walker's Mills [1904] / a warehouseman by Rouse & Company [1914].

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with C Battery 246th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He was killed in action by a shell [7th August 1917] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th August 1917].

He was buried at Coxyde Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II E 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Oldroyd, JohnRef O300
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner of Ripponden Wood.

See Thomas Crompton

Oldroyd, Madame MarieRef O122
[1???-19??] Dance teacher and adjudicator. After World War II, she bought the Queen's Hall, Halifax, and with her daughter, Norma, she ran Madame Oldroyd's School of Dance. In June 1958, she sold the Hall.

She married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Norma

Oldroyd, MrsRef O142
[1???-18??] He ran a private school in Halifax [around 1870]

Oldroyd, NormaRef O536
[1921-19??] Daughter of Madame Marie Oldroyd.

Born in Dewsbury.

After World War II, her mother bought the Queen's Hall, Halifax, and she and Norma ran Madame Oldroyd's School of Dance.

In 1941, she married Kenneth Nightingale in Halifax

Oldroyd, NormanRef O139
[1917-1943] Of Burnley.

He was educated at Halifax Tech / employed by Halifax General Hospital.

In [Q4] 1939, he married Marjorie J. C. Horsfall in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Harold W. [b 1940]
  2. Patricia E. [b 1941]

They lived at 21 Sefton Terrace, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 198th Field Ambulance Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died in a Japanese POW camp in Thailand [19th July 1943] (aged 26).

He was buried at Kanchanaburi War Cemetery, Thailand [2 G 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Oldroyd's: W. G. OldroydRef O566
Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where they were producing
Oldroyd's Well-tried Family Ointment

at their wholesale depot, top of Stannary Street (Pellon Lane), Halifax

Oldroyd, WilliamRef O284
[1866-1900] Son of Richard Oldroyd, mason.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was a greengrocer of Range Lane, Halifax [1890] / a coal and coke dealer [1891].

In 1890, he married Annie Pickard [1867-1???] at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Annie, of Sladden Street Boothtown, was born in Halifax, the daughter of Elizabeth & John Pickard, mechanic

She was a worsted warper [1891], a grocer shopkeeper [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Ernest [b 1893] who was an apprentice wire drawer at Royston Mill [1904]
  2. Herbert
  3. Mary Alice [b 1896] who was a wire manufacturers winder at Royston Mills [1904]

The family lived at

  • Sladden Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 12 Mill Lane, Boothtown, Halifax [1901]

Living with them [in 1891, 1901] was widowed mother-in-law Elizabeth Pickard [b 1843].

William died in Halifax in 1900 (aged 33) 

In 1904, Annie married (2) Joseph Widdop

Olearoid, TimothyRef O67
[16??-16??] Of Halifax. In 1670, he issued tradesmen's tokens worth 1d bearing the image of a dolphin

O'Leary, BernardRef O213
[1907-1940] Son of Ellen & Denis O'Leary of 157 Claremount Road, Boothtown.

He was educated at St Joseph's Catholic School, Claremount / employed at Dean Clough Mills.

He enlisted [1926] and served 8 years in India.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was a POW.

He died in d'Ernemont Hospital, Rouen [2nd July 1940] (aged 33).

He was buried at St. Sever Cemetery Extension, Rouen, France [S 4 Q 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Oliphant, Rev T. N.Ref O271
[18??-19??] Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1918-1924]

Oliver & ThompsonRef O11
Corn millers at Wood Mill, Todmorden.

Partners included Royston Oliver and William Thompson.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1858

Oliver, ArthurRef O385
[18??-18??] In 1874, he ran a school in Halifax

Oliver, DavidRef O571
[1778-1875] He married Jane Walker [1777-1843].

Children:

  1. Samuel
  2. Royston
  3. Jeremiah

Oliver, H.Ref O470
[19??-19??] Owned Brow Bridge Mill, Elland [1960].

He was on the Committee of Elland Cricket Club [1960]

Oliver Hall Bridge, EllandRef O255
A bridge under the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway line at Oliver Hall between Elland and Brighouse

Oliver Hall, EllandRef O30
Recorded in 1854.

Owners and tenants have included

See Oliver, Oliver Hall Bridge, Oliver Hall Farm and Oliver Meadows

Oliver Hall Farm, EllandRef O291
Elland Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Oliver, HenryRef O229
[1834-1887] Police Sergeant in Halifax.

He lived at 6 Ratten Row, Halifax.

He died 8th June 1887 (aged 53).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: F 153 D]

Oliver, Dr JeremiahRef O380
[18??-18??] Son of David Oliver.

Born in Leathley Yorkshire [11th January 1808].

He was a physician and surgeon at Todmorden.

He never married.

In February 1839, he brought an action at Halifax Sheriff's Court against the Wapentake of Agbrigg & Morley for damage done during the Mankinholes Riots. He was awarded £50.

Recorded in 1845 at York Street, Todmorden

Oliver, JosephRef O36
[18??-19??] He lived at Castlefields, Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children: a daughter [b 1887]

Oliver, Joseph WilliamRef O153
[1899-1918] His aunt & uncle ran the Lee Bank Hotel, Halifax.

He worked for Smith, Barker & Willson Limited at Ovenden.

During World War I, he enlisted [1917], and served as a Private with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 20th July 1918 (aged 19).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Oliver, MatthewRef O266
[1798-1881] Born in Lindley.

On 5th October 1824, he married Hannah Eliza Sunderland [1804-1863] from Mytholmroyd, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1832]
  2. Grace [b 1834]
  3. Emma [b 1837]
  4. Elizabeth [b 1841]
  5. Matthew
  6. Esther [b 1845]
  7. Benjamin [b 1859]

He died in Bradford

Oliver, MatthewRef O265
[1843-1896] Son of Matthew Oliver.

Born in Ovenden

In 1861, he married Susannah Robertshaw [1841-1907] in Bradford.

Children:

  1. John [b 1864]
  2. Florence [b 1871]
  3. Herbert [b 1873]
  4. Hannah [b 1875]
  5. Ethel [b 1879]
  6. Hilda [b 1887]

He died in Leeds

Oliver, RoystonRef O261
[1804-1884] Son of David Oliver.

Born in Leathley Yorkshire [16th January 1804].

He and his brother, Samuel, had a business at Wood Mill, Todmorden. The mill was attacked and damaged during the Mankinholes Riots.

On 28th November 1827, he married Mary Ann Haigh [1807-1865] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ada [1828-1910] who never married
  2. Jane Oliver [b 1829]
  3. Helen [1831-1905] who married [20th September 1853] Edward Ashworth from Rossendale, at Heptonstall
  4. Eliza [b 1842]

In 1855, he was set upon by 6 or more villains on the road to his home in Mutterhole, and robbed of his gold watch and other articles and 13/- in silver. A reward of £50 was offered jointly by the Heptonstall and Todmorden Prosecution Societies.

He died in Chorley [3rd May 1884].

See Oliver & Thompson

Oliver, Dr SamuelRef O432
[17??-18??] Son of David Oliver.

He was a surgeon, registrar of births and deaths, and Guardian of the Poor for Langfield.

He and his brother, Royston Oliver, had a business at Wood Mill, Todmorden.

The mill and his house were attacked and damaged during the Mankinholes Riots

Ollerenshaw, AbrahamRef O9770
[1838-1906] Of Halifax.

In [Q3] 1865, he married Mary Jane Tiffany [1844-1919] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Herbert [1866-1938]
  2. Arthur [1869-1941]
  3. (possibly) Mary Alice [b 1871]
  4. (possibly) Ellen [b 1874]
  5. twins Agnes [1875-26th June 1952] who was buried with his parents
  6. Edith [b 1875]
  7. Joseph Tiffany [1879-1948] who died in New York, USA and whose ashes were buried with his parents

Abraham died 15th September 1906 (aged 58).

Mary Jane died 1st March 1919 (aged 75).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 752] with ashes of son Joseph Tiffany who died in New York

Ollerenshaws LimitedRef O325
Manufacturer of sewing thread founded by Herbert Ollerenshaw in 1898. In 1911, the firm moved to Perseverance Works in Thrum Hall Lane. The firm closed in 19??

Olton, Edith Blanche AlbertaRef O302
[1868-1955] Known as Edith Blanche.

Born in Barbados.

In 1889, she and William Tell had a son, Charles, who was born in Barbados.

It is not clear if Edith Blanche & William were married.

On 12th July 1892, she married Alfred Butterworth in Barbados.

Children:

  1. Letitia [b Barbados 1893-1919] who was a gold ring maker [1911] and died in Halifax
  2. Edward Sidney [b Rangoon 19th October 1900]
  3. Ethel [b India 1904]

In 1901, Alfred was serving in South Africa in the Boer War, and Edith Blanche (listed as Blanche Tell) was living with son Charles at the Halifax District Barracks.


Question: Where are the 3 Butterworth children at this time?

 

Alfred returned to India [September 1902].

Presumably, Edith Blanche followed him once his Boer War service was over.

Alfred died of dysentery in Calcutta [1905].


The report also mentions cirrhosis of the liver. He is described as addicted to alcohol
 

In 1911, the widowed Edith Blanche (dress maker) and her 3 children were living at 30 Albert Road, Halifax, and son Charles Tell was with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), living at Kandahar Barracks, Hampshire.

Edith Blanche lived in Halifax until her death in 1955

Olympia Cinema, TodmordenRef O33
A corrugated iron building erected in 1908 in the grounds on Ridgefoot House. The original Olympia opened as a skating rink.

On 29th January 1910, it became a cinema.

In 1912, colour films arrived.

In 1913, the lessees were Bennett & Tolfree Limited, and the manager was Albert Ernest Nicholls, It was advertised as


THE POPULAR
Pictures & Varieties Theatre

THE HOME OF AMUSEMENT
Always and Excellent Programme of Start Pictures and
High-class Varieties

In 1916, Herbert Hartley and manager Albert Ernest Nicholls, bought the place – see Hartleys Cinemas Limited.

In 1917, Bennett & Tolfree Limited were lessees.

The cinema was demolished in May 1931 and the New Olympia Cinema, Todmorden was built on the site

See John Holroyd Wadsworth

Olympia Garage Limited, HalifaxRef O492
Barum Top. Car sales, service and repairs business.

Recorded in 1936. The site was subsequently occupied by shops, including a dry cleaners (on the corner), Millman's carpet store. The property was demolished around 1999 and the Barum Top pub built on the site

Olympia Skating Rink, TodmordenRef O476
Ridgefoot. Recorded on 10th August 1909, when 750 people attended the formal opening

Olympic Coffee Bar, HalifaxRef O546
1960s venue on Wards End/Southgate.

Contributor Dave van de Gevel writes

The Olympic Coffee Bar was well favoured as it opened early on Sunday mornings for bus crews and also for us all-nighters from the Plebs, looking for sustenance after a night of doing the stomp to live jazz bands

Onecliffe House, GreetlandRef O285
Stainland Road.

Owners and tenants have included

See Far Onecliffe, West Vale and Onecliffe Mill, West Vale

O'Neill, David WilliamRef O47
[19??-] He was Mayor of Todmorden [2005-2006]

O'Neill, DennisRef O208
[19??-] Local historian. He was President of Todmorden Antiquarian Society. He was Mayor of Todmorden [1980-1981]

O'Neill, KrisRef O270
[1980-2007] Born in Catterick.

He served as a Corporal with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He was killed [5th April 2007] (aged 27), one of four soldiers killed by a roadside bomb in Basra, Iraq.

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Only House, NorthowramRef O56
Owners and tenants have included

See Lonely House Farm, Northowram and Only House Wood, Northowram

Only House Wood, BrianscholesRef O114
Woodland running south and east of Only House, Northowram

Opacic, PaulRef O162
[1966-] Actor Born in Halifax.

He has appeared in many TV rôles

OpticiansRef O478

Oram, ThomasRef O233
[1876-1913] Landlord of the Mount Tavern, Boothtown [1905, 1914].

He married Catherine.

He died 27th November 1913 (aged 37).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 83 A] Catherine took over at the Mount Tavern until it closed [1915]

Orange, Colonel John EdwardRef O249
[1805-1871] Born in Stafford [14th June 1805],

He joined the Navy as a boy. He transferred to the Army [1825], purchasing a commission as an Ensign. In 1826, he served with the 13th regiment in the First Burmese War, and was awarded the campaign War Medal for his part in the capture of Ava. He later transferred to the 31st Regiment, where he was promoted to Captain. He served in Gibraltar and Ireland.

After 20 years' military service, John, who was by then a Major, retired on half-pay, becoming Staff Officer in charge of the Enrolled Pensioners of the Halifax and Bradford Districts.

Around 1845, the family moved to Halifax.

In 1858, he was raised to the rank of Colonel.

He married Mary Crawford Bromehead [1808-1884] in Eckington, Derbyshire [14th July 1835].


Mary was the daughter of the curate of Eckington, Derbyshire, and great-niece of hymnwriter Rev Joseph Bromehead [1748-1826]
 

Children:

  1. Mary Louisa [1837-1912] who married Rev John Dickenson Knowles
  2. Elizabeth Agnes [1838-1914]
  3. William Alexander Wildman
  4. John Edward Orange [1842-1919] who later added Bromehead as his surname

The family lived at

John Edward died at Harrison Road [24th February 1871], a year after son William Alexander and family were lost at sea.

Mary died [5th March 1884].

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Orange TownRef O28
A reader recalls his grandmother saying that
Halifax used to be known as Orange Town


Question: Can anyone confirm this?

 

Orange, William Alexander WildmanRef O493
[1839-1870] Son of Colonel John Edward Orange.

Born at Eckington, Derbyshire.

He grew up in Halifax and was educated at Heath Grammar School.

In January 1859, he gained admission to the Royal Military Academy, Woolwich. He was a Lieutenant, stationed at the Royal Engineers' Establishment, Brompton Barracks, Gillingham, Kent [1861].

He served in Bermuda for over 4 years.

He married Elizabeth Amelia (probably) in Bermuda.

Children:

  1. John Edward Roley

In 1870, on their passage home from Bermuda, the family – and a female servant – were all lost at sea aboard the SS City of Boston which sailed from New York – via Halifax, Nova Scotia – to Liverpool. The vessel was reported missing in February 1870, and no trace was ever found.

The family are remembered on his parents' grave at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Orangebox, HalifaxRef O307
A proposed centre for young people, with facilities such as

  • A roof-top skate park
  • A bouldering tunnel
  • Rehearsal rooms
  • A recording studio
  • An art room

It will be accessible from the refurbished Piece Hall

Orchan Rocks, TodmordenRef O29
Natural rock formation on Hudson Moor above Todmorden.

The name may be a corruption of Rocking stone – although there is no such stone now. Others have suggested that the rocks resemble an organ.

Jumps Mill stood below the rocks

Orchard Business Park, MytholmroydRef O522

See The Orchard, Mytholmroyd

Orchard House, GreetlandRef O230
Cross Hills, Rochdale Road.

Owners and tenants have included

The Orchard, MytholmroydRef O458

See Orchard Business Park, Mytholmroyd

OrchestrasRef O356

Orde, DoraRef O74
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Orderly Room, HalifaxRef O377
The orderly room of the 2nd West Yorkshire Yeoman Cavalry was housed in the Halifax Assembly Rooms with the entrance in Carlton Street [1850]

Ordish, JohnRef O268
[1809-1878] Timber merchant. He established business at Waterside Saw Mills, Halifax [1829].

He married Susannah Kay [1812-1867].


Susannah was the daughter of Mary & John Kay
 

Children:

  1. John Henry [1850-1867]

They lived at The Crescent, Hipperholme.

Susannah died [12th August 1867] (aged 55).

John died [8th December 1878] (aged 69).

Members of the family were buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery

O'Reilly, Rev B.Ref O280
[19??-19??] Priest at St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Church, Hebden Bridge [late 1950s]

Organ BuildersRef O454

OrganifaxRef O204
A fertiliser produced by Halifax Corporation Sewage Department and made from local sewage

Orient Café, HalifaxRef O362
Run by T. Collinson & Sons Limited at their premises at 13 Crown Street, Halifax [1905].

An advertisement for the business in a local newspaper announced


COLLINSON'S CAFE, 13, CROWN STREET, HALIFAX

Saturday Evening Dances This evening 7.30. p.m. to 11.45.p.m Admission 2s. Cloakroom free

PAULETTE'S ORCHESTRA

Super Sprung Floor. Ideal for Dancing Come and bring your friends

See Wallace Hartley

Oriental Café, HalifaxRef O371
Recorded in 1905 at 4 Princess Street when the proprietor was Richard Skues.

See Cash Supply Stores Limited and Skues Café, Halifax

The Original Illuminated Clock AlmanackRef O118
The publication was founded by Alfred Wilson. It first appeared on 15th October 1866 with the 1867 edition. It went on sale at Wilson's shop and cost 2d a copy. The first edition of 5000 copies sold out within a week.

The name comes from the clock which hung above Wilson's cap & hat emporium in Corn Market, Halifax.

Editors included James Bland and John Hartley. Hartley was associated with the publication – as editor and contributor – for a long time, and contributed a large amount of the dialect poetry and prose.

On John Hartley's death in 1915, the Leeds dialect poet Walter Hampson [1864-1932] was invited to take over as editor, and he continued until his own death.

The annual circulation of the Almanack reached 120,000 copies at one time.

The Almanack continued until 1957

Orilley, JohnRef O203
[19??-19??] Should this be O'Riley?

He served in World War II.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial

Orlebar, Basil JohnRef O243
[1885-1915] Elder son of John Orlebar of Silsoe, Bedfordshire.

He married Barbara Florence Edwards.


Barbara was the daughter of
Major Arthur Hancock Edwards
 

They lived at The Dene, Triangle [1915].

During World War I, he served with the 3rd Battalion Bedfordshire Regiment.

He was a Captain with the with the 1st Battalion Bedfordshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [15th January 1915].

He was buried at Dranouter Churchyard, Belgium [II A 1].

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church, and on Triangle War Memorial

Orm, SamuelRef O3610
[1812-1861] He was an asphalter in Halifax / a lodger at the Hop Pole, Halifax [1861].

He died 27th May 1861.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3752] with Balfour Lund, landlord of the Hop Pole

Orm son of GamelRef O32
[10??-11??] Son of Gamel.

Like his father, he managed Elland for the absentee landowners, the de Lacy family.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Leising

Orm son of MagnusRef O235
[10??-11??]

(Modern: Orm Magnuson)

Son of Magnus

Flourished: documents undated, circa 1146-1164.

He held lands in Heaton and Hutton which he probably inherited his from his father, and by marriage in Rawcliffe, Thistleton and Greenhalgh

He married Alice (Aliz).


Alice was the daughter of Hervey
 

Children:

  1. Roger
  2. Warin
  3. (possibly) Siward
  4. (possibly) Agnes
  5. (possibly) William

Ormerod...Ref O90
The entries for people & families with the surname Ormerod are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ormerod's: Abraham Ormerod & BrothersRef O321
Partners included Abraham, Peter, and William Ormerod.

The company had several mills in and around Todmorden, including Alma Mill, Walsden, Friths Mill, Walsden, Gorpley Mill, Todmorden, Hollins Mill, Walsden and Ridgefoot Mill, Todmorden.

See Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham

Ormerod & HirstRef O387
Cotton spinners at Broad Holme Mill, Brighouse [1874]

Ormerod & SugdenRef O330
Cotton spinners established in 1858 by Charles Jones Ormerod and Henry Sugden at Grove Mills, Elland.

In 1864, following a disastrous fire, the business became H. & J. Sugden.

See Blackburn & Ormerod

Ormerod BrothersRef O400
Engineering company and tool makers established at Hebden Bridge before World War I.

In 1918, it became Ormerod Tool Company.

It later became Ormerod Shapers Limited

Ormerod Brothers & CheethamRef O333
Silk spinners established in 1872 from the former Burrow & Monk business.

Partners included Charles Jones Ormerod, Hanson Ormerod, and John Cheetham.

In 1871, newspapers reported


The first stone of a large and extensive silk mill for Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham was laid by George Hepworth on 13th September 1871. The mill was to be built on the street formerly known as Swan Fold
 

They were at Prince Albert Mill, Brighouse [1874].

The partnership was dissolved in May 1881. It carried on as Ormerod Brothers.

See Abraham Ormerod & Brothers

Ormerod Brothers LimitedRef O335
Silk spinning & weaving business at Woodvale Silk Mills.

When Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham was dissolved in 1881,

Charles Jones Ormerod and Hanson Ormerod carried on the business as Ormerod Brothers.

It became a limited company in 1889 with a capital of £80,000.

It was one of the largest silk spinning concerns in England.

They built Alexandra Mills, Brighouse [1872] and Prince of Wales Mill, Brighouse.

On 8th March 1892, there was a strike of silk pressers at the mills.

When Alexandra Mills burnt down [1903] they bought Woodvale Silk Mills from Richard Kershaw. At this time, they had around 1000 workers.

In 1913, the business was sold to a Macclesfield company but it continued to trade as Ormerod Brothers. The business was run by Charles's sons Charles and George.

By the mid-1960s, the business, still at Woodvale Mills, was owned by Brocklehurst Whiston Amalgamated Limited.

The business closed in the early 1980s

Ormerod's: David Ormerod & SonRef O37
Wool waste dealer at West Vale. Partners included David Ormerod (senior)  and David Ormerod (junior).

The partnership was dissolved in September 1878

Ormerod's: H. & T. T. OrmerodRef O338
Brighouse wine and spirit merchants carried on by Hanson and Thomas Theodore Ormerod at Ormerod's Yard, Brighouse – the building which was built on the site of the Astoria and subsequently occupied by Hillard's, Tesco's, and currently Wilkinson's now stands on the site. They also had a brewery in the Yard.

Early records of the business go back to 1760. John Ormerod & Sons is recorded in 1845.

On Sunday 5th October 1851, thieves broke into the offices, cut away the safe and carried it to a field where it was blown open by explosives. The safe contained 5/- and some account books. No-one was charged with the robbery

Ormerod's: John Ormerod & SonsRef O379
Wine and spirit merchants and ale and porter brewers at Brighouse [1845].

See H. & T. T. Ormerod

Ormerod Shapers LimitedRef O334
Hebden Bridge. Originally, the Ormerod Tool Company. In 1931, it became a subsidiary of Kitchen & Wade and the name was changed to Ormerod Shapers Limited.

As a part of Kitchen & Wade, the firm was taken over by Asquith's.

When Staveley's took over the business, Ormerod's closed in December 1967

Ormerod's: Thomas Ormerod & CompanyRef O388
Cotton and silk spinners.

They were at Owler Ings Mills, Brighouse [1874] and Prince of Wales Mills, Rastrick [1915]

Ormerod Tool CompanyRef O401
Hebden Bridge engineering company. Established before World War I as Ormerod Brothers.

In 1918, it became Ormerod Tool Company.

They produced shaping machines and machines for processing leather.

In 1931, the firm became a subsidiary of Kitchen & Wade and became Ormerod Shapers Limited

Ormesby, CaptainRef O477
[18??-18??] He was Superintendent of the Halifax District County Constabulary [1873]. He attended the inquest into the explosion at Flatt's Pit, Clifton [1873]

Ormrod, TilleRef O441
[17??-18??] Listed as a Halifax Gent [1791]

Ormsby, Captain Robert S.Ref O386
[18??-18??] Superintendent in the West Riding Constabulary [1874]

OrphanagesRef O444
See Crossley Orphanage, Crossley & Porter Orphanage Sanatorium, Smith Orphanage, Brighouse, and Wainstalls Orphanage, Warley

Orr, Rev A. BarringtonRef O279
[18??-18??] Curate at Elland [18??]

Orr, EdwinRef O127
[1887-1916] Born in Halifax.

He was a miner [1915].

In 1915, he married Emily Wood [1888-1965] in Halifax.


Emily was born in Halifax
 

They lived at Littlethorpe Hill, Hartshead [1916].

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the 252nd Tunnelling Company Royal Engineers.

He was killed in action [25th January 1916].

He was buried at Auchonvillers Military Cemetery, France [II A 28]

Orr, JohnRef O550
[1863-1???] Son of (deceased) wire drawer William Orr.

Born in Ovenden.

He was tailor of Lee Mount [1885] / a grocer [1891].

In 1885, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Lydia and Thomas Ingham, at St George's Church, Ovenden.

Children:

  1. Thomas W [b 1886]
  2. Edith [b 1888]
  3. Fred [b 1890]

The family lived at 51 John Street, Northowram [1891].

Living with them [in 1891] was mother-in-law Lydia Hutchinson

Orrell House, Sowerby BridgeRef O523
The House stands on the north side of Wharf Street, between Church Bank and Grange Place.

Listed next to No. 47 Wharf Street [1901].

Owners and tenants have included

Orthochrome PhotographersRef O445
They had a shop on Bradford Road, Brighouse [1908]

Orton, LouRef O212
[1916-2004] He and Reg Hargreaves ran several laundries and dry-cleaning businesses in the area – including the Snow White Laundry, Todmorden and Harton Cleaners, Hipperholme. Lou also managed the Barnsley Electric Laundry in Barnsley.

After Reg's death in 1955, Lou carried on the businesses until he emigrated to Australia in 1963

Osborn, Alice ElizabethRef O262
[1870-1923] Daughter of Emma (née Luck) [1847-1926] & Arthur Osborn [1847-1923], butcher.

On 17th August 1891, she married David William Leone Ritchie at St Jude's Church, Hunslet.

Children:

  1. Arthur James

David William died in 1897.

In 1903, Alice Elizabeth was in Southampton and gave birth to a daughter Elsie Winifred Ramsey Ritchie [1903-1999] – father unknown.

In 1911, she was living at Ash Grove Norland with Richard Howarth [1867-1912].


Richard was born in Sowerby.

He was a railway labourer [1911]

 

They never married although they appeared a husband and wife on the 1911 census. She had two children with him

Children:

  1. Leslie Howarth Ritchie [1908-1979]
  2. Maurice Howarth Ritchie [1910-1944]

The family lived at Ash Grove, Norland [1911].

On 10th December 1919, she married Henry Alfred Osborn [1871-1951] at St George's Church, Sowerby

Osborn, Bernard OutramRef O141
[1876-1954] Son of Samuel Osborn.

Born in Bradford.

Baptised (as an adult) at St Jude's Church, Savile Park [20th March 1897].

He was Director of a private limited company (employer) [1911].

On 18th May 1910, he married Florence Maud Barber in Burley-in-Wharfedale.


Florence Maud was born in Halifax, the daughter of William Cambridge Barber
 

The family lived at

In 1947, they moved to Goudhurst, Kent.

Florence Maud died at Nicosia Airport, Cyprus [31st March 1954].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £11,714 0/8d. Probate was granted to her husband.

Bernard Outram died in Goudhurst, Kent [11th October 1954].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £107,772 10/8d

Osborn, Dennis OutramRef O240
[1908-1982] Only son of Ernest Bacon Osborn.

Born in Halifax [7th June 1908].

Baptised at Lightcliffe [7th August 1908].

He was a second-lieutenant in HM Army [1941] / a worsted spinner [1963]

In 1935?, he married Marie-Louise Hutton Allison from Scotland

Children:

  1. son [b 1937]
  2. Daphne Louise Allison [b 1944?] who married [1968?] Nicolaas van Loenen from South Africa

The family lived at

Osborn, Ernest BaconRef O3070
[1870-1941] Son of Samuel Osborn.

Born in Bradford.

Baptised (as an adult) at St Jude's Church, Savile Park [20th March 1897].

He was a spinner [1908] / managing director of Baldwin & Walker Limited [1911].

In 1907, he married Margaret Helen Cowie [1881-1963] in Birkenhead.


Margaret Helen was born in the
 

Children:

  1. Dennis Outram
  2. Perdita [1910-1910]
  3. Nancy Ernestine [1914-1982] who married [1940] James H. Chapman

The family lived at Lightcliffe House [1908, 1911, 1941].

Living with them [in 1911] were Richard Arthur Augustus Bottomley and family.

During World War II, he served with the 2nd W. R. Brigade as a Captain, then a Major, and finally a Lieutenant Colonel, with the Royal Field Artillery Royal Field Artillery.

He retired his commission on the [3rd October 1921].

He died in the Princess Royal Ward of the Royal Halifax Infirmary [24th December 1941].

He is remembered on the Baldwin & Walker Roll of Honour.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £86,825 5/1d. Probate was granted to his widow Margaret Helen and son Dennis Outram.

Margaret Helen died at Arden House, Halifax [11th November 1963].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £8,731. Probate was granted to her son Dennis Outram and her daughter Nancy Ernestine Chapman

Osborn, GeoffreyRef O156
[1887-1915] Son of Samuel Osborn.

His parents lived at Oakleigh, Halifax. His mother moved to Bournemouth after his father died.

He married Mary Crawley.

They lived at Winnipeg, Canada.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Canadian Contingent.

He was killed north of Ypres [24th April 1915] (aged 28).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Osborn, Henry AlfredRef O269
[1871-1951] Son of Joseph Osborn, butcher.

He was a discharged soldier [1919].

On 10th December 1919, he married Alice Elizabeth at St George's Church, Sowerby.

The family lived at West Bottom, Norland [1919]

Osborn, SamuelRef O7340
[1843-1913] He was a worsted spinner employing 6 men & 50 young persons [1871] / a worsted spinner employing 130 [1881] / a knitting yarn spinner [1891] / a manufacturer in Halifax [1897] / a worsted spinner [1910]

In [Q3] 1869, he married Emily Cooke [1846-1917] in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Ernest Bacon
  2. Helen Mabel [b 1872]
  3. Emily Maud [1874-1962] who married Richard Arthur Augustus Bottomley
  4. Bernard Outram
  5. Agnes Margery [b 1881]
  6. Geoffrey [b 1887] who enlisted in the Canadian Overseas Expeditionary Force [23rd September 1914]

The family lived at

Both Samuel and Emily died in Bournemouth.

Probate records show that Samuel left effects valued at £66,929 5/5d. Probate was granted to his widow Emily and son Ernest Bacon.

Probate records show that Emily left effects valued at £3,962. Probate was granted to Agnes Marjorie Denman-Tubb (widow) 

Osborn, Walter WilmottRef O221
[1880-1917] Or Osborne.

Son of Elizabeth & Henry Osborn of 20 Park Road, Elland.

Born in Pershore, Worcestershire.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 168th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 2nd June 1917 (aged 36).

He was buried at Pond Farm Cemetery, Belgium [O 10].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial

Osborn, Walter WilmottRef O44
[1881-1917] Son of Elizabeth & Henry Osborn of 20 Park Road, Elland.

Born in Pershore, Worcestershire.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 168th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 2nd June 1917 (aged 36).

He was buried at Pond Farm Cemetery, Belgium [O 10]

Osborne, Arthur GeorgeRef O72
[1920-1948] Born in Bognor Regis.

He had lived in Southowram for about 2 years and previously in Halifax.

He was a motor-driver / a labourer.

He lived at New Street, Southowram.

On 25th September 1948, he was found guilty of the murder of Ernest Westwood.

After the murder, Osborne fled to Chichester where he met and planned to marry Dorothy E. Ball. Osborne informed her that he had a house in Halifax. The marriage had to be cancelled when he failed to appear. Miss Ball said that she had bought a wedding cake and a receipt for this was produced at the trial.

He was already married and his wife was in Storthes Hall mental hospital.

On the way back to Halifax, Osborne confessed to the police that he had murdered Mr Westwood and told the police where they could find the screwdriver which he had used.

He claimed that he had broken into Mr Westwood's home to rob him, but he was disturbed by the victim.

It was said at the trial that from the notes made in his collection book, that Mr Westwood had collected about £23 that day but Osborne said he only stole £14.

The judge and the jury recommended mercy, but the Home Secretary saw no justification for this and refused to grant a Stay of Execution.

Osborne was hanged at Armley Jail, Leeds, at 9:00 am on 30th December – his 28th birthday.

It is said that after his execution, his numbers came up at a prize draw at the Southowram club

Osborne, GeoffreyRef O190
[1887-1915] His parents lived at Oakleigh, Halifax. His mother moved to Bournemouth after his father died.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Canadian Contingent.

He was killed north of Ypres [24th April 1915] (aged 28).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Osborne, Rev GeorgeRef O475
[18??-19??] Minister at Trinity United Methodist Free Church, Walsden [1908]. He left in June 1908 to serve at Sowerby Bridge

Osborne House, Hebden BridgeRef O86
Owners and tenants have included

Osborne, JesseRef O316
[1854-1???] Born in Flockwell Heath / Henley, Buckinghamshire.

He was horse keeper & canal boat hauler [1901] / horse keeper & dealer [1911].

In [Q3] 1891, he married Sarah Davison [1863-19??] in Bridlington.


Sarah was born in Haisthorpe, Yorkshire.
 

Children:

  1. James Edward [b 1892] who was a boat hauler [1911]
  2. Mary Alice / Cissy [b 1894] who was a cotton cop reeler [1911]
  3. Jesse Wilfred
  4. Edith [b 1897]
  5. John Davison [b 1905]
  6. Reggie [b 1909]

The family lived at

  • 2 Box Hall, Elland [1901]
  • Riverside Cottage, Elland [1911]

Osborne, Jesse WilfredRef O317
[1895-1977] MM.

Son of Jesse Osborne.

Born in Halifax [7th September 1895].

He was a plumber's apprentice [1911] / an electrician & plumber with Mr F. Horsfall.

During World War I, he enlisted [13th March 1915], and served as a Gunner with the Royal Field Artillery.

He was awarded the Military Medal [1917] for


good work in the field
 

He survived the War.

In [Q3] 1922, he married Doris Cartwright in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Donald [b 1924]
  2. Dorothy [b 1927]

He died in Halifax [Q3 1977].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [17th November 1917]

OsborneroidesRef O250
Or Osbornroid. Property at Hipperholme (?) which was owned by Sir Samuel Saltonstall


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about about the property?

 

Osbourne, JackRef O403
[1914-1943] Son of John William Osbourne.

In 1940, he married Connie Berry [1914-1973] in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 22nd April 1943 (aged 28).

He was buried at Medjez-El-Bab War Cemetery, Tunisia [Grave Ref 2 A 11]

Osbourne, John WilliamRef O402
[1871-1914] Born in Laceby, Lincolnshire.

He was a paviour's labourer (UDC) [1911].

On 24th June 1905, he married Ann Jane (Annie) Kelly [1878-1952] at Halifax Parish Church.


Annie was born in Sowerby Bridge
 

Children:

  1. James Edward [1906-1960]
  2. Lily [1910-1915] who was buried with her parents
  3. Jack

The children were born in Sowerby Bridge.

They lived at 5a Canal Road, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

The couple were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [Grave Refs: B u 290]

Oscroft, Rev JohnRef O355
[1797-1869] Born in Hull.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1835]

Osler, Rev Charles HenryRef O196
[1851-1915] From Ireland.

He was a minister in Ulster and Sheffield before becoming Curate at Halifax Parish Church [1892, 1896], Vicar of St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount [1904, 1907], and Vicar of Warley [1909, 1910, 1911].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. son
  2. daughter

The family lived at 6 Clare Road, Halifax [1895].

He died [6th April 1915] (aged 64).

He was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Southport

O'Smith, GeorgeRef O205
[17??-1???] Of Soyland. He was suspected of being a coiner

Ossipov, MrRef O183
[1???-19??] A well-known character in and around Halifax. He was said to be White Russian and wore a fur hat, and carried an umbrella with a funnel on the ferrule

Ostler, AlanRef O128
[1885-1918] MC.

Son of William Henry Ostler.

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School & Heath Grammar School / a journalist [1911].

He worked for the Scarborough Daily Post, then the London Express.

He represented the Daily Express in Southern Morocco, and was the first British correspondent to enter Agadir when Germany made a European War possible. He was expelled from Agadir by Kaid Ghillouli [1911].

During the Turco-Italian campaign of 1911-1912, he was attached to the Turkish forces, and sent accounts of the Turkish aspect.

In 1913, he was in Somaliland, and crossed the Abyssinian frontier and had many adventures with the followers of the Mad Mullah. He was arrested in Berbera where he was arrested by the British authorities and sentenced to 2 months' imprisonment for making an unauthorised journey; the Colonial Secretary cancelled the conviction.

At the beginning of World War I, he represented the Daily Express on the Russian Front, before serving in the British Army. He served as a Lieutenant with the 13th Squadron Royal Air Force and the Royal Field Artillery [1918].

He fought at Gallipoli and was invalided home with enteric fever.

He was awarded the Military Cross [1917] for


distinguished services during the fighting in Trones Wood in the Battle of the Somme [1916]
 

where he was wounded by a high explosive shell which burst within a few yards of him; an intervening parapet saved his life.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 16th September 1918 (aged 33).

He was buried at Ontario Cemetery, Sains-Les-Marquion, France [I E 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School, and on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School.

His brother Thomas also died in the War

Ostler, RobertRef O449
[1820-1909] Born in Howden.

By 1891, the family were living in Essex, and spelling their name Ostlere.

He was a carried master employing 4 men [1851] / a carried master employing 2 men & 1 boy [1861] / Clerk to the Halifax School Board [1881].

Ostler School was named for him.

In 1888, he resigned as Clerk to the Halifax School Board, and his son William Henry took over. Robert was presented with a timepiece, an illuminated address and a pair of bronze statuettes.

In [Q4] 1843, he married Elizabeth Hutchinson [1821-1890] in Kingston-upon-Hull.


Elizabeth was born in Hull
 

Children:

  1. Robert [1845-1861]
  2. Edward
  3. Elizabeth [b 1849] who married [Q4/1876] Lewis Smith and had 3 children
  4. Thomas Josiah [b 1851] who was a carpet salesman [1881]
  5. John [b 1854] who was an accountant's clerk [1871, 1881]
  6. Frederick William [b 1856] who was a commercial traveller [1891], & married Margaret L. [1858-1???] from Wem, Shropshire
  7. William Henry [b 1859] who was an assistant clerk (School Board) [1881]
  8. Arthur [b 1862] who was an overlooker (lino manufacturer) [1881]

The children were born in Howden.

The family lived at

  • Bridge Gate, Howden [1851, 1861]
  • 6 Norfolk Place, King Cross Road, Halifax [1870]
  • 7 Norfolk Place, King Cross Road, Halifax [1881]
  • Queens's Road, Loughton, Essex [1891]
  • The Chestnuts, Derby Road, Woodford, Essex [1901, 1909]

Elizabeth died in Epping, Essex [Q3 1890] (aged 69).

Robert died 15th September 1909.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £461 16/-.

Probate was granted to daughter Elizabeth Smith & grandson Alec Ostler Smith

Ostler, ThomasRef O134
[1894-1917] Son of William Henry Ostler.

Born in Wyke.

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School [until 1906] & Heath Grammar School / employed at the West Yorkshire Bank.

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1914], and served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 11th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He went to the Front [April 1915], and transferred to the West Yorkshire Regiment [November 1915].

He was killed in action [7th June 1917] (aged 23).

He was buried at Railway Dugouts Burial Ground (Transport Farm), Belgium [Grave Ref VII N 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School, and on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School.

His brother Alan also died in the War

Ostler, William HenryRef O137
[1859-1938] Son of Robert Ostler.

Born in Howden.

He was assistant clerk (School Board) [1881] / Clerk of Halifax School Board (taking over from his father [1888] / Clerk of Halifax School Board [1891, 1901] / Secretary of Borough Council Education Committee [1911].

In [Q2] 1884, he married Annie Hoatson [1861-1931] in Halifax.


Annie was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Alan
  2. Clifford [b 1887] who was a chemist (gas works) [1911] and served with the Indian Cavalry in Baghdad [World War I]
  3. Margaret [b 1891]
  4. Thomas

The family lived at

  • 4 Clare Villas, Huddersfield Road, Wyke [1891]
  • 8 Royds Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • Ashfield, Warley Town, Halifax [1911]
  • 5 Heath Avenue, Halifax [1917]

Sons Alan & Thomas died in World War I

Ostlere, EdwardRef O361
[1847-1902] Son of Robert Ostler.

Born in Howden.

He was a carpet warehouseman [1871] / a floorcloth manufacturer [1881] / a partner in Barry, Ostlere & Shepherd, floorcloth & linoleum manufacturers in Fife.

In [Q3] 1871, he married Mary Sophia Smith [1849-1882] in Edmonton.

Children:

  1. Violet [b 1874]
  2. Frederick H. [b 1875]
  3. Eric [1876-4th December 1958]
  4. Harold [1881-17th February 1938]

Mary Sophia died 27th December 1882 (aged 33).

In 1884, he married 17/1/ in Hurdsfield, Cheshire.


Margaret Lucy came from Swanscoe Mark, Macclesfield
 

The family lived at

  • South Pitteadie House, Kinghorn, Fife [1882, 1891]

Edward committed suicide [1st March 1902] (aged 54).

He had been ill for some time with an internal malady.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £86,541 15/-.

Probate was granted to his widow Margaret Lucy and Arthur Ostlere

Oswin, KennethRef O169
[1923-1944] Son of Elsie Pearce & Horace Oswin.

Born in Halifax [Q2 1923].

He was educated at Akroyd Place School / employed by F. Pratt & Company Limited.

He lived at 211 Pellon Lane, Halifax.

In [Q2] 1944, he married Lillian Elizabeth Barclay in Durham.

They lived at Hebburn, County Durham.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion King's Shropshire Light Infantry.

He died 17th October 1944 (aged 21).

He was buried at Merlo War Cemetery, Netherlands [I A 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

The Otes family of NorthowramRef O310
Aka Oates. Prominent family in the Northowram, Shibden and Coley districts. Members of the family included James Oates, Isaac Oates, and Esther Oates.

The arms of the family – black cross and crosslets – can be seen on a window at Shibden Hall.

See Cinder Hill, Coley and Bairstow family

The Otes family of SouthowramRef O309
The family were the first owners of Shibden Hall around 1400

Otes, GilbertRef O151
[1428-1508] Grandson of William Otes.

He received half of the revenue from Shibden Hall after his father's death.

His half-sister, Joan and her husband Robert Savile inherited the property

Otes, IsabelRef O195
[1???-1???] She married (1) John Waterhouse.

She married (2) George Wheatley

Otes, JamesRef O155
[1???-1658] Also Oates.

A gentleman who had risen from yeoman clothier stock.

With several other local landowners, he refused to take a knighthood from Charles I and paid the consequent composition.

He married (1) Mary Whitley.

Children:

  1. Joshua
  2. Isaac
  3. son
  4. son
  5. Frances

He married (2) Phoebe Dickinson, a servant.

Children:

  1. James
  2. Phoebe

He owned and lived at several houses in Southowram and Northowram, including

See Dean House, Shelf, The Hollins&44; Luddendenfoot, Lands Head, Northowram, Law, Marsh Hall, Northowram, Plane Trees Farm, Coley and Whinney Royd, Northowram

His will [1657] mentioned several local people and places:


JAMES OTES of the Marshe in Northowrome, co. York, gent. – (Dat 23 June 1657)  - Jas. Sagar of Allerton - Tim Wadisworth of Midgley - Lands etc. of the nature of freehold inheritance lying in the parishes of Halifax, Bradford, Dewisbury or elsewhere in co. York - Son & heir Jas. Otes (under 21)  - my child or childn now 'in ventre sa meere' - Mess. & lands thereto belonging in Northowrome purchased of Thos. Fairbanke - Grandch. Hester now wife of Sam Lister gent - Mary & Thos. Lister chn of sd Hester (under 21)  - Wife Phebe & son Jas. exors - James Otes - Wits - Wm. Midgley, Ja. Sagar (Pr. 15 Apr. 1658 by Phebe relict); res. to Jas. Otes the other exor.
 

Otes, JoanRef O150
[14??-15??] Or Janet / Oates.

Daughter of William Otes.

She married (1) Unknown.

She married (2) Robert Savile.

Her initial I is believed to be shown on the ceiling beams in the Savile Room at Shibden Hall

Otes, JohnRef O308
[1???-1???] Of Whytley.

He married Margaret Brodley.


Margaret was the daughter of
Richard Brodley
 

Children:

  1. Margaret
  2. Sebell Otes

Otes, RobertRef O200
[15??-15??] He was Halifax parish clerk. In 1575, he was reported because
his ability to be clerk is doubted of and he doth not keep the church clean

Otes, WilliamRef O5
[13??-14??] Aka Oates.

A wealthy sheep-farmer and cloth merchant of Southowram [1399].

Around 1420, he built a house called Schepdene which evolved into Shibden Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William

The property passed to his grandson, also William

Otes, WilliamRef O149
[14??-14??] Son of William Otes.

He inherited Shibden Hall from his grandfather.

He married (1) Unknown.

They had no children.

In 1456, he married (2) Margaret Waterhouse.


Margaret's was the daughter of Richard who is recorded as having paid a sum of money to William for the marriage
 

Children:

  1. Joan who married into the Savile family of Elland

In 1456, William left all his property – notably Shibden Hall – to his daughter Joan.

Margaret died.

He married (3) Unknown.

Children:

  1. Gilbert

When Gilbert was born, William tried to change his will in favour of Gilbert.

This was contested by the Savile family who took the case to law.

Between 1491 and 1504 the ownership of Shibden was in the hands of the court. The judgement of the court was that the property passed to Joan and the Savile family, and Gilbert received an income from the property during his lifetime

Otes, WilliamRef O532
[14??-14??] Son of William Otes.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William

Otes, WilliamRef O130
[14??-15??] Built Cinder Hills, Coley around 1513

Otley, Reverdy CarriborneRef O59
[1893-1946] Son of Harriet & George Osborne Otley.

Born in Lewisham.

In [Q3] 1919, he married Doris Victoria Scarr in Wandsworth.

They lived in Hebden Bridge.

During World War II, he served as a Lieutenant-Commander with the Royal Naval Reserve.

He died 5th October 1946 (aged 53).

He was buried at Heptonstall Church [I 37]

Otter Lee Farm, TriangleRef O187
Otter Lee Lane. Late 18th century / early 19th century house and barn

Ottley's: Thomas Ottley & CompanyRef O459
Tea dealers and coffee roasters at 2 Southgate, Halifax [1834, 1837]

Otty, AdamRef O521
[1832-1887] Watchmaker & jeweller at 3 Northgate, Halifax [1866]

In [Q3] 1857, he married (1) Mary Greenwood [1835-1867] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William who died [28th August 1867] aged 13 weeks

Mary died in childbirth [20th March 1867] (aged 32).

In [Q2] 1868, he married (2) Mary Brierley [1834-1886] in Halifax.

Mary died 26th February 1886 (aged 52).

Adam died 29th October 1887 (aged 55).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1546]

OuramRef O224
At one time, Southowram and Northowram were known as Ouram or Owram

Ouram HallRef O34
See Little Ireland Farm, Southowram

Ousel BrinkRef O100
A part of Todmorden

The Outhwaite family of SouthowramRef O312
Recorded in 1820

Outhwaite, AlbertRef O252
[1???-1???] Son of Ned Outhwaite.

He became a teacher.

He married (1) Elsie.

He married (2) Lyn (Mabel)

Outhwaite, CaptainRef O7420
[18??-19??] Lord of the Manor of Southowram [1917]

Outhwaite, NedRef O251
[1???-1???] A manager at Brighouse Co-operative Society.

In 19??, he married Susan E. Buckley.

Children:

  1. Albert

Outlane Brass BandRef O264
Formed in 1???. Recorded in 1903.

Disbanded in 1???

Outlane Gas CompanyRef O538
Recorded in September 1890, when their annual meeting was held at the Bay Horse, Stainland

Outlane Prize BandRef O107
Recorded in 1904, when Lewis Brook Whiteley was solo cornet player with the Band

Outram, Alexander JamesRef O558
[1856-1880] Son of John Outram.

Born in New York.

He was buried at Spring Hill Cemetery, Easton, Maryland, USA

Outram, BenjaminRef O549
[1777-1846] Of Greetland.

He was a woollen manufacturer [1841] and a cloth fuller at Outram's Mill, Greetland In 1830, he attempted to spin alpaca wool. He was on the committee of the Huddersfield & Liverpool Direct Railway Company [1845].

On 21st April 1816, he married Martha Thwaites [1798-1879] at Elland Parish Church.


Martha came from Elland
 

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. John
  3. Benjamin
  4. Anne [1824-1909] who married Rev Philip Sydney Ashworth
  5. Joseph [1827-1878] who emigrated to South America, and died in Tacna, Peru [21st November 1878]
  6. William Henry [1830-1915]
  7. Edmund
  8. Elizabeth [1836-1903] who never married

The family lived at Ellistones House, Greetland [1851, 1861, 1871].

Living with the widowed Martha [in 1861] were visitors daughter-in-law Agnes S. Outram and grandsons Alexander James and Thomas S.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church aged 69 [1st May 1846]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £6,000.

Other members of the family were buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland together with Mary Raynard

Outram, BenjaminRef O433
[1822-1893] Son of Benjamin Outram.

Born in Greetland [10th January 1822].

He was a cloth fuller at Outram's Mill, Greetland.

In May 1861, he was sworn in as a member of the grand jury of the West Riding Intermediate Sessions.

On 4th December 1858, he married Elizabeth Sutcliff [1839-1862] at Clifton, Gloucestershire.


Elizabeth was the daughter of Samuel Sutcliff of Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Gertrude [b 1859] who married George Herbert Leather

The family lived at Ellistones [1861].

Elizabeth died 29th August 1862.

Benjamin died in the USA [16th February 1893].

He was buried at Spring Hill Cemetery, Easton, Talbot County, Maryland, USA.

See Jonathan Slater

Outram's Dam, GreetlandRef O301
Dam at Greetland which supplied water from Holywell Brook to Outram's Mill / Ellistones Mill

Outram, EdmundRef O515
[1833-1892] Son of Benjamin Outram.

Born in Greetland [17th September 1833].

He was a landowner [1871] / a manager in finishing & dyeing [1871] / a dyer & finisher at Ellistones Mill, West Vale [1881, 1888] / a dyer & finisher [1891].

In June 1874, he and Joseph Horton of Huddersfield filed a patent for

improvements in steam boilers & furnaces

In November 1887, he and J. Miller of Greetland filed a patent for

improvements in the method of, and apparatus for, pressing and finishing textile fabrics

He never married.

He lived at

Living with him [in 1881] & 1891 were his sisters Anne (widow)  & Elizabeth.

Around 1892, (possibly) a consequence of the fire at Ellistones Mill on 25th November 1888,

financial misfortunes overtook the family

Mary Raymond was a servant at the house when she loaned Outram her savings. In January 1892, items which Mary had been given as security for the loan were removed when Outram's possessions were seized. Mary was so upset that she committed suicide by taking a quantity of phosphorus.

Edmund died [11th May 1892].

He was buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1892 Probate records show that he left effects valued at £10.

Probate was granted to his sisters Anne & Elizabeth.

In November 1893, Anne & Elizabeth were in bankruptcy litigation after they contracted to sell Ellistones House, Greetland to a Mr Hawksley

Outram, JohnRef O556
[1819-1895] Son of Benjamin Outram.

Born 31st May 1819.

In 1840, John Outram [aged 21] (merchant) sailed from Liverpool to New York aboard the SS President.

He was a farmer [1870, 1880].

In 1855, he married Agnes Susannah Muir [1832-1913] in Pershore, Worcestershire.


Agnes Susannah was born in Accrington
 

The couple emigrated to Maryland, USA [1855].

Children:

  1. Alexander James
  2. Thomas S.

The boys were born in New York.

The family lived at Talbot County, Maryland, USA [1870, 1880].

In 1861, Agnes and her sons were staying with her widowed mother-in-law Martha at Ellistones House, Greetland.

John died [13th July 1895].

He was buried at Spring Hill Cemetery, Easton, Talbot County, Maryland, USA.

Agnes returned to England and died in Torquay [27th February 1913]. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,298 3/10d

Outram, ThomasRef O389
[18??-18??] Manufacturing chemist and copperas worker at Holywell Green [1861, 1874].

In January 1858, he was charged with permitting a nuisance at his chemical works, in the manufacture of ammonium sulphate.

In October 1866, Thomas Outram of Greetland filed a patent for

improvements in the manufacturer of cast iron

and in October 1869 a patent for

cast steel

and in June 1874 – with Joseph Horton of Huddersfield – a patent for

improvements in steam boilers and furnaces. The boiler is constructed in 2 parts which are set in brickwork with their ends facing each other, and connected together or not with steam and water tubes. A space is left between the 2 contiguous ends, which is enclosed with brickwork, so as to form a mixing chamber for the products of combustion

He lived at Bradley Hall, Holywell Green [1861]

Outram, ThomasRef O548
[1817-1874] Son of Benjamin Outram.

Born in Greetland.

He was a manufacturer of woollen [1851] / a farmer of 225 acres employing 38 servants [1851] / a landowner [1871] / a vitriol maker employing 4 men [1871] / a dyer and finisher employing 38 men [1871] / a farmer of 130 acres employing 4 men [1871].

He was unmarried and living with his widowed mother at Ellistones House, Greetland [1851, 1861, 1871]

Outram, Thomas S.Ref O559
[1857-1907] Son of John Outram.

Born in New York.

On 8th March 1879, he enlisted in the US Army.

He could be the Thomas S. Outram who wrote

Is exposure at weather bureau stations satisfactory for all instruments? [1902]

On 29th January 1894, he married Jessie G. Murrison [18??-19??], from Wisconsin, at Cook County, Illinois.

They lived at

  • Minneapolis [1900]
  • Hennepin County, Minneapolis [1905]

OvendenRef O35
District of Calderdale to the north of Halifax.

See Population, Parish statistics, North Halifax and Linda Riordan

Ovenden & Halifax Junction RailwayRef O26

The Ovenden & Halifax Junction Railway CompanyRef O353

Ovenden BandRef O166

Ovenden BardRef O51
Several local poets were known as the Ovenden Bard, including Thomas Crossley and Simeon Hirst

Ovenden BeckRef O507
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length.

See Water Siphon, Old Lane

Ovenden Board of GuardiansRef O500
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Ovenden township have included

  • Samuel Webster, Ovenden Wood [1869]
  • Thomas Robertshaw, Forest House, Ovenden [1869]

Ovenden Board of HealthRef O159
Established in 18??

Ovenden branch of the Halifax Permanent Building SocietyRef O557
The Ovenden branch of the Halifax & District Permanent Banking Company Limited was at Keighley Road

Ovenden Brotherly SocietyRef O350
A friendly society established at the Illingworth Cross Inn on 3rd November 1788
for us and our families in the forlorn and desolate times of infirmity and disease

In 1819, the Society built 6 cottages on land at Ovenden. They were known as the Club Houses, and the lane which ran behind was eventually named Club Lane

The Society was disbanded in 1840

Ovenden Choral SocietyRef O99
Established in the early 1880s.

Recorded in 1829.

A meeting (possibly) of the Society is recorded at the Ovenden Cross Inn, under the management of George Moss, Henry Emmet, John Watkinson, Henry Watkinson, and the Hartley family

Ovenden Co-OpRef O9
Branch number 2 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in April 1860. It had a boot and shoe department

Ovenden constablesRef O419
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Ovenden.

See Illingworth Gaol

Ovenden Constitutional ClubRef O375
Recorded in 1905 at Wheatley Lane when Fred Spencer was Secretary.

In 1917, Tom Hartley was Secretary

Ovenden Co-operative StoresRef O395
Recorded in 1861 at Nursery Lane when Henry Stansfield was Manager

Ovenden Cricket ClubRef O490
The club house was formerly the Forest View pub.

Recorded in 1874, when John Priestley, the manager of the club house at the Club, was charged with selling beer without a licence


Question: Is this the same as Ovenden United Cricket Club?

 

Ovenden CrossRef O15
See Ovenden Cross

Ovenden District CouncilRef O435
Aka Board of Surveyors.

See James Heginbottom

Ovenden Female Benefit SocietyRef O349
Founded on 23rd May 1809. It was initiated
by 12 ladies for self-help – in sickness and old age – of all females joining between the ages of 15 and 32

Miss Elizabeth Wadsworth gave an annual donation of £3 to the Society. The anniversary celebrations were held on Whit Saturday

Ovenden GrangeRef O158
Aka The Grange, Ovenden.

Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

Owners and tenants have included

Ovenden GruntRef O85
[18??-19??] A well-known Ovenden character who went around grunting at people

Ovenden HallRef O66
The Hanson family are mentioned here in the 16th century. The present house was built by Joseph Fourness in 1662 on the site of an earlier house.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1???, reconstruction work was done by Gamaliel Sutcliffe

In 1944, it became a home for the elderly.

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

See Miss Jane Carter

Ovenden HeightsRef O167

Ovenden High School BathsRef O319
Opened in 1937. The baths are still in use

Ovenden HouseRef O79
House built for Peter Bold about 1727 on the site of an earlier house.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Around 1961, it was converted into an old people's home

Ovenden House NurseryRef O363
Grove Mill Lane. Recorded in 1905, when J. Fowler occupied the nursery

Ovenden Liberal AssociationRef O568

See John William Calvert

Ovenden LibraryRef O430
Recorded in 1929 as Ovenden Branch Library.

Recorded in 1936.

See Frank Cyril Pritchard

Ovenden Local BoardRef O8000
The Local Board for Ovenden.

Officers of the Board have included

In 1873, there was controversy between the ratepayers and the Board over the cost of introducing of gas into the district. Jonathan Priestley sent anonymous death threats to members of the Board – James Booth, Wilson Midgley and James Whiteley.

See

Ovenden Madrigal SocietyRef O347
Established in 18??.

Abel Dean was a conductor for the society

Ovenden, Manor ofRef O83
The manor was held by the Earls of Warren. It subsequently passed to the Thornhill family [1296], William de Methley, the Savile family, and the Earl of Scarbrough [1750].

The manor court of Ovenden was held at Lee Bridge.

Lord George Halifax Lumley-Savile auctioned off the title of Lord of the Manor in the 1990s

Ovenden Mechanics' Institute & Reading RoomRef O342
18 Webster Street.

Officers of the Insitute have included

  • John Wilson Manager [1887]
  • J. W. Bairstow Secretary [1905]
  • Herbert Rushby Curator [1905]

The General Baptists Lord's Day School met here

Ovenden MoorRef O65
Common land enclosed in 1814.

See Borders Bridge, Ogden Clough, Giant's Tooth, Ovenden Moor, Goose Clough, Ovenden Moor, Hebble, Ogden Clough, Ovenden Moor wind farm, Skirden Clough, Skirden Edge, Spice Cake Hills and Yorkshire Windpower

Ovenden Moor wind farmRef O12
The wind farm on Skirden Edge opened in 1993 with 23 turbines – each 50-metre tall – generating enough electricity to supply about 6,000 homes.

In October 2002, there was a proposal by Yorkshire Windpower to increase the height of the turbines to 100 metres. These would be able to supply about 22,000 homes.

In October 2009, there were proposals to replace the 23 turbines with 10 turbines of twice the height – to power 13,000 homes

Ovenden Naturalist SocietyRef O348
Established in 1865. John Walker was a prime mover of the group

Ovenden Overseers of the PoorRef O378
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Ovenden

Ovenden ParkRef O193
The premises of Halifax RUFC with two pitches.

The rugby club began to play there in 1928, initially renting the pitch at a nominal £1 a year from Drake's of Shay Lane.

The ground was bought by Jack Standeven, a member of a local business family, who bequeathed it to his two sons.

In April 1950, one of those sons, D. W. Standeven, who was president of Halifax RUFC, presented the ground to the club in memory of his late father.

There have been proposals to sell the site for supermarket development, with Halifax RUFC relocating to a new ground

Ovenden Police StationRef O343
Stands at the junction of the Ovenden Road and Grove Avenue.

In September 2012, this was one of a number of local police stations which were to be closed and sold off in order to cut costs

Ovenden Post OfficeRef O365
Recorded in 1861 at Ovenden Moor Side. It was then at the same address as the business run by Thomas Bottomley, shopkeeper.

Recorded in 1873, when William Parker was postmaster.

Recorded in 1874. It was then at the same address as the business run by Jane Bottomley, newsagent.

Recorded in 1905 at 31 Keighley Road when Harry Elliott was sub-postmaster, and in 1936 when Annie Elliott, newsagent, was in charge.

It later moved from Nursery Lane to the bottom of Mason Square

Ovenden Prize BandRef O163
Formed in 1???. Disbanded in 1???

Ovenden Railway StationRef O320
In August 1874, Halifax to Ovenden service opened to North Bridge – see Halifax High Level Railway.

The station was constructed at Ladyship by J. Charnock & Sons, and the passenger station opened on 2nd June 1881.

Trains no longer called at North Bridge, Ovenden and Holmfield after 23rd May 1953.

The station closed on 23rd May 1955.

Remnants of the building survive. A part is used by a scrap merchant.

See Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax and Ovenden Station Bridge

Ovenden ReservoirsRef O290
The water from two springs in Ovenden fed two reservoirs which were begun in 1826 to give work to the poor. One of the reservoirs was finished around 1827, but the other was not completed till a few years after. Each holds about 2,700,000 gallons

Ovenden, Richard deRef O38
[1???-1362] Appointed interim Vicar of Halifax [1349] when the Prior of Lewes did not have anyone to replace Thomas de Getingdon and John de Stamford who had both died of the Black Death. He, too, died of the Black Death

Ovenden Rugby League Football ClubRef O503

See Rugby Avenue, Ovenden

Ovenden School BoardRef O88
School Board set up in 18??.

See Bradshaw Board School, Mixenden Board School and Mixenden Community Primary School

Ovenden Station BridgeRef O62
Single-arch stone bridge over Lee Brook near Ovenden Station

Ovenden StocksRef O119
The stocks here were used in 1864

Ovenden Subscription BandRef O96

Ovenden Surveyor of the HighwaysRef O3040
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Ovenden included:

Ovenden United Cricket ClubRef O383


Question: Is this the same as Ovenden Cricket Club?

 

Recorded in 1880, when Robert Bailey was President

Ovenden, ViscountRef O135
See Maurice MacMillan

Ovenden, Viscount Macmillan ofRef O103

Ovenden Ward, HalifaxRef O416
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax.

See Joseph Hartley, James Naylor, Mrs Linda Riordan, Fred Sharp, Harry Skelton and John Walsh

Ovenden Ward Liberal ClubRef O397
Recorded in 1917 at Lee Mount Road, when Henry Dewhirst was secretary

Ovenden WoodRef O49
Ovenden. A house is mentioned here in 1381, owned by the Ovendenwood family, the name was later abbreviated to atte Wode, or Woods.

In the 17th century, James Murgatroyd built the houses Long Can, Yew Tree, and Lee House here.

There are several springs in the area

Ovenden Wood BrookRef O244
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length

Ovenden WorkhouseRef O144
In 1777, this accommodated 40 inmates.

See Great Scausby, Bradshaw, Joseph Rhodes and Caleb Spencer

Ovenden Worsted Company LimitedRef O341
Worsted spinners. Originally called the Ovenden Worsted Spinning Company Limited, they occupied Holmfield Mills, Shay Lane.

John Crossley & Sons acquired the Company and traded under the name Ovenden Worsted Company Limited.

The company was registered in March 1871.

28th March 1871: Capital of 150,000 in 12,000 shares. 7 subscribers took 70 shares. No return made

Their mill was destroyed by fire on 3rd February 1872.

Members of the Company

Recorded in 1874 at Ovenden and at Greetland.

Recorded in 1887 at Holmfield Mills, Ovenden and at 10 Charles Street, Bradford.

The company ceased trading about 1900

Over Bradley, StainlandRef O272
Another name for Bradley Hall, Holywell Green. Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax

Over BreaRef O177
Aka Upper Brea

Over Brown Hirst, OvendenRef O182
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Over Hazlehurst, ShibdenRef O71
See Hazlehurst

Over NabroydRef O189
The original name of Sunnybank.

The name suggests that the property stood above the road to an area called Nab

Over ShibdenRef O123
Aka Upper Shibden Hall

The Overall familyRef O314
Of Rotherham. They owned Cliffe Hill Mansion, Lightcliffe in the 16th century

OvereRef O39
Name referring to Southowram in Domesday Book

Overend, ThomasRef O191
[1872-1900] He lived at 10 Fleet Street, Halifax.

He was a reservist.

During the South African Wars, he was called-up [December 1899], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of enteric fever in South Africa [June 1900] (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Overgate Hospice, EllandRef O40
Hullen Edge.

The house was the home of Find Graucob, the MD of Nu-Swift Fire Extinguishers.

On his retirement, he and his wife, Sylvia moved to Jersey.

He died in 1978. In 1979, Sylvia gave the house and the adjoining Hazeldene and gardens to the Calderdale Society for Continuing Care for conversion into a hospice.

The hospice opened in September 1981.

See Overgate, Elland

Overgreen Royd Farm, MixendenRef O185
The Mixenden urnfield is nearby

Overwhiskers, ShibdenRef O81
House.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Frank Ambler [1937]

Overwood Farm, Hebden BridgeRef O293
17th century laithe house

Owd BobRef O501
A popular name for the clock on Brighouse Town Hall. In 1912, Robert Thornton presented the town with the clock and the balustrade on the building

Owd Mo'Ref O165
Popular name for Methodist preacher Moses Welby

Owen, ArthurRef O214
[1908-1998] Born in Bristol.

He was classics master at Heath Grammar School [1935-1973] / churchwarden and treasurer of St Paul's Church, King Cross / a member and (possibly) chairman of the Halifax Choral Society [1970s/80s] / chairman of the Halifax Arts Council [1970s]

He wrote the Latin motto inscribed on the school's memorial gates and the Latin school Grace

During World War II, he served in Africa.

In 1941, he married Ethel Mary Fairclough whom he had met whilst home on leave from Africa.

Children:

  1. Peter
  2. Elizabeth

Owen, Rev EdwardRef O239
[18??-19??] BA.

Pastor at Hope Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1908, 1914]. In 1919, he was appointed to Zion Church, Bramley

Owen, ErnestRef O198
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, Warley

Owen, GarfieldRef O537
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1959]. He won a cap for Wales while at Halifax

Owen, J.Ref O267
[18??-191?]

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private with the Loyal North Lancashire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

He died in the conflict.

Owen, ThomasRef O527
[18??-1???] Paper maker at Soyland Paper Mill [1884, 1896]. He produced newsprint and wrapping paper

Owens, DotRef O173
[19??-] Of Ovenden, Halifax. In the early 1970s, she started the first UK Star Trek fan club. She appeared on various news and current affairs programmes, organised the conventions, and was known by fans and actors of the science fiction series

Owens, EdwardRef O358
[1???-1???] Born in Holywell, Flint, North Wales.

He was a tailor [1901].

He married Unknown.


 

Children:

  1. John E. [b 1868] who was a general labourer [1901]
  2. Martha [1872-19??] who married Charles Edward Batterton

The family lived at 24 Cross Hills, Halifax [1901]

Owl Hall, NorlandRef O73
Near Pickwood Scarr.

Recorded in 1851, when Robert Dearnley lived here

Owler Bank, Hebden BridgeRef O259
Hurst Road

Owler Carr Reed Manufacturing CompanyRef O7860
Between 1880-1895, Smith Starkie was trading as Owler Carr Reed Manufacturing Company at Owler Carr Mill, Cloughfoot

Owler IngsRef O43
Area of Brighouse.

See Ing and Owler

Owlers, WadsworthRef O147
Burlees Lane.

Mid 17th century house

Owlet Hall, EllandRef O292
South Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Owram Hall, ShibdenRef O45
House which stood near the later Industrial School.

Owners and tenants have included

See Southowram Hall

Ox Heys Farm, ShelfRef O48
The land was owned by the Knights of St John of Jerusalem.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

In July 1833, the property was advertised for sale as

a farm house, 2 cottages, a large barn and out-buildings, with about 60 days' work of arable meadow and pasture land, about 13 days' work of wood land with beds of stone, coal, and iron stone, a constant stream of water with a fall of 30 feet which runs through the land and is considered eligible for a mill of manufactory

On 29th August 1940, three bombs fell in a nearby field. A number of incendiary bombs fell to the west of Shelf.

See Lower Ox Heys, Shelf and Middle Ox Heys Farm, Shelf

Oxbury, James HenryRef O25
[1869-1942] Born in Brighouse.

He was a cooper [1911].

In 1893, he married Mary Jane Broomhead in Halifax.


Mary Jane was the daughter of
Reuben Broomhead
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1894] who was a cotton spinner [1911]

The family lived at 62 Thornhill Road, Rastrick, Brighouse [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were Mary Jane's mother Frances Broomhead & siblings Hall Broomhead, Ada Broomhead and Olive Broomhead

Oxford buildersRef O178
After a disagreement between Oxford University and their local builders in 1608, Sir Henry Savile took masons John Akroyd and John Bentley from Halifax to build the Fellows' Quadrangle at Merton College, and to finish his extensions to the Bodleian Library

Oxford Café, HalifaxRef O469
George Square.

The building is now a bank.

There was an Oxford Café in Southgate Chambers, Halifax [1936]

Oxford House, Hebden BridgeRef O294
Albert Street.

The house has been converted into a restaurant

Oxford Lane Economic StoresRef O443
Oxford Lane. A branch of Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited. Opened in 1???

Oxford Street Livery Stables, TodmordenRef O472
Established in 1869. Recorded in 1897, when J. Hopkinson was Proprietor

Oxley Dempster LimitedRef O323
See Robert Dempster & Sons Limited

Oxley, Harry Stanley PeterRef O109
[1893-1917] Son of Mr Oxley, and stepson of Louis Smith.

Born in Plymouth.

He was a member of St Paul's Church, King Cross & Sunday School / a card cloth labourer [1911] / employed by Patchett & Sons at Sedburgh Wire Works.

In [Q3] 1917, he married Martha Ellen Albon in Halifax.

They lived at 13 Copley Avenue, Pye Nest, Halifax

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion Grenadier Guards.

He died of wounds [13th October 1917] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [10th November 1917].

He was buried at Solferino Farm Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I B 9].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother Walter Samuel served with the Scots Guards and was wounded.

His stepfather Louis Smith was blinded and discharged from the Army

Oxley, MissRef O89
[18??-19??] Headmistress at Colden School

Oxley, MrRef O313
[18??-19??] He was a chief stoker with the Royal Navy.

He (possibly) married Elizabeth Truscott [1874-19??].


Elizabeth was born in Plymouth, the daughter of Peter Truscott [1831-1905], an iron moulder
 


No record of the marriage has been found
 

Children:

  1. Harry Stanley Peter
  2. Walter Samuel
  3. Frank Truscott (Oxley) [1898-1904]

The family lived at 7 Hollywood Terrace, Plymouth, Devon [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] was Elizabeth's widowed father Peter Truscott [b St Austell, Cornwall 1831] (retired iron moulder).

In 1907, Elizabeth married Louis Smith in Plymouth


It is not known whether her husband Oxley died, or they were never married, or this was a bigamous marriage
 

Oxley, Walter SamuelRef O315
[1896-1956] Son of Mr Oxley, and stepson of Louis Smith.

He was a worsted spinning oiler [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Scots Guards.

He was shot through the jaw and put on light duties at Caterham [1918]

His brother Harry Stanley died in the War.

His stepfather Louis Smith was blinded and discharged from the Army.

Walter Samuel survived the War and died in Halifax [Q4 1956] (aged 60) 

Oxley, Mrs WinifredRef O94
[1???-] She was the third Lady Mayor of Halifax [1961-1962]

Oxtoby, Rev JohnRef O354
[1767-1830] Known as Praying Johnny.

Born in Pocklington.

Primitive Methodist Minister in Halifax [1829]

Oxtoby, T.Ref O360
[18??-18??] Corn miller at Halifax.

In August 1868, he was declared bankrupt

Oxygen Sewage LimitedRef O374
Recorded in 1905, when their registered office was at Penny Bank Chambers, Halifax

Oxygrains Bridge, RishworthRef O46
A single-arch stone packhorse bridge over Oxygrains Clough. It is about 9 ft wide and about 14 ft long from bank to bank.

In July 1825, masons were invited to contract for

the widening and repairing of Oxygrains Bridge, on the road leading from Ripponden to Oldham, consisting of one arch of 24 feet span

Watson says the name Ox-grains comes from two elements Osc [water] and grains [joining] and means the joining of two streams.

It was superseded by the modern bridge when the Oldham turnpike was built.

The bridge is on the English Heritage Buildings at Risk Register

Oxygrains Clough, RishworthRef O256
A tributary stream which runs from Rishworth Moor and Green Withens Reservoir down to the Ryburn and on to Booth Wood Reservoir.

See Oxygrains Bridge, Rishworth


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


© Malcolm Bull 2019
Revised 17:32 /5th December 2019 / o / 368202

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind

web counter