Jane Eyre
Charlotte Brontë

The novel Jane Eyre was written by Charlotte Brontë under the name Currer Bell [1847].

This was the first of the sisters' novels to appear in print.

In 1846, whilst she was nursing her father in a dingy Manchester lodging house, Charlotte – who was suffering from toothache – began writing the novel.

Charlotte's first novel, The Professor, had been rejected by several publishing houses including Smith, Elder & Company, who – though they had declined to accept the novel – were sufficiently encouraging for her to send them Jane Eyre. On 24th August 1847, Charlotte sent the book to George Smith. On the 30th August, he accepted, offering her £100 – plus a further £500 later. On 16th October 1847, George Smith published the novel.

In January 1848, the second edition of Jane Eyre was published. Charlotte dedicated this to Thackeray. This started a rumour that the author, Currer Bell was the pen-name for Thackeray's mistress.

In May 1848, the third edition of Jane Eyre was published.

There have been several films made of the novel.

WWW Links

You can see the text and notes about the book on several WWW sites, including:

© Malcolm Bull 2023
Revised 02:53 / 22nd February 2023 / 4868

Page Ref: QQ_128

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind