R



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Ra Rd Re Rh Ri Rm Ro Ru Ry


R. E. S. GymnasiumRef R284
Great Albion Street, Halifax. The gymnasium for the Recreative Evening Schools is recorded in 1905, when the Secretary was G. R. Granger.

See Halifax Gymnasium Memorial, Halifax R. E. S. Gymnasium Cycling Club and John Henry Whitley

Rabbetts, Rev Reginald Douglas CyprianRef R686
[19??-19??] He was at Salisbury before becoming Deacon at Lightcliffe [1938-1943]. He was ordained in 1939. He moved to Hampshire: Fordingbridge with Ibsley [1943-1950] and Kingsclere [1950-1971]. He is recorded at Newbury in 1983 and 1994

Rabbit Rock, HeptonstallRef R936
Local name for the rockface at Heptonstall Quarry

Rabbitt, Patrick JohnRef R217
[1816-1862] Born in Ireland.

He was a greengrocer at 26/27 Swine Market, Halifax.

He married Catherine [1824-1877].

Patrick John died 22nd November 1862.

Catherine died 3rd August 1877.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4082]

Raby, JackRef R329
[1917-1946] Son of Sarah Jane & Lancelot Raby of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Pilot Officer with the 353rd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 29th March 1946 (aged 29).

He is remembered on the Singapore Memorial [Grave Ref 459], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Raby, James W.Ref R628
[1859-19??] Of Elland.

He worked as a beamer piecer.

On 19th December 1882, he won a walking match – pedestrianism – at Lillie Bridge Grounds, West Brompton, beating W. Franks of Marylebone by 95 yards, after walking 8 miles in 59 mins 18 secs.

On 16th July 1883, he won a match at Bow Running Grounds, beating Arthur Hancock of Bethnal Green.

On 25th July 1900, he won a 25 mile walking race at Fulham Cross Grounds. His time was 3 hrs 53 mins 33¼ secs. He won the Championship, and the challenge cup – valued at 100 guineas – became his property

In January 1898, he was one of the people to endorse Velcot Coco.

In 1878, he married Hannah Maria McDermott [b 1859] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1879]
  2. Thomas Edward

The family lived at Rastrick [1890s]

Raby, SamRef R158
[1896-1916] Born in Silsden.

He was a member of St Matthew's Church, Northowram / a drawing overlooker at Albert Mills, Hanson lane, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action on the Somme [7th July 1916] (aged 20).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Raby, Thomas CharlesRef R254
[1894-1918] Born in Runcorn.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Private with the 55th Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He was killed in action [9th April 1918].

He is remembered on the Loos Memorial, France [Grave Ref 36], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Raby, Thomas EdwardRef R1465
[1880-19??] Son of James W. Raby.

Born in Elland.

He was a labourer in the iron trade [1901].

In 1899, he married Nellie, daughter of Stuart Black, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Nelson [b 1900]

They lived at

Raby, WilliamRef R289
[1855-19??] Born in Leeds.

He was a cloth weaver [1911].

In 1879, he married Hannah [1856-19??].


Hannah was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1882] who married Harry Balmforth

The family lived at 18 Cherry Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were daughter Elizabeth & her husband Harry

Race, EllisRef R200
[1837-1876] Son of William Race, cab proprietor.

He was a castrator of Kexborough, Barnsley [1867] / a castrator of horses [1876].

On 11th April 1867, he married Elizabeth Pickles.


Elizabeth, of Wadsworth, was the daughter of
William Pickles
 

Ellis died 16th July 1876.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £300.

Probate was granted to his widow Elizabeth

Radcliffe...Ref R31
The entries for people & families with the surname Radcliffe are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Radcliffe's: Benjamin Radcliffe & CompanyRef R848
Grease extractors at Stainland & Elland-cum-Greetland.

Partners included Benjamin Radcliffe and John Barnes.

The partnership was dissolved in 1879, and Radcliffe carried on the business in co-partnership with his brother Joseph [1905]. as Radcliffe Brothers

Radcliffe BrothersRef R1037
Oil refiners and extractors at North Dean Oil Works, Greetland.

The business was established in 1879, when the partnership Benjamin Radcliffe & Company was dissolved and Benjamin carried on the business in co-partnership with his twin brother Joseph as Radcliffe Brothers.

Recorded in 1905 & 1911

See Arthur Whitbread

Radcliffe's: John Radcliffe & SonsRef R1052
Cotton manufacturers at West End Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1863]

Radclyff, WilliamRef R3
[13??-1???] He was accused of causing the death of Robert de Lyndesay in the manor of Langfield on the Friday before Christmas 1390, with a sword.

He was acquitted

The Radclyffe familyRef R971
Originally from Radclyffe in Lancashire.

They held the Manor of Hartshead and lived at Hartshead Hall.

In 1200, William de Radclyffe gave to his son, Hugh

... all [Hartshead], to wit, two carucates of land with the appurtenances, to hold of himself and his heirs in fee and inheritance paying yearly one pound of pepper for services except the [foreign] service

See Richard Radclyffe and Robert de Radclyffe

Radclyffe, RichardRef R617
[12??-13??] Son of Robert de Radclyffe. In 1317, he gave Hartshead Hall to John Fleming

Radclyffe, Robert deRef R618
[12??-13??] Of Hartshead Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Richard

Radford, J. W.Ref R542
[18??-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the Royal Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Radical BobRef R868
A popular name for Robert Wilkinson

Radical HoilRef R76
A school-house in Smithy Fold, Midgley. The Midgley Radical Association met here [around 1837]. The first meeting of the Midgley Co-operative Society was held here [1852]

Radio Incandescent Light CompanyRef R1162
Inverted incandescent light manufacturers at 38 West Parade, Halifax [1905]

Radley, Joe HarryRef R1520
[1875-1947] He was a stone mason.

He was also a cornet player with the Southowram Brass Band and taught the cornet. He is said to have given horn lessons to Willie, a member of the Firth family in Brighouse.

In 1897, he married Hetty, daughter of George Wood.

They lived at Cain Lane, Southowram.

On 13th March 1914, the family sailed from Liverpool to the USA on the SS Alaunia and settled in upstate New York, and then Auburn NY.

Some members of the family worked in the carpet factory at Firthcliffe.

He died in Auburn.

He was buried at Fort Hill Cemetery, Auburn

Ragby Bridge, WalsdenRef R82
Ramsden Lane. A packhorse bridge carrying The Walsden Highway over Ramsden Clough below Ramsden Clough Reservoir

Raggalds Inn Bar, QueensburyRef R1310
A toll bar on the Brighouse-Denholme Gate Turnpike near the Raggalds Inn. Recorded in 1825.

In 1840, the side gates and chairs at the toll gate were advertised to let by auction at the George, Brighouse

Raggede, Alice deRef R554
[12??-13??] She was one of the nuns at Kirklees Nunnery.

She appears to have been dismissed. On 27th August 1306, the Archbishop of York sent a letter to the Prioress of Kirklees seeking readmission of

Alice Ragged, your fellow nun [who being] often deceived by the allurements of frail flesh, in levity of mind, hath gone from her house into the world, and hath wandered in great peril, having long put off her religious habit

She was again accused in 1315

RaghanaldRef R791
[10??-10??] Or Raigenald

There are very few documents this early. Farrer believed that Raghanald was probably thane of Lytham, Bootle, Linacre and Woodplumpton about the time of the Norman Invasion.

[Lancashire Pipe Rolls & Early Lancashire Charters, p. 43]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Ravenkil

Ragman's toffeeRef R373
A type of confectionery sold by Edward Binns. It was described as having
a bilious yellow hue

Railway BishopRef R79
Popular name for Eric Treacy

Railway Cocoa House, HalifaxRef R1062
47 Church Street.

A branch of the Halifax Cocoa House Company at the junction of Horton Street and Church Street. In 1891, they could accommodate 300 customers. Recorded in 1893.

By the 1920s, it was occupied by Ramsden's leather factory

Railway Coffee Tavern, HalifaxRef R1479
Near Halifax Railway Station. A branch of the Halifax Cocoa House Company.

Recorded in 1887, when Mayor Richard Horsfall and the Mayoress entertained Corporation staff here

Railway CompaniesRef R1021

Railway GenealogyRef R1620
Stephen Prior is currently developing a website which will list the names and other details of people – including navvies – who have worked on the railways.

Until the website is published, you can direct any enquiries to

railgenealogy@gmail.com

Railway Restaurant, HalifaxRef R1097
Dining rooms at Blackledge. Recorded in 1905, when they were run by Thomas Spencer

Railway stationsRef R275

Raine, ElizaRef R300
[1791-1860] Daughter of William Raine.

She was illegitimate [?], born and brought up in Madras and was of Anglo-Indian parentage. Her mother was Indian.

In 1800, when her father died, she and her sister came to England to be educated at Mr Lumley's Boarding School for Ladies.

Being of a foreign appearance, she was sent to the attic at the school. Here, she met Anne Lister who had also been sent to the attic because of her disruptive behaviour in the school

In 1805, when they were both young girls, aged 13, she met Anne Lister and they became lovers – Anne's first. They agreed to become man and wife and exchanged wedding rings and took vows.

When teachers found Anne and Eliza passing love-letters, Anne was expelled and returned to Halifax.

Eliza spent holidays with Anne at Skelfler and at Shibden Hall. They both kept diaries and developed a writing code for these and to exchange love letters.

Distanced from Anne, Eliza became lonely and melancholic. She suffered from a mental illness, and in 1814, she was declared insane. In 1816, she was committed to a lunatic asylum at Clifton, York, where she spent the rest of her life.

In 1817, she was in the care of Dr Henry Stephen Belcombe at Clifton, York.

She was buried at St Thomas's Church, Osbaldwick, York

Raine, Dr WilliamRef R1499
[17??-1800] A surgeon of the East India Company.

He married an unidentified Indian woman. Children:

  1. Jane
  2. Eliza

He died on the voyage back to England.

After his death, Dr William Duffin became guardian of his daughters and brought them back to England in 1803

Raisbeck, ThomasRef R169
[1864-1903] Born in Ferryhill, Durham.

He was a gasworks labourer [1901].

He married Mary Sarah [1872-19??].


Mary Sarah was born in Carlton, Durham
 

Children:

  1. Ruth Lilian [b 1891] who was a filler in printing shed (crossleys ltd ) [1911]
  2. Thomas
  3. William Headlam Hitching [b 1894] who was a carpet printer [1911]
  4. Essie Maud [b 1898]
  5. Jane Evelyn [b 1900]
  6. Ivy Cellet [b 1902]

The family lived at 4 Mason's Court, Stockton-on-Tees, Durham [1901].

Thomas died in Stockton in 1903 (aged 39).

In [Q2] 1907, Mary Sarah married (2) Thomas William Paddison

Raisbeck, Thomas William HitchingRef R279
[1893-1918] Son of Thomas Raisbeck.

Born in Barnard Castle, Durham.

He was a member of Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax / a box lad at carpet works [1911] / a creeler at Dean Clough.

He lived at 58 Oxford Terrace, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [26th October 1914], and served as a Driver with D Battery 38th Brigade with the Royal Field Artillery.

He was killed in advances against the enemy near Wervicq. He was with his team, taking up the guns into action, when a shell hit the road alongside the team, killing Driver Raisbeck, wounding his corporal, and wounding the horses [16th October 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [9th November 1918].

He was buried at Hooge Crater Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref XVII H 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Halifax Bowling Club, on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets, and on the Memorial at Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax

Raistrick Greave, HeptonstallRef R298
2-cell mid 17th century house on Heptonstall Moor.

It appears to have been extended twice to add a barn and a cottage, probably in the 18th century.

Owners and tenants have included

It stood alongside the Long Causeway.

It is now a ruin

Raistrick, Peter WilliamRef R352
[1954-1972] He served as a Gunner with the Royal Regiment of Artillery.

During the Troubles in Northern Ireland, he was shot and killed in the Creggan area of Londonderry [11th June 1972].

He was buried at Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel.


Killed in the Service of his Country
 

He is remembered on Bradshaw War Memorial

Rake End, WalsdenRef R1714

Rake Hey Farm, TodmordenRef R1600
Whirlaw Common. Early 19th century house and barn

Ralph, HaroldRef R185
[18??-19??] Born in Halifax.

In 1917, he married Phyllis Fossey in Halifax.


Phyllis was the daughter of
Ernest George Fossey
 

Children:

  1. Ernest James [b 1918]
  2. Phyllis [b 1919]
  3. Constance [b 1921]

Ralph, Rev JohnRef R30
[1736-1795] He trained at Hoxton College and served at Stamford before becoming Minister at Northgate End chapel [1767-1795].

He founded the Library at the Chapel, and was one of the originators of the Halifax Circulating Library.

He married Dorothy Rhodes.


Dorothy was the daughter of Mr Rhodes, and sister of John Rhodes
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth Dorothy [1781-18??] who married Thomas Sudworth
  2. Sophia [1784-18th February 1861]
  3. John Rhodes
  4. Sarah Rhodes [1788-17th February 1873] who is mentioned in Anne Lister's journals, & was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 266]
  5. Emma [1792-1851] who married Judge Stansfeld

There was a memorial to Rev Ralph in Northgate End Chapel

Ralph, John RhodesRef R307
[1786-1862] JP.

Son of Rev John Ralph.

He was JP for the West Riding [1851] / landed proprietor [1851] / railway shareholder [1861].

On 17th February 1820, he married Agnes Bickerstaff Ramsden in Halifax.


Agnes was the daughter of Rowland Ramsden
 

Children:

  1. Agnes Ramsden [1821-1897] who married William Fenton Kenny
  2. Rowland Westby [1824-1890] who died at his home in Shrewsbury

The family lived at

He died at Furnival's Inn, London.

See Railway companies and West Yorkshire Railway Company

Ramsay, MichaelRef R559
Pen-name of writer Tom Green

Ramsbotham's: James & Thomas RamsbothamRef R1448
Cotton manufacturers and spinners at Todmorden [1809].

See Thomas Ramsbotham

Ramsbotham, John HodgsonRef R1758
[1809-1868] One of the Trustees of Martin Manley.

He was buried at St Wilfrid's Church, Calverley

Ramsbotham, ThomasRef R291
[1775-1839] Aka Ramsbottom. In the late 18th century, he lived in the master's house at Ewood Mill where he has a cotton carding and spinning business, putting-out work to the local weavers.

He also had an iron foundry and workers producing cotton machinery for a Manchester company of which he was a partner or owner.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary who married John Crossley of Scaitcliffe

In 1832, he built Robinwood Mill, Todmorden.

He owned much property in and around Todmorden.

He bought Platts House and Carr Barn from Joshua Fielden [1820s].

In 1826-1828, he built Centre Vale House. He diverted the river in order to get a wider sweep of land for the house. Abraham Stansfield worked as a gardener at the house.

A memorial was erected to him opposite his pew in Christ Church.

See James & Thomas Ramsbotham

The Ramsbottom family of Birks HallRef R898
The family were established by Francis Ramsbottom. They lived at Birks Hall House

Ramsbottom, ElizabethRef R381
[1777-1857] Daughter of Robert Ramsbottom, and sister of Robert. On their brother's death, Birks Hall passed to her and her sister, Mary.

She married Edward Brooke.

For about 35 years after the death of Mr Gott, husband of her daughter Mary Ann, the two widowed sisters reigned over Pellon and Wheatley. In 1853, the two sisters gave £400 and the land for building Pellon Church and Parsonage. On Mary's death, Elizabeth inherited the estates. In her will, she left the estates to her daughter, Mary Ann, for life, with the remainder in tail to her children.

Elizabeth survived her husband.

The epitaph on the memorial for Elizabeth and other members of her family in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Ramsbottom, FrancisRef R793
[16??-1???] Or Ramsbotham. He established the Ramsbottom family of Birks Hall.

On 6th June 1670, he married Agnes Threapland in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Francis
  2. Samuel
  3. Richard
  4. Grace
  5. Ann who married Squire Firth

Ramsbottom, FrancisRef R794
[17??-1766] Son of Francis Ramsbottom. He inherited Birks Hall, Ovenden.

He married Martha [17??-1773].

Children:

  1. Robert

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Ramsbottom, HenryRef R423
[17??-18??] Owned Salford Mill, Todmorden [1814]

Ramsbottom, HenryRef R948
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Foster Mill, Hebden Bridge [1816, 1830s] and Ewood Mill, Stansfield [1825]

Ramsbottom, JohnRef R189
[1814-1897] Railway engineer.

Born in Todmorden.

He did much work on the use of steam-power in the family's cotton business. He made many inventions for the new railway industry, including a water trough and pick-up system, and the split piston ring which is still in use on petrol and diesel engines. He was President of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers.

In July 2004, a plaque at Todmorden Railway Station was unveiled in his memory

Ramsbottom, MaryRef R380
[1776-1855] Daughter of Robert Ramsbottom, and sister of Robert. On their brother's death, Birks Hall passed to her and her sister, Elizabeth.

She married James Lancashire.

They had no children.

For many years, the two widowed sisters reigned over Pellon and Wheatley.

In 1853, they gave £400 and the land for building Pellon Church and Parsonage.

On Mary's death, Elizabeth inherited the estates.

Mary survived her husband.

The epitaph on the memorial for Mary and other members of her family in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Ramsbottom, RobertRef R795
[1740-1812] Son of Francis Ramsbottom. He inherited Birks Hall, Ovenden.

He married Mary [1732-1822].

Children:

  1. Robert
  2. Mary
  3. Elizabeth

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Ramsbottom, RobertRef R166
[1775-1822] Son of Robert Ramsbottom.

He lived at Birks Hall, Ovenden.

On Tuesday, March 12th 1822, he was killed in the quarry in Brackenbed Lane where he was taking shelter under a large mass of projecting stone; the stone fell and crushed him to death.

Other reports of his death say that

he was assisting one of his labourers

He was the last male Ramsbottom, and Birks Hall passed to his sisters, Mary and Elizabeth.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Ramsbottom, RobertRef R1610
[18??-1892] He was landlord of the Lord Nelson, Halifax [1881, 1887, 1892].

He married Hannah Leah.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1892

Ramsbottom, SamuelRef R350
[1???-1738] Son of Francis Ramsbottom.

He inherited Birks Hall, Ovenden and owned it for 1 year.

He married Mary Farrer.

Children:

  1. Francis [1735-1736]

Ramsbottom, Samuel FrancisRef R348
[1???-1737] Or Ramsbotham.

Son of Francis Ramsbottom.

In 1707, he inherited Birks Hall. He was a maltster. The kilns at Birks were worked for about 150 years afterwards. Remains of the vats are still to be found in the outbuildings.

On 4th June 1708, he married Sarah, daughter of John King.

Children:

  1. John [b 1710] who died in his first year
  2. Samuel
  3. Francis
  4. Thomas
  5. Sarah

He died suddenly

Ramsden...Ref R10
The entries for people & families with the surname Ramsden are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ramsden & BaxterRef R1285
Worsted spinners at Bailiffe Bridge. Partners were Thomas Ramsden and William Bradford Baxter.

In 1856, the partnership was declared bankrupt. Both partners were independently declared bankrupt at the same time.

At Leeds Bankruptcy Court, the court was not happy with the answers given about the firm's finances, and the case was postponed sine die. The protracted bankruptcy hearing – during which the court suspected them of concealing assets – occupied much of the local papers at the time

Ramsden & TathamRef R1738
Brewers at Mixenden.

Recorded in May 1861, when when The Black Bull in Bingley was advertised to let

Ramsden's Baths, RastrickRef R1017
Bramston Street. Slipper baths and swimming pool. Established by N. Ramsden. Built around 1890 on the eastern side of Bramston Street. This was the first swimming bath in the district. Brighouse Swimming Club met here.

In 1894, Ramsden offered the baths to the Corporation, but the Council resolved

that the offer be not entertained

Water was obtained from drainage from the hillside. When a council tip was built higher up the valley, the water became polluted and the enterprise closed in 1903.

In 1910, the property was bought by Falcon Laundry.

Bath Place still stands

Ramsden, Camm & Company LimitedRef R1083
Manufacturers of telegraph wire, cables and hawsers.

Established at Robin Hood Mill, Clifton Road [1840].

They were still at the mill [1874].

They employed about 300 workers [1895].

The business moved to Leopold Works, Brighouse. They did much work for the international market in Europe, America and the East.

Around 1960, they were taken over by Spencers of Wakefield.

See Samuel Henry Byrne

Ramsden, Chadwick & CompanyRef R1139
Stone merchants and quarry owners at Lane Head, Brighouse [1896]. Partners included Lister Chadwick

Ramsden's CharityRef R588
See Frances Thornhill's Charity School

Ramsden Clough Reservoir, TodmordenRef R783
Property including Furniss Farm was submerged when the valley was flooded.

See Ramsden Clough

Ramsden Clough, WalsdenRef R607
A stream which flows from Ramsden Clough Reservoir to join Walsden Water at Bottoms.

Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here

See Furniss Farm, Ragby Bridge, Walsden and Ramsden Wood Mill, Walsden

Ramsden's (Halifax)Ref R1569
Leather processing business in Halifax.

They occupied what had been the Railway Cocoa House, Halifax [1920s]

Ramsden, Harrison & CompanyRef R1087
Cotton and wool card makers at Chapeltown, Halifax [1809].

Partners included Colonel Thomas Ramsden of Heath Hall, Halifax

Ramsden House, EllandRef R684
Owners and tenants have included

Ramsden's: J. D. Ramsden & SonsRef R1031
Gate and palisade makers, shoeing and general smiths at Frost Stud Works, Elland [1905]

Ramsden,'s: J. Ramsden, Son & CompanyRef R1160
Surgical instrument makers at 12 Union Street, Halifax [1905]

Ramsden's: John Ramsden & SonsRef R1036
Hay, straw, corn and seed merchants at West Vale Corn Mills, Greetland [1905]

Ramsden North Farm, WalsdenRef R8201
Ramsden Wood Lane. Early 18th century house.

Now 2 dwellings.

Owners and tenants have included

Ramsden's: Robert & John RamsdenRef R1449
Carpet manufacturers at Chapeltown, Halifax [1809]

Ramsden's: Thomas Ramsden & Son LimitedRef R1090
Brewing and bottling company established in 183? by Thomas Ramsden – and son John Taylor Ramsden – at the Clough Brewery, Mixenden.

In 1881, they acquired the town centre brewery of Lupton & Charnock, then Brear & Brown, and then John Naylor's Halifax Brewery.

On 27th January 1894, the firm became Ramsden's Stone Trough Brewery at Commercial Street, Halifax / Ward's End, Halifax.

Directors were:

In 1919, they acquired the business and houses of James Alderson & Company Limited.

During the 1930s, their bottles were made by Lax & Shaw, Leeds.

In 1964, the company joined Joshua Tetley & Son Limited, a subsidiary of Allied Breweries Limited.

It has been said that the business closed because they needed to expand, but that it was not possible to extend their town-centre site.

The Brewery is discussed in the book Halifax Pubs

Ramsden's ToffeeRef R762
Produced at Ramsden's toffee works, Rastrick

Ramsden WoodRef R123
Area of Todmorden

On 27th September 1867, a large bird – said to be a Gannet or Solan Goose – was captured in Ramsden Wood. It had fallen to the ground in an exhausted state. It had a 6 ft wing span and was about 2 ft in length

Ramsden Wood Farm, Mount TaborRef R45

Owners and tenants have included

Ramsden Wood, Mount TaborRef R46
Woodland at Mount Tabor

Ramsden Wood ReservoirRef R752
Just below Mount Tabor in the Wheatley Valley.

The storage reservoir was built by J. F. Bateman as a part of the route from Widdop Reservoir to the Thrum Hall treatment works for distribution to Halifax.

It has a capacity of 11,295,000 gallons.

There is a ventilation shaft on Moor End Road

Ramshaw, ChristopherRef R927
[18??-19??] Editor of the Todmorden Herald [1905]

Rand & Asquith (Aceblade Limited)Ref R1444
Quarrying and stone merchants at Tuck Royd Quarry, Hipperholme

Randal, ThomasRef R447
[18??-18??] Iron founder at Hebble End, Sowerby.

In March 1830, he was declared bankrupt

Randolph, WilliamRef R507
[1895-1917] Alias William Rennick & William Renwick.

He was a member of St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax / employed by Edward Foster & Son Limited, Halifax [1914].

In [Q3] 1915, he married Julia Harold in Halifax.


Julia was the daughter of James Harold
 

They lived at 70 Portland Road, New Bank, Halifax

During World War I, he enlisted [1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 15th April 1917 (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th August 1917].

He was buried at H.A.C. Cemetery, Ecoust-St.Mein, France [Grave Ref III K 2]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

His brother-in-law Thomas Francis Harold also died in the War

In [Q4] 1918, Julia married (2) Norman H. Lindsay in Halifax

Random, RoderickRef R865
The pseudonym for a writer who lived in Halifax and then Brighouse.

Around 1870, he wrote a number of dialect poems for the Brighouse News


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the man/woman?

 

Raney, John T.Ref R543
[1885-191?] Son of Patrick Raney.

He was a worsted mill hand [1901] / a carpet printer [1911].

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Raney, PatrickRef R548
[1864-1900] Son of Ann ) [1839-1???] & Thomas Raney [1843-1???].

Born in Halifax.

He was a dyer's labourer [1891].

In [Q2] 1888, he married Sabina Blackwell [1866-1949] in Halifax.


Sabina was born in Halifax.

She was a card room hand (cotton) [1891], a hospital charwoman [1911]

 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Mary [b 1887] who was a worsted mill hand [1900]
  3. William [b 1891]
  4. Frederick [b 1892]
  5. James [b 1896] who was a worsted doffer [1911]
  6. Martha Ann [b 1899] who was a half-tome worsted spinner [1911]
  7. Patrick [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • Brearley's Court, Garden Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 14 Dobby Hall, Halifax [1901]
  • 24 Mason Street, Range Bank, Halifax [1911]

Range Bank Co-Op, HalifaxRef R1341
Branch number 24 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in July 1875

Range Hoyle, TodmordenRef R1687
A moorland valley at Clough Foot

Rangeley, ArthurRef R483
[1883-1915] Son of Hartley Rangeley.

Born in Elland.

He was a stone hewer [1911].

On 13th April 1907, he married Jane Bawtry [1886-19??] in Halifax.


Jane was born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Victor Hugo [1908-2003]
  2. Gladys [b 1910]
  3. Hartley [1912-1990]
  4. Henry [1914-1916]

The family lived at 7 Church Street, Elland [1911].

He joined the Territorials [5th December 1907] and was embodied into the British Expeditionary Force [5th August 1914]. He was with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to the Front aboard SS Invicta [14th April 1915].

He was promoted to Lance Corporal [17th July 1915].

He was wounded on 9th November 1915 and died the following day.

He was buried at Ferme-Olivier Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref I J 2].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland.

In 1917, Jane married George Atkinson at South Kirby.

They lived in Leeds.

Rangeley, HartleyRef R484
[1857-1905] Born in Elland

He was a stone delver [1879].

On 22nd November 1879, he married Caroline Steward [1858-19??] in Halifax.


Caroline was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Ann [b 1880]
  2. Arthur
  3. Horace [1885-1982]

The children were born in Elland

Rangeley, JamesRef R831
[1805-1852] Or Rawnsley.

On 22nd April 1821, he married Elizabeth (Betty) Horsfall [1805-1888].


Betty was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Rachel [b 1837] who was a power loom woollen weaver [1871], had a son William, & married John Holroyd

The family lived at Upper Edge, Elland [1871].

James died in 1852.

In 1872, Elizabeth married Thomas Sharratt

Rangeley, Percy SinclairRef R830
[1892-1970] Son of William Rangeley.

Born in Southowram [19th January 1892].

He was a tram shed labourer (Corporation) [1911].

In [Q4] 1918, he married Elsie Luty [1894-1964] in Halifax.

Elsie died 7th May 1964 (aged 70), and was cremated at Park Wood, Elland Road.

Percy Sinclair died 8th February 1970 (aged 78).

He was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-F25] with his parents

Rangeley, WilliamRef R190
[1860-1904] Illegitimate son of Rachel Rangeley.


In 1871, Rachel married John Holroyd, and William was living with the family [1881]
 

Born at Elland Edge.

He was a quarryman [1881] / a stone delver [1891] / a stone delver (quarry) [1901].

On 24th November 1888, he married Selina Fawthrop in Halifax.


Selina was born in Southowram, the daughter of Seth Fawthrop
 

Children:

  1. Laura Evelyn [b 1890] who was a twiner piecer (cotton) [1911]
  2. Percy Sinclair
  3. Ivy Ermentrude [b 1894] who was a twiner piecer (cotton) [1911]
  4. Emily Ann [b 1898] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  5. Beatrice Alice [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • Town Gate, Southowram [1891]
  • New Street, Southowram [1901, 1911]

William died 21st June 1904 (aged 44).

Selina died at Pinnar Lane [26th April 1926] (aged 66) 

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-F25]

Ranger, WilliamRef R424
[1799-1863] Superintending Inspector to the General Board of Health in London. In 1850-1851, he carried out a survey of the sanitary conditions in Halifax – the Ranger Report.

During his first visit in May 1850, he looked at the sanitary conditions east of the Hebble, that is, Southowram and Northowram. He subsequently visited Elland [1851], Sowerby Bridge [1854]

He reported that life expectancy in Halifax was 55 years for gentry and tradesmen, and 22 for a labourer.

As a result of his findings, the Borough Council made an application to have the provisions of the Public Health Act [1848] applied to the town. This led to improvements in water supplies, drainage, public baths, and sanitation. In 1853, he planned a system of drains and sewers for the town.

Another recommendation of his report was the provision of model lodging houses in the town

See Slums, Dr William Alexander, Frederick Garlick and Ogden reservoir

Rankin, Michael HenryRef R520
[1808-1892] Of Clifton, Bristol. He trained in Newcastle – where he practised for 7 years – and in London. In 1840, he became a junior partner with William Craven as Craven & Rankin in Halifax. In 1874, he was partner in Craven, Rankin & Alexander

For 37 years, he was Registrar at Halifax County Court. He lived at New Road, Halifax [1874]

On 28th January 1847, he married Anna Gaskin at Edinburgh.


Anna was the daughter of the late Rev William Gaskin, Perpetual Curate of Wreay, Cumberland
 

Children:

  1. Henry Francis [1857-1883] who died in Dorchester

He died at Dorchester

RanliteRef R425
The brand name of the bakelite model cars produced by Automobiles (Geographical) Limited in the 1930s

RAOBRef R1270

Raper, Henry SeptimusRef R132
[1852-1933] Born in Howden.

He was a grocer & draper [1881] / a retired grocer [1901].

In [Q3] 1871, he married Sarah Jane Chapman in Halifax.


Sarah Jane was the daughter of
Israel Chapman
 

Children:

  1. Rosanna who died aged 7 months
  2. Sarah Ann who died aged 5 years & 9 months
  3. Florence Ann [b 1879]
  4. Thomas Henry [1880-1881]

The family lived at

  • 9 Siddal Street, Southowram [1881]
  • Daisy Bank House, Whitegate, Southowram [1901]

The children () were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell [Grave Ref: 1/A68] with their Chapman grandparents

Henry Septimus died in Halifax [Q1 1933] (aged 80) 

Rasch, Major F. C.Ref R627
[1847-1914] He stood as Conservative candidate in the Elland Parliamentary election of 1885. He gained 3458 votes, but was defeated by Thomas Wayman with 6516 votes

Rastrick...Ref R49
Entries beginning Rastrick ... and The Rastrick ... are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The Rastrick familyRef R904
Roger de Rastrick was an early member of the local branch of the family.

The red roses of the family's arms are featured in the Brighouse Coat of Arms

See Rastrick

Rastrick, C. V.Ref R563
[18??-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Scottish Rifles.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rastrick, ClementRef R78
[1884-1919] Son of Dan Rastrick.

Born in Bailiff Bridge / Bradford / Hipperholme.

He was a draper's assistant [1901] / a general draper shopkeeper [1911].

In [Q4] 1906, he married Edith Naylor in Halifax.


Edith was born in Hipperholme
 

They lived at

  • 23 & 25 Bonegate, Brighouse [1911]
  • 62 Smithy Carr Lane, Brighouse

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Durham Light Infantry.

He died 4th March 1919 (aged 35).

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [C U 108]

Rastrick, DanRef R550
[1857-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was a carpet weaver [1891, 1901].

He married Mary [1856-19??].


Mary was born in Liversedge
 

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1879] who was a worsted winder [1911]
  2. Clement

The family lived at

  • Wyke Lane, Wyke [1891]
  • East View, Hipperholme [1901]

Rastrick, Henry deRef R389
[12??-13??] Aka Hans de Rastrick.

Son of John de Rastrick.

He was Constable of Rastrick [1308].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John
  2. son

See Northowram Hall

Rastrick, Hugh deRef R803
[12??-12??] Son of Roger de Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

Rastrick, JohnRef R808
[1738-1826] Son of William Rastrick [1695-1772].

Civil engineer of Morpeth, Northumberland.

He was one of the branch of the Rastrick family which moved to Northumberland

Rastrick, John deRef R804
[12??-13??] Son of Hugh de Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

Rastrick, John deRef R805
[12??-13??] Son of John de Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Henry

Rastrick, John deRef R806
[12??-13??] Son of Hans or Henry de Rastrick. He changed his name and, in 1377, he is recorded as John Hanson. It has been suggested that he did this in order to avoid confusion with his grandfather, John de Rastrick.

He married Alice de Woodhouse.


Alice was the daughter of Henry de Woodhouse
 

Children:

  1. John

Rastrick, Roger deRef R802
[12??-12??] Aka Rogerus de Rastricke, Roger de Rastric.

Son of William de Binglaia. He was an early member of the Rastrick family. He held land in Rastrick, Skircoat and Clayton.

Recorded in 1251.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Hugh

The family lived at Lillands

Rastrick, Thomas deRef R807
[13??-14??] Constable of Rastrick [1397]

Rastrick, WilliamRef R810
[16??-17??] He was described as
defender of the Protestant church

and spent his great estate in support of the war and of King William III.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William

Rastrick, WilliamRef R809
[1695-1772] Of Rastrick and Pudsey.

Son of William Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

He was the last member of the family to live at Rastrick House

Rastrick, William deRef R8950
[12??-13??] Recorded in 1314, when he bought 5 acres of land from Peter de la Croix for 40/-

Rastrik, Roger deRef R1540
[13??-1???] Recorded in 1373, when cattle belonging to Margaret del Dene strayed on to his land

Ratcher Cottage, TodmordenRef R157
Hole Bottom Road. 2 early 19th century cottages

Ratcher Rock, TodmordenRef R1492
Natural rocky outcrop

Ratcliff, HaroldRef R552
[1893-1946] Son of Mary & William Ratcliff.

On 1st May 1919, he married Agnes Selina Sadler [1897-1979] at St James's Church, Halifax.


Agnes was born in Bethnal Green, London
 

They lived in Halifax.

He served in World War I.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion (HD)  Green Howards (Yorkshire Regiment).

He died 29th June 1946 (aged 53).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [F 313]. His wife is mentioned on the grave

Ratcliffe...Ref R118
The entries for people & families with the surname Ratcliffe are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ratcliffe, Brothers, & CompanyRef R1081
Aka Ratcliffe Brothers.

Woollen and blanket manufacturers at Mytholmroyd.

In April 1865, the partnership between Joshua & Squire Ratcliffe – known as John Ratcliffe & Sons, was dissolved by mutual consent. Squire carried on the woollen business on his own account at Rochdale. The manufacturing business was carried on under the name Ratcliffe, Brothers, & Company at Mytholmroyd

Joshua passed the business to his sons Thomas, Edwin, Joseph, and John.

In September 1872, Thomas wanted to expand, but his brothers did not agree and the partnership was dissolved.

See Calder House Mills, Mytholmroyd and Green Hill Mill, Mytholmroyd

Ratcliffe's: James Ratcliffe & SonsRef R1420
Woollen and damask manufacturers at Box Tree Mill, Wheatley. Established by James Ratcliffe

Ratcliffe's: James Ratcliffe & SonsRef R455
Worsted spinners at Ovenden.

In June 1855, he was declared insolvent and paid 3/6d in the pound dividend

Ratcliffe's: John Ratcliffe & SonsRef R1169
Blanket makers & woollen manufacturers established in the 1830s.

They were at Denholme Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1845] and Rochdale.

Partners included the sons of John Ratcliffe: Squire, Joshua, and Charles.

By 1852, they needed to expand and moved to Mytholmroyd where they built Green Hill Mill and later the neighbouring Albert Mill.

In November 1858, the partnership was dissolved and Squire & Joshua carried on the business under the same name.

In April 1865, the partnership was dissolved by mutual consent.

Squire carried on the woollen business on his own account at Rochdale.

The manufacturing business was carried on under the name Ratcliffe, Brothers, & Company at Mytholmroyd.

Joshua handed the business over to his 4 sons: Thomas, Edwin, Joseph, and John. The 4 brothers formed the company Ratcliffe Brothers.

See Joseph Crowther

Ratcliffe's: Thomas Ratcliffe & Company LimitedRef R1084
Blanket-making company founded by Thomas Ratcliffe in 1872.

They were at Mytholmroyd.

In 1915, the firm was controlled by his sons-in-law John Culpan and David Smith, who inherited the business, and became Thomas Ratcliffe & Company Limited.

Norman Culpan was in charge of the company and developed the Moderna blanket – which was guaranteed to be mothproof, fadeless, unshrinkable and odourless – and which became world-famous.

The firm developed a material known as wool-fibro which was used for making coats and clothing.

In 1951, the firm was taken over by a company from Witney, Oxfordshire and became Moderna (Witney) Limited.

See Crossley Mill, Hebden Bridge and Andrew Culpan

Ratcliffe's: W. Ratcliffe & SonsRef R1100
Joiners, builders and undertakers at Alma Road Wood Works, Halifax. Partners included James Ratcliffe

Rathband, Rev NathanielRef R146
[1???-16??] MA.

Son of William Rathband, a Nonconformist minister in Lancashire [?].

He was Puritan Minister at Sowerby [1635-1645]. He moved to York where he became a well-known preacher.

He was ejected from the rectory of Ripley, Knaresborough [1662].

His brother, William [d 1695], was ejected from Southwold, Essex at the same time.

See John Kershaw

Rathmell, Rev AlbertRef R231
[1875-1944] Methodist minister.

In [Q3] 1903, he married Emily Blackburn [1870-1939] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Winifred [1907-1978] who married Arthur James Poole [1867-1947]

Emily died 19th January 1939 (aged 69).

Albert died 13th March 1944 (aged 69).

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Rathmell, BenjaminRef R824
[1888-19??] Son of John Rathmell.

He was a butcher / branch manager Co-operative Society [1911].

He married [Q2] 1912 Mabel Harrison Pickersgill in Halifax.


Mabel was the daughter of John William Pickersgill
 

Rathmell, David HolmesRef R826
[1915-1979] Born in Halifax [12th July 1915].

He married Lily [1920-2000].

David died 27th December 1979 (aged 64).

Lily died 3rd August 2000 (aged 80).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NL-A1A]

Rathmell, FredRef R818
[1877-1936] Son of John Rathmell.

Born in Southowram [Q3 1877].

He was a cotton maker-up [1891] / a cart driver [1901] / a general carrier [1911].

In [Q4] 1902, he married Sarah Anne Taylor [1878-1954] in Halifax.


Sarah Anne was born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. Mary [1903-18th April 1945]
  4. Ruby [1910-5th February 1918]

They lived at 33 Delvers Arms Cottages, Brookfoot [1911].

Fred died 22nd March 1936 (aged 58).

Sarah Anne died 1st April 1954 (aged 76).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-A27]

Rathmell, JohnRef R819
[1851-1912] Born in Stanbury.

He was a van driver [1881] / a general carrier [1891] / a carting agent (employer) [1901, 1911].

In [Q4] 1872, he married Fanny Harvey [1851-1918].


Fanny was born in Little Hale, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. Edgar who died young [before 1911]
  2. Genetha [1873-17th December 1939] who was a cotton reeler [1891, 1901], & married [Halifax Q2 1903] John William Pickersgill, & was buried with her parents
  3. Albert [b 1875] who was a cotton spinner [1891]
  4. Fred
  5. Ada [b 1880] who was a cloth burler [1901, 1911]
  6. Joe [b 1882] who was a dyer's labourer [1901]
  7. Leonard
  8. Benjamin
  9. Harvey [1890] who died in his first year
  10. Hilda [b 1895] who was a tillet stitcher (dye works) [1911]

The children were born in Southowram.

The family lived at

  • Brookfoot Lane, Brighouse [1881, 1891]
  • 9 Wilton Street, Brighouse [1901, 1911]

John died 1st October 1912 (aged 62).

Fanny died 14th October 1918 (aged 67).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-E35]

Rathmell, LeonardRef R1579
[1885-1938] Son of John Rathmell.

He was a dyer's labourer [1901] / a master butcher in Brighouse between the wars.

His shop was at 4 Commercial Street next to the George Hotel.

In 1906, he married Annie Binns.


Annie was the daughter of Thomas Binns
 

Children:

  1. Elsie [1906-1985]
  2. Jack Binns [1913-1989]
  3. Donald [1919-1970]

After Leonard's death, his son Jack took over the running of the shop, until 1952, when he moved south for health reasons.

The shop in Brighouse was sold to Leonard's nephew Arnold, the son of Benjamin (Leonard's younger brother) who had a butcher's business in Elland

Rathmell, ListerRef R825
[1908-1986]

In [Q4] 1935, he married Florence Pickersgill [1906-1978] in Halifax.

Lister died 7th September 1986 (aged 78).

Florence died 2nd July 1978 (aged 72).

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NL-A36]

Ratlidge, HenryRef R43
[1855-1929] Son of Mr Ratlidge.

Born in Castleford.

He was a mill hand [1871] / a road layer/labourer [1884] / a mason's labourer [1891] / a dry waller mason [1901].

On 19th April 1884, he married Mary Ellen Marsland [1863-1909] in Halifax.


Mary Ellen was born in Wheatley
 

Children:

  1. George Marsland [1885-1963] who was a woollen feeder [1901]
  2. Ethel Ann [b 1886] who was a cotton cop twirler [1901]
  3. Joshua Henry
  4. James Arthur [b 1891] who served with the 6th Dragoon Guards [World War I]
  5. John [1895-1958] who was an overlooker (worsted spinning) [1911], & served with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). [World War I]
  6. Thomas Eli [b 1896] who was an overlooker (worsted spinning) [1911], & served with the Royal Field Artillery [World War I]
  7. Zia
  8. Frank [b 1901]
  9. Olive Elaine [1903-1973] who never married

The children were born in Warley.

The 1911 census shows that they had had 12 children of whom 9 were still alive at that time.

Son Joshua Henry and Zia were killed in World War I.

The family lived at

  • Highroad Well, Halifax [1891]
  • 15 Claremont Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 35 Woodhouse Road, Keighley [1911]

Ratlidge, Joshua HenryRef R40
[1888-1917] Son of Henry Ratlidge.

Born in Keighley [27th June 1888].

He was a cotton cop twirler [1901] / a reservist / serving in India (having signed up for the military) [1908] / a member of Burnley police force [1912].

On 18th January 1913, he married Annie Silverwood [1887-1961] in Keighley.


Annie was born in Keighley
 

Children:

  1. Mary [1914-1924]

They lived in Burnley [1918].

During World War I, served as a Sergeant Royal Horse Artillery (Berkshire Regiment) and the Royal Field Artillery.

He was killed in action [14th November 1917].

He was buried at Oxford Road Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V D 15].

His brother Zia also died in the War

Ratlidge, MrRef R172
[18??-1???]

He married Ann [1828-1???].


Ann was born in Stone, Staffordshire
 

Children:

  1. Ellen [b 1851] who was a weaver [1871]
  2. Eli [b 1853] who was a plumber [1871]
  3. Henry
  4. Alice [b 1857] who was a mill hand [1871]
  5. George [b 1860] who was a mill hand [1871]
  6. James Ephraim [b 1863] who was a part-timer / mill hand [1871]
  7. Elizabeth Ann [b 1866]
  8. Ann [b 1870]

The family lived at

  • Spring Gardens, Warley [1871]

Ratlidge, ZiaRef R39
[1898-1918] Son of Henry Ratlidge.

Born 23rd September 1898.

He was a part-timer / setter (worsted spinning) [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted in Keighley [2nd March 1916], and was called up [16th February 1917].

He was sent to France [12th December 1917], and served as a Private with the 22nd Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was engaged in fighting at the Battle of St Quentin, Croix Moligneaux, Somme.

He died of wounds [26th March 1918].

He was buried at Ham British Cemetery, Muille-Villette, France [Grave Ref I A 14].

His brother Joshua Henry also died in the War

Rattan Clough, CornholmeRef R678
/ Portsmouth.

On 9th July 1870, 3 people lost their lives in floods here.

See Brooks & Pickup Brickworks and Ratten Clough Pit

Rattenstall Bank, Hebden BridgeRef R590
Mytholm

Rattray, Rev JamesRef R850
[17??-1???] A Scottish Calvanist.

He was Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1791-1793].

The people disliked his teaching and he was abandoned by his congregation who

starved him out in 2 years

He moved to Sheffield where he published 2 sermons from Psalm 89,15 entitled The Joyful Sound

Raven, CharlieRef R854
[1892-1918] Son of John William Raven.

Born in Barnsley.

He was a pattern box labourer at stuff dyers [1911] / employed at Brookfoot Dye Works.

In 1917, he married Ida Summerscales at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.


Ida, of Greetland, was the daughter of Sam Summerscales, teamer
 


Charlie was a Sergeant with the West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own) in Longroyd Hospital, Rastrick [1917]
 

They lived at 11 Coronation Street, Greetland [1918].

During World War I, he volunteered in Brighouse [August 1914], and served as a Sergeant with the 1st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was wounded twice.

He died of pneumonia at hospital in Étaples [19th June 1918] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [29th June 1918].

He was buried at Étaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref LXVI F 2].

His brother George Frederick also died in the War and 2 other brothers also served

Raven, George FrederickRef R496
[1895-1917] Son of John William Raven.

He was a silk dresser [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 25th November 1917 (aged 23).

He was buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref XXVII BB 19A].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Brighouse Parish Church.

His brother Charlie also died in the War and 2 other brothers also served

Raven, John HerbertRef R22
[1895-1962] Son of James John Rowden.

Baptised at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones [2nd June 1895].

He was a schoolmaster [1954].

On 23rd December 1922, he married Erica Priestley [1895-1982] at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones.

They both died in Fakenham, Norfolk

Raven, John WilliamRef R21
[1858-19??] Born in Middleton / Kings Lynn, Norfolk.

He was a police constable [1891, 1901] / a police pensioner [1911].

In [Q1] 1884, he married Emma Elvin [1860-1937].

in Caistor, Lincolnshire.


Emma was born in Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. Harry [b 1885] who was a cloth finisher [1901]
  3. John William [b 1886] who was a Lance Corporal with the Tank Corps and was awarded the Military Medal [World War I]
  4. James Alfred [b 1888] who was a labourer (brick works) [1911]
  5. Bruce Harold [b 1890] who was a Sapper with the Royal Engineers [World War I]
  6. Charlie
  7. George Frederick
  8. Dorothy May [b 1896] who was a silk spinner [1911]

The family lived at

  • 14 Greenfoot Lane, Barnsley [1891]
  • Ryecroft Street, Ossett, Dewsbury [1901]
  • 7 Hardy Street, Brighouse [1911]
  • 23 Smithy Carr Lane, Brighouse [1918]

Sons Charlie & George Frederick died in World War I

Raven, Kenneth NoelRef R27
[1902-1977] Son of James John Rowden.

Baptised at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones [29th January 1902].

He was a wages clerk [1954].

On 9th August 1923, he married May Sunderland [1899-1993] at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones.

They both died in Halifax

Raven Lodge, EllandRef R209
Hullen Edge.

Just off Broad Carr Lane, on the southern edge of the estate.

It looks to have been built in the mid 19th century, but using window surrounds, finials etc from the 16th/17th century

Raven Lodge, Sowerby BridgeRef R696
Just off Beech Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Raven Stones, WiddopRef R366
Ogden suggests that the name comes from German roots and means gallows and implies links to the god Odin and to human sacrifice

Raven Street Progressive Spiritualists' SocietyRef R1407
Recorded in 1905.

See Lyceum Assembly Rooms, Halifax and Spiritualism

RavenkilRef R792
[10??-11??] Or Ravanchil.

Son of Raghanald.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Roger son of Ravenkil

Ravenscliffe High School Baths, HalifaxRef R1019
Skircoat

Ravenscliffe Lodge, HalifaxRef R1658
The lodge to Bermerside House is now a private house

Ravenscliffe, Skircoat GreenRef R20
When the Rawson sisters – Louisa and Emma – went to live at Skircoat House, they changed the name to Ravenscliffe. The raven featured in the Rawson family crest.

Edward Crossley lived here. He demolished the house in 1872 and built Bermerside House

Ravenswood, HalifaxRef R266
Birdcage Lane / Broomfield Avenue.

Owners and tenants have included

Raw End Farm, LuddendenfootRef R351
Sowerby Lane. Merchant's house dated I 1627 H, possibly for Isaac Hopkinson or AH.

There is a 17th century aisled barn with pad stones and roof trusses.

Contributor Beryl Holden tells me that

I have looked into its history, but I could never get much beyond the period when the then owner fled to America in the 1700s


Question: Does anyone know the identity of AH who built the house?

Does anyone know the identity of the owner who fled to America?

 

Contributor Maggie Berry cites a legal document dated 1790 which records

Robert Ralston of Philadelphia in the state of Pennsylvania in North America merchant sole assignee of the estate of William Pollard of the said city a bankrupt, and also the said William Pollard by John Rawson of Stony Royd parish of Halifax merchant to William Rawson of Halifax merchant – one messuage or farm called Rawend in Blackwood in graveship of Sowerby with several closes of land belonging ...

Raw Farm, Hebden BridgeRef R785
Wadsworth. Farm on Raw Lane.

Little Raw Farm lies just west

Raw Holme Farm, Hebden BridgeRef R1604
Midgehole Road. 4 early 19th century cottages are now 2 dwellings: Raw Holme Farm and Holme Cottage, Hebden Bridge

Raw Pickle, Sowerby BridgeRef R108
/ Warley. Burnley Road

Owners and tenants have included

Raw Royd, Hebden BridgeRef R1721
Area of Hebden Bridge. William Cockcroft owned property here.

When Cockcroft died in 1643, he left the property to his son William.

Richard Sutcliffe is recorded here

Raw Royds, WadsworthRef R1609
Recorded on 5th November 1826 in the will of William Appleyard

Raw, ThomasRef R1138
[1854-1929] Born in Danby, Yorkshire.

He was Police constable [1881] / Police Inspector [1891] / Superintendent of Police in Halifax [1901] / a police pensioner [1911]

In [Q1] 1873, he married (1) Emma Ann Bowes [1856-1893] in Guisborough, Yorkshire.


Emma Ann was born in Great Ayrton, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Edwin [b 1873] who was a creeler carpet mill [1891]
  2. John [b 1875] who was a telegraph messenger [1891]
  3. Annie [b 1877] who was a creeler cotton mill [1891]
  4. Violet [b 1884] who was a link & stud maker (jeweller) [1901]
  5. Marion [b 1886] who was a cork sizer (cork works) [1901]
  6. Sarah [b 1889]
  7. Hannah [b 1892]

Emma Ann died [Q1] 1893.

In [Q3] 1893, he married (2) Mary Rushworth Robinson [1857-1922] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax. She had a son John S Robinson [b 1890] by her first marriage
 

They had no other children.

The family lived at

  • 14 Thackray Street, Halifax [1881]
  • 31 Holly Grove, Parkinson Lane, Halifax [1891, 1901, 1905]
  • West Air, Saville Road, Blackpool [1911]

Mary (possibly) died in Fylde [Q2 1922].

Thomas (possibly) died in Halifax [Q3 1929]

Rawbank House, StainlandRef R629

Rawbon, AlbertRef R1503
[18??-19??] (Possibly) 

  • Albert Edward Rawbon
  • [1871-1938]
  • Born in Swansea

High class tailor and juvenile clothier at 47 Crown Street, Halifax [1900]

Rawcliffe, GeorgeRef R863
[1803-1???] Born in Outlane.

He was a hand loom weaver (woollen) [1851].

Around 1828, he married Charlotte [1804-1???].


Charlotte was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Martha [b 1828] who was a power loom weaver (woollen) [1851]
  2. Frances E. [b 1831] who was a power loom weaver (woollen) [1851]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1840] who was a power loom weaver (woollen) [1851]
  4. Hannah [b 1841]
  5. Thomas
  6. Emma [b 1845]

The family lived at Stainland [1851]

Rawcliffe, JohnRef R1680
[1???-1???] Landlord of the Elephant & Castle, Halifax [1829, 1834].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Harriet who married William Haigh

Rawcliffe, ThomasRef R34
[1843-1915] Son of George Rawcliffe.

Born in Stainland.

He was a shop keeper [1871] / a presser [1881] / a cloth presser [1901, 1911].

In [Q4] 1868, he married Mary Ann Taylor [1833-1904] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was the daughter of Benjamin Taylor.

She was a grocer [1881]

 

Children:

  1. Anne Elizabeth [b 1871]
  2. William Henry [b 1872] who was a railway clerk [1901]

The family lived at New Street, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1871, 1881, 1901, 1911].

Mary Ann died 7th March 1904 (aged 71).

Thomas died 14th March 1915 (aged 72).

The couple were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland with Mary Ann's parents

Rawden Mill Lock, Hebden BridgeRef R558
Lock #12 on the Rochdale Canal

The Rawdon familyRef R977
Originally from Bilborough, York, they became an important family as land-owners with interests in banking and textile manufacture. They were Unitarians and associated with Northgate End Chapel.

See Blue-backs, Callis Mill, Charlestown, Christopher Rawdon and Underbank Hall, Charlestown

Rawdon, ChristopherRef R560
[1728-1799] Shalloon-maker and merchant of Halifax. Only son of Christopher Rawdon and Sarah Harrison of the Rawdon family of Bilborough, near York.

On 16th August 1751, he married Abigail Hodgson at Thornton, Bradford.

Children:

  1. Christopher
  2. John

He was made a Freeman of York in 1752.

He was a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1757, 1782].

He was buried at Bilborough

Rawdon, ChristopherRef R15
[1753-1822] Aka Kit.

Son of Christopher Rawdon.

He was in partnership at Oldroyd Mill, Langfield and at Lob Mill with James Hollinrake and William Ingham.

In 1792, he sold land to his brother, John, who built Lacy House, Charlestown.

The family had mills at Underbank, Todmorden and Callis Mill, Charlestown Like several other local companies, they issued their own banknotes called blue-backs.

On 1st July 1779, he married Sophia James [1756-1???].


Sophia came from Bristol
 

Children:

  1. Christopher
  2. James
  3. Joshua [b 1785]
  4. Amelia [b 1788] who died unmarried
  5. Sophia [b 17??]

He fought a duel with William Winn in which a part of Winn's ear was shot off, and Rawdon

got out of the way for some time till the affair was settled by friends

He built Underbank Hall, Hebden Bridge.

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1792].

See Lob Mill, Todmorden and Stoneswood Lower Mill, Walsden

Rawdon, ChristopherRef R242
[1780-1858] Son of Christopher Rawdon.

He was educated at Switzerland [1787-1790] in Lisbon, and in Nottinghamshire.

He was a representative for his father's business in Portugal [1807-1823].

On 23rd October 1821, he married his second cousin, Charlotte, daughter of Rawdon Briggs.

Children:

  1. a daughter who married [1809] wine merchant William Voase of Hull

He lived at Underbank Hall, Charlestown.

In 1823, the family moved to Liverpool.

He had interests in several local mills, including

He and his brother, James, gave large sums of money to create a fund to support poor Unitarian ministers. In 1856, this became the Ministers' Stipend Augmentation Fund.

See Partners in Halifax Commercial Banking Company

Rawdon's: Christopher Rawdon, James & CompanyRef R1451
Merchants, baize makers and worsted manufacturers at Underbank [1809]

Rawdon, Major General Edward Alfred GreenRef R1635
[1819-1890] Known as Edward Alfred Green, Edward Alfred Emmott-Green, and Edward Alfred Emmott-Green-Rawdon Or Rawden.

Son of Susannah (née Emmott) & George Green, a gentleman of Harley street, London.

Born in London [27th August 1819].

Baptised at Saint-Giles-in-the-Field, London.

He owned much land and property in the Luddendenfoot area.

He served on the Bombay staff of the Indian Army, and was a retired general (full pay) [1881].

In 1870, he assumed the name Green-Emmott-Rawdon.

In 1848, he married Charlotte Augusta Nayland [1818-1899], born in Dublin.

Children:

  1. Edward who died in Australia [1895]
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
At least one of his children was born in India.

They lived at

  • The Grange, Rawdon, Leeds, West Riding [1881]
  • 19 Prince's Square, Hyde Park, London

After having

been in a pitiable state of health for some time

he died at Prince's Square, London [19th January 1890].

He was buried at Rawdon [24th January 1890].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £10,649 14/-.

Charlotte Augusta died on 16th April 1899.

She was buried at Rawdon [22nd April 1899].

The General Rawdon, Luddendenfoot was (possibly) named for him.

See Richard Wainhouse

Rawdon-Hastings, FrancisRef R1369
[1754-1826] 1st Marquis of Hastings. Politician and soldier who served in India.

Several pubs were renamed in his honour, including (possibly)  General Rawdon, Luddendenfoot

Rawdon, JamesRef R243
[1782-1855] Son of Christopher Rawdon.

He had interests in several local mills, including Cowbridge Mill, Todmorden.

In 1813, he was a member of a Committee supporting those affected by the Luddites.

He married Unknown.

He went to live in Liverpool when the family's Callis Mill burnt down in the 1830s.

He and his brother, Christopher, gave large sums of money to create a fund to support poor Unitarian ministers. In 1856, this became the Ministers' Stipend Augmentation Fund.

Rawdon, JohnRef R140
[17??-1???] Son of Christopher Rawdon.

He was a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1782].

In 1792, he bought land from his brother, Christopher, on which he built Lacy House, Charlestown

Rawdon, MrRef R1708
[1???-1???]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Faith who married John Rhodes
  2. Mary who married John Briggs

Rawdon, Rhodes & BriggsRef R1063
Halifax bankers

Rawlence, EdwardRef R1323
[15??-1???] Vicar of Coley [1587]

Rawling, John WillieRef R504
[1898-1917] Son of Sophia & John Rawling of Ivy Houses, Bank Top, Barkisland.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 27th November 1917 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 8]

Rawlings, Charles Francis HaroldRef R1537
[1865-1931] Son of George Rawlings.

He was a theatrical manager in Halifax [1891] / working in the wool trade (possibly) for his brother William in Bradford [1901]

Rawlings, FrancisRef R1179
[1822-1887] Aka Frank.

Son of George Rawlings.

Born in Halifax.

He was a boot and shoe manufacturer / lessee of the Theatre Royal, Halifax [1874] / a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1861].

In 1846, he married (1) Mary Ann Swaine [1823-1854].

In 1862, he married (2) Margaret Elizabeth Milligan.


Margaret was the daughter of William Milligan
 

Children:

  1. Charles Francis Harold

In August 1880, he was involved in a court case in which George Paxton tried to recover damages for false imprisonment. The incident occurred when Paxton's troupe Peril played at the Theatre Royal. There was a misunderstanding over a dishonoured cheque which Paxton gave to Rawlings, and Rawlings had Paxton arrested and taken to the police station and held for 2 hours. The jury found for Paxton and he was awarded £50 damages.

He died in Halifax

Rawlings, GeorgeRef R1536
[1791-1853] Boot and shoe manufacturer in Halifax. He was at 9 Westgate [1837].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William
  2. Charles Francis

George died 15th November 1853 (aged 63).

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4165] with Lucy Rawlings [d 1851] & George H. Rawlings [1830-12/12/1885] (shoemaker) 

Rawlings, WilliamRef R1538
[18??-19??] Eldest son of George Rawlings.

He became a successful cloth merchant in Bradford.

His younger brother, Charles Francis, (possibly) worked for William

Rawlins, WilliamRef R87
[1880-1940] Born in Hollington, Staffordshire.

He was a railway porter [1911].

He married Mary [1888-1924].


Mary was born in Bury, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Ernest [1907-28th May 1993] who was buried with his parents
  2. Annie [b 1909]
  3. Edna [b 1911]

The family lived at 6 Whitegate Bottom, Halifax [1911].

William died 23rd February 1940 (aged 60) 

Mary died 1st March 1924 (aged 36) 

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: NL-B39]

Rawlinson's: A. Rawlinson & SonRef R1039
Silk spinners established in 1891 at Brooksmouth Mills, Brighouse. They employed around 45 workers and operated 1400 spindles [1895]

Rawlinson, JamesRef R847
[1848-1885] Born in Huddersfield.

He was a stone quarryman [1881]

In [Q3] 1870, he married Louisa Oates [1852-1941] in Halifax.


Louisa was born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. Walter Abraham
  2. Clara [b 1876] who was a cotton piecer [1891]
  3. John A. [b 1877] who was a dye works labourer [1891]
  4. Eli [b 1879]
  5. Willie [b 1881]
  6. Thomas [b 1884]

The family lived at Hill Top, Southowram [1881].

James died Q3 1885 (aged 38).

Louisa married (2) Sydney Burnham

Rawlinson, Rev JohnRef R657
[1???-18??] He trained at Lancashire College before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [January 1846].

On 28th June 1847, he married Mary Jane Stanley.


Mary Jane was the eldest daughter of Rev T. Rogers of Liverpool
 

Because of the cold Stainland winters, he left in July 1850 and moved to Cheltenham

Rawlinson, ThomasRef R866
[1???-1???] He was a town missionary at King Cross, Halifax [1870].

He wrote a number of tracts, including a temperance/religious pamphlet entitled

Justice and Mercy, or Alice the young orphan wanderer reclaimed

Rawlinson, ThomasRef R127
[17??-1802] Halifax plumber and glazier with premises at the junction of Northgate and Gaol Lane.

In 1784, he built Lilly Lane Baths on land he leased from the Waterhouse Charities

He married Unknown [1752-1812].

Children:

  1. daughter [1778-1812]

He died 2nd July 1802.

His daughter died 23rd March 1812. His wife died 24th March 1812

Rawlinson, Walter AbrahamRef R841
[1873-1931] Son of James Rawlinson.

Born in Halifax.

He was a dye works labourer [1891] / a dyer's labourer [1901] / a warehouseman (grocery) with the Co-operative Society [1911].

In [Q2] 1899, he married Annie Parratt [1877-1951] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Mina [1901] who died in infancy

They lived at

  • Church Lane, Southowram [1901]
  • 37 Church Lane, Southowram [1911]
  • Helen Terrace, Brookfoot [1931]

Walter died 22nd February 1931 (aged 57).

Annie died 4th March 1951 (aged 74).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-D52]

Rawnsley...Ref R457
The entries for people & families with the surname Rawnsley are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rawnsley & MarvellRef R1548
Milliners at 10 Old Market, Halifax [1842].

Partners (possibly) included members of the families of William Rawnsley & George Marvell

Rawnsley & RobinsonRef R1286
Quarrymen at Barkisland.

Partners included R. Rawnsley, J. Robinson and P. Rawnsley.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1866

Rawnsley's: William Rawnsley LimitedRef R1636
Textile waste processors at Denholme Mills, Luddendenfoot [1980s]

Rawroyds Mill CompanyRef R1030
Woollen manufacturers established by H. Bastide at Rawroyds Mill, Elland

Rawroyds Viaduct, Holywell GreenRef R1381
Rawroyds Road.

14-arch railway viaduct built in 1875 for the Stainland branch line of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway.

On 4th February 1873, a stone mason was killed working on the construction of the Viaduct.

Rawson...Ref R6
The entries for people & families with the surname Rawson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rawson Almshouses, SowerbyRef R196

Rawson & CrossleyRef R1082
Cotton spinners in Elland established by partners William Rawson and William Crossley. In 1856, it became W. & G. Crossley

Rawson & SaltmarsheRef R1093
Manufacturing partnership established in Bradford in 1704. In the 19th century, they were wool cloth dressers and woollen cloth & blanket merchants at George Street, Halifax.

They also manufactured cloth at Bull Close Lane, Savile Green and Bullace Trees.

They were one of the first British companies to trade with overseas countries, including the Orient.

In 1758, the name was changed to W. H. Rawson & Company

Rawson's BankRef R11
Aka John, William & Christopher Rawson & Company. The Rawson family issued their own banknotes around 1800.

In 1811, the Halifax New Bank was dissolved and became Rawson's Bank – which was run by William, John, and Christopher Rawson – and the Halifax Commercial Bank.

The bank drew on Jones, Lloyd & Company of 48 Lothbury, London, and on Sir R. Carr Glyn & Company of London.

In 1831, the branches of the bank at Halifax and Huddersfield were united to form the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company. Rawson's bank set up their offices at Royds' House with the entrance in Rawson Street, and the salon at Royds' House became their banking hall.

In 1836, the bank merged with the Halifax Joint Stock Bank.

In 1898, a new building – now occupied by Lloyds Bank – was built in Commercial Street, Halifax.

In 1918, the name was changed to the West Yorkshire Bank Limited, and this merged with Lloyds in 1919

Rawson's: F. E. Rawson & CompanyRef R1057
Woollen manufacturers established in the early 19th century by Frederick Edward Rawson at Thorpe Mills, Triangle. After his death, the business was taken over by his sons Frederick Gerard Selwyn Rawson and John Selwyn Rawson. The firm carried out carding, spinning and weaving, and produced blankets, serges and collar checks. In 1895, they employed 130 workers and operated 2500 spindles

Rawson Field, TodmordenRef R1554
Lydgate / Mark Lane / Cowhurst Avenue.

A mid 18th century laithe-house with a small farm and an attached barn.

Owners and tenants have included

The house is divided into 2 dwellings.

The surrounding area is built up with modern housing

Rawson's: J. W. & C. Rawson & Company, HalifaxRef R1071
Private bank established in Halifax around 1811 by William, John, & Christopher Rawson.

In 1836, they merged with the Huddersfield bank to become the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company Limited

See Rawson, Rhodes & Briggs and Rawson's Bank

Rawson's: J. W. & C. Rawson & Company, HuddersfieldRef R210
Bank established in Huddersfield around 1811 by William, John, & Charles Rawson.

In 1836, they merged with the Halifax bank to become the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company Limited

Rawson's Pool, EllandRef R314
In the early 19th century, the Calder was diverted at Park Nook Lock. The old course became a part of the Calder & Hebble canal, now known as Rawson's Pool

Rawson, Rhodes & BriggsRef R1076
On 18th July 1807,
John Rawson, William Rawson, John Rhodes and Rawdon Briggs have this day opened a New Banking House in George Street in this town [Halifax]

Early in 1811, the partnership was dissolved, and two new banks were established.

John Rawson and William Rawson – together with Christopher Rawson – established John, William & Christopher Rawson & Company.

John Rhodes and Rawdon Briggs set up their new business at Cow Green, Rhodes, Briggs & Company. After the death of John Rhodes, the business became Rawdon Briggs & Sons. With John Garlick they established Rhodes, Briggs & Garlick

Rawson-Shaw, KennethRef R706
[1890-19??] Elder son of William Rawson Shaw. He was a Captain in the Royal Field Artillery and Honorary Captain of the Royal Air Force. He lived in Karuna, Sergoit, Kenya.

In 1928, he married Mrs Coates, a widow, from Sergoit, Kenya

Rawson Shaw ScholarshipRef R589
In 1881, on the coming-of-age of his son, William Rawson Shaw, Thomas Shaw gave £1,000 to Halifax School Board for the promotion of the advancement of education in the parish of Halifax.

These scholarships were the Rawson Shaw Higher Board School Scholarship and the Rawson Shaw Senior Scholarship, and enabled a scholar to proceed to one of The Yorkshire College of Science, Bradford Technical School, Halifax School of Art or Heath Grammar School.

He later gave a further £2,000 for the same purpose

See Stanley Gilbert Dyson and Mitchell Joseph Mulholland

Rawson's: W. H. Rawson & CompanyRef R1077
In 1758, the name of Rawson & Saltmarshe was changed to W. H. Rawson & Company.

The company had woollen manufacturing business at premises at Lee Bank Mill, Halifax and at Mill House, Sowerby.

The partners included John Rawson and William Henry Rawson.

The firm was famous for its covers, carriage-rugs and brightly-coloured fabrics which sold well in Europe, South America, Australia and New Zealand.

In the 1830s, they had a factory school.

In 1895, they employed around 300 workers.

In 1900, the partnership involved the Edwards family of Pye Nest and became Edwards & Rawson Limited.

See William Furniss Hanson

Rawson WoodRef R495
Area to the south of Sowerby

Rawsonfield, TodmordenRef R160
Mark Lane. Mid 18th century laithe-house

Rawsthorn, FrankRef R665
[1876-1957] Son of Thomas Rawsthorn.

He was a farm servant of Old Edge, Heptonstall [1900] / a shoemaker [1901].

He married 1900 Alice Higgins [1876-1959].


Alice, a domestic servant of Slack, Heptonstall, was the daughter of Thomas Higgins, farmer
 

They lived at Old Edge, Heptonstall [1900, 1901].

On 19th July 1907, Frank departed Liverpool for Quebec, Canada, aboard the Turbine.

On 2nd July 1908, Frank & Alice departed Liverpool contracted to land at Wellington, New Zealand, aboard the Oswestry Grange

On 1st May 1937, Frank & Alice arrived in Southampton from Wellington, New Zealand, aboard the Arawa, proposed address in UK: Pilling Hall Farm, Heptonstall.

On 11st September 1937, Frank & Alice departed London for Australia. aboard the Orion.

Frank died at Dannevirke [8th May 1957] (aged 82).

Alice died 17th August 1959 (aged 83).

They were both buried Managatera Cemetery, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand [Block ZU Plot 20]

Rawsthorn, JohnRef R622
[1826-1???] Born in Widdop, Heptonstall.

He was a farmer of 126 acres [1881] / a farmer [1891].

He married Sarah Ann [1840-1896].


Sarah Ann was born in Kellbrook, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [b 1865]
  2. Susannah [b 1867]
  3. John [b 1882]

The family lived at

  • Shuttleworth Pasture, Briercliffe cum Entwhistle, Lancashire [1881]
  • Higher Halstead, Worsthorne with Hurstwood, Lancashire [1891]
  • Barcroft Farm, Cliviger, near Burnley [1901, 1911]

Sarah Ann died in 1896 (aged 56) 

Rawsthorn, JohnRef R587
[1831-1907] Born in Heptonstall.

He was a shepherd [1861] / a farmer of 98 acres [1881] / a farmer [1891, 1901].

In January 1871, he married Emma Helliwell [1845-19??].


Emma was born in Widdop
 

Children:

  1. Mitchell [b 1870]
  2. Herbert [b 1873] who was a mason's labourer [1901]
  3. Thomas [b 1876]
  4. Clara [1880-1950] who was a fustian machinist [1901], & married John Edward Spencer
  5. Charles [b 1883] who was a warehouseman [1901]
  6. Angelina [b 1890]

The family lived at

  • The Reaps, Heptonstall [1881, 1891]
  • Lane Head, Heptonstall [1901]
  • Smithwell Lane, Heptonstall [1911]

Living with them [in 1881] was boarder Richard Rawsthorn [b  1857].

John died in 1907 (aged 75) 

Rawsthorn, RichardRef R406
[1800-18??] Born in Spen or Spa, Salterforth, Yorkshire.

He was a farmer of Heptonstall [1835] / a farmer [1841] / a farmer of 5 acres [1851] / a farmer of 53 acres [1861] / a farmer of 53 acres & sheep keeper [1871] / a farmer of 73 acres [1881].

On 26th October 1835, he married Susannah Helliwell.

Children:

  1. John [b 1837]
  2. Richard [b 1838]
  3. Thomas [b 1840] who was an ag.lab [1871]
  4. Ann [b 1842]
  5. Charles [b 1843] who was a shepherd boy [1861], an ag.lab [1871]
  6. Richard

The family lived at

  • Widdop, Heptonstall [1841, 1851]
  • Lady Walk, Widdop, Heptonstall [1861]
  • Widdop, Heptonstall [1871]
  • Hurstwood Hall Farm, Worsthorne with Hurstwood, Lancashire [1881]
  • Worsthorne with Hurstwood, Lancs [Susannah & son Richard 1891]

Living with them [in 1841] were John Rawsthorn [b 1765] & John Helliwell [b 1808]

Rawsthorn, RichardRef R598
[1847-1???] Son of Thomas Rawsthorn.

In 1835, he married Susannah Helliwell.

Rawsthorn, RichardRef R407
[1848-1901] Son of Thomas Rawsthorn, farmer.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a carter of Reaps, Heptonstall [1884] / a farmer [1891].

On 23rd December 1884, he married Susannah Judson.


Susannah was the daughter of
Thomas Judson.

She had a son: Thomas Judson [b 1882]

 

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1886]

The family lived at

  • Lower Fold, Heptonstall with Susannah's brother John [1891, 1901, 1911]
  • Land Farm, Heptonstall [1918]

Richard died in Burnley [Q4 1901] (aged 62) 

Rawsthorn, RichardRef R601
[1863-1???] Son of Richard Rawsthorn.

Born in Halifax.

He was a farmer [1901].

In 1894, he married Hannah Lord [1868-19??].


Hannah was born in Hebden Bridge
 

Children:

  1. Sarah J [b 1897]
  2. Thomas [b 1900]
  3. Richard [b 1901]
  4. Alice [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • Hurstwood, Worsthorne with Hurstwood, Lancs [1901]

Rawsthorn, RichardRef R624
[1880-1935] Son of Thomas Rawsthorn.

He was a farmer [1911].

In 1902, he married Emily Butterworth [1877-1902].

Emily died in 1902 (aged 25).

He lived at Old Edge, Colden, Heptonstall [1911].

Living Richard [in 1911] were his siblings Betty & Samuel and niece Gladys Esther Rawsthorn.

Richard died in 1935 (aged 55) 

Rawsthorn, ThomasRef R586
[1802-18??] Born at Bell Busk / Craven, Yorkshire [30th March 1802]

He was a farmer [1841] / a farmer of 91 acres [1851] / a farmer/sheep keeper [1861] / a farmer of 93 acres [1871].

On 13th July 1828, he married Betty Parker [1806-18??].


Betty, of Thornton-in-Craven, was born in Todmorden [23rd December 1806]
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Elizabeth [1836-20th November 1894] who married [Halifax April 1866] James Shackleton, & died in Rochdale
  3. Ann [b 1842]
  4. Grace [b 1840] who married John Farrar Thomas
  5. Thomas
  6. Richard

The family lived at

  • The Reaps, Heptonstall [1841, 1851, 1861, 1871]

Living with them [in 1871] were Mitchell Helliwell [b 1870] & granddaughter Ann Rawsthorn [b 1868].

Thomas died in 1880 (aged 78) 

Rawsthorn, ThomasRef R597
[1844-19??] Son of Thomas Rawsthorn.

He was a cordwainer of Heptonstall [1866] / a farmer of 9 acres [1871, 1881] / a farmer & shoemaker [1901].

On 22nd September 1866, he married Esther Speak [1846-1884].


Esther, of Heptonstall, was the daughter of William Speak, farmer
 

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1868]
  2. Betty [b 1869] who was living with brother Richard [1911]
  3. John [b 1870]
  4. Alice [b 1873]
  5. Frank
  6. William [b 1878]
  7. Richard
  8. Thomas
  9. Samuel [b 1884] who was living with brother Richard [1911]

Esther died (possibly in childbirth) in 1884 (aged 38)  The family lived at

Living with them [in 1901] was granddaughter Gladys Esther Rawsthorn [b 1899]

Rawsthorn, ThomasRef R815
[1881-1956] (Possibly) son of Thomas Rawsthorn.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a cotton weaver [1911].

In 1906, he married Laura Annie Sutcliffe [1884-19??].


Laura Annie was born in Blackshawhead
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Leslie [b 1908]
  2. Alice [b 1909]

They lived at Old Edge, Colden, Heptonstall [1911].

Thomas died in 1956 (aged 75) 

Rawsthorn, WilliamRef R801
[1???-1937] He was a farmer.

He married Mary.

Children:

  1. daughter J
  2. Clement
  3. son J

The family lived at Lower Pilling Farm, Heptonstall.

William died in the Royal Halifax Infirmary [17th May 1937].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,110 19/9d.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary

RawtenstallRef R465

See Sowerbyshire

Rawtenstall Bank, Hebden BridgeRef R245
Aka Mytholm Steeps

RawtonstallRef R42
Area of Stansfield. The name is derived from raw and tunstall and means a rough land farmstead

Rawtonstall WoodRef R244
Hebden Bridge.

See Mytholm Mill, Hebden Bridge

Ray, George TysonRef R202
[1860-1912] Landlord of the Stag's Head, Queensbury [1895-1905]

Raymer, Rev Herbert JamesRef R1235
[18??-19??] MA.

Vicar of St George's Church, Ovenden [1919]

Raynard, MaryRef R1691
[1838-1892] Or Raynerd, Raymond.

Daughter of George Raynard of Masham.

Born in Colsterdale [?].

She worked as a servant at Ellistones House, Greetland, the home of Martha Outram and family [from around 1863].

Around 1888, she loaned Edmund Outram her savings, with a view to helping him in his business, (possibly) a consequence of the fire at Ellistones Mill on 25th November 1888. As security, she was given furniture, plate and other effects from the house.

In January 1892, these items were removed when Outram's possessions were seized.

Mary was so upset that she took a quantity of phosphorus.

Repenting of her folly, she took a quantity of mustard and water to undo the mischief

She died on 28th January 1892. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £66 18/3d.

Administration was granted to Mrs Catherine Jackson (widow).

She was buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland together with the family of Benjamin Outram

Rayner...Ref R716
The entries for people & families with the surname Rayner are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rayner's: Allen Rayner & CompanyRef R1188
Woollen manufacturers at River Mill, Rastrick.

Established by Allen Rayner.

In 1860, their power loom workers went on strike for a pay rise

Rayner & AldersonRef R1193
Stuff manufacturers at Godley Bridge Mill, Shibden [1861]

Rayner's: Walter Rayner LimitedRef R1217
House furnishers at Prince's Arcade, Halifax / 18 Woolshops, Halifax [1936]

The Raynor familyRef R933
In the 16th century, with William Raynor, they were Lords of the Manor of Clifton

Raynor, Charles WilliamRef R159
[1870-19??] Born in Barnsley,

He was a stone mason [1891] / a monumental mason [1901] / a stone mason [1911]

In [Q1] 1891, he married Lucy Agnes Mooney [1868-19??] in Haslingden.


Lucy was born in Oswaldtwistle, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Joseph
  2. Ellen [b 1896] who was a spinner [1911]
  3. Sarah Elizabeth [b 1898] who was at school + ½-time at bakery [1911]
  4. Norman W [b 1899]
  5. Herbert [b 1901]
  6. Bernard [b 1903]
  7. Benjamin [b 1906]
  8. Frederick [b 1908]

The family lived at

  • 9 Mount Pleasant Street, Oswaldtwistle [1891]
  • 45 Emscote Grove, Halifax [1901]
  • 46a Ripon Street, Halifax [1911]

Raynor, JoeRef R161
[1892-1915] Son of Charles William Raynor.

Born in Oswaldtwistle.

In 1911, he was staying with the family of his uncle, John Mooney, in Rawtenstall and listed as

man servant

He joined the Halifax Territorials, and then the East Lancashire Regiment.

He was serving in Malta when World War I broke out.

During the War, he served with the 2nd Battalion Cameronians (Scottish Rifles).

As a Lance-Corporal, he was recommended for the Distinguished Conduct Medal [April 1915], for an incident in which he took charge of his platoon when one of the officers was killed, and went on to complete the original mission. He was promoted to Sergeant.

He was guarding a parapet when he was killed in France on [22nd June 1915] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [3rd July 1915].

He was buried at Rue-Du-Bois Military Cemetery, Fleurbaix [Grave Ref III D 18]

Raynor, JohnRef R829
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Clifton [1835]

Raynor Land, SoylandRef R1747
Property near Making Place, Soyland. It was Sam Hill's property.

Owners and tenants have included

Raynor, ThurstanRef R327
[1593-1667] Of Suffolk.

Baptised in Elmsett, Suffolk [21st September 1593].

In 1620, he married Elizabeth.

Children:

  1. Thurston
  2. Joseph [b 1623] who (possibly) married Mary Young
  3. Elizabeth [b 1625]
  4. Sarah [b 1627]
  5. Deborah [b 1630]
  6. Lydia [b 1633]
  7. Edward [b 1635]
  8. Hannah [b 1636] who (possibly) married Arthur Howell

In 1635, he emigrated to America – see The Mitchells in America.

He died in Suffolk, New York

Raynor, WilliamRef R616
[15??-15??] In the 16th century, he was Lord of the Manor of Clifton

RDM Closures LimitedRef R1091
Horton Street, Halifax. Manufacturers of crown corks for bottles. In 1966, they moved to Burnley

Read, C.Ref R227
[18??-191?] He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Read, Sir Herbert EdwardRef R23
[1893-1968] An art critic, art historian, writer and poet.

He was educated at the Crossley Orphanage.

He published

  • The meaning of Art [1931]
  • Art and industry [1934]
  • Art and society [1936]

Read, Rev JamesRef R857
[1819-1893] Born in Wiltshire. He trained at Western College, Plymouth and served at Axminster Chapel [1581] and Atherston [1854] before becoming Minister at Eastwood Congregational Church [1866].

In 1859, he married Eliza Dorothea Nelson [18??-1896] in Warwick.

He retired in 1884.

He died at Lightcliffe

Readdie, Dr Andrew FinlayRef R816
[1889-1951] LRCP, LRCS, LRFPS, LDS, MC.

Born 4th September 1889.

He was a medical practitioner [1889] / a doctor & qualified at Glasgow [1919] / awarded Croce di Guerra Italia (The Italian War Medal Cross instituted in 1918) / assistant radiologist at Ashton-under-Lyne Infirmary / temporary Captain in the RAMC [1940].

In [Q2] 1919, he married Gracie T. P. Fowler [1897-19??] in Sculcoates Reg District.


Gracie was born 25th October 1897
 

Children:

  1. Samuel D. F. [Darlington 16th February 1920-1945] who was a medical student [1939], married [Bucklow Q3 1944] Hilda Garside, & died at Scunthorpe [Q3/1945]

The family lived at

  • 4 Bridge Street, Musselburgh, Scotland [1920]
  • 137 King Street, Dukinfield [1925, 1930]
  • Danecourt, Lee Mount Road, Halifax [1935, ... 1951]

Andrew died 10th January 1951

Reade, Rev Joseph BancroftRef R779
[1801-1870] FRS.

Born in Leeds. He was Curate at Halifax [1829]. In 1832, he moved to Harrow Weald.

He was an amateur scientist and was interested in botany, chemistry, microscopy, optics, and photography. He designed a condenser, known as Reade's kettledrum [1861].

He was friend of John Waterhouse.

He was a member and officer of several scientific institutions, including the British Association for the Advancement of Science, the Royal Society, the Microscopical Society, the British Meteorological Society, and the Photographic Society

Reader, Rev Clement SaundersRef R916
[1852-1920] Born in Bridport, Dorset.

He was Minister at Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd [1905].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William Howard

Reader, William HowardRef R345
[1894-1916] Son of Rev Clement S. Reader.

During World War I, he served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the Seaforth Highlanders.

He died 30th July 1916 (aged 22).

He was buried at Dernancourt Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref J 53].

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Readicut GroupRef R1293
In 1968, T. F. Firth & Company became a part of the Readicut Group.

In 1997, the company became a part of the Interface Group

Reading & Mental Improvement SocietyRef R1114
Established at Heptonstall Slack in 1875

Reading, CharlesRef R355
[1857-1???] Son of Thomas Reading, baker.

Born in Barford, Warwickshire.

He was a corn miller of Honley [1883] / a maltster [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1883, he married Jane South [1861-1???] at All Hallows, Almondbury.


Jane, of Honley, was born in Snitterfield, Stratford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, the daughter of George South, shepherd
 

Children:

  1. Edith E [b 1884] who was a worsted twister [1901]
  2. Charles
  3. Arthur [b 1888] who was an errand boy [1901], a waggoner for maltsters [1911]
  4. Annie Elizabeth [b 1893] who was a cotton spinner [1911]

The family lived at

  • 23 Quebec Street, Elland [1891]
  • 31 Bank Bottom, Elland [1901]
  • 23 Saddleworth Road, Elland [1911]

Reading, CharlesRef R359
[1886-1915] Son of Charles Reading.

He was a woollen piecer [1901] / a fitter for gas engineers [1911] / employed by Robert Dempster & Sons Limited

In 1913, he married Annie Mitchell [1884-1953] at Elland Parish Church.


Annie, of 29 Catherine Street, Elland, was the daughter of Richard Mitchell, labourer
 

Children:

  1. twins Edith
  2. Nellie

The twins were born [Q4 1914], died at Christmas 1913, and are remembered on their parents' grave. The family lived at 124 Pontefract Road, Normanton [1915].

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France with the regiment [April 1915].

He died following a German gas attack in Flanders [20th December 1915].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [1st January 1916].

He was buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref XVII D 4A].

He is remembered on the family grave at Elland Cemetery, on Elland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland, on the Memorial at Rosemount Iron Works, Elland, and on the Memorial at Elland Constitutional Club

Annie died 15th January 1953 (aged 69).

She is buried at Exley Cemetery

Readyhough, JamesRef R486
[1868-1925] Aka Jimmy.

Son of Thomas Readyhough.

Born in Elland.

He was a carter [1881] / landlord of the Golden Fleece, Blackley [1897-1900] / a mason labourer [1901] / an iron worker [1911].

In [Q2] 1891, he married Elizabeth Brearley [1868-19??] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. Martha Ann [b 1893] who was a worsted winder [1911]
  2. Mary [b 1896] who was a woollen winder [1911]
  3. Elsie [b 1898] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  4. Harry [b 1900]
  5. Selina [b 1902]
  6. Ethel [b 1905]

The children were born in Elland.

The family lived at

  • 168 Westgate, Elland [1901]
  • 22 Albion Street, Elland [1911]
  • 6 James Street, Elland [1917]

Living with them [in 1901] was brother Tom Readyhough (brickyard labourer) 

Readyhough, ThomasRef R264
[1842-1884] Born in Elland.

He was innkeeper at the Fleece, Elland [1881] / a farmer [1881].

On 5th November 1866, he married Mary Crossley at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was born in Elland, the daughter of James Crossley.

She already had a son Joe [1861-1933] who appears in the 1881 census as Joe Readyhough (green grocer), and on Mary's probate record as Joe Crossley (fish merchant) 

 

Children:

  1. James / Jimmy
  2. Herbert [1869-1906] who was a tripe dresser [1881]
  3. Tom

Living with them [in 1881] were Mary's parents Martha & James Crossley.

Mary took over at the Fleece, Elland [1881].

Thomas died in 1884.

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £89 5/-.

The will was proved by his widow Mary.

In 1889, Mary married William Etherington William took over at the Fleece, Elland [1891].

He died in 1892.

Mary again took over at the Fleece, Elland [1894-1897];

Mary died at the Golden Fleece, Blackley in 1897, where her son Jimmy Readyhough was (possibly) landlord Probate records show that she left effects valued at £150.

Probate was granted to sons: Joe Crossley (fish merchant)  and Jimmy Readyhough (beerhouse keeper) 

Readyhough, TomRef R276
[1881-1916] Son of Thomas Readyhough.

Born in Elland.

He was a brickyard labourer [living with his brother Jimmy Readyhough 1901] / an iron foundry labourer [lodging with the Hollas family at 21 New Street, Elland 1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 29th September 1916.

His family were informed of his death in July 1917`.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [21st July 1917].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and on Elland War Memorial

Reakes, Rev Launcelot HarryRef R547
[18??-1947] He was Curate at Mount Pellon [1915-1916], Brighouse [1916-1920], Coventry [1920-1926], Marsden [1926-1934], and Illingworth [1935-19??]

ReapesRef R1214
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Reaps Cross, HeptonstallRef R100
House which stood overlooking Colden Clough

Reaps Cross, HeptonstallRef R201
5 ft high plain stone marker / wayside cross – broken in two – standing on a plinth, on Heptonstall Moor above the Gorple Lower Reservoir. The shaft is rectangular in cross-section with chamfered corners, and tapers slightly towards the top. It is dated to the 15th century and marked the packhorse route from Heptonstall to Widdop and on to Colne.

In 1976, a trackway leading to the cross was revealed when a drought lowered the water level on the land here.

In July 2000, the stone was moved further up the moor.

In July 2002, the stone was repaired and restored to its height of 15 ft

Reaps Moss Wind Farm, TodmordenRef R1376
In October 2009, there were proposals to site 3 turbines on a wind farm at Reaps Moss. With blade-tips reaching a height of 370 ft, these would be amongst the tallest in Britain

Reaps WaterRef R652
Stream flowing from the Widdop Reservoirs down into Hebden Water

Reardon, Rev CathyRef R138
[19??-] Vicar of Mytholmroyd [2018]

Reason, Graham E. A.Ref R206
[19??-] He was Mayor of Calderdale [1995-1996]

Reavley, Rev A. E.Ref R1494
[18??-19??] In July 1908, he became Superintendent Minister of the Knowlwood Primitive Methodist Circuit, preaching at Salem Primitive Methodist Chapel, Knowlwood

RechabitesRef R1204

RecipesRef R14
See Dock Pudding, Parkin and Yorkshire Pudding

Reckless, SamuelRef R576
[1921-1941] Of 15 Pule Hill, Boothtown.

He was educated at Akroyd Place School / employed by Gledhill's.

During World War II, he served as an Able Seaman with the Royal Navy aboard the destroyer HMS Kandahar.

He was lost [20th December 1941] (aged 20)  when his ship was damaged by an Italian mine in the Mediterranean off Libya with the loss of 73 crew.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Recreation AreasRef R1124

Rectors of HalifaxRef R26
The rectors were in charge of the parish, prior to the installation of a vicar to carry out the day-to-day duties in the parish. Those at Halifax include:

Some of the early incumbents were absentee rectors, even foreigners, and probably did not even visit the district. After protests, Pope Alexander IV issued a papal bull giving the Monks of Lewes the power to take over the church and the revenues on the resignation or death of William de Champvent.

See Halifax Parish Church and Vicars of Halifax

Red BeckRef R697
A popular name for Shibden Brook – because of the iron oxide content – as it flows from its source near Queensbury, down Shibden Valley, through Shibden to join the Calder & Hebble Navigation and then through a sluice into the Calder at Brookfoot.

This was a part of the boundary of the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse

It forms the boundary between Northowram and Southowram.

See Place Brook and Joe Richardson

Red Carr Clough, Heptonstall MoorRef R387

Red Cross Model Lodging House, RastrickRef R401
Birds Royd. A rooming house used by navvies & the labouring class. There was an outbreak of measles here in January 1903

Red Dyke, MankinholesRef R935
Or Red Dykes. A farm west of Withens Clough Reservoir.

Now derelict

Red Hall, HalifaxRef R77
Old Market. 3-storeyed brick house. Built around 1700, this was probably the first brick building in Halifax.

It was demolished in 1866

Red Laithe Farm, OvendenRef R1514

Red Lion ViaductRef R258
Name given to Wyke Viaduct because of its proximity to the Red Lion pub

Red Rose RentRef R1443

Red ShaleRef R173
Pen-name of Gordon Sampson who wrote articles on Halifax Speedway for the Halifax Courier

Red Tom's Field, HalifaxRef R1236
The 19th century name for the land between North Parade and the Halifax Temperance Hall. This would later be occupied by Broad Street Car Park

Redacre Bridge, MytholmroydRef R565
Burnley Road. Bridge #12 over the Rochdale Canal built around 1800

Redacre House, MytholmroydRef R786
Burnley Road. There was a house on the site in the 13th century, The existing house is late 16th century. It is said to be one of the earliest F-plan houses in Calderdale.

Owners and tenants have included

Redacre Sewage Works, MytholmroydRef R354
Built in 1902

Redacre, WadsworthRef R335
Settlement. The name is variously spelled Redicarr, Redicarre, and Reedicarre and means a reedy swamp.

Adam de Redeker is recorded in the 12th century and Richard de Rediker is recorded in 1306.

In the 16th century, the area was held by the Thomas family

Redacre Wood, MytholmroydRef R788
Part of Stephenson House Wood, Mytholmroyd

Reddaway's: F. Reddaway & Company LimitedRef R1156
India rubber and belting manufacturers at 29 Square Road, Halifax [1905]

Reddie, Edward J.Ref R680
[18??-19??] Of Hipperholme.

Son of James Reddie of the Admiralty.

His daughter Caroline Anna married R. Oswald Blyth from Ayrshire [1919]

Reddishaw ScoutRef R821
The name uses the element scout and means a reedy cliff

Reddyshore ScoutgateRef R226
Packhorse route and track which links Rochdale to the Worth Valley.

At its highest point, it is over 1000 ft above sea-level.

There is a guide stone marked


TO HALIFAX 10 M
TO TODMORDEN 2 M
TO BURNLEY 9 M
TO ROCHDALE 5 M
 

The name means the road along the steep red cliffs

Redfearn & BedfordRef R1746
Wiredrawers at Brighouse [around 1900].

The business evolved into Redfearn Wire Products

Redfearn, ErnestRef R476
[1897-1917] Son of Elizabeth & William Redfearn of 7 Mount Pleasant, Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He died 9th October 1917 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 125-128], on Brighouse War Memorial, on Rastrick War Memorial, and on the Memorial at New Road Sunday School, Rastrick

Redfearn, Goldthorp HarveyRef R527
[1892-1918] Son of Mary Elizabeth & Richard Redfearn of Close Lea, Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Coldstream Guards.

He died 1st April 1918 (aged 26).

He was buried at Bucquoy Road Cemetery, Ficheux, France [Grave Ref IV J 24].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Redfearn, Sir HerbertRef R133
[1915-1988] He was Mayor of Brighouse [1967-1968]

Redfearn, Rev J.Ref R763
[18??-19??] Minister at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel [1917]

Redfearn Wire ProductsRef R1205
Formerly Redfearn & Bedford. Wire manufacturers at Birds Royd Lane, Brighouse [19??].

See Siddall & Hilton Limited

Redfern, Canon Edward NorthRef R546
[1884-1954] BA.

Son of Walter George Redfern [1856-1916] of Nordham, North Cave.


His father was a seed oil cake merchant, and a partner in Redfern & Chatterton [estd 1880] oil cake brokers in High Street, Hull
 

Born in Hessle, Hull.

He was educated at Sidney Sussex College Cambridge / ordained & licensed to Brighouse [1907] / Curate at Brighouse [1907-1913] / a boarder with Rev Oscar Sidney Laurie [1911] / British Chaplain in Puerto Orotava, Tenerife, Canary Islands.

He went to live in Cross-in-Hand, Sussex.

He died 10th June 1954.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,059 17/3d.

Administration was granted to John Guildford Redfern (company director) 

Redford's: Ernest & Harrison RedfordRef R1208
Of Sowerby Bridge. In 1899, they filed a patent for
improvements in or relating to cricket bats

Redhead, EbenezerRef R655
[18??-1???]

He married Priscilla Wood [1838-1878].

Children:

  1. Mary Hannah [1862-1864]
  2. Valinda Emily [1864-1866]
  3. Harry [1867-1875]

They lived at 10 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1864, 1875]

Members of the family were buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery

Redhead, FrederickRef R216
[1887-1955] Born in Crosby, Lancashire.

He was an electrical engineer [1918].

In [Q2] 1918, he married Gladys Dean in Liverpool.


Gladys was the daughter of
Luke Henry Goodyear / Dean
 

The couple died in Bootle: Frederick [23rd July 1955]; Gladys [1969]

Redick, JohnRef R463
[1840-1913] Born in Armley.

He was a joiner & wheelwright [1891].

On 30th July 1866, he married Rhoda Pontefract [1844-1924] at St Wilfred's Church, Calverley.


Rhoda was born in Pudsey
 

Children:

  1. Moses Wilkinson [b 1869] who was a slater & plasterer [1891]
  2. Alice Ann [b 1870] who was a mill hand (cotton) [1891]
  3. Margaret H [b 1873] who was a mill hand (cotton) [1891]
  4. Sarah Ellen [b 1875] who was a mill hand (cotton) [1891]
  5. Emily [b 1879] who was a mill hand (cotton) [1891]
  6. John Alfred
  7. adopted son Ebenezer Berry [b 1890]

The family lived at 10 Old Causeway, Sowerby Bridge [1891]

Redick, John AlfredRef R397
[1883-1916] Son of John Redick.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was associated with the Sowerby Bridge Wesleyan Mission Chapel / a members of the Lily of the Valley Lodge Oddfellows / employed by the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company.

On 3rd September 1904, he married Amy Hickman [1883-1921] at St George's Church, Sowerby


Amy was born in Wordsley, Staffordshire
 

Children:

  1. daughter

The family lived at Old Fold, Scarr Head.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 100th Field Ambulance Royal Army Medical Corps.

He was killed [27th July 1916] when a shell hit the ambulance in which he was taking the wounded to hospital.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Norland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint George's Church, Sowerby, and on the Memorial at Sowerby Bridge Wesleyan Mission Chapel

Rediker, Richard deRef R1391
[12??-13??] In 1306, he was found not guilty of charges of breaking down the king's fences in the Forest of Sowerbyshire, and taking away the king's cattle.

Some time afterwards, his son, John de Redeker, was fined 6/8d for allowing his animals to stray into the park

Redishaw, SoylandRef R756
Owners and tenants have included

  • Robert Royd – whose family occupied the place until 1650

Redman...Ref R171
The entries for people & families with the surname Redman are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Redman'sRef R338
A popular name for Castle Farm, Holywell Green

Redman's: C. Redman & Sons LimitedRef R1089
Engineering company producing drills, planes, shapers, lathes and other woodworking machinery.

Formed around 1877 when Cornelius Redman and his 3 sons started making machines at a small workshop in the centre of Halifax.

In 1897, they built their new Pioneer Works, Halifax.

In the 1920s, they sold out to a number of people, including Charles Churchill.

In 1935, the firm became Churchill Redman, a member of the Churchill Group of companies

Redman's: J. & R. Redman LimitedRef R1061
Aka Redman Brothers.

Manufacturing clothiers and slipper makers established around 1874 by John, Jonathan and Richard Redman.

Other members of the family James William Redman joined the firm.

They had premises in St George's Square, Hebden Bridge, offices at Pitt Street, Hebden Bridge, and mills and warehouses at Salem Mills, Hebden Bridge, Vale Mills, Todmorden, Banksfield Mills, Mytholmroyd, Scarbottom Mill, Mytholmroyd [1905, 1918], and Foster Mill, Hebden Bridge which they bought and rebuilt after the fire of 1888 [1905, 1939].

The company became one of the largest fustian manufacturers. In 1890, they employed around 700 workers.

The Roll of Honour, for those employees who served in World War I, can be seen in Bankfield Museum

See The English Fustian Manufacturing Company, Benny Pickles and Redman Brothers Limited Roll of Honour

Redmires Clough, RishworthRef R611
One of the streams which feeds Green Withens Reservoir

Redmires Reservoir, TodmordenRef R735
Stands 1408 ft above sea-level. Built by Thomas Ramsbotham around 1850 to supply a local mill.

It was built to replace a smaller reservoir which had

washed down a mill

around 1849.

On 16th December 1852, the reservoir began to leak and many families living below the dam moved out of the area until it was found to be safe. The families' concern was coloured by the bursting of the Bilberry Dam reservoir at Holmfirth on 4th February 1852. Redmires held twice the amount of water as the Bilberry Dam reservoir

Redmond, PeterRef R426
[1914-1944] Son of Anne Maria & Peter Redmond of Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Driver with the 18th Division Troops Company Royal Army Service Corps.

He died 12th September 1944 (aged 30), (possibly) on the Rakuyo Maru.

He is remembered on the Singapore Memorial [Grave Ref 100], and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Reed, DavidRef R323
[1760-1807] He was an innkeeper in Halifax [1807].


Question: Does anyone know which inn this may have been?

 

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary [1793-1807]
  2. Ann [1797-1807]

David died 16th July 1807 (aged 47).

His daughters died the same year.

They were buried at Square Congregational Church [Grave Ref: 42].

Reed, Duke LionelRef R181
[1889-1915] Son of Thomas Reed.

Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted doffer [1901] / a slater [1911].

In 1911, he had left home and was a boarder at 54 Prospect Street.

In [Q1] 1915, he married Margaret A. Ryan in Halifax.

They lived at 88 Prospect Street, Range Bank, Halifax [1915].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

In his last letter home on 18th August 1915, he wrote that he had been in the trenches for 12 days without rest, and that he had lost all his belongings whilst they were advancing.

He was reported missing in Gallipoli since 21st August 1915.

It was later reported that he had died on 21st August 1915.

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Gallipoli [Grave Ref 117-119], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Reed, John LambRef R1435
[1916-2010] OBE.

A popular singer, dancer and actor with the D'Oyly Carte Opera Company.

He retired and came to live in Calderdale

Reed, ThomasRef R180
[1854-1???] Born in Bristol.

He was a slater [1881, 1891] / a plasterer [1901].

He married Fanny [1856-19??].


Fanny was born in Carlisle, Cumberland
 

Children:

  1. William Henry [b 1878] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a carpet warehouseman [1901]
  2. Florence Nora [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  3. Duke Lionel
  4. Clara A [b 1893]

The family lived at

  • 8 Holts Yard, Northowram [1881]
  • 84 Grey Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 85 Prospect Street, Halifax [1901]

Reed, Rev W.Ref R1756
[18??-19??] Minister at Salterhebble United Methodist Free Chapel [1896] and Skircoat Green United Methodist Free Chapel [1896]

Reedman, ThomasRef R461
[18??-1???] Landlord of the Navigation, Sowerby Bridge [1871]

Reekes, Charles HenryRef R270
[1897-1915] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 7th October 1915 (aged 18).

He was buried at Merville Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV H 2].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rees, Canon A. C.Ref R619
[19??-19??] He was Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1939], then vicar at Woodhouse, vicar at Dewsbury, and Vicar of Hartshead [1959-1961]

Rees, CaptainRef R59
[16??-16??] Said to be recorded on a 17th century datestone at the property which [1904] became Sowerby Post Office


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the Captain?

 

Rees, DavidRef R1677
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1921-1932]. He won caps for Other Nations, for Wales and for Great Britain while at Halifax

Rees, Francis EdwardRef R278
[1895-1918] Son of Rev Thomas Morgan Rees.

He was educated at St John's College Cambridge.

During World War I, he served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 215th Squadron Royal Air Force.

He died 23rd August 1918 (aged 23).

He was buried at Sarralbe Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref C 17]

Rees, Llewellyn Owen RhysRef R668
[1881-19??] Born in Hamilton, Bermuda.

He was a manager at a dyer & cotton finisher [1911].

He married Rosa [1887-1923].


Rosa was born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Gewndoline Mary [b 1911]

They lived at

Rosa died 4th April 1923 (aged 36).

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B43]

Rees, Rev ThomasRef R594
[17??-1???] Minister at Elland Unitarian Chapel [June 1782-1793]. During his time, the chapel was rebuilt.

He went to serve in Preston, Lancashire

Rees, Rev Thomas MorganRef R1150
[18??-19??] Primitive Methodist Minister.

He was at Central Methodist Church, Brighouse [1918].

In [Q2] 1879, he married Louisa Walker in Huddersfield.

Children:

  1. Francis Edward

The family lived at 13 Milton Place, Halifax [1905]

Reeve, ArthurRef R207
[1892-1971] Son of John Reeve

Born 5th November 1892.

He was a leading light at Crowtrees Methodist Church / President of the Brighouse Crippled Children's Outing Committee / Chairman of the West Riding Joint Airport Committee / a keen supporter of the Brighouse Flying Club, and proposed an airport at Clifton / Mayor of Brighouse [1933-1935].

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1915], and served as a Second Lieutenant with the Brighouse Battery of the Royal Field Artillery.

On 27th February 1918, he married Hetty Armitage at Crowtrees Methodist Chapel, Rastrick


Hetty was the daughter of Fred Armitage of Mona Cottage, Rastrick
 

He survived the War.

He died at Hutton Buscel [1971]

Reeve, JohnRef R767
[1848-1939] Born in Horningtoft, Norfolk [3rd February 1848].

The family moved to Rochdale when he was very young, and members of the family worked in the cotton mills there.

John learned to read and write at the Methodist Sunday school.

He became clerk to the Brighouse School Board & Education Committee / clerk to the Rastrick School Board [1881], and continued working in that role and subsequently for the Brighouse Education Committee until he retired [1913]. He was awarded a pension of £100 pa, and drew it for 26 years until he died [December 1939].

In 1869, he married (1) Ann Hacking [1848-1883] in Rochdale.

Children:

  1. Ada [b 1870] who married Albert Gledhill, of Back Brade Farm, Rastrick
  2. Walter [b 1874] who married Annie Raynor of Elland
  3. Clara [b 1877] who married Albert Blackburn, manager of the Norwood Green Co-Op then Hove Edge Co-Op
  4. Annie [b 1880] who was a milliner at Barnet Brothers, Brighouse, & married [1910] Willie Ramsden [18??-1921]

Ann died in childbirth in 1883, along with her baby son.

In [Q2] 1883, he married (2) Elizabeth (Lizzie) Harford in Halifax.


After less than 6 months, Lizzie died of diptheria
 

In 1885, he married (3) Hannah Bottomley [18??-1936].

Children:

  1. Eleanor who died in infancy
  2. Edith [18??-1960] who taught at Carr Green School
  3. Louisa [b 1889] who was employed at Barnet Brothers, & married [Q4 1919] Joe Ramsden (brother of her brother-in-law Willie see above) 
  4. Arthur

The family lived at Delph Hill, Rastrick [1881]

Reeve, Rev RobertRef R488
[1856-1918] Born in Norfolk.

Primitive Methodist District Committee Secretary at Bradford & Halifax [18??]

Reeves, FrederickRef R175
[1870-19??] Son of Thomas Reeves, farmer.

Born in Sudbury, Suffolk.

He was a painter of Wyke [1893] / a painter & house decorator [1901] / a house painter [1911].

In 1893, he married Fanny Sucksmith Hanson [1873-19??] in North Bierley at St Mary's Church, Wyke.


Fanny, of Wyke, was the illegitimate daughter of Betsy Sucksmith
 

Children:

  1. Tom

The family lived at

  • 10 & 11 Bessy Green. Wyke, North Bierley, Bradford [1901]
  • Hill End, Norwood Green [1911, 1918]

Reeves, Harry CharlesRef R609
[1895-1916] Son of Edith Anne Mary [1869-1957] & Harry Reeves [1867-1928], a jeweller in Wales.

Born in Carmarthen, Wales.

He was a member of Halifax Parish Church Choir / secretary of the Halifax CHA Ramblers / employed by J. R. Sawdon, Commercial Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Royal Marine Light Infantry [August 1914], then served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 21st Battalion attached to the 2nd Battalion Welsh Regiment.

He was killed in action [24th August 1916] (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 7A & 10A], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

Reeves, HenryRef R493
[19??-19??] He was landlord of the Spread Eagle, Rishworth [1945-1948] / Travellers' Rest, Sowerby [1949-1957]

Reeves, TomRef R167
[1895-1918] Son of Fred Reeves.

He was a member of Norwood Green Congregational Church or St George's Church, Norwood Green / a mill hand in cloth warehouse [1911] / employed in Bradford.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 10th April 1918 (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [4th May 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium, on Norwood Green War Memorial, on Coley War Memorial, and on Brighouse War Memorial

Reference Library, HalifaxRef R252

Reflecting Roadstuds LimitedRef R1094
1 Mill Lane, Boothtown, Halifax. Company founded in 1935 by Percy Shaw for the manufacture of catseyes

Refuge Assurance Buildings, HalifaxRef R1630
Cow Green, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Regal Cinema, HalifaxRef R319
The cinema stands on the site of Ward's End Hall and an earlier bus station.

Regan, Charles DennisRef R615
[1905-1942] Son of John Regan.

Born in Lancaster.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. child

During World War II, he served as a Company Sergeant Major / Warrant Officer Class II with the Scots Guards.

He was wounded at Narvik.

He died 10th August 1942 (aged 38).

He was buried at Brompton Cemetery, London [N 191592].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

His widow lived in Aberdeen.

Regan, JohnRef R623
[1874-19??] Born in Burton, Westmorland.

He was a general labourer [1911].

Around 1904, he married Mary [1875-19??].


Mary was born in Lancaster
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1904]
  2. Charles Dennis Regan
  3. Nellie [b 1909]
  4. Winifred [b 1910]

The family moved from Lancaster [about 1907], and lived at 25 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1911]

Regan, WilliamRef R205
[1???-] Born in Halifax.

He was a Councillor for Halifax North Ward [1924] / a Councillor for Halifax Akroydon Ward [1950] / on the Gas Committee [later the Light, Heat & Power Committee], and the first Catholic Mayor of Halifax [1952-1953]. His wife was Mayoress.

The family lived at

  • 12 Woodlands Grove, Boothtown

Regent Cinema, Sowerby BridgeRef R339
The cinema was built on the site of the former Pollit & Wigzell factory.

The cinema opened in 1939.

In 1949, it became the Essoldo Cinema

Regent House, HalifaxRef R967
Cross Hills / North Bridge. Block of shops and residential property.

See Tom B. Craven

Regiments & MilitiaRef R1127

Reginald son of Helias de SothillRef R91
[11??-12??]

(Modern: Reginald Sothill)

Son of Helias son of Essolf.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John
  2. William

Reid, AlecRef R614
[1925-1944] Son of Susannah & John Reid of 84 Pye Nest Gate, Halifax.

He was a boarder at Crossley & Porter School / employed by Broadbent's of Sowerby Bridge.

During World War II, he served as a Flight Sergeant with the 12th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 29th November 1944 (aged 19).

He was buried at Reichswald Forest War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 4 C 10]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Reid, AlexanderRef R626
[19??-1944]

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant / Air Gunner with the 75th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 21st October 1944.

He was buried at Bergen-Op-Zoom War Cemetery, Netherlands [Grave Ref 13 B 7].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax

Reid, David ColinRef R427
[1912-1940] Son of Margaret & James Reid.

He married Anne.

They lived in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 6th Battalion Seaforth Highlanders.

He died 27th May 1940 (aged 28).

He was buried at Bus House Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref B 6]

Reid, DonaldRef R583
[1916-1944] Son of Florence & Charles H. Reid of Halifax.

He was educated at Battinson Road School, Halifax / a member of Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Church, Halifax / employed by F. Pratt & Company Limited.

He lived at 331 Queens Road, Halifax.

During World War II, he enlisted [1942], and served as a Sergeant with the 620th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was killed when a Stirling bomber crashed at Caen while carrying paratroops [6th June 1944] (aged 28).

He was buried at Ranville War Cemetery, France [Via C 1-25].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Reid, DukeRef R670
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Reid, J. S.Ref R653
[1???-19??] Postmaster for Halifax [1931-1934]

Reid, JamesRef R137
[1920-1943] Son of Ada & William Reid of Ings Farm, Rishworth.

Born in Blackburn.

He was a member of Rishworth Congregational Church / educated at Ripponden Stones County School / employed by Ripponden & District Motors.

In [Q2] 1943, he married Doris Mary Mayle [1920-19??]


Doris was born in Blackburn
 

They lived at Northolt, Middlesex.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 210th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died in 1943.

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 162], on Rishworth War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Rishworth Independent Church

Reid, John FrederickRef R631
[1891-1917] From Bradford.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

He married Frances Helena.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 3rd May 1917 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], and on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School

Reid, JoshuaRef R183
[1850-19??] Born in Shelf.

He was a labourer [1892] / a blacksmith's striker [1911].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Frances Mary [b 1875]
  2. Elizabeth Ann [b 1877] who was a sick nurse [1911]
  3. Ruth Hannah [b 1870] who married (1) Fred Shaw and (2) John Ernest Wormald

The family lived at 133 Claremont Terrace, Huddersfield Road, Elland [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were Ruth Hannah and the children

Reid, T. M.Ref R1136
[18??-19??] Printers, bookbinders and stationers at 66 Crown Street, Halifax [1905]

Reilly, JohnRef R195
[1916-1943] Son of Agnes & Patrick Reilly of Queensbury.

He married Emily.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with the Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

He died 7th January 1943 (aged 27).

He was buried at Queensbury Cemetery [A 171]

Reins Wood, BrighouseRef R312
Woodland on the hillside which overlooks the lakes at Cromwellbottom. The railway came through here in 1830

Reith, Archibald WilliamRef R163
[1848-1908] MA.

Son of Joseph and Elizabeth Susan Reith.

Born 20th August 1848.

In 1861, he entered Winchester College. In 1867, he was a Scholar of New College Oxford. In 1869, he obtained Third class Mathematics Moderations; in 1871, BA Second class in Literae Humaniores; in 1874, MA.

In 1872, he went to Russia as tutor the children of Colonel Paschkoff and then to the children of the British Ambassador, Lord Augustus Loftus, in St Petersburg. When he returned to England, he had temporary appointments at Ely Cathedral School and Reading School.

In 1877, he went to Giggleswick School where he was known as Jimmie. He was modern languages master and form-master of the Lower Fourth. He was the founding Editor of The Chronicle, the official Giggleswick School magazine.

In 1887, he left Giggleswick to become Headmaster of Heath Grammar School, Halifax, where he remained until his death in 1908.

In May 1904, he married Lucy Cooke.

He died 20th January 1908.

A plaque in his memory was dedicated in Halifax Parish Church [1910]

Reliance Garage, BrighouseRef R1605
Wakefield Road. Truck body builders. Recorded in the 1960s

Reliance Hosiery (Halifax) LimitedRef R1050
Established in 1931 at Boothtown by brothers Eric, Claude and Lionel Alderson.

They were described as

Manufacturers of plain and rib half-hose, fancy half-hose, elastic welt half-hose and slack sox, ladies' ankle socks, boys' ¾ hose. Supplying wholesale, and exporting to all parts of the world

They later moved to Hare Street Mills, Halifax. They were at 14 Hall Street, Halifax [1936].

The business subsequently had a number of subsidiaries, including Reliance Knitware Group Limited, Drewry and Edwards Limited, Exclusive Textiles Limited, H. R. Howard & Sons Limited, James MacFarlane (Kilmarnock) Limited, Reli-Knit Limited, and Squirrel Leisureware Limited

Reliance Mercury LimitedRef R1049
Engineering company with business at Mile Cross Works, Halifax. They produced towing vehicles, such as those which manoeuvre aircraft at airports.

In the 1940s, Marshalls – who had been using a factory at Heckmondwike to make parts for their Halco drilling equipment – bought the factory and their range of Reliance industrial tractors.

In 1964, Dennis Brothers of Guildford bought the Cheltenham-based Mercury Tug Company and moved production to Guildford.

In 1972, Marshall's (Halifax) Limited bought the Mercury Air Tug & Tractor Company from Dennis Brothers.

The new Reliance Mercury company was established in 1972 in the factory at Mile Cross Works which had previously belonged to Town Woodhouse.

In 1986, Marshalls bought the Preston-based Lyka chassis engineering company and moved production to the Mile Cross works.

In 1992, Reliance Mercury was sold to Trinity Holdings.

On 3rd April 1998, Reliance Mercury closed and the business was transferred to Douglas Vehicles Limited of Cheltenham

Religious Tract Society of TodmordenRef R1372
Established in March 1821 at Cross Stone

Rembrandt SocietyRef R1109
Formed when R. E. Nicholson and H. R. Oddy left the Halifax Art Union in 1875. Founder members included Montagu Blatchford and Richard Edwin Nicholson.

The Society evolved into the Halifax Art Society

Remmer, AlfredRef R839
[1846-1909] Born in Easingwold.

He was an ag.lab [1881].

Around 1872, he married Mary [1853-1925].


Mary was born in Boroughbridge
 

Children:

  1. Rose [b 1872]
  2. George
  3. Mary [1879-1953] who married John William Marshall

The family lived at Trooper Lane, Southowram [1881].

Alfred died 29th January 1909 (aged 63).

Mary Ann died 19th September 1925 (aged 72).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-E28]

Remmer, GeorgeRef R840
[1875-1???] Son of Alfred Remmer.

On 16th July 1898, he married Maria Louise Leach.


Maria Louise was the daughter of Alfred Leach
 

Reneham, WilliamRef R633
[18??-1916] He worked for the Halifax Flour Society.

He lived at with his sister at 26 Holroyd Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [2nd March 1916].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Renette Studios, HalifaxRef R1385
Photographers recorded in 1936 at 7 Rawson Street – over Waddington's Dress Warehouse – when Mrs Smith was proprietor

Renilson, CharlesRef R1676
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1965]. He won caps for Great Britain while at Halifax

Rennick, WilliamRef R521

Renshaw, Rev Herbert C.Ref R912
[18??-19??] Minister at Cross Lanes United Methodist Chapel, Hebden Bridge [1901]. In June 1908, he left to serve at Darwen

Renshaw, JohnRef R8610
[1877-1942] Son of Samuel Renshaw.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

On 7th May 1910, he married Ann Maria (Annie) Bray [1878-1924] at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.


Annie was born in Ulverston, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Alice [1910-1956]

Annie died in Brighouse in 1924.

John died in Mirfield in 1942

Renshaw, SamuelRef R139
[1854-1903] Born in Moscow.

He was a cotton spinner [1901].

In 1874, he married Alice Wolfenden [1856-1943] in Rochdale.

Children:

  1. James [1874-1940]
  2. John
  3. Charles [1880-1950]
  4. Hilda [1881-1958]
  5. Eliza Ann [1884-1912]
  6. Joseph [1891-1946]
  7. Harry [1893-1936]

The family lived at 31 Edward Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901].

Samuel died in Sowerby Bridge in 1903

Renshaws, BrighouseRef R1648
Picture framers, art dealers and gilders. They were at Imperial Buildings, Brighouse [1947]

Renwick, WilliamRef R533

Resby Mere, WadsworthRef R364
Stone which marks the boundary of Wadsworth township

ReservoirsRef R38

Reside's: James Reside LimitedRef R741
Metalworkers at Tower Works, Brighouse [1950s]

Rest for the Weary Lodge Order of Druids 1037Ref R1144
Halifax Friendly Society [Number 2895] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Restaurants & CafésRef R1422

Resting stonesRef R1496
Large stones set into the side of a hill to allow the wheels of the cart to be parked, giving the horse a rest

See Sett

Revive Café, ShelfRef R1493
Carr House Road.

(Possibly) on the site of the former Nag's Head. It is known that there was an inn here on account of the beer casks in the cellar

Rew, ThomasRef R120
[1834-1883]

In [Q4] 1857, he married Ann Fry.


Ann was the daughter of
Robert Fry
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Israel [1869-1913]
  2. Robert Fry [1871] who died aged 6 months

The children were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3528] with their Fry grandparents

Rex Cinema, EllandRef R398
Coronation Street. Originally the Central Picture House, this cinema opened in November 1959. The first film was Count your blessings with Deborah Kerr. Bingo was played on a couple of evenings in 1964 and the cinema closed in June 1964 to become a bingo club. Films were shown intermittently between November 1975 and August 1977, and the business closed once more in 1985.

In 1988, it was taken over by Peter Berry – who had been a manager/projectionist at the Rex – and Charles Morris, who, with their family and friends, refurbished and renovated the building.

It reopened on 7th October 1988, and is now a successful private cinema showing a wide range of films.

The cinema has a Conn 651 organ which is played during the interval, and concerts are held regularly

Reyner of KirkleesRef R1511
[12??-12??] The Wakefield Court Rolls of 1274 record
[At Rastrick,] Reyner, the Chaplain of Kyrkeleyes, complainant against Susannah del Brighuses for trespass, has a day until the next Court at Rastrik; pledges, William le Engleys and William his partner

Reynold-Jackson, R.Ref R322
[18??-1???] Designed an early motor car engine – the Mytholm engine – which was used in De Dion cars.

In the late 19th century, he established the Yorkshire Motor Car Manufacturing Company Limited.

The company moved to Bradford, and then to London where he began to produce cars and motorised dog-carts under the name R. Reynold-Jackson & Company Limited.

The business ended during World War I

Reynolds, AlbertRef R637
[1897-1916] Son of Henry Reynolds.

He was a worsted worker in Halifax [1911].

He moved to Norwich.

He was engaged to Elsie.

During World War I, he enlisted in Norfolk, and served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 12th November 1916.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10B, 11B 7 12B], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother John Francis also died in the War

Reynolds, AloysiusRef R649
[1895-1917] Son of Emma & John Reynolds of Blackburn.

Born in Blackburn.

He was a reacher (cotton) in Blackburn [1911]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.

He died 14th October 1917 (aged 22).

He was buried at Coxyde Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IV F 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Reynolds, EdwinRef R640
[18??-191?]

During World War I, he served with the Royal Field Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Reynolds, HenryRef R1467
[18??-1???] In 1892, he married Eva, daughter of Alfred Sugden, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Joseph Henry [b 1907]

Reynolds, HenryRef R658
[1870-19??] Born in Water Eaton, Wiltshire.

He was a coal yard foreman [1911].

In [Q2] 1892, he married 1873-19??. in Halifax


Eva was born in Idle, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. John Alfred [b 1893] who was a worsted worker [1911]
  2. Harold [b 1896] who was a worsted worker [1911]
  3. Albert
  4. Annie [b 1900]
  5. Mary [b 1902]
  6. Emily [b 1904]
  7. Thomas [b 1909]
  8. John Francis

The family lived at 70 Vickerman Street, Halifax [1911].

Sons Albert & John Francis died in World War I

Reynolds, HerbertRef R650
[1898-1917] He worked at Albert Foundry, Halifax

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [26th September 1917] (aged 19).

He was buried at Grevillers British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VII C 3].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Reynolds, John FrancisRef R430
[1915-1942] Son of Henry Reynolds.

He was a member of Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church & Boys' Brigade / educated at Trinity School / a conductor for Halifax Corporation.

He married Ellen.

Children:

  1. child

They lived at 4 Moor Street, Siddal.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 4/2 Maritime Regiment Royal Artillery.

In 1941, his ship was torpedoed and he reached Newfoundland in an open boat.

In 1942, he was on the merchant ship Teesbank which was torpedoed by German Submarine U-128 [5th December 1942]. He was the only casualty. The Captain was taken aboard the U-128 as a POW. 61 others survived and were picked up by the US tanker Bessemer.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 5th December 1942 (aged 27).

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial, England [Grave Ref 72 2], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

His brother Albert also died in the War

Reynolds, Lewis MawsonRef R250
[1886-1918] Son of Mary Ann & George Reynolds.

Born in Halifax.

In [Q1] 1917, he married Isabel Maud Rollinson [1890-1984] in Bradford.


Isabel was born in Bradford
 

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Private with the 22nd (Tyneside Scottish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers, formerly the Durham Light Infantry.

He died 11th April 1918 (aged 33).

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 2], on the Memorial at Saint James Church, Hebden Bridge, on Todmorden War Memorial, on the Memorial at Todmorden Working Men's Club, and on the Memorial at Saint John's Mission Church, Hebden Bridge.

Isabel lived in Bradford [1918].

She never remarried, and died in Bradford

Reynolds, MrRef R1290
[1???-1876] Of Shelf. An old man. In 1876, he was melting tar in a pan on the fire when it caught fire. He and his 3-year-old granddaughter died in the blaze

Reynolds, WalterRef R712
[1865-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a wire drawer's labourer [1901].

He married Mary Hannah Varley.


Mary Hannah was the daughter of William Varley, engineer
 

Children:

  1. William Varley (Reynolds) [b 1899] who was a brick carrier [1911]
  2. Elethea / Alethea [b 1900]
  3. Alice [b 1901]

The family lived at 24 Stephen Row, Northowram [1901]

Walter died between 1901 & 1910.

In 1910, Mary Hannah married (2) John William Ogden

Reynolds, Rev WilliamRef R1681
[1812-1873] Born in Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire.

He was Minister at Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade [1862]

On 17th July 1838, he married Martha Carter [1810-1883] at St Michael & All Angels, Thornhill, Yorkshire.


Martha was born in Netherton, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1843] who never married
  2. Martha [b 1846]
  3. Mary Jane [b 1847] who was a teacher [1871] and never married
  4. William Henry [1849-1862]

The family lived at

  • Yarmouth [1861]
  • Sheepridge, Huddersfield
  • Mirfield

On 25th April 1862, son William went upstairs to his father's study to tend the plants there. Having done that, he stood on a box in order to open a window. As he got down, his necktie caught on a hook on the wall and the boy was suspended from the hook. When his absence was noted, the family sent a girl to find the boy but he was dead.

William died in Mirfield [13th March 1873].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £450.

The will was proved by his unmarried daughters Elizabeth & Mary Jane.

Martha died in Mirfield [22nd February 1883].

All were buried at St Michael's & All Angels, Thornhill

Rez, JosephRef R438
[19??-] He was Mayor of Todmorden [2000-2001]

Rheeder, Rev JohnRef R859
[1793-1872] A native of Whixley. He trained at Idle Academy and served at Ossett [1820] and Hamburg English Church [1831] before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Elland [1st January 1846]. On 31st October 1854, he left and was temporary chaplain at Airedale College

Rheeder, TomRef R434
[1914-1946] Son of Ethel & Thomas Richard Rheeder of Halifax.

He was a member of Ovenden RLFC / a window cleaner.

In [Q4] 1935, he married Margaret Cragg [1918-1937] in Halifax.

Margaret died Q1 1937 (aged 19).

During World War II, he served as a Trooper with the Royal Armoured Corps Staffordshire Yeomanry.

He was due to be demobbed.

He died in No.29 British General Hospital [16th January 1946] (aged 32).

He was buried at Hanover War Cemetery [Grave Ref 14 C 18]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rhoden Pool, Hebden BridgeRef R9980
The section of the Rochdale Canal above Stubbing Upper Lock (Lock #11) 

Rhodes...Ref R4
The entries for people & families with the surname Rhodes are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rhodes & BriggsRef R1709
Woollen and stuff merchants and exporters. Partners included John Rhodes and his nephew Rawdon Briggs.

They had warehouses on the south side of Savile Road, Halifax and at Savile Green

Rhodes's: B. Rhodes & SonRef R1304
Manufacturers of wire products at 44 King Cross Street, Halifax [1936]

Rhodes, Briggs & CompanyRef R1055
Cow Green, Halifax.

After the death of partner John Garlick, bankers Rhodes, Briggs & Garlick became Rhodes, Briggs & Company.

After the death of John Rhodes, the firm became known as Rawdon Briggs & Sons

Rhodes, Briggs & GarlickRef R1056
Banking firm established around 1811 by John Rhodes, Rawdon Briggs and John Garlick.

After Garlick's death, the firm was known as Rhodes, Briggs & Company.

After Rhode's death, the firm was known as Rawdon Briggs & Sons

Rhodes: Godfrey Rhodes & EvansRef R16
Halifax legal firm.

Partners included Godfrey Rhodes and Richard W. Evans.

They were at Commercial Bank Chambers [1886, 1905, 1915] and Martins Bank Chambers, Halifax [1936].

See Lewis Rhodes and Sowerby Bridge Local Board

Rhodes's: John Rhodes & CompanyRef R1051
Brewers with business at Albert Brewery, Halifax [1877]

Recorded in April 1878, when the partnership was dissolved

as regards W. Spiking

Rhodes, Rawling & Shaw LimitedRef R1338
Wholesale boot manufacturers and merchants. Recorded in 1880.

Their boot factory was at Albion Works, Square Road, Halifax [1925, 1936].

The brands includes


The Ivy
The Myrtle
The Carnation
The Tulip

Rhodes, Rawlings & ShawRef R444
Boots factors in Halifax [1911]

Rhodes's: Thomas Rhodes & Sons LimitedRef R1048
Importers of and general dealers in sewing and knitting machines, pianos, organs, and complete house furnishers.

The business was established in 1866 by Thomas Rhodes in Silver Street, Halifax.

In 18??, they moved to a building at the corner of Silver Street and Central Street, Halifax.

Later, they sold typewriters and bicycles.

They had a warehouse in Carlton Place, Halifax [1890]. They are also recorded at 4-6 Broad Street, Halifax [1895, 1900].

The company was registered in April 1895.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Thomas Rhodes & Sons Limited

Best Firm in Town for Furniture, Upholstery, Sewing machines, Mail carts, Cycles, Musical Instruments, Polyphons, Gramophones, etc

18 Silver Street and 4 & 6 Broad Street, Halifax

Rhoebottom, JohnRef R513
[1???-18??] Around 1835, he ran an infants' school in Halifax

See Elizabeth Elise

Rhuaka Remedies (1923) LimitedRef R1344
Makers of herbal and patent medicines.

They were at George Square [1936] and Northgate/Gaol Lane [1960s]

Ribbentrop, Joachim vonRef R403
[1893-1946] German diplomat. He was Germany's foreign minister under the Nazi regime. He was Hitler's Ambassador to Britain.

He stayed at the Fleece, Elland when he was working as a travelling salesman selling wine and champagne for the Pommerey company.

See Dinner with Ribbentrop

Rice, Edward B.Ref R220
[1834-1906] Born in Clerkenwell, London.

He was canteen steward (pensioner) at Halifax Barracks [1881, 1891].

In [Q2] 1866, he married Maria Brownsdon [1841-1???] in Shoreditch.


Maria was born in London
 

Children:

  1. Edward [b 1868]
  2. Maria C. [b 1869]
  3. Rosina [b 1872] who was a schoolmistress [1891]
  4. Albert John [27th June 1874-4th May 1897] who was an apprentice [1891]
  5. Charlotte [b 1876] who was a pupil-teacher [1891]
  6. Florence [b 1879]

Son Albert John was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1696] with Robert Asquith.

An Edward Benjamin Rice died in Shardlow [Q1 1906] (aged 72) 

Rice Fields, BarkislandRef R526
Owners and tenants have included

The property was the subject of a compulsory purchase order when Scammonden Dam was constructed

Rice, Rev George MillerRef R1483
[18??-1???] Pastor at Lineholme Baptist Church, Stansfield [1889]. He resigned in November 1897

Rice-Jones & SmithsRef R1047
Legal firm at Albany Chambers, Halifax. Partners included John Edward Rice-Jones.

Aka Jones (Rice) & Smiths [1934].

See John Edward Smith

Rice-Jones, John EdwardRef R485

Rice-Jones, John EdwardsRef R1134

Richard le NaylerRef R237

Richard, MrRef R541
[16??-1724] Curate at Elland [1723]

Richard son of Essolf de TongRef R456
[11??-11??]

(Modern: Richard Tong)

Son of Essolf.

He was a Knight.

He held lands in Tong, Thornhill, Hunsworth (Huddesworth), and Bierley.

He married Maude.

Children:

  1. Richard
  2. (probably) Hugh
  3. Maude who married Stephen Hibernicas
  4. Roger
  5. Agnes who married Unknown Touke and had a son Henry

His earliest appearance was as Richard son of Essolf, when he witnessed two related charters (undated, but before 1155) granting the vill of Kildwick to Embsay Priory.

Richard appears in the Pipe Rolls in 1165 as Richard de Tuenche (Tong), and in 1175 as Richard son of Essolf.

He is recorded as Richard son of Essolf de Tang, in an undated deed when he granted a villein to Kirkstall Abbey.

In 1194, there was a trial of the King's court, Westminster, between Richard de Tonge, Jordan son of Essolf and Richard his son concerning the manors of Thornhill, Huddesworth and Birle (Hunsworth and Bierley), which had been granted by Richard to his brother Jordan and were held by him by military tenure and a rent of 10s. Richard essoined himself de malo veniendi (the excuse of becoming ill en route).

Early researchers conclude that Richard inherited the Baildon lands from his brother John and gave part of these to his son Hugh.

Richard probably died shortly after 1194

Richard son of Jordan de ThornhillRef R452
[11??-12??]

(Modern: Richard Thornhill)

Son and heir of Jordan son of Essolf

He (possibly) married Alice.

Children:

  1. John
  2. William
  3. (possibly) Eve who married Robert, son of Jordan de Lalanda

Richard only witnessed one charter during the lifetime of his father, that being the gift of his uncle – John son of Essolf – to Monk Bretton priory.

Shortly after his father's death, he witnessed an agreement between Thomas son of Matthew de Horbury and Roger son of Adam son of Peter / Roger de Birkin signing as Richard son of Jordan.

Richard's son John witnessed a number of charters starting in the period 1206-1218, indicating that Richard died not long after his father

Richard son of RogerRef R796
[11??-1200/1201]

(Modern: Richard Rogerson)

Son of Roger son of Ravenkil.

Thane of Woodplumpton, Bootle and Linacre.

Held Kirkby of the Constable of Chester.

Occurs in documents temp Henry II and Richard I.

Founder of Lytham Priory [circa 1189-1194].

He married Margaret Banastre.


Margaret was the daughter and co-heir of Thurston Banastre, who was the younger brother of Robert Banastre of Prestatyn
 

Children:

  1. Matilda who married Robert de Stockport
  2. Amice who married Thomas de Beetham
  3. Quinilda (or Quenilda) who married (1) Jordan de Thornhill & (2) Roger Gernet
  4. Margaret who married Hugh de Moreton
  5. Avice who married William de Millum

By military service he held:

Kirkby of the Barony of Widnes by the service of 1/5th part of one knights's fee Argarmeols of the Barony of Penwortham, 1/4th part of one knight's fee Kellamergh and Burstath Bryning, in capite [in chief; directly from the crown] of the Honor of Lancaster, 1/4th part of one knight's fee.

In Thanage [the tenure, land and rank granted to a thane] he held:

Bootle and Linacre, 3 carucates, by the service of 13s yearly. Woodplumpton, 4 carucates by the service of 17s 6d Lytham 2 carucates by the service of 8s 4d

[William Farrer, in The Lancashire Pipe Rolls and Early Lancashire Charters, p.44.]

Richard died between September 1200 & September 1201

Richard the NailerRef R64
[12??-1???] In 1274, he paid 6d for a licence to mine coal in the graveship of Hipperholme for use in forging at his smithy.

Lister says that this is one of the earliest references to coal-mining in Yorkshire.

In 1307, Richard le Nayler paid 6d for a licence to dig for sea coal and to make nails

Richards, AlfredRef R1211
[18??-19??] Partner in Sagar-Richards Limited

Richards, Annie MayRef R41
[1883-1969]

In [Q3] 1907, she married Samuel Wood in Middlesborough.

Samuel died in 1916

In 1923, she married Alphaeus Moseley in Guisborough. Alphaeus was landlord of the White Hart, Soyland.

Alphaeus died Q1 1940.

Annie May took over at the White Hart [1940, 1945].

Annie May died in Blackpool in 1969

Richards, ClaudeRef R528
[1895-1918] Son of Clara & William Richards of 14 Kingsbury Place, Halifax, then 206 Queens Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Driver with the 49th Division Ammunition Col. Royal Field Artillery.

He died 13th October 1918 (aged 23).

He was buried at Naves Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref V A 24].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax

Richards, DanielRef R1210
[18??-19??] Partner in Sagar-Richards Limited

Richards, ErnestRef R325
[1893-1918] He was a core maker.

He lived at 12 Coal Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at the Battle of Lys [10th April 1918] (aged 25).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Michael & All Angels' Church, Southowram Bank

Richards, Guy NevilleRef R228
[18??-191?] He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 13th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 16th June 1917.

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2 & 3], and on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Richards, JoshuaRef R152
[19??-] Lives at West Vale. Actor who has appeared in many TV, radio and film rôles. He is a member of the Royal Shakespeare Company

Richards, P. E.Ref R203
[18??-19??] He is recorded [1904] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery

Richards, Thomas EwingRef R148
[1922-1944] Son of Amelia Eliza & William Ewing Richards.

In [Q1] 1942, he married Joan Margaret Oldfield in Calder District.

They lived in Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the Royal Army Service Corps.

He died at 151 Queen's Road, Croydon [13th April 1944] (aged 22).

He is remembered with a CWGC headstone at Elland Cemetery [E 23].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial

Richardson...Ref R37
The entries for people & families with the surname Richardson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Richardson & DuncanRef R1539
Linen draper and silk mercers at Corn market, Halifax [1822]

Richardson & SpencerRef R1164
Brush manufacturers at Halifax [1905]. Partners included Jabez Spencer

Richardson's: William Richardson & SonRef R1186
Aka Richardson's Opticians. Optical, mathematical and philosophical instrument makers of Southowram established by William Richardson. Recorded in 1861 & 1874.

In 1905, they were listed as makers of gauges, barometers and pyrometers at Pressure Gauge Works, North Parade, Halifax and G. Hy Wadsworth was proprietor.

Subsequently, they were listed as opticians and W. Wadsworth was in charge of the optical business.

In 1906, they were at Steam Gauge Works, North Parade, Halifax.

In 1919, they were at 65 North Parade, Halifax, and the Principals were J. and Willie Wadsworth.

Wadsworth's Camera Exchange was at the same address

In 1934, they moved to Regent Street, Halifax

See George Henry Wadsworth, Mackereth Opticians, and Gutsell's

Richie, Dr JamesRef R661
[1???-176?] MD.

A Dissenting minister at Mixenden chapel. He practised medicine in the district. He wrote several tracts on aspects of religion, sacrifice and atonement

Richmond, ClarenceRef R501
[1880-1918] Son of Joseph Richmond.

Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a plasterer with Wrigley's.

On 11th December 1904, he married Nancy Ward [1881-1???] in Rothwell.


Nancy was born in Rothwell
 

  1. Hilda [b 1905]
  2. Joseph [b 1910]
  3. James [b 1914]

They lived at Commercial Street, Hebden Bridge.

Around 1909, the family moved from Hebden Bridge to Markington, near Ripon.

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the 89th Field Company Royal Engineers.

He was killed in action [8th November 1918] (aged 38).

His section was engaged in building a bridge. They were under heavy machine gun fire, and were compelled to lie down. A bullet came through the float and hit him in the arm pit and the heart.

He was buried at Dottignies Communal Cemetery, Mouscron, Hainaut [Grave Ref I C 8]

Richmond, DemetriusRef R740
[1882-19??] Son of John Richmond.

Born in Halifax.

He was a general labourer [1911].

He married Mary Moore


Mary was born in Preston, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. Trevor [b 1904]
  2. May [b 1910]

The family lived at 5 Moorhouse Terrace, Old Lane, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were widowed mother Ruth Ann Richmond [b 1841], sister Angelina Richmond [b 1867] (drawing room hand), nephew Norman Richmond [b 1896] (doffer in mill), and nephew Robert Pitcher (piecer in mill) 

Richmond, FrankRef R306
[1916-1942] Son of Sarah Ann & Thomas Richmond.

He married Ethel.

They lived in Cornholme.

During World War II, he served as a Sapper with the 505th Field Company Royal Engineers.

He died 17th July 1942 (aged 26).

He was buried at Moascar War Cemetery, Egypt [Grave Ref 1 A 11].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Richmond House, West ValeRef R61
House at the bottom of Exchange Street – which was formerly [1905] known as Richmond Street

Richmond, JohnRef R739
[1840-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a bolt maker [1881] / a nut & bolt maker [1891].

He married Ruth Ann [1841-1???].


Ruth Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Lily [1862-1922] who was a cotton weaver [1881] and married Robert Wilkinson
  2. Clara [1863-1909] who was a cotton drawer [1881] and married Henry Pitcher
  3. John [b 1867] who was a cotton doffer [1881]
  4. Angelina [b 1868] who was a cotton spinner operative [1891]
  5. Arthur [b 1873]
  6. Flora / Florence [b 1876] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  7. Walter [b 1879]
  8. Demetrius

The family lived at

  • Fairfields Terrace, Ovenden [1881]
  • 24 Moxen Terrace, Northowram [1891]

Richmond, JosephRef R502
[1845-1904] Born in Markington.

He was a mason's labourer.

In [Q4] 1877, he married Sarah Elizabeth Smith [1852-1923] in Oxford.


Sarah Elizabeth was born in Ripley
 

  1. Mary Elizabeth Smith (Richmond) [born out of wedlock 1872]
  2. Eliza [b 1877]
  3. Agnes [b 1879]
  4. Clarence
  5. Ben [b 1888]
  6. Kate [b 1890]

Richmond, WalterRef R454
[18??-1917]

He married Unknown in Bradford.

They lived at 6 Swan Street, Crossfields, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as an Air Mechanic 3rd Class with the Royal Flying Corps Recruits' Depot.

He died 9th July 1917.

He was buried at Aldershot Military Cemetery, Hampshire [Grave Ref AF 2071]

Richter, Dr HansRef R612
[1843-1916] The Austrian conductor conducted the combined orchestras and choirs at the opening of the Victoria Hall

Rickard, William GuyRef R540
[1899-1918] Son of William Wilson Rickard.

He was a member of Square Chapel / a hairdresser, assisting his father at Charles Street, Halifax / a member of Crowtrees Methodist Chapel, Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was killed in action [22nd March 1918] (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial, France [Grave Ref 59 & 60], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rickard, William WilsonRef R800
[1875-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a hairdresser at Charles Street, Halifax [1901] / landlord of the Grove, Rastrick [1904, 1911].

In 1898, he married Grace Spencer [1877-19??] in Halifax.


Grace was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. William Guy
  2. Samuel Edward [b 1903]
  3. Edith [b 1909]

The family lived at

  • 22 Hampton Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 19 Bath Place, Woodside, Halifax [1918]

Rickerby, ElizabethRef R1418
[1904-1978] Of The Bungalows, Ovenden Green.

The old lady was known as a recluse.

In May 1978, 2 boys aged 14 and 15, were accused of her murder after she had been found dead in her front room. Both boys pleaded guilty of burglary.

Each boy blamed the other for the attack on Mrs Rickerby.

The jury at Leeds Crown Court found the 15-year-old guilty of manslaughter

Rickman, JohnRef R240
[17??-18??] An English civil servant who suggested the first Census in 1801. He was in charge of the first 4 censuses

Riddeall, SamuelRef R1324
[1670-1743] In February 1694, he married Mary Bairstow at Halifax

Riddett, Rev Alfred PerryRef R1754
[1845-19??] Born in Ryde, Isle of Wight.

Wesleyan Methodist Minister.

In 1897, he and Rev T. G. Brooks were Ministers at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Friendly Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Sowerby Bridge Wesleyan Mission Chapel, Ripponden Wesleyan Methodist Church, Sowerby Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Mill Bank Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Triangle Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, and Booth Wood Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

He was retired [1911].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Miriam Elsie [b 1889]
  2. Phyllis May [b 1893] who was a student (Froebel) [1911]

The family lived at West Kensington, London [1911]

Riddle, AdamRef R1312
[1802-18??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he and George Butcher were imprisoned for 3 months for obtaining meat by false pretences at Brighouse, with intent to cheat William Pollard

Riddlesden, BentleyRef R130
[1866-1935] Son of Horatio Riddlesden, carpet weaver.

Born in Greetland.

He was a silk dresser of North Parade, Halifax [1889] / a silk dresser [1911].

In [Q1] 1889, he married Emily Porteus at Halifax Parish Church.


Emily, of New Bank, Halifax, was the daughter of
William Porteus
 

Children:

  1. Albert [b 1893] who was a carpet weaver [1911]
  2. Clarice [b 1905]
  3. Horace [b 1908]

The family lived at 1 Health Court, Claremount, Halifax [1911, 1918].

Bentley died in Halifax [Q2 1935] (aged 68) 

Riddlesden, SamuelRef R538
[16??-1722] He lived at Rookes Hall, Norwood Green.

On 6th February 1704, he married Diana Forness

Rideal & DuncanRef R1275
Milliners at Halifax.

Partners included B. Rideal, A. Rideal, M. Duncan and L. Duncan.

The partnership was dissolved in 1817

Rideal, DavidRef R261
[1753-1821] He was a weaver [1775] / clerk at Warley Congregational Church.

On 30th May 1775, he married Hannah Foster [17??-188?] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth
  2. Titus
  3. Susannah [b 1787]
  4. Davis [b 1789]
  5. Catherine [b 1792]
  6. Joseph [1794-1858]
  7. Hannah [1797-1868] who married Isaac Smith
  8. William [b 1800]

The family lived at Warley.

Members of the family were buried at Warley Congregational Church

Rideal, JosephRef R262
[1794-1858] Son of David Rideal.

He and his brother Titus were licensed victuallers at the Black Horse, Union Street, Brixton, Surrey in the 1820s, and then they became wine merchants.

They were both buried at Norwood Cemetery, London

Rideal, NicholasRef R459
[17??-18??] Hatter in [1804]

Rideal, TitusRef R1595
[1779-1850] Of Warley.

Son of David Rideal.

He and his sister, Elizabeth, were subscribers to the building of the Warley Congregational Manse.

He and his brother Joseph were licensed victuallers at the Black Horse, Union Street, Brixton, Surrey in the 1820s, and then they became wine merchants.

They were both buried at Norwood Cemetery, London

Ridehalgh & HoltRef R1361
Solicitors of Ripponden [1859, 1861]. Partners were John Ridehalgh and Parker Swinglehurst Holt.

See Lower Making Place, Soyland

Ridehalgh, ArthurRef R508
[1852-1???] Son of Jabez Ridehalgh, farmer.

Born in Halifax.

He was a butcher of Stannary, Halifax [1882] / a butcher [1891, 1901] / a slaughter man at public slaughterhouse [1911].

In 1882, he married Sarah Blinkhorn [1856-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Gibbet Street, Halifax, was born in Spalding, Lincolnshire, the daughter of Richard Blinkhorn, engineer
 

Children:

  1. Florence E [b 1883] who was a dress maker [1901]
  2. Gertrude Alice [1885-1895]
  3. Thomas Arthur
  4. Charles W [b 1889]
  5. Harold [1891] who died in infancy

The family lived at

  • 74 Violet Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 13 Mount Street, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Ridehalgh, FrederickRef R851
[1844-1894] Son of Jabez Ridehalgh

Born in Halifax.

He was a drayman [1881] / a dray driver [1891].

He married Elizabeth [1839-1???] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Harry [b 1874] who was a groom [1891]
  2. Martha E. [b 1875]
  3. Maude [b 1881] who was feeble-minded [1911]
  4. Lewis [1883-1899] who was a steel skewer maker with L. Metcalfe & Company, & was accidentally killed by Alfred Steinmetz, & was buried at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel

The family lived at

  • Bull Close Lane, Halifax [1891]
  • Briggs Court, Upper Brunswick Street, Halifax [1899]
  • 9 Sedan Street, Halifax [1911]

Frederick died in Halifax [Q2 1894] (aged 50) 

Ridehalgh, JabezRef R708
[1814-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a hay & straw dealer [1851] / innkeeper at the West Riding Hotel, Halifax [1861] / a contractor employing 3 men [1861].

Around 1842, he married Martha [1815-19??].


Martha was born in Skircoat
 

Children:

  1. Ellen [b 1842] who was a dressmaker [1861]
  2. Frederick
  3. Henry [b 1850]
  4. Arthur [b 1852]

The family lived at

  • 1 Haugh Shay Terrace, Halifax [1851]

Ridehalgh, JamesRef R5100
[1767-1843] He was gentleman & landowner [1824-1834].

In 1801, he married Betty Folds [1767-1831] in Colne, Lancashire.

Children:

  1. Alice [1802-1803]
  2. John
  3. Margaret
  4. Richard

All the children were born in Little Marsden, Lancashire.

The family lived at Scholefield, Little Marsden, Lancashire [1824, 1841].

James died in 1843.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £4,000.

His son John was the executor.

Members of the family were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Colne

Ridehalgh, JohnRef R514
[18??-18??] Manufacturer of Mytholmroyd.

On 20th October 1831, he married Mary Ann Parker at Halifax Parish Church

Ridehalgh, JohnRef R519
[1804-1861] Son of James Ridehalgh.

In 1820, he was articled to William Wilcock for 5 years. Wilcock died in May 1823, and John was then articled to Michael Stocks for the remainder of the 5 years. Simpson Baines prepared both documents.

He was an attorney at law & solicitor [1841, 1851, 1861] / partner in Howarth & Ridehalgh at Howarth's practice in Ripponden / partner in Ridehalgh & Holt

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He never married.

They lived at

Living with him [in 1851] was his sister Margaret.

He died at Brig Royd [29th March 1861].

He was buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £25,000. Probate was granted to his brother Richard, and Parker Swinglehirst Holt.

He was succeeded at Howarth & Ridehalgh by Parker Swinglehurst Holt.

See Lower Making Place, Soyland

Ridehalgh, MargaretRef R9920
[1805-1867] Daughter of James Ridehalgh.

She never married.

In 1851, she was living with brother John at Brig Royd, Soyland.

She died at Brig Royd [29 Sep 1867].

She was buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at under £5,000. Probate was granted to her brother Richard

Ridehalgh, RichardRef R164
[1810-1895] Son of James Ridehalgh.

Born in Lancashire.

He became an attorney.

He never married.

He lived at

He owned Abbotroyd, Barkisland.

He died at Brigg Royd [29th March 1895], the last of the local Ridehalgh family.

He was buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £253,703 2/4d. Probate was granted to George Carr (gentleman) and John William Carr Ayre.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895


Ellen Holroyde the daughter of Mr Holroyde, worked for the Ridehalgh family [from about 1851 until 1895] when Richard died
 

Ridehalgh, Thomas ArthurRef R115
[1886-1917] Son of Arthur Ridehalgh.

He was an errand boy [1901] / a butcher's assistant [1911] / a master butcher in business at 309 Gibbet Street / a member of the Victoria Club / a member of Halifax football, cricket & bowling clubs, and played football for the Butchers' Association.

In 1914, he married Annie Ashworth in Halifax.

They lived at

  • 309 Gibbet Street, Halifax
  • 13 Mount Street, Halifax [1917]

During World War I, he enlisted [1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by shellfire at Nieupoort [25th July 1917].

He was buried at Ramscappelle Road Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I B 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax, on the Memorial at Saint Mary's Church, Halifax, on the Memorial at Halifax Butchers' Association, and on the Memorial at Halifax Bowling Club

Ridehough, JohnRef R1437
[1803-1867] Of Brier Hey, Mytholmroyd.

He married Harriet [1810-1888]

Rider & WhiteleyRef R1058
Store established by Mr Rider and Fred Whiteley at Whiteley's Corner, Brighouse

Rider, HerbertRef R662
[1921-1941] Son of Edith & Jack Rider.

He was a member of Caddy Field Boys' Brigade / employed by Paton & Baldwin's.

He married Mary Elizabeth.

Children:

  1. child

They lived at Triangle.

During World War II, he enlisted [September 1939], and served as a Gunner with the 122nd Field Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died in hospital in Malaya [3rd May 1941] (aged 20).

He was buried at Kranji War Cemetery, Singapore [Grave Ref 36 E 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rider, John EarnshawRef R234
[1893-1916] Son of Margaret & John Henry Rider of Crook, County Durham.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 26th April 1916 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 6], and on Rastrick War Memorial

Rider, MrRef R937
[18??-19??] Partner in Rider & Whiteley

Rider, ThomasRef R451
[18??-19??] Son of William Rider.

Born in Horsforth.

He was a cotton piecer [1881] / a cotton twiner [1891] / a cotton twister [1911] / the first superintendent at Thornhill Briggs Methodist Sunday School [1897] / a teacher at the school [1923].

In [Q4] 1882, he married Rebecca Iredale in Halifax.


Rebecca was born in Stainland, the daughter of Simeon Iredale
 

Children:

  1. William [b 1885] who was a brass finisher's apprentice [1901], a brass finisher [1911]

The family lived at

  • Bradford Road, Brighouse [1891]
  • Cross Street, Brighouse

Rider, WilliamRef R116
[1832-1???] Son of Christopher Rider, shoemaker.

He was a twister [1871].

He married (1) Unknown.

In 1871, he married (2) Susey.


Susey was the daughter of John Sykes, and widow of
Jonas Aspinall
 

Susey died Q3 1903 (aged 73) 

Rider, WilliamRef R453
[1835-1???] Born in Horsforth.

He was a cotton twiner [1881].

Around 1860, he married Lucy [1830-1???].


Lucy was born in Ripponden
 

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Wilson Aspinall [b 1862] who was a cotton piecer [1881]
  3. Fred [b 1865] who was a cotton piecer [1881]
  4. Ellen [b 1864] who was a cotton piecer [1881]

The family lived at Bailiffe Bridge [1881]

RidgeRef R353
Area of Blake Dean

Ridge, Alfred NormingtonRef R481
[1894-1917] Son of John Ridge.

Born in Elland.

He was a member of Upper Edge Baptist Church, Elland / a player with Elland Wanderers AFC / a woollen piecer [1911] / employed by John Law & Sons at Greetland.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1916], and served as a Private with the 6th Battalion Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders.

He was wounded in the chest and abdomen by a bomb.

He died of wounds [21st February 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [3rd March 1917].

He was buried at Dernancourt Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref V C 42].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland, and on the Memorial at Upper Edge Baptist Church

Ridge CrossRef R1215
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Ridge Cross, WadsworthRef R272
Originally a farm-house

Ridge, JohnRef R482
[1868-1925] Born in Upper Edge, Elland.

He was a quarryman [1890, 1911]

In 1890, he married Elizabeth Douglas [1869-1920] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Friockkeirr [?], Scotland
 

Children:

  1. Isabel Ann [1891-1975] who was a worsted twister [1911]
  2. Margaret Ellen [1892-1980] who was a worsted mixer combing [1911]
  3. Alfred Normington
  4. Annie [1896-1985] who was a woollen winder [1911]
  5. John Douglas [1901-1936]
  6. Constance [1903-1994]
  7. Elizabeth [1908-1937]
  8. Louise Mary [1910-2000]

The children were born in Elland.

The family lived at

  • 4 Upper Fold, Elland [1901]
  • 6 Parks Yard, Upper Edge, Elland [1911]

Living with them [in 1911] was boarder William Ridge [b 1868] (quarryman) 

Ridge Rough, Blake DeanRef R69
There are several cup-and-ring marks on slabs of rock nearby

Ridge, Thomas FoxcroftRef R1195
[1860-1930] Born in Appleby, Westmorland.

He was Manager of the Halifax branch of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited, Manager of Sowerby Bridge sub-branch [1897], and Manager of the Stainland branch.

In 1883, he married Esther, daughter of Francis Berry.

They lived at

  • Stubbin, Sowerby Bridge [where the unmarried Thomas was a lodger 1881]
  • Bury, Lancashire [1891]
  • Agra House, Melksham, Wiltshire [1930]

He died at sea [10th April 1930]

RidgefootRef R124
Area of Todmorden

Ridgefoot House, TodmordenRef R112
Built around 1842 by Abraham Ormerod on land next to his Ridgefoot Mill.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in 1939. A supermarket stands on the site.

See Olympia Cinema

Ridgeway, Edward AkroydRef R1686
[1846-1???] Son of John Edward Ridgeway

Ridgway, Henry AkroydRef R94
[1840-1878] JP.

Or Ridgeway.

Son John Edward Ridgeway.

He was brought into the family business. Until 1865, he managed Copley Factory School. He was a Councillor for Central Ward [1866]. He was appointed County Magistrate [1869]

In 1867, he married Mary Gertrude Huish at Belper.


Mary Gertrude was the daughter of Marcus Huish
 

The family lived at

Ridgway, JamesRef R215
[18??-1???] A labourer.

He and Mary Ganley lived together as man and wife at Martin Street, Boothtown.

On 18th August 1884, Mary and her daughter were on the way to take a dinner to Ridgway at his work. On the way, they called in at the Pine Apple, Halifax where they found Ridgway, and gave him his dinner.

Ridgway had been drinking and, instead of returning to work, went home to sleep. When he woke, he called for his tea, and Mary, who had also been asleep, promised to get it for him, but later she refused. As Ridgway got up to walk out of the house, Mary seized him and forced him into a chair. The 2 began swearing at each other and Mary picked up the fire tongs and struck him. He took them from her, and she picked up the poker and struck him with that. He took that from her and followed her outside where he struck and felled her.

She died a few days after.

At the Yorkshire Winter Assizes [November 1884], Ridgway pleaded guilty, and was imprisoned for one year with hard labour

Ridgway, JohnRef R1631
[1843-18??] Or Ridgeway.

Son of John Edward Ridgway

Ridgway, John EdwardRef R1632
[18??-18??] From Stoke-on-Trent.

On 20th August 1838, he married Mary, daughter of Jonathan Akroyd at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Henry Akroyd
  2. John
  3. Edward Akroyd

RidingRef R1216
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Riding Bridge, LuddendenRef R410
Aka Wade Bridge, Luddenden

Riding HallRef R13

Riding Head, LuddendenRef R1414
Owners and tenants have included

Riding, WilliamRef R491
[1???-1533] Of Elland. On 24th June 1533, the Feast of St John the Baptist, he and Gilbert Hanson fought a duel in which both were fatally wounded

Ridings Farm, Ovenden WoodRef R1589
Riding Lane. 17th century building

Ridings School BathsRef R1018
Baths at The Ridings School.

The baths closed in 2002 because of rising costs

Ridley, Rev ThomasRef R634
[1807-1904] MA.

Born in the parish of St John Lee, Northumberland.

He was educated at Magdalen College Oxford [1829] / curate of East Bradenham [1833-1835] / curate of Gosforth [1835-1848]. before becoming Perpetual Curate at St Mary's Church, Sowerby [1848-1867].

He is recorded as Rev Mr Riddles in reports of the Trial of William Hellowell [1862].

He married Margaret [1807-1879], born in North Shields.

They had no children.

In 1901, the widowed Thomas was living with his nephew Robert Ridley at Acomb, Northumberland.

He died in Acomb

Ridley, Rev Thomas WhiteRef R415
[1813-1892] Born in West Moor, Northumberland.

He was a Methodist Minister [1841] / Wesleyan New Connexion Minister of the Gospel [1851].

On 21st July 1850, he spoke at a fund-raising event for the Sunday School at Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade.

On 21st June 1838, he married Isabella Kilham [1813-1892] in Epworth, Lincolnshire.


Isabella was born in Epworth, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1848]

The family lived at

  • King Cross Street, Halifax [1841]
  • North Parade, Halifax [1851]

The couple died in Gateshead, County Durham

Ridout, Robert StanleyRef R318
[1914-1944] Son of Celia Elizabeth & Robert Harry Ridout.

In [Q2] 1935, he married Lillas Edith Warburton in Todmorden.

They lived in Hebden Bridge.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the Army Catering Corps.

He died 7th June 1944 (aged 30).

He was buried at Ranville Churchyard, France [Grave Ref 7].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Riedel, EdouardRef R1173
[1824-1889] Teacher of languages at 12 Bond Street, Halifax [1874].

He married Annie.

Children:

  1. Edward
  2. Louis Henry [1867] who died aged 4 months
  3. Norman Wilson [1887] who died aged 40 days

The family lived at

  • Rhodes Street, Halifax [1867]
  • 39 Violet Street, Hanson Lane [1887, 1889]

He died 4th January 1889 (aged 65).

Members of the family were buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: C 4 C]

Rieves, C.Ref R659
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rig-Ma-Down, BrighouseRef R875
Bradford Road.


Question: Does anyone know where this was?

 

A wall post-box is recorded here in 1866. It later moved to Lane Head.

See Brighouse Post Office

Rigby, AgnesRef R368
[18??-1916] Agnes from Blackburn, and Ethel Thompson from Blackpool – both workhouse nurses – were found drowned in the canal at Todmorden on Thursday 19th October 1916. It is believed that they missed their way in the darkness

Rigby, Rev JohnRef R1408
[1???-18??] Roman Catholic priest.

He lived at Gibbet Street, Halifax [1845]

Rigby, Rev JohnRef R600
[1770-1846] From Bramley.

He was ordained Baptist pastor at Bramley [6th January 1796] before becoming Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [May 1798-December 1839].

During his 41 years at Blackley, and the congregation increased. He was described as

an original character, with a string will, a good preacher and a capital organiser

On 30th May 1799, he married Mary Wright [1768-1823] in Adel.

Children:

  1. Manasseh [1802-1825]
  2. John [b 1806] who died aged 6 months
  3. Martha [1807-1828]
  4. Thomas [1811-1871]
  5. Sarah [1811-1853]

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Rigby's: John Rigby & SonsRef R1180
Wire manufacturers at Kirklees Iron Works, Brighouse [1874]

Rigby, PeterRef R1277
[1804-1851] He was Surveyor of the Highways for Soyland [1835] / licensee of the New Inn, Soyland [1841]. He and his descendants ran the pub until around 1917.

In 1827, he married Betty Halstead [1804-1870]


Betty from Reedley Hollows, Burnley, was the sister of Peggy Halstead, wife of Richard Taylor
 

Children:

  1. Mary [1825-1903] who married Henry Wood
  2. Thomas
  3. Sarah [b 1830]
  4. Jane [b 1832]
  5. Elizabeth [b 1833]
  6. Ann [b 1835]
  7. Peter [b 1838]
  8. Charles [b 1840]
  9. Ellen [b 1842]
  10. Margaret [b 1843]

After his death, his widow, Betty, took over at the New Inn [1851].

Their daughter, Mary and husband Henry Wood, took over at the pub [1853].

See Richard Taylor

Rigby, Rev R. H.Ref R872
[18??-1???] From Aylsham, Norfolk. Minister at Brearley Baptist Church [1896]. During his ministry, 2 serious mill-fires in the area resulting in mill closures which caused people to move away to work. In 1899, he left the church and became a medical student in Leeds. He later practised at Pontefract

Rigby, ThomasRef R1276
[1828-1867] Son of Peter Rigby of the New Inn, Soyland.

Born in Sowerby.

On 9th May 1846, Henry Standeven and Amos Thomas assaulted Thomas Rigby at Soyland and stole a waistcoat, a coat, a sovereign, some shillings in silver and other articles from him. Thomas Rigby and his father had been lying in wait in their barn about a mile from the New Inn, Soyland, suspecting that intruders had been stealing from the barn. About 2:00 am, two men came into the barn and a struggle ensued during which the robbery took place. The jury acquitted Standeven and Amos Thomas although they thought Standeven had broken into the barn.

In 1860, he married Jane Moore.

Children:

  1. Martha [b 1860]
  2. Ellen [b 1862]
  3. Sarah [b 1864]
  4. Thomas [b 1867]

Thomas (senior) was buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden.

In 1870, Jane married Josiah Lancaster [1839-1???] from Stansfield

The Rigg family of HalifaxRef R913

Rigg, DonaldRef R17
[1931-2018] From Walsden.

He was Mayor of Todmorden [1970-1971].

He died 21st January 2018

Rigg's: Gordon Rigg (Nurseries) LimitedRef R1292
Calderbank Nurseries, Walsden.

Rigg, James ArcherRef R292
[1872-1951] Born in Halifax.

Known as Archie, he was an English rugby union and professional rugby league player for Halifax (scrum half/half back)  [1891-1908], appearing 333 times and scoring 53 goals.

He also played 32 games for Yorkshire.

He went on to coach Bradford Northern and returned to rugby union in 1919 with the newly formed Halifax RFU.

In 1900, he married Josephine [1875-1916].


Josephine came from Cork
 

In 1930, he married Florence May Horsfall [1899-1985] in Halifax.

The family lived at 35 Dickens Street, Gibbet Street, Halifax [1951, 1985].

Archie died 30th May 1951 (aged 79) 

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Pellon [Grave Ref: 3B 141]

Rigg, JohnRef R487
[1785-18??] Born in Heptonstall.

He was a farmer of 12 acres [1851].

He married Hannah [1788-18??].


Hannah was born in Heptonstall
 

Children:

  1. Jane [b 1824] who was a loom weaver (worsted) [1851]

The family lived at Noah Dale, Todmorden [1851]

Rigg, MaryRef R192
[1828-1???] Born in Halifax / Hunslet.

She was licensee of the Millers' Inn, Halifax [1861] / a beerhouse keeper in Cow Green / Silver Street, Halifax [1881]

Rigg, MrRef R102
[18??-18??]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William
  2. Ann [b 1839] who married Henry Crabtree
  3. James [b 1847] who was a bobbin turner [1871]

Rigg, SamuelRef R236
[1897-1918] Son of Mr & Mrs Samuel Rigg of Stannally Cottage, Harley Wood, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with D Company 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 3rd July 1918 (aged 21).

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden [East Part]

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rigg, WilliamRef R103
[1834-1???] Son of Mr Rigg.

Born at Hearnshaw Hole, Yorkshire.

He was a labourer [1871] / an outdoor labourer [1881]

He lived at

  • Portsmouth, Todmorden [1871]

Living with him [in 1871] were brother James and sister Ann, her husband Henry Crabtree and family.

In 1881, William was living with sister Ann, her husband Henry Crabtree and family

Rigge, AbrahamRef R1254
[16??-16??] Son of Thomas Rigge.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas

Rigge & HattonRef R475
Woollen manufacturers in Halifax [1868].

Their property at Albion Mill, Halifax was separated by the Hebble from the dye works of Thomas Crossley & Sons which were damaged by fire on 30th April 1868

Rigge, Christopher TaylorRef R1257
[1807-1886] Son of Samuel Taylor Rigge.

Born in Southowram [19th May 1807].

He was a corn merchant [1871].

He married 1810-1881 25th December 1829 at Halifax Parish Church.


Harriet was born in Southowram [11th October 1810]
 

Children:

  1. Samuel Taylor

The family lived at 3 Balmoral place, Halifax [1871].

Harriet died 8th March 1881.

The epitaph on the memorial for Harriet in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

Christopher died 5th January 1886.

The couple were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell. In 1887, his son dedicated a clerestory window at Halifax Parish Church in his memory.

Rigge, Samuel TaylorRef R1258
[1764-1832] FSA.

He married Mary [1769-1823].

Children:

  1. Susanna [1800-1820]
  2. Joseph Pilling [1804-1831] who died at Kingston, Jamaica
  3. Christopher Taylor

In 1887, he dedicated a clerestory window at Halifax Parish Church in his father's memory.

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church

Rigge, Samuel TaylorRef R1718
[1830-1889] Son of Christopher Taylor Rigge.

Born 16th May 1830.

He was a mill owner at Sowerby Bridge / a Halifax Councillor [1861-1866, 1869] / a retired woollen manufacturer [1871].

In September 1858, he was charged with


employing a lad, under age, after the legal time of night
 

The defence was that the boy – who had been found working in the mill at half-past nine at night – was employed under a slubber, George Illingworth, and he was responsible, not the master of the mill. Illingworth was fined £3 plus costs.

He died 25th September 1889.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Rigge, ThomasRef R1252
[15??-16??] Son of William Rigge.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Abraham

Rigge, ThomasRef R1251
[1616-1667] Son of Thomas Rigge.

Baptised at Heptonstall [13th October 1616].

He was a yeoman of Halifax / Constable of Halifax / Churchwarden at Halifax

He married (1) Elizabeth [16??-1714], eldest daughter of Edward Wainhouse.

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Thomas [bapt 1712-1745] of Savile Green
  3. Elizabeth [1714-1736]

He married (2) Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas [1735-1773] who died at Southwark
  2. Joseph [1737-1775]
  3. John [1739-1741]

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church [20th March 1666/7].

The epitaph on his memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Rigge, ThomasRef R1255
[1654-1689] Son of Abraham Rigge.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Rigge, ThomasRef R1766
[1686-1716] Son of Thomas Rigge.

Baptised 20th February 1686-7.

He was Churchwarden of Halifax.

He died suddenly 1st April 1716.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Rigge, WilliamRef R1253
[15??-15??] Yeoman of Fallowroyd, Wadsworth.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas

Riggs's Garden CentreRef R1510

Rika, KiaRef R579
[1919-1989] Halifax Rugby League player,

Born in New Zealand [10th April 1919].

He came to Halifax after war service and was signed up by Halifax RLFC.

He played regularly at left wing and was a crowd favourite at Thrum Hall.

He was in the losing side against Bradford Northern in the Challenge Cup Final, at Wembley, of the 1948/9 season (final score 12-0).

He was landlord of the Traveller's Rest in Elland [mid-1960s].

In [Q1] 1949, he married Jean Ingham in Halifax.


Jean was a local girl
 

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child

He returned to New Zealand [1975].

He made one return to Halifax in 1988, as a Guest of Honour at the Halifax Club Reunion

He died 2nd May 1989 (aged 70) 

Riley...Ref R8
The entries for people & families with the surname Riley are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Riley & CompanyRef R1096
Stone merchants established by Thomas H. Riley at Woodside Stone Sawing Works, Halifax [1905]

Riley & HornerRef R1273
Manufacturing chymists recorded at Walterclough, Southowram. The partnership was dissolved in 1875

Riley's: B. Riley & CompanyRef R107
Recorded in 1896, when they were at Ringby Quarries

Riley's: Benjamin Riley & SonsRef R1158
Quarry owners and stone merchants at Upper Pule Quarry, Wood Top Quarry, and Scout Quarry.

Partners included Frank B. Riley Wilson Riley and Joe B. Riley

Riley BrothersRef R1085
Tailors of Woolshops, Halifax. Originally J. Riley & Sons.

The name was changed to Riley Brothers in 19??

Riley Brothers (Halifax) LimitedRef R1073
Manufacturers of Riley's Toffees at Kingston Toffee Mills. Their Halifax factory was designed by Glendinning & Hanson

Riley's CharitiesRef R433
Aka Clifton Dole Fund

Riley's: E. & T. RileyRef R1284
Dyers at Greetland.

Partners included E. Riley and T. Riley.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1863

Riley's: Ella Riley LimitedRef R1651
In 2010, Freya Sykes, granddaughter of Ella Riley who created the recipe for Riley's Toffee Rolls, acquired rights to the product from Kraft. The company established a factory at Holmfirth

Riley's: J. Riley & SonsRef R1041
Tailor and clothier business established by Jubal Riley. By 1871, he had established a business at 35 Woolshops in Halifax.

At some time his four sons – Charles, Henry, Rowland, and Louis - joined the firm.

By 1898, the firm was established at 35 & 37 Woolshops, 3 North Bridge, Halifax, and 13 Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge.

The business was dissolved on 1st February 1898. The official notice of the dissolution states

[the business] been dissolved by mutual consent as regards the said Charles Edwards Riley

Henry John, Rowland Ernest, and Louis Edgar continued the business together.

Subsequent censuses show that Charles worked as an employee elsewhere even though his three brothers continued in business together.

On 6th August 1915, the 3 brothers dissolved the business by mutual consent.

Rowland Ernest established Rowland E. Riley & Sons.

Jubal's grandsons Reginald Jubal and Henry Raymond, joined the business.

In 19??, the business became Riley Brothers.

The business was sold when the next generation decided on other professions

Riley's: John Riley & SonRef R1594
Merchants in Halifax. John Riley was senior partner [1856]

Riley LinkRef R759
A metal link which was used to join broken chains. The link was invented by the Riley family of G. S. Whiteley & Company

Riley's: Matthew Riley & CompanyRef R1132
Woolstaplers established by Matthew Riley.

They were at

Riley's: R. T. Riley & CompanyRef R1034
Woollen manufacturers at Peel House Mill, Luddenden [1905]

Riley's: Riley Brothers & HartleyRef R1504
Contractors at Todmorden. Recorded on 21st May 1912, when they commenced paving Burnley Road from Todmorden Town Hall to Gandy Bridge

Riley's: Rowland E. Riley & SonsRef R113
In 1915, J. Riley & Sons was dissolved.

With his sons Harold and Donald, Rowland Ernest Riley established business as clothiers and outfitters – Rowland E. Riley & Sons.

Harold joined the business after being discharged from Army, and may have been the Accountant of the firm.

They were at 73 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1922].

On 17 November 1922, the company filed a Debtor's Petition.

The Date of Release was 5th August 1924

Riley's: S. Riley & SonsRef R5
Brewers or bottlers in Halifax

Riley Street Working Men's Club, TodmordenRef R1200
Recorded in 1917 at Lydgate when Thomas Newell was secretary

Riley's ToffeesRef R1074
Halifax confectionery manufacturer – Riley Brothers (Halifax) Limited – founded in 1907 by brothers Fred Riley and John Herbert Riley.

The company was famous for its Toffee Rolls which came in many flavours: Original Creamy, Golden Cream, Chocolate, Fig, Date, Liquorice, Rum & Butter, and Mint & Butter.

The works were originally in the family home until the factory moved to the Kingston Toffee Mills in Hopwood Lane in 1911.

When J. H. Riley died in 1953, the company was bought by Nuttall's.

It was subsequently bought by the Guinness Group and then by Callard & Bowser, and in 1988 by United Biscuits / McVitie, then by Kraft.

See Ella Riley Limited

Rimer, Lindsey JoRef R109
[1981-1994] On Monday, 7th November 1994, she disappeared after visiting the Spar Supermarket in Hebden Bridge around 10:00 pm.

On 12th April 1995, her body was found in the Rochdale Canal at Callis Mill. She had been strangled and the body was weighted down with a stone.

The murderer has not been found.

In 1998, a Halifax man, John Oswin, was convicted for the rape of 2 women and indecent assault of 2 girls. These had been committed on canal tow paths at night. He was questioned about Lindsey's death.

In August 2002, a man accused of murdering 16-year-old Leeds girl, Leanne Tiernan, was questioned about Lindsey's death

Rimondi, CharlesRef R1431
[1801-1861] born in Switzerland.

He was a jeweller & silversmith, and a maker of watches, clocks & chronometers at 1 Union Street, Halifax [1837] and Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1850]

He married Constance [1807-1879].


Constance was born in Switzerland
 

Children:

  1. Lavina [1832-1917]
  2. Joseph [1837-1839]
  3. Louisa [1839-1851]
  4. Rosa Maria [1842-1936]
  5. Emily Angelins [b 1844]

Around 1839, the family moved from Switzerland to Halifax.

The family lived at 9 Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1841, 1851, 1861]

Charles & Constance died in Sheffield

Rinder, AlbertRef R1608
[19??-] Elland teacher and historian. He was one of the founders of the Greater Elland Historical Society. He wrote

RingbyRef R296
Area in the Upper Shibden Valley including Swales Moor / Northowram / Queensbury

Ringby HillRef R1515
The hill is a landmark at Ringby. Ringby Quarries are here

Ringrose, M.Ref R1187
[18??-19??] Herbalist at 1 Pratt Street, North Parade, Halifax [1906]

Ringstone, BarkislandRef R48
Mesolithic and Bronze Age artefacts have been found near Ringstone reservoir there, and there is a circle of stones, and possible mounds and earthworks nearby. There are stories of stone circles being submerged beneath the reservoir. Watson describes a stone circle called Wolf-fold which he associated with Druidic practices. The circle is about 100 ft across and comprises an elliptical arrangement of stones. In 1905, five sets of cremated remains and an urn were reported to have been found within a small mound at the centre of the circle.

The cairnfield is on the English Heritage Buildings at Risk Register.

See Meg Dike

Ringstone Edge Farm, BarkislandRef R405

See Halifax Gliding Club

Ringstone Edge ReservoirRef R787
Green Lane, Rishworth. Built for Wakefield City Council on the Ryburn at Ringstone in 1886 by Thomas Hawksley. It was completed in 1898.

It is 20-60 ft deep, covers 49 acres and has a capacity of 245 million gallons.

The cylindrical stone wheelhouse for the reservoir – and another on Saddleworth Road – are listed.

On 3rd March 1933, the bodies of Mrs Hilda Hartley [37] and her 3-year-old son, Leonard, were found in the reservoir.

See Booth Dean Bridge

Riordan, Mrs LindaRef R36
[1953-] Born in Halifax. Labour Councillor for the Ovenden Ward [1995-2006]. She worked as private secretary for Alice Mahon. She was elected Labour MP for Halifax [2005, 2010], succeeding Alice Mahon

RiotsRef R1402
There are several entries relating to rioting and unrest in the district.

See Bread Riots, Chartism, Luddites, Mankinholes Riots, Mixenden Riot and Plug Riots

Ripley, AlbertRef R477
[1852-1878] Son of Dan RIPLEY.

Born in Bradford [29th February 1852].

On 25th October 1876, he married Mary Alice Emsley.

Children:

  1. Albert [b Apr 1878]

Albert (snr) died 9th January 1878

Ripley, AlfredRef R765
[1852-1870] 6th son of Sir Henry William Ripley.

Against his mother's wishes, he joined the Navy.

He was on the HMS Royal Oak, but transferred to HMS Captain on 4th September 1870.

He was on board HMS Captain, one of the Navy's most expensive ships, when it went down in a squall off Cape Finisterre about 2:00 am on 7th September 1870. Only 27 of the 500 officers and crew were saved.

There was a memorial in Lightcliffe Old Church which was moved to hang on the south wall of the nave in St Mary's Church, Bedstone, Shropshire

Ripley, AllenRef R768
[1845-1???] Illegitimate son of Ann Ripley of Lightcliffe.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [26th January 1845]

Ripley, DanRef R114
[1827-1904] On 14th January 1851, he married Alice Grandage in Bradford.


Alice was the daughter of
William Grandage
 

Children:

  1. Albert
  2. Henry Grandage [1854-1864]
  3. Edward
  4. William
  5. Alice [b 1860] who married William Alfred Harman
  6. Edith [b 1862] who married William Henry Styring
  7. George [b 1864] who died in infancy
  8. John Arthur
  9. Charles [1870-1875]

Ripley, EdwardRef R720
[17??-18??] Son of George Ripley.

The family moved from Halifax to Bradford. Partner in Edward Ripley & Son, Bradford dyers.

He married Anne Murgatroyd.


Anne was the daughter of a cotton merchant
 

Children:

  1. Henry William

In 1841, he and his son bought Holme House, Lightcliffe

Ripley, EdwardRef R478
[1857-1931] Son of Dan RIPLEY.

Born in Bradford [26th November 1857].

He had 2 children (born in the UK) by Alice Porter:

  1. daughter
  2. son

Around 1888, he married Annie Arveson in the USA.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child

Edward died in Winnipeg [25th February 1931]

Ripley, FredRef R517
[1891-1917] Son of Ada & Sam Ripley of Brighouse.

He married Hilda.

They lived at 55 Oddfellows' Buildings, Bailiff Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 173rd Company Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 23rd July 1917 (aged 26).

He was buried at Estaires Communal Cemetery & Extension, France [Grave Ref IV H 9].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial, on the Memorial at Brighouse Parish Church, on Rastrick War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland

Ripley, GeorgeRef R736
[17??-1834] He and his family moved from Halifax to Bradford.

He went into business with William Walton

In 1820, he established George Ripley & Son with a work-force of 20 men and boys.

He married Unknown.

His wife helped with the business, collecting goods for dyeing.

Children:

  1. Edward

Ripley, GeorgeRef R769
[1822-1???] Illegitimate son of Elizabeth Ripley of Slead Syke.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [3rd November 1822]

Ripley's: George Ripley & SonRef R1028
Dyers established by George Ripley in 1820 with a work-force of 20 men and boys.

After George's death, the company became Edward Ripley & Son

Ripley, Sir Henry WilliamRef R328
[1815-1882] MP, Bt.

Son of Edward Ripley.

Born in Bradford [23rd April 1813].

He was a dyer [1841, 1851] / a partner in Edward Ripley & Son, Bradford dyers / a magistrate [1861] / president of the Bradford Chamber of Commerce.

In 1841, he and his father bought Holme House, Lightcliffe.

In August 1864, Lord Palmerston stayed with Ripley at Holme House.

In 1870, he laid the foundation stone of Hipperholme Methodist Chapel. He gave the clock for St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.

He was active in the political and social life of Bradford. He built a convalescent hospital at Rawdon. Between 1866 and 1881, he built a model village, Ripleyville.

He was MP for Bradford [1868-1869, 1874-1880]. In 1880, he was created First Baronet Ripley of Rawdon.

On 28th December 1882, 46 people were killed when the chimney at his West Bowling Mill blew down.

He married Susan Milligan [1817-1???].


Susan was born in Crosshill and had been adopted by her uncle
 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1838]
  2. Edward [b 1840] who was at college [1861]
  3. Phoebe / Phoebe Elizabeth [1842-1873] who married Charles Compton Seton
  4. Mary A. [b 1844]
  5. George [b 1847]
  6. Frederic [b 1847]
  7. Henry [b 1849]
  8. Hugh
  9. Alfred
  10. Frank [1854-1863]
  11. William [b 1857]

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1851] was Rev Edward G. Cecil.

In 1874, he moved to Rawdon and sold off his property at Lightcliffe and elsewhere.

In 1879, the family moved to Bedstone, Shropshire.

He died 9th November 1882.

See Punch Bowl, Bailiff Bridge, Ripley Street and West Yorkshire Railway Company

Ripley, HughRef R110
[1851-1???] JP.

Son of Sir Henry William Ripley.

Born at Holme House, Lightcliffe

He was educated at Cheltenham for the Army / Lieutenant in the 2nd West Yorkshire Yeoman Cavalry / Justice of the Peace for the West Riding / director of the BDA / director of the North-Eastern Steel Company.

In [Q4] 1881, he married Alice Louise Pease in Beverley.


Alice Louise was the daughter of J. R. Pease JP, of Westwood, Beverley
 

The family lived at Hob Green, Markington, Yorkshire [early 1900s].

Ripley's Ice CreamRef R1348
Ice cream manufacturers at Half House Lane, Hove Edge. Recorded in the 1950s and 1960s

Ripley, John ArthurRef R480
[1866-1949] Son of Dan RIPLEY.

Born at Calverley Bridge [8th April 1866].

On 12th November 1887, he married Gertrude Crooks at Sheffield Registry Office.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. son
  5. daughter
  6. daughter
  7. daughter

John Arthur died 29th July 1949

Ripley, JosephRef R770
[1844-1???] Illegitimate son of Faith Ripley of Lightcliffe.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [18th February 1844]

Ripley, WilliamRef R479
[1859-1925] Son of Dan RIPLEY.

Born in Bradford [9th May 1859].

On 2nd March 1883, he married (1) Eleanor Emily Deacon in Trinity Church, Gray's Inn Road, Middlesex.

They divorced in the early 1890s.

He married (2) Mary Dracon.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. son
  5. son
  6. daughter
  7. daughter
  8. daughter
  9. daughter

William died 10th September 1925

RipleyvilleRef R738
Model village built to the south of Bradford by Henry William Ripley between 1866 and 1881. It accommodated about 1000 people.

Only a few of the work-force were able to buy their own houses, so Ripley refunded their money and the estate was managed by trustees.

The village has gone and the site has been built over

Rippon BrothersRef R1321
Rippon Brothers – was Britain's oldest coachbuilders, having built carriages for Queen Elizabeth I and Mary Queen of Scots.

From 1870, they were based was in Huddersfield, and were also agents for Rolls Royce, having built the first bodywork for that car.

On the death of Colonel Rippon, the business was taken over by Appleyards of Leeds, to became Appleyard Rippon.

In March 1919, William Edward Rippon and Joseph Rippon, of Huddersfield, bought Toothill Hall, Rastrick, after the death of Clement Blackburn. They wanted Bradley Wood for shooting.

They sold the house in October 1919

RippondenRef R290
A race-horse owned by Henry Savile. It won several races in the late 19th century. The horse was the sire of Playfair, another winner of the Liverpool Grand National Steeplechase.

A newspaper of 1888 tells the story of an occasion on which

Baron Rothschild's mare Hannah met Ripponden at Ascot, Hannah just winning by a head. After the race, Savile had sent Ripponden home when Rothschild told him
"From what I saw, I think your horse will win the Royal Hunt Cup"

Savile pondered on this and ordered the horse to be brought back. The train on which Ripponden was due to travel was late and on the point of departure when Savile's messenger arrived and took the horse's box off the train. Ripponden arrived just in time to win the Royal Hunt Cup

RippondenRef R50
District of Calderdale south of Sowerby Bridge.

See Population and Calder Registration District

Ripponden & Barkisland Railway StationRef R1023
On 1st January 1892, Ripponden Railway Station was renamed Ripponden & Barkisland Station

Ripponden & District MotorsRef R53
Aka Ripponden & District Motor Services. With the greater mechanical expertise which followed World War I, motor transport began to have the advantage over rail, canal and water transport in the 1920s.

Ripponden & District Motors was established by John Hirst in 1921. They were at Commercial Garage, Oldham Road, Ripponden.

They originally ran a number of single-decker buses between Rishworth and Halifax and Elland.

The business expanded into longer routes and haulage.

Their cream and navy blue vehicles were a familiar sight rushing around the district.

The business changed its name to Ripponden Carriers.

In 1999, a management buyout took control of the busines.

The business went into liquidation in 2005

See Besom Brush, Ripponden, John Hirst & Company, Holly Crescent, Ripponden and Hugh Weightman

Ripponden & District Spinning Company LimitedRef R1120
Established in 1861.

Built Ripponden Wood Mill.

The Company went into liquidation at the time of the Cotton Famine [1862]

Ripponden Brass BandRef R324
Formed in 1???.

In 2006, the band merged with Huddersfield Brass Band to form Huddersfield & Ripponden Brass

Ripponden bridgeRef R417
Elland Road. This was the Elland Turnpike Bridge over the Ryburn. Built in 1772. It was widened and altered in the mid 19th century

Ripponden British LegionRef R1524
On 1st October 1927, new headquarters were opened

Ripponden Business ParkRef R1322

Ripponden CarriersRef R1121
Ripponden & District Motors provided bus and coach services in the area.

In 19??, the name was changed to Ripponden Carriers

Ripponden Cattle MarketRef R1642
This was held on the first Tuesday in April on the patch of land in front of the Golden Lion

Ripponden Central HallRef R408
Built 1903. It housed Ripponden Liberal Club

Ripponden charityRef R443

Ripponden Commercial Company LimitedRef R1095
A co-operative of cotton spinners, doublers and warp makers set up in 1855. It was registered on 12th November 1856.

There were 170 shareholders – chiefly operatives – holding 300 shares at £10 per share.

Their mill at Ripponden was opened on 3rd January 1857.

They were at Dyson Lane Mill, Rishworth [1905].

In 1907,

were recorded as

having done so much for the Company. It was suggested that their portraits might be hung in the board room.

The Company is recorded as being in Voluntary Liquidation (members)  in February 1961. The Final Meeting return was registered on 1st October 1975.

See Benjamin Berry, Joseph Booth, Ely Bottomley, Samuel Bottomley, Tom Hallowell, Arthur Fielding Longbottom, Thomas Henry Longbottom, Samuel Moores, Levi Sykes and Thomas Wolstenholme

Ripponden Commercial Cotton Spinning Company LimitedRef R1196
Recorded in 1861

Ripponden Conservative ClubRef R1105
Halifax Road. Designed by C. F. L. Horsfall. Opened on 16th April 1900. Built at a cost of £3,500.

Officers at the Club have included

See Ripponden Conservative Club Memorial

Ripponden constablesRef R1421
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Ripponden

Ripponden Co-operative Society LimitedRef R1118
On 10th November 1832, a meeting was held at the Holroyd Arms at which it was resolved to form a Co-operative Society to
provide wholesome food at wholesale prices and mutual protection against poverty

On 24th November 1832, 24 members paid their subscriptions of 1/- and the Society was formed.


This was 12 years before the Rochdale Pioneers opened their shop at Toad Lane, Rochdale, on 11th August 1844
 

The first premises were at 56 Oldham Road, Ripponden.

Subsequent stores were opened at

In June 2009, Ripponden Parish Council erected a blue plaque to commemorate the Society.

See Benjamin Berry, Whiteley Gee, James Holroyd and Joshua Howarth

Ripponden Cotton Spinning Company LimitedRef R1412
Recorded in 1874, when Samuel Bottomley was Manager

Ripponden District Cotton Spinning Company LimitedRef R1197
Recorded in 1861

Ripponden Female SocietyRef R1111
Also known as the Old Women's Burial Club. A friendly society recorded 1818-1858.

They met at The Queen Hotel, Ripponden [1849]

Ripponden Gas SuppliesRef R1640
In 1844, Small Lees Mill, Ripponden was being lit by a gas plant at the Mill.

Gas street lighting began in Ripponden around 1882

Ripponden Liberal ClubRef R1107
Recorded in 1917, when Frederick Mason was secretary

See Central Hall, Ripponden

Ripponden LibraryRef R349
Brig Royd, Halifax Road, Ripponden.

A new Ripponden County Library opened in December 1964

Ripponden Old BridgeRef R357
Aka Waterloo Bridge. A single-arch bridge over the Ryburn at Ripponden.

There was probably a ford here before the first bridge was built.

A bridge is mentioned in 1313. A stone bridge is mentioned in 1533 when William Firth bequeathed 7/6d

for the building of a stone bridge

A new bridge was built around 1752 for the new turnpike road. It is about 6 ft wide and 30 ft above the river.

In 1802, there was a the Ripponden Packhorse Bridge Dispute over the ownership of the bridge.

Around 1885, a man fell over the parapet and drowned, after which iron rails were erected.

The stocks were here for a time until they were removed in 1887.

It was listed in October 1966.

It was restored and completely rebuilt in 1973.

See Cob Clough, Mill Fold, Old Bridge Inn and St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

Ripponden Overseers of the PoorRef R295
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Ripponden

Ripponden Packhorse Bridge DisputeRef R1742
In 1802, there was a dispute over the ownership of Ripponden Old Bridge.

John Whitley claimed that Ralph Hirstwood, for whom Whitley was the executor, had paid £10 for the bridge, and Whitley and a group of men attempted to demolish the bridge.

Rev Robert Webster took up the matter on behalf of the residents of Ripponden, raised £10 by subscription and repaid the claimants, and the bridge was bought back and became public property

Ripponden Parish Community CentreRef R263
Old Bank. 18th century building erected by Richard Jackson. It had been bequeathed to the church

Ripponden Parish CouncilRef R47
The Parish council has 4 wards and 12 seats.

Ripponden PicturedromeRef R1413
Recorded in 1914, when H. G. Grahame was sole lessee and manager. They had a children's matinee every Saturday [at 2:30].

Recorded in 1917, when Thomas Sager was lessee and manager

Ripponden Police StationRef R1103
Ripponden did not have a central police station, but had two police stations at the edges of the village:

  • at Kebroyd, on Coronation Terrace / Halifax Road
  • at Gig Mill, on the Rochdale Road

Around 1940, the West Riding Constabulary Police Station was in the White Swan, Ripponden

Ripponden Post OfficeRef R1104
Oldham Road.

In 1844, Joshua Rouse corresponded about the need for a Post Office in Ripponden.

Around 1845, Rachel Hoyle was postmistress at the Post Office which was established at the Golden Lion, Ripponden.

In 1861, Joshua Riley was the receiver.

In the 1860s, the post office was next to the Queen Hotel, Ripponden and Miss Bradley, the daughter of John Bradley, landlord of the hotel, was the first postmistress of Ripponden. The premises were later occupied by Thomas Whiteley.

The later post office is now 2 private houses.

The present post office is in Halifax Road

Ripponden Railway StationRef R1024
Opened in 1878.

On 1st January 1892, it was renamed Ripponden & Barkisland Station.

Closed on 8th July 1929

See Motor Train, Ryburn Valley Branch Line and Station Road, Ripponden

Ripponden Reading RoomRef R1643
This was established over the stables in an extension built on to the Golden Lion, Ripponden

Ripponden rush-bearingRef R281
Rush-bearing ceremony which was revived on 24th August 1925 by the Rev E. H. Smith.

It was held on 24th August, and St Bartholomew's Church was decorated with rushes.

See Sowerby Bridge rush-bearing

Ripponden stocksRef R1641
The stocks stood on Halifax Road near the junction with Elland Road, and opposite the Golden Lion.

They were moved to the end of the packhorse bridge by the Old Bridge Inn.

They were removed (and lost) in 1887

Ripponden Technical InstituteRef R1644
Started in 1891 in a classroom at Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden

Ripponden Toll HouseRef R90
Aka Ripponden Bar. Built in the 1770s on the corner of Halifax Road and Elland Road, this was a toll gate for the Rochdale to Halifax & Elland Turnpike.

In 1873, when the tolls were abolished, Mitchell & Son bought the property.

George Mitchell built shops on the site and rebuilt the original toll house (or a replica?) on top. It was popularly known as the Crystal Palace

Ripponden Urban District CouncilRef R54
Formed in 1937 by an amalgamation of Ripponden, Soyland, Barkisland, and Rishworth. The first council meeting was held on 8th April 1937.

See Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale, Urban District Council and Rev Wilfrid Harold Waring

Ripponden WoodRef R1512

Ripponden Working Men's Club & InstituteRef R1202
Recorded in 1917, when J. Riley was secretary.

See Ripponden Working Men's Club Memorial

Ripponden Zion Congregational Mutual Improvement SocietyRef R1178
Recorded in 1928 at Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden.

See Mutual Improvement Societies

RishworthRef R55
District of Calderdale south of Ripponden.

See Population, Parish statistics and Slitheroe Bridge, Rishworth

The Rishworth familyRef R973
See Coley Hall, Robert de Rishworth, Rookes Hall, Norwood Green and Savile family

Rishworth, AgnesRef R585
[1476-1542] Born at Coley Hall. Daughter of John Rishworth.

She married John Waterhouse

Rishworth, AlexanderRef R24
[15??-1???] JP.

Son of John Rishworth.

He married Grace Townley.


Grace was the daughter of Lawrence Townley
 

Children:

  1. John

Rishworth, AlexanderRef R310
[15??-15??] JP.

Son of John Rishworth.

Of Heath, Wakefield.

He married Beatrice Tempest.


Beatrice was the daughter of Nicholas Tempest of Tong
 

Children:

  1. Richard
  2. John
  3. Lawrence
  4. Cecilie

He sold reversion of lands in Shelf and Great Horton to his brothers John and Robert, and he sold reversion in Coley Hall to Richard Sunderland [1578].

He died in, or before, 1591

Rishworth & Ryburn Valley Brass BandRef R812
Formed in 1???.

In 1906, the band gained 3rd place in the Junior Cup at the Crystal Palace, London.

Disbanded in 1???

Rishworth Board of GuardiansRef R500
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Rishworth township have included

  • William Mellor, Rishworth [nominated 1869]
  • Richard Hartley, Rishworth [nominated 1869]

Rishworth Board of HealthRef R638
Established in 18??

Rishworth Branch LineRef R1516
See Ryburn Valley branch line

Rishworth constablesRef R1399
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Rishworth

Rishworth Constitutional ClubRef R766
Recorded in 1918, when John Hoyle Wheelwright had been President

Rishworth Cricket ClubRef R1545

Rishworth-cum-NorlandRef R214
Joint township which comprised Rishworth and Norland.

See Manor of Rishworth-cum-Norland

Rishworth-cum-Norland, Manor ofRef R371
See Manor of Norland, Manor of Rishworth and Rishworth-cum-Norland

Rishworth DrainRef R9020
Water course in Rishworth Moor

Rishworth, Elias deRef R412
[11??-12??] He married Eve.


Eve was the daughter of
John son of Essolf de Holdsworth
 

An undated deed from the late 12th century records


Gift by John son of Assolf [Essolf] de Holdsworth to Elias de Rishworth and his heirs by Eve, the grantor's daughter, of a moiety of all his land in the territory of Holdsworth (etc) paying 12d yearly for all service, saving the service of earl de Warenne. John would not alienate the remainder of his land from Elias or his heirs by Eve; if Elias had no heirs by Eve and survived, he should have for life the moiety of John's land given him originally, with reversion after his death to John or his heirs or assigns.

EYC8 no.148 citing MS Dodsworth viii, f.200 from original in St Mary's Tower, York

 

Rishworth Football ClubRef R1544

Rishworth HallRef R56
Henry de Rishworth – or Risseworth – Lord of the Manor of Rishworth, is mentioned in the 13th century. On his death, the manor passed to his daughters, one of whom married into the Savile family. The owner, John Savile, was involved in the Elland Feud

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The present hall dates from the 18th century.

See Rishworth Lodge

Rishworth Hall WoodRef R1442
Much of the wooded area was lost when Ryburn Reservoir was constructed.

See Stansfield Hey, Ripponden

Rishworth, HenryRef R1337
[1???-1???] Of Coley Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Margaret who married Thomas Savile

Rishworth, Henry deRef R761
[12??-13??] Of Rishworth.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Margaret who married Sir John Savile
  2. Ellen who married Thomas de Langfeld
  3. Isabel who married John de Insula


Henry died without male issue. It has long been said that he had three daughters, who were his co-heirs. These daughters, and their given husbands, have not been confirmed from primary evidence, but it does seem probable that they were as shown here
 

It can be confirmed that lands in Rishworth came into the hands of the Savile family from about this time

Rishworth, Henry deRef R726
[12??-1307] Of Coley.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Robert

Rishworth, Henry deRef R730
[13??-14??] Of Coley.

Son of Nicholas de Rishworth.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Henry

Rishworth, Henry deRef R728
[13??-1417] Merchant of Hipperholme.

Son of Robert de Rishworth

Rishworth, Henry deRef R731
[14??-14??] Son of Henry de Rishworth.

Around 1452, he married Elena.

Children:

  1. Nicholas

Rishworth, JohnRef R255
[1???-14??] Of Coley.

Son of John de Rishworth.

He married Unknown, a daughter of John Lacy of Cromwellbottom.

Children:

  1. John

He died before 1478

Rishworth, JohnRef R233
[1450-1533] Born in Northumberland.

Son of John Rishworth.

In 1488, he settled lands in Horton, Manningham and Haworth on his son.

He married Lady Janet Keith [1449-1483] from Kincardineshire, Scotland.

Children:

  1. Alexander
  2. Agnes

Rishworth, JohnRef R294
[1502-1575] Of Coley Hall.

Son of Alexander Rishworth.

He leased Coley Hall from his grandfather, John, and came into full possession of the estate in 1537.

In 1529, he married Agnes Parker.


Agnes was the daughter of Thomas Parker of Foulridge near Colne
 

Children:

  1. Alexander
  2. John of East Riddlesden Hall
  3. Robert of East Riddlesden Hall
  4. Thomas
  5. Joan who married (1) Bernard Hertiley and (2) [1554] Lawrence Whittaker
  6. Elizabeth who married John Gascoigne from Burnley
  7. Alice who married (1) Henry Bannister and (2) Bernard Parker
  8. Ann [1519-1564] who married Richard Sunderland
  9. Luce

He spent most of his time at Stanroyde Ha11, near Colne, which he had acquired through his marriage.

His sons John and Robert lived at East Riddlesden Hall and sold it to James Murgatroyd in 1631

Rishworth, JohnRef R732
[16??-16??] Blacksmith of Northowram.

In 1649, he leased Chapel House Farm, Coley

at an annual rent of 8 guineas and 2 fat capons to be delivered at the Feast of St Thomas the Apostle

Rishworth, John deRef R247
[13??-14??] Of Coley.

He married Joyce Neville.


Joyce was the daughter of Sir Robert Neville of Liversedge
 

Children:

  1. John

Rishworth LodgeRef R308
Pike End Road, Rishworth. Late 19th century shooting lodge in Gothic style designed by W. H. Crossland for Henry Savile.

It stands in front of Rishworth Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

It became a restaurant known as The Minster [2010] and private apartments. It is just apartments [January 2012]

Rishworth, Manor ofRef R367
The manor was held by the Earls of Warren. It subsequently passed to the Rishworth family, Sir John Ealand, and the Savile family.

Lord George Halifax Lumley-Savile auctioned off the title of Lord of the Manor in the 1990s.

In October 2010, the title and Brooklands Manor, Ripponden was for sale at a price of £695,000.

See Manor of Rishworth-cum-Norland

Rishworth MoorRef R101
Moorland above Rishworth. Neolithic arrow-heads, axes and other artefacts have been found here.

See Green Withens Reservoir, Moss Moor, Rishworth, Rishworth Drain and White Hill, Rishworth

Rishworth, Nicholas deRef R729
[13??-13??] Son of Robert de Rishworth.

He married Helen.

Children:

  1. Henry

In 1371, Henry de Rishworth granted him a tenement called Norwode

Rishworth Overseers of the PoorRef R422
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Rishworth

Rishworth PalaceRef R1464
The name for Rishworth Mills when these had been converted to apartments

Rishworth Particular Baptist Mutual Improvement SocietyRef R1646
Established in 1853 for members of Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel

Rishworth pigsRef R1647
A popular local name for the Motor Trains which ran on the Ryburn Valley branch line

Rishworth PinfoldRef R532
The pinfold stood at the junction of New Road, Rishworth and the Oldham Road.

Rishworth War Memorial now stands in a small garden on the site

Rishworth Prosecution SocietyRef R1115
Prosecution society recorded in 1766.

See Barkisland, Soyland & Rishworth Prosecution Society

Rishworth Railway StationRef R1026
Slitheroe Bridge, Rishworth. The Ryburn Valley branch line passed through the Scar Head Tunnel to reach the station. On 5th August 1878, the Rishworth branch line opened.

It reach Rishworth (Slitheroe Bridge) on 1st March 1881.

Plans were abandoned to extend the line to Littleborough by tunnelling beneath Blackstone Edge.

The station closed to passengers on 6th July 1929, but goods trains ran until March 1952 when Rishworth station closed.

In 1958, the line was closed. The rubble of the mound that was the platform is still visible amongst the overgrown vegetation.

See Motor Train and Rishworth Trestle Bridge

Rishworth, Robert deRef R727
[1290-1345] Son of Henry de Rishworth.

He married Christine, sister from Henry de Coldley from Coley.

Children:

  1. Henry
  2. Nicholas

Rishworth School BathsRef R1020
Aka the Fred Bentley Bath after Fred Bentley, the chairman of the school governors.

Opened in the Wheelwright's Mill building at Rishworth School in 1964.

The baths are still in use

Rishworth Subscription BandRef R1755

Rishworth Surveyor of the HighwaysRef R6720
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Rishworth included:

Rishworth Toll HouseRef R142
Toll house for the Oldham turnpike at Slitheroe Bridge, Rishworth

Rishworth Trestle BridgeRef R1426
A bridge across the Ryburn was built in 1880 to allow traffic from the local mills and factories to get to Rishworth Railway Station from the Oldham Road at Slitheroe Bridge.

In the photograph of Slitheroe Bridge, the Trestle Bridge would have been off the photograph, immediately to the right.

See Slitheroe Paper Mill

Rishworth Urban District CouncilRef R827
See Royal Hotel, Rishworth, Walshaws and Henry Whiteley

Risley, ThomasRef R222
[1???-18??] Manchester-based architect who worked on Castle Carr and Manor Heath Mansion

Ritchie, Arthur JamesRef R399
[1895-1916] Son of Alice Elizabeth Osborn and David William Leone Ritchie.

Born in Liverpool.

He was a pawnbroker's assistant [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with C Company Machine Gun Corps (Heavy Branch).

He died 14th November 1916 (aged 21).

He was buried at Abbeville Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I F 17].

He is remembered on Norland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint George's Church, Sowerby

Ritchie, David William LeoneRef R464
[1859-1897] MD.

On 17th August 1891, he married Alice Elizabeth Osborn at St Jude's Church, Hunslet.

Children:

  1. Arthur James

The family lived at 2 Leathley Street, Hunslet [1897].

David William died in Hunslet [15th September 1897].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,623 19/5d.

Administration was granted to to his widow Alice Elizabeth.

After his death, Alice Elizabeth led a colourful life, and had further children and partners

Ritchie, Rev JamesRef R789
[17??-1763] Or Richie. MD. Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1753-1763].

He died at Shaw Booth [15th October 1763].

He was buried at Moor End Congregational Church, Pellon

The Ritz, BrighouseRef R1067
The Ritz Cinema was the first purpose-built cinema in Brighouse.

In February 2017, the owners of the Ritz Hotel in London demanded that the ballroom change its name

The Ritz Cinema, Lee MountRef R342
Formerly the Pioneer Cinema. It had a capacity of 633. Opened in 19??.

Closed after being destroyed by fire in February 1963

Rive Rocks, TodmordenRef R75
Todmorden Golf Club was established here. In 1906, a farmhouses dated 1764 was converted into the club house

River Cottage, Hebden BridgeRef R1339
19th century cottages on the banks of Hebden Water.

It is now a gift shop [2008].

The Wavy Steps are nearby

River crossings: CalderRef R646
Bridges over the Calder have always been important. The major ones are

See Bridges

River crossings: HebbleRef R613
Bridges over the Hebble have always been important. The major ones are

See Bridges

River crossings: RyburnRef R645
Bridges over the Ryburn have always been important. The major ones are

See Bridges

River Plate Fresh Meat CompanyRef R1029
Butchers at Southgate, Elland [1905]

Riverdale, LordRef R814
[19??-19??] He was a director of the Halifax Building Society [1953]

RiversRef R1125
See Aire, Calder, Hebble and Ryburn

Riverside House, EllandRef R610
The house for Riverside Mills, Elland. Albert Bailey and his family lived here [1911] when they rented the Mill. The house was demolished in 191? to expand the Mill

Riverside Recreational Park, EllandRef R604
On the banks of the Calder near Elland Bridge

Riverside, TodmordenRef R833
House on Burnley Road.

Owners and tenants have included

This and Cross Brook, Todmorden were adjoining properties

Rix, Rev A. H.Ref R439
[18??-19??] MA.

Vicar of Shelf [1917]

R.M.HRef R764
On 9th September 1871, an otherwise anonymous benefactor with the initials R. M. H. sent donations to Halifax Infirmary and other institutions amounting to £1,100

Roach, JamesRef R641
[1884-1915] Son of Michael Roach.

Born in Halifax.

He was an out porter (railway) [1911] / a goods checker with the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company.

In [Q3] 1915, he married Sarah H. Noble in Halifax.

They lived at 4 Mary's Court, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 7th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was killed in action [15th December 1915].

He was buried at La Brique Military Cemetery No.2, Belgium [Grave Ref I N 24]

Roach, John EdwardRef R531
[1896-1918] Son of Mary E. & John Roach of Otley Road, Bradford.

Born in Bradford [27th March 1896].

He was a member of St Walburga's Catholic Church, Luddendenfoot.

He lived at Halifax Lane, Luddenden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [6th April 1918].

He was buried at Étaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref XXXIII E 30A].

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial

Roach, MichaelRef R529
[18??-1914] He lived at 32 Chapel Street, Luddenden.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 5th Battalion London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade).

He died 18th December 1914.

He was buried at Rifle House Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IV F 8].

He is remembered on Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial

Roach, MichaelRef R660
[1855-1906] Born in Ireland.

He was a worsted carpet sizer [1891].

In [Q4] 1874, he married Mary Ann Jenkinson [1857-1912] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was born in Halifax / Bradford
 

Children:

  1. John W. [b 1875] who was an out porter (railway) [1900]
  2. Richard [b 1878] who was an iron moulder labourer [1901]
  3. Mary J. [b 1881]
  4. James
  5. Thomas [b 1889] who was an engineer fitter's labourer [1911]

The family lived at York Street North, Northowram [1891]; 11 Chapel Fold, Halifax [1901]; 1 Braithwaite's Court, Halifax [1911]

Roades, JamesRef R510
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1743]

RoadsideRef R489
Area of Rishworth.

See Hopkinson School, Rishworth Baptist Church and Eli Whiteley

Rob Dene Farm, ShelfRef R733
Aka Middle Ox Heys Farm, Shelf

Rob Royd, StainlandRef R6380
Beestonley Lane. Mid 18th century farm

Robbers' Cave, ShelfRef R724
Berry Bottoms. A small community near Manorley Lane. A house here is dated EB 1688 for Edward Brooksbank.

In 1902, the houses were destroyed by fire

Robden, MrRef R1535
[18??-19??] A Todmorden jeweller.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Maggie [1???-1912]
  2. son

On Christmas Day, 1912, Maggie kissed her brother under the mistletoe and ran away. Her brother playfully pointed a pistol at her, not knowing that it was loaded. He pulled the trigger and the bullet penetrated her skull, killing her

Roberson, Rev HammondRef R651
[1757-1841] A native of Cawston, Norfolk.

Son of Henry Roberson.

On 22nd December 1787, he married Phoebe Ashworth [17??-18??] at Batley.

He was educated at Magdalene College Cambridge [1775] / Curate at Dewsbury [1779].

He enjoyed breaking-in difficult horses, but opposed bull-baiting.

He was an enthusiastic supporter of the Sunday School movement.

He opened a private school for boys at Squirrel Hall, Liversedge [1783], which he transferred to Heald's Hall, Liversedge [1795]. This made him very wealthy.

He was Vicar at Hartshead [1795-1803].

In 1816, after the death of his wife, he built Christ Church, Liversedge Parish Church, at a personal cost of £7000.

He was incumbent until 1841. This put him into financial difficulties.

When he was appointed Vicar of Liversedge, he had no money to build a vicarage and one was subsequently built by public subscription.

He laid down strict rules about the siting and lettering on graves in the churchyard. Any offending stones were uprooted and thrown out.

On 12th March 1812, he sent a letter to Joseph Radcliffe in which he wrote that he wished the Luddites would now attack as

I think we should give a good account of them

He interviewed Samuel Hartley and John Booth who were injured in the attack on William Cartwright's mill at Rawfolds.

There was a secret passage from the crypt of the church to nearby Healds Hall which might be used by him and his family if they were ever surrounded by angry Luddites.

He was a model for the character of Rev Matthewson Helstone in Charlotte Brontë's novel Shirley.

He was buried at Liversedge

Robert, Dr CrowtherRef R5390
[17??-18??] Surgeon in Elland [1811].

On 10th August 1811, he married Miss Lambert in Knaresborough


His wife was the only daughter of Mr Lambert, a common brewer of Knaresborough
 

Roberts...Ref R346
The entries for people & families with the surname Roberts are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Roberts & HansonRef R1580
Halifax worsted spinners.

Partners included David Roberts and William James Hanson.

The business was declared bankrupt on 10th December 1857

Roberts & Hirst LimitedRef R1403
Cote Hill, Halifax. Bobbin manufacturer founded in 1798 by the Hirst family.

In 1893, G. H. Roberts and John E. Hirst went into partnership.

In 1894, the Cote Hill works were bought from Mr Munday.

The limited company was formed in 1920.

The business – the last bobbin manufacturers in West Yorkshire – closed in 1981. In the 1980s/90s, the buildings were converted to private dwellings.

The business is described in the book entitled Bones of a Business

Roberts's: Samuel Roberts & SonRef R1027
Elland carter, coal, coke and haulage business established in 1898

Roberts, Son & HinchliffeRef R1626
Solicitors in Brighouse. Partners included Charles Hinchliffe.

They were above Lloyds Bank in Baines Row / Huddersfield Road [1980s].

See George Furniss, Roberts & Company

Roberts's: Victor Roberts LimitedRef R111
Manufacturers of uniforms.

They were at Hope Hall Mills, Halifax [1914].

They were taken over by William L. Pawson & Son

Robertshaw...Ref R63
The entries for people & families with the surname Robertshaw are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Robertshaw's: Abraham Robertshaw & SonsRef R1119
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Mytholmroyd.

(Possibly) established by Abraham Robertshaw.

They were at Bridge Mill, Hebden Bridge, and moved to Calder Mill, Hebden Bridge [about 1888] where they did fustian weaving.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1899.

A. Robertshaw & Sons are recorded as cotton spinners and manufacturers at Westfield Mills, Mytholmroyd [1905].

See Robertshaw Road, Hebden Bridge

Robertshaw & CompanyRef R1075
Owned Co-op Mill, Hebden Bridge

Robertshaw, Crabtree, Sugden & MurgatroydRef R411
Commission woolcombers at Halifax.

Partners included J. Robertshaw, J. Robertshaw, R. Crabtree, J. Sugden and B. Murgatroyd.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1856

Robertshaw's: F. S. Robertshaw & SonRef R1326
Glass bottle makers at Sowerby Bridge [1910]

Robertshaw, HeptonstallRef R798
Property in Stone Slack.

Recorded in 1439, when John of Grenewodde held lands and tenements called Roberd Shaghe (Robert Shaw) and paid yearly rent of 17d.

It appears to have remained in Greenwood hands for about 300 years, and no person called Robertshaw is known to have owned it.

The name is derived from shaw and means the wood of Robert; Robert was a popular Norman name.

It is subsequently mentioned in accounts of the Heptonstall Surveyor of Highways [late 1700s].

A barn here was used for Baptist worship [between 1717-1772].

In the will of Henry Greenwood [1747], Robertshaw passes to William Greenwood who took out a mortgage [1766].

William's will [1790] leaves the property to Michael Heaton.

The property still exists as a farm called Robertshaw.

The surname Robertshaw originated here

Robertshaw NaylorRef R473
Printers at 10 Ploughcroft Lane, Boothtown, Halifax [1927]

Robertshaw's: Thomas Robertshaw & SonsRef R1411
Worsted spinners at Ovenden [1874]

Robertson, Dr AndrewRef R1154
[1863-1927] MA, MB, CM.

Physician and surgeon. He was at 5 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905].

In 1892, he married Margaret Emily Doxford [1866-19??] from Durham, at Sunderland.

He lived at 12 Park Road, Halifax [1911]

Robertson, CharlieRef R666
[1891-1917] Illegitimate son of Hannah Elizabeth Robertson.


Hannah was born in Scotland, the daughter of
William Robertson.

In 1897, she married John Holden

 

Charlie was born in Halifax [Q2 1891].

He was brought up with his Holden half-siblings, and was living with his mother & stepfather [1901, 1911]

He was a member of Tuel Lane United Methodist Brotherhood / a member of Ancient Order of Foresters / a horse driver [1911] / employed by Blackburn Brothers, dyers, Sowerby Bridge.

He lived with his mother at 15 Exeter Street, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted [February 1915], and served as a Sergeant with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France in January 1917.

He was killed in action at Bullecourt [3rd May 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [9th March 1918].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], and on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, Warley

Robertson, Mrs FarquharRef R643

Robertson, Hugh John Trafford DavidRef R664
[1920-1944] Son of Minnie & Hugh Campbell Robertson OBE MC, of Northwood, Middlesex.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

During World War II, he served as a Lieutenant with the 7th Battalion Seaforth Highlanders.

He died 11th July 1944 (aged 24).

He was buried at Ryes War Cemetery, Bazenville, France [Grave Ref VI E 2].

He is remembered on Heath Grammar School Memorial Gates

Robertson, Ian HoldsworthRef R886
[1922-1943] Son of Florence Gwendoline Holdsworth and John McLennan Robertson. He was missing presumed killed on active service when pilot of Fairey Swordfish torpedo plane, on 26th June 1943

Robertson, RevRef R828
[19??-19??] He was at Lezayre Parish Church, near Ramsey in the Isle of Man before becoming Vicar of St George's Church, Sowerby [1959-1960]. He stayed about 2 years and then returned to Lezayre Church

Robertson, WilliamRef R271
[1843-1???] Born in Scotland.

He was a mason [1891].

He married Unknown.


 

Children:

  1. John [b 1871] who was a mason [1891]
  2. Hannah [b 1877] who married [1897] John Holden
  3. George [b 1883]

The family lived at

  • Cote Hill, Warley [1891]

William was a widower by 1891.

Living with the widowed William [in 1891] was daughter Hannah's son Charlie Robertson [b 1891]; father unknown

Robeson, PaulRef R134
[1898-1976] Internationally-known black American singer and actor. He performed at the Victoria Hall at a concert organised by the local YMCA on 19th March 1939. He was an ardent advocate of black rights, and his passport was withdrawn in 1950 after a highly public visit to Russia. His last years were spent in England

Robey, JosephRef R578
[1871-1950] Born in Lincoln

He was a shoeing smith [1901] / a farrier [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant Major with the Royal Field Artillery.

He was discharged in 1918.

In 1894, he married Jane Elizabeth Wood [1871-1957] in Wetherby.


Jane Elizabeth was born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Elijah
  2. Joseph
  3. Emma [b 1900]
  4. William [b 1905]
  5. Henry [b 1909]

The family lived at

  • Within Fields, Southowram [1901]
  • 10 Within Fields, Southowram [1911, 1918]

Robey, JosephRef R383
[1896-1918] Son of Joseph Robey.

Born in Menston, Leeds.

He was a member of St Anne's Church, Southowram / an oiler (worsted mill) [1911] / an apprentice butcher with Magson's of Queen's Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [19th April 1915], and served as a Corporal with the 5th Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He went to France [3rd September 1915].

He was twice wounded and also buried by a shell.

He died of pneumonia as a POW [15th November 1918] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [23rd November 1918].

He was buried at Caudry British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I D 13].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Halifax Butchers' Association, on Southowram War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram

Robey, Thomas ElijahRef R852
[1894-1971] Son of Joseph Robey.

Born in Guiseley [5th September 1894].

In [Q3] 1917, he married Annie Noble [1895-1944] in Halifax.

He was an under-clerk (loco store room) [1911].

They lived in Brighouse [1939].

Annie died 18th April 1944 (aged 49).

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-E39] with her aunt Helen Carter [1855-27th December 1917] of Thorp Arch.

Thomas died in Halifax [Q4 1971].

His burial place is not known

Robey, Thomas G.Ref R1696
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1857, when he was a Methodist minister in Halifax (South) 

Robin Close, SouthowramRef R25
A part of the Shibden Hall estate. Samuel Freeman was a tenant here in the time of Anne Lister

Robin Cross Hall, TodmordenRef R378
Appears on old maps near Stump Cross

Robin Cross, Mere CloughRef R382
See Stump Cross, Mere Clough

Robin Hood's Bed, Blackstone EdgeRef R253
A natural rocky outcrop

Robin Hood's Grave, Kirklees ParkRef R12
Robin Hood is said to have died at the Gatehouse of Kirklees Nunnery around 1247, and to be buried on the Kirklees Estate.

See Sir John Armytage, Cat i' th' well, Luddenden Dean, Clifton mosaic and Nuns' Grave

Robin Hood's Penny Stone, WainstallsRef R60
A large natural boulder around 6 ft in diameter.

It was described by Watson and has been said to be the site of a meeting place for Robin Hood.

Crabtree described a stone circle with a large boulder – the Penny Stone – in the centre.

This may have been a plague stone.

Stone Farm is possibly named for the stone

Robin Hood Rocks, Cragg ValeRef R362
Local beauty spot

Robin Hood's Scar, SouthowramRef R6280
A rocky outcrop at Elland Park Wood

Robin Wood, TodmordenRef R316

Robins, EllisRef R570
[1895-1918] Son of Mary & John Robins of Ridgeway, Sheffield.

Born in Sheffield.

In 1911, he was a cotton worker & living with his uncle Simeon Sykes at Rishworth.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action in France / Flanders [22nd July 1918] (aged 22).

He is remembered on the Soissons Memorial, France, on the Memorial at Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden, on Barkisland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Barkisland

Robins, Harry GranvilleRef R246
[1882-1914] Born in Mill Bank.

In 1908, he married Leah Shackleton [1884-1931] in Burnley.

They lived at 63 Travis Street, Burnley.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He died 16th November 1914 (aged 32).

He was buried at Sanctuary Wood Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V C 32].

Robins, Rev S. J.Ref R938
[18??-19??] Minister at Birchcliffe Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1899-1905]

Robinson...Ref R7
The entries for people & families with the surname Robinson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Robinson's: Abraham Robinson & SonsRef R1070
Recorded in 1861 & 1880 as cotton manufacturers of Bankfoot Mill, Hebden Bridge and Salem Mills, Heptonstall.

Partners included Abraham Robinson and Thomas Robinson.

In July 1880, the partnership was declared bankrupt with assets of £3,376 5/8d and debts of £13,767 15/7d

Robinson & CullenRef R97
Millwrights at Brighouse.

Partners included A. Robinson and T. Cullen.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1871

Robinson & SchofieldRef R592
Joiners at Brighouse.

Partners included J. Robinson and J. Schofield.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1882

Robinson & WadeRef R1045
Fancy and general drapers, milliners, dress and mantle makers established in 1883 at 2-4 Commercial Street, Halifax. Partners included Mr Robinson and Mr Wade

Robinson & WadeRef R1066
Pottery partnership James Robinson and W. Wade at Small Clews Pottery, Bradshaw.

It has been recorded that Robinson married (2) Rachael Catherall, and after his death, this Rachel carried on as partner in Robinson & Wade, but this is unconfirmed

Robinson & WhiteleyRef R737
Recorded around 1915, when they were at Kiln End Mills, Elland

Robinson BrothersRef R1101
Slaters and plasterers at Sowerby Bridge Mill [1905]

Robinson BrothersRef R1130
Flock manufacturers and cask dealers at 18 Charles Street / The Square, Halifax [1905]

Robinson Brothers Cork Growers LimitedRef R1069
Cork cutters, processors and growers at Manchester, Halifax, & Portalegre in Portugal.

Established by brothers George, John and William Robinson.

See Huldine V. Beamish, W. Newton Dawson and Halifax & District Mineral Water Manufacturers Association Limited

Robinson's: Craven Robinson & SonsRef R1501
Established by Craven Robinson. He established business as builder and contractor at Dyson Road, Halifax [1911]. They had works and a yard at Queens Road, Halifax

Robinson's: G. Robinson & CompanyRef R1278
Spring mattress manufacturer at Walsden established by George Robinson.

In December 1893, the company was declared bankrupt

Robinson Holme, Hebden BridgeRef R385
Open land where circuses and other entertainments were held

Robinson's: J. G. RobinsonRef R1080
Stone quarrying company. They were at Elland [1800] and Ainley Mine, Elland [1896] – when W. Robinson was Manager

Robinson's: James Robinson & CompanyRef R1068
Pottery established by James Robinson at Small Clews Pottery

Robinson's: Jesse Robinson & Son LimitedRef R1054
Worsted manufacturers established by Jesse Robinson at Royal Mills, Halifax and Blackwood Mill, Halifax.

The business continued until 196?.

See John Robinson and John Edward Robinson

Robinson, Laxton & CompanyRef R1038
Brighouse textile printers established by the family of William Robinson and Frederick Laxton.

In 1874, they were listed as stuff and woollen manufacturers at Clifton Vale, Brighouse.

When the Robinsons left the partnership, Laxton was joined by Mr Southworth.

In 1887, the business became Frederick Laxton & Company

RobinwoodRef R128
Area of Todmorden

Robinwood Brewers & VintnersRef R1088
Independent brewery at the Staff Of Life, Burnley Road, Todmorden.

See Robinwood Brewery, Todmorden

Robinwood House, TodmordenRef R5230

Robinwood Viaduct, TodmordenRef R95
See Catholes Stone and Robinwood Mill, Todmorden

Robotham, Arthur S.Ref R1684
[18??-1???] Landlord of the Royal Hotel, Brighouse [1894, 1896].

In June 1896, he was fined £1 plus 10/6d costs for

allowing intoxicating liquor to be consumed on his licensed premises during prohibited hours on 2nd June 1896

after PC Brook found machinemaker Fred Craven and silk spinner Arthur Wood inside the Royal with glasses before them. Craven and Wood were each fined £1 plus 8/6d costs for begin on licensed premises during prohibited hours

Robottom, WilliamRef R165
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was a blacksmith at Cripplegate, Halifax

Robson & ByrneRef R566
Wire manufacturers at Brighouse.

Partners included T. Robson, H. Byrne and S. H. Byrne.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1874

Robson & SuterRef R1570
Halifax solicitors. Recorded in 1873, when they were solicitors in the case of Walshaw vs Walshaw

Robson, Byrne & GoodallRef R73
Tow manufacturers at Brighouse.

Partners included T. Robson, H. Byrne and A. Goodall.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1862

Robson, CharltonRef R667
[1891-1957] Born in Halifax.

In 1914, he married Florence M. Pollard [18??-19??] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Clifford

The family lived in Halifax

Robson, CliffordRef R326
[1914-1941] Son of Charlton Robson.

Born in Gosport.

In [Q4] 1940, he married Marjorie Simpsom in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Leading Aircraftman with the 40th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 26th October 1941 (aged 27).

He was buried at Warley Congregational Church [R 37].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Halifax Bowling Club.

Marjorie lived in Gosport, Hampshire

Robson, HarrisonRef R516
[1809-1881] Of Huddersfield. He became a Halifax attorney. Recorded in 1850 at George Street, Halifax and in 1858, when Roberts & Hanson were declared bankrupt

Robson, JohnRef R315
[1872-19??] Born in Newcastle, Northumberland.

He was a professional musician [1911], a cornet player, and played with the Palace & Hippodrome orchestra [1916]

Around 1889, he married Annie Robson [1871-19??].


Annie was born in Easingwold
 

Children:

  1. Robert [b 1893] who was a carpet printer [1911] and served with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [World War I]
  2. Lawrence
  3. George Charles who served in India with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [World War I]

The family lived at

  • 2 Ring O' Bells Yard, Halifax [1911]
  • Waterhouse Terrace, halifax [1916]

Robson, LawrenceRef R320
[1896-1916] Son of John Robson.

He was a carpet printer [1911] / employed in the stereotyping department of the Halifax Courier.

During World War I, he enlisted under the Derby system [May 1916], and served as a Private with the 13th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed by a piece of shell as he was going over the top [22nd September 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [14th October 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10B, 11B & 12B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

His brothers Robert & George Charles also served in the War

Robson, ThomasRef R1176
[18??-18??] He lived at Heath Hall, Halifax [1874]

Robson, W.Ref R544
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1894-1901]

Robson, WilliamRef R321
[18??-18??] Produced a commercial directory of the district [1840]

Rocca, GaetanoRef R656
[1828-1891] He was landlord of the Prescott Arms, Halifax [1891].

His name is also recorded as Quentin Rock.

He (possibly) married Magdalene.

He died at the Prescott Arms [28th November 1891] (aged 63).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 77 C]

The Rochdale CanalRef R551
The waterway opened in 1804 and linked Manchester and Liverpool with the east.

See Blackstone Edge reservoir, Luddendenfoot aqueduct, Manchester & Leeds Railway and White Holme Reservoir

Rochdale Canal CompanyRef R1308
Formed in 17?? to construct the Rochdale Canal.

On 8th February 1923, the Company's reservoirs and water rights were sold to Oldham and Rochdale Corporations for £400,000

Rochdale Crippled Children's Home, TodmordenRef R909
Haugh Lane. Recorded in 1905

Rochdale Gate, MankinholesRef R644
The causey to Hebden Bridge

Rochdale Road HaltRef R1025
On the Stainland Branch Line. The branch line between Halifax and Stainland and the Halt closed on 23rd September 1929

Rochdale Road Post OfficeRef R1288
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936

Roche, JamesRef R669
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Rochette, André ProsperRef R1189
[1813-1???] Born in Rouen, France.

He was a partner in Faucon, Rochette & Company [1861].

He married Hortense [1815-1???].

Children:

  1. Edmund [b 1840] who was born in France

The family lived at Bonegate, Brighouse [1851].

Living with them [in 1851], was their nephew, Hyppolite Pecuchet [1830-1???] (bookkeeper) 

Rochford, JamesRef R672
[1867-19??] Born in Leeds.

He was a gas house labourer [1901].

In [Q2] 1892, he married Mary (Maria) Kenney [1873-19??] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Dewsbury
 

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. James [b 1895]
  3. Alice [b 1899]

The family lived at

  • 13 Victoria Square, Halifax [1901]
  • 6 Coach Fold, Haley Hill, Halifax [1917]

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served with the Royal Defence Corps.

Both sons served in World War I.

Son Thomas died in World War I

Rochford, ThomasRef R494
[1893-1917] Son of James Rochford.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax / employed by Davis, Gordon & Company.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He served in the Dardanelles, and was invalided home with trench feet (or fever). He served in Salonika, and was invalided home with malaria.

He was sent to France [September 1917].

He died 14th October 1917 (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [17th November 1917].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 108-111], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Rock Dene, Hebden BridgeRef R1602
Number 1 Oakville Road, Charlestown. Built around 1840. It is now 2 dwellings: Rock Dene and Calderside House

Rock Hollow Park, OgdenRef R567
In 1911, it was suggested that a disused quarry on the north side of Ogden reservoir should be converted into a park. The park was opened on 23rd March 1911, and the Mayoress named it Rock Hollow Park.

A World War I presentation tankTank Number 208 – given to the town recognition of their contribution to War Bonds and the war effort, was displayed here.

See Tank Week

Rock Springs House, TodmordenRef R151
Built by John Bulcock next door to his Rock Springs Brewery

Rock, WilliamRef R499
[1898-1917] Son of Mrs Rock of 4 Horsfall Buildings, Wiscombe Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with B Company 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [17th March 1917] (aged 19).

He was buried at Varennes Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I J 45].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Rockcliffe, HalifaxRef R1
Birdcage Lane.

It was built around 1871 by Henry Alexander Norris who lived there until around 1884.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

When Sir George Fisher-Smith moved there in 1913, he renamed the house The Gleddings after his old home which stood next door

Rockcliffe, Sowerby BridgeRef R690
Haugh End Lane. House built for Edwin Meadowcroft in 1914.

The property remained in possession of the Meadowcroft family until the 1980s

Rockcliffe, SoylandRef R776

Owners and tenants have included

Rockhurst House, HalifaxRef R402
Albert Promenade.

Owners and tenants have included

The Halifax Courier of June 1967 published


Auction notice of Rockhurst & Eastwood.

Two freehold superior semi-detached residences, either as one unit or 2 separate lots. Each residence similar in design.

  • Entrance hall, cloakroom
  • Lounge, dining room, kitchen, housemaid's pantry, good range of keeping cellars
  • Four bedrooms, dressing room, bathroom, separate WC to first floor
  • Three bedrooms, bathroom, & billiard room to 2nd floor
  • Magnificent sun lounge fronting both residences
  • Well laid out garden
  • Full central heating in Eastwood
  • All mains services laid on

Situated on what must be considered the most desirable site in the Borough of Halifax.

A hand-written note says sold for £7,000

 

The houses were demolished in the 1960s and a block of flats – Eastwood Court – was built on the site

Rocking Pig RockRef R66
A rocking stone at Widdop

Rocking Stone, RishworthRef R273
Watson says that
At this place, is a group of stones, laid, seemingly, one above another, to the height of several yards, and called the Rocking stone. Tradition says, that it once would rock, but that quality is lost. The form of it is not very unlike the Wring Cheese in Cornwall, described by Borlase, and perhaps might serve for the same purposes as that

Watson concluded that a nearby well was associated with Druidic practices. In his History, an illustration by W. Williams shows the stone with a fanciful figure of a mistletoe-waving druid.

See Booth Dean Spring, Rishworth and Rockingstones Interchange

Rocking Stone, Warley MoorRef R162
A natural outcrop and group of stones at an altitude of 1350 ft above sea-level

Rockingham, Marquis ofRef R391

Rockingstones InterchangeRef R156
Junction 22 on the M62 is known as the Rockingstones Interchange. The Rocking Stone, Rishworth is nearby

The Rocks, HalifaxRef R67
Recreational area of Halifax around Albert Promenade.

See Skircoat Hoard

Rockville, HalifaxRef R1354
Owners and tenants have included

Rockville, HalifaxRef R84
Savile Park Road.

The 2 houses Woodville and Rockville are now a children's nursery

Rockville, Hebden BridgeRef R1355
Owners and tenants have included

Rockville, StainlandRef R1353
Owners and tenants have included

Rodd, LucyRef R1425
[1855-1???] Born in Rockford, Illinois.

Her parents, Mary Ann [née Clement, 1810-1884] and Joseph Rodd [1807-1896], had emigrated from England to Canada [1853] and then to Rockford.

Beginning in May 1870, she and her parents travelled from America to England, and Lucy recorded the journey in a handwritten journal.

In August 1870, the family visited Halifax and stayed with John Baume and William Baume. The Rodd and Baume families were related by the marriage of Rev James Baume to Lucy's sister, Elizabeth

Roddy, Rev C.Ref R639
[19??-19??] Priest at St Alban's Catholic Church, Halifax [1966]

Rode, Adam delRef R748
[13??-14??] Aka Adam Roides.

Only son of John del Rode.

He was the Grave of Sowerby in 1431 and 1443.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elias
  2. William
  3. John

In 1444, he surrendered the land called Le Brigg, Soyland, for the use of his 3 sons

Rode, John delRef R745
[12??-13??] Around 1330, he owned land at Soyland called Le Brigge.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Richard

In 1339, the property was granted to his son, John

Rode, John DelRef R746
[13??-1393] Son of John del Rode.

He married Cicilie.

Children:

  1. Adam

In 1339, he was granted his father's property at Soyland

Rode, John delRef R749
[14??-146?] Youngest son of Adam del Rode.

In 1456, when his older brothers had died, John succeeded to Le Brigg and other land in Soyland.

He married Isabella.

Children:

  1. William of Le Brigge
  2. Adam who was Constable [1472]
  3. John
  4. Robert

Rodes, Alan delRef R743
[12??-1???] On 22nd November 1274, he was charged with taking a stag in the Forest of Sowerbyshire. He gave half a mark to have respite until the Steward of Earl Warren should visit Sowerbyshire.

On a later occasion, he and Philip le Waleys were charged at Rastrick with taking a stag and a kid. They were found Not Guilty by the jury, and were acquitted and considered

to be in all things good and true men towards the Earl of Warren

See Royds

Rodes, Richard delRef R747
[13??-1???] Son of John del Rode of Soyland.

On the death of his brother John in 1393, he acquired land at Soyland

Rodgers, AbrahamRef R446
[1814-1???] Born in Shelf.

He was a victualler at unidentified premises at Carr House, Lane, Shelf [1851] / a farmer [1851].


Question: Does anyone know which hostelry this may have been?

 

He married Ann [1818-1???].


Ann was born in Shelf
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1838]

Rodgers, Herbert OrrilRef R673
[1919-1941] Son of Orril Rodgers.

Born in Halifax [Q2 1919].

He lived at 21 Emscote Place, Savile Park, Halifax.

He was a member of the Boy Scouts of King Cross Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax / educated at Haugh Shaw School, Halifax / a sportsman / employed by Hartley's Malleable Fittings.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with RM Group M.N.B.D.O 1 Royal Marines.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died in the Battle of Crete [1st June 1941] (aged 22).

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 102 3], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rodgers, OrrilRef R676
[1876-1952] Son of William Rodgers

Born in Ovenden.

He was a barber [1891] / a hairdresser (manager) living & working in Ilkley [1901] / a hairdresser's assistant [1901].

In [Q4] 1901, he married Lizzie Bootman [1877-1???] at Eccleshall Bierlow


Lizzie was born in Mildenhall, Suffolk
 

Children:

  1. William [b 1902]
  2. Olive Bessie [b 1904]
  3. Anne [b 1906]
  4. Herbert Orril

The family lived at Allan House, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

Orrill died Q1 1952 (aged 76) 

Rodgers, ThomasRef R1423
[1835-1910] Or Rogers.

Born to Welsh parents in Manchester [26th December 1835].

He was a wheelwright & blacksmith.

In [Q4] 1857, he married Elizabeth Anwyl [1835-1915] in Manchester.


Elizabeth was born in Halkyn, Flintshire, Wales [25th April 1835]
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth Anwyl [1860-1925] who married John Midgley
  2. Albert [d 1954] who was a whitesmith
  3. Shakespeare [1878-1942] who was a carter
  4. child
  5. child
  6. child
  7. child
  8. child
  9. child
  10. child
  11. child

Thomas died in Todmorden [March 1910]

Rodgers, WilliamRef R685
[1838-1???] Born in Belper, Derbyshire.

He was a draper [1881] / a tea dealer [1891].

Around 1861, he married Jane [1839-1???].


Jane was born in Wombwell / Rotherham
 

Children:

  1. Joseph [b 1861] who was an unemployed grocer's assistant [1881], a confectioner's salesman [1891]
  2. Anne [b 1864] who was a worsted rover [1881], a worsted factory operative [1881]
  3. William Henry [b 1866] who was an apprentice wire drawer [1881]
  4. Cyril [b 1873] who was a mechanic planer [1891]
  5. Orril
  6. Florence [b 1877] a worsted factory operative [1881]
  7. Herbert Walter [b 1880] a worsted factory operative [1881]

The family lived at Nursery Lane, Ovenden [1881]; Moorside Road, Ovenden [1891]

Rodmer Clough, ColdenRef R1261
Farm and small community in the upper Colden Valley.

There is a pottery here [2009]

Rodridge Farm, ShibdenRef R1314
Shibden Hall Road. Recorded in 1930

Rodwell Clough, StansfieldRef R943
See Clough Hole Mill, Todmorden

Rodwell End Farm, TodmordenRef R1592
Baulk Head Lane A mid 17th century barn is listed

Rodwell End House, StansfieldRef R121
A yeoman's house, farm buildings and a group of workers' cottages. The barn has a cockloft

See Rodwell End Meeting House, Stansfield

Rodwell End, StansfieldRef R235
The hamlet was a thriving community in the 19th century – with a manor house, Rodwell End Chapel, farms and cottages.

The hamlet was abandoned until it was repopulated in the 1970s.

The Ecological Building Society gave mortgages to people who wanted to restore the buildings

Roe, Dr G. C. F.Ref R1383
[18??-19??] LRCP, LM, DPH, DPM.

Chief Medical Officer for Halifax [1929]

Roe, LeonardRef R9340
[15??-1???] He was curate at Todmorden [1592]

Roe, Percy BrownRef R758
[1890-1920] Born in Addingham.

He was a Serjeant with the Royal Engineers.

He was professional soldier, but his occupation is recorded as warehouseman.

In [Q4] 1915, he married Alice Johnson in Todmorden.

They lived at 7 Hebden View, Old Town.

Percy was one of 5 people who were killed in a charabanc accident at Cockhill 30th October 1920.

He was buried at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [Grave Ref: 614]

Roebottom, MrRef R469
[1???-18??] Of Brighouse.

Recorded in September 1843, when he resigned the post of medical officer of the Hartshead & Clifton District

Roebuck, Arthur HughRef R537
[1869-1918]

He married Ellen.

They lived at 12 Studleigh Terrace, Hove Edge, Lightcliffe.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 272nd Mechanical Transport Company Army Service Corps.

He died 23rd September 1918 (aged 49).

He was buried at Doingt Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I D 42]

Roebuck, ErnestRef R3470
[1876-19??] Born in Rastrick.

He was a delver in a stone quarry [1911].

Around 1908, he married Mary [1878-19??] from Brighouse.

Children:

  1. Edith [b 1910]

The family lived at 71 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were boarders Arthur Ellis [aged 27] (silk dresser), Harry Ellis [aged 20] (hairdresser)  and Ada## Ellis [aged 18] (silk doubler) 

Roebuck, FredRef R573
[1894-1919] Son of Smith Roebuck.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a railway clerk [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the Royal Engineers.

He died in Warley whilst on leave [17th March 1919] (aged 25).

He was buried at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Roebuck, LukeRef R870
[17??-18??] Of Sheffield. He was the first Pastor at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel [January 1807]. He resigned in 1812

Roebuck, Miss Mary E.Ref R1424
[1853-19??] Born in Warrington, Lancashire.

She was the niece of Mary Ann Cusworth and was a music teacher at Cusworth's Ladies' School in Halifax [1881].

She ran Savile College at Halifax [1881]

She ran the Ladies' College, Halifax [January 1898]

Roebuck, SmithRef R688
[1869-19??] Son of Lydia [1856-1???] & Benjamin Roebuck [1811-1???] of Shepley.

Born in Shepley.

He was a railway guard [1901] / a railway guard (passenger) [1911].

He married Susan (Susie) Ann Cunliffe [1863-19??].


Susie Ann was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Fred
  2. John [b 1896] who was a warehouse boy [1911]
  3. Harold [b 1899] who was a part-timer errand boy [1911]
  4. Edith Anne [b 1900]
  5. Frank [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 20 Fixby Avenue, Pye Nest [1911]
  • 28 Calder Avenue, Pye Nest [1919]

Roebuck, William HenryRef R811
[18??-1???]

In [Q3] 1873, he married Elizabeth Dixon in Halifax.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
Joseph Dixon
 

Children:

  1. Alice

Elizabeth died 30th May 1922 (aged 76).

Elizabeth & Alice were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-F13] with Elizabeth's parents

Roebuck, WilsonRef R182
[1867-1922] Born in Holmfirth.

He was a cotton twiner [1891].

On 22nd February 1891, he married Martha Hollas in Halifax.


Martha was the daughter of
George Hollas
 

They had no children.

The couple died in Stockport

Roebucks, WarleyRef R197
Danny Lane.

Hall-and-cross-wing, hearth-passage house.

Around 1633, the house was rebuilt by John Murgatroyd. The house is dated 1633 ETG for Edmund and Grace Tattershall.

Owners and tenants have included

Hartley & John Murgatroyd were born here and lived here.

The Foldout describes the feud between Samuel Wade and Michael Foxcroft.

The name is a reminder of mediæval hunting in the area.

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

See Feuds and John Oldfield

Roff, Stanley Alfred AlbertRef R620
[1920-1941] Son of Bertha Elizabeth & Stanley Thomas Roff of Burbage, Wiltshire.

During World War II, he served as a Sapper with the Royal Engineers.

He died 22nd June 1941 (aged 21).

He was buried at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [Old Churchyard J 30]

Rogan, JamesRef R524
[1857-1???] Born in Manchester.

He was a dyer's labourer [1884] / a fustian machine cutter [1911].

In 1884, he married Esther [1851-1903] in Todmorden.


Esther was born in Manchester, the widow of Mr Knight and had 2 children:

  1. Mary Jane Knight [1881-1955]
  2. Thomas Knight [1883-1959]
 

Children:

  1. John William [1886-1963]
  2. Edward [1889-1955]
  3. James Henry

The children were born in Hebden Bridge.

The family lived at 6 Oak Villas, Hebden Bridge [1911]

Rogan, James HenryRef R523
[1891-1916] Son of James Rogan.

Born in Hebden Bridge [19th December 1891].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of a fractured pelvis in Étaples field hospital [17th July 1916] (aged 24).

He was buried at Étaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref XIV B 11A].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint James Church, Hebden Bridge

Roger son of Adam son of PeterRef R448
[11??-1???] Aka Roger de Birkin

Roger son of OrmRef R32
[11??-11??]

(Modern: Roger Ormson)

Aka Roger de Hutton

Roger son of RavenkilRef R784
[10/11??-1175?] Son of Ravenkil.

Flourished: 1130-1171

Thegn of Woodplumpton.

He gave one carucate of land in Linacre to the brethren of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem and his name occurs in records of the period [1130-1171].

Roger son of Ravenkil witnessed a number of charters. The charters given here have been selected for their relevance. More charters may be found in the entry for Orm son of Magnus, and that for Magnus. While no proof has been found, it is probable that it was in this period that a relationship between the families of Ravenkil, Magnus and Essolf began.

He is mentioned in the Pipe Roll of 31 Henry I [Michaelmas (Sept). 1129 – Mich. 1130] and in that of 16, 17, 18 Henry II [1169 – 1171/2].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Richard son of Roger

Roger (probably) died shortly before 1176

Roger son of Warin de StansfeldRef R409
[11??-11??]

(Modern: Roger Stansfeld)

Son of Warin son of Orm

He married Amabella.


Amabella was the daughter of John son of Essolf de Holdsworth
 

Children: Not proven, but evidence strongly indicates

  1. John
  2. Peter
  3. Elias

See Stansfeld

Rogers, Archdeacon R. P.Ref R545
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1901-1905]

Rogers, CecilRef R435
[1897-1917] Son of Sarah Rogers of 6 Top Croft, Cross Stone.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion South Lancashire Regiment.

He died 14th October 1917 (aged 20).

He was buried at Abbeville Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref III D 2]

Rogers, Rev CharlesRef R440
[1793-1863] Born in Leicester.

He was Curate at Halifax and Vicar of Sowerby Bridge [from 1829 until his death]

He ran a private boarding school.

He was one of the trustees of the Sowerby Bridge National School, and he and his wife were involved in the running of the school.

He was interviewed during Crabtree's Tour of Calder Dale of 1832, and when asked to sign a petition supporting the Ten Hours Bill ...

... as he considered it a very foolish measure, and uncalled for; the evidence had been exaggerated, and as he was acquainted with the system, and he had the means of knowing a great deal, he was satisfied that it was quite pleasant and easy for those engaged in it, and as to their manners and morals, he was sure they surpassed the agricultural districts, taking their district in all.

He added

I have an opportunity of being personally acquainted with, for instance, Mr Sutcliffe, Mr Wainhouse, Mr Greenup and Mr Parsons, whose benevolence cannot be surpassed, as to the labourers, they are all of them very comfortable and well fed

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

On 1st February 1820, he married Cecilia Cawood [1797-1875] in Wakefield.

Children:

  1. Cecilia [1822-1902] who married Thomas Pollit
  2. Mary Isabella [1824-1900] who never married
  3. Elizabeth [1826-1879] who married Rev Langford Lovell Watts
  4. Isabella [1828-1851]

The family lived at

He died January 1863.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Rogers, CyrilRef R301
[1923-1944] Son of Sarah & Harry Rogers of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 54th Heavy Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 24th April 1944 (aged 21).

He was buried at Sangro River War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref XV C 3].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rogers, DenisRef R238
[1878-1815] Son of Margaret & Michael Rogers of 90 Anne Street, Burnley.

Born in Burnley.

He was a general labourer (with a picker manufacturer) [1911].

He lived at 12 Garibaldi Street, Walsden [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted in Todmorden, and served as a Corporal with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in action at Gallipoli [7th August 1915] (aged 37).

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Gallipoli [Grave Ref 58-72 & 218-219], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rogers, EricRef R249
[1921-1981] Professional name of musician and composer Eric Gaukroger.

Born in Halifax [25th September 1921].

He learnt to play the church organ at the age of 13.

During World War II, he played the piano in return for free beer. After the war, he set up his own orchestra and played in the Orchid Room at London's Trocadero.

As he became well-known, he began to write incidental music for films. He wrote the music for 22 Carry On films. The first was Carry On Cabby [1963], and the last was Carry On Emmannuelle [1978]. He refused to write the music for Carry on England.

In the 1950s, he wrote the theme for the popular TV programme Sunday Night at the Palladium.

In the 1960s, he transcribed the music for Lionel Bart's Oliver!, because Bart himself was unable to read or write music.

He died 8th April 1981

Rogers, ErnestRef R241
[1889-1918] Son of Amelia & Alfred Rogers, farm labourer, of Bury St Edmunds.

He was a policeman living at 56 Stansfield Street, Todmorden [1913].

On 17th September 1913, he married Ada Ann Brown [1887-1973] at Esholt.

They lived in Burley-in-Wharfedale.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 214th Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died 11th October 1918 (aged 29).

He was buried at Vadencourt British Cemetery, Maissemy, France [Grave Ref III B 16].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rogers, FrancesRef R1671
[1796-1854] Daughter of Henry Rogers.

Born in Walsden.

She was victualler at the Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland [1839, 1841, 1851].

Living with her at the pub [in 1841] were Thomas Rogers [aged 20] (stone mason), Frances Rogers, John Wilson [aged 50] (stone mason), John Fallowlove [aged 30] (coal miner)  and William Sutcliffe [aged 55] (labourer).

Living with her at the pub [in 1851] were niece Frances Rogers (servant) and her son James Rogers [aged 6], Robert Newall [aged 10] (grandson?), lodger Abraham Kershaw [aged 51] (stone quarry man) and visitor Robert Kershaw [aged 54] (stone quarry man).

Fanny was popular in the area. Fanny Hill was named for her

Rogers, FrancesRef R1672
[1826-1895] Daughter of labourer Henry Rogers.

In 1841, she was living as a servant with her aunt Frances Rogers at the Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland.

In 1851, she was again living as a servant with her aunt at the Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland – this time with her son James Rogers [aged 6].

In 1855, she married William Dawson [1820-1868] at St Peter's Church, Walsden.

After William's death, Frances took over at the Bird-i-th-Hand [1871, 1881].

Around 1893, she married a Mr Greenwood.

She was buried at St Peter's Church, Walsden

Rogers, HenryRef R1674
[17??-18??] He was landlord of the Bird-i-th-Hand, Todmorden [1825].

He married Nancy Crossley.

Children:

  1. Frances
  2. William
  3. son
  4. son
  5. son
  6. son

Rogers's: J. & B. K. RogersRef R1064
Printers of Lord Street, Halifax. Between 1807 and 1811, they produced the Halifax Journal

Rogers, Rev JohnRef R1597
[19??-19??] Minister at Warley Congregational Church [1950s]. He was the last incumbent at Warley

Rogers, Rev M.Ref R713
[19??-19??] Minister at Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street. In 1961, he moved to Sunderland

Rogers, Rev W. J.Ref R928
[18??-19??] In 1905, he was recorded as being Minister at Lanebottom Wesleyan Methodist Church, Walsden and Wesleyan Chapel, Todmorden

Rogers, WilliamRef R1673
[1798-1879] Son of Henry Rogers.

Born at Steanor Bottom.

He was landlord of the Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland [1828] / a worker in a print works [1837]

He married Mary.

Children:

Rogerson, Charles GouldingRef R178
[1904-1945] Son of Robert Flather Rogerson of Brighouse.

Born in Brighouse.

He lived at 1 Church Lane, Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died on war service [13th November 1945] (aged 41).

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [C Nonconformist 521]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,235 17/3d.

Probate was granted to Ida Kjerstin (spinster) 

Rogerson, Rev GeorgeRef R1280
[18??-19??] MA.

He was educated at Worcester College Oxford before becoming Deacon at Brighouse [1892]

Rogerson, MrRef R1621
[18??-18??] A currier. On 24th March 1840, his shop in Jail Lane was completely destroyed by fire

Rogerson, Robert FlatherRef R413
[1853-1924] Brighouse architect.

Born in Brighouse.

He designed several local buildings, including:

In [Q4] 1902, he married Ida Goulding [1865-1928] in Patrington, East Yorkshire.


Ida was born in Blencow, Cumberland
 

Children:

  1. Charles Goulding

The family lived at 14 Henry Street, Brighouse [1911, 1924].

Living with them [in 1911], was mother-in-law Margaret Goulding [b 1827].

Robert died 11th April 1924.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £8,485 12/8d.

Probate was granted to his widow Ida and Frederick William Crowther (bank manager).

See Rogerson Square, Brighouse

Rohrer, George WilliamRef R259
[1898-1917] Son of Leopold Herman Rohrer.

Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Notts & Derby (Sherwood Foresters) Regiment.

He died 5th May 1917.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10C, 10D, 11A], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rohrer, Leopold HermanRef R450
[1862-1928] Born in Karlsruhe, Germany.

He was a buyer and watchmaker with Todmorden Co-operative Society [for 14 years] before setting up in business on his own at 14 Wellington Road, Todmorden [1900]

On 16th January 1888, he married Sarah Mary Stansfield [1858-1940] at Heptonstall Church.


Sarah Mary was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Leopold Sidney [1888-1940] who was a watch maker's apprentice [1901]
  2. Margaretta Louisa Caroline [1890-1912]
  3. Herman Albert [1892-1892]
  4. George William

The family lived at 14 Wellington Road, Todmorden [1901].

Leopold Herman died at home [19th October 1928].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,026 12/3d.

Probate was granted to his widow Sarah Mary

Roils Head ReservoirRef R790
Opened in 1884. It has a capacity of 6,013,000 gallons. In 1956, it was covered and re-lined. The water-tower is a landmark

See David & John Brook

Rokeby, JohnRef R625
[15??-15??] In 1540, he leased the property at the dissolved Kirklees Priory, Brighouse – including a water mill – for a period of 21 years

Rokeby, WilliamRef R70
[14??-1521] Also Rookeby.

Son of John Rokeby.

Born in Kirk Sandal.

Educated at Rotherham and Oxford.

He was vicar of Kirk Sandal [1487-1502] before becoming Vicar of Halifax [1502].

During this time, he was also Bishop of Meath [1507], Archbishop of Dublin [1512], and Lord Chancellor of Ireland.

In 1516, he officiated at the baptism of Mary Tudor.

In 1519, when he was Archbishop of Dublin, he called a synod which passed a series of ordinances, including the enforcement of payment of tithes, the discontinuation of the use of tin chalices and the forbidding of the playing of football by the clergy.

He died 29th November 1521.

At his own request, his heart was buried beneath the choir at Halifax Parish Church, his bowels were to be buried in Dublin, and his body in the Rokeby chapel at Kirk Sandal. A chapel was to be built over each.

In his will, he requested that Rokeby Chapel be built at Halifax Parish Church.

There was a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church. The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Rokis, Henry deRef R8200
[12??-1???]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Richard

Rokis, John deRef R8300
[1???-13??] (Possibly) son of Richard de Rokis.


Question: There are several historical references to John de Rokis which may or may not refer to this John. Please email me if anyone can identify any errors or confusion

 

In 1333, John de Rokis drew blood from John de Eland's wife and was fined 12d.

In 1334, he was charged with drawing blood from Richard de Thorp and was fined 2/-

In 1338, Geoffrey de Shelf had a brawl with John de Rokis and John has the blood of Geoffrey in exchange, for which they were each fined 12d.

John de Rokis was a representative for Hiperome to the Court at Brighouse [1364].

There was a feud between Rookes and Denes when John de Rokis drew blood from Adam del Dene of Shelf who made a hue and cry and Margota del Dene also raised a hue and cry, each being fined 4d [1368].

In 1370, William de Broke, broke into the house of John del Rokes at Hiprom and took a coverlet and some silver goods, his body was taken and imprisoned. At that time John del Rokes was Constable for Hipperholme and there is reference to him and his successor, also called John, as Jurors and Constables up to 1428

Rokis, Jordan deRef R186
[12??-12??] Recorded at Rookes Hall in 1275.

See Rookes

Rokis, Richard deRef R9100
[12??-13??] Son of Henry de Rokis.

In 1314, Richard de Rooks paid 4/1d to the Lord of the Manor.

In 1332 Ric Rokis surrendered 16 acres in Hyprom to his son John.

Richard de Rokis served on the Jury [1341 to 1349].

He lived at Rookes Hall, Norwood Green [1311].

See Richard de Rookes

Rokis, Thomas deRef R5800
[12??-13??] He served on the Jury at Court in Rastrick [1311].

In 1314, Thomas de Rookes paid 3/6d to the Lord of the Manor

Roll of HonourRef R419

Roller-skatingRef R603

Rollinson, Miss AnnieRef R595
[18??-1???] Of Hunslet. In 1873, she volunteered to become Minister at Christ's Chapel, Elland. She served for only a few Sundays

Rolls, Rev John WilliamRef R853
[18??-18??] He studied at Cotton Academy and served at Kirby Moorside before becoming first permanent Minister at Union Croft Chapel, Ambler Thorn [1855-1859].

In 1860, he moved to Roxton, Bedfordshire and then to Croydon.

His wife was buried at Union Croft Chapel, Ambler Thorn

Rolls-Royce carsRef R1347
Henry Edmunds of Halifax is known as the Godfather of Rolls-Royce because he was instrumental in introducing the Hon Charles Stewart Rolls to Frederick Henry Royce.

Rippon Brothers of Huddersfield built the first body for the new car in 1906. Today, Rolls models with Rippon coachwork are highly regarded by enthusiasts

Roman altarRef R248
The Foldout gives more information about the Roman Altar found at Thick Hollins

Roman CalderdaleRef R71
There are several Roman remains in and around the district

Roman RoadRef R8540
See Blackstone Edge Roman Road, Ogden Moor Roman Road and Roman Calderdale

RomanyRef R72
The pen-name of Rev George Bramwell Evens – naturalist, writer, and broadcaster

Romfolly, WadsworthRef R141

Recorded in 1851, when Ellis Greenwood lived here

Romney Studio, BrighouseRef R1218
Photographers at 49 Bradford Road [1922]

Roms Hill, Pecket WellRef R283
A 4 ft tall standing stone at Halfpenny Hole Clough.

Ogden suggests that the name implies a link with the Romans and the Roman Occupation of Britain

Rook, FredRef R836
[1898-1918] Son of Frederick Rook.

He was a bookbinder's errand boy [1911]. He lived at 101 Shroggs Road, Wheatley, then 11 (or 24) James Street, Allerton, Bradford.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 15th August 1918 (aged 20).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [7th September 1918].

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 8]

Rook, FrederickRef R856
[1877-19??] Son of Rebecca [b 1839] & Jacob Rook [b Branston, Lincolnshire 1844].

Born in Halifax.

He was a cart driver [1901] / a coal cart driver [1911].

In 1897, he married Rose Ann Kirk [1877-19??] in Keighley.


Rose Ann was born in Bradford / Drighlington.

She was a confectionery shop keeper [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Fred
  2. John [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 15 Mayfield Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • 7 Victoria Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 11 (or 24) James Street, Allerton, Bradford [1918]

Rooke, RichardRef R1359
[17??-18??] Carpet manufacturer at Gaol Lane, Halifax [1822]

Rooke, RichardRef R356
[18??-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Ebenezer Primitive Methodist Church

The Rookeries, BrighouseRef R1624
87 / 89 Bradford Road.

Owners and tenants have included

The Rookery, OvendenRef R333
See Watkinson Hall, Ovenden

The Rookery, SalterhebbleRef R340
12 Rookery Lane. 17th century house

Rookery View, WheatleyRef R149
A small group of 4 houses and outbuildings which stood off Hebble Lane. Demolished in 19??

The Rookes familyRef R974
Henry de Rokis, John de Rokis, Jordan de Rokis, Richard de Rokis, Thomas de Rokis, Richard de Rookes [1272], Jordan de Rokis [1275], John Rookes [1487], and William Rookes [1546].

The last of the line was Edward Rookes Leedes [d 1785].

They lived at

See Eastfield Chapel, Lightcliffe, Upper Rookes, Norwood Green and John Waterhouse

Rookes, AliceRef R584
[1???-1???] Daughter of Unknown of Rookes, Norwood Green.

She married John Waterhouse

Rookes, EdwardRef R1268
[17??-1785] He was the last of the Rookes family of Royds Hall, Low Moor.

He was a magistrate, a wealthy businessman with interests in coal-mining, an active promoter of the Leeds & Liverpool Canal and the branch from Shipley to Bradford, and an active supporter of the local turnpikes

He did much to develop the local commerce.

He was Lord of the Manor of Wibsey.

In 1740, he married (1) Mary Leedes.


Mary the was the daughter of Robert Leedes or Leeds, of North Milford, near Tadcaster
 

He took his wife's surname, becoming Edward Rookes Leedes.

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1742]
  2. Jane
  3. Elizabeth [d 1763]
  4. Anne

He married (2) Henrietta Hardcastle [17??-1803].


Henrietta was the daughter of Sandford Hardcastle of Wakefield
 

In 1770, he extended Royds Hall.

He was described as extravagant and a bon vivant and loved dogs and horses. He owned a string of racehorses and was fond of gambling.

He ran into debt with his gambling. By the time of his first marriage in 1740, he had debts of £10,000. By 1780, his debts amounted to about £60,000.

He sold off many of his assets to pay his creditors.

He was unaware of the mineral wealth which lay beneath his lands and property.

He left Royds Hall at the beginning of August 1785 and he went to Tadcaster, driven by his favourite coachman, Matthias Bywater. On the way he attempted to commit suicide, on account of his financial difficulties, and

he inflicted upon himself the most terrible wounds that man ever heard of

He was taken to North Milford where he died on 13th August 1785.

The Royds Hall estate was then bought for the mineral rights by a group who subsequently established the Low Moor Company.

See Judy Woods and Wood Colliery

Rookes Hall, Norwood GreenRef R126
Aka Lower Rookes, Nether Rookes.

House dated 1638.

See Upper Rookes, Norwood Green

Rookes, JohnRef R2800
[1???-1???] Of Rookes Hall, Norwood Green.

A member of The Rookes family.

Recorded in 1487 in the Court Rolls

Rookes, JohnRef R539
[16??-1713] Of Royds Hall, Low Moor

Rookes, Jordan deRef R722
[11??-12??] Son of Peter de Priestley. Recorded at Rookes Hall in 1187. In 1187, he gave 2 parcels of land at Hipperholme to the Knights of St John of Jerusalem at Coley.

See Rookes

Rookes, RichardRef R106
[14??-15??] Owned Royds Hall, Low Moor.

He gave adjacent land to Lightcliffe Chapel. He also gave an annual sum of 13/4d from the rent of the land for the maintenance of the priest at the Chapel

Rookes, RichardRef R155
[1832-1???] Born in Liversedge.

He was an iron turner mechanic [1891].

He married Sarah a [1833-1???].


Sarah was born in Ovenden
 

Children:

  1. James

The family lived at 32 Baines Street, Halifax [1891].

Living with them [in 1891] were son James and his family

Rookes, Richard deRef R723
[12??-12??] He lived at Rookes Hall, Norwood Green [1272]

See Richard de Rokis

Rookes ViaductRef R256
Aka Bottom Hall Viaduct

Rookes, WilliamRef R1441
[1???-16??] A clothier at Hipperholme.

In 1637, cases were brought before the West Riding Quarter Sessions which involved Rookes, and Jeremy Brigg and his wife, Martha.

On 20th August 1637, Rookes assaulted Martha

so that her life was despaired of

He was fined 20/-

Later, Jeremy and Martha pleaded not guilty to charges of assaulting Rookes on 10th September 1637. The jury found that neither was guilty

Rookes, WilliamRef R721
[15??-15??] Of Royds Hall, Low Moor. Around 1546, he leased property at Revey, Bradford to Bishop Robert Ferrar. He subsequently built Revey Hall for Ferrar

Rookes, WilliamRef R1319
[15??-1651] Of Royds Hall, Low Moor.

He married Jane, daughter of John Thornhill.

He built a house known as Paper Hall in Bradford

Rookes, WilliamRef R771
[1812-1???] Illegitimate son of Sarah Rookes.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [2nd February 1812]

Rooks, JamesRef R577
[1864-1932] Son of Richard Rookes.

Born in Halifax.

He was an iron turner mechanic of Ovenden [1891] / a turner in tool shop [1901] / an iron turner [1911] / landlord of the Queen's Head, Illingworth [1915, 1917].

In 1885, he married Alice Bland [1865-1929] at Halifax Parish Church.


Alice, of Bradshaw, was born in Halifax (father not recorded) 
 

Children:

  1. Beatrice [b 1886] who was a worsted spinner [1901], a reducing frame tenter [1911]
  2. Emma [1887-1904]
  3. John Richard
  4. Annie [b 1892] who was a spinner [1911]
  5. May [b 1897]
  6. Ernest [b 1898]
  7. Doris [1901-1902]

The family lived at

  • 7 Jumples Crag [1901]
  • 22 Mason Green, Illingworth [1911]

Rooks, John RichardRef R515
[1890-1917] Son of James Rooks.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of the Boys' Brigade, football team & Church Lads' Brigade at St Mary the Virgin, Illingworth / a carpenter [1911] / an apprentice with Naylor's of Lee Mount / employed by John Holdsworth, joiner & undertaker at Ovenden.

In [Q2] 1911, he married Annie Eliza Ditchfield [1889-19??] at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth.


Annie Ellen, of Ovenden, was the daughter of Francis Ditchfield, engineer
 

Children:

  1. Jack [b 1912]
  2. Doris [b 1914]

The family lived at

  • Roper Green, Wheatley
  • 22 Hays Lane, Mixenden, Halifax

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the 280th Army Troops Company Royal Engineers.

He died of shrapnel wounds when a shell burst in camp [7th April 1917] (aged 27).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [21st April 1917].

He was buried at Aubigny Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I L 17].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth

Rooks Mount, HipperholmeRef R1184
or Norwood Green.

Owners and tenants have included

Roome, MaryRef R760
[1829-1892] Daughter of Sarah & James Roome.

Born in Bradford.

She was a power loom weaver [1851] / a silk weaver [1861] / a charwoman [1881].

She never married.

She lived at

  • Dewsbury [with her family 1851]
  • Park Street, Brighouse [lodging with Ellen Firth 1861]
  • [lodging with James Radcliffe 1871]
  • Under The Hill, Norwood Green [1881]
  • Norwood Green [1891]

RoomfieldRef R358
Area of Todmorden. In 1384, this was recorded as Romesgrene, meaning the land of Ruma [a proper name]

Roomfield Co-operative Society, TodmordenRef R602
A branch of the Todmorden Industrial & Co-operative Society is recorded around 1915

Roomfield House, TodmordenRef R93
Owners and tenants have included

Root, HenryRef R125
[1590-1669] Or Roote. He was educated at Sidney Sussex College Cambridge and Magdalen College Cambridge. He travelled widely when he was young.

In 1632, he was minister at Gorton, Lancashire.

He married (1) Unknown [d 1637].

He was the first to establish a Congregational church in the parish of Sowerby. In 1645, he moved to Yorkshire and established a Congregational group at Sowerby chapel – possibly the first such group in Yorkshire. This group joined in communion with the church of Rev Oliver Heywood and met at Heywood's house in Northowram.

Members of his church included Captain John Hodgson, Joshua Horton, Francis Priestley, Josiah Stansfeld and Robert Tillotson

In 1646, he published a defence of religious Independency entitled

A Just Apologie for the Church at Duckinfield

After the departure of Dr Richard Marsh in 1643, he was a preacher at Halifax Parish Church. He left in 1645 to become Curate at Sowerby [1645, 1662].

In 1663, he was ejected. He was

forcibly taken out of his own house, and 3 bailiffs broke the door of the room where he was sitting and hurried him away in a manner unsuitable to his age and weakness.

He was imprisoned for 3 months in York Castle.

He married (2) Unknown.

Children:

  1. Timothy

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby [29th October 1669].

See Rev Paul Bairstow

Root, TimothyRef R251
[1635-1688] Also Roote.

Son of Henry Root. He was educated by Thomas Preston and at St John's College Cambridge [1653]. He was Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1661] and was ejected in 1663. He joined Independent groups in Halifax and at Cross Stone.

In 1670, he was dragged from the pulpit at Shadwell Chapel, Leeds – by a group comprising Lord Savile, Mr Copley, Mr Hammond, a number of bailiffs and 24 of Lord Freschvile's troopers – taken to York, kept close prisoner, put into the low gaol with twelve thieves, and had double irons on him four days and nights. He was twice a prisoner, and the whole of his confinement was near twelve months

He married Unknown, a daughter of Robert Binns of Slaithwaite.

His daughter married John Hopkinson.

He died at Howden [24th June 1688] of dropsy along with a wasting away, being some time not able to preach

Roper & EdmundsRef R1429
Halifax ironmongers. Recorded in 1854.

Partners included Henry Edmunds

Roper, BenRef R568
[1880-1918]

He married Lily.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 29th April 1918 (aged 38).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], on Wadsworth War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Old Town Methodist Chapel, Wadsworth.

In [Q4] 1919, Lily married James W. Dobby in Todmorden.

They lived at 3 Chiserly Fieldside, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge

Roper, FrankRef R549
[1926-] Brighouse man who has spent much time tending Bailiff Bridge War Memorial, Firth's War Memorial, Brighouse War Memorial, and Rastrick War Memorial and ensuring that they provide an accurate record of those who served and who died in action

Roper, FrederickRef R892
[1828-1901]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. daughter [18??-1901]

The family lived at 38 Clifton Road, Halifax.

He died 26th January 1901

Roper, HaroldRef R83
[1898-1969] Son of Joe Edward Roper.

Born 1st January 1898.

Baptised – along with his 2 brothers Willie & Lewis – at St James's Church, Halifax [5th August 1903].

He was an RAF cadet [1918] / landlord of the New Inn, Halifax [1936].

He died Q1 1969 (aged 71) 

Roper, Joe EdwardRef R74
[1868-1912] Son of William Roper.

Born in Halifax.

He was a barman [1896] / landlord of the New Inn, Lee Bridge [1899, 1905].

On 4th June 1896, he married Mary Emily Sutcliffe [1871-1918] at St James's Church, Halifax.


Mary Emily was the daughter of James Sutcliffe, storekeeper
 

Children:

  1. Harold
  2. Willie [1900-1921]
  3. Lewis [1903]
  4. Albert [1905]
  5. twins Jack [1908]
  6. Tom [1908-1909] who died aged 8 months

Joe Edward died 8th October 1912 (aged 44).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £366 4/11d.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary Emily.

Mary Emily died 27th December 1918 (aged 47).

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,135 17/9d.

Probate was granted to son Harold.

Members of the family were buried at Illingworth Church: Tom [5th April 1909]; Joe Edward [12th October 1912]; Mary Emily [30th December 1918]; Willie [23rd May 1921]

Roper, JohnRef R1541
[1???-14??] Of Hipperholme. Recorded in 1437, when he and John Stancefeld opened up the soil in Shelf Moor and dug up peat turves for fuel where they had no rights of common

Roper, JohnRef R390
[13??-14??] In 1401, he occupied the Shibden Mill.

He was Constable of Northowram

Roper, JohnRef R509
[13??-14??] He was Constable of Northowram [1407].

Roper Lane, Queensbury is named for him

Roper, JohnRef R1660
[1802-1876] Son of shearmaker Luke Roper.

Born in Halifax.

He was a labourer [1825] / landlord of the Angel, Halifax [1837, 1841, 1845] / a butter factor [1851] / a butter dealer [1861] / a former butter factor [1871]

In 1825 he married Kezia Wilson [1806-1857] of Halifax, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1826] who was a filler in carpet print works [1851]
  2. Harriot [b 1827] who was a dress maker [1851]
  3. Luke [b 1829] who was a clog & patten maker [1851]
  4. Rebecca [b 1831] who was a stuff piece stitcher [1851]
  5. Ann [b 1833] who was a warp setter in carpet works [1851]
  6. Emma [b 1837] who was a rugback weaver (power) [1851]
  7. Mariah J [b 1839] who was a carpet picker [1851]
  8. Sarah [b 1841]
  9. John [b 1843] who was a clogger & patten maker [1861]
  10. Ellen [b 1845]
  11. Armytage [b 1847]

The family lived at

  • Lee Bridge, Halifax [1841]
  • 5 Mount Pleasant, Halifax [1851]
  • 10 Lee Bridge, Halifax [1861, 1871]

Living with John and son John [in 1861] was grandson William Roper [aged 3]

Roper, LukeRef R1661
[1781-18??] He was a shearmaker [1802, 1809] / a butter, bacon, cheese, flour dealer at Lee Bridge, Halifax [1837] / a butter & bacon factor [1841].

He married Mary [1781-18??]. Mary was widowed and a grocer [1851].

Children:

  1. John
  2. Thomas
  3. Sarah [b 1807] who married Francis Butler
  4. Luke [b 1809] who was a butter & bacon factor [1841], a labourer [1851]
  5. Mary [b 1826]
  6. Lucey [b 1821]

The family lived at

  • Lee Bridge, Halifax [1841]
  • 23 Lee Bridge, Halifax [1851]

Living with them [in 1841] were Joseph Roper [aged 6], granddaughter Mary Ann Butler [aged 4], and labourer William Wilkinson [aged 15].

Living with them [in 1851] were visitors Rebeka Hodgson [aged 13] Sarah Jane Hodgson [aged 6] both from Wakefield

Roper, MrRef R18
[18??-1???] Around 1882, he married Elizabeth [1861-19??] from X.

Children:

  1. Lily [b 1882] who was a teacher [1911]
  2. Cunliffe [b 1884] who was a hotel bookkeeper [1911]
  3. Ernest [b 1889] who was a hosier's assistant [1911]

After his death, Elizabeth was hotel proprietor the Old Cock, Halifax [1911]

Roper, Ronald PercyRef R143
[1891-1917] Son of Ronald Smith Roper.

He was a member of Holy Trinity Church Choir & Sunday School / a traveller for Abram Pulman & Sons Limited [1911] / a soldier at South Camp, Ripon [1916].

At Whitsuntide 1916, he married Ivy Marjory Howarth [1893-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Ivy Marjory, of King Cross Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Thomas Edis Howarth, butcher
 

They lived at 84 King Cross Street.

During World War I, he enlisted [February 1916], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 7th Battalion Cameron Highlanders.

He was killed by shellfire as he was escorting prisoners [28th April 1917].

He was buried at Tank Cemetery, Guemappe, France [Grave Ref F 1]. A memorial service was held at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax [3rd June 1917].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax

Roper, Ronald SmithRef R150
[1867-1913] Son of Benjamin Roper, woolstapler.

Born in Halifax.

He was a book keeper of Francis Street [1888] / a wool stapler's cashier [1891] / a commercial traveller for cigar manufacturer [1901, 1911].

In 1888, he married Martha Jane Oddy at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


Martha Jane, of Raglan Street, was the daughter of
Luke Oddy
 

Children:

  1. Ronald Percy
  2. Howard Douglas [b 1892] who was a steam engine fitter's apprentice [1911]
  3. Marjorie A [b 1897]

The family lived at

  • 9 Raglan Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 22 College Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • 88 Pye Nest Gate, Halifax [1911]
  • 38 Park Place, Halifax [1917]

Living with them [in 1891, 1901] was Martha's mother Ellen (monthly sick nurse 1891).

Ronald died in 1913 (aged 46) 

Roper, ThomasRef R198
[15??-1???] In 1598, he was appointed guardian of Michael, the eldest son of William Brodley of New Close, Bradford.

He married Agnes Brook [15??-1???].

Children:

  1. Thomas

Roper, ThomasRef R194
[1581-1634] Son of Thomas Roper.

On 4th February 1604, he married Mary Bentley in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ann
  2. Martha
  3. Jeremy
  4. Mary
  5. Sarah
  6. Rebecka
  7. Daniell

Roper, ThomasRef R1751
[18??-1???] In 1867, he married Fanny, daughter of David Maude in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Mary [1868-1904]
  2. child who died in infancy
  3. child who died in infancy

Fanny & her children were buried at Butts Green Baptist Chapel, Warley

Roper, ThomasRef R218
[1805-1885] Son of Luke Roper.

Born in Halifax.

He was a butcher [1826] / landlord of the Commercial Inn, Keighley Road [1851] / landlord of the New Inn, Lee Bridge [1861, 1885].

On 23rd October 1826, he married Mary Bates [1805-1866] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Ovenden
 

Children:

  1. Susannah [b 1831]
  2. Joseph [b 1833]
  3. William
  4. 4 Thomas Henry 1839
  5. 5 Luke 1850

Mary died at the New Inn [7th May 1866].

Thomas died at the New Inn [14th April 1885].

The couple were buried at Illingworth Church

Roper, ThomasRef R630
[1855-1900] Stone merchant & partner in Midgley & Roper.

He died Q3 1900 (aged 45).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,230 13/7d.

His executors were Albert Barber and John Pilling of Brighouse

Roper vs George Greenwood & SonsRef R1295
Margaret Roper [aged 22] was employed making cardboard boxes for George Greenwood & Sons.

In October 1899, she was ordered to make some wooden boxes of unusual size and weight. As she was lifting one of the boxes she hurt her back and fell down in a faint. In hospital, it was found that she was suffering from a prolapsed uterus and she sued for compensation.

At the hearing, it was revealed that she suffered from medical conditions which gave her a predisposition to such a complaint, so the incident was not an accident and compensation was refused.

She appealed, but in November 1900, the appeal was dismissed with costs

Roper, WilliamRef R431
[1834-1???] Son of Thomas Roper.

He was a dyer.

He married (1) Unknown.

On 27th November 1859, he married (2) Mabeth Balmforth [1835-1899] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mabeth, of Ovenden, was the daughter of Samuel Balmforth, postman
 

Children:

  1. Joe Edward

William died before 1896.

Mabeth died 18th June 1899.

Mabeth – of the New Inn, Lee Bridge – were buried at Illingworth Church [22nd June 1899] (aged 63) 

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £674 14/-.

Probate was granted to her son Joe Edward and Thomas Rawnsley (fish dealer) 

Roscoe & CockcroftRef R1157
Underclothing manufacturers at Albion Works, Halifax [1905].

Partners included George Thomas Roscoe and William Innes Cockcroft.

Cockcroft retired from the business and the partnership was dissolved by mutual consent [17th February 1912]. Roscoe carried on the business under the same name at Globe Works, Halifax

Roscoe, George ThomasRef R1546
[1879-1970] Of Halifax.

Born in Brown Edge, Leek, Staffordshire [17th November 1879].

He was a partner in Roscoe & Cockcroft [1905].

The partnership was dissolved [17th February 1912], and Roscoe carried on the business under the same name at Globe Works, Halifax

In [Q2] 1905, he married Edith Foster [1878-1968] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Kathleen [b 1906]
  2. Barbara [b 1908]
  3. Winifred [b 1910]
  4. Elizabeth / Betty [1915-2010] who married Colonel Freddy Crossley
  5. Joan [b 1917] who married Richard W. Asquith
  6. Brenda [b 1919]

George Thomas died in Halifax

Rose, AlfredRef R899
[18??-1???] Partner in Rose & Company

Rose & BradleyRef R1065
Fat merchants at Barker Royd, Southowram [1930s]

Rose & CompanyRef R1040
Photographers at the Paris Photographic Studio, Bull Green, Halifax. Partners were Alfred Rose and Alfred Cook

Rose & Crown Cocoa & Coffee Tavern, BrighouseRef R2
Temperance house opened in Brighouse in June 1878.

Recorded in May 1881, when the Brighouse & Rastrick Temperance Society held a meeting here.

See Cocoa houses, Brighouse Cocoa House Company Limited, Brighouse Cycling Club and Brighouse Elocution Society

Rose, Charles EdgarRef R799
[1858-19??] Born in Kings Lynn, Norfolk.

He was clockmaker and jeweller / manager at George Davis Jewellers [1882] / a watchmaker & jeweller (dealer) [1911].

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Charles E. Rose
Goldsmith

Rose will Watch & Guard you
Under the Greenwich Time Clock at 20 Crown Street, Halifax

In [Q3] 1882, he married Annie Jane Anderton [1857-1933] in Halifax.


Annie Jane was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Beatrice M. [b 1886] who was an assistant in the jewellery business [1911]
  2. Doris Kate [b 1888]
  3. Minnie Hilda [b 1886]

The family lived at Heather Bank, Halifax [1911].

Rose Cottage, HipperholmeRef R1303
House next to the Hare & Hounds, Hipperholme.

Built around 1837.

Rose Cottage, Hove EdgeRef R219
Aka Catherine Slack Cottage. Built around 1837.

In 1996, there were reports of hauntings and poltergeist activity at the house

Rose Cottage, MidgleyRef R1590
45 Towngate, Midgley. Late 18th century

Rose Cottage, Priestley GreenRef R725
A former name for Sisters' House

Rose Cottage, WainstallsRef R1740
Built by Ebenezer Cockcroft. He held his school here

Rose Cottage, WalsdenRef R2000
See Thistle Hall

Rose Cottage, WarleyRef R1603
Warley Town Lane.

The house was built in the early 1800s.


Question: Does anyone know anything about the man who built the house?

 

The builder used stones which he collected as they fell from the wagons travelling from the quarries at Mount Tabor.

Consequently, the cottage was popularly known as Bit by Bit House

Rose, HarryRef R193
[18??-1915]

During World War I, he served as a Private Royal Army Service Corps.

He died 18th April 1915.

He was buried at Heptonstall Slack Baptist Cemetery [580]

Rose, Rev James WilliamRef R718
[18??-19??] Minister at Waring Green Congregational Church [1896].

In April 1897, he married Mene Stewart at Greenfield Congregational Church


Mene Stewart was the second daughter of J. R. Stewart of Bradford
 

Rose Lea, LightcliffeRef R687
Owners and tenants have included

Rose Mount, GreetlandRef R62
Rochdale Road. Terrace of 2 houses dated 1888

Rose Mount, Sowerby BridgeRef R4230
Tuel Lane top.

Owners and tenants have included

Rose of Sharon Lodge, TodmordenRef R1495
Masonic Lodge.

A Juvenile Lodge of the Todmorden District recorded [1907, 1909] when they met at the British Queen, Todmorden and William Dawson was Secretary

Rose of the Valley Lodge: OddfellowsRef R1750
Triangle. Recorded in January 1898, when Alfred Broadbent was Secretary and they met at the Triangle Inn.

See Oddfellows

Rose Price, Rev ThomasRef R147
[1874-1940] BA, LlM.

He was the second son of Arthur Henry Price of Valparaiso.

Born in Chile.

His family had Welsh and Jamaican roots.

He was educated at Tonbridge School and Trinity College Cambridge.

He was curate at Woolton, Liverpool, where he was assistant Chaplain to the Merseyside Mission to Seamen, followed by 5 years as Vicar of St John, Sandbach Heath before becoming Third Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1907-1937].

In 1907, he was involved in the rebuilding of All Saints' School.

He was well-known for riding on horseback around Skircoat Moor.

He married Frances Louisa Seymour.

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Madeleine [1903-1936]
  3. Rosalind
  4. Geraldine
  5. Joy

He resigned in 1936 through ill health, and retired to the South of England. He died 4 years later.

He was a distant cousin of the actor Dennis Price [real name: Dennistoun John Frederick Rose Price]

Rose Price, Thomas Neville Vreichvras ChurchillRef R1259
[1911-1970] Son of Rev Thomas Rose Price.

Born in Halifax.

He became a clergyman and served at Matlock [1955-1965] and Ilsham, Devon [1965-1970]

Rose, RobertRef R204
[1862-1922] Born in Leith, Scotland.

He was a carpenter [1891] / a carpenter & joiner [1901, 1911].

In [Q1] 1885, he married Emily Ada Jowett [1862-1933] in Halifax.


Emily Ada was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1885] who was a worsted spinner [1901], a coating weaver [1911]
  2. Ethel [b 1889] who was a sewing machinist (underclothing) [1911]
  3. Wallace [b 1892]
  4. Jessie [b 1897] who was a sewing machinist (underclothing) [1911]
  5. Ernest [b 1904]

The 1911 census shows that they had had 6 children of whom 5 were still alive at that time.

The family lived at

  • 8 Dombey Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 19 Crossley Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • 6 Chatham Square, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was widowed aunt Rebecca Brook [b  1832].

Robert died in Halifax [Q1 1922] (aged 60).

Emily Ada died 11th February 1933 (aged 70).

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1694]

Rose Villa, SoylandRef R7230
Owners and tenants have included

Rosemary Farm, SiddalRef R460
Rosemary Lane, above Siddal. Aka Rosemary Hill Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

See Rosemary Hill, Siddal

Rosemary Hall, SowerbyRef R311
Stands near Castle Hill, Sowerby

Owners and tenants have included

Rosemary Hill, SiddalRef R781
House off Rosemary Lane, above Siddal

See Rosemary Farm, Siddal

Rosemary Mills Fire BrigadeRef R1689
Recorded in 1888. Manned by the workers of Rosemary Mills, Rastrick

Rosemary Park, RastrickRef R490
The property occupied 26 acres and comprised Upper Rosemary Park, Lower Rosemary Park, Far Scholey, Near Scholey, Middle Scholey, Scholey Hills, and Bowling Green Bank.

Owners and tenants have included

See Rosemary Dye Works, Rastrick

Rosemont, BradshawRef R1654
House opposite St John the Evangelist, Bradshaw.

It was built in 1901 by W. Clement Williams for William Brear. Brear did not live there.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Irvine Hindle [1925]
  • The Hindle family [until 1989]
  • Michael Steele [from 1989]

Roses Walking FestivalRef R52
A Walking Festival supported by Bradford, Calderdale and Rochdale Councils, Lancashire County Council, and local walking groups.

This year's walks are held from 17th September 2005 to 2nd October 2005

Roseveare, E.Ref R701
[18??-19??] Curate at St Paul's Church, Queens Road [1924]

Ross, AlistairRef R229
[19??-] Vicar of Halifax [1994]

Ross BrothersRef R1043
Wholesale hay, corn, potato and fruit merchants established around 1880 by James Ross and Edward Ross.

From around 1886, they had business at Park Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Ross, DavidRef R1206
[19??-] Former employee of Philips and founding partner of Crosslee PLC, Hipperholme

Ross, EdwardRef R885
[18??-18??] He and his brother James Ross established Ross Brothers

Ross, EnochRef R347
[1919-1943] Son of Sarah Ellen & Tom Ross of 83 Northfield Gate, Northowram.

He was a greengrocer with his brother in Northowram.

During World War II, he served as a Bombardier with the Royal Horse Artillery 5 Regiment.

He died of wounds in the Middle East [18th January 1943] (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Alamein Memorial, Egypt [Grave Ref 4], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Ross, JamesRef R884
[18??-18??] He and his brother Edward Ross established Ross Brothers

Ross, James StewartRef R926
[18??-19??] BSc, LCP.

He was headmaster of Elland Grammar School. He lived at West View, Elland [1905]

Ross, JohnRef R536
[1880-1918] Son of Mrs Elizabeth Ross of the Empire Café, Market Street, Lancaster; formerly of Lee Mount, Halifax.

He was a regular soldier with 12 years' service in the Coldstream Guards, and was wounded at Magersfontein, in the South African Wars

During World War I, he re-enlisted [August 1914], and served as a Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded whilst carrying a fallen comrade [1916].

He was killed by a sniper, east of Arras [30th August 1918] (aged 38).

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ross, JohnRef R286
[1898-1918] Son of Ellen & John Ross of 11 Heyworth Street, Knowlwood Road, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 6th Battalion Leicestershire Regiment.

He died 23rd October 1918 (aged 20).

He was buried at Vendegies-Au-Bois British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref A 18].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Ross, JosephRef R1108
[18??-18??] He was at Horton before becoming Woolstapler, worsted manufacturer, dealer and chapman at Halifax. Joseph Ross & Company, woolstaplers, were at Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1834].

In November 1839, he was declared bankrupt

Ross, MissesRef R1446
Around 1850, they ran a school in Halifax

Ross, SamuelRef R1297
[1845-1???] Of Haley Hill. He worked for Bould's at Ovenden.

In January 1858, he was attacked and robbed by Patrick Frane [aged about 15] and John Broghan in Halifax

Rossendale, JeremiahRef R394
[1603-1683] Yeoman of Whitegatefoot, Skircoat.

Heywood describes him as


very rich
 

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Jeremiah

Rossendale, JeremiahRef R395
[1669-1696] Son of Jeremiah Rossendale.

He lived at a house in Shaw Lane, Halifax.

In 1695, he was fined £5 for not burying his daughter in a woollen shroud.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary [1691-1744] who married Isaac Hollings from Shipley
  2. Jeremiah [1692-1694]
  3. Grace who married Jeremiah Rawson

He died on a visit to London at the age of 27.

Heywood writes that


[He] went with his wife to London on Lord's Day 3rd May 1696. The news came that he was dead there May 19, his days shortened by intemperance
 

He left his property at Shaw Hill to his daughter, Grace, and the rest to be divided equally to his daughters, Mary and Grace. Members of the family were buried in Halifax Parish Church

The epitaphs on the memorials are recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Rossendale, JeremyRef R642
[16??-1???] He bought Upper Norcliffe, Southowram [1657-1696]. His arms were on the building, suggesting that he rebuilt the property

Rosthorn, JohnRef R530
[17??-18??]

He married Grace [17??-18??].

Children:

  1. John [baptised 27th December 1801]
  2. Sally [baptised 17th September 1803]
  3. William [baptised 19th May 1805]
  4. Henry [baptised 2nd September 1812]
  5. Hannah [baptised 18th October 1809]

Rostron, ArthurRef R621
[1894-1917] Son of James Rostron.

Born in Edenfield, Lancashire.

He was an office boy for dyers & finishers [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the XVIII Corps Cyclists Battalion Army Cyclist Corps.

He died 21st October 1917 (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [4th May 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 154], and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Rostron, HenryRef R575
[1812-1893] Son of John Rosthorn.

Born in Stansfield.

Baptised 2nd September 1812.

He was a fireman/engineer [1874] / an engineer in cotton mill [1861] / an engine tenter [1871] / a stationary engine driver [1881] / living on own means [1891].

On 14th May 1843, he married Ellen Blakey [1817-1???].


Ellen was born in Craven / Barnoldswick, the daughter of Francis Blakey
 

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1843]
  2. John [b 1846]
  3. Margaret A. [b 1850]
  4. Sarah Ellen [b 1853] who was a factory operative [1874], & married Thomas Tolley

The family lived at

  • Peel Terrace, Walsden, Todmorden [1861]
  • 15 Garibaldi Street, Walsden [1871]
  • Back North Street, Todmorden [1874]
  • 8 Ridge Bottom, Walsden [1881]
  • Royd, Stansfield [1891]

Living with them [in 1871, 1881] was granddaughter Sarah E. Rostron [b 1869].

Henry died in 1893 (aged 81) 

Rostron, JamesRef R834
[1867-1929] Born in Tunstead / Stacksteads, Lancashire.

He was a woollen mill manager [1901] / salesman for woollen manufacturer [1911].

In [Q4] 1891, he married Helen Jane Henshaw [1867-1940] in Congleton, Cheshire.


Helen Jane was born in Holmes Chapel, Cheshire, the daughter of Mary & Reuben Henshaw, blacksmith
 

Children:

  1. Arthur
  2. Norah / Nora [b 1897]
  3. James [b 1900]
  4. Jordan Ernest [b 1902]

The family lived at

  • 56 Burnley Road, Ramsbottom, Bury, Lancashire [1901]

    The children Arthur & Norah were staying with their Henshaw grandparents at Holmes Chapel, Congleton, Cheshire [1901]

  • 4 Egerton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911, 1918]

Rostron, JohnRef R596
[1802-1873] Son of John Rostron, weaver.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a cotton carder of Newgate Bottom, Stansfield [1839] / a cotton carder [1841, 1851, 1861] / a carder in a cotton factory [1871].

On 20th May 1839, he married Susan Law [1812-1872].


Susan was born in Stansfield, the daughter of James Law
 

They lived at

  • Proud Row, Stansfield [1841]
  • Barewise Mill, Todmorden [1851]
  • Knotts Lodge, Stansfield [1861, 1871]

Living with them [in 1841, 1851, 1861] was Susan's sister Hannah Law [b 1809].

John died in 1873 (aged 71) 

Rosworm, Colonel JohnRef R1239
[1???-16??] A German engineer who was involved in the construction of Parliamentary defences on Blackstone Edge during the Civil War

Rotadop LimitedRef R1207
A subsidiary of Smit-Asquith Diamond Cutting Factories Limited established in the early 1940s. They occupied a part of Asquith's site at Highroad Well, Halifax.

See Tilghman Wheelabrator Limited

Roth, Henry LingRef R131
[1855-1925] Anthropologist.

Born in London, he came to Halifax on business in 1888, working for various firms in the town. In 1890, he was part-time curator of Bankfield Museum. In 1912, he was appointed full-time honorary curator

Rothera & TattersallRef R1044
Printer, stationer, bookbinder and account book manufacturers established at 39 Crown Street, Halifax [1886]. G. T. Rothera became sole proprietor shortly afterwards

Rothera, G. T.Ref R843
[18??-19??] Printer, stationer, bookbinder and account book manufacturers at 39 Crown Street, Halifax and Portland Street, Halifax.

The business was originally Rothera & Tattersall.

Rothera became sole proprietor around 1888

Rothera, HarryRef R772
[1874-1???] Illegitimate son of Mary Rothera of Northowram.

Baptised at St John the Baptist, Coley [19th July 1874]

Rothera, JamesRef R470
[1847-1912] Born in Halifax.

He was a piece setter & dyer in a dyehouse [1881] / landlord of the Miners' Arms, Halifax [1881].

In 1865, he married Ellen Winnard 1845-1898 in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1865]
  2. Fanny [b 1867]
  3. John [b 1869]
  4. James [b 1874]
  5. Henry [b 1874]
  6. Ellen [b 1876]
  7. Ada [b 1878]
  8. Walter [b 1882]

Rothera, JohnRef R96
[1???-18??] A farmer of Warley.

Jonas Mitchell and William Snowden were found guilty of burglary at Rothera's house – on the 22nd May 1849 – and stealing £20

Rothera, JohnRef R122
[18??-1???] On 26th June 1856, he married Elizabeth Sharp at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
Joseph Sharp
 

Rothera, JosephRef R468
[17??-1792] Also Rothery, Rethrey.

He was a grave digger.

The Leeds Intelligencer of 8th January 1788 reported


On Thursday last, J. Rothera, of Halifax, grave-digger, was convicted before the Rev. H. Wood, in the sum of four shillings, for profanely and repeatedly cursing the children belonging a Sunday School in that place; and be it ever as seriously remembered as the importance of it demands, the horrid imprecations were uttered in the church on Christmas Day, only a few minutes before the little flock lift up their voices in singing the hymn Christians awake, salute the happy morn – Read this, ye profane, and from this moment resolve, that your conversation be yea, yea, and nay, nay
 

In 1738, he (possibly) married Sara Ineson in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Betty [b 1739]
  2. Mary [b 1741]
  3. Sara [b 1747]
  4. Nancy [b 1751]
  5. Martha [1752-1762]
  6. Hannah (Nanny) [bapt 1755] who married William Crann
  7. Jane [1757-1843] who married (1) Abraham Lumb and (2) Nicholas Liddle
  8. Susanna [bapt 1763] who married William Thorburn

The children were baptised at Halifax Parish Church.

Joseph was buried at Halifax Parish Church [18th July 1792]

Rothera, Mrs Martha AnnRef R1294
[1838-1880] Wife of Jacob Rothera, a labourer at Holdsworth, and mother of their 5 children.

On 24th July 1880 she was killed as she crossed the line at Holmfield Railway Station. She was hit by the 5:28 pm express train from Bradford to Halifax. Reports said that she was carried forward by the engine and cut to pieces. Seeing that she was in danger, a porter, Charles Clark, ran to help her but he too was struck and killed

Rothera, ThomasRef R835
[1851-1873] Son of Abraham Rothera, cab driver.

He was a moulder of Northowram [1873].

In [Q2] 1873, he married Elizabeth Mitchell [1854-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth, of Northowram, was born in Leeds, the daughter of Frederick Mitchell, blacksmith.

She had a daughter (father unknown): Martha Ann Mitchell [b  Halifax 8th January 1872; bapt January 1874]

 

Thomas died in Halifax [Q3 1873] (aged 22).

In 1875, Elizabeth married Obadiah Foster

Rotheray, FrankRef R709
[1869-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was innkeeper at the Old Coley Mill Inn, Norwood Green [1911]

Around 1888, he married Mary Ann [1868-19??].


Mary Ann was born in Barnsley
 

Children:

  1. Walter [b 1889] who was a colour mixer [1911]
  2. Herbert [b 1891] who was an engine cleaner [1911]
  3. Irvine [b 1896] who was a weaver's assistant [1911]

Rotheray, ThomasRef R773
[1795-1???] Illegitimate son of Ann Rotheray of Hipperholme.

Baptised at St John the Baptist, Coley [27th December 1795]

Rothery, ArthurRef R1616
[1870-19??] Son of William Rothery.

He was a butcher [1891] He succeeded his brother Eli as landlord of the Talbot, Illingworth [1896, 1896, 1901]

He married Harriet [1870-19??].

Children:

  1. Clara Leoni [b 1900]

Rothery, ArthurRef R689
[1890-1918] Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a hawker/pedlar [1911] / a greengrocer.

He lived at 2 Foundry Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of pneumonia in Doberitz POW camp [11th September 1918].

He was buried at Berlin South-Western Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref VI C 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rothery, BettyRef R129
[1806-1881] She ran a girls' school at Wainstalls.

Sam Rothery was her nephew

Rothery, CyrilRef R213
[1894-1915] Son of Fred Rothery.

He was a brass moulder [1911] / an apprentice brass moulder with Campbell's.

During World War I, he served as a Private with X Company 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), attached to the 11th Northern Division of the British Mediterranean Expeditionary Force.

He died of wounds received in the Dardanelles [16th October 1915] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [6th November 1915].

He was buried at East Mudros Military Cemetery, Greece [Grave Ref III B 48].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross.

His brother Samuel also died in the War

Rothery, EliRef R1614
[1862-1899] Son of William Rothery.

He followed his father to become landlord of the Talbot, Illingworth [1891].

In 1894, he (possibly) married Hannah Leah Ramsbotham [1861-1896] in Kingston, Middlesex.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1896.

After Eli's death, his brother Arthur took over at the Talbot

Rothery, FredRef R208
[1859-19??] Born in Northowram.

He was a card machine tenter [1891, 1901] / a cotton card maker [1911].

He married Sarah Ann Rothery [1865-1???].


Sarah Ann was born in Wrexham, North Wales
 

Children:

  1. Edgar Ellis [b 1886] who was a wool comber apprentice [1901]
  2. Jane Ann [b 1889] who was a worsted twister [1911]
  3. May [b 1892] who was a worsted twister [1911]
  4. Cyril
  5. Samuel
  6. Fred [b 1899] who was a news boy [1911]

The family lived at

  • 5 Primrose Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 24 Emscote Grove, Halifax [1901]
  • 34 Moorfield Street, Halifax [1911, 1918]

Sons Cyril & Samuel died in World War I

Rothery, H.Ref R1123
[18??-18??] Worsted spinner at Halifax.

In July 1870, he was declared bankrupt

Rothery, HaroldRef R1525
[18??-19??] JP.

He was Chairman of the English Card Clothing Company [1950s].

He lived at The Grove, Halifax [1936]

Rothery, JamesRef R1765
[18??-1858] He worked for James Akroyd & Son before going into partnership with William Illingworth.

He was a bachelor and had made no will.

When he became ill, his friends were anxious he should arrange his affairs, to avoid any subsequent contention. William Illingworth was selected to induce James to do this, and proposed to have his own will made on condition that Mr Rothery did the same. The bargain was agreed to, the wills were made, and at James's death, the interested parties, seeing that William had given them free access to the firm's books, facilities which they valued at some £10,000, that they presented him with an illuminated address, expressive of their high appreciation of his disinterested and honourable conduct

Rothery, John WilliamRef R9510
[1838-1897] Born in Halifax.

He was relieving officer [1891].

In [Q3] 1862, he married Mary Elizabeth Shaw [1838-1???].

Children:

  1. Harold Akroyd [b 1869] who was an assistant school master [1891]
  2. William Oswald V. [b 1872] who was a pupil-teacher [1891]

The family lived at 36 North Parade, Halifax [1891]

Rothery, RichardRef R174
[1801-18??] Born in Warley.

He was a worsted weaver [1841] / a worsted weaver hand loom [1851].

Around 1821, he married Hannah [1801-18??].


Hannah was born in Warley
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1821] who was a worsted weaver [1841]
  2. Ellen [b 1826] who was a worsted weaver [1841]
  3. William
  4. Hannah [b 1829] who was a worsted factory spinner [1841], a worsted reeler [1851]
  5. Rebecca [b 1831] who was a worsted factory spinner [1841], a worsted reeler [1851]
  6. Ely [b 1836] who was a worsted factory boy [1851]
  7. Ruth [b 1838] who was a worsted spinner [1851]
  8. Samuel [b 1843] who was a worsted spinner [1851]

The family lived at

  • Shaw Brook, Upper Warley [1841]

Rothery, SamRef R117
[1819-1902] He ran the Kell School, Wainstalls. Betty Rothery was his aunt

Rothery, SamuelRef R525
[1896-1918] Son of Fred Rothery.

He was a member of the Sunday School of Waterloo Hall Church of God, Halifax / a brass moulder with Campbell's.

During World War I, he enlisted [January 1916], and served as a Private with the 13th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 28th August 1918 (aged 22).

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 5 & 6], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross.

His brother Cyril also died in the War

Rothery, WilliamRef R1615
[1827-1889] Son of Richard Rothery.

Born in Warley.

He was a worsted factory spinner [1841] / a wool comber [1851] / a farmer of 6 acres [1861] / landlord of the Talbot, Illingworth [1861-1887] / a farmer of 7 acres at Illingworth [1881].

On 26th March 1861, he married Hannah Bancroft at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth.


The marriage record describes Hannah as a vocalist of Brookhouse / Brockholes
 

Children:

  1. Eli
  2. Arthur

The family lived at Illingworth [1881].

William died 18th October 1889.

He was buried at Illingworth Church [22nd October 1889] His sons succeeded him at the Talbot

Rothwell...Ref R191
The entries for people & families with the surname Rothwell are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rothwell & CleggRef R474
Printers at 21 Crown Street, Halifax [1927]

Rothwell & ListerRef R369
Plasterers and slaters at Halifax.

Partners included Ely Rothwell and John Lister.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1859

Rothwell & OatesRef R1283
Stone merchants at Southowram.

Partners included Gamaliel Rothwell and Henry Oates.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1877

Rothwell BrothersRef R1035
Cotton doublers at Holywell Mills, Holywell Green [1905].

Partners included Eli Rothwell.

See J. W. Rothwell & Sons

Rothwell House, HalifaxRef R1655
House on Rothwell Road, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Charlotte Coton [1901]

Rothwell's: J. W. Rothwell & SonsRef R1518
Cotton doubler and fancy yarn manufacturers at New Brunswick Mills, Holywell Green [1950s].

When there were no male successors in the Rothwell line, Charles D. Smith was brought back from Canada to run the business.

The business went into liquidation in 1951/1952.

See Rothwell Brothers

Rough Bank, WalsdenRef R51
House

Rough Carrs, MixendenRef R396
Aka The Carrs.

An Iron Age enclosure surrounded by a ditch

Rough Farm, Hebden BridgeRef R68
Aka High Rough, Hebden Bridge. Late 18th century house

Rough Hall, WainstallsRef R1739
House, originally called Rough Hole.

Owners and tenants have included

See Rough Hall Lane

Rough Head, HeptonstallRef R1262
Owners and tenants have included

See Robert Sutcliffe

Rough Hey Farm, Heptonstall MoorRef R376
Now-abandoned farm house at Colden/Heptonstall

Rough Hey Farm, Sowerby BridgeRef R1585
Hob Lane. Mid 18th century house

Owners and tenants have included

Rough Hey Wood, TriangleRef R1565

Rough rockRef R341
Aka Millstone grit

Rough Stones Farm, WalsdenRef R742

Rough Top, TodmordenRef R1598
Stock Hey Lane Early 19th century laithe-house.

See Top of the Rough, Todmorden

Rougham, EastwoodRef R1591
Mid 17th century house. The name later became Higham

Roulson, Arthur DewhirstRef R593
[1922-1943] Son of Clara & Ernest William Roulson of Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 576th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 4th December 1943 (aged 21).

He was buried at Berlin 1939-1945 War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 6 H 3]

Round Hill, RastrickRef R212
Aka Toothill, Round Hill Lump.

A natural mound – clearly visible from the eastbound M62.

It was extended into a defensive structure in the 12th/13 centuries.

Rhododendrons were planted there in 1912 by A. C. Lane, the first headmaster of Carr Green School, to prevent soil erosion.

See Roundhill Inn, Rastrick

Round House, LuddendenfootRef R65
A small circular building.

There are several stories about the building:

It was demolished in 19??. The foundations for the building can still be seen near the slip road to Tenterfields Business Park

Round, Philip GeorgeRef R1619
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1976-1977]

Round the TableRef R813
The staff journal of the Halifax Building Society

Roundabout House, BrighouseRef R274
This stood in, what is now, Thornton Square, and appears on 18th century maps of the town

Rounsefell, Rev Owen PeterRef R1152
[1874-1934] Born in West Looe, Cornwall.

He served in Jersey before becoming Minister at Hanover Chapel, Halifax [1916, 1917].

In [Q3] 1904, he married Laura Williams [1875-1951] in Plymouth.


Laura was born in Dartmouth, Devon
 

Children:

  1. Eric Owen [b 1906]

The family lived at 11 Roseville Street, St Helier, Jersey [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was sister-in-law Gertrude May Williams [aged 20]

Rouse & CompanyRef R1128
Worsted spinners at Bowling Dyke Mills, Halifax [1905, 1914].

Partners included Joshua Charles Rouse, Charles Herbert Rouse, and Edwin James Rouse.

The business was also known as Rouse Brothers.

See Bentley Metcalfe

Rouse, Charles HerbertRef R1146
[1868-1920] Partner in Rouse & Company.

He lived at 10 Marlborough Avenue, Halifax [1905]

Rouse, Edward PeakeRef R1562
[1834-1926] BA.

Son of Joshua Rouse.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

Sometime Master at Eton College

In October 1860, he was elected a Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge

Rouse, Edwin JamesRef R1155
[1872-1952] Of Rouse & Company.

In [Q2] 1901, he married Stella Scott Sugden in Halifax.

They lived at Kilmorna, 6 Rhodesia Avenue, Halifax [1905]

Rouse, John ThomasRef R775
[18??-19??] He was landlord of the Redan, Soyland [1913, 1914] / the Friendly, Cottonstones [1914]

Rouse, JoshuaRef R1165
[1803-1851] Born in Birstall.

Master of Barkisland Grammar School [1830-1851]

In 1844, he corresponded about the need for a Post Office in Ripponden, and gave examples of the additional costs of letters in the Ripponden area, because there was no official Post Office there.

He married Jane Peake [1804-1864].


Jane came from Wakefield
 

Children:

  1. Julia [b 1833]
  2. Edward Peake
  3. Joshua Charles
  4. William Archibald

There is a tablet in his memory in Ripponden Church

Rouse, Joshua CharlesRef R782
[1836-1919] Son of Joshua Rouse.

Born in Barkisland.

He was worsted spinner / partner in Rouse & Company.

In 1865, he married Alice Rusby [1838-1925] in Leeds.


Alice was from Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Alice Maud [b 1871]
  2. Annie Louise [b 1875]
  3. Gertrude Jane [b 1878]

The family lived at

His daughters ran Misses Rouse Girls' School from Inglemoor.

In 1911, daughter Alice Maud was head of the household; her parents and sisters were living with her.

In the late 1920s, the sisters went to live in Harrogate.

See Rouse & Company

Rouse, William ArchibaldRef R8180
[1838-1907] MA.

Son of Joshua Rouse.

Born 11th February 1838.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School (under Rev John Henry Gooch)  and Trinity College Cambridge [1857]

Routes to RootsRef R386
A community history project – concentrating on Todmorden and district – with exhibitions in premises shared by The Heritage Business at Dale Street, Todmorden.

More information: Contact: Tristan Molloy / Telephone: 01706-814531


Question: Is there a website with more up-to-date information?

 

Roving Bridge, BrighouseRef R414
A roving bridge over the Calder & Hebble Navigation at Brighouse canal basin

RowanRef R299
Pen-name of Ralph Wade for his weekly local-history column in the Brighouse Echo. The name is derived from his own initials

Rowan, MrRef R445
[18??-1???] Born in Ireland.

Around 1857, he married Ellen [1838-19??]


Ellen was born in Kilbride, Ireland
 

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy [before 1911]
  2. child who died in infancy [before 1911]
  3. child who died in infancy [before 1911]
  4. Michael [1870-19??] who was a mill labourer [1911]
  5. Ellen [1873-19??] who married Patrick Connell
  6. child
  7. child
  8. child
  9. child
  10. child

The family lived at 5 Pearson Street, Halifax ? [1911].

Living with the widowed Ellen [in 1911] was granddaughter Norah Connell [b 1902]

Rowan, WilliamRef R176
[1877-1915] Born in Liverpool

He lived in Hebden Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 5th May 1915.

He was buried at Larch Wood (Railway Cutting) Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II D 5].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial

Rowbotham's: Messrs RowbothamRef R466
Wire manufacturers at Lee Bridge

Rowbottom, Dr JohnRef R553
[1791-1853] Brighouse surgeon [1840]

Rowbottom, Dr JoshuaRef R416
[1???-18??] Brighouse surgeon [1840]

Rowden, James JohnRef R19
[1863-1954] Born in Swansea.

He was an elementary schoolmaster [1901] / head teacher at St Mary's School, Mill Bank [1911].

In [Q2] 1890, he married Mary Jane Leary [1863-1936] from West Hartlepool, in Middlesborough.

Children:

  1. John Herbert
  2. Kenneth Noel

The family lived at School House, Mill Bank [1901].

James John & Mary Jane both died in Birkdale, Lancashire.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,509 5/11d. Probate was granted to sons John Herbert and Kenneth Noel

Rowe, Rev George F. HandelRef R599
[18??-19??] Curate at St Augustine's Church, Pellon [1892] and Vicar of St Augustine's Church, Pellon [1907]

Rowe, George HerbertRef R9370
[18??-19??] In 1905, he was engaged by Edward Broadbent, a green grocer of St James's Road, Halifax, to hawk oranges. Rowe was given a horse, cart and scales to make the sales. He failed to return, and it was later found that he has sold the items to Harry Binns, a farmer of Sparkhouse Lane, Norland, for £3 5/-, saying that he was going to Canada and offered the horse, cart and scales at a low price.

At Halifax Borough Court [25th May 1906], the bench ordered the property to be returned to Broadbent for 6 months, to see whether Rowe could be apprehended

Rowe, SamuelRef R571
[1878-1914] Brother of Richard Rowe of Mill Fold, Ripponden.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He died 14th September 1914 (aged 36).

He is remembered on the La Ferte-sous-Jouarre Memorial, France, on Ripponden War Memorial, on Barkisland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

Rowland, JennieRef R293
[1876-1903] She murdered her two sons – Ralph, aged 3-years, and Charles, aged 3-weeks – at the family home in Rose Street, Todmorden in April 1903. She then slit her own throat. The bodies were discovered by her husband, James Rowland. Jennie died shortly afterwards. She had been distressed after the death of another son 18 months earlier.

She & her sons were buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Rowlands, J. W.Ref R692
[19??-19??] He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

He served in World War II.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Rowlands, JamesRef R58
[18??-19??] Of Rose Street, Todmorden.

On 17th April 1903, he returned home to find his wife and 2 children with their throats cut. Mrs Rowlands was still breathing but died later that evening.

She had been in poor health for some time, and this was thought to have led to the murders and suicide

Rowlands, Rev JohnRef R873
[17??-18??] From Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Blackley Baptist Church had been then without a pastor for 3 years until he arrived in 1796.

In March 1798, he left

after some difficulties

in which the Church

threatened to become a wreck

and moved to Pershill

Rowlatt's: Ernest RowlattRef R1377
Ladies' and children's outfitters at Arcade, Halifax and 30 Commercial Street, Halifax [1936] when John Boody was proprietor

Rowley & CompanyRef R1628
Photographers. They were at their King Cross Road Studios, Halifax [1898].

Tom Sutcliffe started working here in April 1898

Rowley, BrookeRef R1629
[1850-1909] Born in Huddersfield.

In 1874, he married (1) Eleanor Wilcock in Manchester.

In 1889, he married (2) Ann, daughter of John Sutcliffe.

The couple went to live in Oldham.

He was a schoolteacher and died in Oldham

Rowley, CharlesRef R282
[1899-1918] Son of Clara & Charles Rowley of Fair Oak, Hampshire.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Private with the 15th/17th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action [12th April 1918] (aged 18).

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial [3 & 4] and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rowley, IsaacRef R849
[18??-1???]

In [Q2] 1873, he married Sarah Jane Potter in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Hermann who died 30th November 1874 (aged 7 months) & was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-S1A]

Rowley, JohnRef R505
[18??-18??] During the construction of the Queensbury Tunnel, 2 workers – Henry Jones and John Gough – were killed [7th December 1875] when a charge exploded as they attempted to withdraw it.

Rowley was the most severely injured of four other men who were injured in the explosion. He sustained injuries to the head and a compound fracture of the arm, and was taken to Halifax Infirmary

Rowntree-Mackintosh PLCRef R144
In 1969, Rowntree's of York merged with Mackintosh's to become Rowntree-Mackintosh PLC.

In 1988 they merged with Nestlé to become the Nestlé Rowntree Division of Nestlé UK Limited.

See I. Mackintosh

Rowntree's of YorkRef R211
In 1862, Henry Rowntree bought the Quaker cocoa, chocolate and coffee company of William Tuke & Sons and established H. I. Rowntree & Company. He produced a wide range of fruit pastilles, table jellies, and chocolate products.

In 1969, the company merged with Mackintosh's to become Rowntree-Mackintosh PLC.

See Pioneer Mill, Walsden

Rowntree, Thomas MoodyRef R471
[1866-1933] Born in Richmond, Yorkshire.

Landlord of the Sportsman, Soyland [1915].

On 4th May 1885, he married Clara Lavinia Partridge [1864-1935].

in Chadderton.


Clara Lavinia was born in Stroud
 

During World War I, he enlisted [1915].

Clara Lavinia took over at the Sportsman [1915].

Thomas returned to the Sportsman [1917].

Thomas died in St Luke's Hospital, Halifax [13th March 1933].

Clara Lavinia died in Halifax General Hospital [8th May 1935]

The couple were buried at St Mary's Church, Luddenden [Plot 39]

Rowsell, Rev J. B.Ref R700
[18??-19??] MA.

He was curate at Portsmouth before becoming Vicar of St Paul's Church, Queens Road [1922, 1934]. In 1937, he was appointed vicar of Aldershot

Roxy Cinema, Sowerby BridgeRef R388
Formerly the Electric Cinema.

The first presentation was Knights of the Round Table starring Ava Gardner.

The last presentation was Spartacus starring Kirk Douglas in 1962.

Closed in February 1963.

It later became the Roxy Bingo hall, a Café and a sports bar

Roxy de Luxe, HalifaxRef R1060
In 1934, the Theatre de Luxe became the Roxy de Luxe or simply The Roxy.

It closed 1938.

In the 1940s, the building was walled up.

It – and the adjacent Northgate Hotel – were demolished when the area was redeveloped in 1959

RoyalRef R80
See Theatre Royal

Royal Aerated WatersRef R837
A range of drinks – including soda water, lime juice, ginger ale, potash, seltzer and - which were made by William Dyer at his Oxford Road factory using water from Well Head Spring

Royal Antediluvian Order of BuffaloesRef R1269
Abbr: RAOB. A benevolent organisation open to men.

There have been several local Lodges and Banners.

Royal Arch ChapterRef R1439
Recorded in 1894 attached to Probity [No 61] Masonic Lodge of the Freemasons

Royal British LegionRef R1343
A charity which provides support for those who have served, or are serving, in the British Armed Forces, and their families.

See Brighouse British Legion Hall, King Cross British Legion Band, Luddendenfoot British Legion and Royal British Legion, Halifax

Royal British Legion, HalifaxRef R1342
Stands next to Hopwood Hall.

It has been suggested that the building was originally stables and accommodation for staff

Royal Electric Theatre & Hippodrome, Hebden BridgeRef R330
New Road / Thistle Holme. Aka The wooden hut and The tub hut. Opened in 1912 by Manchester businessman Jack Shaw. The building was the town's first cinema.

In 1917, Shaw & Lever were the proprietors.

It later became a billiards hall. It closed in 1921 when the Picture House opened. The building was demolished together with the New Road Estate in 1935 to make way for a public park and memorial gardens

Royal Halifax InfirmaryRef R104
Free School Lane, Halifax.

Built by Benjamin Whitehead Jackson / Thomas Worthington of Manchester to replace the old Halifax Infirmary.

It was opened on 25th July 1896 by the Duke and Duchess of York – later King George V and Queen Mary

The Infirmary closed in 2001.

The building has been redeveloped as apartments and is known as The Royal.

See Isaac Kitson

Royal Hotel Livery Stables, Sowerby BridgeRef R1478
In 1990, Fred Livesey established a cab and livery stable business here.

See Royal Hotel, Sowerby Bridge

Royal Insurance Buildings, HalifaxRef R1623
Office accommodation in Silver Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Royal Insurance Company Office, HalifaxRef R1072
Their offices on the corner of Crossley Street / Wesley Court, Halifax were built in 1858

Royal Liver Friendly Society, HalifaxRef R1203
Recorded in 1917 at Ward's End Halifax when J. O'Rourke was district manager

Royal National Lifeboat InstituteRef R1498
A Todmorden branch was formed in February 1912.

See Lifeboat Saturday, Crossley lifeboat and William Hopkinson of Brighouse Lifeboat

Royal Oak Farm, SowerbyRef R168
Westfield.

Owners and tenants have included

Royal Oak Smoke Club, King CrossRef R8100
A smoke club at the Royal Oak, King Cross. Recorded in 1905

Royal Observer Corps Observation Post, Norland MoorRef R1474
Near Norland Moor, there is part of a network of bunkers used to detect nuclear attacks during the cold war opened in May 1962, and closed in September 1991. It is situated behind caravans at Norland. It was part of a network of over 1500 such sites across the UK which were linked in a triangle, this site was linked to Heckmondwike and Holmfirth, which was the master bunker

Royal Studio, Sowerby BridgeRef R5290
Photography business run by Percy Crowther Hirst [1907]

Royal visitsRef R35
The Foldout lists some of the occasions on which members of the Royal family visited the district

Royals, MichaelRef R85
[1814-1899] Born in Whiston, Rotherham.

He was a manufacturing chemist [1861, 1871, 1881] / an aerated water maker (employer) [1891] / a chemical manufacturer. Children:

  1. Henry [b 1839] who was a dyer [1851]
  2. Caroline [b 1844]

In [Q4] 1846, he married Susannah Hall [1824-1???].


Susannah was born in Hove Edge
 

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1854] who was a nurse [1871]
  2. Sam [b 1856]
  3. Sarah Jane [b 1861] who was a milliner [1881], and married Albert Edward Thomas
  4. Annie [b 1863]
  5. Fred [b 1867] who was an aerated water assistant [1891]

The family lived at

  • Lower Shaw Hill, Halifax [1851]
  • Crib Lane, Halifax [1861]
  • 65 Seedling Mount, Halifax [1871]
  • Birdcage, Northowram [1881]
  • 1 Bird Cage, Godley Road, Northowram [1891]
  • Birdcage Hall, New Bank, Northowram

Living with them [in 1891] were grandsons Sam Willie Royals [b 1890], sons of daughter Sarah Jane.

Michael died 26th July 1899 (aged 85).

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £3,195.

Probate was granted to David Chapman (assistant overseer), and John Brooks (mill manager) 

Royals, SamRef R136
[1882-1916] MM.

Illegitimate son of Sarah Jane Royals of Northowram (father unknown).

Born 14th December 1882.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [February 1883].


His mother was the daughter of
Michael Royals.

In 1897, she married Albert Edward Thomas

 

In 1901, he was living with his mother and her husband in Blackpool.

In 1911, he was a Corporal with the Royal Army Medical Corps, living at Shooters Hill (Barracks?), Kidbrooke, Old Charlton, Woolwich, London.

He worked for Mackintosh's [1914].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was awarded the Military Medal [15th August 1916]

for gallantry, accompanying an officer on a reconnaissance patrol

He was killed in a failed attack on Schwaben Redoubt [3rd September 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [30th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and on the Memorial at John Mackintosh & Sons Limited

RoydRef R1395

Royd Farm, HeptonstallRef R1578
Mid 18th century house and barn (Number 2/4) Towngate, Heptonstall. It adjoins Jasmine Cottage

Royd Farm, TodmordenRef R1599
Royd Road. Late 16th century hall-and-cross-wing house

Royd, HipperholmeRef R744
Recorded in the 1200s.

See East Royd, Hipperholme, North Royd, Hipperholme and Upper Royd, Hipperholme

Royd House, BrighouseRef R702
Owners and tenants have included

Royd House, HeptonstallRef R648
Owners and tenants have included

Royd House, LightcliffeRef R734
Aka Royde House.

An earlier name for Smith House, Lightcliffe until it was renamed for the Smyth family

Royd House, StainlandRef R467
Owners and tenants have included

Royd House, TodmordenRef R497
Burnley Road.

See Halifax Commercial Banking Company Limited

Royd, RobertRef R754
[1???-1???] Of Redishaw, Soyland.

Son of John del Rode.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Robert

Royd, RobertRef R755
[1???-1???] Son of Robert Royd.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

The Royd, SouthowramRef R1567
Owners and tenants have included

Joe Oates worked a quarry next to the house

The Royd, SowerbyRef R797
40/42 Towngate.

House dated SL 1632 IL.

Owners and tenants have included

  • John Firth [1590s]

In the 19th century, it was divided into 2 dwellings.

A recent extension has been built on to the right of the building

The Royd, TodmordenRef R365
Owners and tenants have included

The Royde family of BrownhillRef R922
Of Soyland. Descended from William Royde

Royde, JohnRef R750
[14??-15??] Son of John del Rode.

He was the first Royde to live at Beestonhirst. He was recorded there in 1490, but probably lived there earlier.

In 1499, he was Grave of Sowerby.

He is mentioned in – and witness to – many documents of the 16th century. See Richard Priestley, Gilbert Ryley and William Townend

He married Isabell.

Children:

  1. John
  2. William
  3. Brien
  4. Robert
  5. Isabel
  6. Margaret

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Royde-Smith, Naomi GwladysRef R714
[1875-1964] Daughter of Michael Holroyd Smith.

Born Naomi Gwladys Smith.

She was born in Wales and grew up in Halifax. She was educated at the Halifax High School for Girls.

She became a literary editor, translator, playwright and novelist.

  • The Westminster Problems Books [1908]
  • The Second Problems Books [1909]
  • A Private Anthology [1924]
  • The Tortoiseshell Cat [1925] – her first novel
  • The Housemaid [1926] – a novel in 3 parts
  • The Balcony [1926/1927] – a play
  • The Lover [1928]
  • Children of the Wood [1928] – autobiographical
  • Pictures & People [1931] – correspondence
  • The Double Heart [1931] – a biography of the French writer Julie de Lespinasse
  • The Mother [1932]
  • The Private Life of Mrs Siddons: A psychological investigation [1933]
  • The Delicate Situation [1933]
  • Pilgrim from Paddington [1933]
  • The Sport of removing: Being a Postscript to Pilgrim from Paddington [1934]
  • Jake [1935]
  • For Us in the Dark [1937]
  • The Younger Venus [1938]
  • The Altar-Piece: An Edwardian Mystery [1939]
  • Jane Fairfax [1940]
  • Outside Information [1941]
  • The State of Mind of Mrs Sherwood [1946]
  • The Iniquity of Us All: A Prelude [1949]
  • How White is my Sepulchre [1958]

On 15th December 1926, she married the Italian-American actor Ernest Gianello Milton [1890-1974]

The Royde, SoylandRef R363
Royd Lane. Aka The Royd.

House dated 1717.

The house was (re)built by Sam Hill around 1756.

Owners and tenants have included

It has been suggested that the surname Royd originated here.

The house is now divided into 5 separate dwellings

Royde, WilliamRef R751
[14??-15??] Aka William of Le Brigge. Eldest son of John del Rode.

The Royde family of Brownhill in Soyland are descended from William.

In 1479, he leased a fulling mill from the lord of the Manor.

In 1480, he conveyed to William Rayner Junior

part of a close called Wytlagholme / White-lee-holme / Whiteleyholm which lay under Rawnslawcliff, between the River Ryburn on the north and the lands of Ralph Cliff on the south, which had descended to William on the death of his father

Roydlands Farm, HipperholmeRef R44
This is discussed in the book In & About Our Old Homes.

The property stood on the north side of Wakefield Road, almost opposite German House.

Owners and tenants have included

Roydlands, SouthowramRef R29
An 8-acre part of the Shibden Hall estate. William Hardcastle was a tenant here in the time of Anne Lister

Royds...Ref R239
The entries for people & families with the surname Royds are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Royds Farm, SkircoatRef R780
Birdcage Lane at the junction with Skircoat Moor Road. Recorded in 1907

Royds Hall Beck, Norwood GreenRef R705
A name for Blackshaw Beck, Norwood Green lower down in its course.

It continues into Wyke Beck and Bailiff Bridge Beck.

This was a part of the boundary of the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse Bailiff Bridge, Greenfield Place, Bailiff Bridge, Hesketh Place, Bailiff Bridge,

Royds Hall DamRef R817
Near Judy Woods. The dam was built in 1743 by the agreement of Richard Richardson and Edward Rookes Leeds to supply headwater for Richardson's corn mill. The dam was subsequently used by Low Moor Iron Works. There are many water birds and other wildlife in and around the reservoir

Royds Hall Farm, NorthowramRef R393

Royds Hall, Low MoorRef R105
A house is mentioned here in Domesday Book.

It is said to be one of the finest remaining manor houses in the country.

See Manor of Royds Hall, Mr Smith and Upper Rookes, Norwood Green

Royds Hall, Manor ofRef R372
The Swillington family were lords of the manor here in the 14th century, and were also associated with the neighbouring Manor of Shelf Hall.

See Royds Hall, Low Moor

Royds' House, HalifaxRef R86
Lies between Rawson Street and George Street. The house was built in 1766 – possibly by Carr of York – for John Royds. In 1898, the house was renamed Somerset House by J. H. S. Finlinson.

See Halifax Post Office and Halifax Register Office

Royds Mount, SouthowramRef R1572
Brookfoot.

Owners and tenants have included

Royds's: Samuel Royds & CompanyRef R1167
Cotton warp manufacturers at Ripponden Mill [1845]

Royer, Dr Charles LouisRef R436
[1838-1914] A doctor from Prussia.

In [Q4] 1891, he married Amelia Marian Dearden in Halifax.


Amelia Marian was the daughter of
William Dearden
 

Children:

  1. Evelyn Louise Vada [1894-1919] who was a student at Halifax Technical College [1911]

The family lived at 15 Mayfield Terrace South, Halifax [1911, 1919].

Living with them [in 1911] was Amelia's widowed mother, Elizabeth.

Charles Louis died at home [11th January 1914].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,715 5/9d.

Administration was granted to Vernon William Wanklyn (bank manager) 

Amelia Marian died 2nd September 1917.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,029 6/6d.

Probate was granted to Abraham Clay (woollen manufacturer) 

Evelyn Louise Vada died at Halifax Workhouse [13th May 1919].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £629 12/6d.

Administration was granted to Vernon Eastwood (bank manager at West Yorkshire Bank Limited) 

Royle's HeadRef R88
District of Halifax.

The place is mentioned in the Weavers' Rhyme

Royles Head Recreation Ground, HalifaxRef R1289
Recorded in 1936

Royles Head, WarleyRef R564
Aka Beestingstone, Warley. Farm. Owners and tenants have included

Royston, AquilaRef R1744
[17??-1???] Son of R. Royston.

He was a card maker [1774] / a wire-drawer and card maker at West Parade, Halifax [1780].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. James

Royston, Aquilla EdwardRef R699
[1810-1859] Son of James Royston.

He was a wire card manufacturer [1841] / a wire drawer and card manufacturer employing 124 men [1851] / a wire manufacturer with James Royston, Son & Company at West Parade, Halifax / a partner in the Halifax Commercial Banking Company [1853].

He gave one of the bells at Halifax Parish Church which is inscribed for him

Gift of A. E. Royston, of West Parade, Halifax, 1857 – Royston's noble gift to future ages I'll proclaim

He never married.

He lived at 2 West Parade, Halifax [1851].

He died on 8th September 1859. Probate records show that he left an estate valued at under £35,000. Probate was granted to his widowed sister Anne Hitchen (only next of kin).

He was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax

Royston, DavidRef R260
[1800-1856] Of Greetland.

Born in Lindley.

He was a farmer [1841] / a farmer of 34 acres employing 4 labourers [1851].

He married (1) Alice [1798-1848].

Children:

  1. Matilda [b 1826]
  2. Frances [b 1828]
  3. Thomas [b 1831]
  4. Alice Ann [b 1834]
  5. Hannah [b 1835]

Alice died 20th January 1848 (aged 50).

In [Q4] 1850, he married (2) Martha Moxon [1817-1864] in Leeds.

Children:

  1. Sarah Jane who died 7th March 1851 (aged 7 months & 5 days) 
  2. Emily [1853-22nd July 1854] (aged 14 months) 

The family lived at Scholes, Elland-cum-Greetland [1841, 1851].

David died 26th November 1856 (aged 56) 

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: S1] with grandson Joseph Henry who died 26th January 1851 (aged 7 years & 9 months) 

Royston, EdwardRef R370
[1873-1928] Born in Lindley.

He was a builder mason [1911] / a steel turner [1920].

He married Amy Dean.


Amy was the daughter of
Thomas Dean and stepdaughter of Edward Crossland
 

Children:

  1. Selwyn [b 1901]

Edward took over at the Nag's Head, Ainley Top for a short time after the death of Edward Crossland [1920]

Royston, JamesRef R309
[1774-1826] Son of Aquila Royston.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [1774].

He was a card maker [1797, 1810] / a wire-manufacturer.

In 1797, he founded James Royston, Son & Company.

He started production at West Parade, Halifax before moving to Shroggs Mills, Shroggs Road in 1802.

In 1797, he married Elizabeth Walker [1777-1847] at Elland Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Aquilla Edward
  2. Ann [b 1803] who married Ward Dyson Hitchen

The family lived at West Parade, Halifax [1841].

He died on 14th April 1826 (aged 52).

James & Elizabeth were buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax

Royston's: James Royston, Son & CompanyRef R1086
Wire manufacturers established by James Royston around 1797. They were at 1 West Parade, Halifax [1797, 1850] and Shroggs Mills, Shroggs Road [1820, 1850].

The company became James Royston, Son & Company in 1830.

They supplied products such as card wire, reed wire, and heald wire to the local textile industry, this was one of the earliest wire mills to be established in Halifax.

In 1856, they produced charcoal wire for the first trans-Atlantic cable.

In 1871, the company left the family's control when Alfred Arnold and his son Charles Comber Arnold became directors. Other directors [in 1898] were William Crabtree, Thomas Sutcliffe of Cliff Hill, Warley, and Alfred Winks.

In 1898, the company became James Royston, Son & Company Limited.

In 1961, Royston's was bought by Hawkins & Tipson, a large UK rope-making group, and moved to the Leopold Wire Works, Brighouse to expand the company, and to allow the Shroggs Mill site to be used for tipping.

In 1964, the group acquired Bates & Nortcliffe in Brighouse.

In 1966, the group acquired the business of George Healey & Sons in Brighouse.

The last family member to run the plant was Jane Royston, who, in the mid 1800s, is said to have turned down the offer of marriage from one of her employees – Frederick Smith; he left the company and started his own wire drawing business.

Ironically, in 1975, the Hawkins and Tipson Group bought the Frederick Smith Wire Mill in Halifax which was in bank receivership.

Their business in Brighouse was closed around 1980. It moved to Caledonia Works.

See Colonel Thomas Ramsden and Aquilla Edward Royston

Royston, R.Ref R3380
[1???-17??] Wiredrawer [1735].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Aquila

See Aquilla Edward Royston

Royston, RonaldRef R92
[1918-1944] Son of Mary Royston of Luddendenfoot.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Seaforth Highlanders.

He died 24th April 1944 (aged 26).

He was buried at Luddenden Cemetery [A C 334]

Ruane, EdwardRef R119
[1883-1915] Aka Edward Convoy.

Born in Foxford, County Mayo, Ireland.

He was a gardener's labourer [boarding with Mrs Mary Moran at 9 Lower Emmott's Court, Halifax 1901] / a market gardener [1911].

In [Q3] 1906, he married Lillian Dyer [1886-19??].


Lillian was born in Halifax
 

They lived at

  • 18 Malt Shovel Yard, Halifax [1911]
  • 24 Ann Street, Halifax

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Irish Guards.

He was killed in action [10th January 1915] (aged 32).

He was buried at Rue-des-Berceaux Military Cemetery, Richebourg-l'Avoue, France [Grave Ref I A 13].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Rud Clough, Cragg ValeRef R472
Stream which runs down Cragg Vale

Rudd & KennyRef R179
Halifax attorneys. Recorded in 1850 at Horton Street, Halifax

Partners included Edward John Rudd and Mr Kenny.

The partnership was dissolved on 30th January 1864

Rudd, Edward JohnRef R518
[1815-1864] Of Marton in Cleveland.

He was a Halifax solicitor / a partner in Rudd & Kenny and Rudd, Kenny & Norris

He was one of a number of attorneys who were

commissioned for taking acknowledgements of deeds executed by married women

On 10th June 1841, he married (1) Elizabeth Catherine Norris at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth Catherine was the daughter of James Edward Norris
 

Children:

  1. Edward John

Elizabeth Catherine (possibly) died in childbirth [9th July 1842] (aged 22)  Probate records show that she left effects valued at under £450.

Administration was granted to Edward John.

On 27th January 1847, he married (2) Mary Ann Emily Willcock [1828-1873] at St Marylebone, London.


Mary Ann Emily was born in Henley on Thames, Berkshire
 

Children:

  1. Harold [b 1854]

The family lived at

Edward John died 2nd November 1864.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £3,000.

The will was proved by his widow Mary Ann Emily.

In 1866, Mary Ann Emily married Lawrence Bramley

Rudd, Edward JohnRef R392
[1842-1???] Son of Edward John Rudd.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church. [8th August 1842].

He was a midshipman in the East Indian Navy [1851]

Rudd, JamesRef R1370
[17??-1???] Curate at Sowerby [1779]

Rudd, Kenny & NorrisRef R1166
Halifax attorneys at Westgate [1845]. They were solicitors to the Calder & Hebble Navigation Company.

Partners included Edward John Rudd, Mr Kenny, and Frederick William Norris

Ruddle, Rev JamesRef R858
[18??-1???] Or Huddle. Minister at Christ's Chapel, Elland [1882-1884]. He left to serve in Devon. He later lived in Chorlton, Manchester

Ruddlesden, ArthurRef R694
[1852-19??] Born in Huddersfield.

He was a warp sizer [1891].

He married Sarah Ann [1851-19??].


Sarah Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1874] who was a mill hand [1891]
  2. Ada [b 1875] who was a mill hand [1891]
  3. Emily [b 1877] who was a mill hand [1891]
  4. George
  5. Arthur [b 1882]
  6. Fred [b 1884]
  7. Albert [b 1887]
  8. Newton [b 1890]

The family lived at

  • Batley Street, Ovenden [1891]
  • 5 Bates Court, Union Street, Halifax

Ruddlesden, GeorgeRef R535
[1879-1918] Son of Arthur Ruddlesden.

Born in Halifax.

He was a mill hand [1891] / a labourer [1911] / employed by Halifax Corporation Tramways.

In [Q2] 1899, he married Ann King [1877-19??] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Clarice Victoria [1901-1904]
  2. Elsie [b 1905]
  3. Hilda [b 1907]

They lived at

  • 21 Freedom Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 4 Sladden Street, Boothtown, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] were Ann's siblings Rebecca King [b 1881] (worsted twister), Walter King [b 1887] (worsted roving piler), and Mary Ellen King [b 1890].

Living with them [in 1911] were Ann's siblings Walter King [b 1887] and Mary Ellen King [b 1890].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th July 1918 (aged 39).

He is remembered on the Soissons Memorial, France, and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ruddock, Sebert Edward FrankRef R257
[1883-1920] Born in Teddington, Middlesex.

He (possibly) married Emily Anne – his Army record states that he was

Married? Yes (unmarried wife) 

though no marriage has yet been found for him.


In 1911, he was lodging with Mrs Emily Simmill;

Her maiden name was Emily Anne Jervis [1873-1945] and she was born in Pigstock, Newport, Shropshire.

In 1911, her husband Edwin Simmill was living with his mother in Newport, Shropshire.

Emily Anne died in Birmingham

 

They lived at

  • 7 Stansfield Street, Todmorden [with Mrs Emily Simmill 1911]
  • 254 Halifax Road, Todmorden [1915]
  • 9 Stansfield Street, Todmorden [1920]

During World War I, he enlisted in 1915, and served as an Ambulance Driver with the Royal Army Service Corps (Mechanical Transport).

He suffered minor wounds in the conflict.

He died 29th February 1920.

He was buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone [3rd March 1920].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £416 6/2d.

Administration was granted to his widow Emily Anne Ruddock

Ruddy, JamesRef R581
[1847-1898]

In [Q3] 1877, he married Jane Wademan [1838-1911] in Halifax.


Jane was a widow and born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ellen [b 1882]
  2. John
  3. James
  4. William Henry

The children were born in Brighouse.

The family lived at 15 Lillands Lane, Rastrick.

Sons John & James died in World War I. Son William Henry served and survived the War

Ruddy, James EdwardRef R503
[1882-1917] Son of James Ruddy.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a player for St James's AFC & Brighouse Rangers / a clay miner (brick works) [1911].

In [Q3] 1913, he married Martha Annie Rowley in Halifax.

Children:

  1. child

They lived at 9 Brooke Street, Rastrick.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed at Bullecourt [3rd May 1917] (aged 35).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Rastrick War Memorial.

His brother John also died in the War

Ruddy, JohnRef R580
[1878-1917] Son of James Ruddy.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a member of the Oddfellows / a member of the R.A.O.B / a dyer's labourer [1911] / employed by Walshaw & Drake. He lived at 13 Little Woodhouse, Rastrick.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1916], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd/7th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action at Cambrai [20th November 1917].

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial, Nord France [Grave Ref 5], on Brighouse War Memorial, on Rastrick War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Walshaw & Drake.

His brother James also died in the War

Ruddy, William HenryRef R375
[1884-1957] Son of James Ruddy.

He was landlord of the Grove, Rastrick [1930-1957].

On 22nd April 1916, he married Martha Elizabeth Taylor [1897-1970] at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.

Children:

  1. Marjorie [1921-1988]

During World War I, he served as a Private [20th March 1916 – 23rd February 1919] with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He survived the War.

His brothers John & James died in the War.

William Henry died 5th October 1957.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,238 19/11d.

Probate was granted to his widow Martha Elizabeth

Rudman, GeorgeRef R1719
[1821-1???] Or Redman.

Born in Burnley.

He was a cotton carder [1851, 1861, 1872] / a cotton operative [1871]

In 1849, he married Susan Crabtree [1823-1???] from Erringden, in Halifax. Susan was a reeler [1851, 1861] and a cotton operative [1871].

Children:

  1. William Timothy
  2. Agnes [b 1854]

The family lived at

  • Rud Lane, Erringden, Todmorden [1851]
  • Rudd Mill Cragg, Erringden, Todmorden [1861, 1871]

Living with them [in 1871] was lodger Richard Horsfall [aged 55]

Rudman, JohnRef R265
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the King's Royal Rifles.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Rudman, John HenryRef R199
[1877-1942] Son of William Timothy Rudman.

He was a piecer of cotton [1891] / a farm labourer [1901] / landlord of the Star, Ripponden [1908-1911] / landlord of the Blue Ball, Soyland [1925-1930]

Rudman, RobertRef R177
[1873-1933] Son of William Rudman, farmer = (possibly) William Timothy Rudman.

Born at Cragg.

He was a piecer of cotton [1891] / a farmer of Little Greave, Soyland [1898] / a farmer [1901] / a dyer [1911].

On 13th June 1898, he married Mary Lumb [1871-1???].


Mary, of Lark Hall, Sowerby, was born at Cragg, daughter of John Lumb, farmer
 

Children:

  1. Eva [b 1904]

The family lived at

  • Far Slack Farm, Soyland [1901]
  • 7 Gate House, Littleborough [1911]
  • 77 Durn, Littleborough [1933]

Living with them [in 1901] was boarder Charles Rigby [b 1845] (farm labourer).

Robert died at Birch Hall Hospital, Rochdale [15th March 1933] (aged 60).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £265 15/3d.

Administration was granted to his daughter Eva

Rudman, ThomasRef R184
[1875-19??] Son of William Timothy Rudman.

He was a piecer of cotton [1891] / a farmer [1901].

In [Q2] 1899, he married Ann Walker Bottomley [1883-19??] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Soyland
 

Children:

  1. Ada [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • Little Greave, Soyland [1901]

Rudman, William TimothyRef R1551
[1850-1922] Son of George Rudman.

Born in Cragg, Erringden.

He was a twiner [1872] / a cotton twister [1881] / a cotton twiner [1891] / landlord of the Blue Ball, Soyland [1898-1922].

In 1872, he married Ann Standeven [1854-1925] at Halifax Parish Church.


Ann was the daughter of farmer Joseph Standeven of Soyland
 

Children:

  1. Robert
  2. Thomas
  3. John Henry

The family lived at

  • Annie Butt Lee, Sowerby [1881]
  • Turkey Lodge, Cragg Vale, Sowerby [1891]

Living with them [in 1881] was boarder John Henry Barker [aged 55].

Living with them [in 1901] were boarders Thomas Stocks [aged 31] (navvy) and James Nuttle [aged 28] (navvy) 

William died in 1922.

Ann took over at the Blue Ball [1922-1925].

Son John Henry took over at the Blue Ball [1925-1930].

Members of the family were buried at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones

Rudstoop, Cragg ValeRef R285
A valley at Withens Clough which gives its name to the Rudstoop standing stone

Rudstoop standing stone, Cragg ValeRef R170
Standing Stone Fields, Withens Clough. A large standing stone measuring 9 ft long by 7 ft 8 ins wide tapering to 4 ft 9 ins wide at the base. It is said that there were once several similar stones nearby. Rudstoop valley lies to the west

Ruff, GeorgeRef R695
[1892-1917] Son of Elizabeth & Charles Frederick Ruff of Spalding, Lincolnshire.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Coldstream Guards.

He died 30th January 1917 (aged 25).

He was buried at Stonefall Cemetery, Harrogate.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Ruffle, Edward ThomasRef R277
[1887-1915] Born in Ipswich.

He was a baker / employed by Harry King.

In January 1912, he married Elsie May Read [1891-1972] in Ipswich. Children:

  1. child
  2. child

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Suffolk Regiment.

He died of wounds in the Military Hospital, Norwich [2nd October 1915].

He was buried at Ipswich Cemetery [BA I 53].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Ruhe, Harold HermanRef R267
[1899-1917]


His names appears as Rule in the records of his death
 

From Birkenhead.

He was educated at Todmorden Secondary School.

During World War I, he enlisted (aged 15), and served as a Rifleman with the 9th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was wounded at Loos [1915], and spent 7 months' convalescence in Blackpool.

He died 9th April 1917.

He was buried at Tilloy British Cemetery, Tilloy-Les-Mofflaines, France [Grave Ref I A 20]

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance as Harold Ruhe

Rukin, ClementRef R421
[1878-1917] Son of Ann & Joseph Rukin of Clifton.

He was a music teacher / organist at Mirfield United Methodist Church / organist at the United Methodist Free Church, Clifton / a member of Clifton Bowling Club.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was taken POW [3rd May 1917].

He died in hospital at Rastatt, Baden [24th July 1917] (aged 39).

He was buried at Niederzwehren Cemetery, Germany. [Grave Ref II J 1].

He is remembered on Clifton War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint John's Church, Clifton, and in the book Clifton War Memorial

There is a memorial to him and his nephew, John Herbert Rukin, in the United Methodist Free Church, Clifton

Rukin, David ArthurRef R961
[18??-1961] An employee of Turner & Wainwright.

In 1912, Rukin, who had worked 12 years for the company, left to work for a rival company, Metcalfe & Bradshaw of Morley. It was said that the quality of Metcalfe and Bradshaw's toffee improved markedly, much resembling that of Turner and Wainwright's! Turner and Wainwright went to the Chancery Court in London and secured an injunction preventing Rukin from revealing their recipe. Rukin was acquitted of any wrongdoing and was paid damages by Turner and Wainwright

Rukin, JohnRef R429
[1897-1917] Son of Matthew Rukin.

Born in Cleckheaton.

He was a silk dresser [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion South Staffordshire Regiment.

He died 25th October 1917 (aged 21).

He was buried at Bruay Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref L 1].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Rukin, John HerbertRef R420
[1896-1916] Son of Ada & Ernest Rukin of Horsley Fold, Clifton.

He was a member of the United Methodist Free Church, Clifton / Sunday Schoolteacher at United Methodist Free Church, Clifton / assistant organist at United Methodist Free Church, Clifton / a twiner piecer with H. & J. Sugden at George Street Mills, Brighouse.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [April 1916], and served as a Private with the 24th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 13th December 1916 (aged 20).

He is remembered on Clifton War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint John's Church, Clifton, on Brighouse War Memorial, and in the book Clifton War Memorial.

There is a memorial to him and his uncle, Clement Rukin, in the church

Rukin, JosephRef R1505
[18??-1907] A coal miner in Clifton.

He was a teacher at Highmoor Lane School, Clifton and teacher and trustee at Clifton Methodist Church

Rukin, MatthewRef R574
[1863-1909] Born in Clifton.

He was a coal miner.

In 1891, he married Lydia Ann Naylor [1864-1943] in Halifax.


Lydia Ann was born in Brighouse
 

Children:

  1. Sam Middlemiss [b 1892]
  2. Hilda [b 1894]
  3. John
  4. Harry Naylor [1902-1961]

The family lived at Hartshead Moor [1901].

Matthew died in 1909.

In 1910, Lydia married Ben Flintoff [1864-1943].


Ben was a widower, born in Clifton
 

The family lived at 19 Croft Place, Brighouse [1911]

Rule & DixonRef R1397
Grocers. They were at 24a King Edward Street, Halifax and 24-26 Arcade Royale, Halifax [1936].

Examples of their novelty packaging – such as their Golden Cowslip cream pots in the shape of a milk churn – are now collectors' items

Rule, FrankRef R636
[18??-19??] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Roll of Honour at Patmos Congregational Chapel, Todmorden

Rumney, Rev RalphRef R691
[1888-1977] He was vicar at Newcastle-on-Tyne before becoming Vicar at Siddal [1937]. In 1954, he was appointed rector of Langley, Kent.

In 1933, he married Edith Olive Pratt Brooks [1896-1947] at Islington.

Children:

  1. Ralph
  2. Geoffrey F. B. [b 1936]

He & his wife were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Rumney, Ralph Brainerd B.Ref R1727
[1934-2002] Known as Brainerd.

Son of Rev Ralph Rumney.

Born in Newcastle-on-Tyne.

He grew up in Siddal. He studied at Halifax Art School.

He was an artist / a conscientious objector / an acquaintance of E. P. Thompson.

He died in Provence [2002]

Running ManRef R225
The Gibbet Law provided that, if a person due to be executed on the Gibbet was able to withdraw his head as the blade fell and escape across Hebble Brook at Clark Bridge, he could be freed.

See John Lacey and Running Man Public House

Runtz, Ernest AugustusRef R379
[1859-1913] Architect who worked with Horsfall's. He designed the Palace Theatre

Rupert, PrinceRef R1238
[1619-1682] Aka The Mad Cavalier. Cousin of Charles II. He was a Royalist commander during the Civil War.

See Ironsides, Capture Of Wakefield and Siege Of York

Rush-bearingRef R28
A religious festival at which rushes were gathered to cover the floor of the church.

See Old King Cross, Halifax

Rush Beds, StansfieldRef R1601
Area of Stansfield Moor

Rushforth, BenjaminRef R955
[17??-18??] Son of Joseph Rushforth.

He was a partner in Samuel Broadbent & Company.

He lived at Marshall Hall, Elland

Rushforth, BenjaminRef R862
[1805-18??] Aka The Blind Poet of Bolton.

Son of Thomas Rushforth, a woollen card manufacturer.

Born in Elland.

He was sent to Bolton to be apprenticed to a grocer but ran away to return to Yorkshire and join the army. He served in many parts of the world, including China and India. His sight was damaged by fever and he was compelled to return home. He retired to Bolton.

For two years he was a workhouse inmate. He learned to make cart covers of oilcloth, then earned a living by selling barm in Bolton and Deane.

He was a cart sheet maker in Bolton [1838] / tarpaulin maker? [1841] / a barm seller [1851] / a barm dealer [1861].

In 1869, he published a collection of Miscellaneous Poems.

He went blind [by 1871].

In 1838, he married Hannah Bleakley [1806-1???] at St Peter's, Bolton.


Hannah, of Weston Street, Bolton, was the daughter of Doctor Bleakley, a joiner
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1839]
  2. daughter Naarah [b 1844] who was a cotton weaver [1861] & married William Aspinall
  3. Thomas [b 1847]

The family lived at

  • Derby Street, Bolton [1841]
  • 25 Back Cannon Street, Bolton [1851]
  • 17 Cricket Street, Bolton [1861]

Living with them [in 1841] were his wife's siblings:

  1. Elizabeth Bleakley [b 1826] who was a linen reeler [1841]
  2. Edward Bleakley [b 1828] who was a cotton piecer [1841]
  3. William Bleakley [b 1831]

In 1871, Hannah and Benjamin, were living with daughter Naarah and her husband William Aspinall at 69 Parrot Street, Bolton [1871]

Rushforth, HenryRef R682
[1798-1855] He lived at North House, Elland.

Second son of Joseph Rushforth

Rushforth, JasperRef R675
[1871-1936] Born 2nd December 1871.

In [Q2] 1899, he married Kate Mary Bett [1869-1936] in Louth, Lincolnshire.

Children:

  1. Jasper [b 1902] who was a timber merchant [1936]
  2. Barbara [b 1904]
  3. Katharine Mary [b 1906]
  4. Margaret (Peggy) [1910-1936] who married [1933] Anthony Chichester Everitt from Sherborne, Dorset

The family lived at Wynteredge Hall, Hipperholme [1914, 1930, 1936].

Jasper died in Halifax [21st November 1936].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £11,561 1/1d. Probate was granted to son Jasper and Barbara (wife of Edward Hanson).

Kate Mary died 2 days later [23rd November 1936].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £13,602 4/3d. Probate was granted to son Jasper and Barbara (wife of Edward Hanson).

The couple were buried at Coley Church [21st November 1936]

Rushforth, JohnRef R1151
[18??-19??] Quarry owner at Ogden Kirk Quarries [1905]

Rushforth, John WilliamRef R698
[1865-1943] Born in Halifax.

He was a wool comb maker [1891] / a machine wool comb maker [1901].

In [Q3] 1889, he married Emily Sugden [1868-19??] in Halifax.


Emily was born in Halifax.

She was a coating weaver [1891]

 

Children:

  1. Mary E. [b 1893]
  2. John William
  3. Edgar [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • City Terrace, Ovenden [1891]
  • 18 City, Halifax [1901]
  • 18 Hebble View, Wheatley [1918]

Rushforth, John WilliamRef R297
[1895-1918] MM.

Son of John William Rushforth.

Born in Wheatley.

He was a member of Providence Chapel, Ovenden choir / secretary & teacher at Wheatley Congregational Sunday School / a sheet metal worker / employed by J. E. Taylor at Culver Street, Halifax / employed by Glynn Company Limited at Cross Hills, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915], and served as a Sergeant with the 1st Battalion Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment).

He was awarded the Military Medal


for carrying messages under fire at Messines, whilst wounded [July 1917]
 

He died at No.32 Casualty Clearing Station of wounds received in action [24th March 1918] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [13th April 1918].

He was buried at Blargies Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I B 9].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Rushforth, JosephRef R954
[17??-18??] Partner in Samuel Broadbent & Company

Rushforth, JosephRef R681
[17??-1841] He lived at North House, Elland.

In 1813, he was a member of a Committee supporting those affected by the Luddites.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He married Mary Anne [1773-1856].

Children:

  1. Mary [1797-1875] who married Dr John Hamerton
  2. Richard Walker
  3. Henry
  4. Benjamin
  5. a daughter who married Rev Charles Heath

Rushforth's: Messrs RushforthRef R1730
On 16th January 1809, the corn mill and scribbling mill, situated at Elland, near Halifax, the property of Messrs Rushforth, was totally destroyed by fire. No engine was at hand.

The Leeds Mercury commented


In each of the vallies in the neighbourhood of Halifax, abounding as they do with mills, we presume to suggest the propriety of keeping, at all times, in a central situation, a good Fire Engine
 

Rushforth, MrRef R1593
[1???-18??] Children:

  1. Thomas Henry
  2. daughter who married John Baldwin

Rushforth, Richard WalkerRef R683
[1793-1875] Eldest son of Joseph Rushforth.

He died at Ealing

Rushforth, Thomas HenryRef R337
[1827-1???] Son of Mr Rushforth.

Born in Broughton, Lancsashire.

He was an architect [fl 1849-69] whose work includes: St John the Evangelist's Church, West Vale and St Thomas's Church, Greetland

Rushforth, Thomas HenryRef R671
[1827-1???] Son of Richard W. Rushforth, gentleman.

He was an architect of Paddington, London [1868].

On 29th April 1868, he married Frances Baldwin.


Frances, of Greetland, was the daughter of
John Baldwin
 

They lived at

  • Ealing, London [1871]
  • Promenade, North Moels, Lancashire [with Frances's brother William 1891]

Rushforth, W.Ref R1221
[17??-18??] Woollen manufacturer at Greetland.

In April 1816, he was declared bankrupt

Rushforth, WilliamRef R1367
[17??-1810] Landlord of the Horse Shoe, Lightcliffe.

He was buried at Eastfield Chapel, Lightcliffe and his epitaph there reads


My time is spent, my glass is run
My thread is cut, and my work is done

Rushton...Ref R844
The entries for people & families with the surname Rushton are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rushworth...Ref R135
The entries for people & families with the surname Rushworth are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Rushworth & BriggsRef R1171
Of Halifax.


Question: Does anyone know what their business was? Were they tailors or drapers?

 

Partners included Daniel Briggs

Rushworth & CompanyRef R1042
Established when Billy Rushworth took over the business of engineers' tool makers from William Newsome & Sons Limited at Clough Works, Sowerby Bridge.

Starting around 1968, they moved to Hollins Tool Works, Hollins Lane.

In 1973, the offices were moved to a new block at Hollins Lane.

In 1972, the firm was taken over by Morgan's of Lye, Stourbridge in the West Midlands and became Morgan Rushworth Limited.

The business subsequently moved to Lye

Rushworth & CompanyRef R1405
Worsted spinners. Recorded in 1905. Partners included John Rushworth, Jonas William Rushworth, and Joe Edward Rushworth

Rushworth & CompanyRef R1406
Engineers' tool makers at Clough Works, Sowerby Bridge [1905]. (Probably) established Charles William Rushworth. Partners included his sons John William and Charles Donald

Rushworth's: J. Rushworth & SonsRef R6510
House furnishers at 10 Cheapside, Halifax [1936].


Question: Does anyone know anything about the company?

 

See J. Rushworth

Rushworth's: Joseph & Alfred RushworthRef R1190
Printers, booksellers, stationers, bookbinders, account book manufacturers and circulating library at Commercial Buildings, Brighouse [1861, 1863].

Partners included Joseph Rushworth

Rushy Clough, Widdop MoorRef R934
Stream at Widdop Moor

Ruskin Hall Education LeagueRef R1135
Recorded in 1905 at 45a Crown Street, Halifax

Russell, AlbertRef R704
[1920-1944] Of 10 Grove Avenue, Halifax.

He was educated at Akroyd Place School / a cleaner for Hebble Motors.

He enlisted before the War.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders.

He was reported missing in Flanders [June 1940].

He died of meningitis in a POW camp [2nd April 1944] (aged 24).

He was buried at Krakov Rakowicki Cemetery, Poland [Grave Ref 1A B 8].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Russell, ArthurRef R9
[18??-19??] Landlord of the Dusty Miller, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

In July 1905, he was fined 10/- plus 10/6d for permitting drunkenness after Sgt Tattersall found Sam Frankland playing dominoes with another man. Frankland was drunk and admitted that he'd had too much, but would go when he had supped up as he had nearly spent up. In his own defence, Russell said that Frankland had only had 6½d when he left home.

On 9th December 1905, he was charged with having permitted gambling on the premises on the 2nd December 1905. 6 other men were charged with gaming at tippet. The losers paid 2d to the landlord who gave them a check for 2d. Russell claimed to have been in another room and did not witness the gaming. Russell was fined £2 plus 17/6d costs, and 5 of the men were fined 5/- each plus costs

Russell, Benjamin T.Ref R842
[1983-] Born in Halifax [10th January 1983]. Rugby Union player

Russell, Bernard ParvishRef R384
[1887-19??] Fourth son of Rev Edward James Russell.

Born in Todmorden.

In 1917, he married Harriet Evelyn Killick from Chorley

Russell, Rev Edward JamesRef R89
[1843-1911] MA.

He was born in Dorking, Surrey.

He was educated at St Mary Hall, Oxford. In 1870, he became a deacon, in 1871 he was ordained as a priest.

In 1875, he married Mary Georgiana Baron at Heywood, Manchester, where he was vicar of St James's Church.

Children:

  1. Edward John [b 1876]
  2. Harry William
  3. George Herbert Heywood [b 1880]
  4. Ethel Mary R. [b 1885]
  5. Bernard Parvish
  6. Lawrence Arnold [b 1889]
  7. Martin Baron [b 1893]
  8. Dorothy Maud [b 1895]
  9. Cecil Hugh [b 1899]

In 1883, he was appointed Vicar of Todmorden. He held the post for 26 years. In 1910, he resigned due to sudden ill health.

His name is inscribed on one of the bells at Todmorden Parish Church.

In 1897, he became an Honorary Canon of Manchester Cathedral. In 1899, he became a Proctor in Convocation.

In 1904, he was Chairman of the Church Schools' Emergency League.

He died – and was buried – at St Anne's-on-Sea, Lancashire.

See Todmorden Shakespearian Society

Russell, Ernest A.Ref R313
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Russell, Rev FrederickRef R703
[1???-18??] MA.

He was educated at St Mary's Hall Oxford, and was minister at The Abbey Church, Romsey, Hampshire, from October 1832 until May 1834, when he became Perpetual Curate at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.

He gave a sermon on

Popery! and the duty of adhering to the Principles of the Reformation

which he published in Halifax [1839].

He resigned in 1845 and moved to Holly Rood Church, Southampton.

On 12th February 1825, he married Unknown.

They lived at

Russell, FrederickRef R1263
[18??-18??] BA.

Educated at Trinity College Cambridge. He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1849]

Russell, Harry WilliamRef R663
[1877-1???] Second son of Rev Edward James Russell.

He was Lieutenant-Colonel with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

In 1928?, he married Constance MacLoghlin from Ireland

Russell, Dr J. LawsonRef R511
[18??-19??] MB, CM.

Physician and surgeon at West Lodge, Wellington Road, Todmorden [1895, 1905, 1913].

In 1906, he described the Blackheath barrow in Ling Roth's book Yorkshire Coiners.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Jean who married Edward Wilfred Lord

Russell, Rev John Forbes St MaurRef R1475
[1844-1901] Son of Elizabeth & Rev John Lecky Forbes.

Born in Great Eversden, Cambridgeshire.

Baptised [1st October 1844].

He was educated at St John's College Cambridge [1862] / assistant master at Hereford Cathedral School [1867-1869] / curate of St Martin's, Hereford [1868-1871] / Curate of St Paul's Church, Cross Stone [1871-1873] / Curate of Todmorden [1873-1875] / assistant clergyman at the Todmorden Churches. before becoming rector of Shelton, Nottinghamshire [1875-1886] and vicar of Aldborough, Yorkshire [1886-1901]

On 3rd September 1872, he married Betty Ingham at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.


Betty was the daughter of John Ingham
 

Children:

  1. Richard F. [b 1897]

He died 14th May 1901

Russell, Rev PeterRef R822
[1???-19??] Priest at St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street [1935]

Russell Street Arcade, HalifaxRef R223
Aka Market Arcade and Russell Arcade.

The Arcade continues one of the central avenues of Halifax Borough Market northwards into Russell Street.

It was designed by John & Joseph Leeming and built around 1896.

Old Arcade continues the avenue from Russell Street to Old Market

Russell, ThomasRef R1432
[17??-18??] He was a watchmaker and clockmaker at 20 Crown Street, Halifax [1837]

Russell, TomRef R1476
[18??-1???] On 7th June 1888, he was granted a 3 months' theatre license.

On 22nd June 1888, he opened the Pavilion Theatre at Market Ground, Todmorden

Russell, WilliamRef R404
[1833-1882] Born in Brighouse [17th June 1833].

He was a grocer [1881].

In 1864, he married Anne Elizabeth Priestley [1836-1883] in Bradford.


Anne Elizabeth was born in Halifax [7th September 1836]
 

Children:

  1. Jane Helen [1866-11th May 1946] who never married, & was buried with her parents
  2. Emily [b 1868]
  3. Ann Elizabeth [b 1870]
  4. Ada Mary [b 1872]
  5. Charlotte Ann Elizabeth [b 1874]
  6. Fanny Priestley [b 1879]

They lived at 5 Briggate, Brighouse [1871, 1881].

Living with them [in 1871] was Seth Cartledge [b 1854] (grocer's assistant).

William died 23rd March 1882.

Anne Elizabeth died 25th May 1883.

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Rust, ArthurRef R374
[1881-1967] Born in Hilgay, Norfolk.

He enlisted in the Norfolk Regiment [23rd October 1899] at Downham, Norfolk.

He served as a private for 15 years as a regular and reserve.

He served in South Africa [7th May 1901-15th November 1902]. He was taken prisoner [3rd March 1902] and sent to Doornbult Concentration Camp in the Northern Cape.

He was awarded the Queens South Africa Medal with 5 Clasps for service in

  • South Africa 1901
  • South Africa 1902
  • Transvaal
  • Orange Free State
  • Cape Colony

He also served in India [16th December 1902-28th September 1904], in South Africa [29th September 1904-16th March 1907], and at home [17th March 1907-19th November 1914].

He was medically discharged with thrombosis [19th November 1914].

He came to live in Halifax.

He died in Halifax

RutchleyRef R145
Popular name for the area between Newton Green and Lineholme

Rutherford, GeorgeRef R304
[1892-1916] Son of Thomas Rutherford

He was a law stationer's clerk [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [3rd September 1916] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [7th October 1916].

He was buried at Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval, France. [Grave Ref I E 20].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland, on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale, and on the Memorial at West Vale Baptist Chapel

Rutherford, Rev RobertRef R635
[18??-18??] Curate at Elland [1861]

Rutherford, ThomasRef R303
[1857-19??] Son of John Rutherford, tailor.

Born in Ashton under Lyne, Lancashire.

He was a labourer of Greetland [1880] / a railway pointsman [1881, 1888] / a railway signalman [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1880, he married (1) Eliza Crowther [1856-1885] at Halifax Parish Church.


Eliza, of Greetland, was the daughter of John Crowther, engine tenter
 

Children:

  1. Mary Elizabeth [b 1882] who was a worsted rover [1901]

Eliza died in 1885 (aged 30).

In 1888, he married (2) Jane Midgley [1857-1910] at St Mary's Church, Luddenden.


Jane, of Luddenden, was the daughter of William Henry? Midgley, trader
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1890]
  2. Alice A [b 1891]
  3. George
  4. Sam [b 1895]

Jane died in 1910 (aged 52).

The family lived at

  • Dudmanstone Lane, Almondbury, Huddersfield [1881]
  • The Common, Heath, Wakefield [1891]
  • 15 Osborne Terrace, Luddenden Foot [1901]
  • 14 Coronation Street, Greetland [1911]
  • 82 Green Lane, West Vale [1916]

Rutkowski, Ignace Felix deRef R4400
[1840-1914] Aka Rutkouski.

Younger son of Ignace de Rutkowski, lord of the Manor of Spital, near Warsaw.

Born in Womna, near Warsaw, Poland [30th August 1840].

He spent time in Germany and Italy learning the languages.

He was in the Civil service in Warsaw.

He came to England in 1866.

He was a teacher of languages at Rossall College, Fleetwood / visiting language master at Rishworth, Hipperholme & Heath Grammar School / Professor of languages at 26 Union Street, Halifax [1905].

In 1872, he married Elsie Van Hatten [1848-1912].


Elsie (Eliza) was the daughter of Surgeon-Major J. van Hatten of the Royal Dutch Navy
 

Children:

  1. (possibly) Jocelyn Arthur P. [1877] who died in infancy
  2. Alfred [1881] who died in infancy (aged 2 weeks) 
  3. (possibly) Elizabeth
  4. (possibly) Marie
  5. (possibly) Josephine
  6. (possibly) Helene

The family lived at High Street, Halifax [1914].

Eliza died 19th February 1912 (aged 64).

Ignace died at home [14th March 1914] (aged 73).

His funeral service was held at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1658]

Rutter, BarrieRef R230
[1946-] Born in Hull. Founder, actor and artistic director with the Northern Broadsides Theatre Group at the Viaduct Theatre.

He started his career with the National Youth Theatre [1964].

In 1966, he was voted the Most Promising Actor of the Year' by the London critics for his performance in Apprentices.

In 2010, he was awarded the Pragnell Shakespeare Birthday Award. This is given annually to an individual or a company for

their outstanding achievement in extending the appreciation and enjoyment of the works of William Shakespeare or in the general advancement of Shakespearian knowledge and understanding.

See Our Kid

The Ryall family of HalifaxRef R964
John Ryall is recorded in 1664

Ryall, JohnRef R1143
[16??-16??] Recorded in 1664, when he was a yeoman at Brackenbedd in Ovenden

Ryall, JohnRef R187
[16??-1682] A yeoman of Halifax.

In 1658, a complaint was recorded that he

by force and arms entered the house of John Whitley of Ovenden, and stole 30 quarters of oats, 40 horse-loads of manure, and 4 wain-loads of hay, to the value of £60

A document dated 2nd November 1681, records that he

bought one cottage or dwellinghouse conteyning a housebody and a Chamber over the same ... in a place called Lovelace Lane in Halifax from Robert Halliday of Halifax, carpenter

Ryall, WilliamRef R632
[16??-16??] He married Martha Best

Ryan, AmbroseRef R302
[1898-1916] Son of John Ryan.

Born in Glasgow.

He was a member of St Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax / a mill doffer [1911] / employed in the printing department of Crossley's Carpets.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th/5th Battalion Black Watch (Royal Highlanders).

He was severely wounded by shellfire, and had his left leg amputated in hospital in France [October 1916].

He died in hospital from wounds received in action 2 days earlier [16th November 1916] (aged 18).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th November 1916].

He was buried at Etretat Churchyard, France [Grave Ref II B 3]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Ryan, BertramRef R428
[1912-1942] Son of Martha & William Ryan.

He was educated at Salterlee School, Northowram & Halifax Tech / a member of St Matthew's Church, Northowram / an apprentice at Drake's.

He married Ruth Edith.

Children:

  1. daughter

They lived at 11 Hall Lane, Northowram.

During World War II, he served as a Chief Engine Room Artificer with the Royal Navy aboard the destroyer HMS Martin.

He died 10th November 1942 (aged 30)  when his ship was torpedoed by German Submarine U-431, and sank in the Mediterranean off Algeria, with the loss of 158 of her crew of 221.

He is remembered on the Chatham Naval Memorial, Kent [Grave Ref 60 1], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Ryan, CharlesRef R832
[18??-1???] Headmaster of Halifax School of Art [1865].

He retired due to ill health [1866]

Ryan, George JohnRef R582
[1864-19??] Born in Birmingham.

He was a shoemaker [1891] / a bootmaker [1901].

He married Margaret Maria [1866-19??].


Margaret Maria was born in Dublin, Ireland.

She was a cloth weaver [1891]

 

Children:

  1. Margaret Annie [b 1884] who was a biscuit packer [1901], a cloth weaver [1911]
  2. James Augustine [b 1888]
  3. Lionel George [b 1891] who was in carpet printing [1911]
  4. Ambrose
  5. Arthur [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • 16 Lister Lane, Halifax [1891]
  • 19 Struthers Street, Calton, Glasgow [1901]
  • 88 Prospect Street, New Bank, Halifax [1911]

Ryan, JosephRef R707
[18??-19??] Of 26 Holroyd Street, Mount Pleasant, Halifax.

He was a reservist.

During the South African Wars, he was called-up [December 1899], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in 1900.

He is remembered on the Halifax Parish Church South African War Memorial, and on West View Park War Memorial

Ryan, MargaretRef R1487
[1803-1900] A native of the west of Ireland.

She was a keen smoker, thick twist being her favourite tobacco, which she was in the habit of smoking out of a long clay pipe.

When she died in February 1900, at the age of 97, she had been an inmate of the Halifax Workhouse for over 30 years. An obituary described her as the

Matriarch of the Halifax Workhouse

Ryan, ThomasRef R418
[1824-1???] Son of Patrick Ryan, farm labourer.

He was woolcomber of Broad Square, Clayton [1877].

He married (1) Unknown.

Children:

  1. James [b 1862] who was a cotton weaver [1881]

In 1877, he married (2) Jane in Bradford.


Jane [née Carbis] was the widow of
John Trewartha
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ellen [b 1879] who was a tailoress [1891]

The family lived at

  • 36 Pall Mall, Midgley [1881]
  • 23 Pall Mall, Midgley [1891]

Living with them [in 1881, 1891] when Jane was head of the household were Jane's children by her first marriage:

  • Elizabeth Ann Trewartha [b 1861] who was a cotton rover [1881], a tailoress [1891]
  • Catherine Trewartha [b 1863] who was a cotton rover [1881]
  • Elisha Trewartha [b 1866] who was a cotton mule piecer [1881]
  • John Andrew Trewartha
  • Peter Trewartha [b 1873] who was a cotton cop [1891]

and grandson Thomas H Trewartha [b 1875].

Jane was a widow by 1891

Ryan, William FrederickRef R591
[1867-1918]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Royal Defence Corps.

He died 19th March 1918.

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [K C 125]

Rybicki, Bryan JohnRef R437
[19??-] He was Mayor of Todmorden [1993-1994]

RyburnRef R605
River which rises on the moors at Blackstone Edge and flows down through the Baitings and Ryburn reservoirs to Rishworth – where it is joined by Booth Wood Stream – and down to Ripponden, Kebroyd, Triangle, and Sowerby Bridge – where it joins the Calder.

There are stepping stones across the river at Triangle. This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

John Rawson planted much of the woodland in the valley.

In 1996, there was a chemical spillage which killed much of the fish and life in the river.

The name has been said to mean fierce stream reedy stream, stream with a ford, or [less likely] King's borough.

See Bogden Clough

Ryburn Art Gallery, Sowerby BridgeRef R1482
Water Street

Ryburn Civic TrustRef R361
See Pennine Farm Museum

Ryburn Cottage, RippondenRef R677
Oldham Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Ryburn Garage Transport Company LimitedRef R1046
Transport company of Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1924, they bought the buses of Frederick Bateson.

Recorded in 1925 & 1926, when their applications for their omnibuses to ply for hire in Halifax Borough were declined

Ryburn Golf Club, NorlandRef R1313
Opened on 14th May 1910

Ryburn House, SoylandRef R442
Stands next to Stones House.

Before this became a private house, there was a small cotton-spinning factory here – known variously as Ripponden Wood Mill, Victoria Mills, and Ryburn House Mill.

The house is also recorded with other names, including Ryburn Villa, Ryburne Villa, and Lower Stones.

Owners and tenants have included

Ryburn Intake ReservoirRef R823
It covers 1 acre and has a capacity of 3 million gallons.

See Ryburn Reservoir

Ryburn Lodge, SoylandRef R1706
Owners and tenants have included

Ryburn Mill Company LimitedRef R1059
In 1894, the Whiteleys sold Ryburn Mill, Ripponden to the Ryburn Mill Company Limited. They were cotton doublers at their 2 mills:

See Miles Wadsworth

Ryburn [No 1283] Masonic LodgeRef R1485
Masonic Lodge.

They met at the Freemasons' Hall, Sowerby Bridge [1917] on the last Wednesday of the month.

The later moved to West Vale Masonic Hall.

Officers and Members of the Lodge have included

Ryburn ReservoirRef R717
Aka Ryburn Dam, Bogden Clough Reservoir. This was the first of 3 reservoirs – Baitings, Ryburn and Booth Wood – to be built to supply the Wakefield area. This necessitated the laying of pipelines through many parts of Calderdale and the inundation of Bogden village.

Construction began when the first sod was cut by Alderman John Tennant on 15th July 1925. The reservoir was opened on 7th September 1933 at a cost of £240,000.

The dam is over 100 ft high. It covers 26 acres and has a capacity of 220 million gallons.

Wakefield Corporation planted 60,000 Sitka spruce and Japanese larch trees. Herons are a familiar sight here.

See Baitings Reservoir, Bogden Clough, Bogden Mill, Bogden, Booth Wood Reservoir, Rishworth Hall Wood, Ryburn Intake Reservoir, Stansfield Hey, Ripponden and Ryburndale Paper Mills

Ryburn Troupe of Merry MusiciansRef R498
A light musical group recorded in the 1920s


Question: Does anyone know anything about the group?

 

Ryburn ValleyRef R1530
The valley of the river Ryburn includes the communities of Rishworth, Ripponden, Kebroyd, Triangle, and Sowerby Bridge, where the river joins the Calder.

See Ryburn Valley Almanack

The Ryburn-Valley AlmanackRef R512
19th century almanac produced by F. Nichol

Ryburn Valley branch lineRef R268
Railway line which linked Sowerby Bridge Station via Scar Head Tunnel to Triangle, Ripponden, and Slitheroe Bridge, Rishworth

See Martha Mallalieu and Rishworth pigs

Ryburn Valley History SocietyRef R1480
Formed in 2008.

The members meet on the first Monday of the month at 7.30 pm at Ripponden Conservative Club.

New members always welcome.

The scope of our interests covers the area which is basically that of the old Ripponden UDC (Soyland, Barkisland & Rishworth) plus adjoining areas including Sowerby, Norland, Triangle, Mill Bank

Contact:

4 Castle Estate
Ripponden
West Yorkshire
HX6 4JY

Email: rippondencastle@talktalk.net

Ryburn Villa, RastrickRef R1434
Church Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Ryburn Villa, SoylandRef R153
Owners and tenants have included

This appears to be the same property known as Ryburn House, Ripponden

Ryburn Ward, HalifaxRef R1346
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax

Ryburndale Paper Mills Company LimitedRef R1032
Paper manufacturers at Ryburndale Paper Mill, Soyland [1905, 1910].

In 1910, they were recorded as producing:

Printings, Writings, Cartridges, Fine News, White and Tinted, Glazed and Unglazed, Reams or Reels, or for Export

Powered by Steam

The business closed in the mid-1990s

Ryburndale, RippondenRef R679
Owners and tenants have included

Rycliffe House, RippondenRef R1177
Formerly known as Cliffe Cottage.

Owners and tenants have included

In the late 1960s, there was an extension to the right. By the mid-1980s, this had been demolished to create parking space

Rydal Mount, BrighouseRef R33
Parsonage Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Rydal Mount, HalifaxRef R820
75-77 Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

The Rydeing familyRef R968
From the 13th century, the Rydeing family of Rydeing, Ovenden Wood are mentioned. The name is variously spelled Rideinge, Riding, Ridynge, and Rydyng.

In the early 16th century, all the male heirs had died out, and the estate passed to Mary Rydeing

Rydeing, Ovenden WoodRef R344
The ancestral home of the Rydeing family. A house is mentioned in 1274.

John Farrer lived here. In the 18th century, the house passed to his son, Elkanah. His initials – E.R.F 1734 – appeared over the door of the house

It was demolished in 1???

Ryder, ArthurRef R572
[1880-1917] Born in Oakworth.

He was organist & choir master at St Paul's Church, King Cross [for 8 years].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of sickness and exposure (whilst in Flanders) in Huddersfield Military Hospital [29th March 1917].

He was buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross

Ryder, OliverRef R305
[1888-1914] Son of Albert & Emma Jane Ryder of Ovenden.

Born in Halifax.

He married Flora.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 13th November 1914 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 57], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth

Flora married Mr McRose.

They lived at 7 Belvedere Place, Dublin

Ryder, RichardRef R1316
[1816-1869] Of Hipperholme. Recorded in April 1865, when his horse won first prize for Stallions: Best blood at the Wharfedale Agricultural Association show at Otley

Ryders Court, HipperholmeRef R336
Denholme Gate Road. Early 18th century house.

This is now the Dominion Works factory canteen

RydingRef R269
See Riding and Rydeing, Ovenden Wood

Ryding, RichardRef R1656
[1???-1527] Of Sowerby. On 6th June 1527, Sir Richard Oldfield witnessed his will

The Rydings, BrighouseRef R98
Halifax Road. House built in 1841 for corn miller, John Brooke.

See Brighouse War Memorial

Rydings Hall, BrighouseRef R99
The Brighouse parish hall in Church lane, stands just below the former St Martin's School. It was built in 1926, a gift of Richard Woodhouse. It was dedicated to Dr Eden, Bishop of Wakefield. It was originally used for the Church Institute.

The building was named Rydings Hall in the 1970s when it was used as the headquarters and rehearsal rooms of the Brighouse & Rastrick band. It was formally opened by the Mayor of Brighouse in September 1971.

A part has been converted into Rydings Hall Surgery.

The Sugden Church House was built next door.

See Brighouse Church Institute

Rydings Hall Surgery, BrighouseRef R1563
Church Lane.

Staff at the surgery have reported cases of doors and windows slamming shut when there was no draught. These incidents have been attributed to the death of a woman in toilets of the building, and even the spirit of Jimmy Clitheroe. The apparition of a black dog has also been reported.

See Rydings Hall, Brighouse

Rydings, OvendenRef R608
Crabtree records this as
An ancient mansion, formerly in the possession of a family of that name, then of the Farrars of Ewood, the last of whom died May 1799

Rydings Park, BrighouseRef R569
The park at The Rydings was laid out in 1898.

The gardens of the house were transformed by Charles Kershaw into a public park.

This was the first public park in Brighouse.

The Park Parliament was erected in 1902.

A bandstand was bought from Harrogate Council and erected in the park in April 1933. It fell into disrepair and was removed in the 1950

RyecroftRef R287
District of Calderdale near Illingworth

Ryecroft, IllingworthRef R334
Owners and tenants have included

Rygate, AnnRef R57
[1???-13??] She was the 2nd wife of Sir John Elland

Ryland, JonathanRef R81
[1973-] Actor.

Son of a Todmorden doctor.

Born in Surrey.

He has appeared in many TV productions, including Fat Friends

Ryley & SonsRef R1092
Fountain pen dealers and stationers at 27 Southgate, Halifax. Established in 18?? by James A. Ryley.

George R. Ryley was with the firm [1900, 1905].

The shop closed in 198?.

Since then it has been a card shop, a mobile phone shop

Ryley, George RhoadesRef R1364
[1859-1???] Born in Louth, Lincolnshire.

In 1882, he married Louisa Martha Jerome from Gosport, Hampshire, at Louth.

Children:

  1. James
  2. George [b 1886]
  3. Kate [b 1898]

A 1900 advertisement announced

George R. Ryley

Stationer, Bags, Holdalls, Dress Baskets, Bonnet Boxes

27 Southgate, Halifax

See Ryley & Sons

Ryley, GilbertRef R753
[14??-15??] Of Sowerby.

In his will of 1536, he gave money to Sowerby Chapel and bequeathed the sum of 33/4d to John Royde

Ryley, James A.Ref R654
[1884-1936] Son of George Rhoades Ryley.

Established Ryley & Sons

Ryley, Rev JohnRef R555
[16??-17??] Curate at Hartshead [1712] and private Chaplain to the Armytage family.

He left property in Highmoor Lane to his brother, Joseph, on condition that some of the rent go to the master of Clifton Free School to enable him to

teach 3 poor children of the township, such children to be chosen by the Church wardens

Rymer, Lionel DerrickRef R188
[1921-1942] Son of Florence Gertrude & Wright Rymer of Lightcliffe.

During World War II, he served as a Petty Officer with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 5th July 1942 (aged 21).

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [F C 74]


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


© Malcolm Bull 2019
Revised 15:47 /12th October 2019 / r / 911666

search tips advanced search
site search by freefind

web counter