S



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Sa Sc Se Sh Si Sk Sl Sm Sn So Sp Sq Sr St Su Sw Sy


Sackett, Rev Benjamin HowardRef S1163
[1903-1999] Son of Rev George Whitefield Sackett

He was minister at Roker Congregational Church, Sunderland [1936] before becoming Minister at West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge [1937]

On 23rd February 1933, he married Winifred Faith Milnes [1913-1996] at Doncaster Road Congregational Church, Rotherham


Winifred was the daughter of W. H. Milnes of Boston Castle Grove, Rotherham.

She was Secretary of the Young People's Guild, and Superintendent of the Primary Department of the Sunday School in Rotherham

 

Sackett, Rev George WhitefieldRef S373
[1873-1955] Son of Elizabeth (née Lee) [1836-1920] & Rev Benjamin Sackett [1834-1900].

Born in Langford, Oxfordshire [1873].

He was Minister at Patmos Congregational School, Todmorden.

He moved to Penistone [1912].

In 1902, he married (1) Elizabeth Findley (Finlay) Kingston [1872-1936] at St George-in-the-East, London.

Children:

  1. Benjamin Howard
  2. Winifred [1904-1986]
  3. Irene [1907-1993]

In 1937, he married (2) Mary Hannah Jubb [1890-1973] in Wortley

He died at Wood Lynne, Stocksbridge, Sheffield [28th March 1955].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £435 2/11d.

Administration was granted to his widow Mary Hannah

Sacro Fonte, Hugh deRef S359
[12??-13??] Watson mentions a Hugh de Sacro Fonte de Staynland. who was alive in the 13th century.

See St Helen's Well, Holywell Green

SacroboscoRef S626
Mathematician and astronomer born in Rastrick

Sadd, William EdwardRef S2487
[1853-1932] BA.

Son of Mary Anne (née Fuller) [1820-1881] & Robert Thomas Sadd [1817-1891], a jeweller & optician.

Born in Cambridge [He].

He was educated at St Catherine's College Cambridge / Assistant Master at Heath Grammar School [1875].

In 1889, he married Sarah Lever [1862-1947] in Bath.

Children:

  1. Elsie Constance Fuller [1890-1961]
  2. Hilda Beatrice Anne [1892-1973]
  3. Robert William [1893-1957]
  4. Doris Edith [1897-1937]
  5. Walter Edmund Gladstone [1898-1971]

He died in Bath

The Saddler's Shop: Shibden HallRef S3505
This is in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. There are examples of tools and equipment which was used in the making and maintaining of harness, saddles, collars, and horse brasses for the domestic and agricultural horses on the estate

Sadler, Rev JohnRef S1009
[1846-1924] Born in Chester.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1890]

Sadler, Michael ThomasRef S2
[1780-1835] Linen exporter and Methodist social reformer of Leeds. When he was MP for Aldborough in 1831, he introduced the Ten Hours Bill

Sadler, Robert AlfredRef S1261
[1888-1914] Son of Eliza & Robert Alfred Sadler of 12 Launceston Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Yorkshire Regiment.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 2nd November 1914 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 33], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sagar & MeredithRef S2113
Dyers of Luddendenfoot. Established in the late 19th century by Henry Sagar and J. T. Meredith at Wood Bottom Dye Works, Luddendenfoot.

Recorded in 1908 as Henry Sagar Limited at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot

Sagar (Developments) LimitedRef S3160

Sagar, DonaldRef S708
[1860-1915] Son of Joseph Sagar.

Born 18th March 1860.

He was educated at Rishworth School / apprenticed to Buck & Watkin / a saw mill engineer [1891] / a partner in J. Sagar & Company Limited.

In 1886, he patented improvements in grinding cutters and machine plane irons

On 2nd August 1881, he married Letitia Nicholl at Halifax Parish Church.


Letitia was the daughter of William Nicholl
 

Children:

  1. Martha [1882-1966]
  2. Jessie [1883-1939] who married George Adair Haigh
  3. Joseph Donald

The family lived at

  • 9 Charles Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 18 Savile Park, Halifax [1901]
  • Heath Villas, Halifax [1916]

He owned Haigh House, Warley [1905-1913]

In 1903, he was one of the first people to be granted a car registration and a motor drivers' licence

Donald died 5th April 1915.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £93,632 8/5d.

Probate was granted to his widow Letitia, son Joseph Donald, Thomas Steel (manufacturer), and George Adair (engineer) 

Letitia died 15th October 1946.

Members of the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Sagar, Donald JosephRef S3136
[1890-1922] Or Joseph Donald.

Son of Donald Sagar.

Born 28th August 1890.

He was an engineer / a director of J. Sagar & Company Limited / a member of Halifax Golf Club.

He never married.

They lived at Heath Villas, Halifax [1922].

He and John Robinson were killed when the Strasbourg to Paris air express crashed into the Gorge de Saverne as they were returning from motor races in Strasbourg [16th July 1922].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell with other members of his family

Sagar, GeorgeRef S878
[1858-1883] First husband of Helen Hinchliffe.

On 9th April 1881, they married secretly at Burnley, against her father's wishes.

He died in Southport.

He was buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale

Sagar, George SharpRef S2996
[1856-1937] Son of Joseph Sagar.

He was a yarn salesman [1881].

In [Q1] 1877, he married (1) Mary Jane Talbot [1857-1907] in Wakefield.

Children:

  1. Eleanor Gertrude [b 1878]

The family lived at Spring Edge, Skircoat [1881].

Mary Jane died in Halifax [5th February 1907] (aged 50).

In 1907, he married (2) Agnes Hannah Dunstan [1865-1918] in Halifax.


Agnes Hannah came from Sheffield
 

Agnes Hannah died 29th March 1918 (aged 53).

George died 15th February 1937 (aged 79).

Members of the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Sagar's: H. Sagar LimitedRef S2112
Dyers and finishers of Luddendenfoot and Mill House Mill, Sowerby established by Henry Sagar around 1889.

The business evolved into Sagar & Meredith, then Henry Sagar Limited at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot [1908], and Henry Sagar (1931) Limited

Sagar, HarryRef S863
[1895-19??] MM.

Son of James Sagar.

He was a silk dresser [1911].

He lived at New House Hill, Greetland.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the Machine Gun Corps.

He was awarded the Military Medal [1918]


for bravery and gallant work in Mesopotamia in February 1918
 

His photograph appears with reports of his award in the Halifax Courier [9th November & 16th November 1918]

Sagar, HenryRef S1368
[1865-1947] Born in Nelson, Lancashire.

As a young man, he established the partnership Sagar & Meredith.

Around 1889, he established H. Sagar Limited.

In 1919, he was a partner in Sagar-Richards Limited.

In 1881, he was a visitor to John Crossley Fawcett

Sagar, Hubert GordonRef S3653
[1886-1966] Son of Joe Sagar

In 1912, he married Ethel Durber, at Wolstanton, Staffordshire.

Children:

  1. John Gordon
  2. Anthony D. G. [b 1919]
  3. Joan G. [b 1924]

He died in Westmorland

Sagar's: J. Sagar & Company LimitedRef S2037
Engineers and manufacturers of woodworking machinery in Halifax.

Established at Stone Dam Mills in 1875 by brothers Joe and Donald Sagar.

An advertisement in the Halifax Guardian for the business in 1875 announced


To Iron and Brass Founders, Boiler Makers, &c
J. SAGAR & Company IRON MERCHANTS
Supply Middlesbro, Scotch and Hematite Pig Iron
Cleveland & Staffordshire Boiler and Tank Plates
Boiler Rivets, Bar Iron, Copper, &c &c
Quotations arranged on application to Office
10 Causeway, Halifax

During World War I, the Company produced a machine for shaping propellers.

The business later moved to Canal Works, Water Lane, Halifax.

In 1954, they were listed as Sagar (Developments) Limited and there were adverts for their BURSGREEN woodworking machinery.

The pattern shop and foundry at Canal Works closed in 1958.

See Donald Joseph Sagar and John Gordon Sagar

Sagar, JamesRef S850
[1871-1928] Son of Rawson Sagar, woolsorter.

Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a gardener of West Vale, Greetland [1894] / a carter for dyer [1901] / a carter [1911].

In 1894, he married Ada Hives [1868-1957] at Halifax Parish Church.


Ada, of Halifax, was born in Swinton, Yorkshire, the daughter of James Hives, moulder
 

Children:

  1. Harry
  2. Jack [b 1898] who was a worsted doffer [1911]

The family lived at

  • The Mount, Greetland [1901]
  • 1 The Mount, Greetland [1911]

James died in Halifax [Q4 1928] (aged 57).

Ada died in Halifax [Q2 1957] (aged 89) 

Sagar, JoeRef S2242
[1854-1915] Son of Joseph Sagar.

He was a member of Northgate End Chapel / IPM of Probity [No 61] Masonic Lodge / one of the subscribers to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire [1913] / a mechanical engineer / employed with his father on woodworking machinery / a partner in J. Sagar & Company Limited.

In 1877, he married Mary Jane Gordon [1855-19??] in Keighley.


Mary Jane came from Keighley
 

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1879] who married John Arnold Ackroyd
  2. Mary [b 1881]
  3. Hubert Gordon
  4. Annie [b 1890]
  5. Dorothy [b 1892]
  6. Edith Marjorie [b 1894] who married [Halifax Q3 1915] Thomas P. Kershaw
  7. Miriam Audrey [b 1898]
  8. child

Only 4 of the children survived.

The family lived at

  • 9 Charles Street, Halifax [1881]
  • 34 Union Street, Halifax [1891]
  • The Poplars, Halifax [1901, 1905, 1911]

Joe died suddenly at home [23rd September 1915] (aged 62).

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell [27th September 1915]

Sagar, John GordonRef S3654
[1913-1981] Son of Hubert Gordon Sagar.

Born 22nd February 1913.

He was the last managing director of Sagar's

In 1935, he married Sylvia Mary Rimmer [1905-19??] at St Margaret's Church, Westminster.


Sylvia Mary was born in Cheshire
 

Children: Dale [b 1939]

He died at Huddersfield

Sagar, JosephRef S2451
[1831-1900] Son of Joseph Sagar.

Born in Cononley, Keighley [31st January 1831].

In 1841, the 10-year-old Joseph was living in Cononley with William Cockshott and family.

In 1851, he was living with Henry Cockshott and family at Clipster Hall, Siddal, Halifax.

He was an oiler man [1851] / an oiler in a worsted factory [1861] / Verger at Halifax Parish Church [1871] / Church Sexton [1881] / Halifax Parish Clerk [1891] / (possibly) Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1891-1897] / an engineer with his son, Joe, on woodworking machinery [1901].

On 20th April 1852, he married Sarah Sharp [1832-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah came from Midgley
 

Children:

  1. Joe
  2. George Sharp
  3. Donald

The family lived at

  • Wilson's Yard, Halifax, [1861]
  • 12 Nelson Street, Halifax, [1871]
  • 10 Causeway, Halifax, [1881, 1891]
  • 26 Elmfield Place, Halifax [1900]

He died 2nd April 1900.

He was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.

The funeral cortège was headed by 200 workpeople from J. Sagar & Company Limited.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Sagar-Richards LimitedRef S2028
Makers of metal castings at Luddendenfoot. Established in 1919 by Henry Sagar and brothers Daniel and Alfred Richards. They were originally at Woodbottom Dye Works, Luddendenfoot.

They expanded to Ellen Holme Mills [1955] and the Synchro Works [1958], Cooper House Mills and other premises in Luddendenfoot. In 1973, an explosion destroyed the firm's offices.

The firm closed in 2002, possibly a consequence of an unwillingness to invest in modern developments

Sagar, WilliamRef S6001
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1838, when he was a member of the Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry

Sagar, WilliamRef S2483
[1851-1893] On 8th July 1900, a stained glass window at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone was dedicated to his memory by his children

Sager, JohnRef S3051
[1823-1881] He was a farmer, slater & plasterer [1861, 1871] / publican Swan Inn, Heptonstall [1861, 1871] / licensed victualler of the Cross Inn, Heptonstall [1874, 1881] / a farmer of 18 acres [1881].

On 2nd February 1842, he married Sally Uttley [1822-1900] at Heptonstall Church.

Children:

  1. William [1843-1883]
  2. James [1850-1853]
  3. Sutcliffe
  4. Sarah Ellen [1857-1926] who married Abel Fletcher

He died at the Cross Inn [10th July 1881].

His widow Sally took over at the Cross Inn until her death in 1900.

Sally died at the Cross Inn [7 April 1900].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,757 6/10d. Probate was granted to daughter Sarah Ellen & James Hartley (actuary).

At her death, she had been in the pub business for 41 years and was the oldest landlady in Heptonstall.

She was buried at Heptonstall Slack Baptist Cemetery

Sager, John OrmerodRef S662
[1871-1966] Of Holly House, Todmorden.

Son of William Sager.

He was a solicitor's articled clerk [1901] / a solicitor [1911]

In 1901, he was living at Twickenham, Surrey with his sister Mabel & her husband John Dewhirst.

On 20th October 1901, he married Annie Eastwood at St Mary's Church, Luddenden.


Annie was the daughter of Eli Ogden Eastwood
 

Children:

  1. William Maurice Eastwood
  2. John Donald [1905-1906]
  3. Margaret Winsome [b 1907]
  4. Mary Hamilton [1908-1995]

In 1907, he and his wife presented a new font to St Paul's Church, Cross Stone in memory of their son John Donald

The family lived at Holly House, Todmorden [1911]

Sager, SutcliffeRef S3048
[1854-1897] Son of John Sager.

He was a slater, plasterer & painter [1881] / a plasterer [1891] / landlord of the Robin Hood, Pecket Well [1897]

On 8th May 1877, he married Susannah Burn [1854-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. John [1877-1956]
  2. Walter Burn [1880-1936]

The family lived at Main Street, Heptonstall [1881, 1891].

In October 1897, he and some others were returning from a pigeon shooting match at Cullingworth, when Sager's horse shied as they were coming over Cock Hill. Sager fell into the road and suffered injuries from which he died on the following evening at the Robin Hood [24th October 1897]

His wife took over at the Robin Hood

Sager, WilliamRef S2713
[1804-1855] He was a grocer [1841] / a tallow chandler [1851] / a grocer, tea dealer, wine and spirit merchant and tallow chandler at Church Street, Todmorden.

In 1845, a Savings Bank was held on his premises, every Thursday between 10:00 am and noon

On 10th August 1835, he married (1) Alice Ormerod [1803-1839] at St Chad's, Rochdale.


Alice was the daughter of
John Ormerod
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1837-1860]
  2. Ormerod [1839-1839]

In [Q3] 1845, he married (2) Sarah Stansfield [1811-1802] in Macclesfield.

Children:

  1. Hannah [1847-1847]
  2. Stansfield [1849-1891]
  3. William

The family lived at

  • Church Street, Todmorden [1841]
  • Dale Street, Langfield [1851]

He built Holly House, Todmorden [1852].

He died at Holly House, Todmorden [31st March 1855].

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden [5th April 1855].

Daughter Elizabeth died at Holly House [28th August 1860].

She too was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £12,000. Probate was granted to her uncle Peter Ormerod, and Joseph Firth of North View Todmorden (cotton manufacturer).

His two wives and children Ormerod & Hannah were also buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Sager, WilliamRef S154
[1850-1899] Son of William Sager.

He was a solicitor for the Union [1881] / clerk superintendent [1881] / registrar of births & deaths for Stansfield [1881] / solicitor & clerk to the Guardians [1891] / superintendent registrar [1891] / clerk to the rural sanitary authority of the Todmorden Union [1891].

On 8th July 1875, he married Alice Western [1850-1887] at Holy Trinity, Richmond, Surrey.


Alice was born in Knaresborough, and had a daughter Mabel [1873-1947], whose birth was registered in Richmond, Surrey, as Western but she was baptised [2nd March 1876] at Cross Stones as Mabel Sager
 

Children:

  1. William Oswald Stansfield [b 1876]
  2. John Ormerod
  3. Haworth [b 1879]
  4. Mabel who married [Q2 1895] John Dewhirst

The family lived at

On 7th July 1900, his son, John, unveiled a stained glass window at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone, in his memory

Sager, William Maurice EastwoodRef S652
[1902-1962] Son of John O. Sager.

On 5th June 1928, he married Eileen Patricia Hoyle at Christ Church, Todmorden


Eileen Patricia was the daughter of Joshua Hodson Hoyle
 

Sainsbury, Alfred GeorgeRef S1222
[1899-1971] Born in Mytholmroyd [11th July 1899].

Landlord of the Woodman, Midgley [1933].

In 1920, he married Alice Cook in Todmorden.

They had no children.

Alice took over at the Woodman [1933-1934]. She took the licence of the Beehive, Soyland on her own, and is recorded as living there alone [1940-1954].

Alice died at the Beehive in 1954.

Alfred died in Scunthorpe in 1971

Saint Alban's Road Post OfficeRef S2736
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936

Saint Andrew's Operatic SocietyRef S282
The operatic society of St Andrew's Methodist Chapel, Queens Road, Halifax

Saint Ann's in the Grove, SouthowramRef S222
House mentioned in 1500 and in 1601.

It was owned by members of the Thompson family, including

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

It was rebuilt several times and it was damaged when local quarrying caused subsidence of the land.

It was damaged by an explosion at Brooke's Chemical Works on 22nd December 1917.

The house was demolished in 1934 after the east wing had collapsed.

The 18th century stable-block was converted into houses.

The name should not be confused with St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram.

This is discussed in the book Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Saint Anne's Cricket Club, SouthowramRef S1412
Formed in 1???.

Closed in 1???. The pavilion was sold to Barkisland Cricket Club.

See Southowram Cricket Club

Saint Anne's Southowram Quarterly Messenger & RecordRef S1697
Publication produced around 1873 by St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram. It was an 8-page publication and was priced at 1d. Rev William Laycock was an editor

Saint Aubyne, EllandRef S3263
Owners and tenants have included

Saint Crispin Republican Club, HalifaxRef S2011
A 19th century republican movement formed at the St Crispin Inn, Halifax. John Baines was a member.

See Halifax Republican Club and United Britons

Saint George's Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef S61
The cast-iron bridge was built by
De Bergue & Co. Ld. Manchester

and dated 1892. It cost £1,530 to build. It was opened in 1893. The construction required the demolition of property between Bridge Mill and the Shoulder of Mutton.

A cast-iron panel records:

St George's Bridge Erected by Public Subscriptions with the aid of a grant from The West Riding County Council Committee: John Crowther, George Pickles, A. B. M Moss, Joseph Greenwood, J. B. Brown Sec

The East pier is inscribed J. Sutcliffe Architect, and the West pier is inscribed E. Riley Contractor.

The original gradient fell towards St George's Square and was considered too steep. In 1911, the gradient was changed from 1 in 8½ to 1 in 14½ when the bridge was lowered by 18 inches at the St George's Square end, and by 5 inches in the centre.

It was modified again in 1961

Saint Giles House, Hove EdgeRef S516

Saint Giles, LightcliffeRef S473
Area of Lightcliffe which takes its name from Giles House

Saint Helen's House, HalifaxRef S2255
Stood at the northern end of North Bridge.

In 1808, Captain Jeremy Lister and his family left the Skelfler estate and brought the family to live here

Saint Helen's Square, Holywell GreenRef S1335
There were a number of 17th century houses here.

Around 1855, the Shaw family moved St Helen's Well from its earlier position at Mellor Mill Lane. They diverted the water for their new dyeing plant.

The area was cleared in 1966/1969 for the construction of housing

Saint Helen's Well, Holywell GreenRef S1538
Mineral water spring at Helen Hill Farm, Jagger Green Lane.

It was restored in 1977.

See Carr Hall Well, Holywell Green, Holy Well, Holywell Green, Holywell Green, Nell, Hugh de Sacro Fonte, St Helen's Chapel, Holywell Green and St Helen's Square, Holywell Green

Saint James Amateur Operatic SocietyRef S274
Founded by the members of St James's Church, Brighouse. The first production was Floradora at Sugden Memorial Hall in 1924.

It became the Brighouse Light Opera Society

Saint James's Club, HalifaxRef S2716
A gentlemen's club established in July 1868. They had about 100 members. They met in premises at 15-17 Crown Street which had been offered by Edmund Minson Wavell.

Officers included

Recorded in 1874 at 24 Crown Street, Halifax when J. Graham was Steward.

In 1881, they acquired land at Barum Top / Fountain Street. A new club was built by Jackson & Fox.

The new club was opened on 27th May 1882 and became the Halifax Club.

In 1973, it merged with the Borough Club to become the Halifax & Borough Club

Saint James [No 448] Masonic LodgeRef S2942
This Masonic Lodge was the largest in West Yorkshire. Established in 1838.

In 1874 – together with Probity [No 61] Lodge – they opened the Freemasons' Hall, Halifax.

They met on the Tuesday on or before full moon [1894].

Officers and Members of the Lodge have included

See De Warren [No 1302] Masonic Lodge

Saint James's Road Post OfficeRef S2294
Recorded in 1905 at 57 St James's Road, Halifax. It was then at the same address as the business run by Thomas Ramsden, draper and stationer

Saint James's Road Turkish Baths, HalifaxRef S1971
Aka Fleming's Improved Turkish Baths. Opened in 1862 by W. Fleming at 7-8 St James's Road.

Around 1876, the baths were acquired by Herbert Hadley and Hadley & Priestley. They moved the business from St James's Road to 5 King Cross Street.

It survived until at least 1908 under a series of proprietors

Saint James's Ward, HalifaxRef S2845
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1861. Around 1865 it was divided into Central Ward and ??.

See James Bairstow

Saint John's Ambulance Association, BrighouseRef S2006
The Brighouse Corps of the St John's Ambulance Association was formed in 1882.

From its earliest beginnings in Brighouse, Dr Bogdan Edward Jastrzębski Edwards was involved with the local branch of the Ambulance Brigade. He held many classes promoting the organisation.

He became the first man in Brighouse to be awarded the Order of St John of Jerusalem

In 1980, the branch ran into difficulties when 3 officers were dismissed for being unfit to hold their positions of authority.

See Henry Jocelyn Barber, Dr Frederick Bond, St John's Ambulance Hall, Brighouse and St John's Ambulance Hall, Rastrick

Saint John's Ambulance Association, HalifaxRef S2012
The Halifax Corps of the St John's Ambulance Association was formed at the Mechanics' Hall, Halifax on 26th July 1880. The Bishop of Ripon was the first President.

On 31st January 1929, Ernest Shaw Redman gave a motor ambulance to the Association. It was delivered on 15th June 1929.

See Minnie Laura Warneford

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, EllandRef S449
Recorded in March 1916, when the Elland Madrigal Society presented a Concert at the Constitutional Club, Elland in aid of the local branch

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, HalifaxRef S2740
See Dr Edmond West Symes and Edward Bertram West Symes

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Hebden BridgeRef S2148
The Hebden Bridge Corps of the St John's Ambulance Brigade was formed in 1887.

Those involved in establishing the group included Theophilus Bates, Dr David Bradley, and Herbert King

On 1st February 1896, Josiah Wade gave Hebden Bridge its first ambulance. In 1924, the horse-drawn vehicle was replaced by a motor ambulance

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Sowerby BridgeRef S7270

See Mrs Crowther Stockton

Saint John's Ambulance Hall, BrighouseRef S3131
The foundation stones were laid on 20th May 1913 by the Dowager Countess of Desart and Mrs Smith of Lands House

Saint John's Ambulance Hall, RastrickRef S369
Bramston Street.

Built in 1913.

The foundation stone was laid by Mrs William Smith.

9 members of the Association who died in World War I, are commemorated by 9 holly trees planted in the grounds.

The building is now the St John's Chapel – a Chapel of Rest.

See St John's Ambulance Association, Brighouse

Saint John's Ambulance Hall, TodmordenRef S2735
Victoria Road.

This was originally Victoria Road Primitive Methodist Chapel

Saint John's Cross Farm, BradshawRef S3249
Owners and tenants have included

Saint John's, HalifaxRef S677
Area which includes the West Hill Park area and Gibbet Street. For the purposes of Municipal Elections, the area was known as St John's Ward and then Park Ward.

It now has a largely Asian population

Saint John's Home, TriangleRef S1705
The Vicarage for the church of St John the Divine, Thorpe.

Built around 1850.

Possibly designed by W. S. Barber who also designed the Church.


Question: Can anyone confirm the name of the architect who designed the property?

 

It stood nearly opposite the Church, and adjacent to a row of older cottages.

It is described as

Built of Yorkshire stone, with gothic windows ... a very damp home!

It was used a sanatorium for soldiers returning from the Crimea War

Saint John's HospitalRef S206
Gibbet Street, Halifax. The Halifax Union Workhouse and hospital buildings opened in March 1840. It was known as St John's Hospital from 1891, and also as Halifax Poor Law Institution.

In 1901, a new St Luke's Hospital was built at Salterhebble to accommodate bed-ridden patients from the overcrowded workhouse.

The building was used as an auxiliary military war hospital during World War I.

On 11th September 1929, a new clock was installed in the gable of the Hospital and named Miriam in honour of Mrs Miriam Lightowler.

In 1948, the institution was taken over by Leeds Regional Hospital Board. It came to be used for geriatric care.

The hospital closed in September 1970 and patients were transferred to Northowram Hospital. The buildings were demolished in April 1972 and the contents were sold off at auction.

See Officers of Halifax Union Workhouse and Westfield House, Halifax

Saint John's House, HalifaxRef S352
Trinity Road / Stone Trough Lane.


Question: Does anyone know why the name Saint John is applied to the house and other features nearby?

 

Owners and tenants have included

See Freemasons' Hall and St John's Lane, Halifax

Saint John [No 1736] Masonic LodgeRef S3256
Masonic Lodge.

They were at the Masonic Hall, St James's Road, Halifax [1937]. They met on the first Wednesday of the month [1937].

Masters and members of the Lodge have included

  • Newton Brooke – PM
  • J. C. Ackroyd – Secretary at Blackwall, Halifax [1917]
  • E. Uttley – Master [1937]

Saint John of God Respite Care Home, LuddendenfootRef S2432
Opened on 2nd March 1997 on the site of St Walburga's Catholic Church

Saint John the Baptist WellRef S204

Saint John's Tide FairRef S3473
An annual hiring fair which was held in Halifax on the Feast of St John the Baptist. It was discontinued around 1???

Saint John's Vicarage, HalifaxRef S3172

Saint John's Villa, HalifaxRef S9000
Owners and tenants have included

Saint John's WardRef S2879
For the purposes of Municipal Elections, the St John's area was known as St John's Ward.

In 2003, it was renamed Park Ward.

See Margaret Alice Berry, Electoral Wards and William McVine

Saint John's Well, ColeyRef S1672
A well near Coley Hall is said to have been used as a holy well for curing certain ailments

Saint Joseph Temperance SocietyRef S488
Winding Road, Halifax. 19th century organisation

Saint Luke's HospitalRef S131
Huddersfield Road, Halifax.

Aka Halifax Poor Law Hospital.

Designed by W. C. Williams, work began on the building in 1897.

It was built on land previously occupied by a market gardener. There are still allotments nearby.

The Halifax Union St Luke's Hospital – or Union Infirmary – opened on 9th April 1901 to accommodate bed-ridden patients from the overcrowded Union Workhouse at Gibbet Street. It was the largest public building in Halifax at the time.

Construction costs recorded as £100,000.

The foundation stone reads

Halifax Union
St. Luke's Hospital

This foundation stone of St. Luke's Hospital, being an Infirmary for the sick poor in Halifax Poor Law Union, comprising the townships and parishes of Barkisland, Brighouse, Clifton, Elland and Fixby, Greetland, Halifax, Hartshead, Hipperholme, Luddenden Foot, Midgley, Norland, Northowram, Norwood Green and Coley, Queensbury, Rastrick, Rishworth, Shelf, Skircoat, Southowram, Sowerby, Sowerby Bridge, Soyland, Stainland with old Lindley, Upper Greetland and Warley, was laid on the 9th day of October 1897, by the Rev. C. E. Aspinall, MA, J. Ponly, Chairman of the Halifax Board of Guardians

The building cost was £98,000. It opened in 1902.

Its two distinctive bottle-shaped ward blocks still stand at the south and the north ends of the site. It had 400 beds.

Between 1914 and 1920, it became St Luke's Military Hospital.

On 8th November 1926, wireless was installed at the Hospital.

In 1930, it taken over by Halifax County Borough and became St Luke's Hospital.

After 1948, it joined the National Health Service as Halifax General Hospital.

See Richard Charnock

Saint Luke's Military Hospital, HalifaxRef S3132
During World War I, St Luke's Hospital, was used for treating soldiers. A further 302 beds were placed in marquees in the hospital grounds. It accommodated 800 to 900 patients.

On 8th July 1916, the Chapel was dedicated by the Bishop of Wakefield.

On 11th December 1918, the 650 soldiers in the Hospital were entertained to a grand banquet and concert by the Borough Police to celebrate the Armistice.

See Minnie Laura Warneford

Saint Marie's Catholic Club, HalifaxRef S2396
Aka St Marie's Catholic Association.

Recorded on 27th July 1915, when a new suite of clubrooms was opened by the Association

Recorded in 1917 at Hall Street, when James Canning was secretary.

See St Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Halifax

Saint Mark's Eve VigilRef S3037
Around midnight on the 24th April, a vigil was held at St Peter's Church, Hartshead. The vigil was held for 3 consecutive years, and on the third year, those present would see the spirits of those who were to die in the forthcoming year.

It is said that people were known to have become ill or died as a consequence of their being seen during the vigil

Saint Matthew's Theatre SocietyRef S382
Brighouse

Saint Michael's Acting SocietyRef S385
Mytholmroyd

Saint Michael's Church Institute, MytholmroydRef S1309

See St Michael's Church Institute Memorial and St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd

Saint Michael's Mount, BarkislandRef S3385
Owners and tenants have included

Saint PancrasRef S434
The cruiser HMS Ajax and the HMS St Pancras were adopted by Halifax in Warships Week during World War II

Saint Paul's Coal SocietyRef S2286
Recorded in 1905 at Parkinson Lane / Queens Road when the Secretary was J. H. Elkington

Saint Paul's Monumental Works, King CrossRef S1048
See Gad Cordingley

Saint Paul's Railway Station, HalifaxRef S1980
Aka Halifax Old Station. The station opened on 5th September 1890. This was situated at the junction of Queens Road with Parkinson Lane and Kingston Street, and was the Halifax southern terminus of the High Level Railway.

The passenger service and the station closed on 1st January 1917. The last goods train ran in 1960 when the goods yard closed.

The station was demolished in 1963 A car showroom stands on the site.

Saint Peter's Community Centre, SowerbyRef S1835
St Peter's Avenue

Saint Thomas's Cricket Club, ClaremountRef S289
The cricket club St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Recorded in the 19th century, when Thomas Parker was a patron

Saint Winifred's Nursing Home, RastrickRef S1841
Crowtrees Lane

Saiz, ManuelRef S1262
[1902-1942] Of 110 Grange Road, Middlesborough.

A Spanish seaman, he had been on leave at 12 Haigh's Court, Crossley Terrace, Halifax, shortly before his death.

During World War II, he served as a Bosun with the Merchant Navy aboard the cargo ship SS Newton Pine.

He was lost [16th October 1942] (aged 40)  when his ship straggled behind the convoy and was torpedoed by German Submarine U-410 and sank in the Atlantic with the loss of all 46 crew.

He is remembered on the Tower Hill Memorial, London [Grave Ref 73], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Salcombe, Arthur F.Ref S1236
[1882-1917]

In [Q3] 1914, he married Mary J. Postlethwaite in Toxteth, Lancashire.

They lived at 7 Pexwood Place, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with A Battery 190th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 2nd July 1917 (aged 35).

He was buried at Bus House Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref G 12]

Salem FieldRef S523
Hebden Bridge. Central Street Infant & Nursery School was built on the land

Salem North Parade Pierrot TroupeRef S313
19th/20th century entertainers from Salem Chapel, North Parade

SalfordRef S1566
An old name for Bridge End, Rastrick

SalfordRef S550
Area of Todmorden which marks a crossing of the Walsden stream

SalforthRef S622
18th century name for an area at the Rastrick end of Brighouse Bridge at Bridge End

Salis-Schwabe, Major-General GeorgeRef S3077
[1843-1907] MP.

The first MP for the Middleton Division [1885-1886]

Salkeld, WilliamRef S141
[1807-1866] Of Halifax.

He married Esther [1814-1873].

William died 27th March 1866 (aged 59).

Esther died 16th August 1873 (aged 59).

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1748]

Salmon & Gluckstein LimitedRef S2239
Tobacconists and walking stick dealers at the junction of Princess Street / 2 Crown Street, Halifax [1905]

Salmons, FredRef S1273
[1871-19??] Son of Henry Salmons.

Born in Feltwell, Norfolk.

He was a boarder with Mrs Esther Wolfenden & family at Slead Syke, Brighouse [1891] / a worsted drawing overlooker [1891] / a worsted spinning overlooker [1901, 1911].

In [Q2] 1892, he married Emma Jane Carrington [1870-19??] in Halifax.


Emma Jane was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Harry
  2. Cyril Langley [b 1900] who served with the Sherwood Foresters in World War I

The family lived at 1 Woodland Terrace, Halifax [1901]; 8 Salisbury Place, Akroydon [1911, 1918]

Living with them [in 1901] were sister-in-law Emily Carrington [b 1872] (cleaner in mill)  and brother-in-law Robinson Carrington [b 1879] (dyer's labourer).

Living with them [in 1911] was sister-in-law Emily Ann Carrington [b 1872] (cleaner in factory) 

Salmons, HarryRef S1333
[1894-1918] Son of Fred Salmons.

Born in Brighouse.

He was educated at Trinity School / an insurance clerk [1911] / employed by the Royal Insurance Company, Commercial Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he joined the Colours as a Private [September 1914], and went to France [2nd May 1915]. He was wounded twice on the Somme. He returned to England to take up his commission, and went back to the front [January 1918], and served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 1st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was reported missing on 21st March 1918, and later learned to be a POW in Germany.

He died of wounds in the lungs as a POW [1st April 1918] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [13th April 1918].

He was buried at Flesquières Hill British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV B 20].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Salmons, HenryRef S1281
[1845-1???] Born in Norfolk.

He was an engine driver [1881].

Around 1869, he married Eliza [1848-1???].


Eliza was born in Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. Ethel C. [b 1869]
  2. Fred
  3. Alice E. [b 1874]
  4. John [b 1876]
  5. William S. [b 1878]
  6. James [b 1879]

The family lived at Norfolk [1871]; 96 St Peter Street, Claremount [1881]

Salt, AdaRef S1217
[1853-1935] Daughter of Sir Titus Salt.

She married E. Herbert Stevenson MICE.

See Lightcliffe Congregational Church

Salt & Pepper, HalifaxRef S379
Aka Washer & Boiler, Castor & Pollux.

The popular name for the two 170 ft-tall cooling towers which dominated the Halifax skyline from 1937 when they were built to replace 6 earlier wooden towers.

On 24th March 1974, there was an unsuccessful attempt to demolish the towers with explosives. Thousands of people watched the event from Beacon Hill.

There was a successful attempt – using a half-ton steel ball – in October.

They cost £14,000 to build and £26,000 to demolish

Salt, DanielRef S3638
[1781-1843] Son of Titus Salt.

He attended Heath Grammar School.

He was a woolstapler / an iron-founder / a businessman / a politician / a member of the Bradford Board of Guardians [1837].

He established Daniel Salt & Son with his son Titus.

He retired from business [1833] and went to live on Manningham Lane, and his son Titus took over the business.

On 1st October 1840, his son-in-law Charles Smithies went to her parents' house and made an attempt to stab Daniel with intent to main him. Daniel sustained wounds to his left ear.

On 5th July 1802, he married Grace Smithies [1779-1854].


Grace was the daughter of Isaac Smithies
 

Children:

  1. Titus
  2. Sarah [b 2nd December 1804] who married William Atkinson
  3. Hannah Maria [13 July 1806-26 April 1807]
  4. Ann [b 14th November 1807]]
  5. Isaac Smithies [11 July 1810-19 September 1819]
  6. Grace [b 9th September 1812] who married Charles Smithies
  7. Edward [b 9th February 1814]
  8. Hannah [14 October 1821-13 February 1822]

The family lived at Manor Farm, Crofton, near Wakefield [1813-1819] and then moved to Bradford [around 1822]

Daniel died 28th December 1843 (aged 62).

Grace died 10th November 1854

Salt, GeorgeRef S1177
[1833-1913] Son of Sir Titus Salt

Born 22nd April 1833.

In 1875, he married Jennie Louisa Fresco.


His wife came from Florence
 

He died 8th May 1913

Salt, HelenRef S1216
[1852-1924] Daughter of Sir Titus Salt.

See Lightcliffe Congregational Church

Salt JimmyRef S1166
A character of the 19th century who wheeled a large wooden box around Halifax selling salt or exchanging salt for rags and bones. He was a familiar sight with his black hair hanging in ringlets

Salt Pie, ColdenRef S2461
Farm in the upper Colden Valley

Salt Pie, Crow HillRef S3559
In 1905, it was described as
a little white cottage on the hill side of the Luddenden valley

Owners and tenants have included

The property was demolished in the 1950s

Salt, Sir TitusRef S5
[1803-1876] He was a pioneering wool-manufacturer at Bradford and built Saltaire model village.

Chris Helme writes that


Around 1850, Salt wanted to build a mill, and a model village for the workers, along Armytage Road, Brighouse, but the Armytage family rejected the proposal; Salt then went on to establish Saltaire instead
 

See Bailiffe Bridge Working Men's Club, Bleak House, Lightcliffe, Booth Independent Congregational Church, Halifax, Bradford & Keighley Insurance Company, Lightcliffe Congregational Church, Lightcliffe United Reformed Church and West Yorkshire Railway Company

Salt, TitusRef S758
[1843-1887] Of Baildon.

5th son of Sir Titus Salt.

He was a worsted spinner employing 3,500 hands [1871].

On 15th March 1866, he married Catherine Crossley at Square Congregational Church, Halifax.

Children:

  1. Gordon Locksley [b 1867]
  2. Harold Crossley [b 1869]
  3. Lawrence Titus Whitlam [1874-1946]
  4. Mary Isabel [b 1877]

The family lived at

  • Milner Field, Bingley [1871]
  • Catherine was at Chomeley Park, Hornsey [1881]
  • Titus was at Aldborough Hall, the home of his brother-in-law, Henry C. Crossley, [1881]

Salt Warehouse, Sowerby BridgeRef S1227
Warehouses Number 3 and 4 at Sowerby Bridge Canal Basin were designed to allow goods to be loaded and unloaded undercover from a wet dock and may be the first examples of the type in England.

The Rochdale Canal Act [1793] instructed the Calder & Hebble Navigation Company to build at Sowerby Bridge whatever wharves and warehouses the Rochdale Canal Company wanted, the latter to pay for the space they used.

The warehouses were built by John Smeaton in 1796 for the Calder & Hebble Navigation Company. Richard Milnes occupied the warehouses for a time.

Warehouse Number 3 – called the Salt Warehouse because salt used to be stored there – is a Grade II listed building, and Warehouse Number 4 is a Grade II* listed building. This warehouse has one end on the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the other on the Rochdale Canal.

One end of the Salt Warehouse is on the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the other end is on the Rochdale Canal.

In 1972, Mark Andrew and his wife took the lease on Sowerby Bridge Canal Basin from British Waterways, and were advised to demolish the Salt Warehouse as it was unsafe. They saved it by forming The Salt Warehouse Trust.

It is now a bar and restaurant

Salt, WilliamRef S1429
[1812-1???] Born in Southowram.

He was an excavator [1851].

Around 1834, he married Ann [1808-1???].


Ann was born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. James [b 1834] who was a flag facer [1851]
  2. Thomas [b 1835] who was a quarry boy [1851]
  3. William
  4. Ellen [b 1846]
  5. Margaret [b 1849]

The family lived at New Street, Southowram [1851]

Salt, WilliamRef S1427
[1845-1884] (Possibly) son of William Salt

Born in Southowram.

He was a stone delver [1881].

In [Q4] 1877, he married Ellen Dyson [1845-1894] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. Mary A. [b 1879]
  2. Arthur [1881] who died in infancy & was buried with his parents

The family lived at 30 New Street, Southowram [1881].

William died 15th November 1884 (aged 39).

Ellen died 19th December 1894 (aged 49).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-L21]

Salt, Sir William HenryRef S1158
[1831-1892] Son of Sir Titus Salt

He was 2nd Baronet of Maplewell, near Loughborough / High Sheriff of Leicestershire [1879].

He died 7th July 1892

Salter & Salter LimitedRef S1312
Boot manufacturers at Commercial Street, Brighouse. Established around 1851.

See Scales & Salter

Salter, JohnRef S2980
[1829-1???] Born in Somerset.

He was Manager of Gibbet Street Turkish Baths, Halifax [1881].

In 1855, he married Louisa [1825-1???] from Brighton, at Worthing.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1857] who was a mantle maker [1881]
  2. Eliza [b 1859]
  3. William [b 1864] who was a chemist's assistant [1881]

Salter Rake GateRef S400
A salt way from Rochdale, Reddyshore Scoutgate and Walsden to Lumbutts, Mankinholes, Heptonstall and Halifax.

See Bottomley and Salter

SalterhebbleRef S6
District of Calderdale in the township of Skircoat to the south of Halifax.

Salterhebble & District Rose ShowRef S2477
In 1883, this was held at Moorside, Halifax, the home of Louis John Crossley. A feature of the show was an electric tramway built by Michael Holroyd Smith and Crossley in the gardens of Moorside

Salterhebble Bottom LockRef S499
Aka Brooksmouth Lock. Electrically-operated lock – #27 – on the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

It is one of a series of 3 locks – Salterhebble Top Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock, and Salterhebble Bottom Lock - which replaced an earlier staircase of 1767.

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble, Salterhebble Middle Lock and Salterhebble Top Lock

The Salterhebble branchRef S1229
Aka Halifax Arm, Halifax Branch.

An extension of the Calder & Hebble Navigation from Salterhebble to Halifax was opened in 1828

See Farrar Mill Lane Aqueduct

Salterhebble BridgeRef S669
A bridge was mentioned in 1533 when John Waterhouse left 12d for
the amendynge of Salterhebble

It was mentioned again in 1637

Salterhebble BrookRef S1551
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length at Salterhebble

Salterhebble canal basinRef S701
The canal basin at Salterhebble served Halifax until the Salterhebble branch into the middle of Halifax was opened in 1828.

There is another basin further south where the Calder & Hebble Navigation joins the Salterhebble branch.

See Navigation Wharf, Halifax

Salterhebble Co-OpRef S2820
Branch number 21 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1872

Salterhebble Cotton Spinning CompanyRef S2096
The company was registered in June 1865.

On 30th August 1886, their new mill was badly damaged by fire

Salterhebble Cricket & Football ClubRef S1354
Recorded before the outbreak of World War I

Salterhebble HillRef S8

Salterhebble Liberal ClubRef S2225
Chapel Lane. Recorded in 1905

Salterhebble LiftRef S281
In 1902, in order to avoid the steep Salterhebble Hill, a lift was proposed as a means of linking the trams from Halifax to Dudwell Lane – taking the passengers down the steep [1 in 9.69] hillside in the lift – and thence continuing by tram to West Vale.

J. H. Whitley visited the USA where similar lifts were in use.

The lift would have been powered by steam.

On 12th April 1901, Skircoat ratepayers protested against the construction of the lift. The project was abandoned after considerable ratepayer opposition, being condemned as an American fad

Salterhebble Lock: Lock-Keeper's CottageRef S3399

Salterhebble LocksRef S3445

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble

Salterhebble Middle LockRef S539
Lock #26 on the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

Built in 1779.

It is one of a series of 3 locks – Salterhebble Top Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock, and Salterhebble Bottom Lock - which replaced an earlier staircase of 1767.

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble

Salterhebble NurseryRef S2238
Landscape gardeners and florists. They were at 41 Crossley Hill, Huddersfield Road. [1905].

See Abraham Lee Conway

Salterhebble Post OfficeRef S2291
Recorded in 1861. It was then at the same address as the business run by Samuel Haigh, grocer and provision dealer.

Recorded in 1874 and 1905 at 19 Salterhebble Hill. It was then at the same address as the business run by Willie Hodgson, stationer and newsagent

Salterhebble Rugby Football ClubRef S1088
Recorded in 1914

Salterhebble Top LockRef S493
Lock #25 on the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation. Built in 1779.

It is one of a series of 3 locks – Salterhebble Top Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock, and Salterhebble Bottom Lock - which replaced an earlier staircase of 1767.

The paddles are operated by a handspikes.

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble, Salterhebble Bottom Lock and Salterhebble Middle Lock

Salterhebble TunnelRef S3290
A twin-bore tunnel which took the railway line from ? to Greetland

Salterlea, ShibdenRef S471
Owned by John Northende in 1535. Subsequent owners included other members of the Northende family, Rev Richard Hooke, John Northende, and Edward Hanson

Salterlee House, ShibdenRef S1283
Owners and tenants have included

Salters, Rev W.Ref S1642
[18??-18??] Recorded [1858, 1859 & 1877] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery

Salterville, HalifaxRef S1126
Stafford Avenue / Skircoat Green Road.

19th century house.

It was later known as Brooklands.

Owners and tenants have included

It became a Nursing Home.

In 2003, it was demolished and 24 flats were built on the site

Saltinstall, GilbertRef S541
[1560-1???] Son of John Saltinstall.

Born in Halifax.

He married Sybil Mylner [1555-1???].

Children:

  1. Mary [b 1580] who married William Speight

Saltinstall, JohnRef S538
[1530-1???] Born in Halifax.

He married Gracia Oldfield [1530-1???].


Gracia was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Gilbert

Saltmarshe, ChristopherRef S48
[17??-1852] Son of Philip Saltmarshe.

He was a member of a Committee supporting those affected by the Luddites [1813].

On 2nd June 1817, he married his cousin, Emma Rawson.

Children:

  1. daughter
  2. daughter
  3. daughter
  4. daughter
  5. son
  6. son

They lived in Royds' House.

The family had a woollen mill

Saltmarshe, Mrs EmmaRef S1164

Saltmarshe, PhilipRef S297
[17??-17??] In 17??, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Christopher Rawson.

Children:

  1. Christopher
  2. Philip

His family were partners in Rawson & Saltmarshe

SaltonstallRef S10
District of Calderdale west of Sowerby Bridge, below Wainstalls, and a part of Warley.

The name is first mentioned in 1196, and is derived from salh [a willow] and tunstall, and means willow farmstead.

In the 13th century, Earl Warren was Lord of the Manor of Warley. He had vaccaries and a hunting lodge for his annual chase of deer and hare.

The Saltonstall surname originated here.

Watson records a rocking stone and various other remains here which he associated with Druidic practices.

See Lower Saltonstall Farm, Warley, Lower Saltonstall Hall, Warley, Upper Saltonstall Farm, Warley and Upper Saltonstall, Warley

Saltonstall...Ref S69
The entries for people & families with the surname Saltonstall are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

See Miscellaneous Saltonstall items

Saltonstall FallsRef S3240

Salts, JohnRef S670
[1915-1944] Son of Gertrude (née Whittle) & Fred Salts who married in Burnley [q4/1908].

In [Q3] 1936, he married Jenny Louvain Cavanagh in Todmorden.

They lived in Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Petty Officer Air Mechanic with the Royal Navy aboard HMS Garuda.

He died 10th May 1944 (aged 29).

He was buried at Colombo (Liveramentu) Cemetery, Ceylon [Grave Ref 2 K 11].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Saltynstall, IsabellaRef S2874
[1515-1584] Or Isabel Saltonstall.

She was one of the last nuns at Kirklees Priory. She received a pension of 33/4d.

She came to live in Halifax.

In 1576, she was accused of calling Marjory, wife of Richard Hall

Gregory Waterhouse's whore

In retaliation, Hall called Isabella a whore. The judge found in Isabella's favour and fined Hall 50/- for his

vexatious accusation

Isabella was buried at Halifax Parish Church [25th May 1584] as

Isabell Saltonstall als Nune de Southourum

Salute the SoldierRef S939
A savings scheme of 1944.

In June, Brighouse raised £370,877 for the fund. A total of £3,042,565 was raised throughout Calderdale

Salvation Army Men's Hostel & MetropoleRef S328
Aka Bramwell House. Carlton Street, Halifax. Opened on 13th January 1908.

The building was sold in 1980.

It is now a restaurant, Milan's

Sam at Roddins, MrRef S534
[17??-18??] A highly-respected local character in Todmorden. He was in demand – and well-paid – as a master of ceremonies at weddings and other festivities.

He was the general factotum for Christopher Rawdon at Roddins, that is, Callis Mill, Charlestown. In the 1830, the mill burnt down and the Rawdons moved to Liverpool, leaving Mr Sam in charge


Question: Can anyone tell me more about Mr Sam? His real name?

 

Sam Farrer's Hill, BarkislandRef S460
Named for Samuel Farrer

Sam Robinson Hoyle Memorial Garden, West ValeRef S690
Stands on the site of Stainland Road Methodist Church, West Vale at the junction of Saddleworth Road and Stainland Road. The garden and shelter were given by Mr and Mrs John Edmund Hoyle in memory of Sam Robinson Hoyle

Sammy Wood, HipperholmeRef S847
A remnant of Brianscholes wood

Samples, BryanRef S751
[1893-1917] Son of George Samples.

Born in Liverpool.

He was a general labourer at flour mill [1911] / employed by Sowerby Bridge Co-operative Society Limited.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to the Dardanelles [3rd September 1915].

He was servant / batman to Captain John Joseph Horsfall.

He was killed in action in France [10th June 1917] (aged 24).

He was buried at Derry House Cemetery No 2, Heuvelland, Belgium [Grave Ref I A 8].

2 of his brothers also served in World War I.

His brother John died in World War II

Samples, GeorgeRef S823
[1870-1922] Born in Liverpool.

He was a labourer at a bedstead works [1911].

Around 1892, he married Ellen [1873-19??].


Ellen was born in Liverpool
 

Children:

  1. Bryan
  2. William Edward [b 1895] who worked at a bedstead works [1911]
  3. George Frederick [b 1897] who was a washer at worsted mill [1911]
  4. Mary Ellen [b 1899] who worked part-time in a worsted mill [1911]
  5. Alice [b 1904]
  6. Herbert [b 1907]
  7. John

The family lived at 32 Greenup's Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

Son Bryan died in World War I, and 2 other sons served in the War.

Son John died in World War II.

In all, 40 members of the family were in the Forces.

George died in Halifax in 1922 (aged 52) 

Samples, JohnRef S1397
[1908-1940] Son of George Samples.

In [Q2] 1933, he married Mary Marshall in Halifax.

They lived in Halifax

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 229th Battery with the 58th Anti-Tank Regiment 58 Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 1st May 1940 (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Dunkirk Memorial, France [Grave Ref 14], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance. His brother Bryan died in World War I.

Sampson, GordonRef S1866
[19??-] Journalist.

Son of Doris and Peter Sampson, licensees of the Black Bull, Brighouse.

In July 1959, he started working on the Brighouse Echo.

In the early 1960s, he joined the sports desk of the Halifax Courier.

He wrote articles on Halifax Speedway for the Halifax Courier, under the pen-name Red Shale

In 1981, he became associate editor of the Brighouse Echo.

In 1987, he became editor of the Brighouse Echo.

In the early 1990s, he became special features editor at the Courier.

In 19??, he became editor of the Calderdale News.

He retired in 2006

San Remo Club, HalifaxRef S3267
St James's Street. Recorded around 1960

Sancto Bosco, Johannes deRef S19
[1195-1256] Mathematician and astronomer born in Rastrick

See Wood

Sand House, LuddendenfootRef S800
Sowerby Lane. Late 17th / early 18th century laithe-house

Sandal Bowling Club, Hebden BridgeRef S3091
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 40

Sandall, WilliamRef S1416
[1852-1934] Born in Somercotes, Derbyshire.

He was a maltster / a foreman maltster employed by Samuel Webster's.

In 1873, he married Sabina Jesney [1849-1927] in Louth.


Sabina was born in Theddlethorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. Louisa [1875-1950] who never married
  2. William Robert

The couple moved from Lincolnshire to Halifax between 1891 & 1901.

The family lived at 23 Broadley Hall, Ovenden [1901].

William died in Halifax 1934

Sandall, William RobertRef S1417
[1877-1958] Son of William Sandall.

Born in Louth, Lincolnshire.

He was a maltster employed by Samuel Webster's Brewery.

In 1898, he married (1) Mary Amanda Jones [1877-1901] in Halifax


Mary Amanda was born in Bradford
 

Children:

  1. Robert William [1900-1949]
  2. Edith [1901-1969] who married James E. Jeffcock

Mary Amanda died in 1901 - (possibly) in childbirth.

After her death, the children went to live with their grandparents Sabina & William Sandall at Broadley Hall.

In 1907, William Robert married (2) Annie Allinson [1885-1968] in Halifax.


Annie was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Louie [b 1908]
  2. Ethel [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 16 Boy Lane, Wheatley [1901]
  • 16 Long Can, Ovenden Wood Road [1907]
  • 18 Ovenden Wood Road, Halifax [1958]
  • 102 Rye Lane, Pellon [1968]

William Robert died in Pellon [31st May 1958].

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon [3 R 8]

Sandbach, David MarshallRef S1246
[1899-1947] Son of William Lacy Sandbach-Marshall.

In 1???, he married Elsie.

He died at Torquay

Sandbach-Marshall, Annie ButterworthRef S683
[1875-1965] Daughter of Phoebe [née Lacy] and William Henry Sandbach.

She never married.

After her father's death [7th July 1882], her mother married Abraham Marshall.

In 1921, she and her siblings adopted the surname Sandbach-Marshall by deed poll.

She lived at 16 Clarence Gate Gardens, Baker Street, London [1965].

She died at 12 Hornsey Lane, London [8th November 1965].

Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £4,746.

Probate was granted to Susie Barbara Handford Gask (spinster) 

Sandbach-Marshall, William LacyRef S782
[1870-1929] Son of Phoebe [née Lacy] and William Henry Sandbach.

Born in Sale, Cheshire.

After his father's death [7th July 1882], his mother married Abraham Marshall.

In 1921, he and his siblings adopted the surname Sandbach-Marshall by deed poll.

He was a director of W. L. Sandbach [1905].

In 1895, he married Sarah Cunliffe Mills [1872-1949] from Todmorden.

Children:

  1. Phoebe Lacy [1896-1985] who died in Burnley & Pendle
  2. Annie Mildred [1897-1983] who never married and died in Burnley & Pendle
  3. David Marshall
  4. Sarah Hannah L [1900-1977] who died in Halifax
  5. Charles Frederick W [1902-1922] who died in Todmorden
  6. William Henry [1904-1951] who died on Hailsham, Sussex

The family lived at Langfield House, Todmorden [1921]

Sandbach's: W. L. Sandbach & CompanyRef S2051
Cotton manufacturers at Hope Street Mill, Todmorden [1905].

The business was at Anchor Mill Todmorden [1968].

See William Lacy Sandbach-Marshall

Sandbach, William HenryRef S3642
[1844-1882] Born in Chorlton.

In 1869, he married Phoebe Lacy.

  1. Phoebe Gertrude [1872-19??]
  2. Annie Butterworth
  3. Mary Edith [1877-1951] who became a noted theologian
  4. William Lacy
  5. Susie [b 1882]

The family lived at Clarendon House, Sale, Cheshire.

William Henry died in Sale [7th July 1882].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £16,649 1/9d.

The will was proved by his widow Phoebe.

In 1893, Phoebe married Abraham Marshall.

In 1921, the children adopted the surname Sandbach-Marshall by deed poll. This may have been a condition of their inheritance

SandbedRef S49
Area of Todmorden

Sandbed Bridge, CharlestownRef S765
The name of Mutterhole Bridge, Charlestown from the 1880s. The bridge was widened in 1830. The present bridge was rebuilt in the 1900s.

A boundary stone – marking the boundaries of the Rural District of Todmorden and the Borough of Todmorden – is listed

Sandbed Cottage, Hebden BridgeRef S3111

Sandell, HarryRef S3553
[18??-1???] Beerhouse keeper at the Barley Mow, Elland [1889].

Recorded in March 1889, when he suffered a severe scalp wound after falling from a tramcar on its way to Edgerton

Sanders & BottomleyRef S3537
Cotton manufacturers at Elland. There was a fire at the mill on 8th December 1866

Sanders, Rev Francis GundryRef S594
[1838-1917] Son of Rev James Sanders.

Born in Lincolnshire.

He was vicar of St Saviour's, Brixton [1857]

Sanders, Rev JamesRef S702
[1799-1880] MA.

Or Saunders.

Born in Totnes, Devonshire.

He was educated at Queens' College Cambridge [1826] / ordained at Canterbury [1830] / curate at Silk Willoughby & Swarby, Lincolnshire [1841-1844] / curate / incumbent at Barton-on-Humber [1845-1847]. before becoming Perpetual Curate at Ripponden [1847-1873].

The present St Bartholomew's Church was built during his incumbency [1868].

He left to serve as minister at Guildford, Surrey / minister at Brixton, London.

He was a critic of the pew system in churches.

He married Margaret Harrison [1804-1873].


Margaret was born in Cheshire
 

Children:

  1. Margaret Harrison [1835-1850]
  2. Francis Gundry
  3. Eleanor Ann [1840-1908]
  4. Frederick William [1842-1869]

Margaret died 12th March 1873 (aged 69).

James died at the home of his son Francis in Brixton [8th December 1880] (aged 81).

Members of the family were buried at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden: James [15th December 1880].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at under £1,000.

His will was proved by his son Francis

Sanders, Thomas RichardRef S785
[18??-19??] Wine & spirit merchant of Halifax.

In [Q1] 1878, he married Eliza Ann Smith [1853-1898] in Halifax

Sanderson, CharlesRef S8740
[1857-19??] Born in Cumberland.

He was a foreman pattern maker (hydraulics engineering) [1911].

Around 1887, he married Mary [1860-19??] from Lytham, Lancashire.

Children:

  1. Eunice [b 1890] who was an elementary school teacher [1911]
  2. Mary Lois [b 1892] who was an elementary school teacher [1911]
  3. Annie [b 1894]
  4. Grace [b 1898]

The family lived at 117 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was brother-in-law Alexander Duncan [aged 47] (joiner) 

Sanderson, Charles HenryRef S1149
[1881-1935] Born in Bradford.

He was a cattle dealer [1911].

Around 7th December 1907, he married Sarah Ann Maud [1888-1952] at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth.


Sarah Ann was born in Oxenhope, the niece of Sarah Ann Crabtree who married
Ayrton Hey
 

Children:

  1. Cyril [b 1910]

The family lived at Balkram Edge Farm, Mount Tabor [1911].

The couple were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden.

Sanderson, JohannesRef S2386
[16??-17??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1701]

Sanderson, JohnRef S1302
[18??-1918] He was a cashier with Charles Cain, Son & Greenwood.

He married Unknown.

They lived at Savile Park Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry [September 1916], and served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the King's Shropshire Light Infantry.

He died 26th March 1918.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sanderson, MrRef S1834
[17??-18??] Partner in Buckley & Sanderson

Sanderson, RobertRef S5760
[18??-1???] Of Todmorden.

On 5th May 1863, the theft of two brass candlesticks, the property of Robert Barker, landlord of the British Queen, Todmorden, took place. The thief was a local man, Robert Sanderson, who ran off with the candlesticks, but was caught in Bacup by PC Turner, to whom he confessed the theft. He was committed for trial when the case was heard at the Magistrates office

Sanderson, Rev WilliamRef S1004
[1803-1874] Born in Harswell, Yorkshire.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1839]

Sandford, Rev EdwardRef S419
[1818-1878] Son of Frances and Rev Humphrey Sandford.

Born in Shrewsbury.

He was educated at St John's College Cambridge, a solicitor of the Court of Chancery, an attorney of the Court of the Queen's Bench, ordained at Lichfield, and served at Shrewsbury before becoming Curate at Parish Church of St John the Baptist, Halifax [1847-1851] and Perpetual Curate at Elland [1853-1872] In 1872, he left to serve at Grandborough, Warwickshire and Denford, Northamptonshire.

On 20th September 1848, he married Mary Armitage [1815-1898].


Mary, from Almondbury, was the 6th daughter of Joseph Armitage of Milnsbridge House
 

Children:

  1. Emily [d 1857] who died aged 18 months

Members of the family were buried at Elland Parish Church

Edward died 18th December 1879 (aged 61).

Mary died at Leamington [15th February 1898] (aged 83)  and was buried there

Sandford, Rev Francis PhilipRef S1274
[1862-1948] Born in Atherton, Lancashire.

He was at Dewsbury [1911] before becoming Curate at Luddenden [1918] and Vicar of Barkisland [1919-1936]

In 1884, he married Jane Hill [1861-1936] from Fyldesley, Lancashire, in Leigh, Lancashire.

Children:

  1. Elsie Rowland [b 1889]

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Sandford PhotographersRef S3306
Photographer at 28 King Cross Street, Halifax [1915]

Sandhole House, WalsdenRef S3375
Woodbottom.

Owners and tenants have included

SandholmeRef S192
Area of Langfield, Todmorden

Sandholme Iron Company LimitedRef S2062
Todmorden engineers and iron founders [1905]

Sandhome Rope Walk, TodmordenRef S898
Martha, Sarah & John Clegg. carried on their rope-making business here.

Jonas Clegg joined the business

Sandie, Robert WilliamRef S831
[1873-1931] Son of William Sandie.

Born in Halifax.

He was a printer's apprentice [1891] / a linotype operator [1901] / landlord of the Grand View, Lee Mount [1905, 1911, 1917] / landlord of the Old Cock, Southgate [1917-1931].

In [Q3] 1897, he married Annie Turner [1874-19??] in Halifax.


Annie was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Donald [b 1910]

The 1911 census shows that they had had 2 children of whom 1 was still alive at that time.

The family lived at 8 Wallace Street, Halifax [1901].

Robert died at the Old Cock [9th June 1931] (aged 57) 

Sandie, WilliamRef S839
[1834-1???] Born in Scotland.

He was a coach painter [1881, 1891].

Around 1865, he married Catherine [1829-1???].


Catherine was born in Scotland
 

Children:

  1. David [b 1861] who was a coach body maker [1881]
  2. Isabel [b 1865] who was a worsted spinner [1881], a dress maker [1891]
  3. Helen [b 1867] who was a worsted spinner [1881], a coating weaver [1891]
  4. Mary K. [b 1870] who was a dress maker's assistant [1891]
  5. Robert William

The family lived at

  • 4 Bond Court, Halifax [1881]
  • 14 New Bond Street, Halifax [1891]

Sandiford, SamRef S997
[1869-1950] Son of James Sandiford, printer.

Born in Rochdale.

He was a wire drawer of Industrial Street, Brighouse [1895] / a thick wire drawer [1901, 1911].

In 1895, he married Sarah Lockwood [1875-1932] at St Thomas's Church, Bradley.


Sarah was born in Bradley.

Her father was not recorded on the marriage documents

 

Children:

  1. Sydney
  2. Stanley [b 1899]
  3. Gertrude [b 1902]
  4. Irvine [b 1908]

The family lived at

  • 36 Shroggs Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • 40 Shroggs Terrace, Halifax [1911, 1917]

Sam & Sarah died in Halifax

Sandiford, SydneyRef S1245
[1896-1917] Son of Sam Sandiford.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a member of Salem United Methodist Chapel, Halifax & Sunday School / a woollen roving frame doffer [1911] / employed by Roscoe & Cockcroft.

During World War I, he enlisted [20th May 1915], and served as a Gunner with D Battery 175th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He was a member of the battery staff of telephonists, and was patrolling the telephone wires connecting the battery with the observing station, when he and a senior NCO were killed instantaneously [24th July 1917] (aged 21). by a German shell which burst between them.

He was buried at Coxyde Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I L 3].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Salem United Methodist Chapel

Sands Farm, LuddendenfootRef S1341
Stands above Boulderclough

Sands Lock, TodmordenRef S551
Lock #32 on the Rochdale Canal. It has a double set of bottom gates to take the 57½ ft long vessels of the Calder & Hebble Canal

SandstoneRef S104
See Clay, Coal, Galliard, Donkey stone, Flags, Elland stone, Millstone grit, and York stone

Sandwell, John BellRef S602
[1848-1???] Born in Lancaster.

In [Q3] 1869, he married Elizabeth Oddy in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Mary Sandwell [b 1873] who was a worsted operative [1891]
  2. Bates Sandwell [b 1876] who was a wire drawer [1891]
  3. Alice Sandwell [b 1879] who was a worsted operative [1891]

In 1881, Elizabeth married (2) William Gledhill

Sandyfoot Clough, BarkislandRef S3239

Sanger, J. EdgarRef S1528
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor with Hirst, Whitley & Akeroyd [1934].

He qualified in December 1913

Sankey, MaryRef S834
[18??-1???] Daughter of R. N. Sankey of Ludlow. In 1853, she became the second wife of Jeremiah Stansfield Rawson

Sansom, GeorgeRef S1462
[1887-1915] Son of Alice & George Sansom of Bury St Edmund's, Suffolk.

In [Q3] 1910, he married Bertha Fisher in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 18th March 1915 (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 9 & 10], and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge.

In [Q3] 1916, Bertha married Mr Sharp in Halifax.

They lived at 15 Charlotte Street, Sowerby Bridge

Sapling Grove, HalifaxRef S1824
Master Lane.

Owners and tenants of the house have included

The Saplings, HalifaxRef S2754
Birdcage Lane, Savile Park.

House built around 1934.

Owners and tenants have included

Sargeant, AnthonyRef S3679
[1???-1???] He married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Benjamin Norcliffe.

Children:

  1. David
  2. Victoria
  3. Judith

In 1957, he joined his father-in-law in R. & D. Norcliffe.

He was sole proprietor of the business after Benjamin Norcliffe's death.

In 1986, David and Victoria joined the business

Sargent, Rev Richard JohnRef S1622
[1822-1906] Born in Plymouth, Devon.

He was educated at the Western College, Plymouth and served at Bangalore and Billericay before becoming Minister at Sowerby Congregational Church [December 1865].

He married Sophia Harriet [1832-1900].


Sophia Harriet was born in India
 

In July 1872, he took charge of Ponders End Chapel, London.

They lived at 2 River Front, Enfield, Middlesex [1900].

Sophia Harriet died 4th June 1900.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £630 2/9d.

Probate was granted to her husband

Sarker, RebeccaRef S749
[1975-] Halifax-born actress. She has appeared on several TV rôles

Sarratt, ArthurRef S926
[1831-1871] A bricklayer at Saville's Brick Works, Siddal.

On 20th September 1871, he was erecting a chimney at the works when 4 bricks fell on his head. He died before reaching Halifax Infirmary

Sartin, Ronald John NicholasRef S936
[1909-1989] MC.

In 1946, he married Mildred Agnes Bedley [1909-1988] in Andover, Hampshire.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant then Lieutenant with the Royal Engineers / a demolitions instructor with the Oriental Mission SOE in Singapore.

He was awarded the Military Cross for service in Malaya [1942].

He survived the War.

Mildred Agnes died 25th July 1988 (aged 79).

Ronald John died 24th November 1989 (aged 80).

The couple were buried at Warley Town Cemetery

The SatchelRef S422
Halifax schools' newspaper. Thomas William Hanson wrote a series of articles for the paper, and these were published as The Story of Old Halifax in 1920

Satchwell, JamesRef S3406
[1???-18??] A tailor in Halifax.

In 1836, he married Susan Barraclough in Halifax.


Susan was the daughter of
Rev David Barraclough
 

Children:

  1. Eliza [1837-1907]

In 1841, the family were living with Sarah's parents at Wade Street, Halifax.

In 1851, Eliza (a book stitcher receiving alms) was living with her widowed grandmother Sarah Barraclough at 8 Upper Wesley Street, Halifax

Satchwell, Joseph WilliamRef S1336
[1893-1918] Born in Dewsbury.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 4th November 1918.

He was buried at Englefontaine British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref A 48].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

SattonstallRef S660
A spelling of the name Saltonstall

Saul, AlbertRef S1097
[1886-1973] He was landlord of the Queen Hotel, Ripponden [1929-1932]

Saull, JamesRef S1557
[1798-1842] He was a cooper by trade.

On 5th April 1821, he married Mary Ann Eagles [1798-1874] at St Matthew's Church, Bethnal Green, London.


Mary Ann was born in Bethnal Green
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [1824-1901] who was a mistress of National School [1851]

James died in Bethnal Green in 1842.

Mary Ann and her daughter lived at 2 Parliament Street, Halifax [1851].

They moved to Poynton, Cheshire [sometime before 1861] where the daughter was again a school mistress

Saunder Clough, TodmordenRef S1638
Stream and valley at Dulesgate.

Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here.

It has been suggested that the name is a corruption of Cinder Clough.

There was a house of the same name. This has been demolished

Saunders, KeayRef S1386
[1888-1918] Son of Mary Jane (née Smith) [1863-1921] & Robert Saunders [1857-1932].

Born in Brighouse.

In [Q1] 1911, he married Elsie Ashton in Halifax.

They lived at Wood Bottom Lane, Hove Edge, Brighouse.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 12th/13th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 29th May 1918.

He was buried at Étaples Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref XXXIII A 11A].

Elsie married Frank Pearson.

Saunders, PercyRef S1529
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor [1934].

He qualified in February 1899.

On 5th April 1911, he was appointed Town Clerk of Halifax

Saunders, SamuelRef S3498
[17??-17??] Wire-walking entertainer. He visited Halifax in 1766 and performed at the New Theatre in White Lion Yard, Halifax

Saunderson, John WhiteheadRef S849
[1887-19??] Son of Robert Saunderson, labourer.

Born in Cambridge.

He was an overlooker of St Mark's Street [1910] / an overlooker worsted spinning [1911].

In 1910, he married Mary Alice Ellwood at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


Mary Alice was the daughter of
Willie Ellwood.

She was a worsted comb minder [1911]

 

They lived at

  • 5 Haighs Terrace, Halifax [1911]
  • 43 Penn Street, Halifax [1917]

Living with them [in 1911] was Mary Alice's sister Henrietta (worsted finisher) 

Sausage SarahRef S322
See Bow Window, Brighouse

Savage & NortonRef S2471
Boiler makers at Halifax [1875]

Savage Centre, EllandRef S11
See Harold Savage Hall, Elland

Savage, HaroldRef S21
[19??-19??] He was associated with the Boys' Brigade company at Elland Wesley. He was Captain of the Brigade 1910-1949.

The Harold Savage Hall, Elland was named for him

Savage, Canon Henry EdwinRef S983
[18??-19??] He served at South Shields before becoming Vicar of Halifax (at a gross annual stipend of £1908) in 1904.

He was said to be

a man of wide culture, a fine preacher and a good organiser ... a High Churchman of broad views, the author of a valuable work on pastoral visitation, an authority on historical matters, and an antiquary

He lived at The Vicarage, Well Head [1905].

In 1909, he left to become Dean of Lichfield

Savage, JamesRef S3652
[1822-1883] Born in Scarborough.

He was an umbrella maker [1851] / lodging house keeper at the Licensed lodging house, 4 Causeway, Halifax [1861] / landlord of the Britannia Inn, Halifax [1883].

In [Q3] 1843, he married Sarah Lyons [1823-1???] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Oldham, Lancashire
 

Children:

  1. William
  2. Sarah Ann [b 1852]
  3. John [b 1855]
  4. Philip [b 1858]
  5. Emma [b 1860]

The family lived at 12 Cat Fold, Halifax [1851].

He died 27th January 1883 (aged 61).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [Grave Ref: K 73 C].

Sarah took over at the Britannia Inn [1887]

Savage, Terence JamesRef S976
[1921-1942] Son of Elizabeth Ellen & Frederick William Savage of Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 7th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 27th April 1942 (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 93], and on Luddendenfoot War Memorial

Savage, WilliamRef S3651
[1843-1902] Son of James Savage.

Born in Halifax.

He was a tin plate worker [1861] / an iron & salt dealer [1871] / landlord of the Britannia Inn, Halifax [1881] / an iron merchant [1881, 1891] / a scrap iron dealer [1901].

In 1867, he married Elizabeth Lloyd [1847-1897], born in Hull, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Arthur [b 1868] who was assistant to father [1891]
  2. Elizabeth / Lily [b 1870] who married John Henry Broadbent, aged 24, bachelor, boiler maker of 51 Geen(?) Lane, son of Jonathan Wilson Broadbent, tailor, married Elizabeth Savage, aged 22, spinster of 5 Causeway, daughter of William Savage, broker(?), at St.James, Halifax

The family lived at

Living with the widowed William [in 1901] were daughter Elizabeth (Lily) and her children

Savage's: William Savage & SonRef S2279
Metal brokers at 18 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax [1905]

Savatard, Louis Charles ArthurRef S521
[1874-1962] Born in Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire.

He had a distinguished career in medicine as a dermatologist, lecturer, researcher, and received numerous honours during his lifetime.

On 10th December 1925, he married Judith Ormerod in Whiteshill, Stroud.


Judith was the daughter of
George Frederick Ormerod.

She had a similar distinguished medical career to her husband. She studied at the London School of Medicine for women, was house surgeon at Manchester & Salford Hospital for skin diseases. She was a member of Manchester Dermatological Society, and was in general practice also in Manchester

 

Children:

  1. Janet [b 1926]
  2. George Warner [b 1928]
  3. Sheila [b 1930]

The children were all born in Bucklow, Cheshire.

Louis died in Altrincham, Cheshire [Q1 1962].

Judith died in the Forest of Dean [Q3 1976]

Savery & ButterworthRef S415
Woollen manufacturers at Brighouse.

Partners included F. P. Savery, F. Butterworth and G. M. Butterworth.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1871

Savile...Ref S47
The entries for people & families with the surname Savile are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Savile Family PedigreesRef S341
In Hopkinson's Coats of Arms & Pedigrees for Yorkshire Families, (held by YAS) are the pedigrees of the influential families of Yorkshire at that time.

There are 18 pedigrees for the Saviles including the Savile families of Thornhill, Hullenedge, Elland, Newhall, Golcar, Bradley & Methley.

The image shows an extract from one such Savile Pedigree in Thoresby's Ducatus Leodiensis [p. 113].


Sir John Savile of Golcar, and Rishworth by marriage, is the first member of the family from whom we can, using documentary evidence, establish lineage
 

J. W. Clay writes:


The early history of the Saviles is clouded in mystery.

In the Elizabethan times, when every family wished to trace their origin as far back as possible, genealogists tried to claim a descent from the Savelli, an Italian family. This idea cannot be entertained.

Mr Joseph Hunter FSA says

The family, like others of those which are now accounted the best and most ancient families in England, began early with small possessions, probably in the parish of Silkstone

[J. W. Clay. Yorkshire Archæological Journal, vol. 25]

 

See Landed Gentry Pedigrees, Henry Savile, Sir John Savile and Thomas Savile

Savile Bowling Club, Hebden BridgeRef S3090
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 100.

See Arthur Crabtree Trophy

Savile Bridge, EllandRef S3150
Aka Tag Lock Bridge

Savile Close, HalifaxRef S349
Savile Park Road. May have been known as Bull Close.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1940s/1950s, it became a nurses' training school for Halifax General Hospital.

See Bull Close Lane, Halifax

Savile Crescent, HalifaxRef S3463
Property at 15-35 Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

  • #25 Mrs Elizabeth Holmes [1911]

Savile Dene, HalifaxRef S3005
3 Savile Road, Halifax. Early 18th century house

Savile Field, Balmoral PlaceRef S3578
The house at 19 Balmoral Place, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile Field, HalifaxRef S2989
House in Savile Road, Halifax.

See Savile Field, Balmoral Place

Savile FountainRef S2934

Savile Garth, HalifaxRef S1607
House which stands at the junction of Harrison Road & St John's Lane.

Recorded in 1925

Savile Green, HalifaxRef S486
Oxford Road. The house was formerly known as Upper Calico Hall.

It was partially rebuilt in 1803.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1870, Rev Charles Musgrave sold the earlier vicarage – which stood opposite Halifax Parish Church – and its extensive grounds to the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway and the Leeds, Bradford & Halifax Railway company, and the vicarage moved to Savile Green which had been bought by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners.

In 1938, a developer bought the property and the land from the Church and built houses on the site of Savile Green

Savile Green, HalifaxRef S613
18th century house on Savile Road.

This appears to be a single house at Number 2 Savile Road, 4 separate dwellings [1891] and 5 dwellings [1901, 1911].

See Savile House, Halifax

Savile Grove, HalifaxRef S781
Recorded in 1854 as the part of Savile Road which joins Harrison Road.

It stood next to Kirby Leas, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile Hall, HalifaxRef S22
The original building was erected in 1726 and faced on to, what is now, Savile Park Road.

The property has been a private house and schools.

See Edward Akroyd

Savile Hall Tennis ClubRef S763
Recorded around 1911, when Eric Aked was a member

Savile Heath, HalifaxRef S339
Manor Heath Road. An Obituary for Thomas Whitaker wrote that Savile Heath was built for him and occupied by him until he retired to Burley-in-Wharfedale.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile House, HalifaxRef S2981
House on Savile Road.

Appears on 19th century sources as a vicarage.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile's: J. Savile & CompanyRef S1992
Stone quarrying company at Whitegate, Siddal [1800]

Savile's Law, WadsworthRef S601
A cairn which marks the boundary of Wadsworth. Sir George Savile was the lord of the Manor of Wadsworth

Savile Lawn, HalifaxRef S3464
House on Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile Lea, HalifaxRef S609
House on Savile Road / Love Lane.

Built around 1865.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished around 1986.

A bath house – still standing – was built in the grounds in the 19th century

Savile Lodge, HalifaxRef S589
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile's Lowe, Midgley MoorRef S24
A boundary marker near Churn Milk Joan

Savile Mount, HalifaxRef S3462
45-55 Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile [No 1231] Masonic LodgeRef S3072
Masonic Lodge at Elland / West Vale.

Formed in 1868.

New premises were opened on 2nd December 1926 by Lord Lascelles at West Vale.

They met on the first Thursday of the month.

The Lodge is recorded at

Officers of the Lodge have included

See John Richard Kershaw, Alfred Ernest Mander and Ben Naylor

Savile Park Co-OpRef S2821
Branch number 25 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in July 1882

Savile Park Cycling ClubRef S1469
Established in 18??

Savile Park, HalifaxRef S1360
Aka Savile Park Recreation Ground, Skircoat Moor, Halifax Moor, Skircoat Common, and The Moor - is an open space of about 73 acres lying just east of Crossley-Heath School

See Savile Park Road, Halifax

Savile Park Lodge, HalifaxRef S3032
In 1879, it was decided to build a lodge on the MoorSavile Park Recreation Ground – for use as a refreshment house.

Local freeholders objected, on the grounds that it was against the principles governing Savile Park, but they backed down and the building was constructed in 1880.

Because of its position, the Lodge is known locally as The Halfway House.

See Richard Horsfall

Savile Park PlateRef S1434
See Halifax & Caldervale Agricultural, Steeplechase & Racing Company Limited

Savile Park RacingRef S1515
There was horse-racing at Savile Park, Halifax from around 1738

Savile Park Recreation GroundRef S1493

Savile-Pilkington disputeRef S3140
A long-running 15th century dispute between the Savile family and their kinsmen, the Stansfields, on one side, versus the Pilkingtons on the other.

Some of the people involved came from outside Calderdale, but the dispute appears to have originated in Calderdale. The incident brought it to a head occurred in Elland in April 1478, and led to a battle on Skircoat Moor involving over 800 men

Savile Place, HalifaxRef S2973
21 Savile Road.

Late 18th century 3-storey building.

There are wings at the east and the west ends.

Owners and tenants have included

It has been converted into apartments

The Savile Room, Shibden HallRef S3418
A room on the ground floor at Shibden Hall. It is off the housebody.

Anne Lister made several alterations to the room: enlarging the window, replacing the original larger fireplace with a smaller one, and refurbishing the panelling.

The ceiling shows

The piano is by Johannes Christoph David Pohlmann, father of Daniel Johann David Pohlmann, and is dated 1769, one of the earliest pianos in existence.

There is a clock by Thomas Lister

Savile Royd, HalifaxRef S389
A detached villa which stood at the corner of Savile Park Road and Rothwell Road, just west of Bull Close.

The plans for its construction were approved by Halifax Town Council on 4th December 1866. The applicant was J. Smith and the architect was John Hogg.

The house had extensive gardens stretching down to the bottom of the Shaw Syke valley.

The house was demolished [before 1935] when the Richardsons built the Savile Royd and Rothwell Drive estates in their distinctive style.

The outbuildings survive and it appears that some of the stone and architectural features of the house – window and door frames – were re-used in the building of the four houses which front Savile Park Road and in kerbs and gardens around the estate. Parts of the rockery also survive

Owners and tenants have included

Savile-Stansfield FeudRef S3340

Saville, GeorgeRef S1251
[1803-1872] Born in Manchester [23rd November 1803].

He was a shoe maker [1851] / a boot maker [1861] / a cordwainer [1871].

Around 1826, he married Hannah [1804-1859].


Hannah was born in Erringden [7th April 1804]
 

Children:

  1. Robert [23rd May 1825-21st January 1866] who was a shoe maker [1851] who was buried with his parents
  2. George [b 1832] who was a shoe maker [1851], a cordwainer [1871]
  3. Alfred [11th August 1836-16th February 1877] who was a shoe maker [1851], & was buried with his parents
  4. Lewis [b 1841] who was a boot maker [1861]
  5. Ruth [b 1845] who was a pupil-teacher [1861]
  6. Harriet [b 1854]

The family lived at

  • 8 James's Street, Halifax [1851, 1861]
  • 3 James's Street, Halifax [1871]

Hannah died 4th May 1859.

Living with the widowed George [in 1861] was George's brother Joseph Saville [b 1814] (boot maker).

Living with them [in 1871] was granddaughter Harriet Saville [b 1855] (weaver).

George died 9th January 1872.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4300] with Fred, the only son of Jonas & Sarah Saville, who died 28th October 1870 (aged 7 years) 

Saville, JonathanRef S269
[1759-1842] Born in Bradford.

He was orphaned and worked as a worsted spinner and miner in Denholme. He was crippled following a childhood accident, and walked with crutches for the rest of his life. He was admitted to the workhouse, where he learned to read.

In 1782, he moved to Halifax to work as a spinner and weaver for John Swaine at Cross Hills. He lived in a Lightcliffe for a time.

In 1785, he married Mary Milnes.

He became a Wesleyan Methodist, having been influenced by Mr Benson and by Robert Emmett. He was a popular preacher.

Around 1800, at his suggestion, he and others became recruiting serjeants, holding prayer meetings and classes in those parts of the district where there were no Methodist chapels, including Blackshawhead, Luddenden and Southowram. He is said to have walked up to 40 miles in one day to preach.

His memoirs and autobiography give details of life and Methodism in the district in the 18th/19th century

Saville, JonathanRef S810
[18??-18??] Recorded in September 1871, when he had a brick works at Siddal

Saville, JosephRef S1579
[18??-1???] He was a chemist [1875] / an operative chemist [1878, 1884].

In [Q2] 1873, he married Betsy Jane Brown in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Annie [bapt 2nd May 1875]
  2. Maud [bapt 3rd February 1878]
  3. Ada [bapt 7th September 1884]

The family lived at

Saville, JosephRef S9780
[1828-1872] Of Brighouse.

He married Mary Ann [1828-1898].

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1849-1852] who died aged 2 years and 2 months
  2. Sarah [1853-1854] who died aged 1 year and 3 months

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Saville, LawsonRef S1723
[18??-1???] In 1868, he established a wholesale & retail business dealing in pianos and musical instruments in Pellon Lane, Halifax.

He later moved to Crossley Street, then to 9 Northgate, and in 1891, he moved to India Buildings, Halifax. His son Lawson, established a branch of the business in Bradford.

In 1875, he bought a piano manufacturing business in London

Saville, LawsonRef S1724
[18??-19??] Son of Lawson Saville.

He was an organist at Square Congregational Church.

He established a branch of the family business in Godwin Street, Bradford

Saville, LawsonRef S235
[1842-1903] Born 26th July 1842.

In [Q3] 1864, he married Eliza Wilkinson [1842-1918] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Lena Annie [1869-1870]
  2. Edgar John [1874-1882]
  3. Harry [1875-1877]
  4. Louis Charles [1876-1877]

The family lived at

  • Clifton Road, Halifax [1903]
  • 40 Cheltenham Place, Halifax [1918]

Lawson died 18th November 1903.

Eliza died 25th July 1918.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon [2/AA16]

Saville Machine Tool CompanyRef S2411
Established in 1972 by a group of workers from several local engineering firms, including Churchill-Redman. They had business at Jasper Street, Queens Road, Halifax. They were bought out by ? in 1986.

See Machine Tool Makers

Saville, WilliamRef S150
[1809-1835] Of Stainland.

He married Mary [1804-1838].

Children:

  1. Ebenezer [1834-29th January 1849]

William died 8th July 1835 (aged 26).

Mary died 18th June 1838 (aged 34).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Savonius, Sigurd JohannesRef S2922
[1885-1931] Finnish inventor and industrialist. He invented the Savonius Wind Turbine for converting wind power into rotation.

In 1912, he married Mary, daughter of John Appleyard.

Children:

  1. Moira [1914-1996] who married Leonard Hugh Newman
  2. Anthony [1915-1940]
  3. Ann Marie [b 1918]
  4. Mark [b 1920]
  5. Elisabeth [b 1922]
  6. Klas [b 1923]
  7. Henrietta [1925-1960]

Savoy Buildings, BrighouseRef S3633
Another name for Brighouse Civic Hall

Savoy Cinema, BrighouseRef S241
Aka The Bug Hut, The Bug Hutch.

Brighouse Civic Hall was used for film shows and was known as the Savoy around 1900.

Ambrose Broomhead was Manager at the cinema and was popularly known as The Sheriff.

The cinema closed in July 1959

Savoyards Appreciation SocietyRef S2962
Halifax operatic society specialising in the operas of Gilbert & Sullivan.

See John Reed

Saw Gill, RippondenRef S868
A Mesolithic site

Saw Hill Farm, TriangleRef S807
Mid 19th century cottages and outbuildings, built for Mrs Stansfield of Thorpe House

Sawdon, BerrimanRef S877
[1880-1943] Son of Berriman Sawdon, mechanic.

He was a soldier [1906] / a carter of Diamond Street, Bradford [1914].

On 29th September 1906, he married (1) Laura Walshaw [1881-19??] at Christ Church, Pellon


Laura, of 39 Brackenbed Lane, was born in Sowerby Bridge, the daughter of Tom Walshaw, gardener.

She was a twister [1906]

 

In 1914, he married (2) Mary Ann Crabtree at Bradford Cathedral.


Mary Ann was the daughter of
John Thomas Crabtree
 

On 22nd April 1916, the Halifax Courier carried a story of him and 6 of his brothers-in-law serving in World War I

Mary Ann sailed from Liverpool aboard the Regina [11th September 1925].

On 24th September 1925, she married Joseph Paul [1895-1967] in Esteven, Saskatchewen, Canada.

Her sister Edith had earlier married Joseph Paul's brother Thomas Alfred Paul [1888-1964], also in Saskatchewen, Canada. Their sister Eleanor also emigrated to Canada

Sawdon, John RickinsonRef S1259
[1873-1951] Born in Whitby, Yorkshire.

He was an optician / dealer in Commercial Street, Halifax [1911].

On 11th April 1903, he married Lillian Chapman [1876-1946] in Glossop.


Lillian was born in Bolderstone, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Leslie Chapman [1904-1983] who was an hotelier [1951]
  2. Arthur Henry [1905-1972] who was a company director [1951]
  3. Wellburn Winspear [1910-1983] who was a company director [1951]

The family lived at

  • 15 Abbey Walk, Halifax [1911]
  • 12 Belvoir Gardens, Skircoat Green, Halifax [1946, 1951]

Lilian died 28th April 1946.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,149 17/11d.

Probate was granted to her husband.

John died in the Royal Halifax Infirmary [2nd January 1951].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £4,643 11/-.

Probate was granted to his 3 sons

Sawdon, RichardRef S294
[17??-17??] Diarist who described his travels in the Halifax district

Sawford, Henry ThomasRef S1432
[1920-1945] Son of Doris Annie & Frederick Joseph Sawford.

In [Q3] 1943, he married Nellie Burch in Calder District.

They lived in Luddendenfoot.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Sergeant with the 24th Bomb Disposal Company Royal Engineers.

He died 25th February 1945 (aged 25).

He was buried at Jonkerbos War Cemetery, Netherlands [Grave Ref 19 C 1].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial

SawforthRef S1567
An old name for Bridge End, Rastrick

Sawley, EdwardRef S641
[1???-1???] He married Isabel, widow of Richard Bentley

Sawood House Bar, HipperholmeRef S2673
A toll bar on the Brighouse-Denholme Gate Turnpike. Recorded in 1825.

In 1840, the side gates and chairs at the toll gate were advertised to let by auction at the George, Brighouse.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Samuel Blackburn [1841]
  • John Schofield [1841]

Sawood House, ColeyRef S2742
See Sowood House, Coley

Sawood, LightcliffeRef S1505
Farm.


Question: Is this the same place as Sowood House, Hipperholme?

 

See Gledhill's Gift

Sawter House Farm, Mill BankRef S804
Mill Bank Road. Or Sawterhouse.

The name is a corruption of Slaughterhouse.

Mid 17th century house.

It was owned by Sam Hill and leased by John Mitchell

Sawyer, Rev WilliamRef S1003
[1854-1942] Born in York.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1895]

Saxby, AmyRef S547
[1906-1989] Daughter of Frank Saxby.

Born in Stainland.

In 1930, she married (1) Walter Turner in Greetland.

She married (2) Irvin Senior.

Irvin died in 1958.

In 1960, she married (3) Joseph Clay in Halifax

Saxby, FrankRef S543
[1868-1942] Born in Southowram or Elland.

He was a maker-up (cotton mill) [1901] / a cotton maker-up [1911].

In 1895, he married Mary Elizabeth Saxby [1866-1918] in Halifax.


Mary Elizabeth was born in Lincoln.

Frank & Mary Elizabeth were possibly cousins

 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. Harry Esmond [1894-1976] who was a cotton operative [1911]
  4. Ivy Constance [1897-1967] who was a cotton operative [1911]
  5. Albert Edward [1899-1936]
  6. Cyril [1903-1961]
  7. Bernard [1905-1989]
  8. Amy
  9. Gwendolen Mary [1910-1998]

The family lived at

  • 13 High Grove Lane, Southowram [1901]
  • Lane Head, Soyland [1911]

SaxokakaurhsRef S2891
An early name for the township of Stubb

See Summat A' Nowt

Saxon Cross, RastrickRef S2634

Saxton, Rev E. JohnsonRef S477
[18??-19??] He had worked in Edinburgh, and was a member of the Barnsley Board of Guardians before becoming Minister of Bridge End Congregational Church [1901-1908]. He left to serve at Ilkley

Sayer, ThomasRef S442
[1737-1781] Of Gainford, Durham.

He became a Halifax attorney. He was in partnership with William Cockcroft.

He married Mary Cockcroft, the daughter of his partner.

From 1740, he lived and practised at Mayroyd, Hebden Bridge.

Sayer had been conducting business with William Deighton shortly before Deighton's murder in November 1769.

In November 1769, he attended the enquiry which had been called by the Marquis of Rockingham to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

He died 12th May 1781 [aged 44].

The epitaph on their memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Sayles, IsaacRef S671
[1804-1889] Son of Elizabeth (née Naylor) & John Sayles.

Born in Skellow, Yorkshire. [4th June 1807].

Baptised in Owston, Yorkshire [13 July 1807] .

He was an agricultural labourer [1841] / a farmer of 33 acres [1851] / a farmer of 24 acres [1861] / a retired farmer [1871] / a farmer of 8 acres [1881].

On 9th June 1834, he married Mary Worrall [1812-1875] in Wath upon Dearne.


Mary was born in West Melton, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Joshua
  2. George Thomas [1837-1913]
  3. Robert [1839-1846]
  4. William [1843-1921]
  5. Mary Elizabeth [b 1847]
  6. Sarah Ann [1849-1928]

The family lived at

  • Spring Place, Huddersfield [1841]
  • Toothill, Rastrick [1851]
  • Throstle Nest, Rastrick [1861]
  • Upper Moor Heigh, Halifax [1871]
  • Ogden Lane, Rastrick [1881]

Mary died Q2 1875 (aged 62).

Isaac died Q4 1889 (aged 85) 

Sayles, JoshuaRef S2592
[1835-1896] Full Name: Joshua John Worrall Sayles.

Son of Isaac Sayles.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised 19 April 1835.

He was a butcher [1871, 1891].

In 1859, he married Mary Armitage [1836-1915].


Mary was born in Rastrick
 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1860]
  2. Emma [b 1862]
  3. Robert [b 1865]
  4. Henry [b 1867] who was a butcher [1891]
  5. Clara [b 1869]

The family lived at Church Street, Rastrick [1871, 1890, 1891].

On 7th March 1890, Joshua was declared bankrupt.

He died 16th June 1896.

Mary died 19th February 1915

Sayvill, JohnRef S1395
[13??-1399] Chevalier of Elland.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Sayvill, JohnRef S1396
[14??-1545] Or Sayvell. Of New Hall, Elland.

Son of Nicholas Savile.

He married Margery, daughter of John Gledhill.

Children: several including

  1. Nicholas
  2. Henry
  3. Thomas
  4. Agnes
  5. Jane
  6. Elisabeth

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

His will is recorded in Volume 2 [1545-1559] of E. W. Crossley's book Halifax Wills. He left money for

the making of the bridge at Elland

Saywell, Rev W.Ref S2228
[18??-19??] Methodist minister.

He lived at 24 Chester Road, Boothtown [1905]

Scadding, Rev S. W.Ref S2484
[18??-19??] He was Vicar of Bradshaw [1914] and Vicar of St Jude's Church [1917, 1918]

ScaitcliffeRef S293
District of Todmorden.

A fulling mill is recorded here in the early 1700s

Scaitcliffe Hall, TodmordenRef S246
Burnley Road. Originally built around 1666 by Anthony Crossley A datestone is inscribed:
ANTHAN EYAND NE. CROSLEY 1666

There were extensions to the Hall about 1738 when a northern part was added by Anthony Crossley.

A separate block was built in 1802.

Around 1833, when the property was owned by John Crossley, it was pulled down and rebuilt as a rectangular house with a hipped roof.

The house and the separate block were linked in 1835.

Owners and tenants have included

An attached arbour is inscribed:

JMC 1782

The hall is now an hotel and restaurant.

Wood Cottage was the dower house to the Hall

Scales & SalterRef S3191
Boot and shoe makers.

The business is listed in a trade directory for Warrington [1871].

They were at 12 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

See Salter & Salter Limited

Scales, ErnestRef S1362
[1873-1937] Son of Hannah [1843-1???] & James Henry Scales [1847-1???], domestic coachman, of 13 Timber Street, Skircoat.

Born in Halifax.

He was an iron turner [1901, 1911].

In [Q1] 1899, he married Frances Maria Barnes [1873-19??] in Halifax.


Frances Maria was born in Bethnal Green, London
 

Children:

  1. James Cyril [b 1901]
  2. Edith Isabel [b 1903]
  3. Ada Louise [b 1905]
  4. George [b 1907]
  5. Fred Greenwood

The family lived at 54 Gainest, Halifax [1901]; 43 Long Row, Mount Tabor, Halifax [1911]; 34 Ripon Street, Halifax [1918]

Scales, Fred GreenwoodRef S1343
[1912-1941] Son of Ernest Scales

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Hilda's Church, Halifax & Choir / scoutmaster / a member of Halifax Amateur Operatic Society / a member of West End RLFC.

During World War II, he served as a Third Officer with the Merchant Navy.

He was on the last ship out of Narvik.

He was lost on SS Homeside [28th January 1941] (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Tower Hill Memorial, London [Grave Ref 57], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax

Scales, Dr MiddletonRef S1762
[1859-1922] Born in Whitby.

He was Headmaster of Bailiff Bridge British School [1905].

His sister Mary Jane [1854-1915] was a teacher at the School.

He lived at Woodlands, Bradford Road.

He died in Bradford.

He was buried at Lightcliffe Old Church Graveyard with his sister Mary Jane

Scammonden BridgeRef S79
Over the M62 motorway is 120 ft high with a 410 ft span, and the largest single-span bridge in the UK and one of the largest in Europe. The length of the deck, including the approach sections, is 660 ft.

The bridge and the motorway were designed by Colonel Stuart Maynard Lovell. It carries the B6114 over the cutting which is 180 ft deep and for which 4 million cubic yards of rock were blasted out. 9,000 tons of concrete were used in the construction.

A new blasting technique had to be developed so as to produce rocks of a size which could be used for the embankment of Scammonden Dam.

In 1970, it was decided to convey school-children over the bridge in taxis when it was windy

Scammonden ReservoirRef S1737
Aka Scammonden Dam, Scammonden Water. This took 5 years to build and 2 years to fill with water. Several villages were inundated in its construction.

The reservoir was opened by HM the Queen on 14th October 1971.

Scammonden Dam, on the M62 motorway, is the largest earth-filled dam in Europe, 245 ft high and 0·9 mile in length, and the motorway runs across the head of the dam. 4.5 million cubic yards of rock fill and a clay core were used to built the head. The reservoir has a capacity of 1730 million gallons. The section of the motorway which crosses the dam is 242 ft above the valley floor.

See Rice Fields, Barkisland

ScanulfRef S1171
[????-????] At the time of Domesday Book, he and Westre held land at Wyke

Scar Bottom, HalifaxRef S848
Area of Halifax between Pye Nest and Copley.

See Scarr Bottom Cottages, Pye Nest

Scar Bottom House, HalifaxRef S1484
Built in 1843.

The Wainhouse family lived here

Scar Bottom House, MytholmroydRef S463

Scar Bottom, MytholmroydRef S867
Area just south of Mytholmroyd

Scar Bottom Post OfficeRef S2212
This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Scar Edge, EllandRef S1467
Area between Upper Edge and Lower Edge.

See Holme Laithe Farm, Elland

Scar Head, NorlandRef S747
Community which stands on the hillside between Norland and Sowerby Bridge

Scar Head TunnelRef S180
Railway tunnel at Sowerby Bridge on the Ryburn Branch Line to Ripponden and Rishworth. Built in 1878. 593 yards in length. Difficulties in cutting the tunnel delayed the opening of the Ryburn Branch Line

Scar House, StainlandRef S1692
Owners and tenants have included

Scar Mill Cliff, RastrickRef S2744
Aka Miln Cliff, Rastrick.

Scar Mill, Rastrick was here

The Scar, WalsdenRef S1560
A rocky outcrop at Newbridge was which ran from the edge of the main Rochdale Road to the canal.

In 19??, it was demolished along with the adjacent cottages.

Part of it can still be seen in the car park of Gordon Rigg's Garden Centre

Scar Wood, CopleyRef S1473
Birdcage Lane. With Spring Wood and Long Wood, covers much of the valley along the north side of Wakefield Road

Scar Wood Park, HalifaxRef S2616
Recorded in 1936

The Scarborough familyRef S1791
Of Halifax.

Members of the family probably built Scarborough Castle in Crown Street

Scarborough, ArthurRef S857
[1860-1925] Son of John Scarborough.

Born in Halifax.

He was a woollen manufacturer (employer) [1901].

In [Q2] 1883, he married Maud Buckley [1870-1948] in Halifax.


Maud was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Gerald

The family lived at Royd Lodge, Greenroyde, Skircoat Green [1901, 1918].

Arthur died 8th December 1925.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,606 4/1d.

Probate was granted to his widow Maud.

Maud of 16 Wimborne Road, Bournemouth, died at Cavendish Nursing Home, Bournemouth [19th December 1948] Probate records show that she left effects valued at £41,407 18/7d.

Probate was granted to Mary Davis (spinster), and Norman Wolfenden (bank manager) 

Scarborough BrothersRef S2340
Worsted spinners and manufacturers established by Thomas Smith Scarborough, George Scarborough, Joseph Scarborough, Stephen Scarborough, and John Scarborough when Scarborough Brothers & Oakes was dissolved [1870].

They were at Trafalgar Works, Halifax [1874], Carlton Street, Halifax, Bradford [1874], and Brunswick Mills, Halifax [1884/5].

The firm was a subscriber to Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax [1870].

In December 1884, the partnership was declared bankrupt with a deficiency of £25,484.

An order was made on application for discharge [5th March 1885]

Scarborough Brothers & OakesRef S860
Worsted spinners & stuff merchants at King Cross, Halifax.

Partners included Thomas Smith Scarborough, George Scarborough, Joseph Scarborough, Stephen Scarborough, John Scarborough, and John Oakes.

The partnership was dissolved on 20th May 1870, so far as regards John Oakes.

The business was carried by the other partners as Scarborough Brothers

Scarborough CastleRef S685
An early name for the building known as The Castle which stood at the bottom of Crown Street, Halifax. It was probably built in or before Queen Anne's reign. It was almost certainly built by the Scarborough family. In the 18th century, it was owned by Valentine Stead and family.

See Scarborough Castle pub

Scarborough, EdwinRef S1712
[1861-1931] Son of John Scarborough.

Coal merchant and colliery agent at 19 Crossley Street, Halifax [1905, 1916]. He bought the business of William Berry. He had premises at Church Street Coal Depot, Halifax.

In [Q2] 1893, he married Adelaide Fleming in Halifax.


Adelaide was the daughter of Francis Fleming
 

Scarborough, GeorgeRef S2341
[1835-1???] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a worsted spinner and manufacturer employing 427 hands [1871, 1881] / a manufacturer of dress goods [1901] / a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes / a partner in Scarborough Brothers / a subscriber to Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax [1870].

In 1865, he married Jane Lowndes [1840-1891] from Padiham, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Harold [b 1866]
  2. Emily [b 1867]
  3. Henrietta [b 1869]
  4. Wilfred [b 1872]
  5. Oswald Lowndes [b 1876] who became a medical student [1901]

The family lived at

  • 5 Norfolk Place, Halifax [1871, 1874]
  • Holly Bank, Halifax [1881, 1885]
  • 3 Whinney Field, Halifax [1891, 1901]

Scarborough, GeraldRef S767
[1896-1918] Son of Arthur Scarborough.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

During World War I, he was commissioner [1914], and served as a Captain with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), and 15th Battalion Essex Regiment.

He only went to the Front in 1918, because he had been injured in a motor accident.

He died of gunshot wounds to the chest [12th September 1918] (aged 22).

He was buried at Aire Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref IV E 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, on the Memorial at Park Congregational Church, and on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School

Scarborough, James HaroldRef S927
[1894-1915] MM.

Illegitimate son of Bessie Scarborough.

He was a telegraph operator [1911] / a postman in Halifax.

He married Unknown.

They lived at 5 Corporation Street, Halifax [1911, 1912].

He joined the Territorial Army [24th Jul 1912].

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He embarked for France from Folkestone [14th April 1915] aboard SS Invicta.

He sustained multiple wounds to his right arm & abdomen, and was operated on at Casualty Clearing Station. He was moved to Wimereux Base Hospital, Boulogne.

He died of septicaemia after a further operation [16th May 1915].

He was buried at Wimereux Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I H 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax, and on the Memorial at Halifax Post Office.

He was awarded the Military Medal

Scarborough, JohnRef S2932
[17??-18??] He married Sarah.

Children:

  1. Stephen
  2. John

Scarborough, JohnRef S1615
[1791-1870] Son of Ramsden Scarborough.

Born in Barkisland

In 1811, he married Hannah Ramsden [1792-1870] at Elland Parish Church.


Hannah was born in Barkisland
 

The couple died in Barkisland: John [20th July 1870]. Hannah [31st October 1870].

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland [Grave Ref: 267]

Scarborough, JohnRef S2933
[1809-1???] Son of John Scarborough.

Baptised at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist [5th November 1809].

He was a woolsorter.

In 1861, he was living with his brother, Stephen, at 62 Woolshops, Halifax

Scarborough, JohnRef S2935
[1833-1917] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes / a woolstapler [1861, 1871, 1881, 1882] / an accountant [1891]

In 1857, he married Ann Susannah Deighton [1834-1920] in Halifax.


Ann Susannah came from Ripon
 

Children:

  1. George Deighton [b 1858]
  2. Arthur
  3. Edwin
  4. Tom L. [b 1863]
  5. Savile John [b 1866] who was a wire manufacturer

The family lived at

  • 6 Park Terrace, Halifax [1861, 1871 & 1881]
  • Myrtle Grove, Halifax [1885]
  • 19 Heath Avenue, Halifax [1891]
  • 7 Marlborough Drive, Halifax [1901]

See James Hirst

Scarborough, John AugustusRef S874
[1865-1939] Son of Ramsden Scarborough.

He was a jeweller & watchmaker [1881].

In [Q3] 1899, he married Beatrice Iredale [1866-1952] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Stella [1902-1952]

Members of the family were buried at Elland Cemetery

Scarborough, JosephRef S2342
[1839-1894] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

Born 18th October 1839.

He was a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes / a partner in Scarborough Brothers / a spinner & manufacturer [1871] / a commission agent [1891].

In 1866, he married Mary Jane Widdop in Halifax.


Mary Jane was the daughter of William Widdop
 

Children:

  1. Ethel Anna [b 1867]
  2. Harry Ernest [b 1869]
  3. Edward Percy [b 1871]
  4. Stanley [b 1872]
  5. Bertha [b 1874]
  6. Annie Mary [b 1876]
  7. Amy [b 1878]
  8. Gilbert [b 1881]

The family lived at

  • 31 Hampden Place, Halifax [1871]
  • 28 Highfield Place, Halifax [1874, 1881]
  • Elmfield Place, Halifax [1885]
  • 33 Hampden Place, Halifax [1891]

Joseph died 31st October 1894.

Mary Jane died 10th June 1913.

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 258]

Scarborough, Nephew & CompanyRef S2289
Worsted manufacturers.

They were at Ellen Royd Mills, Halifax [1905] and Beech Hill Mills, Halifax [1915]

Scarborough, RamsdenRef S871
[1830-1904] Son of John Scarborough

Born in Barkisland [1st May 1830].

He was a schoolmaster [1871] / an auctioneer & valuer [1881].

In [Q2] 1861, he married Mary Dyson [1841-1905] in Dewsbury.


Mary was born in Whitley Tower.

She was a schoolmistress [1871]

 

Children:

  1. Mary Hannah [1862-1881]
  2. John Augustus
  3. George Arthur [1872-1953] who was an auctioneer, valuer & estate agent [1901]

The family lived at

  • Northgate, Elland [1871]
  • Victoria Road, Elland [1881]
  • 29 Victoria Road, Elland [1901]

Ramsden died 8th July 1904.

Mary died 1st May 1905.

Members of the family were buried at Elland Cemetery

Scarborough, RichardRef S370
[16??-17??] He bought Calico Hall, Halifax from William Livesay. He owned a part of Woolshops, Halifax.

In 1714, he was unable to pay the duty on tobacco which he had imported at Liverpool. His properties in Halifax were seized.

He became the second husband of Hannah Walker.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child
  6. child

Scarborough, StephenRef S2931
[1807-1890] Son of John Scarborough.

Born in Halifax.

Baptised at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist on 26th May 1807

He was a warehouseman [1841] / a manager in a woollen mill [1861] / a warehouseman [1871] / a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes.

He married Hannah [1808-1876].


Hannah was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. George
  3. Thomas Smith
  4. Joseph
  5. Stephen
  6. Sarah Jane [b 1844]
  7. Elizabeth [1849-1853] who died aged 3 years & 8 months
  8. Hannah Maria [b 1854]

The family lived at

  • Lister Lane, Halifax [1841]
  • 26 Thomas Street, Halifax [1851]
  • 62 Woolshops, Halifax [1861]
  • 35 Hampden Place, Halifax [1871, 1881]

Hannah died 22nd October 1876 (aged 68).

Stephen died 8th May 1890 (aged 83).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3515]

Scarborough, StephenRef S2936
[1841-1914] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a worsted manufacturer [1871] / a wool agent [1881] / a fancy dealer [1891] / an art/needlework dealer [1901]

In 1869, he married Susannah Conyers [1848-1922] in Leeds.

Children:

  1. Lyndon Conyers [b 1870]
  2. Bernard Frederick. [b 1878]

The family lived at

  • 5 Savile Mount, Halifax [1871]
  • Headingley [1881]
  • Harrogate [1891, 1901]

Both Stephen and Susannah died at Knaresborough

Scarborough, Thomas SmithRef S250
[1837-1909] JP.

Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes / a master worsted manufacturer [1881] / a woollen agent [1891] / a worsted manufacturer [1901].

With his brothers, he established Scarborough Brothers at a factory at the bottom of Wade Street.

This expanded and moved to the newly-built Brunswick Mills, and later to the new Trafalgar Mills or Scarborough Mills.

The business closed in 1884 as a result of financial difficulties. The brothers went their separate ways. Thomas became head of The British Millerain Company Limited.

He preached at the Sion Congregational Church and taught at the school in Wade Street, but, after a disagreement between the Temperance section and the church authorities, he left to hold services at the Temperance Hall, Northgate. He and his brothers later financed the building of Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax.

In 1867, he married Jemima / Minnie Bowman in Halifax.


Jemima / Minnie was the daughter of James Bowman, in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Laura De Winton [b 1878]

The family lived at

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

See Halifax Central Hall

Scarbrough, Earl ofRef S756
The family name is Lumley. They owned much land and property in the district.

The Viscounts Lumley have included

  1. Richard Lumley [1589-1663]
  2. Richard Lumley [16??-1721] who was created Earl of Scarbrough – not Scarborough – in 1690

Earls of Scarbrough have included

  1. Richard Lumley [1???-1721]
  2. Richard Lumley [1???-1739]
  3. Thomas Lumley-Saunderson [1???-1752]
  4. Richard Lumley-Saunderson [1???-1782]. Around 1750, Richard married Barbara, sister and heiress of George Savile of the Savile family, bringing the Earl of Scarbrough title to the Savile family.
  5. George Augustus Lumley-Saunderson [1753-1807]
  6. Richard Lumley-Saunderson [1757-1832]
  7. John Lumley-Savile [1761-1835]
  8. John Lumley-Savile [1788-1856]
  9. Richard George Lumley [1813-1884]
  10. Aldred Frederick George Beresford Lumley [1857-1945]
  11. Lawrence Roger Lumley [1896-1969]
  12. Richard Aldred Lumley [1932-2004]
  13. Richard Osbert Lumley [1973-]
  14. Thomas Henry Lumley [1980-]

See Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth, Manor of Heptonstall, Manor of Norland, Manor of Ovenden, Manor of Stansfield and Manor of Wadsworth

Scarecrow TrailRef S1062
A recently-introduced event at Norland in which scarecrows – representing popular and fictional characters – are erected

Scarff, James WilliamRef S1069
[1896-1918] MM.

Son of Joshua Scarff.

Born in Halifax (after his parents had returned from the USA).

He was a member of King Cross Wesleyan Church, Halifax & Sunday School / a worsted taker-off [1911] / a mechanic / an apprentice at Campbell's / employed by Washington & Company Limited.

During World War I, he enlisted [2nd September 1914], and served as a Corporal with A Company 1st/6th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France [April 1915], and was gassed [December 1915].

He was awarded the Military Medal [August 1918] for


bravery in connection with a successful daylight raid on an enemy post
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [10th August 1918].

He was killed in action at Rieux [11th October 1918] (aged 22).

He was buried at Wellington Cemetery, Rieux-en-Cambresis, France [Grave Ref I F 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th October 1918]

Scarff, JoshuaRef S1373
[1859-1933] Son of Thomas Scarff.

Born in Halifax [29th October 1859].

He was a cabinet maker [1881, 1887, 1901] / a cabinet maker for cash till maker [1911].

On 24 April 1881, Joshua (a cabinet maker) entered the Port of Boston, Massachusetts, on the SS Samaria.

On 30 July 1887, Joshua (a cabinet maker) arrived in Boston, Suffolk, Massachusetts, on the SS Pavonia.

On 24 July 1888, Joshua (a cabinet maker) signed his first papers for becoming a citizen of the USA.

On 1st August 1888, he married Sarah Tetlow [1860-1947] in Boston.


Sarah was born in Halifax, England, the daughter of Joshua Tetlaw.

Did the couple know each other from Halifax?

 

Children:

  1. Thomas Henry
  2. James William
  3. Clifford [b Halifax 1897] who was a worsted doffer [1911], served with the RAMC in Baghdad [World War I], & is mentioned on Campbell's Roll of Honour


In 1893, the USA had the worst depression in the nation's history
 

Joshua, Sarah, and son Frederick (or Thomas Henry) left Boston, travelling steerage, on the Cephalonia, and arrived in Liverpool in July 1894.

The family lived at 56 Ripon Street, Halifax [1901, 1911, 1918]

Living with them [in 1911] was niece Sarah Jane Tetlaw [b  1876] (tailoress finisher).

Joshua died in Halifax [11th February 1933].

Sarah died in Halifax [Q1 1947] (aged 87) 

Scarff, ThomasRef S1628
[1828-1???] Born in Canterbury, Kent.

He was a printer compositor [1871, 1881].

He married Ann [1831-1???].


Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1853] who was a printer compositor [1871]
  2. Sarah Elizabeth [b 1856] who was a carpet warp setter [1871], a carpet pattern setter [1881]
  3. Joshua
  4. Reuben James [1864-1876]
  5. William [b 1866] who was a pupil teacher [1881]
  6. Josiah [b 1871]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 17 Chatham Street, Halifax [1871, 1881]

Scarff, Thomas HenryRef S230
[1891-1979] Son of Joshua Scarff.

Born in Boston, Massachusetts [9th June 1890].

He and his parents left Boston, travelling steerage, on the Cephalonia, and arrived in Liverpool in July 1894. Thomas Henry is listed as Frederick on the documents.

In 1909, he returned to Canada.

He was an engineer [1921].

On 27th November 1915, he married Martha Halsall [1890-19??] in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.


Martha was born in Ainsdale, Lancashire, the daughter of Elizabeth (née Ornisher) & John Halsall.

She had immigrated to Canada in 1913

 

Children:

  1. Edith M. [b 1917]
  2. John W. [b 1921]

They lived at 173 Hampton Road, Saanich, British Columbia.

The couple died in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada: Thomas Henry [1st June 1979]; Martha [24th June 1979]

Scargill, ErnestRef S1257
[1864-19??] (Possibly) son of William Scargill.

Born in Halifax.

He was a tobacconist [1891] / a stock & share broker agent (own account) [1901] / a confectionery dealer (employer) [1911].

In [Q2] 1889, he married Emma Robinson [1864-19??] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Lindley.

She was assisting in the family confectionery business [1911]

 

Children:

  1. John Edward
  2. William

The family lived at

  • 2 Southgate, Halifax [1891]
  • 27 Riding Street, Southport, Lancashire [1901]
  • 62 New Road, Halifax [1911]
  • 3 Wards End, Halifax [1917]

Both sons died in World War I

Scargill, JohnRef S1250
[1844-1885] Born in Stainland.

He was a painter [1881].

In [Q2] 1867, he married Emma Rawnsley [1845-1???] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Harriet who died 22nd September 1870 (aged 2 years) & was buried with her father
  2. Edward who died 21st December 1875 (aged 6 weeks) & was buried with his father
  3. John Herbert who died 1st November 1877 (aged 4 years & 11 months) & was buried with his father

The family lived at

  • Elland [1870]
  • Wharf, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881]

John Scargill died 24th June 1885 (aged 41).

He was buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Scargill, John EdwardRef S1256
[1892-1917] Aka Jack.

Son of Ernest Scargill.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Trinity School / an accountant's clerk [1911] / the manager of his family's confectionery business.

He had a sweetheart: Doris Waterfall of 78 Gibbet Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion King's Own (Royal Regiment Lancaster).

He was killed in action by shrapnel at Ypres [13th June 1917] (aged 25).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [23rd June 1917].

He was buried at Vlamertinghe New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III A 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother William also died in the War

Scargill, WilliamRef S7380
[1836-1???] Born in Holywell Green.

He was a grocer [1881].

In [Q4] 1857, he married Sarah Robertshaw [1835-1???] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. Friend [b 1858] who was a warehouseman [1881]
  2. Albert [b 1861] who was a green grocer [1881]
  3. Ernest [b 1864] who was a green grocer [1881]
  4. Emma [b 1866]
  5. Mary [b 1868]
  6. Lily [b 1870]

The family lived at James Street, Stainland [1881]

Scargill, WilliamRef S1239
[1895-1917] Aka Willie.

Son of Ernest Scargill.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of Holy Trinity Church, Halifax / an iron turner [1911] / employed at Smith's motor works, North Bridge.

He was engaged to Miss Nellie Norcliffe of Bridge End, Elland.

During World War I, he enlisted [1916], and served as a Private with the 1st/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed at Cambrai while acting as a guide to an officer new to the trenches [23rd November 1917] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [8th December 1917].

He was buried at Perth Cemetery (China Wall), Belgium [Grave Ref V H 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother John Edward also died in the War

Scarr's: A. W. Scarr & SonsRef S1881
They ran a 3½d Bazaar at 77 Borough Market, Halifax [1905] and at Commercial Street, Brighouse [1906]

Scarr Bottom Cottages, Pye NestRef S1825
Scarr Bottom Road. A row of Gothic houses built by John Edward Wainhouse

Scarr House, NorlandRef S394
Owners and tenants have included

Scarr House, Pye NestRef S3628
Scarr Bottom Road.

17th century house.

Recorded in 1881, when farmer James Shoesmith and family were living here, and William Cronhelm (gent) was boarding with them.

Aka Upper Woodhouse Farm, and 148 Upper Woodhouse

Scarr's IronmongerRef S1562
Recorded in 1900 & 1916, when they were at The Arcade, Halifax

Scarr, Dr JohnRef S1196
[1862-1940] LRCP, LRCS, LRFPS.

Born in Todmorden [16th September 1862].

He was a chemist's apprentice [1881] / a chemist [1891].

He studied medicine and qualified at Glasgow [1899], and became a surgeon [1901, 1911] / Medical Officer at Cottage Homes, Rochdale Institution [1935] / a doctor (retired) [1939].

In [Q2] 1886, he married Mary Ellen Barker [1863-1???] in Rochdale.


Mary Ellen was born in Hebden Bridge / Eastwood
 

Children:

  1. Ellis Herbert Sydney / Sydney [b 1889] who was a surgeon [1940]
  2. Grace Helena [b 27th May 1891] who never married
  3. Ronald James [b 1893] who was a surgeon [1940]
  4. John Barker [b 1902] who was a surgeon [1940]
  5. child who died young [before 1911]
  6. child who died young [before 1911]

They lived at

  • 8 Pavement, Todmorden [1881]
  • 53 Victoria Street, Littleborough [1891]
  • 108 Church Street, Littleborough [1901]
  • Briercliffe, Littleborough [1905-1920]
  • Briercliffe, Whitegate Drive, Blackpool [1925]
  • 2 Forest Gate, Whitegate Drive, Blackpool [1930]
  • Riverside, Todmorden [1935]
  • 15 South Park Drive, Blackpool [1939, 1940]

John died 27th January 1940.

Probate was granted to his 4 children

Scarrtop Working Men's Club, Cross StoneRef S3088
Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 90

Scatcherd, Norrison CavendishRef S1419
[1780-1853] FSA.

Of Morley House, Leeds.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School. He graduated at Cambridge. He intended to be a lawyer but did not. He lived in retirement all his life. He devoted himself to his interests: music and antiquities. He was a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. He wrote several books, including a History of Morley [1830], Memoirs of the Celebrated Eugene Aram [1832], and Gleanings after Eugene Aram [1840]

Scatcherd, Watson SamuelRef S452
[1782-1833] Son of a barrister from Morley, Leeds.

He became a Halifax attorney. He was at Old Hall End, Halifax [1816] and 28 Horton Street, Halifax [1822],

He leased Northgate House from Anne Lister. He was there in 1829.

After his death, Northgate House was converted into an hotel

Scausby Hall, IllingworthRef S783
/ Bradshaw.

School Lane.

There are datestones

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

See Great Scausby, Bradshaw and North Scausby Farm, Bradshaw

Scervin, Elizabeth deRef S951
[12??-1270] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1252-1270]

Schakeltonstall, Jordan deRef S2600
[12??-1???] Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when
[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

See Shackleton

Schelff, Richard deRef S3188
[17??-1???] Recorded in 1272.

In 1288, Richard de Schelfe, Thomas de Schelfe, and Henry of Hipperholme stood as sureties for Geppe de Dene when he was elected Forester of Sowerbyshire

Schelp, Miss A.Ref S1732
[18??-19??] She and Miss E. Waite ran Halifax Girls Grammar School in the early 1900s

Schepden, William deRef S1499
[12??-13??] Of Nether Shibden [1306].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John
  2. William

SchepedeneRef S2494
Spelling of Shibden found in the early 14th century

Schipeden, John deRef S1500
[13??-13??] Son of William de Schepden.

He changed his name to Drake

Schippedene, William deRef S2499
[12??-13??] In 1306, he granted lands to his son John and paid 8/- to the lord at 3 terms, and to the

Magistro de Newland tres denares ad Pentecost

Master of Newland 3d at Pentecost

Schleusz-Mühlheimer, RudolphRef S7631

Schlicht, E. L.Ref S1643
[1???-1769] Of Smith House, Lightcliffe. He was a member of the Moravian Church at Wyke. He was a composer and a poet

Schofield...Ref S606
The entries for people & families with the surname Schofield are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Schofield & BroomheadRef S1211
Cabinet makers & joiners at West Vale.

Partners included Thomas Schofield and William Broomhead.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1885

Schofield & SonRef S2091
Legal firm at Refuge Assurance Buildings, Halifax, and at Stainland [1934].

See Edmund Schofield

Schofield BrothersRef S2055
Blacksmiths at Watergate, Hipperholme [1905, 1922]. Partners included Norris Schofield and Joe Schofield

Schofield's: J. & J. SchofieldRef S2073
They had business at Scotland Quarries, Midgley [1905-1938].

See J. Schofield & Son

Schofield's: J. SchofieldRef S2022
Woollen manufacturer of Rastrick. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products

Schofield's: J. Schofield & SonRef S238
They had business at Scotland Quarries, Midgley [1896].

See J. & J. Schofield

Schofield's: T. & E. SchofieldRef S775
Joiners at West Vale.

Partners included T. Schofield and Edward Schofield.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1868

Schofield's: William Schofield & SonRef S3551
Tailors and costumiers in Sowerby Bridge [1906]. Established by William Schofield

Scholefield...Ref S491
The entries for people & families with the surname Scholefield are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Scholes Farm, GreetlandRef S2884
/ Stainland.

Cemetery Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Scholes Farm, Greetland

Scholes, FrederickRef S3415
[1852-1904] Landlord of the Wellington, Halifax [1904].

In 1898, he married Fanny Royds in Halifax.


Fanny was the daughter of Peter Royds
 

Frederick is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904.

After his death, Fanny took over as landlady of the Wellington [1905].

In 1906, she married Peter Dewhirst.

In 1911, Dewhirst was innkeeper of the Wellington

Scholes, JamesRef S2930
[1802-18??] A machine maker from Cleckheaton.

In 1827, he was one of a gang of poachers charged with the murder of Uriah Womersley.

He and divers others were found guilty of Wilful Murder and were transported to New South Wales for 7 years. He was one of 158 convicts who left England on the Eliza [25th June 1828] and arrived on 18th November 1828

Scholes's: M. Scholes & CompanyRef S2254
Ladies' underclothing manufacturer at 16 Horton Street, Halifax [1905]

Scholey, Albert BloomerRef S1440
[1920-1943] Son of Walter Bloomer.

He was adopted by Lily & George William Scholey.

He was educated at Elland Church of England School & Elland Grammar School / a member of All Saints' Church, Elland.

In [Q2] 1940, he married Florence Bowles [1916-2008] in Lincoln.


Florence came from Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire, the daughter of Miss Duell & Mr Bowles
 

Children:

  1. Janette [1941-1997]

During World War I, he enlisted [1939], and served as a Pilot Officer with the 90th Squadron Royal Air Force Ridgewell, Suffolk.

He was the pilot of a Stirling Bomber and was lost over the North Sea after a raid on Wilhelmshaven [20th February 1943] (aged 22).

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 133], on Elland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Elland, and on the Memorial at Brooksbank School, Elland

Scholey, Charles HenryRef S3581
[1866-1916] Son of Edwin Scholey.

Born in Slaithwaite.

He was a mill hand (woollen) [1891] / a corn miller [1891, 1901, 1909] / innkeeper at the Black Swan, Brighouse (taking over from his wife Emma) [1911, 1916].

In 1909, he married Emma [1872-19??] at Elland Parish Church.


Emma, of the Black Swan Hotel Brighouse, was the daughter of stone miner Joshua Hindle, and widow of Gibson Lees.

She had a daughter by her previous marriage: Florence Lees [b  1898]

 

The family lived at

  • 65 Langdale Street, Elland [1909]
  • 47 Briggate, Brighouse [1911]

Charles Henry died after suffering from dropsy for 2 months [9th June 1916].

After his death, Emma took over at the Black Swan [1916, 1917].

Living with them [in 1911] were boarders Samuel Farrar [b 1876] son of Edwin Farrar and Ambrose Standring [aged 33] (refrigerator fitter) from Rhodes, Lancashire, and visitor Mrs Edna Taylor [aged 30]

Scholey, EdwinRef S3582
[1831-1913] Born in Hatfield/Hellifield, Yorkshire.

He was a corn miller [1881, 1891, 1901] / a gardener [1909].

In 1849, he married Fanny Ann Elliott [1833-1???] from Eccleshall/Eccleshill, Yorkshire, in Ecclesfield.

Children:

  1. Joseph E [b 1865] who was a mill hand (woollen) [1881], a corn miller [1891]
  2. Charles Henry
  3. Ada [b 1868] who was a mill hand [1881] & married Walter Garside
  4. Pollie [b 1872] who was a woollen weaver [1891]
  5. Minnie [b 1879] who was a cotton cop pointer [1891]

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1901] was lodger Ernest H. Manks

Scholey, George WilliamRef S1421
[1884-1959]

On 18th May 1907, he married Lily Williams [1883-1968] in Holbeck, Leeds.

They adopted Albert, the son of Walter Bloomer

The family lived at 62 South Lane, Elland [1943]

Scholey, ThomasRef S3483
[1825-1???] Born in Havercroft.

He was Landlord of the Albion, Brighouse [1861].

In 1848, he married Martha Shaw [1820-1???] from South Kerby, Yorkshire, in Doncaster.

Children:

  1. Sarah [b 1849]
  2. Louisa Shaw [b 1852]
  3. George Henry [b 1856]
  4. William Frederic [b 1860]

Scholey, ThomasRef S595
[1827-1???] Born in Mexborough.

He was a general labourer [1881] / a vessel captain [1891].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1861] who married Stephen Brumby
  2. Eliza [b 1870]
  3. Emma [b 1872]

The family lived at

  • 5 White Lee Road, Swinton [1881]
  • 5 White Lee Road, Swinton, Rotherham [1891]

Living with the widowed Thomas [in 1881, 1891] were daughter Annie and family

Scholfeilde, MrRef S1133
[15??-16??] Curate at Heptonstall [1615]

Scholfield...Ref S484
The entries for people & families with the surname Scholfield are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Scholfield: Wild: Horsfall, Stephenson & CrossleyRef S886
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden.

Partners included T. Schofield, W. Wild, L. Horsfall, J. Stephenson, H. Stephenson and S. Crossley.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1859

School Field Croft, Sowerby BridgeRef S679
Owners and tenants have included

School House, MankinholesRef S3076
On 29th September 1909, the Todmorden Board of Guardians decided to rent the property as a Children's Home

School Land Farm, ColdenRef S343
The income from the farm provided the salary for the master of Heptonstall Grammar School.

See Land Farm, Blackshawhead

Schools & Sunday SchoolsRef S70

Schorey, RichardRef S1718
[1741-1803] From Sandal Magna.

Baptised 9th August 1741.

He was landlord of the White Swan Inn, Halifax.

In 1769, he married Sara Holdsworth [1741-1801].

Children:

  1. Selina [17??-1778]
  2. Richard [1781] who died aged 3 months

Sarah died 25th October 1801.

Members of the family were buried at Halifax Parish Church

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church where an inscription reads

Schorfield, HenryRef S895
[1806-1860] Son of Samuel Schorfield.

Born in Halifax.

He was a cardmaker of Back Rhodes Street [1845].

In 1835, he married Margaret Cuttle [1817-1863] at Wragby Church, Wakefield.


Margaret came from Hemsworth
 

Children:

  1. Samuel Richard [b 1836]
  2. Charles Edward [b 1837]
  3. Henry Cuttle [b 1839]
  4. Sarah [b 1840]
  5. Mary [b 1841]
  6. John [b 1844]
  7. Margaret Ann [1845-1860]
  8. William [b 1847]
  9. Thomas [1849-1849]
  10. Emma [1850-1850]
  11. Joseph [b 1851]
  12. Frederick [b 1854]
  13. Frances Eliza [b 1858]

The family lived at

  • Arches Street/King Cross Street [1837]
  • Rhodes Street, Cavalry Field, Halifax [1842]

Henry died in Halifax in 1806.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 430] in an unmarked grave

Schorfield, JamesRef S1311
[1792-1832] Of Southowram.

He married Mary Tommis [1794-1840].

James died 26th February 1832 (aged 40).

Mary died 24th July 1840 (aged 46).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-B12]

Schorfield, Joe MarsdenRef S30
[1877-19??] Son of James Schorfield, blacksmith.

He was a fitter of 18 Parkfield, Chippenham [1905].

On 4th March 1905, he married Selma Jane Stratford [1875-19??] at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.


Selma Jane of 4 Park Road, Halifax, was the daughter of Henry Stratford, gardener
 

Schorfield, SamuelRef S896
[1765-1825] Born Samuel Scholfield.

He was a stone quarry owner & cardmaker of Southowram.

He purchased a lot of property in Cold Edge, Wainstalls, including Spring Mill, and most of the adjacent property. With the property purchases, he got the rights to seats and stalls in the chapels of Luddenden and Illingworth.

Around 1817, after acquiring much wealth and property, he changed his name from Scholfield to Schorfield. In A Spring-time Saunter, Whiteley Turner says that the change was in order to

to dissociate himself from poorer relations

He ran a dame school in his home for the young men of Cold Edge.

In 1817 he sold Spring Mill to Robert Abbott.

In 1786, he married Sarah Haigh at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah came from Shelf
 

Children:

  1. Samuel
  2. Ann [1789-1790]
  3. James [b 1791]
  4. John [1793-1800]
  5. William
  6. Richard [1797-1832]
  7. Sarah [b 1799]
  8. Hannah [b 1802]
  9. twins Joseph [1804-1818]
  10. Mary [1804-1805]
  11. Henry

Samuel died in 1825.

His executors were William Dewhirst and William Mitchell

Members of the family were buried at Coley Church

Schorfield, SamuelRef S2733
[1787-18??] Son of Samuel Schorfield.

He was a stone merchant in Southowram.

He was in partnership with his father. Recorded in 1814, when the partnership was dissolved and Samuel, the younger, carried on the business on his own.

He married (1) Ann Gledhill.

He married (2) Sarah Kitching

Schorfield's: W. H. & L. J SchorfieldRef S2149
Underclothing manufacturers at Back Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905]

Schorfield, WilliamRef S902
[1795-1829] Son of Samuel Schorfield.

He worked for the East India Company.

He died in Bombay, India

Schroeder, MauriceRef S3470
[18??-19??] Minister at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [1922].

See Jane Elizabeth Nicholson and Rev W. L. Schroeder

Schroeder, Rev W. L.Ref S3691
[18??-19??] MA.

Minister at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [1908-1922].

See Rev Maurice Schroeder

Schubert, MrRef S408
[1???-18??] A German immigrant who worked for Crossley's Carpets and designed and produced carpet mosaics. He emigrated to America

Schumann, Ernest AugustRef S3389
[1855-1895] Born 1st November 1855.

He was hotel keeper of the Old Cock Hotel, Halifax [1895].

On 4th March 1890, he married Bernadine Louise Koper [1868-1949] at St Peter's Church, Bradford.

Ernest died at the Old Cock [26th August 1895].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell with his sister-in-law Johanna Koper [1884-1902].

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,690 6/2d.

Administration was granted to his widow Bernadine Louise

Schwabe, Rev Henry K. A.Ref S973
[18??-19??] He was Curate at Brighouse [1920-1924] / Vicar of St Luke's Church, Norland [1925].

He lived at 1 Milton Place, Halifax [1936]

Sciences & ScientistsRef S41

Scofield, Dr JohnRef S704
[1706-1790] Halifax apothecary and surgeon. He bought a part of Woolshops, Halifax from John Drake in 1743 for £80.

He married Elizabeth, daughter of Rev Francis Parratt.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1735-1805] who married Mr Holt

He built a house on the top-most part of the property at Woolshops. The building was dated I S E 1744 for John and Elizabeth.

The epitaph on the memorial for John and his daughter Elizabeth in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Daughter Elizabeth died at the house of Mr Firth, at Kipping, Bingley [18th December 1805]

Scorah, WilliamRef S2746
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Brighouse [1857]

Scot, Sir MichaelRef S1033
[12??-13??] He was accused of incest with Joan de Heton, a nun at Kirklees Nunnery

Scotchmen, Frederick WilliamRef S1205
[1872-1938] Landlord of the Royal Oak, Stainland [1934-1938]

Scote HallRef S308

Scotford, Albert EdwardRef S965
[1883-1???] Son of Charlie Scotford.

Born in Carnarvon.

He was a dyer's labourer of Fixby Avenue, Skircoat [1906] / a worsted dyeing labourer [1911].

In 1906, he married Florence Verity at Halifax Parish Church.


Florence, of Jubilee Road, Halifax, was the daughter of William Henry Verity
 

Children:

  1. Charley [b 1908]

The family lived at 18 Ingram Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was brother George Henry Scotford

Scotford, Charles Moses W.Ref S966
[18??-1???] He was a slate dresser [1906].

In [Q2] 1876, he married Margaret Lewis [18??-1???] in Carnarvon

Children:

  1. (possibly) John [b 1876]
  2. (possibly) Elizabeth [1878] who died in infancy
  3. (possibly) William [b 1880]
  4. Albert Edward
  5. (possibly) Elizabeth [1885] who died in infancy
  6. (possibly) Henry [1889-1891]
  7. (possibly) Elizabeth [1892-1894]
  8. (possibly) Henry [b 1895]
  9. George Henry

The family lived at

  • Carnarvon [1883, 1896]
  • 29 Nursery Lane, Wicker, Sheffield [1916]

Scotford, George HenryRef S967
[1896-1916] Son of Charlie Scotford.

Born in Carnarvon.

He was a worsted spinning doffer [1911] / employed at Washer Lane Dye Works.

He lived at Fixby Avenue, Pye Nest.

In 1911, he was living with his brother Albert Edward Scotford and family at 18 Ingram Street, Savile Park.

He spent 4 months in a sanatorium for consumptives.

3 weeks later, he was still receiving treatment at the sanatorium, but considered fit when he enlisted [January 1915], and served as a Private with D Company 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded – being hit in the head – on the Somme, and walked to a Field Dressing Station where he died of an apparently superficial wound [10th July 1916] (aged 20).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [5th August 1916].

He was buried at Boulogne Eastern Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VIII D 97].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Scotland, MidgleyRef S958
House

Scott...Ref S755
The entries for people & families with the surname Scott are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Scott's: Alexander Scott LimitedRef S2236
Boot dealer, draper, mantle manufacturer, milliner, silk mercer and hosier established by Alexander Scott.

In 1899, the business was at 23-27 Crown Street, Halifax.

In 1905, the business was at York Buildings, Halifax

Scott & BagnallRef S2434
Local architects. They were at Portland Place [1936].

Partners included Mr Scott and Mr Bagnall.

Their work includes Prince of Wales Feathers, Halifax

Scott & PriestleyRef S836
Common brewers at Halifax.

Partners included D. Scott and J. Priestley.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1833

Scott & VareyRef S2630
Second-hand and antique dealers at 10 Prescott Street, Halifax. Their shop was in the former Prescott Street Co-Op

Scott BrothersRef S2201
Engineers and makers of punching and shearing machines.

Established in 1850.

Officers of the Company have included

They had business at Corporation Street, Halifax, Beech Hill Mills, Halifax, and West Mount, Halifax [1914].

See James William Bulmer

Scott BrothersRef S2296
Ran Park Lodge Laundry, Ovenden [1905]

Scott, Dean & SutcliffeRef S1187
Woollen manufacturers at Elland.

Partners included H. Scott, J. Dean and H. Sutcliffe.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1879

Scott Street Recreation Ground, WalsdenRef S2666

Scotty Well, RastrickRef S1633
A well at Bridge End. Named for Rev John Meldrum, a Scotsman who was minister at Bridge End Chapel and farmed a small croft at Bridge End

Scout Hall Farm, ShibdenRef S508
Aisled house with a doorway dated 1694 with the initials M and IM. Originally a group of farm buildings east of Scout Hall and owned by the Stancliffe family.

This is discussed in the book Aisled Houses in the Halifax Area

Scout Hall, ShibdenRef S307
Aka Scote Hall. Built for John Mitchell in 1681.

See Lower Scout Hall, Shibden, Scout, Scout Hall Farm, Shibden, Barzilla Tempest, Upper Scout Hall, Shibden and Water Scout, Shibden

Scout Road Toll House, MytholmroydRef S3003
Toll house on Scout Road between Mytholmroyd and Sowerby

Scout Rock, MytholmroydRef S317
A cliff rising above Mytholmroyd.

The rock is featured in Ted Hughes's essay

The Rock

which was published in The Listener [September 1963]

Scout, TodmordenRef S64

Scout Wood, MytholmroydRef S688
Hathershelf.

In 1952, two men – Harry Bentley and Frank Sutcliffe – discovered a hoard of around 533 Roman silver coins when they were on a rabbiting trip. After a Coroner's enquiry, the hoard was declared treasure trove

Scowby, JosephRef S1248
[18??-18??] A basket-maker and toy dealer.

In September 1871, he went into liquidation by arrangement


Question: I may have confused details of this man and William Scowby. Can anyone help me sort them out?

 

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1838] who became a vicar at Langton, Staffordshire
  2. Eliza [b 1845] who married [3rd September 1867] Joseph William Gledhill of Leicester
  3. daughter

Scowby, ThomasRef S406
[1837-1935] Methodist minister born in Halifax. He was influenced by William Booth. He joined the Methodist New Connexion in 1860. He was President of Conference in 1893 and Correspondence Secretary in 1890, and was present at the uniting Conference in 1932. He was one of the 4 oldest ministers in the Methodist Church and was still preaching at the age of 98.

He died as a result of a domestic accident

Scowby, WilliamRef S3404
[18??-18??] A basket-maker.

On 11th March 1835, he married Susanna Kershaw of Ovenden, at Halifax Parish Church.

In 18??, the stock at his shop in Jail Lane was destroyed by fire.

A few years later, on 24th March 1840, his workshop in Jail Lane was also completely destroyed by fire

Scratcherd & CompanyRef S2025
19th century Halifax wine and spirit merchants.

They occupied the Crown & Anchor, Halifax [1864]. They were at 8 Bull Green, Halifax [1874].

Advertisements can be seen for their

Perfection Scotch Whiskies

In 1905, their premises were known as The Adega.

See John Exley McKelvin and T. H. C Scratcherd

Scratcherd, ArthurRef S108
[1878-1918]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 112th Company (Devon)  Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

He died 10th February 1918.

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax [C 18C]

Scratcherd, CyrilRef S310
[1899-1918] Son of Fred Scratcherd.

Born in Halifax [18th October 1899].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was killed in action in France / Flanders [12th September 1918] (aged 18).

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France [Grave Ref 8], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial, on the Memorial at Prescott Street Drill Hall, on the Memorial at Saint Michael & All Angels' Church, Southowram Bank, and on the Memorial at Sion Branch Congregational Sunday School, Bank Top

Scratcherd, EdgarRef S1082
[1890-1917] Of 50 Woodside Road, Halifax.

Son of Tom Scratcherd.

He was a member of the Square Church Pleasant Sunday Afternoon Society / employed at Dean Clough.

He joined the Royal Marines [around 1907], and had 10 years' service.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Sergeant with the Royal Marine Light Infantry 2nd R.M Battalion R.N. Div.

He survived the sinking of the cruiser HMS Defence at Jutland [31st May 1916].

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 28th April 1917 (aged 27).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 1], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [1st December 1917]

His brother-in-law Fred Eastwood also died in the War

Scratcherd, FredRef S1450
[1871-1926] Born in Halifax.

He was a corn miller's labourer [1901] / a corn miller at Halifax Flour Mill [1911].

In [Q2] 1895, he married (1) Lucy Emily Kay [1870-1907] in Halifax.


Lucy Emily was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Willie [b 1898]
  2. Cyril Scratcherd

Lucy Emily died in Halifax [Q3 1907] (aged 38).

In [Q4] 1907, Fred married (2) Sarah Ann Stewart [1861-19??] in Halifax.


Sarah Ann was born in Halifax
 

The family lived at 8 Castlemaine Place, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Scratcherd, JohnRef S1576
[1836-19??] Born in Great Ouseburn, Yorkshire.

He was a general road labourer [1901].

He married Mary [1839-19??].


Mary was born in Green Hammerton, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Joe [b 1875] who was a mechanic's labourer [1901]
  3. Arthur [b 1879] who was a grain warehouseman [1901]
  4. Walter [b 1880] who was a jacquard labourer [1901]

The family lived at 29 Godley Road, Halifax [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] was granddaughter Clara Scratcherd [b 1894]

Scratcherd, ThomasRef S1451
[1860-1928] Son of John Scratcherd, carter.

Born in Great Ouseburn, Yorkshire.

He was a carter of 52 Wood Street, Halifax [1884] / a horse driver [1891] / a general labourer [1901] / a road scavenger of All Souls' Road [1902] / a corporation scavenger [1911].

In 1884, he married (1) Ann Jane Jones [1857-1900] at St Stephen's Church, Hulme.


Ann, of 52 Wood Street, Halifax, was born in Manchester, the daughter of Charles Jones, labourer
 

Children:

  1. Hephzibah / Hepsy [b 1885]
  2. Emily [b 1886]
  3. Edgar
  4. Clara [b 1894] who was a serge weaver [1911] & married Fred Eastwood
  5. May [b 1896] who was a framing tenter in cotton mill [1911]
  6. George [b 1897] who was a creeler in carpet weaving [1911]

Ann Jane died in 1900 (aged 43).

She was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax.

In 1902, he married (2) Ruth [1862-19??] at All Souls' Church, Halifax


Ruth, of All Souls' Road, Halifax, was the daughter of William Fawcett, collier, and widow of Mr Squires.

She had children by her first marriage: Children:

  1. Ethel Squires [b 1887] who was a twister in cotton mill [1911]
  2. Alice Squires [b 1891] who was a twister in cotton mill [1911]
  3. Arnold Squires [b 1893] who was a bottler of ale and stout [1911]
  4. Doris Squires [b 1896] who was reaching in worsted coating weaving [1911]
  5. Evelyn Squires [b 1899]

 

The family lived at

  • Crossley's Buildings, Steep Bank Side, Southowram [1891]
  • 8 Poplar Street, Halifax [1900, 1901]
  • 7 Iona Street, Halifax [1911]

Scratcherd, Thomas Henry CroisdaleRef S2343
[1835-1896] Born 31st July 1835.

He was a member of the Todmorden Gun Club / assisting Joseph Sutcliffe in his warehouse [1851] / a spirit merchant with Scratcherd & Company / a wine merchant employing 5 men & 1 boy [1871]

He also had business interests in Todmorden.

He & Joseph Sutcliffe were living on Harrison Road [1851].

On 27th May 1857, he married Margaret Bamford [1837-1885] in Manchester.


Margaret was born in Salford [2nd November 1837]
 

They had no children.

They lived at

Margaret died 23rd March 1885.

Living with him [in 1891] were 2 nieces from Rastrick, Margaret and Kate Wilson.

He died 27th July 1896.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £588,804 12/5d.

Probate was granted to his executors George Collier and John Hoyle.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1896.

The couple were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

See Joseph Hinchliffe

Screeton, WilliamRef S1034
[1796-1856] Born in Market Weighton.

He was a master tailor employing 2 men [1851].

He married Hannah [1806-1862].


Hannah was born in Wakefield
 

Children:

  1. William [b 1830] who was a tailor [1900]
  2. Mary [b 1833] who married [Halifax Q2/1867] Christopher Fallon
  3. Elizabeth [b 1837]

The family lived at 18 High Street, Halifax [1851].

William died 8th September 1856 (aged 60).

Hannah died 21st December 1862 (aged 56).

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 531] with infant grandson James William Fallon

Scribbans-Kemp LimitedRef S2039
Halifax firm of confectioners and bakers. They used the trademark Scribona.

An early business – H. Scribbans & Company – was established in 1898. On 9th May 1927, the company was registered as Scribbans & Company Limited. On 1st September 1946, the name was changed to Scribbans-Kemp Limited. In 1969, the name was changed to S & K Holdings Limited. In 1973, the name was changed to Barker & Dobson Limited

Martin Wood writes

My mother Mary was born in 1920. She tells me that the firm was originally Whittaker's Biscuits and was owned by my grandfather's Jewish family. My grandfather, Frederick Whittaker, had two sisters, and, as the eldest son, he should have inherited the business. However, Frederick married a gentile, Emily Maude, and was disinherited by my Jewish great-grandparents, and the inheritance passed to my grandfather's two sisters. One sister married a Mr Scribbans, and the other married a Mr Kemp. This is how the Halifax firm came about. My grandfather, who died about 1947, was left with nothing!

ScribonaRef S266
Trademark of Scribbans-Kemp

Scriven, Alice deRef S953
[12??-1329] Aka de Screvyn. Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1307-1328]

The ScrivenerRef S1411
The quarterly journal of the Calderdale Family History Society

Scroggie, Rev William GrahamRef S1124
[18??-19??] A well-known preacher. Minister at Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax [1902-1905].

He lived at 138 Heathleigh, Skircoat Road, Halifax [1905]

Scruton, DrRef S2431
[18??-19??] A popular physician who worked at Needham's chemist's shop in Briggate / Thornton Square, Brighouse

Scutt, Rev AndrewRef S2593
[19??-] Minister at Southgate Methodist Chapel, Elland, [2008]

Seaford House, HalifaxRef S3360
Stafford Road / Skircoat Green Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Seager, Rev C. E.Ref S1213
[19??-19??] Minister of Square Congregational Church, Halifax [1966]

Seal, AlbertRef S598
[1890-1917] Born in Walsden.

In [Q3] 1913, he married Ellen Whitehead [1891-1956] in Todmorden.


Ellen was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Vera [1913-1990] who married Clifford Tattershall

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 6th September 1917 (aged 25).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 54-60 & 163A], in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance, on Patmos War Memorial, and on the Roll of Honour of Patmos Congregational Church.

Ellen never remarried.

She died at 48 Sackville Street, Todmorden [5th February 1956].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £393 8/7d.

Probate was granted to daughter Vera

Seal, BarryRef S404
[1941-] Born in Halifax. He was educated at Heath Grammar School, the University of Bradford and the European Business School at Fontainebleau.

He worked as a chemical engineer, a computer consultant, and a lecturer at the University of Bradford.

After eight years in local government, he became the Labour Member of the European Parliament [MEP] for Yorkshire West [1979-1999], and was Chairman of the Economic, Monetary and Industrial Policy Committee [1984-1987], and a member of the Foreign Affairs, Security and Defence Policy Committee and the Human Rights Sub Committee. He was Leader of the British Labour Group at the European Parliament [1988-1989]

Seal of HalifaxRef S2839

Seaman, HerbertRef S287
[1898-1916] Born in Selby.

His family came to live at Stannary Lane, Halifax.

He was a dyer's labourer [1914].

During World War I, he enlisted in 1915, and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at Thiepval, Somme [19th July 1916] (aged 18).

He was buried at Connaught Cemetery, Thiepval, France [Grave Ref XIII X 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Searby, RobertRef S1125
[1864-19??] Son of Benjamin Searby, horse breaker.

Born in Market Rasen, Lincolnshire.

He was a groom of Hanson Lane, Halifax [1889] / a barman [1891] / a tramways labourer [1901] / a groom [1911].

In 1889, he married Sarah Jane Hall [1866-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah Jane, of Hanson Lane, Halifax, was born in Wroot, Lincolnshire, the daughter of John Hall, shepherd.

She was a ladies' help [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Robert William
  2. Charlotte [b 1900]
  3. Mary Alice [b 1903]
  4. Arthur Benjamin [b 1907]

The family lived at

  • 6 Parker's Court, Halifax [1891]
  • 7 South Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 15 South Street, Halifax [1911]

Searby, Robert WilliamRef S1085
[1897-1978] MM.

Son of Robert Searby.

Born in Halifax [5th February 1897].

He was educated at Holy Trinity School / a bobbin carrier (worsted) [1911] / employed by Balme & Pritchard Limited.

He lived at 4 Bond Court, Hopwood Lane.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915], and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was in the Dardanelles [September 1915], and France [June 1916].

He was awarded the Military Medal for gallantry [1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [3rd November 1917].

He survived the War.

In [Q3] 1919, he married Doris Dunnington [1898-1964] in Halifax.

He died in Halifax [Q4 1978].

Doris died Q2 1964 (aged 66) 

Seaton, Alexander AdamRef S146
[1885-1915] Son of Rev John Abdiel Seaton.

Born in Cleckheaton.

He was educated at Leeds Grammar School & Pembroke College Cambridge / a classics graduate / winner of the Lightfoot History Prize / a University Extension Lecturer / a Government Inspector of schools / a Fellow of Pembroke College Cambridge / lecturer in History.

During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 1st Cambridgeshire Regiment.

He went to France in February 1915.

He was dangerously injured when a shell exploded over his trench.

He died in the ambulance on his way to the Field Hospital [4th September 1915].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th September 1915].

He was buried at Cité Bonjean Military Cemetery, France. [Grave Ref IX B 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park

Seaton, Hugh John ArmandRef S153
[1883-19??] Son of Rev John Abdiel Seaton.

He was a master at Heath Grammar School [1911]

Seaton, JohnRef S441
[1714-1748] Originally from Rotherham. Nephew of Charles Radcliffe. He was articled to his uncle William Radcliffe at Milnsbridge. He became a Halifax attorney. He lived and practised at The Heights, Barkisland

Seaton, Rev John AbdielRef S109
[1837-1908] Born in Cleckheaton.

He was Vicar of St John's, Cleckheaton [1891, 1901].

In [Q2] 1879, he married Eleanor Annand [1845-19??] in Steyning, Sussex.


Eleanor was born in Sylhet, India
 

Children:

  1. Hugh John Armand
  2. Alexander Adam

The family lived at

  • St John's Vicarage, Cleckheaton [1891, 1901]
  • Roslyn, Heath Villas, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was niece Winifred Eleanor Grey Clark [aged 22].

John Abdiel died in North Bierley [Q4 1908] (aged 71) 

Seattle, Rev RobertRef S136
[18??-1821] Vicar of Todmorden [1819-1821].

He was regarded as being

too quiet

and the congregation diminished during his ministry

Seccombe, James AlfredRef S1457
[1889-1915] He was a regular soldier with 6 years' service.

In [Q1] 1914, he married Alice Hanley in Halifax.


Alice had a child
 

They lived at 84 Portland Road, New Bank, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Company Sergeant Major with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by a gunshot wound to the head at Zillebeke [2nd March 1915] (aged 26).

He was buried at Tuileries British Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref C 23].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Secker, GeorgeRef S2440
[1817-1876] Headmaster of Illingworth National School [1849-1876].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William Henry

He was buried at Illingworth Church [18th July 1876]

Secker, William HenryRef S1654
[18??-18??] Son of George Secker.

He was headmaster of the Parish Church School, Halifax.

In 1872, he wrote A Brief Account of Illingworth Church

Seddon, CliffordRef S1460
[1897-1918] Son of John Robert Seddon.

He was a member of the Sunday Schools at Queens Road Primitive Methodist Chapel & Pye Nest Primitive Methodist Chapel / a teacher at Queens Road Primitive Methodist Chapel & Sunday School / a worsted spinner [1911] / an overlooker Oates Brothers at Ryburne Mill, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1915], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd/5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action somewhere in France [23rd July 1918] (aged 21).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [10th August & 24th August 1918].

He is remembered on the Soissons Memorial, France, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Roll of Honour at Queens Road Primitive Methodist, and on the Roll of Honour at Pye Nest P. M. Sunday School Memorial

Seddon, John RobertRef S1630
[1861-1???] Born in Doncaster.

He was a bobbin maker [1891] / a foreman bobbin turner [1901] / a bobbin turner for bobbin manufacturer [1911].

In 1884, he married Hannah Sutcliffe [1863-1???] in Rochdale.


Hannah was born in Walsden
 

Children:

  1. Edith Mary [b 1889]
  2. John Sutcliffe [1891] who died in infancy
  3. Ada [b 1893] who was a biscuit packer [1911]
  4. Richard [b 1895] who was a cloth presser [1911], & served in France [World War I]
  5. Clifford
  6. Nora [b 1899]
  7. Hilda [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 12 Dudley Street, Wardleworth, Rochdale [1891]
  • 19 Byrom Street, Rochdale [1901]
  • 7 Mile Cross Road, Halifax [1911]
  • 89 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1918]

Seddon, MrRef S1138
[16??-16??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1656-1661].

Heywood includes him in his list of the great number of wretched drunken preachers at Lightcliffe, and adds


a drunkard and hunter, who died at Beeston and desired to be buried on the North side of the chapel [normally reserved for the unbaptised, suicides and heretics] in view of the alehouse he haunted
 

Sedgewick, AmyRef S45
[18??-18??] Actress who appeared several times at the Halifax Theatre

Sedgewick, Rev ThomasRef S1172
[17??-18??] Minister of Hartshead [1787-1788] and again [1801-1802]

Sedgwick, DukeRef S1461
[1854-1923] Born in Shelf.

He was a worsted warp dresser [1891, 1901] / a warp dresser [1911].

In [Q4] 1882, he married Emma Gertrude Jones [1862-1937] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Liverpool.

She was a milliner & drapery dealer [1901]

 

Children:

  1. Richard Mereton [b 1884] who was a mechanic (machine works) [1901], an engineer [1911]
  2. Joe [b 1885] who was an apprentice saddler [1901], an unemployed saddler [1911]
  3. Fred
  4. Bessie [b 1890] who was a weaver [1911]
  5. Harry
  6. Gertrude [b 1898]

The family lived at Holdsworth, Ovenden [1891]; Shop 69 Boothtown Road, Halifax [1901]; 23 Ripon Terrace, Akroydon [1911]; 1 Salisbury Place, Akroydon

Sons Fred & Harry died in World War I.

Duke died Q3 1923 (aged 69).

Emma died Q3 1937 (aged 75) 

Sedgwick, FredRef S855
[1888-1918] Son of Duke Sedgwick.

Born in Halifax.

He was a reacher in a worsted mill [1901] / a twister [1911] / employed by Standeven & Company Limited.

In [Q2] 1916, he married Elsie Greenwood in Halifax.

They lived at

  • 3 Tennyson Street, Lee Mount
  • 5 Rushworth Street, Lee Mount [1918]

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with B Company 1st/5th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was wounded [25th April 1918].

He died as a POW in Danzig [21st July 1918] (aged 30).

He was buried at Malbork Commonwealth War Cemetery, Poland [Grave Ref 8 A 12].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Akroydon Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, and on the Standeven Roll of Honour.

His brother Harry also died in the War

Sedgwick, HarryRef S853
[1895-1918] Son of Duke Sedgwick.

He was a twister's apprentice [1911] / employed by Standeven & Company Limited.

During World War I, he was with the 82 Yorkshire MB Field Ambulance, then served as a Corporal with the 2nd/5th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 29th March 1918 (aged 22).

He was buried at La Cauchie Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref 7 OF 13].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Akroydon Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, and on the Standeven Roll of Honour.

His brother Fred also died in the War

Sedgwick, Rev J. G.Ref S1730
[18??-18??] MA. He was Chaplain and supervised the Copley Factory School

Sedgwick, LeonardRef S1201
[1851-1894] Born in Dent, Yorkshire.

He was landlord of the Hare & Hounds, Stainland [1885-1894].

On 29th June 1875, he married Ruth Ann Holroyd [1850-1927] in Dent.


Ruth was born in Ripponden
 

Leonard died at the Hare & Hounds in 1894.

Ruth took over at the Hare & Hounds [1894-1923].

She died in Salford in 1927

Seed, Albert HenryRef S555
[1864-19??] Son of William Charles Seed, commercial clerk.

Born in Bradford.

He was a labourer of Southowram [1891] / a road labourer [1891] / a labourer in gas works [1901] / a cart driver [1911].

In [Q1] 1891, he married Favouretta Sykes [1867-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Favouretta, of The Green, Skircoat, was the daughter of Benjamin Sykes, carter
 

Children:

  1. William H [b 1892] who was a labourer (gas works) [1911]
  2. Herbert
  3. Lilian [b 1897] who was a spinner worsted [1911]
  4. James [1899-1906]
  5. Albert [b 1901]
  6. Edith [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 67 Lower Skircoat Green, Halifax [1891]
  • 59 Lower Skircoat Green, Halifax [1901]
  • 6 Temple Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was widowed mother Sarah A Midgley [b 1837]

Seed, ArthurRef S818
[18??-1916] A native of Wyke

He worked for Firth's Carpets in Bailiff Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 18th November 1916.

He was buried at Cambrin Churchyard Extension, France [Grave Ref S 26].

He is remembered on Firth's War Memorial, and on Bailiff Bridge War Memorial

Seed, BenjaminRef S1605
[1795-1868] Of Kebroyd Bridge, Soyland.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. George

He & other members of the family were buried at Mill Bank Wesleyan Methodist Graveyard

Seed BrothersRef S2087
Boot and shoe manufacturers and retailers established by Joseph Seed around 1870.

There were 4 partners and they employed 19 hands [1881]. Partners included Joseph Seed, George Seed, and Thomas Seed.

They had business at a shop in Crown Street (with 80 employees), Hanson Lane, St James's Road, and then at Fearnought Works, Halifax.

They acquired the retail business established by S. T. Midgley.

The firm's specialities included

Fearnought Boots
Welcome Shoes
Halifax Boots

Seed, EzraRef S3394
[1828-1905] Son of Joseph Seed.

Born in Clayton.

He was a d?ug? reader and card stamper (employer) [1851] / a card stamper at a worsted factory [1861] / a manager with a cotton brace manufacturer [1871] / a manager with a brace, web & fancy goods manufacturer [1881] / a manager with a small fancy ware manufacturer [1891] / a retired manager of a brace factory [1901]

In 1849, he married Ellen Tetley [1827-1891] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Joseph
  2. George
  3. Alfred [b 1854]
  4. Thomas
  5. Edward [b 1858]
  6. Ann [b 1860]
  7. Albert [b 1863] who was a boot clicker [1881]
  8. Mary Jane [b 1865]
  9. Walter Tetley [b 1867] who was a manager in a boot shop [1891]
  10. Clara Ellen [b 1869]

The family lived at

  • Range Bank [1851, 1861]
  • 13 Cromwell Terrace, Halifax [1871, 1881, 1891, 1901, where he died 1905]

He died 25th May 1905.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,564 4/9d.

The family were members of Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade.

The new Salem Methodist Church, Richmond Street was opened by Miss Elsie Seed who was the oldest active member in 1970

Seed, GeorgeRef S1604
[1819-1872] Son of Benjamin Seed.

Born in Manchester.

He was a tailor [1851, 1871].

In [Q1] 1842, he married Betty Crowther [1816-1898] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Mary Ellen [b 1846]
  2. Elizabeth Jane Ann [1850-15th June 1870]
  3. Adah [1852-12th December 1874]
  4. George Arthur [1856-12th April 1870]

The family lived at Mill Bank, Sowerby [1851, 1871].

George died 5th July 1872 (aged 53).

Betty died 23rd November 1898 (aged 83).

Members of the family were buried at Mill Bank Wesleyan Methodist Graveyard

Seed, GeorgeRef S3398
[1852-1922] Son of Ezra Seed.

Born in Halifax.

He was a boot finisher [1871] / a master boot & show maker [1881] / a partner in Seed Brothers.

In 1876, he married Frances Crawshaw [1851-1934] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Orpha Ann [1877-1963]
  2. Lewis Ezra [b 1879]
  3. Dora [1889-1896]

The family lived at 17 Oak Terrace, Halifax [1881].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Seed, HerbertRef S579
[1894-19??] Son of Albert Henry Seed.

He was a member of Halifax Church Lads Brigade / a member of Skircoat Green United Methodist Boys' Brigade / a member of St Barnabas's Church School, Halifax / an oiler (spinning machinery) [1911] / a gardener for G. Holdsworth at Shaw Lodge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing [3rd May 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his story in the Halifax Courier [2nd June 1917].

In July 1917, he wrote home saying he was alive and a POW at Limburg, Germany.

He survived the War, and is remembered on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, on the Memorial at Halifax Church Lads' Brigade, and on the Roll of Honour at Saint Barnabas's Church, Halifax

Seed, JamesRef S3386
[1828-1894] Born in Halifax.

He was a stuff presser [1847] / landlord of the Claremount Inn, Halifax [1894].

In 1847, he married Mary Jenkinson [1829-1893] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Eliza [b 1854]
  2. Pharoah [b 1856]
  3. Clara [b 1858]
  4. Lily [b 1860]
  5. Frank [1862-1863]
  6. Charlotte [1864-1865]
  7. Albert [1865-1866]
  8. Fred [1865-1900]
  9. Lavinia [b 1867]
  10. Louisa [b 1873]

Mary died at the Claremount Inn [12th February 1893].

James died at the Claremount Inn [20th November 1894]

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

Seed, JohnRef S1315
[1823-18??] Born in Conley, Lancashire.

He was a stone mason [1871].

He married Sarah [1826-1???].


Sarah was born in Wakefield
 

Children:

  1. Isabella [b 1847] who was a char woman [1881], & married Mr Pratt
  2. Richard
  3. Ann [b 1857] who was a worsted winder [1871], a worsted weaver [1881]
  4. Walter [b 1865] who was a packer finishing warehouse [1881]

The family lived at

  • 3 Regents Court, Halifax [1871]
  • 3 Regent Terrace, Halifax [1881]

Living with the widowed Sarah [in 1881] were son Richard & family

Seed, John RichardRef S2945
[1891-1918] Son of Richard Seed.

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School [until 1907] & Bristol Training College / a student teacher in Halifax [1911] / a teacher in Taunton [1915].

During World War I, he enlisted [1st June 1915], and served with the 6th Battalion Gloucestershire Regiment, then was transferred and served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by shrapnel during enemy bombardment at the Battle of Kemmel [29th April 1918] (aged 28).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th May 1918].

He was buried at La Clytte Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V C 2].

He is remembered at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4181], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, on the Memorial at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park, on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School, and on the Memorial at Hanover Methodist Chapel, Halifax

Seed, JosephRef S2689
[1806-18??] He was a Worsted Inspector [1841, until 1858] and Inspector of Weights & Measures for Halifax and district [from 1858]

He married Mary [1806-1???].

Children:

  1. Rebecca [b 1826]
  2. Ezra [b 1828]
  3. Edwin [b 1829]
  4. Hannah [b 1831]
  5. Jonas [b 1833]
  6. Martha [b 1835]
  7. Mary Ann [b 1837]

Seed, JosephRef S395
[1846-1893] He was a joiner.

He married Jane Ellen [1861-1924].


Jane Ellen was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Doris Hilda [b 1888] who was a confidential clerk [1911]
  2. Cyril Jackson [b 1889] who was a student at university [1911]
  3. Jessie Pullan [b 1892]
  4. Leonard Tetley

The family lived at 24 Park View, Halifax [1901, 1911].

Joseph died 16th March 1894 (aged 47).

Jane Ellen died 21st May 1924 (aged 63).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2350]

Seed, JosephRef S3395
[1851-1???] Eldest son of Ezra Seed.

Born in Range Bank, Halifax.

He was educated at the Akroyd School, Haley Hill.

He worked as a half-timer in Akroyd's mill / a solicitor / an apprentice in the bootmaking trade / senior partner in a boot factory with 3 others employing 19 hands [1881].

In his early 20s, he established Seed Brothers.

Like other members of the family, he was a member of Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade.

He was choirmaster, Sunday School teacher, local preacher and held other posts at St Andrew's Methodist Chapel, Queens Road, and was heavily involved in the Sunday School Jubilee Sings

Seed, Leonard TetleyRef S1232
[1895-1918] Son of Joseph Seed.

Born in Huntingdonshire [1 year after his father's death].

He was a member of Queens Road Methodist Chapel & Sunday School / educated at Heath Grammar School / a junior clark [1911] / an electrical engineer.

During World War I, he served as a Private / Signaller with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action in France [28th July 1918] (aged 23).

He is remembered at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2350], on the Soissons Memorial, France, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School

Seed, Marsden ThomasRef S910
[1838-1883] Beerhouse keeper at Halifax.


Question: Does anyone know which beerhouse this may have been?

 

In June 1874, he went into liquidation

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Seed, RichardRef S2946
[1849-1918] Son of John Seed.

He was a mechanic fitter [1871, 1881] / a machine tool fitter [1891] / engineer's tool fitter [1901] / a retail grocer (own account) [1911].

In [Q3] 1871, he married Lena Taylor at St James's Church, Halifax.


Lena was born in Northowram, the daughter of Abraham Taylor [1823-1???]
 

Children:

  1. Florence Gertrude [b 1872] who was a dressmaker's assistant [1891], a restaurant waitress [1901]
  2. Edith [b 1879] who was an elementary school teacher [1911]
  3. Wilfred
  4. John Richard

The family lived at

  • 3 Regent Terrace, Halifax [with Richard's mother 1881]
  • 21 Bell Hall Terrace, Skircoat [1891, 1901]
  • 5 Greenroyd Terrace, Halifax [1911]

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4181]

Seed, Stephen RobertRef S571
[1908-1975]

In [Q4] 1958, he married Phyllis Audrey Dean in Halifax.


Phyllis Audrey (Audrey) was the daughter of
Benjamin Akroyd Dean
 

Stephen died 15th February 1975 (aged 67).

He was buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland with Audrey's parents

Seed, ThomasRef S3478
[15??-15??] Vicar of St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1566-1577]

Seed, ThomasRef S2285
[1856-19??] Son of Ezra Seed.

Born in Halifax.

He was a partner in Seed Brothers.

In 1879, he married Mary Ellen Green [1859-1???] from Halifax, in Halifax.

He lived at 19 Oak Terrace, Halifax [1881] 4 Park Terrace, Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1905]

Seed, TomRef S696
[1872-1915] Born in Halifax.

He was a mechanic [1898] / landlord of the Red Lion, Boothtown [1909-1915].

On 17th December 1898, he married Annie Oldfield [1874-1957] at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Annie was born in Halifax
 

Tom died in the Red Lion [1st October 1915].

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Annie took over at the Red Lion [1915-1937].

Annie died in Halifax [5th December 1957].

She was cremated

Seed, WilfredRef S1318
[1888-19??] MM.

Son of Richard Seed.

He was a tram conductor [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 350th Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He was awarded the Military Medal. He went to live in New Zealand

Seedlings Mount, HalifaxRef S873
Aka Neddy Haigh's Field. Cottages which stood near the Stannary Inn. In the 1840s, Richard Whitaker had a brewery here.

The name is a corruption of Sydel-ing

Seekings, Bertie CharlesRef S1153
[1896-1916] Born in Huntingdon.

He was a member of Bradshaw Church / a colour matcher for T. S. Tetley Limited.

He lived at 21A Bradshaw Lane, Bradshaw.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in a failed attack on Schwaben Redoubt [2nd September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Bradshaw War Memorial

Seely, Herbert WilliamRef S1584
[18??-1898] FCS.

Chemist and druggist.

In 1887, he succeeded to the chemist and pharmacy business of George A. Parkin at The Pharmacy, 11 Corn Market, Halifax.

The company's specialities included

Seely's Nerve Tonix
Seely's Liver & Stomach Mixture
Seely's Blood Purifier
Seely's Coughaline
Seely's Extract of Herbs [for the immediate production of herb or botanic beer]
Seely's Glycerine & Cucumber Toilet Soap
Seely's Glycerine & Cucumber [for removing roughness ...]
Around 1890, the business moved to 20 Southgate when Corn Market was being redeveloped.

He was at 14 Southgate, Halifax [1898].

Recorded in 1900

Selbourne Villas, HalifaxRef S3465
Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Selby House, ShibdenRef S780
Dam Head. 17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

Selby, WilliamRef S2599
[17??-1824] He lived at Blackwall, Halifax. He was High Constable for the Division of Morley

Seldon, WilliamRef S2365
[18??-18??] He ran a school at Norwood Green [around 1874]

SelfracRef S2302
Refractory bricks made by Allen & Sons

Sellars, AlbertRef S1496
[1885-1914] Son of Susannah & Isaac Shaw Sellars of 15 Albert Gallery, Haley Hill, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 30th September 1914 (aged 29).

His brother Tom Sellars also died in the War

Sellars, John WilliamRef S1389
[1877-1918] Of 74 Green Lane, Halifax.

Born in Halifax.

He was employed by Asquith's / employed by Jeremiah Speak & Company.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died of wounds in Shorncliffe Military Hospital, Folkestone, Kent [26th April 1918].

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [K C 522].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sellars, TomRef S1486
[1889-1915] Son of Isaac Shaw & Susannah Sellars of 15 Albert Gallery, Haley Hill, Halifax.

He served with the Northumberland Fusiliers for 7 years, and was in India when World War I broke out. His Regiment came back to Europe to take part in the War.

He served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Border Regiment.

He was wounded and on recovery, returned to the trenches.

3 days later, he was wounded again, and died from the bullet wound in hospital in Boulogne [20th May 1915] (aged 26).

He was buried at Wimereux Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I H 15].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

His brother Albert Sellars also died in the War

Seller, Rev JohnRef S2436
[1863-19??] Curate at Elland [1890].

In 1891, he was a Clerk in Holy Orders living as a boarder with Johnson Aspinall.

He left and was curate of St John's, Cleckheaton [1892]

Sellers & BlomleyRef S2632
Attorneys at Rochdale and Todmorden.

Partners included James Haslam Sellers and John Blomley.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1842

Sellers & SonRef S443
Joiners & shopfitters.

Recorded in 1916, when they were are Winding Road

Sellers, FrankRef S1141
[1920-1944] Son of Gladys Sellers of Boothtown, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 122nd Field Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 21st September 1944 (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Singapore Memorial [Grave Ref 29]

Sellers, HarryRef S718
[1921-1944] Son of Joseph Sellers.

During World War II, he served as a Flying Officer with 578 Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 21st July 1944 (aged 23).

He was buried at Uden War Cemetery, Netherlands [Coll Grave 3 I 1].

He is remembered on Copley War Memorial

Sellers, James HaslamRef S3063
[18??-18??] Todmorden solicitor. Partner in Sellers & Blomley

Sellers, James HenryRef S3210
[1856-19??] Born in Hyde, Cheshire.

He was a packer in a toffee works (Mackintosh's?) [1911].

In 1881, he married Miriam, daughter of Henry Burgess.

Children:

  1. Albert [b 1886]

The family lived at 4 Woodbine Terrace, Halifax [1911]. In 1911, his widowed sister-in-law Mary Jane, and niece Florence were living with the family

Sellers, James ThomasRef S210
[1896-1974] He worked in the knitting department at Longbottom Mill, Luddendenfoot.

He was interested in photography and became a photographer of Luddendenfoot. He did much work for Lilywhite Limited and became their chief photographer.

Like Lilywhite's founder, Arthur Frederick Sergeant, when Lilywhite was taken over by Leach's, Sellers went to work for the London photographic firm of Raphael Tuck.

During World War II, he returned to Yorkshire and set up in business as

a camera craftsman

at Luddendenfoot.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Unknown

The family lived at 1 Railway Terrace, Luddendenfoot [1918].

Sellers, JosephRef S480
[1890-19??] Born in Cleckheaton.

He was a warehouseman (retail drapery) [1911].

In [Q1] 1909, he married Ethel May England [1889-19??] in Halifax.


Ethel May was born in Hyde Park, Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Mabel [b 1910]
  2. Harry

Sellers, Rev RichardRef S215
[1860-1931] Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1930].

He was buried at St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd [30th January 1931]

Sellers, Rev Dr Robert VictorRef S1264
[1895-1973] Son of Martha Ann [1863-1955] and Richard Sellers of Cleckheaton.

He was curate at Ossett before becoming Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1924-1931]. He moved to Reading.

He was Professor of Biblical & Historical Theology at King's College, London [1948-1954]. He published Eustathius of Antioch, Two Ancient Christologies, and The Council of Chalcedon.

In 1931, he married Irene Oesterley.

Children:

  1. a daughter
  2. a daughter

He was Chancellor of Wells [1956-1961]

Selwin-Ibbetson, Henry JohnRef S3596
[1826-1902] MP.

Son of Sir John Thomas Ibbetson-Selwin, Bart, who had assumed the name Selwin in 1825 when he inherited the Selwin estates at Harlow, Essex.

They are connected to the family of Jane Selwin, wife of John Caygill.

He was 7th Baronet Ibbetson [1870] and 1st Baron Rookwood [1892].

After his death, the barony became extinct.

In 1923, Halifax Corporation bought The Square from his widow Sophie Harriet, Lady Rookwood [1842-1932]

Selwin, JayneRef S817
[1722-1806] Or Jane.

Daughter of William Selwin of Down Hall, near Harlow, Essex.

She married John Caygill.

There is a monument for her in Halifax Parish Church.

She inherited Down Hall on the death of her brothers Charles and Thomas.

She and her husband had given land for the construction of the Piece Hall. One of the conditions made when this was built, was that, when it ceased to be used for the purposes of the worsted trade, it should revert to the Selwin family, descendants of Mrs Caygill.

She was blind in her later years.

After her husband's death in 1787, she moved to live in Essex.

She died in Essex and her body was brought back to Halifax for burial.

There is a memorial to her in Halifax Parish Church

In accordance with Mrs Caygill's will, the hall passed into the hands of Sir John Thomas Ibbetson-Selwin, Bart, and his son, Henry John Selwin-Ibbetson MP, who presented it to the town on 6th October 1868

Selwyn, Rev A. B.Ref S1327
[18??-19??] Curate at St Paul's Church, Queens Road [1923]. In 1924, he left to work in Colombo, Ceylon

Sendall, Edward William BellRef S3067
[1853-1908] Coach builder at Shade. He was Manager of the Todmorden Carriage Company for 19 years

Sending Details of Your ForebearsRef S3663

Senior, AlbertRef S518
[1869-1952] Son of Reuben Senior.

Born in Dewsbury.

He was a paper maker [1901, 1911]

In [Q4] 1893, he married Malinda Jackson [1874-1960] in Halifax.


Malinda was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. Charlie [b 1895] who was a woollen mule piecer [1911]
  3. Irvin who was a woollen mule piecer [1911]
  4. Edna [b 1900]
  5. Fred [b 1904]
  6. Harold [b 1908]
  7. Marian [b 1908]
  8. Maurice Hilton

The 1911 census shows that they had had 8 children of whom 6 were still alive at that time.

The family lived at New Street, Stainland [1901, 1911].

Albert died 19th November 1952 (aged 83).

Malinda died 2nd February 1960 (aged 86).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Senior, AlfredRef S520
[1843-1906] Born in Kirkburton / Lepton.

He was innkeeper at the Savile Arms, Elland [1883-1894].

On 30th July 1864, he married (1) Harriet Craven [1838-1870] at All Hallows Church, Kirkburton. Children:

  1. Hannah Mary [1865-1940]
  2. Edith Ellen [1866-1938] who was an assistant [1891]

Harriet died in 1870.

He married (2) Jane Elizabeth [1844-1886].


Jane was born in Ninfield, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. George Herman
  2. Ethelbert [1874-1936] who was a carpenter's apprentice [1891] and died in the USA
  3. Charles Harry [1877-1953]
  4. Fred [1879-1969] who was a boot maker [1906]
  5. Martha Gertrude [b 1883]

In 1889, he married (3) Mary Goodinson [1847-1917] in Rotherham.

The family lived at

  • the Clothiers' Arms, Hoyland Nether [1871, 1881]
  • the Savile Arms, Elland [1883-1894]
  • Bridlington [1906, 1917]
Living with them [in 1871] was Alfred's sister Harriet Armitage [b 1843].

Alfred died in Bridlington [31st May 1906].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £5,630 4/2d.

Probate was granted to son Fred, Benjamin Heselton (bank manager), and Sam James Newson (solicitor) 

Mary died in Bridlington [14th December 1917].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,331 3/5d.

Probate was granted to daughter Martha Gertrude, and Herbert Neal Goodinson (law clerk) 

Senior, George BrookRef S3328
[18??-19??] He married (1) Unknown.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. (possibly) child

On 8th July 1893, he married (2) Sarah Binns, widow of William Clapham Flint in Birstall Parish Church.

The family lived at 11 Queens Street, Blackpool where they were running a Lodging House [1901]. Ada from Sarah's first marriage is with them

Senior, George HermanRef S517
[1872-1900] Son of Alfred Senior.

Born in Elsecar [11th October 1872].

He was innkeeper at the Savile Arms, Elland [1895-1900].

On 5th February 1896, he married Annie Louisa Briggs at Halifax Parish Church.


Annie Louisa was born in Rishworth, the daughter of John Briggs
 

They had no children.

George died 4th July 1900.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,313 15/- to his widow.

After his death, Annie Louisa took over at the Savile Arms [1901, 1905, 1908].

Annie Louisa died 14th March 1908.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £888 10/1d to James William Briggs (cotton spinner)  Probate was granted to

The couple were buried at Elland Cemetery

Senior, HaroldRef S1631
[1894-19??] Son of Sutcliffe Senior.

Born in Halifax.

He was a butcher's apprentice [1911] / a butcher [1915].

New York Passenger & Crew Lists (Ellis Island) show that


he departed Liverpool [7th February 1915] aboard the TUSCANIA, and arrived in New York [13th February 1915].

Joseph Greenwood was on the same voyage

 

Senior, HenryRef S166
[1856-1936] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a warehouseman [1883] / a woollen packing warehouseman [1901] / a packer (in warehouse) [1911].

On 31st December 1883, he married Adelaide Holgate [1861-1952] in Halifax.


Adelaide had an illegitimate son: Abraham Henry Holgate [b 1882]
 

Children:

  1. John [1884-1941] who was a woollen ducler? [1901]
  2. Sam
  3. Newton [1888-1967] who was a worsted doffer [1901], a packer in woollen mill [1911], a packer (warehouse) [1911]
  4. Hiram

The family lived at

  • 16 Bradley Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1891]
  • 6 Back Sutcliffe Buildings, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 6 (Under Landing) Wakefield Road, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Sons Henry Holgate, and Sam & Hiram Senior served in World War I. Sam and Hiram were killed

Senior, HiramRef S28
[1893-1916] Son of Henry Senior.

He was a cotton twiner [1911, 1915] / employed by Shepherd & Blackburn.

He lived at 1 Bradley Terrace, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted for service in Halifax [22nd January 1916], and served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He sailed from Folkestone to Boulogne [18th May 1916].

He was killed in action by a shell [2nd August 1916] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [30th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge, All his brothers served in World War I; Sam was killed

Senior, IrvinRef S535
[1896-1958] Son of Albert Senior.

Born in Stainland.

In [Q1] 1940, he married (1) Miranda in Halifax.


Miranda was born in Sowerby Bridge [15th November 1901], the daughter of Harry Whitehead.

She was the divorcee of James Maurice Humphries

 

Miranda died 31st December 1950 (aged 49).

In [Q4] 1953, he married (2) Amy in Halifax.

Irvin died 26th May 1958 (aged 62).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland.

In 1960, Amy married Joseph Clay in Halifax

Senior, JamesRef S1293
[1840-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted overlooker [1911].

Around 1862, he married Unknown [1832-19??].


Hannah was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Emma [1862-1937] who married Arthur Walshaw

The family lived at 14 Holdsworth Road, Holmfield, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] were widowed daughter Emma and her daughter Phyllis

Senior, JosephRef S110
[1793-18??] Born in Clifton.

He was a butcher [1841] / a butcher & farmer of 12 acres [1851] / a butcher & farmer of 72 acres [1861].

He married Eleanor [1798-18??].


Eleanor was born in Dalwick, Surrey
 

Children:

  1. George [b 1819] who was a butcher & farmer of 14 acres [1851, 1861]
  2. Emily [b 1827] who was a dress maker [1851]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1828]
  4. Jane [b 1830]
  5. John [b 1832] who was a currier's apprentice [1851]
  6. twins Joseph
  7. Benjamin [b 1834] who was a butcher [1861]

The family lived at

  • Clifton, Hartshead cum Clifton [1841]
  • Clifton [1851, 1861]

Living with them [in 1851] was grandson William Ramsden [aged 3, born in Elland].

Living with them [in 1861] was granddaughter Catherine Ramsden [aged 11, born in Heywood, Lancashire]

Senior, JosephRef S135
[1834-1907] Son of Joseph Senior.

Born in Clifton.

He was a collier's clerk [1861] / a book keeper at Hartshead [1866] / a coal agent [1871] / a coal merchant [1881] / a colliery agent [1891] / a retired coal agent [1901] / a member of the Local Board [1881] / a warden at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge / one of the founders of the Ryburn [No 1283] Masonic Lodge.

In [Q3] 1866, he married Agnes Overend [1841-1???] at St Peter's Church, Birstall.


Agnes, of Liversedge, was the daughter of William Overend, joiner
 

Children:

  1. Thomas William [b 1870] who was a clerk to father [1891], a coal merchant [1901, 1911]
  2. Sarah Elizabeth [b 1873] who never married
  3. George Arthur [1879-1890]

The family lived at

  • Allen Terrace, Norland [1871, 1881]
  • Westfield Terrace, Hipperholme [1891]
  • Carlton Road, Liversedge, Dewsbury [1901]
  • 9 Roylands, Wakefield Road, Lightcliffe, Hipperholme [1907, 1911]

Senior, Maurice HiltonRef S1351
[1915-1943] Son of Albert Senior.

Born in Stainland.

In [Q3] 1937, he married Ida Higgins in Halifax.

They lived at

  • Barkisland
  • Blackhall Colliery, County Durham

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the Singapore Fortress Provost Company Corps of Military Police.

He died in Burma [27th September 1943] (aged 28).

He was buried at Thanbyuzayat War Cemetery, Burma [Grave Ref B1 O 18].

He is remembered on the family grave at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland, on Barkisland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Senior, ReubenRef S537
[1837-1???] Born in Soothill.

He was a woollen weaver [1881].

In [Q2] 1865, he married Emma Priestley [1836-1???] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Eleanor [b 1863] who was a worsted cloth mender [1901]
  2. Mary Ellen [b 1863] who was a rag sorter [1881]
  3. Albert
  4. Harry [b 1876]

The family lived at Back Cross Street, Dewsbury [1881]

Senior, Rev Robert IngallRef S1620
[1???-1???] He trained at Airedale College before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [1867].

His father, Rev David Senior, of Selby and Malton, lived with him at Ovenden for a time.

In 1872, he moved to Wigan, and then to Goole

Senior, SamRef S2265
[18??-18??] A local stone-throwing player.

Bell's London Life of 31st May 1840 reported

A match came off last Monday between Sam Senior of Sowerby Bridge and Charles Naylor of Hunslet near Leeds for £10 a side each having ten stones, the furthest thrown to win. Senior won, by throwing one stone nine score and ten yards. Senior may be heard of at John Leech's, Sowerby Bridge

Bell's London Life of 15th November 1840 reported

Sam Senior will throw a stone with John Cryer, the mason, near Rochdale, for £5 a side, or any man in England for £10 or £15 a side. His money is ready at Mr J. Hiley's, Shepherd's Rest, Sowerby Bridge

Senior, SamRef S1161
[1845-1913] In 1875, he married Grace, widow of Jonas Uttley.

Children:

  1. Emma [1878-1960]

Members of the family were buried at St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd

Senior, SamRef S29
[1886-1918] Son of Henry Senior.

He was a woollen warehouse boy [1901] / a woollen finisher [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 31st Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died after being hit in the head by a piece of shrapnel which passed through his helmet [26th April 1918].

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [8th June & 15th June 1918].

He was buried at Ebbinghem Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I B 31].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge. All his brothers served in World War I; Hiram was killed

Senior Society of ClothworkersRef S2179
Halifax benevolent society established in 1741.

See Clothworkers' Company

Senior, SutcliffeRef S1636
[1873-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a butcher's assistant [1901, 1911].

In [Q3] 1892, he married Lily Lumb [1873-19??] in Halifax.


Lily was born in Thornton
 

Children:

  1. Harold Senior
  2. Willie [b 1895] who was a butcher's apprentice [1911]
  3. Lewis [b 1897] who was a fancy dealer's errand boy [1911]
  4. Walter [b 1901]
  5. Wilfred [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • Marsh Delves, Southowram [1901]
  • 2 South Parade, Halifax [1911]
  • Ripon Terrace, Halifax [1911]

Senior, WilfridRef S984
[1897-19??] Printer. He was at Raven Street, Halifax [1927], and 33 Ripon Street, Halifax [1927]

Sennett, InghamRef S1509
[1899-1916] Son of James Sennett who died in World War I.

Born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 9th September 1916.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3C & 3D], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Sennett, James A.Ref S1189
[1877-1915] Born in Dublin.

He was a quarryman [1911].

In [Q2] 1880, he married Annie Hitchcock [1876-19??] in Reading.


Annie was born in Coventry
 

Children:

  1. Ingham
  2. James [b 1909]

They lived at

  • 6 Sunnyside Street, Haley Hill [1911]
  • 9 Wood Yard, Whitley Street, Nursery Lane, Ovenden

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 12th September 1915 (aged 38).

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [K D 1672].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church.

Son Ingham died in World War I.

Annie married Mr Astwood.

Sentry Edge, WarleyRef S754
Area of Warley.

It is said that there was a Roman Camp here.


Question: Does anyone know anything about the Romans being here?

 

See Camp End Farm, Norton Tower and Sentry Edge Delfs, Warley

September BreakRef S882
A short annual half-term holiday for schools. It was abandoned in 1996.

See Teacher's Rest and Wakes

Serge RoomRef S427
In 1787, the name for the cellars at the east end of the Piece Hall – originally the South Low Room – became the Serge Room. Merchants could hire a stand here for 2/- per year.

In 1851, the porter was banned from keeping pigs here because of the smell

Sergeant, Arthur FrederickRef S190
[1882-1952] Born in Leeds. He developed an interest in photography and trained as an artist. He started work with the Great Northern Railway Company and came to Halifax, pursuing photography as a hobby.

On a holiday to France in 1898, he saw some printed photographic views, and with picture postcards becoming popular in England, he realised the potential. His first published view was of Crimsworth Dene.

The early cards were laborious to produce, and he devised a new type of emulsion called chlorobrom and a new photographic paper. This revolutionised large scale commercial photography and helped to create the developing and printing industry. Sergeant called his new paper Lilywhite, hence the name of his firm.

He was the founder of the Halifax Photographic Company which became Lilywhite Limited.

When the firm was taken over by Leach's, Sergeant went to work for the London photographic firm of Raphael Tuck

SerotoninRef S237
Brighouse-based band formed in 1998 by Thom Thornton and Alec Townsend, and including Oliver Hutchinson, Jake Miller, and Nick Moxham. In 2006, the band changed the name to Far from the Dance

Servant, George EdwardRef S1532
[1876-1918] Born in Halifax.

He was a cart driver [1911].

In [Q3] 1895, he married Ada Shaw [1876-19??] in Halifax.


Ada was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Elsie [b 1896] who was a winder (carpet department) [1911]
  2. Thomas Henry [b 1899] who was a part-time errand boy [1911]
  3. May [b 1911]

The family lived at 104 Green Lane, Halifax [1911, 1918].

Living with them [in 1911] was sister-in-law May Shaw [b 1894] (twister worsted mill).

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [1st October 1918].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Servant, John SladdinRef S1207
[1883-1917] Son of Samuel Servant.

Born in Halifax.

He was a railway porter boarding at Old Tanhouse, Wakefield [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died 10th December 1917 (aged 34).

He was buried at Duhallow A.D.S. Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II D 27]

Servant, SamuelRef S1363
[1855-1935] Born in Halifax.

He was a coal merchant.

In 1881, he married Harriet Sladdin [1857-1954] in Halifax.


Harriet was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. John Sladdin
  2. Eveline May [b 1886]
  3. Amy Annie [b 1888]
  4. May Elsie [b 1890]
  5. Arnold Levi [b 1897]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 32 Essex Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 7 Laverock Place, Brighouse

Servant, WilliamRef S1148
[1869-1916]

In [Q3] 1893, he married Susan Bateman in Leeds.

They lived at Clay Bank, Pellon

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/6th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was Mentioned in Despatches.

He died 4th August 1916 (aged 47).

He was buried at Hirst Wood Church Burial Ground, Shipley [C 146]

Sessions Court HouseRef S703
Aka West Riding Magistrates' Office

Sessions FilesRef S1524
See Coroner

Seston, HerbertRef S350
[18??-1941] Licensee at the Crown & Anchor Inn, Mixenden [1923, 1927] and the Old Original Masons' Arms, Halifax [1927-1930].

In the 1920s/1930s, he played the Whitaker's Brewery advertising figure Doc Shire.

He died in Thornbury, Bradford

Seton, Charles ComptonRef S1379
[1846-1923] In 1868, he married Phoebe Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Henry William Ripley.

Children:

  1. Charles Henry
  2. Bruce Hugh
  3. Margaret Annie Phoebe

Settle, AlfredRef S1510
[1831-1???] Of Brighouse/Hipperholme.

Son of Ann Settle – father unknown – and grandson of Luke Settle.

Born [21st June 1831] Baptised [21st August 1831].

Alfred was living with his grandfather Luke [1841].

He married Mary Ellis.

Children:

  1. James [b 1852]
  2. Arthur [b 1854]
  3. Luke [b 1856]

Around 1858, he emigrated to America. He may have left for America with some haste due to the non-settlement of a Leeds Loan amongst other things

Rose Booth writes that

Sailing records around the date do not show an Alfred Settle on board but there is an Alfred Rushworth of the right age and I know he travelled with a companion called Rushworth

His correspondence with his wife, who remained in Brighouse/Hipperholme, still survives.

A possible Alfred, Mary and the children are recorded in Pennsylvania [1870]

Settle, AnnRef S9030
[1812-1???] Daughter of Luke Settle.

Baptised at Lightcliffe [9th February 1812].

In 1831, she had a son Alfred – father unknown.

On 19th November 1835, she married Joseph Wilkinson

Settle, JubalRef S2692
[1817-1883] Son of Luke Settle.

Born in Slead Syke.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [14th September 1817].

In April 1866, he and Liberty Bradbury occupied a blacksmith's shop and cottage at Slead Syke

On 16th May 1852, he married Helen Havelock in Halifax.


Helen was born in Sunderland
 

They had no children.

Jubal died at Slead Syke.

He was buried at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [13th January 1883]

Settle, LukeRef S650
[1777-1863] (Possibly) brother of Mark Settle.

Born in Southowram.

He was a whitesmith [1799] / a blacksmith at Slead Syke, Brighouse / a flautist and a singer / choirmaster at Brighouse Parish Church.

He also composed a number of hymns including Settle.

In 1831, he noticed Mrs Susan Sunderland's singing ability He gave her first training, and she is said to have sung as Settle beat time on his anvil at Slead Syke. He taught her to breathe deeply, to project her voice and to enunciate clearly.

Other pupils included Miss Empsall

In 1849, Luke was declared bankrupt.

In the 1850s, he presented a production of Joshua at Brighouse National School with an orchestra and choir of 60 people.

He is commemorated by a trophy for choirs – the Luke Settle Shield.

On 7th December 1853, he was described as

the father of music in the locality

when he gave a concert at the Oddfellows' Hall in Brighouse.

On 15th December 1799, he married Martha Freeman.


Martha was the daughter of Lawrence Freeman
 

Children:

  1. John [1802-1875]
  2. twins Benjamin [1804-1805]
  3. Joseph [1804-1871]
  4. Ellen [b 1807]
  5. Miriam [1809-1868]
  6. Ann
  7. Maria [1814-1868]
  8. Jubal
  9. Martha [b 1821]

Members of the family were buried at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe

Many of the family were buried at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe

Settle, LukeRef S1533
[1857-1889] Born in Halifax.

He was a stone miner [1881].

In [Q1] 1878, he married Emma Asher [1860-1???] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Metheringham, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. Mary J. [b 1879] who was a half-time doffer in a silk mill [1891], a silk gasser [1901]
  2. John Alfred [b 1881] who was a half-time band maker [1891], a blacksmith [1901, 1911]
  3. Annie [b 1885] who was a silk spinner [1901]
  4. Leonard [b 1888] who was a doffer in a silk mill [1901], a cloth cutter [1911]
  5. Wilfred

The family lived at 2 Sutcliffe Wood Bottom, Hipperholme [1881]; New Street, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1891]; 22 Back New Street, Brighouse [1901]; 40 Waterloo Road, Brighouse [1911]; 34 Wood Top, Hove Edge [1918]

Luke died Q4 1889 (aged 33) 

Settle, MarkRef S429
[17??-18??] (Possibly) brother of Luke Settle.

Born in Southowram.

He was a blacksmith [1802].

On 3rd May 1802, he married Eleanor Freeman at St Anne's Church, Southowram.


Eleanor was the daughter of Lawrence Freeman
 

Settle, RobertRef S446
[1763-1825] Halifax attorney.

On 25th February 1810, a Mr Settle, a solicitor of Halifax, was awarded £50 damages when he broke his leg after leaping from the Defiance coach of which one of the wheel-horses fell as they were descending a steep hill near Halifax. The injury occasioned a long confinement.

He was at Upper George Yard, Halifax [1809] / Causeway Head, Halifax [1816, 1822] / Crown Street, Halifax [1822] / Hoyle Green, Warley

Settle, WilfredRef S1275
[1888-1918] Son of Luke Settle.

Born in Halifax.

He was a doffer in a silk mill [1901] / a nurseryman [1911].

In [Q3] 1917, he married Gertrude M. Chesham at St Pancras, London.

They lived at 2 Quadrant Grove, Kentish Town, London.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 3rd Battalion Grenadier Guards.

He died 22nd August 1918 (aged 30).

He was buried at Moyenneville (Two Tree) Cemetery, France [Grave Ref A 10].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Severhills Clough, SoylandRef S581
See Severhills Mill, Ripponden

Sewage worksRef S705
There are several entries for sewage works in the district: Cooper Bridge Sewage Works, Copley Sewage Plant, Greetland Sewage Works, Halifax Corporation Sewage Department, Luddendenfoot Joint Sewage Works, Mytholmroyd Sewage Disposal Plant, Salterhebble Sewage Works, Sandbeds Sewage Works, Charlestown, Shelf Sewage Works and Sowerby Bridge Sewage Works

Seward, MaryRef S3401
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1994-1995]

Sewed, EdwardRef S1540
[1879-1920] Son of George Edward Sewed.

Born in Lindley.

He was a drayman for railway company [1901] / a cart driver [1911].

He married Mary Hannah [1878-1952].


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Leonard [b 1903]
  2. Lily [b 1904]
  3. Phyllis [b 1908]
  4. George Edward [b 1911]

The family lived at

  • 7 Thomas Street West, Halifax [1901]
  • 121 New Bank, Halifax [1911]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment.

He died 29th August 1920 (aged 41).

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

Mary Hannah died in Heywood, Lancashire [Q1 1952] (aged 73) 

Sewed, George EdwardRef S1555
[1849-1906] Born in Lindley.

He was a farmer [1881] / a verger [1891] / a warehouseman (worsted mill) [1901].

In [Q4] 1868, he married Mary Gledhill [1851-1933] in Huddersfield.


Mary was born in Birchencliffe, Huddersfield
 

Children:

  1. Betsy [b 1872]
  2. Sarah A. [b 1877] who was a worsted coating weaver [1901]
  3. Edward
  4. Laura [b 1884] who was a twister at worsted mill [1901]

The family lived at

  • Lister Lane, Halifax [1891]
  • 29 Conway Street, Halifax [1901]

Mary died in Halifax [Q3 1933] (aged 83) 

Sewell BrothersRef S2240
Iron founders at Bowling Green Foundry, Halifax. Partners included James Robert Sewell and Charles Sewell

Sewell, CharlesRef S2241
[18??-19??] Partner in Sewell Brothers.

He lived at 38 Emscote Avenue, Halifax [1905]

Sewell, James RobertRef S2223
[1867-1908] Partner in Sewell Brothers.

He lived at 33 Carlton House Terrace, Halifax [1905].

He died in his foundry

Sewing MachinesRef S3190

ShackletonRef S55
Hamlet and area above Hardcastle Crags. It is about 1,000 ft above sea level. It is said that there was a mediæval vaccary here.

Other forms of the name include Shackletonstall [1219], Shakilden [1470s], Shakelton [1564], and Shakleton [1718].

Today, there are only a few cottages and farm buildings.

There was a Shackleton family mentioned in the 13th century.

The early form Shackletonstall is derived from elements – shack and tunstall – the whole meaning a farm on a narrow strip – or tongue – of land.

See Shackleton, Tunstall and Willow Gate, Hebden Bridge

Shackleton...Ref S744
The entries for people & families with the surname Shackleton are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Shackleton's Clock, Sowerby BridgeRef S1150
A large clock which hung outside the shop of Percival Shackleton in Sowerby Bridge.

In 1904, Shackleton's business address was

Under the Clock, Wharf Street

The clock was labelled Greenwich Time and was a familiar landmark in the town

Shackleton CloughRef S1629
Flows into Hebden Water

Shackleton's: F. & J. ShackletonRef S2131
Watchmakers of Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge. Partners included Frank Shackleton and Julian Shackleton. They took over the business established by their father, Percival Shackleton.

Shackleton's Clock hung outside their shop.

In 1905, they were advertising as Opticians.

The business closed in 19??

Shackleton's: James Shackleton & SonsRef S2138
Fustian & cotton manufacturers at Machpelah, Hebden Bridge and Rochdale.

Established by James Shackleton [between 1822 & 1842].

Partners included James Shackleton, Thomas Shackleton, and John Shackleton.

Recorded in 1851.

James Shackleton died in 1852.

In February 1876, the partnership between Thomas Shackleton and John Shackleton, was dissolved. Thomas Shackleton continued the business.

Subsequently, the partners included Thomas Shackleton, James Shackleton, and William Shackleton.

In 1883, this partnership was dissolved. James Shackleton retired from the firm. Thomas and William Shackleton continued the business

Shackleton KnollRef S56
Hilltop above Hardcastle Crags.

See Dole

Shackleton MoorRef S2860
Moorland above Pecket Well

Shackleton's: Roger Shackleton & CompanyRef S2125
Fustian manufacturer of Globe Works, Hebden Bridge, Hangingroyd, Royd Shed, Hebden Bridge, and Salem Shed.

In 1906, their mills were affected by the fustian weavers' strike.

See William Pickles

Shackletons & GreenRef S7600
Stone merchants at Thornton and Allerton.

Partners included brothers John Farrar Shackleton and Joah Dixon Shackleton and their uncle Samuel Green.

The partnership was dissolved on 1st October 1870 by mutual consent.

See Samuel Green & Company

ShadeRef S57
District of Calderdale south-west of Todmorden. The community comprised just 3 cottages until the construction of the canal in the 1790s. The name comes from a Woodshade built by the canal workers.

See Hudsonites

Shade Junior & Infants' School Baths, TodmordenRef S1977
Opened in 1904 on the ground floor of Shade School. These were the first public baths in Todmorden

Shade Lock, TodmordenRef S672
Lock #21 on the Rochdale Canal. Built 1798

Shade Post OfficeRef S2210
Recorded in 1861 & 1891, when Joseph Baume was there.

Recorded on 2nd September 1907, when it opened at the shop of Frank Steele, bookseller, stationer and newsagent This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Shakehand BrigRef S92
Aka Shakand Brig, Shaken Brig. A popular name for the early wooden Lee Bridge on account of its parlous condition. This was replaced by a stone bridge around 1518

Shakeltonstall, ElkoeRef S5001
[12??-1???]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William

Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when

[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

See Shackleton

Shakeltonstall, WilliamRef S9507
[12??-1???] Son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall.

Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when

[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

Shakeshaft, John RichardsonRef S1155
[1886-1961] Landlord of the Griffin, Barkisland [1935-1936]

Shakespear News Room, HalifaxRef S3672
Recorded on 27th October 1794, when their Annual Dinner was announced.


Question: Does anyone know whether it was connected to Shakespeare pub?

 

Shakespeare House, HalifaxRef S1165
Clare Road. The house was opposite the Royal Oak.

Owners and tenants have included

Shaking House, MixendenRef S879
Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

Owners and tenants have included

Shambles, HalifaxRef S3211

Shannon, IssyRef S303
[19??-] Reporter with the Hebden Bridge Times.

She and Frank Woolrych published the magazine Milltown Memories.

The book, Alice's Album [2004], by Issy and Frank Woolrych, tells the story of Crossley Westerman and his daughter Ada, and Alice Longstaff

See Calder Valley Offcuts, Cheers! and Infamous Yorkshire Women

Shannon, PatrickRef S1558
[18??-1916]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 26th September 1916.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3C & 3D], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Sharkey, JamesRef S1066
[1879-1916] Son of Bridget & John Sharkey of Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion King's Own (Royal Regiment Lancaster).

He died 20th November 1916 (aged 37).

He was buried at Boulogne Eastern Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VIII D 207]

Sharkit Head, Ambler ThornRef S856
Methodist meetings were held here when it was occupied by Caleb Cockcroft.

The meetings were later held at what became Ambler Thorn United Methodist Chapel

Sharman, AlfredRef S813
[1888-1915] Son of William Sharman.

He was a member of Salem United Methodist Sunday School / a telegraph messenger [1901] / a coal merchant's clerk [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in a gas attack at Ypres whilst stretcher-bearing [14th December 1915].

He was buried at Ferme-Olivier Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref 2 K 4].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Salem United Methodist Chapel

Sharman, JohnRef S3643
[18??-19??] Of Carton Street, Halifax.

He frequently travelled by boat, and when he read of the sinking of the Titanic in a special edition of the Halifax Evening Courier, he rang to break the news to the White Star shipping line at their offices in Liverpool

Sharman, JohnRef S2620
[1830-1898] Born in Colne in Lancashire.

He was educated at Horton College Bradford.

He served as a Private with Company 8 of the 4th West Yorkshire Rifles Volunteers.

He was a draper's assistant in Wakefield [1851].

He (possibly) moved to Halifax [1861]

In January 1862, he joined the Militia in Halifax. He joined the Gorilla Small Bore Club in Halifax and won several prizes over the next 3 years.

In 1862, he joined the National Rifle Association.

On 22nd July 1865, he won the Queen's Prize of the National Rifle Association for shooting at Wimbledon. He was described as

the champion shot of 1865

and was greeted by a crowd of around 35,000 people as he and 4 other Halifax prizemen returned to Halifax. Members of the regiment formed a guard of honour

The winner could choose to receive £250 in cash or in any other form. John chose a silver tea service with the balance of cash in a blue silk purse.

He was in partnership with his brothers as woolstaplers in Bradford [1865].

In 1867, he married Jane Ann Earl [1846-1898] of Richmond, in Richmond.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. son
  4. daughter
  5. daughter

The family lived at

John died whilst on holiday at Arncliffe, Westmorland [1890]

Sharman, RobertRef S1561
[1888-1917] Born in Burton on Trent, Staffordshire.

He was a member of St James's Spiritual Temple, Halifax / a cotton operative [1911] / a munitions worker for Butler's.

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1917], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [31st July 1917].

He was buried at Artillery Wood Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II D 4].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sharman, WilliamRef S811
[1849-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a wine & spirit warehouseman [1881, 1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1872, he married Catherine McDonald [1849-1???] in Halifax.


Catherine was born in Queens County, Ireland
 

Children:

  1. Edward [b 1874] who was a telegraph messenger [1891]
  2. Annie [b 1881] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a skirt machinist [1901], an underclothing machinist [1911]
  3. Thomas Andrew [b 1883] who was a tailor [1901], a tailor's assistant [1911]
  4. Helena Mary [b 1885] who was a skirt machinist [1901], an underclothing machinist [1911]
  5. Alfred
  6. Frederick [b 1894] who was a tailor's assistant [1901, 1911]

The family lived at

  • 18 Birks Hall Lane, Halifax [1881]
  • 5 Stannary Lane, Halifax [1891]
  • 16 St James Street, Halifax [1901, 1911]
  • 22 Stirling Street, Halifax [1915]

Sharp...Ref S77
The entries for people & families with the surname Sharp are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Sharp's: Alph Sharp & CompanyRef S2002
Chemical manufacturers at Copley.

Established around 1903 by Arthur Edouarde Sharp.

Alphonse Sharp was also associated with the Company.

Closed in 19??

See Sharp & Mallett

Sharp & BrownRef S2307
Card and wire manufacturers at Bowling Dyke, Halifax and at Birmingham [1854].

T. & J. Binns worked for them before taking over the business and establishing T. & J. Binns & Company

Sharp & MallettRef S2033
Chemical and colour manufacturers and munitions manufacturers at Wakefield Road, Copley.

Partners included Arthur Edouarde Sharp, George Edward Mallett, and Alphonse Sharp.

In 1914, J. F. Walsh designed some of the buildings.

The partnership was dissolved on 1st January 1915 and Sharp & Mallett Limited succeeded to the business.

During World War I, as a part of the war effort, the company manufactured picric acid, which was used as an explosive charge in shells.

There was an explosion at the Copley site on 22nd December 1917.

The factory was rebuilt and Alph Sharp & Company (possibly) took over the premises.

The company also controlled the North Dean Munitions Factory, Greetland

Sharp & WallerRef S2109
Brighouse partnership established by architects Miles Sharp and Daniel Waller.

They were at 32 Bradford Road [1901, 1922].

In 1894, they were receiving tenders for the construction of houses at Harriet Street, Brighouse for the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited.

Their work included

Sharp's: George Sharp & SonsRef S2053
Nurserymen, seedsmen and florists.

Established by George Sharp.

They were at Wellcroft Nurseries, Hipperholme [1905]

Sharp's: James & M. S. SharpRef S596
Dyers.

Partners included James Sharp and Milton Sheridan Sharp

Sharp, Wright & CompanyRef S2760
Coal, sand and lime merchants. In 1905, they were at North Bridge Station

The Sharpe family of HipperholmeRef S1894
There is a stone monument dated 1727 to the family in St John the Baptist, Coley

Sharpe, AbrahamRef S60
[16??-1742] Mathematician and astronomer

Sharpe, AbrahamRef S590
[18??-19??] Brighouse manufacturer of rope and twine.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Annie who married Willie Brooke

Sharpe, AquilaRef S2282
[18??-19??] Violinist and leader of the orchestra of the Halifax Choral Society.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. George Frederick
  2. Herbert

Sharpe, EdgarRef S591
[1884-1917] Son of Lydia (née Mitchell) [1853-1912] & Andrew Sharpe [1848-1899] of Hartshead.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 9th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He is remembered on the family grave at Lightcliffe Old Church Graveyard where the inscription says that he


died 24th March 1917 (aged 33) 
 

but the Commonwealth War Grave Commission Website records an Edgar Sharp who


died 27th March 1918, and is remembered on the Pozières Memorial [61-64]
 

Sharpe, George FredericRef S1057
[1863-1946] Mus.Bac, LRAM, ARCM.

Son of Aquila Sharpe.

Born in Halifax.

He was a musician / a professor of music [1901] / Principal of the Halifax School of Music.

In 1912, one of his operas was performed at the Theatre Royal, Halifax.

In [Q1] 1891, he married Mary Ellen Wood [1865-19??] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. George C. [b 1893]
  2. Rita M. [b 1899] who became a cellist

The family lived at 44 Free School Lane [1901, 1905]

Sharpe, George MooreRef S299
[1899-1978] Son of William Moore Sharpe.

He was a firewood manufacturer [1919].

On 13th October 1919, he married Hilda Dance 1899 [b 1989] at St George's Church, Lee Mount.


Hilda was born in Wingfield, Chesterfield
 

Children:

  1. Winifred (Moore Sharpe) [1921-2009]
  2. Joan (Moore Sharpe) [1923-1964] who died in Portsmouth
  3. Barbara (Moore Sharpe) [1930-2009] who married Leonard Tasker Helliwell
  4. Joyce Louise (Moore Sharpe) [1935-2008]

The children were all born Brigg Royd, Windy Bank

Sharpe, Herbert F.Ref S2283
[18??-19??] FRCM.

Son of Aquila Sharpe. Pianist, teacher and composer

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Cedric who was musician, like his father

Sharpe, Joseph MooreRef S288
[1834-1901] Born in Halifax.

He was an iron moulder.

In 1855, he married Ann Drake [1834-1908].

Children:

  1. Walter (Moore Sharpe) [1857-1912]
  2. George (Moore Sharpe) [b 1858]
  3. Wright (Moore Sharpe) [1861-1912]
  4. William (Moore Sharpe)
  5. Elizabeth (Moore Sharpe) [1868-1870]
  6. Alice Ann (Moore Sharpe) [1870-1937]
  7. Lily (Moore Sharpe) [1872-1904]
  8. Adelaide (Moore Sharpe) [1874-1951]

Sharpe, Rev Kenneth HenryRef S3477
[19??-19??] Vicar of Coley [1978]

Sharpe, Rev NathanRef S959
[1674-1733] Vicar of Coley [1702, 1703] and master at Hipperholme Grammar School for 30 years.

Around 1711, during his incumbency, Coley Church was extensively repaired and reconstructed.

He married Ann [1674-1727].

Children:

  1. Dorothy who married John Simpson

He died on 9th May 1733 – aged 58 years and 10 months – and was buried on 15th May 1733.

He & his wife were buried at Halifax Parish Church.

There is a Memorial to them in the Church

Sharpe, Rev SamuelRef S2488
[17??-18??] He attended Heath Grammar School. He became Vicar of Wakefield [1810]

Sharpe, ThomasRef S1350
[13??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1386]

Sharpe, TomRef S1344
[1887-1917] Son of S. E. & George Sharpe.

He married Ruth.

They lived at 12 Canal Street, Hawksclough, Hebden Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 13th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died 21st September 1917 (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 128-131, 162 & 162A]

Sharpe, William MooreRef S298
[1864-1934] Son of Joseph Moore Sharpe.

Born in Dukinfield, Cheshire.

He was a brick maker.

On 12th February 1887, he married Louisa Watson [1865-1935] at St Thomas Church, Charlestown.


Louisa was the daughter of Mary Ann (née Morrell) [1832-1904] & Joseph Watson [1832-1888], a clay miner
 

Children:

  1. Ethel (Moore Sharpe) [1887-1974] who married [1913] Arnold Dyson [1888-1970]
  2. Wright (Moore Sharpe) [1889-1961]
  3. Alfred (Moore Sharpe) [1892-1962]
  4. Mary Louise (Moore Sharpe) [1894-1979] who married Arthur Patchett
  5. George (Moore Sharpe)
  6. Rose Ann (Moore Sharpe) [1902-1984] who married [1950] Albert Holden [1905-1980]

He died at Brigg Royd, Windy Bank [4th July 1934].

Members of the family were buried at Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel

Sharples, MrRef S1385
[18??-18??] Curate at Todmorden [1841?]. After a few months, he left the post

Sharpley, Rev J. R.Ref S1597
[18??-1???] Minister at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel

Sharratt, DavidRef S643
[1829-1???] Son of Thomas Sharratt

Born in Salendine Nook / Longwood.

He was a brick maker [1861] / a farmer of 9 acres [1871] / a master brick maker employing 4 men & 4 boys [1871] / a brick maker [1881] / a brick manufacturer [1891].

Established David Sharratt & Sons Limited.

In [Q3] 1853, he married Martha Jowett [1829-1???] in Keighley.


Martha was born in Bradford
 

Children:

  1. Rebecca [b 1855] who was a wool weaver power loom [1871], a dressmaker [1881]
  2. Hyde
  3. Thomas J. [b 1861]
  4. Albert [b 1862] who was a brick maker [1881, 1891]
  5. Martha Lavinia [b 1865]
  6. Elizabeth Ann [b 1867]

The family lived at

  • High Field House, Heaton, Bradford [1861]
  • Huddersfield Road, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]
  • Ainley Road, Elland-cum-Greetland [1881]
  • 114 Huddersfield Road, Elland-cum-Greetland [1891]

Sharratt's: David Sharratt & Sons LimitedRef S2139
Quarriers and manufacturers of sanitary pipes, firebricks, red building bricks and tiles at Storth Brick Works, Elland [1874, 1945].

Established by David Sharratt.

One man was killed and another injured by an explosion at the works on 8th February 1900.

On 1st June 1900, Jonah Scott died from injuries received at the works

Keith Marsden says that the site of the brickworks


was on the left as you go up [from Elland towards Ainley Top]. The place is now [2014] full of plastic tanks in wire cages and blue barrels. This was part of the brickworks property and is a new building, just below the underpass of the new road.

Sharratt's used to get their clay from across the road. The clay came in big metal tubs, down a thick cable. On arrival, the tub hit a lever, and it then tipped out the clay and righted itself. The tub then went back up the hill over the field to get filled again. The clay deposit was about half a mile up over the hill.

[Keith] was told the Sharratt's were slave drivers with little pay

 

On 27th August 1917, the firm bought the Horse & Jockey, Elland

Sharratt, HydeRef S3118
[1857-1911] Son of David Sharratt.

Born in Shipley.

He was a brick maker [1871, 1881, 1891] / a brick & pipe manufacturer [1901] / with David Sharratt & Sons Limited / Chairman of Elland District Council [1911].

He married Harriet [1862-19??].


Harriet was born in Huddersfield
 

Children:

  1. Martha [b 1898]

On 27th July 1912, a shelter in his memory was opened in the recreation ground, Elland

Sharratt, Percy WilliamRef S1121
[1891-1964] Landlord of the General Rawdon, Luddendenfoot [1938-1942]

Sharratt, ThomasRef S658
[1802-1882] Born in Prescott, Lancashire.

He was a potter [1851] / a brick maker.

He married (1) Unknown.

Children:

  1. David
  2. Robert [b 1837] who was a fire brickmaker [1851]
In 1851, Thomas was widowed and living with sons David & Robert as lodgers of Thomas Emmott at Firth Carr Farm, Bradford.

In 1872, he married (2) Betty


Elizabeth / Betty (née Horsfall), was the widow of James Rangeley
 

Sharrock, HenryRef S1144
[15??-1613] MA.

Curate at Ripponden [1586-1613].

In 1594, John Hoyle of Clough House, Soyland bequeathed 20/- to Mr Sharrock.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Abigail [b 1592] who married Laurence Stansfeld
  2. Adam
  3. Simeon
  4. John
  5. Theophilus

Sharrock, TheophilusRef S2537
[15??-1623] MA.

Son of Henry Sharrock. He succeeded his father as Curate at Ripponden [1613-1623]

Shavey Bottom, Jagger GreenRef S3230

Shaw...Ref S14
The entries for people & families with the surname Shaw are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Shaw & CompanyRef S2099
Engineers at Hebden Bridge. John Shaw was a senior partner

Shaw & CompanyRef S869
Paper manufacturer.

They were at

  • New Mill, Barkisland [1910]: which was powered by water and steam, and where they produced MG caps, sealings, pressings and coloured papers.

  • Bradley Mill, Stainland [1910]: which was powered by water and steam, and where they produced fine MG caps, MG cartridges, MG manillas and coloured papers

Shaw & Moores, WaltercloughRef S2610
Recorded on 27th January 1858 when an employee was injured by a fanning machine at their mill

Shaw's: Ben Shaw & Sons LimitedRef S2834
Soft drinks manufacturer in Huddersfield and Halifax. Established in 1???.

They were at Lister Lane, Halifax [1929, 1936].

Their trade mark was Benjamin Shaw's signature surrounded by the Latin inscription

Amicus Humani Generis

Shaw Booth, WarleyRef S796
Aka Lower Shaw Booth.


Question: Can anyone confirm that – as the Comfort illustration suggests – this and Lower Shaw Booth are the same property? Is/was there an Upper Shaw Booth?

 

Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Shaw Booth, Warley

Shaw's Clough, SowerbyRef S447
Stream at Cottonstones which joins Old Eli Clough

Shaw's: E. & E. Shaw & SonsRef S2029
Halifax soft drinks manufacturer established by Ernest Edgar Shaw. Established in 1927. They were at Rookery Lane, Halifax (on the site previously occupied by Clegg's Nursery)  and Shaw Royd, Sedbergh Road [1950s].

The business became Shaw's of Halifax.

In 1968, the business was sold to Barrs of Glasgow, makers of Irn-Bru

See Joseph Pitchforth

Shaw's: F. & H. Shaw LimitedRef S3054
Of Foster Holme.

John Hankin Shaw was Managing Director [1900]

Shaw Hall, HalifaxRef S456
See Shaw Hill House

Shaw Hardcastle LimitedRef S2032
Halifax ladies' outfitters and drapery company founded by Shaw Hardcastle. They were at 1-3-5 Old Market [1939].

This closed in 198?, and was taken over by Wilbefort's.

This closed in ????.

The premises subsequently had a number of occupants.

Shaw Hardcastle re-appeared in the Old Arcade, Halifax

Shaw Hill House, HalifaxRef S94
House which stood on the corner of Shaw Hill / Simmonds Lane on the Lower Shaw Hill estate, and known as Elmwood, Elm Wood House, Shaw Hall, Shay Hill, Lower Shaw Hill, and Upper Shaw Hill.


I have been confused about the identity of these various buildings. Alan Boocock has helped me sort some of them, but, please
email me if you can resolve any remaining confusion
 

The house was built by Joshua Laycock around 1697. The doorway was dated I E L 1697 for Joshua and Elizabeth Laycock. The house had large gardens with fountains.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The area was cleared when the railway came to the district.

John Holdsworth's Shaw Lodge Mills were built here in the early 19th century

In the 1930s, the site was cleared to construct the new Bus Garage.

Two stones were found dated I L M 1695 and I B L 1710 for the Laycock family.

See Mr Booth, Charles Hudson, Jeremiah Rossendall and Shay House, Halifax

Shaw House, HalifaxRef S262
Stood in land at Shaw Lane / Gaukroger Lane / Simmonds Lane. The land was bought by the Holdsworth family in 1871.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1960s, the land was sold to Halifax Corporation. A tower block stands on the site

Shaw's: J. Shaw & CompanyRef S239
Stone merchants.

Recorded in 1896, when they were at Bowood Quarry, Triangle

Shaw's: James, Joseph, William & Luke ShawRef S17
Woollen manufacturers at Elland.

Partners included James Shaw, Joseph Shaw, William Shaw, and Luke Shaw.

In March 1858, the partnership was declared bankrupt. In June 1858, the bankruptcy was annulled

Shaw's: John Shaw & CompanyRef S2195
Quarry owners and stone merchants at Hollins Estate Quarry, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Shaw's: John Shaw & SonsRef S1990
Woollen and worsted manufacturers founded by John Shaw and his sons Joseph and George [1794].

They occupied Brookroyd Mills, Holywell Green, Holroyds Mill, Holywell Green, Holme Mill, Stainland, and New Mill, Stainland [1905]

The railway line was extended from Greetland Station to serve the company's mills.

Aly Lazell of Dartmoor Tweed tells me that


In 1887, Captain Shaw of John Shaw & Sons bought The Old Woollen Mill in North Tawton, Devon. This was at a time when the woollen industry in Devon was in decline.

Can anyone identify Captain Shaw, or suggest why Shaw's would want an old mill so far from Stainland?

Could it be on account of the access to the Devon & Cornwall Longwool sheep?

 

The firm went into liquidation in 1930.

Raymond Morton Shaw kept a part of the business going until he sold it in 1952.

See Joseph Davidson, The explosion at Holme Mill, Stainland, Holywell Brook Station, James Shaw and Waggon & Horses, Holywell Green

Shaw's: John Shaw & SonsRef S2344
Wire manufacturers at Wheatley Road [1874]

Shaw's: John Shaw & Sons LimitedRef S2728
Wire manufacturers established by John Shaw at Livingston Wire Mill, Brighouse [1871, 1881]. The business was wound up in 1903

Shaw Laithe, EllandRef S1142
Recorded in 1198 when it was the property of Fountains Abbey

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Shaw LaneRef S1059
A melody written by Richard Thomas when he was choir master at Tuel Lane United Methodist Free Chapel.

It was named for Shaw Lane, Sowerby.

It was first sung at the Chapel's anniverary in 1865.

This was often known as the Northern Tune for the carol While shepherds watched

The Shaw, LangfieldRef S155
The property is recorded as having 7 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

Shaw Lodge, HalifaxRef S340
Huddersfield Road. Off Shaw Hill, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

The house – and nearby Spring Hall – were used as a hospital during World War I.

The house had problems with woodworm, and was demolished in the early 1920s

Shaw Lodge Hospital, HalifaxRef S229
During World War I, Shaw Lodge was used as a hospital. It had 136 beds.

See Spring Hall Hospital, Halifax

Shaw Lodge Mills Dead Brief SocietyRef S1574
Recorded in 1893, when it was registered under the Friendly Societies Act.

In January 1914, they held their annual meeting in the Horton Street Restaurant, Halifax

Shaw's: Luke Shaw & SonRef S2043
Wool and waste dealers established by Luke Shaw at Albion Street, Elland [1905]

Shaw, MankinholesRef S36
New Road. The original house was built in 1503. A fireplace is inscribed CI for Charles the First. The house was rebuilt in 1675.

Owners and tenants have included

  • the Ingham family [to 1918]

Shaw's: Norman Shaw & CompanyRef S1521
Cotton spinners.

Recorded in 1911 & 1915, when they were at Spa Well Mill, Elland / Spa Field Mills, Elland

Shaw's of HalifaxRef S147
Originally E. & E. Shaw & Sons

Shaw's: Owen Shaw & CompanyRef S2151
Wine, spirit and cigar merchants and wholesale bottlers at 88 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

As shown in the accompanying photograph, the company issued its own tokens

Shaw Park, Holywell GreenRef S1317
Public park was the grounds of Brooklands, home of Samuel Shaw. It was given to the local council by Raymond Shaw in 1955 or 1972. The several castle follies in the Park were built by Shaw as aviaries.

The old Stainland Well was rebuilt near the Park.

See Castle Farm

The Shaw, RippondenRef S2961
Owners and tenants have included

Shaw Royd, HalifaxRef S2336
House in Shaw Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Shaw Syke, HalifaxRef S3311
Also Shaw Sike, Shay Syke.

Area of Halifax near the Shay.

In July 1844, Halifax Town station for the single branch line was opened at Shaw Syke. This became the goods yard.

See Savile Royd, Halifax

Shaw Syke Railway StationRef S1985
The route of the Manchester & Leeds Railway by-passed Halifax, and passengers and goods had to depart and arrive at Sowerby Bridge or Elland.

On 2nd July 1844, the original Halifax Town station for the single-track branch line from North Dean was opened at Shaw Syke.

The line joined the Manchester-Leeds Railway at North Dean.

Later, this became the goods yard and the building was used by National Carriers Limited

The Shaw West, TodmordenRef S3364
Shaw Wood Road. House dated 1675.

Shaw WoodRef S196
Area of Todmorden

Shaw Wood Bridge, TodmordenRef S1045
Shaw Wood Road.

Bridge #25 over the Rochdale Canal.

Shawcroft, LuddendenfootRef S1269
Luddenden Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Shawplains Lock, Hebden BridgeRef S576
Lock #15 on the Rochdale Canal

Shawyer, Rev AndrewRef S1376
[17??-18??] Or Sawyer. He served at Rugely [1811] and Bilston before becoming First Minister at Bramley Lane Congregational Church [1830-1840]. He occasionally served at Sion Chapel, Halifax in the afternoons.

His son, Andrew Fielden Shawyer trained at Rotherham College [1830] and served at several places, including Pately Bridge and Delph, before he died at Keswick [1868]

ShayRef S105
Area of Halifax around the site of Shay House and, later, The Shay sports ground.

In the 15th century, the area is recorded as Shaghe Lane when William Brodley had property here.

The names shaw and shay are related and are derived from the Old English sceaga [a copse].

See Shaw Hill and Shaw Sike

Shay Farm, HalifaxRef S2876
Oxford Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Shay Gardens, HalifaxRef S1241
In 1922, comedian Max Miller appeared here as a pierrot

The Shay, HalifaxRef S1471
On 4th August 1920, Halifax Council leased the Shay estate as a football ground and home ground of Halifax Town Association Football Club for a period of seven years.

The first football match was held here on 3rd September 1921.

On 14th February 1953, the pitch had to be cleared of snow before the match.

Around 23rd January 1963, very cold weather enabled ice skating at the Shay.

Motor cycle racing was held at Halifax Speedway there until 1986.

In 1987, the Council bought the lease back from Halifax Town FC.

In 1998, there were plans to revamp the stadium for use by both Halifax Rugby League Club and the football club, instead of a super-stadium at Thrum Hall Rugby Ground

In 19??, work began on a new stand at the ground. Work stopped before the stand was complete.

In 2005, the Council decided to close the stadium, but a massive public protest and demonstration in January 2006 caused the councillors to reconsider their decision

Shay Hill, HalifaxRef S2882
See Shaw Hill House

Shay House, HalifaxRef S62
Aka Shay Hall, The Shay.

About 1650, Richard Blackett owned land here.

The house was built by John Carr around 1770 for John Caygill, and stood on the site of the Shay football ground.

Subsequent owners included

The house and land was bought by Halifax Corporation in 1889 to make way for the construction of the new Skircoat Road. The new road opened on 29 August 1891.

The House was demolished in 1903.

The land was subsequently used as a rubbish tip, a practice ground for the Territorial Army during World War I, and from the 1920s, The Shay football ground.

See Shaw Hill House, Halifax

Shay Syke, HalifaxRef S7540

ShcipdenRef S560
Old spelling of Shibden

Shea, Henry EdwardRef S1407
[1918-1944] Son of Emma & Henry Edward Shea of Pear Street, Parkinson Lane, Halifax.

He was educated at Haugh Shaw School / a member of King Cross Cricket Club / employed by Stott & Ingham at Battinson Road.

During World War II, he enlisted [1940], and served as a Corporal with the 7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He spent 2 years in Ireland.

He was killed in France [25th June 1944] (aged 26).

He was buried at Hottot-Les-Bagues War Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VIII G 4].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Shead, JockRef S355
[1926-1950] Born in Burnley. He was a well-known speedway rider for Halifax. He was killed when he was thrown into a safety fence after a collision in a race for the National Speedway Trophy at Norwich on 1st July 1950

Sheard...Ref S50
The entries for people & families with the surname Sheard are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Sheard & CompanyRef S3634
The successor to John Sheard & Company when that was dissolved in 1873. Henry Hebblethwaite and Samuel Bold Tillotson were partners

Sheard & MidgleyRef S3251
Quarry owners at Barker Royd Quarry, Southowram. Partners included Marshall Sheard and George Midgley.

In November 1881, a bankruptcy notice was issued for the business

Sheard BrothersRef S1986
Stone merchants of Southowram [1904-1918]

Sheard Green, HipperholmeRef S960
In the Hove Edge part of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse.

Owners and tenants have included

The tenant of the house paid £1 per year to the vicar of Lightcliffe.

See Sutcliffe's Gift

Sheard's: John Sheard & CompanyRef S2103
Carpet manufacturer – of Brussels, Wilton, Tapestry, Axminster carpets, squares and rugs – established by John Sheard at Atlas Carpet Works [1859, 1874].

The partnership included Henry Hebblethwaite, Sheard's brother-in-law Samuel Bold Tillotson, and John William Tillotson.

John William Tillotson may also have been involved in the business.

On 16th October 1873, the partnership was dissolved, by mutual consent, so far as regards John Sheard. Henry Hebblethwaite and Samuel Bold Tillotson carried on the business in copartnership, as Sheard & Company

Sheard's: William Sheard & SonRef S2345
Tinmen and braziers at Bull Close Lane, Halifax and Bull Green, Halifax [1874]

Sheedy, John FrancisRef S1430
[1918-1943] Son of Elizabeth & Joseph Arthur Sheedy.

In [Q4] 1942, he married Bessie Pearson Mitchell in Edmonton, London.

They lived in Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Driver with 667 Artisan Works Company Royal Engineers.

He died 4th April 1943 (aged 25).

He was buried at Warwick Cemetery, Warwickshire [104 9]

Sheehan, CharlesRef S63
[1899-1919] Son of Charles Henry Lee Sheehan.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died of influenza in 38 State Hospital, Italy [12th March 1919] (aged 20).

He was buried at Arquata Scrivia Communal Cemetery Extension, Italy [Grave Ref I C 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint James's Church, Halifax.

His brother William Henry also died in the War

Sheehan, Charles Henry LeeRef S348
[1866-19??] Son of Emily (née Taylor) [1844-1???] & Charles Henry Lee Sheehan [1844-1???], book binder.


He usually states that he was born in Ireland, but he changes this to Bermondsey, London, in the 1911 census
 

He was an errand boy in Camberwell (cheesmonger) [1881] / a soldier of 30 Lower Bridge Street, Chester [1895] / a Private with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [1901] / an army pensioner [1911] / caretaker of Boro Council School [1911].

In 1895, he married Charlotte Rosina Green [1873-19??] at the church of St Bridget with St Martin, Chester.


Charlotte Rosina, of 8 Shipgate Street, Chester, was born in Chester, the daughter of Samuel William Green, railway guard
 

Children:

  1. William Henry
  2. Charles
  3. Doris [b 1902]
  4. Mildred [b 1904]
  5. Phyllis [b 1911]

The family lived at

  • Halifax Barracks, Gibbet Street, Halifax [1901]
  • Bermerside Cottage, Halifax [1911]
  • 27 St James's Road, Halifax [1916]

Sons William Henry & Charles died in World War I

Sheehan, WilliamRef S151
[18??-191?]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Notts & Derby (Sherwood Foresters) Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and (possibly) on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Sheehan, William HenryRef S772
[1897-1916] Son of Charles Henry Lee Sheehan

He was associated with All Saint's Sunday School / a parcel boy (Halifax Corporation Tramways) [1911] / a telegraph boy on the railway at Shaw Syke.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant / Staff Sergeant with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action on the Somme, leading his platoon into the fight [30th July 1916] (aged 19).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th August 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell, and on the Memorial at Saint James's Church, Halifax.

His brother Charles also died in the War

Sheepheard, ThomasRef S3349
[1606-1???] Son of Matthew [b 1580s] of Stainland.

Baptised at Elland [14th January 1607].

They were early members of The Shepherd family of Stainland

Sheepshanks, MaryRef S342
Pen-name of Mabel Ferrett

Sheeran, Edward ChristopherRef S3586
[1991-] Pop singer Ed Sheeran.

Born in Hebden Bridge. He grew up in Suffolk

Sheeran, Frederick WilliamRef S1287
[1879-1966]

In [Q3] 1906, he married Sarah Bottomley Wise [1880-1962] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Frank [1908-1910]
  2. Win [1912-1990]
  3. James Denis

Sarah died 23rd August 1962 (aged 82).

Frederick William died 26th May 1966 (aged 87).

Members of the family were buried at Elland Cemetery

Sheeran, James DenisRef S1447
[1922-1943] Son of Frederick William Sheeran.

During World War II, he served as a Flight Sergeant with the 249th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was killed in action [17th November 1943].

He is remembered on the family grave at Elland Cemetery, on the Malta Memorial, Malta [Grave Ref 7 2], on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Brooksbank School, Elland

Sheerhan, MrRef S2866
[17??-18??] He married Sarah from Leeds.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1811-1867] who married Oscar Henry Bamforth
  2. Mary Wilks [1813-1874] who married William Balmforth

After his death, Sarah married William Balmforth, becoming his the second wife

Sheffield, CharlesRef S1691
[18??-1854] A stone merchant at Rastrick. He had quarries in Rastrick, including Macauley's Park, Crowtrees, Longroyde, Lillands, Fixby, Hove Edge, and Elland Edge.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas

Sheffield, ErnestRef S933
[18??-1957] In the 1920s, he bought the Ganson Mineral Water Company. He sold it in 1949

Sheffield, JohnRef S961
[16??-1735] Curate at Southowram [1714-1716] and Curate at Sowerby [1730-1735]

Sheffield Royd, West ValeRef S405
Area of land at West Vale between the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the Calder just west of Elland Bridge

It is said that there were plans to build a road across the land, linking West Vale to Elland Bridge, but this was never completed. A raised mound for the new road can be seen [1982]

Sheffield, ThomasRef S1690
[1831-1903] Of Holly House, Rastrick. Only son of Charles Sheffield. He was educated at Ashton-under-Lyne Grammar School. In 1848, he entered the family business, and took over when his father died 6 years later. He joined the local yeomanry and acted as bodyguard to Queen Victoria when she visited Leeds to open the town hall. He was involved in local affairs. He was unsuccessful in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893. He was involved with the Rastrick Burial Board, the Rastrick School Board, the Rastrick Gas Company, and the Rastrick Water Company He was churchwarden and sidesman at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick, Guardian of the Poor for Rastrick [1894], and one of the first members of the Rastrick Local Board.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. daughter
  4. daughter

After the funeral service at St Matthew's, he was buried in the family vault at Bridge End Congregational Church

Sheldrake, Charles FrederickRef S212
[1879-19??] Son of Robert Sheldrake.

Born in Great Horton.

He was a worsted doffer [1891] / a tar boiler [1911].

In [Q1] 1899, he married Alice Hanson [1878-19??] in Halifax.


Alice was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Teresa [b 1900]
  2. Annie [b 1905]
  3. Robert [b 1907]

The family lived at 75 Wadsworth Street, Battinson Road, Halifax [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was his brother Edgar

Sheldrake, ClementRef S3262
[1869-19??] Son of George Sheldrake.

In 1907, he married Hilda Mary Victoria, daughter of Joseph Morton, in Halifax

Sheldrake, EdgarRef S161
[1893-1971] Son of Robert Sheldrake.

Born in Halifax [25th February 1893].

He was a member of No.6 Halifax Boys' Brigade / a member of Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax.

In 1911, he was living with his brother Charles Frederick Sheldrake in Halifax.

In [Q4] 1917, he married Hilda Atkinson in Halifax.

They lived at Violet Street, Halifax.

In 1912, he was with the 3rd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He survived the War, and is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sheldrake, GeorgeRef S478
[1843-1???] Born in Suffolk.

He was an underclothing manufacturer (employer) [1891].

He married Mary [1842-1???].


Mary was born in Queensbury
 

Children:

  1. Edith B. [b 1864]
  2. Herbert [b 1866]
  3. Clement

The family lived at

  • 62 Free School Lane, Halifax [1891]
  • Linden Royde [1907]

Sheldrake, RobertRef S259
[1855-19??] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a carman [1891] / a waiter (barman) [1901].

In [Q3] 1873, he married Frances Sykes [1854-19??] in Halifax.


Frances was born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. Alice H. [b 1874] who was a worsted rover [1900]
  2. Charles Frederick
  3. Emma [b 1881] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a drawer (worsted) [1901]
  4. George S. [b 1884] who was a blacksmith [1901]
  5. Priscilla [b 1886] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  6. William [b 1888] who was a cotton twister [1901]
  7. Emily C. [b 1890]
  8. Edgar

The family lived at

  • 3 Back Lord Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 83 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1901]

ShelfRef S107
District of Calderdale to the north-east of Halifax, bordering on Buttershaw and Bradford.

See Population, Bradford & Shelf Tramways Company and Parish statistics

Shelf Board of GuardiansRef S837
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Shelf township have included

Shelf Board of HealthRef S1225
Established in 18??

Shelf Civic TrustRef S1071
See Shelf Village Hall

Shelf CommonRef S410
Common land at Shelf.

See William Fourness

Shelf Conservative ClubRef S2165
Established 18??.

Recorded in 1917, when Harry Bartle was secretary.

See Marmaduke Holdsworth

Shelf constablesRef S803
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Shelf

Shelf DeanRef S1531
An area of Shelf. Dean House is here.

It is said that the surname Dean originated here

Shelf FeastRef S485
Local festival

Shelf, Geoffrey deRef S6200
[1???-13??] In 1338, Geoffrey de Shelf had a brawl with John de Rokis and John has the blood of Geoffrey in exchange, for which they were each fined 12d

Shelf HallRef S3193

Shelf Hall, Manor ofRef S1094
A submanor of the Manor of Shelf. The manor house was Shelf Old Hall.

See Batehayne, Northowram, John Cowper and Manor of Royds Hall

Shelf Hall ParkRef S1369
Halifax Road. Built on the site of Shelf New Hall which had been demolished in 1951.

See Shelf Village Hall

Shelf High CrossRef S2425
The cross is recorded in 1609. It served as a guidepost and stood at what was an important junction in mediæval times

See High Cross Farm, Shelf

Shelf hoardRef S31
A hoard of bronze artefacts – eight axes and 2 spear heads – discovered at Upper Westercroft, Shelf in 1856

Shelf Liberal ClubRef S2397
Members and Officers of the Club have included

  • Ellis Hind – President [1890s]
  • Irvine Ackroyd – Secretary [1917]

Shelf LibraryRef S1527
Tower Buildings, Shelf. It is said that the building was built by Moses Bottomley for the use of his workers.

A new library was built as an extension to the Village Hall. It has straw-bale walls and a sedum roof. The library was opened on 16th May 2009 by Mayor Winterburn.

In January 2011, planning permission was sought to convert the old library into apartments.

Library facilities were moved to the village hall

Shelf, Manor ofRef S35
The manor was held by the Second Earl of Warren, William de Mirfield, Roger Swillington, the Thornhill family, Edward Savile, the Savile family, Lord George Halifax Lumley-Savile, and who sold the title to Richard Garford.

The manor house was Shelf Hall.

See Manor of Shelf Hall

Shelf MoorRef S2427
In 1437, John Stancefeld and John Roper opened up the soil and dug up peat turves for fuel where they had no rights of common

Shelf New HallRef S1118

Shelf Old HallRef S401

Shelf Overseers of the PoorRef S3192
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Shelf

Shelf petrifying wellRef S1593
Aka Shelf Spring. Recorded in 1837. Situated near High Bentley Hall

Shelf PinfoldRef S345
The pinfold is near the Duke William Inn off Wade House Road.

Recorded in 1439,, when Robert Thorpe took away an ox from the pinfold.

Pinders here have included Samuel Ellis [1807] and John Taylor, the last Pinder [1824].

The original pinfold was lost when the level of the old road was raised.

The present pinfold – reached by going down steps just south of the Duke William Inn – is a reconstruction

Shelf Police StationRef S2159
John Horner, a police man living at Brow Lane, is recorded in 1881.


Question: Does anyone know if there was a Police Station here? Can anyone tell me anything about it?

 

Shelf Post OfficeRef S2213
Recorded in 1861, when Philip Pickles, a druggist and grocer, was in charge.

This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Shelf SanatoriumRef S252
On 2nd April 1913, Green Lane Hall, Shelf was bought by Halifax Council and converted to an isolation hospital to treat patients with consumption.

It opened on 8th April 1914, and was known as Shelf Sanatorium. Councillor Dr William Mitchell Branson performed the opening ceremony.

In 1929, it had accommodation for 50 patients.

On 29th May 1930, a new pavilion for children opened at the Sanatorium.

In 1936, it was listed as Halifax Corporation Sanatorium.

The sanatorium closed in 1956

It subsequently became an institution for people with learning difficulties. This closed in 1988.

See Wilfrid Smith

Shelf School BoardRef S420
School Board set up in 18??

Shelf Steam Tramways CompanyRef S2422

Shelf stocksRef S461
The remains of the stocks and whipping post for the township of Shelf originally stood near Stone Chair and have now been moved to Coley

Shelf Surveyor of the HighwaysRef S4300
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Shelf included:

Shelf TideRef S2423
Aka the Duke Tide A festival which was held at a barn near the Duke William Inn.

It was started around 1810 by an old lady called Nan Heaton who sold toffee at the event

Shelf Toll HouseRef S2450
This was across the road from Tower Buildings

Shelf Urban District CouncilRef S213
The 2 communities were combined because Shelf was too small an entity on its own.

The people of Shelf voted to be a part of Calderdale rather than Bradford.

See Ellis Hind, Queensbury & Shelf Urban District Council, Shelf Urban District Council Memorial and William Tordoff

Shelf Village HallRef S273
Built on the site of Shelf Old Hall which had been demolished in 1958. Opened in 1975.

The project was carried out by Queensbury & Shelf Urban District Council and cost £100,000 of which Shelf Civic Trust raised £13,000.

A new Shelf Library was built on to the Hall in 2009.

See Shelf Hall Park

Shelf WindmillRef S2428

Shelf WoodsRef S1188
Owned by Shelf Council

Shelf WorkhouseRef S409
Cock Hill Lane. It was in use up to the 1820s

Shelley, JohnRef S283
[1873-1916] Son of Phillip Shelley.

Born in Sudbury, Suffolk.

He was a thimble maker [1891] / a silversmith [1898] / a thimble maker [1901] / a silver thimble maker for jewellery manufacturer Charles Horner Limited [1911].

In 1898, he married Susannah Woods [1877-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Susannah, of Ann Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Frederick Woods, driver
 

Children:

  1. Edmund Wood [1901] who died in infancy
  2. Cora [b 1906]
  3. Dorothy [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 19 Abbey Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 87 Stanley Road, Halifax [1911]

During World War I, he enlisted [4th September 1914], and served as a Private / Stretcher Bearer with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France on 14th April 1915.

At Ypres, on Saturday 14th August 1915, the Germans had shelled the trenches heavily from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm. The battalion were in trenches about a mile to the north-west of Ypres when a shell burst amongst a working party of 6 men who were making dugouts, killing 3 men outright and wounding 3 others.

Due to the narrowness of the trench, it was found necessary to carry the wounded over the top of the trench, over open ground and in full view of the enemy. Around 5:00 pm, when it was almost dark, Company Commander Captain Maynard Percy Andrews volunteered to accompany the rescue team – which included John, Lance-Corporal Charles Wood, and Private G. Holt - who went to do this.

The enemy spotted them and opened fire.

Captain Andrews was hit by a bullet in the throat and died shortly afterwards.

Shelley, Wood and Holt were recommended for an award for distinguished service.

John died 3rd September 1916.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th September 1915].

He was buried at Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval, France. [Grave Ref XIX A 6].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax

Shelley, JohnRef S519
[1918-1940] Born in Halifax.

He was a member of the Boys' Brigade at Siddal Wesleyan Methodist Church / educated at Siddal Council School / employed at Hawkyard's Brickyards = Victoria Fire Clay Works, Elland.

He lived at 37 Cleveland Avenue, Siddal.

During World War I, he enlisted [February 1940], and he served as a Marine he served as a Marine with the Royal Marines aboard HMS Berwick.

He died 9th May 1940 (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 43 2], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Shelley, PhillipRef S271
[1843-1???] Born in Suffolk.

He was a brick yard labourer [1881, 1891] / a brick burner.

Around 1871, he married (1) Margaret [1847-1???].


Margaret was born in Canada
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b Malta 1868] who was a worsted millhand [1881]
  2. Margaret Jane [b 1871] who was a worsted millhand [1811]
  3. a worsted ring twister [1891]
  4. John
  5. Susannah [b 1876] who was a worsted spinner [1891]

He married (2) Emmelina [1858-1???].

Children:

  1. Harriet A. [b 1889]
  2. Emmelina [b 1887]

The family lived at

  • 12 Filey Street, Northowram [1881]
  • Clive Street, Northowram [1891]

Living with them [in 1891] was stepson Robert E. Whiteley [b  1881] who was a cotton cop twiner [1891]

Shellser, MrRef S3597
[18??-18??] Born in Walworth, London.

He was a Halifax brush maker / a master brush maker employing 3 men & 1 apprentice [1851]. Recorded in 1851, when George Bancroft was an apprentice

Shelmerdine, Rev FrankRef S2605
[1893-1932] BA.

He served at Aylesbury before becoming Curate at St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram [1893-1896]

He left to serve at Birstall [1896-1898], then at Jagersfontein, South Africa [1898-1901].

In 1901, he returned to England and served at Great Malvern, before returning to Cape Town, South Africa [1906].

2 years later, he was rector of Flumstead, Cape Town.

In 1913, he returned to England and served at Hinton St George in the diocese of Bath & Wells.

He died at Maidencombe, Devon

Shenton, William JamesRef S437
[1879-1919] Born in Crawshawbooth, Lancashire.

He was an engineman railway [1911] / employed by Mackintosh's.

In [Q4] 1901, he married Laura Garside in North Bierley.


Laura was born in Cleckheaton
 

Children:

  1. Annie Garside (Shenton) [b 1902]
  2. Thomas [b 1907]
  3. Alice [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 12 Lily Lane, Halifax [1911]
  • 5 Bath Parade, Halifax [1919]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was transferred to the Labour Corps.

He died 30th December 1919 (aged 40).

He was buried at Brookwood Military Cemetery, Surrey [Grave Ref VI I 6].

He is remembered on the Memorial at John Mackintosh & Sons Limited

Sheperd, WilliamRef S1355
[1790-18??] He served with the 2nd Battalion 84th Foot York & Lancaster Regiment in the Peninsular War

Shephard, JohnRef S7500
[1813-1???] He was a master stuff manufacturer [1851].

In 1841, he married Mary Croft [1816-1???] in Hull.

Children:

  1. John W [b 1845]
  2. Emily M [b 1847]
  3. Julia A [b 1849]

The family lived at Savile Terrace, Halifax [1851].

Living with them [in 1851] were sisters-in-law Helen Croft [aged 30] and Mary Croft [aged 39]

Shephard, MilesRef S7630
[1???-1670] Of Shore, Todmorden.

He married Mary.

Children:

  1. George
  2. John
  3. Miles
  4. Mary
  5. Abraham
  6. Elizabeth

His will dated 6th August 1669, proved September and October 1670. [Vol. Ij. folio 288a]:


Miles Stansfeild the elder, of the Shore in Stansfeild, yeoman, bequeathed to his wife, Mary, for life, one third of a messuage called the Ridgeyate, in Stansfeild, in his occupation; which he bought on the 6th March 1647-8, of James Shepherd, late of Rowlston, co. Stafford, cooke, and of James Shepherd, late of the Shore, yeoman, saving one bay, in the west end of a lathe or barn, which he lately built.

Then on his wife's death, to his eldest son George, and his elder daughter, Mary, for their lives; reversion to youngest son, Abraham, for life.

To his wife, Mary, another third, till Abraham be 14 years old, to bring him, and youngest daughter, Elizabeth, up. Then to children, George and Mary, for life; reversion to son Abraham for life. To son, George, the remaining third, until son Abraham be 14 years old; then as previous third. Also to his wife, one third of seven acres of land, late enclosed from the waste, between Hartley clough and Stoperdaine clough, granted to him and his heirs, by the Rt Hon George, lord viscount Halifax, by name of Sir George Savile of Thornhill, baronet, on the ??th September 1656; also one third of a lathe there, for her life. Then to his second son, John, and his third son, Miles, for ever; along with the remaining two thirds. He appointed his wife, executrix, and left her, her right of goods. He also bequeathed ?? to his son, Abraham, when 14

 

Shephard, RichardRef S4910
[15??-16??] Of Shore, Todmorden.

He had an illegitimate daughter Mary.

He married Isabel.

Children:

  1. Susan / Susanna
  2. Daniel

His will dated 1617, proved l0th November 1619 [Vol. XXXV. folio 502b]:

Richard Shephard of the Shore, named his wife, Isabell, and his youngest daughter, Susan or Susanna. He bequeathed 40s to his son Danyell; and £12 to his bastard daughter, Mary, his brother James Shephard, and Edmond Stansfeild, to have care of it. Amongst the debtors named are, Richard Horsfall of Dove Skoute, and John Crosley a lowscoles. The tenement held by the above testator, was purchased from his heirs, in 1647, by Miles Stansfeld, as appears by his will

Shepherd...Ref S614
The entries for people & families with the surname Shepherd are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Shepherd & AldersonRef S3666
Brewers at Lower Brear Brewery, Hipperholme [1874].

Partners included James Shepherd and James Alderson.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1876.

Alderson established the brewery James Alderson & Company Limited

Shepherd & BlackburnRef S2004
Shepherd & Blackburn's Cotton Spinning Company Limited were cotton spinners and doublers at Sowerby Bridge.

In October 1902, they announced that they were unable to pay an interim dividend to shareholders on account of the state of the cotton trade.

Officers of the Company have included

They were at Perseverance Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905, 1937].

In October 1937, a meeting was held at the Christadelphian Hall, Sowerby Bridge for the purpose of winding-up the Company

See William Easterby and Shepherd, Whiteley & Blackburn

Shepherd & PerfectRef S2021
Cloth manufacturer of Cross Hills, Halifax. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products

Shepherd & SutcliffeRef S2078
Cotton manufacturers at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1877]. Partners included James Shepherd, Henry Sutcliffe, and William Sutcliffe.

In May 1878, their workers were on strike

Shepherd & WoodRef S2468
Farmers at High Sunderland.

Partners included J. Shepherd and T. Wood.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1858

Shepherd's Cottage, StainlandRef S3355
High Street. Late 18th century house. Adjoins Well Royd, Stainland

Shepherd's Dairy, HalifaxRef S3114
Grocer and dairy at Heath Road / St John's Lane, Halifax. Established by Lily Ann and Arthur Shepherd.

The premises were formerly Bussey's dairy/ice cream parlour.

They had a shop Heath Road, opposite Albert Park, Skircoat. This is now a private house


Question: The attached photographs show examples of the small pots in which they sold cream.

Does anyone have any larger examples, such as might have been used for catering or display purposes?

 

Shepherd House, FixbyRef S3568
Next to Fixby Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

Shepherd House, Lower WarleyRef S554
In 1379, Alice Shepherd of Warley is recorded – she may have lived here.

Owners and tenants have included

Lister rebuilt the house.

The house is dated 1745 and a lintel (now used as a kerbstone)  is inscribed L 1746 TH for Thomas and Hannah

Shepherd Villa, WarleyRef S5510
In 1881, it was listed with Claremont Street and Sowerby Bridge Vicarage

Shepherd, Whiteley & BlackburnRef S2067
In November 1859, the partnership Thomas Blackburn & Company was dissolved, and the business carried on as Shepherd, Whiteley & Blackburn

They were cotton spinners at Lower Willow Hall Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1861].

Partners included Samuel Shepherd, George Whiteley, John Blackburn, and later Eli Whiteley

See Shepherd & Blackburn

Shepley, GeorgeRef S4730
[1828-1890] He was a millwright [1861, 1871, 1881].

He married Sarah [1828-1???].

Children:

  1. Bryan [b 1852] who was a worsted doffer [1861], a mechanic [1871]
  2. Hannah [b 1856] who was a weaver [1871]
  3. James [b 1859] who was an engineer's fitter [1881]
  4. Maria Jane [b 1861] who was a worsted twister [1881]
  5. William
  6. Mary [b 1869] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  7. Sarah Ellen [b 1873] who was a worsted twister [1891], a cotton reeler [1901]

The family lived at

  • Scarr Head, Norland [1861]
  • Sowerby Croft, Norland [1871]
  • Silver Street, Norland [1881]
  • 1 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland [1891, 1901]

George died 17th December 1890.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £166. Probate was granted to son William (retired road inspector) 

Shepley, George WilfredRef S1506
[1898-1917] Son of James Shepley.

Born in Bradford.

He was a member of Lyceum Chapel, Sowerby Bridge / a member of Sowerby Bridge Cricket Club / a cop twister [1911] / a cotton piecer [1915] / employed by Shepherd & Blackburn.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [20th May 1916], and served as a Private with the 25th (Tyneside Irish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action in France / Flanders [12th October 1917] (aged 19).

He was buried at Cement House Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I K 3].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [10th November 1917]

Shepley, JamesRef S5000
[1795-18??] Born in Norland.

He was a carrier of Norland [1816] / a farmer [1841] / a farmer of 21 acres [1851] / a farmer [1861].

In 1816, he married Jane Dennerley [1807-18??], born in Middleton, Lancashire, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Mary [bapt 1817] who married [1839] John Robinson at Elland Parish Church
  2. John [bapt 1820] who was an ag lab [1841, 1851], a farm labourer [1861]
  3. James [bapt 1822]
  4. Elizabeth [bapt 1825] who was a weaver [1841]
  5. George [bapt 1827] who was an ag lab [1841]
  6. Sarah Ann [b 1830] who married Francis Tattersall
  7. Hannah [1834-1843]
  8. Jane [b 1836]
  9. William [b 1839]

The family lived at Shaw, Norland [1841, 1851, 1861].

James was dead by 1894

Shepley, JamesRef S321
[1823-1905] Son of James Shipley, farmer.

Born in Norland.[1851]

He was a weaver of Norland [1840] / a millwright [1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881] / a retired millwright [1891].

In [Q3] 1840, he married (1) Hannah Scott at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah was the daughter of
John Scott

James & Hannah were both shown as minor

 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1840]
  2. James [b 1842] who was a millwright [1861]
  3. Jonas [b 1844] who was a woollen spinner [1861]
  4. John
  5. Thomas Brian [b 1851] who was a woollen piecer [1861], an iron turner [1871]
  6. Albert [b 1853]
  7. Arthur [b 1856] who was a cotton piecer [1871]
  8. Frank [b 1860] who was a yarn turner [1881]

Hannah died [Q1 1885].

In [Q3] 1885, he married (2) Jane Crowther in Halifax.


Jane was born in Greetland
 

In 1841, the family were living at Spark House, Norland with Hannah's family.

The family lived at

  • 1-2 Cooks Yard, Sowerby Bridge [1851]
  • Shaw, Norland [1861, 1871]
  • Scar Head, Norland [1881, 1891, 1901]

James died at Scar Head [1st February 1905].

Jane died 10 days later [11th February 1905].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £348. Probate was granted to John Smith (coal merchant) and William Shepley (road foreman).

Probate records show that Jane left an estate valued at £333. Probate was granted to Mary Hannah Greenwood (wife of John Greenwood

Shepley, JamesRef S4711
[1843-1900] Born in Norland.

He was a millwright [1871, 1881, 1891] / a mechanic [1897].

He married Sarah [1841-1909].


Sarah was born in Barkisland
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1865] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  2. Thomas [b 1866] who was a telegraph clerk [1881]
  3. Major [b 1870] who was a worsted doffer [1881], a corn mill labourer [1891]
  4. James
  5. John Arthur [b 1878] who was a doffer in worsted mill [1891]
  6. George A. [b 1880]

The family lived at

  • Roughs, Norland [1871]
  • Tuel Lane, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1881]
  • 55 Tuel Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901]

On 31st January 1907, Sarah was injured when neighbour Mrs Gray struck her with a broom

Shepley, JamesRef S1507
[1872-1959] Son of James Shepley.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was an iron turner [1891] / a mechanic of 55 Tuel Lane [1897] / a iron turner [1901, 1911].

In 1897, he married Mary Ann Sutcliffe [1873-1936] at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge.


Mary Ann, of 13 Chapel Lane, Sowerby Bridge, was the daughter of Thomas Sutcliffe, blacksmith
 

Children:

  1. George Wilfred
  2. Bessie [b 1902]
  3. Elsie [b 1908]
  4. Edith [b 1910]

The family lived at

  • 9 Industrial Place, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 12 Stubbin, Beech Road, Sowerby Bridge [1911, 1917]

Shepley, JohnRef S1495
[1846-1882] Son of James Shepley.

He was a cotton spinner [1861].

He married Sarah Eastwood [1844-1???].

Children:

  1. Fred

Shepley, John HarryRef S3255
[1867-1942] Of Halifax.

Known as Harry.

Son of William Shepley.

Born in Halifax.

He appeared in several concerts with Dr John Varley Roberts.

In 1890, he was a bass singer and was joint winner in the Mrs Sunderland Competition of 1890. After receiving the prize, there was some concern that he was over the 25 years age limit for contestants. Austin Keen, Secretary of the Huddersfield Technical School, where the competition was held, satisfied himself that Shepley was under 25.

He was a carpet designer at Crossley's Carpets / conductor of the West End Glee Union [1895] / conductor of the Halifax Madrigal Society [1899] / conductor of the Greetland Male Voice Choir / a professor of music [1911] / conductor of the Halifax Madrigal Society [1917, 1923]. In the early 1900s, he left Crossley's and devoted his life to music.

In 1904, he married Jessie Calvert [1877-1950] in Halifax

Children:

  1. Ronald Calvert [b 1907]

The family lived at 2 Park View, Halifax [1911].

He died in 1942 [aged 74].

The Courier described him as the most successful trainer of mixed voice choirs in the West Riding of Yorkshire

Shepley, WilliamRef S3305
[18??-1???] From Macclesfield.

Around 1865, he and his wife and family moved to Halifax where he was a carpet weaver at Crossley's Carpets.

He married Jane, possibly Jane Sutton in Macclesfield [1850]

Children:

  1. John Harry

The family lived at Grandsmere Place

Shepley, WilliamRef S3702
[1839-18??] Or Shepley, Sheply.

Son of James Shepley.

Born in Norland.

He was a farm labourer [1861] / a farmer [1863] / an agricultural labourer [1871] / a farmer 21 acres [1881] / a road labourer [1891] / a labourer [1894] / a road foreman [1896, 1901] / a retired road foreman [1911].

In 1863, he married (1) Elizabeth Broadbent [1839-1887] at Elland Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of mason James Broadbent
 

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1864] who was a mechanic [1881]
  2. Eliza Jane [b 1865] who was a worsted spinner [1881] a worsted warper [1891]
  3. Mary Emma [b 1867] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  4. Mary E. [b 1867] who was a house keeper [1891]
  5. Sarah Ann [b 1868] who was a worsted spinner [1881]
  6. Sarah A. [b 1868] who was a worsted drawer [1891]
  7. George [b 1871] who was a cotton piecer [1881] a telegraphic engineer [1891]
  8. John William [b 1874] who was a telegraphic engineer [1891]
  9. Elizabeth [b 1877] who was a worsted rover [1891]
  10. Emily [1878-1896]
  11. James [b 1881]

In 1894, he married (2) widow Amelia Wadsworth [1840-1???] at Elland Parish Church.

The family lived at

  • Shaw, Norland [1871, 1881]
  • Harper Royd, Norland [1891]
  • Middle Harper Royd, Norland [1901]
  • West Bottom, Norland [1911]

On 15th July 1896, daughter Emily died from peritonitis. She had been taken ill the previous day at her work at Lock Hill Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Shepley, WilliamRef S3308
[1863-1906] Son of George Shepley.

Born in Halifax.

He was an iron planer [1881] / a retired road inspector [1890] / an iron labourer [1891] / a railway labourer [1901].

He was a member of the West Yorkshire Rifle Volunteers. He joined the 5th Dragoon Guards at Leeds on [25th August 1881].

He was stationed at York [1882-4], at Manchester [1884-5], at Newbridge [1885-6], and at Belfast [12th June 1886].

On 26th October 1886, he was transferred from the Dragoons to the Army Reserves.

He was discharged from the Army Reserves [1893].

He lived at

  • 1 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland (with his sister Sarah and widowed mother Sarah) [1891]
  • 1 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland (with his sister Sarah) [1901]

On 30th June 1906, William was found dead at the bottom of some steps near his home

Sheppard, Rev E.Ref S893
[18??-19??] From Sunderland.

Minister at Cross Lanes United Methodist Chapel, Hebden Bridge [1915]

Sheppard, JamesRef S3427
[1869-19??] Constable of Southowram at Law Lane [1901]

Sheriden, F. N.Ref S1408
[18??-1917]

During World War I, he served as a Private with Northern Command Labour Corps.

He died at Baythorpe Military Hospital, Lincolnshire [1st October 1917].

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery [K D 1682].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sherlock, Rec Walter James RichardRef S1175
[18??-19??] He was curate at Leeds before becoming Vicar of Clifton [1920-1940]

Sherren, William WhiteRef S3264
[1827-1897] Born in Heanor, Derbyshire.

He was a student at the Student Congregational Normal School, Cripplegate, London [1851] / master of Range Bank Day School, Halifax [August 1855] / a lay preacher.

In 1854, he married (1) Elizabeth Bradbury [1825-1855] in Bakewell, Derbyshire.


Elizabeth died in [Q4] 1855, and was buried in the churchyard at Little Longstone, near Monsal Head, Derbyshire
 

In 1857, he married (2) Jane Bradbury in Bakewell, Derbyshire.

In 1868, he married (3) Anne Cricket.

In [Q3] 1880, he married (4) Alice Brooker in Reigate.

He lived at the Parsonage, Sunningdale, Berkshire [1897].

He died at Guy's Hospital, Surrey [5th June 1897]

Sherwell, Rev A. J.Ref S3558
[18??-1???] Wesleyan minister in Brighouse.

On 8th March 1892, he arranged a meeting between the directors and workers to settle a strike of silk pressers at the mills of Ormerod Brothers Limited. The meeting ended without any settlement being achieved

Sherwin, Charles HenryRef S1581
[1854-1???] Illegitimate son of Mary Anne Sherwin of Lower Green.

Baptised at St John the Baptist, Coley [14th April 1854]

Sherwin, Lucy AnnRef S964
[1865-1946] Daughter of Mr Sherwin.

Born in Shelf.

On 11th May 1889, she married John Owen Brett.

They had 3 children:

  1. Leonard
  2. Harry [1890-1958]
  3. Clifford [1894-1951] who was a cotton spinner piecer [1911]

John Owen died in 1894.

Lucy Ann had 2 more children born out of wedlock:

  1. Lena Jane Jagger Brett [1896-1988] who was a cotton twiner [1911]
  2. Thomas Henry Jagger Brett

Joseph Jagger was (probably) the father.

On 26th January 1901, she married Joseph Jagger.

They had 3 more children:

  1. Joe Willie [1901-1997]
  2. Mason [1904-1908]
  3. Mary Ann [b 1906]

Lucy Ann and children Thomas Henry & Mason were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland [Grave Ref: 47]

Sherwin, WilliamRef S1582
[1851-1???] Illegitimate son of Jane Sherwin of Shelf.

Baptised at St John the Baptist, Coley [27th April 1851]

Sherwood, WilliamRef S2902
[1859-1927] Landlord of the Travellers' Rest, Hipperholme [1917, 1922, 1927]

ShibdenRef S113
Area of Halifax along the Shibden Brook

See Poems in Peace & War, Shibden Valley, The Shibden Valley and Stanclif Skoute

Shibden BarnRef S569
The large aisled barn – or laithe – is one of the finest in the district and was built in 1600. Anne Lister planned to incorporate the barn as the main entrance to Shibden Hall.

It now forms a part of the Shibden Hall folk museum and houses the Carriage Collection of horse-drawn vehicles.

The weather-vane is a copy of one erected by Rev John Lister [1749].

The barn was extensively repaired and renovated [2002]

The Shibden BaroucheRef S3507
This open carriage can be seen in the carriage collection in the barn at Shibden Hall. It was drawn by 2 horses. It was built in 1??? Woodall Nicholson & Company Limited

Shibden BrookRef S1583
The stream which flows from Shibden Head, and down Shibden Valley, through Shibden and Mytholm to become the Red Beck at Brookfoot.

In its upper reaches, it forms the boundary between Queensbury & Northowram.

See Shibden Mill and Sunny Bank Clough, Southowram

Shibden Estate Millennium ProjectRef S723
An exhibition of the dry-stone walling craft built in Shibden Park by the West Yorkshire Branch of the Dry Stone Walling Association

Shibden Fold, HalifaxRef S697
Stump Cross. Aka The Fold, Shibden.

A group of 10 cottages – some dating to the 15th century.

One house was dated 1693.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

The houses were demolished in 1971

Shibden Fold House, NorthowramRef S496
Mediæval house.

See Joseph Wood

Shibden GrangeRef S680
Originally known as Godley.

Late 16th / 17th century house in the Shibden Valley at Old Godley Lane. There are parts which date from the 14th century.

The property was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925. It was listed as a very charming, old Tudor residence, or Dower House.

Owners and tenants have included

It was scheduled as being of architectural interest, but the Council agreed to its demolition in 1955, and houses were built on the site. The fireplace, plasterwork, and oak panelling were preserved

Shibden Hall CroftRef S495
Later name of Dove House, Shibden

Shibden Hall estateRef S586

Shibden Hall, HalifaxRef S248
15th century timber-framed house which stands in Shibden Park, Halifax.

The Hall closed from September 2002 to March 2003 for major restoration financed by a grant of £358,000 from the National Lottery Heritage Fund, and £122,000 from Calderdale Council.

In December 2005, a grant of £4 million from the National Lottery Heritage Fund made it possible to restore Shibden Park to its appearance in Anne Lister's time in the early 1800s.

The Hall is discussed in the books Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, In & About Our Old Homes, The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax.

See Cripplegate House, Daisy Bank, Shibden, Folk Museum, Lower Shibden Hall, Shibden Hall, Halifax A Visitor's Guide, Shibden Hall Lion and Upper Shibden Hall

Shibden Hall LionRef S2984
A stone sculpture of a lion which stands at Shibden Hall, Halifax. It bears the arms of the Lister family. It was created in 1837 for Anne Lister when she extended the property.

In 1996, the lion was stolen.

It was later found at Sotheby's in Sussex. It was returned to Shibden and unveiled by the Duke of Kent on 8th May 2009, at the completion of the Shibden Park Restoration Project

Shibden Hall LodgeRef S3682
This was the entrance to Shibden Hall from Godley Road.

John William Taylor lived here

Shibden Hall RoversRef S739
Cricket team. Established in 18??. Disbanded in 19??.

See Ronald Crossfield Foster and Richard Kershaw

Shibden HeadRef S559
Area at the head of the Shibden valley near Ambler Thorn and Queensbury.

The area is associated with the Stocks family.

See Shibden Head Brewery

Shibden Head WellRef S1585

Shibden Industrial School BathsRef S1976
Shibden Industrial School had a swimming bath and a gymnasium

Shibden Lower HallRef S644

Shibden MillRef S707

Shibden Mill DamRef S168
Shibden Mill was driven by the Shibden Brook.

The dam was used to feed the mill wheel.

The mill dam was rebuilt in 1614.

When the mill fell into disuse, the old dam was used as a boating lake in the late 19th century.

When the property became the Shibden Mill Inn, the mill pond was drained and filled in to prevent water seeping into local mines, and the car park now stands on the site

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country

Shibden MilneRef S489
The land and property around Shibden Mill

Shibden ParkRef S1290
90-acre public park around Shibden Hall with miniature railway, boating lake, children's rides, Café.

The Hall and Park were bought by A. S. McCrea in 1923.

On 15th October 1926, the park was formally opened to the public by the Prince of Wales – later Edward VIII. The Prince planted an oak tree to mark the occasion. The following week, the tree had been deliberately cut down by vandals and much other damage was done to the park. A similar oak tree was planted on the same spot.

In September 1927, there was a Ministry of Health inquiry into money overspent on the Park.

The Park is a registered charity.

A Project to restore the Park began in 2007.

To reach the Park by car, turn right off the A58 Leeds Road out of Halifax ... or a very sharp left off the A58 Leeds Road coming up from Stump Cross

By Public Transport, buses from Halifax Bus Station to Leeds, Hipperholme, Northowram or Shelf pass the Park

See Cripplegate House, Daisybank, Lower Hough House, Stump Cross and John William Taylor

Shibden Park Restoration ProjectRef S2985
A project to restore Shibden Park began in 2007 and was completed the following year.

See Shibden Hall Lion

Shibden Spa & Tea GardensRef S2317
Recorded in 1845 at Shibden Spa when John Gill was keeper and gardener

Shibden Upper HallRef S487

Shibden ValleyRef S726
The valley of the Shibden Brook / Red Beck as it flows from its source near Queensbury, down through Shibden to join the Calder & Hebble Navigation and then through a sluice into the Calder at Brookfoot.

See The Shibden Valley and Water Scout, Shibden

Shield Hall, SowerbyRef S802
17th century house. Now a bakery

Shield, JohnRef S665
[1849-1922] Born in Rippingale, Lincolnshire.

He was a dray driver [1881] / a railway clerk [1901].

In [Q2] 1876, he married Ann Housman [1855-19??] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Aslackby, Lincolnshire, the daughter of John Housman, dray driver
 

Children:

  1. Tom [b 1877] who was an engine driver (steam roller) [1901]
  2. Harry [b 1878] who was a barman (hotel) [1901] and served in France [World War I]
  3. William [b 1881] who was a machine worker (screw) [1901]
  4. John
  5. Ada [b 1887] who was a silk drawing hand [1901]
  6. George [b 1891]
  7. Walter
  8. Frank [b 1897] who served with the Navy [World War I]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 45 Wesley Street, Halifax [1881]
  • 13 Winn Street, Halifax [1901, 1918]

Shield, JohnRef S728
[1884-19??] Son of John Shield.

He was a yard man (factory) [1901] / a belt repairer [1911].

In [Q2] 1908, he married Agnes Ann Smith [1873-19??] in Halifax.

They lived at 25 Mile Cross Road, Halifax [1911]

Shield, WalterRef S1198
[1894-1918] Son of John Shield.

He was a member of the Boys' Brigade & the Sunday School at St John's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Halifax / a member of Lee Mount Band / a loom tuner with Earnshaw & Fletcher.

He was engaged to Miss Edith Hanson.

During World War I, he enlisted [July 1917], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action in an enemy counter-attack [18th September 1918] (aged 28).

He was buried at Ruyaulcourt Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I 2].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [12th October 1918].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint John's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Halifax.

Shields, FredericRef S115
[1833-1911] Religious artist and portrait painter.

He studied under Rossetti.

In 1856, he came to Halifax to work as an engraver for Stott Brothers.

He stayed in Halifax for a year – lodging at 9 Brunswick Street – and enjoyed the local landscapes.

He wrote about the district later

Shields, John ThomasRef S1586
[1897-1???] Illegitimate son of Ada Shields of Common Wood Head.

Born 26th December 1897.

Baptised at St John the Baptist, Coley [13th February 1898]

Shields, MrsRef S1525
[1???-18??] She established Mrs Shields's School in 1836

Shilling Subscription FundRef S67
A fund which was organised in 1918 to enable Halifax Corporation to buy Wainhouse Tower for £450

Shillito's: G. V. & H. V. ShillitoRef S1502
Stockbrokers. Partners included brothers George Varley Shillito and Harold Varley Shillito

Shillito, GeorgeRef S737
[1806-1849] Of Northowram.

He was an agricultural labourer.

On 20th August 1827, he married Jane Cresswell / Grasswell [1808-1861] at Halifax Parish Church.


Jane was a grocer [1851]
 

Children:

  1. Mary Shillito [b 1828]
  2. John
  3. Thomas C Shillito [b 1834] who was a worsted dyer
  4. George Shillito
  5. Charles Shillito [b 1840]
  6. Joseph Shillito [1842-1864]
  7. Martha Ann Shillito [b 1844] who was a worsted spinner/weaver
  8. Sarah Shillito [1848-1861] who was a worsted spinner

Jane died of typhus at Stephens Row, Northowram [29th June 1861]

Shillito, GeorgeRef S740
[1836-1918] Son of George Shillito.

He was a printer / a blacksmith / a stone merchant.

In [Q1] 1862, he married (1) Henrietta Asquith [1837-1889] in Halifax.


Henrietta came from York
 

Children:

  1. Rachael J. [b 1874] who was a dressmaker's apprentice

Henrietta died in Halifax [Q2 1889] (aged 52).

On 5th April 1893, he married (2) Sarah Carter at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah was the daughter of Joseph Carter
 

The family lived at

  • Swales Moor, Boothtown [1861]
  • Upper Pule, Boothtown [1881]
  • 76 Violet Street, Halifax [1891]

Sarah died 6th November 1930 (aged 84).

She was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby with her parents

Shillito, George SykesRef S729
[1867-1940] Son of John Shillito.

Born at Upper Brear, Northowram [14th June 1867].

He was a thick wire drawer.

On 25th December 1892, he married Elizabeth Sealey at Wolverhampton.

Children:

  1. John Ewart
  2. Phyllis

The family lived at various addresses in Halifax [1867 to 1922].

In 1922, George and Elizabeth emigrated to Australia to join their son John who emigrated the year before.

In 1923, daughter Phyllis joined them.

George returned to the UK only once [summer of 1927].

They lived in Brisbane [until 1928].

In 1928, they went to live with daughter Phyllis at Bondi Beach, Sydney, and lived with her until their deaths.

George died 27th January 1940.

Elizabeth died in 1948

Shillito, George VarleyRef S5120
[1889-1953] Son of William Shillito.

He was a stock broker [1911].

He was a partner in G. V. & H. V. Shillito, stockbrokers

In [Q3] 1917, he married Dorothy Brenard in Halifax

Shillito, Harold VarleyRef S1295
[1894-1948] Of Brighouse.

Son of William Shillito.

He was an apprentice electrical engineer [1911] / a stock broker.

He was a partner in G. V. & H. V. Shillito, stockbrokers.

In his will, he left £500 for St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe. Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £24,842

Shillito, JackRef S2870
[18??-1???] Keeper of the Model Lodging House, Brighouse during the time of the Irish Riots in 1882

Shillito, JohnRef S3201
[1832-1915] JP, FRGS.

Of Upper Brear, Northowram.

He was educated at the Bell School, Northowram.

He was involved with the Halifax Industrial Society [1865-1871] / the Co-operative Wholesale Society [1883-1915].

See The Story of the C.W.S [1863-1913]

Shillito, JohnRef S3511
[1866-1910]

In [Q3] 1908, he married Emily Florence Woodford in Huddersfield.


Emily Florence was the daughter of
Thomas Woodford
 

Children:

  1. Harry [b 1891] who was a woollen cloth worker [1911] and married May [1890-19??]

In 1911, the widowed Emily was publican at the Hare & Hounds, Brockholes, Huddersfield. Her widowed father Thomas was living with Emily and son Harry and his wife

Shillito, John EwartRef S733
[1893-1974] MA.

Son of George Sykes Shillito

Born in Halifax [18th October 1893].

He was a boarder at Rishworth Grammar School [1904-1909] / at Heath Grammar School [1909-1911] / at Jesus College Oxford [1911-1915] / a journalist.

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant in the British Army [1915-1919].

He was initially in France but later predominantly in the Mediterranean theatre. In 1921, he emigrated to Australia.

In Australia, he was editor of the Cairns Morning Post [1921-1926] / employed on the Sydney Morning Herald [1927-1928] / employed on the Melbourne Age [1928-1936] / employed by the NSW Chamber of Manufacturers in Sydney [1936-1941]

In 1923, he married (1) Irene E. Hooper.


Irene came from Cairns
 

Irene died in 1927.

In 1929, he married (2) Lorna May Calder.

Children:

  1. Mary Rose [b 1931]

During World War II, he served as a Flight Lt/Squadron Leader in RAAF [1941-1945]. He was in the Middle East, mainly Palestine.

In 1946, he served with UNRRA (United Nations Relief & Rehabilitation Administration) in Greece, distributing relief supplies.

He published his own newspaper The Cyprus Shipping News in Nicosia, Cyprus [1946-1949].

In 1947, he married (2) Eva Halpern [1924-19??].


Eva was a Polish refugee whom he had met in 1944
 

John and Eva returned to Australia [1949]

Children:

  1. John David
  2. Neil
  3. Anne

John had a writing job with the NSW government, and then as a teacher [until his death].

John Ewart died in Sydney, Australia [16th January 1974] (aged 80) 

Shillito, Phyllis SykesRef S735
[1895-1980] Daughter of George Sykes Shillito.

Born in Halifax [28th April 1895].

She was educated at Rishworth Grammar School [1908] / educated at Halifax Technical College [1912] / an artist, art teacher & designer / an art teacher at Winchester School of Art [1919-1922].

On 3rd March 1923, she emigrated to Australia to join her parents and brother John.

In Australia, she was a teacher at Brisbane Technical College / a teacher at East Sydney Technical College [1925-1960] / acting head of the School of Women's Handicrafts.

She never married.

She lived at

  • Brisbane with her parents [1923-1925]
  • Bondi Beach, Sydney [1925-1980]

On her retirement she opened her own school – The Shillito Design School – and continued to teach colour and design.

Phyllis died in Sydney, Australia [13th March 1980] (aged 84) 

Shillito, Mrs SarahRef S1682
[1739-1808] The announcement of her death in The Leeds Mercury of 16th January 1808, said of her


... a maiden lady of Halifax.

In her, the poor have lost a kind and liberal benefactress, and her tenants an indulgent landlady

 

Shillito vs Shillito & HirstRef S2626
In January 1880, John Shillito sued for dissolution of his marriage on grounds of the adultery of his wife, Charlotte, with her brother-in-law James Hirst.

The Jury awarded Shillito £1000 damages.

Shillito, WilliamRef S8050
[1859-1939] Son of John Shillito.

Born in Halifax.

He was a municipal clerk [1901] / rate collector cashier with the Borough Council [1911] / the Borough Collector [1915]

On 25th March 1888, he married Mary Hannah Varley [1864-1939] at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.

Children:

  1. George Varley
  2. Bertha Varley [1891-1960]
  3. Harold Varley

The family lived at

  • Cresswell Terrace, Hipperholme [1901]
  • Laurel Bank, Halifax [1911]

Shillitoe, Rev ThomasRef S3640
[1754-1836] A London Quaker who visited the families of the men arrested and executed for the Luddite activities in 1812.

Locally, these included the families of

His Journals record his findings.

In 1779, he married Mary Pace [1746-1838].

He spent 3 years in America [1826-1829]

Shimwell, Rev BenjaminRef S2308
[18??-18??] Primitive Methodist Minister at Green Hill, Pellon Lane [1845]

Shindler, Edward JohnRef S2971
[1859-19??] Or Shinder.

Born in Brenchley, Kent.

He was a draper's assistant [1891] / a commercial traveller in paper [1901].

He (possibly) served in the Merchant Navy during World War I.

In 1888, he married Mary Hannah Atkinson in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was the daughter of
Thomas Atkinson
 

Children:

  1. George Herbert [1890-1953]
  2. Gertrude Maud [1891-1973]
  3. Frederick Cecil

The family lived at

Shindler, Frederick CecilRef S787
[1897-1917] Son of Edward John Shindler.


Some records show him as F. Cecil Schindler
 

Born in Prestwich.

He was an apprentice with E. Lumby & Son & Wood Limited.

He had an aunt who lived at 9 Westbourne Terrace, Salterhebble.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

In December 1916, he was treated at Eastbourne for wounds & trench fever.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Bullecourt [3rd May 1917] (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Shingler, RoyRef S1415
[1922-1944] Son of Emma Jane & William Shingler of Halifax.

During World War II, he served as an Aircraftman 1st Class with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 7th November 1944 (aged 22).

He was buried at Oostende New Communal Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref 9 2 15].

He is remembered on Blackshawhead War Memorial

Shingles, H. Rev J.Ref S228
[1???-19??] Minister at Bridge Street (Central) Methodist Church, Todmorden [1930]

ShipdenRef S2496
Old spelling of Shibden

ShipdenRef S561
Old spelling of Shibden

ShipedeneRef S2497
Old spelling of Shibden

Shipedene, John deRef S2500
[12??-13??] Son of William de Schippedene.

Recorded in 1306.

In 1307, a deed mentions him with a reference to


ter: Hospital

the land of the Hospital
which possibly refers to the Knight Hospitallers

Shipley, FredRef S632
[1878-1915] Born in Leeds.

He was a chimney sweep [1911].

He lived in Sowerby Bridge [1911].

He served as a regular soldier on the North-West Frontier [1897-1898], and in the South African War.

During World War I, he was called up [August 1914], and served as a Private with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was invalided home with severe rheumatism [November 1914], and hospitalised at Beckett's Park Hospital, Leeds. He was returned to his unit in Pontefract.

He died after suffering a stroke in Pontefract Military Hospital [4th April 1915] (aged 37).

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [D C 236] (11th April 1915) 

Shipley, GeorgeRef S1006
[17??-1774] Coiner He was an accessory to the murder of William Deighton. He was executed at York Castle

Shipley, Rev WilliamRef S1005
[1850-1930] Born in County Durham.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1910]

Shipman, Dr Harold FrederickRef S111
[1946-2004] A local general practitioner who became Britain's biggest serial killer.

In 1999, he was sentenced to life imprisonment for the murder of 15 patients, many were elderly women who died when alone with Shipman.

In July 2002, an enquiry concluded that he killed a total of 215 patients – including the 15 for which he was imprisoned – and he was suspected of killing a further 45 people

Shipman, Canon RobertRef S972
[18??-19??] Born in Grantham, Lincolnshire.

Curate at Brighouse [1898-1901].

On 9th September 1902, he married Jessie Carr, daughter of John Carr Bottomley at St James's Church, Brighouse.

Children:

  1. Francis G [b 1904]
  2. Robert Trafford [b 1908]
  3. child

The family lived at St Thomas's Rectory, Leeds [1911]

ShippedeneRef S2498
Old spelling of Shibden

Shipston, WilliamRef S454
[1820-1900] Born in Mansfield, Nottinghamshire.

He was a solicitor's managing clerk [1861] / an attorney's clerk [1871] / a solicitor's managing clerk [1881].

He married (1) Sarah [1816-1871].


Sarah was born in Sutton cum Duckmanton, Derbyshire
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [1844-14th December 1889]
  2. George [b 1851]

Sarah died in Halifax [17th April 1871] (aged 55).

He married (2) Eliza [1841-1878].

Eliza died 4th February 1878 (aged 37).

The family lived at

  • 3 Lower Brunswick Street, Halifax [1861]
  • 120 Osborne Place, Halifax [1871]
  • 8 Wallace Street, Halifax [1881]

William died 2nd March 1900 (aged 80).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1754]

Shire, DocRef S347
A portly – John Bull-like – character with top hat and tails, a cane and smoking a cigar, who was created by J. J. Mulroy to advertise Whitaker's Brewery and their Shire Ale in the 1920s/1930s.

In 1928, he appeared with parrot saying

Aye, and there's a good top on it, Doc!

The character was played by Herbert Seston at public appearances.

His last appearance was at Hebden Bridge Agricultural Show just before World War II

Shires, GeraldRef S2751
[19??-19??] He married Ann, daughter of W. Newton Dawson.

Children:

  1. Michael
  2. John

They lived at Toothill Court, Rastrick [1957]

Shirra, EdmondsonRef S344
[1860-19??] Theatrical manager.

Born in Shoreditch, London.

He married Mary [1862-19??].


Mary was a theatrical actress [1901]
 

Children:

  1. Dorothy [b 1888] who was a theatrical actress [1901]

In 1901, the family were boarders with Robert Nuttall

Shirt, MatthewRef S1108
[16??-16??] Curate at Rastrick [1664]

The Shoddy, RippondenRef S3238
Oldham Road. A popular name for a block of 19th century houses, including a shop.

These were formerly a small mill producing textiles from shoddy

ShoebroadRef S68
Area of Todmorden.

The name may be derived from

  1. The Middle English Shovel-broad, a piece of land the width of a shovel
  2. Shewbread, the altar or table where God speaks to and nourishes man

Joshua Fielden married at the Quaker meeting house here, and many of the Fielden family were buried in the Shoebroad Quaker Burial Ground

Shoebroad Dam, TodmordenRef S1729

Shoesmith...Ref S935
The entries for people & families with the surname Shoesmith are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Shoot, ColeyRef S3373
Area just north of Priestley Green

Shooter, AlfredRef S468
[1856-1???] Son of James Shooter, boilermaker.

Born in Low Moor.

He was a boiler maker of Moor Cottage, Low Moor [1880] / a steam boiler maker [1891] / a boiler maker [1901, 1911].

In [Q3] 1880, he married Mary Jane Walker [1857-1???] at Bradford Cathedral.


Mary Jane, a worsted stuff weaver of Hill Top, Low Moor, was the daughter of Robert Walker, watchman
 

Children:

  1. James Robert
  2. Freddie [b 1895] who was an apprentice sport outfitter [1911] – Could he be Fred Shooter?
  3. Edith [b 1904]

The family lived at

  • 64 Manor Road, Low Moor, North Bierley, Bradford [1891]
  • 48 Rosebery Avenue, Halifax [1901]
  • 42 Union Street South, Halifax [1911]

Shooter, FredRef S511
[18??-1916]


Question: Could he be the son of Alfred Shooter?

 

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Royal Welsh Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [10th April 1916].

He was buried at Citadel New Military Cemetery, Fricourt, France [Grave Ref IV G 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

Shooter, JamesRef S929
[18??-1916] He was a member of Pellon Baptist Church.

He was killed in World War I.

Shooter, James RobertRef S472
[1887-1916] Son of Alfred Shooter.

He was a member of St Mark's Parish Church, Siddal / a junior clerk [1901] / a clothing & supply clerk (wholesale clothiers) [1911] / employed by Coll & Waddilove, Bradford.

In [Q3] 1911, he married Olive Brook at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

Children:

  1. Irene [b 1913]
  2. Ronald [1916] who died in infancy

The family lived at 751 Wakefield Road, Bradford.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 16th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He served in Egypt and in France [May 1916].

He was reported missing and assumed to have died on the first day of the Battle of the Somme [1st July 1916].

The family were informed in March 1917.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [31st March 1917].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2A, 2C & 2D], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Shooter, Joseph AlbertRef S801
[1897-1915] Son of Sam Shooter.

He was a slubbing reeler (dye works) [1911] / an apprentice moulder for Clayton Brothers / a Territorial.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died following a German gas attack at Ypres [19th December 1915] (aged 19).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [8th January 1916].

He was buried at Talana Farm Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IV G 1]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Pellon Baptist Church

Shooter, SamuelRef S808
[1869-1947] Born in Saltaire.

He was a time keeper in dye works [1901, 1911].

In 1893, he married Violetta Busfield [1870-1953] in Bradford.


Violetta was born in Bradford
 

Children:

  1. Ida [b 1895] who was a lasting and serge weaver [1911]
  2. Joseph Albert
  3. Ernest Arthur [1898-1961] who was a grocer's errand boy [1911], a warehouseman [1953]
  4. Miriam [b 1900]
  5. Sam Busfield [b 1903]
  6. Harry [b 1905]

The family lived at

  • 12 Crystal Street, Hanson Lane, Halifax [1901, 1911]
  • 227 Moor End Road, Halifax [1947, 1953]

During World War II, he served with the 35th Company Royal Army Medical Corps [from 8th June 1915 to 24th March 1917]

Sam died in Halifax General Hospital [22nd July 1947].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £955 2/4d.

The will was proved by his widow Violetta.

Violetta died 26th June 1953.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,955 15/11d.

The will was proved by son Ernest Arthur

Shop Lock, TodmordenRef S556
Lock #18 on the Rochdale Canal

ShoreRef S116
District of Calderdale north-west of Todmorden.

The name may also be found as Shoer, Shoor, and Shorey.

There was a Quaker meeting house and burial ground here

Shore End Top, Midgley MoorRef S2861
A Neolithic or Bronze Age stone measuring 6 ft in length and 3 ft high

Shore, EsauRef S1329
[1836-1???] Born in Southowram.


Question: Is this the same as John Shore?

 

He was a coal miner [1881] / living on own means [1891].

Around 1860, he married Ellen [1838-1???].


Ellen was born in Norland
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1860] who was a worsted weaver [1881]
  2. Sarah [b 1863] who was a worsted weaver [1881]
  3. Fred [b 1870] who was a worsted spinner [1881], a pianoforte case maker [1891]
  4. Mary E. [b 1873] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  5. Gledhill [b 1875] who was an apprentice mechanic [1891]
  6. Christopher [b 1881]

The family lived at

  • 6 West Field, Southowram [1881]
  • West Field, Southowram [1891]

Shore, GledhillRef S1043
[1874-1938] Landlord of the Golden Plough, Elland [1906-1907]

Shore, JohnRef S1381
[14??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1495]

Shore, JohnRef S1328
[1816-1898] Born in Halifax.


Question: Is this person related to Esau Shore?

 

He was a coal miner [1851] / a colliery viewer [1871] / a colliery manager [1881] / a retired colliery manager [1891].

He married (1) Mary [1820-1849].

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy
  2. child who died in infancy
  3. Luke [b 1843] who was a machine fitter [1871], a fancy goods dealer [1891], married Jane [b 1844] & (possibly) had a son Amos Shore [b 1878]
  4. Sarah [b 1847] who was a house keeper [1881]

Mary died 13th November 1849 (aged 29) 

He married (2) Ellen [1817-1852]


Ellen was born in Barkisland [14th October 1817]
 

The family lived at

  • Siddal Hall [1851]
  • 7 Holts Terrace, Siddal [1871]
  • 3 West Field, Southowram [1881]
  • West Field, Southowram [1891]

Living with them [in 1881] was grandson Amos Shore [b 1878].

Ellen died 24th October 1852.

John died 5th February 1898 (aged 82).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-E28]

Shore, John IsaacRef S500
[1897-1923] Son of John Jennings Shore.

Born in Halifax [12th March 1897].

He was an engineer [1920].

On 20th November 1920, he married Ada Richardson at St Mark's Parish Church, Siddal

Shore, John JenningsRef S368
[1864-1908] Born in Burghwallis.

He was a clerk [1892].

On 17th September 1892, he married Mary Hollas at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.


Mary was the daughter of
Jeremiah Hollas
 

Children:

  1. John Isaac

Shore, John ofRef S2490
[13??-13??] A merchant living in Stansfield. Recorded in 1379,, when he paid 1/- tax whilst most of the other 42 taxpayers in Stansfield paid 4d

Shore Moor, TodmordenRef S3421
Moorland at Shore

Shore Working Men's Club & InstituteRef S3066
Todmorden. Recorded on 18th January 1908, when they opened new premises. Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 144

Shoreman, CharlesRef S656
[18??-1915] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 19th December 1915.

He was buried at Cerisy-Gailly Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II E 13].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Short, EdgarRef S888
[18??-19??] Son of Thomas Edgar Short.

He was a partner in T. E. Short & Sons Limited. He specialised in the vehicle maintenance side of the business

Short, George AndersonRef S3494
[1856-1946] Born in Bellingham, Northumberland.

Watercolour artist with rural subjects such as sunrise, sunset, hunting scenes, farming scenes and gypsy camp scenes.

He moved to Halifax and painted the local environment.

Around 1890, he married Alice Spencer [1859-19??] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Hilda Mary [b 1891]
  2. Henry George [b 1895]
  3. Alice Barbara [b 1899]

The family lived at 3 Avondale Place, Manor Drive [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] was brother-in-law David Spencer [aged 46] (woolstapler).

He worked closely with his daughter. After his death, she continued to paint in a similar style to her father


Question: Does anyone know anything about his artist daughter?

 

Short, Harry George SpencerRef S764
[1895-1916] His uncle was a woolstapler in Halifax.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

He lived in Snaith.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 22nd September 1916 (aged 21).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Heath Grammar School

Short's: T. E. Short & Sons LimitedRef S845
Removals, storage, haulage and transport business in Halifax.

Established around 1916 by Thomas Edgar Short and his 4 sons: Edgar, unknown, unknown, and unknown.

They were in Union Street South.

The business closed in December 1982

Short's: T. Short & CompanyRef S1849
Wholesale clothiers at Hebden Bridge [1905]

See Benjamin Grindrod

Short, ThomasRef S3390
[1819-1894] Ale and porter merchant in Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William Thomas who became an ale and porter merchant
  2. James Henry [b 1850] who became a solicitor's clerk
  3. George Anderson [b 1856] who became a designer

The family lived at

  • Bellingham, Northumberland [1850, 1856]
  • 31 Heywood Place, Hanson Lane, Halifax [1894]

Members of the family are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

Short, Thomas EdgarRef S894
[1876-19??] Born in Halifax.

Around 1916, he and his 4 sons – Edgar, unknown, unknown, and unknown - established T. E. Short & Sons Limited

Shreeve, WilliamRef S627
[1774-1817] A painter of clock dials from Birmingham.

He may have come to Halifax in response to an advertisement placed in the Leeds Intelligencer by William Whitaker [18th April 1796].

About 1810, he went into partnership with Henry Whitaker.

On 11th May 1806, he married Leah Whitaker (possibly) at Square Chapel.


Leah was the daughter of William Whitaker
 

Children:

  1. Mary Hannah [bapt 16th September 1806]
  2. Jane [bapt 18th April 1809]
  3. Eliza Sarah [b 18th May 1815]
  4. William Whitaker

The children were baptised at Square Chapel.

The family lived at 1 Aked's Road, Halifax.

On 15th August 1817, William was heating turpentine in a copper vessel whilst preparing a varnish. He took it to the door and it caught fire, burning him. He survived only a few hours.

Members of the family were buried at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax

Shreeve, William WhitakerRef S1503
[1816-1???] Son of William Shreeve.

Born [3rd February 1816].

Baptised at Square Chapel [15th April 1816].

He wrote a book about the slave trade in Sierra Leone

Shroggs House, HalifaxRef S4700
Owners and tenants have included

Shroggs ParkRef S1370
Lee Mount Road.

24 acre park at Lee Mount, leased by the Savile family in 1881 at a rent of £1 per annum for 999 years.

One of the prime movers of the project was Edward Akroyd who funded alterations to the park as a part of his Akroydon project.

The park was designed by Edward Milner, and the entrance Lodge was designed by Barber.

On 13th July 1912, the municipal bowling green opened at the Park.

Before development, the land was scrub with rocks and brambles – hence the name shroggs which means bushy scrub

See Shroggs Park Bowling Club and Shroggs Park Drinking Fountain

Shroggs Park Bowling ClubRef S640
Recorded in 1915 & 1940

Shroggs Park Drinking FountainRef S1694
The mid-19th century Gothic drinking fountain at Shroggs Park, Halifax is listed. It has 4 basins which are fed by dolphins

Shroggs Park LodgeRef S824
The Lodge at the entrance to Shroggs Park was designed by William Swinden Barber.

The building is dated 1892.

The building is a private house

Shroggs Road TipRef S876
Aka Birks Hall tip.

Shroggs Mills stood on the site.

Refuse dump for Halifax Corporation Cleansing Department.

In October 2007, Calderdale Council decided to sell 6 acres of the land to a bus operator for use as a new bus depot when the Elmwood Bus Garage became inadequate.

See Birks Hall, Ovenden and James Booth

Shroggs Wood, NorthowramRef S2679
Woodland on the side of the Shibden Valley

Shroggs Wood, WheatleyRef S3229
Between Wheatley and Lee Bridge.

There is a 100-foot precipice here, known as The Scar.

See Luke Hoyle

Shunts Wood, StainlandRef S2329
Wood was taken from here for use as fuel during the General Strike of 1926

ShurcrackRef S118
See Blarney Castle

Shutt, David TrevorRef S605
[19??-] OBE.

Liberal. He was Mayor of Calderdale [1982-1983]

Member of Calderdale Council for Greetland and Stainland ward [1973-1990] and from 1995. He suggested the name Calderdale Way for the new Elland bypass. Leader of Liberal Democrat Group and Cabinet Member with responsibility for Community Services. Former Parliamentary Candidate for Sowerby, Calder Valley and Pudsey.

In 2000, he entered the House of Lords and became Lord Shutt of Greetland. In July 2009, he was appointed to the Privy Council

Shutt, PeterRef S2339
[19??-19??] President of the Brighouse Art Circle [19??-1979]

Shuttleworth, AlvinRef S1015
[1885-1916] Born in West Vale [25th October 1885].

Baptised at St John the Evangelist, West Vale [25th March 1888].

In the 1890s, his family moved to Bolton.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed on the first day of the Battle of the Somme [1st July 1916].

He was buried at Serre Road Cemetery No.2, France [Grave Ref XL L 8]

Shuttleworth, HarryRef S616
[1880-1918] Son of Hartley Shuttleworth.

He worked for W. Cockcroft at Cinderhill Mill, Todmorden.

In [Q4] 1903, he married Sarah Alice Cunliffe in Todmorden.

They lived at 7 Bank View, Woodhouse, Todmorden [1918].

During World War I, he served as a Driver with A Battery 76th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He contracted an illness in Italy.

He died in Bath War Hospital after 5 weeks' illness [26th May 1918] (aged 38).

He was buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone [New Part 6 66].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, on the Memorial at Naze Bottom Baptist Church, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone

Shuttleworth, HartleyRef S479
[1849-1902]

In [Q1] 1871, he married Sarah Hitchen [18??-1???] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Harry

The family lived at Charlestown, Hebden Bridge [1916]

Shuttleworth, J. W.Ref S1814
[18??-19??] Proprietor of Shuttleworth's Steam Laundry [1905]

Shuttleworth, JamesRef S3550
[18??-1865] Manager at the Bacchus Tavern Tap, Halifax.

On the morning of 24th May 1865, as he was on his way to work, he was seized by a fit of apoplexy. He was taken to his home in Well Lane, but he died before noon

Shuttleworth, James HenryRef S992
[1864-1946] Born in Bingley.

He was a farm labourer [1911].

On 25th June 1887, he married Ada Abbott [1869-1954] at Halifax Parish Church.


Ada was born in Coley
 

Children:

  1. twins Robert John
  2. Charles Frederick [1887-1960] who was a drawing overlooker warehouseman (worsted mill) [1911]
  3. Annie [1890-1899] who was buried at Coley Church [12th October 1899]

The family lived at Lumbrook, Northowram [1911].

James Henry was buried at Coley Church [19th October 1946]

Shuttleworth, James WilliamRef S942
[1897-1917] Son of William Shuttleworth.

Born 24th July 1897.

He was a member of Square Congregational Church, Halifax & Sunday School / educated at Trinity School & Halifax Secondary School / articled to Norman Lister, chartered accountant in Silver Street, Halifax.

He lived at 5 Shaw Hill, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the 18th Hussars [24th July 1916], then served as a Private with C Company 6th Battalion Yorkshire Regiment.

He went to France [19th November 1916].

He died of wounds in the 61st Casualty Clearing Station in Belgium [24th August 1917] (aged 20).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [8th September 1917].

He was buried at Dozinghem Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III H 15].

He is remembered on the family grave at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School, on the Memorial at Holy Trinity Boys' School, Halifax, and on the Memorial at Square Church, Halifax

Shuttleworth MoorRef S249
Moorland near Widdop Reservoir

Shuttleworth, Robert JohnRef S89
[1887-1919] Son of James Henry Shuttleworth.

He was a stuff warehouseman (worsted mill) [1911].

On 11th April 1914, he married Annie Crossley [1889-1967] at St Anne's Church, Southowram.


Annie was born in Southowram
 

They lived at 6 Marsh Lane, Southowram.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Royal Army Ordnance Corps Labour Corps.

He died 14th February 1919 (aged 31).

He was buried at Coley Church (18th February 1919) [2 V 45].

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial, and on Coley War Memorial

Shuttleworth's Steam LaundryRef S2197
Aka Todmorden Steam Laundry.

Established by J. W. Shuttleworth at Hole Bottom Mill, Todmorden

Shuttleworth, ThomasRef S399
[1832-1909] Born 14th April 1832.

In [Q2] 1860, he married Elizabeth Howarth [1834-1905] in Halifax.


Elizabeth was born 30th April 1834
 

Children:

  1. James [9th March 1861-22nd September 1877]

The family lived at Bowers Mill, Barkisland.

Thomas died 13th December 1909 (aged 77).

Elizabeth died 21st September 1905 (aged 71).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Shuttleworth, W.Ref S3207
[1743-18??] On 7th August 1815, at the age of 72, he walked a distance of 64 miles, from Midgley to Liverpool, in 18 hours for a wager of £5, having bet that he could complete the distance 24 hours.

He offered a further wager that he could complete the 64 miles from Liverpool to Warrington in 16 hours

Shuttleworth, WilliamRef S941
[1861-1927] Born in Halifax.

Born 4th April 1861.

He was a grocer shopkeeper (own account) [1901].

On 27th May 1890, he married Annie Smith [1862-1952] in Dewsbury


Annie was born in Wakefield [5th March 1862]
 

Children:

  1. Gertrude [1891-1965]
  2. Maud / Maudie [1893-1971]
  3. Amelia [1895-1983]
  4. James William

The family lived at

  • 3 Nettleton's Yard, Salterhebble [1901]
  • 3 Daisy Bank, Halifax [1927]

William died at St Paul's Church, King Cross [16th October 1927].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £794 0/3d.

Probate was granted to his widow Annie.

Annie died 9th April 1952.

Members of the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

SiddalRef S121
District of Calderdale to the south-east of Halifax

See Exley and Pubs in Exley

Siddal Bowling GreenRef S3138
Opened on 2nd May 1925

Siddal Brotherhood InstituteRef S558
Recorded around 1915

Siddal Co-OpRef S771
Oxford Lane.

Branch number 6 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1861. It had a boot and shoe department

Siddal Co-operative StoreRef S2346
Recorded in 1874, when M. Rawnsley was Manager

Siddal, CrossleyRef S457
[1798-1823] On 10th June 1821, he married Martha Beard in Elland.

After his death, Martha married Jonathan Taylor [31st December 1827]

Siddal HallRef S659
The building stands on the east side of Siddal Lane, between Roseberry Avenue and Phoebe Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Siddal Halls

Siddal HallsRef S407
Far Siddal Hall, Lower Siddal Hall, Old Siddal Hall, Siddal Hall and Upper Siddal Hall together with Back Hall, Exley, Clipster Hall, Siddal and Lower Clipster Hall, Siddal

Documents do not always make it clear which Hall is referred to


Question: Please email me if you can clarify any confusion which I have created with the above buildings

 

People who have been linked to an unidentified Siddal Hall include:

Siddal Industrial Co-operative Society LimitedRef S2992
In 1894, a branch is recorded at Siddal Lane – between Browning Avenue and Siddal Street. The manager was Joseph Greenwood.

The branch closed in 19??.

It is now houses

Siddal, JohnRef S880
[1815-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a master tailor (employing 2 hands) [1851] / a tailor & draper [1861] / a tailor [1891].

Around 1838, he married Jane [1818-1???].


Jane was born in Sowerby
 

Children:

  1. James [b 1838] who was a clerk in a corn mill [1861]
  2. Elizabeth [b 1839]
  3. Alfred [b 1844] who was a pupil-teacher [1861], a commercial clerk (carpet works) [1891]
  4. Mary Ellen [b 1841] who was a dressmaker [1861]
  5. Sarah Ann [b 1846] who was a pupil-teacher [1861]
  6. J. M. [b 1850]
  7. Frances Ann [b 1851]
  8. Walter Henry [b 1854]
  9. Herbert

The family lived at

  • West Street, Sowerby Bridge [1841, 1851]
  • 1 West Street, Sowerby Bridge [1861]
  • West Street, Sowerby Bridge [1871]

Siddal LibraryRef S2618
Recorded in 1929 as Siddal Branch Library. At that time, it was only open on Tuesday and Friday evenings.

Recorded in 1936

Siddal Pit Farm, SouthowramRef S3589
An alternative name for Pit House Farm, Southowram [1871, 1881]

Siddal Post OfficeRef S2614
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936

Siddal Recreation GroundRef S1304
Oxford Lane

Siddal Rugby League ClubRef S3347
Backhold Lane

Siddal Top Farm, SouthowramRef S2944
From the 1940s, the farm fell into disrepair.

It was rebuilt around 1995.

The Foldout lists some owners and occupiers of the property

Siddal United Cricket ClubRef S390
Recorded in 1915, when members included

Siddal Victoria ClubRef S3571
Junior rugby union [?] club. Recorded in April 1899

Siddal WellsRef S2383
Farm at Siddal.

Owners and tenants are listed in the Foldout

See Siddal Wells Mine, Southowram

Siddall...Ref S209
The entries for people & families with the surname Siddall are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Siddall & BancroftRef S12
Mechanical engineers at Halifax.

Partners included R. Siddall and (possibly) W. S. Bancroft.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1886

Siddall & Hilton LimitedRef S2038
Wire drawers and manufacturers of beds, bedsteads and mattresses under the trademark Sidhil.

They were at several locations in Sowerby Bridge, including Sterne Mills.

They were also in Bristol, Dublin, Manchester, Newcastle, Liverpool, and London.

In 20th April 1903, their premises at Asquith Bottom, Sowerby Bridge,were damaged by fire.

They were at Centre Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

Partners included Herbert Siddall, Rowland Siddall who was head of the company [1939], and Rowland's sons: Henry Wharton, Norman, Horace Victor, and Raymond.

In 1996, they acquired International Security Services Limited of Telford and established Siddall & Hilton Fencing Products. They occupied a part of the Bird Royds Lane factory of Redfearn Wire Products in Brighouse where they produced razor barbed wire.

The business has its offices at Sidhil Business Park, Holmfield [2012]

Siddel, ThomasRef S1357
[1778-18??] He served with the 2nd Battalion 84th Foot York & Lancaster Regiment in the Peninsular War

Sidebottom, Rev Henry F.Ref S1180
[18??-18??] Perpetual Curate at Holy Trinity Church [1850, 1861].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. daughter
  2. Abigail Margaret who married Dr William Paley
  3. Catherine Elizabeth who married [August 1856] Captain Henry Godolphin Rooper

SidetracksRef S2288

Sidgewick, Rev J.Ref S1173
[17??-18??] Vicar of Hartshead [1795-1796]

Sidgwick, Rev John BensonRef S687
[1800-1873] Or Sedgwick.

Of Stone Gappe, Lothersdale

In 1862, he was appointed by Edward Akroyd as Vicar at Copley following Rev James Hope.

On 10th January 1827, he married Sarah Hannah Greenwood [1805-1887].

Children:

  1. Matilda [1832-1910] who married Mark Henry Drury

SidhilRef S268
Trademark of Siddall & Hilton

Sidney's: Thomas Sidney & CompanyRef S773
Tea and spice dealers at 14 Corn Market, Halifax [1837]

Silex stoneRef S367
In 1896, Joseph Brooke's Nonslip Stone Company patented the world's first nonslip flags.

These were made from hydraulically compressed concrete which included the hard-wearing mineral silex which is found in the Stubbins Quarry, Hove Edge & Lightcliffe area.

These were marketed world-wide, not least for the promenades at Blackpool and Bridlington.

By 1910, around 500 local authorities and railway companies in Britain used the flags.

A publicity leaflet proclaims its use at the Port of London Authority building in London.

Silex was also the name of the first of 10 locomotives which transported materials around the company's works

Silk, Rev R. G. W.Ref S1174
[19??-19??] He was vicar of Outwood before becoming Vicar of Hartshead [1957-1958]. In 1958, he was appointed rector of Nigel, Johannesburg

Silkstone, SamuelRef S497
[1852-1911] Son of William Silkstone, brick maker.

Born in Leeds.

He was a brick maker of Hatfield Street, Leeds [1871] / a chimney sweeper [1881] / a general labourer [1891, 1901] / a brick labourer [1911].

In [Q3] 1871, he married Annette Berwell [1852-1???] at All Saints' Church, Leeds.


Annette of Hatfield Street, Leeds, was the daughter of John Berwell, whitesmith
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1874] who was a boot finisher [1891]
  2. Hannah [b 1877] who was a domestic servant [1891]
  3. Susannah [b 1879]
  4. Mary Ann [b 1882] who was a cloth piecener [1901]
  5. Emily [b 1884] who was a cloth piecener [1901]
  6. Annette [b 1887] who was a wool piecener [1901]
  7. Samuel [b 1889] who was a cloth finisher [1911]
  8. Elizabeth [b 1891]
  9. Louisa [b 1892] who was a card room hand [1911]
  10. Tom Burwell

The family lived at

  • Tadcaster Road, Seacroft, Leeds [1881]
  • 42 Cavalier Street, Leeds [1891]
  • 3 Maris Street, Leeds [1901]
  • 5 Rosemary Grove, Siddal, Halifax [1911]
  • 29 Rochdale Road, West Vale [1917]

Samuel died in Halifax [Q4 1911] (aged 60) 

Silkstone, Tom BurwellRef S1270
[1894-1917] Son of Samuel Silkstone.

Born in Leeds.

He was a member of Leeds Parish Church / a silk presser [1911].

In [Q3] 1912, he married Sarah Hannah Gill in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Arthur [b 1913]
  2. Annette [b 1916]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 1 The Mount, Greetland [1917].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th (Tyneside Scottish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died of wounds in hospital [16th August 1917] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [8th September 1917].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 19-23 & 162], and on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland

In [Q2] 1919, Sarah Hannah married Clement Smith.

They lived at 34 Lambert Street, West Vale

Silman, FlorenceRef S575
[1???-19??] Originally from Barnsley.

She married William Holt.

The couple divorced

Silman, William GeorgeRef S58
[1876-19??] One of the Todmorden Communists, he was acquitted at Leeds Assizes

Silver, JonathanRef S381
[1949-1997] Bradford-born entrepreneur who – with Ernest Hall – bought Dean Clough in 1983 to establish Dean Clough Galleries and Dean Clough Industrial Park

Silver Library, Hebden BridgeRef S819
Subscription library on Market Street

Silverlock, O. C.Ref S1693
[18??-1911] He was an assistant master at Heath Grammar School.

In 1910, the British South Africa Company invited him to join an expedition as an entomologist to study the tsetse sleeping sickness fly and other insects of the Zambesi and Luangwa rivers. In April 1911, his canoe was overturned by a hippopotamus in the Zambesi and he drowned

Silverstone's Cabinet Makers' Supply Company LimitedRef S3228
They were at 14 Woolshops, Halifax [1936]

Silverstones Cabinet Supply Company&44; HalifaxRef S582
Wood & materials supply company.

They were at Prince's Arcade, Halifax [1936].

It is said that the business closed when the head office in Birmingham was bombed during World War II

Silverwood, GeoffreyRef S1441
[1909-1944] Son of Mary Jerome & Arthur Silverwood.

Born in Bradford.

On 19th May 1934, he married Josephine Carlton Hartley [1908-1996] in Bradford


Josephine was born in Bradford
 

They lived in Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Pilot Officer (Air Bomber)  with the 100th Squadron with the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 30th October 1944.

He was buried at Berlin 1939-1945 War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 5 H 24].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial.

Josephine never remarried

Silvester, JohnRef S689
[1925-1944] Son of Annie & James Silvester of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Lincolnshire Regiment.

He died 2nd July 1944 (aged 19).

He was buried at La Deliverande War Cemetery, Douvres, France [Grave Ref IV F 9], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Simcock, ArthurRef S1130
[1859-1914] He was a labourer.

On 21st March 1891, he married Louisa Helena Brimley [1872-1935] at Elland Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Frederick John

The family lived at 28 Hall Hill Place, Halifax

Simcock's: Arthur Simcock & SonsRef S2883
Dairy farmers at Scholes Farm, Greetland

Simcock, Frederick JohnRef S1129
[1893-1914] Son of Arthur Simcock.

Born in Siddal [24th December 1893]

He was a combing shed overlooker [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [30th October 1914].

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 33], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Simeon TrusteesRef S1298
Patrons of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill

Simkin, ThomasRef S1453
[1853-1???] Son of David Simkin, mechanic.

Born in Rochdale.

He was a painter of Wadsworth [1877] / a house painter [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1877, he married Eunice Greenwood [1854-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Eunice, of Erringden, was born in Stansfield, the daughter of William Greenwood, cooper. at St.John, Halifax

She was a tailoress [1881]

 

Children:

  1. Raphael [b 1880] who was a tailor machinist [1891], a joiner [1901]
  2. David [b 1881] who was a Private in the York & Lancaster Regiment, stationed at barracks at Tanshelf, Pontefract [1901], a house painter [1911]
  3. Mary A [b 1883] who was a tailoress (fustian) [1901]
  4. Ruth [b 1886] who was a tailoress (fustian) [1901], a confectionery shop keeper [1911]
  5. Sarah [b 1888] who was a tailoress (fustian) [1901], a sewing machinist ready made clothing [1911]
  6. George [b 1894] who was a presser ready made clothing [1911], and joined the West Riding Regiment but was discharged on account of ill health [World War I]
  7. William Henry

The family lived at

  • Stubbin, Erringden, Hebden Bridge [1881]
  • 15 Stubbin Square, Erringden, Hebden Bridge [1891, 1901, 1911]

Simkin, William HenryRef S1454
[1898-1916] Son of Thomas Simkin.

Born in Hebden Bridge [20th September 1898].

He was a member of Hebden Bridge Parish Church & School / a weaver (cotton) [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted on his 18th birthday, and served as a Rifleman with the 8th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was killed in action [15th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 13A & 13B], and on the Memorial at Saint James Church, Hebden Bridge

Simm Carr Clough, ShibdenRef S1603
The stream drove a waterwheel which pumped water from Simm Carr coal mine

Simm Carr Farm, ShibdenRef S292
Owners and tenants have included

Simm Carr Spa, ShibdenRef S1556
A sulphur spring celebrated on Spa Sunday. There were 18th century coal mines in the area – see Simm Carr coal mine

Simmons, Rev A.Ref S1
[19??-19??] Vicar of All Souls' Church, Halifax [1949]

Simmons, Rev AlexanderRef S2727
[18??-19??] Minister at Lineholme Baptist Church [1861]

Simms, Albert EdwardRef S948
[1871-19??] Son of Henry Simms.

Born in Halifax.

He was a labourer in iron works [1911].

In [Q4] 1895, he married Harriet Ann Wales [1874-19??] in Halifax.


Harriet Ann was born in Armley, Leeds
 

Children:

  1. James Henry [b 1894] who was a labourer in brass works [1911]
  2. Mary Jane [b 1898] who was a spinner in woollen mill [1911]
  3. Emily [b 1897] who was a spinner in woollen mill [1911]
  4. Albert Edward
  5. Charlotte Ann [b 1903]
  6. Richard Walter [b 1908]
  7. Harry [b 1911]

The family lived at 1 Pineberry Hill, Halifax [1911]

Simms, Albert EdwardRef S947
[1900-1918] Son of Albert Edward Simms.

He was a member of Halifax Parish Church / apprenticed to Walter Almond, chair maker / employed by Harrison & Allott [1917].

He lived at 48 Lower Hope Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [1918], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in an attack north-east of Arras [12th October 1918] (aged 18).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [9th November 1918].

He was buried at Douai British Cemetery, Cuncy, France [Grave Ref F 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Halifax Parish Church Church Members (WWI) Memorial

Simms, George HerbertRef S969
[1892-1918] Son of Sylvester Simms

He was a grocer's assistant [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion Norfolk Regiment.

He died 13th March 1918.

He was buried at Merville Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I C 40].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Simms, HenryRef S968
[1837-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a hawker [1881].

In [Q3] 1862, he married Mary Balmforth [1836-1???] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Richard [b 1864] who was a dyer [1881]
  2. Joseph W [b 1866] who was a dyer [1881]
  3. Albert Edward
  4. Emily [b 1873]
  5. Slins Hamer / Eugenie [b 1881]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 3 Upper Emmett Court. Halifax [1881]

Simms, Richard deRef S124
[14??-1496] Aka Simmys, Symmes. Vicar of Halifax [1481]

Simms, SylvesterRef S974
[1867-19??] Son of Sarah Ann & Ephraim Simms, commercial traveller

Born in Brighouse.

He was a grocer [1881] / a policeman Halifax Borough [1891] / a police sergeant [1901, 1911].

In [Q4] 1886, he married Ann Elizabeth Dyson [1868-19??] in Pontefract.


Ann Elizabeth was born in Darrington
 

Children:

  1. Augustus Sylvester [1888-1950] who was an errand boy (rope & twine) [1901]
  2. Florence Mary [b 1890] who was a worsted reeler [1911]
  3. George Herbert
  4. Ethel [b 1894] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  5. Wilcock [b 1897] who was a bobbin setter (worsted) [1911]
  6. Ann Hetty [b 1898] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  7. Sarah Ann [b 1900]
  8. Ephraim [b 1902]

The family lived at

  • Primrose Street, Northowram [1891]
  • 4 Claremont Terrace, Halifax [1901]
  • 19 Clover Hill Terrace, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1911] was grandson Clement Simms [b 1907]

Simms, William HenryRef S2623
[1855-1901] Son of Henry Simms, mason.

He was a carpet sewer [1871] / a joiner [1875, 1881].

On 24th June 1875, he married Mary Hartley Green [1855-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary, of Halifax, was the daughter of Timothy Green, mechanic
 

On 23rd October 1875, he and his wife met in a public house and he asked her to go for a walk with him. As they walked, they talked about a recent murder trial and he remarked that he

could soon settle a girl in that way and no one would find it out

As they walked up Lister Lane, he took her in his arms and she felt a cut below her left ear with a pocket knife. She escaped and he was arrested.

In December 1875, he was charged with the attempted murder of his wife and he was sentenced to 5 years' penal servitude at Brixton Prison

Simon, PaulRef S2467
[19??-] Drummer born in Halifax. Like his brother, Robin, he has played with several groups, including Ultravox

Simon, RobinRef S2466
[1956-] Guitarist born in Halifax. Like his brother, Paul, he has played with several groups, including Ultravox

Simplex Time Recorder CompanyRef S2031
See G. H. Gledhill & Sons Limited

Simpson...Ref S515
The entries for people & families with the surname Simpson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Simpson & TiffanyRef S2075
Letterpress printers and publishers at Crossley Street, Halifax. Recorded in 1867.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1868

Simpson's: H. & J. T. SimpsonRef S2258
Halifax brassfounders [1905]. Partners included Harry Simpson and John T. Simpson

Simpson-Hinchliffe, William AlgernonRef S364
[1880-1963] JP.

Born William Algernon Simpson and known as Algy or Wash.

He was a bank-clerk.

In 1902, he became the third husband of Helen Hinchliffe, when they married at Knaresborough. She was 49, he 22. He added his wife's surname to his own.

At Christmas 1903, he escaped without serious injury when his false beard caught fire on a candle as he played Father Christmas at Cragg Hall.

On 2nd July 1904, he was the unsuccessful Unionist candidate in the Sowerby by-election which was won by J. S. Higham.

On 27th July 1907, newspapers recorded

Generous Treatment of Workpeople by Mr and Mrs W. A. Simpson-Hinchliffe

In 1909, as he was driving up Church Bank Lane, his life was saved when his chauffeur quickly reversed the car to get out of the path of an engine which was being carried up the lane and had broken loose of the safety chains.

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant and is mentioned on the memorial at Sowerby Bridge Constitutional Club.

His wife died in London [19th April 1917]. Algy was military representative for the district, and regulations that


no man of military age passed for a high category was allowed to continue in post of military representative
 

In May 1917, there was a protest by the Advisory Committees & Tribunals in the Upper Calder Valley, concerning his removal from the post. Alderman William Ormerod promised to act in that capacity for Todmorden, T. Ashton for the other tribunals.

He was Conservative MP for Sowerby [1922-1923].

He owned Old Cragg Hall, Cragg Vale and built Lower Cragg Hall, Cragg Vale where he was living when it was destroyed by fire in 1921.

He inherited £76,000 from his wife and left an estate of £234,000.

He moved to Wetherby Grange, North Yorkshire.

He left £1000 to Cragg Vale Church

Simpson's: Thomas Simpson & Sons LimitedRef S2041
Cabinet makers, furnishers, upholsterers, decorators, removal and storage business.

Established in 1798 by Thomas Simpson

In 1815, their premises were in Woolshops. They moved to Waterhouse Street where they remained for 40 years.

In 1886, they moved to new premises in Silver Street which were built on the site of the White Lion Hotel & Posting House.

They manufactured at their Steam Cabinet Works in Corporation Street, Halifax. Their products included

the Nonsuch gentleman's chair

It was one of the largest furnishers in the north of England.

In 1887, they acquired the carpet merchanting business of John Crossley & Sons Limited which had been in Town Hall Street East, Halifax.

Up to 1895, the firm had been run by 3 generations with the name Thomas Simpson.

In 1906, the Halifax Courier reported


that a furniture cart belonging to Simpson & Sons Limited, of Halifax, crashed through fencing and into the river at Thistle Bottom, Hebden Bridge
 

In 1936, they were listed as Simpson & Sons Limited with premises at Silver Street and Skircoat Road.

The business closed in 1957. Harrison Gibson took over the Silver Street premises.

Since then, the Silver Street premises have been occupied by a DIY store, health club, gents' outfitters and many small businesses.

In July 2009, there were proposals to convert the premises into a 31-bedroom hotel with a rear extension for a further 69 rooms.

In May 2018, there was an application to convert the building – and part of Black Swan Passage – into a 80-bedroom hotel & gym

Sims, Rev J. W.Ref S9501
[18??-1???] Of Halifax.

Methodist minister.

Recorded in June 1896, when he preached a sermon at the anniversary of Boulderclough New Connexion Sunday School

Sinclair, CharlesRef S1331
[1827-1???] Born in Lightcliffe.

He was a farmer & coal merchant [1881].

He married Jane Elizabeth [1825-1???].


Jane Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Mary Eleanor [b 1863]
  2. Clara 16 [b 1865]

The family lived at German House, Hipperholme [1881]

Sinclair, Sir GeorgeRef S1112
[18??-18??] He stood unsuccessfully as the Tory candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1841]

Sindall, Alfred ZechariahRef S1714
[1844-1933] Born in Spalding, Lincolnshire.

He trained in London.

He was a clock and watch maker, jeweller and silversmith at Union Street, Halifax, from around 1875, when he acquired the business of Mr Clark.

Around 1884, the business moved to 8 Commercial Street, Halifax.

In [Q2] 1881, he (possibly) married (1) Mary Ann Pickles in Bradford.

In [Q4] 1913, he married (2) Mary E. Clayton in Halifax.

The family lived at Selby House, Stump Cross [1905].

He died in Halifax

Singlehurst, John GoodwinRef S791
[1894-1917] Son of John Henry Singlehurst.

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School [until 1909] / a clerk at brick works [1911] / a clerk at the West Vale Brass Company.

He lived with his family at 33 Kliffen Place, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Cycle Corps, and served as a Private with the 12th Battalion South Wales Borderers.

He died of wounds [25th November 1917] (aged 23).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [1st December 1917].

He was buried at Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery, Manancourt, France [Grave Ref III A 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School, and on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Singlehurst, John HenryRef S991
[1869-1917] Born in Chatham, Kent.

He was employed by the Halifax Courier [for 25 years] / a news stereotyper at the Halifax Courier Office [1901] / a news stereotyper [1911].

In [Q2] 1893, he married Eliza Brailsford [1871-19??].


Eliza was born in Pilsley, Derbyshire
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Ethel [b 1901]
  3. Winifred [b 1907]

The family lived at

  • 26 Doncaster Street, Salterhebble [1911]
  • 23 Abbey Walk South, Coronation Road, Halifax [1917]
  • 33 Kliffen Place, Halifax [1917]

John Henry died in Halifax [2nd February 1917] (aged 47).

Son John died in World War I [25th November 1917]

Singleton, CharlesRef S1640
[1822-1852] He was found dying in the privy at the Thornhill Arms, Rastrick. The inquest heard that he was subject to fits after drinking

Singleton, ChristopherRef S1399
[1593-1630] On 31st March 1630, he and Henry Smelt - both natives of Halifax – Charles Rochester [28] a native of Leeds, and George Rocliffe [33] a native of Doncaster, were executed at the Tyburn for coining base money in Walmgate, York. Their bodies were buried at St Sampson's Churchyard, York

Singleton, CrosslandRef S464
[1848-1891] Born in Longwood.

He was a brick maker [1881, 1891]

In 1879, he married Eliza Aspinall [1849-1???] in Halifax.


Eliza had a son
Fred Aspinall
 

Children:

  1. Mary Eliza [1880-1881]
  2. Philemon
  3. Janet [b 1884] who was a worsted twister [1901], a weaver [1911]
  4. Walter
  5. Ida [b 1891] who was a weaver [1911]

The family lived at

  • 36 Richmond Terrace, Elland [1881]
  • 37 South Lane, Elland [1891]
  • 21 South Lane, Elland [1901]
  • 39 Catherine Street, Elland [1911]

Singleton, FredRef S1167
[1898-1917] Son of Charlotte & Sam Singleton of 19 West Street, Stone Chair.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 27th August 1917 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 42-47 & 162], and on Coley War Memorial

Singleton, JabezRef S327
[1845-1910]

In [Q3] 1891, he married Mary Hannah Sutcliffe [1859-1925] in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was the daughter of
Josiah Sutcliffe.

She was a winder [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Willie [1892-9th November 1955] who was a labourer (joinery) [1911]

The family lived at 16 Grant Street, Halifax [1911].

Jabez died 15th July 1910 (aged 65).

Mary Hannah died 29th March 1925 (aged 66).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2328] with Josiah Sutcliffe

Singleton, JohnRef S4230
[1797-1881] He married Sarah [1800-1866].

Children:

  1. Alfred [1825-1843]
  2. Emma-Sarah [1829-1849]
  3. son who married Miss Briggs

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse with granddaughters Elizabeth [1842-1845] who died aged 3 years and 4 months, Emma Briggs [1851-1857] who died aged 5 years and 10 months, and Sarah Jane Briggs [1860] who died aged 1 month

Singleton, John EdwardRef S1001
[1871-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a cotton warehouseman [1901] / a cotton blender [1911].

In [Q1] 1893, he married Eleanor Wilson [1872-19??] in Halifax.


Eleanor was born in ^Hx^
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. Sam [b 1895] who was a box filler carpet manufacturer printing shed [1911]
  3. Jane Ellen [b 1897] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  4. Wilson [b 1899] who was a worsted doffer [1911]
  5. Ada [b 1909]

The family lived at

  • 10 Smith's Court, Range Bank, Halifax [1901]
  • 5 Smith's Court, Range Bank, Halifax [1911]
  • 13 Leopold Street, Claremount, Halifax [1918]

Singleton, JosephRef S2627
[1???-18??] A draper at Halifax.

In March 1828, Christopher Crawshaw and John Widdup were charged with having, during the night of 8/9th September 1827, burglariously broken into and entered Singleton's house and stolen a quantity of woollen cloth and other items. Both men were given the death penalty

Singleton, PhilemonRef S467
[1882-1920] Son of Crossland Singleton.

Born in Halifax [Q1 1882]

He was a shoe maker [1901] / a boot repairer [1911].

In [Q2] 1908, he married Ethel Hepworth [1883-1909] in Halifax

Singleton, Samuel AaronRef S1391
[1854-1906] Son of Maria [1824-1???] & Mr Singleton.

Born in Birstall.

He was a carter [1891] / a carter for coals [1901].

In [Q3] 1876, he married Mary Sunderland [1855-1923] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Emily [b 1877] who was a worsted spinner [1891] who was a worsted twister [1901]
  2. Aaron [b 1879] who was a worsted doffer [1891]
  3. Hannah [b 1881] who was a cotton doffer [1891] who was a stocking machinist [1901]
  4. Arthur [1883-22nd July 1893] who was buried with his parents

The family lived at

  • Blaithroyd Lane, Southowram [1891]
  • 4 Blaithroyd Lane, Southowram [1901]

Samuel died 5th March 1906 (aged 52).

Mary died 7th August 1923 (aged 68).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-J10]

Singleton, ShawRef S170
[1825-1882] Born in Sowerby.

He was a spinner [1849].

On 26th August 1849, he married Elizabeth Furness at Elland Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
Moses Furness
 

They had no children

Singleton, WalterRef S470
[1888-1915] Son of Crossland Singleton

He was a cotton piecer [1901] / a plater [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed [4th June 1915] (aged 27).

He was looking through a periscope and firing at German loop-holes when a bullet hit the periscope and went into his head. The bullet struck the periscope and shattered his fingers. He died later that evening.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [12th June 1915].

He was buried at Sailly-sur-la-Lys Canadian Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II F 127].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Elland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Providence Congregational Church, Elland, and on the Memorial at Rosemount Iron Works, Elland

Singleton, WhiteleyRef S977
[1885-1979] Son of Ann (née Whiteley) [1851-1925] & Joah Singleton [1850-1934], a power loom tuner.

Born in Golcar [18th August 1885].

He was organist at St Martin's Church, Brighouse [1918-1967] / conductor for the Brighouse Choral Society / accompanist for the Brighouse Music Club.

Joseph Philip Marshall was a pupil of his.

On 19th May 1920, he married Mary Taylor [1892-1986] in Golcar.

The family lived at 29 Bryn Terrace, Brighouse

Singleton, WilliamRef S3073
[1847-1906] Born in Thornton in Craven.

He was landlord of the York Tavern, Todmorden [from at least 1895 until his death there in 1906] / treasurer and trustee of the Todmorden & District Licensed Victuallers Association.

On 28th August 1870, he married Adelaide [1836-1903] at St Bartholomew's Church, Colne.


Adelaide was the widow of John Wrigglesworth
 

Children:

  1. William Edward

He died following a painful affliction which necessitated the amputation of one leg.

After his death, son-in-law George Clayden took over at the York Hotel [1906-1920]

Singleton, William EdwardRef S618
[1877-1920] Son of William Singleton.

Born in Colne.

He was a policeman.

On 9th April 1898, he married Mary Elizabeth Horsfall [1873-1927] at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone at St Paul, Cross Stone


Mary Elizabeth was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Adelaide May Gladys [1898-1971]
  2. Amy Constance Maud [1899-1918]

During World War I, he served with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died in Druids Cross Military Hospital, Woolton, Liverpool [9th April 1920].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,027 3/4d.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary Elizabeth.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Todmorden: Amy Constance Maud [8th November 1918]; William Edward [14th April 1920]; Mary Elizabeth [5th December 1927]

Singleton, WilsonRef S1292
[1898-1918] Son of John Edward Singleton.

He was a porter for the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company.

During World War I, he enlisted [October 1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Royal Scots Fusiliers.

He died 10th April 1918 (aged 20).

He was buried at Hautmont Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II A 4].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Sirett, ThomasRef S9506
[1815-1896] Born in St Giles, London.

He was master at Bolton Brow Wesleyan School [1850-1873] / a commercial clerk [1881] / a cashier [1888] / cashier at Balme & Pritchard Limited [until 1894].

In 1854, he married Sarah Elizabeth Gregory [1828-1913] from Heanor, Derbyshire.

Children:

  1. Jane Elizabeth [b 1857] who was a school teacher [1881]
  2. Annie Mary [b 1860] who was a school teacher [1881] and married William Dyche
  3. William Alfred [1866-1892] who was a printer's apprentice [1881], a printer compositor lodging in Westminster, London [1891], and died in Halifax [1892]

The family lived at

Thomas died 25th August 1896

Sisters' ChapelsRef S1359

Sisters' House, Priestley GreenRef S320
Built in 1630 by Samuel Sunderland on the site of a 13th century dwelling.

A lintel is dated SS 1630 for Samuel Sunderland, and the housebody is dated TAP 1658. The original timber-frame and the pad-stones can be seen.

It was originally a single house. It is now divided into 2.

One part is known as Prior's Mead.

It is said that the Appleyard sisters lived here and established Coley Chapel and Eastfield Chapel, but the chapels were built in 1529, a century before the house. The house is said to be half-way between the 2 chapels.

The name was changed to Rose Cottage for a time.

In 1914, it was owned by Joseph Sunderland of Coley Hall.

In 1953, Mr Sellers bought the crumbling house for £200.

It is now 2 private dwellings.

Listers Well is sunk into the pavement in front of the house

Site statisticsRef S315

Siward son of OrmRef S1624
[11??-11??]

(Modern: Siward Ormuson)

Possibly a younger son of Orm son of Magnus.

He married Unknown.

Children: unknown

Skeels, Dr WilliamRef S459
[1865-1939] MRCS, LRCP.

On 12th September 1900, he married Ethel Ashcroft Ravenscroft [1875-1955].


Ethel came from The Cape, Plumbley, Cheshire
 

Children:

  1. Marjorie
  2. David

The couple first lived at 25 Church Lane, Brighouse. They later moved to Brooklands, Brighouse.

When Brooklands was demolished, they moved to Langwood, Laverock Lane, where he died.

William died 31st July 1939 (aged 74).

Emily died 2nd August 1955 (aged 80).

The couple were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Skelton, AbrahamRef S1480
[18??-18??] Stone delver at Halifax.

In 1852, he was declared bankrupt

Skelton, AbrahamRef S1090
[1808-18??] Born in Ovenden.

He was a hand weaver (worsted) [1851] / who was a factory hand (worsted) [1851].

Around 1827, he married Mary [1808-18??].


Mary was born in Ovenden
 

Children:

  1. Susannah [b 1827]
  2. John [b 1829] who was a wool comber [1851]
  3. Joseph [b 1831] who was a power loom weaver (worsted) [1851]
  4. Mary [b 1835] who was a power loom weaver (worsted) [1851]
  5. Matthew [b 1836] who was a factory hand (worsted) [1851]
  6. Abraham

The family lived at

  • Mixenden Stones [1841]
  • Mixenden Lane [1851]

Skelton, AbrahamRef S1089
[1838-1???] Son of Abraham Skelton.

Born in Ovenden.

He was a factory hand (worsted) [1851] / a worsted spinning overlooker [1881] / a farmer [1891].

In [Q2] 1866, he married Ann Stables [1848-1???] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Huddersfield
 

Children:

  1. Hanson [b 1868] who was a worsted spinner [1881], a wheelwright [1911]
  2. Harry

The family lived at

  • Hays Lane, Ovenden [1881]
  • Upper West Scausby Farm, Ovenden [1891]

Skelton, Albert EdwardRef S1299
[1895-1916] Son of Fred Albert Skelton.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of the R. E. S. Gymnasium / an oiler (silk spinning) [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1914], and served as a Sergeant with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was killed in action [15th September 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [28th October 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 11C & 12A], and on the Memorial at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax.

His brother Hubert also died in the War

Skelton, ArthurRef S1316
[1897-1918] Son of John Skelton.

Born in Greetland.

He was a member of Thornfield United Free Methodist Church, Greetland & Sunday School / a member of Greetland Liberal Club / a worsted doffer [1911].

He lived at 13 Spring Lane, Greetland.

During World War I, he enlisted [2nd September 1916], and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Royal Scots Fusiliers.

He was killed by a shell during an advance [27th September 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th October 1918].

He was buried at Hermies Hill British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II D 13].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland, and on the Memorial at Greetland Liberal Club.

Skelton, EdwinRef S243
[1845-1908] Son of Ann & William Skelton, a coal miner from Barnsley.

Born in Barnsley.

He was stationmaster at Holmfield Railway Station [1881].

On 18th January 1877, he married Ann Rebecca Wing [1857-1940] in Spittlegate, Grantham, Lincolnshire.


Ann Rebecca was the daughter of Jane (née Kirk) [1827-1882] & Vincent Wing [1828-1856]
 

Children:

  1. Alice Maud Mary [1879-1933] who married Ernest Edwin Mann
  2. George Harold

The family lived at Holmfield Station House [1881].

He died in Croydon [14th November 1908]

Skelton, Fred AlbertRef S1307
[1868-1904] Born in Halifax.

He was a drayman (railway company) [1901].

In [Q3] 1892, he married Louisa Collins [1869-19??] in Halifax.


Louisa was born in Halifax.

She was a railway waiting room attendant [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Hubert
  2. Albert Edward
  3. Dorothy [b 1898] who was a worsted winder [1911]
  4. Eva [b 1901]

The family lived at

  • 24 Fife Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 4 Dean Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 7 Bright Street, Sowerby Bridge [1916]

Fred died in Leeds in 1904 (aged 37).

In 1913, she married Charles Heckingbottom in Halifax.

Sons Hubert & Albert Edward died in World War I

Skelton, George HaroldRef S301
[1882-1971] Son of Edwin Skelton.

Born in Shipley.

On 25th July 1928, he married Emily Elizabeth Robinson [1902-1982] in Addiscombe.

He died in Hailsham, Sussex

Skelton, HarryRef S9
[18??-19??] Councillor for Halifax Ovenden ward [1894]

Skelton, HarryRef S3518
[1856-1???] Butcher and innkeeper at the New Delight, Wainstalls [1881]

Skelton, HarryRef S1054
[1870-19??] Son of Abraham Skelton.

Born in Liversedge.

He was a worsted spinner [1881] / a milk dealer [1891] / a cattleman on farm [1901].

Around 1895, he married Hannah [1871-19??].


Hannah was born in Halifax.

She was a charwoman [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Willie
  2. Ada [b 1898]
  3. Lily [b 1900]

The family lived at 4 Needle Row, Illingworth Moor, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Skelton's (Holywell Green) LimitedRef S2120
Worsted spinners. Recorded in 1950

Skelton, HubertRef S1387
[1893-1916] Son of Fred Albert Skelton.

He was a member of the R. E. S. Gymnasium / a spinning overlooker (woollen mill) [1911] / employed by Clay & Horsfall.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He was killed in action on the Somme [28th October 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th November 1916].

He was buried at Cambrin Churchyard Extension, France [Grave Ref S 16]. and on the Memorial at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax.

His brother Albert Edward also died in the War

Skelton, JamesRef S1768
[1826-1909] Son of John Skelton.

Born in Halifax [26th May 1826].

He was a worsted spinner [1891] / a worsted spinner (employer) [1901] / a worsted spinner at Greaves Mill, Holywell Green [1905].

James married (1) Catherine [1831-1884].

Children:

  1. Janey Maria who died 17th January 1863 (aged 2 years & 3 months) 
  2. Elizabeth Ann who died 20th November 1862 (aged 6 months) 
  3. Sarah Annie [1865-1933] who married [1892] Edgar Pedley

Catherine died in 1884.

Details of Catherine's death & burial place are not yet known.

On 25th November 1885, James married (2) Mary Dransfield [1831-1884] in Barnsley.


Mary was born in Darton [21st January 1831], the daughter of Peter Dransfield, nail maker
 

Mary died 6th March 1884.

In [Q4] 1885, James married (3) Catherine [1846-1924] in Barnsley.


Catherine was born in Darton [10th January 1846], the daughter of Peter Dransfield and sister of James's second wife
 

The family lived at

  • James Street, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1891]
  • Bank Field, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1901]
  • 298 Huddersfield Road Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] was niece Annie Dransfield [b 1882].

James died 2nd June 1909.

Living with the widowed Catherine [in 1911] was nephew Arthur Harding [b 1878] (wool warehouseman).

In [Q2] 1917, Catherine married (2) Isaac Simpson in Halifax.

Catharine died 10th February 1924.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1847]

Skelton, JohnRef S3374
[1794-18??] Son of Joseph Skelton.

Born in Northowram [31st May 1794].

He was an assistant surveyor [1851]

On 16th September 1825, he married Esther, daughter of William Drake, at Southowram.

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [b 1827] who married Job Wainwright
  2. Martha [b 1829]
  3. Dorothy [b 1831]
  4. Henrietta Maria [b 1833]
  5. William [b 1836]
  6. Sarah [b 1841]
  7. Elizabeth [b 1843]
  8. John [b 1845] who was a bookkeeper

The family lived at Butterhouse, Skircoat [1851].

In 1851, living with the family, were grandchildren Jane & Thomas Wainwright, Esther's father William Drake, and aunt Hannah Turner [1770-18??].

John was dead by September 1855, when Esther and her children – Dorothy, William, Sarah, Elizabeth, John and Mary – and Mary's children – Jane and Thomas – sailed from Liverpool to New York aboard the Albert Gallatin.

In 1870, they were living in Chicago.

Esther was buried at Graceland Cemetery, Chicago

Skelton, JohnRef S563
[1872-19??] His father is not recorded on the marriage record.

Born in Liverpool.

He was a labourer of Scarr Bottom, Greetland [1895] / a woollen duler [1901] / a woollen fettler [1911].

In 1895, he married Harriet Bottomley [1871-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Harriet, of Dean Street, Greetland, was born in Sowerby Bridge, the daughter of Thomas Bottomley, pattern maker
 

Children:

  1. Eliza Ann [b 1896] who was a silk spinner [1911]
  2. Arthur Skelton a worsted doffer [1911]
  3. Edgar [b 1899]
  4. Willie [b 1902]
  5. Louisa [b 1904]
  6. Annie [b 1906]
  7. George [b 1909]

The family lived at

  • Brandy Hole, Greetland [1901]
  • 13 Spring Lane, Greetland [1911, 1918]

Skelton, JosephRef S1594
[17??-18??] Of Halifax.

In October 1828, he was declared bankrupt

Skelton, Leslie G.Ref S713
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Air Force.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Skelton, M.Ref S1595
[18??-18??] Woolstapler at Halifax.

In March 1866, he was declared bankrupt

Skelton, SamuelRef S1084
[17??-1807] Son of Samuel Skelton.

On 9th January 1772, he married Mary Jackson [17??-1823] at Pickering.

Children:

  1. Mary who married John Priestley

Skelton, SamuelRef S1086
[1735-1787]

He married Elizabeth [17??-1787].

Children:

  1. Samuel

Elizabeth was buried at Pickering [14th April 1788]

Skelton, ThomasRef S600
[1895-1915] Born in Brampton, Cumberland.

He was a shuttle peg forger [1911].

In [Q2] 1910, he married Betsy Legg [1887-1971] in Todmorden.


Betsy was born in Wolverhampton.

She was a ring spinner (cotton) [1911]

 

They lived at

  • 7 Mitchell Street, Lineholme [1911]
  • 8 Pine Road, Todmorden [1916]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 23rd October 1916 (aged 29).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3C & 3D], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

In [Q2] 1919, Betsy married (2) William Thomas Barritt [1882-1929].

In [Q3] 1932, she married (3) Charles Jennings.

She died in Todmorden in 1971

Skelton, William DanielRef S1263
[1883-1917] Son of Sarah & Thomas Skelton.

Born in Burton-on-Trent.

He was a commercial traveller [1911].

In [Q1] 1907, he married Gertrude Louisa Bentley [1885-19??] in Halifax.


Gertrude was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Frederick William [b 1907]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]

The family lived at

  • 13 Emscote Place, Halifax [1911]
  • 10 Leatham Street, Lee Mount, Halifax

During World War I, he enlisted with the Northumberland Fusiliers, and he served as a Private with the 210th Company Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 30th November 1917 (aged 34).

He was buried at Jerusalem War Cemetery, Gaza) (including Palestine & Israel [Grave Ref Q 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Skelton, WillieRef S1154
[1894-1917] Son of Harry Skelton.

Born in Halifax.

He was employed by I. & R. Charnock & Sons.

He lived at Firth's Buildings, Holmfield.

He had a sweetheart Miss Greenwood of Bradshaw.

During World War I, he enlisted [14th October 1916], and he served as a Rifleman with the 2nd/7th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He and 5 others were killed in action in an attack near Havrincourt in the Battle of Cambrai [21st November 1917].

He was buried at Neuville-Bourjonval British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref E 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Bradshaw War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth

Skew Bridge, TodmordenRef S1829
A popular name for the Gauxholme Railway Bridge

Ski Slope, BoothtownRef S1423
Pule Hill

Skidmore, FrancisRef S476
[1???-18??] Coventry artist who produced the metalwork of the wrought-iron screen and the gates of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill

Skillings, Rev Thomas PercyRef S7000
[1885-1962] Born in Downham, East Anglia.

He was a Methodist layman and baptised at Slaithwaite Baptist Church before becoming Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [1918-1920].

In 1920, he married Elsie Ward in Chesterfield.

He died in Basford, Nottinghamshire

Skinner & GrayRef S2145
Accountants of Halifax. Recorded in 1897 & 1900, when they advertised

Skinner & Gray
Insurance
9 Fountain Street, Halifax

Skinner, ArthurRef S1626
[1874-1934] Son of Thomas Skinner.

Born in Halifax.

He was a stuff presser [1891, 1911].

In [Q3] 1894, he married Annie Firth in Halifax.


Annie was born in Elland, the daughter of William Henry Firth
 

Children:

  1. Elise [b 1895] who was a winder [1911]
  2. Amy [b 1898] who was a spinner [1911]
  3. Tom [b 1901]
  4. Harry [1904-1908]
  5. Arthur [b 1907]
  6. Reginald [b 1908]

The family lived at

  • Egerton Street, Warley [1891]
  • 5 Summer Street, Fenton Road, Halifax [1911]

Annie died in 1932

Arthur died in 1934

The couple & other members of the family () were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Skinner, G.Ref S1185
[18??-19??] Of Lightcliffe. In September 1900r, he broke the Yorkshire Road Club record by riding 168½ miles in 11 hrs 55 mins

Skinner, JohnRef S3591
[18??-19??] He worked for Joseph Brooke & Sons Limited at Hipperholme.

In 1913, he moved to the province of Québec, Canada. He worked in the town of Joliette as engine driver in a quarry there

Skinner, ThomasRef S1627
[1847-19??] Born in Middlesbrough.

He was a stuff presser (worsted manufacturer) [1881] / a stuff presser [1891, 1901, 1911].

He married Emily [1847-19??].


Emily was born in Halifax

In [Q2] 1870, a Thomas Skinner (possibly) married an Emily Lee in Bradford

 

Children:

  1. (possibly) Fred [1871-1873]
  2. Florence [b 1873] who was a worsted drawer [1891]
  3. Arthur
  4. Randolph [b 1876] who was a cotton piecer [1881], a cotton twiner [1901]
  5. Annie [1879-1882]
  6. Ethel [b 1881]
  7. Edna [b 1883] who was a card room hand (cotton) [1901]
  8. Harold [b 1885] who was a stuff presser [1911]

The 1911 census shows that they had had 8 children of whom 5 were still alive at that time.

The family lived at

  • 16 Oates Street, Halifax [1871]
  • 16 Mason Street, Northowram [1881]
  • 18 Egerton Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 38 Edward Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • 11 Warley Road, Halifax [1911]

SkircoatRef S127
District of Calderdale to the south and west of Halifax.

See Population and Parish statistics

Skircoat Board of GuardiansRef S854
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Skircoat township have included

  • George Mawell, Skircoat Moor [1869]
  • William Kershaw, Stafford Place [nominated 1869]

Skircoat Bus Garage, HalifaxRef S2631
Skircoat Road. The offices of Halifax Corporation Passenger Transport – and its successors – were situated next to The Shay on Huddersfield Road, with more bus garages at Elmwood Bus Garage on Shaw Hill

Skircoat constablesRef S2597
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Skircoat

Skircoat Cotton Manufacturing CompanyRef S2106
In 1864, the company built the Salterhebble Mill

Skircoat Floral SocietyRef S3270
Recorded in January 1858, when Frederick Edward Rawson was Treasurer

Skircoat GreenRef S588
Area of Halifax north of Salterhebble.

Skircoat Green Allotments, HalifaxRef S3027
Allotments established on land previously occupied by a market gardener. St Luke's Hospital was built on a part of the land

Skircoat Green Co-OpRef S3128
Branch of the Halifax Co-operative Society opened on 3rd December 1910

See Skircoat Green Co-Op

Skircoat Green Co-Op, HalifaxRef S1578
Branch number 10 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in January 1862.

See Skircoat Green Co-Op

Skircoat Green Working Men's Club & InstituteRef S2708
Recorded in 1905 at 26 Skircoat Green

Skircoat HoardRef S1042
In On 21st May 1915, a hoard of 1075 Roman coins was found at The Rocks by Nancy Berry, Gwendoline Evans, Lilian Nicholl, and Amy Rothwell, girls of Crossley & Porter Orphanage.

The bronze coins had been buried in a heap, perhaps in a bag. The innermost coins had suffered little corrosion and the inscriptions remained clear.

The coins were of many different types, the majority from the reign of Constantine the Great who was declared emperor on the death of his father in 306 AD. Most of the coins were struck between 328 & 345 AD.

The coins were given to Halifax Corporation for display in local museums

Skircoat House, Skircoat GreenRef S309
Built for William Newby in the 18th century. The name was changed Bemerside, Skircoat Green by the second owner, George Haigh, from a couplet in a poem by Thomas the Rhymer:
Tyde what may betide,
Haigh shall be laird of Bemerside
It was subsequently bought by the daughters of Jeremiah Rawson: Emma Sophia, Christiana and Louisa [Mrs Inglis] – and renamed Ravenscliffe. When Christiana married, the sisters moved out of the house.

Edward Crossley bought the property and demolished it to build Bermerside House, Skircoat Green

Skircoat LibraryRef S843
Skircoat Green Road, Halifax. A branch library at Skircoat Green opened on 30th September 1926.

The present building was erected in 1930

Skircoat, Manor ofRef S1104
The manor was held by the Earls of Warren, John Talvas, Hugh de Copley, the Savile family, and Henry Savile [1535]

Skircoat Moor, HalifaxRef S126
Aka Savile Park Recreation Ground, Skircoat Moor, Halifax Moor, Skircoat Common, and The Moor - is an open space of about 73 acres lying just east of Crossley-Heath School

See Savile Park Road, Halifax

Skircoat Overseers of the PoorRef S833
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Skircoat

Skircoat Race CourseRef S1392
Racing took place at Skircoat in 1754

Skircoat Society for the Prosecution of FelonsRef S2178
Prosecution society

Skircoat, Sowerby & Soyland, Prosecution SocietyRef S2180
An 18th century prosecution society

Skircoat Surveyor of the HighwaysRef S7370
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Skircoat included:

Skircoat Ward, HalifaxRef S2823
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax.

See Henry Edmunds, John Hardy and George Henry Smith

Skircoat WorkhouseRef S76

Skirden CloughRef S1518
Stream from Ovenden Moor which feeds Ogden Reservoir

Skirden EdgeRef S925
A part of Ovenden Moor where the wind farm stands

Skirrow & RoebuckRef S2111
Quarry-owners and stone merchants at Park Quarry, Lightcliffe

Skirrow, RobertRef S2957
[1801-1864] Born in Halifax.

He was a watchmaker, clockmaker, jeweller & silversmith at 8 Corn Market, Halifax [1829, 1834], 10 Corn Market, Halifax [1837], 8 Corn Market, Halifax [1842], and Top of Woolshops, Halifax [1851]

He married Elizabeth [1802-18??].


Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

They lived at 8 Southgate, Halifax [1841].

Robert died in Halifax [Q2 1865]

Skitmore, John WillieRef S1131
[1892-1916] Born in Brighouse.

He married 1915 Florence M. Holmes in Halifax.

They lived at 11 Castle Terrace, Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 12th October 1916 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and on Brighouse War Memorial

Skofield, MrRef S1669
[15??-15??] Vicar of Elland [1566]

Skues & WilsonRef S2089
Milliners, feather dressers and artificial florists at 22 Crown Street, Halifax.

The business was established around 1871 by Gill & Lord.

In 1888, the business passed to Mrs Skues and Miss Wilson

Skues Café, HalifaxRef S2809
They had business at Princess Street, Halifax [1904] and Wade Street, Halifax [1936].

Lipton's Grocers was next door

See Oriental Café, Halifax and Richard Skues

Skues, MrsRef S1552
[18??-19??] Partner in Skues & Wilson

Skues, RichardRef S3217
[1???-1???] Proprietor of the Oriental Café, Halifax [1905].

See Skues Café, Halifax

Skues, RichardRef S418
[18??-19??] Publisher of the Halifax Free Press in 1890.

One of the founders of the Halifax Courier [1852]

SkyblazersRef S2169
firework manufacturers at Hollins Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge [2008]

Skylark Farm, OvendenRef S3468
Owners and tenants have included

SlackRef S128
Local name for Heptonstall Slack

Slack, BarkislandRef S3673
Recorded in 1679, when when Joshua Horton left to his son Elkanah property in Thornton, Allerton, Addingham, Hillhouse, Heslegreave, Slack in Barkisland, and Stavery in Sowerby

Slack, Rev BenjaminRef S1199
[1???-1868] Minister of the Todmorden Methodist Circuit for 30 years

Slack Farm, Old TownRef S1182

The Slack, HeptonstallRef S458
Late 18th century house

Slack House, HeptonstallRef S482
Built by James Thomas Berry. He lived here with his family.

The Sutcliffe family enlarged the house when they lived here.

Owners and tenants have included

Slack Top, HeptonstallRef S189

Slackfield Farm, Causeway FootRef S3345
House and barn. Built 1780

Sladdin, Arnold GladstoneRef S1218
[1882-19??] Brighouse architect.

He was at 39 Briggate, Brighouse [1923].

His work includes St Paul's Wesleyan Methodist Sunday School, Brighouse

Sladdin, ArthurRef S1179
[1857-1924] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

He was a well-known flautist. He was conductor of the Brighouse Musical Festival from 1892, and deputy conductor of the Brighouse Choral Society.

He and his brother, James, took over the family business. In 1883, James withdrew and left Arthur as the remaining partner

Sladdin, EdwinRef S284
[1822-1886] Born in Hipperholme.

He was a small wiredrawer [1871] / a wiredrawer [1881].

He married Elizabeth [1826-1???].


Elizabeth was born in Barnsley
 

Children:

  1. Martha Ann [b 1846] who was a skirt maker [1871] and married Alvin Copley
  2. John [b 1854] who was a solicitors clerk [1871], a teacher of music [1881]
  3. Sarah J [b 1856] who was a cigar maker [1871], a teacher of music [1881]
  4. Hannah [b 1865] who was a dressmaker's apprentice [1881]
  5. Mary E [b 1868]
  6. Elizabeth [b 1871]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 23 Gladstone Street, Halifax [1871, 1881].

Living with them [in 1881] was grandson John E. Copley [b 1874]

Sladdin, Edwin ArnoldRef S638
[1888-1916] Son of John Sladdin.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of St Augustine's Church, Pellon / an elementary school teacher / a teacher at St Augustine's School, Pellon / a teacher at St Andrew's School, Brighouse.

During World War I, he enlisted [March 1916], and served as a Private with the 3rd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in Walkergate Fever Hospital, Newcastle, following inoculations [31st March 1916].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell with military honours [3 733].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Brighouse War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Augustine's Church, Pellon

Sladdin, FrankRef S1614
[1854-1910] Son of Robert Sladdin, tailor.

Born in Halifax.

He was a tailor of Stanley Street, Halifax [1891] / a tailor [1891] / a tailor (own account) [1901]

In 1891, he married Clara Hackett [1872-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Clara, of Pulman Street, Halifax, was born in Worksop, Nottinghamshire, the daughter of George Hackett, painter
 

Children:

  1. Constance Emily [b 1893] who was a wool combing box minder [1911]
  2. Millicent [b 1894] who was a chocolate packer (toffee factory) [1911]
  3. Maude Eliza [b 1897] who was a card clother (leather factory) [1911]
  4. Robert
  5. Horace [b 1901] who was a school / newsboy for newsagent [1911]
  6. Marjorie [b 1908]

The family lived at

  • 17 Bruce Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 10 New Bond Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 32 Gerrard Street, Halifax [1911]

Frank died in Halifax in 1910 (aged 56) 

Sladdin, HaroldRef S694
[1???-1???] Son of James Sunderland Sladdin. He carried on the family tailor business, and passed it on to James Edward Sladdin

Sladdin, James EdwardRef S695
[1???-19??] Succeeded Harold Sladdin into the family tailor business. He opened premises in Cleckheaton. He was Founder and sometime President of the Spenborough Chamber of Trade

Sladdin, James SunderlandRef S693
[1851-1932] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a master tailor [1901].

After his father's death, he moved the family tailoring business to premises next to the Civic Hall at 15 Bradford Road, Brighouse. He later opened a shop in Northgate, Cleckheaton.

He is described as dressing elegantly, and was frequently mistaken for King Edward VII. He was a well-known vocalist. He was Treasurer of the Brighouse Musical Festival.

He and his brother, Arthur, took over the family business. In 1883, James withdrew and left Arthur as the remaining partner. James's son, Harold, carried on the family business.

In 1903, James placed a screen in memory of his father Orlando in St Martin's Church, Brighouse.

He married Ellen [1856-19??] from Saltaire.

Children:

  1. Orlando Sunderland [b 1878]
  2. Harold [b 1890]

The family lived at 15 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1901].

See Humphrey Hirst

Sladdin, JohnRef S1243
[1???-17??] Of Ovenden.

In 1749, he published a pamphlet entitled

A brief Description of the Methodists, and a Confutation of their dangerous Principles

Sladdin, JohnRef S1007
[17??-1???] Coiner of Wadsworth

Sladdin, JohnRef S822
[1823-1882] Born in Brighouse.

He was an overlooker of weaving [1851] / landlord of the Coach & Horses, Halifax [1881, 1882].

In 1843, he married Martha Wilson [1821-1887] in Halifax


Martha was born in Halifax.

She was a dress maker [1851]

 

Children:

  1. Rachel [b 1844]
  2. Arthur [b 1850]
  3. Albert Henry [b 1851]

The family lived at Plough Croft, Plough Croft Head [1851].

John died in the Coach & Horses [January 1882].

After his death, Martha took over at the Coach & Horses and was there until her death [1887]

Sladdin, JohnRef S3396
[1854-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a professor of music [1891] / a teacher of music [1911] / organist at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.

In 1883, he married Emily Wilkinson [1857-1922] in Halifax.


Emily was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Edwin Arnold
  2. Bessie Mildred [b 1890]
  3. John Leslie [1893-1969]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 19 Cromwell Terrace, Halifax [1891]
  • 27 Gladstone Road, Halifax [1901]
  • 27 Cavendish terrace, Halifax [1911]

John died in 1917 or 1921

Sladdin, JohnRef S1267
[1879-1917] (Possibly) son of William Sladdin & Mrs Sladdin of 31 Range Lane, Haley Hill, Halifax.

Born in Halifax [Q1 1879].

In [Q4] 1904, he married Isabella Taylor in Leeds.

They lived at

  • 31 King Street, Halifax
  • 14 Charles Place, Charles Street, Quarry Hill, Leeds

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 21st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 10th February 1917 (aged 37).

He was buried at Bray Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref II A 46].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Sladdin, LutherRef S1226
[1882-1950] Born in Halifax.

He was a boiler fitter [1905] / landlord of the Wellington Hotel, Halifax [1933-1944] / landlord of the Shears, West Vale [1944-1947].

On 21st May 1905, he married Annie Dyson [1886-1964] at St Thomas's Church, Greetland.


Annie was born in Greetland
 

Luther died at Coppy Nook, Greetland [14th January 1950].

Annie died in Greetland in 1964.

The couple were buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland [Plot G4]

Sladdin, OrlandoRef S692
[1816-1894] Founded Sladdin's tailors at 7 Bethel Street, Brighouse in 1840.

He was a well-known musician, and, in 1871, he conducted a performance of Judas Maccabaeus by the Brighouse Choral Society.

In 1893, he wrote the music for a composition, to words by James Sutcliffe, to celebrate the incorporation of the Borough of Brighouse.

In 1840, he married (1) Rachel Aspinall in Halifax.


Rachel was the daughter of William Aspinall
 

Children:

  1. Robert
  2. William Henry

In 1849, he married (2) Martha Sunderland [1817-1868] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. James Sunderland
  2. Ann [1853-1926] who married William Workman
  3. John [b 1855]
  4. Arthur

The family lived at Bethel Street, Brighouse [1861, 1871].

He died in 1894.

In 1903, his son, James, placed a screen in his memory in St Martin's Church, Brighouse.

See Squire Aspinall

Sladdin's: Orlando Sladdin & SonRef S2005
Brighouse firm of fashionable tailors known as
the Savile Row Tailors of the North

founded by Orlando Sladdin in 1840.

They had premises at 7 Bethel Street, Brighouse and in Cleckheaton.

In 1861, he employed 2 men and 2 boys.

When he retired in 1881, the business was carried on by his sons, James and Arthur.

In 1883, James withdrew and left Arthur as the remaining partner.

In 1901, Sladdin's were at 15 Bradford Road, Brighouse

Sladdin, RobertRef S906
[1777-1833] Or Sladden.

He was a cordwainer of Hipperholme / a well-known singer in Brighouse.

On 29th May 1806, he married Ann Hemingway from Southowram.

On 25th September 1833, Mrs Sunderland made her début at a benefit concert for his widow

Sladdin, RobertRef S2982
[1841-1???] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

Like others in the family, he was a tailor and an organist [1861]

Sladdin, RobertRef S296
[1897-1918] MM.

Son of Frank Sladdin.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at St Mary's Sunday School & Parkinson Lane Board School / an apprentice to hosier & outfitter [1911] / a cutter [1915] / employed by Mr T. S. Dodd at Portland Street, Halifax.

He lived at 11 Milton Terrace, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted (at the age of 17) in Halifax [March 1915], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 3rd Battalion with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was sent to France with the 2nd Battalion [July 1915].

He received a gunshot wound to the left thigh [September 1915] and was sent back to England, returning to France in December 1915. He received a gunshot wound to the back [1st July 1916] and was sent back to England, returning to France in November 1916.

He was promoted to Lance Corporal [January 1918]. He was awarded the Military Medal for


gallantry & devotion to duty during an enemy attack near Gavrelle on the morning of 28th March 1918. He was in charge of the HQ orderlies and did magnificent work, carrying several messages under very heavy fire during the attack. He showed a splendid example of cheerfulness & energy to the rest of the orderlies and was in no small way responsible for the work they did
 

His photograph appears with reports of his award in the Halifax Courier [15th June & 22nd June 1918].

He survived the War and was demobbed in February 1919

Sladdin, Robert EdisonRef S1520
[1880-1925] Son of William Henry Sladdin.

He was a draper [1901] / a commercial traveller [1911].

In 1901, he was advertising

Caps of every description

for sale at 5 Bethel Street, Brighouse

Sladdin, SusanRef S621
[16??-16??] Also Sladin, Sladen. Of Sowerby.

In 1652, she was arrested and imprisoned at York for the murder of her child

Sladdin's: W. H. Sladdin & Sons LimitedRef S2000
Brighouse manufacturer of shoulder pads and wadding at Crowtrees Mill, Rastrick.

During World War II, they produced seats for RAF aircraft.

See Sladdin's Mill, Rastrick

Sladdin, WilliamRef S1095
[1838-1898] Born in Northowram.

He was a flag facer (stone) [1881] / a flag facer [1891].

In [Q2] 1858, he married Joyce Turner [1838-1???] in Halifax.


Joyce was born in Northowram
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. Elizabeth [b 1864] who was a mill winder (worsted) [1881], a damask weaver (worsted & silk) [1891], a worsted weaver [1901, 1911] and never married
  4. Mary Ann [b 1866] who was a spinner [1881], a winder (worsted & silk) [1891], a tapestry weaver [1901], a worsted weaver [1911], and never married
  5. Emma [b 1868] who was a worsted hand winder [1881], a damask weaver (worsted & silk) [1891]
  6. Joseph [b 1870] who was a stone flag facer [1891]
  7. Eliza [b 1874] who was a winder (worsted & silk) [1891]
  8. Walter [b 1877] who was a spinner (worsted & silk) [1891], a stone hewer (quarryman) [1901]
  9. John [b 1879] who was a spinner (worsted & silk) [1891], a tapestry weaver [1901] – could he be John Sladdin?

The family lived at

  • New Road, Northowram [1881]
  • Clough, Northowram [1891]
  • 3 Back Clough, Northowram [1901]
  • 11 Stump Cross, Halifax [1911]

William died Q4 1898 (aged 61) 

Sladdin, William HenryRef S278
[18??-1???] He had business at Fink Hill Quarry, Hipperholme [1888-1906] and Ashday Park Stone Quarries [1899].

In 1898, he bought Ashday Hall, Southowram.

In 1909, he presented a Screen between the Nave and the Ambulatory at Brighouse Parish Church

Sladdin, William HenryRef S2983
[1845-1918] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a member of Bethel United Methodist Church, Brighouse & Sunday School / a tailor (like others in the family) [1861] / a commercial traveller [1871, 1877] / a manufacturer of specialities for the clothing trade [1911].

In [Q4] 1871, he married (1) Mary Jubb [1839-1875] in Halifax.


Mary was the daughter of Joseph Jubb
 

Children:

  1. Mary Hannah [1872-1875]
  2. Joseph Robert [1874-1875]

Mary died Q2 1875 (aged 36).

In [Q1] 1876, he married (2) Sarah Ann [1842-19??].


Sarah Ann came from Rastrick
 

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy [before 1911]
  2. Faraday Mendelssohn [1878-1953] who was assisting his father in business [1875]
  3. Robert Edison
  4. Arnold Gladstone [1882-1941] who was an architect & surveyor [1911]

The family lived at Mount View, 34 & 36 Lightcliffe Road, Brighouse [1911].

William Henry was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [15th June 1918].

The younger children were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse with their Jubb grandparents.

See Samuel Aspinall

Slade, Charles EdwardRef S647
[18??-1918] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st Battalion Loyal North Lancashire Regiment.

He died 18th April 1918.

He is remembered on the Loos Memorial, France [Grave Ref 89-91], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sladen, AshetonRef S3720
[1819-1888] Born in Halifax.

He was a merchant in foreign hides [1861].

In [Q3] 1859, he married Julia Tillotson [1837-1???] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Walter Percy [b 1849]
  2. Ida Constance [b 1860]
  3. (possibly) Asheton Fitzroy [b 1869]

The family lived at Savile Lodge, Halifax.

He (possibly) died in Epsom [Q1 1888]

Sladen, FredRef S1554
[1854-1925] Son of Joseph Sladen.

He was a cotton piecer [1871] / a watchmaker & jeweller [1881, 1891].

Around 1880, he established a watchmaker and jeweller business at Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge

In 1884, he married Sarah Whitworth [1862-1???] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Joseph Arthur [b 1886]
  2. Irving Whitworth [b 1887]
  3. Jessie Amelia [b 1889]
  4. Marion A. [b 1892]
  5. Reg

The family lived at 19 Pleasant Street, Sowerby Bridge, Warley [1891].

For health reasons, he decided to emigrated to emigrate to New Zealand. In August 1896, he advertised in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle that he was

Selling Off Previous to Going Abroad

and was offering the whole of his well known stock at a discount.

On 26th November 1896, the family set sail from London on the Orient, bound for Sydney, Australia and New Zealand.

In February 1897, he sent a cablegram – published in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle – stating that he had arrived safely at New Zealand.

In 1897, Llewellyn Speak went to Christchurch, New Zealand, to work for Fred.

In 1901, he wrote a letter from Christchurch, New Zealand, which was published in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle.

In 1903, the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle recorded that Fred had sent a donation from New Zealand to Sowerby Bridge Congregational Church.

The business is still active as Fred Sladen & Sons Limited in Christchurch, New Zealand and managed by the family

Sladen, JosephRef S3008
[1829-1862] He was a wool sorter [1861].

In 1852, he married Grace Sutcliffe [1830-1???] in Halifax. The widowed Grace was a laundress [1871].

Children:

  1. Fred
  2. Rachael Ann [b 1862] who was a piecer in cotton mill [1881]

The family lived at

  • Beech Terrace, Sowerby Bridge, Warley [1861]
  • Upper Flatt Head, Soyland [1871]
  • Beech Road, Sowerby Bridge, Warley [1881]

In 1871, the family were living with Grace's widowed mother Ruth Sutcliffe [aged 74] (farmer of 5 acres owner) 

Sladen Lock, TodmordenRef S1068
Lock #44 on the Rochdale Canal

Sladen, ThomasRef S2316
[1787-1853] He was a corn merchant & miller at Mearclough Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1841].

He and his eldest son Thomas Sutcliffe Sladen were in partnership, trading as corn millers and merchants, Mearclough House, Norland. In 1843, the partnership was dissolved.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He married Elizabeth [1788-18??].

Children:

  1. Mary Frances [b 1806]
  2. Thomas Sutcliffe
  3. James Tonge [1812-1835]
  4. Emma [b 1814] who married [1837] George Hicks Seymour, gentleman of York
  5. Amelia [b 1815]
  6. Isabella [b 1816]
  7. Ashton [b 1818] who was a corn merchant and miller [1841]
  8. Mary Elizabeth [b 1824]

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1841] were daughter Emma Seymour and her daughters Isabella Mary [aged 3], Emma Georgina [aged 1] and Ada Jane [aged 2 months], and 4 servants

Sladen, Thomas SutcliffeRef S6000
[1808-1898] Son of Thomas Sladen.

Born at Wood House, near Halifax.

He was an elector in the elections for MPs for the West Riding [1841] / a corn merchant [1851]

He and his father were in partnership, trading as corn millers and merchants, Mearclough House, Norland. In 1843, the partnership was dissolved.

He married Emma [1817-18??].

Children:

  1. Emma Dora [b 1841] who married [1882] John Hallilay in Dorking

The family lived at

  • Elm Cottage, Halifax [?]
  • Elmwood, Halifax [1841]
  • Kersal Bank, Broughton, Salford, Lancashire [1851]
  • Horsham Road, Dorking, Surrey [1881]
  • The Ferns, Church Street, Epsom, Surrey [1891]

Living with them [in 1851] was widowed sister-in-law Mary Ann Halliday [aged 46].

He was living on income from dividends [1881].

By 1891, he was a widower living on own means.

He died in Epsom [17th April 1898].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £894. Probate was granted to daughter Emma Dora Hallilay and William Henry Smith (civil engineer) 

Slate Delfs Farm, Cragg ValeRef S525
The Sugden family were evicted when the Starfish site opened at Slate Delfs Hill during World War II. It fell into dereliction. In the 1990s, it was restored

Slate Delfs Hill, Cragg ValeRef S524
There was a Starfish site here during World War II which was intended to divert German aircraft from the railway station and goods yard at Greetland station, and also from Leeds and Bradford. The site was located to the south-west in the area leading towards Great Manshead Hill.

The decoy consisted of a double line of about a dozen flash pans, where oil would be burned to simulate incendiary bombs. There would also have been decoy lights and shadow buildings, possibly constructed using walling stone from alongside some of the enclosure period tracks in the area. The bunker consists of two rooms either side of a central entrance passage, defended by a high blast screen

Slate Pit Hill Cross, RippondenRef S716
Wayside cross

Slater...Ref S1544
The entries for people & families with the surname Slater are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Slater Bank, Hebden BridgeRef S3371
1, 3 & 5 Eversley Road. House of 1740. Now 3 dwellings

Slater's: E. J. Slater & SonRef S2083
Transport company at Town Hall Garage, Elland.

In 1958, the Proprietors were J. E. Jowett and sons. They had 3 coaches The fleet livery was Ivory/Black

Slater Ing, SlackRef S812
Heptonstall.

Lower Slater Ing is an early 17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

A holiday home for children from the industrial towns and cities was opened here in 1915

Slaters Bank Farm, Hebden BridgeRef S375
Two 18th century dwelling and underdwelling houses.

The underdwellings are of the back-to-earth type

Slaughter Gap, Battle ofRef S435
On 4th January 1644, during the Civil War, Major Eden marched a small Parliamentary force through Sowerby, leaving Captain Helliwell's company to guard his camp. In the earlier Battle of Sowerby Bridge, he encountered the Royalists, killed 3 men and captured Captain Clapham and others.

Captain Farrar and his cavalry, pursued the retreating Royalists towards Halifax, but they went too far, and could not regain their main force at Sowerby Bridge.

Mackworth's outpost at Kings Cross and Senby Edge, blocked the direct route back to Heptonstall, so Farrar appears to have led his men across Halifax Moor and Ovenden Wood, with the intention of crossing the head of Luddenden Dean and the moors at Heptonstall. They were checked at Mixenden and obliged to fight on the slope between Hunter Hill and Mixenden Brook. Portions of gun barrels, locks and flints have been found on Hunter Hill.

The traditional name of the place is Bloody Field and a part of Binns Hole Clough is called Slaughter Gap.

Captain Farrar and 9 men were obliged to surrender and one of the men was killed. 3 of the prisoners were hanged near the Gibbet for deserting from Mackworth's force

Slead Cottage, SouthowramRef S1252
House at 12 Chapel Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Slead Hall, BrighouseRef S132
Halifax Road, Slead Syke.

See Slead Hall Lodge, Brighouse

Slead Hall Lodge, BrighouseRef S3313
Halifax Road, Slead Syke. The 19th century lodge for Slead Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

Slead Hill, SouthowramRef S599
Land at the south side of the junction of Chapel Lane & Church Lane.

Slead House, Southowram is recorded here around 1850.

United Methodist Free Church, Southowram was built here [1859]

Slead House, BrighouseRef S1079
Slead Syke.

A re-used stone dated 1671 suggests that there was an earlier house on the site.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 2 dwellings

Slead House, SouthowramRef S699
Recorded around 1850 at Slead Hill, Southowram

Slead SykeRef S133
Also spelled Sike. An area of Brighouse.

In the early 20th century, there were several proposals for the construction of boys' and/or girls' schools on the site

Slead Syke Nurseries, BrighouseRef S2074
Established around 1864 by Charles Kershaw and his son.

Other members of the family were involved in the business, including Robert Kershaw [1929].

The receiver was called in 1929.

In 1928, Yates's Seed Merchants bought into the business.

The business evolved into Kershaw's Garden Centre – now run by the Yates family – and still stands in Halifax Road, Brighouse

Slead Syke Sports CentreRef S1444
Brighouse. The sports facilities of Brighouse High School. The sports centre opened in 19??


Question: Is there a website with more up-to-date information?

 

Sleap, EdwardRef S8360
[18??-18??] MA.

Educated at Brazenose College Oxford. He was elected headmaster at Heath Grammar School [20th February 1840]

Sleath, William FernieRef S3700
[1886-1965] Born in Leith, Scotland.

He was manager in a typewriter company [1911].

In 1911, he was listed as a visitor staying with the family of Booth Hartley.

In 1918, he married (1) Ann, daughter of Booth Hartley, in Hull.

Ann died 5th February 1919. She was buried at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones.

In 1921, he married (2) Isabella, her sister, in Halifax

Sleddel, JohnRef S2301
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1784]

Sleepy Lowe, Warley MoorRef S8580
Prehistoric stone cairn. Recorded on maps produced in 1850

Sleigh, WilliamRef S3183
[1???-18??] Methodist preacher at Todmorden [1833]

Slinger, AlbertRef S1353
[1855-1911] Born in Northowram.

He was a driller of Boothtown [1883] / a mechanic labourer [1891] / a machine minder (iron) [1901] / an iron driller [1911].

In 1883, he married Emily Wormald [1855-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Emily, of Queens Road, Halifax, was born in Warley, the daughter of
Thomas Wormald
 

Children:

  1. Edith [b 1885]
  2. Annie E [b 1889] who was a worsted spinner (half time) [1901]
  3. Ernest
  4. Ethel [b 1892]
  5. Elsie [b 1893] who was a worsted spinner [1911]
  6. Florry / Florence [b 1895] who was a worsted spinner [1911]

The family lived at

  • Shroggs Road, Ovenden [1891]
  • 14 Staups, Northowram [1901]
  • 34 Holt Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was sister-in-law Amelia Wormald [b  1853] (wool drawing).

Emily died in 1899 (aged 44).

Living with them [in 1901, 1911] was widowed sister-in-law Amelia Simpson.

Albert died Q4 1911 (aged 56) 

Slinger, ErnestRef S1352
[1891-1916] Son of Albert Slinger.

Born in Halifax.

In 1911, he was living at 12 Old Lee Bank, Halifax with his cousin Harry Pollard [b 1886] (worsted operative, roving piler) and his wife Winifred [b Newcastle on Tyne 1887].

He was a member of St Matthew's Church, Northowram / a worsted overlooker [1911] / an overlooker of Boston Street, Halifax [1912] / employed by Thomas Hoyle & Sons Limited at Range Bank.

In 1912, he married Elizabeth Ann Ryans [1892-19??] in Halifax.


Elizabeth Ann, of Wentworth Terrace, Halifax, was the daughter of William Ryans, mechanic
 

Children:

  1. Vera [b 1913]

The family lived at 5 Wentworth Terrace, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [February 1915], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died in a failed attack on Schwaben Redoubt [3rd September 1916].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th November 1916].

He was buried at Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval, France. [Grave Ref V D 9].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

One brother-in-law was killed in action, and another was serving in the War

Slip Inn Restaurant, HalifaxRef S891
Northgate.

Run by Jonathan Potterton [around 1910]

Slippy Lane, MixendenRef S81
There is a clapper bridge over the Hebble here

SlitheroeRef S624
Aka Slithero, Slitherom, Slithrom.

That part of Rishworth where the road bends to cross the Ryburn

Slitheroe Bridge, RishworthRef S165
A large stone and concrete arch carries the Rochdale Road over the Ryburn.

It is the boundary between Rishworth and Soyland townships.

The original bridge was washed away on 16th November 1866, and again destroyed on 10th October 1873.

It presented a dangerous bend for traffic and was rebuilt when the road was widened in 1925.

See Rishworth Station, Rishworth Toll House and Rishworth Trestle Bridge

Slitheroe House, RishworthRef S1781
(Possibly) stood on the site of what was Lower Okes Farm, Rishworth.

Owners and tenants have included

Sloan, CharlesRef S3573
[1???-18??] Tea dealer of Halifax [1834].

On 18th December 1834, he married Hannah Wainhouse at Halifax Parish Church.

He was at 28 Grove Street [1837]

Thomas Sloan was a tea dealer at 25 Church Street [1837]

Sloan, EdwardRef S1235
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Sloan, PeterRef S1190
[18??-1917] Born in Liverpool.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 21st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [2nd May 1917].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, and on the Memorial at Crossley's Carpets

Sloan, Rev Robert CopelandRef S2253
[18??-19??] Minister at Trinity Road Baptist Church [1908, 1915].

In [Q2] 1901, he married Gertrude May Green in West Ham.


Gertrude May was the daughter of John Green of Manor Park, Essex, and brother of Frank Green
 

They lived at 44 Prescott Street, Halifax [1915]

Sloane, EdwardRef S1380
[18??-18??] Of Halifax. In 1849, he published Essays, Tales & Sketches. He was an acquaintance of Branwell Brontë

Slode, WainstallsRef S528
Or Sload.

Owned by the Holdsworth family.

17th century house dated ISF 1662 for Sarah (née Holdsworth) & Jacob Farrar.

SlumsRef S1137

Slurring Rock, Hebden BridgeRef S140
Large boulder at Hardcastle Crags. Victorian children used to slurslide – down the rock in their metal-shod clogs

Sly, JohnRef S2852
[1857-19??] Born in Mickley, Yorkshire. Landlord of the Ring O' Bells, Rastrick [1901].

He married Mary [1859-19??] from Scotland

Smailes, Rev G.Ref S1296
[19??-19??] He served at Reading before becoming Minister at Lightcliffe Congregational Church [1960]

Smales, WalsdenRef S2909
Robert Law & Company owned 4 cottages at Smales.

In 1842, the cottages were occupied by James Greenwood, William Butterworth, James Pickup and John Woodhead

Small Lees, SoylandRef S770
House. John del Smaleleghes is mentioned in 1361.

The Crossley family were later associated with the house. Thomas Crossley of Smallots and Edward Crossley of Smaleyes in Sowerby are mentioned in 1535. John Crossley lived here in the early 17th century.

The house is dated IMC 1656 for Martha and John Crossley who rebuilt the house.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

See Far Small Lees, Soyland, Small Lees Mill, Soyland and Upper Small Lees, Soyland

Small, RichardRef S530
[1878-19??] He was a carpet mill worker [1910]

He married Martha Ann Hirst.


Martha Ann was the daughter of
John Hirst
 

In 1905, they migrated to the USA.

Children:

  1. Winifred Alice Mary [1909-1911] who died in Firthcliffe, USA aged 2 years & 6 months

The family lived at Firthcliffe, USA [1910].

Living with them [in 1910] were Martha Ann's sister Nancy Hirst [aged 29], niece Anna Smith [aged 22] and boarder Robert Campbell [aged 20], all of whom were employed in the carpet works.

Daughter Winifred is remembered on her grandparents' grave at Brighouse Cemetery

Small Wiredrawers' SocietyRef S2171
Halifax. Recorded in 1892.

See Halifax Wiredrawers' Association and Wire drawing

Smalley, HenryRef S6921
[1862-19??] Born in Chesterfield.

He was a bank caretaker [1911].

In [Q4] 1885, he married Sarah Strudwick [1859-19??] from Godalming, Surrey, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Robert Henry [b 1892] who was an apprentice books & fancy goods [1900]
  2. Annie [b 1896]

The family lived at 9 Crossley Street, Halifax [1911]

Smallpage, SamuelRef S46
[1???-1757]

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church [31st July 1757]

Smallpage, SamuelRef S3676
[17??-1788] He (possibly) married Hannah [1732-1815].

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church [6th August 1788]

Smallwood, JamesRef S1168
[1885-1917] Son of Jonathan Smallwood.

He was a member of Coley Church / a member of St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe / a stable boy [1901] / farming and driving [1911] / a taxi proprietor / a farm worker.

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1916], and served as a Guardsman with the 2nd Battalion Grenadier Guards.

He was killed in action [1st August 1917] (aged 32).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [25th August 1917].

He was buried at Artillery Wood Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IV E 20].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint John the Baptist, Coley, on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe, on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Coley War Memorial

Smallwood, JonathanRef S1204
[1844-1???] Son of Thomas Smallwood, farmer.

Born in Sutton on Derwent, Yorkshire.

He was a farmer of Hipperholme [1874] / a farmer of 20 acres employing 1 man [1881] / a farmer & cab proprietor (own account) [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1874, he married Frances (Fanny) Sucksmith [1844-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Fanny was born in Hipperholme.

Her father was not recorded on the marriage documents

 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1875]
  2. Margaret / Maggie [b 1876] who was a dressmaker [1891, 1901] & married Henry Green
  3. Annie [b 1879] who was a dressmaker [1901]
  4. Thomas [b 1881] who was a driver [1901], a currier [1911]
  5. Mary [b 1883]
  6. James
  7. William [b 1888] who was a butcher boy [1901]
  8. John Stanley [b 1891] who was farming and driving [1911]

The family lived at

Smallwood, PercyRef S649
[1895-1918] Born in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 1st October 1918.

He was buried at Bellicourt British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VII C 2].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Smallwood, WilliamRef S2682
[18??-18??] Cab proprietor at Whitehall, Hipperholme [1922]

Smart, Rev D. A.Ref S1319
[19??-19??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1956]

Smeakin Hill, WadsworthRef S1178
Or Smeekin Hill. Wadsworth War Memorial stands here

Smeaton'sRef S938
Cotton manufacturers at Phoebe Lane Mills [1911]

Smedley, JohnRef S3181
[1???-18??] Methodist preacher at Sowerby Bridge [1833]

Smeed, Rev V. R.Ref S2250
[18??-19??] Pastor at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel [1909, 1915]

He resigned on 3rd October 1915

Smeeton, George FrederickRef S1324
[1837-1890] Born in Congleton. He moved to Halifax around 1860.

He was an ironmonger employing 2 boys [1861] / an ironmonger employing 2 men, 2 apprentices [1871] / a cotton doubler employing 10 men, 12 women and 20 children [1871] / a cotton spinner and cotton yarn manufacturer at Stoney Royd Mills, Halifax [1874, 1881] / a cotton doubler employing 120 hands [1881] / a provisional director of the Stoney Royd Spinning Company Limited [1881]

In 1859, he married Ann, daughter of Thackrah Mills, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William Mills [b 1860]
  2. Charles Henry [b 1864]
  3. Emma Jane [b 1867]
  4. Ellinor Maud (Ellen) [b 1872]
  5. Edward Leaf [b 1875]

The family lived at

  • Old Market, Halifax [1861]
  • 1 Fountain Street, Halifax [1871]
  • Savile Park, Halifax [1874]
  • Grafton Lodge, Halifax [1881]
  • 13 Dean Street, Layton, Blackpool [1891]

He died at South Shore, Blackpool

Smeeton's: W. M. Smeeton LimitedRef S2295
Cotton spinners and doublers at Stoney Royd Mills, Halifax [1905].

Established by William Mills Smeeton

Smeeton, William MillsRef S2647
[1860-1940] Born 8th November 1860.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School [1873].

Established W. M. Smeeton Limited.

He was listed as a provisional director of the Stoney Royd Spinning Company Limited [1881].

On 28th December 1898, he married Margaret Anna Conington in Horncastle, Lincolnshire.

He died (possibly) in Kingsclere, Hampshire [28th May 1940]

Smelt, HenryRef S1400
[1605-1630] On 31st March 1630, he and Christopher Singleton - both natives of Halifax – Charles Rochester [28] a native of Leeds, and George Rocliffe [33] a native of Doncaster, were executed at the Tyburn for coining base money in Walmgate, York. Their bodies were buried at St Sampson's Churchyard, York

Smelt, OliveRef S380
[1924-2011] Peter Sutcliffe – the Yorkshire Ripper – was accused of the attempted murder of Mrs Smelt when she was attacked at Boothtown in August 1975. Mrs Smelt had been for a night out with friends, and had been given a lift and dropped off to get fish and chips to take home. Sutcliffe accosted her in an alley and remarked on the bad weather before striking a blow on her head which severely damaged her skull. She recovered from the injuries.

She was the first to indicate that the murderer did not have a Geordie accent

The man who spoke to me and who I believe attacked me was not a very well-spoken man and sounded like a Yorkshireman

Smethurst, E. C.Ref S143
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Croft, Norland.

He was injured – head and side badly cut – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, but was treated at home

Smethurst, J. H.Ref S326
[18??-1???] Designed Sowerby Bridge Baths

Smethurst, MrRef S1123
[16??-16??] Curate at Cross Stone [1650-1652] and Curate at Southowram [1656-1661]

Smisson, Rev E. A.Ref S1271
[18??-19??] Minister at Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [1926].

In 1926, he moved to Bradford

Smit-Asquith Diamond Cutting Factories LimitedRef S2407
Established during World War II to process industrial diamonds.

See Asquith's and Rotadop Limited

Smith...Ref S18
The entries for people & families with the surname Smith are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Smith & BeaumontRef S3860
They had a business at Sandbed, Hebden Bridge [around 1950].


Question: Does anyone know anything about the business or Messrs Smith & Beaumont?

 

Smith & BoothRef S2084
Carriage builders at West Parade Carriage Works, Halifax [1878]

At the Halifax Fine Art & Industrial Exhibition of 1882, they won the Silver Medal for their products.

See Robert Smith

Smith & BulmerRef S2018
Wool re-combers of Bailiff Bridge. During World War II, they made explosives for the Ministry of Defence. They occupied mills on what is now the Branxholme Trading Estate

See Smith Bulmer & Company Limited

Smith & CompanyRef S2128
19th century manufacturers at Victoria Soap Works, Boothtown.

They produced

Smith's "Wash-Easy" Dry Soap – positively the greatest washing-day boon ever invented to lighten the labours of the busy housewife

Smith & CrawshawRef S2107
Hebden Bridge tea-dealers and grocers of the 19th century

Smith & FosterRef S3665
Brewers at Halifax.

They acquired the business of Peter Beck at Stone Trough Brewery.

Partners included J. Foster and E. Smith.

Recorded in April 1862, when when a newspaper announced that the fixtures and fitting at their Admiral Nelson pub at Bowling, Bradford were their property, and not Sarah Thornton's, the occupier.

In November 1862, the partnership was dissolved, and the business was taken over by Lupton, Charnock & Company

Smith & GreenwoodRef S2575
Quarry owners at Southowram. The business was subsequently acquired by Brookes' Limited

Smith & HansonRef S1103
Worsted spinners at Woodside Mills, Halifax [1911]

Smith & HillRef S1346
Fish merchants in Halifax Market Hall [1915], Piece Hall [1936].

See J. W. Smith

Smith & ParnellRef S3276
London architects. Partners included Alfred Smith and Parnell.

Locally, their work included Manor Heath Mansion

Smith & PeelRef S3141
Worsted manufacturers at Shelf. Partners included Samuel Peel

Smith & SimpsonRef S2064
Shuttle manufacturers at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1905]. Partners included Fred Smith and William Henry Smith

Smith & WilshawRef S2247
Machine tool makers at Kingston Lathe Works, Halifax [1905]

Smith Art Gallery & Library, BrighouseRef S138
Halifax Road. Originally the Rydings was a private house built in 1841 by John Brooke.

The Art Gallery was designed by R. F. Rogerson and opened in 1906. This was the first purpose-built gallery in Calderdale.

See Library, Brighouse Art Circle and Halifax Central Library

Smith's: B. S. S. Smith & Sons LimitedRef S2097
Brass manufacturer at Stannary Works, Halifax.

In 1912, they were authorised to manufacture and certify standard water fittings

Smith, Barker & Willson LimitedRef S2098
Ovenden engineering company founded by Fred Smith, Edwin Barker, and George Willson following the industrial unrest of 1897.

They were at Raglan Street, Halifax [1902] and Ovenden [1915].

Except for a period in the 1920s, they manufactured lathes.

In 1935, they used the slogan

We make nowt but lathes

They were at Forest Mill, Ovenden [1905] and Club Lane [1916].

Smith died in 1905. Barker retired in 1912, and his position was filled by J. Richardson.

In 1932, the partnership was dissolved and Willson Lathes Limited was established

Smith's Botanical Gardens, RastrickRef S256
Thornhill Road. The 19th century company produced non-alcoholic drinks. They are probably best remembered for their earthenware jars

Smith BrothersRef S2347
Drysalters, copperas and chemical manufacturers at Siddal [1874]

Smith, Bulmer & Company LimitedRef S1994
Worsted spinners, woolcombers, topmakers and dyers established at Holmfield Mills, Ovenden and Keighley Mill, Pellon Lane, Halifax in 1914.

Established by Sam Smith and James William Bulmer.

During World War I, many orders were cancelled and in 1916, the partnership was dissolved. Smith acquired Clough Mills at Shelf and established Sam Smith (Shelf) Limited. Bulmer continued as sole owner of the business.

The company had works at Branxholme Mills, Brighouse, Holmfield Mills, Ovenden, Keighley Mill, Pellon Lane, Halifax, Hare Street Mills, and Woodfield Mill (Cullingworth)  with warehouses at Akroyd Place and in Bradford, and offices at Palmerstone Buildings, Bradford.

It became a limited company in May 1923.

In 1949, officers of the company included A. E. Ellison of Leeds [Chairman], Ambrose Cockcroft [Managing Director], and William Cockcroft, Charlton Robson, and Henry Rycroft [directors].

In the 1960s, the company was bought out by Parkland Textiles.

The name was later changed to Yorkshire Yarn Dyers.

See John William Bulmer

Smith's: Clarence Smith LimitedRef S2924
Carpet retailers at 95-97 Northgate, Halifax [1936]. Established by Clarence Smith

Smith's: David Smith & Company LimitedRef S2082
Colonial and English wool and noil merchants, top makers, and extractors by new processes and patent machinery.

Established by David Smith [1867].

It became a limited company in 1872.

They had business at Kensington Works, Siddal [1871, 1874, 1905], a warehouse at Square, Halifax, and another warehouse in Bradford.

They were known for their patent Niagara wool scouring and washing machine.

In 1890, officials of the company included David Smith (Snr) [Governing Director], John Smith [Director], Joseph Smith [Director], Isaac Smith [Director], Thomas Smith (Jnr) [Director], David Smith [Director], H. E. Greenwood [Managing Director], Thomas Greenwood [Managing Director], Thomas Platt [Salesman], and Thomas Clay [Salesman]

Smith's Drug CompanyRef S2054
Chemists and photographic materials dealer at Whitehall, Hipperholme [1905]

Smith's: Ely Smith & CompanyRef S2134
They had business at Clay House Mills, Greetland [1900].

The business closed in 1901.

See William Stott

Smith's: Frederick Smith & CompanyRef S2015
Wire-making company founded for the production of cards for the textile industry in 1859 by Frederick Smith at Caledonia Wire Mills, Charlestown Road, Halifax

Smith's: G. & A. SmithRef S2066
Drapers, mercers, hosiers and glovers established around 1890 by G. Smith and A. Smith. They had 2 shops at the junction of 33-34 Commercial Street, and 1 Church Street, Brighouse

Smith Hodgson & Company (Printers) LimitedRef S988
Printers at Clifton Road, Brighouse [1927]

Smith's Homes, RastrickRef S2278
In 1916, William Smith bought the Boothroyd estate to set up an orphanage for girls. This opened in 1920. It admitted boys and was known as Smith's Homes.

In his will, Smith left an annual sum of £100 to the Homes for scholarships for 2 females at the University of Leeds.

The last children left the Homes in 1959.

Since 1961, it has been the William Henry Smith School, a special school for boys with behavioural and other problems

Smith House Co-operative Store, BrighouseRef S2684
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited opened at Smith House Avenue in 192?. It served the Smith House housing estate. It closed in 19??.

It is now a convenience store

Smith House housing estate, BrighouseRef S490
Housing estate built upon a part of the Crow Nest estate. The land had been acquired for £2,400. 39 houses were to be ready for July 1921. 148 houses opened in July 1929.

The community centre became derelict and was demolished in 197?.

In 1974, Frank Clayton, Calderdale's chief housing officer, said that

demolition could be a viable alternative to improving the houses

The estate now includes Smith House Avenue, Smith House Close, Smith House Crescent, Smith House Drive, Smith House Grove and Smith House Lane - a nightmare for the postman and delivery men

Smith House, LightcliffeRef S251
A timber-framed house on the site of an earlier 15th century aisled house occupied – and renamed – by the Smyth family.

See Lightcliffe House, Little Smith House, Lower Crow Nest, Brighouse and E. L. Schlicht

Smith House Post OfficeRef S2838
Opened at Smith House Avenue in 1930s. It was extended to include a convenience store. It serves the Smith House housing estate

Smith's: J. Smith & SonRef S1265
Furniture dealers.

In 1901, they had business at Bethel Street, Brighouse and Stainland Road, West Vale

Smith's: John & Howorth SmithRef S2898
Painters at Todmorden.

Partners included John Smith and Howorth Smith.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1854

Smith's: John Smith & SonsRef S572
In 1868, John Smith and his son, William a woollen manufacturing business at Badger Hill Mills.

On John's death, his sons William, Edward and Albert, and J. I. Mortimer established John Smith, Sons & Mortimer here.

It had become the largest woollen manufacturer in the district by 1922 when William died.

In 1970, some of the older buildings at Badger Hill Mills were badly damaged by fire.

The newer parts of the mills escaped damage, but it was decided to dismantle the old chimney which developed a bad crack in the fire.

However, the demolition went wrong, the chimney fell the wrong way and came down on top of the one remaining mill, destroying the new spinning shed and the new machinery. The insurance did not cover the cost of reconstructing the property.

The business closed, and the operation moved to Gosport Mills, Stainland.

Shortly afterwards, the business went into liquidation [1974] closed entirely

Smith's: John Smith, Sons & MortimerRef S2069
After the death of John Smith, his sons William, Edward and Albert, took over the family business at Badger Hill Mills, Rastrick.

They were joined by J. I. Mortimer and the business became John Smith, Sons & Mortimer

Smith's: Jonathan Smith & SonsRef S2094
They had business at Cripplegate, Halifax [1882]

Smith's: Joseph Smith & SonsRef S2116
Woollen manufacturers established by Joseph Smith.

They were at North Dean Mill, West Vale [1891 and remained there until World War II].

Partners included Benjamin Smith, William Henry Smith, and Allen Smith.

The partnership was dissolved in 1891 as regards Benjamin Smith

Smith's: Joshua Smith LimitedRef S2024
Cotton manufacturer founded by Joshua Smith at Frostholme Mill, Cornholme. Partners included Randolph Smith and Walter Smith

Smith, Nicholson & West LimitedRef S2026
Wholesale & retail suppliers of tools, equipment & hardware for DIY and for the building trade.

Established when Thomas Smith & Company merged with Nicholson & West Limited.

They had premises at

Smith Orphanage, BrighouseRef S374
Orphanage endowed by William Smith. It was opened on 31st July 1920

Smith's: S. & W. SmithRef S2133
Worsted manufacturers at Warley. In the 1830s, they established a factory school at their mill

Smith's: S. Smith & SonsRef S2220
Yeast and egg importers at Bowman Grove, Halifax [1905]

Smith's: Sam Smith (Shelf) LimitedRef S2052
Spinners at Clough Mill, Shelf established by Samuel Smith [April 1916]

Smith's: Samuel & William SmithRef S2325
Worsted spinners at Denholme Mills, Luddendenfoot and Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot.

Partners included Samuel Smith and William Smith.

On 28th November 1832, there was a fire at one of their mills.

They employed workers, a large percentage of which were young people. It is recorded that

[the workers] worked from 6:00 am to 8:00 pm, but stopped at 5:00 pm on Saturdays. There was a night shift from 8:00 pm to 6:00 am.

The business failed during the unrest of August 1842

Smith Sundial, People's ParkRef S2859
The sundial which stands in People's Park was originally created by John Smith for Pocklington School, North Yorkshire, but was rejected by the school and bought by Matthew Smith. It was presented to the town in 1873.

It has a great many inscriptions, in English, Latin and Greek.

Time by moments steals away; first the hour, then the day

TEMPUS EDAX RERUM

Greek to follow – can you help?

Smith's: Thomas Smith & CompanyRef S2851
Halifax retail ironmongers.

Partners included Harold Tordoff and his brother(s).

They had premises on Southgate / Wards End in Halifax, and a shop in Goole.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Ironmongers & Tool Merchants, Kitchen Ranges, Chimney Pieces in Wood, Iron, Marble and Slate, etc

22 & 24, Broad Street, Halifax

They wanted to focus on their Goole shop and approached Nicholson & West about a merger, to become Smith, Nicholson & West.

The Tordoffs then left the partnership

Smith's: W. H. Smith & SonsRef S1321
Wholesale newsagents at

There are now [2019] no wholesale outlets in Halifax.

When Prince's Arcade, Halifax was demolished and the new building developed, W. H. Smith's opened a store as a retail bookshop and newsagent.

In 2???, the facilities of the Halifax General Post Office moved to the store (similar moves took place in other parts of the UK) 

Smith, Whiteley & GreenwoodRef S2371
Cotton doublers at Lock Hill Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1874]

Smith's: William Smith & Sons LimitedRef S2129
19th century business established by William Smith at Owler Ings Mills, Brighouse and Woodvale Mills, Brighouse

Smith WiresRef S2887
In 1973, Frederick Smith & Company went into liquidation. Royston's parent company – The Hawkins and Tipson Group – bought the business and set up Smith Wires

Smith, Wood & Company LimitedRef S2276
Coal and lime merchants at Victoria Road, Sowerby Bridge.

Established in December 1899 when David Wood & Son amalgamated with Charles & John Smith.

Partners included Joseph Greenwood, Charles Rushworth, Charles Smith, John Smith, and Frederick Wood

Smithers, GeorgeRef S990
[18??-1???] Of Old Sowerby.

In 1840, he emigrated to Pennsylvania, USA.

Letters to his uncle, Titus Spencer describe his farming life and passing messages from other local men who went to live in America

Smithfield, HipperholmeRef S651
The Hipperholme pinfold was here.

See West View, Hipperholme

Smithfield House, EllandRef S3224
Owners and tenants have included

See Smithfield Mill, Elland

Smithfield House, HipperholmeRef S2390
Denholme Gate Road.

The building stands next to West View.

Owners and tenants have included

See Hannah Marian, daughter of William Bottomley Murgatroyd

Smithies...Ref S1194
The entries for people & families with the surname Smithies are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Smithies: J. & J. SmithiesRef S944
Partners included John Smithies and Joseph Smithies.

John William Smithies was a woollen cloth manufacturer with the firm [1871].

In 26th July 1873, a partnership of (possibly) John Dewhurst, William Dewhurst, (possibly) John Smithies, and (possibly) Joseph Smithies - worsted spinners of Halifax – was dissolved.

See Joseph Smithies & Son Limited

Smithies: Jonathan & James SmithiesRef S1193
Worsted stuff manufacturers.

Partners included Jonathan Smithies and James Smithies.

In 1844, the firm was out of business

Smithies's: Joseph Smithies & Son LimitedRef S2115
Worsted spinners established around 1870 by Joseph Smithies – see J. & J. Smithies.

They had business at Perseverance Mill, Elland and Albert Mills, Elland.

They later left the Perseverance Mill and rebuilt a new Albert Mills – after that had burnt down on 7th June 1860. The new 6-storey mill was lit by electricity.

In 1895, they employed around 800 workers.

In 1875, the company built Smithies Buildings for their workers.

The business closed in 1970

Smithies: W. & L. SmithiesRef S1128
Cotton waste dealers at West Vale.

Partners included William Smithies and Levi Smithies.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1877

Smiths & PeelsRef S830
Woollen manufacturers at West Vale.

Partners included Joseph Smith, Joshua Smith, W. Peel and R. Peel.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1868

The Smithson familyRef S1915
Brighouse family. They lived at Lydgate House, Brighouse

Smithson, AgnesRef S3533
[1794-1891] Born at Strickland / Strickland Nuttle.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Joshua
  2. Elizabeth [1820-1893]
  3. Agnes
  4. Joseph

The family lived at

  • Wood Street, Lancaster [1841]
  • with Margaret and John Garnett [aged 67] at 1 Hillside, Lancaster [1851]
  • Sunderland's Yard, Halifax [1861]
  • 19 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1871]

In later years, Agnes and her daughters were staying in Hipperholme with son Joseph.

Agnes died 15th September 1891 (aged 97).

Daughter Elizabeth died 22nd May 1893 (aged 73).

They were buried at the Quaker Burial Ground, Halifax

Smithson, AgnesRef S3000
[1830-19??] Daughter of Agnes Smithson.

In 1911, she was single and living by

private means

at Savile Green, 2 Savile Road, Halifax. There were staff, including 2 sick nurses, at the same address

Smithson & SugdenRef S3129
Tobacco manufacturers at Woolshops, Halifax [1850]

Smithson's: C. & J. Smithson LimitedRef S54
Dress goods manufacturer.

They were at Craven Edge Mills, Halifax [1915, 1936]

Smithson, Charles HolmesRef S3534
[1866-1944] Son of Joseph Smithson.

He and his brother Joseph were pupils at Friends School, Ackworth, Pontefract [1881].

He died in Halifax

Smithson, JohnRef S1083
[1???-16??] Aka Smythson. He was related to the Power family – see John Power. He was a churchwarden at Halifax Parish Church. He built Mulcture Hall, Halifax. He owned considerable properties in Halifax, including the Woollen Hall, the Linen Hall, a corn-shop, several corn mills

Smithson, JohnRef S5670
[1821-1877]

In 1871, he married Sarah Ann Kershaw in Halifax.


Sarah Ann was the daughter of
Charles Kershaw
 

Children:

  1. Oliver Cromwell [b 1872] who married [1871] Rose from Scotland and was a surgeon in Kettering [1901]
  2. Beatrice Jane [b 1874] who married [1898] George Page Siddall [b 1864]
  3. Ambrosine Alicia [b 1875]
  4. Elizabeth Helen [b 1877]

Smithson, JosephRef S3532
[1834-1???] Son of Agnes Smithson.

Born in Ulverston.

He was an apprentice woollen draper [1861] / a manufacturer [1861] / a worsted manufacturer employing 205 workpeople [1871] / a stuff printer [1881, 1891]

In 1860, he married Mary Ann Holmes [1832-1867] at Lancaster.


Mary Ann was the daughter of woollen draper, tailor and brick maker Charles John Holmes [1831-1???]
 

Children:

  1. Joshua [b 1861]
  2. Mary [b 1863]
  3. Charles Holmes
  4. Joseph

The family lived at

Living with them [in 1861] were visitors Sarah Orr or Ord [aged 41] and Maria Orr or Ord [aged 36].

Living with the widowed Joseph [in 1881] were his mother Agnes and sisters Elizabeth and Agnes. Also there were James Smithson [b 1857] Mary Agnes Smithson [b 1855] and Sarah Alice Smithson [b 1859] all shown as unmarried, cotton spinners born Rochdale.

Living with him [in 1891] were three of his children, his mother Agnes and sisters Elizabeth and Agnes. Also there was visitor Elizabeth Garnett [aged 69]

Smithson, JosephRef S3535
[1867-1???] Son of Joseph Smithson.

He and his brother Charles Holmes were pupils at Friends School, Ackworth, Pontefract [1881]

Smithson's: Joseph Smithson & CompanyRef S2717
Stuff manufacturers at Brunswick Mills, Halifax [1874] and at Bradford


Question: Is this the same business as Joseph Smithson Limited?

 

Smithson's: Joseph Smithson LimitedRef S2245
Stuff manufacturers at Bankfield Mill, Haley Hill [1905] and Park Print Works, Halifax [1905]


Question: Is this the same business as Joseph Smithson & Company?

 

Smithson, JoshuaRef S661
[1817-1906] Son of Agnes Smithson.

Born at Preston Patrick, Westmorland.

He was a tea dealer [1841, 1851, 1861] / a cotton manufacturer [1871, 1881, 1891]. He had business at India Buildings, Halifax [around 1900]

He was Chairman of the Hipperholme Local Board.

The family owned Smithson Park at Lightcliffe which was named for them.

In 1855, he married Elizabeth Nash [1820-1888] in Manchester.

They had no children.

In 1841, Joshua was a tea dealer living with Thomas Collinson at Fountain Street, Halifax.

In 1851, he was living with his brother John [aged 26] (tea dealer) and his sisters Elizabeth [aged 31] and Agnes [aged 21] in Gibbet Street, Halifax.

In 1861, Joshua, his wife Elizabeth and a visitor Mary King [aged 37] were at Rotunda Cottage, North Moels, Southport.

The family lived at Lydgate House, Lightcliffe [1871, 1874, 1881].

Living with them [in 1874] was his niece.

Living with them [in 1891] was niece Edith E. Nash [aged 52].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell. The ceremony was performed by Thomas Collinson. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £9,982 13/-. Probate was granted to his nephews Joshua Smithson (the younger), Charles Holmes Smithson, and Joseph Smithson (the younger), stuff manufacturers & printers.

Elizabeth died 10th December 1888 (aged 68) 

She was buried at the Quaker Burial Ground, Halifax

Smithson Park, LightcliffeRef S1337
Named for Joshua Smithson of Lydgate House, Lightcliffe.

In 1922, the Smithsons sold the land at 8d per square yard; a total of £2,000. The money was raised by public donations.

In September 1923, the land was renamed Lightcliffe Stray

Smithwell House, HeptonstallRef S1537
Recorded in 1931, when Edith Horsfall lived there

Smithy Bridge, HalifaxRef S918
Another name for Clark Bridge, Halifax

Smithy Carr Lane Co-operative Store, BrighouseRef S2683
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited opened on 4th July 1914 at the corner of Dewhirst Road and Smithy Carr Lane. It closed in 19??

Smithy Carr Lane Toll Bar, BrighouseRef S51
In the 19th century, there was a toll bar at the junction of Smithy Carr Lane with the Bradford-Brighouse turnpike

Smithy Clough, RippondenRef S4701
House.

Owners and tenants have included

Smithyholme Lock, TodmordenRef S642
Lock #25 on the Rochdale Canal. Built around 1798.

In 19??, was restored with funds from the Halifax Building Society.

See Eli Crossley

Smithysteads, Hebden BridgeRef S3563
An area of Hebden Bridge where Colden Water meets the Calder.

Mytholm is a part of Smithysteads

Smoke ClubsRef S2277
See

Smorthit, JamesRef S1414
[1923-1944] Son of Martha Ann & William Walter Smorthit of Ovenden.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 24th February 1944 (aged 21).

He was buried at Beach Head War Cemetery, Anzio, Italy [Grave Ref XXII B 2]

Smurfit, ThomasRef S3574
[17??-18??] Landlord of the Talbot, Halifax [1809, 1810]

He married Rebecca [1771-1835].

Rebecca was a widow when she died

The Smyth familyRef S1901
They lived at Royd House, Lightcliffe and renamed it Smith House. They lived there for several centuries

Smyth, DavidRef S1388
[1818-1858] Surgeon of Brighouse.

He died 2nd May 1858.

He was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Smyth, JohnRef S1114
[1623-1686] Of Myreshaw.

Son of Richard Smyth. He was a prosperous farmer and woolstapler of Bradford.

He married Isabel Wood, daughter of Randall Wood.

Children:

  1. Mary [1650-1665]
  2. Richard [1652-1721]
  3. John
  4. Thomas [1656-1682]
  5. Alice [1660-1665]
  6. Randall [1658-1682]
  7. Jeremiah [1665-1684]
  8. William [1667-1686]
  9. James [1669-1720]
  10. Mary [1671-1673]

Around 1666, he bought Carr House Farm, Shelf

Smyth, JohnRef S580
[1653-1???] Son of John Smyth.

Born in Bradford.

JP for the West Riding.

In 1709, he bought the Heath estate at Wakefield, where he had extensions done by John Carr between 1754-1780.

On 11th October 1683, he married (1) Hannah Harrison.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Richard
  3. Elizabeth [1690-1705]
  4. Hannah [1691-1775] who died unmarried
  5. Thomas [1692-1693]

In 1697, he married (2) Mary Mitchell.

In September 1708, he married (3) Henrietta Metcalfe.

In 1726, he founded Smyth's Charity School.

In his will, he directed his son, John, to pay 40/- per year to the Vicar of Halifax for preaching a charity sermon, and 40/- to buy books and Bibles for the children at the charity school.

He was buried at Wakefield

Smyth, JohnRef S1116
[1715-1771] Son of Richard Smith.

On 6th May 1746, he married Bridget Foxley [1725-1800].


Bridget was the daughter of Benjamin Foxley of London
 

Children:

  1. John

Smyth, JohnRef S1117
[1748-1811] PC, MP.

Son of John Smyth.

He was Lord of the Admiralty / Lord of the Treasury / Master of the Mint / MP for Pontefract [for 25 years].

In 1776, he sold Carr House Farm, Shelf to John Stocks

On 4th June 1778, he married Lady Georgina Fitzroy [1757-1799].


Georgina was the eldest daughter of Augustus Henry, 3rd Duke of Grafton
 

Children:

  1. John Henry [1779-1779]
  2. John Henry
  3. George [1782-1853]
  4. Thomas [b 1784] who became a captain in the Royal Navy
  5. Charles [1786-1815] who became a major in the Army
  6. Georgiana Ann [1779-1864]
  7. Caroline Bridget [1789-1789]
  8. Maria Bridget Frances [1796-1813]

Smyth, John GeorgeRef S2770
[1815-1869] Of Heath Hall, Wakefield.

Son of John Henry Smyth

He married Diana Bosville Macdonald [1812-1880].


Diana was the daughter of Godfrey Macdonald, 3rd Baron Macdonald of Slate
 

Children:

  1. Laura Harriet [b 1840]
  2. George John Fitzroy [b 1841]
  3. Henry Edward [1842-1850]
  4. Mary Caroline [b 1844]
  5. William James [b 1847]
  6. Frederick Augustus [1850-1850]
  7. Eva Laura [b 1854]
  8. Diana Elizabeth Matilda [b 1858] who married Henry Lascelles, 4th Earl of Harewood

Smyth, John HenryRef S2769
[1780-1822] Of Heath Hall, Wakefield.

Son of John Smyth.

On 25th July 1810, he married (1) Sarah Caroline Ibbetson [17??-1811] from Northumberland.

On 16th April 1814, he married (2) Lady Elizabeth Anne Fitzroy [1788-1867].


Elizabeth Anne was the third daughter of George FitzRoy, 4th Duke of Grafton, and John Henry's first cousin
 

Children:

  1. John George
  2. Henry [1816-18??]
  3. Elizabeth Sarah
  4. Louisa Georgiana [18??-1842]
  5. Maria Isabella [18??-1865]
  6. Frances [18??-1872]

Smyth, RichardRef S1115
[1594-1656] Of Myreshaw.

He married (1) Margaret Hodgson.

Children:

  1. Richard [1622-1640]
  2. John
  3. Thomas [1622-1661]
  4. Margaret [1621-1640]

He married (2) Lucretia Pearson [1605-1689] from Bradford.

Children:

  1. Margaret who married John Sandal from Idle

Smyth, RichardRef S577
[1688-1730] or Smith.

Son of John Smyth.

On 24th July 1711, he married Anne Wheatley, at Woolley.


Anne was the daughter of Francis Wheatley of Woolley
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Richard [1718-1719]
  3. James [1719-1719]
  4. Thomas [1724-1763] who became rector of Hemsworth

Smythe Bridge, SouthowramRef S673
A will of January 1533 mentions
townshipe of Southowrame bye Smythe Brigge

although the precise location is unknown

Smythe, MissRef S8710
[18??-1???] First headmistress of the Halifax High School for Girls [January-September 1877]

Snaith, Rev JohnRef S1014
[1836-1923] Born in Cumberland.

Primitive Methodist Minister at Halifax [1884]

Snake Hill Ford, RastrickRef S148
Snake Hill.

Near Birds Royd Lane and just beneath the Huddersfield Road bridge over the Calder.

The ford river crossing from Snake Hill to Low Mill was the site of an important ford across the Calder in Roman Times. Stepping-stones – known as Black gress – are recorded in 1300.

There is also a weir here.

The ford is still passable – except when the Calder is in flood.

See Snake Hill Meeting House, Rastrick and Snake Hill, Rastrick

Snake Hill, RastrickRef S1285
Aka Scar Mill Cliff, Rastrick & Miln Cliff, Rastrick

The ford Snake Hill to Low MillSnake Hill Ford – was an important river crossing across the Calder in Roman Times.

See Calder Bank Mills, Rastrick

Snake Hill Wood, Lee MountRef S1478

Snakes' Nest, EllandRef S1162
A men's reading room and news room which stood at the junction of Westgate and Jepson Lane.

Closed around 1910

Snape FarmRef S806
See Lower Snape Farm, Sowerby and Upper Snape Farm, Sowerby

Snape, J.Ref S1139
[1918-1944] Son of Kate & Thomas Snape of Mytholmroyd.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the Royal Air Force.

He died 27th June 1944 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Alamein Memorial, Egypt [Grave Ref 280]

Snedall, ThomasRef S3407
[15??-1619] Gent of Halifax.

He married Anne [15??-1638].

In his will of 16th September 1619, he left

unto godly uses, five pounds to be bestowed according to the discretion on my overseers

In her will, Anne bequeathed

20s per annum for an anniversary sermon to be preached at Halifax Church, and a legacy of £20 which, with £11 added by Dr Hooke, was invested in purchasing the closed behind the vicarage house

The couple were buried in Halifax Parish Church

Snell, Bertie ColleyRef S1260
[1894-1917] Son of T. Snell of Leeds.

Born in Holbeck, Leeds.

He was a police constable at Halifax.

In 1915, he married Florence Betts [1892-1972] in Halifax.


Florence was born in Halifax
 

They had no children.

They lived at 8 New Bond Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as an Acting Bombardier with the 63rd Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died 1st November 1917 (aged 23).

He was buried at La Brique Military Cemetery No.2, Belgium [Grave Ref I O 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Snepp, Rev EdwardRef S1209
[1827-1899] MA.

Born in Alcester, Warwickshire.

He was Domestic Chaplain to the Lieutenant-Governor, Lezayre, Isle of Man [1861]. before becoming Vicar of St Paul's Church, Halifax [1865, 1881, 1891]. In 1892, he was appointed vicar of Burstow, Kent.

In 1847, he married Anna Neville Spong [1830-1915] from Aylesford, Kent, in Richmond, Surrey.

Children:

  1. Edward Maitland [b 1849]
  2. Charles George [b 1851]
  3. Anna Emily Mary [b 1852] (Nina) who married Wallace Lea Norris
  4. John [b 1854]
  5. Fanny Edith [b 1856]
  6. Charlotte Mary Beatrice [b 1859]
  7. Rosa Julia [b 1860]
  8. Mona [b 1861]
  9. Rowan L [1864-1916]
  10. Sydney Maude [b 1866]

The family lived at

Snetzler, John (Johann)Ref S149
[1710-1785] Organ-builder.

Born in Schaffhausen, Switzerland.

He was apprenticed in Passau before coming to work in England. By 1747, he was established in London. He visited Halifax in the 1760s.

He built several local organs:

Snook, HarrietRef S816
[1830-1927] Daughter of Mary (née Hawkins) & John Snook, of Somerset.

She married General James Bintliff in New York. She died in Cleveland, Ohio

Snow Booth Farm, Hebden BridgeRef S1244
See Agnes Rhodes

Snow Hill, RishworthRef S532

The Snow of 1947Ref S2960
There have been a great many snowfalls in and around the district, but the one of 1947 is the one that they still talk about

See Rev Robert Martineau

Snow, Rev ThomasRef S2596
[1821-1???] Born in York.

He was Curate at Greetland [1859] / Chaplain of the Halifax Union Workhouse and of the Debtors' Gaol [1860, 1867].

In [Q2] 1849, he married (1) Matilda Collins [1814-1864] in Leeds.


Matilda was born in Knowle, Warwickshire
 

Children:

  1. Thomas C. [b 1852]
  2. John Collins [1856-1867]
  3. Fanny [d 1860] who died in infancy and was buried with her parents

Matilda died 31st March 1864 (aged 40) 

In [Q2] 1865, he married (2) Edith Jane Nixon in Halifax.

Children:

  1. William [b 1867]

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Snow White Laundry, TodmordenRef S2140
Established in 1955 by Reg Hargreaves. This was one of several laundries and dry-cleaning businesses in the area run by Reg and his business partner, Lou Orton. After Reg's death in 1955, Lou continued the businesses, until he emigrated to Australia in 1963.

They occupied the building which had been Todmorden Post Office.

The premises are now offices

Snowden, Charles HenryRef S1156
[1873-1945] Son of Mr Snowden.

He married Annie O'Brien [1876-1941].

Children:

  1. George Albert

Snowden, CorronettaRef S513
[1860-1961] Or Coronetta.

Daughter of George Snowden.

Born in Doncaster.

She lived in Elland.

In 1878, she married (1) Abraham Dixon.

Abraham died in 1892 (aged 33).

In 1894, she married (2) Joseph Mallinson.

Joseph died in 1910 (aged 48).

In [Q4] 1912, she married (3) John Holgate.

In [Q4] 1924, she married (4) Sam Dodson [1869-1943].

On 25th September 1915, the Halifax Courier published an article about Corronetta's sons – Alonzo, Kalita, Everett, Roland, Albert, and Thomas - who were all on active service during World War I.

Corronetta died in 1961 (aged 100) 

Snowden, FrankRef S1047
[1???-19??] He was landlord of the Fleece, Ripponden [1933-1938] / landlord of the Queen's Head, Halifax [1938-1948]

Snowden, GeorgeRef S828
[1832-1???] Born in East Stockwith, Lincolnshire.

He was a tailor [1861].

He married Charlotte [1833-1???].


Charlotte was born in West Stockwith, Lincolnshire
 

Children:

  1. Ann Elizabeth [b 1854]
  2. Hopkinson [b 1855]
  3. Frederick [b 1857]
  4. Abraham [b 1859]
  5. Corronetta

The family lived at 7 Swift's Buildings, Doncaster [1861]

Snowden, George AlbertRef S1534
[1912-1942] Son of Charles Henry Snowden.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was employed by James Casson Limited / a Territorial.

On 27th August 1934, he married Lena Bull [1908-1991] at St Stephen's Church, Copley.

Children:

  1. daughter

They lived at 85 Oak Street, Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Trooper with the Yorkshire Dragoons Yeomanry (Queen's Own).

He died 5th October 1942.

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Elland, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Elland, and on the Memorial at Elland Working Men's Club

Snowden, JohnRef S1113
[1821-1884] Born at Beggarington.

He was an active Radical and Chartist.

In August 1842, he was present at a meeting in Haley Hill when the military charged the crowd. To get out of the way, he went on to fields owned by Jonathan Akroyd and – along with 17 others – was arrested and taken to Wakefield. He spent 7 days in the House of Correction there

Snowden, KelitaRef S1230
[1877-1953] Son of Mr Snowden.

He married Louisa Thorpe [1875-1902].

Children:

  1. Walter

Snowden, MrRef S1282
[18??-1???]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Charles Henry
  2. Kelita

Snowden, RobertRef S1192
[16??-16??] He lived at Marsh Hall, Northowram

Snowden, WalterRef S1458
[1898-1917] Son of Kelita Snowden.

Born in Elland [8th May 1898].

Baptised at Elland Parish Church [25th May 1898].

He lived with his aunt at 10 Charles Street, Elland.

He joined the Royal Navy [1913] and served in minesweepers, including the Impregnable [18th October 1913] and finally the M7A Pekin [8th May 1916].

During World War I, he transferred to the Army [1916] and served as a Private with the King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He was killed in action [26th October 1917].

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Southgate Methodist Chapel, Elland

Snowden, WilliamRef S1409
[16??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1683]

Snowden, WilliamRef S5240
[1849-18??] On 16th July 1849, he and Jonas Mitchell were found guilty of burglary at the house of John Rothera and stealing £20.

The death sentence was recorded against them, and the Judge added that the sentence would not be carried out, but they might expect to undergo a lengthened period of transportation – at the very least 18 years

Snowdon, C. A.Ref S1446
[19??-19??] He served in World War II.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial

Snowdrop BandRef S1689
The Bridge End (Rastrick) Congregational Snowdrop Band at Bridge End Congregational Church, Rastrick is mentioned in 1911

Snydal Farm, SouthowramRef S2246
Higgin Lane. Aka Siddal Farm, Old Siddal Farm.

The property comprised 3 elements

  • Snydal farm
  • 2 cottages – which were later converted into Snydal Cottage

Owners and tenants have included

In 1848, a newspaper announced


SALE OF VALUABLE FREEHOLD ESTATE in SOUTHOWRAM

ONE-SIXTH part of all that farm known as Snydal or Siddal Farm situated in Southowram with all the buildings, homestead, gardens and ten closes of land being together 29DW. 1R. 8P. at present occupied by Mr. Wm. Hebblethwaite. Also ONE-SIXTH of all the COAL UNDER THE SAID Snydal or Siddal Farm which is computed to be about 16 days work of the Soft Bed Coal

 

In January 1854, a newspaper announced


Sale by Auction

One equal undivided third part or share in all that excellent FARM called Old Siddall otherwise the Old Snydale Farm situated in Southowram aforesaid, consisting of Farm House, Two Cottages, Barn, Stables, Two gardens and several closes of land called the Tenter Bank, the Back 'oth House field, the Mickle field, the Long Brow, the Clough Brow, the Upper Horse, the Lower Horse, the Round Ing, the Great Ing and the Ing. containing 19A. 1R. 0P. in the occupation of Mr. William Hebblethwaite and his undertenants

 

See Snydal

Snydall, AnnRef S1147
[15??-16??] In her will of 1638, she gave 20/- to have a sermon preached every year on St Peter's Day at Halifax Parish Church.

Snydle Farm, SouthowramRef S1468
Whitegate Top.

See Snydal

Soaper House, ColeyRef S648
Soaper House Lane. Aka Soper House. Owned by Samuel Hoile of Hoyle House, Lightcliffe. It passed to his younger son

Soar, JosephRef S1101
[18??-19??] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1911-1915].

He left to become organist at St David's Cathedral

Sobriety Hall, TodmordenRef S1202
Union Street. Opened 8th March 1851.

The Todmorden Musical Union practised here from 30th July 1856.

On 5th October 1862, a reading room was opened for the use of those workers affected by the Cotton Famine.

The Todmorden Mechanics' Institute was here from 1960, until they moved to The Strand.

See Independent Order of Rechabites Temperance Friendly Society and Wellington Road Baptists

Socialist Hall, HalifaxRef S1752
Recorded in 1905 at 2 Back Victoria Street

Society of Druids, SouthowramRef S2571
Recorded in 1879

Society of GoodfellowshipRef S2188
Aka Female Sociable Society

Society of Knights Templar, HalifaxRef S5440
Officers and Members have included

Society of WeaversRef S2177
Halifax friendly society established in 1752.

See Northern Counties Amalgamated Society of Weavers

Sod House Green, OvendenRef S156
House. In the 1730s, it was owned by George Ramsden of Jumples Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Sod, SowerbyRef S1465
Also Sodd.

An area of Sowerby.

Recorded in the late 18th century

Soil HillRef S157
Aka Sol Hill, Swill Hill, and Swilling Hill. A hill – 1320 ft above sea-level – at Ogden, Halifax.

There were potteries and coal mining here from around 1600.

See Barms Hill Pottery, Old Gin Pit, Ovenden, Poor's Cottage and Soil Hill Pottery

Soil Hill Farm, BradshawRef S2880
Owners and tenants have included

Sokald, J.Ref S3012
[17??-18??] Taylor and draper at Nelson Street, Halifax [1809]

Sol HillRef S1091

Sole Mio BlanketRef S724
A product – said to be the finest blanket in the world – which was produced by Moderna. The company was very protective of the design and the machinery which was used to manufacture the blanket

Solomon, CecilRef S38
[1897-1918] Son of Rose & Phillip Solomon.


By 1918, his father was dead and his mother lived in Blackpool
 

He was educated at Holy Trinity School.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Seaforth Highlanders.

He was killed south of Valenciennes [25th October 1918] (aged 21).

He was buried at Maing Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref A 13].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Solomon's Temple, StansfieldRef S655
Recorded in 1861, when Titus Gaukroger and family lived here

Somerley, HalifaxRef S263
Owners and tenants have included

Somerleyton, BaronRef S691

Somerleyton, LordRef S675
Sir Francis Crossley was created the First Baronet – Lord Somerleyton – in 1863.

  1. The title of Second Baronet and First Baron Somerleyton passed to his son, Sir Savile Brinton Crossley
  2. The title of Second Baron passed to his son, Francis Savile Crossley
  3. The title of Third Baron passed to his son, Savile William Francis Crossley
  4. The title of Fourth Baron will pass to his son Hugh Crossley

Somers, NormanRef S3004
[19??-19??] Actor. He was one of the actors who played the character of Larry the Lamb on the BBC Children's Hour Toytown.

He appeared in the film Never Look Back [1952].

In 1960, he and Alan Bracewell bought the Royal Hotel, Rishworth

Somerscale's Charity Almshouses, HolmfieldRef S1751
School Lane. Recorded in 1905.

See Richard Somerscale's Charity

Somerscale, RichardRef S945
[15??-1613] Or Somerscales, Sommerscales. Of Halifax.

He died 8th April 1613.

In his will, he established Richard Somerscale's Charity, leaving

all his lands in Halifax and Ovenden to the poor of the said towns for ever

after the death of his sister, Mrs John Holdsworth. He also left 40/- to John Holdsworth

for the term of his life

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Somerscale's: Richard Somerscale's CharityRef S993
Established on 18th March 1622 under the will of Richard Somerscale who bequeathed the rents and profits from his land and property in Halifax & Ovenden to the poor of those districts.

See John William Calvert, Somerscale's Charity Almshouses and John Whitley

Somerscales, ThomasRef S169
[1831-1877] Born in Halifax.

He was a clay miner [1849] / a shaft sinker [1877] / innkeeper at the Sun Inn, Brighouse [1877].

On 22nd December 1849, he married Eliza Furness at Elland Parish Church.


Eliza was the daughter of Moses Furness
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Ann [1850-1910] who married Harry Denevon

On Saturday 12th May 1877, Thomas was killed, as reported in the Huddersfield Chronicle (of 19th May) 


Thomas was sinking a stone shaft at Lane Head, Brighouse. He was at the bottom of the shaft – at a depth of 20 yards – when he called up for a crow bar. John Edwards, the banksman, put crow bar into the tub and let it down the shaft. The bar fell through a hole in the tub and struck Thomas on the right side of his head, inflicting a severe wound. He was taken home and died at 17:30 the same day.

The Inquest heard that Thomas had previously been warned about the holes in the tub but replied

"It will do till Saturday"

A verdict of accidentally killed was returned

 

Somerset House, HalifaxRef S162
Name given to Royds' House by J. H. S. Finlinson in 1898 because he had business interests in a paper mill in Somerset

Somerton, Rev ThomasRef S125
[16??-1658] He was A farrier and blacksmith / minister at Rossendale [1653]. before becoming Curate at Todmorden [1653-1658]

Somerville, Dr WilliamRef S1300
[1869-19??] Born in Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.

He was a physician & surgeon in Brighouse [1901, 1911] / Partner in Wood & Somerville.

In 1915, he married Alice Maclean MB from Glasgow

Somerville, William (Billy)Ref S793
[1898-1960] Aka Slim.

He was a well-known Halifax character of the 1950s.

Born in Kilmarnock, he came to Halifax when his father, Harry Somerville, became wool buyer for a local firm.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School. During World War I, he served as a Dispatch Rider with the Royal Army Service Corps in France.

He frequented the Savile Park and Skircoat Green area, where he could be seen doing odd jobs such as gardening and clearing snow. He often carried gardening shears and a bundle of tools. Children would run and hide when they saw him coming. It was said that his itinerant life-style developed after a motor cycle accident

Sonley, James AlfredRef S635
[1889-1919] He lived at 6 Church Steps, Todmorden [1916].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the York & Lancaster Regiment and the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died 25th November 1919.

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden [29th November 1919].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £110.

Administration was granted to Laura Ellen Law (widow).

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sonley, W.Ref S2354
[18??-18??] Tailor at Todmorden

In November 1869, he had a bankruptcy annulled

Sons of TemperanceRef S337
A temperance society.

Recorded in 1915, when Abraham Smith was an officer in the Siddal Branch of the Society

Soothill...Ref S862
The entries for people & families with the surname Soothill are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Soppitt, Henry ThomasRef S1657
[1858-1899] Born in Bradford. In 1894, he moved to Halifax. He did much work on microscopic fungi in Halifax and published many articles on the subject.

He died 1st April 1899

Sorsby & CompanyRef S3104
Coal merchants and colliery agents established by J. H. Sorsby. They were at 17 Crossley Street, Halifax [1930] and Littleborough

Sorsby, J. H.Ref S3103
[1???-19??] Proprietor of Sorsby & Company [1930]

Sothill / de Sothill FamilyRef S922

See Helias son of Essolf de Sothill, Reginald son of Helias de Sothill, Sothill and The Soothill family

Sothill, Helias deRef S919
[11??-11??]

See Helias son of Essolf de Sothill and Robert le Vavasour

Sothill, HenryRef S1212
[14??-14??] Member of the Soothill family.

In 1469, William Fleming, Esq. conveyed Clifton Manor to Henry and John Sothill

Sothill, JohnRef S1221
[14??-14??] Member of the Soothill family.

In 1469, William Fleming, Esq. conveyed Clifton Manor to John and Henry Sothill

Sothill, Reginald deRef S921
[11??-12??] See Reginald son of Helias de Sothill

Sottenstall, WilliamRef S2280
[1800-1889] Or Sottanstall. Son of Sally & John Sottenstall.

He became Parish clerk of Sowerby.

He was a preacher and a bell-ringer at the Church.

He composed several peals.

On Saturday 12th October 1867, at St Paul's Church, Shipley, he performed a peal of 6,666 changes of Kent Treble Bob Major which he had composed. The peal took 4 hours, 27 minutes and 30 seconds to ring.

In 1867, he wrote a book about bell-ringing

Elements of Campanologia
or
An essay on the art of ringing

There is an original volume of the work at the Church.

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Sougholme, ShibdenRef S1096
Farm which was a part of the Shibden Hall Estate.

See Sough

Sour Milk Hall, ClaremountRef S709
Horley Green Road. House built about 1650. Dan Taylor was born here. It was used as a pub from the mid-19th century.

See Prospect, Halifax

SourhallRef S199
Area of Todmorden on the Bacup Road.

See Pighill, Walsden

Sourhall Isolation HospitalRef S1029
The Todmorden & District Authorities Joint Hospital for Infectious Diseases. It stands 1,025 ft above sea level.

Following a smallpox epidemic in 1874, Peel Mill, Todmorden was converted into an isolation hospital for 16 inmates.

As smallpox became less common, patients with typhoid and diphtheria were admitted.

In 1895, it was listed as

16 beds
Medical Officer: C. W. Thorp
Patients engage and pay their own medical attendant
Master in Charge: Mr. C. Barritt
Patients: 13
Dr C. W. Thorp was physician here in [1895, 1905].

In 1907, the hospital was enlarged.

In 1949, the Sourhall Joint Hospital Committee was wound up and the buildings were converted to private housing

Souter House, WadsworthRef S608
Or Souterhouse. Burlees Lane.

Farmstead with 17th century features.

It was formerly an inn.

The property was refronted and raised in the mid-18th century.

Owners and tenants have included

South AmericaRef S2218

South Bank, ShibdenRef S578
The property is recorded as having 7 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

South Bottomley Farm, WalsdenRef S152

South Clough Head, WarleyRef S1572
Workhouse Lane. House built around 1607 by Henry Murgatroyd.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 3 dwellings

South Cottage, SkircoatRef S1474
House at the junction of Skircoat Moor Road and Skircoat Green Road

South Edge House, HipperholmeRef S1372
Aka Southedge House.

Brighouse Road.

Originally a pair of late 18th century cottages

Owners and tenants have included

South End, EllandRef S814
Area at the junction of Huddersfield Road and Catherine Street, opposite Elland Town Hall.

See Elland Gaol and South End School, Elland

South Field Farm, ShelfRef S2424
South Lane. Built 1770.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Jesse Bland [1904]

South Gate House, HalifaxRef S492
Ward's End.

Recorded in 1822, when James Edward Norris was a conveyancer here

South, GeorgeRef S1308
[1881-1918] Son of Alice & Arthur South of Sandon, Buntingford, Hertfordshire.

He married Mary.

They lived at 21 Park Street, Brighouse.

He served in the South African Campaign.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 25th April 1918 (aged 37).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 42-47 & 162]

South Grove, HalifaxRef S1046

South Hollingworth Farm, WalsdenRef S7550
The Farm had been in the Walton family over 300 years.

Owners and tenants have included

South Holme Farm, SouthowramRef S2913
Aka Southholme, Southolm, Southolme, and Sufholme.

A 42-acre part of the Shibden Hall estate.

The property is mentioned in Anne Lister's journals.

Owners and tenants have included

South House, EllandRef S279
Built in 1???.

Owners and tenants have included

Later, it became the offices for Elland Urban District Council. The building was demolished in 19??

South Howcans, OvendenRef S717

See Howcans

South Ive House, LuddendenRef S3701
North and South.

Edward Murgatroyd's family lived in the North and Henry Sutcliffe Murgatroyd's family in the South.

Owners and tenants have included

See Henry Sutcliffe Murgatroyd

South Lodge, RastrickRef S1220
Rastrick Common. Built in 1879 by Fairless Barber for his Castle Hill Estate. The building used materials from an earlier house of 1659 built by Joshua Hanson and which had been demolished when the railway sidings were extended. The gable from the earlier house can still be seen

South Low RoomRef S425
The name for the cellars at the east end of the Piece Hall where yarn was sold. These were later known as the Serge Room

South Midgelden Farm, TodmordenRef S1022
Bacup Road. Late 17th century house.

See Middle Midgelden Farm, Todmorden

South PlaceRef S163
7th century house which stood on Southgate, Halifax.

It was later called the Corner House.

In 1643, when the Royalist General Mackworth occupied Halifax, he used the Corner House to hold Parliamentary prisoners, including Joseph Priestley.

At one time, Hanson & Son sold furniture, carpets and wallpaper here. The area was cleared in 1910 for the construction of the Arcade Royale

South Royde, HalifaxRef S3646
Owners and tenants have included

South Shields, WadsworthRef S788
Laithe-house built around 1820

South Strine Head, WadsworthRef S607
Cairn which marks the boundary of Wadsworth township

South View, GreetlandRef S226
Rochdale Road. Terrace of 5 houses. Stands between Greetland Liberal Club and the Church Hall of St Thomas's Church, Greetland

South Ward, HalifaxRef S2826
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1866.

See John Herbert Lacy Baldwin, John Burdock, Thomas Collinson, Jabez Bunting Farrar, Robert Kerr, Mrs Miriam Lightowler, Wilkinson Pickles and Norman Frederick Smagg Winter

South Ward Working Men's Club, HalifaxRef S1592
Recorded in 1914, when they were at Adelaide Street.


Question: Is this the same as Halifax South Ward Club?

 

Southage'sRef S2108
Rastrick stone-mining company

They had a mine behind the Junction, Rastrick

Stone from the mine was used in the foundations of Blackpool Tower, and from flagstones at Buckingham Palace.

The company was started by Bentley & Smith in 1899.

At the start of the 20th century, it employed 150 miners.

In May 1917, Abraham Bentley, a delver, committed suicide here.

The business was sold to Marshalls in 1937.

It closed between 1939 and 1946.

It was the only stone mine to reopen after the war. It then operated in a small way with only 6 miners. It was the last working stone mine locally, and the longest operating mine getting Elland Flags anywhere. The mine finally closed in 1955

Southcliffe House, Hebden BridgeRef S759
Commercial Street. The house is dated 1813. The house and the attached Conservative Offices are listed

Southclyff, Robert deRef S3617
[1???-14??] In 1435, John de Wethelay passed Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge to Robert.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John

Southcott, JoannaRef S2890
[1750-1814] A religious prophetess from Devon. She was said to possess supernatural gifts and made prophecies which she wrote down in rhyme.

There were several local followers, including John Marshall Jowett and Samuel Jowett.

Some of her followers used Sion Congregational Church, Halifax

Southedge House, HipperholmeRef S1215
See South Edge House

Southern, HerbertRef S1181
[1895-1915] Son of William Henry Southern.

During World War I, he served as a Private with A Company 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 16th October 1915 (aged 20).

He was buried at Bard Cottage Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref I E 6].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Rastrick War Memorial.

His brother James Henry also died in the War

Southern, James HenryRef S1383
[1881-1917] Son of William Henry Southern.

Born in Mixenden.

He lived at Penniwell Hill, Siddal.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed when the hospital was bombed [23rd January 1917].

He was buried at Warlincourt Halte British Cemetery, Saulty, France [Grave Ref XI C 2].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

His brother Herbert also died in the War

Southern, WalterRef S700
[1904-1940]

In [Q2] 1927, he married Ellen Mullins in Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Company Quartermaster Sergeant with the 9th Battalion The Loyal Regiment (North Lancashire).

He died 21st December 1940 (aged 36).

He is remembered with a CWGC headstone at St Peter's Church, Walsden [Yard 2 472], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

In [Q3] 1943, Ellen married William Price in Manchester

They lived at Worth Village, Keighley.

Southern, William HenryRef S1366
[1859-1917]

In [Q4] 1879, he married Kate [1861-1913] at Thorne.

Children:

  1. James Henry
  2. Herbert

The family lived at Rastrick.

Sons James Henry & Herbert died in World War I

Southey, RobertRef S1652
[1774-1843] Poet and writer. He was a friend of Coleridge and Wordsworth. In 1813, he became Poet Laureate. In 1813, he wrote Life of Nelson Charlotte wrote to him in March 1837, asking for advice about her plans to become a writer. He replied saying that he thought that it was not a woman's work.

See Hartley Coleridge

<