W



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Wa We Wh Wi Wo Wr Wu Wy


Wadd, ErnestRef W279
[18??-1916]

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Private with the 17th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was killed in action in France / Flanders [30th July 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 2A, 2C & 2D]

Wadd, Frederick JohnRef W2306
[18??-19??] In 1909, a 21-year lease was made between Halifax High School for Girls at Savile Hall, Halifax and Wadd and Arthur Willson Cross.

At the end of the lease, Wadd and Cross considered buying the school

Waddington...Ref W435
The entries for people & families with the surname Waddington are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Waddington's: A. L. Waddington & SonRef W639
Plumbers and sanitary engineers in Police Street, Brighouse.

Recorded in 1911,

See Waddington's Yard, Brighouse

Waddington & BayesRef W2324
In 1861, Walker Waddington and Albert Benjamin Bayes bought the publishing business Samuel Ward Walton. This included the Todmorden Post.

In 1869, they published the Todmorden & District News

Waddington & CompanyRef W1785
Worsted spinners at Stone Dam Mill, Halifax [1905]

Waddington & HaighRef W1563
Stone quarrying company at Cinder Hill, Siddal [1880]

Waddington & SonsRef W1609
Printers, stationers, newsagents and publishers established by Walker Waddington.

They were at New Road, Mytholmroyd [1905], 26 Pavement, Todmorden [1905], and 28 Rochdale Road, Todmorden [1917, 1927].

They published the Hebden Bridge & District News [1907] and the Todmorden & District News [1917]

Waddington & WoodheadRef W1032
Worsted spinners at Copley.

Partners included Joseph Waddington and William Woodhead.

The partnership was dissolved in November 1881

Waddington's Dress WarehouseRef W1774
9 Rawson Street, Halifax.

Built in 1900 by Joseph Harold Waddington on a plot of land which he bought in Rawson Street.

Do you remember the reflection-free concave windows and the fur coats of the 1950s?

Since 1951, the Rawson Street building has been occupied by Harvey's of Halifax.

See Renette Studios, Halifax

Waddington vs WallerRef W1964
In July 1854, at the Nisi Prius Court, PC Anthony Waddington of Brighouse claimed that, in 1848, Abraham Waller had begun paying attention to his daughter, Miss Waddington, a milliner. Waller promised marriage until 1850 when the girl became pregnant. The child lived only a fortnight. Waller was forbidden to the visit the Waddington's house, although he was allowed to visit the girl in the hope that they would marry. In 1853, she again became pregnant. Waller refused to marry the girl and claimed that he had supported the children. The jury found for Waddington and awarded £50 damages

Wade...Ref W28
The entries for people & families with the surname Wade are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wade & ButterfieldRef W828
Brewers at Queensbury / Bradford

Wade & McGrathRef W2248
General pattern makers at Halifax. Recorded in 1905, when they were at Cross Hills, Halifax

Wade Bridge, LuddendenRef W702
Bridge over Luddenden Brook. Earlier known as Riding Bridge. Mentioned in 1705. The early wooden bridge was replaced by a stone bridge. There are stepping stones across the brook

Wade's: Fred Wade (Booksellers & Stationers) LimitedRef W1592
Halifax. Established by Fred Wade in 1926.

The shop in Rawson Street was built in 1926, and occupies the southern end of the west wing of Somerset House

Until 19??, the company used to have its own library with


All the latest novels and a courteous staff always willing to help in the choice of a book.

Exclusive service at a low subscription

 

The business was run and owned by Wade's daughter, Mrs Jennifer Pell.

The business closed in 2013.

Wade's (Halifax) LimitedRef W578
Wade's (Metal Spinners) Limited are recorded in 1936.

They were metal spinners at Fenton Road, Halifax [2015] when Michael John Wade was Financial Director

Wade House, ShelfRef W778
Around 1700, the house is mentioned several times by Oliver Heywood in his diaries.

Victoria Mills was built near to the house on its land by Moses Bottomley, across from a mill pond. When the mill was renovated in the late 20th century, much of the mill and the house were knocked down with only the gatehouse remaining. After renovations by Moses Bottomley, the house became known as Norwood House – see Norwood House Gate House.

Owners and tenants have included

The house burned down in the early 1980s and was demolished.

The name is retained in Wade House Road, Shelf

Wade's: Josiah Wade LimitedRef W1731
Printing machine makers at Dunkirk Mills, Halifax.

Established in 1862 by Josiah Wade and his brother Edwin.

They published the Hebden Chronicle.

They were letterpress printers at Hebden Bridge [1863].

In 1867, they moved to premises in Well Lane, Halifax. Their Arab printing machine was used throughout the world.

As business increased, the company's works moved around the district. In 1874, they moved to Crown Works, Halifax. In 18??, they moved to Hope Works, Halifax. In 1903, they bought Dunkirk Mills, Halifax.

The business closed in 1959

Wade Manufacturing Company LimitedRef W1732
Worsted coating manufacturers at Dunkirk Mills, Halifax [1905, 1936]

Wade Wood, LuddendenRef W452
Kell Brook joins Luddenden Brook here to flow down and join the Calder at Luddendenfoot.

There are remains of charcoal burning circles in the wood.

See Jerusalem Farm, Luddenden and Wade Bridge

Wade Wood Reservoir, LuddendenRef W1818
On Catty Well Beck, Luddenden

Wade's: Z. & W. WadeRef W2042
Quarry owners and public works contractors at Trimmingham Quarries, Halifax [1936]

Wadilove, JohnRef W244
[17??-1796] Hatter in Halifax

WadsworthRef W2
High moorland township north of Hebden Bridge – towards Old Town – lying between the townships of Heptonstall and Midgley, and including Crimsworth, Old Town and Pecket Well.

See Population and Parish statistics

Wadsworth...Ref W54
The entries for people & families with the surname Wadsworth are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wadsworth & FairbankRef W1664
Cotton-doublers / twiners of Elland.

In 1907, they acquired Whitwell Mill, Elland.

The firm closed in 1930

Wadsworth & SchofieldRef W134
Iron moulders at New Bank, Halifax.

Recorded around 1914, when James Dignam and Herbert Ernest Sutcliffe worked for them as iron moulders

Wadsworth Banks Farm, MytholmroydRef W84
Raw Lane. Timber-framed house cased in stone and extended in the 17th century

The coiner Robert Thomas lived here.

See Old Castle, Wadsworth

Wadsworth Banks, Hebden BridgeRef W1904
The coiner John Pickles lived here [1769]

Wadsworth's Camera ExchangeRef W2328
In 1919, this was at 65 North Parade, Halifax, and the Principals were J. and W. Wadsworth.

They were also Principals of W. Richardson & Son at the same address

Wadsworth Club HousesRef W136
Old Town. A group of 6 early 19th century club houses which were built as an investment by a local funeral club. Some of the houses are 2 storeys, the others are 3 storeys. The upper storey was used as a communal weaving shop and each cottage had an internal communicating door on each floor.

From 1863, services were held here before Old Town Methodist Chapel was built

Wadsworth constablesRef W2626
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Wadsworth

Wadsworth Co-operative StoreRef W1689
The Wadsworth branch of the Hebden Bridge Co-operative Society opened in 1868

Wadsworth's: G. Wadsworth & SonRef W258
Wholesale and retailer dealers in oils and paints.

Partners included John Wadsworth.

Recorded in 1881 at Portland Street, Northgate, Halifax

Wadsworth's: Henry Wadsworth & SonRef W468
Makers of commercial vehicles at Thomas Street, Halifax.

Established by Henry Wadsworth and his son Robert.

The property there is dated HW AD 1870.

Recorded in 1878, 1900 & 1923.

An advertisement for the business in 1900 announced

Sole Manufacturers of Wadsworth's Patent

Street Watering, Sanding and Sweeping Machines, Road Scrapers, Snow Ploughs, Tip Vans, Tip, Tumblers and other kinds of Sanitary Carts

Wadsworth's: J. Wadsworth & SonsRef W674
Cabinet maker, upholsterers and furnishers at 68 & 70 King Cross Street, Halifax [1934]

Wadsworth's: James Wadsworth & SonsRef W2606
Joiners and cabinet makers at Southowram and King Cross Street, Halifax.

Established in 1875 by James Wadsworth

Wadsworth's: James Wadsworth & SonsRef W5680
In 1925, they bought land at Bank Top, Southowram from Herbert Mellor and built Bankfield Gardens and The Crescent

Wadsworth's: James Wadsworth LimitedRef W861
The Fur Store, 62-68 Northgate, Halifax [1915].

Furriers & drapers established in 1857 by James Wadsworth in premises at the junction of Northgate and Winding Road.

The Timeform building was later built on the site.

The staff had alternate half-day holiday on Fridays from 1:00 pm.

On the firm's 50th anniversary, on March 1907, the press reported a staff excursion to celebrate 50 years in business


James Wadsworth, furrier & draper, closed shop for the day & took staff for a free outing to Peak District.

They took the 7:45 am train to Sheffield, then had a 3-hour drive in horse drawn carriage to Bakewell. After lunch, they went to Haddon Hall & Chatsworth House.

They got home at 10:45 pm

 

In an interview with the Courier in 1907, James said that


50 years ago the departments were furs, household linens, dress goods & corsets, which today remain the largest we have
 

Wadsworth died in 1916, and the business carried on.

They were at 19 Silver Street, Halifax when J. Wainhouse was proprietor [1936]. At that time, Gordon Sagar was a director

Wadsworth's: Jeremiah Wadsworth & Sons LimitedRef W1670
Smiths, screw makers, machinists, wheelwrights and trailer manufacturers.

Established by Jeremiah Wadsworth.

They were at Oldham Road, Ripponden [1895-1938] and Lower Dyson Lane Mill, Rishworth [1950s]

See Miles Wadsworth

Wadsworth LanesRef W272
A hamlet at Wadsworth.

See Upper Needless, Hebden Bridge

Wadsworth LawRef W268
A cairn which marks the boundary of the Wadsworth township.

See High Brown Knowl, Wadsworth

Wadsworth, Manor ofRef W115
In Domesday Book, this was one of the 9 berewicks belonging to the Manor of Wakefield. It appears there as Wadesuurde.

The manor was held by the Earls of Warren, Jordan de Thornhill, the Thornhill family, Sir George Savile, the Savile family, and the Earl of Scarbrough.

See Hebden Bridge Mill and Manor House, Hebden Bridge

Wadsworth's: Mary Wadsworth's CharityRef W625
In 1793, Mary Wadsworth gave the rents and profits from land and property at Jack Hey, Sowerby to be distributed on the first Sunday in May and the first Sunday in November to poor residents of Sowerby.

See John Taylor Ramsden

Wadsworth MillRef W92
Area of Todmorden

Wadsworth Mill Lock, TodmordenRef W350
Lock #20 on the Rochdale Canal. Built 1798 by William Jessop and William Crossley. It has a double set of bottom gates to take the 57½ ft long vessels of the Calder & Hebble Canal

Wadsworth MoorRef W97
Moorland above Hebden Bridge.

Limers' Gate passes across the moor.

In 1750, William Cockcroft obtained rights to bore for coal on Wadsworth Moor.

There are 2 prominent circular ventilation shafts for the underground water conduit linking Widdop reservoir to Halifax. These are about 10 ft high, and were built by John Frederick La Trobe Bateman.

On 12th December 1936, an RAF bomber crashed on the moor, killing three of the crew and injuring the fourth.

Wadsworth Moor MurderRef W112

Wadsworth Parish CouncilRef W253
The Parish council has 9 seats.

See Parish of Wadsworth

Wadsworth Post OfficeRef W2188
Chiserly

Wadsworth Royd Farm, WadsworthRef W2340
Aka Wadsworth Royd.

Owners and tenants have included

Recorded in 1854

Wadsworth's: Samuel Wadsworth & SonRef W671
Joiners and builders established in 1830.

They were at Carlton Street and Bull Close Lane, Halifax [1916]

Wadsworth Surveyor of the HighwaysRef W5000
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Wadsworth included:

Wadsworth's Tea Rooms, Hebden BridgeRef W1850
In 1906, the Mrs Dyson Wadsworth advertised her Tea Rooms at Gibson Wood Cottages, Hardcastle Crags, offering
picnic and other parties catered for ... home-fed hams

Wadsworth United Football ClubRef W368

Wadsworth WorkhouseRef W95
A workhouse is recorded at Clough Head around 1750. This was discontinued in 1770.

See Todmorden Union Workhouse

Waff'n Fuffen BandRef W989
See Faff & Fuffun Band

Wager, HaroldRef W1415
[1906-19??] Son of Morton Wager.

He was a geologist

Wager, Lawrence RickardRef W225
[1904-1965] Son of Morton Wager.

Born in Batley.

He was educated at his father's school in Hebden Bridge and at Leeds and Pembroke College Cambridge.

He married Phyllis Margaret Worthington [b 1912].

Children:

  1. son
  2. son
  3. daughter
  4. daughter
  5. daughter

He was a member of the 1930-1931 Watkins Greenland Expedition which was looking into the feasibility of a Britain-Canada air route. 2 of the 7-man expedition died – including 23-year-old G. H. Watkins, the leader. His wife accompanied on a later expedition in 1935.

In 1933, Wager climbed Mount Everest to a [then] record height of 1000 feet of the summit. On 10th November 1933, The King presented him with a Polar Medal

Wager, Morton EthelredRef W539
[1871-1939] He was the first headmaster of Hebden Bridge United District Secondary School [1909].

He married Adelina Rickard [1876-1939].

Children:

  1. Lawrence Rickard
  2. Harold

Waggon Farm, SoylandRef W418
Near Greave Head, Soyland.

Owners and tenants have included

Waggott, Gina LouiseRef W686
[1980-] Amateur poet, dramatist, and screenwriter born in Halifax. In 19??, she founded Seldom Shakespeare, an amateur production company, to encourage British scriptwriters. She lives in Bristol. She has stuttered/stammered since childhood, and sits on the board of the European League of Stuttering Associations [ELSA], and the European Disability forum

Waghorn's: C. Waghorn LimitedRef W1648
Brass manufacturer at Garfield Brass Works, Halifax. In 1925, they were authorised to manufacture and certify standard water fittings

Wagner, RichardRef W572
[1813-1883] His son, Siegfried, married Winifred Williams Klindworth [1897-1980] who was a friend of Miss E. M. Scott, headmistress of Brighouse & District Girls' Secondary School. Two daughters of Siegfried and WinifredVerena and Friedelinde – attended the School in the 1930s

Waid, ThomasRef W613
[17??-1???] Coiner. He was imprisoned at York Castle [18th October 1769]

Wailes, WilliamRef W429
[1???-18??] Newcastle artist who produced some of the stained glass at All Souls', Haley Hill. The west window of the south aisle, which Akroyd gave to his workers, tells the story of the Good Samaritan

Wainhouse...Ref W838
The entries for people & families with the surname Wainhouse are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wainhouse & RiggRef W2267
Dyers at Halifax [1809]

Wainhouse CharityRef W811
Sowerby. In his will dated 1686, Edward Wainhouse bequeathed the rents from 2 cottages at Style, Sowerby to be given at Christmas to the old and the poor of Sowerby. The will also left money to the poor of Norland

Wainhouse FollyRef W3
Wainhouse Tower is sometimes known by this name because it was never used for its intended purpose – as a chimney

Wainhouse's: Robert & William WainhouseRef W1680
Cotton spinners at Wharf Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1806]. The mill at that time was known as Wainhouse Mill. They were still at the mill in the 1830s

Wainhouse, Son & SutcliffeRef W2281
Dyers at Washer Lane, Halifax [1809]

Wainhouse Terrace, HalifaxRef W4
King Cross. A terrace of small back-to-back houses built by John Wainhouse [1876]. The square tower housed a spiral staircase to link the upper and lower levels. There is an elaborate 200 ft long balcony at the rear.

Although unoccupied, the terrace was saved from demolition when surrounding terraced houses made way for redevelopment and road-widening in November 1972.

The terrace was cleaned in 1973.

The building is still unoccupied.

In March 2008, the property was sold to developers for £76,000

Wainhouse Tower, HalifaxRef W5
The 280 ft high tower built by J. E. Wainhouse in 1871 dominates the Halifax skyline

Wainman, MaryRef W460
[1707-1788] On 10th October 1769, she became the first Halifax postmistress at an annual salary of £60 3/4d.

Her nephew, William Bagnold, became postmaster around 1788.

She was buried inside Halifax Parish Church

Wainsgate, Old TownRef W669
Area of Wadsworth.

Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge and Wainsgate Lane, Hebden Bridge

WainstallsRef W8
District of Calderdale to the north-west of Halifax

Wainstalls Cricket ClubRef W2842
Established in 1050.

Their grounds were near the Cross Roads pub, Mount Tabor.

The club closed in 2005.

See Halifax Cricket Association

Wainstalls HouseRef W2834
Aka Wainstalls Lodge.

Originally called simply Wainstalls, the property gave its name to the Wainstalls area.

The name means a place where wagons are kept

Owners and tenants have included

Wainstalls Industrial Co-operative SocietyRef W1596
The headquarters at Castle Carr Road were built in 1881

Wainstalls LibraryRef W1992
Recorded in 1929 as Wainstalls Branch Library. At that time, it was only open on Wednesday evenings.

Recorded in 1936

Wainstalls Orphanage, WarleyRef W697

Wainstalls Post OfficeRef W1781
Recorded in 1905 at 23 Kell Butts, Wainstalls when Stephen Greenwood was sub-postmaster

Wainwright & SonRef W4170
Wholesale confectioners and paper bag merchants.

Established by Ernest C. Wainwright.

They were at 2 St James's Street, Halifax [1905] and Gladstone Road, Halifax.

The Gladstone Road premises burned down in 19??

Wainwright & TurnerRef W1611
Sugar boilers at Todmorden [1905]

See Turner & Wainwright

Wainwright, DavidRef W722
[1794-1845]

He married Hannah.

Children:

  1. Sarah [1832-15th February 1854]
  2. Martha who died 29th Sep 1837 (aged 18 months) 

The family lived at Brandy Hole, Greetland [1837]

David died 4th August 1845 (aged 51).

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: M9]

Wainwright, DavidRef W875
[1845-1911] Son of Mary & John Wainwright.

Born in Southowram [6th April 1845].

Baptised at Halifax [6th July 1845].

He was a grocer [1891].

He married Mary [1840-1924].


Mary was born in Hartshead [2nd October 1840]
 

Children:

  1. Lucy Ann [1869-18th August 1941] who married William Sutcliffe Hey, & was buried with her parents
  2. George [b 1870; bapt 1st January 1871] who was a grocer's assistant [1891]
  3. Louisa [b 1874]

The family lived at 10 Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1891].

David died 17th December 1911.

Mary died 9th March 1924.

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-D2]

Wainwright, Ernest ClairRef W139
[1873-1942] Born in Halifax.

He was a wholesale confectioner and paper bag merchant at 2 St James's Street, Halifax [1905] / a wholesale confectioner & dealer [1911]. He established Wainwright & Son at Gladstone Road, Halifax.

In [Q3] 1898, he married Sarah Elizabeth Priestley [1874-19??] from Halifax.

Children:

  1. Percy Clair [b 1901]
  2. Marjorie E. [b 1905]
  3. Geoffrey [b 1908]
  4. Ernest Kenneth [b 1910]

The family lived at 10 St James's Road, Halifax [1911].

He died in Bradford [Q3 1942]

Wainwright, GeorgeRef W1557
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Kebroyd Upper Mill [around 1800]

Wainwright, GeorgeRef W2574
[18??-19??] JP.

In the 1930s, he gave Ellen Royd, Elland for use as Elland Library

Wainwright, GeorgeRef W499
[1871-1952] Son of Mr Wainwright.

Born in Southowram.

He was an employee of the Halifax Co-operative Society / a Brighouse councillor.

In 1896, he met John Henry Turner, and they established Turner & Wainwright

In [Q4] 1892, he married Lilly Culpan [1871-19??].


Lilly came from Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Lillian [b 1900]
  2. Edward [b 1904]
  3. John [b 1907]

The family lived at 16 Halifax Road, Brighouse [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was widowed father-in-law John Culpan [aged 75].

George died in Huddersfield.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at more than £54,000

Wainwright Hall, EllandRef W483
Jepson Lane. Public hall used for social and other functions

Wainwright, HaroldRef W726
[1892-1917] Son of William Arthur Wainwright.

Born in Goole.

He was a cop weigher (carpet) [1911] / a winder for Crossley's / a radial driller [1914] / employed by Campbell's.

In 1914, he married Edith Chadwick [1891-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Edith, of Crown Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Hiram Chadwick, quarry man
 

They had no children.

They lived at

  • 14 Alfred Street, Queens Road, Halifax [1914]
  • 42 New Street, Southowram [1917]

He enlisted with the 4th (Territorial) West Riding Regiment at Halifax [April 1910] for 4 years.

During World War I, he re-enlisted in Halifax [August 1914], and served with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [April 1915].

He was appointed Lance Corporal [May 1916], Corporal [September 1916] & Lance Sergeant [June 1917].

He was killed in action [17th December 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [12th January 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram.

Edith was awarded a pension of 15/- a week

Wainwright, JobRef W2570
[18??-1851] In 1846, he married Mary Ann, daughter of John Skelton, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Jane [b 1847]
  2. Thomas [b 1849]

In 1851, Jane and Thomas were living at their grandparents' home in Skircoat.

Job died in 1851.

In September 1855, Mary, Jane and Thomas, together with Mary's mother and other members of the family, sailed from Liverpool to New York aboard the Albert Gallatin.

In 1870, they were living in Chicago

Wainwright, JohnRef W735
[18??-1914]

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the Royal Marines aboard the cruiser HMS Good Hope.

He was killed in action [1st November 1914] when his ship sank with all hands off the coast of Chile at the Battle of Coronel.

He is (possibly) remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial, and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Wainwright, John WilliamRef W266
[1921-] Born in Leeds. After World War II, he joined the Police and served for 20 years in Elland, Brighouse and Clifton before becoming a writer

Wainwright, MrRef W1966
[1???-18??] He was a waggonman for Pickford's.

On 30th June 1844, he was injured when a coach in which he was travelling, driven by William Smith, overturned as it entered Brighouse. He was unable to work for 13 weeks and brought a case against Mr Mallinson and Isaac Walker, who had been involved in organising the coach and the excursion. The case was tried at the Spring Assizes at York in March 1845, and the jury found for Wainright, awarding him 40/- damages

Wainwright, MrRef W74
[18??-1???]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. George
  2. Louisa [1874-1946] who married Joseph William Bushell [b 1879]

Wainwright, SallyRef W401
[1964-] Writer. She grew up in Sowerby Bridge and went to Sowerby Bridge High School.

She has produced, devised and written scripts for many TV dramas.

Some of these have been set and filmed locally, including Unforgiven, Last Tango in Halifax, The Last Witch, Dead Clever The Life and Crimes of Julie Bottomley, and Sparkhouse.

She now lives in Oxford

Wainwright, William ArthurRef W458
[1851-1???] Born in Southowram.

He was a grocer [1881].

He married Lucy Aaron [1852-1917] in Goole.


Lucy was born in Goole
 

Children:

  1. daughter Vinnie [b 1888] who was a gas winder [1901]
  2. Ada [b 1890] who was a warp beamer [1911]
  3. Harold
  4. Blanche [b 1894] who was a spinner [1911]

The children were born in Goole.

The family lived at

  • 3 Chapel Lane Top, Southowram [1881]
  • 5 Barlow Terrace, Selby, Yorkshire [1901]

Living with them [in 1881] was aunt Betty Haigh [b Southowram 1815] (dress maker).

In 1891, Lucy was staying with her brother Arthur Aaron [b Goole 1861] (farmer) at Park Grounds, Causeway Farm, Ousefleet, Goole. Daughters Vinnie & Ada were staying with their grandmother Hannah Aaron [b Scunthorpe 1821] in Goole.

Lucy was widowed between 1891 & 1901.

They lived at

  • 5 Barlow Terrace, Selby, Yorkshire [1901]
  • 18 Wilson Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with the widowed Lucy [in 1911] were grandchildren Edna May Wainwright [b 1908] & Horace Richard A. Wainwright [b 1910].


Question: Does anyone know who were the parents of Edna May Wainwright & Horace Richard A. Wainwright [b 1910]?

 

Waite, Miss E.Ref W1435
[18??-19??] She and Miss A. Schelp ran Halifax Girls Grammar School in the early 1900s

Waite, GeraldRef W869
[1913-1943] He was a member of Boothtown Methodist Chapel / employed by Mackintosh's / a wholesale sweet & tobacco merchant.

In [Q3] 1937, he married Frances H. Bairstow in Halifax.

They lived at 132 Boothtown Road, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

He died in hospital in the Middle East [4th May 1943] (aged 30).

He was buried at Moascar War Cemetery, Egypt [Grave Ref 2 A 7].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Waite, JohnRef W485
[16??-16??] Aka Wayte. Vicar of Halifax around 1645. He complained about the poor infecting the town during the bubonic plague in 1645.

See Mr Cranidge

Waite, John WilliamRef W759
[1856-19??] Born in Armley, Leeds.

He was a sanitary dipper [1901] / a green grocer [1911].

He married Martha [1861-19??].


Martha was born in Wortley, Leeds
 

Children:

  1. George R. [b 1882] who was a bricklayer's apprentice [1901], a bricklayer [1911]
  2. Mary Ann [b 1886]
  3. Helena [b 1888] who was a tailoress [1911]
  4. William Herbert
  5. Harry [b 1899]
  6. Doris [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 93 Woodville Road, Swadlincote, Burton-upon-Tent, Staffordshire [1901]
  • 115 Haley Hill, Halifax [1911]
  • 46 Woodside Crescent, Haley Hill [1916]

Waite, Joseph ThorpRef W1067
[1870-19??] Elder son of Dr William Waite.

On 1st February 1899, he married Hilda Mary, daughter of Frederic Smith, at Lightcliffe Congregational Church

Waite, Dr WilliamRef W52
[1829-1907] Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895].

He married Ellen Elizabeth [1840-19??] from Halifax.

Children:

  1. Sarah Gertrude [b 1867]
  2. Ellen Clare [b 1868] who married Dr John Frederic Gill
  3. Joseph Thorp
  4. William Herbert [b 1874]

The family lived at 1 Park Road, Halifax [1887, 1891, 1901, 1911]

Waite, William HerbertRef W757
[1894-1916] Known as Herbert.

Son of John William Waite

Born in Bradford.

He was educated at Sunnyside School / a member of Boothtown United Methodist Free Chapel / an apprentice (wire drawing) [1911] / a wiredrawer at Caledonia Wire Mills.

During World War I, He enlisted in Halifax [September 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France [February 1915].

He was wounded on the first day of the Battle of the Somme, and died on the way to the dressing station [1st July 1916] (aged 21).

He was buried at Sucrerie Military Cemetery, Colincamps, France [Grave Ref I E 11].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Waites, James EdwardRef W905
[1881-1917] Born in Hull.

In [Q3] 1903, he married Alice Robinson in Sculcoates.

They lived at 32 Clay Pits Lane, Pellon.

During World War I, he served as a Saddler with the 714th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died 9th April 1917 (aged 36).

He was buried at Beaurains Road Cemetery, Beaurains, France [Grave Ref B 23]

Waites, JosephRef W1709
[1827-1898] Son of John Waites [1801-1???] from Richmond, Yorkshire.

Born in Richmond, Yorkshire.

He was a vault man [1871] / landlord of the Bridge Tavern, Halifax [1874, 1881] / landlord of the Stafford Arms, Halifax [1891, 1894].

In 1855, he married Isabella Armstrong [1831-1892] born in Leek, Westmorland, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. John William [b 1855] who was a rag stitcher [1871]
  2. Margaret Isabella [b 1857] who was a worsted spinner (operative) [1871] & married [1878] Frederick Newsome
  3. Elizabeth [b 1867]
  4. Clara [b 1870]

The family lived at 3 Schofield's Court, Halifax [1871].

Living with them [in 1881] was Joseph's widowed father John Waites

Waithman, Charles WilliamRef W356
[1826-1???] Born in Leeds.

He was a stuff & woollen merchant [1871].

In [Q1] 1850, he married Catherine Clarkson [1825-1???] in Halifax.


Catherine was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Emma [b 1852]
  2. Mary [b 1853]
  3. Lydia [b 1861]
  4. Catherine [b 1864]
  5. Isabel [b 1867]
  6. Harry [b 1868]

The family lived at

Wake, Father Bernard J.Ref W926
[18??-1???] Parish priest at St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street [1882-1892].

In 1891, he recommended that a Catholic branch mission be established for Hebden Bridge and Luddendenfoot. Father Maximilian Tillman was appointed as the first parish priest for Hebden Bridge and Luddendenfoot

Wake, Rev W. CallinderRef W755
[1893-19??] Or Callender-Wake.

Born in Hartlepool.

He was educated at Wallsend & Newcastle-on-Tyne / trained for the ministry at the Preachers' Hostel, Highbury, London / at Barnard Castle Congregational Church / at Union Chapel Islington [1916] / assistant curate at Bridge End Congregational Church, Rastrick [14th April 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his appointment in the Halifax Courier [2nd February 1918]

Wakefield, A. B.Ref W2074
[18??-1???] Of Hipperholme. Recorded in December 1888, when he delivered a series of lectures at the Brighouse & District Radical Association. His topics included

  • The Hereditary Landed Aristocracy [4th December 1888]
  • The State Church [11th December 1888]
  • The Franchise & Taxation [18th December 1888]
  • The Unemployed & Emigration [8th January 1889]
  • Our Colonies: Their Climate, Soil, Produce & Emigrants [15th January 1889]

The Wakefield & Halifax JournalRef W314
The name of the Halifax Journal from 1811. Mr R. Hurst was the publisher [1814]

Wakefield, Aurelis BasillioRef W457
[1857-1928] Born in Leeds.

He was a brewery labourer – possibly Brear & Brown Limited [1901].

In 1883, he married Frances Emma Robertshaw [1864-1???] in Halifax.


Frances Emma was born in Southowram
 

Children:

  1. George Bruno
  2. Hypatia [b 1886] who was a cork worker [1900]
  3. Ernest B. [b 1888]
  4. Athellina [b 1894]

The family lived at Horton Terrace, Halifax Road, Hipperholme

Wakefield Bank, SouthowramRef W2144
Another name for Old Bank, Southowram

Wakefield, Rev Charles T.Ref W2300
[1847-1914] Born in Sheffield.

Minister at Cross Lanes United Methodist Chapel, Hebden Bridge [1883-1891].

He left in July 1891.

He married Hannah Mary [1859-1931].

Rev Wakefield died in Leeds [4th September 1914].

Hannah Mary died 26th July 1931 (aged 72).

The couple were buried at Cross Lanes United Methodist Chapel, Hebden Bridge

Wakefield Court RollsRef W2342
The court rolls for the Manor of Wakefield.

These are published by the Yorkshire Archæological Society

Wakefield GateRef W10
Ancient packhorse route from Wakefield passes Bailiff Bridge, Lightcliffe, Hipperholme, Watergate, over Place Bridge, through Mytholm, along Halifax Old Road, left up Dark Lane, over Beacon Hill, Whiskam Dandy down Old Bank, across Clark Bridge, around Halifax Parish Church, up Causeway and Woolshops, and into Halifax.

The road then continues west out of Halifax, up Gibbet Street to Highroad Well, Newlands, Luddenden, Midgley, Mount Skip, The Lanes, Hebden Bridge and on towards Burnley as the Long Causeway.

Daniel Defoe wrote:

We quitted Halifax not without some astonishment at its situation, being so surrounded with hills, and those so high as makes the coming in and going out of it exceedingly troublesome, and indeed for carriages hardly practicable, particularly the hill which they go up to come out of the town to the east towards Leeds, which is so steep, so rugged, and sometimes so slippery, that, to a town of so much business as this, it is exceedingly troublesome and dangerous

The route was superseded by the Halifax Old Road / Shibden Hall Road and the Wakefield & Halifax Turnpike of 1741, and then by the road through Godley Cutting which was constructed in 1824-1830, now the A58

Wakefield, George BrunoRef W267
[1885-1915] Son of Aurelis Basillio Wakefield.

Born Giordano Bruno Wakefield in Hipperholme [Q1 1885]..

He was a printer's apprentice [1901].

On 24th August 1907, he married Amy Hawkins [1884-19??] at Winchester Register Office. Children:

  1. Ernest Basil [b 1909]
  2. George Wilfred [b 1910]

Both children were born in Malta and served with the Australian Military in World War II. The family lived at 2 East Street, Rastrick.

He was a regular soldier with 8 years' service in Crete, Malta, India & Afghanistan, and a reservist.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was killed at Neuve Chapelle [10th March 1915].

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial, France [Grave Ref 32 & 33], on Brighouse War Memorial, on Rastrick War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe

Wakefield, GilbertRef W2756
[1911-1994] Of Hipperholme.

Son of Rylatt Wakefield.

Born 28th November 1911.

In 1939, he was a baker & confectionery maker, living at 20 Lees Buildings, Hipperholme with his siblings Sarah, Amy Alice, Susan Annie, and Eric.

He served as a Driver in North Africa during World War II, delivering ammunition to the front line.

After the war, he and his brother ran a light haulage business.

He was a well-known and much-loved character in the village

Wakefield House, BrighouseRef W615
Wakefield Road.

Formerly the Drill Hall, Brighouse

Wakefield, Manor ofRef W116
Around 1121, the Manor of Wakefield was granted to the Earls of Warren – possibly because of The First Earl's support for William Rufus in 1088.

The Manor was very large and comprised 11 graveships: Wakefield, Stanley, Alverthorpe, Thornes, Sandal, Ossett, Horbury, Sowerby, Holme, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse, and Rastrick.

Consequently, parts of what is now Calderdale belonged to the Manor of Wakefield, and people and places from Calderdale are recorded in the Wakefield Court Rolls and other documents.

In 1362, the Manor was granted to Edmund de Langley, 5th son of Edward III.

In 1461, the Manor reverted back to the Crown.

From 1554, it was administered for the Crown by the Duchy of Lancaster.

In 1629, Charles I gave it to settle a debt to the Earl of Holland.

In 16??, he gave it to his son-in-law.

In 16??, he sold it to Sir Christopher Clapham.

In 170?, it passed to the Duke of Leeds.

See Honour of Warenne, Viscount Irwin, Sowerbyshire, Wakefield Court Rolls, Wakefield-Pontefract feud and Savile family of Thornhill

Wakefield-Pontefract feudRef W11
Feud between Sir Richard Tempest of the Manor of Wakefield, and Sir Henry Savile of the Honour of Pontefract.

Roger Tempest killed Thomas Longley who was holding court at Brighouse on 21st April 1518, and then fled to seek sanctuary in Durham Cathedral.

Richard Tempest's followers killed Gilbert Brooksbank, a Heptonstall priest who had displeased Tempest.

At the Halifax Fair on Midsummer Day 1533, Gilbert Hanson, deputy bailiff of Halifax, and one of Savile's men, William Riding of Elland, fought a duel in which both received fatal wounds.

A supporter of Savile, Robert Holdesworth was drawn into the troubles, and on 8th May 1556, he was murdered – possibly a mob protesting against the Pilgrimage of Grace and the Wakefield-Pontefract feud for remarks which Holdesworth made about Henry VIII.

The dispute continued when the Pilgrimage of Grace – in which the Tempests and the Saviles took opposing sides – spread into Yorkshire and Lancashire.

See Other feuds

Wakefield Road Toll Gate, Sowerby BridgeRef W971
Aka Clap Lane Toll House. A toll gate for the Sowerby Bridge Turnpike Road.

Built in 1824.

The toll gate was taken down in 1870.

The toll house was demolished in 19??.

Wakefield, RylattRef W690
[1870-1939] Son of Rylatt Wakefield, groom.

Born in Lincolnshire.

He was a groom of High Field, Hipperholme [1898] / a teamer [1911].

On 24th February 1898, he married Sarah Ann Smith [1876-1941] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah Ann, of
White Hall, Hipperholme, was born in Hipperholme, the daughter of Stephen Smith, painter
 

Children:

  1. Rylatt
  2. Sarah Ruth [1900-1980]
  3. Amy Alice [1903-1993] who was a warper (woollen) [1939]
  4. Beatrice Victoria [1908-1959]
  5. Gilbert
  6. Susan Annie [1914-1994] who was a wool packer [1939] & married [1930] Arnold Dyson [1912-1964]
  7. Eric [1918-1973] who was a gardener / chauffeur / handyman [1939]

The family lived at

  • 28 Lees Buildings, Hipperholme [1911]
  • 20 Lees Buildings, Hipperholme [1918]

Rylatt (senior) was buried at Coley Church [17th June 1939]

Wakefield, RylattRef W884
[1899-1918] Son of Rylatt Wakefield.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/8th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 13th April 1918 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 8 & 9], and on Coley War Memorial

Wakefield, SamuelRef W227
[1680-1719] Halifax attorney

Wakefield, ThomasRef W787
[16??-16??] Around 1675, he was accused of not attending church, of calling Thomas Bentley
a fforsworne rogue

and saying the King's precept was

a ffratching paper

Wakelin, Rev A.Ref W996
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1916, when he was Minister at Luddendenfoot Congregational Church

WakesRef W12
The traditional annual summer holiday when all Halifax businesses, shops, factories, mills and industries closed.

Workers' annual holidays were introduced towards the end of the 19th century.

Originally, the local holiday was held in August – the first being a 4-day holiday in 1896 instituted by the Halifax Chamber of Commerce. This first holiday was widely observed by most firms and industries in the district, one of the few exceptions being Dean Clough.

The holidays were discontinued during World War I. They resumed on 7th August 1919.

From 1945, a group including T. W. Cordingley fixed the holiday at the two weeks commencing the second Saturday in July.

The name is used for the annual holiday in several northern towns, and derives from the wake, the traditional ritual of keeping vigil over a corpse on the eve of the funeral, or on the eve of any festival. The local usage of the term to mean a holiday is said to have come from Lancashire. There was some initial local opposition to the holiday being called The Wakes because this was the name adopted by the Lancashire cotton mills.

The Wakes holiday was abandoned in 1995, although there are a few local businesses which still retain the traditional July holiday.

See Blackpool Illuminations, Brighouse holiday week, Brighouse Rush, Half-day closing, September Break, Teacher's Rest and Thump Sunday

Walbank, RichardsonRef W6130
[1792-1848] He married Frances Bradley [1796-1851].

Children:

  1. Ann [1814-1875] who married (1) Thomas Longbottom, and (2) Charles Ambler
  2. Frances [1816-1860] who married Charles Ambler

WalcoRef W383
Trade-name of Waltons of Halifax

Walden, Rev KeithRef W1007
[18??-19??] Minister at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax [1881-1893]

On 4th August 1893, his library was destroyed by fire.

He moved to Brighton

Waldron, FrankRef W870
[1919-1942] Son of Elsie & William A. Waldron of Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Gunner with the 124th Field Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 10th May 1942 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Alamein Memorial, Egypt [Grave Ref 38]

Waldron, ThomasRef W426
[1855-19??] Born in Roscommon, Ireland.

He was a mason's labourer [1901] / a builder's labourer [1911].

In 1885, he married Mary [1857-19??].


Mary was born in Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth A. [b 1889] who was a sweeper-out (worsted mill) [1901], a winder (worsted mill) [1911]
  2. John [b 1891]
  3. Thomas

The family lived at

  • 16 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 15 Fitzwilliam Street, Halifax [1911]

Waldron, ThomasRef W417
[1893-1917] Son of Thomas Waldron.

He was a member of St Marie's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street / a dyer's labourer [1911] / employed by Fletcher Brothers.

He lived with his parents at 15 Fitzwilliam Street, Commercial Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted [January 1917], and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [3rd May 1917] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 4 & 5], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Waldron, WilliamRef W899
[1919-1944] Son of Mary & Anthony Waldron of Brighouse.

During World War II, he served as a Warrant Officer with the 582nd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 29th July 1944 (aged 25).

He was buried at Durnbach War Cemetery, Germany [Grave Ref 11 E 28]

Wale, FreddyRef W2070
[19??-19??] Of Lancaster.

He married Dorothy Sykes.


Dorothy was the daughter of
Alfred Edward Sykes
 

Children:

  1. David
  2. Patrick
  3. Sally

They lived for some time in Africa before settling in New Zealand

Gladys W. Yull (nee Sykes) was one of the three daughters of Sarah (nee Watkinson) and Alfred Edward Sykes, whose family owned Gosport Mill, Outlane, Huddersfield. Gladys's older sister was Marjory Butler (nee Sykes) whose husband Geoffrey was managing director of Butler Machine Tool Company. The third daughter of Sarah and Alfred was Dorothy, who lived and died in New Zealand. Gladys, Marjory and Dorothy were HALF cousins to Canon Watkinson. Gladys was the mother of George Watkinson-Yull, Paul and Angela. Jackie is married to George. Marjory and Geoffrey Butlers son Clive married Susan Gledhill, daughter of Ronny Gledhill of Arthur Gledhill Outfitter, Crown Street, Halifax and was a first cousin to Gwynneth, Lady Mackintosh. Clive Butler's sister Ann was married to Bill Wall (ME) 

Waleys, Philip leRef W1155
[12??-1???] In the 13th century, he and Alan del Rodes were charged at Rastrick with taking a stag and a kid. They were found Not Guilty by the jury, and were acquitted and considered
to be in all things good and true men towards the Earl of Warren

Walforn, FrankRef W325
[1884-1974] Son of William Richard Walforn.

Born in Halifax.

In [Q1] 1909, he married Martha Jane Stott [1884-1932] in Halifax.

Martha Jane died 12th September 1932 (aged 48).

Frank died 30th January 1974 (aged 91) 

The couple were buried at St Stephen's Church, Copley [D 360] with Lucy Annie Elizabeth, wife of Albert Lewis Edwards, and Arthur Walforn Edwards [b Amesbury 12th August 1910]

Walforn, William RichardRef W346
[1853-1946]

In 1879, he married Ellen Edwards in Halifax.


Ellen had a son Albert Lewis Edwards
 

Children:

  1. Frank

Walkden, JohnRef W2671
[1???-16??] Vicar of St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1633-1643]

Walkden, John WilliamRef W352
[1892-1916] Born in Manchester.

During World War I, he enlisted in Todmorden, and served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [30th July 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Walker...Ref W13
The entries for people & families with the surname Walker are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Walker & AppleyardRef W7550
Halifax photographers

Walker & BrookRef W1601
Quarry owners and stone merchants at Five Acre Quarry, Elland [1905]

Walker & CompanyRef W1574
Stone quarrier at Hill Top Quarry, Hipperholme, Park Quarry, Lightcliffe, and Rough Hey Quarry, Lightcliffe [1896].

In October 1899, a widow, Mrs Marsden, brought an action against the company for compensation for the loss of her son who had died from injuries received whilst working for the company. The arbitrator decided that, since the son was illegitimate, the mother could not recover damages

Walker & EdmondsonRef W1651
17th/18th-century worsted-spinning partnership established by Mr Walker and Thomas Edmondson with mills at Mytholmroyd.

They had a bad child labour record. In factory returns of the 1830s, they employed 17 children aged between 6 and 8 years old, and 50 aged between 8 and 10. If children arrived 3 or 4 minutes late, they were beaten with straps.

Some of the their workers were interviewed during Crabtree's Tour of Calder Dale of 1832

Walker & HamerRef W2053
Stone merchants at Stainland.

Partners included S. Walker and B. Hamer.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1876

Walker & ThropRef W1733
Patent tram seat manufacturers at Bell Hall Yard, Halifax [1905]

Walker Bingo Hall, BrighouseRef W55
See Albert Theatre

Walker BrothersRef W2023
Worsted spinners at Halifax.

Partners included Benjamin Walker, Samuel Walker and Ely Walker.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1839

Walker BrothersRef W592
Brick makers of Greetland

Walker's: C. H. Walker & CompanyRef W1665
19th/20th century Halifax draper with a large store on Northgate.

See John Walker and John William Walker

Walker's CokeRef W1649
A coke-manufacturing company with ovens near Brighouse Station. Mr Walker used coal from Low Moor to produce the coke. In 1840, he obtained a contract to supply the railway company – at 14/- per ton at a rate of 50 tons per day – for 5 years

Walker Continuous Loom Syndicate LimitedRef W1660
Bradford company with business premises at Norwood Green [1904]

Walker's: Ely Walker & SonsRef W1641
Established by Ely Walker.

In 1835, the firm was one of the subscribers to the Halifax Dispensary, giving 1 guinea

Walker's: F. Walker & SonRef W1642
Legal firm established by Frederick Walker.

They had business at 2 Harrison Road, Halifax and Barum Top [1915].

See Finn Gledhill & Company, Ernest Taylor and Charles Selborne Walker

Walker's: Frederick Walker, Son & DickieRef W1478
Halifax solicitors.

Partners included Frederick Walker.

See Finn Gledhill & Company

Walker's: H. Walker & SonsRef W1606
Manufacturers of serges and druggeting established by Haigh Walker.

They were at Perseverance Mill, Elland [1905]

Walker's: J. Walker & CompanyRef W1472
Worsted manufacturers with business at Norwood Green Mill. Recorded 1820-1949

Walker's: James Walker & SonsRef W2581
Stone merchant at Clock Face Quarry, Barkisland. The partnership was dissolved in 1864. The business was carried on by John Walker

Walker's: John Walker & SonRef W2280
Corn merchants and millers at Mearclough Bottom [1809]

Walker's: John Walker & Sons (Halifax) LimitedRef W1666
Drapers.

See Denton Walker and John William Walker

Walker's: Joseph Walker & Son LimitedRef W605
Stone masons and builders established by Joseph Walker and his son Edgar.

In 1935, Edgar's son Arnold took over the business.

See Mount Farm Estate

Walker's: P. M. Walker & CompanyRef W1678
Ventilating engineers and sheet metal workers at Bedford Terrace, Halifax [1905].

In 1887, P. M. Walker took out a patent for

improvements in ventilators

See Farlane, Walker & Company

Walker's: Walter Walker & CompanyRef W1770
Worsted spinners established by Walter Walker.

Other partners included Arthur Walker and Samuel Walker Highley.

They had business at Ryburne Mills, Halifax [1887], Mile Thorn Mills, Halifax [1893], and Union Mills, Halifax [1905].

In 1910, there was a court case in which Samuel Walker Highley tried to stop Douglas, son of Walter Walker being brought into the business. Samuel lost, and the partnership was dissolved in 1913; he established Samuel W. Highley & Company in the same year.

See Walter Brenard

Walkington, JacksonRef W975
[1921-1943] Son of Ellen & Jackson Walkington of Railway Terrace, Copley.

He was employed by Waller Brothers.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Green Howards (Yorkshire Regiment).

He died 7th August 1943 (aged 22).

He was buried at Catania War Cemetery, Sicily, Italy [Grave Ref I E 39].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Walkley ClogsRef W1598
One of the last surviving clog manufacturers in Britain was founded as F. Walkley (Clogs) by Frank Walkley in Huddersfield in November 1946.

The company later moved to Hebden Bridge where they took over James Maud & Sons in 1972. Their main factory was at Canal Wharf Saw Mills.

In 2010, they were at Mount Pleasant Mill, Mytholmroyd

Walkley, FrankRef W384
[19??-] Started a repair shop and made clogs at Huddersfield.

See Walkley Clogs

Walks & walkingRef W19

Wall, AbrahamRef W920
[15??-1638] Born in Heptonstall. He went to live in London.

He established Wall's Charity

Wall, AlbertRef W130
[1891-1916] Son of Sarah & James Wall of 16 Stansfield Terrace, Cornholme.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 25th October 1916 (aged 25).

He was buried at Bulls Road Cemetery, Flers, France [Grave Ref I C 13].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Wall, ArthurRef W730
[18??-1917]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He was killed in action [3rd May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 8], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Wall's CharityRef W921
In his will of 1638, Abraham Wall gave an annual sum of around £8; to provide bibles to poor men's children once every 3 years, £4 to teach the poor children in Heptonstall, and £3 to provide an apprenticeship for one child to a trade in London. The money was to come from the rental of property in Ironmonger Lane, London. The sum provided for the apprentice was too small and none was sent.

Wall, GeorgeRef W2680
[1776-18??] 1841

He was an Independent minister / a retired Minister of the Gospel [1841].

He married Ann Leatham [1781-18??] from Snaith.

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1806]
  2. Alice [b 1807]
  3. Mary [b 1811]
  4. Thomas [b 1816]
  5. Eliza [b 1818] who married Mr Shillitoe
  6. George [b 1820]
  7. Susanna [b 1821]

The family lived at New Cottage, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse / Yew Cottage, Lightcliffe [1837, 1841, 1845].

His daughters ran Misses Wall School from their home

Wall, MissesRef W1800
The daughters of George Wall ran schools for ladies in Halifax, Soyland and Lightcliffe

Wall Nook, GreetlandRef W925
Community between Ripponden and Greetland.

See Wall Nook Primitive Methodist Chapel, Greetland and Wall Nook Quarry, Greetland

Wall Royd, OvendenRef W744
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Wallace, JackRef W178
[1923-1990] Born in Halifax.

In 1946, he married Blanche Marjorie Fossey in Halifax.


Blanche Marjorie was the daughter of
Ernest George Fossey
 

Children:

  1. Geoffrey J. [b 1947]

Wallace, JosephRef W1019
[1858-19??] Halifax law-stationer.

He married Hannah [b 1855].

They lived at 33 Aked's Road, Halifax [1891].

See Halifax Incorporated Law Society Limited

Wallace's LimitedRef W2410
The People's Grocers opened a new store at 52 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge on 17th October 1902. This was their 60th branch


Question: Does anyone know anything about the business? Were they a national company?

 

Wallace, MrRef W565
[17??-18??] Halifax law-stationer.

He lived at the Square, Halifax

Wallace, MrRef W1424
[18??-1???] JP.

Partner in Wilkinson & Wallace. He was Chairman of the Northowram Local Board

Wallace, WilliamRef W323
[1837-1916] He was Mayor of Halifax [1907-1908].

See Halifax Baby Bounty Scheme and William Wallace's Charity

Wallace's: William Wallace's CharityRef W809
Northowram. Established by William Wallace

Waller, AbrahamRef W1972
[1834-1887] Son of Michael Waller.

Born in Mirfield.

He was a bookkeeper [1851] / a textile manufacturer / cotton spinner at Brighouse [1871, 1881].

He was a defendant [?] in the case of Waddington vs Waller [1854].

In 1857, he married (1) Martha Ann Crossley [1822-1874] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Edith Hannah [b 1858]
  2. Clare Elizabeth [b 1860]
  3. Henry
  4. Charles
  5. Mary Frances [b 1866] who married Joseph Richardson

In 1875, he married (2) Mary Jane Winterbottom [1839-1???] in Prestwich.


Mary Jane came from Oldham
 

The family lived at

  • Waterloo, Brighouse [1861]
  • Spring Terrace, Waterloo Road, Brighouse [1871]
  • Oakroyd, Brighouse [1881]

Waller & Son LimitedRef W2088
Of Bradford.

On 29th August 1916, they bought the brewery and public houses of Brear & Brown Limited for £95,150, beating Whitaker's brewery in their bid.

They subsequently moved their Trafalgar Brewery operations to Hipperholme.

In November 1916, they sold 22 premises in Halifax area formerly belonging to Brear & Brown's to Whitaker's brewery

Recorded in 1922.

In 1935, the business was bought by Melbourne Ales of Leeds and Wakefield. Brewing at Hipperholme ceased soon after. They continued to use the Maltings at Hipperholme.

The business was eventually absorbed into the Bass Charrington group who continued to use part of the site as a maltings until 1973

Waller BrothersRef W1620
Cotton spinners at

Partners and others involved in the business included Charles H. Waller and Henry Hirst Waller

See Greetland Bowling Green

Waller, Charles HerbertRef W1129
[1862-1932] Son of Abraham Waller.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a cotton manufacturer [1891] / a partner in Wood, Robinson & Company [1899] / a cotton spinner (employer) [1901] / a partner in Haigh, Wright & Company [1922] / a director of Waller Brothers, West Vale / a director of the Bank of Liverpool & Martins Limited / a director of the Amalgamated Paper Mills Limited of Glasgow and Manchester [1920].

On 10th April 1888, he married (1) Grace Haigh at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.


Grace was born in Stainland, the daughter of Abraham Haigh
 

Children:

  1. Kathleen [1890-1981]
  2. Stanley Haigh [b 1892]

Grace died in 1891.

In [Q2] 1894, he married (2) Rachel Fielding [1860-1939] in Halifax.


Rachel was the daughter of Benjamin Fielding
 

The family lived at Glenholme, West Vale.

Waller, DanielRef W1152
[1865-19??] Son of William Waller.

He was a Brighouse architect and partner in Sharp & Waller.

In 1895, he married Lucy Anne Collins in Halifax.

The family lived at 10 Bute Terrace, Smith House Lane, Brighouse [1911]

Waller, Frederick WilliamRef W724
[1857-1???] Son of William Waller.

Born in Halifax [Q2 1857].

Baptised at Mirfield [19th July 1857].

He was a cotton spinner [1881].

In [Q2] 1882, he married Annie Barber in Halifax.


Annie was the daughter of Ephraim Barber
 

Waller, Gary Peter AnthonyRef W436
[1945-] Conservative MP for Brighouse & Spenborough [1979-1983]

Waller, Henry HirstRef W1468
[1861-1949] JP.

Son of Abraham Waller.

Born at Waring Green, Brighouse.

He was a partner in Waller Brothers.

He was one of the founders of Brighouse Rangers. He played until 1894 when he received 4 broken ribs.

He became a well-known rugby administrator.

In 1895, he chaired the meeting at the George Hotel, Huddersfield at which 22 northern clubs voted to leave the Rugby Football Union and establish the Northern Rugby Football Union, later the Rugby Football League. He was the First President of the Northern Rugby Football Union.

On 25th July 1900, he performed one of the opening ceremonies of the World's Fair Exhibition

In 1886, he married Louisa Worsnup [1863-19??] in Leeds.


Louisa came from Leeds
 

Children:

  1. Henry Norman
  2. Dorothy Louise [b 1892]
  3. child

The family lived at

He died at Lyndhurst.

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Waller, Henry NormanRef W306
[1890-1917] Son of Henry Hirst Waller.

He was educated at Charterhouse.

He joined the family business – Waller Brothers – at Onecliffe Mill, West Vale.

He was a Territorial.

During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action at Bullecourt [3rd July 1917].

He was buried at Noreuil Australian Cemetery, France [Grave Ref H 4].

He is remembered at Brighouse Cemetery,

He is remembered on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland, and on the Memorial at Elland Constitutional Club.

Sergeant Sydney Kingham was awarded the MM for attempting to save Captain Waller

Waller, LydiaRef W2641
[1832-1883] Born in Wilsden.

She married (1) James Barraclough.

She married (2) her brother-in-law William Robinson.

She died in Brighouse [24th January 1883].

Lydia & other members of her family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Waller, Marshall & LockwoodRef W2490
Cotton warp manufacturers at Thornhill Briggs Mill, Brighouse [1840].

See Michael Waller

Waller, MichaelRef W1973
[1793-1870] Son of John Waller.

Born in Kirkheaton.

He introduced cotton spinning to Brighouse.

In 1851, he was a cotton spinner and employed 41 hands.

He established Michael Waller & Sons at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse [1858, 1874].

On 12th December 1813, he married Hannah Hirst [1796-1854] from Mirfield, in Mirfield.

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1816] who married [1859] Joshua Dyson of Elland
  2. Miles [b 1823]
  3. William
  4. Lydia [1826-1850]
  5. Michael [b 1829] who was an engine tenter [1851]
  6. Abraham

The family lived at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse [1841, 1851, 1861].

See Waller, Marshall & Lockwood

Waller's: Michael Waller & SonsRef W1830
Cotton spinners at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse [1858, 1874]. Established by Michael Waller

Waller, WilliamRef W2283
[1825-18??] Son of Michael Waller.

Born in Mirfield.

He was a butcher [1851].

Like his father, he became a cotton spinner employing 50 hands [1861] / a cotton spinner and band maker employing 14 men, 30 girls and 8 boys  [1871] / a cotton spinner [1881].

In 1854, he married Jane Dyson [1834-1912].


Jane was born in Brighouse
 

Children:

  1. Frederick William
  2. Dyson Hirst [1859-1913] who was a cotton spinner [1881]
  3. Teresa [b 1861]
  4. John Edward [1863-1905] who was a painter [1881]
  5. Daniel / David
  6. Arthur Herbert [b 1867]
  7. Hannah Jane [b 1870]
  8. Alfred Theodore [b 1873]
  9. Cunliffe Charles [b 1876]

The family lived at

  • Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse [1861]
  • Old Lane, Brighouse [1871]
  • 1 Crooked Ridings [Terrace], Holme Lane, Brighouse [1881, 1891]

Wallet & DartRef W855
Two greyhounds who were drowned in Thornton Conduit on 21st March 1891.

A stone in a field near the Withens Hotel, Wainstalls marks the graves of two animals

Walling's: H. A. WallingRef W2474
Retailers specialising in fitted carpets, linoleum and carpets. They were at 12 Cheapside and 25 Old Cock Yard, Halifax [1937]

Wallis, Canon J.Ref W985
[19??-19??] Vicar of Hartshead [1969-1979]

Wallis, JohnRef W98
[1812-1858] Born in Warley.

He was a manufacturer [1841] / a merchant & oil cloth manufacturer [1851] / tarpaulin manufacturer [1858]. He established John Wallis & Company.

On 15th November 1832, he married (1) Elizabeth Walton [1815-1835] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Sarah Ann [1833-1903]
  2. Joseph Walton

On 1st December 1835, he married (2) Ann Todd [1811-18??] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Mary Alice [b 1838] who married George Holdsworth Crossley
  2. Emily [1839-1894]
  3. Alfred [1838-1865]
  4. Emala [b 1840]
  5. Sophia [1841-1937]

The family lived at Rose Hill, Warley [1841, 1851].

John died 7th September 1858.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £12,000. Probate was granted to his sons Joseph Walton & Alfred, and Abraham Clay and Daniel Clay

Wallis's: John Wallis & CompanyRef W1688
Oil cloth and tarpaulin manufacturers at Rose Hill Works, Sowerby Bridge [1874, 1905, 1914].

Established by John Wallis

Wallis, Joseph WaltonRef W1001
[1834-1878] (Possibly) son of John Wallis.

He was Chairman of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board [15th April 1868-15th April 1869]

Wallis, PeterRef W1049
[1825-1867] Landlord of the Station House, Eastwood [1867]

Wallis, SamuelRef W2434
[18??-18??] Of Lister Lane, Halifax.

He exhibited his carving at the Great Exhibition of 1851. A review of his work in the ecclesiastical section said

A more than ordinary vigour is apparent in the grapes which form the decoration of a sideboard

Walls, WilliamRef W332
[1886-1917] Born in Hebden Bridge.

He lived at 602 Burnley Road, Cornholme.

During World War I, he served as a Private / stretcher-bearer with the 2nd/3rd Field Ambulance (E. Lancs)  Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died of wounds in the Casualty Clearing Station in France [11th October 1917].

He was buried at Nine Elms British Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III E 3].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, on Cornholme War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Joseph's Roman Catholic Church

Wallwork, TomRef W772
[1861-1910] Landlord of the Shepherds' Rest, Sowerby Bridge [1902-1906]

Walmsley, 1910 Rupert HenryRef W404
[1910-1959] Son of Arthur 1885 Walmsley.

On 11th July 1932, he married Dorothy Kitty Jackson [1911-1974] from Halifax.

Rupert Henry died in Burnley [23rd November 1959].

Dorothy Kitty died in Hailsham in 1974

Walmsley, ArthurRef W390
[18??-19??] Born in Triangle.

He was a railway clerk [1908].

On 21st April 1908, he married Edna Hollas in Sowerby.


Edna was the daughter of
Watson Hollas
 

Children:

  1. Alice [b 1909] who married Thomas Harold Wilcock
  2. Rupert Henry

Walmsley BrothersRef W1682
Wholesale druggists and drysalters. They were at Back Gerrard Street, Halifax [1905] and Stannary Street, Pellon Lane [1915]

Partners included Thomas Herbert Walmsley

Walmsley, Rev E.Ref W1829
[18??-18??] Priest at St Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Halifax [1874]

Walmsley, GeorgeRef W2311
[1856-1919] Singer.

Recorded on 11th November 1900, when he sang the bass solos in a performance of Mendelssohn's Elijah.

He lived at Halifax Road, Todmorden

Walmsley, JamesRef W3180
[1836-1???] Born in Ovenden.

He was a pit linker [1871].

He married Margaret [1838-1???].

Children:

  1. Asa [b 1862] who was a worsted factory spinner [1871]
  2. Joseph [b 1864]
  3. Mary H. [b 1867]

The family lived at Bradshaw Lane, Ovenden [1871]

Walmsley, Rev L. E.Ref W1045
[18??-19??] He was at Haydon Bridge before serving at Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [1929]

Walmsley, RobertRef W8101
[1808-1878] He was a confectioner and bread baker living at Pavement in Todmorden. In 1851, he employed 2 men.

In 1856, he bought Newbridge Mill, Walsden and employed 36 hands.

In the 1860s, he returned to his old trade of grocer, confectioner and baker.

In 1830, he married Sarah [18??-1845].

Children:

  1. Ann
  2. Robert
  3. child who died young
  4. child who died young
  5. child who died young
  6. child who died young
  7. child who died young
  8. child who died young

In 1845, 2 months after Sarah died, he married Mary, widow of Robert Law.

They had no children.

Mary died in 1868.

He married Mary Sutcliffe.

They had no children.

The family lived at

He & his 2nd & 3rd wives were buried at St Peter's Church, Walsden

Walmsley, SquireRef W446
[1838-1899] Born in Ovenden.

He was a grocer & draper [1871, 1891]

In [Q3] 1860, he married Mary Hannah Greenwood [1840-1908].


Mary Hannah was born in Ovenden
 

Children:

  1. Janet [b 1861]
  2. Clara [b 1864]
  3. (possibly) Annie [1866-1867]
  4. (possibly) Emma [1866-1867]
  5. (possibly) Arthur [1869-1870]
  6. Ernest [b 1870]
  7. John D. [b 1875]
  8. Mary E. [b 1872]
  9. Nora [b 1877]

The children were born in Todmorden.

The family lived at

  • Pellon [1871]
  • 2 New Street, Halifax [1899]
  • 74 Albert View, Halifax [1908]

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Walmsley, StephenRef W2705
[1840-19??] Born in Ovenden.

He was a coal miner [1871] / a yeast hawker and landlord of the Junction, Bradshaw [1881] / a poultry dealer [1901].

In [Q2] 1863, he married Emma Slater [1844-1???] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ellen Jane [b 1868]
  2. Alice [b 1870]
  3. James [b 1873] who was a boiler maker's labourer [1871]
  4. Emily [b 1875] who was a worsted twister [1901]
  5. William [b 1877] who was a general labourer [1901]
  6. Lydia [b 1880] who was a worsted twister [1901]
  7. Fred [b 1883] who was a carter on a farm [1901]
  8. Joe [b 1883] who was a carter on a farm [1901]

The family lived at

  • Bradshaw Lane, Ovenden [1871]
  • Bradshaw [1881]
  • 265 Shay Lane, Illingworth [1901]

Walmsley, ThomasRef W175
[1847-1883] Born in Halifax.

He was a master grocer employing 2 men [1881].

In 1873, he married Mary Frear [1845-1???] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Otley
 

Children:

  1. Arthur F. [b 1875]
  2. John Fred [b 1877] who was an office boy [1891], a solicitor's articled clerk [1901]
  3. James Edgar [b 1879]
  4. William E. [b 1880]
  5. Thomas Herbert

The family lived at

  • 6 South Parade, Halifax [1881]
  • 9 North Parade, Halifax [1891]
  • 45 Savile Park, Halifax [1901]
  • 5 Hyde Park Road, Halifax [1911]

Thomas died 18th July 1884 (aged 36).

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £4,896.

His executors were his widow Mary, Henry Keighley of Milton Terrace, Halifax (iron moulder), and James Marsden of Weymouth Street, Halifax (fruit & potato merchant) 

Walmsley, Thomas HerbertRef W901
[1882-1917] Son of Thomas Walmsley.

Born in Halifax [21st March 1882].

He was a member of Wesley's Chapel, Halifax & Sunday School / a grocer's assistant [1901] / a commercial traveller for manufacturing druggist [1911] / a member of the Commercial Travellers' Temperance Association / junior partner in Walmsley Brothers [1915].

In [Q2] 1908, he married (1) Sarah Ethel Parratt [1883-1909] in Halifax.

Sarah Ethel died Q4 1909 (aged 26).

In [Q3] 1912, he married (2) Ada Barron in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Gladys M. [b 1913]
  2. Arthur B. [b 1914]

The family lived at

  • 3 Woodbine Terrace, Halifax
  • 31 Clapton Avenue, Halifax [1917]

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1916], and served as a Gunner with the 237th Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He was killed instantaneously – one week before his 35th birthday – when an enemy shell exploded [17th March 1917] (aged 34) 

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [31st March 1917].

He was buried at Vlamertinghe New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref VI C 9].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Walmsley, Thomas RichardsonRef W734
[1893-1917] DCM.

Son of William Walmsley

Born in Saddleworth / Greenfield, Yorkshire.

He lived with his parents in Holmfirth.

He was a member of Holmfirth Parish Church Choir & Bible class / a rotary cloth presser [1911] / employed by B. Mellor & Son Limited, Albert Mills, Holmfirth / a driver for Halifax Corporation Tramways [1914].

He had a sweetheart Miss Robinson.

During World War I, he enlisted [1914], and served as a Sergeant with Y 14th Trench Mortar Battery Royal Field Artillery.

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal [July 1917] for


conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty. He has consistently performed good work throughout, especially when under fire, and has at all times set a splendid example
 

On his last leave, he told his mother

Whatever happens, mother. Don't think anything about it, it can't be helped.

He was killed by a shell as he was going to help others who were being shelled [3rd December 1917] (aged 24).

He was buried at Oxford Road Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V E 6].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Walmsley, WilliamRef W351
[1861-1???] Son of James Walmsley.

Born in Burton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire.

He was a farmer [1891] / a police constable [1901] / a police sergeant [1911].

In 1886, he married Agnes Richardson [1865-1???].

at Barbon, Westmoreland.


Agnes was born in Kirkby Lonsdale, Westmorland, the daughter of William Richardson
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1891] who was a woollen cloth weaver [1911]
  2. Thomas Richardson
  3. Edith A. [b 1896] who was a woollen burler [1901, 1911]
  4. Wilfred [b 1898] who was a woollen piecener [1901, 1911]
  5. Edward [b 1901]
  6. Margaret Annie [b 1904]

The family lived at

  • Raber Top, Ingleton, Yorkshire [1891]
  • Front Street, Wetherby Road, Bramham, Wetherby, Yorkshire [1901]
  • 25 Paris Road, Holmfirth [1911]

Walnut Cottage, BrighouseRef W720
Bonegate.

Owners and tenants have included

Walpole, ThomasRef W813
[17??-1???] Of Sowerby and Sowerby Bridge Wharf. Agent for the Aire & Calder Navigation Company [1809]

WalsdenRef W23
District of Calderdale south of Todmorden.

It was in the parish of Rochdale and a part of Lancashire until the late 19th century.

See Todmorden & Lancashire

Walsden Association Football ClubRef W337
@1914 is recorded

Walsden Bleaching & Dyeing Company LimitedRef W1697
Of Todmorden-cum-Walsden. Recorded in 1938

Walsden Conservative ClubRef W1869
Recorded in 1888, when Samuel Fielden of Stansfield Cottage was President, Henry Chadwick was Secretary, and John Dawson was Treasurer.

Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 80.

Recorded in 1917, when James Barker was secretary

Walsden constablesRef W2569
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Walsden

See Todmorden & Walsden constables and Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry [1838]

Walsden Co-operative SocietyRef W1690
A meeting to address the formation of a Society in Walsden was held in December 1849. The Society opened in 1850.

The Hollins Branch store stood opposite the Hollins Inn.

In 1873, they had premises at Providence Street / Beswick Street, Walsden.

In 1897, they opened a reading room at Lanebottom.

In 1900, they opened the Copperas House Branch.

In 1936, it merged with the Bridge End Equitable & Progressional Society. The Society closed in 1966.

See Co-operative Street, Walsden, Robert Jackson and Pioneer Mill Company

Walsden Cricket & Bowling ClubRef W362
The cricket club was established in 1870.

In March 1913, a bazaar to clear off the Club's debts raised £220.

Their home ground is at Stott Street, Todmorden, on the site of the former Inchfield Mill Dam.

Sydney Starkie played for the club.

The Club plays in the Central Lancashire League.

See Sidney Taylor, Thompson Helliwell, and Charles Dugdale

The Walsden HighwayRef W2553
The packhorse route from Rochdale to Walsden and Todmorden.

It was superseded by the Todmorden Turnpike through Steanor Bottom.

See Ragby Bridge, Walsden

Walsden Institution & Working Men's ClubRef W1983
Recorded in October 1880.

See Walsden Working Men's Club & Institute

Walsden Liberal ClubRef W1870
Recorded on 1st August 1888, when William Ormerod was President.

Recorded in 1893 & 1917, when Arthur Fielden was secretary.

On 1st February 1908, it reopened after extensive renovation and decoration

Walsden LibraryRef W230
Inchfield Road, Walsden, Todmorden

Walsden Mill Company LimitedRef W1695
Cotton spinners and manufacturers established in 1905. The company occupied Alma Mill, Walsden

Walsden MoorRef W2611

Walsden OddfellowsRef W320
See Bottoms School, Walsden and Oddfellows

Walsden Parochial Sick & Burial ClubRef W2332
Recorded on 22nd February 1913, when the disbursement of their funds was reported. 603 members' shares were paid out, the highest amount being over //22

Walsden Post OfficeRef W1980
Rochdale Road

Walsden Printing CompanyRef W1696
Textile printers at Ramsden Wood Mill

Walsden Railway StationRef W1381
Opened in 18??

A boy was killed crossing the line in 1864.

A girl was killed on the level-crossing on 20th October 1864.

One man was killed and two injured by an express train on 3rd October 1896.

Closed on 6th August 1961 and demolished shortly afterwards. The footbridge dated 1890 is still used.

A new station was opened on 10th September 1990.

See Thomas Hinchcliffe, Robert Knott, Railway Hotel, Walsden, Todmorden Station and Winterbutlee Tunnel

Walsden Temperance Brass BandRef W2308
Recorded on 12th May 1900, when the won a prize in a contest at Bamber Bridge.

See Thompson Helliwell

Walsden Toll BarRef W8005
See John Midgley

Walsden Ward, TodmordenRef W2111
One of the Electoral Wards of Todmorden. Recorded in 1905

Walsden WaterRef W53
Stream which joins Ramsden Clough at Bottoms above Walsden, and runs down to join the Calder at Todmorden.

See Alma Road (river) Bridge, Walsden and Cal

Walsden Working Men's Club & InstituteRef W78
Recorded in 1872, when they met at the Hollins Assembly Rooms.

Robert Law studied here.

Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 60.

See Walsden Institution & Working Men's Club

Walsh...Ref W114
The entries for people & families with the surname Walsh are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Walsh & BrierleyRef W1643
Brace stiffener and stock manufacturers [1851].

Partners included Samuel Walsh and John Henry Brierley.

They had business in Halifax and at 25 Noble Street, Cheapside, London [1855].

They had business in Pellon Lane, Halifax [1883] where they are mentioned for committing a smoke nuisance

Walsh & MaddockRef W1571
Architectural partnership established by J. F. Walsh and George Maddock.

William Henry Wilkinson joined the partnership, becoming Walsh, Maddock & Wilkinson.

After Maddock's death in 1939, the partnership became Walsh & Wilkinson.

Some of their work included:

Others are listed under J. F. Walsh

Walsh & McCrea (Coatings) LimitedRef W1667
Manufacturers of plain and fancy damasks and worsted coatings.

Partners (possibly) included Thomas Selby Walsh and John Lane McCrea.

They had business at Archer Street Mills [1874, 1895] and Union Mills [1895].

In 1915, the Council served a notice which required the company to provide sufficient means of escape in case of fire.

See Edwin Booth Stott

Walsh & NicholasRef W1572
Architectural partnership established by J. F. Walsh and Graham S. Nicholas.

The partnership was dissolved in 1910 when Nicholas's health forced him to move to the south of England.

Some of their work included

Others are listed under J. F. Walsh

Walsh & WilkinsonRef W1570
Architectural partnership established by J. F. Walsh and H. W. Wilkinson after the death of George Maddock.

George Alan Coutts joined the partnership, becoming Walsh, Wilkinson & Coutts.

Some of their work is listed under J. F. Walsh

Walsh & WrigleyRef W1464
Architects. Partnership established in 1894 by Joseph Frederick Walsh and Willie Wrigley. The business lasted 16 months

Walsh, Asquith & Company LimitedRef W2124
Boiler-makers at Empire Works, Holmfield.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Walsh, Asquith & Company Limited

Makers of every description of Welded and Riveted Iron and Steel Boilers, Copper Boilers and Cylinders, Brass Work, Lead Lined Flushing Cisterns, Sanitary Appliances, Engineers Fittings.

EMPIRE WORKS, HOLMFIELD, HALIFAX
Telegrams: "Sanitary" Halifax
Telephone No. 474 Halifax

Walsh's: John E. Walsh & CompanyRef W2473
Patent agents by John Edward Walsh [1879]. The business was at Hind's Chambers, Halifax [1937]

Walsh's: John Walsh PrintersRef W1669
Established by John Walsh. They were letterpress printers at Portland Street, Halifax [1863], and printers at 10 Portland Street, Halifax [1927].

The business closed in 2005.

See Thomas Brenard

Walsh, Maddock & WilkinsonRef W1568
Architectural partnership established by J. F. Walsh and George Maddock and W. H. Wilkinson.

After Maddock's death in 1939, the partnership became Walsh & Wilkinson.

Some of their work includes

Other examples are listed under J. F. Walsh

Walsh's: Robert Walsh & SonRef W2279
Cotton and wool card makers at Aked's Road, Halifax [1809]

Walsh, Wilkinson & CouttsRef W1569
Architectural partnership established by J. F. Walsh, H. W. Wilkinson, and George Alan Coutts.

Some of their work included

Others are listed under J. F. Walsh

WalshawRef W25
Hilltop hamlet above Hardcastle Crags. A part of the township of Wadsworth First mentioned in 1277, the name uses the element Welsh and may mean copse of the Welsh, or, copse of the strangers. There is a hunting lodge built for Lord Savile.

See King's Walshaw, Erringden and Walsden

Walshaw, AbsalomRef W2506
[1835-1878] Of Halifax

Walshaw & SonRef W1296
Legal firm at Crown Street Chambers, Halifax.

Partners included Joseph Walshaw and Saxon Walshaw

Walshaw & SonsRef W814
Halifax dyers.

Partners included Thomas Walshaw

Walshaw & StottRef W2354
Bottlers/brewers in Halifax. Partners included John William Walshaw and James Stott.

Walshaw, ArthurRef W8160
[1862-1910] Son of Edwin Walshaw.

Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted dyer [1891] / a police constable at Halifax [1901] / a retired policeman [1910].

In [Q3] 1885, he married Emma Senior in Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax, the daughter of James Senior.

She was a cloth weaver [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Phyllis [b 1895] who was a cloth weaver [1911]
  2. Tom

The family lived at

  • 43 Thomas Street South, Halifax [1891]
  • 12 Brunswick Place. Morley, Dewsbury [1901]
  • 9 Park Place, Halifax [1918]

Arthur died in Dewsbury. [10th November 1910] (aged 48)  In 1911, Emma & the children were living with her parents at Holmfield.

Emma died 24th March 1937 (aged 74).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3096]

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3096]

Walshaw Bridge, Hardcastle CragsRef W2495
Footbridge across Hebden Water at Hardcastle Crags

Walshaw, DavidRef W650
[1836-1914] Butcher, auctioneer and cabinet maker of 61 Commercial Street, Brighouse.

He was a member of St James's Church, Brighouse.

He was involved in the notorious bad meat case, which is discussed in the Foldout.

In June 1914, he was driving his dog-cart when it was run into by a heavy motor-waggon and he was thrown to the ground. His health never recovered

He died of a heart attack [14th July 1914] Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,541

Walshaw Dean Footpath DisputeRef W2315
Since time immemorial, there had been public right of way on Walshaw Dean Moors, going up Walshaw Dean and across to Haworth.

When work on the Walshaw Dean Reservoirs was taking place [1900-1907], the path was cut and contractors and Lord Savile's staff turned people away. This caused strong protests and great bitterness.

On 27th July 1907, there was a demonstration over the alleged closing of the path.

On 25th May 1908, Lord Savile accepted terms and the path was re-established on the present line

Walshaw Dean Middle ReservoirRef W1287
Aka Walshaw Intermediate Reservoir. One of the Walshaw Dean Reservoirs. It covers 38 acres and has a capacity of 244 million gallons

Walshaw Dean MoorsRef W2748
Moorland between Hebden Bridge and Haworth.

See Walshaw Dean Footpath Dispute

Walshaw Dean RailwayRef W1348
See Hardcastle Crags Railway

Walshaw Dean ReservoirsRef W531
Hebden Bridge.

Built by Enoch Tempest for Halifax Corporation under an Act of Parliament passed in 1868. Widdop Reservoir [of 1878] was built under the same Act, and provided sufficient supplies for a time.

Halifax Corporation obtained parliamentary approval for the reservoirs in 1898.

The first sod was cut by the Mayor of Halifax, William Brear, on 17th September 1900.

The valves and ironwork were supplied by Glenfield & Kennedy of Kilmarnock, and the cast iron pipes were supplied by Staveley Coal & Iron Company Limited of Chesterfield.

The cost of construction was £170,000.

The first reservoir opened on 1st October 1907.

There are 3 reservoirs: Walshaw Upper Reservoir, Walshaw Intermediate Reservoir, and Walshaw Lower Reservoir.

The drainage area was around 2,300 acres and the combined capacity was 610 million gallons.

The reservoirs did not come into full use for about 10 years.

See Back Shaw, Blake Dean railway bridge, City in the Hills, Hardcastle Crags Railway, Navvyopolis, Paddy Mails and Walshaw Dean Footpath Dispute

Walshaw Dean stone circleRef W26
On 21st July 1902, a water engineer, Mr W. Patterson, announced the discovery of a Bronze Age stone circle at Walshaw Dean Reservoir.

The circle had 10 irregular stone uprights measuring 36 ft in diameter, with an inner horseshoe-shaped stone wall-like feature which was 12 ft across. One of the uprights was 6 ft 3 in long. The stones were of the local millstone grit. Remains of a cremation were also found.

The circle is now submerged beneath Walshaw Dean Middle Reservoir and only visible in times of severe drought

Walshaw, Drake & Company LimitedRef W5620
Slubbing dyers.

They had a dye works – Walshaw & Drake's Mill – at Rosemary Lane, Rastrick.

Walshaw Drake & Company is now a division of the Bulmer & Lumb Group.

See Walshaw & Drake Memorial

Walshaw, EdwinRef W2502
[18??-1???] Chairman of the Halifax Omnibus & Cab Company Limited [1867]

Walshaw, EdwinRef W911
[1826-1???] Born in Huddersfield.

He was a dyer [1891].

Around 1861, he married Harriet [1827-1???].


Harriet was born in Almondbury
 

Children:

  1. Tom who died 11th August 1852 (aged 17 days) 
  2. Rosalind who died June 4th 1857 (aged 2 years & 5 months) 
  3. Herbert [1861-14th December 1902] who was a dyer [1891]
  4. Arthur

The family lived at 2 Horley Green Road, Northowram [1891].

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3096]

Walshaw Falls, Hardcastle CragsRef W2178

Walshaw, Helen MollieRef W2143
[1912-1952] Daughter of Saxon Walshaw.

She married Edmund Hodgson [1899-1961] from Blackpool.

Children:

  1. Christopher
  2. Ann
  3. Michael
  4. Joan Margaret

Edmund was a missionary and served in the Congo under the Congo Evangelistic Mission. He and a colleague were hacked to death by Baluba tribesmen in North Katanga in 1961

Walshaw, IrvingRef W393
[1???-1957] Managing Director of Drake & Company Limited

Walshaw, J.Ref W2136
[18??-19??] Newsagent, stationer and bookseller at 7 Northgate, Halifax [1900]

Walshaw, JohnRef W1047
[1???-1870] A dyer.

He lived at Alma Cottage, Northowram.

See Walshaw vs Walshaw

Walshaw, John WilliamRef W2358
[18??-19??] Mineral water manufacturer at Savile Park Road, Halifax [1893].

By 1897, the business had become Walshaw & Stott.

He lived at 1 Perseverance Terrace, Halifax [1905]

Walshaw, JosephRef W1295
[18??-19??] He qualified in January 1872.

He was Grand Marshall of the Grand Lodge of the Independent Order of Good Templars [1882] / Clerk to Rishworth UDC [1905] / a solicitor with Walshaws in Halifax [1934].

In 1875, he married Lydia Annie Wilson in Oakham, Rutland/Leicestershire.

His wife was also an official of the Grand Lodge of the Independent Order of Good Templars

See Christopher Tate Rhodes

Walshaw, JoshuaRef W2505
[18??-1???] Halifax solicitor.

Recorded in July 1873, when he was appointed one of the Secretaries of the British Temperance League at Halifax

Walshaw, JoshuaRef W1708
[1835-1904] Born in Heckmondwike.

He was publican at Heckmondwike [1891] / innkeeper of the Bridge Hotel, Greetland [1901, 1904].

In 1859, he married Eliza Pickles [1838-1917] in Dewsbury.


Eliza was born in Heckmondwike
 

Children:

  1. Tom [b 1865] who was an indigo dyer [1891]
  2. Alfred Henry [b 1871] who was an apprentice [1891], a woollen dyer [1901], manager at the Bridge Hotel [1911]
  3. Florence [b 1874] who was a dress maker [1901]
  4. Emma [b 1876]
  5. Annie [b 1882] who was a barmaid [1911]

The family lived at Market Place, Heckmondwike [1891].

Living with them [in 1891] was grandson Ernest Whitley [aged 10].

Living with them [in 1901] was sister-in-law Constance Pickles [b 1851] (dry cleaner) and grandson Arthur Pick [b 1890]

Joshua died on the 16th August 1904. Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £288. Probate was granted to his widow Eliza, his son Alfred Henry Walshaw (dyer)  and Frederick Arthur Bottomley, (book-keeper).

After Joshua's death, Eliza took over at the Bridge Hotel [1905, 1911]

Walshaw Lane Bee BolesRef W496
A set of 7 mid-18th century rectangular bee-boles in a wall east of Overwood Farm

Walshaw Lodge, HeptonstallRef W2449
A hunting lodge for the Savile family.

In 2010, Lord Savile sought permission to convert the lodge into a hotel

Walshaw Lower ReservoirRef W1288
The southern-most of the Walshaw Dean Reservoirs.

During construction, the reservoir developed a fault – a consequence of the geology – and Enoch Tempest went bankrupt trying to rectify the fault.

This is 1050 ft above sea-level. It covers 24 acres and has a capacity of 160 million gallons Much of the water is used for compensation of the other Walshaw Dean Reservoirs, with the top 40 feet [146 million gallons] being used for supply

Walshaw Mechanics' InstituteRef W1469
A Mechanics' Institute recorded in 1910

Walshaw, RobertRef W419
[19??-19??] Motor-racing driver from Lightcliffe. In 1952, he was one of a 3-man team which made a record-breaking drive from London to Cape Town in 13 days, 9 hours, 6 minutes. He retired after a 20-year career when he completed the 25th Grand Prix at Le Mans in 1957

Walshaw, SaxonRef W1297
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor with Walshaws [1934]. He qualified in August 1903 He was Deputy Clerk to Rishworth UDC. He was Honorary Treasurer to the Halifax Incorporated Law Society.

He married Norah, daughter of Edward Richardson.

Children:

  1. Helen Mollie

Walshaw, Stott, Storey & CompanyRef W1856
Logwood grinders at Lower Shaw Mill, Halifax [1861] and at Grove Ware Mills, Halifax [1874].

The partnership – listed as Stott, Storey & Walshaw – was dissolved in November 1881

Walshaw, ThomasRef W1200
[1833-1868] He was a partner in Walshaw & Sons.

He retired and became landlord of the Old Cock, Halifax.

He was a member of the Turk's Head Conservative Club / a member of the Loyal Georgean Society [meetings were held at Walshaw's house].

On 30th April 1868, there was a fire at a mill in Bailey Hall Road, Halifax – occupied by Thomas Crossley & Sons.

Walshaw (aged 35) went to the scene to assist in the incident, and was walking along the roof of a the black dye-house, when he fell through a sky-light into a dyer's vat full of hot, poisonous chrome dye and drowned.

His body was discovered in the vat around 6:00 am.

He was taken out

in a parboiled state

and conveyed to the T' Cat i' th' Window, Halifax, where the Inquest was held. The Jury returned a verdict of accidental death.

The funeral procession started from the Old Cock for St Thomas's Church, Claremount.

He was buried at St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Walshaw, TomRef W3051
[1899-1918] Son of Arthur Walshaw.

Born in Morley, Leeds.

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School [1911] / connected with St Paul's Church, King Cross / employed by the Halifax Town Clerk.

During World War I, he enlisted with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry [1917], and he served as a Lance Corporal / Lewis gunner with the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was wounded by shellfire somewhere in France; his wounds were dressed, but he died before he could be evacuated [18th April 1918].

His photograph appears with reports of his story in the Halifax Courier [27th April & 4th May 1918].

He is remembered at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3096], on the Loos Memorial, France [Grave Ref 20-22], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross, and on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Walshaw Upper ReservoirRef W1286
The northern-most of the Walshaw Dean Reservoirs. This is 1100 ft above sea-level. It covers 24 acres and has a capacity of 205 million gallons

Walshaw vs WalshawRef W2503
A legal dispute in 1873.

The London Gazette [11th March 1873] announced


PURSUANT to a Decree of the High Court of Chancery, made in a cause Walshaw against Walshaw, the creditors of
John Walshaw, late of Alma Cottage, in Northowram, in the county of York, Dyer, who died in or about the month of October, 1870, are, on or before the 15th day of April, 1873, to send by post, prepaid, to Messrs Robson and Suter, of Halifax, in the said county, of York, the Solicitors of the defendants, Charles James Walshaw, Edwin Walshaw, and John Goodyear, the executors of the deceased, their Christian and surnames, addresses and descriptions, the full particulars of their claims, a statement of their accounts, and the nature of the securities (if any) held by them or, in default thereof they will be peremptorily excluded from the benefit of the said decree. Every creditor holding any security is to produce the same before the Vice-chancellor Sir John Wickens, at his chambers, situated at No. 11, Old-square, Lincoln's-inn, Middlesex, on Friday, the 25th day of April, 1873, at twelve o'clock at noon, being the time appointed for adjudicating on the claims.

Dated this 8th day of March, 1873

 

In settlement of the case, land and property was sold – at the Brown Cow, Halifax on 2nd July 1873 – and included

See Norris, Foster & England and Robson & Suter

Walt Royd Farm, WheatleyRef W214
Upper Wheatley Valley / Crag Road. Late 17th century / early 18th century aisled house.

In the 18th century, it was the home of Cornelius Ashworth.

In Ashworth's time, the ministers from Square Independent Chapel, Halifax and Pellon Lane Baptists came once a month to preach at the house

This is discussed in the books Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, In & About Our Old Homes and Our Home & Country

Walter, HerveyRef W752
[11??-11??] Son of Hervey.

He married Matilda de Valoignes.


Matilda was daughter and co-heiress of Theobald de Valoignes, lord of Parham, Suffolk
 

Children:

  1. Theobald
  2. Hubert
  3. Bartholomew
  4. Roger
  5. Hamon

Walter, HubertRef W27
[1160-1205] Aka Hubert Walters.

Son of Hervey Walter.

His family came from Norfolk.

He was Absentee Rector of Halifax [1185] / Dean of York [1186-1189] / Bishop of Salisbury [1189-1193] / Archbishop of Canterbury [1193-1205] / Lord Chancellor of England [1199-1205].

He travelled to the Holy Land with Richard the Lion-Heart on the Third Crusade [1190] and, when Richard was taken prisoner by emperor Henry VI, Walter brought the army back to England and raised a ransom of 100,000 marks for the king's release.

On Richard's death in 1199, he was appointed Chancellor.

He may have introduced the concept of feet of fines

Walter, TheobaldRef W731
[11??-12??] Aka Theobald le Boteler.

Son of Theobald Walter,

See John de Thornhill

Walter, TheobaldRef W733
[11??-1206] Aka Theobald Walter le Boteler.

Son of Hervey Walter.

He was first Baron Butler / Butler of Ireland [1192] / High Sheriff of Lancashire [1194].

He was granted land in Ireland by Prince John.

He founded the Abbey of Woney in Ireland, and Cockersand Abbey in Lancaster.

He married Matilda.


Matilda – also called Maud – was the daughter and heiress of Robert le Vavasour
 

Children:

  1. Theobald
  2. Maud who married Gerald de Prendergast

Walterclough Gardens, SouthowramRef W2291
An advertisement of 17th May 1879 announced

WALTERCLOUGH GARDENS, Southowram

TEAS provided for parties upon notice being given
Swings for the use of visitors
15 mins from Hipperholme Railway Station

Hay & Rhubarb for Sale

WILLIAM WOODHEAD, Proprietor

Walterclough Hall, SouthowramRef W281
Aka Upper Walterclough. 14th century hall which overlooked the land which was to become Sunny Vale Pleasure Gardens.

The Hall was built by the Hemingway family.

Owners and tenants have included

Caroline Walker was born here.

This is discussed in the books Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and In & About Our Old Homes

There was some work by Harry Percy Jackson: carved panelling to head height incorporating botanical details and masonic symbols, door-frames with fluted pilasters topped by protruding capitals, and doors with decorated centre panels. In 1919, the woodwork was acquired by the Lady Lever Art Gallery, Port Sunlight. Some sources say that the woodwork came from Langley Hall, Hipperholme.

Walterclough, SouthowramRef W1963
See Little Walterclough, Lower Walterclough, Upper Walterclough, Walterclough Hall School, Southowram, Walterclough Hall, Southowram, Walterclough Lane, Southowram, Walterclough Mill, Southowram, Walterclough Pit, Hipperholme and Walterclough Valley

Walterclough ValleyRef W192
Valley at Hipperholme leading down to the Shibden valley.

Walterclough Gardens and Sunny Vale Pleasure Gardens were here.

On 24th August 1940, seven bombs fell here when a German bomber dumped his payload as he escaped from searchlights. There was minimal damage beyond a severed overhead power cable and some broken windows. It was said that the German pilot had been attracted by a searchlight at Hove Edge. The farmer charged 10d to go the site. He gave the money to the Red Cross.

See Little Walterclough, Lower Walterclough, Upper Walterclough and Walterclough Mill, Southowram

Walters & SamuelsRef W1764
They had a 2½d Bazaar at 56 Northgate, Halifax [1905] and a 3½d Bazaar at 104 Borough Market, Halifax [1905]

Walters, Rev George FrederickRef W532
[1881-1929] MC.

Born In Stapenhill, Derbyshire.

Minister at Trinity United Methodist Free Church, Walsden [1900s].

In 1911, he and his brother [?] Thomas Henry Walter [b 1884] (assistant store keeper at brewery) were boarders with Florence and David Oldham at 78 Bennett Street, Hyde, Cheshire

During World War I, he served with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He was awarded the Military Cross for bravery and services rendered in France.

He died in Torquay

Walters, JohnRef W292
[1824-1877] Born in Cambridgeshire [7th January 1824].

He was a tanner [1861] / a tanner & currier [1871].

He married (1) Mary Ann [1824-1872].


Ann was born in Ireland
 

Mary Ann died 19th April 1872 (aged 48).

In [Q4] 1872, he married (2) Sarah Greenwood in Halifax.


Sarah was the daughter of
Joseph Greenwood
 

The family lived at

  • 8 Broad Street, Halifax [1861]
  • 19 Greenups Terrace, Warley [1871]

John died 7th June 1877.

Sarah died 5th November 1911 (aged 77).

Members of the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [C Con 436]

Walters's: John Walters & CompanyRef W1638
Tanning business established in 1835. The business was acquired by Mark Wilcock [1877]

Walters, W.Ref W784
[18??-19??] Woolstapler at Halifax.

In December 1884, he was declared bankrupt

Walters, Rev WilliamRef W1417
[18??-18??] Of Camberwell.

He was the first permanent Pastor at Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax [July 1853].

He left in May 1860

Waltham, George GaltressRef W2481
[18??-18??] He was head master of St Luke's School, Leeds before becoming Master of the Bell School, Harrison Road [1853]

Waltham, Rev JoshuaRef W1936
[18??-18??] BA.

Educated at St John's College Cambridge. He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1841]

Walton...Ref W9
The entries for people & families with the surname Walton are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Walton-Allen, RichardRef W1345
[19??-] Head Chef at Harvey Nicholls in Leeds. He grew up in Brighouse

Walton & Helliwell LimitedRef W1634
Transport company founded by Fred Walton and Newton Helliwell in 1928. They operated from Station Garage, Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd.

In January 1929, they acquired the Cragg Vale to Mytholmroyd bus service of J. A. Halliday and later extended it to Hebden Bridge. They also started running from Hebden Bridge to Sowerby Bridge.

In July 1931, they began operating excursions and tours.

The bus services were taken over by the Halifax Joint Omnibus Committee in June 1935, along with two buses. They continued to operate excursions and tours, and also goods vehicles.

The company was incorporated in 1938.

In 1946, the business was bought by O. & C. Holdsworth Limited who operated it as a subsidiary company, registered at their 9 Harrison Road, Halifax offices.

The O. & C. Holdsworth coach operation and vehicles were transferred to Walton & Helliwell ownership in 1958, and shortly after the latter was sold to Hebble Motor Services.

In 1958, Directors were Charles Holdsworth [Chairman], M. Holdsworth, D. Holdsworth, J. Gomersall [General manager], and E. Jeffrey [Secretary]. These were the same as those for O. & C. Holdsworth.

They had 6 coaches

Walton & HemingwayRef W2645
Stocks & shares brokers. Partners included John Thomas Walton and Edward Manks Hemingway.

They were at 28 George Street, Halifax [1912].

In April 1912, the business was mentioned in bankruptcy notices

Walton Cross, HartsheadRef W150
Only the base remains of this preaching cross – possibly a Saxon or Anglian signpost – dated to the 10th century. On old documents, it is identified as a wagestan, a way stone or way marker. It stands near Walton Farm, Hartshead.

A 15 ft high cross is recorded in the 18th century. The base was excavated in 1867 and stands 4 ft 9 ins high, 3 ft 6 ins wide.

The West Yorkshire Archæology Service logo – a circle and rosette knot – is taken from the interlaced design on the face of the cross.

See Crosse Hall, Clifton

Walton Farm, HartsheadRef W979
Celtic or Anglian settlement.

The name may be derived from Weala-tun [settlement of the Welsh, or settlement of the strangers]

See Walton Cross, Hartshead

Walton's: Henry Walton & CompanyRef W1624
Dyers and finishers established in 1890 by Henry Walton at Slead Mills, Brighouse

Walton's: John Henry Walton LimitedRef W1621
Cotton manufacturer established by John Henry Walton at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1905]

Walton's: M. F. WaltonRef W1640
Pharmaceutical chemist established around 1850 by J. H. Walton.

It passed to S. Walton and then to M. F. Walton.

Around 1885, the business moved to Sowerby Bridge.

They were at Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge – selling whisky, gin, rum & brandy [January 1896].

They produced a range of products, including


Walton's Brunswick black,
Walton's furniture cream,
Walton's hair restorer,
Walton's insect powder,
Walton's marking ink,
Walton's red currant cough elixir,
Walton's vermin killer

In 1887, Major Foulds Walton was listed as a pharmaceutical chemist, and agent for Scottish Equitable Assurance at Town Hall Street, and Ryburn Buildings, Sowerby Bridge

Walton's: Thomas & John WaltonRef W1622
Picker makers at Stoneswood Mill, Todmorden [1905]

Walton's: William Walton & SonsRef W1631
Halifax woolstaplers and wool merchants. Established at Halifax around 1850 by William Walton. They were at Square Road, Halifax.

His sons joined the business.

After the deaths of his father and brother, Frederick William Walton became sole proprietor

Waltons of HalifaxRef W1583
Leather goods and clog-making business founded at Siddal in 1910. The business moved to North Parade. The trade-name was Walco.

In 1974, the company had 44 retail shops in Yorkshire and Lancashire. The company closed in 199?

Wanklyn, Vernon WilliamRef W1054
[1871-1942] Of Holly Bank, Halifax

Born in Forehoe, Norfolk.

He was a bank manager [1918].

Around 1930, Jocelyn Horner made a sculpture of Vernon William.

In [Q3] 1906, he married Mary Gladys Howarth in Halifax.


Mary Gladys was the daughter of James Henry Howarth
 

Children:

  1. Joan Mary Hibbert who married Charles Patrick Crossley
  2. a daughter

He died in Bucklow, Lancashire/Cheshire [Q2 1942].

See Charles Louis Royer

Wanstead, WarleyRef W2567
In the 1920s, Lower Hoyle Green, Warley was renamed Wanstead for a brief period

Wapping, Hebden BridgeRef W513
A popular 19th century name for Buttress Brink

Wappy Ales & StoutsRef W727
Ainley's / John Ainley & Sons Limited were locally renowned for their Wappy stout which was brewed with the soft spring water.

Wappy was the company brand for its ales and stouts which could be enjoyed in the nearby Wapping (now Wappy) Spring Inn, the brewery tap, initially a beer house, on Lindley Moor Road

War Horse DayRef W2378
A World War I initiative. On 28th July 1917, £860 was raised

War MemorialsRef W2159

War Weapons WeekRef W656
A national fund-raising scheme of 1940-1941. A total of £5,334,931 was raised throughout Calderdale

Warburton, Sir Geoffrey deRef W725
[13??-13??] He became the second husband of Alice de Radcliffe, widow of Sir John Elland

Warburton, George H.Ref W948
[18??-19??] (Possibly) son of George S. Warburton.

In [Q2] 1912, he married Ellen Haigh in Halifax.


Ellen was the daughter of William Haigh
 

Ellen died 25th July 1957 (aged 79).

She & her sister Hannah Rebecca were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Warburton, George S.Ref W953
[1860-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a gardener (domestic) [1901].

Around 1883, he married Annie G. [1860-19??].


Annie G. was born in York
 

Children:

  1. Ellen S. [b 1883] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  2. Florence L. [b 1885] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  3. Henrietta [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  4. George H. [b 1889] who was a worsted doffer [1901]
  5. Willie [b 1896]

The family lived at 2 Elm Wood Cottages, Halifax [1901]

Warburton, JohnRef W1242
[1???-18??] BA.


Question: Is he the same person as Rev John Warburton?

 

He was educated at Pembroke Hall Cambridge / Assistant Curate at Holy Trinity, Halifax [1823]

Warburton, Rev JohnRef W583
[17??-1860] MA.


Question: Is he the same person as John Warburton?

 

Headmaster of Hipperholme Grammar School [1835, 1841].

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

On 1st October 1835, he married Mary Anne Willmott at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Anne was the eldest daughter of the Rev William Willmott
 

Children:

  1. Eleanor Sarah [bapt 24th October 1844]
  2. Henry Willmott [bapt 3rd July 1846]
  3. John Seaton [bapt 27th June 1849]

He died by his own hand on 20th November 1860, having been found

suspended by a cord to his bed

although other reports say that

he was seated with the cord tied loosely round his neck

He had been depressed during his last few months, a consequence of family disquietudes, and this had been aggravated by the death of his wife earlier in the year

Warburton, W.Ref W1874
[18??-19??] Luddenden millwright. He worked with Ebenezer Hargreaves. The 2 men left to go into business on their own. Around 1890, he established W. Warburton & Company at Turbine Works, Halifax. When Warburton died, a descendant of Hargreaves bought the business

Warburton's: W. Warburton & CompanyRef W1628
Electrical engineers and millwrights established by W. Warburton around 1890 at Turbine Works, Halifax. The business closed in 1993

Warburton, WilliamRef W519
[1841-1913] Of Midgley.

Son of James Warburton, millwright.

He married (1) Unknown.

On 20th November 1879, he married (2) Charlotte Baldwin.


Charlotte was the daughter of
Richard Baldwin
 

Ward...Ref W39
The entries for people & families with the surname Ward are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Ward & LambertRef W2031
Business at Ripponden.

Partners included J. Ward and R. Lambert.

The partnership was dissolved in November 1816

Ward & McReaRef W1565
Cloth manufacturer of Cross Hills, Halifax. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products

Ward & TateRef W952
Grocers at West Vale.

Partners included William Ward and Thomas Tate.

The partnership was dissolved in November 1881

Ward's Cottage HomesRef W31
Washer Lane, Halifax.

An estate of 24 cottages – rent and rates free – endowed by Richard Dearden Ward for people over 60 years of age who were unable to work.

The cottages opened on 11th May 1907, and were

built of best Accrington brick

comprising a living room with an adjoining bedroom, and a small scullery.

The communal toilets were outside.

One set of cottages was at street level, another was below, in the style of up-and-over houses, and looked west across to the Norland hillside.

They closed in the 1960s, and were demolished in 1982.

My paternal grandmother, Ada Mary Bull lived here [1960s]

Ward's End, HalifaxRef W714

Ward's End Hall, HalifaxRef W34
Aka Ward's Hall.

The house stood at Ward's End on the site of what was later the Bus Station and the Regal Cinema.

Judge Stansfeld lived here. His son, Sir James Stansfeld was born here.

The hall was demolished in the early 1900s to make way for the bus station.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Sketches of Old Halifax

See Webster's School

Ward's: J. W. & C. WardRef W1591
They were

They were taken over by Courtaulds.

Partners included John Whiteley Ward and Christopher Ward.

The father of Hugh Campbell was chief carpet designer here [1880]

Ward's: J. W. Ward & Sons Limited, HalifaxRef W1597
Dyeing company established in 1880. They had business at Walnut Street, Halifax [1881].

They were one of the original companies which formed the Bradford Dyers' Association.

See John Whiteley Ward

Ward, Sheppard & Company LimitedRef W1783
Dyers and finishers at West End Dye Works, Halifax [1905]

Warden, JosephRef W5760
[1817-1879] Landlord of the Northgate Hotel, Halifax [1874, 1879].

On 23rd October 1836, he married Elizabeth Mellin [1815-1899] in Halifax.

Joseph died in 1879.

They lived at 4 Staverton Street, Halifax [1899].

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Wardingley, GeorgeRef W807
[1834-1???] Born in Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire.

In 1857, he married Mary Ann Spink [1836-1???] in Pontefract.


Mary Ann was born in Whitley, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. William [b 1860]
  2. George Henry [b 1863]
  3. Thomas

The family lived at

  • Rastrick [1871]

Wardingley, ThomasRef W805
[1867-1932] Son of George Wardingley.

Born in Rastrick.

He was an iron moulder [1891, 1911] / a member of the Territorial Army [from 1885].

In 1900, he was with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

Thomas and his sons Harold, Admiral & George were members of the Brighouse D Company of the Territorial Army [1914].

In [Q3] 1889, he married Ellen Astin [1868-19??] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Brighouse
 

Children:

  1. Harold [b 1891]
  2. Admiral [b 1895]
  3. George [b 1897]

The family lived at

  • Lillands Lane, Rastrick [1891]
  • Brighouse [1911]
  • 2 George Street, Brighouse [1914]

Thomas died in Halifax [Q2 1932] (aged 65) 

Wardle, AlbertRef W740
[18??-1918]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 12th/13th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 21st March 1918.

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial, France [Grave Ref 16-18], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Wardle, DavidRef W897
[1835-1884] Son of Joseph Wardle.

Born in Bradford.

He was a slater & plasterer [1871] / beerhouse keeper at the Claremount Inn, Halifax [1875] / a slater [1881] / a contractor [1893].

In May 1879, he was declared insolvent with liabilities of around £3000

In He married Dinah [1841-1???].


Dinah was born in Rochdale
 

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1859]
  2. Harriet [b 1860] who was a woollen weaver [1881]
  3. Selina [b 1863]
  4. Albert [b 1864] who was a general labourer outdoor [1881]
  5. Samuel [b 1867]
  6. Thomas [b 1869] who was a plumber turner [1891]
  7. Elizabeth [b 1871] who was a cotton twister [1891]
  8. Harry Wallace
  9. Arthur [b 1878] who was a butcher [1891]
  10. Ada Ann [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891]
  11. Willie [b 1884]

In 1871, the family were living with David's father Joseph at the Claremount Inn.

The family lived at

  • 6 Earl Street, Northowram [1881]
  • 12 Horsfall Yard, Northowram [1891]

Wardle, Harry WallaceRef W7570
[1873-1???] Son of David Wardle.

Born in Halifax.

He was a carpet dresser [1891] / a warehouseman [1893] / a woollen yarn scourer [1901] / a collector for the Union Clothing Company of Todmorden / a weaver cotton [1911].

In 1906, he was charged with embezzling 5/- from the Union Clothing Company of Todmorden, at Halifax Borough Court. He was acquitted.

In [Q2] 1893, he married Maria Duckworth [1873-19??] at Heptonstall Church.


Maria, of Old Town, Wadsworth, was the daughter of Thomas Duckworth, engineer.

She was a woollen weaver [1901] and a woollen drawer [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1894] who was a weaver cotton [1911]
  2. Clara [b 1902]

The family lived at

  • Range Bank, Halifax [1893]
  • 67 Hollins Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1901]
  • Hollins Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1906]
  • Rock, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge [1911]

Wardle, HenryRef W2479
[1822-1895] Born in Checkley, Staffordshire.

He was a police office in London [1851] / Superintendent of Police in Halifax [1861].

He was mentioned in the investigation of the murder of Betty Hellawell [1862].

He married Mary Ann [1826-1898].


Mary Ann was born in London
 

They had no children.

They lived at

Henry died 5th September 1895.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £230 0/3d.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary Ann

Mary Ann died 12th August 1898.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £166 2/10d.

Probate was granted to Joseph Emanuel Holt (chemist) 

Wardle, JohnRef W2509
[1???-1???] Son of Matthew Wardle.

He was an Ag Lab [1851].

In 1855, a public notice in a local newspaper announced

PARDON ASKED

I, JOHN WARDLE of Skircoat Green in the parish of Halifax, in the County of York, labourer, having on the 1st day of February instant been detected in committing a TRESPASS in PUDDING PARK WOOD, Southowram, the property of Hugh Francis Ingram do hereby publicly express my sorrow for the same and have this day agreed to pay TWO POUNDS for damages done and towards the Expenses incurred by this notice being advertised and posted in such a manner as said Hugh Francis Ingram or his Agents shall think fit.

As witness my hand 2nd February 1855.

JOHN WARDLE

Witness: Robert Parker, Solicitor, Halifax

Wardle, JosephRef W6880
[1801-18??] Born in Halifax.

He was beerhouse keeper at the Claremount Inn, Halifax [1871].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. David

Living at the Claremount Inn with the widower Joseph in 1871 were son David and family

Wardle, MatthewRef W2510
[1782-1???] Of Skircoat Green.

He was a pauper and labourer in a chemical works [1855].

He married Sarah [1788-18??]. Sarah was a school mistress at Skircoat Green [1851].

Children:

  1. John

Wardle, Matthias HarrisRef W347
[18??-18??] Aka Matthew. Architect. In 1865, he was engaged as assistant to Richard Horsfall. He became a partner in Horsfall, Wardle & Patchett and Horsfall's architecture practice.

See Horsfall & Wardle and Horsfall & Williams

Wardle, MrRef W662
[18??-1???]

He married Emily Crompton.


Emily was the daughter of
Elijah Crampton
 

Emily died 25th November 1942 (aged 75) 

She was buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland with her siblings: Ruth Hannah Hamer & John Crompton

Wardle, SamuelRef W773
[1855-1901] Born in Barkisland

He was an assistant (living with his uncle Samuel Pinder) [1871] / a grocer [1881] / a grocer & farmer [1901].

He married (1) Ann [1854-1892].


Ann was born in Car Colston, Nottinghamshire
 

Children:

  1. Sophia [b 1879] who was a woollen weaver [1901]
  2. Mary A. [b 1881] who was a cotton card room hand [1901]
  3. Francis T. [b 1883] who was a farmer's [1901]
  4. Lucy [b 1890]
  5. Samuel [b 1892]

Ann died in childbirth [14th February 1892] (aged 38).

He married (2) Lily A. [1858-19??].


Lily was born in Barkisland
 

Children:

  1. Annie I. [b 1896]

The family lived at Barkisland Village [1881, 1901].

Samuel died 26th October 1901 (aged 46).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland with his uncle Samuel Pinder

Wardley, Albert SprayRef W388
[1896-1917] Son of George Wardley.

He was a member of St Thomas Street Methodist Church, Boothtown / a member of Claremount Liberal Club / a worker in a woollen mill [1911] / employed by Oates & Green Limited at Horley Green Works.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), then served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 10th April 1917 (aged 21).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th May 1917].

He was buried at Vis-En-Artois British Cemetery, Haucourt, France [Grave Ref XI D 8].

One of his brothers was also serving in France, and returned to England suffering from frostbite [March 1917]

Wardley, GeorgeRef W398
[1855-1924] Son of Samuel Wardley [1833-1914], labourer.

Born in Warsop or Worksop, Nottinghamshire.

He was a coal miner of Copper Street, Barnsley [1876] / a coal miner [1881] / a greengrocer (own account) [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1876, he married Rachel Gee [1857-1914] at Barnsley.


Rachel, of 24 Wilkinson's Row, Barnsley, was born in Barnsley, the daughter of Joseph Gee
 

Children:

  1. Joseph [b 1877] who was a doffer (cotton factory) [1891], a labourer (brick yard) [1901], a labourer (wire works) [1911]
  2. Frederick Arthur [b 1883] who was a doffer (cotton factory) [1891], a labourer (brick yard) [1901]
  3. Walter Gee [b 1890] who was a labourer (clay works & brick yard) [1911]
  4. Albert

The family lived at

  • 24 Shepherd Street, Barnsley [1881]
  • 19 Primrose Street, Northowram [1891]
  • Green Grocer's Shop, 1 Dover Street, Halifax [1901, 1911]
  • 3 Health Court / Street, Claremount [1917]

Living with them [in 1911] was George's father Samuel Wardley (old age pensioner).

Members of the family died in Halifax: Samuel [Q3 1914]; Rachel [Q4 1914]; George [Q1 1924]

Wardman, EricRef W763
[1926-2002] Son of John William Richard Wardman.

He took over from his father as landlord of the Druids' Arms, Greetland [1955-1956]

Wardman, JohnRef W77
[1852-1918]

He married Mary E. [1861-1943].

John died 2nd August 1918 (aged 66).

Mary E died 16th October 1943 (aged 82).

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1747]

Wardman, John William RichardRef W689
[1887-1960] Landlord of the Druids' Arms, Greetland [1939-1955].

In [Q3] 1910, he married Amelia Rhodes in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Eric

Son Eric took over at the Druids' Arms [1955-1956]

Wardman, SamuelRef W997
[16??-16??] He married Martha, widow of Richard Best

Wards End Chambers, HalifaxRef W2523
Office premises at the top of Horton Street.

The building was formerly Bentley's Commercial Hotel

Ware, Rev SamuelRef W1859
[18??-19??] Curate at Todmorden [1861]

Ware, WilliamRef W793
[1707-17??] Apprentice with Robert Kitson of Upper Brear, Northowram.

In July 1721, at the age of 14, he married 13½-year-old Sarah Edwards

Wareham, Rev J. E.Ref W2321
[18??-19??] MA.

Curate at Todmorden Parish Church [1909]

Wareing GreenRef W465
19th century spelling of Waring Green

WarenneRef W35
In mediæval literature, the family name is spelled variously Warren and Warenne. We shall use the form Warren

Warenne, Gundrada deRef W1705
[1063-1085] Aka Gundred, Gundrada de Flanders.

Daughter of William the Conqueror and Matilda.

She was born in Normandy.

She married William, the 1st Earl in Normandy around 1077, with whom she founded the Priory of St Pancras at Lewes.

Children: Rainald, Edith, and William, the 2nd Earl.

Gundrada died in childbirth at Castle Acre, Norfolk and was buried at the Priory of Lewes

Warenne, Isabel deRef W1706
[1???-1???] Daughter of the 8th Earl and Isabel de Houland. She became a nun at Sempringham

Warenne, Isabel deRef W2092
[1???-1???] Daughter of Isabel de Warenne.

She married (1) Robert de Laci.

She married (2) Gilbert de L'Aigle [11??-1231]

Warenne, Isabel deRef W1704
[1137-1199] Only daughter and heiress of William, the 3rd Earl and Adelia de Talvas.

In 1153, she married (1) William, the 4th Earl.

William died in 1159. In 1164, she married (2) Hamelin de Warenne, the 5th Earl in Surrey.

Children:

  1. Isabel
  2. William, the 6th Earl

She was buried in the Chapter House at Lewes

Warenne, John deRef W1711
[1???-1???] Son of the 8th Earl and Maud de Neirford

Warenne, Sir William deRef W1703
[1256-1286] Son of John, the 7th Earl.

He was knighted in 1285.

He married Joanna de Vere.


Joanna was the daughter of Robert de Vere, 5th Earl of Oxford
 

Children:

  1. Alice who married the Earl of Arundel
  2. John, the 8th Earl

He was killed in a tournament at Croydon, whilst his father John, the 7th Earl was still alive, and never obtained the title Earl of Surrey

Warham, Dr JohnRef W1355
[1919-1???] Born in Halifax. [11th October 1919].

He became a photographer and ornithologist, and was well-known for his research on seabirds in Australia and New Zealand.

He was educated at King Edward VI Grammar School in Retford, Nottinghamshire.

In 1953, he moved to Australia. He was a reader in zoology at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Warhurst, Harry BroadbentRef W987
[1899-1918] Son of Mary Elizabeth (née Wilcock) [1882-1911] & James Warhurst of 36 Ogden Lane, Rastrick [1901].

Born in Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 12th October 1918.

He was buried at Neuvilly Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref B 16].

He is remembered on Bailiff Bridge War Memorial

Warin son of OrmRef W750
[11??-11??]

(Modern: Warin Ormson)

Also written Warine.

Second son of Orm son of Magnus.

Flourished: documents undated, circa 1153-1180.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Roger

Waring, AlanRef W982
[1921-1942] Son of John Sandham Waring.

He was a member of St John the Evangelist, Warley & Choir / educated at Heath Grammar School.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 76th Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 5th October 1942 (aged 21).

He was buried at Heverlee War Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref 3 D 5-8].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Heath Grammar School Memorial Gates, and on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, Warley

His brother Arthur James also died in the War

Waring, Arthur JamesRef W886
[1917-1941] Son of John Sandham Waring.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School / employed by the Halifax Building Society.

During World War II, he enlisted [1937], and served as a Sergeant / Wireless Operator / Air Gunner with the 211th Squadron Royal Air Force.

He served in Norway, Libya & Greece.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died in Greece [13th April 1941] (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Alamein Memorial, Egypt [Grave Ref 244], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Heath Grammar School Memorial Gates.

His brother Alan also died in the War

Waring, EdwardRef W958
[16??-17??] Curate at Rastrick [1713]

Waring, Frederick WilliamRef W676
[1869-19??] Son of Isaac Waring, schoolmaster.

Born in Heskin, Lancashire.

He was a schoolmaster at the Endowed School, Bispham, Blackpool [1898] / a schoolmaster [1901] / an elementary school head teacher [1911] / a retired schoolmaster [1934].

On 3rd August 1898, he married Clara Maude in Halifax.


Clara, of Lambert Street, West Vale, Greetland, was born in Greetland, the daughter of
William Maude
 

They lived at

  • Sunningdale, Greenlands, Bispham, Blackpool [1901]
  • Greenlands, Bispham, Blackpool [1911, 1934]

In 1911, Clara was staying at the home of her sister Amy Louisa & brother-in-law Waterhouse Hirst 11, Rhodesia Avenue, Halifax.

Clara died at home [16th February 1934].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £18,042 0/6d.

Probate was granted to her husband

Waring GreenRef W259
Local band comprising brothers Jon and Tom Kulczycki, Shaun Mallia and Jared Bowers [2005]

Waring GreenRef W36
Area of Brighouse, lies along Bonegate

See Richard Jessop and The Gill family of Brighouse

Waring Green Community CentreRef W536
Waring Green Congregational Church became the Community Centre after World War II.

Its current [2014] uses include a pre-school nursery, meetings venue, theatre, adult education centree

Waring Green Co-operative StoreRef W1511
Branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society.

This stood at the crossroads, diametrically opposite Waring Green Congregational Church.

Opened on 4th January 1875.

Closed in the 1960s. Demolished in 19??. The site is currently empty

Waring Green PlayersRef W437
Amateur dramatic group established in the 1950s. They were based at the Community Centre at the former Waring Green Congregational Church.

Because of falling membership, the group decided to disband in 2009. Their last production was J. B. Priestley's play When We Are Married in February 2009

Waring, John SandhamRef W986
[18??-19??]

He married Mary Ellen [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. Arthur James
  2. Alan

The family lived at 15 Willowfield Road, Halifax.

Sons Arthur James & Alan died in World War II

Waring, JosephRef W409
[1850-1???] Son of Joseph Waring, weaver.

Born in Kirkheaton.

He was a boiler maker of Northowram [1870] / a boiler maker of Charlestown [1877] / a boiler maker [1881] / a welded boiler maker [1901].

In 1870, he married Sarah Malkin [1850-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Southowram, was the daughter of
Thomas Malkin
 

Children:

  1. Mary [b Q1 1871]
  2. John William [b 1872]
  3. Sarah Ann [b Q1/1876]

Sarah died (possibly in childbirth) [Q1 1876] (aged 25).

In 1881 & 1891, Joseph was a lodger living with Malinda Bell.

In 1901, they were all living at 4 Horne Street, Halifax, with Joseph as head of the household:

  • Malinda
  • Albert Waring Bell [b 1881] who was a rivetted boiler maker [1901]
  • Leonard Bell [b 1883] who was an apprentice fish salesman [1901]
  • Lily Bell [b 1888] who was a woollen spinner [1901]
  • Violet Bell [b 1891]

Willie Bell [b 1885] was a servant (domestic page boy) at 13 Harrison Road, Halifax [1901]

Waring, RowlandRef W3301
[1856-1924] Born in Darton, Yorkshire.

He was a licensed victualler at the Golden Lion, Ripponden [1904-1912] / landlord of the Royal Hotel, Brighouse [1912-1922] / (possibly) landlord of the Railway Hotel, Rastrick [1922].

On 20th January 1877, he married Alathea Sugden [1858-1917] at St Peter's, Bradford.


Alathea came from Bradford
 

Children:

  1. Annie [b 1880] who was assisting in the business [1911] who never married
  2. Caroline [b 1888] who was assisting in the business [1911]
  3. Gladys [b 1895] who was assisting in the business [1911]

Alathea died at the Royal Hotel in 1917.

Roland died at the Boar's Head Inn, Clayton Heights [5th November 1924].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £426 4/2d.

Probate was granted to daughter Annie

Waring, Rev Wilfrid HaroldRef W1128
[1911-1997]

In 1939, he married Melita Nicholls [1917-2007].

He was Chairman of Ripponden UDC [1963-1964] and Chaplain of Rishworth School [1947-1965] and Melita was Assistant Matron at Rishworth [1956-1965].

Children:

  1. Paul [b 1947]
  2. Nicholas [b 1948]

Wilfrid & Melita died in Ripon

Wark, FrancisRef W836
[1884-1952] Known as Frank.

Born in India.

He was a Captain in the Royal Horse Artillery

On 14th October 1914, he married Elsie Mary Pullen [1891-1971] at St Giles's Church, Camberwell, London.


Elsie Mary was born in London
 

Children:

  1. Roger Bourne

The couple died in Norfolk.

The family are remembered on a gravestone at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Wark, Roger BourneRef W833
[1915-1942] Son of Francis Wark.

Born in Woolwich [9th June 1915].

He was a building society clerk.

He lived at 5 West Royd Villas, King Cross, Halifax [1942].

During World War II, he served as a Pilot Officer with the 500th Squadron Royal Air Force.

He was killed in action in Norfolk [16th January 1942] (aged 26)  whilst on war service administration. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,199 15/-.

Administration was granted to his mother

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell [5 547A]

WarlandRef W37
Area of Calderdale south of Walsden

The name comes from Warland House

Warland Bridge, WalsdenRef W607
Bridge #40 over the Rochdale Canal

Warland Commercial Company LimitedRef W1645
Quarry Mill. Walsden. The company was registered in January 1878

Warland Drain, TodmordenRef W448
A conduit which feeds Warland Reservoir

Warland Farm, WalsdenRef W87
Aka Warland House.

Dated 1655 I F. The house gives its name to the Warland district

Owners and tenants have included

  • John Hamer [owner 1799]
  • John Fielden [tenant 1799 when he paid 9/11d tax]

Warland Gate Bridge, WalsdenRef W611
Warland Gate End. Bridge #41 over the Rochdale Canal

Warland Lower Lock, TodmordenRef W588
Lock #34 on the Rochdale Canal. It has a double set of bottom gates to take the 57½ ft long vessels of the Calder & Hebble Canal

Warland Reservoir, WalsdenRef W524
The reservoir is shown on maps of 1851. It is fed by Warland Drain, and collects much of the water that had previously fed Gaddings Dam.

In 1897, Thomas Fielden died after falling down a shaft at the reservoir.

It was acquired by Rochdale Corporation in 1927.

See Light Hazles Reservoir

Warland Upper Lock, TodmordenRef W595
Lock #35 on the Rochdale Canal.

See Quarry Cottages, Walsden

WarleyRef W38
District of Calderdale to the west of Halifax.

See Population and Parish statistics

Warley Board of GuardiansRef W851
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Warley township have included

Warley Cemetery BoardRef W1753
Recorded in the 19th century.

See Warley Town Cemetery

Warley CloughRef W440
Stream which flows from Highroad Well Moor to join the Calder near Sowerby Bridge

Warley Community AssociationRef W7990
The Society is currently [2013] seeking volunteers to help in the project to digitise the burial records for Warley Cemetery and make them available online

Warley constablesRef W1961
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Warley

Warley Co-operative StoreRef W2176
Recorded as 30 Warley Town [1911]. Stood next to the Maypole pub, Warley Town.

It was formerly the Old Dungeon.

The building is now known as Town House

Warley CottageRef W2546
The house stands next to Warley Institute and Town House. Originally called Newhouse.

Owners and tenants have included

Warley Cricket ClubRef W1752
Recorded in the 19th century. The grounds are a part of the Warley Grange Estate.

See John Sutcliffe

Warley CroftRef W2565
This was originally the stables and workers' cottages for Warley House. Rupin Riding School stabled their horses here for a time

Warley EdgeRef W2241
See Warley Edge, Warley

Warley Edge Close, WarleyRef W222
12 Warley Edge Lane. 17th century house

Warley Edge Farm, WarleyRef W205
11 Warley Edge Lane. 17th century house. A doorway is dated 1633 ASMC.

It was rebuilt in 1903

Warley Enclosure ActRef W1922
In 1852, Saltonstall and other land in the area was enclosed under the Act.

At that time, Captain Joseph Priestley Edwards bought land to build Castle Carr

Warley Exhibition FoundationRef W2117
A charity associated with Warley Grammar School of which the income helped students to obtain advanced education

Warley FountainRef W441
In 1900, A. S. McCrea donated an ornate drinking fountain to replace the Maypole at Warley which had been blown down and damaged in March 1899.

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

Warley GaolRef W156
See The Old Dungeon, Warley

Warley GrangeRef W365

Warley HallRef W8502
In 1760, the Old Hall, Saltonstall was known as Warley Hall when it was owned by Daniel Greenwood

Warley HouseRef W195
Stock Lane. House designed by Thomas Bradley and built by Mr Cook in 1769.

Owners and tenants have included

During a lecture tour in 1857, the explorer, David Livingstone, stayed here with Thomas Milne.

It was the home of H. C. McCrea, who bought the house in 1866, and left it to his son, A. S. McCrea, in his will.

In his will, A. S. McCrea left Warley House and its grounds to the Royal Halifax Infirmary. There was a plan for it to become a geriatric unit for St John's Hospital.

After World War II and the advent of NHS, the building was found to need too much adaptation for modern use and was demolished.

In 1953, there were proposals to demolish the house and build a home for the sick on the site.

In 1955, the Ministry of Health pronounced that Warley House was not suitable for hospital use and the future of the building was left in the hands of the Leeds Regional Hospital Board.

In 1961, the Earl of Rosse, of the Standing Commission on Museums and Galleries, said that Warley House was

... a beautiful building and I would like to see it restored

The building was allowed to rot and decay, and it was finally demolished on 21st October 1964.

Around 11 acres of the site were sold off as grazing land. In 1994, the central 2½ acres of the site were purchased by Drs Paul and Catherine Hinton of Sowerby Bridge who recreated a garden. Following problems with vandalism, planning consent for a new Warley House was obtained and this was completed in 2006.

This is discussed in the book Ancient Halls in & about Halifax.

See Warley Croft

Warley InstituteRef W185
Built for A. S. McCrea. Designed by J. F. Walsh It was formally opened on 12th November 1904.

The building had a public library, reading room, newsroom and kitchen on the ground floor, and a billiard room and slipper bath on the first floor. It was a men-only facility until 1951, when women were allowed in.

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

See Warley Cottage and Warley War Memorial

Warley LibraryRef W1993
Recorded in 1929 as Warley Branch Library. At that time, it was only open on Saturday evenings.

Recorded in 1936

Warley Local BoardRef W721
Recorded in 1889, when Simeon Park was a member

Warley LodgeRef W2550
Later name for Warlings

Warley, Manor ofRef W199
In Domesday Book, this was one of the 9 berewicks belonging to the Manor of Wakefield. It appears there as Werla feslei.

The manor was held by the Earls of Warren, the Duke of Leeds, and S. W. L. Fox [1850].

See Saltonstall

Warley MoorRef W232
Moorland near Midgley Moor.

See Blackfield Dam, Warley Moor, Cold Edge Dams, Warley Moor, Heys Clough, Warley, Leadbeater Dam, Warley Moor, Rocking Stone, Warley Moor, Sleepy Lowe, Warley Moor and Warley Moor Reservoir

Warley Moor ReservoirRef W529
Aka Fly Flatts Reservoir

A phase of the Halifax Waterworks Extension Scheme built around 187? by J. F. Bateman.

On 20th May 1864, the first sod was cut by the mayor, William Irving Holdsworth Bateman presented the Mayor with a silver-headed spade inscribed

Halifax Corporation – The first sod of the Warley Moor Reservoir was turned with this spade, on Friday, the 20th May, 1864, by William Irving Holdsworth, Esq., Mayor of Halifax; J. F. Bateman, Engineer; John Parkinson and Joseph Mann, contractors; J. E. Norris, Town Clerk

On 19th December 1867, water was turned on for the first time after Bateman had reported that this might be safely done. The depth of the reservoir when full is about 45 feet.

It was completed in 1872. It covers 68 acres and has a capacity of 193 million gallons

On 14th June 1923, it was revealed that upper side of the Reservoir was being undermined and would cost between £30,000 and £50,000 to repair.

On 5th August 1930, it was announced that the Reservoir was to be repaired at a cost of £33,014 after being described as dilapidated and fast becoming derelict.

The Halifax Sailing Club is here.

The Luddenden Brook rises here.

See Reservoir, Fly Flatts

Warley Prosecution SocietyRef W1693
A prosecution society recorded in 1772

Warley Road Junior School BathsRef W1347
Opened in 1897. The baths at Warley Road School are still in use

Warley Road Working Men's ClubRef W939
Recorded in 1914

Warley School BoardRef W203
School Board set up in 18??.

See Wainstalls Board School and Warley Town Board School

Warley SpringsRef W2338
Area of Burnley Road, Halifax.

See Old Warley Springs Brewery, Warley Springs Brewery and Warley Springs Dye Works, Halifax

Warley Surveyor of the HighwaysRef W9610
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Warley included:

Warley Town FarmRef W2566
The original name for Old Hall Farm, Warley

Warley Town Post OfficeRef W1784
Recorded in 1861 at Cross Road, Warley when Samuel Rothera, a schoolmaster, was postmaster.

Recorded in 1874, when James Smith, a grocer, was postmaster.

Recorded in 1905 at 25 Warley Town when H. C. Starr was sub-postmaster

Warley Urban District CouncilRef W202
Created in 1894.

They held meeting at the Murgatroyd's Arms until they acquired a Council room.

Absorbed into the County Borough of Halifax in 1900.

See Luddendenfoot Urban District Council and Simeon Park

Warley Vale Co-OpRef W935
A branch of the Sowerby Bridge Industrial Society opened in 1???.

It closed in the 1960s.

It is now a private house: Town House

Warley Ward, HalifaxRef W2112
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax.

See John Hardy and Jennie Latham

Warley Wood, WarleyRef W184
17th century house

Warley WorkhouseRef W171
In 1777, this accommodated 30 inmates

Warlings, WarleyRef W2551
Dated 1633. It is now known as Warley Lodge

Warm WithensRef W1437
An area of moorland about ½ mile south of the A58 on Rishworth Moor, and around ¾ mile SE of the road junction near Blackstone Edge Reservoir

Warman, Rev Francis OctaviusRef W723
[1860-1932] Born in Kent.

He was the first Vicar at Siddal [1915].

He was a lodger at 33 Browning Avenue, Siddal [1911].

He died in Docking, Norfolk

Warne, Joseph MatthiasRef W261
[1893-1918] Of 21 Park Square, Northowram.

He was a member of St Matthew's Church, Northowram / employed by Marshall's.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [August 1914], then served as a Private with the 24th Battalion Royal Fusiliers.

He was 3 times invalided home with trench feet.

He was killed at Cambrai [3rd October 1918] (aged 25).

He was buried at Anneux British Cemetery, France [Grave Ref III C 35].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Matthew's Church, Northowram

Warneford, Chrissie DoraRef W2319
[1864-1900] Daughter of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

Born 8th January 1864.

She died [25th March 1900] at 7 Maison-Dieu Place, Dover, where she had been staying for some time.

She was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Warneford, Rev Harry LancelotRef W2377
[1860-1???] Son of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

Born in Halifax.

He was Clerk in Holy Orders [1891] / Church of England clergyman [1901].

In 1881, he married Augusta Lechmere [1868-1???], born in France, at Kensington.

Children:

  1. John Henry [b 1888]
  2. Dorothy [b 1893]

The family lived at

  • Langdown Lawn, Dibden, Hampshire [as visitors of Thomas B. S. West 1891]
  • 2 New Church Road, Aldrington, Hove, Sussex [as visitors of his mother-in-law, Mrs Caroline Lechman, and Sarah Sophia Lechman, and Alice Maud Lechman 1901]

Warneford, Henrietta WarnefordRef W739
[1853-1912] Daughter of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

Born in Halifax.

She married William Henry Foster.

From 1891, she lived at Lunesdale, Lancashire and, for a time in the early 1900s, in Marylebone. She died at Warneford Place, Dorset

Warneford, John Charles KeymesRef W2347
[1852-1893] Son of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

Born 25th February 1852, and baptised 28th March 1852.

He may have been named after Charles Keymes who was at College with Rev Warneford.

He was a Lieutenant in the West Yorkshire Militia.

On 10th December 1880, he married Emily Augusta Burton [1852-1???] at St John's Church, Monkstown, Ireland.


Emily Augusta was the youngest daughter of Robert William Burton
 

Children:

  1. John Robert Keymes [1881-1960] he married [1904] Isabel Laura Howland [1880-1970]
  2. Esme Mary E. [1883]
  3. Henry Walter B. [1884]
  4. Emily Olive [1888]

The family lived at

  • Oakley, Newton Abbot, Devon [1891]
  • Teignmouth [1899]

When his father died, he succeeded to the property at Warneford Place, and the Irish estate.

He died in Devon

Warneford, Rev Canon John HenryRef W241
[1818-1899] MA.

First Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1846-1899].

See All Saints' Sunday School, Salterhebble, John Lister and Reginald Alexander John Warneford

Warneford, Minnie LauraRef W2348
[1856-1923] Daughter of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

She never married.

She lived at

She died at 39 Aked's Road, Halifax. She was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

A local newspaper described her as

a great friend of the Halifax Corps St John's Ambulance Brigade.

At the commencement of the great war she was instrumental in preparing nurses and VADs, a great number of these being sent away and many going to St Luke's Military Hospital.

She collected a large amount of money to provide beds for the St John Ambulance Association in Étaples, France where there is a big St John Ambulance Hospital and, by her efforts, was able to provide three beds

Warneford, Reginald Alexander JohnRef W2375
[18??-1915] RNAS, VC.

Grandson of Rev Thomas Lewis Warneford who was the brother of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

During World War I, he served with the Royal Naval Air Service.

He was awarded the Victoria Cross

Warneford, Walter Keymes Francis GoodallRef W2372
[1895-1919] Son of Walter Wyndham Hanbury Warneford.

Born in Crewe.

He set a British record crossing the Atlantic in an airship.

He disappeared in an airship accident

Warneford, Walter Wyndham HanburyRef W2175
[1867-1???] Son of Rev Canon John Henry Warneford.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at St Mark's School, Clewer, Berkshire [1881].

He became a railway engineer. He was an apprentice at Miles Platting [1882] / at Crewe [1883] / Works Manager – a dapper little man [1910-1916] / Wagon Superintendent at Earlestown [April 1916].

In 1894, he married Mary Elizabeth Goodall [1874-1???] at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.


Mary Elizabeth, of Salterhebble, was the daughter of Alfred Goodall
 

Children:

  1. Walter Keymes Francis Goodall

The family lived at Lansdowne House, Huyton, Lancashire [1919]

Warner, DonaldRef W1012
[1917-1942] Son of John William Warner.

He was educated at South End Council School, Elland / a member of Bethesda Methodist Sunday School, Elland / a member of St Paul's Boy Scouts / employed by Kaye & Jagger / a regular soldier.

He lived at 32 Springfield Road, Elland.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of dysentery during the retreat from Burma [18th September 1942].

He is remembered on the Rangoon Memorial, Burma, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Elland War Memorial

Warner, JamesRef W445
[1867-1939] He was an oil extractor [1901, 1911].

In 1888, he married (1) Emma Robinson [1869-1903].


Emma was born in Dewsbury
 

Children:

  1. John William
  2. Fred [1892-1928] who was a doffer [1911]
  3. Mary Ann [1895-1905]
  4. Robinson
  5. Henry [1898-1978]
  6. Sam [1901-1945]

The family lived at

  • 33 King Street, Batley [1901]
  • 25 Albert Street, Elland [1911, 1918]

Emma died in 1903.

In 1904, James married (2) Emily Sykes [1870-1949].


Emily had a son Walter Sykes Hirst [b 1898] who was a shop assistant (grocer) [1911]
 

Warner, John WilliamRef W629
[1889-1959] Son of James Warner.

He was an oil extractor [1911].

He married Mary Ellen Smith [1888-1949]

Children:

  1. Donald

Warner, RobinsonRef W1014
[1896-1918] Son of James Warner.

Born in Batley Carr [28th January 1896].

He was a setter (road worker) [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 12th/13th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [8th October 1918].

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial, France, and on Elland War Memorial

Warner Swasey Asquith LimitedRef W237
The Warner Swasey company was established in Cleveland, USA in 1880. In 1957, they decided to manufacture their lathes in Europe. They teamed up with Asquith Machine Tool Company at Canal Works, Halifax.

When Staveley's took over Asquith's, Warner Swasey pulled out and became a part of the Bendix Group of America. The company became Warner Swasey Turning Machines Limited.

The business closed in 1983

Warren, AlbertRef W301
[1918-1942] Son of William Henry Warren.

Born in Bury [5th May 1918].

He married Doris A..

They lived at Bury.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion King's Shropshire Light Infantry.

He died 14th April 1942.

He was buried at St John the Baptist, Birtle, Lancashire [G 19]

Warren, E. W.Ref W1734
[18??-19??] Partner in Edwards & Warren.

He lived at 10 Emscote Grove, Halifax [1905]

Warren, Earls ofRef W42

Warren, John BottomleyRef W217
[1887-1917] Son of William Henry Warren.

He was a warehouseman / employed by Scarborough, Nephew & Company.

On 10th December 1914, he married Edith Sutcliffe at King Cross.

They lived at 62 Woodside Place, Boothtown.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Northumberland Fusiliers [June 1916], then served as a Private with the 12th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He was sent to France [28th November 1916].

He was killed in action [3rd May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 4 & 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His brother William Henry also died in the War.

After John's death, Edith moved to Milnsbridge, Huddersfield

Warren, John EdleyRef W976
[1919-1944] Son of Nellie & Arthur James Warren of Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 20th January 1944 (aged 25).

He was buried at Minturno War Cemetery, Italy [Grave Ref I K 12]

Warren ShieldRef W41
The coat of arms of William, 2nd Earl of Surrey, the Earls of Surrey and Lords of Halifax includes a chequered shield. The square of the pattern are alternating or [gold] and azure [blue].

The design has been incorporated into the Halifax coat of arms.

This may be linked to pubs with the names such as Checkers

Warren, Thomas deRef W1710
[1???-1???] Son of the 8th Earl and Maud de Neirford

Warren, Rev W. H.Ref W559
[18??-19??] Minister at Trinity Wesleyan Church, Halifax [1915]

Warren, William HenryRef W221
[1835-1896] Born in Cheshire.

He was a night watchman [1877].

He married (1) Unknown.

Children:

  1. Jane [b 1868]
  2. Mary [b 1874]

On 20th August 1877, he married (2) Sarah Ann Dixon [1855-1929] in Halifax.


Sarah Ann was born in Soyland
 

Children:

  1. Emily [b 1877]
  2. William Henry
  3. Edith [b 1884]
  4. John Bottomley
  5. Idella [b 1888]

Sons William Henry and John Bottomley were killed in World War I

Warren, William HenryRef W211
[1881-1918] Son of William Henry Warren.

He was the manager of a shop [1915].

In 1905, he married (1) Mary Murrell Lambert [1884-1914] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Foulsham, Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. Arnold [1905-1931]

They moved to Bury sometime after Arnold's birth.

They lived at 86 Woodgate Terrace, Bury [1915].

Mary died in 1914.

On 10th November 1915, he married (2) Florence Maud Standring [1893-1973] in Bury.


Florence Maud was born in Bury
 

Children:

  1. William Bottomley [b 1916]
  2. Albert

During World War I, he enlisted in Bury [1915], and served as a Lance Corporal [5th December 1917], then Corporal [3rd March 1918] with the Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He went to France [14th January 1918].

He was killed in action [27th March 1918].

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial, France [Grave Ref 90-93].

His brother John Bottomley also died in the War

Warriner & TaylorRef W1589
19th century carriage builders of Brighouse who built the body of the New Century motor car

Warrington, AlbertRef W765
[1892-1918] Son of William Warrington.

Born in Elland [14th October 1892].

He was a twine piecer [1911].

On 20th May 1912, he enlisted in Elland for the Territorial Army. His address was shown as Fox's Buildings, Huddersfield Road, Elland.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He embarked from Southampton [29th June 1915] aboard the paddle steamer SS La Marguerite arriving in Havre [30th June 1915], he quickly succumbed to trench foot and was transferred back to the England aboard Hospital Ship Newhaven in December 1915 suffering from nephritis. It is unclear when he returned to France but it is thought to be late 1916.

He died of wounds [15th April 1918].

He was buried at Boulogne Eastern Cemetery, France [Grave Ref VIII I 197].

Warrington, ArthurRef W821
[1892-1938] Born in Greetland

He was a cotton piecer [1920].

In [Q2] 1920, he married Mary in Halifax.


Mary [née Hayes] was the widow of
Arthur Kitson
 

Warrington, BenjaminRef W427
[1892-1917] He was a player with Rastrick Juniors AFC.

He worked in Huddersfield.

He lived at Delf Hill, Rastrick.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [3rd May 1917] (aged 25).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], on Brighouse War Memorial, and on Rastrick War Memorial

Warrington, Charles HerbertRef W2749
[1876-1893] Cistern maker at Halifax.

Son of Ralph Warrington of 5 Daisy Street, Hopwood Lane.

He was said to be a sharp and intelligent youth and

fond of trapeze exercise, and frequently used to swing and perform feats on the hammock ropes in the attic

On 20th August 1893, he went to the attic to make his brother's bed. His mother later found his lifeless form dangling from a rope attached to the hammock

Warrington's: G. & B. WarringtonRef W1040
Wool dealers at Lambert Street, West Vale.

Partners included George Warrington and Benjamin Warrington.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1893

Warrington, Iredale & TattersallRef W8350
Woollen manufacturers at Marshall Hall Mills, Elland.

Partners included Samuel Warrington, Edwin Iredale, and Thomas Tattersall.

The partnership was dissolved in 1868, so far as regards E. Iredale. Iredale then went into the earthenware trade

Warrington, JohnRef W474
[1814-1879] Born in Greetland [29th June 1814].

He was a cloth dresser [1841, 1851, 1871].

Around 1838, he married Harriet [1815-1884].


Harriet was born in Greetland
 

Children:

  1. George [1837-6th November 1901] who was a worsted spinner [1851], & married Nancy [1840-1906]
  2. David [1840-20th January 1882]
  3. Sarah Ann [b 1842]
  4. Joseph Henry who died 19th February 1845 (aged 7 months) /
  5. Benjamin [b 1847] who was a woollen spinner [1871]
  6. Mary who died 12th July 1852 (aged 11 months) /
  7. John Robert [b 1857] who was a woollen piecer [1871]

The family lived at

  • Mount Pleasant, Elland-cum-Greetland [1841]
  • 12 Cross Hill, Halifax [1851]
  • Scar, Elland-cum-Greetland [1871]

John died 2nd June 1879.

Harriet died 9th May 1884 (aged 69).

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: Q5]

Warrington, RobertRef W830
[1730-1805] Of Greetland.

He married Mary [1798-1862].

Mary died 4th October 1862 (aged 64).

Robert died 31st January 1805 (aged 75).

Members of the family were buried at Greetland Methodist Church [Grave Ref: E12]

Warrington, SamuelRef W9470
[18??-1???] He was a Methodist preacher, and went on to become one of founders of the Temperance Methodist Church, Elland.

He was in partnership with life-long friend Edwin Iredale at Mayfield Mill, Elland, and later he was a partner in Warrington, Iredale & Tattersall at Marshall Hall Mills, Elland [1868]

Warrington, WilliamRef W574
[1825-1891] He was a wool weaver [1871] / a weaver [1881].

In [Q1] 1856, he married Hannah Thwaite in Halifax.


Hannah was the daughter of
Richard Thwaite
 

Children:

  1. Eliza A. [b 1857] who was a factory operative [1871]
  2. Joe [b 1865] who was a power loom tuner [1881]

The family lived at North Dean, Halifax [with Hannah's widowed mother 1871, 1881]

Warrington, WilliamRef W769
[1856-1???] Born in Sherburn-in-Elmet.

He was a cleaver [1892].

On 4th July 1892, he married Annie Tiffany [1866-1937] in Halifax


Annie was born in Elland
 

Children:

  1. Albert

The family lived at 113 Ainley Bottom, Huddersfield Road [1911]

Warship WeekRef W392
A national fund-raising scheme which ran from 7th to 14th February 1942.

A total of £3,888,038 was raised in Calderdale, of which Halifax raised £2,077,565 and Brighouse raised £507,006.

See HMS Ajax, HMS Convolvulus, HMS Eclipse, HMS St Pancras and Spitfire

Wash WhiteRef W641
A washing liquid produced and sold by Harry LundHarry Washwhite – in Brighouse in the 1930s

Washer Lane House, HalifaxRef W2462
Aka Old Hall, Washer Lane.

16th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Sketches of Old Halifax

Washer Lane Steps, HalifaxRef W1219
Lead down from Washer Lane to Wakefield Road

Washington & Company LimitedRef W1765
Engineers and manufacturers of electric cables and machinery at 1 Old Causeway, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1900, there was a dispute between the partners, Mr Washington and Mr Barraclough, in the High Court. The Sowerby Bridge Chronicle of 22nd June 1900, reported


The parties had separately purchased certain patterns drawings, etc, and agreed to work jointly, but dispute arose the plaintiff contending that the defendant had failed to produce proper accounts, and the defendant alleging that the plaintiff had never paid him the proper proportion of the profits due to him. His Lordship held that the plaintiff's version of the agreement was the correct one, and directed an account to be taken on that basis. He also held that the defendant had failed in his counter-claim for damages for alleged negligence alleged by the plaintiff in manufacturing certain machines. Judgment for the plaintiff accordingly with costs
 

Washington, CatherineRef W946
[1830-1869] She was a retired police officer at Halifax [1869]

Catherine died 8th May 1869 (aged 39).

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4420]

Washington, Charles WilliamRef W6502
[1867-19??] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a mechanical engineer manager with Thomas Barraclough & Company Limited, Manchester [1891] / a wire manufacturer in Sowerby Bridge / a mechanical engineer (employer) [1901] / a mechanical engineer, wire and cable machine maker (employer) [1911] / a partner in Washington & Company Limited.

He was known for his developments in the construction of cable machinery for boring steel shaft.

In 1890, he married Mary Hannah Walsh [1866-19??], from Littleborough, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ernest C. [b 1894] who was studying farming at a farm in Driffield [1911]
  2. Albert Cecil [b 1898]

The family lived at

  • 53 Park View, Manchester [1891]
  • Shroggs House, Halifax [1901]
  • Shroggs House, Lower Skircoat Green, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1901] were mother-in-law Ellen Walsh [aged 65] and sister-in-law Lillie Walsh [aged 31].

Mother-in-law Ellen Walsh was living with them in 1911

Washington, FrederickRef W209
[1796-1866] Born in Lightcliffe.

He was a wool sorter.

He married Sarah [1795-1869].


Sarah was born in Northowram
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1831]
  2. George [1833-25th September 1903] who was buried with his parents
  3. Isaac [b 1839]

Sarah died 12th December 1869 (aged 74).

Frederick died 14th April 1866 (aged 70).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4264] with Joseph Pickles & Maude E. Washington [1875-14th December 1878]

Washington, FrederickRef W2635
[1850-1910] Son of Ann (née Bedford) [1824-1896] & Joseph (Jack) Washington [1824-1904]

Born [Q3] 1850.

He was landlord of the Woodland Hotel, Boothtown [1891].

In 1872, he married (1) Lydia Ann Mount [1854-1877] in Halifax.


Lydia Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Lilly [1877-1877] who died aged 10 weeks.

Lydia Ann died in childbirth.

In 1878, he married (2) Ann Copley [1857-1???] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Martha Ann [b 1880]
  2. Emily [1881-1884]
  3. George [1884-1885]
  4. Hannah [b 1887]
  5. Beatrice [1890-1890]
  6. Hilda [1899-1899]

Frederick died at 26 Darley Street [14th November 1910].

Members of the family were buried at St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount [17 26].

See Alfred Morris

Washington, Frederick GeorgeRef W683
[1895-1918] Son of General George Washington.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of Luddendenfoot Congregational Church / employed by James Clay & Company Limited, Luddendenfoot.

In [Q1] 1917, he married Maria Bayley in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Florence [b 1918]

They lived at 11 Bank Buildings, Luddendenfoot [1918].

During World War I, he enlisted [4th August 1917] and served as a Private with the 7th (West & Cumb Yeomanry) Battalion Border Regiment.

He died 25th August 1918.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [14th September 1918].

He was buried at Queens Cemetery, Bucquoy, France [Grave Ref II K 9].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial.

His brother Harry also died in the War

Washington, General GeorgeRef W414
[1866-1909] Son of Henry Washington.

Born in Halifax.

He was a grocer's assistant [1881] / a grocer of Gibbet Street, Halifax [1889] / a grocer of 37 Old Lea Bank [1890] / a woolsorter [1901].

In 1889, he married Beatrice Annie Shaw [1871-1933] at Halifax Parish Church.


Beatrice, of Lee Bank, Ovenden, was the daughter of James Shaw, wool sorter.

She was a worsted mill hand [1891]

 

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy [before 1911]
  2. child who died in infancy [before 1911]
  3. Harry
  4. Frederick George
  5. Vernon [b 1897] who was a cotton piecer [1911], & served in France [World War I]
  6. Albert Edward George [b 1906]
  7. Winifred [b 1900] who was a scholar at the Blue Coat School, Halifax [1911]
  8. Clara Hetty [1902]

The family lived at

  • 19 Manor Street, Ovenden [1891]
  • 5 Water Hill, Luddendenfoot [1901]
  • 16 Bank Buildings, Luddendenfoot [1911, 1915]

George died in 1909 (aged 42) 

Sons Harry & Frederick George died in World War I

Washington, HarryRef W416
[1890-1915] Son of General George Washington.

Born at 23 Old Lee Bank, Ovenden [20th May 1890].

Baptised at St George's Church, Ovenden [June 1890].

He was a cotton gasser [1911] / a member of Luddendenfoot Congregational Church.

When he was a member of the Luddendenfoot Boys' Brigade, he received the Brigade Distinguished Conduct Medal after rescuing a child from the river that flows through Holmes Park, Luddendenfoot.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

Whilst he was in the trenches, he was shot and killed by a German sniper [16th June 1915].

He was buried at the Y Farm Military Cemetery, Bois-Grenier [D 42].

He is remembered on Luddendenfoot War Memorial.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [26th June 1915].

His brother Frederick George also died in the War

Washington, HenryRef W415
[1836-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a butcher [1881].

In [Q3] 1861, he married Grace Pickles [1837-1???] in Halifax.


Grace was born in Wadsworth
 

Children:

  1. Clara Hetta [b 1862] who was a factory operative [1881]
  2. General George
  3. Edith Grace [b 1870]

The family lived at 119 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1881]

Washington House, GreetlandRef W233
Rochdale Road.

There is a datestone WIW 1704 over the front door.

In 1854, property called Spring Head stood on the site

Washington House, Sowerby BridgeRef W764
Owners and tenants have included

Washington, Lawrence RobertRef W672
[1882-1919] Son of Robert Washington.

Born in Sowerby Bridge [8th November 1882].

In [Q3] 1909, he married Hannah Swaine in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with 14th Section Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

He was wounded in action.

He died in Salterhebble [11th December 1919].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell [4 1037].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Washington, RobertRef W673
[1843-1922] Born in Huddersfield

He was a coachman [1909].

In [Q3] 1865, he married Eliza Ann Coke [1841-1905] in Halifax.


Eliza was born in Derbyshire
 

Children:

  1. Lawrence Robert

The family lived at Manor Heath Coach House, Halifax

Washington, SamuelRef W319
[17??-18??] Of Lightcliffe.

He was one of Anne Lister's stewards / a land agent / a partner in the Halifax Commercial Banking Company [1853].

In 1819, he was engaged to produce a map and field book of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse.

See Major E. P. Chambers

Washington, ThomasRef W330
[18??-1???] Opened the Market Place Turkish Baths, Halifax

Waske Hall, Skircoat GreenRef W490
50 Skircoat Green. 17th century house

Wason, Captain E. S.Ref W1917
[18??-1880] He served with the 33rd Duke of Wellington's Own Regiment. He was an Adjutant of the 6th West Yorkshire Militia. He died in England.

There is a memorial to him and other members of the regiment in Halifax Parish Church

Wass, GeorgeRef W2615
[1818-1883] Born in Leeds.

He was a bookkeeper at Brighouse [1847] / a horse keeper with the Midland Railway Company [1851] / a canal agent for the Aire & Calder [1861] / a canal agent [1871] / a canal agent (inland navigation) [1881]

In 1847, he married Hannah Booth [1823-1895] at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah, from Northowram, was the daughter of mason Joseph Booth
 

They had no children.

They lived at

  • 9 Ashley Street, Hunslet, Leeds [1851]
  • Phoenix House, Bridge Street, Wakefield [1861]
  • Calder Wharf, Mirfield, Dewsbury [1871]
  • Navigation Yard, Halifax [1881]
  • Osborne Grove, Hipperholme [1891]

Staying with them [in 1861] were visitors Elizabeth Smithies [aged 26] (dressmaker), and Mary Smithies [aged 9].

Living with the widowed Hannah [in 1891] was boarder John Shafte Barry.

Hannah is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1885

Wat Ing, NorlandRef W110
See Lower Wat Ing and Upper Wat Ing

Water Lane wellRef W382
A water well at Caddy Field, Halifax. The ownership of the well was disputed: some – supported by Christopher Rawson – claimed it was a public well, whilst others – primarily Anne Lister and Ann Walker on whose land it lay – claimed it was private property. In March 1836, Anne Lister's journals mention an incident where the well was poisoned when gas tar was thrown into the well by a group of men employed by Ann Walker. It was judged to be a public well and Ann Walker had to pay damages and costs

Water MollyRef W1892
[18??-18??] A 19th century character in Elland. She fetched and carried water for people. On Good Friday 18??, a wet day, she sat near to the fire to dry her clothes. The garments caught fire and she was burned to death

Water Scout, ShibdenRef W373
House in the Upper Shibden Valley.

Built in 1???

Abandoned in 1???

See Scout Hall, Shibden

Water Siphon, Old LaneRef W2538
19th century water siphon on overflow sump. This is a deep, stone-lined, circular shaft fed by Ovenden Beck – the Hebble Brook – and south of Old Lane Mill

Water supplyRef W449

Water Trough, Bell House MoorRef W2580
Bell House Moor, Cragg Vale

Water Trough, Carr Hall LaneRef W2812
Stainland.

Water Trough, Cross StoneRef W2579
Opposite St Paul's Church, Cross Stone

Water Trough, GreetlandRef W598

Water Troughs, MankinholesRef W2467
18th century water trough with 6 linked tanks. These were used for cooling milk churns.

Waterfall, JohnRef W7110
[1847-19??] Born in Ironville, Derbyshire.

He was an iron founder [1881, 1891] / innkeeper at the Sportsman Inn, Soyland [1901, 1905] / a grocer (retail) [1911].

In 1905, the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle reported that he had been a cricket professional and groundsman to the Greenock Club, Scotland, for 14 years.

In [Q2] 1874, he married Clara Smith [1855-1???] in Belper.


Clara was born in Birmingham. She was assisting in the grocery business [1911]
 

Children:

  1. Florence A. [b 1875] who was a woollen weaver [1891], employed in public house [1901]
  2. Mary Eliza [b 1876] who was a cotton operative [1891]
  3. Joseph [b 1878] who was a cotton operative half timer [1891], a brewer's labourer [1911]
  4. John Pearce [b 1883]
  5. Doris [b 1895] who was assisting in the grocery business [1911]

The family lived at

  • 105 Fletchers Row, Alfreton, Derbyshire [1881]
  • Broadcarr Terrace, Elland [1891]
  • 78 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1911] was granddaughter Marther Waterfall [aged 4]

WaterfallsRef W2179
There are several waterfalls in the district, including Carr Hall Falls, Stainland, Fisherman's Hut Falls, Hebden Bridge, Horseshoe Cascade, Hardcastle Crags, Jumble Hole Falls, Todmorden, Kester Hole, Shelf, Lumb Hole Falls, Rough Hey Wood, Triangle, Saltonstall Falls, Walshaw Falls, Hardcastle Crags and Wheatley Falls

Waterfield, Cyril LyonRef W288
[1897-1961] MM.

Son of George Valentine Waterfield.

He was a member of St Mary's Church, Halifax & School / a spinning doffer [1911] / employed by Horner's at Highroad Well.

During World War I, he enlisted [1915], and served as a Private with the West Riding Regiment.

He went to France [1916].

He was awarded the Military Medal [1918]


for good work on the Western front
 

His photograph appears with reports of his award in the Halifax Courier [12th October & 19th October 1918].

He survived the War.

He died in Halifax [Q4 1961] (aged 64) 

Waterfield, George ValentineRef W263
[1859-1939] Born in Stamford, Lincolnshire.

He was a wine merchant's traveller [1891] / a commercial traveller [1901] / a commission agent [1911].

In 1890, he married Sarah Lyon [1859-1943] in Grantham, Lincolnshire.


Sarah was born in Stamford
 

Children:

  1. George Leslie [b 1891] who was a clerk [1911]
  2. Dorothy [b 1894] who was a jewellery enameller [1911]
  3. Frank Stanley [b 1895]
  4. Cyril Lyon
  5. Maud Mary [b 1899] who was a part-timer / errand girl [1911]
  6. Walter [b 1905]

The family lived at

  • Cromford Road, Wirksworth, Belper, Derbyshire [1891]
  • 9 Cromwell Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 32 Birks Hall Terrace, Pellon Lane, Halifax [1911, 1918]

George died in Halifax [Q2 1939] (aged 80).

Sarah died in Halifax [Q3 1943] (aged 84) 

Waterhouse...Ref W43
The entries for people & families with the surname Waterhouse are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Waterhouse Almshouses [1966]Ref W262
Harrison Road, Halifax.

The Blue Coat was closed in 1960 and demolished.

The present almshouses were built in 1966 and consist of 24 housing units plus a warden's house.

The grounds are not open to the public

Waterhouse Almshouses, HalifaxRef W577

Waterhouse, Bingham & CompanyRef W1614
Silk noil spinners at Kebroyd Mills, Triangle [1905]

Waterhouse CharitiesRef W545
A number of charities were established under provisions of the will of Nathaniel Waterhouse, including the Blue Coat School.

See Alexander & Hammerton, Richard Kershaw, John Taylor Ramsden, Smyth's Charity School, Charles S. Walker, Seal of the Waterhouse Charity, John Woodhead and Walter Evelyn Wright

Waterhouse Charity, Seal of theRef W1940
The seal of the Waterhouse Charities is described in 1635 [?] as
A seal of this Corporation bears an inscription

SIGIL: CORP APUD HALLIF: 1662 Seal of the Corporation at Halifax 1662

in the field, a virgin hung in her tree by her hair, on the other side a man standing, holding in his hand a ball or a sphere

This may be a version of the story of Ælred and the virgin

See Name of Halifax

Waterhouse's: E. J. W. Waterhouse & SonRef W1605
Fire brick manufacturers at Calder Fire Clay Works, Elland [1874, 1905]

Waterhouse's: John Waterhouse & CompanyRef W1722
Woolstaplers at 39 Bull Green, Halifax [1905]

Waterhouse's: Samuel & John WaterhouseRef W2277
Merchants at Savile Row, Halifax [1809]

Waterhouse SermonRef W623
Aka Waterhouse Lecture. In his will, Nathaniel Waterhouse left a sum of £60 per annum for the curates of 12 chapels in the parish of Halifax, and each minister had to preach a sermon – known as the Waterhouse Sermon – in Halifax Parish Church on the first Wednesday of each month.

See William Ainsworth and Rev C. D. Roberts

Waterhouse StopRef W1210
An interchangeable diaphragm for controlling the entry of light into a camera invented by John Waterhouse [1858]

Waterhouse Street LibraryRef W424
A subscription library of around 4500 books was founded around 1840 at Waterhouse Street, Halifax

Watering Trough, WalsdenRef W8504
Aka Throstlenest, Throstle Hall and Clunter Bottom.

A small farm with a cottage, barn and shippon.

Owners and tenants have included

Waterloo Brass Band, BrighouseRef W1393
Established in 18??

See William Parry and Waterloo, Brighouse

Waterloo Bridge, RippondenRef W444
Aka Ripponden Old Bridge

Waterloo, BrighouseRef W466
Area of Brighouse on the south side of Waterloo Road, Brighouse.

The land was owned by Brooke's, and there was stone quarrying here.


Question: Does anyone know if these stone quarries were those known as Lane Head Quarry?

 

Brighouse Rangers played at Waterloo Fields here.

In 1913, Brooke's planned to build a Garden City here but this was abandoned because of World War I.

In 1935, there was a dispute between Brighouse Council – who claimed that the land was agricultural and worth £3,750 – and Brooke's – who claimed that it was building land and worth £6,529. After some wrangling, the land was sold to the Council for £4,000.

There are now allotments and St Andrew's Junior School on the land

Waterloo, EllandRef W459
An early name for an area of Park Road around the entrance to the Park Wood Crematorium.

In the mid-1800s, many of thos living in the area were miners at the local coal mines

The Colliers' Arms is recorded at Waterloo [1871]

Waterloo Fields, BrighouseRef W2130
Playing fields at Waterloo, Brighouse.

Brighouse Rangers played here [1890s].

St Andrew's Junior School, Brighouse was built on the site in 1971

Waterloo Hall, HalifaxRef W1460
Stands at Bell Hall at the junction of Savile Park Road / Emscote Street South.

Owners and tenants have included

Waterloo House, HalifaxRef W2659
109 Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Waterloo House, HeptonstallRef W265
Slack Top.

This was a popular Café. It is now a private house

Waterloo Road Allotments, BrighouseRef W2296
Allotments established on land formerly occupied by Brooke's at Waterloo, Brighouse

Waterloo, StainlandRef W1498
A small community at Stainland.

This was essentially just 2 cottages which are now demolished

Owners and tenants have included

Waterloo Villas, HalifaxRef W125
Savile Park Road. Recorded in the 1841 census between Paradise Row and Savile Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

Waterman, Charles EdwardRef W509
[1892-1916] Son of John Waterman.

Born at Winter Neb, Luddendenfoot.

He was a member of Luddendenfoot United Methodist Free Chapel & School / a member of the Boys' Brigade / a mule spinner (cotton) [1911] / employed by James Clay & Sons Limited.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 40th Trench Mortar Battery Royal Garrison Artillery, joining in November 1915.

He went to the Front [January 1916].

He died 17th August 1916 (aged 24).

He was buried at Chocques Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I J 68]

Waterman, JohnRef W549
[1861-19??] Son of Charles Waterman, labourer.

Born in Dunmow / High Roding, Essex

He was a labourer of Luddendenfoot [1890] / a railway platelayer [1901] / a ballast man (railway company) [1911].

In 1890, he married Lydia Hannah Needham in Halifax.


Lydia Hannah was born in Heptonstall, the daughter of
Crabtree Needham.

She had a daughter: Mary Elizabeth Needham [b 1887] (father unknown). On the 1901 & 1911 censuses, Mary Elizabeth is recorded as Mary Elizabeth Waterman, daughter of John Waterman, so perhaps John Waterman was her father

 

Children:

  1. Mary E. [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1901]
  2. Rose Annie [b 1891] who was a worsted cheese winder [1911]
  3. Charles Edward
  4. Grace E. [b 1894] who was a spinner cotton [1911]
  5. Alice [b 1896] who was a cotton spinner [1911]
  6. Susan [b 1897] who was a cotton reeler [1911]
  7. John Willie [b 1899] who was a cotton cop winder school part time [1911]
  8. Arthur [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • Winter Neb, Luddendenfoot [with Lydia's siblings 1891]
  • 10 Winter Neb, Luddendenfoot [1901, 1911]
  • Sowerby Bridge [around 1913]
  • 47 Hollins, Hollins Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1916]

Living with them [in 1901] were Lydia's siblings: Annie, Dinah & James.

Living with them [in 1911] was Lydia's sister Dinah Needham (worsted winder) 

Waters & CulpanRef W1034
Basket & skep makers at Market Hall, Halifax.

Partners included John Thomas Waters and Thomas Morley Culpan.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent [25th May 1885]

Waters, John ThomasRef W1037
[18??-1???] Partner in Waters & Culpan [until 1885]

Waterside FootpathRef W2535
A cantilevered walkway on the east bank of the Hebble Brook at Waterside. Runs from Lilly Bridge

Waterside, HalifaxRef W546
Area around Lilly Lane along the Hebble Brook.

See Waterside Footpath

Waterside House, TodmordenRef W163
Owners and tenants have included

Waterstalls Farm, WalsdenRef W461
Bottomley Road. Mid 18th century house and barn. There is a first floor taking-in door

Owners and tenants have included

The farm has been renovated and is now a private house.

The adjacent Waterstalls Mill is now derelict

Waterton, Rev ClementRef W1741
[18??-18??] He was at Chilwell College, Nottingham. before becoming Pastor at West Vale Baptist Church [1886-1888].

He left to serve at Boston, Lincolnshire

WaterwheelsRef W2346

Waterworth, EdwinRef W648
[1879-1917] Of Southowram.

Cousin of Mrs A. Smith of 5 Folly Hall, Wainstalls.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th September 1917 (aged 38).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium, on Southowram War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram

Waterworth, Harry CarltonRef W864
[1881-1918] Born in Ripponden.

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School / resident at the School [1891] / a cart driver [1911].

In 1917, he married Elsie Emily McAdorey in Chorlton.

They had no children.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 432nd Field Company Royal Engineers.

He was killed in action [25th March 1918].

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10 AND 13]

Waterworth, JosephRef W865
[1856-1889] Born in Yeadon.

He was a school master [1878].

On 17th October 1878, he married Eva Parkin [1858-1933] in Halifax.


Eva was born in Yeadon
 

Children:

  1. Annie Lillian [b 1880]
  2. Harry Carlton Waterworth
  3. Elsie Marie [b 1888]

Watkin, HarryRef W942
[1896-1918] Son of William Watkin.

Born in Bingley / Keighley.

He was a member of Trinity Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax & School / Secretary of the School [1914] / educated at Halifax Secondary School & Halifax Tech / employed by Hollingrake & Clegg Limited.

He had a sweetheart Miss Margaret Hauxwell of Savile Crescent, Halifax.

He lived with his parents at 2 Eldon Place, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the Pals' battalion [4th September 1914], and served as a Lieutenant with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to India [November 1915].

He died of pneumonia – following influenza – in the Stationary Hospital in Lahore, India. [21st October 1918] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [2nd November 1918].

He is remembered on the Karachi 1914-1918 War Memorial, Pakistan, in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on the Memorial at Halifax Bowling Club, and on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School

Watkin, JohnRef W498
[1837-1???] Son of Thomas Watkin, machine tenter.

He was a labourer of Southowram [1863].

On 16th September 1863, he married Martha Tordoff [1839-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Martha, of Halifax, was the daughter of Joshua Tordoff, waggoner
 

Watkin, RobertRef W2849
[1895-1961] Born in Aston Manor, Warwick, of a Welsh family.

He was injured in World War I, and was invalided out.

He joined the Halifax Borough Treasurer's Department in 1921, as a collector. He became Chief Paying Cashier. He retired in 1959, after almost 39 years.

On 9th September 1922, he married Hilda Bottomley [1897-1971].

Children:

  1. Rita M. [b 1925] who married Alan Hugh Greaves

The family lived at 7 Savile Drive, Halifax [1959].

On retirement, he and Hilda moved to the Isle of Wight.

After Robert's death in 1961, Hilda returned to live in Luddendenfoot

Watkin, WilliamRef W2838
[18??-18??] Of Halifax.

In [Q4] 1849, he married Love Stewart [1823-1862] in Halifax.

Love died 24th December 1862 (aged 39).

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 521]

Watkin, WilliamRef W410
[18??-19??] Born in Barnard Castle, Durham.

He was worsted drawing manager [1901] / a worsted spinning manager [1911] / a manager with Hollingrake & Clegg Limited.

In [Q3] 1895, he married Sarah Priscilla Booth [1868-19??] in North Bierley.


Sarah was born in Bradford
 

Children:

  1. Harry
  2. Edgar [b 1899]
  3. Sarah A. [b 1907]
  4. Ethel [b 1911]

The family lived at

  • 1 James Street, Thornton, North Bierley [1901]
  • 2 Hammond Street, Halifax [1911]
  • 2 Eldon Place, Halifax [1918]

Watkins, Archibald LionelRef W1233
[19??-19??] A mathematics teacher from Somerset. In 1955, he established Lightcliffe Preparatory School. He was headmaster and principal at the school. His son and granddaughter carried on the school

Watkins, D. J.Ref W1010
[19??-19??] Minister at Bethlehem Pentecostal Mission, Wheatley Road [1966]

Watkins, Wilfred John ArthurRef W738
[1916-2005] On 2nd September 1944, he married Ann Fenella Rawson.

Children:

  1. John Frederick Llewellyn [b 1951]

The family lived near Dundalk, Eire before coming to live at Haugh End House

Wilfred John died 26th November 2005.

Fenella died in 2015.

The couple were buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Watkinson...Ref W6
The entries for people & families with the surname Watkinson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Watkinson Almshouses, LightcliffeRef W355
4 cottages – 2 detached cottages and 1 semi-detached – endowed by Miss Emma Watkinson in her parents' memory and built in 1926.

They were for

TO PROVIDE ACCOMMODATION FOR ALMSPEOPLE BEING DESCENDANTS OF GEORGE AND JANE WATKINSON OR PERSONS WHO HAVE RESIDED FOR NOT LESS THAN THREE YEARS IN THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISHES OF ST MATTHEW LIGHTCLIFFE, ST MATTHEW NORTHOWRAM AND ST JOHN COLEY,

They were designed by J. F. Walsh. An inscription reads

These four houses were erected in 1926 and endowed by Emma Watkinson (who died 30th November 1923) in memory of her father and mother, George and Jane Watkinson

See John Wright

Watkinson & CrabtreeRef W2443
Makers of common & fire bricks, crucibles, tiles, pottery, clay, etc., at Swan Bank Brick Works [1865].

Partners included Mr Watkinson and Joseph Crabtree

Watkinson's CharityRef W963
In 1732, Rev Edward Watkinson gave the rent from property in Leeds and Hunslet to buy twelve 2d loaves each week and distribute these every Sunday after morning service to 6 poor widows in Midgley and 6 in Warley. Each person should also received 6d on Trinity Sunday, 12d on the Sunday before Christmas, and 6d on Easter Sunday.

Watkinson's: Frank Watkinson LimitedRef W2350
Leather belting manufacturers at Victoria Street East, Halifax [1938].

Frank Watkinson was MD [1938]

Watkinson's: George Watkinson & Sons LimitedRef W2060
Woolstaplers at Wade Street, Halifax. Established around 1870 by George Watkinson.

Partners included Samuel Watkinson.

The company diversified and had coal mining interests in Yorkshire and Wales.

In 1874, George managed the coal mines, but retired from managing the wool stapling business, and turned the operation over to his eldest son George, but continued as Chairman of the company. With son George, managing the woolstapling business, second son, John was made managing director of the company's coal mines in Wales.

They had several mines at Buckley, Flintshire:

  • Elm Number 1 [recorded in 1896]
  • Elm Number 3 [recorded in 1896]
  • Maesygrug [recorded in 1884]: In 1884, there was a strike at the Elm and Maesygrug pits after market conditions led managing director John Watkinson to reduce the miner's wages by 10%. On 13th August 1884, Watkinson terminated all the employees' contracts. This was the longest strike in the North Wales coalfields
  • Mountain [recorded in 1896]
  • New Ash [recorded in 1896]
  • Oak [recorded in 1896]
  • Willow which was bought from John Lassey around 1871

Watkinson Hall Farm, OvendenRef W802

Owners and tenants have included

See Watkinson Hall, Ovenden

Watkinson Hall, OvendenRef W494
Aka The Rookery.

The first part of the hall was probably built by John Watkinson.

The second portion of was probably built around the time when John married in 1783. This portion of the house originally had a cloth warehouse built at the south end of it. This was pulled down when Beechwood Road was made about 1880.

Many members of the Watkinson family lived here.

Other owners and tenants have included

See Watkinson Hall Farm, Ovenden

Watkinson Memorial Offices, Norwood GreenRef W2069
In 1922, Samuel Watkinson presented the Parish Council Offices to Norwood Green in memory of his son, James Bottomley

Watling, RoyRef W391
[1938-] MBE, FLS.

Well-known mycologist.

Educated at All Saint's Primary Salterhebble and Heath Grammar School

Watman, Rev PeterRef W1131
[17??-18??] MA.

Of Erringden [1822]

Watmough, HughRef W2288
[1???-1???] Son of John Watmough.

He inherited Thornton Hall, Bradford.

He married Susan, daughter of Dr John Favour

Watmough, JohnRef W2286
[1537-1601] Son of William Watmough.

Born in Halifax.

In the 1590s, he was appointed as High Constable of Halifax.

He married (1) Unknown.

He married (2) Grace [15??-1623].

Children:

  1. Hugh
  2. Martha
  3. Edith
  4. Esther
  5. Isabel
  6. Grace
  7. Margaret

He had property in the district – including Bell Croft and Winding Hill Close - and elsewhere. In 1572, he acquired some land at Thornton, Bradford from the Tempest family, and built Thornton Hall

Watmough, RobertRef W2468
[16??-1???] Lived at Lacey Hey Farm, Midgley. There is a datestone RW/1672 for him.

In 1699, he sold the property to Edward Baskerville

Watmough, ThomasRef W788
[16??-17??] Halifax jail-keeper.

In 1???, he married (1) Unknown [16??-1710].

In July 1710, he married (2) Unknown

Watmough, WilliamRef W2287
[15??-15??] From Lancashire.

He married Margaret.

Children:

  1. John
  2. Margaret [b 1539]

Watney, John ThomasRef W538
[1821-1906] Born in Wimbledon.

He was a farmer [1865].

On 6th September 1865, he married Emily Ann Tillotson at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.


Emily Ann was the daughter of
Samuel Bold Tillotson
 

Children:

  1. Thomas Savile
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child

The couple died in Woolwich: Emily Ann [1883]; Thomas John [3rd February 1906]

Watney, Thomas SavileRef W541
[1867-1951] Son of John Thomas Watney.

He was a brewing director [1934].

See Samuel Sheard Tillotson

Watson...Ref W124
The entries for people & families with the surname Watson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Watson & FosterRef W489
Woolstaplers at Halifax.

Partners included Mr Watson and Mr Foster.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1868

Watson & TownendRef W1673
20th century clothing manufacturer at Townson Works, Hebden Bridge

Watson BrothersRef W1771
Card makers and card clothing manufacturers at Union Mills, Halifax [1905, 1923], and Savile Mill, Halifax [1936]

See George Walker Highley

Watson Cottage, SouthowramRef W4140
Recorded in 1911, when William Pearson [b 1842] (silk card machine tenter) and daughter May [b 1879] (dressmaker) lived here.

See Watson House, Southowram

Watson Crossing, Sowerby BridgeRef W1388
A halt on the railway line between Sowerby Bridge and Triangle.

Vacuum-operated steps allowed the passengers of the motor train to use the ground-level platform at the Crossing.

Opened in 1907.

On 16th August 1926, a number of runaway railway coaches crashed here.

It closed in July 1929.

See Motor Train

Watson's: Henry Watson LimitedRef W1881
Printer at Southgate, Elland [1906, 1911]

See Halifax Street Guide and William Normington

Watson House, SouthowramRef W1480
Owners and tenants have included

See Watson Cottage, Southowram and Watson Quarries, Southowram

Watson LimitedRef W1602
Printers at Southgate Printing Works, Elland [1905]

Watson Mill Bridge, Sowerby BridgeRef W703
Crosses the Ryburn. Mentioned in the 17th century. It was rebuilt in 1660 when the road to Watson Mill was constructed

Watson-Wentworth, CharlesRef W685
[1730-1782] 2nd Marquess of Rockingham. He was Whig Prime Minister 1765-1766 and 1782. He was Lord Lieutenant of the county.

In 1756, he and Sir George Savile established the Regiment which became the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

In November 1769, he presided at the enquiry which he had called to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

He was popular in the town and was greeted by a special peal of bells at Halifax Parish Church on his arrival. During the visit, he stayed with John Royds at Royds House.

Watt, David D.Ref W523
[1885-1919] He was a porter at Todmorden railway station [1914].

During World War I, he enlisted [4th August 1914], and served as a Corporal with the 1st Battalion Scots Guards.

He was wounded at Mons [September 1914], wounded again [December 1914], wounded again [Christmas 1916], and gassed in [August 1918].

He was demobilised and arrived home [January 1919].

He had been back in his job for 2 weeks when he developed influenza and pneumonia, from which he died.

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial

Watterson, HenryRef W6540
[1849-1906] Son of John Watterson (cordwainer), and brother of John Watterson.

Born in Stockton, Yorkshire.

By 1871, he had moved to Halifax and was living with his brother John and family at The Lodge Cottage, Sowerby.

He was a farm servant/labourer [1871] / a carter [1881] / a teamster [1891] / a carter (mill) [1901] / an employee of the Rawson's [for 38 years] / a member of the Committee of Sowerby Bridge Industrial Society.

In [Q4] 1871, he married Edna Lawrence [1847-1???] at St Mary's Church, Sowerby.


Edna, of Stubbin, was born in Sowerby, the daughter of Sarah and Edward Lawrence, woollen weaver
 

Children:

  1. Agnes [b 1874] who was a woollen weaver [1891, 1901], a costume cloth weaver [1911]
  2. Edith [b 1876] who was a woollen warper [1891], a woollen weaver [1901]
  3. Emily [b 1878] who was a woollen spinner [1891], a woollen weaver [1901]
  4. Ethel [b 1872] who was a woollen weaver [1901]
  5. Annie [b 1886] who was a woollen twister [1901], a costume cloth weaver [1911]

The family lived at

  • Saw Hill, Sowerby [1881, 1891, 1901]
  • 17 Saw Hill, Triangle [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] was Edna's widowed mother Sarah Lawrence [aged 82].

Henry died on 5th October 1906.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £449. Probate was granted to his widow Edna.

He was buried at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones [9th October 1906]

Watterson, JohnRef W3190
[1840-1???] Born in Stockton, Yorkshire.

He was a coachman [1871].

In [Q4] 1863 he married Ann Lang [1841-1???] in York.


Ann was born in Selby
 

Children:

  1. Mary Elizabeth [b 1865]
  2. Anne Rosamund [b 1868]
  3. Jebson Lang [b 1870]


The family moved to Halifax between 1861 and 1865
 

The family lived at

  • Stockton on the Forest [1861]
  • The Lodge Cottage, Sowerby [1871]

Living with them [in 1871] were John's brother Henry Watterson [aged 23] (farm servant), and sister Annie Watterson [aged 17] (worsted twister), and niece Blanche Lang [aged 9]

Watterson: John Watterson & CompanyRef W951
Wool and waste dealer at West Vale.

In October 1880, the company was declared bankrupt

Watts & NaylorRef W480
Carpet manufacturer at Calder Carpet Works, Brighouse.

Partners included E. Watts, T. Naylor and J. W. Naylor.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1868

Watts, Rev HenryRef W14
[1801-18??] Born in London.

He was a Methodist New Connexion minister in Halifax [1837]

In 1837, he married Susannah, daughter of James Walsh, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Eliza [b 1836]

They lived at

  • 10 Brunswick Street, Halifax [1837]
  • Stannary, Halifax [1841]
  • 9 Chapel Terrace, Stafford, Staffordshire [1851]
  • 156 Great Dover Street, Newington, Lancashire [1861]

Watts, Rev John WilliamRef W2039
[1807-18??] Vicar of Bicester.

He married Rebecca [b 1806] who was born in Antigua, West Indies.

Children:

  1. Langford Lovell
  2. Agnes [b 1836]

He died on the Isle of Wight

Watts, Rev Langford LovellRef W1004
[1834-1882] Son of Rev John William Watts.

Born in Bath.

He was at St Aidan's College, Birkenhead before becoming Perpetual Curate at Stainland [1861, 1874].

On 2nd October 1860, he married Elizabeth, youngest daughter of Rev Charles Rogers.

Children:

  1. Henry Langford [b 1862]
  2. Edith Mary [b 1865]

Living with them [in 1871] was niece Letitia Mary Pollitt [b  1847] from Sowerby Bridge.

He died on the Isle of Wight

Watts Wrigley & SonRef W1655
Silk waste spinners established by Watts Wrigley at Brow Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1832], and at Shay Lane Mill, Holmfield which they built about 1836.

In 1835, the firm was one of the subscribers to the Halifax Dispensary, giving 5 guineas

Watty House, TodmordenRef W1463
Owners and tenants have included

Watty Place, TodmordenRef W715
Owners and tenants have included

Watty Scout, TodmordenRef W166
Dulesgate. Rock outcrop about 120 ft high

Waugh, Anna MaryRef W1412
[1853-1928] Daughter of Edward Waugh.


Edward Waugh was a solicitor in London, and the last MP for the Borough of Cockermouth, Cumbria. Anna Mary's son –
Noel Waugh Hadwen – takes the Waugh name
 

Born in Cumberland.

She was the second wife of Frederick Walter Hadwen.

She died at The Dene, Triangle.

She & her husband were buried at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones

Waugh, BenjaminRef W872
[1895-1918] Born in Queensbury, the illegitimate son of Martha Ann Waugh [1873-1924].


Martha Ann was born in Bradford.

In 1900, she married Walter Craven in Halifax

 

He worked for Holdsworth's.

During World War I, he served as a Bombardier with D Battery 72nd Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He was mentioned in dispatches.

He died of wounds [8th June 1918].

He was buried at Bagneux British Cemetery, Gezaincourt, France [Grave Ref III B 6].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Bradshaw War Memorial

Waugh, MrRef W2096
[15??-16??] Vicar of Coley [1623]

Wavell, Edmund MinsonRef W246
[1807-1898] JP.

Born in Newport, Isle of Wight [25th September 1807].

He became a law student [1823], and a solicitor [April 1830].

He moved to Halifax where he became an attorney [1833].

See Halifax Town Hall, St James's Club, Halifax, Wavell, Kerr & Kerr and Wavell, Son & Marshall

Wavell, Edmund MinsonRef W238
[1843-1894] Son of Edmund Minson Wavell.

He was a student at Middle Temple [1871], a solicitor at Halifax [1881], and a partner in Wavell, Philbrick, Foster & Wavell and Wavell, Son & Marshall. He was a Colonel 4th Battery of 2nd West Yorks Garrison Artillery Volunteers [1907].

On 1st December 1880, he married Mary Helen Foster.


Mary Helen was the eldest daughter of William Foster
 

They lived at

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894.

Helen Mary Wavell [late of 9 Park Road, Halifax] died at Livingstone Mansions, Queens Club Gardens, London [6th January 1907].

She was buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross

Wavell, Florence MaryRef W1269
[18??-19??] Daughter of ??.

She lived at 6 Park Road, Halifax [1891].

In 1903, she was one of the first people to be granted a car registration and a motor drivers' licence

Wavell, George HenryRef W2500
[1846-1???] (Possibly) son of Edmund Minson Wavell.

He was a scholar at Sedburgh Free Grammar School [1861] / a solicitor (not in practice) [1881].

Wavell, Kerr & KerrRef W2499
Halifax solicitors established around 1895.

Partners included Edmund Minson Wavell, Robert Moffat Kerr, and John Milton Kerr

Wavell, Philbrick & FosterRef W2583
Halifax attorneys. Partners included Edmund Minson Wavell, Henry John Philbrick, and William Foster.

See Robert Moffat Kerr and Wavell, Philbrick, Foster & Wavell

Wavell, Philbrick, Foster & WavellRef W1820
Solicitors.

They were at 14 George Street, Halifax [1868] and 26 George Street, Halifax [1874].

Partners included Edmund Minson Wavell, Henry John Philbrick, and William Foster.

See Wavell, Philbrick & Foster

Wavell, Son & MarshallRef W2471
Halifax solicitors [1898]. Partners (possibly) included Edmund Minson Wavell, Edmund Minson Wavell, and Harold Marshall

Wavell, Sophia ElizabethRef W2191
[18??-1???] On Wednesday, 4th January 1871, she married Ronald Currie MD at Square Church, Halifax

Wavy Steps, Hebden BridgeRef W2107
A set of suitably fashionable steps constructed in 2077, and leading down to Hebden Water near River Cottage

Wawn, Rev William HeyRef W930
[1818-1896] BA.

Born in Stanton by Dale, Derbyshire.

He was Perpetual Curate at Coley [1847]. He resigned in 1892.

In [Q2] 1845, he married Elizabeth Hill Dunning [1816-1???] in Howden.


Elizabeth was born in Hull
 

Children:

  1. Charles Farneford [bapt 10th August 1851]
  2. William Dykes [b 1848]
  3. Elizabeth / Mary Elizabeth [b 1849] who married Rev William Davenport

He died at Stockport [27th April 1896].

The couple were buried at Coley Church.

He is remembered on the Altar Cross, and there is a window in the couple's memory in Coley Church

Wawne, ThomasRef W1308
[16??-16??] Of Sowerby. In 1671, he, John Brigg, Thomas Holt and Abraham Wadsworth were amongst a number of local people who had supported the RoyaJohn Brigg, Thomas Holt and Abraham Wadsworth cause in the Civil War and who received a pension of 6/5d per year under a county-based pension scheme set up in 1662 for


the reliefe of poore and maimed Officers and Souldiers who have faithfully served His Majesty and His Royal Father in the late [Civil] Wars
 

Wax, Halifax is made ofRef W183
Halifax is built of wax
Heptonstall of stone
There's pretty girls in Halifax
In Heptonstall, there's none
Hanson suggest that this may have been sung in the 18th century when houses in Halifax were first built of brick, the colour of which resembled sealing wax

Way Stone Edge, RishworthRef W1528
A steep escarpment overlooking the M62

Waygood, WalterRef W132
[1898-1917] Son of James Waygood of Nelson, Lancashire.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 12th June 1917 (aged 19).

He was buried at Wytschaete Military Cemetery, Belgium.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Wayman, Alice MaryRef W1110
[1863-1944] Youngest daughter of Thomas Wayman.

Born in Halifax [11th May 1863].

On 22nd July 1890, she married Dr Henry James Edwards from Windermere at Park Congregational Church.

She died 2nd February 1944

Wayman, AnnieRef W1109
[1857-1881] Daughter of Thomas Wayman.

She was the first wife of Henry Edmunds. She was married from The Grove, Halifax.

She died in childbirth in 1881, giving birth to twins – Claud Henry and Dorothy Annie.

She was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery

Wayman, Frederick EllisRef W1739
[1861-1940] JP.

He was a woolstapler [1901, 1905].

On 26th August 1890, he married Annie Louise Baines.


Annie Louise was the niece of
William Ambler
 

Children:

  1. William Ambler

The family lived at

  • 4 Heath Villas, Halifax [1905]
  • Minchin Hampton, Gloucestershire [1916]

Frederick died 25th November 1940

Wayman, Henry HoldsworthRef W848
[1877-1933] OBE, DL.

Son of William Henry Wayman.

He was Lieutenant-Colonel.

He married Dorothy.

Children:

Children:

  1. daughter [b 1925]

Wayman, MauriceRef W8920
[18??-19??] In 1916, he bought Giles House, Hove Edge from the Kershaw family

Wayman, Sons & CompanyRef W1736
Woollen manufacturers at Haley Hill Mills, Halifax [1905] Partners included William Henry Wayman

Wayman, ThomasRef W341
[1833-1901] JP, MP.

Son of William Henry Wayman.

Born in Orange Street, Halifax.

He was educated at private schools in Halifax.

Established Thomas Wayman & Company [1850s]. He carried on business as a woolstapler until 1892. He was active in local affairs and was a member of Halifax Town Council [1865-1877, 1882-1886] / Mayor of Halifax [1872-1874] / Vice-Chairman of the Halifax Chamber of Commerce / a governor of Crossley Orphanage [1885] / associated with Sion Chapel, Halifax.

In 1856, he married Sarah Ellis at Sion Congregational Church, Halifax.

Children:

  1. Annie
  2. Alice Mary

The family lived at

  • 2 Park Terrace, Halifax [1861]
  • Savile Close, Halifax
  • The Grove, Halifax [1880]
  • Banbury, Oxfordshire [1901]

He was Liberal MP for Elland from 1885, beating F. C. Rasch [1885], J. Fitzalan Hope [1892], and Arthur Travis Clay [1895] He held the post until he retired due to ill-health on 17th February 1899.

He died at South Bank, Banbury, Oxfordshire [9th February 1901].

See James Bowman and Halifax White Swan Company Limited

Wayman's: Thomas Wayman & CompanyRef W1467
Halifax woolstaplers, wool merchants and top makers. Established by Thomas Wayman [1850s]. They were at 27 Horton Street, Halifax [1905].

The company's names appears on the wall outside Bracken's Warehouse in Horton Street.

See Thomas Ogden and William Henry Wayman

Wayman, William AmblerRef W767
[1892-1916] Son of Frederick Ellis Wayman.

During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 1st/4th Battalion Oxford & Bucks Light Infantry.

He died 14th August 1916.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [16th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 10A & 10D]

Wayman, William HenryRef W1147
[1801-18??] Card maker of Halifax.

On 26th October 1833, he married Nanny Rawcliffe [1812-1894].


Nanny was born in Salterhebble [5th December 1812]
 

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. William Henry
  3. Martha [1847 7th January 1893] who was buried with her mother
  4. George [1850-29th December 1906] who was a coal merchant [1891], & was buried with his mother

The family lived at 19 Cromwell Terrace, Halifax [1891].

William Henry was dead by 1891.

Nanny died 27th September 1894.

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 90]

Wayman, William HenryRef W846
[1847-1929] Son of William Henry Wayman.

Born in Halifax [26th August 1847].

He was senior partner in Thomas Wayman & Company [1902] / senior partner in Wayman, Sons & Company [1902] / Vice-president of the Halifax Cricket & Football Club.

In [Q4] 1871, he married (1) Mary Ann Holdsworth [1853-1878] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Walter Percy [1872-1876]
  2. Henry Holdsworth
  3. daughter

In [Q2] 1879, he married (2) Jessie Margaret Whitley [1855-1931] in Halifax.


Jessie Margaret was the daughter of John Whitley
 

Children:

  1. Kenneth [1884-1885]
  2. Nora [b 1886] who married Richard Edgar Sugden
  3. daughter

The family lived at Southfield, Halifax [1902].

Jessie Margaret died at Hastings [23rd March 1931].

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1816]

Wayte, Dr Frank EdwardRef W1737
[1874-1947] MRCS, LRCP.

Born in Hanley, Staffordshire [2nd November 1874].

He qualified at Owens College Manchester [1904].

He was physician and surgeon with his surgery at 86 Hanson Lane, Halifax [1905] / physician & surgeon [1911] / retired physician & surgeon [1939].

In [Q3] 1904, he married Elizabeth (Lizzie) Flockton Macdonald [1879-1962] in Barton-upon-Irwell.


Lizzie was born in Manchester [27th June 1879]
 

Children:

  1. Alan Wymont [b Q3 1905]
  2. Frances Heather [b 26th August 1909]

The family lived at

  • 86 Hanson Lane, Halifax [1911]
  • Hanson Lane, Halifax, [1905, 1920]
  • St Mary's, Francis Street. Halifax [1925, 1930]
  • Sunnymede 111 Muston Road, Filey [1935, 1939, 1942]

Frank Edward died 10th February 1947 (aged 72).

Probate was granted to his widow Lizzie.

Lizzie died 6th April 1962 (aged 82) 

Weasel Hall Cottage, ErringdenRef W488
2 New Road

Constructed about 1840 by the Manchester & Leeds Railway Company to replace the original Weasel Hall which was demolished when the railway line was built.

It is now private dwellings

Weasel Hall, Hebden BridgeRef W653
Demolished about 1840 when the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway line was built. Weasel Hall Cottage was built

Weasel Hall Tunnel, Hebden BridgeRef W1239
Railway tunnel

WeatherRef W1717

Weather stationRef W479
A meteorological recording station was set up at Belle Vue in 1892

Weatherall, BillyRef W2395
[1???-19??] Of Warrington.

On 28th October 1933, he set a new world skating record of 112 hours 46 minutes at Sowerby Bridge Town Hall

On 18th November 1933, he set a new roller skating record of 113 hours 4 minutes set in Halifax

Weatherburn, JohnRef W698
[17??-18??] He preached the first sermon – from Habakkuk III 2 – at Ambler Thorn United Methodist Chapel when it opened for service on 15th February 1807

Weatherell, HaroldRef W858
[1893-1916] Son of Emma & Harry Weatherell of 9 Temperance Field, Wyke.

He married Mary Ann.

They lived at 8 Holme Terrace, Lightcliffe.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 14th October 1916 (aged 23).

He was buried at Abbeville Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref I G 9]

Weatherhead, JamesRef W2466
[1???-17??] Merchant. Recorded in 1735 at Hough Hall, Halifax

Weatherhead, JamesRef W385
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint John's Mission Church, Hebden Bridge, and on the Memorial at Saint Thomas the Apostle, Heptonstall

Weatherhead, John W.Ref W2127
[1867-19??] Born in Leeds. Landlord of the Rising Sun, Rastrick [1901].

He married Fanny [1865-19??] from Leeds

Weatherill, JamesRef W216
[1784-1859] He was a stone mason.

He married Nelly Newall of Walsden [1782-1859].

Children:

  1. Sarah
  2. Richard
  3. William

He died on 5th July 1859 when John Holden's joiner's shop in Union Street, Todmorden collapsed, killing James and Abraham Crossley who were working there at the time.

James's wife, Nelly, never recovered from the shock and died a few months later on 18th September.

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Weatherill, MilesRef W70
[1845-1868] Son of Richard Weatherill.

A cotton worker or check-weaver of Back Brook Street, Todmorden.

It is said that his father, Richard, was eccentric and once locked baby Miles in a drawer and told his wife, Alice, that a woman had taken him away. It was 2 hours later, before Alice found the baby in the drawer.

Miles was generally regarded as being

a young man of good character and conduct

although newspapers reported that

no gentleman's housemaid was free from his solicitations

He was a Methodist before he began to attend Christ Church, Todmorden. Weatherill met his sweetheart, Sarah Bell, at Sunday School. The relationship led to the murder of Rev Plow at Todmorden.

At 8:00 am on 4th April 1868, Weatherill and a 30-year-old weaver, Timothy Faherty, who had murdered a girl from Droylsden, were the last men to be publicly hanged outside the New Bailey Prison in Manchester. Both were buried in the Prison Yard at Manchester.

After the hanging, a friend found a letter in Weatherill's cell in which he wrote

You know I am to hang. It is an awful shameful death to die

An effigy of Weatherill was installed at Madame Tussaud's.

This is discussed in the book Halifax Murders.

See James Weatherill

Weatherill, RichardRef W6090
[1???-1???] He married Alice.

Children:

  1. Miles

It is said that Richard was eccentric and once locked baby Miles in a drawer and told his wife, Alice, that a woman had taken him away. It was 2 hours later, before Alice found the baby in the drawer

Weathersby, WilliamRef W895
[1772-1???] Born in Herefordshire.

He married Mary Cook [1773-1???].

Children:

  1. Ann [1798-1867] who married John Morgan

Weaver to WebRef W469
An archive of over 22,000 images of historical documents and photographs illustrating the history of Calderdale. The archive is compiled by Calderdale Council. The collection includes postcards, newspaper reports, maps and photographs, personal diaries and accounts, business records, wills, Acts of Parliament, and census returns.

Weavers' CottagesRef W1886
These are a distinctive feature of 18th/19th century housing in the district. Typically, they have windows set high in the upper floor, so as to give maximum light to the handloom weavers working there.

Some examples can be seen at

Weavers' RhymeRef W72
An 18th/19th century rhyme records the route from the west along the Long Causeway which the weavers took between their homes and their markets:
Burnley for ready money,
Mereclough noa trust,
ye're peepin in at Stiperden,
But call at Kebs, ye must,
Blackshawhead for travellers,
and Heptonstall for trust,
Hepton Brig for landladies,
and Midgley near the moor,
Luddenden's a warm shop,
Royle's Head's varry cold,
if ye get to Halifax,
ye mun be varry bold
In order to make lines 4-7 scan, Donald Haigh has suggested that they should be:
Blackshawhead for travellers,
and Heptonstall for whores,
Hepton Brig for landladies,
and Midgley near the moors,

See Hull, Hell & Halifax

Web Archive of the Calderdale CompanionRef W2413
The British Library has included the Calderdale Companion in their online Archives at


http://www.webarchive.org.uk/ukwa/

Webb's: Henry Webb & CompanyRef W1833
Tar distillers at Rastrick [1874]

Webb, Rev JamesRef W984
[1826-1876] He was Vicar of Hartshead-cum-Clifton [1866-1876] and Master of Clifton Free School [1867-1873], taking over from Rev James Webb.

He resigned in August 1876.

He left the district and died at Bournemouth [21st December 1876]

Webb, Captain MatthewRef W2313
[1848-1883] In the 1870s, he trained at Hollingworth Lake for his cross-channel swim

Webb, Norman GeorgeRef W1006
[1912-1943] Son of Zara Janet & Thomas James Webb of Hebden Bridge.

In [Q3] 1942, he married Doris Burley in Todmorden.

They lived in Hebden Bridge.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant with the 102nd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 23rd August 1943 (aged 31).

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, Surrey [Grave Ref 169]

Webb, RichardRef W535
[1821-1899] Born in Ireland.

He was a revenue officer [1881].

Around 1849, he married Eliza Ann [1827-1???].


Eliza Ann was born in Ireland
 

Children:

  1. Charles Reilley [b 1849] who was a postman [1881]
  2. Agnes Delia [b 1856] who was a teacher [1881]

The family lived at 6 Lister Street, Halifax [1881]

Webb, SamuelRef W1821
[18??-18??] Manufacturer of sanitary pipes, chimney tops, ridge tiles, fire and common bricks, boiler blocks, and flue covers at New Bank, Halifax [1874]

Webb, SamuelRef W816
[18??-18??] He was landlord of the Hambletonian, Silver Street [1861] / landlord of the Albion Hotel, Claremount [1864].

Webb, Thornton & ShawRef W1854
Fire and common brick manufacturer at Bank Top, Northowram [1861]

Webb, Zacharias BrierleyRef W753
[1868-19??] His father was not recorded on his marriage record.

Born in Pendleton, Lancashire.

He was a driver of Elland Lane, Elland [1906] / a labourer [1911].

In [Q4] 1906, he married Barbara Ann Hornsby in Halifax.


Barbara Ann was the daughter of
William Hornsby.

She was a rag sorter [1911]

 

In 1911, they were living with Barbara's parents at 5 Upper Exley, Halifax

Webber, Kenneth Frederick AlbertRef W1003
[1918-1945] Son of Rose & George Webber.

In [Q4] 1941, he married Ethel Riley in Halifax.

They lived in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with the 49th Armoured Personnel Carrier Regiment Royal Armoured Corps.

He died 30th March 1945 (aged 27).

He was buried at Winterswijk Cemetery, Netherlands [Grave Ref 47]

Webster...Ref W247
The entries for people & families with the surname Webster are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Webster & WadeRef W1683
Marble masons at 7 Aked's Road, Halifax [1905]

Webster's, BrighouseRef W1448
Brighouse furniture business. Established in 1865. The company now occupies a series of shops in Commercial Street

Webster's: George Webster & Son LimitedRef W1489
In 1819, George Webster had a grocery and confectionery business in 6 Southgate, Halifax and another at Hipperholme cross-roads (next to the Infants' School).

In 1828, he established his tea and grocery business at 3 and 5 Silver Street / Commercial Street, Halifax.

His son, Charles, took over the business, becoming sole partner.

In 1874, they were at 7 Union Street, Halifax.

Later, the company had the Mikado Café [1889], and the Imperial Café [1908].

In 1936, they had a shop in The Arcade Royale, Halifax.

The company went out of business in 1963

Webster's Green LabelRef W2687
Beer introduced by Samuel Webster's in 1928

Webster's, HipperholmeRef W2858
A branch of George Webster & Son Limited stood at Hipperholme cross-roads (next to the Infants' School). It is now [2012] an office equipment company

Webster's: Samuel Webster & Sons LimitedRef W1644
Union Cross Yard, Halifax.

The brewery business was started by Samuel Webster at the Fountain Head Brewery in 1838.

He was joined by his sons, Isaac, George Henry and Samuel Green.

Other people who served in the Board included

The company was registered in March 1890.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced


Samuel Webster & Sons Limited
Brewers and Wine & Spirit merchants

Offices; 57, Northgate, Halifax

 

On 30th December 1932, Samuel Webster's and Joseph Stocks amalgamated.

They became a part of the Grand Metropolitan group.

In 1895, Wilson's of Lancashire (established in 1834) became a part of the Group.

The Brewery is discussed in the book Halifax Pubs.

See George Bodger, Frances White Bodger, Eric Bodger, Prynn & Company, Victoria, Halifax and Webster's Green Label

Wedgewood, WilliamRef W824
[1???-18??]

On 22nd December 1833, he married Eliza Clarkson in Calverley.


Eliza from Brighouse was the daughter of
Charles Clarkson
 

Children:

  1. James William [1834-18th March 1836] who died aged 1 year & 8 months
  2. Elizabeth who died in her infancy
  3. Eliza Ann [1836-4th May 1838] who died aged 1 year & 8 months

Eliza died 6th April 1838 (aged 25).

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Wedgwood, William RobsonRef W841
[1883-1940] Born in Seaton, Cumberland [8th July 1883].

He was a coal miner.

He was an excellent shot with the gun and took part in many clay-pigeon contents.

He won several trophies as a Cumberland wrestler.

He signed to play for Thrum Hall [1902].

He was chief try-scorer for Halifax [1903-1904].

He played for Cumberland [1905-1906]

He was Captain of Halifax [1907-1908]

He had to retire from rugby on account of heart disease [1912]

He was landlord of the Golden Pheasant, Halifax [1911] / landlord of the Lord Nelson, Halifax [July 1913-July 1914].

A benefit match was played on his behalf at Thrum Hall [1928].

In [Q4] 1902, he married Sarah Jane Underwood in Cockermouth.

Children:

  1. Eva [1903-1946]
  2. William Aaron [1907-1965]
  3. John [1911-1937]

The family lived at 115 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1940].

William died in Halifax [4th January 1940]

Wee SamRef W239
Popular name for Samuel Webster's Fountain Head Brewery and its products

Weeding, Major A. J.Ref W1916
[18??-1876] He served with the 33rd Duke of Wellington's Own Regiment. He died in India.

There is a memorial to him and other members of the regiment in Halifax Parish Church

Weedon, ThomasRef W248
[1880-1915] Son of Emma (née Worley) & Richard Weedon, painter.

Born in Tooting, London.

He was a labourer [1911] / a dyer with Davis, Gordon & Company.

On 7th April 1907, he married Rose Gardiner [1882-19??] in Halifax.


Rose was the daughter of John Gardiner
 

Children:

  1. Vera May [b 1914]
  2. child


In 1911, a daughter Violet Weedon [aged 11] born in Halifax was recorded
 

The family lived at

  • 13 Wood Square Mill Lane, Boothtown [1911]
  • Lower Range Terrace, Range Bank [1915]
  • 12 Waterloo Street, Boothtown [1916]

He was a time-expired soldier, but at the outbreak of World War I, he enlisted [15th October 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion (76th Foot)  Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action during a gas attack at the Battle of Hill 60 [5th May 1915].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [18th March 1916].

Official confirmation of his death didn't come until March 1916.

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Weekly Courier & GuardianRef W542

Weightman, HughRef W2207
[18??-19??] Motor coach proprietor.

He established Weightman's Tours Limited and began operating charabancs on excursions and tours from Halifax by 1923. The company's registered address was 5 Emscote Grove, Halifax.

The limited company was formed in 1948, and the following year it was sold to Ripponden & District Motors, who continued to operate it as a subsidiary. Ripponden & District sold its coach operations to Hebble Motor Services in 1957, including the Weightman's licence

Weightman, SamuelRef W2840
[1851-1???] Born in Bassingham, Lincolnshire.

He was an indoor farm servant at Aversham, Southwell, Nottinghamshire [1871] / a police constable [1881] / a police inspector [1891] / a police superintendent at Halifax [1895, 1901] / a police pensioner [1911].

Around 1898, he is mentioned in several newspaper reports of crimes and incidents in and around Halifax.

In 1871, he married Sarah Johnson [1850-1???], born in Coddington, in Newark, Nottinghamshire.

Children:

  1. Fanny [b 1871]
  2. Anne [b 1872]
  3. Adeline / Adelina [b 1875]
  4. Kate [b 1877]
  5. Alice Mary [b 1879] who was a dressmaker [1911]
  6. George [b 1880]
  7. Millie [b 1882]
  8. Minnie [b 1884]
  9. Fred [b 1886]
  10. Hugh [b 1887]
  11. Liley [b 1889]
  12. John [b 1892] who was a butcher's apprentice [1911]

The family lived at

  • 17 Hook Road, Hook, Goole [1881]
  • Omar Street, Heckmondwike [1891]
  • West Riding Court House, Halifax [1901]
  • Bottesford, Nottingham [1911]

Welby, MosesRef W7901
[1845-1923] Aka Owd Mo', Owd Mow.

Born in Farnworth, Lancashire.

He was a 19th century convert to Methodism.

Before his conversion, he was said to be the leader of a group of ungodly men.

On 25th March 1906, he preached at Salem Wesleyan Chapel, Hebden Bridge

He wrote an autobiography entitled From Coal-Pit To Joyful News Mission. The introduction to the book says

Moses Welsby was born and brought up in a public-house, his early surroundings and habits were rough and wicked, and he literally ran an evil course.

He was a noted dog-runner and pigeon-flyer, the racecourse knew him well, and in gambling and drink he spent most of his hardly-earned wages as a coal-miner.

Till his thirty-sixth year he lived without God, in a land of Bibles and Christian influences.

Some few years after his conversion, he was led in the providence of God to join our Joyful News Mission, and to devote his life to telling forth the news of a Saviour's love

He died in Rochdale

Welch, George HenryRef W898
[1898-1917] Son of Ernest W. Welch of 9 St Paul's Road. Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Royal Scots (Formerly 2nd/7th Battalion).

He died of wounds [21st August 1917] (aged 19).

He was buried at Lebucquière Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I D 11]

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross

Welch, NathanielRef W934
[1???-16??] Curate at Luddenden [1634]

Weldon, FrankRef W400
[1886-1951] He was landlord of the Junction Hotel, Halifax [1936] / the Brown Cow, Halifax [1937, 1939] / the Allan Fold, Halifax [1939, 1941] / the Golden Fleece, Bradshaw [1941, 1951].

Frank died in Halifax [Q3 1951] (aged 65) 

Weldrivet Boiler & Motor Company LimitedRef W1776
Boiler & motor makers at Empire Works, Holmfield [1905]

Well Close House, BrighouseRef W1458
Off Church Lane.

Church Lane Surgery now stands on what was the drive to the house. Owners and tenants have included

Well HeadRef W101
Area of Halifax and site of a natural spring.

The well was known as Old Well and Common Well.

The area around the well was known as Oldwelling or Old Well Ing.

In 1398, John Smythson was charged with enclosing a footpath leading to the well.

The well was the main local source which – by way of open troughs, then wooden pipes passing along Harrison Road, Barum Top, and feeding a cistern in Old Cock Yard – provided the town with water for many years up to the 18th century.

In 1762, an Act was passed for the purpose of opening a water course from Well Head and other public springs.

In 1852, the wells supplied around 80,000 gallons per day.

Arthur Porritt writes that ...

in some of the town's inns, drinkers would ask for "Whisky and Well Head"

Two houses – Well Head and Old Well Head – stood here and were demolished in 1976 when the area was redeveloped.

In 1902, the Midland Railway Company agreed to purchase the Shay estate to run a part of the Lancashire and Yorkshire line to Halifax. However, it was later felt that there was no prospect of the railway being constructed in the immediate future, and the plan was abandoned. Work had been started on a tunnel under the new Skircoat Road, on the Well Head side of the road, and this tunnel is still in evidence today. This was used as an air-raid shelter during World War II.

See Act for supplying Halifax with Water [1762] and Royal Aerated Waters

Well Head Farm, HalifaxRef W210
Owners and tenants have included

See Knowles's Dairy

Well Head Fields, HalifaxRef W475
The former grounds of Well Head House formed a deep valley west of Skircoat Road.

Once a rural setting, the area is now covered with the usual ubiquitous and unimaginative houses.

See Burdock Way

Well Head House, HalifaxRef W187
House at Well Head built for Grace Elizabeth and John Waterhouse after their wedding – possibly by John Carr.

Old Well Head was earlier.

The house had a Snetzler chamber organ which Catherine Grace Waterhouse gave to All Saints' Church, Elland in 1915.

In the 19th century, John Waterhouse had an observatory in the grounds. There were extensive gardens with greenhouses and a staff of 6 gardeners. They cultivated exotic ferns, including a todea superba which Waterhouse had imported from New Zealand in 1860 and which is now at Kew Gardens.

John Waterhouse died here.

Catherine Grace Doherty Waterhouse was the last of the family to occupy the house.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

A school visit in May 1903 recorded


the Scholars are visiting the gardens of Mrs Doherty-Waterhouse this week. In the grounds of Mrs Waterhouse, the scholars saw, a vinery, peach house, fighouse, and they saw such plants as the banana bearing fruit, the orange, cinnamon, myrtle, orchids, and many rare plants. There were 14 glasshouses
 

During the 1970s, there were many plans, including one to build a road through the estate.

While Halifax Council dithered (sounds familiar!), the house fell into disrepair and was demolished in 1976.

During the 1990s, the green parkland of the estate was given over for development and is now heavily built-up

Well Head House: OrganRef W845
In the 1760s, the Waterhouse family commissioned Johann Snetzler to build an organ at Well Head.

In 1915, Catherine Grace Waterhouse gave the organ to All Saints' Church, Elland and it was placed in the Lady Chapel there.

On 3rd September 1916, the organ was dedicated.

It fell into disrepair.

In 1957, the organ was restored and moved to the Anglican Convent of St Peter in Horbury. By 2003, the whereabouts of the organ was uncertain as the Convent had closed, but it was rediscovered in 2010 still in the original Convent building which was now a school.

The Convent donated the organ to Halifax Minster.

On 8th March 2015, the Organ was rededicated with a service at the Minster.

It is estimated the it will cost £150,000 to restore the organ

Well House, HalifaxRef W576
Savile Road. Small Georgian Gothick building built in the 18th/19th century

Well of Saint John the BaptistRef W102
Aka Jonas Well. A natural spring which was sited about 200 yards north of Halifax Parish Church at the end of Mulcture Hall Road.

See Cripplegate and Well I' Th' Wall Lane, Halifax

Well Royd, StainlandRef W1063
High Street. Dated RRM 1762.

Adjoins Shepherd's Cottage, Stainland.

Owners and tenants have included

Wellburn, Dr Edgar DuesburyRef W1536
[1861-1941] Son of Eliza (née Harrison) [1824-1???] & Zachariah Tranmer Wellburn [1822-1898].

Born in Scarborough.

He served with the 1st Volunteer Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [1890].

He was a medical practitioner in Sowerby Bridge; with the Local Government Medical Service [1895]; Medical Officer of Health for Luddendenfoot, Sowerby, and Sowerby Bridge [1895]; Medical Officer of Health and Public Vaccinator for Norland, Copley, Sowerby and Sowerby Bridge UDC [1905].

In [Q4] 1886, he married (1) Annie Elizabeth Darrell [1858-1892] in Halifax.

In [Q3] 1893, he married (2) Emma Hatton [1869-1936] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Emma Hatton 1894
  2. Mary Hatton 1899
  3. John Hatton 1906

The family lived at Beech House

Wellcroft Nurseries, HipperholmeRef W2477
George Sharp & Sons were here [1905]

Wellesley, ArthurRef W1947
[1769-1852] 1st Duke of Wellington. Politician and military leader.

See Duke of Wellington's Regiment, Napoleonic Wars, Peninsular War and Battle of Waterloo

Wellesley Barracks, HalifaxRef W476
Gibbet Street / Spring Hall Lane, Highroad Well.

Established in 1875 following a Bill of 1872 – the Cardwell reforms – which sought to spread home forces across the country, in order to encourage local connections and to assist in recruitment.

The building was designed by the Royal Engineers' architect, J & W. Beanland of Bradford, in a castellated Gothic Revival style. The land was given by Charles Musgrave.

The 16 Army buildings included a chapel, officers buildings, the Orderly Room and the Guard Room.

The barrack blocks were known as Wellington and Musgrave.

The barracks were inaugurated on 29th August 1877 when the 33rd and 76th Regiments of Foot occupied the building.

In October 1877, the 6th West Yorkshire Militia moved in.

On 11th February 1918, there was an outbreak of smallpox at the Barracks, with 3 cases being reported in 6 days.

The present building was begun in 1938.

During World War II, it was used for A. T. S. Training.

The property was known as The Barracks until the name Wellesley Barracks was given in 1953.

The Duke of Wellington's Regiment remained at the barracks until 1959 when the barracks closed.

The site was bought by Halifax Council for £30,000 in September 1963 and renamed Wellesley Park. In May 2003, the Council approved controversial plans to build a new school at the Barracks.

The keep and other parts of the building are listed.

See Rev Alec Charlton and Halifax Academy

Wellesley Mount, HalifaxRef W2662
Houses at Savile Park Road

Owners and tenants have included

Wellesley ParkRef W327
Highroad Well. Wellesley Barracks was acquired by Halifax Council in 1963 and renamed. It was used for musical and physical education.

In Spring 2005, Halifax High School moved here from the old Clare Hall site on Huddersfield Road, Halifax

Wellfield House, LangfieldRef W1314
Owners and tenants have included

Wellholme, BrighouseRef W1512
Wellholme Park and the house were originally private land and a part of the Camm Park Estate owned by Alfred Camm and the Camm family.

The house is now a part of Wellholme, Brighouse

Owners and tenants have included

See Richard Kershaw

Wellholme Park, BrighouseRef W359
Bradford Road. Wellholme, Brighouse and the park were originally private land and a part of the Camm Park Estate owned by the Camm family.

In 1867, land was sold for the construction of the Parish Church of St James, which opened in 1870.

In 1902, a shelter popularly known as Park Parliament was erected.

In 1912, the Electric Animated Picture Company built a walk-in cinema with a capacity for around 600 people in the park – the presentation was moved across the road to Brighouse Town Hall or to the Oddfellows' Hall, if wet.

In 1935, the park was bought by Brighouse Corporation as the town's main park.

In 1937, there were plans to build a new civic hall in the park.

In 1938, trenches were dug as a part of the town's defences.

It was used for galas, concerts, and public events from the start of the 20th century.

In 2012, this and Centre Vale Park, Todmorden were awarded Queen Elizabeth II Fields status, which protects the land forever.

Clifton Brook flows through the park.

See Brighouse Agricultural Show, Brighouse Baths, Brighouse Charity Gala, Wellholme Day Nursery, Brighouse and The Gill family of Brighouse

Wellington ArcadeRef W453
Brighouse. Shopping precinct built in the 1960s on the site which had previously been occupied by Brighouse market, and the Wellington pub, and then bus station.

It has always been a rather dull, concrete, Soviet-style building.

The arcade is currently a run-down eyesore with most of the shops – except for the post office, chemists, a pet shop, and a hardware shop – boarded-up and covered with graffiti. Because the chemists are not prepared to leave, the site cannot have a long overdue refurbishment

Wellington ClubRef W591
Aka Southowram Wellington. Southowram football club of the late 19th century. Evolved into the Brookfoot Football Club

Wellington, Duke ofRef W1946

Wellock, DavidRef W655
[1852-19??] Born in Malham.

He was a farm labourer [1911].

In [Q4] 1883, he married Sarah Ellen Briscoe [1863-19??] in Settle.


Sarah Ellen was born in Settle
 

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child who died young [before 1911]
  3. child who died young [before 1911]
  4. Robert [b 1887] who was a cotton spinner [1911]
  5. Willie
  6. Arthur [b 1893] who was a cotton piecer [1911]
  7. John [b 1894] who was a cotton weaver [1911]

The family lived at 6 Aspinall Street, Mytholmroyd [1911]

Wellock, WillieRef W630
[1888-1917] Son of David Wellock.

Born in Mytholmroyd.

He was a cotton spinner [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Field Artillery.

He died 30th August 1917 (aged 29).

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

The Wells family of Norwood GreenRef W954
The family came to the district from Bowling with Isaac Wells, who was land agent for Sir Francis Lindley of Bolling Hall, Bradford

Wells & CompanyRef W2712
Cotton spinners at West Vale.

Partners included W. Wells, G. Lumb (of Common Royd), G. Lumb (of Lightlee Royd), and J. Lumb.

Recorded in September 1858, when the partnership was dissolved

Wells & LumbRef W2052
Cotton spinners at West Vale.

Partners included W. Wells, G. Lumb of Common Royd, G. Lumb of Lightlee Royd and J. Lumb.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1859

Wells & SpasRef W1714

Wells, Edward HoweyRef W64
[1899-1918] Born in South Shields.

He was educated at Crossley & Porter School.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died in France / Flanders [21st August 1918].

He was buried at Glageon Communal Cemetery Extension, France [Grave Ref I O 11].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Crossley & Porter School, Halifax

Wells Farm, WarleyRef W2511
Stock Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Mellor family [1893]

Wells, G.Ref W1015
[18??-19??]


Question: Is he the same person as Gilbert Wells?

 

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Elland War Memorial

Wells, George StansfieldRef W1551
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Beestonhirst Mill, Ripponden [1815].

In December 1839, he was declared bankrupt

Wells, GilbertRef W729
[1879-1917] Son of Jonas Wells.

He was a presser for Armitage's at Water Lane Dye Works, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Bullecourt [3rd May 1917] (aged 38) 

He is remembered at Coley Church on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6], on Norwood Green War Memorial, and on Coley War Memorial. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £873 3/2d.

Probate was granted to William Ewart Wells (wool merchant)  and Ethel Wells (spinster).

Wells, IsaacRef W117
[1898-1917] Son of Willie Wells.

He was an apprentice butcher with W. Tordoff, Market Street, Halifax / a member of Norwood Green Congregational Institute.

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1916], and served as a Private with A Company 10th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was wounded by shrapnel and killed by shellfire as he was on his way to the dressing station [7th June 1917] (aged 19).

He was buried at Woods Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III E 13].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Halifax Butchers' Association, on Norwood Green War Memorial, on the Memorial at Norwood Green Congregational Institute, and on the Memorial at Saint John the Baptist, Coley

Wells, JohnRef W2433
[1822-1895] Born in Leeds. After 1867, the family moved to Rishworth.

He was landlord of the Brown Cow, Rishworth [1881, 1891] / a butcher and a farmer [1881] / farmer and innkeeper of the Brown Cow, Rishworth [1895]. He was succeeded by his son-in-law, Fred Firth, at the Brown Cow.

In 1861, he married Sarah Jackson [1826-1884] from Rishworth.

Children:

  1. Ruth [1862-1936] who married Mahlon Firth [1860-1929], brother of Fred
  2. Mary
  3. Elizabeth [1866-1935]

In 1881, there were lodgers with the family: John Bentley [1841-1???] who was a paper maker and Catharine E. Henry [1859-1???] who was a school teacher

He died at Rishworth.

John and daughter Elizabeth are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Wells, John StansfieldRef W1550
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Booth Bridge Mill, Ripponden [1818-1882]

Wells, John WilliamRef W106
[19??-19??] He served in World War II.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Halifax Building Society

Wells, JonasRef W402
[18??-1???]

He married Sarah Ann [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. Gilbert

The family lived at Norwood Green

Wells, JosephRef W454
[1???-17??] In 1737, he bought Bowers Hall, Barkisland and Bowers Mill. In 1770, he rebuilt the Mill as a corn mill

Wells, MaryRef W2542
[1864-1927] Daughter of John Wells.

She had a daughter, Henrietta Wells [1890-1968].

In 1898, she married Fred Firth.

Henrietta and her half-sister, Florrie, took over at the Brown Cow after Fred's death

The Wells, WarleyRef W1529
Stock Lane. At the Highroad Well end of Warley.

Late 18th century cottages.

Named for the wells which stand at the roadside.

The stonework around the wells was rebuilt by public subscription in 1836.

The wells and springs which supplied the area, gave Highroad Well its name.

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

Wells Farm, Warley

Wells, WillieRef W120
[18??-1???] Or Walter.

He married Mary Jane [18??-1???].

Children:

  1. Isaac

The family lived at

  • Fieldhead Farm, Norwood Green
  • Green Mount, Norwood Green [1917]

Welsh, AnthonyRef W296
[18??-1???] Leeds artist who designed the pulpit at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge

Welsh, E.Ref W866
[1889-1916] Son of M. Welsh of 21 Wellgate, Greetland.

Born in Bradford.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 102nd Battalion Canadian Infantry.

He died 22nd October 1916 (aged 27).

He was buried at Adanac Military Cemetery, Miraumont, France [Grave Ref I D 14]

Welsh, Rev JohnRef W256
[17??-17??] Aka Walsh. MA.

He was Curate at Todmorden [or Cross Stone, 1713-1726] / Curate at Cross Stone Church [1744] / Curate at Luddenden [1749-1750] / Curate at Sowerby [1750, 1776].

At Todmorden, he was said to have been

very successful in reclaiming Dissenters

Todmorden Endowed School was built during his ministry.

In 1758, he paid Window Tax of 2/- for 9 windows at Lane Ends Farm, Norland.

He was a subscriber to the publication of Watson's History.

In 1716, he married (1) Mary Lacey.

In 17??, he married (2) Betsy Gibson

Welsman, HenryRef W471
[18??-18??] Around 1855, he established business as a plumber and glazier in Brighouse. In 1864, the business was taken over by Joseph Lawson

Wentworth, Anna MariaRef W728
[1736-1788] Of Wentworth Woodhouse. Daughter of Godfrey Wentworth and Dorothy Pilkington.

She married Sir George Armytage.

She was buried at Hickleton, Yorkshire

Wentworth, DorothyRef W1149
[15??-1602] She was the third wife of Sir John Savile

Wentworth, ElizabethRef W1148
[15??-1593] Daughter of Thomas Wentworth of Elmshall.

She was the second wife of Sir John Savile

Wentworth, Sir GeorgeRef W1905
[15??-16??] Of Woolley, Yorkshire.

He was MP for Pontefract.

He became a Royalist commander of the cavalry – Lieutenant-Colonel – during the Civil War.

He served at Halifax and occupied King Cross and Sowerby Bridge, watching for Parliamentary attacks from Manchester and Rochdale.

He was fined more than £3,000 in decimation.

See Joseph Priestley and Battle of Sowerby Bridge

Wentworth, GeorgeRef W1243
[16??-16??] Of Woolley. He was a Lieutenant-Colonel in the Halifax Army during the Civil War. He supported the Royalist cause and paid £3,188 fines in 1647. This was said to be the largest fine beyond the Trent

Werla fesleiRef W107
Reference to Warley Town in Domesday Book

Wesley BobRef W2186
Aka Wassail Bow. A traditional Christmas decoration in which 2 rings of wood – typically from a butter tub – were fixed one inside the other and at right-angles, then covered in coloured tissue paper. A bell, doll or glass ball was hung inside. This would be carried around the streets, accompanied by singing, as a collection was made for charity

Wesley, CharlesRef W109
[1707-1788] Organist and composer, he was the younger brother of John Wesley and one of the original Methodists at Oxford. He became a preacher and theologian of the Wesleyan Methodists, and wrote some 6,500 hymns, including
Jesus, lover of my soul

His Collection of 1737 is probably the first hymnal for congregational worship.

It is said that the climb to Heptonstall [1740] led him to compose the hymn

Oh, for a thousand tongues to sing

He visited Halifax in 1751 and preached to a crowd of 1,000 on 16th September.

He writes

15th September 1751: I ... followed our nimble guide, Johnny Grimshaw, to Ewood. His father came panting after us

16th September 1751: I preached at nine, in a convenient field to about a thousand believers ... and again at three, to about three thousand. Their spirit carried me beyond myself. Such a lively people I have not met with, so simple, loving, zealous. I could have gladly stayed to live and die with them

Wesley Court Reading RoomRef W425
Established in 1847. Merged with the Halifax Mechanics' Institute

Wesley House, Cragg ValeRef W587
Formerly Cragg Vale Wesleyan Chapel.

It is now occupied by an organisation providing courses in the use of sewing machines

Wesley, JohnRef W177
[1703-1791] The Lincolnshire-born founder of Methodism. From 1742, onwards, he visited the Halifax & Calderdale district many times. On 14th February 1748, he first preached in Halifax at the Union Cross. In 1790, he preached his last sermon in the North of England at Mount Zion Chapel, Ogden.

See The Bintliff mite box, Octagonal Chapel, Heptonstall, Sally Simpson and Stoneshey Gate, Heptonstall

Wesley's PulpitRef W24
A rock at Widdop where John Wesley preached in 1766 is inscribed JW 1766

Wesleyan Reform MovementRef W2632
Aka The Reformers. Founded in 1859 by those Methodists who did not join the United Methodist Free Churches

West Air, HalifaxRef W307
Washer Lane. House designed by Richard Dugdale and built for John Edward Wainhouse [1877]. Wainhouse lived here until his death.

Dated 1877.

A remarkable feature of the house is that all of its windows are in different styles.

There are a number of cryptic Latin inscriptions referring to aspects of Wainhouse's life. One inscription

Spare the lowly and make war upon the proud

is said to be a reference to Wainhouse's feud with Edwards.

The house became a pub named the Royal, Pye Nest, the Folly, and the Wainhouse Tavern [by 2014]

West, AlfredRef W844
[1887-1996] DCM.

Son of Henry West.

Born in Halifax [20th November 1887].

He was a tool maker & merchant of Lightcliffe [1910] / a commercial traveller for tool merchant [1911] / a tool merchant [1939].

In [Q3] 1910, he married Ada Constantine at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.


Ada, of Upper Royd, Hipperholme, was the daughter of Thomas John Constantine
 

Children:

  1. Kathleen [1912-1918]
  2. Geoffrey C. [1914-2012]
  3. Gordon [16th December 1922-11th March 2004] who was an apprentice tool merchant [1939]

The family lived at

  • 17 Emscote Place, Halifax [1911]
  • Springfield, Hipperholme [1918]
  • Kirk Mount, Kirk Lane, Hipperholme [1939]

During World War I, he enlisted [May 1916], and served as a Gunner with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal [1918]


For conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty. Although wounded in the arm, this gunner continued to serve his gun throughout a protracted bombardment of high explosive and gas shell until he was withdrawn under orders
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [9th November 1918].

He survived the War.

Members of the family were buried at Coley Church

West & ListerRef W2026
Butter factors at Bradford and Brighouse.

Partners included Thomas West and Thomas Thompson Lister.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1854

West, ArthurRef W1505
[18??-19??] Partner in Thomas West & Sons.

He lived at 44 Stansfield Road, Todmorden [1905]

West Bar, TodmordenRef W2552
Numbers 1, 2 & 3 Pudding Lane. Early 18th century house and barn

West, DonaldRef W906
[1886-1917] Son of William West.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was a member of the Salvation Army band [for 21 years] / a trombone & horn player / a book binder [1901] / a warehouseman [1907] / a cutter in drapery warehouse [1911] / employed by David Hanson & Sons, Stannary / an agent for the Provident Clothing Association.

In [Q2] 1907, he married Alice Bates [1887-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Alice, of Lincoln Street, Halifax, was born in Leeds, the daughter of Thomas Henry Bates, weaver
 

Children:

  1. Nellie [b 1908]

They lived at 18 Penn Street, Halifax [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [June 1916], and served as a Private with B Company 15th Battalion Welsh Regiment.

He died 1st August 1917 (aged 31).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [1st September 1917].

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 37], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

In [Q3] 1919, Alice married Walter Brown in Halifax.

They lived at 14 Diamond Terrace, Pellon Lane, Halifax

West EndRef W218
The western end of Halifax, around King Cross

West End& Barn#44; HipperholmeRef W8503
Mid 17th century double-aisled barn.

Now a private house.

West End Bridge, Hebden BridgeRef W193
Aka New Bridge. Built in 1772 when the Old Bridge proved too steep and narrow to carry the new turnpike road from Todmorden to Halifax. It has 2 stone arches. It was widened in 1835

West End Café, BrighouseRef W313

West End Congregational Mutual Improvement SocietyRef W2394
Sowerby Bridge. Recorded in January 1903, when the members visited Halifax Gas Works.

See Mutual Improvement Societies and West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge

West End Farm, HipperholmeRef W2604
Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Rev George Edward Aspinall [1922] – after his death, the property, including 12 acres of land and houses at Towngate, was sold at auction for £1100

West End Golf ClubRef W439
Founded in 1906.

The course was extended on 4th April 1912. A new clubhouse opened on 4th April 1914.

Founder members included Hugh Campbell.

The course is on the site of the Halifax Race Course

West End, HipperholmeRef W699
House dated 1693

West End House, Hebden BridgeRef W421
Oldgate.

Built by Richard Sutcliffe Binns.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

It was originally a private house, but has had many uses: a Methodist Sunday School, a dental surgery, a restaurant, and the Inn on the Bridge

West End RLFC, HalifaxRef W616
Rugby League Football Club.

Recorded in the 1930s

West End, Sowerby BridgeRef W2121
The area of Sowerby Bridge west of the Ryburn.

Ryburn Buildings is a prominent feature of the south side of the street here

West End Tailoring Establishment, HalifaxRef W2250
Recorded in 1881 at 1 Hampden Place, Gibbet Street, when J. Bradford was proprietor

West End Working Men's Club, Sowerby BridgeRef W1780
Recorded in 1900. Samuel Wilkinson was involved in construction of the Club [1901/1902]

Recorded in 1917 at Carlton Street, Sowerby Bridge, when Fred Greenwood was secretary.

See Savings Clubs and West End Working Men's Club Memorial

West, GreenwoodRef W1506
[18??-19??] Partner in Thomas West & Sons.

He lived at 42 Stansfield Road, Todmorden [1905]

West Grove Bottling Company, HalifaxRef W2349
Brewers/bottlers run by W. M. Cockshott

West Grove Home for Incurables, HalifaxRef W1459
Recorded in 1905 at 44 Hopwood Lane when the Matron was Miss McNeice

West Hadlow, HalifaxRef W915

West, Hannah MariaRef W412
[1879-1908] From Woodlesford, Leeds. She came to Halifax and worked in a woollen mill.

In 1903, she married George Whitley, a Halifax motor mechanic.

They had a daughter, Evelyn, but the couple separated and George went to live in America.

Maria was stabbed to death by Ernest Hutchinson with whom she lived at 20 Great Albion Street, Halifax.

Hutchinson and Mrs Whitley had lived together for several months, but he was jealous and suspected her of prostitution. When he returned home from drinking on Christmas Eve 1908, he saw a man leaving the house and later saw a sum of money on a table. He grabbed a knife and stabbed her several times.

Mrs Whitley's 5-year-old daughter, Evelyn, found her mother's body on Christmas Day 1908.

Hutchinson had tried to cut his own throat.

He was hanged at Wakefield prison [2nd March 1909]

West, HenryRef W645
[1857-19??] Son of Robert West, gas engineer

Born in Guildford, Surrey.

He was an ironmonger of Halifax [1879] / an ironmonger's assistant [1881, 1891] / an ironmonger (employer) [1901] / a tool maker & merchant [1910] / a partner in Nicholson & West / a partner in Smith, Nicholson & West.

In 1879, he married Jane Dobson, Hannah Horsfall at Halifax Parish Church.


Jane was born in Elland, the daughter of Joseph Dobson
 

Children:

  1. Eleanor M. [b 1880]
  2. Robert Henry [b 1881] who was a chemists apprentice [1901]
  3. Florence [b 1883] who was a dressmaker [1901]
  4. John F. [b 1885] who was an ironmonger's apprentice [1901]
  5. Alfred

The family lived at

  • 10 Back of Green Hill Terrace, Halifax [1881]
  • 5 Holden Street, Halifax [1891]
  • Cresswell Terrace, Hipperholme, Halifax [1901]

Living with them [in 1901] were Henry's widowed mother Mary West [b Lymm, Cheshire 1829], & sister Elizabeth M. West [b Oldham 1849]

West Hill ParkRef W111
Gibbet Street, Halifax.

On 29th August 1853, there are reports of


A very exciting race for £100 was run at West Hill Park, Halifax, between Isaac Hemingway of Leeds, and John Whittingham of Bradford, both celebrated runners. After a very severe struggle, the race was won by Whittingham
 

A notice in the local paper for 11/3/1854 announced


WEST HILL PARK
THE GREAT TEN MILE RACE

for £60 and the CHAMPIONS BELT (given by the proprietor of the Copenhagen Grounds, London) will be run in WEST HILL PARK, Halifax on Monday next, 13th March 1854 by WM. JACKSON, the American Deer, the present holder of the Belt, and J. PUDNEY of London, the winner of the Ten Mile Belt at Hyde Park, Sheffield on Monday last.

To be at the starting place by 4 o'clock.

Admission: Threepence each

No dogs allowed in the Park on any account whatsoever.

Parties found damaging the walls or trees will be prosecuted as the law directs.

The Belt (and also the one won by Pudney at Sheffield on Monday last)  will be exhibited in the shop window of Mr. Oates, Silver Street, this day

 

Between 1863 and 1868, a Model housing scheme of 185 houses in Tudor and Gothic styles was built for John Crossley.

The designs were by Paull and Ayliffe and were centred around Park Congregational Church.

J. D. Taylor was active in promoting the scheme.

Several streets were named after 17th century Puritans and Nonconformists, such as Cromwell, Gladstone, Hampden, Heywood and Milton.

The Gibbet Street Turkish Baths were nearby.

See Joseph Horrocks and West Hill Park School & Preaching Room

West, Horsfall & WestRef W526
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Gauxholme. Partners included John West, John Horsfall, and Thomas West.

In January 1870, the partnership was declared insolvent

They were tenants of Gauxholme Cotton Mill in 1871 when it partly burnt down

West House, EllandRef W1890
76 Westgate.

Owners and tenants have included

West House, HalifaxRef W83
Late 18th century house at the south-west corner of People's Park.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1913, the 4 youngest daughters of John WhitleyFlorence, Eleanor Maude, Mary Anne, and Frances Louisa - gave the house to Halifax Corporation, in accordance with their father's wishes. The daughters paid for the house to be converted for use as offices.

From 1914 until the 1960s, it was the Council's Education Offices. Since then it has been owned by private companies

West, JamesRef W1691
[17??-18??] Master at Rastrick Grammar School [1793]

West, Rev JamesRef W1750
[1756-1822] Curate at St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram [1821].

In 1821,

he committed the offence of praying for the Queen [Caroline, the estranged Queen Consort of George IV] in defiance of an order in council forbidding it

He died 6th October 1822 (aged 66).

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-L25]

West, JohnRef W22
[13??-1???] In 13??, he William de Bery and John Megotson – all of Halifax – were outlawed for failing to appear at Westminster to defend themselves after being accused of killing deer in the park of Sir William de Nevyle of Raby, at Cottingley

West, JohnRef W812
[1820-1???] Born in Todmorden.

He was a yarn agent [1871].

In [Q1] 1852, he married Asenath Walton [1831-1???] in Rochdale.


Asenath was born in Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Mary Walters [b 1853] who was a dress maker [1871]
  2. James Walton [b 1858] who was a cotton weaver [1871]
  3. John Arthur [b 1863]
  4. Sarah Louisa [b 1867]

The family lived at 60 Gauxholme Place, Todmorden & Walsden [1871]

West, Rev JosephRef W803
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1914, when he was Minister of St John's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Halifax

West Laithe, HeptonstallRef W161
A row of 18th century dwelling and underdwelling houses. The underdwellings are of the back-to-earth type

West Leigh, HalifaxRef W2259
House on Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

West Lodge, TodmordenRef W622
Stansfield.

Owners and tenants have included

West Mount Building SocietyRef W561
In 1870, the members built 14 back-to-back houses in Lincoln Street and Penn Street, Halifax

West Mount Co-OpRef W1756
Branch number 29 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in January 1890

West Mount Street Livery Stables, HalifaxRef W2132
Pellon Lane.

Edgar Tillotson was here [1900, 1912]

West, Rev R. A. C.Ref W1035
[19??-19??] Congregational minister at Northowram. In 1957, he moved to Shotton, North Wales

West RidingRef W1903
The western of the 3 historic divisions of Yorkshire.

In 1861, the West Riding was divided into 2 divisions – North and South – each returning 2 MPs.

In 1867, the West Riding was divided into 3 divisions – North, South and East – each returning 2 MPs.

In 1885, the North Division of the West Riding was divided into 5 constituencies – including the Sowerby Division – each returning 1 MP.

In 1974, the West Riding was reorganised into West Yorkshire and South Yorkshire.

See Deputy Lieutenant for the West Riding, Calder Registration District, MPs for the West Riding, Todmorden & Lancashire, Wakefield, Wapentake and We of the West Riding

West Riding Ambulance ServiceRef W2850
This became the West Yorkshire Metropolitan Ambulance Service [1974] and the Yorkshire Ambulance Service [1st July 2006]

West Riding Building SocietyRef W103
Unsuccessful society, closed in 188?

West Riding ConstabularyRef W477
Established in 1856.

See Captain Robert S. Ormsby and West Riding Constabulary Offices, Halifax

West Riding County CouncilRef W562
Abbr: WRCC. Formed in 1888.

See John Caw, John Foster Clay, Joseph Greenwood and Joseph Smithies

West Riding Court House, HalifaxRef W387
See Borough Club, Halifax

West Riding Furnishing CompanyRef W781
Recorded in 1915, when they were at 46-48 Northgate, Halifax.

See Halifax Furnishing Company

West Riding JunctionRef W2037
Line on the West Yorkshire Railway. It began at Copley Mills, joined the main line through Halifax then by way of Low Moor to Leeds and Pudsey. Recorded in March 1845

West Riding Lunatic AsylumRef W159

West Riding Magistrates' OfficeRef W708
Aka Sessions Court House. Opened next to the market in Market Street / Union Street, Halifax in 1818.

It was described as

The new Court Room in the Market Place

and

I'll take thee under the Clock

was a threat of legal action.

From 1849, the court-house was used as the Halifax County Court. It became unfit for use.

A new West Riding Magistrates' court house was opened on Harrison Road on 8th January 1859. There was accommodation for the Superintendent of Police, offices for clerks, and cells. The building was described as

being opposite the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society, and an unassuming building [which] adds little to the architectural beauty of the town

The court room measured 43 ft 10 ins long, 30 ft 10 ins wide, and 20 ft high.

In 1873, the new County Court building in Prescott Street came into use. The Union Street building then became a cocoa house.

The court house became the Central Hall.

See Halifax County Court

West Riding, MPs forRef W1902

West Riding of Yorkshire Provident Society & Penny Savings BankRef W361
In May 1856, Edward Akroyd published a pamphlet proposing the creation of a West Riding Working Man's Provident Society and Penny Savings Bank.

On 17th November 1856, Akroyd convened a meeting at the Philosophical Hall, Leeds,

for the purpose of establishing a Provident Society, and Penny Savings' Bank for the West Riding

Resolutions were adopted in favour of the scheme.

In 1859, he established the Bank, supported

In 1861, the West Riding of Yorkshire was removed from the name – becoming the Yorkshire Penny Savings Bank – in order to enable the bank to operate across Yorkshire

The West Riding Patent OfficeRef W1635
Established in 1852 by William Tasker at 3 Commercial Street, Halifax, when the Patent Law Amendment Act [1852] came into operation.

This was the first patent office in Yorkshire.

He was joined by A. B. Crossley.

It became Tasker & Crossley [1881].

West Riding Pauper Lunatic AsylumRef W960
The original name (from 1818).

From 1948, it was known as the Stanley Royd Hospital, Wakefield

West Riding Permanent Benefit Building SocietyRef W96
Established in 1849.

Recorded in 1881, when their Head Office was at 21 Waterhouse Street, Halifax, and G. Taylor was Manager

West Riding Police Station, HalifaxRef W2601
In 19??, the County police station of the West Riding Constabulary opened at the junction of Prescott Street and Skircoat Road.

This was the Headquarters for Brighouse, Sowerby Bridge, Hebden Bridge and Todmorden.

In the 1970s, several police officers reported strange happenings in the Prescott Street building. These included whistling, doors opening and closing by themselves, cold spots, and ringing bells that were connected to empty cells.

Until 1974, both police stations – Harrison Road and Prescott Street – had their respective courts and cells.

From 1975, Prescott Street was used only as an administrative centre for Halifax and the surrounding towns.

It has been converted in apartments.

See Tom Gordon

West Riding SpinningRef W783
See Oats Royd Mills, Luddenden

West Riding Telephone CompanyRef W1577
Founded by Louis John Crossley

West Riding Union Banking CompanyRef W2771
Partners included John Bottomley [1852] and William Helm [1853-1865]

West Riding Union RailwayRef W1351
Line through Halifax to Bradford, via Beacon Hill Tunnel. The company engineer was Sir John Hawkshaw.

In 1847, merged with other railways to become the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company

West Rodwell EndRef W2554
Rodwell End Lane. 2 mid 18th century cottages attached to Rodwell End Chapel

West Royd Farm, WarleyRef W289
Great Edge Lane / Butts Green Lane. The house is dated MM 1624 for Martin Milnes

West Royd, SowerbyRef W338
Owners and tenants have included

West Scausby Farm, BradshawRef W908

West Scout, WalsdenRef W1921
Hill which overlooks Lumbutts

West, SethRef W6340
[1845-19??] Born in Skircoat, Halifax.

He was an iron planer [1911].

In [Q4] 1888, he married Grace Ann Dargu [1857-19??] from Sowerby, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ruth Edna [b 1884] who was a cotton reeler [1911]
  2. Susan [b 1889] who was a cotton reeler [1911]
  3. Brinton [b 1893] who was a teamer for a coal merchant [1911]
  4. Irvine [b 1899] who was a part-timer, silk doffer [1911]

The family lived at 73 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911]

West Summit Lock, TodmordenRef W596
Lock #37 on the Rochdale Canal

West, ThomasRef W1653
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1750]

West, ThomasRef W775
[1713-1795] MA.

Educated at Emmanuel College Cambridge [1736].

On 14th July 1747, he married Mary Allenson [1710-1784].

Headmaster of Halifax Free School [1751-1771]. He resigned in 1771.

He was Curate at Luddenden [1761] / Curate at Ripponden [1770-1796] / Minister at Halifax [1764]

West's: Thomas West & SonsRef W1607
Cotton manufacturers at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1905].

See Arthur West and Greenwood West

West ValeRef W113
Area of Halifax below Elland and Greetland.

See Trams & buses West Vale

West Vale Baptist ManseRef W700
The manse for West Vale Baptist Chapel was Bradley Villas, West Vale.

The Pastors' residence was later moved to (one half of) 45 Green Lane, West Vale

West Vale Brass CompanyRef W1619
Brass founders and finishers at West Vale Brass Works, Maude Street, West Vale [1905, 1915]

West Vale Choral SocietyRef W2740

Officers of the Society have included

Recorded in September 1877, when they took part in a performance of the Messiah to raise funds for a new Blackley Particular Baptist Church

West Vale Civic HallRef W2180

West Vale Co-OpRef W2366
Branch #4 of the Sowerby Bridge Industrial Society opened on Stainland Road [17th April 1909].

The left-hand side is now [2014] Ingham's Butchers

West Vale Conservative ClubRef W2373
Opened on 1st October 1910

West Vale constablesRef W2723
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in West Vale

West Vale Constitutional ClubRef W1871
Recorded in 1917, when W. E. Quarmby was secretary.

It has been suggested that it was at 45 or 47 Stainland Road, West Vale

West Vale Economic StoresRef W2170
Stainland Road. A branch of Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited. Opened in 18??.

The datestone is inscribed Prospect Place AD 1869

West Vale Fire BrigadeRef W2711
The Rose Brigade of West Vale is recorded when they tackled a mill fire on 8th December 1866.

The West Vale Fire Brigade is recorded when they tackled fires on 24th July 1869 and 4th February 1873.

See Greetland & West Vale Fire Brigade

West Vale Glee ClubRef W2721
Recorded in September 1868, when they entertained at The Fine Art & Industrial Exhibition at Lindley

West Vale History GroupRef W2174
Established December 2009

West Vale HouseRef W2698
House at Stainland Road / Saddleworth Road, Lower Greetland.

Because of the different gauge of the tram lines in Halifax and in Huddersfield, trams could not run uninterrupted between the 2 towns. Passengers had to disembark and change to another vehicle at West Vale House for the Halifax-West Vale-Huddersfield service

It is said that the name of the terminus – West Vale House – gave its name to the area of Lower Greetland which then became known as West Vale


Question: Does anyone know whether this renaming of Lower Greetland is correct or apocryphal? This also begs the question "How did West Vale House get its name?"

 

West Vale Liberal ClubRef W1872
Inaugurated 15th April 1882 at West Vale Mechanics' Hall. David Fox was President.

Recorded in 1917, when George Arthur Hannah was secretary

West Vale LibraryRef W521
Victoria Street.

As part of a cost-cutting exercise, the library closed in 2006, and was one of several properties which Calderdale Council put up for sale by auction in March 2007. It had a guide price of between £50,000 and £60,000

West Vale Mechanics' HallRef W2738

West Vale Mechanics' InstituteRef W1652
Aka Greetland & West Vale Mechanics' Hall. A Mechanics' Institute built by the Greetland & West Vale Mechanics' Hall Company Limited. The company was registered in April 1872.

The corner stone was laid on Saturday 21st June 1873 by Edward Crossley, of Halifax.

In 1879, Anglican services were held here until St John the Evangelist, West Vale was built.

In 1907, it was sold to Greetland District Council for £2,000.

It was subsequently known as West Vale Public Hall.

See James William Davis and Alfred Maude

West Vale Naturalist GroupRef W679

West Vale Public HallRef W2177
Rochdale Road. Stands next to West Vale Baptist Church. This was formerly the West Vale Mechanics' Institute

West Vale Railway StationRef W1384
The only station on the branch line from North Dean to Stainland and Holywell Green.

It opened on 1st January 1875.

The branch line between Halifax and Stainland and the passenger station closed on 23rd September 1929.

Stationmasters at the Station have included

  • Thomas Mann [1881]

See Greetland Station, North Dean Station and Stainland Station

West Vale RamblersRef W635
Football club Recorded around 1915, when Frank Whitbread was a member

West Vale RoversRef W2747
Junior rugby union [?] club. 4/1899 is recorded in 1910

West Vale Squash ClubRef W1974
Their premises are in the former Middle Dean Street Chapel

West Vale Stoving CompanyRef W2726
They were at Victoria Mills, West Vale [1870]

West Vale Works BandRef W2857
Aka Greetland & West Vale Band

West View, HalifaxRef W294
Owners and tenants have included

West View, HipperholmeRef W4900
Denholme Gate Road. A terrace of 3 houses – Numbers 1, 2 and 3 – dated WMS 1771 are listed.

The Hipperholme pinfold was behind the houses.

The building stands next to Smithfield House

West View ParkRef W358
14-acre park at Warley Moor.

It was originally known as Highroad Well Moor. Built on land donated by Lord Savile. H. C. McCrea and Enoch Robinson paid for landscaping and planting the park. The Park opened in 1897.

The war memorial to the South African Wars was unveiled in 1904

See Highroad Well Congregational Church

West Ward, HalifaxRef W2113
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1866.

See Frederick Bancroft

West Ward Liberal ClubRef W1728
Hanson Lane. Established in 1884. The building offered a meeting room to accommodate 200 people, recreation and games rooms, and a news room.

Recorded in 1905 at Colin Street, Halifax

West Ward Working Men's ClubRef W593
Recorded in 1914

West, WilliamRef W619
[1847-1???] Son of George West, cotton twister.

Born at Brookfoot, Southowram.

He was a cotton twister of Rastrick [1868] / a cotton factory hand [1871] / a cotton turner [1881] / a drysalter's labourer [1891] / a barman [1901] / a jobbing bricklayer [1911].

In 1868, he married Selina Dyson [1847-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Selina, of Rastrick, was born in Colne Bridge, Mirfield / Holmfield, Halifax, the daughter of William Dyson, cotton twister
 

Children:

  1. George William [b 1868] who was a cotton piecer [1881]
  2. Martha Eliza [b 1870] who was a cotton mill hand [1891]
  3. Mary [b 1873] who was a cotton mill hand [1891]
  4. Lavinia [b 1875] who was a cotton mill hand [1891]
  5. Joe [b 1878] who was a cotton mill hand [1891], a Salvation Army bandmaster
  6. Eva [b 1880] who was a cotton mill hand [1891]
  7. Donald
  8. Laura [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1911]

The family lived at

  • Tag Cut, Southowram [1871]
  • Lower Hall, Barkisland Village [1881]
  • 35 Clement Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 26 Penn Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 20 Penn Street, Halifax [1911]

West YorkshireRef W2529
Comprises part of the old West Riding.

Wakefield is the administrative capital of West Yorkshire

West Yorkshire Archive ServiceRef W2246

West Yorkshire Bank LimitedRef W21
Formed from the amalgamation of Halifax & Huddersfield Union Bank and the Joint Stock Bank in 1910.

On 17th June 1911, the name of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company was changed to West Yorkshire Bank.

The Bank was taken over by Lloyds in 1919

West Yorkshire Cycle RouteRef W396
A 150-mile circular cycle route. The route closely follows the West Yorkshire county boundary and is signposted with a white rose and the WYCR logo on a green background

West Yorkshire Fire Brigade Friendly SocietyRef W1692
A friendly society founded by Henry Jocelyn Barber

West Yorkshire Metropolitan Ambulance ServiceRef W2851

The West Yorkshire Railway CompanyRef W1675
Proposed in 1844.

See West Riding Junction

West Yorkshire Railway OfficeRef W1790
Recorded in 1845 at 19 Broad Street, Halifax when Richard Otley was Secretary

West Yorkshire RegimentRef W243

West Yorkshire Road Car CompanyRef W1632
Originally, Blythe & Berwick of Bradford

Westbury House, EllandRef W2568
Owners and tenants have included

WestercroftRef W670
Area between Northowram and Coley.

See Thomas Turner & Company, Upper Westercroft and Westercroft Farm

Westercroft CoachesRef W1633
Transport company founded at Northowram by Cyril Bottomley – with his brother-in-law Fred Smith and son-in-law Jack Tunstall – shortly after World War II.

In 1958, the Proprietor was G. Feather. The company was based at Westercroft Garage, Moorclose lane, Ambler Thorn. They had 3 coaches. The fleet livery was Orange/Cream

Westercroft Farm, NorthowramRef W299
Aka Westercroft House.

Owned by John Lum [1650].

He built many other buildings nearby which he leased out.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the book Our Home & Country.

See

Westerman, AdaRef W1025
[1884-1961] Daughter of Crossley Westerman.

Like her father, she was a photographer. She carried on her father's business after his death in 1918, until 1923, when she married Sydney Redman.

In 1921, she took Alice Speak – later Longstaff – on as an assistant, after Alice responded to an advert in the shop window.

She lived at Aisgarth, Birchcliffe Road, Hebden Bridge.

The book, Alice's Album [2004], by Issy Shannon and Frank Woolrych, tells the story of Crossley Westerman and Ada, and Alice Longstaff

Westerman, CrossleyRef W423
[1861-1918] Youngest child of Henry Westerman.

He became a fustian cutter in Hebden Bridge.

In [Q3] 1882, he married Mary Cockcroft.

Children:

  1. Ada
  2. Elizabeth Ann Cockroft [b 1885]
  3. Sarah Hannah
  4. Henry
  5. Phyllis Mary [b 1900]

His mother Sarah had a toy shop business at West End, Hebden Bridge. Sarah died in 1892 after falling down the stairs at her home.

In 1892, he opened a photographic studio in what had been the toy shop.

He made a large collection of photographs recording life and times in the district.

He lived at Osborne House, Hebden Bridge.

In 1917, he opened another studio in Victoria Road, Todmorden.

He suffered from heart trouble. He died of a heart attack as he rushed to catch the 5 o'clock train from Todmorden to Hebden Bridge on 25th August 1918.

He was buried at Heptonstall Slack Baptist Cemetery.

The business was carried on by his daughter, Ada.

The business and studio at West End, Hebden Bridge were taken over by Alice Longstaff.

The book, Alice's Album [2004], by Issy Shannon and Frank Woolrych, tells the story of Crossley and his daughter Ada, and Alice Longstaff

Mary died 12th January 1938

Westerman, HenryRef W2590
[1825-1873] Son of Samuel Westerman.

In [Q1] 1854, he married Sarah Hartley [1822-1892] in Halifax.


Sarah was the daughter of Bernard Hartley
 

Children:

  1. Crossley

Sarah died 29th January 1892

Westerman, HenryRef W990
[1893-1946] Son of Crossley Westerman.

In 1933, he married Florence Hamilton in Todmorden.

Children:

  1. Anne
  2. Geoffrey

Westerman, SamuelRef W1804
[18??-1852] Painter, gilder and paper hanger at 23 Commercial Street, Hebden Bridge [1845].

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Henry

Westerman, SamuelRef W950
[1802-1852] Of Hebden Bridge.

He married Anne [1802-1866].

Children:

  1. William [1827-1844]
  2. Helen [1835] who died aged 5 months
  3. Frederick [1841-1855]

Members of the family were buried at Hebden Bridge Parish Church

Westerman, ThomasRef W1840
[17??-1???] Of Leeds. He was imprisoned at York on suspicion of coining

Western House, BoothtownRef W515
See S. Moss & Sons

WestfieldRef W60
An area of Sowerby between Mytholmroyd and Sowerby, south of the Calder. Westfield Mills and Burnley Road Junior, Infant & Nursery School are here

Westfield Children's Home, Sowerby BridgeRef W810

Westfield Farm, WarleyRef W2536
Great Edge Road. Late 15th century building. A part of Westfield House, Warley

Westfield House, HalifaxRef W264
House which stood opposite People's Park, on the south side of King Cross Street, just below Swire's Road.

It was built in 17??, by [??].

In the early 19th century, this was the home of Copley Browne and his daughter, and in mentioned in Anne Lister's journals.

Owners and tenants have included

A sculpture – The Thracian Falconer – by Joseph Bentley Leyland stood in the garden.

In February 1927, Halifax Town Council bought the house for £12,600. In 1932, it was taken over to accommodate up to 30 children who had previously been at the Poor Law Institution.

It subsequently accommodated up to 49 children at one time.

The children's home closed on 1st July 1958 and the remaining children were moved to a new home in Mixenden Road.

The house was demolished in 1960. The site is now occupied by St Mary's Infants' School.

See Ely Peel

Westfield House, Sowerby BridgeRef W2591
Sowerby New Road.

Built by John Atkinson.

The property is recorded as having 12 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

A block of flats has been built on a part of the grounds

Westfield QuarterRef W1884
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Westfield, WarleyRef W303
Great Edge Road. Late 15th century timber-framed house which was cased in stone in the 17th century.

A doorway is dated TMF 1714 for Thomas and Mary Farrar.

Owners and tenants have included

See Westfield Farm, Warley

Westgate Farm, CliftonRef W428

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

Westgate Fisheries, HalifaxRef W873

See Joe Gledhill

Westgate House, EllandRef W1891
Owners and tenants have included

  • Jonathan Crowther [18??]
  • Charles Crowther [18??]
  • Joseph Wilson [18??]

Westgate House, HalifaxRef W140
Market Street. Built in 1971 when the property, including shops, the Lower Market, lower Albion Street, and Thomas Street were demolished

Westgate Market, HalifaxRef W514
There were a variety of small stalls and shops in the ground floor of the building on the corner of Westgate and Market Street, Halifax. The new building opened in 1971 to replace the Lower Market.

It closed in march 2004, and has been converted into a single retail outlet

Westgate Music Rooms, EllandRef W298
Run by Albert Shaw [1901]

Westgate Working Men's News Room, EllandRef W1531
News room recorded in 1905

Westmacott, Rev Francis E.Ref W1069
[19??-19??] Deacon of Lightcliffe [1936].

In 1937?, he married Joan Taylor at Lightcliffe.

In 1938, he was appointed Domestic and Diocesan Chaplain by the Bishop of Wakefield

Westmacott, Sir RichardRef W360
[1775-1856] RA.

Professor of sculpture at the Royal Academy [1827].

He was the sculptor of The Good Samaritan and monuments to members of the Rawson family – including John Markland Rawson and William Rawson – in Halifax Parish Church, and a mourning classical female figure in a memorial to John Walker at Lightcliffe Old Church [1830].

His father [1747-1808] and his son [1799-1872] were also monumental sculptors – all called Richard.

He was an acquaintance of Joseph Bentley Leyland

Westminster Bank, HalifaxRef W1842
Stood at the corner of Cheapside and Commercial Street

Weston, EdwinRef W2588
[1845-1895] Innkeeper of the Shakespeare Hotel, Halifax [1895].

He married Sarah.

After Edwin's death, Sarah took over at the Shakespeare Hotel.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Weston, Rev Henry AustinRef W1087
[1842-1871] Curate at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax [1871]

Weston, Rev Percy MossRef W2855
[1878-1957] Born in Liverpool.

In 1903, he married Beatrice Anne Lloyd [1881-1???].

Vicar at Siddal [1920s].

He designed St Mark's Church War Memorial [1923].

He died in Weston super Mare

WestreRef W980
[????-????] At the time of Domesday Book, he and Scanulf held land at Wyke

Westroyd House, LuddendenfootRef W7730
/ West Royd.

Owners and tenants have included

West Symes, Dr EdmondRef W1539
[1846-1912] LM (Edin 1869), MRCS (1870), MB (1871), MD (Edin 1874).

Son of surgeon Dr Edmond Sheppard Symes [1805-1881] of Manchester Square and Grosvenor Square, London, by his first wife, Mary West.

Born in Bishop Gate, Middlesex.

He qualified in 1874 at University College London & University of Edinburgh.

He was a physician and surgeon / Medical Officer of Health for the Skipton & Settle Rural & Urban Sanitary Districts [1873].

He moved to Halifax late in 1877.

He was Medical Officer at the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1895] / physician at Blue Coat School, Waterhouse's Charity [1895] / physician at Halifax Division West Riding Police [1895] / Honorary Medical Officer at the Royal Halifax Infirmary [1905] / surgeon of No.5 District, which included West Yorkshire / a member of St John's Ambulance Brigade / a member of Halifax Parish Church Choir.

On 8th May 1878, he married Mary Evelyn Atkinson [1854-1939] at St John's Church, Leeds.


Mary Evelyn was the daughter of John William Atkinson, solicitor
 

Children:

  1. Evelyn Dorothy [1879-1964]
  2. Edward Bertram
  3. Ursula Marion [1882-1972]
  4. Rimington
  5. Evelyn Spence [1891-1962] who married [Ilkley 1917] Rev George Stewart Addison [1887-1952] of Swinton, Manchester, later vicar of Stratton Audley, Oxfordshire

The family lived at

On 7th April 1899, mother-in-law [?] Marianne Atkinson [1827-1899] (widow) died at Hope Hall, and was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery.

Edmond died in Halifax [28th December 1912] (aged 66).

Mary died in Wharfedale [16th October 1939] (aged 85).

Probate was granted to son Rimington

West Symes, Edward BertramRef W2011
[1880-1901] Elder son of Dr Edmond West Symes.

Born 1st April 1880,

He was a member of St John's Ambulance Brigade / an engineer [1900].

During the South African Wars, he served as a Private in the Leeds Corps.

He died [28th April 1901] of enteric fever in Cape Town, Cape Colony, South Africa.

His is one of the names commemorated on the joint Boer War memorial in Halifax Parish Church, and there is also an individual brass plaque in his memory on a pillar in the north aisle. The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

He is also mentioned on a memorial in the Garden of Remembrance, Woltemade Cemetery, Goodwood, Cape Town

West Symes, RimingtonRef W2722
[1883-1956] Son of Dr Edmond West Symes.

He was a licensed victualler [1939].

In 1923, he married Winnifred Grace Gill [1896-1939] in Surrey.

Children:

  1. several

Westwood, CharlesRef W2793
[1???-18??] Of Southowram.

On 24th December 1815, he married Grace Hoyle.


Grace came from Southowram
 

Children:

  1. John [b 1817]
  2. Alfred [b 1820]

Westwood, CharlesRef W2790
[17??-1???] A cloth dresser of Southowram.

On 26th September 1776, he married Mary Fox of Southowram

Westwood, Ernest HargreavesRef W254
[1878-1949] Son of William Westwood.

Born in Southowram.

He was a newspaper boy [1891] / a mason [1911] / a well known Methodist / associated with Church Lane Methodist Church since boyhood / choirmaster [1902] / organist [1906] / a member of the former Southowram Male Voice Glee Union and / a member of the Halifax Choral Society / a foreman mason with John Crossley & Sons / a debt-collector for Dr Lawson.

He married Katherine Mowbray Barclay 1878-1947.

Children:

  1. George William Hargreaves
  2. Herbert Stuart

The family lived at

  • 26 Cain Lane, Southowram [1911]
  • Craggan, 6 Law Lane, Southowram [1949]

Katherine died 22nd February 1947, was cremated at Scholemoor, and is remembered on the Westwood family grave at St Anne's, Southowram.

On 25th September 1949, Ernest was found on his bed suffering from severe head injuries. He was taken to Halifax Infirmary but died later that day.

The couple were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-D3] in the family grave.

Arthur Osborne of Bognor – who is said to have owed Westwood £14 – was accused of the murder and was hanged at Armley Jail on 30th December.

After Westwood's death, the house in Law Lane lay empty for some time.

In 1950, PC Vincent Egan and his wife moved in, and Mrs Egan reported sounds of rapping above her head, and a trapdoor in the ceiling rising and falling of its own accord. They left in January 1954

Westwood, GeorgeRef W854
[1817-1882] Born in Halifax.

He was a boiler maker [1871, 1881] / a boiler manufacturer [1873].

In [Q4] 1843, he married Rachel Cliffe [1824-1899] in Halifax.


Rachel was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. William Henry [b 1847] who was a boiler maker [1871, 1881]
  2. James [1849-11th November 1856] who was buried with his parents
  3. Clifford [b 1851]
  4. Mary [1854-1915] who married Abraham Firth
  5. Sarah Ann [b 1856]
  6. John [b 1859] who was a joiner [1881]
  7. Alfred [b 1861] who was a boiler maker [1881]
  8. Fred [b 1868]

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at

  • 16 High Road Well, Halifax [1871]
  • 454 Gibbet Road, Halifax [1881]

George died 20th July 1882 (aged 66).

Rachel died 11th May 1899 (aged 75).

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2006]

Westwood, George William HargreavesRef W704
[1905-1988] Son of Ernest Hargreaves Westwood.

In March 1931, he married Estelle Speak.


Estelle was the daughter of Greenwood Speak of Hill Crest, Plane Tree Nest, Halifax,
 

They lived at 9 Westborough Drive, Halifax [1948]

Westwood, Harold Victor LeslieRef W2783
[1896-1971] Known as Victor Westwood.

Son of Joseph Westwood.

In 1911, he was a schoolboy living with farmer George and Lilian Kirkbride and family at Close Foot Farm, Ulverston.

He was a butcher / an official of Halifax Agricultural Show / (possibly) a Director/Shareholder of the Halifax Abattoir / a meat inspector.

In 1928, he married Elsie Taylor in Halifax.

He lived at Rosemary Farm, Siddal [1936, 1971]

Westwood, HenryRef W283
[18??-18??] Of Lightcliffe.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Frank [b 1860] who became a solicitor & married [1897] Annie Louise Wade

Westwood, Herbert StuartRef W706
[1907-1992] Son of Ernest Hargreaves Westwood.

In 1933, he married Ivy Mitchell [1901-19??], daughter of mason William Mitchell of Ingledene, Marlborough Drive, Halifax,


Ivy was the daughter of William Mitchell, mason, of Ingledene, Marlborough Drive, Halifax
 

He died in Barnstaple, Devon

Westwood, JohnRef W2792
[1???-18??] A coal miner of Southowram.

On 18th February 1817, he married Elizabeth Lister of Halifax.

Children:

  1. Charles [b 1825]

Westwood, JohnRef W2791
[17??-1???] Of Southowram.

On 11th May 1788, he married Mary Taylor of Southowram

Westwood, JosephRef W2784
[1862-1950] Or Joe.

Son of Thomas Westwood.

Born in Southowram.

Baptised [1863].

He was a butcher's assistant [1881] / a butcher [1889] / a butcher/shopkeeper (employer) [1891].

In 1889, he married (1) Hannah (Annie) Elizabeth Bateman [1860-1899].


Hannah (Annie) Elizabeth was the daughter of currier Charles Rhodes Bateman [1824-1896] of Cleckheaton
 

Children:

  1. Lilian [1891-1892]
  2. Harold Victor Leslie
  3. Arthur Reginald [b 1898] who married [1927] Marion E. Greenwood

In November 1900, he married (2) Fanny Maria Bateman [1868-1958],


Fanny Maria was the sister of his first wife and the daughter of leather merchant Charles Rhodes Bateman [1824-1896]
 

Children:

  1. Ronald [b 1901] who married [1929] Marion Bailey
  2. Joe Douglas [b 1902] who married [1929] Millicent Harwood
  3. Annie Kathleen [b 1905] who married [1931] Stephen E. Weaver
  4. Charles Vivian [1908-1941] who married [1936] Constance Denison and lived at Belvoir, St Albans Road, Halifax
  5. Roy Bateman [1909-1993] who married [1939] Isobel Green in 1939 and he died age 84 in 1933

In 1881, Joe and his mother Sarah (servant) were lodgers living with Thomas Thompson.

In 1891, Joe, wife Annie and daughter Lilian [aged 2 weeks] were living with Thomas Thompson.

The family lived at 20 Market Street, Halifax [1901].

Living with them [in 1901] was visitor Thomas Thompson

Westwood, ThomasRef W2785
[1839-1???] Son of William Westwood.

He was a quarryman / a miner [1861].

In 1861, he married Sarah Ann Hemingway [1840-1???].


Sarah Ann was the daughter of tailor John Hemingway of Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Joseph

The family lived at Park Nook, Southowram.

In 1881, Sarah (servant) and her son Joe were lodgers living with Thomas Thompson at Park Nook.

Thomas Westwood was dead by November 1900

Westwood, WilliamRef W2786
[1805-1893] Son of Betty and manufacturer Thomas Holdsworth.

Baptised in February 1805.

He was ag.lab [1841] / a mason [1861] / a farm labourer [1869] / a fence waller [1871, 1881] / living on own means [1891].

On 25th December 1838, he married Grace Smith [1815-1867].


Grace was the daughter of butcher Abraham Smith of Southowram
 

Children:

  1. Thomas
  2. Joseph [1841-1850]
  3. William
  4. Catherine [1845-17th July 1905] who never married
  5. Elizabeth [b 1847]
  6. Elizabeth [1847-24th April 1911] who never married
  7. Hannah [1851-1873]
  8. (possibly) Margaret Jane [14th March 1859-11th March 1913] who married Harry Atkins

The family lived at Park Nook, Southowram [1841, 1871, 1881, 1861].

Living with them [in 1871] was grandson Joe Westwood [aged 8]

The daughters were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-E25]

Westwood, WilliamRef W2787
[1843-1906] Son of William Westwood.

Born 30th April 1843.

He was a contractor [1869] / a dry waller [1891, 1901].

In February 1869, he married (1) Caroline Clayton 1836-1876.

Children:

  1. Grace [b 1870] who married Walter Sharp

Caroline died 9th September 1876 (aged 40).

In 1877, he married (2) Martha Hargreaves [1840-1883].

Children:

  1. Ernest Hargreaves
  2. Edgar Smith who died 5th February 1881 (aged 14 months) 
  3. Hannah Maria who died 24th February 1883 (aged 13 weeks) 

Martha died (possibly in childbirth) in 1883.

In September 1896, he married (3) 1859-1???..


Margaret Jane, of Hall Ings Southowram, was born in Inverness, the daughter of labourer John McLean
 

The family lived at

  • New Row / New Street, Southowram [1871]
  • New Street, Southowram [1891, 1901]

Caroline died 9th September 1876 (aged 40).

William died 21st May 1906.

Members of the family were buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-D3]

Wet Dock, Sowerby BridgeRef W2533
Formerly the East Warehouse at Sowerby Bridge canal basin. Built around 1775

Wetherherd, ChristopherRef W4800
[17??-18??] He was one of the town's trustees for Halifax. He was removed in 1770, and William Chambers took his place.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary [17??-1805]

Daughter Mary died [19th October 1805]. An obituary recorded

Miss Mary Wetherherd, only daughter of the late Christopher Wetherherd Esq, of Halifax, died after a long and severe illness which she bore with the utmost fortitude and resignation. To her tenants she was a kind and indulgent landlady, and to the poor a most liberal benefactress

She bequeathed the interest from £400 to the poor of Halifax, for ever

Wetherherd, JamesRef W682
[17??-17??] In November 1769, he attended the enquiry which had been called by the Marquis of Rockingham to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

Wetherherd, JamesRef W5600
[1704-1777] He married Mary [1710-1791].

Children:

  1. Mary [1734-1805]
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child
  6. (possibly) child

Members of the family were buried in Halifax Parish Church.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Wetherherd, JamesRef W1020
[1769-1822] He served as a Captain with the 23rd Light Dragoons and was severely wounded in the Irish Rebellion of 1798.

He served with the 7th Royal Veteran Battalion. There is a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church.

The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Whalley & Appleyard LimitedRef W2482
Worsted spinners at Cross Mills, Halifax [1936]

Whalley, Arthur ThursbyRef W2642
[18??-19??] In 1908, he married Fanny Rebecca Hartley, daughter of Walter Edwin Crossley, in Burnley.

Children:

  1. Alice who married Albert Bedford
  2. Roy
  3. Margaret
  4. Annie who married Arthur Spencer

Whalley's: J. Whalley & CompanyRef W1762
Worsted spinners at New Mill, Wainstalls [1907-1910]. Established by Joseph Whalley

Whalley, Rev JamesRef W540
[18??-18??] He was a Fellow of Magdalene College Cambridge before becoming Curate at Cross Stone [1868]

His first sermon was preached at the reopening of St Mary's Preaching Room, Todmorden.

In 1869, he wrote The Wild Moor

A Tale founded on fact by Rev James Whalley, curate at Cross-stone, Todmorden with a preface by the incumbent of Cross-stone, Rev Whiteley Mallinson

Whalley, JohnRef W891
[1909-1941] Son of Mabel & John Whalley of Halifax.

During World War II, he served as an Electrical Artificer 2nd Class with the Royal Navy on HM Submarine Perseus.

He died 19th December 1941 (aged 32)  when his ship struck a mine and sank in the Ionian Sea, with the loss of 60 of her crew of 61.

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial [Grave Ref 54 3]

Whalley, JosephRef W806
[16??-1???] Of Kilnhurst.

In 17??, he married Hannah Fielden at Shoebroad Meeting House

Whalley, JosephRef W1763
[18??-19??] Established J. Whalley & Company.

He lived at New Mill Terrace, near their Wainstalls Mill [1905]

Whalley, Rev ThomasRef W228
[1???-16??] Curate at Todmorden [1633-1634]

Whalley, Rev WilliamRef W1943
[16??-16??] Minister at Cross Stone [1646].

On 31st December 1646, he was

curiously mixed up with a case of witchcraft at Heptonstall

Whams, Cragg ValeRef W1028
Owners and tenants have included

Wharf Garage, Sowerby BridgeRef W128
Stands on the site of the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge

Wharf House, EllandRef W108
Gas Works Lane. [1830]

Wharf House, Sowerby BridgeRef W500
Wharf Street / Bolton Brow.

Late 18th century house.

Clough House was next door.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1897, Brear & Brown Limited bought the House for £2,050.

Jackson & Fox submitted plans for alterations to the property.

The new building was to have 2 entrances, a refreshment bar [17 ft by 16 ft], a commercial room [16 ft by 18 ft], a tap room [17 ft by 14 ft], a smoke room [16 ft by 18 ft], a private sitting room [19 ft by 10 ft], and 10 bedrooms. There was to be stabling for 8 horses

In August 1897, the licence from the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge was transferred to Wharf House on the opposite side of Wharf Street. The new hostelry was known as the Wharf House Hotel.

It was later known as the Wharf Hotel

See Wharf Lodge, Sowerby Bridge and Wharfinger House, Sowerby Bridge

Wharf Inn Family Funeral BriefRef W2244
A friendly society established in 1829 at the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge
to provide money for funeral expenses, to prevent poor people having to appeal to the public

when death occurred in their families. On 10th August 1900, a special meeting of the members unanimously resolved to wind up the Society, and to pay out the funds on a sliding scale. It was noted that new members had not joined latterly, owing, probably, to the newer system of industrial assurance, hence the resolution to wind up

Wharf Inn Smoke Club, Sowerby BridgeRef W2446
A smoke club at the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge. Recorded in 1901 & 1905

Wharf Lodge, Sowerby BridgeRef W881
Bolton Brow. Aka Wharf House.

Built about 1837 as a porter's lodge for the Rochdale Canal Company.

Between 1863-1894, the building was leased to the West Riding Constabulary for use as a Police Station. The barred rear window dates from this time, and the room was a cell.

Owners and tenants have included

See Wharf House, Sowerby Bridge

Wharfinger House, Sowerby BridgeRef W145
Bolton Brow.

Recorded in 1881, when Henry Richardson was living here

See Wharf House, Sowerby Bridge

Wharlers, NorthowramRef W1422

Wharton, Ernest WilfredRef W369
[1885-1915] He was employed by Asquith's.

In [Q3] 1905, he married Catherine McDonald [1886-1909] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child

The family lived at 2 Lewis Street, Halifax.

Catherine died Q4 1909 (aged 23).

During World War I, he enlisted [August 1914], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died following a German gas attack at Hill 60 [5th May 1915] (aged 30).

He was buried at Divisional Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref C 18].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on Blackshawhead War Memorial

Wharton, RobertRef W1496
[18??-19??] Quarry owners and stone merchants at Bank Close Quarry, Hipperholme [1905]

Wharton, Rev T. A.Ref W1036
[19??-19??] He was at Ambleside before becoming Vicar at St Matthew's Church, Northowram [1958-1965]. He left to become vicar of Chipping Norton

Wharton, WilfredRef W992
[1924-1944] Son of Frances Annie & Fred Wharton of Mytholmroyd.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 26th Vehicle Repair Depot Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

He died 27th May 1944 (aged 20).

He was buried at Accrington Cemetery [D K 552].

He is remembered on Blackshawhead War Memorial

Wharvell, James HenryRef W943
[1919-1942] Son of John William Wharvell.

Born in Triangle.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 31st March 1942 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Rangoon Memorial, Burma [Face 13]

Wharvell, John WilliamRef W945
[1889-1968] Born in in Leeds.

On 24th December 1912, he married Annie Clay [1892-1983] at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


Annie was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. James Henry

The family lived at Beechwood, Sowerby Bridge [1942]

What's in CalderdaleRef W2841

Whatmough, Francis JohnRef W604
[1857-1904] Cricketer.

Born Francis John Whatmuff in Saltaire [4th December 1856]. Known as Frank.

He played first-class cricket between 1878 and 1882. He played for Yorkshire against Australia in 1878.

He lived in Rastrick.

He was a journeyman painter [1882] / publican at the Stott's Arms, Brighouse [1891] / innkeeper at the Greyhound, Rastrick [1900-1904].

On 20th September 1882, he married Ellen, daughter of Thomas Bottomley Dyson, at Bradford Cathedral.

They brought up Harry and Maud Mary Whitehouse who were listed as cousins in the census.

Francis John died of liver cancer at Rastrick [3rd June 1904].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £106.

After his death, Ellen took over at the Greyhound

Whatmough, JamesRef W780
[1852-1926] Son of William Whatmough, delver.

Born in Halifax.

He was a mason of Skircoat [1874] / a mason & builder (employer) [1891] / a builder & contractor (employer) [1901] / a contracting builder (employer) [1911].

He married QDecember 1874 [1850-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary, of Skircoat, was born in Greetland, the daughter of Joseph Gledhill, butcher
 

Children:

  1. Fred [b 1876] who was a stone mason [1891]
  2. Edith [b 1879] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a warper [1901], & married Thomas Jagger
  3. Willie / William
  4. Ethel [b 1886] who was a stocking knitter [1901], a toffee shop wrapper up [1911]
  5. Annie [b 1888]
  6. Elsie [b 1891]
  7. May [b 1894] who was working in a printing office [1911]

The family lived at

  • Moorfield Place, 48 Moorfield Street, Skircoat [1891]
  • 30 Moorfield Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 28 Moorfield Street, Halifax [1911, 1916]
  • 50 Eldroth Road, Halifax [1926]

James died 20th October 1926 (aged 73).

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £3,879.

Probate was granted to his widow Mary, daughter Edith Jagger, and Edward Binns (clerk) 

Whatmough, RobertRef W100
[16??-16??] A Halifax carrier. In 1667, he issued tradesmen's tokens worth ½d bearing the image of a loaded horse

Whatmough, WillieRef W782
[1882-1916] Or William.

Son of James Whatmough.

He was employed by his father / a mason's apprentice [1901] / a mason banker hand [1911].

He was engaged to Sarah Jones of Gibbet Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he joined the Territorials [5th April 1916], then transferred, and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [August 1916].

He died 3rd September 1916 (aged 35)  immediately after being hit by shrapnel as he was carrying wounded men from the front line to the dressing station.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [16th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], and on the Memorial at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross

Wheat Ing Bridge, WadsworthRef W502
A single-span stone accommodation bridge built about 1780 for the cottages at Wheat Ing, Wadsworth

Wheat Ing, WadsworthRef W503
Originally 3 cottages built about 1780. Now a single dwelling.

Gives its name to Wheat Ing Bridge

Wheatcroft, Rev F. E.Ref W58
[18??-19??] MA.

Vicar of All Souls' Church, Halifax [1913, 1917]

Wheatcroft, JohnRef W1501
[19??-] Editor of the Hebden Bridge Times and the Todmorden News [1984-1987]. In 2012, he published a novel Here in the Cull Valley. He lives in York [2012]

Wheatcroft, T. DalbyRef W794
[18??-18??] Curate at Brighouse [1852-1866]

Wheater, Horace MiltonRef W907
[1895-1917] Foster son of Alice Pilling of Benroyd Terrace, Holywell Green.

He worked for Dempster's in Elland.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He was killed in action [13th May 1917] (aged 22).

He and his comrade George Thorpe, who trained together, were killed by the same shell.

He was buried at Philosophe British Cemetery, Mazingarbe, France [Grave Ref I P 11].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Blackley Particular Baptist Church, on the Memorial at Saint Andrew's Church, Stainland, on the Memorial at Rosemount Iron Works, Elland, and on the Memorial at Jagger Green Baptist Sunday School, Holywell Green

WheatleyRef W119
Area to the north-west of Halifax

Wheatley, AnnieRef W7
[1871-1919] Daughter of Jane & Thomas Wheatley of Brighouse.

During World War I, she served as a Sister with the Territorial Force Nursing Service

She died 1st August 1919 (aged 48).

She was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [D U 106]

Wheatley BottomsRef W748
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Wheatley Co-OpRef W1600
Branch number 12 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1864

Wheatley FallsRef W2099
Waterfall on the Hebble Brook

Wheatley, GeorgeRef W893
[1???-1???] He was the second husband of Isabel Otes, widow of John Waterhouse

Wheatley, Rev GeorgeRef W349
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1886]

Wheatley, IsaacRef W691
[1851-1913] Born in Wilstrop.

In 1874, he married Hannah Sarah Woolford [1853-1921] in York.


Hannah was born in Wetherby
 

Children:

  1. Gertrude [1877-1895]
  2. John Percival
  3. Walter [b 1883]
  4. Emily Sarah [b 1888]

Isaac & Hannah ran the Brown Horse Inn, Coley [1895 to 1913].

Isaac died 18th June 1913.

Hannah carried on at the Brown Horse [1913-1917].

She died in Halifax [2nd October 1921].

Members of the family were buried at Coley Church

Wheatley, JohnRef W1024
[1???-1???] He married Sarah, daughter of William Holland.

Children:

  1. William

The family lived at Royd House ??

Wheatley, John PercivalRef W692
[1879-1949] Son of Isaac Wheatley.

He was landlord of the Brown Horse, Coley [1921-1949]; his parents had held the pub [1895-1917].

In 1905, he married Bell Gaythorpe [1875-1940] in York

Wheatley, JosephRef W2282
[1823-1897] Son of Richard Wheatley.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a draper in Halifax. He was retired in 1861.

In 1859, he married Agnes Sunderland.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b the Isle of Wight 1859-1903] who married John McConnell
  2. Susan [b Halifax 1861] who never married

The family lived at

Agnes died at Christmas 1864.

Joseph died February 1897.

The couple were buried in a vault at St Mary's, Mirfield Parish Church: Agnes [28th December 1864]; Joseph [16th February 1897], and there is a memorial to Agnes on her family grave at Brighouse Cemetery

The 2 daughters remained with their father throughout his life.

In the year after his death, Elizabeth, then aged 38, married John McConnell.

The daughters are not buried with their parents in Mirfield

Wheatley, JosiahRef W234
[17??-18??] Or Joseph. Of Mirfield / Hopton.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Sarah
  2. Elizabeth who married John Emmet

Wheatley Liberal ClubRef W1773
Recorded in 1905 at 2 Ramsden Street, Wheatley when George Mills was secretary.

In 1917, Thomas Ramsden was secretary

Wheatley Post OfficeRef W1787
In 1874, Joseph Ashworth, a grocer, was postmaster.

Recorded in 1905 at 47 Wheatley Road. It was then at the same address as the business run by George Milnes, confectioner

Wheatley Railway StationRef W1363
A station was planned here for the High Level Railway, but it was never built due to low passenger expectations

Wheatley, RichardRef W2504
[1796-18??] Born in Kirkheaton.

He was a linen draper in Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1841, 1851].

He married Unknown.

He was (possibly) a widower [1841]

Children:

  1. Joseph

The family lived at

  • Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1841]
  • Bridge Street, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1851]

On 28th November 1840, an item in The Leeds Mercury announced


Sale of Messuage or Mansion House, 1134 square yards at the Ganny in Brighouse in the possession of Mr Richard Wheatley
 

which I assume refers to Ganny Cottage, Brighouse

Wheatley Royd House, BrearleyRef W168
Early 17th century house. A window is inscribed RA and AH.

It is now 2 separate dwellings

Wheatley, SarahRef W118
[1803-1879] Daughter of Josiah Wheatley.

In 18??, she married (1) John Hodgson. She stayed on at Mulcture Hall, Halifax after her husband's death.

In November 1847, she married (2) John Crossley

Wheatley Steam Laundry Company LimitedRef W1747
A 1900 advertisement for the business announced


The above Laundry has now been going some six months or more, and is turning out work second to none

This Laundry is in an exceptionally good situation for the purpose, having any amount of outside drying ground and plenty of water

No Chemicals are used, and only female labour is employed

All they ask is for you to give them a trial, when they are confident that their work will speak for itself

The Ladies are specially asked to prove for themselves by visiting the Laundry, on any afternoon – Wednesday or Thursday in preference – when Mrs Callow, the manageress, will conduct them over the premises

Don't fail to give them a trial

 

Their registered office was at Jack Royd, Wheatley [1905, 1922]

Wheatley, T. H.Ref W1735
[18??-19??] He was a Sergeant [in the Army] / drill instructor at Heath Grammar School [1905].

Wheatley TunnelRef W1220
819 yard long railway tunnel which took the High Level Railway from Greystones at Wheatley to Moorside at Illingworth

Wheatley Valley BridgeRef W3160
In 1890, it was proposed to build a high-level road bridge from Beech Hill, Halifax to St George's Church, Lee Mount.

The design shown in the illustration was by Bancroft & Horsfall.

The bridge was not built

Wheatley ViaductRef W57
10-arched, 100 ft high viaduct which carried the High Level Railway across the Wheatley valley

Wheatley Wells, WheatleyRef W1883
Natural spring.

See Wheatley Wells, Wheatley

Wheatley, WilliamRef W3780
[15??-16??] Yeoman of Emley.

He married Elisabeth (Eleanor) / Rosamunda, daughter of Charles Stansfeld.

In 1561, William and Elizabeth recognised a moiety of one hundred messuages etc. in Stansfeld, Hartishead, Sowerby, Rishworth, Northeland (sic), Wadsworth and Langfield to be the right of Edward Stansfeild Esq.

In 1623, deed – William and Elizabeth to Edward Stansfeild of Stansfeild, gent. – of various evidences, writings etc formerly belonging to Charles Stansfeild, relating to lands quitclaimed to the said Edward Stansfeild, 1561

WheelbarrowsRef W104
See Abraham Dawson and Watson Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge

Wheeler & WilsonRef W2616
Sewing machine agents [1865] Partners included Mr Wheeler and Thomas Wilson

Wheeler, Rev E. T. C.Ref W1065
[19??-19??] He was in Hertfordshire before coming to serve in Stainland and Holywell Green in 1962

Wheelhouse, AdaRef W1311
[18??-1???] Of Hebden Bridge. In a report in the Leeds Mercury Weekly of 19th June 1880, she and Thomas Hartley were named as successful candidates for the 8 Yorkshire vacancies at the Royal Albert Idiot Asylum at Lancaster

Wheelhouse & FletcherRef W1694
Hebden Bridge tailors [1905].

Partners included Wallace Wheelhouse and James Fletcher

Wheelhouse & HowarthRef W1503
Succeeded Wheelhouse & Shaw as corn millers and maltsters at Gauxholme Mill, Walsden. They were there in 1877

Partners included Joseph Wheelhouse and James Howarth.

The partnership was dissolved in 1879.

Howarth continued there on his own until the early 1880s.

He was the last corn miller at the mill

Wheelhouse & ShawRef W1509
Corn millers at Gauxholme Mill, Walsden [186?]. Partners included Joseph Wheelhouse.

The firm became Wheelhouse & Howarth

Wheelhouse, CockroftRef W914
[1870-1930] Son of George Wheelhouse

He was a dyer of New Bridge, Heptonstall [1891] / a fustian dyer [1891] / a fustian cutter's labourer [1901] / a fustian dyer & finisher [1911].

On 24th January 1891, he married Eliza Robinson [1869-1???].


Eliza, of White Lee, Wadsworth, was the daughter of William Robinson, Stone Mason
 


Cockroft's sister Harriet (Hetty) Wheelhouse was a witness to the marriage
 

Children:

  1. Sarah Elizabeth [b 11st March 1891]
  2. Mary Jane / Janey [b 24th January 1893]
  3. Annie [b 1895]
  4. George [b 1896]
  5. Edna [b 1898]
  6. Bertha [b 1900]

The family lived at

  • New Bridge, Heptonstall [1891]
  • Pall Mall, Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd [1901]
  • Mytholmroyd [1911]

Cockroft died in 1930 (aged 60) 

Wheelhouse, GeorgeRef W917
[1798-1884] Son of Samuel Wheelhouse.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a cartwright.

In 1824, he married Sarah Greenwood [1805-1867] at St Thomas's Church, Claremount.

Children:

  1. Samuel [1824-1893] who was a railway porter, & married Sally Mitchell [1825-1884]
  2. Jane [1826] who married [1845] James Fielden [1823-1???], warper
  3. James [1827-1907] who was a carpenter, & married Mary Ann Bradbury [1829-1894]
  4. Robert [1827-1864 Victoria, Australia] who was a Baker and storekeeper, & married [1859] Sarah Anne Upton [1838-1929]
  5. Mary Ellen [1829-1894] who married [1852] Richard Fielding, warper [1927]
  6. Grace [1830] who married [1848] William Nuttall, labourer [1828]
  7. Thomas [1832] who died in infancy
  8. Hannah [1833-1902] who married [1860] James Walsh, twister [1832]
  9. Martha [1835-1920] who married [1859] Greenwood Dewhirst, carder [1837]
  10. Thomas [1836-1916] who was a cartwright, & married [1860] Grace Sutcliffe [1837-1912]
  11. Sarah [1838-1908] who married [1860] William Cheetham, fustian manufacturer [1837-1???]
  12. John
  13. William [1840] who died in infancy
  14. George
  15. William
  16. Elizabeth [1844] who was a cotton card room hand [1871]
  17. Joseph [1847-1849]
  18. Eliza [1849] who married [1874] Thomas Wadsworth, wheelwright [1854]

The couple were buried at Heptonstall Church

Wheelhouse, GeorgeRef W912
[1843-1873] Son of George Wheelhouse.

He was a woollen card cutter of Heptonstall [1867] / a fustian cutter.

In 1867, he married Sarah Cockroft [1848-1???].


Sarah, of Wadsworth, was the daughter of James Cockroft, fustian cutter
 

Children:

  1. Eliza [b 1869]
  2. Cockroft
  3. Harriet / Hetty [b 1873]

The family lived at Garden Square, Heptonstall [1871].

George died in 1873.

He was buried at Heptonstall Church.

On 21st November 1877, Sarah married (2) Sutcliffe Greenwood

Wheelhouse, JohnRef W923
[1795-1846] Son of Samuel Wheelhouse.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a carpenter.

In 1814, he married Grace Uttley [1790-1862] in Halifax.

The couple were buried at Heptonstall Church

Wheelhouse, JohnRef W191
[1827-1913] Son of Lydia Howard & Samuel Wheelhouse of Sowerby.

Baptised at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [3rd June 1827].

He was a corn miller [1851] / a tanner [1871] / a currier [1878].

He married (1) Lea Hannah.

Children:

  1. Sarah Ellen [b 1853]
  2. Betsy [b 1857] who married Alfred Holt

In 1863, he married (2) Eliza Jane Lambert [1840-1909].

John died 18th September 1913 (aged 86).

Members of the family were buried at Lightcliffe Old Church Graveyard

Wheelhouse, JohnRef W924
[1839-1918] Son of George Wheelhouse.

He was a fustian cutter.

In 1864, he married Hannah Spencer [1843-1915].

Children:

  1. Wallace

Wheelhouse, JosephRef W6700
[1816-1???] Son of William Wheelhouse.

Born at Mayroyd Mill, Wadsworth.

He was a corn miller / partner in Wheelhouse & Shaw / partner in Wheelhouse & Howarth.

He married Grace Greenwood of Wadsworth.

They lived at Plane Tree Cottage, Clough, Walsden [1871]

Wheelhouse, RobertRef W922
[1794-1857] Son of Samuel Wheelhouse.

He was a farmer [1812].

In 1812, he married Hannah Scott [1794-1864].

Children:

  1. Betty [b Colne 1811] who (probably) died in infancy
  2. Martha [1813-1860] who married [Heptonstall 1840] George Sutcliffe
  3. Betty [b Colne 1815-1904] who married [1833] Isaac Kennedy [1810-1883], & died at Woodstock Township. Schuyler County, Illinois
  4. John [b Little Marsden 1816-1904] who married [Ohio 1842] Mary Hardway [b 1816]
  5. George [b Marsden 1818-1908] who married [Ohio 1840] Mary Brown [1818-1883], & died at Rushville, Schuyler County, Illinois
  6. Robert [b Little Marsden 1822-1911] who married [1849] Margaret Deweese [1828-1908], & died at Rushville, Schuyler County, Illinois
  7. Sarah [b Marsden 1824] who married (1) George Oatman [b 1790], & (2) [1899] William B. Seward [b 1835]
  8. Hannah [b Ohio 1828-1907] who married [Ohio 1854] Benjamin Bryant [1821-1866], & died at Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa
  9. Jane [b Ohio 1836-1920] who married [1858] William Thomas Campbell [1825-1906], & died at St Louis, Missouri

Around 1826, the family (except daughter Martha) emigrated to the USA.


It is possible that Martha stayed behind to look after her grandfather Samuel Wheelhouse.

Samuel left Martha 6 silver teaspoons in his will

 

Robert died in Des Moins, Iowa, USA in 1857.

They are both buried at Polk city cemetery

Wheelhouse, SamuelRef W919
[1766-1839] Or Wheelas.

Born in West End, Fewston, North Yorkshire.

He was a wheelwright [1822].

In 1789, he married Martha Lambert [1767-1811] at Fewston.

Children:

  1. Robert /
  2. John /
  3. William /
  4. George

The couple were buried at Heptonstall Church

Wheelhouse, TaylorRef W1988
[1833-1903] Leather dealer at Bailiff Bridge.

He was recorded as doing good business with France.

In 1883, he was fined 500 francs when 2 bales of leather had been detained by the French authorities on suspicion of being of American origin – American goods being liable to a heavier duty, at that time.

He was a member of the Clifton Board of Guardians [1869].

In [Q2] 1854, he (possibly) married Hannah Collins in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Ada who married Lionel C. G. Sharp

The family lived at

He (possibly) died in Ulverston in 1903 (aged 70) 

Wheelhouse, WallaceRef W1535
[1874-1925] Son of John Wheelhouse.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a master tailor [1902] / partner in Wheelhouse & Fletcher.

In 1902, he married Ada Greenwood [1876-1909].

They lived at Beechwood, Hebden Bridge [1905].

Wallace died in Todmorden

Wheelhouse, WilliamRef W1282
[17??-18??] Corn and flour miller at Mayroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge [1802, 1834].

He married Betty.

Children:

  1. Joseph Wheelhouse

Wheelhouse, WilliamRef W822
[1794-1861] Corn miller.

He died 14th August 1861 (aged 67).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4128]

Wheelhouse, WilliamRef W675
[1796-1856] Son of Samuel Wheelhouse.

He was a wheelwright [1824, 1834] / a joiner [1841].

On 25th December 1820, he married Mary Kershaw [1790-1857] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary & William already had a son: William Kershaw Wheelhouse [1817-1862]
 

Children:

  1. Martha Sarah [1823-1900] who married (1) Hague Moss & (2) David Smith
  2. Samuel [1825-1827]
  3. Abraham [1829-1906] who married Jane Collinge and died in Victoria, Australia

The family lived at Garden Square, Hebden Bridge [1841].

The couple were buried at Heptonstall Church: William [29th March 1856]; Mary [11th June 1857]

Wheelhouse, WilliamRef W486
[1843-1915] Son of George Wheelhouse.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a Lancashire & Yorkshire railway porter [1871].

In 1862, he married (1) Mary Dugdale.

Children:

  1. Fred [1863-1871]
  2. Agnes [1865-1871]
  3. Walter [1867-1922]
  4. Robert [1868-1869]

A Mary Whitehouse died in Todmorden (possibly in childbirth) [Q4 1869] (aged 22).

In 1872, William married (2) Mary Ann Austin [1843-1885] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Sarah [1873-1885]
  2. Ada [1874-1944]
  3. Richard [1875-1958]
  4. Arthur [1876-1878]
  5. George [1879-1879]
  6. Martha [1879-1879]
  7. Eugenia [b 1880]

Mary Ann died in 1885.

William married (3) Survivus [1839-1909].


Survivus (née Sutcliffe) was the widow of Mr Greenwood
 

The family lived at Sand Bed, Stansfield [1871]

Wheelwright...Ref W585
The entries for people & families with the surname Wheelwright are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wheelwright & LumbRef W1846
Woollen manufacturers at Berry Mill, Stainland [1874]

Wheelwright's CharityRef W627
Halifax.

See West Grove Boiler Works, West Vale

Wheelwright's CharityRef W628
Sowerby and Rishworth. Established by John Wheelwright.

He was one of the original trustees together with Ely Dyson of Clay House and Abraham Thomas of Dewsbury.

It was specified that one of successors of Wheelwright was to be his male heir, or, at least, someone with the surname Wheelwright.

Later trustees included John Wheelwright, Samuel Knight [1826], George Priestley [1826], John Wheelwright [1826], Colonel Robert Stansfeld [1853], John Waterhouse [1853], John Wilkinson Hoyle Wheelwright [1853], and John Hoyle Wheelwright - and they owned much local property and several mills including Dyson Lane Mill, Rishworth, The Folly, Barkisland, Lower Dyson Lane Mill, Rishworth and Slitheroe Mill, Rishworth.

See Rishworth School

Wheelwright's: J. W. Wheelwright & SonsRef W1564
Cotton spinners and doublers at Brian Royd Mill, Greetland and Small Lees Mill. Their head office was at Rishworth Mills. Recorded in 1905.

In 1907, it became J. W. Wheelwright & Sons Limited.

The subscribers were

The directors were

Whelan, PeterRef W947
[1897-1918] Son of Katherine & John Whelan of 6 St Thomas Street, Claremount, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He died of wounds [30th June 1918] (aged 21).

He was buried at Hagle Dump Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I H 1].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church

Whetherherd, Christopher ChamberlainRef W30
[1731-1803] Son of James Whetherherd.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. James [1769-1822] who was a Captain in the 23rd Light Dragoons

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Whetherherd, JamesRef W1908
[1704-1777] He married Mary Chamberlain.

Children:

  1. Christopher
  2. Mary [1734-1805]
  3. child who died in infancy
  4. child who died in infancy
  5. child who died in infancy
  6. child who died in infancy

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Whewall, ElizabethRef W2436
[1???-1???] Hosier at 4 Old Market Halifax [1837]

Whewall, JamesRef W1791
[1813-1890] Stocking and worsted manufacturer and merchant at 1 Northgate, Halifax, and at 8 George Street, Halifax [1837].

He lived at Union Cross Yard [1845].

See Whewall's Court and William Whewall

Whewall, WilliamRef W17
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was a hosier at Old Market Place, Halifax

See Whewall's Court and James Whewall

WhichfieldRef W2613
A form of the name Witchfield

Whin Hill Wood, WheatleyRef W746
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Whinberry Stones, Heptonstall MoorRef W560
A natural stone outcrop on Heptonstall Moor

Whinchat Hall, CliftonRef W517

Whinney Cottage, LightcliffeRef W2656
Recorded around 1850 at Smith House Lane.

See Whinney House, Lightcliffe

Whinney Hall, ShelfRef W789
Owners and tenants have included

See Whinny

Whinney Hill housing estate, BrighouseRef W380
Housing estate at Whinney Hill Park which opened in 19??.

There were prefabricated houses there in the 1950s. These were later replaced by brick houses

See Whinney House, Lightcliffe and Whinny

Whinney House, LightcliffeRef W2657
Recorded around 1850 at Cow Lane / Smith House Lane. The property is shown – but not named – on later maps.

Whinney Hill housing estate was later built on adjacent land.

See Whinney Cottage, Lightcliffe

Whinney Royd, NorthowramRef W293
Aka Whinney Royd Farm.

Whinney Royd Lane.

Built around 14??. In 1455, the house passed from Richard Strange to James Otes, and passed down the family to James Oates in 1608.

The present farmhouse is probably late 17th century.

Owners and tenants have included

See Whinny

Whipp, ArthurRef W200
[1899-1918] Son of Miranda & Orlando Whipp of 10 High Street, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 9th April 1918 (aged 19).

He was buried at Vieille-Chapelle New Military Cemetery, Lacouture, France [Grave Ref III C 13].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Todmorden Unitarian Church

Whipp Brothers & Todd LimitedRef W1623
Cotton manufacturers at Millsteads Mill, Todmorden [1905]

Whipp, CharlesRef W422
[1834-1913] Born in Soyland [29th July 1834].

He was a farmer [1855].

On 24th December 1855, he married Grace Hollas in Halifax.


Grace was the daughter of
Joseph Hollas
 

Children:

  1. Jane [b Soyland 1854]
  2. Hannah [b Soyland 1856 & died Kansas 1934]
  3. Robert [b Soyland 1859]
  4. Harriett [b Illinois 1867 & died Iowa 1949]
  5. George Henry [b Illinois 1867 & died Iowa 1943]
  6. Alice Jane [b Illinois 1868 & died Iowa 1929]
  7. Flora [b Iowa 1871 & died Iowa 1953]
  8. Frederick Joseph [b Iowa 1871 & died Iowa 1941]
  9. May [b Iowa 1873 & died Missouri 1953]
  10. Laura [b Iowa 1877]

In the 1850s, the family moved to Iowa, USA. Charles arrived on 9th May 1856.

Charles enlisted in the 7th Regiment of the Illinois Cavalry and took part in the American Civil War He was discharged on 9th July 1864.

Charles was naturalised on 15th July 1868.

Grace died 28th November 1907.

Charles died 17th May 1913.

They are both buried at Maple Hill Cemetery. College Springs, Iowa. The marker beside the gravestone indicates that Charles served in the American Civil War

Whipp, JoeRef W148
[1884-1954] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was landlord of the Prospect, Sowerby Bridge [1922-1925] / the Crown, Sowerby Bridge [1925-1926] / the Volunteer Arms, Copley [1926-1930] / the Wharf Hotel, Sowerby Bridge [1930-1936] / the Engineers, Sowerby Bridge [1936-1943].

On 18th July 1908, he married (1) Annie Maude Corney [1886-1941] at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge


Annie Maude was born in Sowerby Bridge
 

In [Q2] 1941, he married (2) Doris Emily [1897-1982] in Halifax.


Doris Emily [née Walsh] was the widow of Mr Crossley
 

Joe & Doris Emily both died in Blackpool

Whipp, RolandRef W668
[1896-1915] Son of Walker Whipp.

Born in Soyland.

He lived at 12 Upper Cross Well, Soyland.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by a shell [24th December 1915].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [8th January 1916].

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 20], on Ripponden War Memorial, and on the Roll of Honour at Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden

Whipp, WalkerRef W667
[1863-1941] Born in Soyland.

He was a maker-up of Ripponden [1882] / a cotton beaker? [1891] / a stone quarry labourer [1901] / a warehouseman [1911] / landlord of the Beehive, Soyland [1915-1916].

In 1882, he married Mary Hannah Goulden [1865-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Mary Hannah, of Ripponden, was born in Rishworth, the daughter of William Goulden, paper maker.

She was a cotton card room hand [1891]

 

Children:

  1. George W. [b 1883] who was a cotton piecer [1901]
  2. Martha Emma [b 1885]
  3. James O. [b 1886] who was a cotton piecer [1901]
  4. Lily A. [b 1888] who was a cotton piecer [1901], a cotton worker [1911]
  5. Ivy [b 1889] who was a cotton piecer [1901], a cotton worker [1911]
  6. Henry [b 1893] who was a cotton piecer [1911]
  7. Roland

The family lived at

  • Quebec, Barkisland [1891]
  • 20 Stoops, Soyland [1901]
  • 30 Royd Lane, Ripponden, Soyland [1911]
  • Coney Garth Farm, Barkisland [1916]

Living with them [in 1911] was nephew William Henry Goulden [b  1904]

Whirlaw, TodmordenRef W121
Natural rocky outcrop above Todmorden. 1,200 ft above sea level.

This was a popular location for meetings, demonstrations and celebrations.

The name is used in Billy Holt's book The wizard of Whirlaw

Whirlaw, TodmordenRef W2317
Settlement above Todmorden. West Whirlaw and East Whirlaw are recorded.

See Whirlaw Common, Todmorden

Whiscombe BankRef W122

WhishtRef W196
Popular name for the illegal malt and other liquors which were sold in the Sowerby and Soyland districts around 1829 – this was known as husht selling. The customers of such whisht shops often formed a secret society with oaths, signs and passwords. A subscription fund was established to reward any informers and for the prosecution of the offenders.

The dialect word whisht means to remain silent or keep quiet

Whiskam DandyRef W123
Aka Whiscombe Bank, Whiskcombe Dandy, and Wiscombe Bank. Part of the Wakefield Gate route, the old packhorse track which passes over and down Beacon Hill and Old Bank

There was a pub here called Whiskam Dandy

See Horsfall Buildings, Southowram

Whiskcombe DandyRef W197

Whiskum Toll BarRef W328
A toll bar mentioned in Anne Lister's journals

Whisky & Well HeadRef W548
See Well Head

Whistle Hall, OgdenRef W874
Keighley Road. House built by the family of Jonathan Catherall. The name was given because the family made their money by selling pot whistles and taws from a donkey

WhistlepegsRef W1941
[17??-1???] A man who, it was believed, was involved in the bread riots for which Mark Saltonstall and Thomas Spencer were hanged

Whistler Park, HalifaxRef W1907
A recent name for the Belle Vue House

Whit Monday FieldsRef W594
Aka Long Royd Meadow, Hebden Bridge. In the 19th century, children from Birchliffe Chapel, Hebden Bridge marched to the area in procession on Whit Monday. A maypole was set up here

Whitacarres, ThomasRef W160
[15??-15??] Owned Norland Hall [1598]

Whitacre, JohnRef W2326
[1678-1762] A merchant.

A 1709, he bought Longwood House, Fixby from William Starkey.

He was a trustee for Betty Nuttall Hill.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Elizabeth who married Henry Gill

Whitaker...Ref W56
The entries for people & families with the surname Whitaker are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Whitaker & HowarthRef W334
Boot and shoemakers at Woolshops, Halifax [1809]

Whitaker & ShreeveRef W2218
Makers of clock dials at Halifax.

Established about 1810 by Henry Whitaker and William Shreeve

William's widow, Leah ran the business for about 10 years.

They continued making dials until 1834

Whitaker's: Edmund Whitaker & SonRef W1630
Warp sizers and manufacturers established by Edmund Whitaker. They were at Sandholme Mill, Todmorden [1842-1881]

Whitaker's MinstrelsRef W3480
A musical entertainment group.


Question: Does anyone know whether this was connected to Richard Whitaker & Sons?

 

Whitaker's OpticiansRef W1766
Opticians established in 1932 by Albert Whitaker, his son Trevor, and Stanley Topliss, at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge.

They acquired Mr Spencer's practice at King Cross, Halifax [1974] This closed in 2008.

They opened a practice in Elland [1977]

In 1993, Trevor's nephew – Jonathan Whitaker – and Stanley's son – Jeremy Topliss – took over the business.

They acquired Mackereth Opticians in Regent Street, Halifax [1997]

Whitaker Pit Woods, CliftonRef W2341
Woodland near Whitaker Pit, Clifton. The tramway to the pit ran along, what is now, the path through the woods.

There are remains of many bell pits here and the associated oak trees are still in evidence

Whitaker Pits Farm, CliftonRef W2344
Just south-east of Whitaker Pit.

Owners and tenants have included

Whitaker's: Richard Whitaker & Sons LimitedRef W1650
Brewery founded by Richard Whitaker in 1860.

From 1867, they brewed at their Cock o' the North brewery at 36 Corporation Street, Halifax – see Stannary.

This was later made famous by the Cock o' the North mark. There were malt kilns at Elland.

Richard's sons took over the business when he died in 1871.

The main kilns were added when the brewery was enlarged in 1893.

A maltings, stabling and bottling plant were added in 1898.

The company was registered on 28th April 1890. At that time, they produced about 40,000 barrels per year.

In 1905, they acquired the business of George Bedford Whitaker at the Grove, Brearley.

The character Doc Shire – a portly gentleman with top hat and cane and smoking a cigar – was created by J. J. Mulroy to advertise Whitaker's beer in the 1930s.

In 1959, two Whitbread directors joined the Whitaker's board with the result that Whitaker's houses immediately stocked Whitbread beers.

Brewing at the Corporation Street brewery stopped when the company was completely taken over by Whitbread & Company Limited in 1968. The brewery closed down in 1969.

The buildings stood derelict until they were demolished in 1973.

The Brewery is discussed in the book Halifax Pubs.

See Albert Clifford Robinson, Joseph Frederick Walsh, G. Murgatroyd Whitaker, Herbert Whitaker, Captain Joseph A. Whitaker, Michael Whitaker and Thomas Whitaker

Whitaker's: Robert Whitaker & CompanyRef W966
Stuff manufacturers in Halifax [1850s]

Whitaker's: S. N. Whitaker & SonRef W1934
Printers at St James's Street, Halifax [1880]

Whitbread & Company LimitedRef W2708
Brewers. Established in 1742 by partners Samuel Whitbread and Thomas Shewell. They were at Chiswell Street, London [1750].

In 1968, the company took over the business and houses of Richard Whitaker & Sons Limited

Whitbread, ArthurRef W620
[1892-1916] Son of Frank Whitbread.

Born in Luton.

He was an oil extractor [1911] / employed by Ratcliffe Brothers.

In [Q4] 1913, he married Clara Jackman [1895-19??] at St Anne's Church, Southowram.


Clara, of 30 New Street, Southowram, was the daughter of Willie Jackman, collier
 

Children:

  1. Hilda [b 1914]

The family lived at 1 Walton Terrace, Salterhebble [1916].

He joined the Territorials around 1911.

During World War I, he enlisted immediately War broke out, and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [April 1915].

He was invalided home with jaundice [early 1916].

He died after he and 6 others were buried in a dugout after receiving a direct hit on the eve of the attack on Schwaben Redoubt [2nd September 1916]

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [16th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B1], in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, on Copley War Memorial, on the Memorial at All Saints' Church, Dudwell, on the Copley Roll of Honour, and on the Memorial at Greetland Methodist Church

Whitbread, FrankRef W786
[1855-1???] Born in Leeds.

He was a boiler maker [1891] / a general labourer (boiler) [1901].

He married Elizabeth [1862-1???].


Elizabeth was born in Coxwold, Yorkshire
 

Children:

  1. William H. [b 1888] who was a woollen spinner [1901], a woollen mule spinner [1911]
  2. Frank
  3. Arthur
  4. Herbert [b 1894] who was a buffer (brass cleaner) [1911]
  5. Sarah Jane [b 1896]
  6. Tom [b 1899] who was a part time bobbin setter [1911]
  7. Joe [b 1901]
  8. Florrie [b 1903]

The family lived at

  • 19 Windmill Road, Luton, Bedfordshire [1891]
  • Dean Street, Greetland [1901]
  • 8 Dean Street, Greetland [1911]

In 1911, Frank was a lodger at The Model Registered Lodging House, 154-158 Sunbridge Road, Bradford

Whitbread, FrankRef W464
[1889-19??] MM.

Son of Frank Whitbread.

He was a member of West Vale Ramblers football club / a worsted doffer [1901] / a cotton breaker [1911] / employed by Mr Sykes at West Vale Brass Works / a Territorial.

He lived at Holden Street, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the West Riding Regiment.

He went to France [January 1917]. He was wounded in the left arm [July 1917], returning to France in January 1918.

He was awarded the Military Medal [1918]


for devotion to duty during an advance
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [9th November 1918].

He was later hospitalised in France with septic poisoning.

His brother Arthur was killed in World War I [2nd September 1916]

Whitbread, HelenaRef W1126
[19??-] Local historian and writer.

She began to decipher Anne Lister's journals 1982.

These were published in two volumes:

  • I know my own heart [1988] – The diaries of Anne Lister 1791-1840. This brought the diaries to popular public view
  • No Priest but Love [1992] – The Journals of Anne Lister from 1824-1826

Whitby, Rev WilliamRef W826
[1835-1890] Born in Essex.

He was a Primitive Methodist Minister in Halifax [1886]

White...Ref W599
The entries for people & families with the surname White are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

White Birch Farm, NorthowramRef W1882
See Barkisland Workhouse

White Birch, OvendenRef W745
Wheatley Road.

Owners and tenants have included

White Birch, WarleyRef W295
House dated 1654.

Owners and tenants have included

See Yellow Birch, Warley

White Birk, WheatleyRef W747
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

White Chimneys, Skircoat GreenRef W1396
Rawson Avenue.

Owners and tenants have included

White Eagle Polish Club, HalifaxRef W1120
Hopwood Lane. Popular social club for the local Polish community

White Hall House, HipperholmeRef W240
Stood along the Halifax-Leeds road, just north-west of the Hipperholme crossroads.

The house gave its name to the Whitehall Inn and the Leeds-Whitehall turnpike road which opened in 1833.

Owners and tenants have included

White Hall, OvendenRef W284
Aisled house

White Hill, RishworthRef W3050
Small hill on Rishworth Moor

White Hole Farm, Hebden BridgeRef W2004
Stands at the head of Crimsworth Dean. Recorded in the 1600s, when he married

White Hole, WadsworthRef W504
Thurrish Lane. Late 17th century house with a datestone WIR 1731

White Holme ReservoirRef W600
Mytholmroyd. Built around 1805 to maintain water levels in the Rochdale Canal.

See Light Hazles Reservoir and Wool Pack Stones, Warland

White House, BrighouseRef W2484
Recorded in 1893 off Bonegate and south of the land now occupied by the allotments on Waterloo Road

White House Holme, MytholmroydRef W2185
The Mytholmroyd Charity Demonstration and the Sunday Sing were held here

White House, RastrickRef W1159
A landmark at the top of Toothill Bank Recorded in 1910

White House, StainlandRef W852
Owners and tenants have included

White's: J. L. WhiteRef W1841
Milliners at Cheapside, Halifax [1930s]

White Lee Bridge, MytholmroydRef W584
Midgley Road. Bridge #11 over the Rochdale Canal

White Lee Clough, MytholmroydRef W749
Runs down from Wadsworth to Mytholmroyd

White Lee House, MytholmroydRef W823
One of a group of buildings at White Lee, Mytholmroyd.

A late 18th century laithe-house.

Owners and tenants have included

White Lee, MytholmroydRef W612
Midgley Road. A group of buildings comprising

See also Lower White Lee Works, White Lee Clough, Mytholmroyd, White Lee Croft, Mytholmroyd and White Lee Mill, Mytholmroyd

White Lion Fisheries, Hebden BridgeRef W2562
Numbers 4 & 5 Hollins Place. Late 17th century buildings and barn

White Lion Toll Bar, Hebden BridgeRef W2150
Established outside the White Lion in 1765. This was the first toll bar in Hebden Bridge. It was discontinued around 1785

White Lion Yard, HalifaxRef W931
There was a theatre above the stables at the White Lion Hotel & Posting House, Halifax which was well-known for its dramatic presentations. The actor-manager Tate Wilkinson described performing here in 1776

White's Nurseries, BrighouseRef W2116
Recorded in the 1960s at the Old Coach Road, Lightcliffe.

They had a florist's shop in Commercial Street, Brighouse

White's: R. White & CompanyRef W1761
Mineral water manufacturers at Navigation Wharf, Halifax [1905]

White Rock, Luddenden DeanRef W86
Saltonstall. Small, natural outcrops of rocks which were painted white in 1890 and have since been repainted many times.

Horsfall Turner writes that people celebrating Luddenden Dean Spa around 1890, were surprised to see the rocks painted white.

The original painter and those who have subsequently re-painted the rocks have never been identified

White Rose Archery Club, Hebden BridgeRef W1929
They share facilities with Hebden Bridge Cricket Club

White Rose Water Ski ClubRef W367
Based at the lake at Cromwellbottom

White Slack Gate, WalsdenRef W606
A part of the packhorse route.

See White Slack, Walsden

White Slack, WalsdenRef W2556
White Slack Gate. Early 18th century laithe-house

White Stone Clough Farm, Cotton StonesRef W7890
Recorded in May 1906, when it was sold for £500. The purchaser was possibly the tenant, Robert Pratt

White Windows, SowerbyRef W127
Fore Lane Avenue. In the 16th century, the land here was owned by John Gaukroger. John Priestley bought the estate in 1765.

A new three-storeyed house was designed by Carr of York in 1767. Joseph Priestley had a Justices' Room here, and his name is inscribed on a window pane.

The house passed to his son, George. In 1837, he bought property in Chalfont, Buckinghamshire, and went to live there. He tried to sell White Windows without success. His son, George Kirkman Priestley sold the house to John Rawson in 1878.

The house remained with the Rawson family until the 1950s.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

It had been used variously as a school and a hostel.

In May 1957, it became a Cheshire Home for around 30 patients.

See Sir Henry Edwards and Rev Daniel Hartnett

White Windows, StansfieldRef W716

Owners and tenants have included

White Wood ReservoirRef W530
Reservoir on the Ryburn

Whitegate, SiddalRef W226
In the 18th century, the house was owned by John Rawson.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Whitegatefoot, SkircoatRef W687
Owners and tenants have included

Whitehall, HalifaxRef W386
1 Russell Street. The building stands at the junction of Russell Street and Corn Market.

It was built in 1891 for William Henry Beal who had the agency for White Sewing Machines

Whitehall, HeptonstallRef W654
Northgate. Originally known as Great House on the Northgate.

The original mid-17th century farmhouse was rebuilt in the 19th century.

The Bentley family lived here.

Approaching the house, there is a stone gateway with a lintel dated IB 1578 for John Bentley. This was possibly reused from a cart entry to the farm

The Bentley family left in 1722 and moved to Oulton.

The archway is listed separately

Whitehall, HipperholmeRef W1852

Whitehall, T. W.Ref W316
[18??-1918] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 36th Battalion Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 12th May 1918.

He was buried at Duhallow A.D.S. Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref IV G 5].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Whitehaughs ArchRef W2206
The A629 passes underneath the M62 between Ainley Top and Elland. The tunnel is 443 ft long

Whitehaven, TodmordenRef W260
18th century milking-house.

In the mid-19th century, it was renamed The Haven.

See Mr Clegg

Whitehead...Ref W779
The entries for people & families with the surname Whitehead are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Whitehead BrothersRef W1610
Tinplate workers at Crescent Mill [1851] and Salford Old Foundry [1905].

Partners included Henry Whitehead, George Whitehead, William Whitehead, Sam Whitehead, Anthony Whitehead, Frank Whitehead, and Howarth Whitehead

Whitehead's: George Whitehead & SonsRef W1608
Tinplate workers at Crescent Mill and Salford, Todmorden [1905]. They made sizing and drying machines, tin and copper cylinder and roller makers.

Partners included George Whitehead, Howarth Whitehead, William Whitehead, Anthony Whitehead, Frank Whitehead, and Sam Whitehead

Whitehead's: H. C. WhiteheadRef W366
Recorded around 1915, when they were Prospect Works, Bailiff Bridge. (Possibly) dyers

Whitehead's: Julius Whitehead & CompanyRef W1562
Stone quarrying company at New Bank [1800]

Whitehead's: Stuart Whitehead & CompanyRef W1823
Wire manufacturers established by Stuart Whitehead at Blackwall Wire Works, Halifax [1874]

Whitehill Lodge, IllingworthRef W2359

Whitehouse, Rev Thomas HoratioRef W1092
[18??-19??] Vicar of Warley [1937]

Whitelam, J.Ref W798
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1944-1946]

Whiteley...Ref W302
The entries for people & families with the surname Whiteley are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Whiteley & AinleyRef W2133
A 1900 advertisement announced

Whiteley & Ainley
(Late Mason & Son) 

Jewellery, Watches, etc

30 Waterhouse Street, Halifax

Whiteley & PickardRef W1613
Waste and shoddy dealers at Mill House Mill, Triangle [1905]

Whiteley & SonRef W2652
Cotton spinners at Rishworth and Ripponden established by John Whiteley. They and owned several mills in the area including

Whiteley & SonRef W970
Hatters in Halifax.

Partners included Charles Whiteley and Thomas Milne Whiteley.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent [31st December 1835]

Whiteley Arches Dyers LimitedRef W6930
At Hebble End Dye Works, Erringden [2010]

Whiteley Arches, MytholmRef W491
Railway viaduct built in 1840 by Robert Stephenson. It crosses the Manchester & Leeds Railway, the river Calder, and the Rochdale Canal Earlier plans to build a tunnel for the railway were abandoned on account of the nature of the ground.

The viaduct was originally called Charlestown Viaduct. The later name comes from John Whitely who had a mill nearby

Whiteley's: Benjamin Whiteley & Sons LimitedRef W1576
Cotton spinners established by Benjamin Whiteley at Park Road Mills, Elland.

In 1912, they took over business from Sutcliffe Brothers.

In 1921, the cotton production ended and they carried on with doubling and twisting.

In 1965, half the shares were bought by lace manufacturers John Heathcoat & Company of Tiverton, Devon. The yarn-processing operation ceased in January 2001

Whiteley's Botanical Brewery, RippondenRef W2647
The Whiteley family of Ripponden brewed soft drinks, ginger beer and mineral waters. Their stone flagons and bottles can still be found

Whiteley BrothersRef W1615
Quarry owner and stone merchant at Marsh Quarries, Southowram [1905]. Partners included Joseph Shaw Whiteley, Fred Whiteley, and J. W. Whiteley

Whiteley BrothersRef W1616
Paper / millboard makers at Soyland [1874] and at Slitheroe Mill, Rishworth [1905, 1910]

In 1910, they were recorded as producing

Press Papers, Rolled and Glazed Pressing Boards, Fencings &c

One Machine

Powered by water and steam

Whiteley BrothersRef W1627
Cotton doublers established by Thomas, Joseph and Robert Whiteley at Victoria Mills, Brighouse in 1882.

In 1892, the business moved to larger premises at Owler Ings Mills, Brighouse.

They operated 10,000 spindles [1895]

Whiteley BrothersRef W1686
Woollen merchants at New Road Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Whiteley's Corner, BrighouseRef W250
The building on the south-west corner of the junction of Bethel Street and Bradford Road.

Named for Rider & Whiteley who had their shop on the site

Whiteley's: Eli Whiteley & SonsRef W81
Cotton spinners established by Eli Whiteley. They were at Lower Willow Hall Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905] and Hollings Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1907]

Whiteley Farm, CliftonRef W377

This is discussed in the book Down the Acres

Whiteley's: Fred WhiteleyRef W2021
Restaurant engineers, makers of coal, gas and electrical cooking apparatus for fish friers etc at Gerrard Street Works, Halifax [1936]. Partners included H. F. Whiteley and N. Whiteley

Whiteley's: G. & W. WhiteleyRef W2049
Wine merchants at Todmorden.

Partners included G. Whiteley and W. Whiteley.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1889

Whiteley's: G. S. Whiteley & CompanyRef W1659
Blacksmith with business at the bottom of Ogden Lane, Rastrick.

Established in 1860 by Joseph Whiteley & George Whiteley.

The business was subsequently run by Whiteley's nephew, John, his son Clifford Riley, and the Riley family who produced the Riley Link. The business finally passed to Clifford's nephew, John. In September 1995, John died suddenly at the age of 38. The business closed and the company's workshops were demolished.

The company produced the weather-vane for St Matthew's Church, Rastrick.

A ghost, known as Uncle George, after the founder, was said to haunt the premises.

See A Village Blacksmith

Whiteley, Garsed & CompanyRef W1587
Cotton-spinners at Albert Mills, Rastrick. Partners included L. Whiteley, J. Garsed, M. Farrar, W. Farrar, and W. H. Lever.

Their mill burnt down on 16th June 1864.

In August 1864, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Whiteley's: H. Whiteley & Company LimitedRef W1672
Halifax joiners and builders established by Henry Whiteley

Whiteley's Hat Shop, HalifaxRef W1523
Hatters and outfitters established in 1746 at 12 Corn Market, Halifax, proabably by Robert Whiteley.

The business was continued by his sons and grandsons, including Robert Whiteley.

The partnership bought the business, paying £800 for the stock, £400 for goodwill, and a promisory note for £400 paying 4%. The partnership was dissolved in 1842, and Robert continued on his own.

Robert took his son, Frederick, into partnership as R. Whiteley & Son.

From around 1880, Frederick was the sole proprietor

Whiteley's: J. F. & E. Whiteley & CompanyRef W533
Cotton spinners at Britannia Mill, Brighouse.

Partners included Edward Whiteley, Ainley Whiteley, and Christopher Wadsworth.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent on 1st July 1889. The business was carried on under the same name by Edward Whiteley and Christopher Wadsworth

Whiteley's: J. F. & E. Whiteley & CompanyRef W1626
Cotton spinners and doublers at Lower Willow Hall Mills, Sowerby Bridge established when John Fenton Whiteley and Edward Whiteley took over the business established by their father Eli Whiteley

Whiteley's: James Whiteley LimitedRef W353
In 1866, James Whiteley acquired an existing business manufacturing textile machinery and machine tools.

Before the outbreak of World War I, they looked into the production of commercial cars, but the demand for machine tools took priority.

A motor lorry produced around 1914 was well received.

Towards the end of the War, they concentrated on the manufacture of parts for aeroplane engines.

They were at Jubilee Works, Ovenden and Eagle Works, Halifax [1901, 1919].

See Jackson Holroyd

Whiteley's: John Whiteley & CompanyRef W1588
19th century paper-makers of Firth House Mill, Stainland established by John Whiteley.

They were listed as John Whiteley & Son Paper Manufacturers at Firth House Meadows, Holywell Green / Firth House Mills, Stainland [1863].

In June 1867, the partners Thomas Whiteley and John Whiteley were declared bankrupt.

On 1st January 1868, the company reformed with new partners William Whiteley, Thomas Whiteley, Joseph Whiteley, Thomas Lumb , and William Whiteley.

The partnership operated under the name of John Whiteley & Sons of Huddersfield – where they were paper merchants at Market Street and Dundas Street – and of Horsforth, where they were paper manufacturers. The business was dissolved on 22nd September 1868. The Horsforth mill was carried on by William Whiteley & Thomas Lumb.

The business is recorded at Firth House Mills, Stainland [1874].

See William Whiteley and Whiteley family of Barkisland

Whiteley's: John Whiteley & SonsRef W1792
Wire manufacturers and cotton and wool card makers.

Founded in July 1791 by John Whiteley at Winding Road, Halifax. They were one of the earliest manufacturers of wire for cards.

They were at Paper Mill and Winding Road, Halifax [1809, 1822, 1845].

In the 1840s, they moved to Brunswick Mills, West Parade.

In 1863, they were visited there by the Prince of Wales.

By the 1890s, they employed 300 work people and they went on to have customers worldwide.

The business was later owned by Whiteley's sons, Joseph and George.

After the deaths of Joseph and George, the business passed to their nephews, John and Nathan Whitley.

In the 1880s, Sir Frederick Whitley Thomson became head of the business. Samuel Rinder Whitley worked for the company.

In 1897, it merged with, and became a branch of, the English Card Clothing Company Limited.

They were at Savile Mill, Halifax [1936].

See Centenary Place, Halifax, John Radcliffe Rawnsley and Joseph Whiteley

Whiteley's: John Whiteley LimitedRef W1617
Dyers and finishers established by John Whiteley at Hoo Hole Dye Works, Cragg Vale [1905]

Whiteley's: Joseph Whiteley & SonsRef W170
Cotton spinners at Stones Mill, Ripponden.

Partners included Joseph Whiteley, Thomas Falcon Whiteley, and John William Whiteley.

In February 1878, the partnership was dissolved so far as regards Thomas Falcon Whiteley

Whiteley's: Joshua Whiteley & Company LimitedRef W2173
See Joseph Whiteley

Whiteley's: Lewis Whiteley & Sons LimitedRef W1671
Established by Lewis Whiteley. Cotton-doublers with business at Brick Mill and Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot

Whiteley's: N. Whiteley & SonsRef W2016
Cotton spinners at Soyland and Barkisland.

The partnership was dissolved in 1885 when the partners were T. Whiteley and J. Whiteley

Whiteley's: Nathan Whiteley & SonRef W1835
Cotton spinners at Lower Dyson Mill, Ripponden [1874]

Whiteley's: R. Whiteley & SonRef W1636
Robert Whiteley took over his father's business, Whiteley's Hat Shop in Corn Market, Halifax.

He took his son, Frederick, into partnership as R. Whiteley & Son.

They were at 10 Corn Market, Halifax [1881].

The premises were rebuilt in 1887.

An advertisement in 1887 announced


Established 1746. Re-built 1887

RE-OPENING OF BUSINESS PREMISES

R. WHITELEY AND SON
are now prepared with an
ENTIRELY NEW AND SPLENDID STOCK

WHITELEY'S CELEBRATED SILK HATS.
WHITELEY'S RENOWNED FELT HATS.
LIGHT – FLEXIBLE – VENTILATING.
THE CORRECT LONDON SHAPES.
AN IMMENSE VARIETY.
All the NEW SHADES of COLOUR.
BOYS' HATS and CAPS, TENNIS HATS,
CRICKET CAPS, TRAVELLING CAPS, &c.
With every Requisite for the general Hat & Cap trade

10, CORN MARKET, HALIFAX

Whiteley (Rishworth) LimitedRef W2217
Manufacturers of water pumps [1908].

They were at Slitheroe Works.

They produced water pumps for MG cars for the MG factory in Abingdon.

The business later became Partco

Whiteley Royd Farm, TodmordenRef W2543
Eastwood Lane. Early 18th century house and barn

Whiteley's: S. Whiteley & CompanyRef W1685
Hosiery and embroidery yarn merchants at Sowerby Bridge Mill [1905]

Whiteley, Sutcliffe & WhittellRef W462
Paper manufacturers at Firth House Mills, Stainland.

Partners included John Whiteley, Ely Sutcliffe and Joshua Whittell.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1841

Whiteley's: Thomas Whiteley & SonsRef W1603
Cotton spinners and doublers at Smithfield Mill, Elland [1905]

Whitelock, EzraRef W693
[1834-1868] Born in Craven.

He worked at Joel Diggle's brickyard, near Oldham.

Around 1858, he married a woman from Rochdale.


His wife was a niece of Joel Diggle
 

Children:

  1. James [b 1860]
  2. Sarah Ann [b 1865]

The family lived at Calfhole Farm, Burnedge, near Todmorden.

On 27th July 1868, he murdered his children and committed suicide. His wife found them all with their throats cut

Whitely, JohnRef W447
[18??-1???] Or Whiteley. He owned a house and a mill in the Mytholm area of Hebden Bridge.

See Whitely Arches, Mytholm

Whitely, PeterRef W712
[18??-18??] Owned mills in the Ryburn valley

Whiteside, CuthbertRef W5003
[18??-19??] Methodist Minister in Halifax [1820]. He was in Oldham [1822]

Whiteside, Everard GreenhalghRef W1002
[1919-1943] Son of Ida Martha & William Greenhalgh Whiteside.

In [Q3] 1942, he married Mary Margaret Devine in Halifax.

They lived in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Corporal with the 152nd Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 4th January 1943 (aged 24).

He was buried at Medjez-El-Bab War Cemetery, Tunisia [Grave Ref 8 G 15]

Whiteside, Rev T. S.Ref W1101
[18??-19??] Senior Curate at Halifax Parish Church [1936] and Vicar of Cragg Vale [1937]

Whitestone Clough Farm, CottonstonesRef W322
Delfs Lane. 17th century farmhouse.

An attached barn, dated 1856, is also listed

Whitewood, John EbenezerRef W287
[1832-1914] Son of Rev Samuel Whitewood.

Born in Halifax [18th September 1832].

On 2nd October 1855, he married Sarah Illingworth in Harrogate.


Sarah was the daughter of William Illingworth
 

Children:

  1. Edith [b 1856]

Sarah died in Harrogate in 1908.

John died in Harrogate [25th December 1914]

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 529]. There is no headstone for the grave

Whitewood, Rev SamuelRef W944
[1794-1860] Born in Newbury, Berkshire.

He studied for the Ministry at Stepney College, London. and served at Andover, Hampshire before becoming Minister of Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church [ for a period of nearly 30 years from January 1831].

The new Pellon Lane Baptist Church opened during his ministry [1834].

He lived at 2 Church Street, Halifax [1845].

He is recorded [1844, 1848] when he performed interments at Lister Lane Cemetery.

He resigned in 1850, but returned the following year and remained until his death – serving a total of almost 30 years.

In June 1857, he was presented with a portrait in oils, painted by Samuel Baldwin.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. John Ebenezer

Samuel died 31st October 1860 (aged 66).

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 441]

Whitfield, WilhelminaRef W1042
[1900-1921] The body of the 21-year-old maidservant was found on the railway line near Hipperholme on 19th September 1921. An inquest recorded that the girl had died from injuries received from a fall from a train, but there was insufficient evidence to show the cause. The girl had recently claimed to have clicked with the guard on the Bradford to Halifax train and had agreed to meet him

Whitfield, WilliamRef W1549
[17??-18??] Of Northowram. Partner in William Mitchell & Company.

The partnership was dissolved in 1??? and he and William Mitchell carried on with the business

Whitham, AlbertRef W631
[1891-1918] Son of Mary Ann & John Whitham of Leeds.

Born in Hawksclough.

He was a printer.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 465th Battery 65th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He was killed in action [1st January 1918] (aged 27).

He was buried at Fins New British Cemetery, Sorel-le-Grand, France [Grave Ref III E 33].

He is remembered in the book Royd Regeneration.

Whitham, AlbertRef W618
[1913-1943] Son of Susannah & Samuel Whitham of Todmorden.

In [Q1] 1939, he married Marion Hey in Todmorden.

They lived in Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion King's Own Royal Regiment (Lancaster).

He died 9th April 1943 (aged 30).

He was buried at Karachi War Cemetery, Pakistan [Grave Ref 10 D 4].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Whitham, Elizabeth AnnRef W624
[1841-1905] Elizabeth Ann was born in Heptonstall, the illegitimate daughter of Sally Farrar who married William Whitham.

On 27th April 1861, Elizabeth Ann married (1) Ishmael Nutton at Halifax Parish Church.


On the marriage record, she gave William Whitham as her father's name
 

Ishmael died 17th March 1876.

In [Q3] 1888, Elizabeth married (2) James Hainsworth Leeming in Halifax.


On the marriage record, she gave James Wrigley as her father's name.

It is possible that James Wrigley – who lived next door to her mother who was staying with the Farrar family at Lily Hall, Heptonstall in 1841 – was her father

 

She was buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Whitham, JamesRef W829
[1788-18??] He was a farmer [1837] / a farmer of 27 acres.

He married Betty [1787-18??].

Children:

  1. Joseph
  2. Grace [b 1829]

Whitham, JamesRef W2854
[1801-1878] Of Luddendenfoot.

He married Sarah.

Children:

  1. child
  2. child
  3. child
  4. child
  5. child
  6. child
  7. child
  8. John [1836-1888]
  9. Jane [1840-1920]
  10. Eliza [1850-1921]

Members of the family were buried at Butts Green Baptist Chapel, Warley

Whitham, John EdwinRef W883
[1865-19??] Son of George Whitham, woollen salesman.

Born in Manningham, Bradford.

He was an accountant's clerk of 28 Alexandra Road, Burley [1891] / a chartered accountant [1901, 1903] / a chartered accountant (employer) [1911].

In [Q3] 1891, he married (1) Laura Myers [1867-19??] in Leeds at Woodhouse Wesleyan Chapel, Leeds.


Laura, of Hyde Park, Headingley, was born in Leeds, the daughter of Charles Myers, contractor
 

Children:

  1. John Harold
  2. Marguerite [b 1895]
  3. Elsie Mary [b 1896]
  4. Eleanor [b 1898]
  5. Charles Myers [b 1899]

Laura died in Halifax [Q1 1902] (aged 34).

In 1903, he married (2) Harriet Marsh Turney [1866-19??] at St Stephen's Church, Copley.


Harriet, of Copley, was born in Sowerby Bridge, the daughter of Dr Thomas Henry Turney
 

The family lived at

  • 7 Heath Mount, Halifax [1901, 1911]
  • 12 Hyde Park Gardens, Halifax [1918]

Whitham, John HaroldRef W147
[1892-1918] Son of John Edwin Whitham.

Born in Halifax [Q3 1892].

He was a Private at Canterbury Barracks, Kent [1911].

He went to Canada and served 3 years in France with the Canadian Contingent. He transferred and served as a Lieutenant with the Royal Air Force.

John Harold was killed in a flying accident [26th November 1918].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [7th December 1918]. He was piloting a two-seater plane bringing Captain & Prince Antoine d'Orleans & Breganza MC ADC, (third son of the Duke of Orleans) to London, when it crashed in fog at Old Southgate, Palmers Green, London. The Prince was severely injured and died 2 days later.

John was buried at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Whitham, JosephRef W827
[1818-18??] Son of James Whitham.

He was a weaver of Rawtonstall [1837] / a hand loom weaver, [1851] / a railway labourer, [1861] / a plate layer [1871].

On 22nd December 1837, he married Sarah Wadsworth.


Sarah, a weaver of Rawtonstall, was the daughter of Zachariah Wadsworth
 

Children:

  1. Martha [b 1839]
  2. Nicholas [b 1840]
  3. Samuel [b 1841]
  4. James [b 1844]
  5. Sarah [b 1847]
  6. John [b 1850]
  7. Richard [b 1853]
  8. Benjamin [b 1856]
  9. Hannah [b 1860]

The family lived at

  • Green House, Rawtonstall [1841]
  • Rawtonstall [1851, 1861]
  • Springside, Stansfield [1871]

Sarah's father was living with them [1841-1871]

Whitham, MarshallRef W207
[1893-1915] Son of Caroline Whitham of 15 Longfield Terrace, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with G Company 6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 3rd June 1915 (aged 22).

He was buried at Skew Bridge Cemetery, Turkey.

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Todmorden Unitarian Church

Whitham, SamuelRef W311
[1888-1917] In [Q2] 1911, he married Susannah Fielding in Todmorden.

They lived at 9 Frith's Terrace, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Leinster Regiment.

He died 17th June 1917 (aged 29).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 44], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Whitham, Samuel SpencerRef W528
[1882-1918] He was employed by the Todmorden Industrial & Co-operative Society.

In [Q4] 1904, he married Florence Fanny Fielden in Todmorden.

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. child

The family lived at 497 Rochdale Road, Walsden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was killed in action in France / Flanders [21st March 1918].

He was buried at Morchies Military Cemetery, France [Grave Ref D 48].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, on the Memorial at Todmorden Co-operative Society, on the Memorial at Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden, and on the Memorial at Todmorden Unitarian Church

Whitham, SethRef W2589
[1860-1895] Innkeeper of the Station Hotel, Halifax [1895].

In 1892, he married Miranda Rothery [1862-1946] from Halifax, in Bradford.

In 1911, Miranda married William Hitchen in Halifax.

Seth and Miranda are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Whitham, SutcliffeRef W961
[1835-1911] Born in Wadsworth.

He was a cotton weaver [1901].

He married Grace Cockroft [1841-1910].


Grace was born in Sowerby
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1861] who was a woollen weaver [1901]
  2. Mary [1870-1898] who married Albert Robertshaw

Daughter Mary died in child birth; Sutcliffe & Grace brought up their grandson Cyril

Whitham, Wilbert SpencerRef W305
[1898-1917] Son of Ann & Willie Whitham of 10 Butterworth Street, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with D Company 10th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died 10th April 1917 (aged 19).

He was buried at Hibers Trench Cemetery, Wancourt, France [Grave Ref D 17].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, on the Memorial at Todmorden Unitarian Church, and on the Memorial at Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden

Whitham, WilfredRef W962
[1906-1940] Son of Margaret & Arthur Whitham.

In [Q2] 1931, he married Benedetta Fusco in Halifax.

They lived at Lee Mount, Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion King's Own Royal Regiment (Lancaster).

He died 29th May 1940 (aged 34).

He was buried at Outtersteene Communal Cemetery Extension, Bailleul, France [Grave Ref 5 A 54]

Whitham, WilliamRef W626
[1792-1837] He was a glazier of Heptonstall [1822].

In 1822, he married Sally Farrar at St Thomas à Becket, Heptonstall.

Children:

  1. Hannah [b 1828]
  2. Farrar [b 1831] who died young
  3. John [b 1833] who died young
  4. James [b 1837]

The children were born & baptised in Heptonstall.

The family lived at Lily Hall, Heptonstall [1837].

William died in 1837 (aged 45).

He was buried at Heptonstall Church [27th August 1837]

Whithill, NorthowramRef W643
The house which was later known as Northowram Hall was mentioned in 1296

Whitlam, CarolineRef W732
[1812-1893] Of Grimsby.

She married Sir Titus Salt.

She died at St Leonards-on-Sea

Whitley...Ref W62
The entries for people & families with the surname Whitley are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Whitley & BoothRef W1515
Local publishers & printers established around 1820 by Nathan Whitley and John Booth. Their premises were at The Castle, Crown Street, Halifax.

In December 1832, they published the first edition of the Halifax Guardian.

After Nathan's death in 1832, his wife Elizabeth carried on the business.

In 1834, they were listed as Music & Musical Instrument Sellers at 3 Crown Street.

The company were subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

They were agents for The Leeds Mercury [1838, 1839].

When The Castle was demolished in 1888, the company moved into the replacement building.

In 1890, the partners included Mrs Booth and E. W. Booth.

See William Milner

Whitley CharityRef W1137
Aka Thomas Whitley Charity & Whitley's Gift.

A Benefactors' Board which hung in Lightcliffe Old Church recorded that, in his will of 1631, Thomas Whitley bequeathed


To the Governors & Trustees of Hipperholme Free Grammer (sic) School, in trust, the sum of forty shillings per annum to be distributed to the poor of Hipperholme on St Thomas's Day in every year.

This was charged on

  • Yew Trees Farm, the property of Josh Lister Esq
  • Harley Head Farm, the property of William Walker Esq
  • A farm in the village of Hipperholme, the property of Mr Chas Dearden
 

In 1885, it was amalgamated with the Sunderland Charity.

The combined charity was closed in 2004

Whitley's: George Whitley & SonRef W1729
Proprietors of The York Restaurant at York Buildings, Halifax [1905]

Whitley's Model Bakery, HalifaxRef W201

Recorded in 1914, when they were in Horton Street

Whitley's: Samuel Whitley & Company LimitedRef W1599
Cotton spinners established by Samuel Whitley in 1883.

They were at Luddendenfoot until flooding damaged the premises and they moved to the new Hanson Lane Mills, Halifax.

Other members of the family carried on the business, including John Henry Whitley, Alfred William Whitley, and Percival Nathan Whitley.

In 1957, after the death of Percival Nathan Whitley, Samuel Peter Whitley became director and the family's shares in the business were sold to Lostock Spinning Company Limited.

The Hanson Lane Mills closed shortly afterwards.

See John Radcliffe Rawnsley

Whitley ThomsonRef W1113
The children of Emma Whitley and Jonathan Thomson – including Sir Frederick Whitley Thomson – had the names Whitley Thomson.

In 1914, Sir Frederick Whitley Thomson took the surname Whitley-Thomson, becoming Frederick Whitley Whitley-Thomson

Whitmore, JosephRef W761
[1882-1918] Born in Netherton, Dudley, Worcestershire.

He was an ironmoulder / an ironfounder [1911] / employed by Campbell's.

In [Q1] 1907, he married Esther Ann Stroyde [1881-19??] in Dudley.


Esther Ann was born in Dudley
 

Children:

  1. Reginald Albert [b 1907]
  2. Ethel May [b 1911]
  3. James A. [b 1912]

They lived at 40 Timber Street, Halifax [1911, 1918].

Living with them [in 1911] was Joseph's widowed mother Charlotte Whitmore [b 1839].

During World War I, he enlisted [January 1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He served in France for 20 months before being invalided home with trench fever & rheumatism, and returned to France in March 1918.

He was killed in action [20th July 1918] (aged 36).

His photograph appears with reports of his death in the Halifax Courier [7th September & 14th September 1918].

He is remembered on the Soissons Memorial, France, and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Whittaker, Arthur LlewellynRef W340
[1871-1935] JP.

He was Mayor of Halifax [1927-1928]

He was Governing Director of John Whittaker & Sons (Kingston) Limited [1935]. He was on the Board of the Halifax Building Society. He was on the Yorkshire local board of the Union Bank of Manchester Limited, which was taken over by Barclays Bank on 1st January 1940.

He married Lois [1871-1941].

Children:

  1. Kathleen Mary

He lived at Savile Heath, Halifax [1935].

He & Lois were buried at Warley Town Cemetery

See Whiteley Turner

Whittaker, ClementRef W280
[18??-1917]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action during an advance on Peter Pan position at the Battle of Passchendaele [9th October 1917].

He was buried at La Clytte Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref V F 20].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Brunswick United Methodist Free Chapel, Halifax

Whittaker, CraigRef W2305
[1962-] Born in Bury, Lancashire.

In 1967, the family emigrated to Australia.

In 1984, he returned to England.

In 1998, he was co-opted on the Heptonstall Parish Council.

He was a Councillor for Rastrick Ward.

He was elected Conservative MP for Calder Valley [2010].

See Spring Villa, Brighouse

Whittaker, DrRef W179
[17??-18??] Published a history of the district in the 1800s

Whittaker Dyke Bridge, ColdenRef W2320
A new foot bridge over the brook was opened on 23rd January 1909

Whittaker, ElyRef W317
[1812-1???] Born in Sowerby.

He was a lock keeper [1861].

He married Dorothy [1810-1???].

Children:

  1. Mary Travis [1836-1893]
  2. James Travis
  3. Emma [1849-1937] who was a throstle doffer [1861]

The family lived at Gauxholme lock-house [1861]

Whittaker, J.Ref W1687
[18??-18??] Fruiterer at Halifax.

In June 1862, he was declared bankrupt

Whittaker, James TravisRef W394
[1842-1895] MD.

Son of Ely Whittaker.

He was a polymath with a wide range of interests / a school master at Waterside Factory School [1861] / a school teacher at Lumbutts Factory School.

He designed and installed the Lumbutts sun-dial opposite the school room.

He was also active in the Unitarian Sunday School.

He never married.

Around 1865, he left Lumbutts, and went to Glasgow where he studied medicine and surgery at the University (whilst teaching at elementary school during the daytime). He qualified as a doctor and worked in public institutions before going into private practice in Glasgow.

He moved to Tillicoultry, near Stirling, and then to London.

He died of acute bronchitis, in Kilburn, London

Whittaker, JohnRef W149
[1847-1905] Born in Burnley. Established John Whittaker & Sons (Kingston) Limited around 1900.

He lived at 17 Lord Street, Halifax [1905].

He died at Round Hill, Hackforth

Whittaker, John HenryRef W636
[1???-19??] JP.

He was Mayor of Todmorden [1931-1932]

Whittaker's: John Whittaker & Sons (Kingston) LimitedRef W505
Aka Whittaker's Biscuits.

Biscuit and cake manufacturers at Kingston Biscuit Factory, Halifax. Established by John Whittaker.

In 1892, their stationery described them as

Biscuit Manufacturers by Patent Machinery & Ovens

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

John Whittaker & Sons
Rich Cake and Biscuit Manufacturers
Steam Bakeries, Lord Street, Halifax

The business became Scribbans-Kemp Limited.

See Ebenezer Biscuit Works, Halifax, Kingston Biscuit Factory, Halifax, Kingston Confectionery Works, Halifax, Kingston Toffee Mills, Halifax and Arthur Llewellyn Whittaker

Whittaker, Kathleen MaryRef W2095
[1910-2001] Younger daughter of Arthur Llewellyn Whittaker.

She married John Hartley Denham.

They lived at Kingston, Lightcliffe which had been built for Kathleen Mary

Whittaker, MauriceRef W741
[18??-1918] Born in Halifax.

He lived in Lutterworth.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion Lincolnshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [15th April 1918].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Whittell & LawfordRef W463
Woollen manufacturers at Stainland.

Partners included Sarah Whittell, John Whittell, Joseph Whittell and Frederick Lawford.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1853

Whittell, BenjaminRef W2636
[1???-1841] On 3rd July 1841,
As Mr. B. WHITTELL, jun. fancy-manufacturer, Stainland, near Halifax, was walking home from Manchester market Saturday week, he was shot dead through the head near Littleborough Railway Station, by some villain, who robbed him of 95 Pounds

Whittell BrothersRef W2540
The brothers Joseph Whittell, William Whittell, and Mr Whittell were in partnership with William Shepherd as paper-makers at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth.

The partnership was dissolved in 1820

Whittell, EdmundRef W817
[15??-16??] In 1586, he is recorded as owning land in Elland.

He lived at Whitwell Place, Elland.

He married Margaret.

Children:

  1. Robert

Whittell, J.Ref W1712
[18??-19??] Woollen manufacturer at Stainland.

In April 1883, he was declared bankrupt

Whittell, James ShawRef W550
[1878-1964] Born in Huddersfield.

Headmaster of St Mary's Church of England School, Luddendenfoot [1st January 1909-29th May 1914].

He died in Huddersfield

Whittell, JohnRef W820
[15??-1632] Son of Robert Whittell.

He lived at Marshall Hall, Elland in 1628

Whittell, JohnRef W285
[16??-17??] He lived at Marshall Hall, Elland [1697].

He was one of the electorate of 59 people when Jeremy Bentley was elected first MP for Halifax in 1654$1

Whittell, JosephRef W2160
[1???-18??] Landlord of the Bull & Dog, Stainland [1822, 1834].

He was in partnership with his brothers – and William Shepherd as paper-makers at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth [1816], but this was dissolved in 1820

Whittell, MrRef W2541
[17??-18??] He was in partnership with his brothers – and William Shepherd as paper-makers at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth [1816], but this was dissolved in 1820

Whittell Place, EllandRef W771

Whittell, RobertRef W818
[15??-1631] Son of Edmund Whittell.

On 10th July 1593, he married Susan Farrer.

Children:

  1. Robert [15??-1632]
  2. John

The family lived at Whittell Place. Father and sons died within a year of each other

Whittell, WilliamRef W2539
[17??-18??] He was in partnership with his brothers and William Shepherd as paper-makers at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth [1816], but this was dissolved in 1820

Whittell, WilliamRef W965
[1764-1836] Of Beestonley Lane, Stainland.

He married Mary [1769-1844].

William died 1st August 1836 (aged 72).

Mary died 6th June 1844 (aged 75).

The couple were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Whittemore, GeorgeRef W896
[1883-19??] He was painter & paperhanger [1911].

In [Q4] 1910, he married Venus Ealham in Halifax.


Venus was the daughter of
John Robert Ealham
 

Whittingham, ThomasRef W859
[1862-1937] Born in Salford.

He was landlord of the Cragg Vale Inn, Erringden [1901, 1905, 1911].

In 1900, he married Sarah Alice Drury [1875-1???] in Halifax.


Sarah Alice was born in Sheffield.

She had a son: Harold D. [b 1898]; father unknown

 

Children:

  1. Clarence [b 1901]
  2. Samuel [b 1905]
  3. John [1907-1912] who was buried with his father
  4. George [1910-1931] who died at the Horse & Jockey, Elland, and was buried with his father

Thomas died in Cragg Vale [2nd December 1937].

Thomas & his sons were buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale

Whittington, Rev Richard PiersRef W601
[18??-1948] MA.

Born in Thornhill-Lees, Yorkshire.

He was Curate at Halifax [1901] / Vicar of Heptonstall [1902-1907] / Vicar of Lightcliffe [1907] / Vicar of Brighouse [November 1911-1916].

He claimed descent from Dick Whittington, Lord Mayor of London.

In 1915, he was appointed Vicar of Penistone. He went on to become Honorary Canon of Wakefield, Prebendary of York Minster, and Canon Emeritus.

In 1908, he married Ethel Mary Watkinson.


Ethel Mary was the daughter of George Watkinson and sister of Canon George Watkinson
 

He died at Charmouth, Dorset [23rd January 1948]

Whittle, BenjaminRef W1056
[1???-1841] Manufacturer of Stainland.

On 26th June 1841, he was murdered at Barkisland. A reward of £100 was offered for the apprehension of Joseph Barrit [aged between 28 and 30] who has been in the habit of travelling about the country hawking woollen cloth

Whittle, BenjaminRef W2846
[1841-1892] Or Whittell.

He was an ironmonger [1871] / innkeeper at the Turk's Head, Halifax [1881] / innkeeper at the Victoria Hotel, Strangeways, Manchester [1891].

On 31st October 1865, he married Hannah Maria, daughter of John Bradley at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

  1. Louisa [1869-1874]
  2. Harriet Annie [b 1871]
  3. Harry [b 1875]
  4. Elizabeth [b 1878]

In 1871, the family were living with Hannah Maria's father John Bradley, at Slitheroe House, Rishworth.

He died at the Victoria Hotel, Strangeways, Manchester

Whittles, John WilliamRef W5310
[18??-19??] Of Whittles Coal Merchants, Rastrick.

In [Q3] 1918, he married Lily in Halifax.


Lily was the widow of Percy Fewster Kendall
 

Whitton, Rev J.Ref W2303
[18??-1???] Pastor at Ebenezer Congregational Church, Summit [1891]

Whitton, JohnRef W315
[1851-1???] Landlord of the Woolpack, Halifax [1891]

Whitton, Rev JoshuaRef W364
[1???-1674] Or Witton. MA. A Presbyterian. He was born at Sowerby. He was godfather to Archbishop Tillotson. He became chaplain to Lord Ferdinando Fairfax. He became rector of Thornhill and was ejected

Whitwam, Belina CatherineRef W467
[18??-1???] A pupil of Mrs Sunderland.

She appeared alongside Mrs Sunderland on

Her name is often written Whitham

Whitwam, DavidRef W665
[1848-1907] Landlord of the Bay Horse, Stainland [1902-1907].

He married Rebecca [1855-1913].

David died at the Bay Horse [Q1 1907] (aged 58).

Rebecca took over at the Bay Horse [1907].

Rebecca died Q4 1913 (aged 59) 

Whitwam, H.Ref W2327
[18??-19??] Aka Whitwam's Bazaars. Dealer in smallware, hardware, earthenware, stationery and fancy goods.

In 1916, he was at Arcade Royale, Halifax, 75 King Cross, Halifax, Jubilee Buildings, Sowerby Bridge, 39 Southgate, Elland, and 16 Bridge Gate, Hebden Bridge

Whitwam, JesseRef W867
[1850-1926] Son of Joseph Whitwam

Born in Longwood.

He was a cloth finisher [1891, 1901, 1911] / a Deacon at Blackley Baptist Chapel [1911].

Around 1874, he married Mary [1851-1???].


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Fred [b 1874] who was a woollen piecer [1891] who was a cleaner in woollen mill [1901]
  2. Harry [b 1878] who was a woollen piecer [1891] who was a wine & spirit merchant's clerk [1901]
  3. Marian Blanche [b 1882] who was a woollen weaver [1901, 1911]
  4. Minnie Laura [b 1884] who was a worsted machine minder [1901]
  5. Ada Lily [b 1888] who was a worsted spinner [1901], a woollen weaver [1911]

The family lived at

  • 20 South Lane, Elland [1891]
  • 32 South Lane, Elland [1901, 1911]

Jesse died Q1 1926 (aged 75).

Whitwam, JosephRef W9000
[1828-19??] Son of Joseph Whitwam.

Born in Golcar.

He was a woollen hand loom weaver [1851] / a Deacon at Blackley Baptist Chapel / a Past Deacon [1911].

On 17th September 1848, he married Eliza Birkhead [1829-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Eliza was born in Elland, the daughter of Isaac Birkhead
 

Children:

  1. Jesse

The family lived at Blackley [1851]

Whitwam, SamuelRef W937
[1853-1934] Born at Sowood Hill, Stainland.

He was a foreman finisher of worsted coatings [1881] / a foreman woollen finisher [1901] / a foreman cloth finisher [1911].

In [Q1] 1879, he married Sarah Elizabeth Haigh [1853-1931] in Halifax.


Sarah Elizabeth was born in Stainland
 

Children:

  1. Alice [b 1880] who was a woollen weaver [1901], a woollen cloth weaver [1911]
  2. Edith [b 1886] who was a worsted spinner [1901], a woollen cloth weaver [1911]
  3. Elsie Elizabeth [1892-21st August 1938] who was a woollen yarn reeler [1911]

The family lived at Cold Wells Hill, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1881, 1901, 1911].

Sarah Elizabeth died 10th March 1931 (aged 78).

Samuel died 18th June 1934 (aged 81).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Whitwell Place, EllandRef W45
House aka Whittell Place.

The porch is dated 1708 and a datestone in the yard is inscribed D T W C 1719.

There is a large sundial over the doorway.

Owners and tenants have included

See Elland Floral & Horticultural Society

Whitworth...Ref W67
The entries for people & families with the surname Whitworth are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Whitworth, Ashforth & AshforthRef W1679
Fustian manufacturers at Watson Mill, Sowerby Bridge around 1805. Partners included William Whitworth

Whitworth's: John & William WhitworthRef W1793
Worsted spinners and manufacturers at Lee Mill, Halifax [1845]. Both partners lived at St James's Road, Halifax [1845].

Around 1850, they moved to Luddendenfoot and occupied Cooper House Mill and then Old Boy Mill which they rebuilt in 1858. In 1862, they built Wood Bottom Dye Works.

There move to Luddendenfoot led to considerable expansion in housing in the area

Whitworth's: Joseph W. Whitworth LimitedRef W1618
Cotton manufacturers established by Joseph W. Whitworth.

They were at Longbottom Mills, Luddendenfoot [1905] which Joseph had bought from his uncle William.

In 1920, Dr John Appleyard sold Magson House, Luddendenfoot to the Whitworths

Whitworth's: Robert Whitworth & CompanyRef W1466
Woollen and worsted spinners and manufacturers at Luddendenfoot.

See Mitchell's School, Sowerby

Whitworths & IllingworthRef W79
Worsted spinners at Halifax.

Partners included Robert Whitworth, John Whitworth, William Whitworth and William Illingworth.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1843

Whole Stone MoorRef W174
Aka Holy Stone Moor or Hole Stone Moor. Moorland above Barkisland which may have been used in prehistoric times

Whone, DennisRef W411
[1868-1934] Born in Micklethwaite

He was a boot maker [1899].

In 1899, he married Martha Greenroyd in Keighley.


Martha was the daughter of
John Greenroyd
 

Children:

  1. Hartley [1900-1962]

Dennis & Martha died in Bingley: Dennis [1934]; Martha [9th March 1937]

Whorlow, Rev AlfredRef W1979
[18??-19??] BA.

He was educated at Corpus Christi College Cambridge and ordained at Brighouse [1892] before becoming Deacon of St Mary's, Halifax [1892]

Whyment, ElizabethRef W840
[1830-1870] (Possibly) daughter of William Whyment.

She died 7th January 1870 (aged 40) 

She was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1702] with Ellen Wilson

Whyment, WilliamRef W777
[1805-1878] Born in Great Bowden, Northamptonshire.

He was a carpet weaver (power) [1851] / a warehouseman [1871].

He married Phoebe [1806-1872].


Phoebe was born in Weston, Northamptonshire.

She was a schoolmistress [1851]

 

Children:

  1. (possibly) Elizabeth [1830-7th January 1870]
  2. William [1830-26th May 1843] who was buried with his parents
  3. Charles who died 28th June 1831 (aged 9 months), & was buried with his parents
  4. George [b 1840]
  5. Joseph who died 19th September 1840 (aged 3 years), & was buried with his parents
  6. Lucy Ann [b 1845] who was a carpet setter [1871]
  7. Mary [b 1847] who was a domestic servant [1871]
  8. Joseph [1842-24th October 1857] who was buried with his parents

The family lived at

  • 8 Health Street, Halifax [1851]
  • Health Street, Halifax [1871]
  • Keighley [1878]

Phoebe died 21st March 1872 (aged 66).

William died 12th January 1878 (aged 72).

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1701].

Elizabeth were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1702] with Ellen Wilson [1849-21st November 1870]

Whytock, RichardRef W186
[1792-18??] Invented a technique for printing a design on textiles and carpets which was subsequently exploited by Crossley's Carpets

Wicken Clough, Hebden BridgeRef W8700

Wicken Clough, RippondenRef W544
A Mesolithic site

Wicken Hill Earth Circle, WadsworthRef W2151
Bronze Age circle about 130 ft in diameter. Excavations in 1897 found fragments of human bone

Wicken Hill Farm, Hebden BridgeRef W143
Height Road. Early 18th century house

Wickenberry Clough, TodmordenRef W403
The Helliwell family of Todmorden had a small water-powered wool carding and drawing factory at their Greenhurst Hey Mill here

Wickenbury Cottage, TodmordenRef W2557
Broad Gate. Late 18th century house. Now 2 dwellings: Latchford Cottage and Wickenbury Cottage

Wickham'sRef W1877
Machine tool makers at Crown Works, Halifax. They closed in 1981

Wickham, Henry WickhamRef W590
[1800-1867] JP, DL.

He was a tenant of Kirklees Hall [1844, 1850] / a partner in Low Moor Iron Company, Norwood Green / Conservative MP for Bradford [1852-1867].

He helped raise money for the construction of a church in Clifton

Wickham, LamplughRef W719
[17??-18??] JP.

A tenant of Holme House, Lightcliffe

Wickman LimitedRef W1878
Coventry machine-tool company who acquired several local companies, including

See Kitchen & Walker and John Stirk & Sons Limited

Widdison, JohnRef W2022
[1860-1943] Master at Stainland Board School.

In February 1885, Miss Augusta Annie Lewis, aged 26, of Barnsley, sued him for breach of promise. The jury awarded Miss Lewis £160 damages

Widdop...Ref W1
The entries for people & families with the surname Widdop are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

WiddopRef W133
District of west Calderdale, which has yielded many Neolithic tools.

It stands about 1220 ft above sea-level.

The name is derived from the wide and hope or op [a shallow shelf or valley] and probably means a wide valley.

Wesley's Pulpit, a rock where John Wesley preached, is inscribed JW 1766

See Rocking Pig Rock and Widdop Moor

Widdop & FarrarRef W2028
Card makers at Brighouse.

Partners included William W. Widdop, John Farrar and Joseph Farrar.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1858

Widdop China Tea MartRef W1156
Hebden Bridge tea-dealers and grocers of the 19th century

Widdop Gate Hostel, HeptonstallRef W2097
In 1950, Henry Mitchell Ingham left this and other property at Hardcastle Crags to the National Trust.

From 1957, the building was used by the 16th Bradford Scouts – the Clayton Diehards – as a scout hostel. In 2009, when the Scouts could not afford the upkeep on the building, the National Trust submitted proposals to convert it into housing

Widdop's: George Widdop & CompanyRef W1681
Cotton spinners at Hudson's Mill, Heptonstall. Partners included George Widdop William Sutcliffe and Michael Heaton. The partnership was dissolved in 1799

Widdop MoorRef W473
Moorland at Widdop

See Rushy Clough, Widdop Moor

Widdop ReservoirRef W552
On Widdop Stream, above Heptonstall.

The reservoir was designed by J. F. Bateman for Halifax Corporation to provide a water supply from Widdop to Halifax, 8 miles away.

See Clubbers, Greave Clough, Hebden Bridge, Navvyopolis, Old Traveller's Rest, Widdop, Pisser Clough, Hebden Bridge and Wadsworth Moor

Widdop WaterRef W1247
Aka Widdop Stream. Stream which feeds Widdop Reservoir

Widdows, Rev KitRef W1265
[1946-2007] Born in Bradford. He studied theology at Cambridge University before moving to Halifax.

He was Vicar of St Hilda's Church for 15 years in the 1980s and 1990s.

He was Rural Dean of Halifax / Chairman of Calderdale Social Democrat party / Vice-chairman of the governors at Crossley-Heath School / Chairman at Warley Road Primary. He was instrumental in the formation of Calderdale Churches Partnership.

He moved to take up a post in Newcastle.

In December 2007, he collapsed while giving a speech at a Newcastle church and died on the way to hospital

Widdowson, WalterRef W2131
[1838-1930] Born in Ratcliffe-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire.

He was a master saddler and harness-maker at Northgate, Halifax [1881]. He was retired in 1901.

In 1877, he married Betsy Leedham, from Ovenden, in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Ernest Leedham [b 1878]
  2. Mary Jane [b 1885]

The family lived at

Widdup, George WilliamRef W1465
[18??-19??] Brewer and bottler at Gauxholme [1905]

Widdup, JohnRef W432
[1793-1860] Born in Wadsworth.

He was landlord of the Lord Nelson, Midgley [1842, 1851].

He married Mary [1805-1863]


Mary was born in Midgley
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth [b 1842]
  2. John [b 1843]

John died in 1861.

Mary took over at the Lord Nelson [18961]

Mary died Q2 1863.

Son John took over at the Lord Nelson [1866]

Widdup, JohnRef W1051
[1850-1902]

On 30th September 1880, he married Grace at Halifax Parish Church.


Grace was the widow of
James Uttley
 

John took over as landlord of the Station House, Eastwood [1880-1902].

Grace died 13th February 1886.

Probate records show that she left a personal estate valued at £115.

Administration was granted to John.

On 29th October 1891, John married Annie Elizabeth Pickup [1859-1938] at Halifax Parish Church.

John died 26th May 1902.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £385.

Probate was granted to his widow Annie Elizabeth

They were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone: Grace [18th February 1886]; John [29th May 1902]

Widdup, John RobertRef W889
[1897-1918] Son of Mrs M. E. Widdup of 876 Burnley Road, Cornholme.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a member of the Cornholme United Methodist Free Church / educated at Cornholme Council School / employed as a coalman by his father.

He lived at 20 Jubilee Terrace, Burnley Road, Portsmouth, Todmorden.

During World War I, he enlisted [September 1916], and he served as a Guardsman with the 4th Battalion Grenadier Guards.

He was killed in action [16th April 1918] (aged 20).

He was buried at Hazebrouck Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref III E 12]. He is remembered in Shore General Baptist Church, Graveyard, on Todmorden War Memorial, and on Cornholme War Memorial

Widdup, SamuelRef W430
[1805-1???] Born in Norland.

He was a stone mason [1851].

He married Mary [1801-1???].

Children:

  1. William [b 1827] who was a cloth fuller [1851]
  2. son Har? [b 1831] who was a woollen spinner [1851]
  3. Thomas [b 1831] who was a woollen feeder [1851]
  4. daughter H? [b 1835] who was a winder [1851]
  5. Joseph [b 1839] who was a piecener [1851]
  6. Benjamin [b 1841]
  7. Eli [b 1845]
  8. Robert [b 1847]

The family lived at Sowerby Croft, Norland [1851]

Widdup, WilfredRef W354
[1888-1917] He married Agnes Robina Hollis in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 11th August 1917 (aged 29).

He was buried at Dozinghem Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref III D 15].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Widows' Repose LodgeRef W800
(Bolton Unity of Oddfellows).

Recorded on 16th March 1889, when they held their annual meeting at the Stannary Inn, Halifax

Wiggins, JohnRef W6310
[16??-17??] Curate at Cross Stone [1722]

Wigglesworth & ParkerRef W1975
Halifax solicitors. From 1823 to 1826, James Wigglesworth and Robert Parker were in partnership.

See Finn Gledhill & Company

Wigglesworth & SutcliffeRef W6380
Woolstapler at Cheapside, Halifax [1834]

Wigglesworth & ThompsonRef W1662
Law firm established by James Wigglesworth and James Thompson. They were at Square, Halifax [1809].

See Thomas Adam and Finn Gledhill & Company

Wigglesworth, JamesRef W80
[1759-1826] Halifax solicitor.

Son of James Wigglesworth of Townhead, Slaidburn.

From 1776, he was articled to Robert Parker for 5 years, and was his managing clerk from 1781 to 1785. He practised as an attorney from 1785 to 1826, and purchased the practice of Robert Parker on his death in 1796. He was in partnership with James Thompson from 1798 to 1815, and with James Stansfeld from 1815 to 1824, as Thompson, Wigglesworth & Stansfeld. He was with Robert Parker from 1823 to 1826, as Wigglesworth & Parker.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. James [1788-1793]

He lived at Number 6, The Square and had offices there.

He died 20th November 1826 [aged 67]. He was buried in Halifax Parish Church.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

See Finn Gledhill & Company

Wigglesworth, Peter HargreavesRef W929
[1858-19??] Born in Skipton.

He was a traveller of Salterhebble, Skircoat [1888] / a carter [1891] / a cart driver for factory [1901] / a driver for carpet manufacturer [1911].

He married (1) Unknown.

In [Q1] 1888, he married (2) Eliza Ellacott [1858-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


On the marriage documents, Peter is shown as Wigglisworth, and his father is not recorded
 


Eliza, of Crown Street, Halifax, was born in Devon, the daughter of Albert Ellacott, farmer
 

Children:

  1. Polly Hargreaves [b 1888] who was a cotton spinner [1901], a coating weaver [1911], & married [Halifax Q3 1915] Roger H. Ayrton
  2. Elizabeth Hargreave [1890-1966] who was a worsted winder [1911], & never married
  3. Thomas Hargreaves

The family lived at

  • 4 Sykes Terrace, Ovenden [1891]
  • 9 Crossleys Buildings, Shroggs Road, Halifax [1901]
  • 49 Corporation Street, Halifax [1911]

Wigglesworth, Thomas HargreavesRef W936
[1892-19??] MM.

Son of Peter Hargreaves Wigglesworth.

He was a carpet warehouseman [1911] / employed in the packing department of Crossley's.

During World War I, he enlisted [1st May 1916], and served as a Signaller with the 4th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment.

He went to France [24th October 1917]. He was awarded the Military Medal [1918]


which he earned in a stunt when he had to take the village of Salemme, France
 

His photograph appears with a report of his award in the Halifax Courier [14th December 1918] which also noted that he had been in very heavy fighting in France, though he has never been wounded and had no illness

Wightman, Rev Walter BuchananRef W434

Wightman, Dr WilliamRef W335
[1817-1879] MD, JP.

He was a member of Halifax Town Council [1860-1871] / Mayor of Halifax [1865-1866].

He married (1) Elizabeth [1829-1863].


Elizabeth was from Todmorden
 

Children:

  1. Amy Olivia [1861-1937] who married Rev Walter Buchanan Gegg

On 20th August 1868, he married (2) Frances Freeman [1829-1890] at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.


Frances was the daughter of Samuel Freeman
 

They lived at Birks Royd, Southowram.

William died 29th January 1879.

Frances died at Putford Rectory, North Devon [19th May 1890] (aged 60).

She was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: F-R1].

Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £9,532 13/5d to her stepdaughter Amy & Walter Freeman

Wignall, JohnRef W804
[1865-1914] Born in Keighley.

He came to Halifax in 1884.

He was a prominent Methodist worker in Halifax [1884] / an assistant with Edmunds & Hookway / a commercial traveller for Skelton's of Sheffield / a member of the Halifax branch of the UK Commercial Travellers' Association / Chairman of the Halifax branch of the Commercial Travellers' Temperance League.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. daughter
  2. daughter
  3. daughter
  4. son

They lived at

  • 3 Kingsley Place, Halifax [1914]

He died Q2 1914 (aged 49) 

Wignall, William WilsonRef W331
[18??-19??] Son of J. Wignall of Kirk Stile, Linton near Skipton.

In August 1906, he married Alice Wilkinson at Hanover Chapel, Halifax.


Alice was the youngest daughter of Amos Wilkinson of 27 West View, Halifax
 

They lived at Oak Lea, Fagley Road, Undercliffe

The Wigney FamilyRef W632

Wigney, JamesRef W644
[1707-1762] Son of Mr Wigney.

He married Alice Ryley [1711-1762]


Alice Ryley (or Riley) came from Soyland
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. James

Wigney, JamesRef W660
[1739-1813] Son of James Wigney.

He married Hannah Gledhill [1743-1810].

Children:

  1. James

Wigney, JohnRef W638
[1731-1???] A woolcomber of Skircoat.

He married Martha Bates [1734-1790].

Children:

  1. John
  2. William

Wigney, JohnRef W2796
[1754-1???] Of Skircoat.

Son of John Wigney.

He was a farmer / a publican.

He married Tabitha Jennings Children:

  1. William
  2. Alice [17??-1846] who married George Otto Cronhelm
  3. Elizabeth [1794-1846] who married Frederick William Cronhelm

This branch of the family moved to Huddersfield

Wigney, MrRef W649
[16??-17??]

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Thomas [b 1710]
  2. James Wigney
  3. George [b 1712]

Wigney, Thomas JenningsRef W664
[1812-1???] Son of William Wigney.

He was a surgeon / a publican in Huddersfield.

He married Elizabeth North

Wigney, WilliamRef W634
[1756-1836] Son of John Wigney.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was an entrepreneur / a banker.

He married Ann Killick [1760-1859].

This branch of the family moved to Brighton, Sussex

Wigney, WilliamRef W661
[1784-1861] Son of John Wigney.

He was a publican in Huddersfield.

He married Anne Townsend [1789-18??].

Children:

  1. Thomas Jennings

Wigzell, EustaceRef W681
[1???-18??]

He married Elizabeth [1???-18??].

Children:

  1. Eliza [b 1820]
  2. Eustace
  3. Louisa Caroline [b 1828]
  4. Atwood [b 1830]
  5. Montague [b 1832]

Wigzell, EustaceRef W224
[1822-1899] Son of Eustace Wigzell.

Born in Greenwich.

When he was 12 years old, he won a prize from the Greenwich Observatory for the best design for the ball which signalled the time; his design was adopted.

He became a marine engineer, and engineer to the Russian government engineering works at Ekaterinberg.

In 1841, he was living with his family at Mornington Place, Camberwell Road, Camberwell.

In 1854, he returned to England to secure a plant for the production of iron for railway bars.

In 1871, he was a mechanical engineer, living in Warley.

In 1881, he was an engineer (E & M), living at Beech Road, Warley.

In 1891, he was a steam engine maker living at the Royal Hotel, Promenade, N. Moels, Wales.

The Crimean War broke out and he did not return to Russia. He returned to John Penn & Sons, Greenwich and he supervised the construction and trials of two-thirds of the navies of the world.

In 1865, he became a partner with Joseph Pollit in Pollit & Wigzell.

He lived at Beech House, Sowerby Bridge.

Eustace died 2nd October 1899 (aged 77).

He was cremated in Manchester.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £7,335 4/4d.

Probate was granted to Elizabeth Mansell and Edward Ernest Pollit.

There is a memorial at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge, next to that of Edward Ernest Pollit and his wife Elizabeth

WikeRef W742

Wilbefort'sRef W51
Rainwear and outdoor-wear retailers at Halifax. Their shop stood on Southgate north of the entrance to Albany Arcade.

In 198?, the business moved into the old Shaw Hardcastle premises at Old Market.

The Southgate premises has since had a number of occupants

Wilberforce, WilliamRef W941
[1759-1833] Reformer and anti-slavery campaigner.

In 1784, he was MP for Yorkshire.

In February 1806, he visited the district and stayed with John Edwards at Pye Nest. He addressed a crowd at the Piece Hall

Wilby, Rev G. S.Ref W1072
[19??-19??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1954]. In 1954, he was appointed vicar of Woolley

Wilby, PhilipRef W94
[1949-] Composer.

Born in Pontefract. He lives in Halifax.

He was a violinist in the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, at Covent Garden, and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

He is Principal Lecturer in Composition at the University of Leeds.

He has written much music for wind instruments and brass bands.

His work includes music for the Choir of St Paul's Cathedral, music for the Norwich Festival of Contemporary Church Music [1992], The Cry of Iona for the BBC2 [1992], his second symphony Voyaging for the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra [April 1993], Partita for the Fine Arts Brass Ensemble [August 1993], An Imagined Fable for the Athelas Ensemble [October 1993], a Percussion Concerto for the English Northern Philharmonia and Yorkshire Youth and Music [November 1993], Northern Lights a ballet, and incidental music for television

Wilby, RobertRef W1538
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Rastrick [1857]

Wilby, Rev WendyRef W44
[1949-] The first female Vicar of Halifax [2001-2006].

She comes from Middlesex and was a freelance musician before being ordained as a deacon in 1990. She was ordained as a priest at Ripon in 1994. Before coming to Halifax in 2001, she was a parish deacon, a curate at St Peter's, Harrogate, chaplain to Harrogate Theatre and Priest-in-Charge at St James's Church, Birstwith, in Nidderdale. She left Halifax to be canon precentor at Bristol Cathedral.

Her husband, Philip, was the church's musical director and choirmaster at Halifax Parish Church. He is a composer and professor in music at Leeds University. He is the conductor of Hebden Bridge Band, and had a long association with Black Dike Band, Queensbury

Wilby, William WallaceRef W8440
[1836-1895] He married Ruth [1839-1882].

The couple were buried at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top

Wilcock...Ref W157
The entries for people & families with the surname Wilcock are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wilcock & MallinsonRef W2024
Worsted spinners at Brighouse. Partners included George Wilcock and John Mallinson.

In August 1839, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Wilcock's: James Wilcock & SonRef W1654
Cotton fustian manufacturer at Square Mill, Mytholmroyd [1860s]

Wilcock's: John Wilcock & SonsRef W1656
They had business at Wadsworth.

There was a fire at their works on 13th August 1873

Wilcock Patent Cord & Calico Manufacturing Company LimitedRef W1612
Fustian manufacturers established by John and William Wilcock at Pecket Well Mill. They employed about 250 workers [1860s]

Wilcox, John HenryRef W695
[1892-1916] Son of Joseph Wilcox.

Born in Ruskington, Lincolnshire.

He was a driver for Hanson & Son, Southgate, Halifax [1911].

He was living with his aunt Mary Ann Walker [1911].

He enlisted with the 2nd West Riding Brigade Royal Field Artillery [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Field Artillery.

He died of influenza in hospital at the Western Front [31st January 1916] (aged 24).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [12th February 1916].

He was buried at Bollezeele Communal Cemetery, France [Grave Ref 5].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Wilcox, JosephRef W696
[1863-19??] From Lincolnshire.

He was a builder's labourer [1901].

In 1890, he married Elizabeth [1869-1???] in Sleaford.

Children:

  1. John Henry who was living in Halifax with his aunt Mary Ann Walker [1911]
  2. Lucy [b 1893]
  3. Robert [b 1895]

The children were born in Ruskington

The family lived at High Street North, Ruskington, Sleaford, Lincolnshire [1901]

Wild...Ref W847
The entries for people & families with the surname Wild are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wild & CrossleyRef W470
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden. Partners included W. Wild and S. Crossley.

In April 1862, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Wild's: R. Wild LimitedRef W1646
A subsidiary of Marshall's (Halifax) Limited

Wild Rose Heritage & ArtsRef W438
An oral history and heritage project established by a community group in Hebden Bridge.

Their website presents a collection of photographs and interviews of local interest

Wild's Theatre, HalifaxRef W710
A 19th century entertainment held at Ward's End to celebrate the Feast of St John the Baptist

Wildblood, Rev CharlesRef W1229
[1854-1931] He was Minister at Wesley's Chapel, Halifax / Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax [1900-1903] and at Pellon Wesleyan Church [1903-1906].

In 1906, he moved to Buxton Road, Huddersfield

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. William Arthur Wildblood

Wildblood, William ArthurRef W472
[1889-1917] MA.

Son of Rev Charles Wildblood.

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School [until 1904] / a master at Huddersfield Municipal Secondary School / a cricket player in Huddersfield.

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant with the 195th Company Army Service Corps.

He died 16th June 1917.

He was buried at Reninghelst New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref II E 26].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Halifax Secondary School

Wilde, AlbertRef W801
[1897-1918] Son of Arthur Wilde.

Born at Upper Deerplay, Triangle [27th July 1896].

Baptised at St Peter's Church, Sowerby [13th September 1896].

He was a member of the Choir of St Mary's Church, Cottonstones / a cotton piecer [1911] / a cotton twiner at W. & R. K. Lee Limited at Kebroyd Mills.

He lived with his parents at 5 Bank Buildings, Triangle [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [1st November 1915], and served as a Private with the 100th Field Ambulance Royal Army Medical Corps.

After 6 months' training, he was sent to France. He was gassed & wounded.

He died of wounds in No.9 General Hospital, Rouen, France. [18th March 1918] (aged 21) 

He was buried at St. Sever Cemetery Extension, Rouen, France [Grave Ref P VI D 1B].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby, on the Memorial at Saint Mary's Church, Cottonstones, and on the W. & R. K. Lee Limited Roll of Honour.

He and Lewis Grummett were comrades; they joined up together, both were wounded & gassed by the same shell, and died on the same day in Rouen

Wilde, Alfred AnthonyRef W9580
[1849-1933] Born in Sowerby / Norland.

He was a cabinet maker [1901].

He married (1) Sarah [1846-1901].

Children:

  1. Ann [b 1872] who was a domestic [1901]
  2. Florence [b 1874] who was a cotton reeler [1901]
  3. Helena [b 1877] who was a cotton winder [1901]
  4. Priscilla [b 1881] who was a cotton worker [1901]
  5. Alice [b 1884] who was a cotton reeler [1901]
  6. Harold [b 1886] who was an apprentice iron moulder [1901]
  7. Irvine [b 1889] who was a cotton twiner piecer [1901]

On 20th January 1904, he married (2) Ann Winifred Hollas in Ripponden.


Ann Winifred was the daughter of
Peter Hollas
 

They had no children.

The family lived at Lion Cottage, Ripponden [1901]

Wilde, ArthurRef W815
[1872-19??] Son of Sidney Wilde, plasterer.

Born in Sowerby.

He was a farmer of Sowerby [1896] / a plasterer [1901, 1911].

In 1896, he married Edith Kershaw [1873-19??] at Christ Church, Pellon.


Edith, of Sowerby, daughter of Robert Kershaw, cloth presser
 

Children:

  1. Albert
  2. Harriet Berta [b 1898]
  3. Dorothy Alice [b 1902]
  4. Sidney Herbert [b 1904]
  5. Edward Victor [b 1906]
  6. Edith Mary [b 1911]

The family lived at

Wilde, ArthurRef W904
[1897-1917] Son of William Wilde.

He was a member of Thornfield United Free Methodist Church, Greetland / a member of Greetland Liberal Club / a member of Elland Pleasant Sunday Afternoon Society / a woollen mule piecer [1911] / employed by John Crabtree & Sons.

He lived at 25 Crescent, Greetland.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died from severe wounds in hospital in France [27th April 1917] (aged 20).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th May 1917].

He was buried at Duisans British Cemetery, Etrun, France [Grave Ref II M 16].

He is remembered on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland, and on the Memorial at Greetland Liberal Club

Wilde, Dorothy HalsteadRef W551
[1927-] Born in Halifax.

Headmistress of St Mary's Church of England School, Luddendenfoot [17th August 1959-20th December 1974]

Wilde, Edward BlackburnRef W48
[1869-1929] Son of Rev John Wilde.

He was a drapery salesman [1891]. He married Sarah Alice Taylor.


Sarah Alice / Alice was the daughter of Joseph Taylor

Her sister Mary married Edward's father

 

Children:

  1. Ethel Constance [1904-10th September 1938]

He died 12th May 1929 (aged 60).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland with Edward's father

Wilde, FredRef W849
[1849-1877] Son of John Wild, slater.

He was a spinner of Greetland [1871]

On 19th February 1871, he married Lucy Whipp [1849-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Lucy, of Greetland, was born in Sowerby / Soyland, the daughter of George Whipp, comber
 

In 1871, the couple were living at Fox Buildings, West Vale, with Fred's sister Eliza T. Wild [b 1843] (cotton reeler) & brother John W. Wild [b 1857].

Children:

  1. Rachel [b 1872] who was a cotton card room hand [1901], had an illegitimate son Fred, & married John Parr
  2. Betty [b 1875]
  3. Joseph [b 1881]
  4. Hannah Ramsden [b 1884] who was a cotton card room hand [1901]
  5. James Arthur Ramsden [b 1886] who was a cotton twiner piecer [1901]

The children were born in Greetland.

Fred died in Halifax in 1877 (aged 28).

Lucy was a cotton operative [1881] / a cotton card room hand [1901].


Son Joseph [b 1881] was illegitimate.

In 1891, Lucy & daughter Betty were boarders with John H. Ramsden.

Hannah Ramsden Wilde & James Arthur Ramsden Wilde are shown as children of John H. Ramsden, which suggests that they were also illegitimate

 

The family lived at

  • Lindwell, Greetland [1881, 1901]
  • 1 Lindwell, Greetland [1911]
Living with them [in 1901] was grandson Fred Wilde

Wilde, FredRef W894
[1889-1917] Son of Thomas Wilde.

Born in Heptonstall.

He was a fustian dyer's labourer at Midgehole Dye Works, Hebden Bridge [1911].

On 18th September 1909, he married Emily Goodyear [1890-19??] at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.


Emily was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Gladys [b 1910]
  2. Winifred [b 1911]

The family lived at Hebden Terrace, Midge Hole, Hebden Bridge [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [4th May 1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers).

On 7th August 1916, he received 16 separate injuries to his legs, but was back on duty in February 1917.

He died of wounds [20th April 1917] (aged 28).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [5th May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3], on the War Memorial at Heptonstall Octagonal Methodist Chapel, on the Memorial at Wainsgate Baptist Church, on the Memorial at Midgehole Working Men's Club, and on Wadsworth War Memorial.

His brother James also died in the War.

Emily married Mr Wilkinson.

They lived at 2 Bethel Terrace, Hebden Bridge

Wilde, FredRef W223
[1896-1918] Illegitimate son of Rachel Wilde.


Rachel was the daughter of
Fred Wilde.

In [Q2] 1902, she married John Parr

 

Born in Greetland [Q1 1896].

He was a cotton spinner piecer [1911] / employed by Norman Shaw & Company at Spa Field Mills, Elland.

In [Q4] 1917, he married Lily Maud Marshall [1895-1983] in Halifax.

They lived at

  • 19 Queen Street, West Vale
  • 8 Crest Place, Brighouse

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [1914], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by shellfire at the Battle of Lys [17th April 1918]

His photograph appears with reports of his story in the Halifax Courier [11th May, 18th May & 1st June 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 82-85 & 162A], on the Memorial at Clay House, Greetland, on the Memorial at Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale, and on the Memorial at Greetland Methodist Church

Wilde, IsraelRef W2832
[1???-1???] Of Ball Green, Sowerby.

Wilde, IsraelRef W617
[17??-1???] Of Deerplay, Sowerby. He was suspected of coining

Wilde, JamesRef W637
[1868-19??] Born in Barkisland.

He was a silk dresser [1911].

In [Q4] 1891, he married Lilly Hoyle [1867-19??] in Halifax.


Lilly was born in Norland
 

Children:

  1. Albert [b 1892] who was a general engineer [1911]
  2. Erwin [b 1895] who was a cotton twister [1911]

The family lived at 11 Kebroyd Bridge, Triangle [1911].

Living with them [in 1911] was James's siste Rose Wilde [b 1854] (silk winder) 

Wilde, James WilliamRef W892
[1879-1917] Son of Thomas Wilde.

Born in Heptonstall [13th Aug 1879].

He was a dyer [1911].

On 24th December 1898, he married Lesley Feather [1877-1937] at St John's Church, Ingrow & Hainworth, Yorkshire.


Lesley was born in Oakworth
 

Children:

  1. Craven Feather [1899-1979]
  2. John [1901-1966]
  3. Albert [1906-1975]

The family lived at

  • Duck Hill, Pecket Well [1911]
  • New Row, Pecket Well [1915]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 16th Battalion Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment).

He was killed in action [22nd October 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial, France [Grave Ref 3], on the War Memorial at Heptonstall Octagonal Methodist Chapel, and on Wadsworth War Memorial.

His brother Fred also died in the War

Wilde, JimmyRef W2399
[1892-1969] Aka The Mighty Atom. World flyweight boxing champion.

Born in Wales.

On 26th March 1934, he appeared at the Halifax Drill Hall

Wilde, JohnRef W957
[18??-18??] Around 1845, he ran a small school at Sowerby Bridge.

William Law may also have taught at the school

Wilde, Rev JohnRef W1374
[1838-1917] Born in Ashton under Lyne.

He trained at Airedale College and served at Burley-in-Wharfedale before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland for 34 years [1874-1908].

In [Q1] 1865, he married (1) Betsy/ Betty Blackburn [1835-1899] in Todmorden.


Betsy was born in Eastwood [28th June 1835]
 

Children:

  1. Hannah Horsfall [27th March 1866-14th October 1951]
  2. Florence Mayall [30th September 1867-10th February 1948] who was a kindergarten teacher [1891]
  3. Edward Blackburn
  4. Ethel Mary [1875-25th October 1952] who was a pupil-teacher [1891], an elementary school teacher [1911]

Betsy died 22nd December 1899.

In [Q3] 1908, he married (2) Mary Parkinson Taylor in Halifax (possibly at Providence Chapel).


Mary was the daughter of Joseph Taylor.

Mary's sister Sarah Alice married John's son Edward Blackburn Wilde

 

The family lived at

  • The Manse, Stainland-with Old Lindley [1911]
  • Stainland Road, West Vale (the sisters ) [1911]

John died 4th January 1917 (aged 78).

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland in a double plot with Joseph Taylor.

The sisters were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland in a separate grave

Wilde, KenRef W1013
[19??-2004] Farmer at Stott Hall Farm, Ripponden.

His resistance to a compulsory purchase order on the farm, resulted in the 2 carriageways of the M62 being constructed around the property

Wilde, Rev R. W.Ref W1022
[1???-19??] MA, BSc.

Lecturer in psychology. Minister at Todmorden Unitarian Church. In 1936, he wrote Health, Sickness & Psychology [publ OUP]

Wilde, SamRef W633
[1888-1918] Born in Cragg Vale.

He was a weaver.

In [Q2] 1915, he married Rachel Crabtree in Halifax.

They lived at 18 Tennyson Street, Lee Mount.

During World War I, he served as an Ordinary Seaman with the Royal Navy aboard HMS Vivid.

He died 23rd March 1918 (aged 29).

He was buried at Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel [Old Ground 11 31].

He is remembered on a memorial in St John in the Wilderness, Cragg Vale, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Wilde, Sarah JaneRef W918
[1878-1952] Daughter of Thomas Wilde.

She had 4 children out of wedlock:

  1. Archer Wilde [1899-1964]
  2. Harry Wilde [b 1903]
  3. Garnet Leslie Wilde [b 1904]
  4. Helena Wilde [b 1908]

In 1910, she married Thomas Roger Ashworth in Todmorden.

Thomas Roger was killed in World War I

Wilde's Theatre, BrighouseRef W277
Opened 18??.

Closed 1???

Wilde, ThomasRef W916
[18??-19??] Born in of Manchester.

He was a fustian dyer [1911].

He married Sarah [18??-19??].

Children:

  1. Mary Alice [b 1875]
  2. Sarah Jane
  3. James
  4. Archer [1880-1949]
  5. Edward [b 1883]
  6. Florence Annie [1884-1956]
  7. Fred

The children were born in Heptonstall.

The family lived at Hebden Terrace, Midge Hole, Hebden Bridge [1911].

Living with the widowed Thomas [in 1911] was son Fred & family

Sons James & Fred died in World War I

Wilde, WilliamRef W405
[1867-1935] Son of Joseph Wilde, cotton operative.

Born in Greetland.

He was a cotton operative of Greetland [1889] / a cotton carder [1891] / a scutcher (cotton) [1901] / a cotton bale breaker [1911].

In [Q1] 1889, he married Ellen Priestley [1865-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Ellen was born in Norland, the daughter of Thomas Priestley, dyer
 

Children:

  1. Ada [b 1895] who was a worsted winder [1911]
  2. Arthur
  3. Henry [b 1905]

The family lived at

  • Well Gate, Brandy Hole, Greetland [1891]
  • Brook's Buildings, Greetland [1901]
  • 70 Sunny Bank Road, Greetland [1911]
  • 33 Haigh Street, Greetland [1917, 1940]

William died in the Royal Halifax Infirmary [9th July 1935].

Ellen died at home [1st June 1940].

The couple were buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland

Wilde, WilliamRef W450
[1876-1949] Born in Luddenden.

He was a dairy farmer [1906].

In [Q4] 1906, he married Claudine Harwood in Halifax.


Claudine was the daughter of
Ashworth Harwood
 

Children:

  1. Jack [b 1907]
  2. Albert H. [b 1913]
  3. Hedley [b 1915]
  4. Edgar [b 1916]

The children were born in Luddenden

WildernessRef W49
Area between Upper Edge and Lower Edge, Elland

Wilding, Rev C.Ref W2025
[18??-18??] Curate at Parish Church of St Martin, Brighouse [1853]

Wilding, Rev DavidRef W842
[19??-] Vicar of St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [1979-1997].

His last service was Christmas Day 1997

Wilding, William HenryRef W138
[1886-1918]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 28th November 1918 (aged 32).

He was buried at Kasauli Cemetery, India [Grave Ref 4 13].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Wildsmith, Mrs BettyRef W324
[19??-2008] She was Mayor of Calderdale [1979-1980]

Wiley Accessories LimitedRef W1579
Of St Peg Mills, Brighouse

Wilford, Rev R. C.Ref W688
[1???-18??] Curate at St Anne's Church, Southowram.

In 1868, he left to become vicar at Lindley

Wilhelm, AugusteRef W1968
[1827-18??] He practised as a German quack doctor in Halifax.

In July 1853, he was charged at York Crown Court with

having used a certain instrument with the intention of procuring the abortion of Mary Fielding

At the trial, the instrument – a syringe – was said to have contained a liquid, like porter in appearance, and Wilhelm indicated that he used it to cure her of

a loathsome disease

from which Mary's acquaintance, Moore, was suffering. Wilhelm was acquitted

See Margaret Simpson

Wilkin Royd House, BrighouseRef W2420
Phoenix Street. 19th century building. It has Venetian windows and is a similar design to the Stott's Arms.

Owners and tenants have included

In 19??, the name was changed to Phoenix House.


Question: A portrait of Thomas Blackburn, seated at his desk, used to hang in Wilkin Royd House. It was amongst a number of paintings sold off in the 1940s.

Does anyone know where it is now?

Can you send me a photo of the work?

 

See Wilkin Royd Mill, Brighouse

Wilkins, SamuelRef W343
[18??-19??] He married Martha Ann Naylor


Martha Ann was the daughter of
James Naylor
 

After her father's death, the couple continued to farm at Shepherd House

Wilkinson'sRef W2451
General stores.

There are branches in Halifax and Brighouse [2010].

The Halifax branch occupies the Southgate building which was formerly Marks & Spencer.

The Brighouse branch occupies the building which was built on the site of the Astoria and subsequently occupied by Hillard's, Tesco's, and currently Wilkinson's

Wilkinson...Ref W63
The entries for people & families with the surname Wilkinson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wilkinson & AireyRef W1625
Silk spinners at Victoria Mills, Brighouse [1874] and at Britannia Mill, Brighouse [18??].

The partnership was dissolved in February 1886.

Partners included Samuel Wilkinson

Wilkinson & WallaceRef W1629
Woolstaplers established in 1861 by Armitage Wilkinson and Mr Wallace at 27 Square Road, Halifax.

They also had business in Bradford

In 1885, Wilkinson went to establish a branch of the firm in Sydney, Australia

Wilkinson, Bentley & CompanyRef W198
Raincoat specialists at 35 Silver Street, Halifax [1936].

H. S. Wilkinson was proprietor [1936]

Wilkinson BrothersRef W1674
Wholesale clothiers at Albert Works, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Wilkinson, Crossland & CompanyRef W1657
They had business at Mitchell's Mill, Elland [1867]

Wilkinson's: J. Wilkinson & SonRef W371
Furrier, costumier and outfitter at Hudson Bay House, Halifax [1911, 1916]

Established by J. Wilkinson

Wilkinson's: Jubal Wilkinson & Company LimitedRef W570
Maltsters at Brighouse and Rastrick.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1887

See Jubal Wilkinson

Wilkinson's: Moses Wilkinson & CompanyRef W1826
Worsted spinner at Royal Mills, Halifax [1874]. He lived at Hopwood Lane [1874]

Wilkinson-Newsholme, Rev JosephRef W819
[18??-19??] Or Joseph Wilkinson Newsholme. MA. He was educated at Cambridge before becoming Curate at Illingworth [1891-1893]

He left to serve at Long Preston and Pendleton

Wilkinson's: W. Wilkinson & CompanyRef W1470
Soap manufacturers of Sowerby Bridge. Recorded in 1903

Wilkinson's: W. Wilkinson & SonRef W1639
In 1841, they established a hairdressing and athletic outfitting business at 30 Bull Green, Halifax. In 1887, the business was acquired by Fred Boyes

Wilks, JohnRef W1956
[1787-1855] Of Lodge, Triangle.

He married (1) Mary Ann [1787-1817].

Children:

  1. child who died in infancy
  2. child who died in infancy

He married (2) Hannah [1793-1874].

Children:

  1. William George who married Eliza [1834-1860]

John and Hannah both died in Liverpool.

There is a tablet in memory of the family in Sowerby Church

Wilks, JohnRef W581
[18??-1???] Recorded in 1861, 1871 & 1881, when he was at Folly Hall Farm, Ambler Thorn

Will Royd, ShibdenRef W879
This was a part of the Shibden Hall Estate lying between Stump Cross and Hipperholme.

Owners and tenants have included

Willan, Ernest HartleyRef W229
[1889-1916] Born in Burnley.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal / Saddler with the 14th (King's) Hussars.

He died 22nd December 1916.

He was buried at Amara War Cemetery, Iraq [Grave Ref III E 1].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Willans, Alfred RedmanRef W1009
[1912-1941] Son of Mary H. & James William Willans.

He was employed by Morton's / a reservist.

In 1939, he married Winifred Eagle [1916-1991] in Halifax.

They lived at Elland.

During World War II, he was called-up [September 1939], and served as a Lance Bombardier with the 2nd Regt Royal Horse Artillery.

He took part in the evacuation at Dunkirk.

He was reported missing in Crete and assumed to have died between the 27th and the 30th April 1941.

He is remembered on the Athens Memorial, Greece [Grave Ref 1], and on Elland War Memorial

Willans, ClementRef W902
[1895-1917] Son of Isaac Willans.

Born in Mountain.

He was a member of Queens Road Primitive Methodist Chapel / educated at Parkinson Lane School & Halifax Tech / a gold medallist at the Tech and had work exhibited at the Royal Academy / employed by Mr Kershaw, architect / a junior clerk L&NW railway at Halifax & Huddersfield [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [8th May 1915], and served as a Sergeant with B Battery 168th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He was wounded while in charge of a gun which was hit by a shell. Gunner James Leslie Mazzini was killed by the same shell.

He died of wounds [13th July 1917] (aged 22).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [11th August 1917].

He was buried at Coxyde Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I J 15].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Willans, DrRef W2318
[18??-19??] Medical practitioner at Ovenden [1902]

On 23rd December 1902, Mathilde Bollwagen, a German servant employed by him, died after taking an opium pill from a bottle in the dispensary

Willans, EmilyRef W1176
[1828-1888] Daughter of William Willans.

She married Joseph Dixon Asquith [1825-1860] from Morley.

Children:

  1. Herbert Henry

Willans, Gerald Cozens-HardyRef W825
[1872-1956] Son of James Edward Willans.

He was an advisor to the Prime Minister Herbert Henry Asquith [1909].

On 19th October 1909, he married Mary Lindsay Goldthorp at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.

In an account of the wedding, the Brighouse Echo reported


From the whole of the surrounding neighbourhood, there assembled a multitude of spectators
 

Willans, Hannah MariaRef W1122
[1829-1907] Daughter of William Willans.

She married Thomas Freeman Firth.

She died The Flush, Heckmondwike [27th March 1907] (aged 77).

She was buried at Upper Chapel, Heckmondwike

Willans, IsaacRef W580
[1868-1929] Born in Horsforth.

He was a foreman warp twister [1901] / a commercial traveller soap etc. [1911].

He married Ann Armitage [1866-19??] in Bradford.


Ann was born in Clayton.

She was a soft soap & comps maker [1911]

 

Children:

  1. Clement
  2. Gertrude [b 1898] who was a laundry ironer [1911]
  3. Audrey May [b 1901]

The family lived at 17 Rose Terrace, Halifax [1901, 1911, 1917].

Isaac died In Scarborough [Q1 1929] (aged 61) 

Willans, James EdwardRef W1124
[1842-1926] Youngest son of William Willans.

He was an Alderman in Huddersfield [1909].

In [Q3] 1869, he married (1) Cecelia Emma Cozens-Hardy [1841-1879] at Erpingham, Norfolk. Children:

  1. Ethel Mary [b 1870]
  2. Gerald Cozens-Hardy
  3. Mabel Cecilia [1874-] who married Dr Herbert Miall Woodhead
  4. Mildred [1879-1879]

Cecelia Emma died in 1879.

In 188?, he married (2) Kathleen Cozens-Hardy [1848-1898].

Children:

  1. Hilda Mary [1883-1954]
  2. Winifred Kathleen [1885-1959]
  3. Margery [1886-19??] who married Robert Howard Goldthorp
  4. Lilian Muriel [1888-1969] who married Rev Frederick Seymour Horan
  5. Elsie Jean [1893-19??]

Willans, James WetherellRef W1026
[18??-19??] Todmorden solicitor.

In 1886, he married Martha Lord, daughter of Samuel Fielden.

On 7th December 1922, their daughter, Miss E. M. Willans married Major L. G. S. Molloy, MP for Blackpool

Willans, John WrigleyRef W376
[1832-1910] Son of William Willans.

He was brother-in-law of Thomas Freeman Firth.

In 1865, he married (1) Charlotte Baines [1830-1879].


Charlotte was the daughter of Edward Baines of The Leeds Mercury
 

In 188?, he married (2) Mary Knibb Milburn [1854-1941].

Children:

  1. Charlotte Mary Evelyn [1885-19??] who married Hivred Victor Gibson Rivington [1887-1936]

In 1867, he and Thomas Freeman Firth went into partnership as Firth, Willans & Company.

In 1875, he left the business in order to become proprietor and joint editor of The Leeds Mercury. He became a prominent figure in the public life of Leeds.

He died at his home at West Hampstead, London

Willans, Rev Peter RussellRef W1362
[1824-1863] Born in Leeds. He was Minister at Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street [1850]. He edited a book entitled The States System of Europe [1854]. In 1855, his health gave way. He died in York

Willans, Rev WilliamRef W1803
[18??-18??] Methodist New Connexion Minister at Bethel Chapel, Brighouse [1845]

Willans, WilliamRef W1123
[1800-1863] Huddersfield wool-merchant. In 1852, he was unsuccessful in his attempt to become Liberal MP for Huddersfield.

He married Elizabeth Wrigley [1800-1854].

Children:

  1. Sarah Anne [1826-1903]
  2. Emily
  3. Hannah Maria
  4. John Wrigley
  5. William Henry [1833-1904] who married Marion Wright [1839-1934]
  6. Thomas Benjamin [1836-1897] who married Sarah Ashworth [1833-1879] and Elizabeth W. Robinson [1843-1908]
  7. Margaret Elizabeth [1840-1927] who married James Cullen [1810-1908]
  8. James Edward

Willans, William SteadRef W219
[1829-1870] He married Catharine Thwaite [1863].


Catharine was the daughter of
Samuel Thwaite
 

Children:

  1. William Ernest [b 1865]
  2. Catherine Mable [b 1867]
  3. Charles Rudolph [b 1869]

Willcock, SutcliffeRef W1436
[18??-18??] Son of a local Sunday school teacher.

The 11-year-old boy worked in the Cragg Vale mills.

Rev Thomas Crowther told George Crabtree how ...

[Sutcliffe] died from overwork and beatings at one of the mills. He had worked a 17-hour day and had to be carried home by his father. He was unable to eat before he was put to bed. At 4:00 am, he woke and asked his brother if they could see the lights up in the mill as he didn't want to be late again. He died before he could get out of bed.

His 9-year-old brother died 2 weeks later

Willeby, JohnRef W181
[14??-1???] Endowed Willeby Chantry Chapel at Halifax Parish Church in 1494

Willeson, RobertRef W2424
[13??-13??] He was elected Constable of Shelf [1365]

Willett, JosephRef W913
[1883-1917] Son of Emma & George Willett.

He was a member of Sowerby Bridge Cricket Club.

In [Q3] 1910, he married Alice A. Woodhead in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Marian [b 1914]

They lived at 29 Fixby Avenue, Pye Nest.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 10th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He died of pneumonia at Northumbrian Casualty Clearing Station [30th April 1917] (aged 34).

He was buried at Doullens Communal Cemetery Extension No.1, France [Grave Ref V E 46].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Willey & Pearson LimitedRef W1584
Woollen spinners established in the 1870s.

They were at Scarborough Mills, King Cross, Halifax and Trafalgar Mills [1911].

The business moved to Black Dike Mills, Queensbury in 1994.

Their operations at Queensbury closed in June 2001

Willey & SonRef W2006
Billiard table makers at 23 King Cross Street, Halifax [1905].

Partners included Richard H. Willey

Willey, NormanRef W29
[1887-1918] Son of Thomas Willey.

Born in Brighouse.

In 1912, he married Emma Walker in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with R. D. Company Machine Gun Corps (Infantry).

He died 2nd December 1918.

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [F C 12].

He is remembered on Brighouse War Memorial

Willey, Richard H.Ref W1786
[18??-19??] Partner in Willey & Son.

He lived at 5 Westbourne Grove, Halifax [1905]

Willey, ThomasRef W969
[1857-1929] Born in Hutton Rudby.

He was a grocer.

In 1881, he married Sarah Ann Vargerson [1861-1925] in Halifax.


Sarah Ann was born in Ashill, Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. Walter [b 1882]
  2. Hilda [b 1885]
  3. Norman
  4. Stanley [b 1892]
  5. Thomas [b 1897]

The children were born in Brighouse.

The family lived at 18 Garden Road, Brighouse [1891, 1901]

William, 1st EarlRef W1702
[1055-1088] Aka Sir William de Warenne, 1st Earl of Surrey, Guillaume de Warenne.

Son of Rodolf de Warenne [1030-1074]

William, 2nd EarlRef W1701
[1081-1138] William de Warenne, 2nd Earl of Surrey. Elder son of William, the 1st Earl and Gundrada of Flanders. Lord of the Manor of Wakefield. He began building the first Sandal Castle on the right bank of the river Calder at Sandal Magna. Beside his property in West Yorkshire, he held large tracts of land in East Anglia, the home counties, Hampshire, and Lincolnshire. He gave the church at Conisborough and the church at Wakefield to the Priory of Lewes.

In 1101, he was temporarily deprived of his earldom for his support of Robert, Duke of Normandy.

In 1106, he distinguished himself when he commanded at the Battle of Tinchebrai. In 1106, he was granted the sub-manor of Halifax-cum-Heptonstall by Henry I.

In 1135, he became Governor of Rouen.

He was a suitor for the hand of Matilda of Scotland who later married Henry I.

In 1118, he married Isabel Elizabeth de Vermandois.

Children:

  1. William, the 3rd Earl
  2. Ralph
  3. Reginald who became a monk & married Alice de Wormegay
  4. Gundrada who married Roger, Earl of Warwick
  5. Ada (or Adeline) - who married King Henry of Scotland
He wore the Warren Shield. He was buried at the Priory of Lewes

William, 3rd EarlRef W1700
[1118-1148] William de Warenne, 3rd Earl of Surrey. Eldest son of the William, the 2nd Earl. He succeeded his father in 1138.

He married (1) Adelia de Talvas (or Talvace) [1110-1174].

He married (2) Eva Talvas.

Children:

  1. Isabel

In 1141, he fought at the Battle of Lincoln with his half-brother, Robert de Beaumont, Earl of Leicester.

In 1146, he went on the Crusades and was killed by the Turks near Laodicea in Palestine in 1148.

His estates passed to his daughter, Isabel.

See John Talvace

William, 4th EarlRef W1699
[1???-1159] William de Warenne, 4th Earl of Surrey, William of Blois. The second son of King Stephen and Matilda of Boulogne.

In 1150, he acquired the title when married Isabel de Warenne

William, 6th EarlRef W1698
[11??-1240] William de Warenne, Earl of Warren, 6th Earl of Surrey.

Son of Isabel de Warenne and the 5th Earl of Surrey.

He advised King John with regard to the Magna Carta. He took part in the Crusades.

He married (1) Matilda / Maud d'Aubigny.


Matilda was the daughter of William d'Aubigny, 2nd Earl of Arundel
 

He married (2) Matilda / Maud [1194-1248].


Matilda was the daughter of William Marshal, 1st Earl of Pembroke, and widow of Hugh Bigod, 3rd Earl of Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. Isabel
  2. Griffin
  3. John, the 7th Earl

See John de Thornhill

William Hopkinson of Brighouse LifeboatRef W2040
Lifeboat which was the gift of Miss Hopkinson of Brighouse in memory of her late brother, William Hopkinson.

The lifeboat was launched at Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland on Saturday, 13th January 1866.

See Royal National Lifeboat Institute

William Royd, StansfieldRef W1944
Owners and tenants have included

  • James Roberts [1738]

William Royde HouseRef W493
Another name for Ellen Royde House, Midgley

William son of EssolfRef W756
[11??-11??] Son of Essolf.

It has been suggested that William entered the church; that he was pistor (baker) at the priory of St John of Pontefract, also their almoner, and the William the treasurer (dispensatore) who appears in the Pipe Roll of 1166 and witnessed two charters.

It is possible that these three offices were held by the same person, and that that person was William son of Essolf, but no evidence has been found to support this.


A gift (undated, 1146-53; perhaps 1151-53) by William son of Duncan, nephew of the king of Scotland, and Alice his wife, to Fountains Abbey of 2½ carucates of land in Kilnsey (Parish of Burnsall), was witnessed by Orm son of Magnus, William son of Essolf, Jordan son of Essolf and others.

[Fountains Chartulary Add. MS. 37770, f.112]

 

William son of OrmRef W208
[11??-11??]

(Modern: William Ormuson)

(Possibly) a younger son of Orm son of Magnus

Williams...Ref W768
The entries for people & families with the surname Williams are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Williams & HeronRef W1838
Hatters at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1874]

Williams's: Clement Williams & SonsRef W1663
Halifax architectural practice established by W. Clement Williams.

In 1913, the Company were subscribers to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

See Percy Williams

Williams's: T. H. Williams & Company LimitedRef W1727
Paint and varnish manufacturers and paper-hanging dealers at 6 Cheapside, Halifax [1900, 1905]. They were also at Rochdale [their head office], Bolton, Burnley, Manchester and Wigan

Williamson, Christopher Robert HenryRef W964
[1916-1944] Son of George Owen Davis Williamson.

His birth was registered in Helmsley, Yorkshire [1916].

During World War II, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Irish Guards.

He died 4th August 1944 (aged 27).

He was buried at Saint Charles de Percy War Cemetery, France [Grave Ref V B 12].

He is remembered on the family grave at Christ Church, Barkisland

He is remembered on Barkisland War Memorial

Williamson, FredRef W511
[1899-1918] Born in Todmorden.

He was a member of Bridge Street United Free Methodist, Todmorden / a weaver at Derdale Mill, Todmorden.

During World War I, he enlisted [April 1917], and served as a Private with the 15th/17th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 12th April 1918.

He was buried at Le Grand Beaumart British Cemetery, Steenwerck, France [Grave Ref II B 19].

He is remembered on Todmorden War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Bridge Street United Free Methodist, Todmorden

Williamson, George Owen DavisRef W146
[1893-1983] Born in Pickering [21st July 1893].

He was a woollen duler [1939].

In 1916, he married Betsy Jane Elizabeth Humble [1897-1946] in Helmsley, Yorkshire


Betsy Jane (or Jenny) was born in Kirby Mills, Yorkshire [4th December 1897]
 

Children:

  1. Christopher Robert Henry
  2. Ronald Leslie [1922-23/2/1940]

The family lived at 4 The Village, Ripponden [1939].

Betsy Jane died 29th November 1946 (aged 40).

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Williamson, HenryRef W1986
[18??-18??] A common brewer at Warley. Partner in Bates & Williamson

Williamson, JohnRef W1153
[15??-16??]


William Cowan [aged 25] of Stockton, near York, and William Hall [26] of Dunnington, near York, were charged with house breaking and the attempted murder of Williamson, his wife, Ellen, and two children, at Halifax, on the night of 10th December 1626
 

On 30th March 1627, Cowan and Hall were executed at the Tyburn. Their bodies were afterwards buried in the churchyard of St George's, Bean Hill, without Fishergate Postern, York

Williamson, JohnRef W1313
[17??-18??] Barrister at law.

On 17th April 1802, he married a daughter of Edmund Lodge

Williamson, JohnRef W93
[19??-] He and his wife were Deputy Mayor and Mayoress of Calderdale in 1993, and Mayor of Calderdale [2005-2006]

Williamson, Margaret VictoriaRef W1057
[1901-1964] Of Wood End, Barkisland.

Her partly-clothed body was found in a field on Christmas morning 1964. An inquest returned a verdict of murder, but, after interviewing 30,000 people, there was not sufficient evidence to lead to any arrests

Williamson, MaryRef W413
[1892-1969] Daughter of Sarah Ann (née Hudson) & Robert Williamson.

Born in Oldham.

Her family moved to Halifax in 1902. They lived at Birks Hall.

She was a sickly child, suffering from typhoid fever and brain fever, but this changed when she took up swimming at Battinson Road School.

By 1913, she had won over 60 prizes.

She worked at Crossley's Carpets.

In 1913, she met American fitness enthusiast – Bernarr Macfadden - who organised a contest to find the most perfect specimen of British womanhood. Mary won and was declared to have the ideal female form and was proclaimed Great Britain's perfect woman.

Bernarr and Mary married and toured Britain as the world's fittest man and woman. During World War I, they went to America and lived in Nyack, New York State.

They had several children.

They published True Story magazine, telling stories of people who had overcome health problems by healthy living. Other magazines followed, and Macfadden became a multi-millionaire.

The couple separated in 1932, and divorced in 1946. He remarried.

She went to live in New Jersey where she died

Williamson, MrRef W1426
[1???-1???] A partner in Taylor, Hulme & Williamson. Around 1889, when Williamson became sole proprietor, the company name was changed to Calderside Dyeing Company

Williamson, ThomasRef W1367
[1786-1853] Collector of Inland Revenue for Halifax

Williamson, ThomasRef W300
[1818-18??] Landlord of the Miners' Arms, Halifax [1871]

Williamson, WilliamRef W270
[1878-1917] Son of Jane & Edward Thomas Williamson.

He married Mary.

They lived at 7 Derby Street, Millwood.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 180th Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died 7th June 1917 (aged 39).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 9], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Willicombe, DavidRef W2720
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1970]. He won caps for Wales against England while at Halifax

Willis & Bates LimitedRef W1777
Metal spinners and stampers. They were at Pelicon Metal Works, Halifax [1905] and Spring Hall Lane [1936].

Their products included Vapalux paraffin lamps, lanterns, lamp fittings, gas burners and taps, and many more. They also did munitions work during World War II.

The Company ceased trading in 1997, and the business was taken over by Bairstow Brothers (1985) Limited.

See Miss Mary Pickles

Willis, ChristopherRef W213
[1847-1???] Son of John Willis.

Born in Bradford.

He married Martha Ann Ingle in Bradford [11th April 1874].


Martha Ann was the daughter of Thomas Ingle
 

Children:

  1. Lillian [b 1875]
  2. Alice [b 1877]

Willis, ErnestRef W766
[1892-1916] Son of Mrs Tate of 1 Spring Terrace, Wainstalls.

In [Q4] 1912, he married Elizabeth Brown in Halifax.

They lived at 5 Lumb Terrace, Wainstalls.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He was killed in action [29th October 1916] (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Grave Ref 21 & 31], and in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance

Willis, JohnRef W220
[18??-1???] In [Q4] 1845, he married Caroline Armitage [1818-1867] in Bradford.

Children:

  1. Christopher

Willis, LeonardRef W933
[1878-1918] Son of Elizabeth & James Willis of Halifax.

He was a painter with Moody of Manor Drive.

In [Q2] 1900, he married Mary Elizabeth Lightowler in Halifax.

They lived at Mayfield Terrace, Queens Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted with the 13th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment, and served as a Private with the 22nd (Tyneside Scottish) Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was reported missing and assumed to have died at Armentières [11th April 1918] (aged 40).

He was buried at Cabaret-Rouge British Cemetery, Souchez, France [Grave Ref XX A 13].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

In [Q4] 1919, Mary married Richard I. Buckley in Halifax.

They lived at 6 Luton Street, Queens Road, Halifax

Willis, RonnieRef W956
[1974-2006] Known as Will.

He served as a Lance Bombardier with the 12th Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 31st March 2006 (aged 32).

He was buried at St John the Evangelist, Bradshaw

Willmott, Rev WilliamRef W1130
[17??-1835] MA.

He was a Clerk in Holy Orders at Halifax [1800] / a Curate at Halifax [1802] / Perpetual Curate at St Anne's, Southowram [1802] / Perpetual Curate at Holy Trinity, Halifax [1819] for 16 years.

He lived at Blackwall, Halifax.

On 12th September 1804, he married Miss Whitworth.


His wife was a milliner and came from Halifax
 

Children:

  1. Mary Ann [180?-1860] who married Rev John Warburton
  2. daughter
  3. daughter

He died 22nd February 1835

Willocks, ChristopherRef W3600
[1836-1879]

He married Unknown.

They had no children.

Christopher was killed in the explosion at Balme & Pritchard [9th October 1879].

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1747]

Willow Clough, Sowerby BridgeRef W507
Steps Lane. 18th century house. It is now 2 private dwellings – Willow Clough and Willow Lodge

Willow Edge, SkircoatRef W46
Owners and tenants have included

Willow Field, SkircoatRef W47
Owners and tenants have included

Willow Gate, Hebden BridgeRef W1754
A packhorse route to Shackleton

Willow Hall, Cote HillRef W204
Willowfield, King Cross, Halifax. Aka Upper Willow Hall.

House built around 1610.

It was owned by the King family.

An inscription records:

James Kynge builded this

Samuel King of Willow Hall is mentioned in 1640. Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in the books Ancient Halls in & about Halifax and Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions.

See James King, Lower Willow Hall, Willow Hall Cottage, Halifax, Willow Hall Laundry, Halifax, Willow Hall Lodge, Halifax and Willow House

Willow Hall Cottage, HalifaxRef W1420
Owners and tenants have included


Question: Does anyone know if this is the same property as Willow Hall Lodge, Halifax?

 

See Willow Hall, Cote Hill

Willow Hall Dam, Sowerby BridgeRef W478
Dam Head Road.

See Willow Hall Mills, Sowerby Bridge

Willow Hall Laundry, HalifaxRef W1723
Recorded in 1905 at 5 Willow Hall when Albert C. Bolton was proprietor

Willow Hall Lodge, HalifaxRef W2775
Owners and tenants have included

  • Mrs Sally Taylor [1851]

See Willow Hall, Cote Hill

Willow House, Sowerby BridgeRef W1418
Willow Hall / Bolton Brow. This was an outbuilding to Willow Hall, Cote Hill.

Owners and tenants have included

Willow Lodge, Sowerby BridgeRef W610
Steps Lane. House built about 1800 on an earlier site.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 2 dwellings

Willow Royd, West ValeRef W2697
Rochdale Road. Built around 1883.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1926, the house was bought for £760 for use as a Masonic Hall by the Savile Lodge of the Freemasons.

See Willow Terrace, West Vale

WillowfieldRef W90
Sowerby Bridge. District to the west of Halifax

Wills, AlbertRef W563
[1896-1917] Son of Edwin Wills.

Born in Haworth.

He was a member of St James's Spiritual Temple, Alma Street / a labourer at brick works [1911] / an office clerk with Sagar's.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [August 1914], and served as an Acting Bombardier with 36 Battery 33rd Brigade Royal Horse Artillery & Royal Field Artillery.

He was hit when a shell burst in the billet where he was standing, and died almost instantaneously [21st July 1917] (aged 21).

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [28th July 1917].

He was buried at Vlamertinghe New Military Cemetery, Belgium [Grave Ref I H 22].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at United Reformed Church, Carlton Street

Wills, EdwinRef W567
[1874-19??] Born in Glastonbury, Somerset.

He was a stone quarryman [1901] / a horse driver [1911].

In 1894, he married Annie Lee [1874-19??] in Keighley.


Annie was born in Shipley
 

Children:

  1. Albert
  2. Edith [b 1898] who was a spinner in woollen factory [1911]
  3. Ernest [1900] who died in infancy

The family lived at

  • 23 Hall Street, Haworth, Keighley [1901]
  • 1 Cross Street, Halifax [1911, 1917]

Wills, MissesRef W2298
In 1905, they had a school in Elland

Willson, G. H.Ref W2384
[18??-19??] On 21st July 1924, Halifax Corporation were sued at Leeds Assizes for alleged malicious prosecution. £300 damages were awarded to Willson and £71 2/3d to John Richardson

Willson, GeorgeRef W456
[18??-19??] Halifax engineer. Trained at the Halifax Mechanics' Institute. He married suffragette Laura Willson. He was a partner in Smith, Barker & Willson Limited

Willson, GeorgeRef W832
[1901-1943] Son of George Henry Willson.

In [Q3] 1923, he married Kathleen Rosa Carnelley in Halifax.


Kathleen Rosa was the daughter of Albert Richard Carnelley
 

George died 3rd April 1943 (aged 42).

He was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram [Grave Ref: R-B35] with Kathleen's parents

Willson, George HenryRef W834
[1874-19??] Born in Stanningley.

He was a machine tool maker [1911].

Around 1900, he married Laura Anne [1878-19??].


Laura Anne was born in Halifax
 

Children:

  1. George Willson
  2. Kathleen Vega [b 1910]

The family lived at 117 Beechwood Road, Illingworth [1911]

Willson, JamesRef W2789
[1837-1863] He married Ann Elizabeth [1838-1862].

Children:

  1. Fred William [1860-1861]

The family lived at Brockwell, Sowerby Bridge [1861].

Members of the family were buried at Rooley Lane Wesleyan Methodist Church, Sowerby

He was found drowned in the River Irwell, Manchester [6th March 1863]. He was buried at Newton Heath Cemetery the following day

Willson Lathes LimitedRef W1585
In 1932, the partnership of Smith, Barker & Willson was dissolved and Willson Lathes established.

They had a branch at Keighley [1935].

In 1945, it became a public company with Albert Kitchen as Chairman.

In November 1964, it was acquired by Meggitt Engineering Limited of Bournemouth.

In 1965, it was bought by the B. Elliott Machine Tool Company and became Elliott Willson Limited

Willson, Mrs LauraRef W176
[18??-19??] OBE.

Wife of George Willson.

She was an active suffragette and secretary of the Halifax branch of the Women's Social & Political Union. In February 1907, she was imprisoned for 2 weeks in Armley Jail, Leeds.

In 1918, she was president of the Women's Engineering Society.

She monitored women working for her husband's business and others engaged in munitions work for World War I.

In 192?, she and her husband helped Labour activists and trades unionists to buy homes in Atalanta Terrace, Pye Nest

Wilman, EricRef W871
[1919-1940] Son of George Wilman.

During World War II, he served as a Marine with the Royal Marines.

He died 7th September 1940 (aged 21).

He was remembered on the family grave at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: R7, and on Bradshaw War Memorial

Wilman, GeorgeRef W885
[1882-1930]

In [Q2] 1903, he married Susannah Harrison [1881-1958] in Halifax.

Children:

  1. Jack [1917-1975] who married [Todmorden Q3 1939] Lilian Margaret Mills [1911-1990]
  2. Eric

The family lived at Bradshaw.

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden at Grave Ref: R7

Wilman, JohnRef W1145
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1716]

Wilmot, MrRef W85
[1???-18??] Curate at Halifax Parish Church

Wilmut, Rev Ronald WilliamRef W40
[1???-19??] Minister of Bridge End Congregational Church [1949]

Wilson'sRef W2355
Bottlers/brewers at High Level Mineral Water Works, Pellon

Wilson...Ref W66
The entries for people & families with the surname Wilson are gathered together in the SideTrack.

The individuals listed there are not necessarily related to each other.

Wilson & Another vs the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway CompanyRef W2041
On 21st October 1870, 2 trains collided at Brighouse Station. In August 1871, Mr Wilson, whose wife had her leg broken and her collar-bone injured in the accident sued the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company, for compensation. The verdict awarded Mr Wilson £400 plus £250 paid into court

Wilson & CompanyRef W1661
Tanners and curriers of Bailiff Bridge. Recorded in 1900

Wilson & HaighRef W1759
Stone merchants at Moor End Quarry, Mount Tabor [1905]. Partners included Harry Wilson and Abraham Haigh

Wilson & NewmanRef W831
Bobbin manufacturers & timber merchants at Barnsley.

Established in 1863 when Lawrence Wilson & Sons was dissolved.

Partners included John William Wilson and Frederick Newman

Wilson & PeelRef W2054
Power loom cloth manufacturers at Hebden Bridge.

Partners included J. Wilson and E. Peel.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1867

Wilson & Price LimitedRef W1488
Brighouse woollen manufacturers.

Recorded in 1873, when their manual fire engine attended a fire at Atlas Mill, Brighouse.

The business was recorded again in 1893

Wilson Bridge, CopleyRef W318
When Copley River Bridge collapsed in the floods of December 2015, it was replaced [in 2017] by a new bridge comprising 3 steel sections with some stone from the original bridge.

The new bridge was named Wilson Bridge for Graham Wilson who lived in the adjacent Toll House prior to his death [2017].

Unlike its predecessor, the bridge is only open to pedestrian, horses and non-motorised vehicles.

Wilson Brothers Bobbin Company LimitedRef W1483
Bobbin makers and timber merchants at

Established in 1823.

Partners included John Greenwood Herbert William Wilson John William Wilson Joshua Henry Wilson Lawrence Wilson Samuel Wilson Thomas Edward Wilson.

In January 1879, their workers went on strike against a proposed reduction of 10% in their wages.

In June 1880, the partnership was dissolved and the business carried on with the same name by Joshua Henry Wilson at Beevor Works, Barnsley and Lawrence Wilson at Shannon Saw Mills, Athlone, Ireland.

In May 1885, they won the Gold Medal at the New Orleans Exhibition for

their improvements in the manufacture of bobbins used in preparing and spinning cotton and other fibres

In October 1887, the partnership was dissolved when Lawrence Wilson retired. The business was carried on with the same name by Joshua Henry Wilson,

On 27th March 1888 their mill was destroyed by fire. The firm was in the process of extending the mill. They employed around 400 men at the time.

In August 1893 and again in August 1894, their Shannon Saw Mills, Athlone, Ireland – extensive steam saw and turning mills – were advertised for sale because

in consequence of important changes of their business in England, and their business being moved to Liverpool, they find that they will not require the works in Ireland

In 1900, they built a club for their workers. This had a new room and a billiards room.

In October 1911, they won Grands Prix at Turin for their bobbins and shuttles, and another for their chemical bye-products

See Wilson Brothers Bobbin Company Memorial

Wilson's Cap & Hat EmporiumRef W1581
14 Corn Market, Halifax. Established by Alfred Wilson. The shop had a large illuminated clock hanging outside the front and was known as The Clock.

A poem on the Halifax Fair included the lines

Of money, I'd a decent stock
So I bowt a hat at Wilson's Clock

See Whiteley's Hat Shop

Wilson's hardware shopRef W1573
The shop stood on the corner of Horton Street and Union Street, Halifax.

In 1999, the business closed down and Jewson's Gun Shop moved into the premises

Wilson's: J. Wilson & CompanyRef W2428
Hatters at 6 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

Wilson's: J. Wilson & CompanyRef W2744
He had business at Rosemary Mills, Rastrick [1888]

Wilson's: James Wilson & Son (Ironmongers) LimitedRef W1991
Retailer of hardware, garden and other tools, and tiled fireplaces. They were at 14/16 Cheapside, Halifax [1950]

Wilson's: John WilsonRef W1566
Damask fabric manufacturer at Forest Mill, Ovenden established by John Wilson. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products. They received an honourable mention for their ponchos

Wilson's: Joshua Henry, J. & J. W. WilsonRef W932
Bobbin manufacturers at Cornholme and Barnsley.

Partners included Joshua Henry Wilson, J. Wilson and J. W. Wilson.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1863

See Lawrence Wilson & Sons

Wilson's: Lawrence Wilson & SonsRef W2080
Bobbin manufacturers & timber merchants at Cornholme and Barnsley.

Partners included Lawrence Wilson, James Wilson, John William Wilson, and Joshua Henry Wilson.

In February 1863, the partnership was dissolved and the business carried on

In June 1864, the Cornholme works were advertised for sale with the note that

the business is still being continued, the workpeople and connection kept together, so that there is open to any persons already in the same business, or willing to commence, a magnificent and rare opportunity

In July 1876, the partnership was dissolved and carried under the same name by Joshua Henry Wilson & Lawrence Wilson

See Wilson Bros

Wilson's PillsRef W2314
A patent medicine produced in New Zealand by Samuel Wilson. An advertisement of 1906 claimed that they would cure
Boils, Carbuncles, Headaches, Constipation, Biliousness, Lumbago, &c

Wilton, MaryRef W482
[1663-1700] Or Marie.

Daughter of William Wilton.

In 1678 – at the age of 15 – she married John Mitchell.

After his death in 1696, she returned to the family home at Slead Syke and left both Scout Halls to tenants, including the Clarke family.

In 1697, she became the 2nd wife of John Smith – or Smyth – of Wakefield.

She died of smallpox.

She was buried at Wakefield

Wilton, WilliamRef W658
[16??-1692] Of Slead Syke.

Merchant and maltster.

He married Unknown.

Children:

  1. Mary

Wimpenny, JamesRef W2257
[18??-18??] Grocer and tea dealer of West Street, Halifax [1843].

On 16th November 1843, he married Susan Longbottom at Sion Chapel, Halifax

Wimpenny, JohnRef W758
[17??-18??] Innkeeper at Elland.


Question: Does anyone know which inn this may have been?

 

In November 1802, he was declared bankrupt

Wimpy Bar, HalifaxRef W2765
1960s eatery which stood on the corner of Wards End and Horton Street. It was a part of the building which was erected on the site of the Palace Theatre.

Contributor Dave van de Gevel writes

The Wimpy Bar was the British precursor of all McDonalds and Burger Kings and the height of cool.

This was a time of frothy coffee served in glass cups and saucers and no choice of coffee types and most of us went home on a bus.

Winard, JamesRef W61
[1866-1???] Son of John Winard, packer.

He was a labourer of Siddal [1887] / a jobbing mason [1891, 1901] / a stone mason [1911].

In 1887, he married Jane Alice Whiteley [1866-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Jane Alice, of Salterhebble, was the daughter of William Whiteley, labourer
 

Children:

  1. John William
  2. Blanche [1890-1894]
  3. Oswald
  4. Laura [b 1899]
  5. Nelly [b 1906]

The family lived at

  • 3 McClellands(?) Street, Halifax [1891]
  • 23 Colbeck Street, Halifax [1901]
  • 12 Baines Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1891] were Jane's brothers Charley Whiteley [aged 14] (steel card maker for cotton) and Edward Whiteley [aged 10] (cotton spinner).

Living with them [in 1911] were son John William and his family

Winard, John WilliamRef W71
[1889-19??] Son of James Winard.

Born in Halifax.

He was a mason's labourer [1910] / a stone mason labourer [1911].

In 1910, he married Sarah Hesselden Kerr [1888-19??] at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


Sarah, of 8 Rothery Street, was the daughter of Walter Hesselden, cart driver
 

Children:

  1. James [b 1910]

The family lived at 12 Barnes Street, Halifax [with John William's parents 1910]

Winard, OswaldRef W69
[1894-1915] Son of James Winard.

Born in Halifax.

He was a calico printer labourer [1911] / a textile printer at Joseph Smithson Limited / a member of Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel, Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted in October 1914, and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was in Belgium when he shot in the head by a bullet which passed through the sandbags on the parapet. He remained unconscious, dying later that day [25th August 1915].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [4th September 1915].

He was buried at Ferme-Olivier Cemetery, Belgium. [Grave Ref 1 G 3]

Winard, ThomasRef W76
[1820-1879] He married Sarah [1815-1872].

Children:

  1. Rachel [1844-1???]
  2. Jane [1850-1916]
  3. Eliza [1852-1899]
  4. Alice [1855-1856]
  5. Richard [1858-1887]

Members of the family were buried at St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd

Wind FarmsRef W2165
See Coal Clough wind farm, Todmorden, Crook Hill wind farm, Walsden, Ovenden Moor wind farm and Reaps Moss wind farm, Todmorden

Wind Hill Royd, WarleyRef W2458
See Windle Royd, Warley

Winder, Rev J. W.Ref W1064
[19??-19??] MA.

He was Assistant Curate at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge [1948] / Vicar of Stainland [1949].

In 1953, he left to become vicar at Manningham

Winding Road Cocoa House, HalifaxRef W1525
Near the top of Winding Road between Northgate and Cross Street, Halifax.

This was one of the first branches of the Halifax Cocoa House Company. The business occupied 3 shop premises. Managers of the business included

See William Lee

Winding Road Debating SocietyRef W701
Recorded around 1900, when William Henry Smith was a member

Winding Road Lodging House, HalifaxRef W2077
47 and 49 Winding Road. Lodging house.

See Frank Dobson and Grace Heaton

Winding Road Lodging House, HalifaxRef W853
34 & 36 West Side Winding Road. Lodging house.

The keepers have included

  • John Henry Jagger [1881, 1891, 1903];

    There were

    • 40 lodgers [1881]
    • 35 lodgers [1891]
    • 54 lodgers [1903]

See Arthur Shaw

Winding Road Spiritual MissionRef W743
See Mrs Hannah Batie

Windle, Harold EdmundRef W863
[1887-1916] Son of Dr John Thomas Windle.

He was educated at Bradford Grammar School & St Peter's School, York. He studied medicine at Leeds and at Edinburgh University, but abandoned his studies and went to New Zealand.

For a time, he worked on a farm at Awahuri.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 3rd Field Company New Zealand Engineers.

He served at Gallipoli, Egypt and France.

He died 13th September 1916 (aged 29).

He was buried at Quarry Cemetery, Montauban, France [Grave Ref VI B 14].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance, and on the Memorial at Saint Mary the Virgin, Illingworth

Windle, Dr John ThomasRef W131
[1851-1902] Son of Margaret Ann Weir (née Charles) & James Windle, private soldier.

Born in Burnley.

He was a medical student in Scotland [1884] / a medical practitioner in Illingworth & Halifax [1895].

On 1st February 1884, he married Mary Osyth Turner [1855-1???] at St Mary's Catholic Church, Aberdeen.


Mary, of 2 Camden Place, Preston, was the daughter of Martha (née Railton) & James Turner, tailor. Both her parents were dead at the time of the marriage
 

Children:

  1. Arthur John [b 1884] who emigrated to New Zealand and fought with New Zealand in World War I and survived
  2. Harold Edmund

Mary died 8th July 1888.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,032 13/9d. Probate was granted to her husband.

In 1891, John Thomas married (2) Jane Elizabeth Burnet [1859-19??] at Fylde.


Jane Elizabeth came from Walton-on-the Hill, Lancashire
 

The family lived at

  • Ivy House, Ovenden [1891]
  • 59 Keighley Road, Halifax [1901]
  • Red Lea, Illingworth [1911]

Windle Royd Laundry, HalifaxRef W2325
Aked's Road. Recorded in 1915, when E. Greenwood was Proprietor

Windle Royd Laundry, WarleyRef W850

  •  Elizabeth Ann Bibby Laundress [1891]
  •  Eliza Baume Laundress, 2 Windle Royd Farm [1901]
  •  Laundry 3-5 Windle Royd [1911]

Windle Royd, WarleyRef W2245
Recorded in 1854 & the 1890s as Wind Hill Royd.

This is a small community at Windle Royd Lane, Warley.

John Sutcliffe and famly lived here [around 1870]. Tom Sutcliffe was born here.

See Windle Royd Laundry

Windmill, ShelfRef W566

The window-breaking electionRef W1900
The Parliamentary election of 1835, in which the Radical Edward Davis Protheroe lost by 1 vote to the Whig/Tory candidates Charles Wood and Hon J. S. Wortley.

It was known as the window-breaking election because

the defeat excited such indignation among his supporters, that at the close of the poll, the town was at the mercy of a large mob [of 500 ruffians] armed with all kinds of weapons and missiles, who made an indiscriminate attack upon the dwellings of those who had had the courage to exercise the franchise as became free and independent men.

A group of Liberals from Skircoat Green were attacked by a number of Tories in Bull Green.

Savile Hall, Hope Hall and many hotels and other places belonging to the Tories were attacked.

The outrageous proceedings of the rioters at one period, excited considerable anxiety for the safety of life, but the arrival of a troop of Lancers, at 7 o'clock in the evening, effected their dispersion, and restored tranquility. The result of this attempt to enforce mob law, cost upwards of £2,000, 26 parties – including

having recovered damages from the hundred rates of Agbrigg and Morley, for the destruction of windows and furniture

Windross, JohnRef W345
[1844-1912] Born in Knaresborough.

He was a dyer's labourer [1891] / a bricklayer's labourer [1901, 1911].

He married Sarah [1849-1912].


Sarah was born in Wakefield
 

Children:

  1. Elizabeth Ann [b 1871] who was a worsted twister [1891] who married [Halifax q1/1893] Thomas Merrett
  2. Mary A. [b 1876] who was a worsted twister [1891], a servant [1911]
  3. Walter [b 1879] who was a labourer in brickyard [1901]
  4. Joseph [b 1883] who was a creeler carpet weaver [1901]
  5. William
  6. Percy [1890-1893]

The family lived at

  • Bentley's Croft, Ovenden [1891]
  • 15 Penuel Place, Siddal, Southowram [1901]
  • 19 Penuel Place, Siddal, Halifax [1911]

Living with them [in 1911] was granddaughter Edith Merrett / Meritt [b 1893] (twister worsted).

Sarah died Q3 1912 (aged 62).

John died Q4 1912 (aged 69) 

Windross, WilliamRef W652
[1885-1916] Son of John Windross.

Born in Bramley, Leeds.

He was a creeler carpet weaver [1901] / a firer (cotton) [1911] / employed by W. T. Knowles & Sons of Elland [1913].

In 1913, he married Emily Smith in Halifax.

They lived at 24 New Street, Southowram [1917].

During World War I, he served as a Private / Signaller with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was reported missing and assumed to have died 12th October 1916.

His widow was informed of his death in May 1917.

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [19th May 1917].

He was buried at Guards' Cemetery, Lesboeufs, France [Grave Ref IV T 3]. on Southowram War Memorial, and on the Memorial at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram

Windsor, Rev A.Ref W1091
[18??-19??] He was at Accrington before becoming Minister at Birchcliffe Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1922] and Minister at Steep Lane Baptist Church, Sowerby [1927]. In 1934, he moved to Bacup

Windsor, Mrs CeliaRef W1027
[18??-1933] Headmistress at Halifax Higher Grade School. In her will, she left £1,000 to establish a scholarship at Todmorden Secondary School

Windsor, William A.Ref W2091
[1921-2009] Of Rastrick.

He was a schoolteacher.

In [Q2] 1945, he married Audrey W. Sykes in Huddersfield.


The couple had met in Cardiff
 

Children:

  1. David [b 1947]
  2. Michael [b 1949]

During World War II, he served with the RAF, servicing Spitfire aircraft at Ibsley, Hampshire, and later in North Africa, Palestine and Sicily.

He described his experiences in his memoirs entitled An Erk goes to War

Windy Bank, LittleboroughRef W1339
16/17th century house on Blackstone Edge.

Dated RL 1611 for Robert Lightowlers, and IBI 1635 for John Butterworth.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

  • The Shaw family [early 1900s]

Windy Harbour Farm, TodmordenRef W2155
Owners and tenants have included

Windy HillRef W568
Stands near the M62 on the border with Lancashire.

A TV reflector station is situated here.

On the 1908-1911 OS Map, the site of the transmitter is shown as Sentry House (site of).


Question: Does anyone know what Sentry House was?

 

WindybankRef W2145
Aka Wyndhill, Wyndybank. An early name for the area of Hebden Bridge around the bottom of Heptonstall Road.

See Fox & Goose, Hebden Bridge

Wine & Spirit MerchantsRef W5190

Winearls, Alfred HastingsRef W269
[1850-1914] Born in Massingham, Norfolk.

In [Q1] 1873, he married Emma Coe [1848-1906] in Mitford, Norfolk.


Emma was born in West Bradham, Norfolk
 

Children:

  1. Florence [1875-1947]
  2. Ernest [1878-1958]
  3. Edgar [1880-1933] who married [Todmorden 1905] Betsy Uttley [1883-1934]
  4. Herbert [1881-1955] who was a cotton weaver [1911], & married [Todmorden 1912] Elizabeth A. Williams
  5. Ella Elizabeth [1882-1964] who was a cotton winder [1911]
  6. Arthur John
  7. Willie
  8. Frederick Carter [1891-1981] who was a cotton twister [1911], & married [Todmorden 1913] Ellen Pollard
  9. Percy [1893-1977] who was a twisting frame tender [1911], & married [Todmorden 1914] Annie Blackburn
  10. Charley / Charles Edward

The family lived at

  • Norfolk
  • Normington, Northamptonshire [1888]
  • Old Town, Wadsworth [1895]
  • Martin Mill, Wadsworth [1911]
Sons Arthur, Willie, and Charles Edward served in World War I. Arthur and Charles Edward were killed.

Alfred & Emma died in Wadsworth

Winearls, Arthur JohnRef W255
[1884-1915] Son of Alfred Winearls.

Born in Brisley, Norfolk.

He was a cotton doffer [1901] / a page boy / a butler.

In 1906, he married Bertha Simpson [1876-1960] in Docking, Norfolk.

Children:

  1. child who died young [before 1911]
  2. Reginald [1906-1989]
  3. Ethel [1910-2002]

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 11th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 8th May 1915 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium, and on the Memorial at Old Town Methodist Chapel, Wadsworth

His brother Charles Edward also died in the War

Winearls, Charles EdwardRef W249
[1894-1916] Or Charley.

Son of Alfred Winearls.

Of Martin Mill, Wadsworth.

Born in Wadsworth.

He was a member of Old Town Methodist Chapel, Wadsworth / a twisting frame tender [1911] / employed by James Hoyle Limited at Acre Mill, Old Town / employed by Crabtree Brothers at Bankfoot / a Territorial.

He was engaged to Miss Hackney.

During World War I, he was called-up [August 1914], and served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed by shellfire at Crucifix Corner, Somme [17th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial, France [Grave Ref 6A & 6B], on the Memorial at Saint John's Mission Church, Hebden Bridge, on Wadsworth War Memorial, on the Memorial at Old Town Methodist Chapel, Wadsworth, and on the Memorial at Saint James Church, Hebden Bridge.

His brother Arthur also died in the War

Winearls, WillieRef W276
[1887-1957] Son of Alfred Winearls.

He worked at Acre Mill, Old Town.

He served in World War I, and returned.

He is remembered on the Memorial at Acre Mill, Old Town.

In [Q1] 1920, he married Sarah A. Sunderland in Todmorden.

His brothers Arthur and Charles Edward were killed in the War.

Willie died in Wharfedale [Q1 1957] (aged 69) 

Wings for VictoryRef W657
A fund-raising scheme of 1941/1943. A total of £5,092,837 was raised in Calderdale

Winks, AlfredRef W5701
[1838-1902] Of Shroggs House, Halifax.

Recorded in 1898, when he was a director of James Royston, Son & Company.

In [Q2] 1861, he married (1) Sarah Lightowler in Halifax.

Sarah died in 1886.

In 1889, he married (2) Mary Forth in Halifax

Winn & WrigleyRef W2027
Tailors at Huddersfield and Brighouse.

Partners included William Heslop Winn and Thomas Wrigley.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1855

Winn, EdwardRef W236
[1895-1917] Son of Richard Winn.

Born in Halifax.

He was a member of Salem Methodist New Connexion Sunday School, Halifax / a doffer [1911].

He lived at 11 Birks Hall Terrace, Pellon Lane.

During World War I, he served as a Bombardier / Fitter with B Battery 186th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

. was killed in action [17th September 1917].

His photograph appears with a report of his death in the Halifax Courier [13th October 1917].

He was buried at Voormezelle Cemetery Enclosures No.1 and No.3, Belgium [Grave Ref I J 10].

He is remembered in the Halifax Town Hall Books of Remembrance.

His stepbrother Willie Ingham also died in the War

Winn, EphraimRef W666
[1706-1762] He was a merchant / a Quaker.

On 19th December 1736, Ephraim – then aged 30 – was baptised at Halifax Parish Church by Rev Dr George Legh.


Newspaper accounts of the event described him as one of the most eminent Quakers in Yorkshire, for rank, good sense, and literature, quoting Mr Winn's public declaration that he does not conform to any narrow, factious notions of Christianity, but to Christianity in itself; and that his Conversion is greatly owing to the Doctor's conduct & principles, which treat all Dissenters in a manner that is winning
 

On 7th January 1736, he married Elizabeth Prescott at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of John Prescott
 

Children:

  1. John
  2. Christopher [1739-1741]
  3. Margaret [b 1741]
  4. Sara [b 1742]
  5. William

They lived in a house at Blackwall, Halifax. The house is dated 1744 with E and E W.

The house – now 3 dwellings – is still there, and the datestone is over Number 14.

Members of the family were buried at Halifax Parish Church: Christopher [3rd April 1741]; Ephraim [9th July 1762]; Elizabeth [7th February 1776]; William [6th December 1814]

See Mellin's Boarding School, Halifax

Winn, Rev J.Ref W1457
[18??-1???] Curate at All Saints' Church, Dudwell Lane, Halifax [1865].

He lived at Heathfield Place, Halifax

Winn, JohnRef W68
[17??-1???] Eldest son of Ephraim Winn.

Like his younger brother, William, he became a merchant and